About Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn

10053 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5J 1S5
View Larger Map

Madison's Grill, an Edmonton favorite, located in the Historic 4 Star Union Bank Inn in the Heart of the Downtown Business & Arts District. Unparalleled atmosphere with Soaring Columns and Fireplace. Offering Contemporary European Cuisine, our Chefs pride themselves in utilizing the best of local products, and go to great effort working with our local producers and farmers to bring the best ingredients to our customers. Complimented with an extensive Wine list with some unique Estate & Boutique Wines. Offering Private Dining in the Vintage Room for up to 14. The hotel also offers additional meeting space and an Elegant Ballroom. Madison’s offers one of the Best Breakfasts in downtown Edmonton, Lunch with easy access for the downtown Corporate Clients, Evening Dining exceptional any night of the week. The perfect location for your next night out, or for your Group Booking and Events.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 Am - 10:00 Am, Saturday - Sunday: 8:00 Am - 11:00 Am;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 Am - 4:00 Pm;
Dinner: Monday -Friday: 4:00 Pm - 10:00 Pm, Saturday:5:00Pm-10:00Pm, Sunday: 5 Pm - 9 Pm

Cross Street:
100 Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 401-2222

Website:
http://www.unionbankinn.com/

Catering:
Off Site Catering is considered and reviewed on a case by case basis. We will access each client’s requirements, dates, times, location, etc...And determine if we are able to accept the booking

Parking Details:
Multiple parking options. Including Surface Parking in Impark Lot or Covered, heated Parking in Telus or Scotia Parkade. Applicable charges apply

Public Transit:
LRT and Transit stops at Central conveniently located immediately in front of the hotel

Executive Chef:
Jon Spanton

Private Party Facilities:
The Vintage room: French Doors welcome you to our Private Dining Room surrounded in Cherry wood showcasing some of our Boutique & Estate Wine Collection. The Vintage Room is complimented with a Fireplace and Arched Windows. This intimate space is ideal for your next Dinner, Meeting, or Special Occasion. Audio Visual available

Private Party Contact:
Food & Beverage Manager: (780) 401-2222

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Quiet Conversation (17)
Romantic (15)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fireplace (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Historic (7)
Private Room (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

It would have been a five star is the waiter would not have spilled a glass of wine on me. But they did make it right by buying the bottle of wine for us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Right from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Our server Todd made us feel comfortable and he was very professional throughout. Needless to say the food was a gastronomic delight . I chose Madison's Grill for Valentines Day for its ambiance, and it certainly made the decision easy when I discovered that all of our favorite menu items would be available (scallops, beet salad and duck). Of course there was a great wine to go with it. And then there was dessert - my goodness, the dessert!!! We'll be back, hopefully real soon.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful as always. Took my husband for an early Valentine's dinner and it was spectacular. Kevin was our server and was very attentive as was the lovely man in charge (sorry I forget his name but he's always so wonderful). The short rib main was divine and my husband had the special (filet mignonette). We opted for the wine pairings which were very good and just perfect. We stayed the night at Union Bank Inn so had an elevator ride to get 'home' for the night. It was very romantic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Was not impressed with the food at all and it was expensive. Had a beet salad? One beet and lots of arragula leaves , don't understand why they called a beet salad ?? Would not be rushing to go back !

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I would highly recommend Madison's Grill to a friend. We had great service, cozy and beautiful atmosphere but most of all the food and drinks were superb!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My wife and I had reserved a table at Madison's Grill and also had tickets for a show at the Citadel theater after dinner. En route to Madison's we were running a little late and called to advise the staff that we would miss our reservation by a few minutes. The staff were very understanding and friendly, they told us it was no problem and even suggested some parking options, which proved to be helpful. Once we arrived at the restaurant, we were seated immediately and our server was awesome. He was professional, friendly, and definitely knew the menu inside and out. He was able to answer all our questions and even suggest some wine pairings for our food when we asked. The food was delicious, we enjoyed the scallops and the butternut squash salad for appetizers, then the duck and the sirloin steak for entrees...and finished the meal with baked apples and ice cream in caramel. Everything was presented and served perfectly, and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The maitre d' took the time to visit our table and engage us about our experience, which to me is a sure mark of a classy restaurant with a staff who aims to please. We happened to be running a little short of time to make the show at the Citadel, and had mentioned this on our way out while paying the bill and collecting our coats. Believe it or not, the maitre d' offered to drive us the few blocks to the theater himself in his personal vehicle just to make sure we weren't late!! We were amazed, impressed, and very grateful. The staff went above and beyond to make sure our experience was nothing short of exceptional, and they hit a bulls-eye! I wasn't sure we had this level of service and class left in Edmonton, but the staff at the Union Bank Inn and Madison's Grill proved that we do. Hats off to the team at this fine establishment. We will look forward to seeing you again for our next special night out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 6, 2017

A lovely intimate venue for an anniversary dinner.

