About Madrona Manor

1001 Westside Road
Healdsburg, CA 95448
View Larger Map

One mile from downtown Healdsburg, this Michelin one star restaurant is on a Victorian estate at the heart of Sonoma’s wine country. Chef Jesse Mallgren takes full advantage of a wealth of local seasonal produce, whenever possible from our estate gardens. Choose the from "Chef's Grande Dame" or "A walk Thru the Garden" prix fixe menus.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Dry Creek Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 433-4231

Website:
http://www.madronamanor.com/

Parking Details:
Convenient on-site parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Jesse Mallgren

Private Party Facilities:
Madrona Manor can accomodate groups up to 30 in one of our 5 private indoor dining rooms; or up to 100 on our covered Palm Terrace.

Private Party Contact:
Arielle Larson: (707) 433-1542 ext. 111

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Madrona Manor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Romantic (9)
See All
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Historic (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fireplace (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (2)
Fun (2)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1017 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A very nice restaurant to begin with especially for Valentines Day. The service was excellent, they really care about their customers. My favorite plate was the Salmon, it basically melted in your mouth. I would recommend them to friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I highly recommend Madrona Manor for special occasions. Its lush grounds, talented chef, great staff and outstanding ambiance insure that you will have a memorable time. We will be visiting again very soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My date, bride and birthday girl exclaimed - best dinner ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I went to Madrona Manor for New Year's Eve and were disappointed with the experience.

We were a few minutes early for our reservation, and no one acknowledged we had arrived for five minutes as they bustled about. Eventually someone ushered us to the cold back porch where a bar was set up for cocktails. Neither of us particularly wanted a cocktail, but we didn't know how long we would be back there so we ordered Manhattan's, which were okay, but before we had two sips we were seated.

Overall, the food was acceptable but the service was poor. We felt incredibly rushed throughout our meal. For example, we opted to include wine pairings, and the new glasses of wine were often brought out and poured before we finished the previous glassez (and we both generally have a tendency to drink quickly). All of the servers seemed rushed and harried. Once my wife stepped out to use the restroom and they delivered a course and explained her dish to me rather than waiting at most 2 minutes until she was back.

One item listed on the NYE menu posted online was swapped out with notice with a much less expensive item (they switched wagyu beef out and served regular steak). The two seafood courses (hamachi and lobster) also tasted distinctly fishy. The subtle accompaniments like miso broth and edible flowers were completely overwhelmed by the off flavors of the fish.

Ultimately, we were not happy with our experience. The meal was supposed to be the capstone of our honeymoon. Instead, we left hungry, disappointed, and feeling unwelcome--far from the experience we would expect based on the restaurant's reputation.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

They ALWAYS deliver on a romantic, lovely experi nice in an historic setting...special occasions, especially their festive Christmas and New Year events are very special

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Romantic, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good and friendly service staffs, every course on New Year menu was also done well and tasty. Overall a very enjoyable dinner and would be even better if the pace of serving each course can be slower.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went for Christmas dinner and the food was good, as was the entertianment. However, we have eaten at many Michelin starred restaurants throughout the world and we were a bit disappointed. My husband ordered the beef wellington and there was a piece of grizzle about the size of a walnut in it. I ordered the salmon and it was good, but by no means was it the best I ever had. It was a little bland. The food presentation was fantastic and the service impeccable, but I think they fell a little short on the food itself.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Nice meal with special seasonal entertainment. Time between some courses was too long. Service was very attentive, but also with lots of people running around doing what looked like very little. We then waited 25-30 min. for our bill... and with a 20% service charge added. Total time seated at the table was 3 1/2 hrs. OK to do once, don't think we'll go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The Christmas Carolers are not to be missed! We greatly enjoy the Dickensian style 12th Night singers each year at Christmas time.The food was awesome too.My wife and I had the wine pairings with the Caviar,wonderful crab salad,winter squash risotto,salmon and beef Wellington.All were excellent.Well done!

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We have been to Madrona Manor twice before. The last time was a couple of years ago and it was fantastic. We had heard about the Dickens dinners and have always wanted to do it. After I reserved a table for 4 I received a call that the price would be $170 per person, excluding beverages and service fee. I thought this sounded very expensive but figured it must be very special and hoped it would be worth it. While we had a very nice time and thoroughly enjoyed the carolers, we left with a bad taste in our mouth because we did not feel it was worth the very high price. The food was good but not great, and there were almost no options to choose from. We brought our own wine and yet the dinner was over $500 per couple. We would not return for this event nor would we recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our Dickens Dinner was outstanding. The food was excellent - beautifully presented. Each course was a delightful taste experience. The courses were served with nice spacing. The Twelfth Night Singers were wonderful. The Beef Wellington was the best. You could cut it with a fork. The whole evening was a great way to celebrate our 55th Anniversary.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Madrona Manor has been one of my favorite special occasion restaurants for many years. I even spent my wedding night in their carriage house accommodations. However this year's thanksgiving day dinner was disappointing.

