About Maggiano's - Philadelphia

Maggiano's Little Italy specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner, offer a convenient Carryout service as well as beautiful & accommodating Banquet space for every special occasion.
Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes – homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

1201 Filbert Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00; Dinner: Sunday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
12th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 567-2020

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/pennsylvania/philadelphia/19107/1201-filbert-st-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 215-567-2233 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
Our guests may use valet, street or public lot parking.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Janisz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Four Cheese Ravioli - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Pork Shank with Polenta - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Creme Brulee - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Mozzarella - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Fried Calamari - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Chicken Marsala - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Tilapia - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Mama's Lasagna - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Spaghetti and Meatballs - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Red Wine Sangria - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Gnocchi, Italian Saugage And Shrimp - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Sausage And Peppers - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Kids' Lasagna - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Cheesecake With Fresh Strawberries - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Shrimp Scampi With Angel Hair Pasta - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Chicken Florentine - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Chicken & Truffle Tortelloni - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Peach Italian Soda - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Spaghetti Marinara - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Chianti Braised Beef - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Pesto Ravioli - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Lemon Cookies - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Margherita Flatbread - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Apple Crostada And Ny Style Cheesecake - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Farfalle Aglio-Olio Vegetali - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Chopped Salad - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Mac & Cheese - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Famous Rigattoni D - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Linguine And Clams With White Clam Sauce - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Mini New York Cheese Cake - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Gnocchi - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
1/2 Chopped Salad - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Martini - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Spaghetti - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Meat Lasagna - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Tiramisu - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Spinach & Artichoke Al Forno - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
New York Style Cheesecake - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Rigatoni "D" - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Sake Steamed Mussels - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
baked spinach and artichoke dip - Maggiano's - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (86)
Casual (77)
Special Occasion (69)
See All
Good for Groups (69)
Comfort Food (58)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Good for a Date (56)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Fun (46)
Business Meals (42)
Great for Lunch (32)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Romantic (30)
Cozy (27)
Authentic (27)
Kid-friendly (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Outstanding Value (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Tasting Menu (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Hot Spot (13)
People Watching (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Seasonal (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Private Room (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Healthy (8)
Historic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3567 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good service Spacious restaurant Friendl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Good service

Spacious restaurant

Friendly and helpful staff

Our server Tom did a great job

Tags: People Watching, , Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Romantic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and our server was ni ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was delicious and our server was nice and friendly. She came back to check on us and refilled our glasses without us having to request more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Good, friendly staff. Food was very good ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good, friendly staff. Food was very good and reasonably priced. Great location, located near the action in center city.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was excellent! Service was great.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was excellent! Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have dined at maggianos many times ov ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have dined at maggianos many times over the years. This was the first time we left feeling very disappointed. The quality of the food was not what it used to be.

This used to be our go to restaurant for big group get togethers and family celebrations but we are left feeling that there have been changes made by Maggianos that they no longer value giving customers quality foods.

The anti pasti appetizer was new to us and is one of only a few things that was excellent.

We did family style for the 4 of us. The mozzarella marinara was dried out and did not taste the same as when we ordered it in the past. The Maggianos salad was good.

Next we had a chicken and shrimp dish that had next to no shrimp and the chicken was tough.

The lasagna was the worst I have ever had. Dried out and had a funny taste to it.

The salmon was also dried out and portions very small.

The brownie bites and ice cream were ok but not a dessert that was very impressive. The tiramisu was wonderful as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

New Year's Eve service was excellent tab ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve service was excellent table ready moments upon arrival. Server was knowledgable and made some good recommendations on top of what we wanted to order. Server also very personal which was appreciated! Great light options too

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Early 7:30pm New Years Eve dinner with k ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Early 7:30pm New Years Eve dinner with kids (14, 12) and 4 adults. All the restaurant tables were occupied, but the service was great. We did not feel rushed at all. Special note to server Leah, who made us feel special. All Magg's slightly vary in the taste of their food, but this one is on par with the best. We had the spaghetti and meatballs (kid standard), chicken marsala (great), balsamic salmon (good), and lasagna (great).

