About Maggiano's - Boston

4 Columbus Avenue
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Welcome to Maggiano's Little Italy in Boston, located on Columbus Avenue near the Theater District, Boston Common & Park Plaza. Our restaurant is a quick trip from the Freedom Trail & the Boston Tea Party. Parking validation is available Monday-Friday after 5:00pm & on weekends ($8 for up to three hours). Maggiano's 350-seat dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower or important client meeting. The seasonal patio seating has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence. Recent visitors include Manny Ramirez, Jon Bon Jovi & Kathleen Turner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-3456

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/massachusetts/boston/02116/4-columbus-ave-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 617-426-0540 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
Motor Mart Garage attached to the restaurant - validation for cars parked UNDER 3 HOURS after 5:00 P.M. Valet: Monday-Friday after 5:00 P.M.; Saturday & Sunday after 4:00 P.M.

Public Transit:
Green Line to Arlington

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Spaghetti
Linguine and clams
Chef Mann's Country-Style Pasta
Spaguetti Meatballs
Andes Mint Chocolate Cake
Meat Lasagna
Chicken Parmesan
Clam Linguini
Fried Zucchini
Steamed Mussels
Mini Desert Tray

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Start a new tradition and join us for a delicious Italian-American Thanksgiving this year! We're taking reservations now.

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (187)
Special Occasion (156)
Romantic (80)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (78)
Great for Lunch (72)
Kid-friendly (71)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Family Style (48)
Notable Wine List (40)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Comfort Food (32)
Good for a Date (30)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Hot Spot (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Casual (23)
Authentic (23)
Late-night Find (19)
Outstanding Value (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Fun (14)
Business Meals (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Cozy (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Private Room (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (5)
Historic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Vegan (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server Diego was incredible would as ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our server Diego was incredible would ask for him on my next trip to your restaurant very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit. Each was out ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our second visit. Each was outstanding. Would definitely return when visiting Boston in the future, Awesome menu, meals and service with excellent attention to detail.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and Thomas was excellent

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and Thomas was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding overall experience. Our wait ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Outstanding overall experience. Our waitress was attentive, helpful, knowledgeable and very friendly

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were six of us that went there Sun ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

There were six of us that went there Sunday, 9-18. We had family style, which was fabulous. We did notice that they've cut back on the amount of appetizers (1) salads (1). Not lots of choices anymore....No more beef medalions. (loved them).....and for desserts, they have eliminated Nonna's pound cake, and the cream puffs......Our absolutely favorites....Why would they take such popular items of the menu.....if it works, why change it. But we will certainly go back again. Our server Tom was fantastic, very attentive, humorous, knowledgeable. I would definitely ask for him again. Thank you for a lovely day.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

For a fun night out like at your loud Gr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

For a fun night out like at your loud Grandmothers place then this is the place for you. The food is good and it's just a big, fun family type place

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great time, excellent service a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always a great time, excellent service and delicious food. Can't go wrong.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The restaurant was busy so service was v ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The restaurant was busy so service was very slow which caused us to go over the 3 hour limit the restaurant gives for parking validation. This was disappointing and a bit unfair.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Maggiano'shas never disappointed us! We ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Maggiano'shas never disappointed us! We got right in prior to our reservation time and the service was spot on! We had "Brian" as our waiter and he balanced some quiet time with appetizers and cocktails and did not rush us to order. Food was delicious and came quickly! We especially like the eggplant and chicken parm. I definitely would tell people to try it if they like Italian cuisine and look forward to our next visit to the Boston area.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Huge portions but the quality is really ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Huge portions but the quality is really quite exceptional. We love this place for "large group gatherings" and "family events".

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Family friendly place to have a good mea ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Family friendly place to have a good meal, great dessert and drinks at a very reasonable price. Service is always excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Always go there before heading to a show ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always go there before heading to a show...get seated quickly and don't have to wait long for food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So much delicious comfort food! Maggiano ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

So much delicious comfort food! Maggiano's is one of my go-to Italian restaurants with huge, amazingly delicious portions!

Mom's lasagna is wayyyyy better than my mom's lasagna (sorry, Mom!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate our dinner here before our show. Tr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Ate our dinner here before our show. Traffic was so awful so knowing we were going to be late I called and they said no problem they would hold our table. We were 25 minutes late and got a table and service right away. Telling our waiter that we had a show at 7:30 he rushed everything for us. We both got the lighter fare and loved it. Got veal and chicken masala with the fettuccini. We were very happy with our meal and will for sure return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Quality of food was lower than last time ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Quality of food was lower than last time we were here. Seabass- three small pieces for that price?! And fish did not smell fresh, but rather as spoiled fish. Appetizers could be bigger portions. No butter for bread. Customer service is good but not great.

