About Maggiano's - Durham

8030 Renaissance Parkway
Durham, NC 27713
View Larger Map

Welcome to Maggiano's Durham located in the Streets of Southpoint Mall. The mall is 5 miles from Research Triangle Park off Interstate 40. Please call us for more specific directions. Maggiano's dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower, or important client meeting.
The seasonal patio seats 25 and has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 572-0070

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/north-carolina/durham/27713/8030-renaissance-pkwy-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 919-572-0188 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Griffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Maggiano's Famous Rigatoni “D” - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Tiramisu - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Linguine Di Mare - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Baked Rigatoni Pomodoro - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Mini Dessert Sampler - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
House Salad - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Spaghetti and Meatballs - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Shrimp & Crab Tropeho - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Calamari Fritti - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
veal medallions - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Bowtie Aglio (w/whole Penne Substitute) - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us for a memorable holiday celebration this Christmas Eve.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Make your last meal of the year count! Ring in the New Year with us at Maggiano's

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Durham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Value
Durham
Special Occasion
Durham
1 More
Most Booked
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

Special Occasion (104)
Good for Groups (79)
Family Style (70)
See All
Good for Birthdays (65)
Good for a Date (63)
Comfort Food (61)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Casual (46)
Romantic (44)
Worth the Drive (44)
Authentic (40)
Great for Lunch (38)
Business Meals (31)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Fun (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Kid-friendly (21)
Cozy (20)
Outstanding Value (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Private Room (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
People Watching (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Fireplace (3)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
3417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food! Excellent service! Highl ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food! Excellent service! Highly recommended!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great time! The table was set a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great time! The table was set and prepared nicely for our group and in a good location. The servicer was excellent! He was very attentive and professional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a cr at meal with great service. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a cr at meal with great service. We were seated promptly and the waiter was very attentive. Food was amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as usual at this location ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great as usual at this location. Good, hot, and fresh!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

I went on a surprisingly quiet afternoon ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

I went on a surprisingly quiet afternoon. Our server was very attentive and helpful in recommending options for our party of 4. The food was well-prepared and plated nicely, and the courses were well-paced.

Tags: Disabled Access, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came back with a smaller group this ti ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I came back with a smaller group this time... hoping for better service and food. I visited on a date with my 11 year old son after seeing a movie. The food was still not that good. I remember Maggianos being a great place to eat that served delicious hot food. I have not experienced that the last 2 times I have visited. I think it may just be the location. I would recommend the restaurant overall but probably not the Durham NC location. Disappointed 2 times in a row.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have dined here before and have alway ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We have dined here before and have always had great service and food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Horrible service. No drink refill from ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Horrible service. No drink refill from waiter even though he walked by 4-5 times. No interaction with him until he brought ck. After going up front and asking a manger for water another waiter brought it. Manager never checked on us or apologized. After speaking with another manager at a nearby restaurant he said he heard this from people all the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

We always enjoy eating at Maggiano's. T ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We always enjoy eating at Maggiano's. The service is consistently excellent and the food is perfectly prepared and delicious. Recommend reservations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for Thanksgiving. Everything wa ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving. Everything was wonderful. We took a lot home and enjoyed the leftovers. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Thanksgiving family style meal! ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Amazing Thanksgiving family style meal! The service as incredible and it made our family outing well worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A wonderful Thanksgiving family style di ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A wonderful Thanksgiving family style dinner. Far more food than appetite but Maggiano food reheats almost as great as when served.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Thanksgiving dinner was very good, s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our Thanksgiving dinner was very good, seated on time and waited on in a very timely manner.

My only complaint was that there were 4 Adults and one child and we were charged for 5 Adults. We did not notice that until after we had already left the restaurant. My grandson is only 12 years old but we were charged for an adult meal. We told the waiter 4 adults and 1 child but possibly with the holiday and a full restaurant he did not hear us.

The meal was very enjoayable and the family had a good meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My experience was very good, as was the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My experience was very good, as was the food served, the ambiance, and atmosphere. The portions were more than generous, and the staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Again, very good experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for Thanksgiving and was not ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went there for Thanksgiving and was not disappointed. Great value. Food was great and we even had leftovers. Will definitely do again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was overall too salty. Despite ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was overall too salty. Despite being warned of Celiac at our table, they delivered a dish with gluten. That was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

My three children (20, 17, 15) and I cel ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My three children (20, 17, 15) and I celebrated Thanksgiving at Maggiano's. The family style menu offered bruschetta, two salads, two entrees (ham, turkey, or tilapia), two pastas, two sides, and two desserts for the table. The waiter customized a pasta and brought fresh bread for my vegetarian. The food was great and plentiful. While the price was a bit more than I expected as I didn't realize there was a set menu, I felt we ate well and it was a good value. The booth felt cozy and we were able to have good conversation and good attention from the wait staff. We would definitely recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Private Room, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Maggiano's for Thanksgiving a ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went to Maggiano's for Thanksgiving as a party of 9. Bad news: We were sat right in the main walkway so everytime someone walked by, we were hit with purses, coats or hips. Wheelchairs too. The server seemed bothered by food requests. The portions we received "family style" could serve 2 people at most. Salad came out at the same time as food. Pumpkin cheesecake was disappointing. And finally, no senior discount so my 75 year old mother-in-law paid $45 for eating less than my 8 year old's portion. Good news: fish and tiramasu were delicious. Christmas decor was nice. They sat us quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Thanksgiving spot for a vegetarian ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great Thanksgiving spot for a vegetarian...very tasty. Will go again next year.

