About Maggiano's - Philadelphia

1201 Filbert Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
View Larger Map

Maggiano's Little Italy specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner, offer a convenient Carryout service as well as beautiful & accommodating Banquet space for every special occasion.
Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes – homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00; Dinner: Sunday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
12th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 567-2020

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/pennsylvania/philadelphia/19107/1201-filbert-st-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 215-567-2233 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
Our guests may use valet, street or public lot parking.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Janisz

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pork Shank with Polenta
Creme Brulee
Mozzarella
Chicken Marsala
Fried Calamari
Tilapia
Mama's Lasagna
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Gnocchi, Italian Saugage And Shrimp
Red Wine Sangria
Kids' Lasagna
Sausage And Peppers
Chicken Florentine
Cheesecake With Fresh Strawberries
Shrimp Scampi With Angel Hair Pasta
Four Cheese Ravioli
Peach Italian Soda
Chicken & Truffle Tortelloni
Margherita Flatbread
Pesto Ravioli
Spaghetti Marinara
Chianti Braised Beef
Lemon Cookies
Apple Crostada And Ny Style Cheesecake
Farfalle Aglio-Olio Vegetali
Chopped Salad
Mac & Cheese
Famous Rigattoni D
Linguine And Clams With White Clam Sauce
Mini New York Cheese Cake
1/2 Chopped Salad
Gnocchi
Martini
Spaghetti
Meat Lasagna
Tiramisu
New York Style Cheesecake
Spinach & Artichoke Al Forno
Rigatoni "D"
baked spinach and artichoke dip
Sake Steamed Mussels

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (234)
special occasion (162)
great for lunch (115)
See All
fit for foodies (96)
kid-friendly (95)
neighborhood gem (88)
romantic (57)
notable wine list (40)
great for brunch (37)
hot spot (33)
vibrant bar scene (27)
late-night find (20)
great for outdoor dining (8)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
3085 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant. We had ...

Dined 4 days ago

This is our favorite restaurant. We had our first date at the Cherry Hill location. This one is great too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, right down to the house m ...

Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous food, right down to the house made croutons in the salad.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service wasn't anything too special, but ...

Dined 6 days ago

Service wasn't anything too special, but it was snappy and servers were very attentive. The food was reasonably priced and absolutely delicious. Very positive experience overall, definitely recommended.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We picked this restaurant mostly because ...

Dined 6 days ago

We picked this restaurant mostly because it was across from our hotel, but we were pleased with it. I had the Chef KB's Lobster Carbonara and loved it, and my wife thoroughly enjoyed the Chicken Marsala. It cost a little more than we're used to paying for dinner for two, but everything costs more in Philly, so that may be why. Now that we're back home, we're considering giving the one closest to us a try.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was outstanding! Our waiter ...

Dined 7 days ago

The service was outstanding! Our waiter, rigt away asked if anyone had food allergies in our party, in which we do, so he was very aware of it the entire evening! The food was average, however, the berry tiramisu was amazing!! We were there on vacation, but would go back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely unbelievable food!!! Best shr ...

Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely unbelievable food!!! Best shrimp scampi I have ever had. Super friendly staff and fast service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed Father's Day Dinner with the fam ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Enjoyed Father's Day Dinner with the family. Our server was great, food was great, we have been at this location for several special occasions and are never disappointed. We are also big fans of Randy who is a server there and gave us excellent service in November! We will definitely be returning to this location in the very near future!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Family style is not really family style ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Family style is not really family style at this restaurant location like the Maggiano's in Cherry Hill New Jersey. My experience here was very disappointing as we were charged family style prices but didn't get family style portion sizes of food. This location doesn't allow you to reorder appetizers or entrees like traditional family style and offered only four small portion desserts for a party of 8 people. I will not be returning to this location and neither will any of my Philadelphia resident family members as they much rather travel to Cherry Hill or King of Prussia for better service and much better portion sizes. Our total tab was $340 with tip The host and hostess at the front door were the most delightful part of our dining experience as the rest of the evening was all down hill. Our server did nothing to accommodate us and when we asked to speak to a manager she took it upon herself to disappear for 20 minutes...needless to say we paid the bill and left.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The delicious food and service

Dined on June 19, 2016

The delicious food and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great restaurant! Great place to relax ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

A great restaurant! Great place to relax. talk, enjoy. Convenient location beside Resding Market and City Hall. Love it!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Been going to Maggianos for over 10 year ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Been going to Maggianos for over 10 years as our "Go to" favorite when friends are in town or special occasions. It use to be nicer when all the old photos were on the wall of celebrities that have visited. They took onion straws off the menu (not a good move). You can still order them. This time our reservation was at 6:15 and we arrived on time. At 6:30 I asked what was with the wait, the place was half empty. We were then seated. It seems to have gone down hill slightly but we still love the food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gluten free pasta was awesome! I got ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The gluten free pasta was awesome! I got chicken alfredo and would definitely eat there again. Also, the Spumoni serving size was a great value for the price.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lovely meal as always. We were on the ed ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely meal as always. We were on the edge of the path through the restaurant, so it was quite loud, but other than that it was fine. The zucchini appetizers are one of my favorite items, and the balsamic salmon was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family took me out for my birthday. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My family took me out for my birthday. The dinner and service were great.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating an office birthday a ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We were celebrating an office birthday and going away for an employee. Our server was excellent! We bought 2 cakes to the restaurant and each cake was presented on a separate tray, surrounded by strawberries and blueberries which we thought was such a nice touch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Always a good time.

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food. Always a good time.

