About Maggiano's - Chevy Chase

5333 Wisconsin Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20015
View Larger Map

Welcome to Maggiano's Chevy Chase, located on Wisconsin Avenue across the street from the Mazza Gallerie. We are convenient to the National Cathedral and minutes from all of Washington's National Monuments. Maggiano's 295-seat dining room is right next to Lord & Taylor, Saks Fifth Avenue and Neiman Marcus.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 966-5500

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/district-of-columbia/washington/20015/5333-wisconsin-ave-nw/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 202-966-2593 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
We have a parking garage under our building that has discounted parking for up to two hours before 5:00pm & up to four hours after 5:00pm. We also offer valet for $7/car every day starting at 5:00pm.

Public Transit:
We are located at the Friendship Heights metro stop on the Red Line. Once off the metro, take the Military Road exit.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Delano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rigatoni "D"
Sausage Rigatoni
Poundcake
Four Cheese Ravioli
Chicken Francese
Caesar Salad
New York Style Cheesecake
Creme Brulee
Peppermint Cake
Cheese cake
Flatbread
Gnocci

Promotions

Eat-A-Dish for Make-A-Wish®

Special valid Apr 21, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Eat-A-Dish for Make-A-Wish®

Special valid Apr 21, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details
Eat-A-Dish for Make-A-Wish® from 4/21–6/29/16 includes donations to Make-A-Wish through the purchase of featured menu items. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more details, please visit us at www.maggianos.com. Special valid Apr 21, 2016 - Jun 29, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Chevy Chase Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (103)
special occasion (79)
kid-friendly (58)
See All
great for lunch (48)
romantic (32)
fit for foodies (30)
neighborhood gem (27)
great for brunch (15)
notable wine list (13)
late-night find (11)
vibrant bar scene (11)
hot spot (11)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Went with family (11 people) and got the ...

Dined 4 days ago

Went with family (11 people) and got the family style menu. Got free bruscetta, mussels (with 2X refills), Maggiano salad again with refills, linguine with white clam sauce, shrimp and chicken tuscan, veal marsala and chicken piccata. Tiramisu and chocolate cake for dessert. Nick the waiter was terrific. Refilled whatever we wanted.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

They were very accommodating with food a ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

They were very accommodating with food allergies. Food was as good as we had in Italy. Service was exceptional.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Maggiano's food is always good as is the ...

Dined 5 days ago

Maggiano's food is always good as is the service but the price is too high for this kind of restaurant. $21 for a glass of ordinary red wine and a bill of $200 for one appetizer, three entrees and three desserts was excessive, we thought.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maggianos serves reliably good food. Se ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Maggianos serves reliably good food. Service as specially good this time. Recommended wine was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Love this place. Historic, tasty, frien ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Love this place. Historic, tasty, friendly, and very generous with the food. Great job... as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Maggiano's is always a great spot to com ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Maggiano's is always a great spot to come eat at. The food is very reasonable and the Marco's meals for 2 are a awesome bargin. Not to mention that pound cake dessert.....incredible. The only thing that I was not too happy about this time, is the flavor of my stuffed mushrooms. The have changed the recipe and they don't taste as good. Everything else was great, even down to the bread they bring from the back....lol.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was great. Not so much the calamari.

Dined on June 6, 2016

They did not pay attention to my online reservation note. I asked to have a bottle of red wine chilled and I would pay in advance. I called the restaurant twice and got no answer. The entree's were great. Although the calamari was a little off.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1
value4

Poor Service

Dined on June 5, 2016

I came to this restaurant with my family and we had a horrible experience. It took over twenty minutes to get our drinks (after we ordered) and we sat with empty soup and salad plates for about the same amount of time (20 minutes) before our food came. The waitress did not come back to ask us if we wanted more drinks. When the food came, my father politely asked the waitress if she could run the credit card and she responded with, "I'll try to do that as soon as possible." I have been a server and know when another server is busy. She was not moving quickly. The restaurant was empty. I didn't feel that was a very professional response. It took quite a while to get the check even after his request. Needless to say, I will not be coming back to Maggiano's.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Miscommunication between Chef & Server

Dined on June 5, 2016

I'd like to start out by saying we go to Maggio's a lot with a party of 4. We've always been happy with them and they've always taken very good care of us. This visit we were celebrating my daughters recital and we booked a party of 10. Great table and very nice servers. I have a gluten allergy so the chef came out to take our order - as usual. We ordered off the family style menu which you order 1 salad, 1 ap, 3 entrees and 2 desserts. Needless to say there was some miscommunication between the chef and the server that entered our order into the system. 2 of the 3 entrees were wrong. We brought it to the servers attention and a different chef than the one that took our order came out to explain what happened. We are really easy going so it was no big deal. After the chef left the desserts were brought out and one of our desserts was wrong as well. Once again we brought it to the servers attention and he asked if we wanted our original dessert brought out. I said yes please. Once We got the bill I was disappointed to see the original dessert had been charged as an extra dessert ($40.00). So much of our order was incorrect I thought Maggio's would have done a little something for us. I didn't say anything about the extra charge for the dessert (which the server offered to bring out for us) but I should have. We will think twice or three times before booking a large party again. With all that said. We will continue to go back (our family of 4) to Maggio's because our kids love the food and the servers are great!

