About Maggiano's - Chevy Chase

5333 Wisconsin Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20015
View Larger Map

Welcome to Maggiano's Chevy Chase, located on Wisconsin Avenue across the street from the Mazza Gallerie. We are convenient to the National Cathedral and minutes from all of Washington's National Monuments. Maggiano's 295-seat dining room is right next to Lord & Taylor, Saks Fifth Avenue and Neiman Marcus.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 966-5500

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/district-of-columbia/washington/20015/5333-wisconsin-ave-nw/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 202-966-2593 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
We have a parking garage under our building that has discounted parking for up to two hours before 5:00pm & up to four hours after 5:00pm. We also offer valet for $7/car every day starting at 5:00pm.

Public Transit:
We are located at the Friendship Heights metro stop on the Red Line. Once off the metro, take the Military Road exit.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Delano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sausage Rigatoni
Rigatoni "D"
Poundcake
Four Cheese Ravioli
Chicken Francese
Caesar Salad
New York Style Cheesecake
Peppermint Cake
Creme Brulee
Cheese cake
Flatbread
Gnocci

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Chevy Chase Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (83)
Special Occasion (65)
Kid-friendly (43)
See All
Great for Lunch (42)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Romantic (30)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Hot Spot (12)
Great for Brunch (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

For a family meal, this is a good choice ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

For a family meal, this is a good choice. They were helpful and patient with one (young) family member who had food allergies.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Maggiano's is a long-time favorite of my ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Maggiano's is a long-time favorite of my family's. The food is always, always outstanding. The real taste of Italy at moderate prices, and they throw in a free meal to take home as well--what's not to love??!!! They validate parking, so the high prices in this area are usually reduced to around $3.00, a bargain. Year-in, year-out, we keep coming back to Maggiano's for wonderful Italian food and great service in beautiful surroundings. I highly recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual! Here are some more char ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great as usual! Here are some more characters to meet the limit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints! This is my 15th visi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Never disappoints!

This is my 15th visit to Maggiano's in the last couple of years. It always meets or exceeds expectations.

Went with a family of 5 and we did the family style (You choose 2 appetizers, 2 pastas, 2 meets and 2 deserts); they keep it coming until you say uncle...

Food is well prepared, service is impeccable, wine list is decent, ambiance is playful but elegant.

This is the perfect place for a large group of hungry friends or family

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was warm and fresh, but took a whil ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was warm and fresh, but took a while to get to the table. Wait staff was friendly though and continually checked in on us.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was delicious and the staff was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was delicious and the staff was wonderful. I've already made plans to go back with family!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but not as nice and upscale as ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good food but not as nice and upscale as it used to be.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

As always, I enjoyed my dining experienc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

As always, I enjoyed my dining experience. Our server was attentive and timely. The manager and host captain were very nice and engaging.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This place was great, the food was wonde ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This place was great, the food was wonderful, and the service, exquisite. Our server Rue was kind and courteous. I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Things have changed. Have not visited t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Things have changed. Have not visited to Maggiano's for months and now I remember why. The food is not what it used to be. Service was excellent tho!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Everything was awesome, our waiter was v ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was awesome, our waiter was very attentive and very polite.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was poor. Slow. They did not cl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Service was poor. Slow. They did not clear plated from the salad course before bringing the entree. My husband ordered a glass of wine it was never delivered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Love the spaghetti here and get it most ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Love the spaghetti here and get it most everytime we visit. Mentioned that it was my birthday to the server....he forgot or got too busy. Also, I like butter with my bread, but had to keep asking for me because server would bring only a couple pats at a time.....not customer-friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was superb.

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The service was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

I have been to this Maggiano's on a few ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I have been to this Maggiano's on a few occasions and this was the worst dining experience I have ever had. The service was absolutely HORRENDOUS. The waiter was so terrible and clueless he didn't realize when he forgot to bring out one of the meals for our table. THEN, our meals would come out one at a time spaced at least five minutes apart. In addition to that, we asked for bread 3 TIMES before it actually was given to our table, and that was after we had our food. My Parmesan Chicken Sandwich was barely cooked, the Arnold Palmer's on our table were not drank because they were so bad but no one wanted to order another drink in fear it would take 20 minutes like everything else. Another member of our party ordered the meal that comes with a second meal, again, had to remind our waiter THREE TIMES what it was and he kept forgetting. It was to a point where my coworker was willing to just forgo it entirely. I doubt I will be recommending Maggiano's during the lunch hour to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The restaurant is looking kind of tired. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The restaurant is looking kind of tired. Even with the checked tablecloth motif, it could use some sprucing up. Bathrooms were filthy. Food still great red sauce Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Rob our waiter was very personable and d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Rob our waiter was very personable and did a great job in handling my team of 10 that argued team back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I'm not a pasta foodie, but the bogo dea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I'm not a pasta foodie, but the bogo deal is awesome! I'm a fan of the Ravioli 😋

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maggiano's provides large portions of me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Maggiano's provides large portions of mediocre food. The service was very good and the kitchen produced meals in a timely fashion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

The BOGO pasta gets us everytime! Love i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The BOGO pasta gets us everytime! Love it! And then add the email $10 off coupon - can't be beat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bread was awful, like it was bought at a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Bread was awful, like it was bought at a grocery store. Apps and entrees came out at the same time. They took the entrees back while we ate the apps, but when they brought entrees back, the entrees were cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Maggiano's is always a crowd pleaser!! ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Maggiano's is always a crowd pleaser!! Quality and portions are plentiful and delicious :) Service is outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Real great place to eat and accommodatin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Real great place to eat and accommodating to larger parties. Onsite parking or valet. Enjoyed it

