About Maggiano's - Durham

Welcome to Maggiano's Durham located in the Streets of Southpoint Mall. The mall is 5 miles from Research Triangle Park off Interstate 40. Please call us for more specific directions. Maggiano's dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower, or important client meeting.
The seasonal patio seats 25 and has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

8030 Renaissance Parkway
Durham, NC 27713
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 572-0070

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/north-carolina/durham/27713/8030-renaissance-pkwy-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 919-572-0188 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Griffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Durham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (116)
Good for a Date (91)
Good for Birthdays (88)
See All
Good for Groups (83)
Good for Anniversaries (78)
Family Style (72)
Comfort Food (66)
Casual (65)
Romantic (59)
Great for Lunch (56)
Worth the Drive (51)
Business Meals (49)
Great for Brunch (48)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Fun (39)
Authentic (37)
Kid-friendly (34)
Cozy (34)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Bar Seating (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
People Watching (14)
Private Room (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Seasonal (8)
Scenic View (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Healthy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
3986 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
·Dined 4 days ago

Good food and good service was provided here. Maggiano's always delivers both.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and Service was Excellent!!! Our waiter was well trained and very nice!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful server. The deal where you can order a pasta dish and take home a second pasta dish is a great deal! The outside seating is nice if the weather is nice.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food is always excellent and the service was outstanding. Always a ton of leftovers for the next day.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I am a fan of Maggiano's and have dined at this location many times. However this time I found my Penne Pasta and Meat Sauce to be more like SOUP that could only be eaten with a spoon.

I am not sure what happen this time but I sure it was a mistake that will not happen again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Br H. and team make you feel comfortable, welcome and happy. Thank you for a wonderful celebration! Outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

It is too noisy in the restaurant. The chairs that go with the table seating are not comfortable. An unpleasant hostess told me we could not be seated until 7 of our 8 diners (reservation made) were present(we had 6 including a tired child at the time)...really? Then 10 minutes later I asked another staff person ( a gentleman who seemed more pleasant) and he told me "Of course you can be seated")- no hesitation even after I told him the hostess said we couldn't be seated. Our waiter was very nice and accommodating but needs to work on his English/accent. He had a very heavy accent which was difficult to understand on occasion. He walked behind the table which was a against a wall to access everyone on that side but the area between the wall the backs of those seated was very narrow, he was a little shaky and could have easily spilled something hot on the back of someone. The food was good but could be way better, for an Italian restaurant the flavor is flat- no garlic, onion, spices... I ordered a decaf coffee which tasted like there was very little coffee in it. For the cost of everything, I expected more. Some smaller non-chain Italian restaurants and Olive Garden are better for taste, value and comfort.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on June 19, 2017

Fantastic food, friendly service and we will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 19, 2017

We have been there multiple times, but this was by far the worst experience. It took forever to get our food and some of the food was burned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
·Dined on June 18, 2017

We visited on Father's Day- it was a mad house! Our appetizer plates were dirty with food still on them. We sat for a long time before our server came to ask for our drink orders. The meal was only so-so. The alcoholic drinks were way overpriced. Had to remind the waitress a number of time for our take home pasta special. We ordered dessert for carry out and the bag had leftover food all inside the bag. Below average rating at best.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was tasty, many entree choices, service a little slow. Father's Day dinner...Made the reservation 2 weeks ahead, and still had to wait 20 minutes for a table. Very noisy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went for Father's day. Great food and service. This place never disappoints.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on June 18, 2017

Perfect Father's Day brunch!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had a great dinner. Our entire family loves this place. We always go for family style dinner, and that is great value for money. Service was excellent and the food was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on June 17, 2017

Remains one of my favorites. I have been to most of them in the US and never been disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on June 16, 2017

Normal food for Maggiano's, service was OK, atmosphere was what I expected.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on June 15, 2017

One of our favorite places for special celebrations. We always have food to bring home for another meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 15, 2017

Service was very slow! Hair was in our cake, but it was replaced.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on June 14, 2017

