About Maggiano's - Durham

Welcome to Maggiano's Durham located in the Streets of Southpoint Mall. The mall is 5 miles from Research Triangle Park off Interstate 40. Please call us for more specific directions. Maggiano's dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower, or important client meeting.
The seasonal patio seats 25 and has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

8030 Renaissance Parkway
Durham, NC 27713
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 572-0070

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/north-carolina/durham/27713/8030-renaissance-pkwy-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 919-572-0188 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Executive Chef:
Philippe Verain

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Durham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (93)
Special Occasion (91)
Good for a Date (86)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (76)
Good for Groups (66)
Casual (65)
Worth the Drive (57)
Comfort Food (54)
Business Meals (50)
Romantic (49)
Fun (45)
Authentic (38)
Great for Lunch (37)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Cozy (27)
Seasonal (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Great for Brunch (24)
Kid-friendly (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
People Watching (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Healthy (5)
Scenic View (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Vegan (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
4309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I took my mother here for her anniversary my father passed away 16 years ago and I always try and do something special for her. I will take her back here again the food and service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

As usual I thoroughly enjoyed dining at Maggiano’s . Food was delicious, very helpful with my daughter’s allergies. Waiters were OUTSTANDING, EXCELLENT! The only suggestion and problem was the restaurant’s host when you first walk in on Sunday 1/14/18. She was not friendly, did not speak clearly, did not even welcome people, not a good representation. I would put my best in the front. Also I missed the music, was not loud enough to here which is one of the reasons why we come.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Great meal, as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

This used to be one of my favorite places. We hadn’t been in a while and decided to go for our anniversary. Bad decision. It was no longer the dim, quiet, elegant environment I remembered. It is definitely a family restaurant now. We have 3 children so, don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind being around noisy kids. Just not what I was hoping for for my anniversary, kid-free, night. They’ve also jammed a ton more tables in so it is very loud now. I had to send my food back, which is never a deal breaker for me, things happen. However, they made no effort whatsoever to make it right. I doubt we’ll go back.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Big disappointment in it taking an hour for our food to arrive after we ordered. Had reservations so were seated promptly but did not expect to spend the evening there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointed with the quality of food. The plate presentation was horrible. The gravy had slid off of the plate and it looks like it was then put under a heat light and the gravy then dried up. Mozzarella appetizer was burnt and cold. Chicken marsala meat was overcooked and sauce was slightly burnt. Very disappointed. My family and I visit the restaurant often and have loved the dining experience. However, based on this experience I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Gluten free options not so good....would be bette4 if you had a gluten free menu and some kind of bread to offer.....even GF breadsticks are good

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We made a reservation and still had to wait over 15 minutes to be seated. Things started off rocky. But our waitress was amazing. She made the evening better with her service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

After being seated, we waited 15 minutes for a waiter. Then received 3 bread plates for 4. Waited 15 minutes and asked a waiter a the next table for bread. Waited about 20 minutes for 3 of our 4 salads. The last salad arrived about 2 minutes before our entrees. The table next to us arrived about the same time as our first salads. Their meals arrived before ours did. Forgot to mention that we had to ask a busboy to please find our waiter before the first 3 salads. Our reservation was for 6:15. We were early. We paid our bill at 8:25. Needless to say, we were not happy.
You should not happy with your waiter staff..they sucked!!

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

We were here for a birthday dinner. Two of our party had further plans so our friendly but efficient server was very appreciated. Food was great, and the atmosphere was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Our server was phenomenal. Very welcoming, helpful and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Went here to celebrate my birthday on a Tuesday evening but food came out slowly, cold, and incorrect! Very disappointing experience this time and probably will not return! f you do go, Raven (our waitress) was awesome but management seems not to care how the kitchen prepares the food. My guests did enjoy their cocktails and beer, so they have drinks down packed!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Very busy for New Years Eve. The waiter was very friendly. Dinner was good but when I asked for more sauce for my steak, it took a while and I was finished eating by the time the sauce came. The mashed potatoes were very dry. This was unusual for food from this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2018

It was very busy. We had to wait even with a reservation. Our waitress was slow. She seemed swamped. We had to wait for refills, our food, and the check. Excellent food. We'll be back, but this wasn't our best experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Seems as they changed up some of the rules and chouceson the family style. Waiter seemed overwhelmed as i kept reminding him about things and corrected his mistakes on our bill. Food was still good i did a separate gluten dish which was fine.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

What’s not to like? Great atmosphere. Great food and service. Buy one classic pasta and take another home free!! Every Maggiano’s I’ve ever visited has been great. You just can’t beat it!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Made reservation for 12 and they only had it for 10. They added 2 more chairs but it was so tight. We were elbow to elbow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Service was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere! We dine at Maggiano’s every time we visit the Triangle whetheron business or pleasure! If you do not have time to dine in, they also have a great convenient carry-out! Whichever you choose, you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Seasonal, Fun, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Silverware and glasses were dirty. Service was extremely slow. Never saw waitress again after placing our order.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere again tonight. Definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Family Christmas. Food was great, hot, and a lot. Waitress was friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

The food was great as always and the service was fantastic!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

