About Maggiano's - Durham

8030 Renaissance Parkway
Durham, NC 27713
View Larger Map

Welcome to Maggiano's Durham located in the Streets of Southpoint Mall. The mall is 5 miles from Research Triangle Park off Interstate 40. Please call us for more specific directions. Maggiano's dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower, or important client meeting.
The seasonal patio seats 25 and has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 572-0070

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/north-carolina/durham/27713/8030-renaissance-pkwy-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 919-572-0188 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Griffin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

veal medallions
Calamari Fritti
Maggiano's Famous Rigatoni “D”
Mini Dessert Sampler
Linguine Di Mare
Baked Rigatoni Pomodoro
Tiramisu
House Salad
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Shrimp & Crab Tropeho
Bowtie Aglio (w/whole Penne Substitute)

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Durham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Service
Durham
4 More
Best Value
Durham
Romantic
Durham
Special Occasion
Durham
Most Booked
Durham
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

special occasion (228)
good for groups (219)
romantic (119)
See All
great for lunch (110)
kid-friendly (91)
fit for foodies (87)
great for brunch (46)
neighborhood gem (44)
great for outdoor dining (43)
hot spot (34)
notable wine list (32)
late-night find (24)
vibrant bar scene (17)
scenic view (12)
Sort By:
Newest
3214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I've been to Msggianos many times. This ...

Dined 3 days ago

I've been to Msggianos many times. This time, however, it was not as good as usual. We sat at one of the half-round tables in the bar - our favorite spot. Our waiter was very nice but not all that attentive. He never asked if we wanted dessert or coffee - just brought the check. We both ordered the light version of veal scallopini which we have had in the past but this time it seemed much blander. We are just chalking it up to it being Sunday in the Summer - not all that busy. We've found that restaurants are better when they're busy. We would definitely return however.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food I go there frequently. My pas ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great food I go there frequently. My pasta was over cooked so I had to send it back besides that everything was good as usual.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This wasn't our first experience dining ...

Dined 3 days ago

This wasn't our first experience dining at Maggianos. It has become our families favorite new restaurant. We come as often as we can. We reside in Goldsboro. The food and the service is always top notch. We have never had a bad word to say about our times eating there. We love it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Great place for a goo ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service. Great place for a good meal.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Essentially a very large (and loud) trat ...

Dined 4 days ago

Essentially a very large (and loud) trattoria with 3 distinct seating areas. Energetic and friendly staff, very large portions that are meant to be family-style, and a decent wine list. Counterintuitively, you might want to skip over the Italian wine selections and choose from the American selections. XD

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate my daughter's 17th ...

Dined 6 days ago

We went to celebrate my daughter's 17th birthday. The ambiance was great, service was amazing and the food was top notch, delicious. It was our first time eating at Maggiano's and we will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

After eating at several other Maggiano's ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

After eating at several other Maggiano's across the country I was disappointed in both the food and service. We were seated promptly, but it took our server ten minutes to greet us even though the restaurant was not busy. My daughter's fettuccine alfredo was good, but my baked ziti was burnt.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I love the food at this restaurant. The ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

I love the food at this restaurant. The buy one take one home is a very nice incentive you eat here also. You can shop before or after or both. Our waiter was excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

About 3 months ago I went in and was not ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

About 3 months ago I went in and was not at all pleased with the service we revived, but this time had to have been one of the best places we have been in sometime.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were very kind and moved our reserv ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

They were very kind and moved our reservation up much earlier and that was sincerely appreciated. All the servers were very polite, swift, mannerly, and caring.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great and very reasonably p ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was great and very reasonably priced... especially the "buy 1 take 1" menu! We had generous servings for dinner and more than enough for lunch the next day! The first bread we had was room temperature and it was good but the next basket was warm and it was out of this world!! Overall, a great night for all!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

WE were there for fathers day and the pl ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

WE were there for fathers day and the place was packed but to their credit they were well staffed and the attentiveness and service was excellent - well done

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Although our server was very good and th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Although our server was very good and the food arrived as ordered, Maggianos is not what it used to be. We fell in love with this place when it first opened and it just was an overall special place. This time, the menus were all stained and worn, the beef pasta dish that my husband got had very little beef in it, and the cheesecake has changed and not quite as good. There are still many good things, but it seems like this location needs a little attention. The dinner for two option seems more confusing than it used to be, ordering dinner shouldn't be stressful.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and good service even on a bus ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food and good service even on a busy evening like Fathers Day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My salmon dish was very good and my fami ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My salmon dish was very good and my family really enjoyed themselves. Thank you!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great .... made our fathe ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was great .... made our fathers day perfect

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good Italian food. Always enjoy ea ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good Italian food. Always enjoy eating there but noise level is quite high. It does not work if you are with a large group because conversation is difficult

