About Maggiano's - Boston

4 Columbus Avenue
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Welcome to Maggiano's Little Italy in Boston, located on Columbus Avenue near the Theater District, Boston Common & Park Plaza. Our restaurant is a quick trip from the Freedom Trail & the Boston Tea Party. Parking validation is available Monday-Friday after 5:00pm & on weekends ($8 for up to three hours). Maggiano's 350-seat dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower or important client meeting. The seasonal patio seating has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence. Recent visitors include Manny Ramirez, Jon Bon Jovi & Kathleen Turner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-3456

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/massachusetts/boston/02116/4-columbus-ave-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 617-426-0540 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
Motor Mart Garage attached to the restaurant - validation for cars parked UNDER 3 HOURS after 5:00 P.M. Valet: Monday-Friday after 5:00 P.M.; Saturday & Sunday after 4:00 P.M.

Public Transit:
Green Line to Arlington

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Spaghetti
Linguine and clams
Chef Mann's Country-Style Pasta
Spaguetti Meatballs
Andes Mint Chocolate Cake
Meat Lasagna
Chicken Parmesan
Fried Zucchini
Mini Desert Tray
Steamed Mussels
Clam Linguini

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (334)
special occasion (260)
kid-friendly (140)
See All
fit for foodies (139)
great for lunch (117)
romantic (116)
neighborhood gem (112)
hot spot (58)
notable wine list (51)
late-night find (32)
great for brunch (21)
vibrant bar scene (15)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
4425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal, great service. Chef checked ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great meal, great service. Chef checked in with us several times to make sure we were satisfied! We will go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Meals has a lot of protein Shrimp/Chicke ...

Dined 6 days ago

Meals has a lot of protein Shrimp/Chicken, but lacked in flavor. Service was great and prices were average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maggiano's is a favorite of ours - espe ...

Dined 6 days ago

Maggiano's is a favorite of ours - especially when we have tickets to the theatre. They are always willing to accommodate their service to get us to the show on time. Family style dining works well for small groups but individual ordering is fine too. They offer great selections of delectable entrees! The staff is very friendly and efficient!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

The host sucked...

Dined on June 25, 2016

The host sucked...

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Salad was quite tasty. We did not like o ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Salad was quite tasty. We did not like our meals much; they were blah. High prices for just blah food. Disappointing given past experiences and memories of good food. We'll pick other restaurants from now on when we're in Boston.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was good, the waiter was great! ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was good, the waiter was great! I loved the skewers, my daughter loved the ...de mar, & my granddaughter loved the scampi but the serving was too generous for her

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered family style before show at Bost ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Ordered family style before show at Boston Opera House, short on time, but wait staff was exceptional at keeping orders on time and billed so we weren't late for show time. Food was excellent and great portions. Would highly recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took a small group here for a birthday d ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Took a small group here for a birthday dinner before a show. We were seated promptly, food arrived fast and hot. Our server did very well attending to us even though he was obviously very busy with several large parties. The only thing that disappointed me was that we had called the morning of our reservation and asked if they could do something special for the birthday girl. We were told they would make a note (we wanted to surprise her) and that they would bring out a slice of cake with a candle after dinner. Never happened and there was no mention of it. I would suggest stepping away and telling someone once you arrive if you have any special requests. Other than that it was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Out for dinner before taking the kids to ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Out for dinner before taking the kids to see a musical. Our eldest son (age 9) has life threatening allergies to peanuts and tree nuts. We were satisfied but not impressed with the way that was handled. Our server's knowledge of the allergen policy was not up to par but he did get a sous-chef t come talk to us, which made us feel a bit better. Our server was forgetful and not very personable, so we were not impressed with that, either. We were over-charged for one menu item while another was completely left off (and quickly added back on) and rather than simply apologizing, the server made several excuses which is just annoying. The food was delicious and that was certainly the highlight for us. We won't be tripping over ourselves to come back but we did enjoy the food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always impressed with this restaurant. T ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Always impressed with this restaurant. The staff is always friendly and the food is excellent!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best place that i ever have ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

This was the best place that i ever have dinner in Boston. Every plate is huge and it is delicius

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I have been to this restaurant many time ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many times in the past, at least once or twice a year. Typically, the food and service are good and it's been a great place to bring out-of-town guests. This past Monday, we had a party of 8 (4 adults, 2 children, and 2 teenagers). The service was very slow, and my dinner (glazed salmon with asparagus) was not enjoyable. The asparagus was tasteless and the salmon was so dry it was difficult to swallow. We ordered a bottle of wine for the 4 adults to drink with dinner, but the meal arrived so late, we had already finished the wine. I then ordered a glass of wine for myself to drink with my meal, but the wine never arrived. Monday's experience was a-typical and I hope that this was just a one-time experience. On the upside, our waitress was very nice and friendly and the Chef came out to talk to our party about certain foods we could not eat.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.Enjoyable dinner ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food and service.Enjoyable dinner all around

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maggiano's is by far one of the best res ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Maggiano's is by far one of the best restaurants in the country. Probably my personal favorite. I have dined at Maggiano's for most of my casual and business meals and all of my accompanying parties were quite pleased. Great food, personable waiters/waitresses and elegant interior dining. I would most certainly recommend them to any inquiring party.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great service and meals ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Delicious food, great service and meals arrived in a timely fashion

