Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Maggiano's - Boston

Welcome to Maggiano's Little Italy in Boston, located on Columbus Avenue near the Theater District, Boston Common & Park Plaza. Our restaurant is a quick trip from the Freedom Trail & the Boston Tea Party. Parking validation is available Monday-Friday after 5:00pm & on weekends ($8 for up to three hours). Maggiano's 350-seat dining room is an ideal location for your dinner, baby shower or important client meeting. The seasonal patio seating has an old-world feel of dining on the bustling streets of Florence. Recent visitors include Manny Ramirez, Jon Bon Jovi & Kathleen Turner.

4 Columbus Avenue
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-3456

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/massachusetts/boston/02116/4-columbus-ave-/

Catering:
Maggiano's delivers! Just place your order, and we'll take care of the rest. All delivery orders include: table coverings, plates & utensils, a complete setup to keep the food warm throughout your event, party-sized pans providing generous portions for all of your guests. Please call 617-426-0540 to schedule your delivery. Orders must be placed by 7 p.m. for next-day delivery. Minimum order required. Delivery fee applies.

Parking Details:
Motor Mart Garage attached to the restaurant - validation for cars parked UNDER 3 HOURS after 5:00 P.M. Valet: Monday-Friday after 5:00 P.M.; Saturday & Sunday after 4:00 P.M.

Public Transit:
Green Line to Arlington

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Give your guests a reason to celebrate. Whether you’re hosting a business meeting, holiday party, wedding event or birthday celebration, our expert team will ensure it’s executed flawlessly. Host your event in one of our rich, beautifully appointed banquet rooms and enjoy a fresh-made Italian feast.

Maggiano's - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (99)
Special Occasion (89)
Good for a Date (84)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (83)
Good for Birthdays (80)
Casual (78)
Comfort Food (78)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Authentic (65)
Worth the Drive (53)
Business Meals (49)
Great for Lunch (47)
Romantic (44)
Fun (40)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Cozy (33)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Great for Brunch (16)
People Watching (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Disabled Access (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great Beer (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tapas (4)
Vegan (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
5520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Our second visit and it was better than the first and that first visit was great. On the first visit we had a waiter channelling inspector montalbano's Catarella and on the second visit we had the maitre d channelling the sopranos, just pure joy. The food was tasty and well cooked and the Chardonnay I had was really good. Overall a really good night was had by all and topped off a great stay in Boston.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the place,great service and value for money, only downside my pasta dish had a very watery sauce but other than that great night out.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The muscels were very good the sausage and peppers were good. The Linguine di Mara was definitely worth ordering. The manicotti was ok unless you like a lot of cheese. We would definately recommend eating here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We travel two hours to eat at Maggianos for all our special occasions. It's our favorite city dinner night. Usually the service is fantastic but Sunday night our server was awful. He seemed very under trained and didn't not speak English very well which made it extremely hard to communicate what we needed. We had to ask to order drinkS, we had to ask for appetizers to be put in. Like I said normally it's a 10/10 visit this time 5/10 the poor service ruined our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Waitstaff was excellent. Food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Went for Sunday dinner with my family. My family is Italian-American so we really appreciated the authentic Italian ambiance. They don't play that Bublé crap, they play Sinatra, the OG crooner. The one moment that was off was when we ordered a gnocchi plate with meatball instead of sausage and the server who brought it out was not made aware, so he ran back into the kitchen practically screaming something in Spanish (before the door was closed). Turned out the chef had made the dish correctly and had just forgotten to tell the server, so even though the server caused a commotion, he was very gracious about making sure our food was made correctly; I couldn't in good conscience give any less than 5 stars over something so minor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

food was not as described by waiter. He told us the shrimp dish was a white sauce, it was red. Shrimp tasted waterlogged probably was frozen. Disappointing quality of food. Have gone to Maggiano's in CA and it was much better. Actually can't beat the seafood in CA!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The service and food was exceptional. We enjoyed every second we spent in the restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Always love Maggiano's. Johnny K, the maitre do, is always friendly and serious about customer service. Busy, bustling atmosphere, but food always come out promptly. Great value for a Boston restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Thomas was our server and he was excellent. Food, drinks were the best we have had and we come twice a year for many tears.

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Went to dinner with our son prior to seeing a show. We enjoyed our experience as we were able to have a nice conversation while enjoying great food. Our waiter was excellent as he was there for all our needs. A great restaurant and I consider it the best in Boston!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food was delicious. Enjoyed being able to talk and hear my guest, low noise. And,I appreceiated the elevator in that I have a disability.

