About Maggiano's - Durham

8030 Renaissance Parkway
Durham, NC 27713
View Larger Map

Welcome to Maggiano's Durham located in the Streets of Southpoint Mall. The mall is 5 miles from Research Triangle Park off Interstate 40. Please call us for more specific directions. Maggiano's dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower, or important client meeting.
The seasonal patio seats 25 and has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 572-0070

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/north-carolina/durham/27713/8030-renaissance-pkwy-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 919-572-0188 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Griffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Calamari Fritti
veal medallions
Maggiano's Famous Rigatoni “D”
Tiramisu
Linguine Di Mare
Baked Rigatoni Pomodoro
Mini Dessert Sampler
House Salad
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Shrimp & Crab Tropeho
Bowtie Aglio (w/whole Penne Substitute)

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Durham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Value
Durham
3 More
Romantic
Durham
Special Occasion
Durham
Most Booked
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

Special Occasion (219)
Good for Groups (194)
Romantic (102)
See All
Great for Lunch (99)
Fit for Foodies (85)
Kid-friendly (76)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Great for Brunch (44)
Hot Spot (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Notable Wine List (29)
Late-night Find (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Scenic View (16)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They have made lots of changes in terms ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

They have made lots of changes in terms of quality. The salad which used to be really good was not good at all, very wet lettuce and not well dressed. Desserts have changed and the food prep also. The service was moreso the issue. The server just seemed very uninterested in waiting on our table throughout the evening. I had the chicken manicotti which is served on large double oval plates. Normally Maggiano's will box the food up for you but this young lady brought the foil pans and left. When she came back I asked if they stopped boxing the food for guests and she stated, "No we still do it, I shouldve done it but, I dont know". Whatever that means.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was salty

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

I have dined at this location many times ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have dined at this location many times and have usually had a good overall experience. The past couple of years it has definitely gone downhill especially evident in the morale/attitude of the staff. I met my mom there for dinner and though I requested a quiet table or booth bc she is hard of hearing we were seated next to two tables of screaming kids. We ended up moving to the bar and were waited on by a young black guy. He remembered my mom which was nice, but seemed upset or stressed out on this particular night. Very long wait for drinks, refills, any attention really. We ordered soups then salads/ apps. Never got the soups, after abt 20 min our salads came and abt 10 min later we saw him and he just said the soup got overheated so it looked bad n he didn't want to serve it. While we appreciated him not serving bad product we asked when more wld be ready and he just said they prob wldnt have more, even though it was only 8pm. Had we known ahead of time we would have just changed our orders but since we already had the salads we just ordered a spinach dip and figured it wld be ok since I had to work later and didn't have a lot of time left. Abt 30 min later the dip finally showed up. The cream cheese was in one lump on the side so we mixed it in ourselves. The Caesar dressing had no flavor And finally I requested it removed. Overall I ended up being late for work at 9, when my reservation was at 715 after eating sub par food that I didn't really want. I feel like a manager should have been looped into the situation at some point to get it under control

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The food is quite good for a chain-type ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food is quite good for a chain-type restaurant. My pasta was cooked perfectly - something you don't often find at a restaurant service food at this scale. Our server was excellent; very friendly and properly attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

First off, I love Maggiano's. The food ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

First off, I love Maggiano's. The food is very good and I've always had great service. Our visit on Saturday, other than a couple of bumps, was very nice. We had a reservation for 8:30, arrived about 8:15, but still weren't seated 'til after 8:45. We ordered an appetizer, however our entrees came out first. The manager did come by and comped the appetizer, so that was nice. I was drinking water and for the most part my water glass stayed refilled, however the waiter was certainly more attentive to my dining companion who was drinking cocktails. Our food was delicious and the portions were ample. It did take excessive time to get our bill and pay, but we weren't really in a hurry so that didn't matter. I definitely recommend going during the week or earlier on a Saturday, as these minor issues have never happened during these times.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Disapointed with dining experience becau ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Disapointed with dining experience because the tables in the diningroom are too small- your food is served on platters. We had a reservation for 4 people. Cramming that many people into a confined space makes for a very loud atmosphere. My server Enron was excellent. Except, I should not have to eat my salad on the same small appetizer plate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Quick server, great ambiance. Sloow food ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Quick server, great ambiance. Sloow food delivery and not hot food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Imron was our waiter and he was excellen ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Imron was our waiter and he was excellent he knew what we neede before we did

