Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn

Madison's Grill, an Edmonton favorite, located in the Historic 4 Star Union Bank Inn in the Heart of the Downtown Business & Arts District. Unparalleled atmosphere with Soaring Columns and Fireplace. Offering Contemporary European Cuisine, our Chefs pride themselves in utilizing the best of local products, and go to great effort working with our local producers and farmers to bring the best ingredients to our customers. Complimented with an extensive Wine list with some unique Estate & Boutique Wines. Offering Private Dining in the Vintage Room for up to 14. The hotel also offers additional meeting space and an Elegant Ballroom. Madison’s offers one of the Best Breakfasts in downtown Edmonton, Lunch with easy access for the downtown Corporate Clients, Evening Dining exceptional any night of the week. The perfect location for your next night out, or for your Group Booking and Events.

10053 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5J 1S5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 Am - 10:00 Am, Saturday - Sunday: 8:00 Am - 11:00 Am;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 Am - 4:00 Pm;
Dinner: Monday -Friday: 4:00 Pm - 10:00 Pm, Saturday:5:00Pm-10:00Pm, Sunday: 5 Pm - 9 Pm

Cross Street:
100 Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 401-2222

Website:
http://www.unionbankinn.com/

Catering:
Off Site Catering is considered and reviewed on a case by case basis. We will access each client’s requirements, dates, times, location, etc...And determine if we are able to accept the booking

Parking Details:
Multiple parking options. Including Surface Parking in Impark Lot or Covered, heated Parking in Telus or Scotia Parkade. Applicable charges apply

Public Transit:
LRT and Transit stops at Central conveniently located immediately in front of the hotel

Executive Chef:
Jon Spanton

Private Party Facilities:
The Vintage room: French Doors welcome you to our Private Dining Room surrounded in Cherry wood showcasing some of our Boutique & Estate Wine Collection. The Vintage Room is complimented with a Fireplace and Arched Windows. This intimate space is ideal for your next Dinner, Meeting, or Special Occasion. Audio Visual available

Private Party Contact:
Food & Beverage Manager: (780) 401-2222

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Romantic (15)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Quiet Conversation (13)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
625 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was well prepared and presented, but the great service set this lunch apart.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Amazing food and wait staff. Our server was very informative on the food and the history of the building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We celebrated our 35 anniversary. Had early reservation at 4:30 so only one other couple dining. Brett made it a special night even giving us direction to get to cirque de soliel. Food was first class but wouldn't expect less since the prices are on the high end.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This is a good high end restaurant. Service was outstanding and very professional. The food was average, so for the price, not so great a deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

A wonderful experience. We had our first date at Madison's Grill and we returned for our first anniversary. The food as always was exquisite and our server Brent made certain we were well cared for. Food and service to the nth degree.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I love the decor and elegant ambience. Food is delicious and healthy. Perfect for relaxed conversations without big tv screens around!

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Celebrated our wedding anniversary. Service was attentive but discreet. Food was excellent. Steak done medium rare (exactly what I asked for). Vegetables were presented in an appetizing way and were not overcooked. We will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Outstanding service and food. We ordered the chef's menu with wine pairing and could not have been happier!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great dining experience. Service was excellent - friendly & attentive. Atmosphere is very relaxed. Great ambiance. The filet & lamb dishes were very tasty. Good value for the price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Such a great experience. Good, unique choices on the menu without seeming contrived or "pretentiously original." Every flavour had thought put into it and a purpose, not just stunting for attention. Beautiful presentation. Dessert was spectacular. Ambiance inviting. Loved the stake with pomegranate reduction and so many tempting things to go back and try. Really well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As always, Madison's was fabulous! The waitstaff was friendly and personable and professional. They take the time to get to know their customers and make an effort to remember them. Brett and Todd are the best servers I've ever encountered.

The food was phenomenal. Healthy portions, perfectly cooked fish, and surprisingly delicious flavour combinations. Braised fennel...who knew. The kitchen will go out of its way to accommodate special dietary needs without compromising flavour, presentation, or service. I am allergic to night shades and chef made a risotto to order for me - because there were peppers and tomatoes in the vegetable broth.

