About Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn

10053 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5J 1S5
View Larger Map

Madison's Grill, an Edmonton favorite, located in the Historic 4 Star Union Bank Inn in the Heart of the Downtown Business & Arts District. Unparalleled atmosphere with Soaring Columns and Fireplace. Offering Contemporary European Cuisine, our Chefs pride themselves in utilizing the best of local products, and go to great effort working with our local producers and farmers to bring the best ingredients to our customers. Complimented with an extensive Wine list with some unique Estate & Boutique Wines. Offering Private Dining in the Vintage Room for up to 14. The hotel also offers additional meeting space and an Elegant Ballroom. Madison’s offers one of the Best Breakfasts in downtown Edmonton, Lunch with easy access for the downtown Corporate Clients, Evening Dining exceptional any night of the week. The perfect location for your next night out, or for your Group Booking and Events.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 Am - 10:00 Am, Saturday - Sunday: 8:00 Am - 11:00 Am;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 Am - 4:00 Pm;
Dinner: Monday -Friday: 4:00 Pm - 10:00 Pm, Saturday:5:00Pm-10:00Pm, Sunday: 5 Pm - 9 Pm

Cross Street:
100 Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 401-2222

Website:
http://www.unionbankinn.com/

Catering:
Off Site Catering is considered and reviewed on a case by case basis. We will access each client’s requirements, dates, times, location, etc...And determine if we are able to accept the booking

Parking Details:
Multiple parking options. Including Surface Parking in Impark Lot or Covered, heated Parking in Telus or Scotia Parkade. Applicable charges apply

Public Transit:
LRT and Transit stops at Central conveniently located immediately in front of the hotel

Executive Chef:
Jon Spanton

Private Party Facilities:
The Vintage room: French Doors welcome you to our Private Dining Room surrounded in Cherry wood showcasing some of our Boutique & Estate Wine Collection. The Vintage Room is complimented with a Fireplace and Arched Windows. This intimate space is ideal for your next Dinner, Meeting, or Special Occasion. Audio Visual available

Private Party Contact:
Food & Beverage Manager: 7804012222x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Buffalo Wings
Steak
Seafood Pasta
Braised Spring Creek Ranch Short Rib Poutine with french fries, Sylvan Star cheese curds, and sauce Robert “gravy”
Ceaser
Strip loin with chanterelle mushrooms, salted potatoes, and grilled asparagus
Alberta beef carpaccio
Roast duck with gnocchi and fennel
seared halibut with double smoked bacon risotto and roast tomatoes
Pheasant Breast
Chicken And Angry Potatoes
Blue Crab Frittata

Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Romantic
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (19)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Great for Brunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We booked our special wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We booked our special wedding anniversary dinner on line with Open Table, making reference to that fact. Restaurant was not busy. We ordered an onion tart to share as an appetizer which was just okay. My wife had roast chicken which she loved and I had the Steelhead Trout which was gorgeous but the mushroom was rubbery, the broccolini was "limp" and the mint pea puree seemed to "get in the way" of the rest of the food on the plate. Table service was attentive but we could have done without the gratuitous comments such as "how are the first bites tasting" and "if you don't want that truffle on your dessert plate, then I'll eat it." The time between our appetizer being finished and the arrival of the entree was about 30 minutes which is unacceptably long and our waiter did not apologize or explain the reason for the delay. Our water glasses were not re-filled until after we had finished our entree. My wife and I shared a 1/2 bottle of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc which seemed over-priced. The wine list was surprisingly limited and the only sparkling wine by the glass was a cheap Spanish one and there was no Prosecco at all. No mention or acknowledgement of our special anniversary was made by the waiter. Overall, a disappointing evening which was in stark contrast to the one we spent at Madison's Grill for our 10th Wedding Anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The place was empty at 7pm on a Sunday n ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The place was empty at 7pm on a Sunday night. There were two other tables with 2 people each. It took 45 minutes to get one appetizer and a full hour for our two dinners. This was a disgrace. The lamb chops were excellent but the strip loin was overcooked (asked for medium rare got medium) . What was the chef "busy" that night? Overall a very disappointed night, particular after reading other reviews. Would neither go back nor recommend. It you cannot handle three tables a total of 6 individuals, what happerns on a busy night or this there ever one at the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The breakfast selection is outstanding a ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The breakfast selection is outstanding and it is included in your overnight stay which is a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and first rate service. ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great atmosphere and first rate service. The food was superb. Great place to celebrate special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoy this restaurant. Great foo ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Really enjoy this restaurant. Great food and wonderful ambience. Thank you to Kevin for the wonderful service. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although we had enjoyed Madison's before ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Although we had enjoyed Madison's before it was a first visit for our friends. Usually difficult to impress, our friends are still talking about the excellent meal and service provided. It was a wonderful way to celebrate our joint wedding anniversaries.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The four of us in our party all had the ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The four of us in our party all had the six course tasting menu. We have had this before and it never disappoints. The food was excellent, as we waited to learn what would be presented as each course was set in front of us was full of anticipation. Each course was a wonderful experience. Service was attentive yet not overly. It was well paced but expect a full evening- ours was 3 hours but we expected this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I visited Madison's on Mo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

My husband and I visited Madison's on Monday as part of our honeymoon celebration. Being the day after a long-weekend, the restaurant was very quiet; the staff went out of their way to make our experience memorable. It was like having our own private chef, sommelier, and dining room. We had the six course Chef's Tasting Menu with wine pairings...and it was fantastic!

