About Maggiano's - Chevy Chase

5333 Wisconsin Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20015
View Larger Map

Welcome to Maggiano's Chevy Chase, located on Wisconsin Avenue across the street from the Mazza Gallerie. We are convenient to the National Cathedral and minutes from all of Washington's National Monuments. Maggiano's 295-seat dining room is right next to Lord & Taylor, Saks Fifth Avenue and Neiman Marcus.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 966-5500

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/district-of-columbia/washington/20015/5333-wisconsin-ave-nw/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 202-966-2593 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
We have a parking garage under our building that has discounted parking for up to two hours before 5:00pm & up to four hours after 5:00pm. We also offer valet for $7/car every day starting at 5:00pm.

Public Transit:
We are located at the Friendship Heights metro stop on the Red Line. Once off the metro, take the Military Road exit.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Delano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sausage Rigatoni
Rigatoni "D"
Poundcake
Four Cheese Ravioli
Chicken Francese
Caesar Salad
New York Style Cheesecake
Creme Brulee
Peppermint Cake
Cheese cake
Flatbread
Gnocci

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Chevy Chase Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Restaurants in Friendship Heights ›

good for groups (95)
special occasion (68)
kid-friendly (51)
See All
great for lunch (41)
fit for foodies (28)
romantic (27)
neighborhood gem (26)
great for brunch (13)
late-night find (10)
notable wine list (9)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I'm not a pasta foodie, but the bogo dea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I'm not a pasta foodie, but the bogo deal is awesome! I'm a fan of the Ravioli 😋

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maggiano's provides large portions of me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Maggiano's provides large portions of mediocre food. The service was very good and the kitchen produced meals in a timely fashion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

The BOGO pasta gets us everytime! Love i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The BOGO pasta gets us everytime! Love it! And then add the email $10 off coupon - can't be beat!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bread was awful, like it was bought at a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Bread was awful, like it was bought at a grocery store. Apps and entrees came out at the same time. They took the entrees back while we ate the apps, but when they brought entrees back, the entrees were cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Maggiano's is always a crowd pleaser!! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Maggiano's is always a crowd pleaser!! Quality and portions are plentiful and delicious :) Service is outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Real great place to eat and accommodatin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Real great place to eat and accommodating to larger parties. Onsite parking or valet. Enjoyed it

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had reservations for a group of 10 to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had reservations for a group of 10 to celebrate my son's birthday. The restaurant called to confirm my reservation that was made via OpenTable in advance and explained how the "Family Style" dining menu works. Terrific communications. This menu provides for a lot of food ( actually too much, we took another full dinner with us). I am not a huge fan of red sauce thus I made other selections that I was happy with, such as " veal piccata" and "Alfredo noodles, light version). The chicken Parmesan was OK and the lasagna, although very rich by definition, was very tasty as well. For desert I would recomment creme brûlée.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Family had a great time celebrating my w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Family had a great time celebrating my wife's birthday. Ambiance, service, and salmon Oscar was superb! !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with family (11 people) and got the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went with family (11 people) and got the family style menu. Got free bruscetta, mussels (with 2X refills), Maggiano salad again with refills, linguine with white clam sauce, shrimp and chicken tuscan, veal marsala and chicken piccata. Tiramisu and chocolate cake for dessert. Nick the waiter was terrific. Refilled whatever we wanted.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

They were very accommodating with food a ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

They were very accommodating with food allergies. Food was as good as we had in Italy. Service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Maggiano's food is always good as is the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Maggiano's food is always good as is the service but the price is too high for this kind of restaurant. $21 for a glass of ordinary red wine and a bill of $200 for one appetizer, three entrees and three desserts was excessive, we thought.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I've been to Maggiano's in Chevy Chase a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I've been to Maggiano's in Chevy Chase a few times and it's always been a pleasant experience. The service is great... fast, friendly, etc. And the food has always been perfect. Great flavors, portion size and a decent price. I'll be back again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maggianos serves reliably good food. Se ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Maggianos serves reliably good food. Service as specially good this time. Recommended wine was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Historic, tasty, frien ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love this place. Historic, tasty, friendly, and very generous with the food. Great job... as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Maggiano's is always a great spot to com ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Maggiano's is always a great spot to come eat at. The food is very reasonable and the Marco's meals for 2 are a awesome bargin. Not to mention that pound cake dessert.....incredible. The only thing that I was not too happy about this time, is the flavor of my stuffed mushrooms. The have changed the recipe and they don't taste as good. Everything else was great, even down to the bread they bring from the back....lol.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Not so much the calamari.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

They did not pay attention to my online reservation note. I asked to have a bottle of red wine chilled and I would pay in advance. I called the restaurant twice and got no answer.

