About Maggiano's - Durham

8030 Renaissance Parkway
Durham, NC 27713
View Larger Map

Welcome to Maggiano's Durham located in the Streets of Southpoint Mall. The mall is 5 miles from Research Triangle Park off Interstate 40. Please call us for more specific directions. Maggiano's dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower, or important client meeting.
The seasonal patio seats 25 and has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 572-0070

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/north-carolina/durham/27713/8030-renaissance-pkwy-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 919-572-0188 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Griffin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Eat-A-Dish for Make-A-Wish®

Special valid Apr 21, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat your dad to the best of Little Italy this Father's Day. Now taking reservations.
Eat-A-Dish for Make-A-Wish®

Special valid Apr 21, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details
Eat-A-Dish for Make-A-Wish® from 4/21–6/29/16 includes donations to Make-A-Wish through the purchase of featured menu items. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more details, please visit us at www.maggianos.com. Special valid Apr 21, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Durham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Durham
3 More
Best Value
Durham
Special Occasion
Durham
Most Booked
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

special occasion (262)
good for groups (243)
romantic (158)
See All
great for lunch (127)
fit for foodies (114)
kid-friendly (89)
hot spot (48)
neighborhood gem (46)
great for outdoor dining (44)
great for brunch (41)
notable wine list (40)
late-night find (34)
vibrant bar scene (21)
scenic view (16)
Sort By:
Newest
3161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great server.

Dined 11 hours ago

Great server.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

They changed the family style . Now on ...

Dined 3 days ago

They changed the family style . Now only one appetizer then they give a bread plate instead of 2nd appetizer . Should give choice of bread plate or 2nd appetizer. Don't want to fill up on bread. Food was not as good as I have had in the past. Rigatoni "D" only had 3 tiny mushrooms in the entire bowl, with 5 people eating most of us did not get one. Second bowl was a little better, but hardly any sauce (dry) and not many more mushrooms. Several of the plates arrived cold, but we had waited so long we just wanted to eat. Desserts were the best !! Prices went up also !!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great value

Dined 3 days ago

First, the food is very delicious. The pasta specials also make the choice of dining here a no brainer with respect price.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the chopped salad, calamari, spag ...

Dined 4 days ago

We had the chopped salad, calamari, spaghetti meat balls, chicken parm, basalmic Salmon and cheese ravioli. Forndesser, tirimisu and

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We went with another couple whom we had ...

Dined 5 days ago

We went with another couple whom we hadn't dined with before, in fact my wife hadn't met his wife. The noise level was very bad for trying to hear/understand the other couple. My wife and I discussed afterwards and decided previously we had gone my ourselves and had no problems understanding each other over the noise, but for people you just met, and are not tuned into their voices, it was very hard to hear. We decided not to try that again, but to go someplace quieter next time. We'll go back ourselves, but not with other people we wish to converse with.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Review of Restaurant

Dined 6 days ago

My male cousin and I went here after I found it on Trip Advisor. The food was good and plentiful and our server did a good job. A manager came by to see how we were doing which was a nice addition to pleasantries. It was a bit noisy at first but the table with six women left before we were finished eating. I cannot said if it is kid friendly since we had no children with us. We definitely not disappointed by eating at Magliano's.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food confidently delicious. Service alwa ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food confidently delicious. Service always wonderful.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4

Extremely allergy-friendly; a chef came ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Extremely allergy-friendly; a chef came out to talk about my son's allergies and select appropriate food for him. A fun family place. Food is tasty enough. It was a Saturday evening and our waiter seemed overworked, leading to slow (though friendly) service. I think the restaurant assigns too many tables to each waiter. We would come back again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious dinner, outstanding service, a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Delicious dinner, outstanding service, and best chocolate cake ever! Will definitely return to try other menu items.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

To all.... Thank you all so much for all your hospitality and service. This was a graduation brunch for my son's college graduation for 21 family and friends and it was a flawless experience. A special shout out to our waitress (she was the tall pregnant lady). She was very nice and friendly, Was willing to make requested changes on the spot with out hesitation. Again.... THANK YOU ! John /Dawn

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food is much superior to Olive Garde ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food is much superior to Olive Garden - no comparison really.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Maggianos used to be much better when th ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Maggianos used to be much better when they first opened. The food is good, but not what I remember and why we wanted to drive an hour for a special meal. We may opt to dine closer to home next time.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Italian restaurant!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This place won't completely empty your pockets, but the food always turns out great regardless. The pasta is not just plain, it's actually good. I had a side of spaghetti with some veal parmesan, and it was delicious. I can't say much for the wine because I'm personally not a big fan of wine; all I had was a coke, and it was ok. At the end, I did end up spending about $30. The restaurant is big, but it doesn't mean you're not going to wait. I was lucky enough to reserve on opentable. They have more private tables, but the basic tables aren't really anything to brag about. It looked nice for sure (better than average), but it didn't blow me away. I'm pretty sure the more private tables were nicer.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on May 8, 2016

Love the service and love the food! I would definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was good. Food - not so much.