I cannot say enough about Todd, our waiter/sommelier! He was kind, knowledgeable, and gave us just the right amount of attention. He got really into the pairings, even broke out some special bottles just for us. Every dish was a delight but the chicken confit with roasted parsnip purée was a sheer delight!

Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Madison's Grill has substantively hiked ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Madison's Grill has substantively hiked prices while providing lower quality food. It used to be a regular option for a business lunch but that will no longer be the case for me. $22 for a extremely mediocre Cobb salad; $24 for a caesar salad with chicken on the side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Often book this restaurant for lunch mee ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Often book this restaurant for lunch meetings, great atmosphere service and food quality.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Warm white wine was only the start

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have enjoyed Madison's on several occasions prior. The poor experience started with the white wine being served at room temperature. The waiter did not want to do anything explaining he just removed the wine from the chiller however the maî·tre d intervened and provided a chilled bottle. The salads and appetizer arrived promptly and were fine. the main course however took an inordinately long time to arrive and when they arrived the meals the plates were warm but the meals were entirely stone cold. We complained to the waiter who apologized but he did not make a decision to correct the problem. We asked for the maî·tre d and the maî·tre d had the meals taken back to the kitchen. Moments later the meals came back and this time the plates were hot however the meals were only warm on the surface and still unsatisfactory. The solution provided was to remove the wine and liquor cost from the bill rather than provide a satisfactory meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Excellent brunch in semi private room

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The location was excellent, the food was very good. Service was very good and the private room was a great bonus for a 90th birthday brunch. The only item I'd like to see changed is the parking - was a tad expensive at $6/hr.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Madisons grill is always wonderful. We h ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Madisons grill is always wonderful. We have breakfast here every year on our wedding anniversary and everything about this little gem is on point. Our first experience with madisons, and the union bank inn was our wedding and they won us over. We look forward to our date with Madisons and the dinner menu is lovely as well. Thank you madisons for always making us feel special! TG

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Dinner

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I booked online for Mother's Day Dinner, on Mother's Day! That in itself is a feat! The restaurant was vey nice and quiet ambiance was lovely. We ordered our food and when it came out it was cooked to perfection. We had the trout and the roast chicken. Divine. Have already recommended this restaurant. We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I would not recommend sitting on the patio. It lack ambiance and has a poor view. The person who greeted us at the door was a little snooty and a bit rude. He certainly wasn't welcoming. We've gone here past but likely won't be back now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Ambience great, food no so good

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We have been to Madison's a number of times in the past and always enjoyed our meal. Unfortunately something has changed at this restaurant. The drinks were watered down to start with. Then for an appetizer the scallops were small (a nickel size in diameter) and only three of them (they were also cold). I also ordered a steak medium rare and what I received was well done. Overall not the quality that should be given for the price they are charging.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Loved the comfy chairs and quiet atmosph ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Loved the comfy chairs and quiet atmosphere. Food was delicious although Brioche bun on breakfast sandwich was a bit greasy. Cost and service were both good. Will definitely go back to try dinner menu sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A Classic.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Madison's Grill is a classic restaurant with an atmosphere to match. We visited during Downtown Dining week. Very well prepared food and thoughtful ingredients in some unique dishes. Mushroom croquettes - absolutely delicious. Pork cheek perogies - a different take on a very traditional dish - also delicious. Duo of beef - shortrib and tenderloin - both done to perfection. Salted Caramel Creme - a melt in your mouth, eat this very slowly to savor the flavors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food. The cauliflower dish was exce ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Good food. The cauliflower dish was excellent The salmon dish was ok My salmon was overcooked and dry

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Has potential

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

My family and myself took advantage of the downtown dining special. Overall the meals were very good, with only a few small complaints. We found the drink menu to be very expensive. Cocktails on average were running $13 and up. Wine list was not outstanding and was very pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Could have been so much better

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Food was good, no complaints there. Host seated me right away as well, no complaints as well there. Service was my main issue, waiter was curt assumed we were going for the dining week menu and overall sub par for this level of restaurant. Was a bit embarrassed because I told my dining mate that the service here was good from previous experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Superb food & good service

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

My wife and I totally enjoyed our Downtown Dining Week 2016 experience at Madison's. The service was good and the food was exquisite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Top notch service, wonderful food and wi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Top notch service, wonderful food and wine plus great value during downtown dining week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable Downtown Dining Experience