The entree's were great. Although the calamari was a little off.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Poor Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I came to this restaurant with my family and we had a horrible experience. It took over twenty minutes to get our drinks (after we ordered) and we sat with empty soup and salad plates for about the same amount of time (20 minutes) before our food came. The waitress did not come back to ask us if we wanted more drinks. When the food came, my father politely asked the waitress if she could run the credit card and she responded with, "I'll try to do that as soon as possible." I have been a server and know when another server is busy. She was not moving quickly. The restaurant was empty. I didn't feel that was a very professional response. It took quite a while to get the check even after his request. Needless to say, I will not be coming back to Maggiano's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value4

Miscommunication between Chef & Server

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I'd like to start out by saying we go to Maggio's a lot with a party of 4. We've always been happy with them and they've always taken very good care of us. This visit we were celebrating my daughters recital and we booked a party of 10. Great table and very nice servers. I have a gluten allergy so the chef came out to take our order - as usual. We ordered off the family style menu which you order 1 salad, 1 ap, 3 entrees and 2 desserts. Needless to say there was some miscommunication between the chef and the server that entered our order into the system. 2 of the 3 entrees were wrong. We brought it to the servers attention and a different chef than the one that took our order came out to explain what happened. We are really easy going so it was no big deal. After the chef left the desserts were brought out and one of our desserts was wrong as well. Once again we brought it to the servers attention and he asked if we wanted our original dessert brought out. I said yes please. Once We got the bill I was disappointed to see the original dessert had been charged as an extra dessert ($40.00). So much of our order was incorrect I thought Maggio's would have done a little something for us. I didn't say anything about the extra charge for the dessert (which the server offered to bring out for us) but I should have. We will think twice or three times before booking a large party again.

With all that said. We will continue to go back (our family of 4) to Maggio's because our kids love the food and the servers are great!

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Dining at Maggiano's Restaurant

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Maggiano's Restaurant in Washington, DC. The food was superb and the waiter was attentive to our dining needs. We hope to go back soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit to Maggiano and I loved it.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My first visit to Maggiano and I loved it! The food, wait staff, and ambiance, everything was GREAT !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dissatisfied

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very unpleasant experience upon engaging the host (very argumentative with customers and co-workers). Staff not equipped to handle a busy night. Waitress was friendly, attentive. Meals were unsatisfactory (missing items on plate). Great price for food.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

We Had a great dinner! It was a reunion ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We Had a great dinner! It was a reunion of two of us from high school so over almost 25 years ago. Great food and service from Martin! Maggianos even sent over complimentary cheesecake to honor the occasion! We love this place and will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Maggiano's this afternoon to c ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I went to Maggiano's this afternoon to celebrate my coworker's birthday. We made a reservation to make sure they knew a large party was coming in during the lunch hour. Steve was great; he welcomed us and took our drink orders as soon as we sat down. We were switched to another waiter after about 10 minutes. We were all a little disappointed that Steve wasn't going to be our waiter. Our new waiter did take our food orders and our food was delivered in a timely fashion. However, after our food was served we didn't see him again. After eating, waited over 20 minutes before we asked Steve if he could get our checks for us. During the lunch hour, I expect waiters to be even more vigilant about making sure customers are able to get in and out promptly. Next time, I go back I will definitely be asking for Steve.

