About Maggiano's - Chevy Chase

5333 Wisconsin Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20015
View Larger Map

Welcome to Maggiano's Chevy Chase, located on Wisconsin Avenue across the street from the Mazza Gallerie. We are convenient to the National Cathedral and minutes from all of Washington's National Monuments. Maggiano's 295-seat dining room is right next to Lord & Taylor, Saks Fifth Avenue and Neiman Marcus.
So join us soon! We look forward to hosting your next business or family gathering.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 966-5500

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/district-of-columbia/washington/20015/5333-wisconsin-ave-nw/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 202-966-2593 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
We have a parking garage under our building that has discounted parking for up to two hours before 5:00pm & up to four hours after 5:00pm. We also offer valet for $7/car every day starting at 5:00pm.

Public Transit:
We are located at the Friendship Heights metro stop on the Red Line. Once off the metro, take the Military Road exit.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Delano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Chevy Chase Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (60)
Special Occasion (49)
Good for Groups (49)
See All
Good for Birthdays (47)
Good for a Date (45)
Comfort Food (39)
Kid-friendly (31)
Casual (31)
Outstanding Value (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Romantic (24)
Worth the Drive (21)
Authentic (20)
Cozy (17)
Fun (16)
Private Room (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Business Meals (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Happy Hour (12)
People Watching (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

For there to be few ppl in the restauran ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

For there to be few ppl in the restaurant we still had to continually wait in the server.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Was seated close to reservation time, bU ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Was seated close to reservation time, bUT then after 10 minutes I had to find a manager because no one had came to take our drinks order or give us menus. The manager that I spoke with helped us and then found a waiter to help us. The food was ok and service was also. I was there for my husbands birthday. Will I take him there again, probably not. He wasn't that excited about the experience.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We've been coming to Maggiano's since th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We've been coming to Maggiano's since the mid-90s and Maggiano's still does NOT disappoint. This was our post-Valentines Dinner. Our waiters (didn't get their names) were on point, very polite, quick, and attentive. The entrees, appetizer, and desserts were tasty, well seasoned, and proportioned properly. We were sat immediately. Originally for a party of 2 but wound up taking our daughter and we were seated quickly.

Maggiano's is still our #1 go-to restaurant for family style dining, for decades! The only downfall was - we FORGOT to give our waiters our $15 off coupon, which could have offset the pricey parking.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We celebrated my son 16th birthday and f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated my son 16th birthday and food was delicious and plentiful as expected . Service was excellent for our party of 15.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am sure Maggiano's is a lovely restaur ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I am sure Maggiano's is a lovely restaurant, however, I am unable to report on the quality of the food, service, or value after my visit on Valentine's Day this year. Upon arrival, the line of patrons waiting to be seated (all having made reservations in advance) stretched to from the host stand to the front door. Naturally, my curiosity and desire to keep my 8:30 reservation lead me to squeeze through the crowd to the hosts stand myself. I was informed that the "lack of communication" between Open Table and their managers caused numerous double-bookings and resulted in them being behind schedule roughly 2 hours. Needless to say, my husband and I left and went next door to the Cheesecake Factory. We had a good night despite the shenanigans over at Maggiano's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Valentines day. Made reservations. Stood ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines day. Made reservations. Stood in line for 45 minutes. Tables were crammed together making it hard for the waiter to manuver on the floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

