About Maggiano's - Philadelphia

1201 Filbert Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Maggiano's Little Italy specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner, offer a convenient Carryout service as well as beautiful & accommodating Banquet space for every special occasion.
Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes – homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00; Dinner: Sunday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
12th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 567-2020

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/pennsylvania/philadelphia/19107/1201-filbert-st-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 215-567-2233 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
Our guests may use valet, street or public lot parking.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Janisz

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Eat-A-Dish for Make-A-Wish®

Special valid Apr 21, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat your dad to the best of Little Italy this Father's Day. Now taking reservations.
Eat-A-Dish for Make-A-Wish®

Special valid Apr 21, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details
Eat-A-Dish for Make-A-Wish® from 4/21–6/29/16 includes donations to Make-A-Wish through the purchase of featured menu items. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more details, please visit us at www.maggianos.com. Special valid Apr 21, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (261)
special occasion (187)
great for lunch (131)
See All
fit for foodies (118)
neighborhood gem (97)
kid-friendly (97)
romantic (91)
notable wine list (57)
hot spot (47)
great for brunch (40)
vibrant bar scene (34)
late-night find (25)
scenic view (9)
great for outdoor dining (8)
 (6)
 (5)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3051 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

It was perfect we ate tomato soup as app ...

Dined 2 days ago

It was perfect we ate tomato soup as appetizer and share Maggino's salad. As a main course we took medallion beaf with meshed potatoes and my wife ordered shrimps 2 meal from the top. There bread is so tasty that you dip into olive oil with cheese and pepper

food3
ambience4
service3
value5

I have had better Italian food

Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant was hoping! I live in CT and we have the best Italian food here :) I ordered the spinach artichoke dip. It was amazing! I had to make myself stop eating. For my main course, I ordered eggplant parmesan with mixed vegetables instead of pasta. The eggplant was just okay and a bit tough to cut and chew. The sauce was decent and I really enjoyed the mixed veggies which included tri-colored cauliflower and carrots.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Loud congested restaurant

Dined 3 days ago

The food was good not great. Price was good. Service was poor -not friendly and we felt rushed . Way to noisy! Expected much better - disappointed in the experience. Staff seemed stressed and overwhelmed or over worked. It was a busy night.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

As usual the food was great however the ...

Dined 6 days ago

As usual the food was great however the service not so much. 7 of us went out to celebrate a college at 5:30pm we were never offered a wine menu or asked if we wanted drinks. We ate family and after dessert was served we were brought our bill never asked if we wanted coffee or anything else. The was not full yet we felt very rushed.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for out 4th year wedding Anniver ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We went for out 4th year wedding Anniversary and had a lovely time. It was nostalgic for us because we had dinner at this particular restaurant before we dated.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellant, and the ambiance ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The food was excellant, and the ambiance was great

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing server. In my fiances birthday, ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Amazing server. In my fiances birthday, and she brought a candle out on our desert. Food and sangria was amazing. A loud child was running around when we first sat down and the parents anything. I just wish an employee would have said something to the parents.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great meal and excellent servic ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a great meal and excellent service. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 21, 2016

Maggianos Center City was an incredible experience. The food was amazing, service was great, and we were able to be accommodated quickly after being late for our reservation. I would recommend this to anybody that loves Italian dining. I will most certainly be returning

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Greeted warmly, seated quickly waited up ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Greeted warmly, seated quickly waited upon in a timely manner. Waitress made good suggestions and did not rush us. Delicious, as always. A very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

My meal was not as expected. The waitre ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My meal was not as expected. The waitress was annoyed at me for asking for a correction......change sauce. Place was too loud to converse adequately

food3
ambience3
service2

Service was lacking and food was cold an ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Service was lacking and food was cold and greasy. Disappointing

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

A Fun Lunch at Maggiano's

Dined on May 19, 2016

Three friends had a fun lunch at Maggiano's last Thursday. Two came by train so it was a convenient location plus we went to Reading Terminal afterwards! The front desk people - girl and guy - arranged the window table I had requested on Open Table and our waitress was excellent (sorry blanking on her name).

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved this restaurant. The food and s ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

We loved this restaurant. The food and service was great. Everyone in our party had a great dinner. Try the fried zucchini and pasta.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Philadelphia Maggiano's you knocked it ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Philadelphia Maggiano's you knocked it out of the park for my family celebrating my Son's Graduation from Penn. The service was impeccable, delivering on-time in full. The food was spectacular for everyone. I travel 75% of the time for business and I answer every survey with the truth. THANK YOU!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was in Philadelphia for a conference s ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

I was in Philadelphia for a conference staying at the Marriott.The hotel restaurant was poor with little choice and we could see people pouring into Maggiano's so thought we would try it. The food was amazing and being a coeliac there was so much choice -had the most amazing gluten free pasta. We ate there more than once . A real find. Service was amazing too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The only complaint I have is that the st ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The only complaint I have is that the staff do not ask the clients to keep their children under control. We were seated by a very large party and the kids were running rampant. The parents were doing nothing about it and the staff didn't have the decency to ask the party to have some respect for other dinner and have their kids sit down. So as long as you don't get seated by a bunch of rowdy kids with parents who don't care you are good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit to Maggiano's

Dined on May 15, 2016

My significant other and I went there for a joint celebration of our birthdays. It was a first visit for both of us and we were both very pleased with the food and the service. We both had the chef's special of Chilean Sea Bass which was excellent. We also ordered and drank a very nice bottle of Italian wine that was excellent. The Tuscan chicken soup was very good and the calamari was also good (not quite the best I have had, but close). We would definitely go back again the next time we are in Philadelphia.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Happy belated Mother's Day to us!

