Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Maggiano's - Boston

Welcome to Maggiano's Little Italy in Boston, located on Columbus Avenue near the Theater District, Boston Common & Park Plaza. Our restaurant is a quick trip from the Freedom Trail & the Boston Tea Party. Parking validation is available Monday-Friday after 5:00pm & on weekends ($8 for up to three hours). Maggiano's 350-seat dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower or important client meeting. The seasonal patio seating has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence. Recent visitors include Manny Ramirez, Jon Bon Jovi & Kathleen Turner.

4 Columbus Avenue
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
M: 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
T: 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
W:11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Th: 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
F: 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Sat: 10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Sun: 10:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-3456

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/massachusetts/boston/02116/4-columbus-ave-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 617-426-0540 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
Motor Mart Garage attached to the restaurant - validation for cars parked UNDER 3 HOURS after 5:00 P.M. Valet: Monday-Friday after 5:00 P.M.; Saturday & Sunday after 4:00 P.M.

Public Transit:
Green Line to Arlington

Executive Chef:
Andre Barnes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (150)
Good for Groups (123)
Comfort Food (115)
See All
Good for Birthdays (113)
Good for a Date (97)
Pre/post Theatre (96)
Casual (86)
Good for Anniversaries (81)
Kid-friendly (64)
Authentic (62)
Fun (58)
Romantic (50)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Great for Lunch (46)
Worth the Drive (46)
Business Meals (44)
Cozy (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
People Watching (32)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Notable Wine List (22)
Seasonal (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Bar Seating (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Vegan (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort by
S
5785 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Very crowded the night we were there and service was extremely slow. Food was not scheduled properly between appitizers and entrey.

Above being said we have always loved Maggiano’s food and ambiance and will chalk this one night up to a rarity.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Although it was a slow night, the service was not great. The waiter lacked to check in when we asked for lemon for our water, he never showed up. One in my party complained about the meatballs being overcooked and chewy, the waiter didn't seem to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

 
·Dined on January 8, 2018

We had the best time at Maggianos last night. We decided on the family style menu and it was a great decision. Marci’a was our waitress and she was FANTASTIC!! My daughter has a food allergy and the kitchen went above and beyond anything that I have ever seen to accommodate her. It was our first time dining there and we really look forward to the next time. Absolutely the BEST!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2018

The food was yummy (not ambitious, which I'm sick of), the waitress thoughtful, friendly and accurate, the atmosphere delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We’ve been going to Maggianos for years, it’s definitely a place to fulfill cravings. Unfortunately, we went on a Monday of a holiday weekend and they were out of some of our favorite stuff. Service was ok but dinner was still yummy.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2018

New Years celebration in Boston brought us to Maggiano’s on January 1st. Had a wonderful dinner, good people watching and great staff. Carole and Jim , North Carolina

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Awful service and terrible food. Ended up getting three meals comped and all soups/salads. I will not go back. What a start to the New Year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2018

I have been here a couple of times before and was pleasantly surprised at how tasty the food was, but this night they were off. Granted, it was New Year's Eve and the place were packed. There were a couple of huge parties seated near us that were very loud. It is not a place to go for quiet conversation. The food was mediocre at best. We ordered fried calamari for the table which was overcooked and tasteless. The cookies offered for dessert was such a small order for the money they charged. The waitstaff was attentive, even though it was so crowded. If you want good Italian food in Boston, there are so many restaurants that do a much better job in a quieter environment. We chose Maggiano's because we were going to a show that night and it was conveniently located. Otherwise I would have gone elsewhere. Not my favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Very friendly and accommodating staff. New years Eve and it was very very busy, but staff was friendly and helpful when we needed to move our table because of an air-vent issue, they could have said sorry we are full and there are no tables free but they made it work and made us happy..... great customer service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Great food, excellent service, wonderful atmosphere, superb value for money - need I say anymore ?

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Good food and value! Only issue was a soup order took 20 mins. Will come back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Family in for the holidays and we decided to go in to the city. We all said that Magianno's was where we all wanted to go!!!Love it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Italy)·Dined on December 30, 2017

The service is really good, they are all really friendly and the place is nice; we had a good antipasti to share but the 4 pastas we ordered was over cooked and tasteless , the apple pie was delicious.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Everything is made fresh in house and you can tell! Excellent service, food, prices, and experience. A bit crowded but that’s to be expected somewhere so great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Ein Italiener in Amerika. Alles etwas amerikanisch. Wir hatten gutes italienisches Essen und guten Servjce. Es war ein sehr schöner Abend. Wir werden sehr gerne wieder kommen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