There were 10 of us and we all were disappointed. We brought guests from Australia and wanted to show them great American dining experience. I must say we did not succeed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent dinner with a friend! Waitres ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Excellent dinner with a friend! Waitress excellent and very attentive. We both had the lighter fare Shrimp Diablo which was great! Highly recommend it and glad to see that there are several lighter fare options available on the menu. We will return again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We celebrated my husband's birthday with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday with family on Sunday at Maggiano's in Boston after attending a play nearby, We had never been there, but were impressed with the generous portions of delicious food and the Vintage-Italy atmosphere. What really impressed me though, when I explained I had a food allergy, the waitress brought the manager, Anthony Romeo, to the table. After explaining that they take food allergies very seriously, he was very attentive and asked all the right questions to be sure I was served only items that were made with ingredients that I could safely eat. This has never happened to me at any other restaurant I've been to and it made me feel secure that I was eating only food that would not harm me. The wait staff was also excellent and even the Chef made an appearance at our table. We felt well-taken care of and enjoyed our dinner very much. Kudos to you Anthony and your staff. We will be back!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, homemade pasta with fresh sau ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Delicious, homemade pasta with fresh sauces. The chef also offered us complimentary tasting bruschetta samples (the candied bacon one was superb). I would definitely come back here again for lunch or dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was the first time i went to Maggiano ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was the first time i went to Maggiano's and I fell in love with the place. I'm definitely going back and would be more than happy to recommend this place to other friends/family members. Everyone was so friendly and our server was so energetic.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Couldn't be more pleased. Had a last sec ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Couldn't be more pleased. Had a last second change and the restaurant was extremely accommodating without hesitation.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Maggaino's before a show on a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went to Maggaino's before a show on a Saturday night. Although the restaurant was very busy, they sat us at our scheduled time, and our server took good care of us. The food was very good, and the service was very pleasant. The noise level was high in the restaurant, so I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic date. However, it is a great place for groups. They even offer family style dining along with their regular menu. Would be a great option for a large group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My son has gone several times and raves ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My son has gone several times and raves about the food. Convinced us to go for my birthday and it was fabulous. I really enjoyed the bruschetta bar. Can't wait to return

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Proper italian food Boston style. Loved ...

 
 (Surrey)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Proper italian food Boston style. Loved the maître D.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Maggiano's is a great Italian restauran ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Maggiano's is a great Italian restaurant chain. Nice old world "Frank Sinatra" atmosphere. Great Italian food. Large portions, some served family style.

ask for the balsamic with your bread. they don't keep it on the table anymore but, they still have it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Family Style, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food service and atmosphere fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Excellent food service and atmosphere for my daughters surprise 18th!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience and service. Highly rec ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great experience and service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were there for our anniversary and we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were there for our anniversary and were never acknowledged to why were there. This was a special occasion for us. Disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect except we were se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Everything was perfect except we were seated right behind the water jugs and silverware which made for a very LOUD dinner. If you get that table, ask for another one.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service outstanding, excellent ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food and service outstanding, excellent menu, friendly staff, handled food allergy issues well, a little too loud for our family but we moved to a quieter booth due to a work party.

I would go back to try different menu items - food was very good. Service was great, didn't have to wait too long on food, bread, water, etc.

Waiter was professional, attentive, and helpful. We did not feel rushed.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Family Style, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place, never lets you down. Good ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Amazing place, never lets you down.

Good food , friendly atmosphere and nice staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So many great menu choices. It wasn't a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

So many great menu choices. It wasn't as pricy as expected (they have a good range of selections). Having a round table for a group of nine was perfect for conversations. It wasn't too noisy so we could still hear each other (Wednesday night). We didn't have to wait too long for service and the food came in good time. Special requests were accommodated without any attitude or issues. Would recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service, delicious food and friend ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great service, delicious food and friendly atmosphere...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great and happy to get a re ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was great and happy to get a reservation on a last minutes notice. Our server said he would bring us bread and never did. When it came time to pay the bill we wanted to split half cash and half on card. Our server put the entire bill on our card and thought the $70 was his tip. He attempted to decline the purchase on our credit card which resulted in locking the credit card until the next day when we could go to the bank in person and explain what happened while on vacation. Food was good though. Was an inconvienance with dealing with the bank over what was suppose to be a romantic getaway.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

This was great! I went here with my pare ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was great! I went here with my parents just to go out to a nice dinner. The food was delicious, fresh and authentic. Great place for groups! Family style meals that could feed a ton of people. Fast service, barely waited for our food. Did I mention how delicious the food was?!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Casual, Business Meals, Private Room, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was incredible and our waiter T ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was incredible and our waiter Tom was awesome and funny. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Maggianos for my sister's bac ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We came to Maggianos for my sister's bachelorette dinner. It was nothing short of PHENOMENAL. Excellent service, beautiful and inviting atmosphere, FANTASTIC food and wine! Will be back next time we visit Boston FOR SURE.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Maggiano's..can't wait to ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

First time at Maggiano's..can't wait to go back again!..very comfortable..very attentive..food was delicious...A+experience!

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a little rough-our waiter wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Service was a little rough-our waiter was not super attentive but friendly, so we were ok with it.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It's perfect in every way. The only one ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

It's perfect in every way. The only one comment would be that the waitress was very helpful but not at all cheerful. It felt as if she's hardly stopping herself from rolling her eyes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Dinner with the family after Blue ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great Dinner with the family after Blue Man Group, walking distance so it was perfect. Very nice waitstaff and food was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.