Dined on May 8, 2016

I loved Maggiano's in the past but I don't why they changed. I ordered jumbo-lump crab cakes & received 3 little deviled crabs. After I laughed, I sent them back to the chef to eat. I switched my order to the shrimp daviola which was good. My husband's lasagna was good but he didn't appreciate the tiny portion he received. Bread was brick hard. Cocktails were watered down. Next Mother's Day or holiday I'm going somewhere else.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

I am truly a procrastinator but open door and Maggiano's saved the day! I made a reservation which was an easy process and had a wonderful dinner! Will definitely be back again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our group of 5 for Mother's Day thoroughly enjoyed our time at Maggiano's. We were seated on time and provided with the requested highchair. Service was pleasant as usual and the food was perfect as always. We definitely will be returning!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

seating was not the best the waiter was amazing

Dined on May 8, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant o friends .. A little pricey . the food was

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for the 1st time the other night for our daughters 20th birthday. The food was GREAT & service was also. We will return when were in the Durham area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Giri

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food. Great service. Great staff. They made the dinner very enjoyable.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Chicken parm was good, our waiter was sl ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Chicken parm was good, our waiter was slow even though we were in a hurry And he said he didn't know how to put in a coupon and to just use it another time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fun - always delicious!

Dined on May 7, 2016

My family thoroughly enjoyed the excellently prepared entree's - the Chilean Sea Bass, the beef tenderloin with risotto & asparagus and Chef Mann's Country-Style Pasta. We were seated in a timely manner and the server was friendly, courteous and knowledgable regarding the menu. Even though there is a high-energy atmosphere throughout the restaurant, we felt relaxed and never felt rushed during our entire meal. We've enjoyed Magianno's on several occasions over the years and we've always had a great experience. Reservations are highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great night!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Wonderful night, great food, awesome service, and terrific atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fun place with good food

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food & service were very good; but line to check in was slow moving

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

AS USUAL

Dined on May 6, 2016

AS USUAL I ENJOYED GOING TO MAGGIANO'S, ONE OF MY FAVORITES. I TRIED THE BEEF POMPADORE I BELEIVE IT WAS CALLED. IT WAS GOOD BUT NOT GREAT. I PREFER THEIR RED PASTA SAUCE MEALS.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food great; waiter outstanding; price reasonable

Dined on May 1, 2016

The Marco option was just what we were looking for. Again, the waiter was outstanding, friendly and very attentive. Meal was exceptional and would be excited to return at a moment's notice. Noise level can be a bit overpowering if on lower dining area but tolerable. Thank you for an enjoyable dinner experience for my daughter and I to share in. Everyone should ask for Stephen.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Good food, but marginal value

Dined on May 1, 2016

Maggiano's is really good, but the cost is very high. Feeding a family of 6 there was $244 plus tip. Ouch.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, great service!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food, great service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still a great place for Italian

Dined on April 30, 2016

Well they always have a long wait if you don't have a reservation the food and service are well worth the wait. My daughter has serve reactions to egg and peanuts and it was the first place we have been to that the chef spoke to hear about what was in every dish we were interested in.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and we enjoyed it

Dined on April 30, 2016

Good food and we enjoyed it

food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Great food. The service is usually fantastic.

Dined on April 29, 2016

We love going to this restaurant. The food is consistently outstanding, and the portions are great. Usually the waitstaff is incredibly attentive and great at their job. We were a little disappointed last time, but it will definitely not stop us from coming back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Restaurant was good. I think a little o ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Restaurant was good. I think a little overpriced for the location, and the type of atmosphere. You could not hardly hear to converse with people at table. For our Birthday celebration it was good but if I were there for a romantic event I would not have liked it. Maybe you sit those situations in a quieter place..... Anyways, we all enjoyed everything, and wait staff was excellent and the reservation worked out perfectly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Braised Beef Pappardelle was virtually t ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Braised Beef Pappardelle was virtually tasteless. I did not detect any creamy tomato au ju base or sauce. I found about four or five small pieces of beef which was more like pieces of chuck roast and not steak. This dish was more like something you would find out of Eastern Europe not Italy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maggianos is the best

Dined on April 16, 2016

Took my wonderful woman out before prom to make her feel special. It worked as always. Maggianos makes you feel top class along with being comfortable and well fed with amazing food. I had the beef medallions and they literally made my mouth water as i was eating them. Everything at Maggianos is top-notch, i have never had bad service there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a date

Dined on April 15, 2016

We ate at the bar. Great food, wine and service from Isaiah. Fun night!

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always...............

Dined on April 13, 2016

Always easy dining with family. Something for everyone, even the picky!!! Happy to see family style back, but the omitted items are missed....

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

free pasta for taking home

Dined on April 10, 2016

We took home 3 "free" pastas that came with our orders and found out that the portions of these pastas were only 1/3 or 1/2 of the ones we had in the restaurant. Very disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Italian meal

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Went here for the first time with friends for a birthday. Reservation was perfect, seated quickly and server was very helpful. The food was great for the value and we were all satisfied and stuffed :) Best thing, their meat sauce does not include pork which is great for those in our party who do not eat that. Will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding service!

Dined on April 9, 2016

This was my second time eating at Maggiano's and nevertheless the food and service was great! I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Disappointed

Dined on April 9, 2016

Nine of us celebrating a birthday and everyone was not impressed with the quality of the food. Great wait staff except for one expediter and he looked like he didn't want to be there.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.