About Maggiano's - Chevy Chase

5333 Wisconsin Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20015
View Larger Map

Welcome to Maggiano's Chevy Chase, located on Wisconsin Avenue across the street from the Mazza Gallerie. We are convenient to the National Cathedral and minutes from all of Washington's National Monuments. Maggiano's 295-seat dining room is right next to Lord & Taylor, Saks Fifth Avenue and Neiman Marcus.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 966-5500

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/district-of-columbia/washington/20015/5333-wisconsin-ave-nw/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 202-966-2593 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
We have a parking garage under our building that has discounted parking for up to two hours before 5:00pm & up to four hours after 5:00pm. We also offer valet for $7/car every day starting at 5:00pm.

Public Transit:
We are located at the Friendship Heights metro stop on the Red Line. Once off the metro, take the Military Road exit.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Delano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Eat-A-Dish for Make-A-Wish®

Special valid Apr 21, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat your dad to the best of Little Italy this Father's Day. Now taking reservations.
Eat-A-Dish for Make-A-Wish®

Special valid Apr 21, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details
Eat-A-Dish for Make-A-Wish® from 4/21–6/29/16 includes donations to Make-A-Wish through the purchase of featured menu items. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more details, please visit us at www.maggianos.com. Special valid Apr 21, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Chevy Chase Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (133)
special occasion (100)
kid-friendly (67)
See All
great for lunch (56)
romantic (52)
fit for foodies (43)
neighborhood gem (34)
great for brunch (19)
hot spot (18)
notable wine list (16)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (13)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4

Always good food here. Wait staff needs ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Always good food here. Wait staff needs some work, but overall it was enjoyable

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Christian, Martin, and Eli were the best ...

Dined 5 days ago

Christian, Martin, and Eli were the best. I would recommend Maggianno's for any occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Italian food is delicious and taste ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The Italian food is delicious and taste authentic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Good value

Dined 6 days ago

Good value

food5
ambience3
service5

Great Food and service! Definetly loud ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great Food and service! Definetly loud though.

food5
ambience1
service1

Food was great

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was great

food3
ambience5
service2

The Lasagna and spaghetti can sit heavy ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The Lasagna and spaghetti can sit heavy in your stomach. The ambience is very nice

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Yvette was our server. This was our sec ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Yvette was our server. This was our second time we were seated in her section. She is superb; very kind, attentive, professional and knowledgeable. She is just awesome! Our food was good, too! The "Buy 1, Take 1" classic pasta is an amazing deal! We love Maggiano's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Meal for 2 is SUCH a deal!

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a group of 10 (8th graders on a trip and parents) and were out for a special last night together. We split into pairs and each pair ate an appetizer or a salad, bread, an individual hearty pasta dish, and split a large dessert for $42.95 - AND on top of that, each individual selected a pasta meal to go! That's a ton of food for that price, and we didn't have to worry about lunch the following day. I'd recommend this great value instead of ordering family style (which is over $30/person).

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good

Dined on May 12, 2016

Every thing was excellent but food. Good place to go special in weekdays

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service5

Totally fine go a quick chain food meal ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Totally fine go a quick chain food meal for a largish family group. The kids love it and the food is plenty tasty as far as red sauce pasta. Service was great, incredibly friendly and attentive.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We always have a good time and a great m ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We always have a good time and a great meal at Maggiano's! There's too much food, of course, but that makes it possible for us to enjoy another dinner, at home, with the abundant leftovers. The servers are kind, responsive, and very friendly. Can't beat the prices, as well. We go often!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

I wish I could remember our servers name ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

I wish I could remember our servers name because she was amazing. Attentive and timely we never needed to get her attention for something or felt smothered. Thanks for the delicious food as always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maggiano's Dellivers Again

Dined on May 9, 2016

Never disappointed with Maggiano's! The food was excellent as always and the take home lasagna was just a nice added benefit. The server was incredibly accommodating and allowed us to have our discussion without unnecessary interruptions. Great!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Came here for Mother's Day , didn't like ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Came here for Mother's Day , didn't like the fact that they had a limited menu and some of the items were distasteful .