Tags: Fireplace, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our server Rhena was very personable and the food was very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 2, 2017

They could not find my OpenTable resa but luckily I got a table. Menu looked nice but only to find out that I had to order the dessert from the start. Very unusual. Also starter and entrée came at the same time so my entrée got cold eating the starter. The fire alarm went off for about 5 mins and I don't remember anybody apologizing. The expresso was not good. A poor experience overall for a resto recommended to me as great and that I decided to try today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was a celebration of my Mom's Birthday. We were seated at a table in a high traffic area, not so bad, but there were several functions taking place at the same time as our reservation and you could tell that the kitchen was overwhelmed and could not keep up with the functions and the dining room all at the same time.

Our server really did the best that he could for the given situation and although the appetizer course took 45 minutes to come out and another 30 minutes after that for entrees to arrive, the dinner is average. Charcuterie board was not for 5 people or should have been advised to order two. A mountain of Blue Cheese and 8 pieces of crustini for 5 people, disappointing...

Entrees were good, but served luke warm. Based on a couple of other dining experiences in this restaurant (one of which was SO GOOD) that is really all we talked about during our wait for dinner.

Not a total write off, but will think twice before another reservation. I hope that it was just a bad service with lackluster event and dining room management...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Had the winter special lunch. The tacos were fantastic! The lemon meringue pie was amazing as well. Excellent food and service overall. Will definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a wonderful three-course meal custom-crafted by the chef with wine pairings. Awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Madison grill is one of the few restaurants that still provide impeccable service in an elegant atmosphere with quite pleasant ambience. Not a casual dining place, would recommend a few more celiac friendly dishes The bouillabaisse was out of this world!! among the best I have had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Madison's grill is always an amazing dining experience. Staff is courteous and knowledgable and the kitchen staff are amazing. We always partake in the 6 course and we have never been disappointed by any of the courses. One of the best experiences in Edmonton.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent service, decent tasty menu, good wine pairing.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Took my parents here for my mom's birthday. Very beautiful building, which she loved. We spent a lot of time admiring the fireplace, columns, corbels, as well as the soffit. The meal was delicious. Our group had the pork belly, sirloin, halibut, rack of lamb, and the baked apple blossom for dessert. Everyone was satisfied with their food's quality and portion. Our waiter was efficient, polite, and friendly. I will be back, and will recommend. Great place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Friendly competent staff, quaint atmosphere, interesting food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had dinner with friends on Dec 30/16, service by Solomon was excellent and he was providing some good humour with our group. Food selection, presentation and taste were very good and nothing was left on the plates. I really enjoyed the trout and lamb. All the staff were great and let us enjoy ourselves. The "surprise dishes" sounded interesting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our party of three was promptly seated even though it was a very busy pre-Christmas lunch day. Our orders were taken promptly and when one of the party asked for a special cocktail, the bartender came and spoke to her about it and then made it as requested. The food was quite good and attractively served. We didn't feel rushed at all and service was attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Chicken Souvlaki with pita and small salad were okay but pretty dull; and not all that different from a fast food outlet. The server only asked how things were at the very end when it was too late to do anything. I don't think I will be going back any time soon. Disappointing for such a lovely-looking restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Cozy, elegant and best location for breakfast. Just a tad pricey but quality of service and food makes it all worth it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was excellent form the moment of our arrival!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very nice decor and ambience. Great food and good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 4, 2016

