About Madrona Manor

1001 Westside Road
Healdsburg, CA 95448
View Larger Map

One mile from downtown Healdsburg, this Michelin one star restaurant is on a Victorian estate at the heart of Sonoma’s wine country. Chef Jesse Mallgren takes full advantage of a wealth of local seasonal produce, whenever possible from our estate gardens. Choose the from "Chef's Grande Dame" or "A walk Thru the Garden" prix fixe menus.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Dry Creek Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 433-4231

Website:
http://www.madronamanor.com/

Parking Details:
Convenient on-site parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Jesse Mallgren

Private Party Facilities:
Madrona Manor can accomodate groups up to 80 in one of our 5 private dining rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Arielle Larson: 7074331542x111

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Smoking Gun Cocktail
A Place In The Sun
Amuse Bouche
Liquid Nitrogen Ice Cream!
Fancy Cocktail
Brassica
Cocktail
Bayon
The Kiss

Madrona Manor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Wine Country
Contemporary American
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Healdsburg ›

Romantic (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Fit for Foodies (21)
See All
Notable Wine List (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Scenic View (11)
Tasting Menu (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Historic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
947 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Other than inexperienced servers who del ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Other than inexperienced servers who delivered the wrong food to each of us (the one with dietary restrictions receiving the food the other requested) and the fact that they completely forgot to deliver one of the courses and had to be reminded by us, it was an excellent meal. But when you charge $165 per person and add on a mandatory 20% service charge, it isn't acceptable to screw up that badly and apologize with "comped" coffee. Fortunately the ambience and food made up for the weak service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

It was our 30th anniversary and so we wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was our 30th anniversary and so we wanted something special, and boy did we get it! This is a price fix menu only, expensive, high quality, incredible service, special occasion place. The prices will set you back a bit, but if you can afford it it is a very special treat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Madrona Manor charms us yet again, what ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Madrona Manor charms us yet again, what a delightful evening. Outside dining with superb service surpassed only by the chef taking us on an amazing journey with each course, paired with the perfect wines. We dine here each and every time we are in the area, not to be missed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience. Service was g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a great experience. Service was great. For our twenty something kids, it was certainly a new dining experience.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

One of the nicest dining experiences we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

One of the nicest dining experiences we have ever had !

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of a kind experience. Multi Course ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

One of a kind experience. Multi Course Tasting Menu that does not disappoint. The courses are prepared to perfection; both in flavor and in presentation. Michelin Star Chef Mallgren does pour his heart into this experience. We had a lovely dinner. The service was impeccable. Every course is served with a detailed explanation. Everyone's plate arrives at the same time. Every bite is wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous, and the restauran ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was fabulous, and the restaurant is in a lovely location. The only negative is that this service was maybe a little bit slow -- that was better than being rushed through all the courses, but it might have been just a big faster.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My favorite restaurant in the Bay Area

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My favorite restaurant in the Bay Area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The 10 course tasting menu with wine pai ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The 10 course tasting menu with wine pairings was excellent. There were several bonus amuses bouches, intermezzo and take home scones. Service was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Lovely setting and great service but the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Lovely setting and great service but the portions were beyond small and the wine paring pours scant. Flavors were not distinct from course to course on the garden selection. We enjoyed our time but we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This restaurant--which is rated one star ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This restaurant--which is rated one star by Michelin--is simply superb. At $160 per person it is also pricey, but worth every cent in our estimation. The nine course "degustation" dinner was fantastic--in the combination of flavors and textures, in the beautiful presentations, and in the professional and understatedly elegant service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had decided on a special dining exper ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had decided on a special dining experience for our 53rd wedding anniversary and knew it would be very expensive. Indeed I had second thoughts before going. But the experience was well worth it. We also knew there would be many courses and we are not big eaters, so feared we would not get our moneys worth. But the portions are small but exquisite.. Every morsel was delicious and so many new things and new tastes. It was an adventure. All of the staff are very professional. We will go again for a special experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

10 course meals (both the grande dame & ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

10 course meals (both the grande dame & a walk thru the jardin) were wonderful. highly recommended if you are into fine dining (and it was filling so... advise you come in hungry!)... meat eaters, although the wagu beef was petite was oh so good (drooling just thinking about it)... dessert prep using liquid nitro & vanilla cream was oh so awesome and delicious too...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We have been to Madrona Manor several ti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have been to Madrona Manor several times over the years and usually really enjoyed the fascinating flavor combinations and unique menus. It used to be there was a choice of how many courses you would like (five or seven, I believe). Now, it's nine. What is it with this fascination of sensory overload? Of course, it's not just nine... there's always the chef's little "gifts" of an amuse-bouche and other tidbits. My choice of menu for this visit was the vegetarian theme. Unfortunately, every item had a similar flavor - salt. I think three or four of the items included mushrooms. Why not throw in a carrot dish with a little sweetness? And everything is precious. Tiny, micro-chopped, itsy bitsy morsels on a gigantic dish. The French Laundry does this type of meal properly, but it's still too much. You can hardly remember any one of the umpteen items, as they all run together in your mind and in your mouth. Less is more... and Chef, please, back away from the salt shaker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