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Eggplant Parmesan was not good on thi ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Eggplant Parmesan was not good on this visit. I have had it many times before.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service & food were excellent! The ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The service & food were excellent! The host staff did not reserve a booth in the bar as I requested which they have done in the past. Our server was incredible!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the for two, what a great deal, f ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We had the for two, what a great deal, fair price!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just great place with more enough food ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Just great place with more enough food for everyone.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always know what to expect at Maggian ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We always know what to expect at Maggiano's. The food is good, the prices are good and the wait staff is always friendly and attentive. We like to visit there each time we go to Durham

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waitress was great. She told us abo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our waitress was great. She told us about all the specials and answered all of our questions, and her service was just right. The food was excellent and plentiful. Being able to easily make the reservation on line was an additional plus. I am looking forward to going back very soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was good, we had a reservation ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was good, we had a reservation and still had to wait. Server was coureous and helpful.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great meal and great service as ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a great meal and great service as we always do but I do have this memory stuck in my head. So I share the experience but please note that the rating I gave was a good one. The restaurant is normally outstanding which is why we come here for special occasions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best to make a reservation Walkin's ar ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Best to make a reservation Walkin's are seated poorly long wait over 1 hour. Made an online reservation and got a seat before they called me goes to show you ... make a reservation while you wait and jump ahead of the line

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had an excellent experience. Maggiano' ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I had an excellent experience. Maggiano's made my event spectacular n!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

A very disappointing visit for a graduat ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

A very disappointing visit for a graduation lunch. Our appetizers came out after our entrees and the service was erratic as the servers went missing for long periods of time. The food was decent, as always, but not so special that it overcame the rest of the experience or the mediocre quality of the food. Fast food service with fine dining prices. We won't be back anytime soon.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved everything, excellent service !

Dined on June 10, 2016

I loved everything, excellent service !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great time.

Dined on June 9, 2016

Best Food ever. Fun family style dinner with awesome service and lots of take home for later. They really made my family feel special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my "go-to's"

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Maggiano's is at the top of my list when selecting a place to go for a reasonably priced dinner with my husband, a friend, or with another couple. The food and service are consistently good. The "buy one, take one home" offer is a great value. The portions are large.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Intentional BAD Service

Dined on June 4, 2016

I've never written a restaurant review before but the service was so bad at Maggiano's that we do not plan on going back. We were there with another family to celebrate two graduations and the server was noticeably rude to our young adult (mid-twenties) children and high school children. If they asked for anything - bread, straws, water, the server would make a rude remark and delay responding. When he served one of the kids a plate of celebration cookies and said happy birthday to him (my son), I explained that it was actually a celebration for two kids who had graduated that day. He said he would bring the other graduate a dessert, too. Instead, a few minutes later, he brought the adult side of the table a plate of cookies and said that the cookies were to clear our palettes. He never brought the other graduate anything and we didn't know it. The adults thought the service was marginal at best, but after we left and talked to our "kids," we learned that he had been intentionally unpleasant to them the whole evening. We were there to give the kids a celebration and he went out of his way to make it unpleasant.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Little Italy

Dined on June 4, 2016

What I like about Maggiano's is that it is just like the true Italian restaurant my family would visit in Little Italy in Baltimore. The pictures on the walls, the flavors of the food, the large portions... Delicious!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nothing spectacular, ok alternative to t ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Nothing spectacular, ok alternative to the other restaraunts in the area.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

Ordered Chicken Marsala with a Caesar sa ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Ordered Chicken Marsala with a Caesar salad. I'd rate the salad a 4 of 5 but was very disappointed in the overly breaded chicken with seemingly canned mushrooms and a brownish gravy with absolutely no taste of marsala wine at all. Carrabba's is much tastier!

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Good meal but lacked luster.

Dined on June 2, 2016

We frequent Maggiano's on a regular basis and remains one of our favorite when at Southpoint. However, in our last two dining's our meals contained a little too much salt and very much lacked presentation luster. The servings had very little visual resemblance to the promotional presentations. Value was exceptional.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Polite and not too in ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent service. Polite and not too intrusive. Quiet evening for a late night reservation with not many other guests.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice date place.

Dined on May 30, 2016

The food was excellent, and the service was great. Loved that they played classy Sinatra-type music, rather than typical pop. The restaurant is a little noisy inside, so I wouldn't say it's great for a quiet romantic evening, but the ambiance feels much nicer than your typical mid-priced restaurant. Really loved that they take Open Table reservations, so no long wait at the desk.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy food. Great ambiance.

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Most of the items they offer is very testy. Like their take home order too. Wish they have more choices for take home.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

Waitress was very sweet and attentive. Very busy for Saturday night but glad we made reservations. Food was amazing !!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.