The restaurant is in a 100+ year old mansion over looking the Dry Creek Valley. It is spectacular. However some genius went around and changed the interior lighting to LEDs. UGLY!!! The ambiance of the dining rooms was destroyed by these overly bright, overly white, glaring, light bulbs. They looked very strange in the candelabra and sconces. And all to save a few pennies on electricity.

Then there was the egg-nog for $15. I think there was maybe 3 or 4 sips in the glass. Not a lot more than a shot of liquor. Disappointing. This is egg-nog, not a snifter of an 80 year old French brandy.

The food as usual was good but while I expect gourmet food to come in multiple courses of small amounts, these small amounts were REALLY small. Hmmmm.

But the final disappointment was when the bill came. They had included a 20% ($74) "service fee" despite their online reservation confirmation that stated that the "inclusive" flat price of $163 per person included the service. And nobody ever mentioned a service fee until the bill arrived.

Total turkey dinner for two was $557.66

Tags: Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was one of the best dinners we have ever had. The food was outstanding and the service was impeccable. We had the Chef's Grande Dame menu and could not have been happier. Everything was beyond our expectations. Chef Mallgren stopped by our table during our last course, and was delightful!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of the more eclectic and fun Michelin meals I've had in the Bay Area. Polar opposite of the stuffy old lady atmosphere of the b&b that surrounds the restaurant.

Pop rocks were in the Amuse bouch!

Table side sunday with nitrogen

I brought a magnum of wine only drank 1/2 - they charged me for a single corking! Classy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our experience in the restaurant was odd. The first course is brought out by THE CHEF! But he just suddenly appeared - we were busy looking at the menu - he did not mention at all that he was the chef - of course he was dressed like one - he said the name of the first amuse bouche, set it down, and then he immediately left... I would have liked to talk to him. Oh well. That's a bad start. Overall impressions...well...why is this considered One-Star food? The third - 3RD! - amuse bouche included pop rocks. If I am ever served pop rocks in a dish again - and this is the umpteenth time it has happened - I am throwing (or spitting) it against the wall. That is not One Michelin Star cooking - it is cooking filtered through the sensibility of a 5th grader. A fifth grader! Such nonsense. We have experienced dozens of these over-priced and under-conceived chef's tastings but this one was excessive in a way that was galling. At the end we were saying - stop bringing us food. Just stop! There were three amuses bouches, two bread courses - one with homemade butter and a pretzel bread epi with mustard, 10 "regular" courses and two dessert courses followed by a plate of mignardises - there were four for each of us on the plate! - and I concluded with a very pricey glass of Armagnac. Too much food! And my dining partner just had gastric sleeve surgery a few months ago - so she was eating only a little of each - granted small - course and I was helping her to finish as well. Had I not been doing that, it still would have been far too much food. At the end of the meal she could only taste her venison course and I could no longer help finish her food. The course was cleared and a few minutes later another server come to ask if she sent back the course (essentially) uneaten because it was not cooked to her liking. She did not explain that she had just had gastric sleeve surgery, that is her business after all, but the concern of the staff and the restaurant was much appreciated.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A wonderful and eclectic menu and wine pairing, even the vegetarian version had amazingly flavorful courses like acorn panna cotta and white truffle pasta. Definitely Michelin quality and convenient to stay at the house. Very good but expensive digestivo options in front of the fireplace afterwards.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Romantic ambiance with superb food and service! Very nice experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Recommend staying at their inn after dinner. The 9 course tasting menu was well paced and each course was exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is not fine dining. No descriptions of the wine, no discussion of the food. Completely disappointed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

