About Maggiano's - Durham

Welcome to Maggiano's Durham located in the Streets of Southpoint Mall. The mall is 5 miles from Research Triangle Park off Interstate 40. Please call us for more specific directions. Maggiano's dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower, or important client meeting.
The seasonal patio seats 25 and has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

8030 Renaissance Parkway
Durham, NC 27713
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 572-0070

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/north-carolina/durham/27713/8030-renaissance-pkwy-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 919-572-0188 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Griffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Enjoy Easter Brunch the Little Italy way! We will open at 10AM featuring our new Brunch menu. We look forward to seeing you.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Treat mom to Maggiano's this Mother's Day. We can't wait to see you!

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Celebrate Dad at Maggiano's this Father's Day. We can't wait to see you!

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Durham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (128)
Special Occasion (125)
Family Style (120)
See All
Good for Groups (96)
Good for Anniversaries (96)
Good for Birthdays (91)
Comfort Food (78)
Romantic (76)
Casual (70)
Worth the Drive (54)
Outstanding Value (49)
Authentic (49)
Business Meals (47)
Fun (43)
Cozy (40)
Great for Lunch (39)
Kid-friendly (37)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Bar Seating (24)
Private Room (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Tasting Menu (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
People Watching (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Seasonal (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Scenic View (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great Beer (3)
Historic (3)
Live Sports (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Music (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3835 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server Katherine was both energetic and helpful. We enjoyed the Salmon Oscar and the Veal Piccata. Both were delicious. We splurged and tried the dessert sampler. It was nice, but they were out of many of their regular offerings. Our advice, don't bother with the sampler - go straight for Gigi's Butter Cake - it's amazing.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

We often visit this location but the food quality has gone down in general.

We got the buy one pasta and take one home dish. The take home dish, vegetable primavera, was not at all edible and I had to toss the entire dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

The entire experience was wonderful. We got to Maggiano's a bit early and were seated before our reservation. The food was good. We had one person in our party with dietary restrictions and that was dealt with easily with a visit from a chef. Everyone loved their food. We all brought home an extra meal or leftovers.

Overall, a very nice meal out for my birthday and with family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great time. The service was stellar. How waiter was very kind and pleasant. Can't wait to come again.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice restaurant to take family and/or friends. Great comfort food and friendly service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our table was set a bit awkward. And the server was too quick. Which I know sounds bizarre but before we could ask for anything she was there and gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It's our family's favorite restaurant! The food and service is excellent!

Tags: Family Style, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent service from our wait person, fun and polite, food very good, the front desk host could have been friendlier, never had eye contact. Looking forward to the cocktails allowed for brunch-before 12pm! I will be back!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

After making a reservation, we had to wait about 30 minutes. The food ordered was not what I was expecting. Steak was dried. Calamaris were salty. Bread was good. Raviolis were good. Spaghetti was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The menu changes Maggiano's has made to be up with the times are great. The service was great overall; however, our server moved way too fast for our tastes. There were three at our table and she assumed we wanted individual checks. She placed them on our table before we could ask about dessert. I left a note on the check suggesting that she slow down a bit in the future. She put the leftover food in the wrong containers even though she had labeled their contents. My friends ended up taking home each other's food.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It took so long to get our salads that the main course was delivered while we were still eating the salads, and we had to beg to get some bread delivered to the table, which didn't arrive until after we got the salads.

What we had hoped would be a relaxing meal to celebrate a birthday became a chore.

Maggiano's obviously need to work on their timing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wait staff was good. Production food. Seriously overpriced, about right if all you want is quantity. Party of six and bill nearly $150 before tip and tax and every one had water to drink. I had spaghetti wit meat sauce, salad, and water and can get that at local family owned Italian restaurant for $10 a person. Noisy. Could not have a conversation with person sitting next to you. Crowded. Our seating was jammed against others to the point there was not room to set comfortable. AVOID!!!!!! Unless you want to pay extravagant price for pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First off they tried putting our party of 5 into a u-shaped booth. Hostess got an attitude when I requested a table not a booth. Then the server was slow and didn't want to pack our food for us. There was plastic in the mushroom ravioli and the chicken Parma was dry and cold!!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My family and I went to this restaurant for my 40th birthday I have to say that I really enjoyed myself and the food was superb and Mark our waiter was hilarious he really made our night. I really would like to thank Maggiano's for the lovely hospitality. My family and I will definitely be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We've visited this Maggiano's restaurant before and really enjoyed our dinner. This time, however, we were seated at a dirty table (wine had been spilled in the booth seat and not cleaned; dirty napkins were still at the table) right next to what must be a dish room or dirty dish drop off area. The noise of crashing silverware and glassware was very loud and made conversation almost impossible

My dinner companions' dinners were fine, but the vegetables in my primavera were barely cooked. I enjoy crispy vegetables, but the carrots were essentially raw. Not what I would have expected from Maggiano's.