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The waiter forgot to use my 10$ coupon e ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The waiter forgot to use my 10$ coupon even though I told him I had one whe we were first seated

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had my pre-halfmarathon dinner there. V ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Had my pre-halfmarathon dinner there. Very good. Great service and food. Would return

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a large party of 9. The service ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a large party of 9. The service was wonderful and the food tasty. We had selected a family style menu in advance which I would recommend for a large party. Our server, "Q" , was wonderful. He added to the enjoyment of the evening.

food4
ambience5
service5

We liked that there were several smaller ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We liked that there were several smaller dining rooms, that provided a more quaint space. Our server was friendly and prompt taking care of a special request. Our food choices were delicious. We thought there could have been more peppers with the sausage and pepper appetizer, but it was tasty. We enjoyed everything overall.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never fails to amaze

Dined on June 10, 2016

We were visiting Philadelphia for the first time this past week. Staying at the downtown Marriott we noticed that Maggiano's was located right across from our hotel. It was late when we arrived and we were hungry and didn't want to take a cab to any of the restaurants that had been suggested to us, so we decided on Maggiano's for our first night in town. Not only was the food delicious the waitstaff made us feel at home. While we did take the opportunity to sample some other fine eating establishments, we returned to Maggiano's on 3 different occasions each time experiencing the best food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Graduation celebration-Great night!

Dined on June 10, 2016

We all really enjoyed our appetizers, entrees and desserts. One person in our group did not seem to enjoy his dinner stating that the chicken was a bit overcooked but other than that we all left very satisfied! It was a bit loud but we are a loud family so we fit right in. Would definitely recommend for a group celebration.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a great dining experience at Magg ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a great dining experience at Maggiano's celebrating our daughter's graduation. Many other families had the same idea and the restaurant got really busy. The staff handled it beautifully providing great service throughout out visit. Food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great service and food. A bit loud but worth it. Food recommendations spot on. Our server was able to put our order in as spicy so my out of town guests were thrilled

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Family style is the way to go!!!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Family style is the way to go!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience!

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Amazing experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

went during comic con weekend . made sur ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

went during comic con weekend . made sure i had a reservation jammed pack tken 5 mins early. took our waitress Theresa's diner sugestion and it was one of the best meals i ever had. great night!

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

First Maggiano's experience

Dined on June 3, 2016

My family and I chose Maggiano's Philadelphia to celebrate my father's 67 birthday. It was my first time there. I am sad to say that the food wasnt very good. I orderd the fried chicken dish from the Make A Wish Menu. The dining space was cramped and the wait for dinner was nearly 30 minutes with us having to send one dish back because of the taste. The waiter did bring another dish however the portions of food we did not finish we opted not to doggy bag. The wait staff and hostess were all very nice and pleasant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happiest Hour

Dined on June 2, 2016

I always enjoy eating here and the drinks during happy hour is the best!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Service from kitchen too slow Waited for ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Service from kitchen too slow Waited for our food 45 minutes Waiter kept apologizing We ordered pasta Pretty simple Restaurant was busy but not packed

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First date

Dined on May 30, 2016

Although my date turned out to be horrible, the was not.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Solid

Dined on May 29, 2016

Busy place for dinner in downtown Philly near many hotels. Casually energetic atmosphere, food is solid if unspectacular. All items (4 entrees, 2 appetizers, one desert) were tasty, well-served and reasonably portioned. Great spot for those seeking quality Italian food in busy unpretentious environment.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

It was perfect we ate tomato soup as app ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

It was perfect we ate tomato soup as appetizer and share Maggino's salad. As a main course we took medallion beaf with meshed potatoes and my wife ordered shrimps 2 meal from the top. There bread is so tasty that you dip into olive oil with cheese and pepper

food3
ambience4
service3
value5

I have had better Italian food

Dined on May 29, 2016

This restaurant was hoping! I live in CT and we have the best Italian food here :) I ordered the spinach artichoke dip. It was amazing! I had to make myself stop eating. For my main course, I ordered eggplant parmesan with mixed vegetables instead of pasta. The eggplant was just okay and a bit tough to cut and chew. The sauce was decent and I really enjoyed the mixed veggies which included tri-colored cauliflower and carrots.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Loud congested restaurant

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was good not great. Price was good. Service was poor -not friendly and we felt rushed . Way to noisy! Expected much better - disappointed in the experience. Staff seemed stressed and overwhelmed or over worked. It was a busy night.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Making the reservation online was great. ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Making the reservation online was great. We were seated promptly. my spinach salad was very good especially with the option of asiago cheese. The dishes we ordered -seafood & pasta and shrimp & chicken with penne- were delicious. And the bitesize brownies and ice cream topped off my friend's birthday.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Room for improvement

Dined on May 25, 2016

I love this place but was disappointed with the food. It was bland and lacked a taste punch. I had the shrimp fra divalo, the sauce was bland it didn't have much taste and the crab cakes were small. I have been there many times and this time it just seemed off. The waiter Sean was great. He made up for the lack of taste in the food. It was my sons birthday dinner, he asked not to go back. I felt let down. Cant say I will not go back but it's not a on my top list. More taste... would definitely help. May it was a bad day, but more heart felt cooking would be welcomed.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

As usual the food was great however the ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

As usual the food was great however the service not so much. 7 of us went out to celebrate a college at 5:30pm we were never offered a wine menu or asked if we wanted drinks. We ate family and after dessert was served we were brought our bill never asked if we wanted coffee or anything else. The was not full yet we felt very rushed.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for out 4th year wedding Anniver ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We went for out 4th year wedding Anniversary and had a lovely time. It was nostalgic for us because we had dinner at this particular restaurant before we dated.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellant, and the ambiance ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The food was excellant, and the ambiance was great

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.