Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 1.42mi
  3. Distance: 1.43mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi
  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 1.42mi
  3. Distance: 1.43mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 1.42mi
  3. Distance: 1.43mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi
  1. Distance: 1.18mi
  2. Distance: 1.42mi
  3. Distance: 1.43mi
  4. Distance: 1.44mi

About Madrona Manor

For Party's larger than 6, please call Madrona Manor directly.
Located one mile from downtown Healdsburg, this Michelin one star restaurant is on a Victorian estate at the heart of Sonoma’s wine country. Chef Jesse Mallgren takes full advantage of a wealth of local seasonal produce, whenever possible from our estate gardens. Choose the from an extensive a'la carte menu or the Chef's tasting menu.

1001 Westside Road
Healdsburg, CA 95448
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Dry Creek Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 433-4231

Website:
http://www.madronamanor.com/

Parking Details:
Convenient on-site parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Jesse Mallgren

Private Party Facilities:
Madrona Manor can accomodate groups up to 30 in one of our 5 private indoor dining rooms; or up to 100 on our covered Palm Terrace.

Private Party Contact:
Arielle Larson: (707) 433-1542 ext. 111

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Madrona Manor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (18)
Tasting Menu (16)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Quiet Conversation (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Scenic View (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1043 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We all had a good time and found the tasting menu a real treat. The atmosphere is romantic and the grounds are beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I admit my expectations were high for this place due to their alleged Michelin Star.
a party of four, we ordered the "try everything "menu option.
too much to write about every dish so the highlights were the smoked egg, Tartare, the Kobe beef and salmon.
lowlights were the carpaccio, some tasteless noodle dish, a salad and the sea bass.
The service is where they really fell down, a bunch of kids who seemed like they should be at Chili's, trying their best to fulfill the expectations of an alleged ( yes, I used it twice) fine dining restaurant. don't blame the staff, they were just in way over their head. why doesn't a place like this have professionals? not busy enough? bad tips? poor food consistency?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

It was our 31st wedding anniversary and we dined outside. It was a gorgeous evening and the staff was excellent. The food was so delicious. A wonderful place to celebrate with family or just the two of you

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was a warm Sat. evening and we dined on the veranda. Dinner, wine, and drink selections were wonderful as was the cuisine and presentation .

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Madrona Manor is the perfect spot for a special occasion. It was a perfect summer evening and all seating was on the beautiful patio. The food is wonderful and the service was very good, but the location is what makes it such a memorable destination. It's fun to occasionally dine at an elegant and lovely spot where you can't overhear your neighbors' conversations, where everyone is conversing with their dinner companions and not playing on their phones, and where dinner can take a couple of hours and you never feel rushed. Thank you, Madrona Manor for a special anniversary dinner!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We enjoy the work the chef and team do, we travel just to eat here. Having said that, this tasting menu was good, but not as good as we have enjoyed in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This is one of the very best meals you will eat in your entire life. Everything is perfect. Vegetarians are welcome and well accommodated. Do the tasting menu and the pairing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent! Outstanding food. Outstanding unique cocktails. Wonderful wine list. Fabulous service. Beautiful scenery.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was impeccable. We did the whole menu for the whole table option. It was fun to be able to taste everything. We ate on the patio which is really beautiful. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Beautiful location, perfect for couples. The food is excellent. The wait staff is professional and attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This has it all. You are seated inside the beautiful mansion or on the wrap-around porch looking out over Healdsburg vineyards. Then the food starts coming and each course features locally sourced food and much of it from the local garden on a property. I am not the most versed in wine, but even I could tell exactly why each wine was paired with each dish, completely enhancing specific flavors. And yes, you are paying a lot per person, but for a michelin starred restaurant it is completely reasonable. I also loved that the staff didn't make it feel stuffy or snooty. They talked to us about each dish and wine (but didn't crowd us). It was just clear they cared about the food, not about the exclusivity of the place. Maybe it is not an every weekend luxury, but certainly a great option for a special weekend away or occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Dependably great restaurant, totally enjoyed the tasting menu and quiet ambiance. Tried pork Carpaccio for the first time and loved it. We thought the meal progressed a little too fast and would have liked more explanations of the food and wine parings. We will be returning soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Overpriced, delicious, tiny portions served in a beautiful setting by cold, android-like staff. I could forgive the pretentious tone if the service wasn't so haphazard and sloppy: The inability to coordinate the wine service with the tasting menu (read: empty glasses while the entree sat cooling on the plate, or conversely, a sparsely filled glass awaiting an entree for seemingly an eternity. What little wine was portioned to us was spilled from time-to-time. Anemic servings overall. The service was absolutely clumsy and not on par with the price and expectation of a Michelin Star restaurant. Beyond disappointing. In-n-Out Burger is more graceful.

