Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn

Madison's Grill, an Edmonton favorite, located in the Historic 4 Star Union Bank Inn in the Heart of the Downtown Business & Arts District. Unparalleled atmosphere with Soaring Columns and Fireplace. Offering Contemporary European Cuisine, our Chefs pride themselves in utilizing the best of local products, and go to great effort working with our local producers and farmers to bring the best ingredients to our customers. Complimented with an extensive Wine list with some unique Estate & Boutique Wines. Offering Private Dining in the Vintage Room for up to 14. The hotel also offers additional meeting space and an Elegant Ballroom. Madison’s offers one of the Best Breakfasts in downtown Edmonton, Lunch with easy access for the downtown Corporate Clients, Evening Dining exceptional any night of the week. The perfect location for your next night out, or for your Group Booking and Events.

10053 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5J 1S5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 Am - 10:00 Am, Saturday - Sunday: 8:00 Am - 11:00 Am;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 Am - 4:00 Pm;
Dinner: Monday -Friday: 4:00 Pm - 10:00 Pm, Saturday:5:00Pm-10:00Pm, Sunday: 5 Pm - 9 Pm

Cross Street:
100 Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 401-2222

Website:
http://www.unionbankinn.com/

Catering:
Off Site Catering is considered and reviewed on a case by case basis. We will access each client’s requirements, dates, times, location, etc...And determine if we are able to accept the booking

Parking Details:
Multiple parking options. Including Surface Parking in Impark Lot or Covered, heated Parking in Telus or Scotia Parkade. Applicable charges apply

Public Transit:
LRT and Transit stops at Central conveniently located immediately in front of the hotel

Executive Chef:
Jon Spanton

Private Party Facilities:
The Vintage room: French Doors welcome you to our Private Dining Room surrounded in Cherry wood showcasing some of our Boutique & Estate Wine Collection. The Vintage Room is complimented with a Fireplace and Arched Windows. This intimate space is ideal for your next Dinner, Meeting, or Special Occasion. Audio Visual available

Private Party Contact:
Food & Beverage Manager: (780) 401-2222

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate mom with our a la carte brunch.Two seating available 10:30 am and 12:30 pm

Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (19)
Romantic (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Historic (10)
Business Meals (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fireplace (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 2 days ago

Always enjoy lunch at Madison's Grill. Service is prompt and food is good.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

The food fabulous but the service amazing! Brett couldn't have been more attentive, polite and helpful. A must go to!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Excellent food and service. This was a business meal and our guests enjoyed their entree and desert. Well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Delicious food and beautiful decore.
A must eat at for foodies!
Scallops are the best I've had in Edmonton.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The ambiance was very nice overall cocktails could use a re vamp.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 27, 2017

A very quiet Sunday night. Service was excellent from a new waiter. Caesar salad was average with nothing distinctive about flavour or presentation. My companion's spinach salad was satisfactory but too large to finish as a starter dish. My companion's medium rare filet was delivered as ordered and was very good. Unfortunately my medium rare rack of lamb was delivered medium well and was quite dry. The waiter offered to redo the dish but I declined the offer. Instead they offered a free glass of wine. Desserts, chai creme brûlée and caramel apple crisp with walnuts, were both excellent but the latter was a very large portion which could not be finished. Overall, a satisfactory evening, but given the pricing, we would consider the overall value as average.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Amazing, waiter was fantastic. Perfect romantic night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The service was amazing, and the food was delicious - it was a nice romantic night out

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent service. Great food fantastic ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Always extraordinary, fine food, and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