Dined on May 15, 2016

My 14yr old son treated my mom & myself to a belated Mother's day dinner. They honored a coupon I had & even wrote HAPPY MOTHERS DAY in fudge on our desert plate for us, so sweet!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

This place is overrated. Or, maybe I've ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This place is overrated. Or, maybe I've spoiled myself going to actual good places that serve fresh food. It's mediocre at best. My daughter and I weren't too impressed and wished we had gone elsewhere.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Family Friendly atmosphere

Dined on May 14, 2016

This place was simply fantastic for our family gathering. I have never been disappointed, our waiter was amazing! He was attentive, made excellent suggestions. We had cocktails before dinner, the bartender moved like a well oiled machine and they were tasty! We had a long wait due to restaurant being packed, but we barely noticed as drinks were good, staff kept us informed and once we were seated EXTREMELY prompt, well worth the wait. The kids LOVED it, so we are planning to go back soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was outstanding. It ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The service and food was outstanding. It was a perfect end to a special day (my son's college graduation)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A local surprise

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We were staying at the Hilton Garden Inn and babysitting our two granddaughters. We needed a place close by. We were suprised by how outstanding and accomodating this was. We were given stern warnings by the parents that the girls were not into restaurants (and they are vegetarians also) Well from the bread to the ravioli and flatbread they were loving it. Our pasta with clam sauce and eggplant were really wonderful. We were expecting just so so and it was so much better. Flash forward to lunch the next day and the girls literally begged us to take them back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, reserve table ahead of time ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food, reserve table ahead of time just to be safe!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was a bit slow BUT

Dined on May 12, 2016

Service was a bit slow, but food was hot and good. Waiter was slightly inattentive, but friendly. Got seated right at our reservation time. Good portion sizes.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service! Had the chick ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food, great service! Had the chicken Parmigiana. Delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Thirsty!

Dined on May 9, 2016

We had Mother's Day reservations, seated promptly. We did not choose family style because they've cut down the choices. Good was good, but we had to ask every time for our drinks to be replenished. Even the manager noticed our empties, but not our waiter

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I would definitely recommend the fried calamari as an appetizer and the salmon oscar as an entree. I've been here on a date and with a larger group and the food & service did not disappoint.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Maggianos on Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

My aunt and I came to Maggianos for an early dinner to celebrate Mother's Day and my college graduation. I made the reservation for 4:30 and when we got there it was nearly empty. By the time we left it was packed! Service was good, waiter was very nice. He forgot to bring my dessert for a while and I had to find him but other than that it was good. Only problem was when a homeless man came IN and started begging for money, it really disturbed my meal. Eventually staff removed him.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Awesome as always!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Four Stars!!!!!! Everything was outstanding!!!! Mother's Day dinner was a success and my mom, aunt and cousin were very satisfied!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a Wonderful Mother's Day dinner.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Would like information on Brunch's if any that are in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

The food is always good and portions are ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is always good and portions are generous enough to make a second meal from leftovers. I

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a great experience, the was f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

As always a great experience, the was food was amazing and our server Teresa was spot on great place for any occasion

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very pleasantly suprized

Dined on May 7, 2016

We decided to go to Maggiano's on a Saturday night because they are wheelchair accessible. It was really crowded for our 6:30 pm reservation but the staff did a great job of triaging people through. We had to wait a bit for our server but she was apologetic and excellent once we got started. Our dinners were delicious.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

I enjoyed my visit to Magginano's. The ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I enjoyed my visit to Magginano's. The atmosphere, was pleasant and the waiter was very courtesy and friendly. The food was full filling, and the restaurant was in a convenient area. I would definitely recommend Magginano's to others.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5

Fabulous and consistently good food and ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Fabulous and consistently good food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner.

Dined on May 7, 2016

I went to Maggiano's for my boyfriends graduation dinner. Not overly pricey and a great menu. I tried the fried zucchini and chicken parm. They were both delicious. Our server was very attentive. Knowing we were there for a graduation, she brought out a complimentary dessert. Overall a great experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and dinner!

Dined on May 6, 2016

We were a party of ten for my son's college graduation. Our server, Frank, was great. He was very attentive all evening. The food was excellent. They brought out a special congrats dessert for our son.I would recommend making reservations. We did a month in advance and we're glad we did

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for Graduation dinner.

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had great service and the food was excellent! We had dinner after Temples Graduation and would recommend the Filbert location for all!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.