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had reservations for a group of 10 to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had reservations for a group of 10 to celebrate my son's birthday. The restaurant called to confirm my reservation that was made via OpenTable in advance and explained how the "Family Style" dining menu works. Terrific communications. This menu provides for a lot of food ( actually too much, we took another full dinner with us). I am not a huge fan of red sauce thus I made other selections that I was happy with, such as " veal piccata" and "Alfredo noodles, light version). The chicken Parmesan was OK and the lasagna, although very rich by definition, was very tasty as well. For desert I would recomment creme brûlée.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Family had a great time celebrating my w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Family had a great time celebrating my wife's birthday. Ambiance, service, and salmon Oscar was superb! !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with family (11 people) and got the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went with family (11 people) and got the family style menu. Got free bruscetta, mussels (with 2X refills), Maggiano salad again with refills, linguine with white clam sauce, shrimp and chicken tuscan, veal marsala and chicken piccata. Tiramisu and chocolate cake for dessert. Nick the waiter was terrific. Refilled whatever we wanted.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

They were very accommodating with food a ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

They were very accommodating with food allergies. Food was as good as we had in Italy. Service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Maggiano's food is always good as is the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Maggiano's food is always good as is the service but the price is too high for this kind of restaurant. $21 for a glass of ordinary red wine and a bill of $200 for one appetizer, three entrees and three desserts was excessive, we thought.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I've been to Maggiano's in Chevy Chase a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I've been to Maggiano's in Chevy Chase a few times and it's always been a pleasant experience. The service is great... fast, friendly, etc. And the food has always been perfect. Great flavors, portion size and a decent price. I'll be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maggianos serves reliably good food. Se ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Maggianos serves reliably good food. Service as specially good this time. Recommended wine was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Historic, tasty, frien ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love this place. Historic, tasty, friendly, and very generous with the food. Great job... as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Maggiano's is always a great spot to com ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Maggiano's is always a great spot to come eat at. The food is very reasonable and the Marco's meals for 2 are a awesome bargin. Not to mention that pound cake dessert.....incredible. The only thing that I was not too happy about this time, is the flavor of my stuffed mushrooms. The have changed the recipe and they don't taste as good. Everything else was great, even down to the bread they bring from the back....lol.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Not so much the calamari.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

They did not pay attention to my online reservation note. I asked to have a bottle of red wine chilled and I would pay in advance. I called the restaurant twice and got no answer.

The entree's were great. Although the calamari was a little off.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Poor Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I came to this restaurant with my family and we had a horrible experience. It took over twenty minutes to get our drinks (after we ordered) and we sat with empty soup and salad plates for about the same amount of time (20 minutes) before our food came. The waitress did not come back to ask us if we wanted more drinks. When the food came, my father politely asked the waitress if she could run the credit card and she responded with, "I'll try to do that as soon as possible." I have been a server and know when another server is busy. She was not moving quickly. The restaurant was empty. I didn't feel that was a very professional response. It took quite a while to get the check even after his request. Needless to say, I will not be coming back to Maggiano's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value4

Miscommunication between Chef & Server

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I'd like to start out by saying we go to Maggio's a lot with a party of 4. We've always been happy with them and they've always taken very good care of us. This visit we were celebrating my daughters recital and we booked a party of 10. Great table and very nice servers. I have a gluten allergy so the chef came out to take our order - as usual. We ordered off the family style menu which you order 1 salad, 1 ap, 3 entrees and 2 desserts. Needless to say there was some miscommunication between the chef and the server that entered our order into the system. 2 of the 3 entrees were wrong. We brought it to the servers attention and a different chef than the one that took our order came out to explain what happened. We are really easy going so it was no big deal. After the chef left the desserts were brought out and one of our desserts was wrong as well. Once again we brought it to the servers attention and he asked if we wanted our original dessert brought out. I said yes please. Once We got the bill I was disappointed to see the original dessert had been charged as an extra dessert ($40.00). So much of our order was incorrect I thought Maggio's would have done a little something for us. I didn't say anything about the extra charge for the dessert (which the server offered to bring out for us) but I should have. We will think twice or three times before booking a large party again.

With all that said. We will continue to go back (our family of 4) to Maggio's because our kids love the food and the servers are great!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Dining at Maggiano's Restaurant

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Maggiano's Restaurant in Washington, DC. The food was superb and the waiter was attentive to our dining needs. We hope to go back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit to Maggiano and I loved it.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My first visit to Maggiano and I loved it! The food, wait staff, and ambiance, everything was GREAT !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dissatisfied

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very unpleasant experience upon engaging the host (very argumentative with customers and co-workers). Staff not equipped to handle a busy night. Waitress was friendly, attentive. Meals were unsatisfactory (missing items on plate). Great price for food.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

We Had a great dinner! It was a reunion ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We Had a great dinner! It was a reunion of two of us from high school so over almost 25 years ago. Great food and service from Martin! Maggianos even sent over complimentary cheesecake to honor the occasion! We love this place and will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Maggiano's this afternoon to c ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I went to Maggiano's this afternoon to celebrate my coworker's birthday. We made a reservation to make sure they knew a large party was coming in during the lunch hour. Steve was great; he welcomed us and took our drink orders as soon as we sat down. We were switched to another waiter after about 10 minutes. We were all a little disappointed that Steve wasn't going to be our waiter. Our new waiter did take our food orders and our food was delivered in a timely fashion. However, after our food was served we didn't see him again. After eating, waited over 20 minutes before we asked Steve if he could get our checks for us. During the lunch hour, I expect waiters to be even more vigilant about making sure customers are able to get in and out promptly. Next time, I go back I will definitely be asking for Steve.

Next day note: I took advantage of the awesome buy one get one lunch special. The waiter gave me the wrong second lunch. :/ Saving grace is that the ziti with chicken sausage is YUMMY!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.