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and nice ambiance! We really ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

great food and nice ambiance! We really enjoyed our meal. It was also nice that they offer reduced parking in the garage right next door!

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was okay. I think some dishes h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was okay. I think some dishes here are very good but chicken caprese was mediocre and the desserts were nothing special.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is amazing! It's quickly served, an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food is amazing! It's quickly served, and so affordable for what you get (especially downtown Philadelphia). The wait can be long, so I suggest doing an online reservation. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Romantic, , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My family and I go to Maggiano's every y ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My family and I go to Maggiano's every year the week between Christmas and New Year's Day. We always make a reservation a few weeks ahead of time to be sure we have our spot. Maggiano's called me 3 times before our reservation to confirm, and each time they stressed that we be on time, and they only hold tables for 15 minutes. My family arrived 5 minutes before our reservation, checked-in, and it took them over 20 minutes to get a table ready. The one room was completely empty, and I know that people start on different shifts. If you are expecting large parties, the room should be set up. Several items we ordered were either messed up, or forgotten. Unfortunately, we will probably be picking a new place next year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great early dinner for five of us! Every ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great early dinner for five of us! Everyone enjoyed their food and salads! Nice server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a big group. Family style was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great for a big group. Family style was perfect and food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

They accommodated our party of 10 quickl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

They accommodated our party of 10 quickly even though the Open Table App sent a request for 2! Food came out quickly. Good quality and generous portions.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The host/hostess, wait staff, and food w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The host/hostess, wait staff, and food was fantastic. We would prefer that the bussers be careful about taking our plates so quickly before we are done. We do not want to feel rushed after having such a delicious meal served by a friendly and efficient staff.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

we've been here before, so we knew what ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

we've been here before, so we knew what it was like. During this visit, our waitress seemed to have too much to do which left little time to attend to us. I really don't like restaurants where different people bring food to the table. i prefer the person who takes the order to bring all of the food. i like that continuity. the food was good, the atmosphere is nice. We had reservations, it was very busy, but we were seated in less than 5 minutes which was what i expected. i would go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was my son's 8th birthday . Even tho ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It was my son's 8th birthday . Even though we had a 6pm reservation, we still had to wait 30 minutes before we were seated. That was disappointing. Our server was fabulous and very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quick service with fresh tasting entrees

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Quick service with fresh tasting entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The service was amazing. Our waiter I th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The service was amazing. Our waiter I think his name was Walter or randy I don't remember, was very nice and was always coming to check on us. We were late to our reservation and they completely Understood. They even sang happy birthday to me. I would love to come here again! The best part was the FOOD! It was AMAZING! All my friends had different things, I had a steak it was well done and on point! This is in my top 3 favorite restaurants! Bathroom was cute also, I took nice selfies lol

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

For the past few years, my family has be ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

For the past few years, my family has been enjoying Maggiano's for Christmas Eve dinner. Last year, we dined at the Cherry Hill location, but this year we opted for the Philadelphia location- my parents were in town and their hotel was about a block away.

I understand that holidays are extra busy, but the service definitely left much to be desired. Someone came by our table and poured water. There were 4 of us. By the time the wait staffer poured the 4th glass, there was only enough water left in his pitcher for about a 3rd a glass of water. Our waitress returned to take drink orders and I asked her for water to fill the rest of my glass. About 15 minutes passed and we finally waved down someone else to get water. Then our bread came and we distributed the smaller appetizer plates that were stacked on our table. One of them was filthy- left with some pasta sauce or salad dressing caked on it. My father had ordered iced tea... the waitress saw that his glass was low and asked him if he'd like another. He said that he would and she disappeared... again- about 15-20 minutes passed, our food came, and still no iced tea. He had to ask for it again.

The food here is delicious.