While the food was delicious, it was not worth the money. The over $450 I dropped for my wife's birthday dinner would have been better spent at Farm House Inn, Walter Hansel Wine Bistro, Chalkboard, or any number of better places in the Russian River area. I'm baffled this place has a Michelin Star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everything was amazing my only complaint was not given the option for seating inside or outside. My daughter and I got attacked by mosquitoes 😢Still scratching 😂

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Fresh ingredients beautifully prepared & presented. Abalone & wagyu beef were standouts. Outstanding service & excellent value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Madrona Manor is a really beautiful place to visit. We went there for Mother's Day. The staff were very attentive to our needs. It was the food which was disappointing. The chef was more interested in presentation rather than the taste of the food. I chose the abalone. I received four very small pieces I would estimate less than three ounces which did not have much flavor even with the sauce. My wife had the pork chop which was outstanding in flavor. I had part of hers since mine did not even begin to satisfy me. When our server came to pick up our plates she asked how it was and I replied small. She asked if I had enough to eat and appeared embarrassed by the small amount served. We ordered dessert but that too was a disappointment. I ordered the cheesecake bites and received three small bites approximates less than a quarter in diameter. My wife had a raspberry dish which did not have much flavor. I also recommend they serve some of the local wines from Healdsburg especially the Dry Creek Valley.

I have been to Madrona Manor at least four times over past 10 years to stay and to have dinner. I have also attended a wedding of a relative there. I was disappointed in the quality of the food it was really a let down since all the other times the food was very good. I do not mind paying a high price for food when it is good but this wasn't. This was for Mother's Day for my wife and I would have much rather have gone in town for some better food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Well Earned Michelin Star. Madrona Manaor is a beautiful late 1800s home in the Dry Creek Valley wine region of Sonoma. We experienced the tasting menu which included a delightful pork crudo and Japanese wagyu beef among other things. Everything was superbly prepared and superbly presented. Our service experience was excellent. We have dined at many places in many countries, and we would rank Madrona Manor in the top 5. While I would not describe the pricing as inexpensive, it is by comparison to comparably rated restaurants in the wine country.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Every dish on the tasting menu for the evening was excellent. Like many starred restaurants, portions are tiny...really just a couple of tastes of each course. But there were nine of them and I did not leave hungry. The chef has created very interesting taste combinations. The service was very good and not pretentious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was very good so It's a shame how the service ruined an otherwise very nice meal. It's not the lack of service but a matter of untrained staff. The head waitress talked too fast when introducing the menu, felt like we were being rushed right after we sat down. The other servers who brought the food and explained the food did not show any interest in their job. Everyone just came and said the words they needed to say and left without a smile or a "please enjoy." They were so eager to "do their job" that they tried to take away my food twice without asking if I was done. One time, they actually took away my wine before it was finished. For wine pairing, other michelin-star restaurants' servers always explain the wine and how it compliments the food. The server just reads off the wine label. Couldn't get a smile from the servers except when they were talking to each other. Very disappointing experience this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very tasty, and certainly an event worth experiencing. Arriving at the Manor is an experience in itself. While the dollar signs are high in the description, the menu doesn't convey that it's 9 courses of an omnivore choice or vegetarian. The wine tasting isn't included and costs the same as the meal. It's a VERY pretty penny. The meal was an experience, but be warned that nothing is sold individually.

