About Maggiano's - Durham

8030 Renaissance Parkway
Durham, NC 27713
View Larger Map

Welcome to Maggiano's Durham located in the Streets of Southpoint Mall. The mall is 5 miles from Research Triangle Park off Interstate 40. Please call us for more specific directions. Maggiano's dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower, or important client meeting.
The seasonal patio seats 25 and has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 572-0070

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/north-carolina/durham/27713/8030-renaissance-pkwy-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 919-572-0188 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Griffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Maggiano's Famous Rigatoni “D” - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Tiramisu - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Linguine Di Mare - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Baked Rigatoni Pomodoro - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Mini Dessert Sampler - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
House Salad - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Spaghetti and Meatballs - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Shrimp & Crab Tropeho - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Calamari Fritti - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
veal medallions - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC
Bowtie Aglio (w/whole Penne Substitute) - Maggiano's - Durham, Durham, NC

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Durham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (94)
Good for a Date (88)
Family Style (84)
See All
Good for Groups (75)
Good for Birthdays (72)
Comfort Food (71)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Casual (48)
Worth the Drive (45)
Authentic (45)
Romantic (45)
Business Meals (40)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Great for Lunch (31)
Fun (30)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Cozy (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
Kid-friendly (21)
Private Room (20)
People Watching (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Hot Spot (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Seasonal (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great Beer (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Scenic View (4)
Fireplace (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Dancing (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was magnificent!!!!! The food was ama ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined a day ago

It was magnificent!!!!! The food was amazing as well !!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined a day ago

Great food and atmosphere

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good and attentive service. Good value

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

Good and attentive service. Good value

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT food and service as always. It ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

EXCELLENT food and service as always. It was my wife's birthday and she was very pleased. Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was wonderful ! Everyone was foc ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was wonderful ! Everyone was focused on taking care of customers!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, , Notable Wine List, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will definitely return. Large portions, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Will definitely return. Large portions, so either come hungry or ready to share!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

When we arrived, the table wasn't ready, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

When we arrived, the table wasn't ready, even though they weren't at capacity b/c it was only 4pm. Not only did I make a reservation but I personally spoke with the manager just hours prior to. Our service was terrible. Empty drinks throughout the meal, mistake in order so one guest didn't receive their dinner until the rest of the table had almost finished. We even were left with all of the dirty dishes still on the table while waiting for our check. This was a special occasion and we make arrangements ahead of time and this was a disappointing experience for our party of ten celebrating my daughter's first birthday. I would have expected the manager to make sure the table was ready and assign a top performing server. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

This is a yearly repeat for my daughter. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This is a yearly repeat for my daughter. We go here every year for her birthday. Consistently it is a great experience and leaves my daughter stating, this is the best birthday ever. Great food, highly recommend upstairs seating for special occasions. And us open table to make your reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitress was very efficient, helpful ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our waitress was very efficient, helpful, and polite! The food she recommended me was phenomenal!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a traditional family ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This restaurant is a traditional family favorite for birthdays because we enjoy the family style menu options. Our most-recent visit was disappointing because 1) our party of 9 was crammed into a table on the edge of the dining room where the foot traffic behind us was like I40 rush hour and 2) our server wasn't having her best day. We felt like we could barely move, and our waitress disappeared for long periods of time. With a bill north of $250, we should have received better service and been able to relax a bit more.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Going to Maggiano's is always an experie ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Going to Maggiano's is always an experience. It's not just about the food. The atmosphere adds so much! The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. This time, their food was undeniably good, but they were very busy and it wasn't up to their usual standard. However, that was the only time that has happened. I would not hesitate to recommend this to friends or family. The ambiance and the food all total a great dinner venue.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been eating at Maggianos for ov ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We have been eating at Maggianos for over 15 years from phoenix to Raleigh to Virginia and have never had a bad meal, or bad experience. Excellent service and atmosphere and staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner there and the food was rea ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had dinner there and the food was really great. We came home with a lot of food because the portion of spaghettis is huge and we got free offered portions to take home, it was a nice surprise!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

New Years w/Friends and Family

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years w/Friends and Family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good. Service was impeccable! A ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good. Service was impeccable! Ambiance is very nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful service...and such great food! ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful service...and such great food! We all loved it...my hubby and 12-year daughter agreed! What a terrific place to ring in the New Year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like the various Maggiano's we've vis ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We like the various Maggiano's we've visited over the years. The food is always good and consistent. We did have a few issues here on NYE however in Durham. No - it was not jammed or slammed as oddly, there were empty tables. I will only give one example. We had a nice young server who could not serve alcohol (no big deal) but his team did have some trouble with timing. For example, we finished our apps and the empty plates were still in front of us when the entrees came. A bit rushed, but again no big deal. What WAS a big deal was the the runner who brought the entrees expected us to move these plates - instead of noticing they were there and having them bussed before presenting the entrees. WORSE, he then put our food down in front of us and left us holding the empty plates! It took a minute of two before a waiter noticed this and cleared the app plates from our hands - but sheesh. This is a management issue that can easily be corrected by properly training the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

Our regular New Years Eve dinner. Great ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our regular New Years Eve dinner. Great food, friendly staff, large portions. Nice for lunch, meals for 2 and family style available.

