About Madrona Manor

1001 Westside Road
Healdsburg, CA 95448
View Larger Map

One mile from downtown Healdsburg, this Michelin one star restaurant is on a Victorian estate at the heart of Sonoma’s wine country. Chef Jesse Mallgren takes full advantage of a wealth of local seasonal produce, whenever possible from our estate gardens. Choose the from "Chef's Grande Dame" or "A walk Thru the Garden" prix fixe menus.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Dry Creek Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 433-4231

Website:
http://www.madronamanor.com/

Parking Details:
Convenient on-site parking is available.

Executive Chef:
Jesse Mallgren

Private Party Facilities:
Madrona Manor can accomodate groups up to 80 in one of our 5 private dining rooms.

Private Party Contact:
Arielle Larson: 7074331542x111

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Madrona Manor
Smoking Gun Cocktail
A Place In The Sun
Cocktail
Fancy Cocktail
Amuse Bouche
Liquid Nitrogen Ice Cream!
Brassica
The Kiss
Bayon

Madrona Manor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Food
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Service
San Francisco Bay Area
7 More
Contemporary American
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Food
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Best Value
Wine Country
Contemporary American
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Healdsburg ›

fit for foodies (17)
special occasion (17)
romantic (16)
See All
notable wine list (12)
scenic view (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
Sort By:
Newest
920 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dining experience at Madr ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience at Madrona Manor! The food was unique in presentation and every course was a new adventure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular--Chef ***** Superb quality, ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Spectacular--Chef ***** Superb quality, presentation, staff, servers Excellent, beautiful setting, fun, relaxing, A-1 in every category Best dinner in my life. Kudos to Pam, Dan and Kevin.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was incredible, service was impecca ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was incredible, service was impeccable and location was absolutely beautiful! Perfect for a romantic date night.

food5
ambience5
service5

The most amazing experience we've had in ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The most amazing experience we've had in a while! Awesome food and each course was bursting with unique flavors. Loved every bit of it. Would be back for sure

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing vegetarian menu! We bought very ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Amazing vegetarian menu! We bought very high-end wines by the glass - but should have purchased the wine pairing in retrospect for a 9-course meal. All aspects were fabulous!!!!

food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Hilariously disappointing!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Hubby and I chose this restaurant for a special night on our CA trip. So much went wrong (particularly considering the Michelin star/4.9 on OpenTable) it was actually funny. We considered leaving at one point, but opted to stick it out - at least it would be a great story! I will say - indisputably, the staff was friendly and the courses creative and - with the exception of some saltiness - tasty. Not the issues. We arrived early and decided to sit outside by the fountain to enjoy the grounds. It was teeming with mosquitoes - clearly a breeding ground. We fled to the manor, which is quite dated - 1980's (?) colors, clashing curtains/upholstery/carpet, with Beatles (?) muzak & an ambiance like your lonely great aunt's house. We were seated outside (which was cute) and, surprise!, mosquitoes galore. Apologizing, the waitress offered OFF - I declined b/c it stinks and we were going out later. After hubby was bit on the face and I 3x on my arm/face, we asked to move inside. They quickly put us in a room alone (didn't help the uncomfortable ambiance). We soon started perspiring due to lack of any air circulation. This distracted us a bit from the seemingly unnoticed continual ducking, swatting and slapping at critters. We asked the AC be turned on and it was, thankfully. After about 5 mins, 1 napkin was designated the "kill napkin" due to the mosquitoes/bugs who met their demise with it. When a worker came by, I pointed out a bug that fell in my wine. She ran to get a spoon & to my clearly confused face, offered to get the bug out for me...Really? I was so caught off guard, I didn't ask for a new glass and fished it out myself. We'd been there 1.5 hrs when our 4th (of 9) courses arrived. Not wanting to be there 2 more hrs, we asked if things could move quicker. It then did. Bug bites, sweat, muzak, no ambiance, slow service. Ultimately, we paid the $40+0 tab & walked our bug-bitten selves out, laughing. CA has great restaurants-for us, this wasn't one of them.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food but there was a very musty smell.

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was great. Very interesting and worth the money even though it was very expensive. The wait staff was very accommodating. There is a set menu with 2 different tracks so read the menus before you make a reservation. Our biggest problem was the couple sitting next to us who were very loud in the small dining area. At one point one of the server's rolled her eyes at me as if to say "can you believe how loud they are". The big problem was the musty smell. It was overpowering in the entryway and lingered into the dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We found a gorgeous setting with an outs ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

We found a gorgeous setting with an outstanding menu presented with warm, professional service. The wine pairings represented the area and the courses were thoughtfully presented.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hurry, hurry, eat here before everyone catches on!

