About Maggiano's - Boston

Welcome to Maggiano's Little Italy in Boston, located on Columbus Avenue near the Theater District, Boston Common & Park Plaza. Our restaurant is a quick trip from the Freedom Trail & the Boston Tea Party. Parking validation is available Monday-Friday after 5:00pm & on weekends ($8 for up to three hours). Maggiano's 350-seat dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower or important client meeting. The seasonal patio seating has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence. Recent visitors include Manny Ramirez, Jon Bon Jovi & Kathleen Turner.

4 Columbus Avenue
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-3456

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/massachusetts/boston/02116/4-columbus-ave-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 617-426-0540 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
Motor Mart Garage attached to the restaurant - validation for cars parked UNDER 3 HOURS after 5:00 P.M. Valet: Monday-Friday after 5:00 P.M.; Saturday & Sunday after 4:00 P.M.

Public Transit:
Green Line to Arlington

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Spaghetti - Maggiano's - Boston, Boston, MA
Linguine and clams - Maggiano's - Boston, Boston, MA
Chef Mann's Country-Style Pasta - Maggiano's - Boston, Boston, MA
Spaguetti Meatballs - Maggiano's - Boston, Boston, MA
Andes Mint Chocolate Cake - Maggiano's - Boston, Boston, MA
Meat Lasagna - Maggiano's - Boston, Boston, MA
Chicken Parmesan - Maggiano's - Boston, Boston, MA
Clam Linguini  - Maggiano's - Boston, Boston, MA
Fried Zucchini - Maggiano's - Boston, Boston, MA
Steamed Mussels - Maggiano's - Boston, Boston, MA
Mini Desert Tray - Maggiano's - Boston, Boston, MA

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (166)
Good for Groups (149)
Special Occasion (130)
See All
Good for Birthdays (116)
Pre/post Theatre (114)
Comfort Food (109)
Good for a Date (102)
Casual (96)
Good for Anniversaries (95)
Authentic (89)
Fun (71)
Kid-friendly (65)
Romantic (64)
Worth the Drive (61)
Outstanding Value (58)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Cozy (55)
Great for Lunch (43)
Business Meals (40)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Private Room (27)
People Watching (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Historic (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Hot Spot (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Seasonal (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Healthy (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Scenic View (8)
Disabled Access (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great Beer (3)
Tapas (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Vegan (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
5061 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome food and good environment! I

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome food and good environment! I

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was cold on all 8 of our plates. T ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was cold on all 8 of our plates. Too noisy. Food just OK...not what I expected at all. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I was in Boston with my daughter and her ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

I was in Boston with my daughter and her boyfriend and Maggiano's was recommended. We had a reservation and were seated when we arrived, about 15 minutes early. The waitress was very friendly and introduced herself, the other waiter who was covering our section and the name of the chef for our section. During her intro she asked if there were any food allergies. My daughter's boyfriend has an (epi-pen) allergy to all seafood and the waitress made recommendations of what not to order which was extremely knowledgeable and helpful on her part. She did mention that some of the seafood is fried in the same oil as some of the other entrees (possibly the chicken parm? I was half listening to that part since it did not pertain to my meal and I was chatting). She said she would let the chef know. The chef also visited our table and reassured us that there would be no cross contamination in the kitchen and even the pasta water would be changed prior to preparing our meal. I had never dined with someone with a severe food allergy prior to this night so I am not sure if this is standard, however, I found this to be exceptional service!

The food was amazing! I ordered the linguini and white clam sauce. The linguini was al dente and the clams were tender. So many times I have had rubbery clams but these were perfect. I will definitely visit again. Hopefully soon. The sangria was also excellent. It was not too sweet as some often are.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every aspect of the experience was great ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Every aspect of the experience was great. The restaurant was busy on a Saturday night, but it was still very smooth, quick & delicious. Highly recommended, especially for the theater district crowd.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael our waiter was excellent, very ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Michael our waiter was excellent, very attentive not only to the adults but also our kids. He made it a very enjoyable dining experience. The food was very good as usual too.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Welcoming staff, Good service,and tasty ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Welcoming staff, Good service,and tasty food and reasonable prices

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went for our 4 year anniversary and they ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for our 4 year anniversary and they really made us feel special! Will defiantly come back! Food is amazing as well!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good portions are large servic ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good portions are large

service was disjointed had two waiters and it was a little awkward when one would take the order and then a minute later the other came by and asked if we wanted to order , also one waiter forgot my beer even though we took awhile ordering it reviewing the beer list in his head and he even asked if I wanted a glass then totally forgot it

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fairly standard Italian fare dressed up ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Fairly standard Italian fare dressed up a bit in a white table cloth restaurant. There are much better in Boston. The fettuccine was delicious but everything else was soso and too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious dinner, Michael was a fantasti ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious dinner, Michael was a fantastic waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food. Fantastic service. Frien ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Delicious food. Fantastic service. Friendly staff. Have been coming here for years, and we love it every single time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful pre theater lunch! Family styl ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful pre theater lunch! Family style dining was great. So many choices and more than enough food. Took home a whole meal of leftovers! Ryan was a fantastic waiter. Extremely knowledgeable with the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the cheesec ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was outstanding and the cheesecake was excellent also. Service was awesome from the minute we arrived.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the minute we were greeted by John ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

From the minute we were greeted by Johnny K. To the great food and Service .Brian the mgr stopped by to see how we were.Great night can't wait to go back you will love it

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Consistently good food. We always get th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Consistently good food. We always get the same thing and we are all consistently happy with our choices. We don't feel like trying anything different. The host and manager make you feel like one of the family. The waiters are very good. The chefs obviously are great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Family Style, , Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really quick service! Yummy fettuccine a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Really quick service! Yummy fettuccine alfredo will definitely return