We stayed at the Manor and were told that you have to cancel 48 hours out or they charge the delayed cancel (the full cost of meal and tasting, which are separate costs) to the room. Had we known (our fault for not researching more) we would have probably opted out as the cost was the same as or entire hotel cost for 4 days.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had an amazing meal at Madrona Manor. The menu was interesting, exciting and very tasty. The wine pairings were also very well done. We loved the experience and would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food and the service at Madrona Manor were both outstanding. Definitely a place for a special meal. However, be forewarned: you will pay a pretty penny for your meal.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Having dined at many Michelin-starred restaurants, I find it difficult to believe that this one deserves even a single star. No one offered to take our coats when we entered the building or later, when we went into the dining room. The setting was interesting at first, but the LED light bulbs in the dining room were very harsh. The service was poorly coordinated, with one waiter sometimes not knowing what the previous one had already taken care of. Some of the dishes were plated brilliantly, but on the whole the chef seemed mainly to be going through the paces rather than drawing upon any real inspiration. The chopped shrimp crudo was fresh and tasty but was served with impractical chopsticks rather than an appropriate spoon. The wine pairings were fine but unmemorable except for the over-oaked California Chardonnay that was poorly matched with the cheese course. The desserts were overly sweet and borderline bland, with few interesting flavors. All in all, you can do much better in the Healdsburg area for half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
·Dined on April 2, 2017

I had heard a great deal about Madrone Manor so decided to try it out. The food is prepared with a great deal of imagination, different textures, contrasting flavours, and ingenious presentations. The lemon-cured scallops, the mustard foam, the cream-filled egg shell and the pork with thin crackling truly stood out. No disappointment there. What I found a real let-down were the wine pairings, no thought at all. The wines were mostly European (French, Italian, Spanish) and had that tired, old, musty"Old Country" taste to them. We have such wonderful wines in California that I was really disappointed. My suggestion is to forgo the wine-pairing and order Cloudy Bay(NZ) for the fish and a California sangiovese or tempranillo where red is de rigeur. The service , though competent at transporting plates, was not well-informed about the fare and added little to the charm one expects on such an outing.

I expected much more for what I paid.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our visit was to celebrate a birthday. We arrived early so that we could enjoy a cocktail on the front porch. Both of us had a speciality cocktail. Is was well balanced with artisans ice. Once sat, my girlfriend was presented with a special menu to acknowledge her bday...nice touch. We both had the wine pairing which perfectly complemented our courses. Refinement with service staff regarding placement and removal of courses however needs work. Overall, we had a great dining experience which one would expect from a Michelin restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A very nice restaurant to begin with especially for Valentines Day. The service was excellent, they really care about their customers. My favorite plate was the Salmon, it basically melted in your mouth. I would recommend them to friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I highly recommend Madrona Manor for special occasions. Its lush grounds, talented chef, great staff and outstanding ambiance insure that you will have a memorable time. We will be visiting again very soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My date, bride and birthday girl exclaimed - best dinner ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I went to Madrona Manor for New Year's Eve and were disappointed with the experience.

We were a few minutes early for our reservation, and no one acknowledged we had arrived for five minutes as they bustled about. Eventually someone ushered us to the cold back porch where a bar was set up for cocktails. Neither of us particularly wanted a cocktail, but we didn't know how long we would be back there so we ordered Manhattan's, which were okay, but before we had two sips we were seated.

Overall, the food was acceptable but the service was poor. We felt incredibly rushed throughout our meal. For example, we opted to include wine pairings, and the new glasses of wine were often brought out and poured before we finished the previous glassez (and we both generally have a tendency to drink quickly). All of the servers seemed rushed and harried. Once my wife stepped out to use the restroom and they delivered a course and explained her dish to me rather than waiting at most 2 minutes until she was back.

One item listed on the NYE menu posted online was swapped out with notice with a much less expensive item (they switched wagyu beef out and served regular steak). The two seafood courses (hamachi and lobster) also tasted distinctly fishy. The subtle accompaniments like miso broth and edible flowers were completely overwhelmed by the off flavors of the fish.