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The Mother's Day special menu was a mandatory bust

Dined on May 9, 2016

We're fans of Maggiano's, but the Mother's Day special menu was mandatory and a bust. We came out to one of my favorite places for informal dinner, but OpenTable didn't tell us it was a mandatory prix fixe menu for the holiday. There was way too much food to enjoy, and most of it was poorly presented and prepared in an overly taxing environment. The salads were too wet. The antipasto was late and a meager variety of a few slices of one pepperoni and several routine cheeses, hardly of Italian inspiration and too embarrassing to call an antipasto. Chef usually spices up the pastas for our taste on request, but the Alfredo was inelegantly spiced with red pepper flakes. The spaghetti and meatballs lacked in meatiness what it aspired to in robust taste. It was mostly red pepper flakes seasoning meatballs that were overcooked because they were made in miniature. The Chilean Sea Bass was the winner here, but, as the only nice dish, it was too small to serve family style. The beef tenderloin should be better named beef tips, and they were tough, chewy, and the sauce was watery and tasteless. Even the vegetable selection was disappointing. We ordered a medley of squashes, but what came to the table without prior notice was stringbeans that were as Italian as an Inuit seal hunter. The waiter explained that they'd run out of our selection, so he picked for us. The sweet potatoes were quite good with some special seasoning, but my palate was ruined by then, and the dessert bar couldn't fix it. All in all, we go to Magliano's for nice Italian cuisine and excellent value, but $40 apiece for this dinner delivered by weak, over-taxed service was not value. We'll keep being fans of your $13-$16 eat one and take a second one home, but please let us know when you're having another special night so we can stay home.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Unexpected menu but overall positive experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

We came for a graduation celebration that fell on Mother's Day. After making a dinner reservation well in advance and confirming multiple times, it was not clearly communicated that there would be one fixed price menu for the evening because of the holiday. We even came to dinner the night before to look at the venue and try the food, and it was still not communicated to us. Nevertheless, we were able to find something on the menu for everyone in our large party, it just took a couple conversations with waiters and the manager. The quality of the food was better when we came individually the night before, but satisfactory given that we were there on Mother's Day. It was a very busy restaurant, so we would recommend going at a low time to receive the best service and food quality. We thank the establishment for their cooperation through our misunderstanding.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Bad experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had a reservation and was told on arrival that they were running behind on reservations, no apology, and that it would be another 15 minutes. After half an hour and checking back in with them, they said the table had been ready for a while and they thought they called our name. The hostess was rude, and acted like everything was an inconvenience. Once we sat, we were told they had a limited menu for the night even though no one had mentioned that there was one, and there was no advertisement on the signs outside of the restaurant indicating that there was only a fixed price menu for the evening, so we decided to leave. This was the first time I ever walked out of a restaurant.

food2
ambience1
service4
value2

This was a Mother's Day dinner, and I cr ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a Mother's Day dinner, and I credit Maggiano's with doing its best to deal with an outrageously high demand. That being said, it was clearly sacrificing quality for quantity. The staff was attentive, and they were candid about the kitchen being unable to produce even the limited menu in a timely fashion. We also wondered about the Caesar salad being made with iceberg lettuce instead of romaine. Clearly a few steps away from the restaurant's Italian roots.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very Dissapointed!!!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a reservation for 4:30 checked in and went right to the table. Then the waiter hands us a piece of paper and said this is our special Mother's Day menu. So we looked at it and notice it only had a few items on it not what we came their for. They didn't have salmon, fried Zucchini for the family menu. My wife was anticipating this day because this is her favorite restaurant and its Mother's Day we have not been their in a while. The waiters told us we could not get the usual family meal off the regular menu only what's on the piece of paper. We asked the waiter for a manager which never came to the table. So we kindly got up and left and spoke to a manager at the front desk and he said didn't you see we had a special mothers day menu when you made reservations online. I said yes but you also didn't make it clear that you could not order the family meal off the main menu. He said yes that's true I told him that was very deceptive!!!! So we went next door to Cheesecake Factory and had to wait 45min to get a seat and ate and enjoyed our meal.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Mothers Day Not a good choice.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall I love Maggianos been to locations all over the U.S. But the menu, service, food, for the Mothers Day Special put a bad taste in my mouth. The food quality and chooses weren't that good and portions were smaller. My server brung out 1 plate at a time which was not enough to serve my entire party. Overall my Mother's Day experience was horrendous.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Great for small parties

Dined on May 8, 2016

My family dined here on mother's day. There were 13 of us including two children. We have dined here before with smaller groups when it was not a special occasion, so we were surprised when a few snafus happened. The menu was pre-selected: anti-past, salad, entrée, sides, dessert for $39.99 per person. We placed our food order, but when the drinks were served we received the wrong beverage after we confirmed the description on the menu. Then our salads came, but we never received the anti-pasti. The manager came and corrected everything, but then our food was served cold. The food was delicious in the end as always, but overall the experience was not great.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

My siblings and I finally got my 86 year old Mother to go out for Mother's Day for a change and she had to deal with this horrible experience. The entire service from start to finish was horrible and very unacceptable. I've never experienced this level of service there ever. I'll probably never come back to this location again. The only reason I checked one star is because it wouldn't allow me to hit submit without a star being checked, other wise I wouldn't have checked any stars. The service and food was just that bad.