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was obviously new at yhe job ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server was obviously new at yhe job so he was a bit confused about my husband's order for his drink. But he tried his best so that's a plus sign for him.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Service was very good. Also chef was ver ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was very good. Also chef was very good discussing ingredients and modifications to the dishes because we had people with food allergies. We went with family style. It was a lot of food. Country style pasta was below expectation, other dishes were reasonable. Be careful they only serve dinner menu on Sundays so it was very pricey so I wish they make that clear on the website.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We still waited half hour but other than ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We still waited half hour but other than that experience is great! Deff will go back soon :)

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food, great service Have additional ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food, great service Have additional cost of parking and valet

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Portions are big so keep tha ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food. Portions are big so keep that in mind.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2

I don't understand all the excellent rev ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I don't understand all the excellent reviews. This place is overrated. Went on a Friday night and place was moderately busy. The food was over cooked. The risotto was like mashed potatoes and the salmon was cooked like jerky. The waiter never offered us dessert just placed the check down and walked away.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a group of nine. We chose the fa ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We were a group of nine. We chose the family style lunch. Selections were plentiful. Price reasonable.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went for my daughters 21st birthday. Fro ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Went for my daughters 21st birthday. From the moment we stepped into Maggiano's we were treated like family. Maître D Johnny K is a class act and a true professional. We had 7 in our group and went family style. Food was outstanding. Service was terrific. Will definitely return to Maggiano's Boston!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great from start to finis ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was great from start to finish! Our server Anthony was very friendly, efficient and helpful. I must say patient too, as one of us had many special instructions for her meal, and everything came to us exactly as requested. I had the Chicken Francese which I have had before at Maggiano's in other cities and it was excellent as usual. Added a lobster tail which was prepared as well as any I've had elsewhere. The atmosphere is very upscale, kind of dark but I liked it. It's also has a friendly, vibrant feeling, not stuffy. It's hard to believe that it is a chain restaurant; It doesn't seem like one even with the same menu and similar decor at each of the three I have been to. Next time I go to Boston I will definitely be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not really talking to anyone before we w ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Not really talking to anyone before we went we were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful the meal was and affordable. We will def go back every time we are in Boston

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christine

Dined on June 10, 2016

We love it for a treat, or celebration. Always great

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great waiter. Great food. Thank you! ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Great waiter. Great food. Thank you! Keep up the great work.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

reserved table

Dined on June 5, 2016

we got there and it was packed but luckily i had made reservations... we wrre seated promptly . our server was great our food was great and the prices were reasonable. i will definitely be back and i will definitely recommend Maggianos to friends & family!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Quantity over quality

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had the family style which I would not get again. Maybe the a la carte food would have been better quality as it's not cooked in huge batches and kept warm all day? The eggplant parm sauce was extremely acidic, Chicken Marsala was good. The best part was the dessert, the brownies were awesome!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Authentic Food From a Chain

Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was outstanding. Server checked back frequently and had a terrific smile and attitude. Drink orders came quickly. We had the Chicken Francese and Chicken Marsala. Both dishes were flavorful and done to perfection. The Spaghetti Aglio Olio was the side for the Marsala dish and was very good. I appreciate they offer a "Lighter Take" on many meals for those watching calories. My first time in and I was surprised by the quality of food and level of service.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great meal here with friends.

Dined on May 30, 2016

The lobster carbonara was outstanding! I would also highly recommend the bruschetta for an appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

come to minneapolis

Dined on May 29, 2016

Love maggiano's wish they had one in Minneapolis Mn still...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

High Quality, low price

Dined on May 28, 2016

I had family in town and my mom was craving some Italian seafood, so I made a reservation for 6 of us. They have a small bar area we waited at for the group, then were seated and attended to by a terrific waiter. Bread and oil to start is always great. We all ordered a meal (6), a bottle of red wine and 2 beers and the bill was only $170. The quality of the food was outstanding. Everybody raved about their dish, and we've had some good Italian in the past. I had the pasta dish with mussels, and it had a ton of seafood in it. Usually there's not enough but I could barely get it all down. Can't recommend this place enough

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Boston! I make ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Boston! I make sure to stop in every time we're in the area. Highly recommend it! Delicious food and great service! The best Italian I've ever had :) There was a large party next to us, to the noise was louder than previous visits, but that was okay!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place with great food, service and ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great place with great food, service and reasonable pricing ! Will definitely recommend 😜

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian that Real Italians People go to.

Dined on May 25, 2016

We have eaten at at least 6 or 7 Maggianos on the From Midwest to East coast. The Consistency of the experience is perfect. You think you went to the same Restaurant each and every time. The Ambience and the wait staff personalities down to a science. The Food is consistent in appearance and flavor at every restaurant. Delicious

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic service, very good food, great ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Fantastic service, very good food, great atmosphere , I recommend

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

I find it impossible that a chain restau ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I find it impossible that a chain restaurant can produce such exquisite quality. Stunning. If you were to open several other places with less noise, all the better. I am willing to go Sunday early day to avoid the crowds.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner

Dined on May 21, 2016

We arrived early and were seated right away. Everything was delicious - the bread, salad, main courses & desserts. Great variety on the menu. Service was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Response

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was ok- Service was slow & I had to remind my waitress that it was me and my wife's anniversary. I would like a complementary dinner.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.