About Maggiano's - Durham

Welcome to Maggiano's Durham located in the Streets of Southpoint Mall. The mall is 5 miles from Research Triangle Park off Interstate 40. Please call us for more specific directions. Maggiano's dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower, or important client meeting.
The seasonal patio seats 25 and has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

8030 Renaissance Parkway
Durham, NC 27713
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 572-0070

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/north-carolina/durham/27713/8030-renaissance-pkwy-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 919-572-0188 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Griffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

This year, let us do all the work while you treat mom to Maggiano’s newest special occasion – Brunch! Join us this Mother’s Day from for an “egg-straordinary” meal!

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Durham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (127)
Family Style (117)
Good for a Date (113)
See All
Good for Groups (90)
Good for Birthdays (88)
Good for Anniversaries (88)
Romantic (82)
Casual (73)
Comfort Food (72)
Business Meals (50)
Great for Lunch (49)
Worth the Drive (46)
Fun (45)
Outstanding Value (41)
Cozy (39)
Authentic (38)
Kid-friendly (38)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Great for Brunch (30)
Bar Seating (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Private Room (24)
Tasting Menu (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
People Watching (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Scenic View (8)
Seasonal (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Historic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Music (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
3893 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was as good as ever, but having to wait nearly half an hour for a reserved time slot was aggravating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

I had a great experience! My waiter was so kind and informative. I have shellfish allergies and the chef came out to speak with me about it personally. The only fault was that my guest and I were given each other's food to go. We should have checked before we left though! Overall 5/5.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Food not that good. Got salad and didn't have a lot if cheese. It use to have alot. Eggplant not cooked all the way. For the money not good at all for lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely Amszing Birthday Dinner..... My all time favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I usually have a better selection of pastas with chicken or seafood options as I do not eat port or beef. I do like that you now have the whole wheat pasta option. My Pesto Perlini was okay, but not as tasty as I expected from Maggiano's. Our server was very good.
I made reservations via OpenTable. When I showed up 15 minutes early and asked if we could be seated sooner, we ended up waiting the 15 minutes anyway. Then when we walked into the dining room, it was only half full.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I am a huge fan of Maggiano's. The atmosphere is great and the service is fabulous. I also like that they will adjust meals to your dietary requirements. For instance, I asked for sauteed spinach instead of pasta with my Chicken Saltimbocco. It tasted great and met my dietary requirements.

A few things have changed and were new to us this time. The menus are a little different and have an insert that you have to pull out from the middle. The checks were also delivered via a folded paper holder. These are NOT good changes as far as I'm concerned. These seem like small changes, but they really take away from the overall ambiance. It makes it feel like a cheap chain of restaurants instead of a dining experience like it used to. Holding a menu that is covered like an old, expensive hardback book and receiving the check in a proper holder make it more of an experience. I hope they go back to the way things were in these two cases.

That said, BRAVO for now offering brunch on the weekends! The menu looks great and I can't wait to come and visit on a Saturday or Sunday for brunch.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It was a great event with the family. The boys really enjoyed the desserts. I look forward to attending again in the near future with some special friends. It is a very good restaurant to bring that special friend. Look forward to being at the Maggiano's in Durham again real soon,

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I took my parents (from Ohio) for their 60th Wedding Anniversary. We ordered Family Style. The appetizer wasn’t what was on the menu for the day however it was good. The Pasta dishes were all cold to luke warm. I let that go since I’ve been at your restraint before and have had a wonder time/meal. However when the Salmon and Veal Marsala showed up cold as well, I sent it back. After 20 min. the Manager came over to apologize and check on the food. Shortly after that the meal came out and again, cold. I asked our waiter to pack up everything and we’ll take the deserts. The Spumoni was the very best of the evening. Our waiter gave us a fresh loaf of bread (the hottest food we had) and chocolate cake cookies for our trouble. I waited around for the manager to discuss this again she was nowhere to be found. We spoke to a young lady (greater) and explained the situation. She said she would tell the manager.
I waited a long time to get my parents down to the Carolina’s and was excited to take them to your restraint…..very, very disappointed!!!
By the way we arrived at 5:15 I believe we were the 3rd table seated. Too bad…….

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The service is always perfect and the value is wonderful. We come here every time I fly in for a weekend and the food is consistently good, the service is friendly and professional, the wine is affordable. It is always a sure thing that we will all have a great time and everyone goes home with leftovers to last the next two days.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful place for our family's Easter dinner! The staff was attentive and professional. We really enjoyed the experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Overall the experience is what you should expect at a chain. The food is decent, but generic and heavily salted without intricate flavor, relying heavily on garlic, salt, and your desire to load it with parmesan cheese. At the price point, I would hope for a homemade feel to the pasta, but it certainly doesn't feel that way. They previously had a great bowtie, broccolini, parmesan pasta and excellent ravioli in their one-here one-to-go menu, but this portion of the menu has been cheapened, which is disappointing. The shrimp is definitely precooked, then reheated, which makes them slimy and terrible (for a $24 shrimp scampi that leaves a lot to be desired). The gnocchi was okay but the sausage tasted exactly like sausage on a pizza from Domino's, no joke. The clam and white wine linguine was pretty decent (by far the best dish on the table). The wine by the glass selections are pretty good, but the cocktails are subpar for Durham.