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed Maggiano's with our adult kid ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We enjoyed Maggiano's with our adult kids before we took in a comedy show. Food was excellent. We were happy to have the options of Family Style or ordering individually. The restaurant is beautiful and a perfect representation of Boston dining.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service - the waitress was very at ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great service - the waitress was very attentive and nice. The food was great - the salads were very tasty and came out very quickly. The pasta was great as well. Two thumbs up!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our large group ordered family-style, as ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our large group ordered family-style, as they recommend for large groups, and despite having some vegetarians and food allergies, were able to get dishes which satisfied everyone. We had more than enough food, and with the ability to serve yourself, generally avoided the problem overly large individual portions. The food was great, and the service was helpful and prompt. I'd prefer to see a larger selection of beers, but that's the only critique.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Having New Year's Eve dinner there was f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Having New Year's Eve dinner there was fantastic. The food was absolute wonderful and the service extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best time! The maitre'd was amazing! ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The best time! The maitre'd was amazing! He took us in super early from our reservations!! So greatful

Will definitely come again!!!!

Tags: , Family Style, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!! Service and meals were outst ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent!! Service and meals were outstanding!! Highly recommended!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This wasy first time there I took my mom ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This wasy first time there I took my mom for a New Years Eve night on the town. I heard great things about this restaurant and had to try it. I was more than pleased with my experience going there. I would highly recommend this place to people. For being in the heart of Boston it is very reasonabley priced. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is the 4th year my family has spent ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is the 4th year my family has spent New Year's Eve dinner at Maggiano's. We have always had a great meal and this year was no exception. We would recommend Maggiano's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent! The food was delicious. Serv ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent! The food was delicious. Service incredible. First time there and definitively coming back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First visit-food was delicious, Prices ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First visit-food was delicious, Prices are reasonable and service excellent!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, , Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met with friends for a New Year's Eve (a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Met with friends for a New Year's Eve (afternoon) meal. Chicken cacciatore was not on the menu but when one of our party asked, the chef agreed to make it. Food was delicious, service was excellent and the price was reasonable. Tiramisu was awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maggiano's is in Boston. So, the food sh ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Maggiano's is in Boston. So, the food should be excellent. It is. The atmosphere was celebratory, yet somewhat overly noisy. It is a very large restaurant. The red and white checkered table cloths add to the Italian feel. Our waitress was very nice and attentive. My rigatoni in a chicken Marsala base was very good. The appetizer of fried calamari was excellent. Spaghetti and one very large meatball was excellent. Cappuccino was good but small, just like in Italy. Overall it was a really nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to Maggianos a million times a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I've been to Maggianos a million times and every time I have been impressed with the great food and cheap prices! The most recent time, however, the hostess had an attitude which I did not appreciate, but everything else was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice meal. We went for a date nig ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Really nice meal. We went for a date night. It was great food and a cozy round booth. The restaurant is quite large and there were lots of families and groups of 8-12 celebrating the holiday. The restaurant is quite loud as a result, but it still feels intimate. We will come again with our family!

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went out for the Friday Night before New ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went out for the Friday Night before New Year's. Had a great dinner with my girlfriend. The pasta was delicious and our waiter was attentive even though the place was packed. Make sure to ask about the get 1 pasta, take 1 home deal. Our waiter said since we asked about it then he would honor it.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding family-style meal with frien ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outstanding family-style meal with friends! The food was plentiful and delicious! Our waiter, Brian, was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Large portions. Outstanding ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food. Large portions. Outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good; however the server automa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was good; however the server automatically served us a LARGE glass of wine without consulting with us The cost was exorbitant and I left with a wine induced migraine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Went to maggiano's for a pre-Blue Man Gr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Went to maggiano's for a pre-Blue Man Group dinner with a group of 7 (several teenagers). We ordered family style. The quantity of food was extensive and there was something for everyone. The passing around of the different entrees and pastas was fun and informal, and allowed us all to have a taste of several dishes. Our server was great, and all of the items we ordered were delicious. I highly recommend getting a tin of the lemon cookies to bring home - perfect combination of light, tart and sweet after a heavy pasta meal. We had a party here several years ago in the private rooms downstairs and it was lovely - glad that the place has maintained its quality and level of service. Great for a family dinner or friends get together, but not a place to go for a quiet night! For our needs, it was perfect.

Tags: Private Room, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Muy buena comida, los champiñones rellen ...

 
 (Venezuela)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Muy buena comida, los champiñones rellenos buenos aunque le faltaba un poco de sabor a nuestro gusto, las pastas excelentes, menú de niños variado y saludable. Para repetir!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner. Was very busy (post Ch ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delicious dinner. Was very busy (post Christmas week). We had a reservation for 9 and were seated on time at a (requested) large round table.

Unfortunately there were lots of big parties and not enough wait staff. Long delay to be asked about drinks. Never asked again -- had to flag down waiter for second round. Ordered salads and dinners -- all the food arrived st same time-- would have liked/ expected salads first. But, the Food was delicious!!!

Go - sure to find something for everyone. Parking garage in same building - validated parking with hotess was $10 - makes it easy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Dined after attending the Nutcracker Bal ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Dined after attending the Nutcracker Ballet. Arrived earlier (1hr) for reservation than expected but they accommodated us within a few minutes. Our waiter, Thomas was attentive and efficient despite several tables he was responsible for. Our meals were good but maybe a little delayed but we were in no rush so it was not an issue. Have dined at several Maggiano's around the US and find their meals to be consistent at all locations. Great venue for a family gathering with authentic Italian cuisine!

.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was satisfactory.

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Everything was satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.