I had reservations on Valentine's Day at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had reservations on Valentine's Day at 8:15. I showed up at 7:45 and found a line almost out of the door with at least 40 people in it. I stood in line while my partner went to the front hostess to ask if the line was for people without reservations. He was told that they had overbooked and the line was for people with AND without reservations and they were taking guests first come first serve. This is absolutely ridiculous. I understand it's a special occasion, a holiday and it's going to get crowded. If that's the case, why make reservations and plan an entire evening around those reservations. Why did I get a call 2 days before my reservation to confirm my reservation. The restaurant should have realized as they called to confirm reservations that they had overbooked. We stood in line for about 30 minutes and the line barely moved. My boyfriend asked a gentleman less than halfway through the line how long he had been in line for. He was told he had reservations at 7:30 (45 minutes later) and he was barely half way through the line. We ended up leaving and we were fortunate enough to find another restaurant that could accommodate us without reservations and such short notice on such a busy night. It definitely ruined such a nicely planned Valentine's Day dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrible service nearly ruined our Valen ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Terrible service nearly ruined our Valentines Day. I typically love Maggianos and we were all in great spirits, but it just turned out very bad. They overbooked and were understaffed. Long wait, a seafood dish came out partly frozen and was never replaced, we had to ask multiple times for basics like silverware, water, napkins, bread. Some we never received. We ended up sharing silverware. Cold air blasted out every 20 minutes so we had to put our coats on and off. The manager did compensate us when the bill came which helped but overall we were there for 4 hours and saw so many other tables come and go. We got a free meal but were left a terrible impression overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

I had a reservation and waited over an h ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had a reservation and waited over an hour. You checked in then stood in line. They did not call you by the time of your reservation. So it was people with reservations later than mine that got seated before me because they were early and in line before I was. I wasn't late they was just there early. The seating was horrible, it was just too many people crammed in there. The service sucked and the food seemed rushed. I usually have a pleasant experience at Maggianos but Valentine's Day was a bad experience for me.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

I've been to the restaurant before and t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've been to the restaurant before and the food was good, ambiance was excellent, service was pleasant. The problem on this occasion was that they apparently randomly stopped honoring reservations- or made more reservations than they had seats for, I don't know. So we had a reservation for 8 pm on Valentine's Day, arrived shortly before, and found a line literally out the door- about 100 people long, I kid you not. No problem, we figured; we made a reservation. Well, we went to the front to check in with the hostess, and she explained that they were seating people in the order in which they were standing in line- reservation or no. She said "We're telling people it's a 25-35 minute wait," but we were in line for 15 minutes and moved roughly three feet- meaning that about four parties, out of maybe 50 ahead of us, had been seated in that time. Meaning we still had about two city blocks before we got to the front of the line. It was frustrating, to say the least, especially because it was pretty difficult to find somewhere else to eat on short notice on such a major date night. Pretty disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Being as though my friend and I went on ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Being as though my friend and I went on Valentines Day the service was superb. They had a long line for reservations, which one would think would be hell. But it was the total opposite. The line moved quickly, they sat all reservations within good timing. Servers didn't seem overwhelmed, everything went very smooth. It was also good to see management on the floor helping out as well.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I went on Valentine's Day. I made reserv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I went on Valentine's Day. I made reservations a week in advance. I still had to wait thirty minutes to be seated. They placed extra tables to accommodate Valentine's Day, and it felt overcrowded. The server placed my order right away. However, we were not given water refills or bread at the table. We had to call our server over for it. After we got our food, we had to wait an hour before someone came to our table again. We asked to take the rest of our meal home. I have enjoyed this place in the past, but I would never recommend going on a special occasion due to poor service.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value4

We went there for Valentines. We go ther ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went there for Valentines. We go there a lot, but at this dinner we had the best service we've ever had. And the food, as always, was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took the Mrs for Valentine's Day. We had ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Took the Mrs for Valentine's Day. We had a great time. Our waiter, "Q" was the best waiter we have had in years by far. He helped make the evening even more memorable.

Tags: , Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Family Style, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service even during a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food and service even during a packed full dining room on Valentine's at 7:00pm

Tags: Family Style, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time there. Big place. Incredi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our first time there. Big place. Incredible vibes from a full dining room. Lines out to the street. We order and... omg, the food, the flavor. Their wild mushroom ravioli with steak was out of this world.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Family Style, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Down home Italian food. The mushroom rav ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Down home Italian food. The mushroom ravioli with alfredo sauce was yummy! Love the decor and the old style music. Be sure to use the upstairs restrooms.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Easy to get to, nice range of italian st ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Easy to get to, nice range of italian style comfort foods. we were well treated, seated on time, served promptly, food was tasty and in good portions, and no issues with the check.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Took my mother and her sister out for an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Took my mother and her sister out for an early Valentine's Day dinner. The food was delicious and the price outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service this time around at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outstanding service this time around at Maggiano's. Last visit was a miss regarding service, but this time the service more than made up for the last visit's misses. The food is still decent and good, but the service makes it taste so much more.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I really enjoyed my time, great service, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I really enjoyed my time, great service, staff went above and beyond and even gave us a complementary appetizer. It was a very nice evening and the prices were very reasonable