Tags: Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reserved ahead of time and table was on ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Reserved ahead of time and table was on time upon arrival. This was my first time there and the food was outstanding!! Will definitely be dining there again.

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there with my father, who was vi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We went there with my father, who was visiting from NY for the holiday. Last time he was in NC, we had 2 crappy dining experiences at other local chains. We decided to give Maggiano's a try (our first time there) since Dad was in the mood for Italian. We had great service courtesy of Jennifer, the place was huge yet cozy and inviting with great decor and ambiance, and the food was really good. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had made a reservation, but I needed t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I had made a reservation, but I needed to change the time at the last minute and they were very accommodating. Our waiter was very nice and extremely knowlegable about the menu. The food was wonderful as always and the atmosphere is always inviting. This was my mother's birthday dinner and I couldn't rave more about our wonderful experience here. Thank you Maggiano's for another great meal and fantastic service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Advice to management. Don't take reserva ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Advice to management. Don't take reservations for a specific time if you are going to miss that time by 30+ minutes. If you can't manage your tables then don't take walk ins. We had walk ins sat in front of us. They may have been waiting a while but we had a reservation for a specific time. This is not a good customer experience.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Too noisy and too busy. Food OK. Overpri ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Too noisy and too busy. Food OK. Overpriced chain in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Called ahead for reservation..but still ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Called ahead for reservation..but still had to wait 20 mins..waiter was nice but it took 45 mins for main meal to get to table..food was ok..dessert was awesome..

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Jared was our waiter - terrific! His par ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Jared was our waiter - terrific! His partner (cant remember her name - sorry) was very good as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great night out when I really didn't fee ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great night out when I really didn't feel like cooking. I know I can always get a great meal there. Tried the butter cake which was wonderful!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good atmosphere and food selection ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Very good atmosphere and food selection options for a business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

As always food was very good. Staff was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

As always food was very good.

Staff was attentive and nice.

Things were a little slow in the kitchen.

Still a very fine place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Little to be critical of. I always enjoy ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Little to be critical of. I always enjoy dinning here.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Jarod was an excellent server and made o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Jarod was an excellent server and made our dinner extra special as we celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening at Maggiano's ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at Maggiano's ! Both the food and the service were outstanding !

We loved the salads and different pasta 's that were offered particularly to take home with you too. Can't wait to return again !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Upon arrival, I approached the host stat ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Upon arrival, I approached the host station and was completely ignored. The lady behind the counter did not greet or acknowledge me. It took a few minutes before she even talked to me. She seemed not interested in working tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

I have eaten many times at Maggianos all ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have eaten many times at Maggianos all over the USA --NJ, TX,NV, NY and NC. It had been my favorite place whether with family or a group of friends. I usually make it my choice when celebrating my birthday which was the reason for our dinner last week.

Our waiter was Nathan and for the most part he was attentive and courteous. However, the problem that we encountered was with the food . The calamari appetizer was "burnt" . Most likely the breading was fried too long and although the calamari tasted good it was the crispiness which was just too much.

The Moms Lasagna also was overbaked. The outsides layers were noticeably different from the more tender and moist inner area.

Same problem with the chicken parm. It seemed like there was too much breading and the underside was darkened ,

We also noticed that the cappuccino was served without a small biscotto. In the past my wife remembers that it had been that way. Disappointing. Maybe just a cost cutting step. Our waiter who admitted to not being at Maggiano's very long said that he had always seen it that way so maybe this change went into effect recently. In addition the cappuccino was very strong. More like espresso.

And finally. the coffee was presented with just a cup. No saucer. Nathan did not deliver the dessert beverages. Assistant staff brought the coffee and cappuccino to the table. Maybe it's just poor staff training.

Overall, the dinner was disappointing. I hope it was just a bad night. My allegiance goes back to about 2005 so I will give the Durham location another try and hope for the best.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We have eaten here many times in the pas ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have eaten here many times in the past. Our group ordered family style dinner. We were a bit disappointed. The entrees were not as hot as they should have been and the chicken in 2 of them was overcooked. Miss the Beef Medallions! Didn't get our usual value for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was good but watch out when you ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was good but watch out when you get things to go. We did the buy 2 entrees and take 2 home which is a great deal but they put the wrong entrees in our to go and unfortunately it was something we could not eat so the value was wasted.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My son and I enjoyed the food. The wait ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My son and I enjoyed the food. The wait was a little long but worth it. Regards Gordon

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our server was awesome and very attentiv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our server was awesome and very attentive. The spaghetti and meatballs was delicious. I was not a fan of the pumpkin cheesecake and I normally like the desert. Otherwise we had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

It was me and my fiance first time and i ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was me and my fiance first time and it was a great experience for us we had loves everything!

Tags: Dancing, Tasting Menu, Fun, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the buy one take one home mea ...

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We ordered the buy one take one home meal. However we had leftovers which we asked our server to box it for us only to find out when we got home that the bag only contained the free meals. The leftovers we had were discarded against our wishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.