The food is meant to please the crowd; carb heavy, oil heavy, salt heavy, fried heavy, and the cocktails are sweeter than necessary. All of this works for a family or if you just want a lot of food, but for the price range, you can get much better food at a lot of other places in Durham (see below). It's extremely loud and the service is mediocre - our waitress didn't take our order for 25 minutes (I had just stood up to get a manager). She did a good job after that, so I'd give her 3/5. The food is a 2-3/5 depending on what you want. I would say it's comparable to Applebee's in terms of food quality, but costs about as much as Mateo, Pizzeria Torro, or The Refectory - all of which would give you tremendously better food. I'm disappointed in the experience because it feels like the menu and food quality have been cheapened since a few years ago, but the prices have gone up.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was delayed and cold when served.
The chicken parmagan was dry and burnt.
Very disappointed.
Our family likes to dine at Maggiano's (8-10) of us for special events.
Holidays have not been enjoyable due to above.
Orlando has been much better.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always pleased with Maggiano's Durham. Food is great, service is great, never disappointed. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Decided to try brunch here in Easter. My husband and I ordered only to wait 40 minutes for our food. When it finally arrived, my husband's pancakes were uncooked and filled with batter. The waitress brought him more, but at that point we were done eating. We paid the check and then waited to speak with a manager. We were told that brunch was new and the cooks were not adequately trained. I would advise holding off on eating brunch until they get it together!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch. Food wasn't that great and was very pricey. The service wasn't very good and they didn't really seem to know what they were doing. They did say that they had just started serving brunch a few weeks ago so maybe it will improve with time.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I personally never been to this restaurant in my life, my wife had came 3 times with her family for special occasions, and wanted me to experience the great taste. I wasn't disappointed at all!
The only sad part is that she took the tiramisu for herself and I had to watch as she ate it selfishly but she kept a smile on her face and you would know if she doesn't like it. Which is also surprising she doesn't eat sweets at all!
Great customer service, very friendly and comforting and professional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

For the second time visiting the Durham Maggiano's the first table at which we were supposed to be seated was the worst one in the restaurant ... in the back darker corner, surrounded by a fairly noisy service area with lots of service people traffic going by constantly. On a visit other than this (six weeks ago), we turned that table down and the hostess taking us to a new table was obviously unhappy that we requested a different table.

On this visit, we were at first taken to that very same table - in the dark, service-area corner... We requested a different table and were shown to a very good table with a window view. The hostess this time did not have the attitude of the first one from six weeks ago.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Every time we eat here it is outstanding. My son requests this restaurant every for his birthday!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We loved our waiters she was friendly and nice also helpful with the menu since it was our first time visiting

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always a family favorite so when I had the opportunity to treat the members of my volunteer group, I did not hesitate to choose Maggiano's-Little Italy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was very good, but, the appetizers were expensive for the amount provided. Be sure to specified for outside table when booking on line if you want a quiet table outside.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food and service are always exceptional. My favorite place to dine solo or celebrate with friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Family Style, Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food was amazing and delicious.
My waiter was very friendly and his knowledge of the menu was very helpful.
The atmosphere at the restaurant was very relaxing and dignified.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service. Easy access, parking ample.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We went there for a girls day out for brunch. The service was great and food was delicious. We will be coming back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Romantic, Family Style, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It was a great nite out with my wife on our 1 year anniversary

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were there to celebrate 5 April birthdays and we had an issue with the reservation. They were very accommodating to us and fit 9 of us invert quickly on a busy night. Thanks

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We ordered the mozzarella marinara and it came out cold. The food was very rushed. We did not get a sense of a relaxed atmosphere. It was super crowded. We have been to other Maggiano's and this was by far my least favorite one. The waitress was really good but again everything was rushed. They did however give us an extra dessert to take home which was really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

What a wonderful place for celebrating loved ones. Service was great!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food and service was great! We were seated next to a very busy kitchen. It was loud and we have difficulty hearing each other at our table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We went as a family for our son's birthday and our anniversary. it was delicious. the server was wonderful and we did not feel rushed to finish but rather felt welcomed to take our time and enjoy every moment together during a scrumptious dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This is the perfect spot for a large group to gather.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I have been dining at Maggiano's since it opened several years ago and the high quality of the food has been consistently high. An Italian Restaurant is often measured by its sauce, and Maggiano's is excellent. The portions are large and the value is excellent.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Ordered Chicken Picotta and wanted Angel hair pasta with some extra spaghetti sauce.... well I got the chicken with the extra spaghetti sauce on it not the pasta. Not a good thing. Who would order a dish with a butter wine sauce and expect them to put spaghetti sauce on top of it. Won't go there again as I now had to wait for the correct food and got it when the other four people with me were finished eating and the pasta they left with me was now cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This was my second visit to Maggiono's and was little disappointed. We were there to celebrate my daughter's Sweet 16. The waitress never asked if we were celebrating something special, yet the table behind us, that was the first question she asked them. They fettuccine alfredo sauce was very runny/soupy and my daughter hardly ate an of hers. We were very excited to take her since, but very dissapointed in the service/food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

All staff were courteous, the food was served promptly, the value was great as we had pasta there and the deal included a pasta dish to go (and appetizer and deseert too!). Absolutely fabulous Tiramisu!

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Love coming to Maggianos . The food is amazing and the staff is very friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had a reservation and were seated on time but our table was not ready. It took about 15 minutes for our waiter to great us and after greeting he took our order which we knew exactly what we wanted. We received out entrees but still no silverware at our table. At this point, we never got our appetizer which the waiter came back after we were almost done with out entree to ask us about. We had to steal the silverware from another table. Granted our waiter had a large party he was helping but he forgot about us. We wanted to enjoy our time which we did but it left a bad taste in our mouths Bc it wasn't just one thing that went wrong. Our waiter thankfully boxed our appetizer and dessert for us and took off 25% from the bill.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Our experience was great. Our server was amazing!!!!! His name was Joseph and he was very very friendly, personable and knowledgeable. The food as always was so filling and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Love everything ❤ food, family style option, we had an Awsome waiter!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.