About Maggiano's - Durham

8030 Renaissance Parkway
Durham, NC 27713
View Larger Map

Welcome to Maggiano's Durham located in the Streets of Southpoint Mall. The mall is 5 miles from Research Triangle Park off Interstate 40. Please call us for more specific directions. Maggiano's dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower, or important client meeting.
The seasonal patio seats 25 and has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 572-0070

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/north-carolina/durham/27713/8030-renaissance-pkwy-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 919-572-0188 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Griffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Durham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (120)
Special Occasion (115)
Family Style (112)
See All
Good for Groups (95)
Good for Anniversaries (88)
Good for Birthdays (87)
Comfort Food (75)
Romantic (70)
Casual (66)
Worth the Drive (55)
Authentic (48)
Business Meals (47)
Fun (40)
Cozy (39)
Outstanding Value (38)
Great for Lunch (36)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Kid-friendly (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Bar Seating (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Private Room (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Tasting Menu (19)
People Watching (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Seasonal (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Scenic View (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Healthy (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fireplace (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Historic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Live Music (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3799 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

This is an obviously popular choice as the crowds are always heavy at dinner time. They did great at seating us at the time of our reservation. The table for 7 that we sat at was very close to other diners and also the walkway. At my seat, waiters and servers asked me to scoot in half a dozen times, as in scoot in to the point that you're sucking in as much as you can, not as if I had my chair way out from the table - that's just not appropriate. The waiter was slammed, I get that, but our drinks were empty nearly the whole meal, in addition to needing to track him down to ask for bread before our meal like everyone else was getting and to take our order. He was very friendly. I guess the whole experience is just what you should expect from a restaurant of this nature - not awful but not really satisfying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

What a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great service will dine there again. Ambiance nice even for a romantic dinner if you request the proper table location

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Family Style, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a wonderful lunch at Southpoint Maggianos. The food is always exceptional and service staff is amazing. Our server was Lindsey who made great recommendations and was very personable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 20, 2017

An excellent dining experience after a hectic day of house-hunting in Raleigh. Our server Amy was undeniably the best ever, taking time to make suggestions and just talk as we were old friends. Very efficient indeed.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service was excellent. The food was phenomenal. I highly recommend it to everyone where you're having a night out with some friends or on a date. It's fabulous.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great place to gather with family and friends. The atmosphere was and our server had a great personality. She went beyond regular service. I will return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service was lack luster at best this time...Our waitress was more interested it doing a drive by, is the best way to describe it. She was cordial but was not interested in the outstanding service and meal we have had before.

My wife's meal the chicken was forgotten and my meal lack any favor. It was pasta which by the time I ate on it became over cooked pasta.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Byron, our waiter was outstanding, the food was good ans we enjoyed the entire evening!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful :)

Katie was a Gem :)

Will come again :)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was great, but the service was bad. We made a reservation and when we got there they said it's first come first serve, so we were handed a pager and waited for a table anyway so I don't understand why they are on opentable. The waiter was a bit spacey and didn't recall multiple times that we already ordered drinks/appetizers and had to ask him to put them in again. After appetizers though he did fairly well, so not sure if it was just a dinner rush that got him confused or something. The food portions are big and great for taking leftovers home with you. I'd highly recommend their food, but I hope if I go back in the future that the service and seating arrangements are handled better.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was a very nice experience and the the food was very good. We selected the smaller portion options on our meals to cut down the total food portions. Great idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It was a nice place, I enjoyed it alot. The service was good, the food was good, and it was like being in an actual Italian setting. I would definitely come back again, and recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

First visit and we will return. Had a coupon and thought it was a GREAT value. The server was a hardworking, great attitude young lady.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Really enjoyed the food, the service was ok. Waiter kept forgetting things that we asked for, also they could not find my reservation in system.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This was about my third or fourth time dining at Maggiano's. They have great Italian considering it's located in North Carolina. You may not get the exact feel of a small Italian restaurant like in Boston, but it still performs well. The food taste great and you can tell they try to pack the Italian feel into this chain. I do say I feel like I'm getting fed authentic Italian food, but don't expect it to be 5 star or anything. You'll still be satisfied however. The veal parm was excellent and the chicken piccata wasn't bad either. The pasta doesn't blow me away though. Could be better. If you're looking for food spaghetti and meatballs, this prob won't be the place for it. Otherwise, the other dishes are great. Give it a shot, but make sure to bring some cash. On the pricier side for sure.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great. Sabastian our waiter was AWESOME. Made reservations online and got right in upon our arrival. Love this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service. Wish I could remember my waitress name to put in my review because she was good. Me and my wife went out for valentines and we enjoyed ourselves and the menu was great for the occasion

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed dinner on Valentine's Day. Maggiano's is one of my favorite places to dine!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here with my wife for Valentine's Day. It was our first visit so we weren't sure what to expect. The pasta was quite good and was authentic (based on my limited experience). We also got calamari which was good as well. The service was great, very friendly, helpful, and understanding.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I went to Maggiano's for valentines dinner. We were seated immediately. The wait staff did an awesome job serving. My wife has gluten sensitivities and there was no hesitation when she brought this up with our server as to what she could order.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Maggiano's is our fave place for no occasion or any occasion. We love the food and the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day special was excellent. We enjoyed 2 salads, 2 entrees, 2 glasses of wine, and shared a dessert-to-die-for -- Hazelnut Chocolate Cheesecake made with Nutella. This should be permanently added to the menu. So good. The Chicken Parmesan was bountiful, enough to take home for another meal. And the salmon was perfectly cooked on a bed of wilted spinnach with a light lemon sauce. Jeanne-Louise, our server, was quick (but not too quick), efficient, and lots of fun. A delightful evening. With Frank Sinatra singing in the background and huge displays of gladiolas, it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 14, 2017