The bruschetta bar tour appetizer was outstanding. We each have favorites that we will get if we ever return for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very nice place and we had a wonderful server in Jean Louise she was warm, informative and very attentive to our experience. Food was wonderful with a lot of attention to detail on how it was prepared and presented. Would strongly recommend and will certainly return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Good was over cooked. Portions seemed to have shrunken with the "new" menu. New menu physically looks like a fast food restaurant menus not representative of a pending dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went to try the new brunch menu and it was wonderful! Great service will definitely be going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food at brunch isn't as good as their regular menu food.

I had reservations and still waited a little while.

I didn't earn points for the OpenTable reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I had a horrible experience the food was bad. Me and my boyfriend had to get them to remake our food. I will not be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The service was so poor. I will never go back to this location. I went to celebrate my nieces birthday. The food was cold when it came out and the waitress never came back to check on us until the food finally came out. I never got a refill on my drinks. I brought my own cake to the restaurant to surprise my niece and when I asked the waitress to bring the cake to the table she dropped the cake on the floor. The service was jus overall sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

When we arrived 5 minutes early to my reservation time, we were told to wait because it was first come first serve. We waited for around 10 minutes and it seemed like everyone around us (even people that arrived after) was being seated. After we were finally seated the entire experience was amazing. The wait staff was helpful even though they were extremely busy. We didn't wait long for our food or drinks and everything was delicious.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was very good. The waiter was friendly and made great recommendations.

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was very salty. For 23 I had a plate of shrimp, a ton of sauce and maybe three spinach leaves. Portions were large but would have preferred a little balance with veggies or something else on the plate. My husband had stomach problems after we got home.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was a great location to celebrate a family birthday

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Dinner for two is a great special. Warming up leftovers right now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

great service. good prices. the take home dinner option. all in all a 5 star experience and restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Standard chain Italian restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Maggiano's has been the highly voted restaurant among our family. We not only love the food, we also love their friendly and professional staff. My husband always orders their chicken parmesan and the salad with salmon is my fav!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This place never disappoints. We went here for my daughter's birthday and the food and dessert was fantastic! Not a lot of choices for calorie watching, but good for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

the 3 female staff were great but the small bearded guy was unfriendly & less helpful (as usual) as if he enjoys being unpleasant (or just a bad waiter) maybe he's worked there too long or needs to find a job where he can be nicer to customers, or possibly a non-customer facing role

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Service was extremely slow. For a Monday night, with not a full restaurant, I was surprised. I had to flag someone else down for a water refill for my children because our waiter had disappeared for that long.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is an obviously popular choice as the crowds are always heavy at dinner time. They did great at seating us at the time of our reservation. The table for 7 that we sat at was very close to other diners and also the walkway. At my seat, waiters and servers asked me to scoot in half a dozen times, as in scoot in to the point that you're sucking in as much as you can, not as if I had my chair way out from the table - that's just not appropriate. The waiter was slammed, I get that, but our drinks were empty nearly the whole meal, in addition to needing to track him down to ask for bread before our meal like everyone else was getting and to take our order. He was very friendly. I guess the whole experience is just what you should expect from a restaurant of this nature - not awful but not really satisfying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had an Open Table reservation and it seemed as if they forgot us. Had to remind them a couple of times that we were there. Other than that wait staff was fine, food was ok

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I wish there were 2 salad choices for the family style. We had a lot of fun ! Kiddies enjoyed it, too !!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was our first time, and we thoroughly enjoyed the food and service. We did make reservations, which I highly recommend as this is a very popular restaurant. We had a very short wait for table. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food, surprised to get a second entree to take home, Excellent staff, good value on food, Beer and wine overpriced

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

What a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great food, great service will dine there again. Ambiance nice even for a romantic dinner if you request the proper table location

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Family Style, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Had a wonderful lunch at Southpoint Maggianos. The food is always exceptional and service staff is amazing. Our server was Lindsey who made great recommendations and was very personable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.