I had not been to Maggiano’s in several years and I was very disappointed. I was in town and was doing dinner and a movie with my husband and parents. We were seated and waited about 20 minutes for our waiter. He took out drink and dinner order. He can back with only one of the 2 drinks. We waited a long time for our food. When the food came out, my husband’s meal did not come. We began to eat thinking it was on the way. No, we were finished before the waiter came back to check. We had orders the Marcos deal and asked for them to go ahead and bring the to go part of the meal and make the dessert to go. The manager did come and took some money off the bill. To add insult to injury. I ordered spaghetti marinara as my to go meal. Imagine my dismay at sitting down at 1 am on New Year’s (night shift nurse) and biting in to spaghetti and meat sauce. I don’t know if we just had a bad night, but I don’t foresee a return visit any time soon.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

This used to be a great place to go, but it's gone down ALOT! Bathroom was dirty, I had made the reservation and was given a very small table for the five of us. We wanted to have family style lunch together and barely had room to sit around the table. When I complained about the table, the manager on duty just made me look like I was being ridiculous. He opened the table more making the table go into the aisle and making my 85 year old mom sit right next to the lady in the table behind her. When I asked for another table, he just said " well where do you want to sit?" I had made this reservation weeks earlier for my parents' 60 year anniversary and was embarrassed with how I was treated. The only thing that came out good was that our server was nice. I always feel like a manager should put customers first. I never felt that. It's a shame that this restaurant and has gone so downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Terrible service, food order was messed up multiple times, took forever to get anything, very poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We arrived on time for our reservation and got sat about 20 minutes later because of “several large parties.” (It Maggianos. There are always large parties. That’s what happens when you have a family style menu!)

It was a very busy evening, especially for a Thursday, so service was expectedly slow. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful; he was very clearly moving as quickly as he could & providing the best service for all aspects he could control. The appetizer and salad came out pretty efficiently. Our entree course was slow to arrive. He checked on it without us asking, made sure we had bread and drinks while we waited. When the food was delivered by the food runner, my dish was chicken instead of veal and was taken back to be re-made. I appreciated them fixing it, but my husband ate his entire meal while we were waiting for mine. He ordered crab cakes, which are not good cold, & I didn’t want his dinner ruined while we waited for them to get mine right. Veal dishes are on the other side of the menu from chicken, so I’m certain I ordered correctly & pointed to the right dish.

I wanted to pay with a coupon, a gift card, & a credit card on a $150+ total bill & warned the waiter well before he got the check. He told me he’d have to find his manager because they are strict about payments. He came back 10 minutes later (we didn’t mind, we were drinking wine still) to tell me he couldn’t find him (not surprising on a busy night) & would take the coupon anyway. I was expecting a discount because the food was fired wrong & disrupted our date, pretty annoying at $30+ entrees. As soon as the waiter said he couldn’t find the manager, I knew we weren’t getting any money off for poor kitchen service, so I just paid, left a good tip, & left.

This location is super convenient to us, so I know I’ll be back if we get a hankering for Italian. I just wish I was more taken care of at this price point. I can spend less money elsewhere for far better service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Love the food and especially the Lasagna and bread.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

The food and service was great! A nice place to catch up with what is going on in the lives of our friends and family.will come again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

Had a wonderful waiter, had questions about food allergies, the chef cane out personally to offer suggestions. I couldn’t have been happier! Food was great! Service was awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Ordered two appetizers, only received one. Ordered a side ceased salad, never received it. Ordered the chicken Marsala, it was cold and bland. My wife ordered the chopped salad, it was poorly presented and not very tasty. There was a couple arguing with the waiter and the floor manager. Was very inappropriate and the staff didn’t seem to try to defuse the situation. Overall experience was not good and will not return nor recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

Made a reservation for 7:30, arrived at 7:20, and we didn’t get seated until 8:00. Then we didn’t even get water until 8:10... Add another 10 minutes to get balsamic vinegar for my bread, at which point the bread was cold. My partner and I go frequently, and were super excited to show our friend our favorite Italian restaurant; however, the impression we were left with after this most frequent visit wasn’t the best. I had to ask to speak a manager because it was such a bad visit. Reconsidering my choice of claiming Maggiano’s as my favorite go-to restaurant. Overall, very disappointing and not a good visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2017

This was our 2nd visit with a group and ordering family style. It was a fun time and tons of food! The salmon was excellent as was the lasagna. The occasion was our daughters birthday so she chose the food. The mozzarella appetizer was not HOT and the breading tasted greasy. The chicken park was a little overcooked. Next visit we will steer clear of fried items. Otherwise the food was delicious including the pastas and dessert. Our service was excellent! We will return again in the future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2017

very good a bit disappointed in the take home portion was given a few noodles and a few raw veggies with a watery sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We went there for Christmas Eve dinner. We came in at 830 PM. We knew it was going to be busy, but our server still had the biggest smile and a great sense of humor, like she hasn't been working since lunch (or earlier). She did her best to get our orders and bring out our food as soon as they can get it ready. We did the chef selection, to get some to go pasta for a Christmas day lunch. My son got a plate of Denver steak. The pastas and the steak were still made well. I am definitely doing a Maggiano's dinner again for next year's holiday.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Terrible experience. When we sat down the water glasses had lipstick on them. It was all downhill from there. Order took forever and then it was wrong. Take home pasta orders were even wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Was disappointed with the location of seating arrangement for medium party size. Highly disgusted with having dirty glasses and silverware provided. Was not satisfied with spending $75 on food & didn't have a pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Always a great meal. Service was excellent and the food was fantastic. This is really great Italian cooking and the 2 for 1 deal on certain meals is a crazy good deal. I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2017

We enjoyed our family Christmas Eve Dinner at Maggianos. As alaways, the food and service were excellent!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2017

service is always excellent. Food is also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.