About Maggiano's - Chevy Chase

5333 Wisconsin Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20015
View Larger Map

Welcome to Maggiano's Chevy Chase, located on Wisconsin Avenue across the street from the Mazza Gallerie. We are convenient to the National Cathedral and minutes from all of Washington's National Monuments. Maggiano's 295-seat dining room is right next to Lord & Taylor, Saks Fifth Avenue and Neiman Marcus.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 966-5500

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/district-of-columbia/washington/20015/5333-wisconsin-ave-nw/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 202-966-2593 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
We have a parking garage under our building that has discounted parking for up to two hours before 5:00pm & up to four hours after 5:00pm. We also offer valet for $7/car every day starting at 5:00pm.

Public Transit:
We are located at the Friendship Heights metro stop on the Red Line. Once off the metro, take the Military Road exit.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Delano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sausage Rigatoni - Maggiano's - Chevy Chase, Washington, DC
Rigatoni "D" - Maggiano's - Chevy Chase, Washington, DC
Poundcake - Maggiano's - Chevy Chase, Washington, DC
Four Cheese Ravioli - Maggiano's - Chevy Chase, Washington, DC
Chicken Francese - Maggiano's - Chevy Chase, Washington, DC
Caesar Salad - Maggiano's - Chevy Chase, Washington, DC
New York Style Cheesecake - Maggiano's - Chevy Chase, Washington, DC
Peppermint Cake  - Maggiano's - Chevy Chase, Washington, DC
Creme Brulee - Maggiano's - Chevy Chase, Washington, DC
Cheese cake - Maggiano's - Chevy Chase, Washington, DC
Flatbread - Maggiano's - Chevy Chase, Washington, DC
Gnocci - Maggiano's - Chevy Chase, Washington, DC

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us for a memorable holiday celebration this Christmas Eve.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Make your last meal of the year count! Ring in the New Year with us at Maggiano's

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Chevy Chase Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (45)
Family Style (43)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Good for Birthdays (36)
Good for a Date (30)
Comfort Food (29)
Romantic (25)
Casual (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Kid-friendly (20)
Outstanding Value (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Business Meals (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Private Room (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Cozy (12)
Authentic (11)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Seasonal (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
People Watching (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
2279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Celebrated grandmother's birthday. The s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Celebrated grandmother's birthday. The service was 5stars. From the hostess down to the foodrunners where very attentive. Our server William went above and beyond to make our experience memorable. Our food and wine were just as amazing as the ambience provided by this restaurant. Will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and good value for a large fam ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Good food and good value for a large family dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as always. Will always be at Maggi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great as always. Will always be at Maggianos for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thanksgiving day dinner. Waitress was ve ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving day dinner. Waitress was very nice but clearly overworked. Our food came out cold, two dishes were forgotten - despite multiple reminders by us - until we were almost done. Very loud. But decent value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Thanksgiving dinner was awesome, busier ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was awesome, busier than expected but the wait for the food didn't take long. Tasted incredible, even the little kids enjoyed it. The location made it ideal for a short visit through downtown DC before dinner. We have been here multiple times and have been pleased every time and will go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequent this restaurant & are always ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We frequent this restaurant & are always happy to return. It was our first Thanksgiving meal there. Too much food..... we were pleased to take home the pasta. Wish there had been a little more turkey & ham on the entree dishes. Was pasta really necessary for a T. G. meal? Don't get me wrong- we love your pasta! But would have preferred more of the traditional TG offerings.

Sw Potato side dish especially smooth & yummy. And adequate cranberry offering. (many restaurants only offer a tbsp or so of this). Stephanie was genuinely friendly & smiled a lot. She likes her job & it shows. All staff were pleasant & professional.

Tags: Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have dined a Maggiano several times and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Have dined a Maggiano several times and the food is always good. However, the Thanksgiving menu was not up to their usual standards, and certainly was not worth the price. Highly disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was not good----too salty----very u ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was not good----too salty----very underwhelming. We had done Thanksgiving Dinner there about 5 years ago and it was great-------this time it was bad. Food was just not good----except the desserts----which were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Annual pre-Tday and bday dinner was grea ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Annual pre-Tday and bday dinner was great, as usual. We commend Maggiano's for your response to the anti-semitic event that unfortunately took place at your restaurant; we understand that you had no knowledge in advance, and think you handled the situation very appropriately.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

This is by far my favorite Maggiano's lo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is by far my favorite Maggiano's location. The food was superb as always. The service was great too.

