Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
7:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Madrona Manor

4.4
1081 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic

Located one mile from downtown Healdsburg, this Michelin one star restaurant is on a Victorian estate at the heart of Sonoma’s wine country. Chef Jesse Mallgren takes full advantage of a wealth of local seasonal produce, whenever possible from our estate gardens. Choose the from an extensive a'la carte menu or the Chef's tasting menu.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(707) 433-4231
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jesse Mallgren
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Madrona Manor can accomodate groups up to 30 in one of our 5 private indoor dining rooms; or up to 100 on our covered Palm Terrace.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Arielle Larson: (707) 433-1542 ext. 111
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
West Dry Creek Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Convenient on-site parking is available.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1081 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We went for our Anniversary dinner; as always, service, food and ambience is excellent. Attention to all details is always present, from initial greeting to final service. We enjoyed the Wagyu entrée which was prepared perfectly, and enjoyed a chocolate dessert (below) that was a work of art.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Madrona Manor is set up on a hill, so arrive early to take a walk around the gardens and see the view. We did the early spring tasting menu, and all of the courses were excellent. They used edible flowers from the gardens in many of the dishes, and the flavor combinations were wonderful. The service was on point, they were helpful, but didn't rush us as we enjoyed dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Madrona Manor is simply enchanting. The food, the ambiance and the experience was magical. We enjoyed the warm and professional service. The menu was creative and offered a good variety of starters and main entrees to suit dietary needs. Our favorites were the Wagyu tartare and the King Salmon. The flavors were refined, balanced but never boring. Definitely recommend this place for any special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Awesome experience. The right amount of casual and effortlessness. Great relative value as well. We got the pre fixe menu with wine pairing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Overall was a nice romantic Anniversary outting. I am not sure if the enjoyment of our meal was tainted by the abundance of food and wine consumed prior to our dinner throughout the day... but out of the 4 dishes we had only the Salmon dish stood out the most. Truly by far one of the best Salmon dishes I have had. The scallop and mushroom pasta dishes both tasted good but just lacked a bit of bright flavor. I guess considering the formality and price for the meal I was expecting something a bit more. We did arrived early for our reservation and were offered to relax outside overlooking the beautiful property which was definitely needed & appreciated. The staff said they would send someone outside to take a drink order but no one came. So I went inside to ask for someone to take our order but still no one was sent. The Dinner service staff were all very friendly and attentive luckily. Overall I would still say though, the experience was a nice romantic evening spent with the hubby.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We had the tasting menu with the wine pairings. It was a fun (but expensive) dinner. Every course was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

The best fried chicken in the county. Great value for a Wednesday night dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

We went to Madrona Manor to celebrate our 31st anniversary. The Inn holds a special place in our hearts as we were married there. It had been many years since we had dined there. The staff were so nice and everyone wished us Happy Anniversary on multiple occasions. The service could not have been better. The owner came out to chat with us and suggested the Wednesday three course dinner to encourage locals to the restaurant. Although we planned on having duck we ordered the special dinner and could not have been happier. The fried chicken (which I normally do not eat) was crunchy and greaseless and the salad was simple, refreshing and had a generous amount of lovely goat cheese. The dessert was beautiful and so very tasty. The staff thoughtfully brought it with candles. A truly beautiful spot to dine and the staff are to be commended on their attention to detail and friendliness. We will head there again for the three course meal--great value, great food, and great staff. Thanks Madrona Manor for helping us celebrate!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Delightful experience -food was exceptional

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I have dined at Madrona Manor about 8 times. In the past, it has been so much fun to get the little surprises they give in between the courses. They used to give wonderful little tidbits to cleanse the pallet and homemade candies at the end of the meal and a little bag of Carmel corn to take home. There were no little surprises last night. The meal was very good but I missed the special Madrona Manor treats.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2018

It was Valentines Day and our wedding anniversary. The service was lovely. The food, not exceptional, considering the prefix menu pricing. If you really wanted the Risotto it was an extra $45.00 ABOVE the $110.00 dinner menu! Did not make sense to show folks what they could have and then charge so much more money!
NOT ENTICING.
It was a special occasion for us....we save for these special events. We mostly felt taken. We had one slice Hama I for appetizer, soup, meat/salmon entree and a marginal desert and one glass of wine with dinner that we shared, the total bill was $330.00! Really?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Belated Christmas present for the fam. The Manor is magnificent! Well worth the drive. Everything about the experience was first rate, even the reminiscing we did about sneaking in the mysterious, abandoned Madrona Manor back in the '60s. And thru the bathroom window no less!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We first came here about a year ago and were so impressed with the menu, the service, just outstanding. We decided to spend NYE here this year and the food was delicious, but the service seemed a bit lax and was not the same. Not sure if it was because it was NYE. We were also told there would be Jazz playing starting at 8pm. We sat down less than an hour later and only heard one jazz song. The musicians seemed like they left or went on a long break and after, they played songs like "Brown Eyed Girl". It was unfortunate because my boyfriend loves Jazz and we were excited to experience some jazz for the special occasion, but was let down. I would recommend this place highly, but not for a holiday. We did have good time and enjoyed the food, but I think the regular menu is much more worth it. The regular menu had some amazing dishes using really cool techniques. The menu we had last week was great, but nothing exciting or amazing like our first experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Perfect location for New Year’s Eve. The food was delicious. Really enjoyed the crab risotto, and the ahi. Yum!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Great new year!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 28, 2017

I wanted to like this restaurant better than I did.