A very beautiful experience. The food is remarkable and presented with great flair. It is

very expensive but worth it for those social occasions that make menories.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Wonderful food in a beautiful setting with great service! As long as you can afford it, there is no reason not to choose this lovely restaurant. It is very worthy of a special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was an experience not to be missed by any food lover. Every course was not only delicious but beautiful too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Madrona Manor was outstanding. I really was rather surprised by the excellence of the cuisine and the attentiveness of the staff. I knew there was an active and very accomplished food scene in Sonoma County but did not expect the attention to detail. We received two small and very delicious amuse bouche dishes before our nine-course tasting menu began. We ordered the wine pairings, which can be spotty, but found each pour to be very good and indeed a well-chosen accompaniment. The portion sizes were perfect--just a few bites each which is all you really want when there are nine courses. We ordered the supplement of foie gras and cheese and both were excellent. This is definitely a special occasion place but if it is a birthday, anniversary, or other nice event, I would definitely recommend this very lovely old house.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Supurb cuisine in wine country. Old Victorian building and cutting edge kitchen. Wonderful meal and experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Wonderful food, service, ambiance. Worth the price.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Oh my! This isnt a meal, it is a well orchestrated event. We were there for more than three hours and enjoyed every moment. Sometimes experiences like this forget about the flavor and focus on presentation. Presentation was key to be sure, but the flavors were not forgotten. We especially loved the onion valoute, salad of cucurbits, chicken thigh, trout and wagyu. Service was perfect. The only fault I found was in the wine pairing. It wasnt terrible, it just wasn't as good as everything else. Ie the tempranillo fought with my wagyu. Otherwise, I highly recommend this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

An exceptional experience, fantastastic for special occasions. Have been there several times to celebrate special occasions and for their amazing Christmas and New Year's Eve celebratory meal events. Eye-popping food of exceptional flavor and creativity. Cozy & romantic. Absolutly a must-stop if you are in Sonoma Wine Country.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Visited for our anniversary - this was our third time back for such an occasion. It was excellent but slightly below expectations (which are sky-high for MadroneM). Used to outdoor dining, and having 8 tables in one little room (while most of remaining rooms were empty) felt crowded for no reason save server efficiency - spread tables out, please. Food quality fantastic as usual, but several of dishes haven't changed much. Staff seemed young, and they lacked a certain comfort engendered in previous visits. It was the little things - didn't check on wine levels often, pace of meal was too fast (to the point we had to slow it down), steak wasn't cooked right nor checked, etc. Amusements (little extra bites) were hit/miss (baby potato? nothing special on that spud), while others were inspired (carbonated something - awesome). Again, for almost all restaurants, you would have been delighted...the standard is higher here. At two Franklins per head plus, my expectations will remain high.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I have dined at Madrona Manor several times. Without exception, each experience has been outstanding. I take the opportunity to show friends what dining in wine country can be like, without the crowds so prevalent at more well-known Michelin-starred restaurants. The food is superb, and the wait staff, led by Eric Mercer, is excellent. Two or three hours just disappear. I have mixed feelings about submitting this review. Part of me wants to share the beauty of this place and dining experience; part of me hopes no one else ever finds it.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2016

While the background music helped to have privacy we were not exactly impressed with the elevator style. The food is an experience, although we did not understand why the Brussels sprouts were an option to the chicken dish. The wine pairing was excellent and the ambience special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Celebrated my 60th birthday and 8th wedding annivesary with spouse and friends. Everything was magnificent!! Kudos to Madrona Manor!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Other than inexperienced servers who delivered the wrong food to each of us (the one with dietary restrictions receiving the food the other requested) and the fact that they completely forgot to deliver one of the courses and had to be reminded by us, it was an excellent meal. But when you charge $165 per person and add on a mandatory 20% service charge, it isn't acceptable to screw up that badly and apologize with "comped" coffee. Fortunately the ambience and food made up for the weak service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It was our 30th anniversary and so we wanted something special, and boy did we get it! This is a price fix menu only, expensive, high quality, incredible service, special occasion place. The prices will set you back a bit, but if you can afford it it is a very special treat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Madrona Manor charms us yet again, what a delightful evening. Outside dining with superb service surpassed only by the chef taking us on an amazing journey with each course, paired with the perfect wines. We dine here each and every time we are in the area, not to be missed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a great experience. Service was great. For our twenty something kids, it was certainly a new dining experience.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2016

One of the nicest dining experiences we have ever had !