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We came for lunch on Mother's Day. The ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We came for lunch on Mother's Day. The restaurant was packed and noisy (to be expected), but the service was extremely slow. There was a prix fixe menu and the food was pretty good, but the service was extremely slow. We were a party of 10, but everything was painfully slow. We even had to wait an extraordinally long time to get the cake (that we brought the restaurant) brought to the table. I'm not sure if they were short-staffed or what, but I would avoid going there on any special occasion. Otherwise, the food and value is good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Mothers day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was not that great for the price. Some dishes were good, some were not. The chicken for example was bland, a total disappointment, but the chilean bass was great.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Long Wait for Check and even Food

Dined on May 8, 2016

I stayed in this restaurant for nearly two hours. I was in a party of an overall 3. Food was good and fresh, yes. Atmosphere is casual, sophisticated. Our waiter was all over the place. It should not take over 30 minutes to get the check and process payment--there is totally no excuse for that.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food here is great and yet homey at ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food here is great and yet homey at the same time. Although the place was crowded with celebrating graduates, we were able to carry on a good conversation with our friends. However, those half-booths got in our way somewhat for hearing each person (one can't face three people at the same time). Also, I wish you had a different garage; so difficult to find one's car in the present one!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always...wonderful food, GREAT servic

Dined on May 7, 2016

Always go there for my birthday as it has become my favorite restaurant! It's also a great place to drop into for a nicely pampered lunch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, consistent service

Dined on May 7, 2016

I dined at Maggiano's for one of my graduation dinners with family we had a party of 9 so Family Style dining was suggested. Not once did we have to ask for another entree to be brought out, our plates and cups were never empty, Will & Drew were both amazing waiters for the table. I'd dined here plenty of times before, just not with such large of a party but I expected nothing less than great service which is what we got. We order a chopped salad and the sausage and peppers for an app (that sausage & peppers is my absolute favorite I order it every time) then shrimp scampi, chicken Parmesan, herb crusted tilapia, and the spaghetti & meatballs. For dessert there was cheesecake ( which I wasn't the fondest of) and brownies (which I did not try). I definitely recommend Maggiano's for any occasion!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My son and his four friends went to Magg ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

My son and his four friends went to Maggiano's to celebrate Prom and he stated that it was a fantastic experience. Though the weather was dreary, the staff (starting from valet to busboy) were great. He stated that service was impeccable and all the food dishes came out deliciously perfect for everyone. He really enjoyed the price point, as dining out with his date was very reasonable and they are planning another outing as they all prepare for graduation! 😊

food2
ambience3
service4

Our waiter was very nice- the Hawaiian g ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our waiter was very nice- the Hawaiian guy who is actually from Argentina. The food was good, but not all my guests were completely satisfied with everything. The ambience was good. Great for birthday celebrations. The manager at that location does not seem like he knew what he was taking about when some of my guests had questions.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

food was subpar...had srimp scampi and h ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

food was subpar...had srimp scampi and house salad. very undewhelmed.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What an enjoyable time!

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was my second time coming to Maggiano's and it was nice. The atmosphere is great and very relaxing. The food was wonderful and the service was great. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Are the portions smaller?

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Maggiano's is always great - though this time (it's been over a year since my last visit) I could swear the portions are smaller!! The cheesecake is always a huge portion and a huge hit See you soon - thank you

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

The sodium content is dangerously high.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Prior to visiting the restaurant, I examined the sodium and caloric content of all menu items. Almost all had a failing grade, showing dangerously high sodium and fat content. I had to settle for a side of grilled veggies as my meal. Pathetic, given what we know today about the dangers of excessive salt and fat. I'll never return and I encourage others to dine elsewhere for the sake of their health.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had a great dining experience. The fo ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

We had a great dining experience. The food was great. The chef even came out to discuss the preparation of one order with us. The service was superb

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Consistently good food, served in genero ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Consistently good food, served in generous portion, ample for sharing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellence is the word!!

Dined on April 16, 2016

My father had an amazing meal with dynamite service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

old stand-by

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

The food and atmosphere are comfortable and familiar. The chef came out to address our gluten free needs. The waiter was very attentive. Large groups can be loud. A bit expensive for the quality of the food, but atmosphere and variety make up for it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

My review

Dined on April 12, 2016

Overall, experience was good. Waiter was attentive. Sending a birthday treat for my daughter, who turned 18 that day, was a very nice touch.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.