we went out for a date night. our first time ever to madisons and it did not disappoint. service was excellent; our server Todd was knowledgeable and very attentive without being in the way. the pork belly appetizer was to die for as was their special that night which was pork cheek and pork loin. super desserts as well. the only very minor blemish was slightly over cooked halibut which was a surprise given how nicely they did the pork. we returned for breakfast the next morning and the eggs benedict was superb as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I had a very enjoyable evening. The food, service, ambience were all exemplary. I am just visiting the city but will have no hesitation to go again when I return.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Outstanding staff. Excellent food and wine. Great ambience for fine dining with friends on a Saturday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great ambience, excellent service, OK food and exceptionally pricey menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We were celebrating our 41st wedding anniversary in the company of our youngest daughter and her husband who were celebrating their 3rd anniversary. We very much enjoyed our experience at Madison Grill due to the food, which the chef picked for us ( three course option), but also, largely, due to the service and personality of our server. (Sorry, forgot his name. He was a middle aged gentleman with a very soft spoken manner. We much appreciated his help to assist us thru the evening.)

Thank you, all, so much. You will see us again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Fireplace, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 18, 2016

From start to finish a great anniversary dinner, Solomon looked after us very well and his timing of courses was perfect as were the wine selections for the 3 course dinner. One table was a bit boisterous at times but nothing horrendous. A relaxed pace never felt rushed like some other places where they seem to clock watch.

Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Service and food excellent as always. My guests and I felt genuinely taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Service was great. Food was more complex than some places that consider themselves fine dining, but they can't beat Hardware Grill. Prices are comparable. (We had a show to go to on Sunday and Hardware Grill is not open on Sundays)

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 20, 2016

A little disappointed with the stew. It was a small portion and was quite salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great service, Winter 28 selections were a nice simple way of ordering yet had good variety. Ambience was so good we stayed longer than planned! Very nice boutique restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great food and great service as usual. This is my go to restaurant for business meetings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Perfect spot before the game! We only have so much time and they respected our time constraints and the service was great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Madison's is a beautiful restaurant. Our service was exceptional, our food delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Service, food and atmosphere are top-notch in this cozy, classy place-even a bigger treat if you're staying in the Union Bank Inn upstairs!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had the chefs choice six course meal. Best of the the dishes was the lamb. How ever the pork belly dish was a little over cooked. Otherwise it still is a great restaurant would highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I haven't been here in quite awhile. Very glad to re-visit as I had forgotten how much I like this spot. The ambiance is so relaxing; a nice size room and very tasteful decor, giving an intimate feeling to the room but not at all stuffy.

The service was excellent, professional but friendly. Our server did think to ask if we were on our way to a movie or the theatre so he could be sure our meals were timed accordingly. The menu is not large but has a very good variety, and most importantly, our starters and dinner were unquestionably worth the price. Beautifully plated, delicious to eat.

I wished we could have stayed for dessert but will next time.

I love this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was our fourth or fifth trip to Madison's Grill and it was great. The food was outstanding and the service was wonderful. Both the appetizer and the main courses were cooked and seasoned very well. I really enjoy that they often change the menu here so you get to try different plates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband and myself recently dined at Madison's Grill. We have had dinner there several times in the past and have always enjoyed it. The ambience and service was very good. My short rib dinner was also very good, however my husband did not enjoy his dinner at all. He had the chicken dinner which had three small pieces of chicken, cold cauliflower and a very small amount of diced sweet potatoes. and was $34.00! Yes...we would probably dine there again but would not order the chicken dish.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Highly recommended. The menu was terrific with so many mouth watering choices we will have to come back. We enjoyed the onion tart and tuna nicoise - exquisite presentation and wonderful taste. Impeccable and discrete service and ideal atmosphere for a quiet meeting. Great value!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Perfect spot for classy and quiet downtown breakfast

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I was not overly impressed with my business lunch at Madison's. The food and wine is very expensive and the food does not warrant the expense. My salmon was overcooked and the risotto was greasy. I will not go back again. On the up side, the service and ambience were very good.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We had the 6 course meal ! Amazing to let the chef do his thing and surprise us . Each course was amazing !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Madison Grill is consistently a great dining experience. Great food and service in a wonderful and quiet setting.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Very nice ambience, food and service were first rate!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service. Will go back again for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 15, 2016

I have been to Madison's 4 times and each time has surpassed my expectations. By far on of my favourite restaurants in Edmonton. High quality food, incredible chefs and outstanding servers. I highly recommended the 3 course meal with or without wine pairing. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.