About Maggiano's - Philadelphia

1201 Filbert Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Maggiano's Little Italy specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner, offer a convenient Carryout service as well as beautiful & accommodating Banquet space for every special occasion.
Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes – homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00; Dinner: Sunday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
12th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 567-2020

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/pennsylvania/philadelphia/19107/1201-filbert-st-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 215-567-2233 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
Our guests may use valet, street or public lot parking.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Janisz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (115)
Casual (92)
Special Occasion (88)
See All
Good for a Date (88)
Good for Groups (87)
Good for Birthdays (82)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Comfort Food (67)
Business Meals (54)
Great for Lunch (54)
Pre/post Theatre (54)
Fun (53)
Romantic (51)
Authentic (45)
Kid-friendly (36)
Outstanding Value (36)
Cozy (36)
Worth the Drive (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Happy Hour (21)
Tasting Menu (21)
People Watching (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Private Room (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Historic (7)
Seasonal (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Healthy (6)
Great Beer (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3672 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food and service at a fair price! However the service changed dramatically after I was asked to participate in a online survey, I was offered a free desert to eat in or to go. Once I completed the survey and ready to pack up the remaining half of my entree my server disappeared. After about 10 minutes I asked a 'bus' person to locate Jen nothing happened. After another 5 minutes I approached another server who reached out to another person who did not identify themselves they just asked if I would like my food packed, I ordered the desert offered which I had to explain was offered and how. He took the check that I left with a 23% tip. After another 10 minutes or so no one reappeared. I had to leave for a show at the Academy of Music. I explained in short what happened to the 'greeter' she called over a manager Cody who I explained the issue to again but I could no longer wait. I gave Cody my name and informed him I could no longer wait. Cody stated I could come back in and ask for him that he would 'take care of me'. Well I'm going to call today, let's see??!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 3 days ago

Chain Italian done reasonably well. Service always excellent.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Both of us were very pleased with our meal. Plus the service was good and the prices reasonable.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

If you are hungry and looking for very good Italian, this is your place. Recommend reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

I have a friend visiting from out of town and wanted him to experience Maggianos in the city.

First, we were seated twenty minutes after our reservation-time because the hostess told us they were "backed up". We then waited an additional ten minutes for or server to come to our table to take our order. We already knew what we wanted since we waited so long to begin with. we then ordered drinks and we waited an additional ten minutes to get our peach iced teas.

After finally getting our food which my salmon was burnt on the edges, our server charged an additional ten dollars less than he should have because I had a ten dollar off coupon. We wanted to be honest and told him that he should have charged us an additional ten dollars. Doing so cost us an additional 25 minutes waiting for him to get the correct bill out to us so we can leave. At first he wanted us to pay the ten dollar mistake in cash, which was strange and then he asked for my card back and made the changes. This was hands down the worst time I've ever had at this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff works very hard to get you seated as soon as possible, whether having a standing reservation, or not. The service staff is very accomodating, and there are many excellent food options to choose from, and all are very good, and come out hot! I would definitely recommend Maggiano's when looking for a casual atmosphere with a group or family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Made a reservation for 6:00 p.m. on a Sunday night. We were not seated until 6:15. Another family with a reservation also at 6:00 p.m. came in a few minutes after us and was seated several minutes before us. When I told the maitre d' that our reservation was for 6:00 and not 6:15, she didn't apologize and just told me that the computer schedules the seating. Then, once we were seated, it took at least 6 minutes for a waiter to bring us menus. We are a family of 2 young children, and the adults' meals were brought out first, with the kids' meals following several minutes later. Water glasses took a while to be refilled. Waiter was more attentive toward the end of the meal but not so much at the beginning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Waitress recommended the special (mushroom ravioli with sirloin), it was very good.

I am never disappointed when I go.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service were excellent. Staff were welcoming. Had a wonderful mother-daughter time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Our first time there.. it was great! Great atmosphere. Quick seating. Food was outstanding. Service was even better. Loved it. Would go again for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Family Style, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Old school Italian restaurant, most fun is sitting at the bar for happy hour. Food's ok, service very friendly, wouldn't make a special trip to go here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Each year we have a sibling get together. There are 10 of us and we had reservations for 7:30. When we arrived we were told there would be a 15 to 20 minute delay. No big deal as the place was packed. After 30 minutes of waiting we were told it would be another 15 minutes. When we were finally seated they apologized and gave our table two appetizers on the house which was nice. The food was excellent and so was the service. Other than the wait it was a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Never disappointed in the food or the wait staff. The wait was a little longer this time than it has at other visits, but the food made it worth it and quickly forgotten.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

My Husband and I had Resverations for Valentine's Day and we still had to wait an hour passed our Resveration we had a 7:00 didn't get seated until 7:30 because they were a little behind getting tables in other than that everything was great food & Service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

It was a very busy Saturday evening so the bar area was very crowded. We had to wait 20 minutes after our reservation to be seated. The waitress was good, but her visits to the table were too far and few in between. Despite these issues, the dinner was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Get reservations. Food was very good as was the service. Hundreds of people eating, so the volume is pretty boisterous. Service was great. Wait time with reservation was about 10 min. Bar was packed, dining room was full... and our food came out in a normal amount of time. Fun night!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our second time at Maggianos. The food is consistently good, generous portions and friendly , attentive service. The Sangria was great. Great for a large party or small group.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was slightly overcooked pasta was hard and sauce was pretty watery. We had a 6:15 p.m. reservation we did not get silly until 6:55 p.m.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Although we had a reservation they were super busy and couldn't seat just 2 of us for 20 minutes. They finally sat us because we told them we had a show to get to at 8pm, therefore the reason we made the reservation for 6. Once we were seated our waitress was great and so was the food!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic great atmosphere and service was good. Food was glorious. First time and won't be the last