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and so was our wait ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was amazing and so was our waiter...but the people in the booth next to us....WOW! They were so rude and so loud that they completely ruined the dining experience for us. We had no desire to drink or have desert, we simply ate our meal and ran out. They were mean to the waiting staff, they were belligerently loud and causing commotion. It was just a terrible experience overall. Luckily for Maggiannos these people won't be there every day, so we will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The waitress took a long while getting t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The waitress took a long while getting to us even though the restaurant was not crowded. But, the gentleman from the bar area actually started to help us and got our waitress when he passed by and we asked for assistance. He should have gotten our tip. The beef paperdelle pasta was very good. The best thing about Maggiano's is their Free pasta to go when you buy a pasta, this is the best value deal ever.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service, freshly made pastas, lite ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great service, freshly made pastas, lite options, good wine list.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My cousins were visiting from out of tow ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My cousins were visiting from out of town and wanted Italian cuisine. I had mad reservations and therefore we didn't have to wait to be seated. Once we were seated, the four of us felt rushed. We ordered an appetizer and a salad and entrees. The salad came first and the appetizer came at the same time as the entrees. My husband asked for marinara sauce. It came when he was finishing his last bite of his meal. Someone in our party asked for a straw. It was handed to her unwrapped from the whit paper and in a dinner napkin. Why? Our meals tasted good. When dessert time came, I asked if they had decaf tea. The waiter said that he would bring me the assortment. He came back with one pack of tea. That's the "assortment"? A waiter came by and grabbed our soda glasses and nothing else. Why? Were they running out of glasses for the other patrons. I've been to Maggiano's before and never experienced this type of poor service. Not sure when I'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

This restaurant, and I use that term loo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This restaurant, and I use that term loosely, should not be frequented by anyone who likes service or edible food. Our table of 4 waited on every aspect of the drinks and meal service despite the dining room being only about 20% full. I won't waste time describing the food except to say that the tomato sauce was completely tasteless and appeared to be made out of tomato paste and water. We will never go back. Period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

As good food and plenty of it. Fast ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As good food and plenty of it. Fast service given the volume of people there on a Saturday night.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever I done here, the service is alw ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Whenever I done here, the service is always wonderful. The food is always oustanding and we always have a great time. Our server this time was slightly inattentive, I think it was because they were busy. He was still very professional and always apologized when he made a mistake or forgot something. I wish I could remember his name. I really enjoy when we visit and will definitely continue to do so!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Every aspect of the meal was full of goo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Every aspect of the meal was full of good flavor- from salads to dessert. The chef especially outdid himself with the grilled salmon in lemon butter. His pasta dishes were also very good. The pumpkin cheesecake was a great way to top off the meal. The wait staff was very attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We've been here before and got great ser ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We've been here before and got great service and food however, this last time wasn't the best. It took over 30 minutes to get our drinks and fresh bread. We had to find a manager to help us because our waiter was either unable to too busy. Once we got our drinks and food, it was all good. The restaurant did comp us dessert which helped. I would recommend the restaurant however, if I go back I would request a different waiter if the same one was assigned to our table.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

OMG. Where do I begin? I have not had on ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

OMG. Where do I begin? I have not had one meal from here that was bad. Every item I ordered was absolutely amazing. From the drinks to the dessert. I LOVE, LOVE LOVE the food here. I had the crab cakes. There were 3 nicely sized crab cakes baked in what looked like bread crumbs. They were quite tasty but did have a bit of fillers in them. I also had a Caesar salad and the garlic mashed potatoes. All very good. My only complaint? Our server was very slow. But overall a great place to eat.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Hosted a party of 12 it was amazing

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Hosted a party of 12 it was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very nice and classy Italian restaurant ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very nice and classy Italian restaurant makes me feel as if I was family

