About Maggiano's - Durham

Welcome to Maggiano's Durham located in the Streets of Southpoint Mall. The mall is 5 miles from Research Triangle Park off Interstate 40. Please call us for more specific directions. Maggiano's dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower, or important client meeting.
The seasonal patio seats 25 and has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

8030 Renaissance Parkway
Durham, NC 27713
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 572-0070

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/north-carolina/durham/27713/8030-renaissance-pkwy-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 919-572-0188 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Griffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Durham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (86)
Special Occasion (83)
Good for a Date (78)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (76)
Good for Groups (66)
Casual (64)
Comfort Food (54)
Business Meals (53)
Worth the Drive (49)
Authentic (41)
Great for Lunch (38)
Romantic (38)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Fun (34)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Great for Brunch (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Kid-friendly (23)
Cozy (23)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
People Watching (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Disabled Access (11)
Healthy (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Vegan (5)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
4161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service. Lindsey recommended great features. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Phenomenal staff went above and beyond for me in helping me plan my proposal. Couldn't be more thankful for that. The food was amazing as always and the environment is always great. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We went to celebrate a birthday. Food and service were great. It was pretty busy and the server did get a little behind on serving our table but was very nice about it and tried to make up for it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

We had a 5:45 reservation for 4. Got there half hour early. After spending $60 in bar got in line to check in. Party in front of us were friend with waiter...no reservation. He told them right in front of me don't worry I'll seat yall immediately...Should have been more discreet! When checked in they told me I'd be on waiting list of reservations. Wish I'd know that half an hour and $60 bucks ago. Was seated in five minutes though. Did Family Style.... Salmon was watery and lacked favor. Spaghetti, my favorite was bland. Everything else was pretty good. I spent $170 with tip when all said and done. Table probably in the $350 range all together......Not my best experience at that price point. I'll go back though, I like it there and usually good food.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We had an OpenTable 5:30 reservation and arrived at 5:15, but we were made to wait 25 minutes. We sat at 5:40.

Really? A business should never set an expectation they can't meet, unless you're Olive Garden. Or, the now defunct Chi Chi's.

As I scanned the menu, I noticed Chicken and Waffles: $19.95. I thought to myself, "I just ate at Mandolin this week, and the same dish was $19. Mandolin is fine dining with white table cloths; Maggiano's has the same red checkered tablecloths like an all-you-can-eat Cici's Pizza.

The white napkins left lint on our clothing--no offer of a black napkin. This is not fine dining; this is the Red Lobster experience. A bad Red Lobster. Except Red Lobster gives everyone black napkins.

The bread in the bread basket got cold fast because it was put on a paper cocktail napkin in a wire basket. They should have used doubled cloth napkins in perhaps a premium ceramic basket. The bread tasted like an average sliced and nuked packaged bread. The only saving grace was oil and grated cheese. The cheese quality was one step above Kraft.

A guy other than our server brought out our meals. He didnt know who ordered what. There are only two of us dining, a M & F. This should have been a slam dunk to get right. He did not serve from the left or even right; he reached across our table. He must have trained at Waffle House where cooks expertly reach across the counter to drop your food off from 5-6 inches by tilting the plate so one edge breaks the fall. I'm always impressed that the Waffle House cook can demonstrate a clever 1/4 spin that culminates in a small rattle as your plate settles. Same at Maggianos.

The cook was very chincy with the Vodka sauce on a "Signature Pasta Dish" I think Signature means better meats or something. There was about 2 tablespoons of sauce, and the presentation was bland.

Maggianos should be avoided. The food is below average, the service is way below average, and the atmosphere is Cici's with mahogany stained walls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

We always have a good experience when dining here and the food is absolutely delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2017

I love this place. Never cease to amaze me. The food is amazing. My favorite restaurant.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Our party of eight was seated promptly. As requested, we were seated at a large round table and the high chair was provided for the baby. Restaurant was busy, but our table toward the back made it easy to converse. I requested ingredients I did not care for be omitted from my dish and it was done perfectly! Great service and a good meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

It's really bad experience in Maggiano's @ southpoint. We reserve the table for little one 2 years birthday on 8:00pm but we wait until 8:30pm be seated. The food and the service were bad and delay. We never come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2017