But this service was so trying... That plus the giant dust bunny on the ledge right by our table will definitely have me going back to the Cherry Hill location next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We normally enjoy Maggiano's but this ti ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We normally enjoy Maggiano's but this time our service was very slow & the sangria was horrible! The manager was very nice and understanding though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We went here after seeing the Nutcracker ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went here after seeing the Nutcracker at the Academy of Music on Christmas Eve. The food was delicious and our waitress was extremely nice and thoughtful about special requests we made. We have been here before, and would certainly return again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Lory was awesome and despit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our waitress Lory was awesome and despite how busy it was everything was great!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat at the bar for lunch...bartenders we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Sat at the bar for lunch...bartenders were GREAT...very attentive

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is usually good but it was awful it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food is usually good but it was awful it was such a waste. Food also took long to be served way to long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

me and my wife dorothy enjoyed the lunch ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

me and my wife dorothy enjoyed the lunch service was very good egg plant parm was the best we told are friends the place to go if you are in town coffee was great price right we will be back again and again we felt relax after we tour the city good food good coffee good service cant beat that

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch, food and service. There was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great lunch, food and service. There was nothing not to like

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I treated my staff for a holiday lunch a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I treated my staff for a holiday lunch and our waitress was phenomenal. Very pleasant and tentative, customer service driven. The staff enjoyed the meal and atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, , Authentic, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ladies in my department decided to d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The ladies in my department decided to do a pre-holiday girls lunch. The service was ok. Our waitress got lost quite often but, in fairness, when she did reappear, she was very pleasant and efficient. The food was ok. One girlfriend complained that the salad was too cold. I tolerated it but agree. A chilled plate is fine but salad shouldn't feel like it came straight out of a very cold refrigerator. The chicken alfredo was ok the day of, but was better the day after. Guess the seasoning had to set. You received rave reviews for the eggplant parm and the beef dish. We'd go again.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious food and great service! From ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Delicious food and great service! From the salad to dessert, everything was delicious!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The room was a little cold but everythin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The room was a little cold but everything else was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Although they accommodated us earlier th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Although they accommodated us earlier than our reservation, overall disappointing meal with rock hard chicken/risotto meatballs in pasta that was not drained (watery) and tasteless chicken picatta. Bread was good. Sat near freezing window. Waitress was friendly and helpful. Overall experience not worth the $100.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The experience was pretty much what you ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The experience was pretty much what you would expect. Restaurant was packed, staff was just going through the motions to get to the end of their shift. Wait service was poor. A suggestion would be to go to this restaurant when it is less busy, then you may have a decent experience. However, when this establishment is busy do not expect much in service or food quality. I would go to this restaurant again but not two weeks before Christmas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Magliano's is always good. My friend an ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Magliano's is always good. My friend and I meet there for our holiday dinner. The food is delicious, the portions large and the service attentive.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Maggiano's is one of our favorite places ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Maggiano's is one of our favorite places to eat in Philly. It is conveniently located near hotels, shopping and Reading Terminal in the downtown area. Food is great as well as the service, and the atmosphere is festive for an enjoyable lunch or dinner with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

By far my favorite location of the Maggi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

By far my favorite location of the Maggiano's in the area. Been to King of Prussia as well as Cherry Hill. Cherry Hill is good, but not a fan of the King of Prussia location. Perhaps a bad day. Philadelphia (12th and Filbert) has always been consistent, good food, great wait staff, and fantastic atmosphere.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great the environment was w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The food was great the environment was wonderful and the waitress was very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We traveled to Philly for a game from Al ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We traveled to Philly for a game from Alabama. I had been to the location in Atlanta and absolutely adored it, so I decided to take my boyfriend to one in our favorite city. It did not disappoint. Our server was so friendly and relatable, the food was perfect, and the dessert was even better than that. For the amount of food you get and the quality it has, the prices aren't terrible. With reserving a table, we also were immediately seated so I recommend OpenTable as well. I also wanted to say the chef did a great job getting food out of the kitchen for everyone in the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed my first time. I've ask ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I really enjoyed my first time. I've asked a lot of people how maggianos was and they all said great things. My experience was wonderful. I am glad I made the right choice.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food both appetizers and main meal w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food both appetizers and main meal were not really hot and above all the food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.