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Maggiano's for my 24th birthd ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went to Maggiano's for my 24th birthday and while the food was magnificent, our service was quite the contrary. It took around 40 minutes for our food to be brought to the table and once we received our dinner we didn't see our waiter again until we were ready for our checks. We explained to him that we had been waiting for refills and he responded by saying "he was busy running around". We asked for our checks and didn't get them until about 25 minutes later. At that point we asked to speak to a manager, who very politely gave an us an adjustment for our poor service. Because of that, and the fact that our food was so awesome I will give this location another try but I expect more from Maggiano's!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Decided to book maggianos for a homecomi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Decided to book maggianos for a homecoming dinner. While making he reservation was very easy, the experience was not. When we got there, we were told we have to wait for our entire group, okay that's fine, but once everyone was there , our table was still not set up and our reservation was for 7:45 and we all arrived at 7:45, yet we did not sit until 8pm. Instead of waiting in the lobby, we were told to wait in the entrance of the restaurant blocking everyone. Once we were sat , appetizers and entrees came out pretty fast and that was nice. When it came to dessert, we sat for an extra 30 mins waiting when everything else took ten. Considering everything else was pretty fast, this was a huge disappointment especially when we had a pre set family style menu. When the check came, we were NOT informed by our server, Barbara, or any front desk staff who took the reservation that we could not leave less then 18% and that it was NOT in the bill. We also had called multiple times before hand and still was not told this even when we asked about paying. This was very confusing for the group because we had priced it as each person would give 20% for their family style meal individually and yet when we received the bill, we were short 60$ even for an 18% tip. With this, huge shortage, it could not have been MD state tax, but something else completely. When asked if we could do 15%, we were told no and that we must do 18% or more. Having been to other restaurants and even working in one, this really upset me because we should have been told about this beforehand and it should have been in our bill, not a required recommendation. Another disappointing thing was that there were no split checks, which would have been useful in a situation such as this. The food was okay, but definitely not worth the $660 we paid including tip. After this, I could not say I would recommend this for a group or to be back here again. Overall very didsapointing experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We have always enjoyed our "family style ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We have always enjoyed our "family style" dining experiences at this Maggiano's in the past, but our most recent one was rather unpleasant. It began with their inability or unwillingness to provide a booth, despite my having requested one a month in advance. Then, there was a 10-minute wait to be seated, due to the most inefficient management of waiting parties that I had even seen there.

We were seated among the crowded tables in the middle of the dining area, and thus were forced to endure a cold breeze that almost continuously swept the room. This was largely due to the extremely windy day, but it was a big part of why our experience was not enjoyable.

Then we met our server, who began with a line about "let's get drunk" which seemed very inappropriate for an establishment like Maggiano's. We had to wait 15 minutes for the wine list; and ask for butter on 3 separate occasions. Also, though we were not in a hurry, the pace of the delivery of courses was much slower than normal which, as we shivered in the cold, contributed to the overall unpleasantness of the evening. We are unlikely to make a return visit to that location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Our group of 8 high schoolers had a grea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our group of 8 high schoolers had a great time and appreciated the great service we received. We were on our way to homecoming and had a great time!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was the best.Would ask for h ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our server was the best.Would ask for him on our next visit.He was great,even with the little ones in our group(we had at least 5).

Thanks and more thanks .

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maggiano's always has consistently excel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Maggiano's always has consistently excellent food. Waiter even offered an excellent chicken entree that was not on the menu. Service was impeccable. Also, had an excellent toss salad and apple costada dessert. My wife and I had a nice booth like table for two.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for a family celebration. Gre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent for a family celebration. Great food options and ambiance.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Service was slow. Waiters were dealing w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Service was slow. Waiters were dealing with a large group - so we waited, and waited. For water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

This was our first time and it was great ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was our first time and it was great. The waiter was very attentive and friendly; the food was excellent and the Marco Special (I think) is an awesome value. We sat in the bar area Sunday around dinner time and it was pretty quiet. Chris

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I will NEVER book an event here again. I ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I will NEVER book an event here again. I placed reservations 2 1/2 weeks in advance on the day of the event I was told that due to the size of the party we had to order from family menu which was limited. Eventually manager allowed some tweets but I had to beg and it wasn't my fault that the restaurant didn't call me in advance. Food was OK. Servers did the best they could but I was very disappointed because my family was not satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Second time visiting this restaurant and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Second time visiting this restaurant and it was worth the trip. Sous Chef made a special trip to our table since our daughter has food allergies...totally unexpected and most definitely appreciated. This restaurant is a winner!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at this location numerous ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We have eaten at this location numerous times. Tonight was probably the worst experience we've had there. The food did not come out in a timely manner. The food was cold, and when we went to pay, the waiter disappeared. The restaurant was exceptionally cold. When we we discuss this with the management they offered us free desserts but only waived one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I went on a Friday during lunch. It was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I went on a Friday during lunch. It was pretty empty at that hour so that was good. Service was awesome. Rob served us. There is plenty of food to eat and take home with the 'for two' deal that they have.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rustic Italian decor and delicious home- ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Rustic Italian decor and delicious home-made pasta. The aroma on entering the restaurant is intoxicating. We had a large (8) group, and the service was friendly and attentive. I know that Maggiano's is a chain (I've been to their restaurants in Boston and Philadelphia) but you don't get the feeling that it's "cookie cutter". I've been to fancier Italian restaurants, but none that gives such good value.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was amazing

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Maggiano's offers the best deal Buy one ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Maggiano's offers the best deal Buy one Take one home classic Italian pastas for under $15. Great deal. Our waitress Stephanie was energetic and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was confused, food wasn't what w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Service was confused, food wasn't what we ordered but we gave up after attempting to correct

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

2nd visit was as good as the first. Thi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

2nd visit was as good as the first. This is a great place.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.