You can either order a prix fixe menu with wine pairings or ala carte. We did the prix fixe/pairings. Two of the five dishes were excellent. On the others, we felt that they were trying too hard and that either not all the flavors blended or the wine pairing was just so/so. Service was fast per perfunctory.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

The Christmas dinner with 12th Night Carolers was a rare treat. Such a wonderful way to spend Christmas Day! Everything was beautiful, tasty and memorable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Second year in a row... Third to come! We loved it!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2017

We come to the Madrona Manor every December for the Dickens dinner which is outstanding. The ambiance and festive setting are great for the holidays. The restaurant is made up of small discrete dining rooms that take up the first floor of this charming Victorian B&B set up on a hill overlooking wine country. This makes for a cozy and relatively quiet experience/ The 12th Night singing group is a delight to listen to and they mix old world holiday songs for the Dickens dinners that take place in December. The food and wine pairing are well matched and portions well sized for 5 course dinner. Suggest come early for drinks on the enclosed porch. Service is very attentive and visits from the owners during the meal add a nice touch and provide history. A dinner here will definitely put you in the holiday mood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Can’t believe this is just 1 Michelin star. Can’t wait to go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

We had a lovely evening. The food was exceptional. We will certainly return and recommend it to our friends. The manor is beautiful (altho a bit over the top in terms of Christmas decor. )

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 23, 2017

We went for the 2017 Thanksgiving prix fixe menu and were very excited. The service and ambiance were excellent, the food however was mediocre. The turkey leg was dry and the pumpkin risotto (like much of the night's food) was bland and uninteresting.

Overall it was a disappointment to pay top prices for merely OK food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 16, 2017

Good service, nice ambience, food was so-so for a Michelin star restaurant

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Spectacular place to see with history. Beautiful place. However food is only "Fair".

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 6, 2017

Not accommodating for vegetarian eaters, no non-meat protein options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

We have eaten here several times now and have never been disappointed. The wine & food pairing course option is the best & the Chefs extras make you feel very special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 7, 2017

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Dusty, dated, and not very tasty. Bread was AWFUL to start meal. Salmon was overcooked. Pasta was tasteless. Atmosphere was beautiful around the restaurant – outside – but inside felt like he funeral home.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 27, 2017

The ambiance was lovely but on a 104 degree day they did not have adequate air conditioning or ventilation, nor did they serve outside. The tasting menu turned out to be a much better value than the a la carte because they apparently serve the same size plates for both. Since we ordered a la carte, the portions were minute and and looked silly (tiny foie gras serving with 2/3 plate empty) for a high end restaurant, taking away from it's one star michelin value. Also the lack of an "amuse bouche" (free small starter) and a plate of "friandises"(sweets) at the end made them look even more stingy. We have eaten at 3 star michelin restaurants in France and they were more generous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

One of our top spots worldwide. Consistently outstanding. Creative menu, excellent service, beautiful setting. An under appreciated gem.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Tasting menu with wine pairing was underwhelming for $500. Service was marginal, at best. Hard to believe this is a Michelin star restaurant. Will not be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Salty halibut. Inattentive waiter. Good people who served the food, not the waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

The Madrona was recommended by our B&B hosts and it did not disappoint us. We were celebrating our 50th Anniversary with excellent food, wine and service in a beautiful atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2017

We enjoyed a fabulous meal overlooking the gardens and gatehouse. Would highly recommend the tasting menu and the wine pairing. It was the perfect way to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 3, 2017

We tried the tasting menu and ordered one of everything. Each course was presented beautifully and had complex, layered flavors. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary of our wedding which took place at the Madrona Manor. The menus were labelled "Happy Aniversary" and we felt very pampered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 2, 2017

We especially enjoyed the innovative bartender and enjoyed delicious cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 16, 2017

We all had a good time and found the tasting menu a real treat. The atmosphere is romantic and the grounds are beautiful.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 15, 2017

I admit my expectations were high for this place due to their alleged Michelin Star.
a party of four, we ordered the "try everything "menu option.
too much to write about every dish so the highlights were the smoked egg, Tartare, the Kobe beef and salmon.
lowlights were the carpaccio, some tasteless noodle dish, a salad and the sea bass.
The service is where they really fell down, a bunch of kids who seemed like they should be at Chili's, trying their best to fulfill the expectations of an alleged ( yes, I used it twice) fine dining restaurant. don't blame the staff, they were just in way over their head. why doesn't a place like this have professionals? not busy enough? bad tips? poor food consistency?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 12, 2017

It was our 31st wedding anniversary and we dined outside. It was a gorgeous evening and the staff was excellent. The food was so delicious. A wonderful place to celebrate with family or just the two of you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2017

It was a warm Sat. evening and we dined on the veranda. Dinner, wine, and drink selections were wonderful as was the cuisine and presentation .

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28

Tweets by Madrona Manor