You will never regret eating here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Was amazing as always! Love the staff, love the food, just love it overall!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very congenial and quiet surroundings.
Kevin was most attentive

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Met a friend for lunch. Food and wine were great. Service was fine. Not sure if it was a service or kitchen issue, but it took very long to get our food. Lunch ended up running 1:45 for just one course. Length of time was our only complaint.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The atmosphere is calm and inviting. Perfect for having a conversation over good food. Highly recommend the salmon with risotto.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This was a perfect evening, good food, excellent service and ambience that facilitated great conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food, atmosphere and service was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We dined at Madison's for an early Father's Day dinner and it was absolutely fantastic. The decor, ambiance, service and food were all perfect. Todd (our server) and Kevin (the manager) ensured we had an excellent experience. I would highly recommend Madison's to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wonderful food, very knowledgeable and attentive server. A great overall experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The ambience of Madison's Grill added to the pleasure of the evening. The quality of the food was very high and the presentation was attractive. The service was excellent, both helpful and accommodating. I would highly recommend the restaurant, especially when entertaining out-of-town guests or for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent meal, and great service. It was for a special occasion and our server took excellent care of us. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Wonderful service. Chef came out to check on us and discuss the food. Highly recommended!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful place for a special birthday! Amazing service, waiter was friendly and chatty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I like that my party had a private room with closed doors. It was nice to eat and be able to talk as loud as we did. The restaurant is beautiful and the food and desert and service was all amazing!!
Thank you!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 5, 2017

For a restaurant of this caliber, the service was embarrassing. The delivery of the breakfast did not reflect its usual meticulous standard. The waffles were disappointing. The eggs Benedict were plated so carelessly that I was so embarrassed by the comments made my guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food and service were very good. Booked a staycation at hotel this weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Always enjoy lunch at Madison's Grill. Service is prompt and food is good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food fabulous but the service amazing! Brett couldn't have been more attentive, polite and helpful. A must go to!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Excellent food and service. This was a business meal and our guests enjoyed their entree and desert. Well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Delicious food and beautiful decore.
A must eat at for foodies!
Scallops are the best I've had in Edmonton.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The ambiance was very nice overall cocktails could use a re vamp.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 26, 2017

A very quiet Sunday night. Service was excellent from a new waiter. Caesar salad was average with nothing distinctive about flavour or presentation. My companion's spinach salad was satisfactory but too large to finish as a starter dish. My companion's medium rare filet was delivered as ordered and was very good. Unfortunately my medium rare rack of lamb was delivered medium well and was quite dry. The waiter offered to redo the dish but I declined the offer. Instead they offered a free glass of wine. Desserts, chai creme brûlée and caramel apple crisp with walnuts, were both excellent but the latter was a very large portion which could not be finished. Overall, a satisfactory evening, but given the pricing, we would consider the overall value as average.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Amazing, waiter was fantastic. Perfect romantic night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The service was amazing, and the food was delicious - it was a nice romantic night out

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent service. Great food fantastic ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always extraordinary, fine food, and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 17, 2017

From the atmosphere to the great food and service, we really enjoyed Madison's Grill. They even accommodated my many food allergies so that I could enjoy their menu. Will definitely go back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Went to this Restaraunt As it was featured in dinning week march 2017- great appy and dessert. Main course was terrible. Strip loin was tough, potatoes were overdone and tasteless and the fish looked sad. Despite being re introduced to this restaurant from the dinning week we are unlikely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I always wanted to check out some of the high-end restaurants downtown and thanks to program like downtown dinning week I was able to do so without spending a fortune. So we had a girl’s night out and Madison’s Grill was my first stop. When I first walked in, was surprised how small it was. It was cozy and intimate. Perfect for date night or party of four with friends. I was greeted right away. Coat checked and shown to my table. My waiter was Kevin K. We started with Cosmos. My glass was a little short (not as full as it should have been) but that didn’t damper my excitement. My appetizer was Duet of Pork which is hickory smoked jowl with braised cheek paired with spicy blackberry gastric & chipotle tossed frisee. It was delicious! The flavor’s just exploded in my mouth. Paired with the wine Kevin K. suggested just made it even better. For the Main course I had the Black Garlic Rested Striploin. Paprika Lemon Roasted Creamers, Confit Baby Carrots & Pomegranate Molasses. My steak was cooked perfect (medium rare) and very tasty. My Carrots? Well, let’s just say I HATE carrots, BUT I ate these ones. Absolutely scrumptious! Hats off the chief! My mother will love you because you got me to eat carrots. For dessert we had the Rosemary Olive Oil Cake with Macerated Berries, Vanilla Ice cream, Basil Snow & Lavender Syrup. My friends love it. As for me it was ok. The flavors just wasn’t a wow factor for me. Kevin K. our waiter, did an awesome job. We never had to look for him, he was always there keeping our glasses full and our party happy. All in all it was a good night. Great service (Kevin K; awesome job), good food and atmosphere. Madison is now on my list of favs to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Amazing dinner. Came for dining week and had a beautiful 3 course meal. Defiantly worth a visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.