About Maggiano's - Chevy Chase

Welcome to Maggiano's Chevy Chase, located on Wisconsin Avenue across the street from the Mazza Gallerie. We are convenient to the National Cathedral and minutes from all of Washington's National Monuments. Maggiano's 295-seat dining room is right next to Lord & Taylor, Saks Fifth Avenue and Neiman Marcus.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

5333 Wisconsin Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20015
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 966-5500

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/district-of-columbia/washington/20015/5333-wisconsin-ave-nw/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 202-966-2593 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
We have a parking garage under our building that has discounted parking for up to two hours before 5:00pm & up to four hours after 5:00pm. We also offer valet for $7/car every day starting at 5:00pm.

Public Transit:
We are located at the Friendship Heights metro stop on the Red Line. Once off the metro, take the Military Road exit.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Delano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Enjoy Easter Brunch the Little Italy way! We will open at 10AM featuring our new Brunch menu. We look forward to seeing you.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Treat mom to Maggiano's this Mother's Day. We can't wait to see you!

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Celebrate Dad at Maggiano's this Father's Day. We can't wait to see you!

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Chevy Chase Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (62)
Special Occasion (55)
Good for Birthdays (54)
See All
Good for a Date (48)
Comfort Food (47)
Good for Groups (47)
Casual (38)
Kid-friendly (32)
Outstanding Value (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (22)
Authentic (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Fun (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Private Room (16)
Cozy (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
People Watching (10)
Business Meals (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Seasonal (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
2555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server Drew was great very personable and offered great suggestions and knew his menu. However it is not very impressive when you order a bottle of wine and they come back and say they can't find it and you find out you need to settle for less.

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, especially the Chicken Piccata - Staff are pleasant and helpful. A great place to eat when you are staying at Embassy Suites - only a 2 min walk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect place to take my family with a ton of Gluten Free options. Delicious and great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

New brunch is great. Nice way to spend a leisurely Sunday afternoon.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

From beginning to end it was a wonderful experience. Would definitely return. Group of 7 with reservations for 7:15 was seated on time. The food was great, the (Classic) take home one was a bonus. Free desert was given to my nephew who was celebrating his birtgday. Very attentive waiter which left us waiting for not one thing. Awesome service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

My only criticism about the restaurant is when we checked in. We had reservations for 6 at 7:30PM. We arrived 5 minutes early and 2 people from our party were still in route. The hostess asked if everyone was present to which we replied we were still waiting for 2. She asked us to move away from the front desk and if we wouldn’t mind waiting ‘a while’. We complied and the rest of our party arrived in the next few minutes. We waited patiently all while other parties arrived and were seated before us. After 15 minutes I went to the hostess to understand why we were not being seated. To which she replied ‘is your entire party here?’. I said yes, we’ve all been here for the last 15 minutes. She offered no explanation so I specifically asked if the restaurant seated incomplete parties and her response was NO the entire party must be present to be seated. I don’t have a problem with this practice, what I mind is not being told to re-check back in to let the hostess know our party was complete. In addition, as we were being brought to our table and throughout dinner I noticed several other tables with missing patrons. I was therefore mystified why we were treated with such disrespect. It was MY birthday dinner and we chose Maggiano’s because of the nice ambiance and excellent food. Food was excellent, service was marginal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Super friends' dining experience. Our server, Robert, is a winner: particularly personable, accommodating, and knowledgeable. He enhanced our meal: glass of wine, appetizer, smoked bacon carbonara, & mocha Java cake. Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Mohammed is the best.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I took my daughter and 9 of her friends to Maggiano's for her birthday. Of course you want things to go smoothly, especially when children are involved. I called the restaurant to see if I could pre-order and got to speak with Don, the manager. When I confirmed the reservation a day prior, Celitz (sp?) failed to communicate that the menu item I needed (pizza) was not on the menu. When I brought this to her attention, she said she had no recollection I had mentioned I wanted to order pizzas. She also failed to communicate that the restaurant was not responsible for lost items(sleep over after dinner) stored in the space provided. She was making a face of displeasure (rolling her eyes as I was speaking to her) when I voiced my concerns. When I spoke with Don the manager, he was rude and condescending. I told him I did not like his attitude, and he said that I was the one having an attitude! How is this for conducting yourself professionally? (Costumer service 101!) I told him I didn't feel he was being helpful. He raised his voice and said I was misunderstanding what he was saying: "We ask parties over 8 to order family style". I said to him when I confirmed the reservation nobody said to me I HAD to -spoke to Celitz (sp?). He said I was misunderstanding, he was merely suggesting I should. What part of "WE ASK" is a suggestion? When we arrived at the restaurant, he said it was a pleasure to meet me. At no point he apologized for his poor behavior over the phone, at no point he came over to our table to check if our meal was going well.
I am really appalled about Maggiano's employees' behavior. They did not deal with me in a professional manner: 1) They lost control2) They did not keep their cool 3) They blamed me, as a costumer 4) They did not show that they care 5) I did not feel I was being heard
The silver lining was the server, Azarias. He was polite and helpful during our visit.
I will NEVER dine at Maggiano's if I can help it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was great and service was excellent. Steeve was our server and he ROCKS!!!