My family has eaten at Maggiano's in Florida, Georgia, Illinois and North Carolina. We know what to expect and usually enjoy the food and atmosphere. We've even eaten at this Maggiano's a few times before, but this last time here, the food was surprisingly a huge disappointment. We were seated about 30 minutes after our Open Table reservation time. The place was super busy.. My son had to remind the server to bring the bread even though she had poured the oil and added The parmesan. The pasta wasn't cooked well enough. It was less than al dente done. It was like this on all three entrees. My salad came out after the entrees. The lettuce was wet, and some of the red onion was so cold it seemed a bit frozen. An unfortunate night to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 13, 2017

This is one of our favorite places for special dates like birthdays and anniversaries. It is also where we take guests when they visit.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

This place has great food and excellent service. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Service was very good. Food was good. Food and alcohol are way over-priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Great food. Plenty of it and can accommodate any size table

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had brunch for the first time here and it did not disappoint at all! We went as soon as they opened so we didn’t have to wait for seating. Everyone at our table tried a different dish and all of them were excellent. I will definitely go back for brunch again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Maggiano's has a clear understanding of how to handle the large influx of dinners on weekend evenings. They were about 5 minutes late seating us since it was raining out and the outdoor tables were unavailable. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. We did the Meal for Two, which we believe is a bargain for the good food served.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Awesome! They able to accommodate 18 of us on a Friday night. They also took the cake I brought, kept it in the back and lit the candles for us to sing happy birthday. Our servers were awesome! Kept our drinks full and our food came quickly. Not a single order was wrong or messed up which is very easy to do when you have 18 people. I definitely recommend maggianos!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Visiting our daughter at Elon University. It reminders me of Carmine's in NYC! Our server was excellent and the place was fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We went as a family to celebrate my wife's birthday. The service was very good as was the food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We had a reservation and arrived early, but had to wait in a queue to be put on a wait list because those without reservations were being seated, too.

My husband found a manager and we were seated.

Tables are uncomfortably close together.

Food was good and we had nice service.

Tags: Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Fabulous place to eat! We enjoy it every time we visit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Maggianos's is fairly reliable to provide tasty Italian food in a nice atmosphere. The pricing is steep, but the servings are large. We usually end up getting twice the number of meals out of the night. We consider it a treat every now and then. Worth the trip...

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Finished my practicum in school counseling!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent food and service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Took a friend out for her birthday.We both enjoyed our food.

Tags: Vegan, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

As always, the food was superb! It's also wonderful to take home the same pasta you enjoyed at dinner. Excellent meal!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

We went to Maggianos to celebrate completion of a 9 week study group for a professional organization. The service was prompt and professional. The appetizers and main dishes were delicious. Though the restaurant was crowded, conversations still took place. It was a fit place to celebrate a long course of study.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great food and service to celebrate my husbands birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Go there every year for our anniversary and never disappointed

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Dined in, took home enough leftovers for a next day meal at home. Fast service, great value!Also recommend to-go dinner for 4 at take-out door.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 25, 2017

The food was delicious, as always. Our server was fantastic. A dinner choice that never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food and service were top notch as usual. The Ac was rather cool at times and occasionally
the noise level was a bit much.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We go to Maggianos usually every 2 months. We get the buy one get one to take home, which is a great deal. The food is always great, service is always good and we always have a good time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

It was a disappointing evening at Maggiano's last Saturday for a number of reasons. Didn't see a manager on the floor in order to express our concerns. As must as I like certain food items there, will write Maggiano's off of our list of places to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great Food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 19, 2017

This was my first visit to Maggiano's and it was for a very special occasion - a birthday dinner for my best friend. She was surprised by my choice of restaurants, but thrilled to be going somewhere this special since she doesn't get to very often.

The ambience of Maggiano's was by itself outstanding - very romantic and very conducive to the intent of the reservation. The food was beyond excellent and the wait-staff superb in their attention to us and especially in providing an extra dessert with a candle for her birthday.

Thank you is all I can say for a wonderfully special evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Only went here because this is my fathers favorite restaurant! The food was terrible and nothing like real Italian food from Italy! My spouse and I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We ate here for my husband's birthday. Me and my mom had never been she says it was worth her almost 2 hour drive. I enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Our table was near the dish wash area which was noisy and distracting at times.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great restaurant for a birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We went for my birthday and the food was marvelous. But the waiter was inconsistent. Here we were celebrating a special birthday and he didn't clear the dinner dishes before bringing our dessert. Disgusting. Brought cake without a fork and we waited and waited to be able to eat it.
Disappointing.
Noise level very high.
Too bad about these things because the food is delicious and with ample portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.