Next day note: I took advantage of the awesome buy one get one lunch special. The waiter gave me the wrong second lunch. :/ Saving grace is that the ziti with chicken sausage is YUMMY!!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Always good food here. Wait staff needs ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Always good food here. Wait staff needs some work, but overall it was enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Christian, Martin, and Eli were the best ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Christian, Martin, and Eli were the best. I would recommend Maggianno's for any occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The Italian food is delicious and taste ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The Italian food is delicious and taste authentic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good value

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great Food and service! Definetly loud ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great Food and service! Definetly loud though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was great

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

The Lasagna and spaghetti can sit heavy ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The Lasagna and spaghetti can sit heavy in your stomach. The ambience is very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Yvette was our server. This was our sec ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Yvette was our server. This was our second time we were seated in her section. She is superb; very kind, attentive, professional and knowledgeable. She is just awesome! Our food was good, too! The "Buy 1, Take 1" classic pasta is an amazing deal! We love Maggiano's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal for 2 is SUCH a deal!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a group of 10 (8th graders on a trip and parents) and were out for a special last night together. We split into pairs and each pair ate an appetizer or a salad, bread, an individual hearty pasta dish, and split a large dessert for $42.95 - AND on top of that, each individual selected a pasta meal to go! That's a ton of food for that price, and we didn't have to worry about lunch the following day. I'd recommend this great value instead of ordering family style (which is over $30/person).

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Every thing was excellent but food. Good place to go special in weekdays

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Totally fine go a quick chain food meal ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Totally fine go a quick chain food meal for a largish family group. The kids love it and the food is plenty tasty as far as red sauce pasta. Service was great, incredibly friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We always have a good time and a great m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We always have a good time and a great meal at Maggiano's! There's too much food, of course, but that makes it possible for us to enjoy another dinner, at home, with the abundant leftovers. The servers are kind, responsive, and very friendly. Can't beat the prices, as well. We go often!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I wish I could remember our servers name ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I wish I could remember our servers name because she was amazing. Attentive and timely we never needed to get her attention for something or felt smothered. Thanks for the delicious food as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Maggiano's Dellivers Again

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Never disappointed with Maggiano's! The food was excellent as always and the take home lasagna was just a nice added benefit. The server was incredibly accommodating and allowed us to have our discussion without unnecessary interruptions. Great!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for Mother's Day , didn't like ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Came here for Mother's Day , didn't like the fact that they had a limited menu and some of the items were distasteful .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

The Mother's Day special menu was a mandatory bust

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We're fans of Maggiano's, but the Mother's Day special menu was mandatory and a bust. We came out to one of my favorite places for informal dinner, but OpenTable didn't tell us it was a mandatory prix fixe menu for the holiday. There was way too much food to enjoy, and most of it was poorly presented and prepared in an overly taxing environment. The salads were too wet. The antipasto was late and a meager variety of a few slices of one pepperoni and several routine cheeses, hardly of Italian inspiration and too embarrassing to call an antipasto. Chef usually spices up the pastas for our taste on request, but the Alfredo was inelegantly spiced with red pepper flakes. The spaghetti and meatballs lacked in meatiness what it aspired to in robust taste. It was mostly red pepper flakes seasoning meatballs that were overcooked because they were made in miniature. The Chilean Sea Bass was the winner here, but, as the only nice dish, it was too small to serve family style. The beef tenderloin should be better named beef tips, and they were tough, chewy, and the sauce was watery and tasteless. Even the vegetable selection was disappointing. We ordered a medley of squashes, but what came to the table without prior notice was stringbeans that were as Italian as an Inuit seal hunter. The waiter explained that they'd run out of our selection, so he picked for us. The sweet potatoes were quite good with some special seasoning, but my palate was ruined by then, and the dessert bar couldn't fix it. All in all, we go to Magliano's for nice Italian cuisine and excellent value, but $40 apiece for this dinner delivered by weak, over-taxed service was not value. We'll keep being fans of your $13-$16 eat one and take a second one home, but please let us know when you're having another special night so we can stay home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Unexpected menu but overall positive experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We came for a graduation celebration that fell on Mother's Day. After making a dinner reservation well in advance and confirming multiple times, it was not clearly communicated that there would be one fixed price menu for the evening because of the holiday. We even came to dinner the night before to look at the venue and try the food, and it was still not communicated to us. Nevertheless, we were able to find something on the menu for everyone in our large party, it just took a couple conversations with waiters and the manager. The quality of the food was better when we came individually the night before, but satisfactory given that we were there on Mother's Day. It was a very busy restaurant, so we would recommend going at a low time to receive the best service and food quality. We thank the establishment for their cooperation through our misunderstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.