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food was excellent and the server went above and beyond.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 14, 2017

This was our first time at Maggiano's - Boston or anywhere. The food was excellent; the service was superb and the atmosphere was great!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Love the food the gnocchi was my favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We were a group of 10 celebrating the start of our 50th High School Reunion weekend before going to a show. Our request to be set off to the side of the restaurant was honored, the service was great, and the food terrific!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our waiter Peter was awesome the food outstanding I can't wait to go back the chicken saltimboca is the best I have ever had put this restaurant on ur bucket list

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Seems like they cheat a little on the food. I ordered a salad with pepperoni in it and it was missing. They were packed however as it was Saturday night so maybe they were out or too busy. Our waiter was nice but basically ignored us and took a while to get back to us to pay and clear the table. We stayed much longer than we wanted. Also they allow smokers at the door which bothers me because I have a high risk of cancer and where they sat us (near the check in desk to the left) the whiff of smoke came straight at us. By the time I left I had gunk in my throat from breathing that trash in. I think the restaurant should move smoking people away from the doors. It is a law anyway to be 50 feet away from the door. It's not pleasant to breathe in second hand smoke particularly when your health is such a high risk and we all know second hand smoke is worse. I am disappointed the restaurant didn't care to get those smokers away from the revolving door. It ruined the meal as food tastes gross with smoke in your face. I like this place but will rethink future bookings and ask for far far away seating from all doors. That's the conclusion. I do think the staff should move smokers. And smokers should move out of door entrances out of courtesy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I really loved the spinach and artichoke as a starter. I also would recommend Linguini di Mare and Veal with mushroom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This restaurant is the perfect mix of great atmosphere, great food, great service and a great place for the whole family! The food was delicious and our server was wonderful!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

A reliable place for pre or post theater dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had dinner there before theater and it was great! Tasty and abundant food, nice and friendly service, and not cheap but affordable! We were 6 asking individual dishes and desserts (no alcohol) and we spent less than $200! I recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We had reservations for 7 and we were placed in an empty room next to a lively dining room. We were isolated and it felt like we were not pat of the ambiance. I immediately suggested to our server that we move and I was disappointed to be I. The cavernous room alone but my request was dismissed by server. I didn't want to make a scene but I had made the reservations for the group and felt responsible.

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Maggiano's is great for pre-theatre dining. The food is always reliable (and excellent) and the service is quick, even for a group. It's good to let them know if you need to leave at a certain time to get to a show. They have good gluten free options too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Maggs is my go to classic Italian dinner spot in Boston--I grew up near an Olive Garden and this is like a slightly more upscale version. Service is a bit slow but I appreciate that they leave you alone for the most part, and their booths are wonderful for dates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Outstanding food and service, as always!
Our server made our visit very enjoyable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Awesome! A must do!! Comfort Italian food at it's best!

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We have been to Maggiano in Florida, actually this is where we discovered this restaurant, we have been to Indianapolis, St-Louis, King of Prusia and Boston. The food is great, even though we had a couple of times we had bad experience. The ambiance is great with soft music. But this last week end in Boston the service was very bad. She took forever to bring our water, and the bread took forever also. She never came to say "as soon as the bread comes out of the oven I will bring you some". We did not order any alcool, she was not rude but not the best. In the 2010 we went to one the one in Indianapolis for Thanks Giving it was bad they were out of everything, the napking they gave us were dirty.
But most of the time it is very good. Their cheese cake are the best. Also if you mention the special about the classic pasta, you get one and bring one home they will honor it even though it is not mention on the menu. In Florida it was like that so it could be very cheap to eat there for very good food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Our waiter Tom from Scotland was fantastic-made our night!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our waiter was great and the food was great. But we were disappointed with the overall experience. We've been there many times, and we've come to expect a certain level of quality. We felt like the quality was a little lacking. The wait staff appeared to be stretched thin. The tables were very close together and a bit uncomfortable. The food was good but the wine was very overpriced.and to top it off they removed profiteroles from the menu. If you compare the experience to the average Olive Garden, we felt like we were getting 25% better food but paying twice as much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Busy restaurant with awful food. Tough to find worse Italian food anywhere. The only exception was the fried zucchini .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was surprisingly delicious for a large, family-friendly-type place! Pasta dishes so tasty. The cocktails were super sweet and I gave mine back in favor of wine. Much better. Desserts were divine.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Very good food; excellent service despite being incredibly busy. All dishes were well prepared and special requests were handled well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We were in Boston for the weekend, had a great dinner that was overall not very expensive. I like the option of having a lighter version on some dishes, I had chicken piccata which was half the calories of the regular version and was delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We visited the restaurant with 2 kids and 4 "seniors" and the waiter was very patient with all of the questions and comments. The food was excellent! Will def return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

As always we were not disappointed, the head chef even came to our table to explain a dish and gave us a tasting of a sauce we were asking about. All our food was delivered hot and timely. We were not rushed at all, we ordered our drinks then appetizer then entree at our pace and were not made to feel rushed. Again we had a great dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Tom was excellent ! Food was awesome per usual!

Tom was super nice, funny & down to earth! Love coming here

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I think you should specify the options for noise levels.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Awesome all the way around. Food was fantastic and portions were great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Great Beer, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Quick and attentive service. Will def go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.