Ultimately, we were not happy with our experience. The meal was supposed to be the capstone of our honeymoon. Instead, we left hungry, disappointed, and feeling unwelcome--far from the experience we would expect based on the restaurant's reputation.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They ALWAYS deliver on a romantic, lovely experi nice in an historic setting...special occasions, especially their festive Christmas and New Year events are very special

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Romantic, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good and friendly service staffs, every course on New Year menu was also done well and tasty. Overall a very enjoyable dinner and would be even better if the pace of serving each course can be slower.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went for Christmas dinner and the food was good, as was the entertianment. However, we have eaten at many Michelin starred restaurants throughout the world and we were a bit disappointed. My husband ordered the beef wellington and there was a piece of grizzle about the size of a walnut in it. I ordered the salmon and it was good, but by no means was it the best I ever had. It was a little bland. The food presentation was fantastic and the service impeccable, but I think they fell a little short on the food itself.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Nice meal with special seasonal entertainment. Time between some courses was too long. Service was very attentive, but also with lots of people running around doing what looked like very little. We then waited 25-30 min. for our bill... and with a 20% service charge added. Total time seated at the table was 3 1/2 hrs. OK to do once, don't think we'll go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The Christmas Carolers are not to be missed! We greatly enjoy the Dickensian style 12th Night singers each year at Christmas time.The food was awesome too.My wife and I had the wine pairings with the Caviar,wonderful crab salad,winter squash risotto,salmon and beef Wellington.All were excellent.Well done!

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We have been to Madrona Manor twice before. The last time was a couple of years ago and it was fantastic. We had heard about the Dickens dinners and have always wanted to do it. After I reserved a table for 4 I received a call that the price would be $170 per person, excluding beverages and service fee. I thought this sounded very expensive but figured it must be very special and hoped it would be worth it. While we had a very nice time and thoroughly enjoyed the carolers, we left with a bad taste in our mouth because we did not feel it was worth the very high price. The food was good but not great, and there were almost no options to choose from. We brought our own wine and yet the dinner was over $500 per couple. We would not return for this event nor would we recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our Dickens Dinner was outstanding. The food was excellent - beautifully presented. Each course was a delightful taste experience. The courses were served with nice spacing. The Twelfth Night Singers were wonderful. The Beef Wellington was the best. You could cut it with a fork. The whole evening was a great way to celebrate our 55th Anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Madrona Manor has been one of my favorite special occasion restaurants for many years. I even spent my wedding night in their carriage house accommodations. However this year's thanksgiving day dinner was disappointing.
The restaurant is in a 100+ year old mansion over looking the Dry Creek Valley. It is spectacular. However some genius went around and changed the interior lighting to LEDs. UGLY!!! The ambiance of the dining rooms was destroyed by these overly bright, overly white, glaring, light bulbs. They looked very strange in the candelabra and sconces. And all to save a few pennies on electricity.
Then there was the egg-nog for $15. I think there was maybe 3 or 4 sips in the glass. Not a lot more than a shot of liquor. Disappointing. This is egg-nog, not a snifter of an 80 year old French brandy.
The food as usual was good but while I expect gourmet food to come in multiple courses of small amounts, these small amounts were REALLY small. Hmmmm.
But the final disappointment was when the bill came. They had included a 20% ($74) "service fee" despite their online reservation confirmation that stated that the "inclusive" flat price of $163 per person included the service. And nobody ever mentioned a service fee until the bill arrived.
Total turkey dinner for two was $557.66

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was one of the best dinners we have ever had. The food was outstanding and the service was impeccable. We had the Chef's Grande Dame menu and could not have been happier. Everything was beyond our expectations. Chef Mallgren stopped by our table during our last course, and was delightful!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of the more eclectic and fun Michelin meals I've had in the Bay Area. Polar opposite of the stuffy old lady atmosphere of the b&b that surrounds the restaurant.

Pop rocks were in the Amuse bouch!
Table side sunday with nitrogen

I brought a magnum of wine only drank 1/2 - they charged me for a single corking! Classy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.