On the weekday evening we dined at Madro ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

On the weekday evening we dined at Madrona, the restaurant offered two price fixe 9 course meal options including a vegetarian choice. In addition to the nine courses there was an optional cheese tasting and wine pairing plus half price bottles of wine from an extensive wine list. Since we'd spent the day tasting at local tasting rooms we passed on both the wine pairings and cheese selection, so I can't offer an opinion on those choices. However, in addition to the nine courses, the chef threw in a few taste surprises between courses. My wife tried the vegetarian option while I tried the traditional, which included Bulgarian caviar for starters, trout, poussin and Wagyu beef and two desserts; sorbet and ice cream churned table side. The food was outstanding, prepared to perfection. Service was exemplary, with frequent but unobtrusive attention. I'd highly recommend Madrona Manor.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

if you want a colon cleansor for dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

if you want a colon cleansor for dinner this is your place. a silly 9 course, 3 1/2 hour meal is forced upon you and all 4 people that ate it got sick. there is no ala carte menu. and if you show up 15 minutes early for your reservation - add another quick 100 to your bill as they stick you in the bar where every drink is $25. once a really nice place to have a quiet dinner with good variety of local dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

"Amazing" is the only word I have to des ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

"Amazing" is the only word I have to describe the food. They surprised us right out of the gate, and the surprises kept coming. They finished off the meal with ice cream (made table side with liquid nitrogen), candied almonds, fresh whipped cream, melted chocolate and an amazing cherry. Like every other course, it was simple in nature, but complex in the taste experiences it delivered, not to mention beautiful to look at.

We will absolutely be going back, and will happily spend the extra time on the road to get there.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I visited Healdsburg and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My husband and I visited Healdsburg and enjoyed a meal at Madrona Manor. We knew it was known for its tasting menu but didn't realize that that was the only choice. We were surprised as the cost is $160 each. We were already at our table and decided to enjoy the experience . We chose the non-vegetarian 9 course menu. Before the courses began we had at least four extra small tastes, such as a delicious egg sauvignon (not sure spelled right), then our courses began to come punctuated by several breads, a lemon granita and finally some sweets. All of these were beyond the 9 delicious small courses. The highlight for me was Japanese Wagyu which I hadn't had before this and ice cream made table side. When we considered that service was included, the great quality of the food, excellent service, we had one of the best meals of our lives.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great and there was a trout dis ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food was great and there was a trout dish that just melted in your mouth and rivaled any course at French Laundry. The service was lacking for a one star restaurant. We waited five minutes and finally had to ask for a plate. Table side service had to be stopped because server was unprepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

We were at Madrona seven years ago and i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were at Madrona seven years ago and it was a magical experience. Again the creativity of the menu and tastes made the experience amazing. We were just completely caught off guard that the meal jumped so significantly in price that it was a $600 evening and only one of us enjoyed the wine pairing. We really appreciated the opportunity to select the number of courses last time and make the experience a bit more approachable. Or, I would suggest at least letting people know when the reservation is made so one doesn't have to feel so completely caught off guard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came to celebrate my fiancee and my 7th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Came to celebrate my fiancee and my 7th anniversary and had a beautiful evening. Exciting dishes on the Chef's tasting menu ranging from perfectly cooked Wagyu steak to tart and sweet tomatoes with seabeans to a soft-boiled egg served in a cup full of campfire smoke. The drinks were paired well, the service was stellar. Highly recommend for a special night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food deco and palate satisfactio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Amazing food deco and palate satisfaction.

Portion wasn't too big which was a plus; get to taste a variety of food that chef had amazed us!

Wine pairing was extremely good.

Definitely worth another visit. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Madrona specializes in service. This was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Madrona specializes in service. This was one of the first things that I noticed at dinner. The staff is prompt and attentive as well as very nice. The food is top notch, though pricey. I've eaten at Madrona a few times and the food and service are both consistently amazing. The bar is also top notch with homemade syrups, herbs from the on-site garden and choice liquors to make delicious, flavorful cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One again Jesse's degustation was excell ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

One again Jesse's degustation was excellent. The sea bream crudo was outstanding, as was the caviar and the wild King salmon. The menu was well-balanced with delightful touches such as the oyster leaf amuse bouche. The service matched the amazing food. Thank you all for a wonderful evening again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was delicious. If you are unfamilia ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was delicious. If you are unfamiliar with the concept of a "tasting menu" please do a little research first so you know what to expect; you are dining here for the joy of the experience of food as an art form, as much as anything else. If you know what to expect, and that's your thing, you will enjoy this place. This was a lovely experience. They also have lovely mixologist who puts as much care into her cocktails as the chefs (and team) do with their food. The service was good too, but honestly, not as over-the-top perfected as I have encountered elsewhere, but they were pretty good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terribly expensive. We came very hungry ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Terribly expensive. We came very hungry, considering they serve a 9 course meal. I left still hungry. The steak and salmon they served was one inch long and half inch wide. When they call it a tasting menu, they sure mean you only get a taste, no more. I would not go back. Over $800 for 4 people and still left hungry!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

THE food experience in Sonoma County. Si ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

THE food experience in Sonoma County. Simply divine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dining experience at Madr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience at Madrona Manor!