From the atmosphere to the great food and service, we really enjoyed Madison's Grill. They even accommodated my many food allergies so that I could enjoy their menu. Will definitely go back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Went to this Restaraunt As it was featured in dinning week march 2017- great appy and dessert. Main course was terrible. Strip loin was tough, potatoes were overdone and tasteless and the fish looked sad. Despite being re introduced to this restaurant from the dinning week we are unlikely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I always wanted to check out some of the high-end restaurants downtown and thanks to program like downtown dinning week I was able to do so without spending a fortune. So we had a girl’s night out and Madison’s Grill was my first stop. When I first walked in, was surprised how small it was. It was cozy and intimate. Perfect for date night or party of four with friends. I was greeted right away. Coat checked and shown to my table. My waiter was Kevin K. We started with Cosmos. My glass was a little short (not as full as it should have been) but that didn’t damper my excitement. My appetizer was Duet of Pork which is hickory smoked jowl with braised cheek paired with spicy blackberry gastric & chipotle tossed frisee. It was delicious! The flavor’s just exploded in my mouth. Paired with the wine Kevin K. suggested just made it even better. For the Main course I had the Black Garlic Rested Striploin. Paprika Lemon Roasted Creamers, Confit Baby Carrots & Pomegranate Molasses. My steak was cooked perfect (medium rare) and very tasty. My Carrots? Well, let’s just say I HATE carrots, BUT I ate these ones. Absolutely scrumptious! Hats off the chief! My mother will love you because you got me to eat carrots. For dessert we had the Rosemary Olive Oil Cake with Macerated Berries, Vanilla Ice cream, Basil Snow & Lavender Syrup. My friends love it. As for me it was ok. The flavors just wasn’t a wow factor for me. Kevin K. our waiter, did an awesome job. We never had to look for him, he was always there keeping our glasses full and our party happy. All in all it was a good night. Great service (Kevin K; awesome job), good food and atmosphere. Madison is now on my list of favs to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Amazing dinner. Came for dining week and had a beautiful 3 course meal. Defiantly worth a visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My sister and I enjoyed an amazing lunch here recently. We were enticed by the special menu for Downtown Dining Week and were very impressed with the quality of the food, the presentation and the service. We did dine late and it was a Monday but by the time we left, we were the only ones in the restaurant but we didn't feel hurried. The server was just right - friendly and informative but not overbearing. The featured meal was a watermelon salad with arugula - lightly dressed with a touch of goat cheese - very nice - and an amazing grapefruit glazed salmon on mushroom risotto with carrots, asparagus and eggplant. Every morsel of this dish was cooked to perfection. We couldn't resist trying dessert and the maple cheesecake was divine - it was on a cookie instead of a bottom crust which I found a little odd but the cookie was tasty! The creme brule with chia was also delicious. - The lunch was a very nice treat!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service was excellent. Great atmosphere with fine dinning experience. Space to move. We were able to have a conversation with our friends, nice and quiet. Food was excellent. We went back for breakfast the next morning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing as always!! My husband and I go often and always get the menu surprise! The chef never disappoints!! Staff is so awesome as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It would have been a five star is the waiter would not have spilled a glass of wine on me. But they did make it right by buying the bottle of wine for us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Right from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. Our server Todd made us feel comfortable and he was very professional throughout. Needless to say the food was a gastronomic delight . I chose Madison's Grill for Valentines Day for its ambiance, and it certainly made the decision easy when I discovered that all of our favorite menu items would be available (scallops, beet salad and duck). Of course there was a great wine to go with it. And then there was dessert - my goodness, the dessert!!! We'll be back, hopefully real soon.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful as always. Took my husband for an early Valentine's dinner and it was spectacular. Kevin was our server and was very attentive as was the lovely man in charge (sorry I forget his name but he's always so wonderful). The short rib main was divine and my husband had the special (filet mignonette). We opted for the wine pairings which were very good and just perfect. We stayed the night at Union Bank Inn so had an elevator ride to get 'home' for the night. It was very romantic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Was not impressed with the food at all and it was expensive. Had a beet salad? One beet and lots of arragula leaves , don't understand why they called a beet salad ?? Would not be rushing to go back !