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointing with the recent experience ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Disappointing with the recent experience. Food was alright, noise level was over the top. Seated next to the bus station where plates were slammed around during cleaning. Not something I will revisit.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Outstanding! Pleasantly surprised with t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding! Pleasantly surprised with the food and excellent service! Will definitely be on our list for Italian in the future!

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally, we would give Maggiano's a 10 ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Normally, we would give Maggiano's a 10 out of 10. However, on this night, we were seated right next to the kitchen, the food was cold, and it was so incredibly loud that we could hardly hear each other.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

It's simply great. Food is amazing and t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It's simply great. Food is amazing and the service is very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, , Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful ambience but the food does not ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beautiful ambience but the food does not correlate with the aesthetics of this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Maggiano's always ends up being a good b ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Maggiano's always ends up being a good bet! We typically avoid chain restaurants, but Maggiano's doesn't feel as sterile as most chains. We had excellent service from the waiter to the chef who came out and made sure our food was good. We all took advantage of the "lighter" variation on a classic dish and were completely satisfied with the offering. Nice option for us before heading to the movies. Glad we went.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was excellent. The food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was delicious, especially the Maggiano salad and the chopped salad. They had many gluten-free options which tasted as good as the non-gluten-free items. The ambience was friendly and quiet. Getting a free take-home pasta entree with each order made the meals a great value. Maggiano's is definitely a great place to go out for dinner.

Tags: , Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We came early on NYE to avoid crowd, had ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We came early on NYE to avoid crowd, had reservation, they took us quickly but straight upstairs without asking. We followed as the hostess took off, however upon arriving upstairs requested a seat downstairs.

Good portions very small, told the oven was broken , my lasagna was mildly warm not hot! Salad served in hot bowls, very small salads and the desert was served with large serving spoons as we were told that the dessert spoons were missing. This was our second time recently very displeased!!! Disappointed our son home from NYC he was most displeased also, he looked forward to this meal as part of the visit .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This was the venue for a first Match dat ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was the venue for a first Match date. We stayed in the restaurant for at least two hours. The food and the ambiance were awseome. I will come back again hopefully for a second and third date.

Thanks for making my experience memorable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my mom out for a girls day. Made re ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Took my mom out for a girls day. Made reservations for New Years Eve lunch. We were seated promptly in the upstairs area, next to the bannister. I was surprised at how slow things were at lunch time, but I guess everyone else was going out much later. This was more to my mom's liking, so all good. Everything was fine, but it was so loud. Not as in there are so many people here that it's loud, but as in the staff hanging out near the computer were cutting up and joking kind of loud. Our poor server was practically shouting at us over the noise her colleagues were making. Although the food was good, as always, we could barely hold a conversation. And there was a noticeable smell on the staircase. Like a wet dog or something. Might be time to have that carpet cleaning scheduled.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was great. Wait staff was fantastic ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was great. Wait staff was fantastic. We were seated in the front circle room. It was very nice and the noise level was very low which was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

As always, this restaurant has pleased m ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

As always, this restaurant has pleased me and my family again. The atmosphere and food was awesome as always. We always come here for special occasions and Maggiano's never disappoints. Our server was Brent and he was awesome. Very attentive to our needs at our table and made sure that everything was correct. They even brought out lit cookies for my wife's birthday. We had a great time and we will be back in the near future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Family Style,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was better in Orlando Florida! We a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was better in Orlando Florida! We also had the Best Service there too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The restaurant was packed out bit still ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The restaurant was packed out bit still seated us on time and it was wonderful for my birthday. Great job

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The gluten free food is excellent. This ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The gluten free food is excellent. This is one of my favorite restaurants and we really enjoyed our time as we always do!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Family Style, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

I go here all the time-my favorite place ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I go here all the time-my favorite place for special occasions

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything went well. Food was delicious ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Everything went well. Food was delicious, service was wonderful. The only problem was they didn't have bread (my favorite part) but I understand with the holidays they ran out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good- my only complaint ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was really good- my only complaint was they had run out of bread which seemed odd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were seated at the worst table in the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We were seated at the worst table in the restaurant right beside a closet. When asked to move, we were placed at the second worst table. The restaurant was out of bread (at 5 o'clock!) and no attempts to obtain any that night. The side of green beans came out after completing our meal, drinks had to be requested twice. We have been there before on several occasions but after this last experience, probably won't go back. The martini was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Maggiano's goes down every time I visit. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Maggiano's goes down every time I visit. The food price goes up as the quality goes down. I tried their newer pasta, Braised Beef Pappardelle, and it had an odd taste and not a lot of beef in it. They were out of bread (the waitress said they had been out for 3 days!). The waitress was nice enough she just didn't come back to check on us or refill our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Maggiano's has been a favorite for celeb ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Maggiano's has been a favorite for celebrating all of the December birthdays in our family. This year, we were disappointed in our overall experience. We chose family style dining as this has been a good value in the past. Unfortunately, the quality of the food and the service was not up to par, especially considering the over $30 per person price. When we sat down, we informed that they were out of bread. A complimentary bruschetta appetizer was brought to the table but the absence of bread was indicative of the lack of attention to detail we noticed throughout our meal. After the appetizers and salads serving platters were cleared, we never received clean plates for our entrees. While it was not a huge deal, it was not what we expected from Maggiano's. I'm not sure we will return for a special event again. It simply didn't meet our expectations based on our past experiences there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Super family restaurant with tons of atm ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Super family restaurant with tons of atmosphere. We always go there during the holidays!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.