The food was unique in presentation and every course

was a new adventure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular--Chef ***** Superb quality, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Spectacular--Chef

*****

Superb quality, presentation, staff, servers

Excellent, beautiful setting, fun, relaxing,

A-1 in every category

Best dinner in my life.

Kudos to Pam, Dan and Kevin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was incredible, service was impecca ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was incredible, service was impeccable and location was absolutely beautiful! Perfect for a romantic date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The most amazing experience we've had in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The most amazing experience we've had in a while! Awesome food and each course was bursting with unique flavors. Loved every bit of it. Would be back for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing vegetarian menu! We bought very ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Amazing vegetarian menu! We bought very high-end wines by the glass - but should have purchased the wine pairing in retrospect for a 9-course meal. All aspects were fabulous!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hilariously disappointing!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Hubby and I chose this restaurant for a special night on our CA trip. So much went wrong (particularly considering the Michelin star/4.9 on OpenTable) it was actually funny. We considered leaving at one point, but opted to stick it out - at least it would be a great story! I will say - indisputably, the staff was friendly and the courses creative and - with the exception of some saltiness - tasty. Not the issues. We arrived early and decided to sit outside by the fountain to enjoy the grounds. It was teeming with mosquitoes - clearly a breeding ground. We fled to the manor, which is quite dated - 1980's (?) colors, clashing curtains/upholstery/carpet, with Beatles (?) muzak & an ambiance like your lonely great aunt's house. We were seated outside (which was cute) and, surprise!, mosquitoes galore. Apologizing, the waitress offered OFF - I declined b/c it stinks and we were going out later. After hubby was bit on the face and I 3x on my arm/face, we asked to move inside. They quickly put us in a room alone (didn't help the uncomfortable ambiance). We soon started perspiring due to lack of any air circulation. This distracted us a bit from the seemingly unnoticed continual ducking, swatting and slapping at critters. We asked the AC be turned on and it was, thankfully. After about 5 mins, 1 napkin was designated the "kill napkin" due to the mosquitoes/bugs who met their demise with it. When a worker came by, I pointed out a bug that fell in my wine. She ran to get a spoon & to my clearly confused face, offered to get the bug out for me...Really? I was so caught off guard, I didn't ask for a new glass and fished it out myself. We'd been there 1.5 hrs when our 4th (of 9) courses arrived. Not wanting to be there 2 more hrs, we asked if things could move quicker. It then did. Bug bites, sweat, muzak, no ambiance, slow service. Ultimately, we paid the $40+0 tab & walked our bug-bitten selves out, laughing. CA has great restaurants-for us, this wasn't one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Great food but there was a very musty smell.

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was great. Very interesting and worth the money even though it was very expensive. The wait staff was very accommodating. There is a set menu with 2 different tracks so read the menus before you make a reservation. Our biggest problem was the couple sitting next to us who were very loud in the small dining area. At one point one of the server's rolled her eyes at me as if to say "can you believe how loud they are".

The big problem was the musty smell. It was overpowering in the entryway and lingered into the dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We found a gorgeous setting with an outs ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We found a gorgeous setting with an outstanding menu presented with warm, professional service. The wine pairings represented the area and the courses were thoughtfully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hurry, hurry, eat here before everyone catches on!

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

For us, this was a dining experience in a class among greats like French Laundry and Manresa. However, you'll notice a Michelin star gap (and price gap) between those other names and Madrona Manor. If you're into the many-course tasting menu experience, get here while the getting is good - it seemed like maybe this is something of a lesser-known gem! And try to save a little room for the cheese course - we didn't manage to indulge in it ourselves, but it really looks like an amazing offer. Everything we had was excellent, but the sashimi and desserts were truly exceptional. They offer a vegetarian menu as well as the (standard, meat-enhanced) Grand Dame.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magic and Grandeur

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Very nice location in a very old yet well kept mansion. Very well executed tasting menu and superb wine pairings. Very personable and informative service. Was very quiet on a Wednesday night-they say it fills up on weekends as it should. The Wagyu beef was perfectly prepared and hand churned ice cream at the end. Very enchanting. The sauvignon blanc from Lake County was very rich and tasty. Very memorable and relaxing night of excellent tastes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Madrona Manor restaurant was fabulous.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The Madrona Manor restaurant was fabulous. A close to 16 course chief's menu dinner, with

multiple treats not on the menu. The service (black suit and tie) was impeccable. The caviar, quail, and venison were delicious. The ice cream was made at table side (poured cream & egg; poured liquid helium in copper bowl; a sight to be seen).

The setting is in an 1880s grand home overseeing a value.

Not to be missed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing multiple course meal.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Amazing multiple course meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fine dining experience that's a must f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

A fine dining experience that's a must for tourists and locals alike...5 Star Service of truly innovative cuisine in a memorable atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.