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I would highly recommend Madison's Grill to a friend. We had great service, cozy and beautiful atmosphere but most of all the food and drinks were superb!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My wife and I had reserved a table at Madison's Grill and also had tickets for a show at the Citadel theater after dinner. En route to Madison's we were running a little late and called to advise the staff that we would miss our reservation by a few minutes. The staff were very understanding and friendly, they told us it was no problem and even suggested some parking options, which proved to be helpful. Once we arrived at the restaurant, we were seated immediately and our server was awesome. He was professional, friendly, and definitely knew the menu inside and out. He was able to answer all our questions and even suggest some wine pairings for our food when we asked. The food was delicious, we enjoyed the scallops and the butternut squash salad for appetizers, then the duck and the sirloin steak for entrees...and finished the meal with baked apples and ice cream in caramel. Everything was presented and served perfectly, and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The maitre d' took the time to visit our table and engage us about our experience, which to me is a sure mark of a classy restaurant with a staff who aims to please. We happened to be running a little short of time to make the show at the Citadel, and had mentioned this on our way out while paying the bill and collecting our coats. Believe it or not, the maitre d' offered to drive us the few blocks to the theater himself in his personal vehicle just to make sure we weren't late!! We were amazed, impressed, and very grateful. The staff went above and beyond to make sure our experience was nothing short of exceptional, and they hit a bulls-eye! I wasn't sure we had this level of service and class left in Edmonton, but the staff at the Union Bank Inn and Madison's Grill proved that we do. Hats off to the team at this fine establishment. We will look forward to seeing you again for our next special night out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 6, 2017

A lovely intimate venue for an anniversary dinner.

Tags: Fireplace, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our server Rhena was very personable and the food was very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 2, 2017

They could not find my OpenTable resa but luckily I got a table. Menu looked nice but only to find out that I had to order the dessert from the start. Very unusual. Also starter and entrée came at the same time so my entrée got cold eating the starter. The fire alarm went off for about 5 mins and I don't remember anybody apologizing. The expresso was not good. A poor experience overall for a resto recommended to me as great and that I decided to try today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was a celebration of my Mom's Birthday. We were seated at a table in a high traffic area, not so bad, but there were several functions taking place at the same time as our reservation and you could tell that the kitchen was overwhelmed and could not keep up with the functions and the dining room all at the same time.

Our server really did the best that he could for the given situation and although the appetizer course took 45 minutes to come out and another 30 minutes after that for entrees to arrive, the dinner is average. Charcuterie board was not for 5 people or should have been advised to order two. A mountain of Blue Cheese and 8 pieces of crustini for 5 people, disappointing...

Entrees were good, but served luke warm. Based on a couple of other dining experiences in this restaurant (one of which was SO GOOD) that is really all we talked about during our wait for dinner.

Not a total write off, but will think twice before another reservation. I hope that it was just a bad service with lackluster event and dining room management...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Had the winter special lunch. The tacos were fantastic! The lemon meringue pie was amazing as well. Excellent food and service overall. Will definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a wonderful three-course meal custom-crafted by the chef with wine pairings. Awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Madison grill is one of the few restaurants that still provide impeccable service in an elegant atmosphere with quite pleasant ambience. Not a casual dining place, would recommend a few more celiac friendly dishes The bouillabaisse was out of this world!! among the best I have had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Madison's grill is always an amazing dining experience. Staff is courteous and knowledgable and the kitchen staff are amazing. We always partake in the 6 course and we have never been disappointed by any of the courses. One of the best experiences in Edmonton.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent service, decent tasty menu, good wine pairing.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Took my parents here for my mom's birthday. Very beautiful building, which she loved. We spent a lot of time admiring the fireplace, columns, corbels, as well as the soffit. The meal was delicious. Our group had the pork belly, sirloin, halibut, rack of lamb, and the baked apple blossom for dessert. Everyone was satisfied with their food's quality and portion. Our waiter was efficient, polite, and friendly. I will be back, and will recommend. Great place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Friendly competent staff, quaint atmosphere, interesting food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had dinner with friends on Dec 30/16, service by Solomon was excellent and he was providing some good humour with our group. Food selection, presentation and taste were very good and nothing was left on the plates. I really enjoyed the trout and lamb. All the staff were great and let us enjoy ourselves. The "surprise dishes" sounded interesting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our party of three was promptly seated even though it was a very busy pre-Christmas lunch day. Our orders were taken promptly and when one of the party asked for a special cocktail, the bartender came and spoke to her about it and then made it as requested. The food was quite good and attractively served. We didn't feel rushed at all and service was attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Chicken Souvlaki with pita and small salad were okay but pretty dull; and not all that different from a fast food outlet. The server only asked how things were at the very end when it was too late to do anything. I don't think I will be going back any time soon. Disappointing for such a lovely-looking restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Cozy, elegant and best location for breakfast. Just a tad pricey but quality of service and food makes it all worth it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was excellent form the moment of our arrival!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.