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed. I have been to Maggi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very disappointed. I have been to Maggiano's in New Jersey many times and loved it. Truly disappointed by the quality of the food. Staff was very disorganized. Will not go back and will not recommend. Did not even want to take the extra entrees that are included to take home. Not sure what has happened but maybe the chain has gotten away from quality. Place was packed so I guess people like it anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I eagerly await my next visit. I have a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I eagerly await my next visit. I have a dairy allergy and the chef came out to personally take my order and adjust the menu selection for no dairy. It was delicious. My girlfriend and her son and his little friend all enjoyed their meals and the ambiance.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, , Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super service and good food. We got a c ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Super service and good food. We got a complimentary appetizer of fried zucchini, AND since my husband ordered one of the classic pastas, we got another one to take home. Pretty good BOGO! Tuscan Soup was yummy; so was my Country Style Pasta. Portions are generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chopped salad and calamari as always ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The chopped salad and calamari as always were delicious. Chicken parm was not piping hot and shrimp fra divalo was mediocre. Service was wonderful and the dining experience was nice

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Abel was the kindest waiter I've ever ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Abel was the kindest waiter I've ever had. The experience was wonderful and I will certainly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a pre- Birthday Dinner for my Gra ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a pre- Birthday Dinner for my Grandson who turns 12 this week

...he enjoyed his meal

Also our Waiter Salim was "Wonderful"

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall good food and good prices. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Overall good food and good prices. The staff was great and the chef came out to ask about the food and service. Nice touch

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was awful! We never attended ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our waiter was awful! We never attended out table. The food use to be good. I'm sad I didn't take pictures of our awful plates.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Very poor service from the waiter and al ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Very poor service from the waiter and also the chef. Portion sizes were significantly smaller than when I usually dine here. Very dissatisfied

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value5

We loved our waiter! He helped make the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We loved our waiter! He helped make the night be filled with laughs! The food was excellent from the appetizer to the dessert! It was a great choice for a group to celebrate my 25th Birthday!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely birthday lunch celebrati ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a lovely birthday lunch celebration. It was quiet in the restaurant and we had an excellent waiter. We all enjoyed it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I was celebrating my birthday and my fam ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I was celebrating my birthday and my family and I truly enjoyed the atmosphere in there. It was great food and great staff.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and good food is perfect f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great service and good food is perfect for an intimate night out or a dinner with colleagues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server William was the best. Even t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Our server William was the best. Even though it was late and I'm sure he had a long day he was willing to help and cordial even on our way out of the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are excellent. I us ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The food and service are excellent. I usually don't order dessert, but I make an exception at Maggiano's. I also like that they offer lighter versions of their entrees. (Yes, I see the irony.)

I like the layout of this particular Maggiano's. Although it's a good size restaurant, it is sectioned off in such a way that you don't feel as though you're sitting in a huge room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate my mother's birthday o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went to celebrate my mother's birthday on a Sunday evening. Excellent and friendly service. Would definitely recommend for a great family outing. Had first time diners in the group, and they were impressed from beginning to the end. Dessert is to die for, especially the apple crostada.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

top notch service,food and ambiance,been ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

top notch service,food and ambiance,been coming here over the years!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my 4 grand children there for din ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I took my 4 grand children there for dinner. I had taken them once before and they couldn't wait to go back. It was the night of the Womans March and they were crazy busy. Our waiter was great and very sweet with the kids. Our apps never arrived but that was fine as the kids ate everything on their plates and saved room for dessert. We received many apologies for the non apps which was nice and thoughtful of the staff. We totally understood. The food is always well prepared - priced right and delicious - we will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

They were able to seat us, a party of 9, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

They were able to seat us, a party of 9, right away. So appreciated. Good food. Lots of it. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.