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a wonderful Post-Theatre dinner again at Maggiano's:-)

We went to the 'Walnut Street Theatre' this past Saturday 02/18/2017 and made reservations for 05:00pm. Unfortunately, we left the show at intermission because we didn't care for the show at all. So, we took a leisurely stroll from 8th & Walnut Sts. to 12th & Filbert Sts. hoping that we could change our reservations at Maggiano's to an earlier time. When we arrived at the restaurant, we explained that we had a later reservation that we made through 'Open Table' and they were very accommodating to seat us. We had a very leisurely dinner, then took the Regional Rail home with our leftovers for lunch on Sunday. YUMM...

Thank you Maggiano's for your flexibility and your delicious meals. We have never been disappointed:-) And, we will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Love this restaurant. Food is great! Service is outstanding! No need to go anywhere else.

Tags: Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Family Style, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

One of the more upscale chain restaurants out there that is not pretentious. The food quality is good and the service is even better. We ate family style and the portions are very generous along with the selection of entrees.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food and the service was excellent!!! Our waiter was so much fun. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

As always a great meal but a tad disappointed with service. Had to ask 2 different servers (neither was ours cause he disappeared) for bread. Never got it til main course.

Wouldn't stop us from returning just a negative. Bread is to die for

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My wife and I went to Maggiano's for dinner before a show and it was excellent as always . The portions were so large that unfortunately we did not have room for dessert . Our favorite restaurant .

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My family and I enjoyed ourselves the seating was fast the food was excellent and our waitress was outstanding this was our first time there we recommend this restaurant to all of our friends.

Thank you maggianos

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

AMAZING Mozzarella Marinara!! And tiramisu! Would recommend to anyone! Perfect date place!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

great restaurant service was quick and very helpful, liked that you can customize dishes

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a great place to go do a good meal. Food is great and the service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our meal was AMAZING, as usual. The service started out VERY slow. It was 4:30 in the afternoon, and it took about 10 minutes for a server to greet us. Then it took at least another 10 minutes to get our first drinks from the bar. Our server did get those drinks taken off of our check, and things got better from then on. All in all, it turned out to be a good experience. I had the veal porterhouse which was slightly over cooked, but still delicious.

Come and enjoy Maggianos....

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was amazing but it took about an hour after we ordered for us to receive our food and it was lunch time with very little customers present. We also had three different errors with the entrees. It was my son and my husband's birthday and they presented our cake with chocolate pieces all around the bottom. Awesome touch. Thank you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Terrific waitress. Good classic Italian fare.

Tags: Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

From the delicious wine selection to the dessert, everything was fabulous. This was my first time at Maggiano's. I can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food ! Fast service ! Definitely coming back

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I celebrate my wedding anniversary here every year. I got married here 7 yrs. Ago. Its me and my husbands tradition thats not going anywhere. Love me some Maggiano's

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Private Room, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food it was amazing and at a very good price.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing food, excellent customer service, will definitely be returning!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Family Style, Authentic, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food. Always a good time when we come. Love the atmosphere and the friendly staff.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Good for Groups, People Watching, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, great service! The overall experience was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were seated quickly in a room with tables only for two. It was very nice, the food was served in a very timely manner. This was our first time here and where very satisfied with the service, food and the nice atmosphere. We will go back again when we are in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love, love, love Maggiano's. My favorite restaurant. I love the food and the atmosphere. Always crowded so nice they take reservations. Service was pretty good. Our waiter wasn't very attentive, but we didn't really wait for anything or need anything extra.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First visit to this location - excellent service and food! Arrived about 45 minutes early for our reservation and they still accommodated us in a very timely manner even though it was busy. I ordered one of the special menu items - steak medallions, mushroom ravioli, asparagus and mashed potatoes. It was delicious!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Parking is available right outside the restaurant which is a plus. It was my birthday and our first visit. Our waitress was great. She took our order, and answered questions all with a smile. Our food came fast and was delicious. I even got complimentary lemon cookies for my birthday. We used a coupon and weren't hassled. We will be returning and will recommend it to all our friends.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful time was had by all, it was a great time to go on Sunday after the Philadelphia Auto Show. Oh also it was Super Bowl Sunday the service and the atmosphere was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always enjoy eating here. Place was hopping tonight because of the car show but we were seated within five minutes of arriving. Service was friendly and attentive even with the crowds. Food is always good Italian. Love the lasagna!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, People Watching, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We go out to eat 1-4x per week and there are so many great restaurants in the city that we love, but we will always keep coming back to Maggiano's. Standard scale italian food, nice people, great tables, great wines rotating on their wine list. Very accommodating. **Open table is an absolute necessity here! They're ALWAYS packed and having a reservation through open table avoids the wait!

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We visited Maggianos after the Philly Auto Show. The only issue/compliant we had was our being seated so close to the door on such a cold day, it was a little drafty. Otherwise everything was delicious and our server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Daughter accepted into college

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.