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

I went to Madison's Grill during Downtown Dining Week 2016 with a friend who was vising from Calgary. We were treated well by the staff and enjoyed our meal. The portion size of the caramel pot de creme was enormous and it was one of the best restaurant desserts I've ever had. The roasted vegetable ravioli was nice enough but not worth the $34 price tag as the dough to filling ratio was way off. I am a vegetarian and would not recommend it to other vegetarians as there are very few meatless offerings. Vegans wouldn't stand a chance here. My meat-eating friend enjoyed the DDW menu. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would recommend for small groups or couples.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went to Madison's Grill for Dining in ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We went to Madison's Grill for Dining in Edmonton. They were very accommodating in meeting the needs of two in our party who have special dietary restrictions. The food was excellent as was the service. I would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely be going again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Occasion Dining

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We went for downtown dining week, three of us. One dish was markedly better than the other, mine was eye-wateringly salty but once paired with the creamy risotto, still delicious. Dessert was delicious and my table mates will rave about the appetizer, a pair of fancy perogies, until the end of time!

All in all I would definitely go back to madison's for a special occasion. Cost wise it was quite expensive so not ideal for regular dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining Week

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We went during Dining Week and weren't disappointed. The meal was fantastic! I've been for dinner but this was my first time for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Artic char

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Great food and wine pricy so for special occasions for sure we will return' Arctic char best I've had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Most relaxing meal!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Once you enter Madison's Grill, you can feel yourself relaxing instantly and looking forward to a leisurely, delicious meal. The 3 -course tasting meal was excellent. We enjoy seeing what the chef and staff will prepare for you and the surprise was worth yet. I really enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Such a wonderful evening!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

We spent a fantastic evening, celebrating a Birthday in grand style at Madison's grill. It was our first time to this beautiful restaurant and every moment was so lovely. The Madison's greens salad was generous and full of flavour. The filet was done perfectly with an appropriate portion of veg and potatoes. Having a dessert was a task due to the filling appetizer and entree' but so well worth the effort - cheesecake. Our server was professional and friendly. We truly felt like old friends being welcomed back to a family home. We lingered for a long while because it was such a great evening. Next Birthday is in April and we will be going back for that.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Loved sitting by the firepla ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Great food. Loved sitting by the fireplace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had Alberta beef short rib as dinner. ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

I had Alberta beef short rib as dinner. The most that I liked was sauce - truffle yam puree. It was really really good!

And also a waiter was very kind and attentive. Since there's only a few people at that night, the ambience was quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My colleague and I had a wonderful meal ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

My colleague and I had a wonderful meal from starters to dessert with attentive unobtrusive service. Great for a relaxed discussion about life and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Excellent

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Consistent quality - great venue for business or a personal occasion. Highly recommended for smart casual or business dining. Great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

February 20

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The service was exceptional and the food spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant Evening

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

A lovely evening was had, as we celebrated my father's birthday. We were met by the welcoming staff, who put us at ease immediately. I, myself, was quite late arriving (20minutes, to be precise), but the staff could not have been more forgiving. Our dining choices ran the gamut from seafood to vegetarian to fowl (duck) to beef. To a person we were all pleased with our selections and enjoyed a most delicious meal! Appetizers and desserts were also excellent , and the crowning touch was a candle with Dad's dessert. Our wine selection, from the limited yet comprehensive list, complemented the meal beautifully. Our server, Brett, was pleasant and helpful, yet professional, and we were most grateful for his attention. The ambience of Madison's Grill, with its high ceiling and old world charm, not to mention it's working fireplace, makes it perfect for a special occasion. Definitely a favourite place of ours!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing Valentines Dinner

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We have been to Madisons Grill multiple times. We come back because there is consistently good service and a great ambiance. Usually there is also good food. Given the price point of $100 per person, I was expecting a high end experience with great quality courses. Our courses were consistently disappointing. I am not sure what they were thinking with the consomme they served but it was a swing and miss. Everything was so very ordinary and nothing special in flavours or creativity. If you are having a $20 special, fine but you are charging $100 each implying you are going to put the effort in and in this case, you definitely didnt.

After several good experiences, this one was so significantly off that I dont think we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Very went on Valentine's Day with two ot ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Very went on Valentine's Day with two other couples and had our own room, which was great for conversation. The service was extremely good, too. The food was another story - not bad, but not worthy the $200 we paid. My wife really enjoyed her sea bass, but my steak was so-so. I've had much better for far less money. We paid over $200 for a $70 meal. I don't think I'll be back. For less money I could have had an outstanding meal with better ambience at the Red Ox Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Lunch

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Excellent venue accessible from LRT. Great menu service and ambience. Always an excellent venue for casual or business meetings and social occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Dinner

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Everything was perfect from the meal to the service. The arctic char was cooked to perfection and words could not describe the amazing lobster risotto. The desserts were delicious and a great way to end the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.