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Maggiano's Restaurant

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Maggiano's Restaurant in Washington, DC. The food was superb and the waiter was attentive to our dining needs. We hope to go back soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit to Maggiano and I loved it.

Dined on May 28, 2016

My first visit to Maggiano and I loved it! The food, wait staff, and ambiance, everything was GREAT !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Dissatisfied

Dined on May 27, 2016

Very unpleasant experience upon engaging the host (very argumentative with customers and co-workers). Staff not equipped to handle a busy night. Waitress was friendly, attentive. Meals were unsatisfactory (missing items on plate). Great price for food.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We Had a great dinner! It was a reunion ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

We Had a great dinner! It was a reunion of two of us from high school so over almost 25 years ago. Great food and service from Martin! Maggianos even sent over complimentary cheesecake to honor the occasion! We love this place and will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Always good food here. Wait staff needs ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Always good food here. Wait staff needs some work, but overall it was enjoyable

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Christian, Martin, and Eli were the best ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Christian, Martin, and Eli were the best. I would recommend Maggianno's for any occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Italian food is delicious and taste ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The Italian food is delicious and taste authentic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Good value

Dined on May 21, 2016

Good value

food5
ambience3
service5

Great Food and service! Definetly loud ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great Food and service! Definetly loud though.

food5
ambience1
service1

Food was great

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was great

food3
ambience5
service2

The Lasagna and spaghetti can sit heavy ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The Lasagna and spaghetti can sit heavy in your stomach. The ambience is very nice

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Yvette was our server. This was our sec ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Yvette was our server. This was our second time we were seated in her section. She is superb; very kind, attentive, professional and knowledgeable. She is just awesome! Our food was good, too! The "Buy 1, Take 1" classic pasta is an amazing deal! We love Maggiano's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Meal for 2 is SUCH a deal!

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a group of 10 (8th graders on a trip and parents) and were out for a special last night together. We split into pairs and each pair ate an appetizer or a salad, bread, an individual hearty pasta dish, and split a large dessert for $42.95 - AND on top of that, each individual selected a pasta meal to go! That's a ton of food for that price, and we didn't have to worry about lunch the following day. I'd recommend this great value instead of ordering family style (which is over $30/person).

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good

Dined on May 12, 2016

Every thing was excellent but food. Good place to go special in weekdays

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service5

Totally fine go a quick chain food meal ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Totally fine go a quick chain food meal for a largish family group. The kids love it and the food is plenty tasty as far as red sauce pasta. Service was great, incredibly friendly and attentive.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We always have a good time and a great m ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We always have a good time and a great meal at Maggiano's! There's too much food, of course, but that makes it possible for us to enjoy another dinner, at home, with the abundant leftovers. The servers are kind, responsive, and very friendly. Can't beat the prices, as well. We go often!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

I wish I could remember our servers name ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

I wish I could remember our servers name because she was amazing. Attentive and timely we never needed to get her attention for something or felt smothered. Thanks for the delicious food as always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maggiano's Dellivers Again

Dined on May 9, 2016

Never disappointed with Maggiano's! The food was excellent as always and the take home lasagna was just a nice added benefit. The server was incredibly accommodating and allowed us to have our discussion without unnecessary interruptions. Great!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Came here for Mother's Day , didn't like ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Came here for Mother's Day , didn't like the fact that they had a limited menu and some of the items were distasteful .

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The Mother's Day special menu was a mandatory bust

Dined on May 9, 2016

We're fans of Maggiano's, but the Mother's Day special menu was mandatory and a bust. We came out to one of my favorite places for informal dinner, but OpenTable didn't tell us it was a mandatory prix fixe menu for the holiday. There was way too much food to enjoy, and most of it was poorly presented and prepared in an overly taxing environment. The salads were too wet. The antipasto was late and a meager variety of a few slices of one pepperoni and several routine cheeses, hardly of Italian inspiration and too embarrassing to call an antipasto. Chef usually spices up the pastas for our taste on request, but the Alfredo was inelegantly spiced with red pepper flakes. The spaghetti and meatballs lacked in meatiness what it aspired to in robust taste. It was mostly red pepper flakes seasoning meatballs that were overcooked because they were made in miniature. The Chilean Sea Bass was the winner here, but, as the only nice dish, it was too small to serve family style. The beef tenderloin should be better named beef tips, and they were tough, chewy, and the sauce was watery and tasteless. Even the vegetable selection was disappointing. We ordered a medley of squashes, but what came to the table without prior notice was stringbeans that were as Italian as an Inuit seal hunter. The waiter explained that they'd run out of our selection, so he picked for us. The sweet potatoes were quite good with some special seasoning, but my palate was ruined by then, and the dessert bar couldn't fix it. All in all, we go to Magliano's for nice Italian cuisine and excellent value, but $40 apiece for this dinner delivered by weak, over-taxed service was not value. We'll keep being fans of your $13-$16 eat one and take a second one home, but please let us know when you're having another special night so we can stay home.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Unexpected menu but overall positive experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