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Maggiano's was busy and we received exce ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Maggiano's was busy and we received exceptional service. The food was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine here several times a month, and ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We dine here several times a month, and often order the Parmesan Tilapia and a large Maggiano's house salad. On this visit, the Tilapia had a very fishy taste, which we noticed on our previous visit as well, so we are a little "over" eating here. This used to be a delicious dish but we feel that in the last 6 months the dish has not been prepared consistently. Very disappointing. also on this visit also, our house salad appeared to not be dressed. After much stirring and scraping of the bowl, we discovered a bit of dressing on the bottom, but pretty much the salad was tasteless. We did not mention this to our waiter due to the timing of his checking on us and our eating the salad (not his fault). Also the entree arrived a bit too soon, as we were still eating salad when a person (not our server) delivered the entree. I do want to say that the service at this Maggiano's is almost always excellent and the servers are very knowledgeable about menu items. I feel that the value of the food items is usually very good. However, I gave the restaurant only 3 stars for value because of the overpriced wines by the glass. We eat dinner in restaurants every night and I enjoy a glass of wine with dinner so I know about wine value and prices. The by-the-glass prices (for comparable wines) are several dollars more than, say, Firebirds which is across the driveway from Maggiano's. Anyway, since our last two visits were slightly disappointing we may not be back as frequently as we were. If you are not making comparisons to previous visits you will probably like this restaurant (except for fishy fish). They seem to handle large tables well, and servers are very attentive. On my previous reviews of this restaurant I have given 4 and 5 stars for food quality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I especially enjoy the fact that the che ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I especially enjoy the fact that the chef personally came out to speak to us because we had inquired about an item on the menu that we felt was excellent. He has done this once before and I like the care he shows when he comes out to see us. (By the way, the food is very good and the take home is also great!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is great. I bring my friends on ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food is great. I bring my friends once a month. We are always treated well.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our special occasion, the 65th birthday ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our special occasion, the 65th birthday celebration for my wife, was very good, but fell short of our expectations somewhat.

1st--I called ahead and asked for a quiet table/booth. The booth in which we were seated was secluded, but was in a wait staff high traffic area. Plus, we could hear too much noise from the kitchen. So, we asked to be reseated and were. Also, when I called ahead, I made it clear we were celebrating my wife's birthday, hence wanted a special desert item or something to surprise my wife. When our waitress arrived, that surprise was ruined when she asked if we were celebrating any special occasion. I was not happy.

2nd--Unfortunately, none of our three entrees, the chicken parmesan, rigatoni, and chicken saltimbocca, were special--just okay instead. All three were a bit bland. However, the Italian sausage flatbread was very tasty. And, the Villa Nozzole Chianti was perfect!!

3rd--Due to the background noise from the tables in the main dining area, I couldn't hear our waitress at all. My daughter had to relay what was said. It was a nuisance.

All that said, we had a good time celebrating my wife's birthday as she enjoyed reading her birthday cards and opening a few presents.

Last, despite our being a bit disappointed, we will no doubt come back. There are other items on the menu that we would like to try.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed a lovely anniversary dinner. Ev ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Enjoyed a lovely anniversary dinner. Everything was great, although the shrimp scampi could have had a bit more flavor. It was pretty bland. A bit of fresh parsley, lemon zest, or garlic butter would have helped. Great Manhattan, and I really like the bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I came here for a nice lu ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My husband and I came here for a nice lunch date. We were seated almost 5 minutes after arriving, and the service was fast! Our food was great, we did the meal for 2 for $42 and it was more than enough food! Will definitely be coming back :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally enjoyed the meal. Everything wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Totally enjoyed the meal. Everything was delicious and fresh! We chose the family style meal which was great because it allowed us to select a variety of foods . The grilled salmon lemon & herb was superb.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff did not have their act together. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Staff did not have their act together. Good was very delayed in arriving after our salads were served and no one came to address the issue or communicate about the problem. We went for my birthday and my guests told our waiter and the host and no recognition of the birthday occurred. Not even a verbal happy birthday was offered. My husbands beef portion looked like a child's portion. I find this restaurant very inconsistent and lacking in friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Food and service was exceptional as alwa ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food and service was exceptional as always! My wife and I always enjoy ourselves.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was outstanding. We a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