The appetizers were good. The wine and beer list was very small. Main meal was ok nothing to brag about. I expected more from this restaurant. Service was good and very helpful with menu questions. Sad to say I don't think I will be back unless they revamp the menu and food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on June 12, 2017

We were celebrating a very special occasion for our family and the experience was superb! Great food, great atmosphere! A repeatable affair, for certain.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great value. Good low calorie options. Super service. Outside seating when weather appropriate.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 11, 2017

Dinner was fabulous this past weekend. Making a reservation is the way to go, as you are almost immediately whisked to your table. Our server was excellent and very responsive to all our requests. The food was quickly delivered and delicious! All in all, a fantastic overall experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 11, 2017

My server, Brent, was amazing and for a first time visit made sure that we would be coming back again. The food was hot and filling along with an amazing ambiance and setting, I couldn't have been happier. It also helped that my date was gorgeous!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent service. Waiter explained all of the specials and answered our questions about menu items. Very knowledgeable and courteous service. Food was served timely and was fresh and flavorful.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had a great time. Food was excellent and service was great. Recommend the salmon. Great value in pasta, order one and take one home and specials for two.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 9, 2017

There were nine of us with ages ranging from 6 to 76. There are items on the menu from which anyone can choose and be happy. Aside from the noise level, generally, it was a very pleasant experience. We've been there before and will go again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 9, 2017

We were there for 44th anniversary. The atmosphere was very nice and the food was fantastic. It was also great value since she got two meals to take home with you! We were served a special anniversary cookie plate which was very unexpected. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 9, 2017

As always, the food and service was outstanding. Michael was knowledgeable and attentive.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 8, 2017

Pros: They were very flexible in being to change the time of our mid-week lunch which was nice. The price for lunch was reasonable. Waiter was attentive but not overbearing.

Cons: The restaurant smelled like a wet musty dish rag - not very appetizing. They didn't get my order exactly right. I asked for something to be left off my salad but it was on their anyway.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on June 4, 2017

We are never disappointed when we eat there! Great food and service with every visit! Thank you for making my birthday this year speacial!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food, very good staff. We arrived a few minutes early, and our table was ready on time. (party of 10). The wait staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, with suggestions on the food and pairings. Great place for a family meal, or just a date with your significant other. Will be going back soon!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 2, 2017

Delicious, as always...great service. Can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 2, 2017

A terrific dining experience! Good service, good food and an enjoyable atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 31, 2017

Salad entrees are over priced. The chopped salad is very basic.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great food. Generous portions. Would recommend it to anyone

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 29, 2017

Food is solid Italian cuisine. Nothing amazing but good. Server was attentive and responsive. He did misunderstand a desert request but no bigger. Manager stopped by and was very friendly. I'll go back but won't make an effort. Weirdly enough I prefer OG.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 28, 2017

This restaurant has the most delicious food. I made reservations and was promptly seated at the appointed time with no issues. This restaurant is near many shops therefore one could eat to their hearts content then stroll along the many stores. I would highly recommend Maggiano's of Durham.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on May 27, 2017

Service and atmosphere was great! Eggplant Parmesan is the best! Kind of disappointed with pasta primavera they sent home, vegetables undercooked and kind of bland. Otherwise everything else was perfect!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 27, 2017

We enjoyed our time at Maggiano's. Tyler was our waiter. He was terrific. Now he talks very fast. But if we didn't catch everything he said we'd ask for him to repeat it. It was my husband's birthday and they celebrated it with those terrific lemon cookies with candles. And, we also took home a piece of the cheesecake. Really good!!! Everyone was the greatest. We also enjoyed Carl. He had a great sense of humor. I always recommend Maggiano's to friends and family. Thank you again for a fun evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 27, 2017

Lots of food but I thought the service was not worth the 300.00 price for a family of 7. I had to remind the waiter about removing salad plates and other things that he should have been on top of. I felt we were rushed through the meal. Still working on sale when he brought entrees

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.