All I can say is that I was disappointed by the experience. My husband and I got out for a night away from the baby to have a nice dinner and see The Nutcracker. I have such fond memories of Maggiano’s that I wanted to take my husband. Unfortunately, the server was less than personable and the food wasn’t good. The manager ended up chatting with us for a bit and he was very nice, but that was about it. Hate to leave a bad review, but it’s the truth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2017

The chicken ricotta meatballs in the pesto perlini mozzarella were really salty. Would not recommend to anyone. Was not happy with the meal

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Food was delicious, beautiful atmosphere. Cheesecake is a must have!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Our waiter Jason was terrific. Service was great. A couple of us had dishes that were not as good as we have had in the past (veal parm).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Fire the leadership so poor and unacceptably useless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Family style lunch was a first for us there. There was plenty of food for everyone and the price was great! We enjoyed our meal very much but our waitress seemed uneasy around us and took a while to get us started. No bread was offered so we asked another waiter. Despite this, we love Maggianos and were happy to be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Service was very bad
The server gave an attitude throughout the whole time. We couldn’t take it any more and left. Actually went to a different restaurant to finish dinner.
I my view it was a disaster that a restaurant keep such servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We were going for a family dinner (9). It was fantastic! The wait staff was very accommodating and the food was delicious! If you leave hungry from here, it's your own fault. The family style was perfect for our party size! We will definitely go again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2017

The food is basic Italian. No great surprises but solid food. The tables are tight but very friendly service. Overall I would recommend for a casual dinner.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Family get together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Every year our family (2 adults, 2 kids) come in for an annual Maggiano’s dinner and then a show. We opted for lunch this year, and it was fabulous and a great deal/special for the holidays. We had a reservation- but probably did not need at the lunch hour - and the family style deal during the lunch hours was awesome!
Food was amazing as always and service was very good. We’ll be back !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Great restaurant- excellent food and wonderful ambiance! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Absolutely superb meal with great waiter service combined. Excellent value for money - a must return date.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Even with a reservation we had to wait but it was 5-10 minutes after our 7pm res. The service was excellent. We had Brian, he had a lot of great knowledge and was excellent helping us when my son changed his mind on his pasta choice... It's a very large place with a lot of people! Especially this time of year. The bar was hard to get to and we had to wait for help from the friendly but very busy bartender. Looking forward to trying it again with adults only. Our kids unfortunately don't appreciate nice restaurants.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Went with a group of teens. Loved it. Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Reservation for 7 people was not honored - sat us 45 min late. Very small and cold waiting area made it almost impossible to stand without being pushed into people you don’t know. Our waters were filled when we sat and not again. Our food came out at different times and the last dish was served after 2 others were already finished. Portions were small and food was cold. Several dishes were dropped by the wait staff in the 1 hour we were at our table, including one of ours. This restaurant is very expensive and not at all worth the big price tag. It felt more like a cafeteria than a nice restaurant . Bertuccis has a nicer atmosphere and better service with 1/4 of the cost. We will not be back and will not recommend to anyone who asks. It’s just not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

The food was amazing, as always. Service was attentive and friendly even though the restaurant was very busy. I made a reservation and even though I was 30 minutes late due to traffic we were taken to a table within just a few minutes. This is one of my all time favorite places.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Amazing authentic great tasting food. Brilliant server and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Love this place for a group setting. Especially the round table! Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2017

We are long-time patrons of Maggianos and always enjoy our visits. This visit was no different. We sat right done, which was great, but it took a noticeably long time to have a waiter come over to take a drink order and leave bread. An excuse was given - numerous parties coming in all at once - but, honestly, for a restaurant in the theatre district which is clearly aware of the rush-type seating, we found the excuse weak. That said, once things got rolling, service was fine. The food was great - Splitting an individual Caesar salad was the right move - portions are huge. For entrees, the Rigatoni D and a Center-Cut Filet were both perfect. A trio of desserts wrapped up nicely. Midday meal meant ordering a 9 oz. pour of a nice Barbera - other than taking forever to show up because of a "stocking issue," the wine was great and the list was impressive. Overall, we had a great time, again and will obviously be back! Buon Apetito!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Group of 10 for lunch dined family style...food was good. But service was too slow in replenishing the selections. When having lunch it was much too long start to finish. The likely reason was being understaffed during the Holiday week. Food was good though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2017

We enjoyed our family lunch before our show. Very happy they offer a kids menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

Appetizers were average, my entree was very good. The best part of the restaurant is the atmosphere. Service was slow but they were very busy

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

Food was fantastic but the volume was a bit loud and the waiter didn’t really pay any attention to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.