As usual, the food was outstanding. We arrived fifteen minutes before our reservation and were seated immediately. The food was great and be sure to save room for the chocolate cake for desert.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderfully delicious!!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderfully delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the meal for two and both had ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We enjoyed the meal for two and both had the beef pappardelle dish. Good value as we took lasagna home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My experience at Maggiano's was amazing. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My experience at Maggiano's was amazing. The servers were very attentive and kind. The ultimate gin and tonic lived up to my high expectations. Worth the $10 price of the drink. The Lobster Carbonara was amazing. The pasta was cooked to perfection, not too soft and not to hard either. The creme brûlée although a bit bigger than I was able to handle was creamy with a perfectly sweet and crunchy topping. I will definitely come here again. What a treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!!! Enjoyed dinner very much!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent!!!! Enjoyed dinner very much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service as always

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food and service as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good as always. Server knowledgeable an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Good as always. Server knowledgeable and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I did not like the flys in the restrauan ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I did not like the flys in the restrauant. I thought the service was a little slow from ordering to receiving our meals. Lunch time should have quick turn around times

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love to visit Maggiano's when at Sout ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love to visit Maggiano's when at Southpoint Mall. The atmosphere of the restaurant and the food is very inviting. Our server was awesome.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maggiano's is simply an amazing dining ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Maggiano's is simply an amazing dining experience. No other restaurant even comes close. Family-style dining is very impressive when the food is set up on the table. It is immediately apparent from the moment you sit down, great care is taken in providing personal service and exceptional food. I dare you not to over indulge!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat upstairs which I don't recommend. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We sat upstairs which I don't recommend. Food and service was good but nothing to come back for.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

We had a great time at dinner. The food ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great time at dinner. The food was very good but I did feel as if they cooked the Chicken Parmesean a little to long. I will def go again however.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Good but not great. Went to Maggiano's ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good but not great.

Went to Maggiano's before our movie. As usual, the service was polite, friendly and timely. Food is fine...nothing to write home about, so don't expect it to be the Italian restaurant you want to rave about. Servings are good, slightly on the large size, but not overkill. You'll leave satisfied, but always hoping that the sauces were a bit more special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful, as always. A little on the no ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Wonderful, as always. A little on the noisy side, certainly pricey but the mushroom ravioli I have not been able to imitate and when you crave it, you gotta have it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great experience, but that's ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was a great experience, but that's always the case at Maggiano's. The waitstaff is skilled and experienced. They almost always have the ability to make you feel like you're the only customer even though they clearly have more. The food is delicious and the portions are huge. My wife and I can turn one dining experience into 4 meals with the take home pastas they offer.

Maggiano's is one of our favorites. Don't hesitate to give them a try for an excellent Italian experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the classics: lasagna, Alfredo an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had the classics: lasagna, Alfredo and eggplant parm....take home, spaghetti, etc. Always delish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had a very good experience ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My wife and I had a very good experience at Maggianos. The waiter was very kind and helpful . He was very knowledgable of the menu items and never let our glasses go empty. It was just the wife and I so when we were asked if we wanted A table or a booth we chose A booth (I always choose a booth when out for dinner). The boothes are meant for larger parties but one was available so they had no problem at all seating us there. The food was very good and was presentable. If I had to give some type of criticism it would only be that the table at the booth was just a bit tall. Other than that we had no complaints. On A side note, we visited the CKF A couple of days before and found that the food there was not on the same level as Maggianos. Will ony go there for a special desert that the wife craves.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had to do family style because we had ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We had to do family style because we had 8 people. but the value has gone down hill over the past few years. the bowls of salad were small, so had just enough to feed 8, meaning no leftovers to take home. And the 2 ravioli plates had 8 raviolis on them, so 2 raviolis per person. Again, no leftovers. So, since the family style barely gives you enough for the meal.....the value of the 'buy an entree and take one home' is much better. Therefore, it's not right to require guests to do family style if you no longer want to give us healthy portions. Thanks for listening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Try the beef papparadelle pasta, it is d ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Try the beef papparadelle pasta, it is delicious. Restaurant also offers deal of pick one pasta to eat in and one to take home free. Great deal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have not been to Maggiano's for about ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We have not been to Maggiano's for about 6 months.

But the last few times, we had been getting the Classic pastas which is BOGO.

I had missed getting the Rigatoni D Pasta, so got it this time.

The portion size for this and the Maggiano's salad are a lot smaller than they used to be.

The pasta didn't have a lot of mushrooms or chicken and the flavor was a little bland.

The food overall was fine, but just not what I remembered, so a little disappointing too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good experience. We will return to this ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good experience. We will return to this location. My daughter & wife loved the food & atmosphere.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife's main course arrived before her ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife's main course arrived before her salad. The waiter apologized and said there was some software problem in the kitchen. The waiter's manager was kind enough to compensate by paying for her drinks. This made here very happy and she forgot the whole incident. THANK GOD !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.