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

For us, this was a dining experience in a class among greats like French Laundry and Manresa. However, you'll notice a Michelin star gap (and price gap) between those other names and Madrona Manor. If you're into the many-course tasting menu experience, get here while the getting is good - it seemed like maybe this is something of a lesser-known gem! And try to save a little room for the cheese course - we didn't manage to indulge in it ourselves, but it really looks like an amazing offer. Everything we had was excellent, but the sashimi and desserts were truly exceptional. They offer a vegetarian menu as well as the (standard, meat-enhanced) Grand Dame.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Magic and Grandeur

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Very nice location in a very old yet well kept mansion. Very well executed tasting menu and superb wine pairings. Very personable and informative service. Was very quiet on a Wednesday night-they say it fills up on weekends as it should. The Wagyu beef was perfectly prepared and hand churned ice cream at the end. Very enchanting. The sauvignon blanc from Lake County was very rich and tasty. Very memorable and relaxing night of excellent tastes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Madrona Manor restaurant was fabulous.

Dined on March 5, 2016

The Madrona Manor restaurant was fabulous. A close to 16 course chief's menu dinner, with multiple treats not on the menu. The service (black suit and tie) was impeccable. The caviar, quail, and venison were delicious. The ice cream was made at table side (poured cream & egg; poured liquid helium in copper bowl; a sight to be seen). The setting is in an 1880s grand home overseeing a value. Not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing multiple course meal.

Dined on February 22, 2016

Amazing multiple course meal.

food5
ambience4
service5

A fine dining experience that's a must f ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

A fine dining experience that's a must for tourists and locals alike...5 Star Service of truly innovative cuisine in a memorable atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

magical

Dined on February 15, 2016

this was an event to remember our valentines dinner was fabulous and the wines were wonderful i would absolutely do it again! next time we will spend the night :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive!! $160 dinner per adult, servi ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Expensive!! $160 dinner per adult, service included.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Deserves its reputation

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We had an outstanding meal here. Tried both sides of the tasting menu. As early arrivers the room (there are five total) was quiet for the first hour. The kitchen slowed a bit around 6 courses into the meal, presumably because more people had arrived, and we experienced one or two longer than ideal waits for the courses. That said, the food could not have been more unique, challenging and outstanding. As it should be, for ~$250/person or so (with wine and a cocktail). The facility is a little dated in décor, a facelift would probably add another star to the Michelin rating. However, would not avoid it for that reason. What a gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great time for a price

Dined on February 5, 2016

You can not do better than a true experience in dining at the Madrona Manor, but be aware of the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Occasion Gem

Dined on January 1, 2016

Another excellent meal and dining experience at Madrona Manor. We have tried other locations for our New Years dining, but have never had a better experience than at Madrona Manor. I have also attended group dinners here and had equally good experiences. The service is well organized, food excellent, presentation excellent and interesting and even caters to special meal requirements. Their wine paring is also highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing!!!! They out did them ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Absolutely amazing!!!! They out did themselves on New Years Eve... This may be out new tradition! Go there!!! Totally worth every penny :)

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Sumptuous Nouvelle Cuisine

Dined on January 1, 2016

The five courses with wine pairings were sumptuous, beautiful, and unforgettable ! The chef really knows how to develop flavors and the sommelier chose perfect wines to bring out the best in the food. Only the monk fish disappointed. Thank you Chef and staff at the Madrona Inn for making our dinner divine!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

Mediocre food and service especially for ...

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

Mediocre food and service especially for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a prefix menu due to Christmas bu ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

We had a prefix menu due to Christmas but everything was fabulous!!! I highly recommend. would like to go back to try regular menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Xmas Manor

Dined on December 26, 2015

Went there with my Mother for Xmas dinner. It was built in 1880 and looks like a Southern Plantation on the outside and Victorian Manor on the inside. It was beautifully decorated in each room. Prix fixe 5-course menu was beautifully prepared and served is a comfortable pace. There was a group of carolers who moved from room to room during dinner. It made for a very festive atmosphere. They are known for their hotel rooms and a great place for weddings. I will go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Holiday Magic