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

One of a kind experience. Multi Course Tasting Menu that does not disappoint. The courses are prepared to perfection; both in flavor and in presentation. Michelin Star Chef Mallgren does pour his heart into this experience. We had a lovely dinner. The service was impeccable. Every course is served with a detailed explanation. Everyone's plate arrives at the same time. Every bite is wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was fabulous, and the restaurant is in a lovely location. The only negative is that this service was maybe a little bit slow -- that was better than being rushed through all the courses, but it might have been just a big faster.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My favorite restaurant in the Bay Area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The 10 course tasting menu with wine pairings was excellent. There were several bonus amuses bouches, intermezzo and take home scones. Service was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Lovely setting and great service but the portions were beyond small and the wine paring pours scant. Flavors were not distinct from course to course on the garden selection. We enjoyed our time but we will not return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

This restaurant--which is rated one star by Michelin--is simply superb. At $160 per person it is also pricey, but worth every cent in our estimation. The nine course "degustation" dinner was fantastic--in the combination of flavors and textures, in the beautiful presentations, and in the professional and understatedly elegant service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had decided on a special dining experience for our 53rd wedding anniversary and knew it would be very expensive. Indeed I had second thoughts before going. But the experience was well worth it. We also knew there would be many courses and we are not big eaters, so feared we would not get our moneys worth. But the portions are small but exquisite.. Every morsel was delicious and so many new things and new tastes. It was an adventure. All of the staff are very professional. We will go again for a special experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2016

10 course meals (both the grande dame & a walk thru the jardin) were wonderful. highly recommended if you are into fine dining (and it was filling so... advise you come in hungry!)... meat eaters, although the wagu beef was petite was oh so good (drooling just thinking about it)... dessert prep using liquid nitro & vanilla cream was oh so awesome and delicious too...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have been to Madrona Manor several times over the years and usually really enjoyed the fascinating flavor combinations and unique menus. It used to be there was a choice of how many courses you would like (five or seven, I believe). Now, it's nine. What is it with this fascination of sensory overload? Of course, it's not just nine... there's always the chef's little "gifts" of an amuse-bouche and other tidbits. My choice of menu for this visit was the vegetarian theme. Unfortunately, every item had a similar flavor - salt. I think three or four of the items included mushrooms. Why not throw in a carrot dish with a little sweetness? And everything is precious. Tiny, micro-chopped, itsy bitsy morsels on a gigantic dish. The French Laundry does this type of meal properly, but it's still too much. You can hardly remember any one of the umpteen items, as they all run together in your mind and in your mouth. Less is more... and Chef, please, back away from the salt shaker.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2016

On the weekday evening we dined at Madrona, the restaurant offered two price fixe 9 course meal options including a vegetarian choice. In addition to the nine courses there was an optional cheese tasting and wine pairing plus half price bottles of wine from an extensive wine list. Since we'd spent the day tasting at local tasting rooms we passed on both the wine pairings and cheese selection, so I can't offer an opinion on those choices. However, in addition to the nine courses, the chef threw in a few taste surprises between courses. My wife tried the vegetarian option while I tried the traditional, which included Bulgarian caviar for starters, trout, poussin and Wagyu beef and two desserts; sorbet and ice cream churned table side. The food was outstanding, prepared to perfection. Service was exemplary, with frequent but unobtrusive attention. I'd highly recommend Madrona Manor.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2016

if you want a colon cleansor for dinner this is your place. a silly 9 course, 3 1/2 hour meal is forced upon you and all 4 people that ate it got sick. there is no ala carte menu. and if you show up 15 minutes early for your reservation - add another quick 100 to your bill as they stick you in the bar where every drink is $25. once a really nice place to have a quiet dinner with good variety of local dishes.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

"Amazing" is the only word I have to describe the food. They surprised us right out of the gate, and the surprises kept coming. They finished off the meal with ice cream (made table side with liquid nitrogen), candied almonds, fresh whipped cream, melted chocolate and an amazing cherry. Like every other course, it was simple in nature, but complex in the taste experiences it delivered, not to mention beautiful to look at.

We will absolutely be going back, and will happily spend the extra time on the road to get there.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

My husband and I visited Healdsburg and enjoyed a meal at Madrona Manor. We knew it was known for its tasting menu but didn't realize that that was the only choice. We were surprised as the cost is $160 each. We were already at our table and decided to enjoy the experience . We chose the non-vegetarian 9 course menu. Before the courses began we had at least four extra small tastes, such as a delicious egg sauvignon (not sure spelled right), then our courses began to come punctuated by several breads, a lemon granita and finally some sweets. All of these were beyond the 9 delicious small courses. The highlight for me was Japanese Wagyu which I hadn't had before this and ice cream made table side. When we considered that service was included, the great quality of the food, excellent service, we had one of the best meals of our lives.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food was great and there was a trout dish that just melted in your mouth and rivaled any course at French Laundry. The service was lacking for a one star restaurant. We waited five minutes and finally had to ask for a plate. Table side service had to be stopped because server was unprepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.