We came for a graduation celebration that fell on Mother's Day. After making a dinner reservation well in advance and confirming multiple times, it was not clearly communicated that there would be one fixed price menu for the evening because of the holiday. We even came to dinner the night before to look at the venue and try the food, and it was still not communicated to us. Nevertheless, we were able to find something on the menu for everyone in our large party, it just took a couple conversations with waiters and the manager. The quality of the food was better when we came individually the night before, but satisfactory given that we were there on Mother's Day. It was a very busy restaurant, so we would recommend going at a low time to receive the best service and food quality. We thank the establishment for their cooperation through our misunderstanding.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Bad experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had a reservation and was told on arrival that they were running behind on reservations, no apology, and that it would be another 15 minutes. After half an hour and checking back in with them, they said the table had been ready for a while and they thought they called our name. The hostess was rude, and acted like everything was an inconvenience. Once we sat, we were told they had a limited menu for the night even though no one had mentioned that there was one, and there was no advertisement on the signs outside of the restaurant indicating that there was only a fixed price menu for the evening, so we decided to leave. This was the first time I ever walked out of a restaurant.

food2
ambience1
service4
value2

This was a Mother's Day dinner, and I cr ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a Mother's Day dinner, and I credit Maggiano's with doing its best to deal with an outrageously high demand. That being said, it was clearly sacrificing quality for quantity. The staff was attentive, and they were candid about the kitchen being unable to produce even the limited menu in a timely fashion. We also wondered about the Caesar salad being made with iceberg lettuce instead of romaine. Clearly a few steps away from the restaurant's Italian roots.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very Dissapointed!!!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a reservation for 4:30 checked in and went right to the table. Then the waiter hands us a piece of paper and said this is our special Mother's Day menu. So we looked at it and notice it only had a few items on it not what we came their for. They didn't have salmon, fried Zucchini for the family menu. My wife was anticipating this day because this is her favorite restaurant and its Mother's Day we have not been their in a while. The waiters told us we could not get the usual family meal off the regular menu only what's on the piece of paper. We asked the waiter for a manager which never came to the table. So we kindly got up and left and spoke to a manager at the front desk and he said didn't you see we had a special mothers day menu when you made reservations online. I said yes but you also didn't make it clear that you could not order the family meal off the main menu. He said yes that's true I told him that was very deceptive!!!! So we went next door to Cheesecake Factory and had to wait 45min to get a seat and ate and enjoyed our meal.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Mothers Day Not a good choice.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall I love Maggianos been to locations all over the U.S. But the menu, service, food, for the Mothers Day Special put a bad taste in my mouth. The food quality and chooses weren't that good and portions were smaller. My server brung out 1 plate at a time which was not enough to serve my entire party. Overall my Mother's Day experience was horrendous.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Great for small parties

Dined on May 8, 2016

My family dined here on mother's day. There were 13 of us including two children. We have dined here before with smaller groups when it was not a special occasion, so we were surprised when a few snafus happened. The menu was pre-selected: anti-past, salad, entrée, sides, dessert for $39.99 per person. We placed our food order, but when the drinks were served we received the wrong beverage after we confirmed the description on the menu. Then our salads came, but we never received the anti-pasti. The manager came and corrected everything, but then our food was served cold. The food was delicious in the end as always, but overall the experience was not great.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

My siblings and I finally got my 86 year old Mother to go out for Mother's Day for a change and she had to deal with this horrible experience. The entire service from start to finish was horrible and very unacceptable. I've never experienced this level of service there ever. I'll probably never come back to this location again. The only reason I checked one star is because it wouldn't allow me to hit submit without a star being checked, other wise I wouldn't have checked any stars. The service and food was just that bad.

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We came for lunch on Mother's Day. The ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We came for lunch on Mother's Day. The restaurant was packed and noisy (to be expected), but the service was extremely slow. There was a prix fixe menu and the food was pretty good, but the service was extremely slow. We were a party of 10, but everything was painfully slow. We even had to wait an extraordinally long time to get the cake (that we brought the restaurant) brought to the table. I'm not sure if they were short-staffed or what, but I would avoid going there on any special occasion. Otherwise, the food and value is good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Mothers day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was not that great for the price. Some dishes were good, some were not. The chicken for example was bland, a total disappointment, but the chilean bass was great.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Long Wait for Check and even Food

Dined on May 8, 2016

I stayed in this restaurant for nearly two hours. I was in a party of an overall 3. Food was good and fresh, yes. Atmosphere is casual, sophisticated. Our waiter was all over the place. It should not take over 30 minutes to get the check and process payment--there is totally no excuse for that.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food here is great and yet homey at ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food here is great and yet homey at the same time. Although the place was crowded with celebrating graduates, we were able to carry on a good conversation with our friends. However, those half-booths got in our way somewhat for hearing each person (one can't face three people at the same time). Also, I wish you had a different garage; so difficult to find one's car in the present one!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.