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My sister loves celebrating her birthday at Maggiano's. The service was great. Abel, our server, was very attentive and made sure that our table was not neglected. There are plenty of choices on the family style menu, so everyone was satisfied. The food is always good and the frozen peach bellinis are fantastic.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I took two friends from Ireland to Sunday lunch and they were properly impressed, first with the lovely space and lavish décor and, second, by the delicious cuisine. We started with the Bruschetta Buffet, which is my current favorite -- I eat lunch at your
Springfield restaurant two or three times a month and know my way 'round the Maggiano's menu. That was followed by Shrimp Fra Diavola, which never fails to
please. Perhaps the highlight of the meal was when the Chef brought an amuse
bouche to the table: fried, breaded and sliced acorn squash with a fantastic lemon
aioli. Wonderful! We lingered at the table for about two hours and the staff could
not have been more solicitous, yet unobtrusive. It's an afternoon the three of us
will not forget. Thank you!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Private Room, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were seated right next to kitchen door. Wait staff was in and out and rushing by our table constantly. Noise level of restaurant off the charts. Service was good but food seemed reheated not just cooked. Waitress very friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Visit was the latest of luncheon for friends who retired from same place. We have enjoyed our luncheons at Maggiano's and the last ones have been the family style ones. We especially enjoyed the salads and deserts.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I was impressed with our waiter Christian and then we were surprised with a visit from the chef Chris, which made us feel important. This showed us how Maggiano's cares about what their customers think and overall how the food is!!! Awesome good and evening!!!!😀😀

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I went to try the new brunch menu. The brunch was amazing and very tasty! I had the lemon ricotta pancakes w/ bacon and eggs! I also had a peach Bellini. Everything was SO good !

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The Food is excellent and the service was outstanding

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

excellent family style meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of our favorites. Only spot I know where you buy a dinner and get another to take home - spaghetti and several other choices.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The food was absolutely fantastic!!! The stuffed mushrooms and fried zucchini appetizers were the perfect start. The entrees were delicious and the tiramisu was some of the best I've ever eaten!! The server was fast and very efficient but very relaxed. We didn't feel rushed. Overall great dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Another great meal!! 3 out of the 4 people did the buy a pasta, get one to take home. You can't beat the deal. Everyone at the table enjoyed their meal. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Maggiano S is always consistent With great comfort food and nice atmosphere. I like the energy there and love the large salads. I also love the veal piccata with linguine a/0.
Kids love the pasta and meatballs- so it's always a good spot for family night. Parking seems tricky with busy wisc avenue even tho there is a garage.. We usually walk over from a neighborhood a few blocks away. We also like to go early to avoid the big rush. Always like the "entree to go home with you"deal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Private Room, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I usually shy away from restaurants this large. However, Maggiano's in Chevy Chase continues to deliver high quality food for a reasonable price. I had perhaps the best Veal Picatta that I can recall.

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I had the Chicken Parm. The chicken was very tender and fried to perfection, the cheese and sauce had a very good flavor. It was pricy for what I had although I got a lot of food $18.95. It was enough left over to bring home. I would rather have one portion and pay less than two portions and pay double for it. We opted out of buying wine because the Mascota was $42. per bottle. It was to pricy for our budget. My husband had chicken Marcella with Angel Hair Pasta instead of the regular pasta. He said it was very good $18.95. My son had the light Fair, Chicken, asparagus and noodles with white sauce. He said it was very good. The price was $13.95 which was a very good price. I rate the food against the other popular Italian restaurant restaurant, which we all know and love. Maggiano's was the best tasting food .

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great food and service! No free parking but they will validate your parking ticket. Let waiter know before ordering anything if you have any food allergies. Chef will come out to talk to customer about customizing their order.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Eat at Maggiano's every chance we get. Unfortunately not one in our town so it's a treat when we find one.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Get together

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

You can't go wrong with Maggiano's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

For there to be few ppl in the restaurant we still had to continually wait in the server.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Was seated close to reservation time, bUT then after 10 minutes I had to find a manager because no one had came to take our drinks order or give us menus. The manager that I spoke with helped us and then found a waiter to help us. The food was ok and service was also. I was there for my husbands birthday. Will I take him there again, probably not. He wasn't that excited about the experience.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We've been coming to Maggiano's since the mid-90s and Maggiano's still does NOT disappoint. This was our post-Valentines Dinner. Our waiters (didn't get their names) were on point, very polite, quick, and attentive. The entrees, appetizer, and desserts were tasty, well seasoned, and proportioned properly. We were sat immediately. Originally for a party of 2 but wound up taking our daughter and we were seated quickly.