After many visits, Maggiano's continues to provide us with a fantastic dining experience. Great food, service, atmosphere, and prices. And the "take a meal home - for free" program makes them an even more enticing place to eat. On a ten-scale, we'd give them a 12.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love this place my wife enjoyed it as well great food great service definitely great for a date.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food and service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place for a special occasion dinner or nice lunch. Can be very busy at times but the atmosphere is great and on the whole the food is delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Terrific place for a lunch date with my wife on Valentine's day! Excellent, attentive service, delicious food - we recommend the zucchini fritters - and excellent value, including an extra meal to bring home. Easy access of the highway and in the mall made it a great place for us to meet. We enjoyed it thoroughly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed being with you. Our waitress was really great!!!! Food was good. We will visit again......

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We where greeted openly. We where seated right away. Our waiter was named Brant, he was one of the best waiters we've had since coming here for meals

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a reservation for 7 pm and still had to wait at the bar for about 10 mins. Then we waited at the table for 30 mins before getting water. One of our glasses had to be exchanged because it had lipstick on it. Then another 20 mins before we got a glass of wine. Food was OK but not worth the cost of the entrees. And to top it all off, we never got a wine menu and were shagrined to find that a glass of Cabernet that was only barely acceptable was $17. We could have bought a decent bottle for that price. Not going back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I dined at Magianos for my son's birthday and ordered family style dining due to the size of my party. The portions were small. It was such a rip off. I will not order family style dining again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service and the creme brûlée was fabulous! We're very conscientious of my gluten free requirement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

By far the best for special occasions. Your date will love it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Although Maggianos is on the pricey side they have an option to buy one entree and get another to bring home for free which is outstanding! Also the dishes are plenty huge to share and I have not had a bad meal there. The food is delicious and pretty authentic . I am Italian and grew up with my Italian relatives cooking so not bad... I recommend it (chain places) Definitely over Olive Garden .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place is a great value, especially if you get the Classic Pastas. The food is very good and the bread is to die for...

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The experience tonight (Saturday ) was awful . The server really didn't wanted to explain the menu . It was our first time at this restaurant . The time it took to get our food out and adjusting the bill because the server was charging something extra that we didn't order .

  1. The bread took about 20 mins to get to the table

  2. No silverware was on the table . We had to ask another server walking by to bring us some

  3. Server didn't want to take the time to explain the menu

  4. Up sold on a item that was though to be with the entree .

  5. Server didn't put the extra food that was order in the bag to take home

  6. Server barely show up to ask if everything was ok and we had to ask another server to bring us items we needed for our food.

  7. Beside asking for the manager and didn't show up . The server was rude .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and the service was great! Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

If you like low cheap food this is the place for you. The food was so bad my 16 would not even eat it. The salad dressing tasted like nothing but sugar. The sauce had no flavor. The service was ok not that great. All the food was low quality! I would pay more to have better quality food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

i had ask for a booth since this was a data night with my husband. The hostess told us that she would make a request but could not guarantee. We asked if we could wait for booth to come available and was advise yes. The management found a booth and we did not have to wait for one past our 5pm reservation. Our server was very nice and loved his accent. He set the mode for the whole meal. Everything is always good. The chicken was a little over done for my taste but still very good. Loved the seasonal chocolate cheesecake. Always a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our second trip and we were really happy with the food & service. Made reservations for Valentine's Day (which were scarce). Overall the food was very good and the special menu was very affordable. We were seated in a room used for private parties so there was some confusion when the food was served. The waitress was great but the rest of the staff was was a little disorganized. We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Family Style, Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome dining experience we really enjoyed the service and the meal

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I really didn't see the point of setting reservations when I still had to wait for a table. Although it was a shorter wait. Waiter wasn't that tenative, didn't refill my water.

Overall, great good, great atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious food, exceptional service, beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service and food! I surprised by husband with a dinner at Maggiano's because it's a tradition with his friends, many of whom were out of town that night. It was a great night reminiscing on our history as a couple and his friends. It was a very relaxing and pleasant evening filled with yummy food and dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I have been there many times. As far as I am concerned this is a great restaurant. THE FOOD IS GOOD, THE WAiTERS AND WAITRESSES ARE FRIENDLY AND GOOD AT THEIR JOB. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food & attentive service! We celebrated a famil member's birthday. I liked the "Buy a meal-take one home" food package.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Al is well. I must begin by saying that when I last visited this Maggiano's location in November 2016 I wrote a critical and unfavorable report on that experience. However, I also wrote that, because of many past favorable experiences with this chain, I would give the Durham location another chance. I and my family were very happy that we did.

The service that we received from our waiter, Mark, was outstanding. It was a rather busy evening but Mark was right there for us when we needed him for some extra bread or drink refills. The food was delivered within a reasonable period of time. It was warm and delicious. The calamari was excellent. The best that we had anywhere in quite a while. Our entree's were very tasty and cooked perfectly.

During dinner, Aleshia, from the management staff came over to our table to greet us and to inquire if we had any comments or concerns. We mentioned our November experience and told her how great everything was on this latest visit. She was happy that we were pleased and for our reviews and comments whether they were unfavorable, such as the Nov. 2016 review, or favorable.

The evening ended with yummy dessert selections and after dinner drinks.

We will be back without a doubt.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great portions, good service and great value with solid quality of preparation and taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.