Dined on December 25, 2015

The Charles-Dickens themed Christmas dinner is a magical way to spend the holiday and the perfect gift for my Mom: wonderful decorations, intimate atmosphere, professional carolers, and unrushed service so that we could enjoy the experience. This was our second time. The only slight disappointment is that we would have enjoyed having a different menu option from the one served two years ago, but it tasted wonderful all the same.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve at Madrona Manor is an event

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

There is something very special about the Christmas season at Madrona Manor. I always fear that one year it will be gone. This year we were able to take our niece and her friend. I think they will remember it always

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Christmas dinner

Dined on December 24, 2015

Our meal was lovely, as was the wine. Service was fine--BUT because this was a special Christmas dinner, courses were not served until Everyone in the Room was ready for the next course!! We seemed to finish our courses well ahead of the other tables and our meal took seemingly forever. 3 hours actually. Even with the delightful Christmas carolers, it was a bit long. Might or might not do that again.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, special treat.

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

The food was great and the Dickens singers were amazing, wonderful treat at Christmas time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant evening

Dined on December 18, 2015

Old school elegance with profession waitstaff. We enjoyed the Christmas decorations, the caroling and ambiance. Not for the hoodie techie crowd but rathet for those who enjoy a elegant special occasion night out complete with excellent cuisine. Of course the evening is not inexpensive .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Start for the Christmas Season

Dined on December 12, 2015

Our group of six friends have been celebrating the Christmas season for the last 20+ years. This year we chose to start the season with the Dicken's dinner at the Madrona Manor. What a great way to start Christmas. The Manor is decorated to the fullest. The wait staff was exceptional. The food was top of the line. And the carolers made the night that much more special. I have not hesitation recommending the Madrona Manor's Dicken's dinner to anyone with the Christmas spirit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect date night that left us romantic ...

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Perfect date night that left us romantically stricken!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very posh. The food is inventive and wonderful.

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

This restaurant is everything fine dining should be. Although the food is creative, inventive, and divine, it hasn't been taken to ridiculous extremes like other chefs trying to be inventive. The food is just exquisite. The focus is on the experience and on flavor, as it should be. It is a little stuffy, but the wait staff did appropriately engage in humor. I would highly recommend for a splurge or a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving Dinner

vip
Dined on November 27, 2015

Our third time here for Thanksgiving dinner and the best yet. Service, food and setting was outstanding. We shall come again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

When you want to experience perfection

Dined on November 27, 2015

If you want to experience perfection in dining and wine pairing, go to Madrona Manor. We were there for my 60th birthday, which was also on Thanksgiving. Though I debated the price of the dinner with the wine pairing extra, it was totally worth the expense on this special occasion. I have never experienced food/wine to this level and perfection. We had a six-course dinner, each coarse paired with wine. My favorite was the Risotto made with estate pumpkin and shaved white truffles, and the Crab soup with smoked potatoes and seaweed butter (butter with local nori). The manor is tastefully decorated and comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite experience

Dined on November 20, 2015

This was my second chef's dinner at Madrona and it was as marvelous an experience as my first visit. Knowledgeable staff explained the dishes and the wine without being intrusive. I highly recommend the cocktail bar as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A Memorable Evening

Dined on November 20, 2015

Wonderful food, so creative and all in lovely surroundings. Made our Anniversary Dinner very special. Very impressed with the making of ice cream tableside. Service was very attentive and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Madrona Manor has never let us down.

Dined on November 14, 2015

Menu and service are always 1st rate. Expensive, but very, very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As always outstanding! The staff is incr ...

vip
Dined on November 5, 2015

As always outstanding! The staff is incredible and incredibly knowledgable!

food5
ambience4
service1

The food was excellent, but not the service.

Dined on October 26, 2015

At a one-star Michelin restaurant, you expect excellent food and service. While the food met that standard, the service did not. My wife and I were told coldly that it was not possible for one of us to order the set menu and the other to order the ala carte menu. When I asked if we were seated at separate tables, would one of us be able to order from the set menu and the other from the ala carte menu, we were told "Yes". Not only did this make no sense, but the waitress was cold and arrogant. We pressed the nonsensical nature of this "policy" and ultimately were told the chef would make an exception for us. That, my friends, is NOT a one star Michelin restaurant. The food was excellent, but the night was marred unnecessarily by the cold and idiotic "rules" announced by our arrogant server.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

great for a wonderful birthday dinner

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

expensive, but lovely and the food is a real treat

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Not to be topped anywhere. Always a ver ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

Not to be topped anywhere. Always a very special occasion - we have dined here on many an occasion and are NEVER disappointed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.