Maggiano's is still our #1 go-to restaurant for family style dining, for decades! The only downfall was - we FORGOT to give our waiters our $15 off coupon, which could have offset the pricey parking.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wow! Feeding a table of volleyball players with family style dining was outstanding. The food portions were overly generous, and everything was delicious!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Casual, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We celebrated my son 16th birthday and food was delicious and plentiful as expected . Service was excellent for our party of 15.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I am sure Maggiano's is a lovely restaurant, however, I am unable to report on the quality of the food, service, or value after my visit on Valentine's Day this year. Upon arrival, the line of patrons waiting to be seated (all having made reservations in advance) stretched to from the host stand to the front door. Naturally, my curiosity and desire to keep my 8:30 reservation lead me to squeeze through the crowd to the hosts stand myself. I was informed that the "lack of communication" between Open Table and their managers caused numerous double-bookings and resulted in them being behind schedule roughly 2 hours. Needless to say, my husband and I left and went next door to the Cheesecake Factory. We had a good night despite the shenanigans over at Maggiano's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines day. Made reservations. Stood in line for 45 minutes. Tables were crammed together making it hard for the waiter to manuver on the floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had reservations on Valentine's Day at 8:15. I showed up at 7:45 and found a line almost out of the door with at least 40 people in it. I stood in line while my partner went to the front hostess to ask if the line was for people without reservations. He was told that they had overbooked and the line was for people with AND without reservations and they were taking guests first come first serve. This is absolutely ridiculous. I understand it's a special occasion, a holiday and it's going to get crowded. If that's the case, why make reservations and plan an entire evening around those reservations. Why did I get a call 2 days before my reservation to confirm my reservation. The restaurant should have realized as they called to confirm reservations that they had overbooked. We stood in line for about 30 minutes and the line barely moved. My boyfriend asked a gentleman less than halfway through the line how long he had been in line for. He was told he had reservations at 7:30 (45 minutes later) and he was barely half way through the line. We ended up leaving and we were fortunate enough to find another restaurant that could accommodate us without reservations and such short notice on such a busy night. It definitely ruined such a nicely planned Valentine's Day dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Terrible service nearly ruined our Valentines Day. I typically love Maggianos and we were all in great spirits, but it just turned out very bad. They overbooked and were understaffed. Long wait, a seafood dish came out partly frozen and was never replaced, we had to ask multiple times for basics like silverware, water, napkins, bread. Some we never received. We ended up sharing silverware. Cold air blasted out every 20 minutes so we had to put our coats on and off. The manager did compensate us when the bill came which helped but overall we were there for 4 hours and saw so many other tables come and go. We got a free meal but were left a terrible impression overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had a reservation and waited over an hour. You checked in then stood in line. They did not call you by the time of your reservation. So it was people with reservations later than mine that got seated before me because they were early and in line before I was. I wasn't late they was just there early. The seating was horrible, it was just too many people crammed in there. The service sucked and the food seemed rushed. I usually have a pleasant experience at Maggianos but Valentine's Day was a bad experience for me.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've been to the restaurant before and the food was good, ambiance was excellent, service was pleasant. The problem on this occasion was that they apparently randomly stopped honoring reservations- or made more reservations than they had seats for, I don't know. So we had a reservation for 8 pm on Valentine's Day, arrived shortly before, and found a line literally out the door- about 100 people long, I kid you not. No problem, we figured; we made a reservation. Well, we went to the front to check in with the hostess, and she explained that they were seating people in the order in which they were standing in line- reservation or no. She said "We're telling people it's a 25-35 minute wait," but we were in line for 15 minutes and moved roughly three feet- meaning that about four parties, out of maybe 50 ahead of us, had been seated in that time. Meaning we still had about two city blocks before we got to the front of the line. It was frustrating, to say the least, especially because it was pretty difficult to find somewhere else to eat on short notice on such a major date night. Pretty disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Being as though my friend and I went on Valentines Day the service was superb. They had a long line for reservations, which one would think would be hell. But it was the total opposite. The line moved quickly, they sat all reservations within good timing. Servers didn't seem overwhelmed, everything went very smooth. It was also good to see management on the floor helping out as well.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.