About Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn

10053 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5J 1S5
View Larger Map

Madison's Grill, an Edmonton favorite, located in the Historic 4 Star Union Bank Inn in the Heart of the Downtown Business & Arts District. Unparalleled atmosphere with Soaring Columns and Fireplace. Offering Contemporary European Cuisine, our Chefs pride themselves in utilizing the best of local products, and go to great effort working with our local producers and farmers to bring the best ingredients to our customers. Complimented with an extensive Wine list with some unique Estate & Boutique Wines. Offering Private Dining in the Vintage Room for up to 14. The hotel also offers additional meeting space and an Elegant Ballroom. Madison’s offers one of the Best Breakfasts in downtown Edmonton, Lunch with easy access for the downtown Corporate Clients, Evening Dining exceptional any night of the week. The perfect location for your next night out, or for your Group Booking and Events.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 Am - 10:00 Am, Saturday - Sunday: 8:00 Am - 11:00 Am;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 Am - 4:00 Pm;
Dinner: Monday -Friday: 4:00 Pm - 10:00 Pm, Saturday:5:00Pm-10:00Pm, Sunday: 5 Pm - 9 Pm

Cross Street:
100 Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 401-2222

Website:
http://www.unionbankinn.com/

Catering:
Off Site Catering is considered and reviewed on a case by case basis. We will access each client’s requirements, dates, times, location, etc...And determine if we are able to accept the booking

Parking Details:
Multiple parking options. Including Surface Parking in Impark Lot or Covered, heated Parking in Telus or Scotia Parkade. Applicable charges apply

Public Transit:
LRT and Transit stops at Central conveniently located immediately in front of the hotel

Executive Chef:
Jon Spanton

Private Party Facilities:
The Vintage room: French Doors welcome you to our Private Dining Room surrounded in Cherry wood showcasing some of our Boutique & Estate Wine Collection. The Vintage Room is complimented with a Fireplace and Arched Windows. This intimate space is ideal for your next Dinner, Meeting, or Special Occasion. Audio Visual available

Private Party Contact:
Food & Beverage Manager: 7804012222x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Neapolitan Dessert With Pink Macaroon - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Scallop Appetizer - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Salmon - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Burger - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Salmon And Brulee - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Halibut - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Buffalo Wings - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Steak - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Seafood Pasta - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Braised Spring Creek Ranch Short Rib Poutine with french fries, Sylvan Star cheese curds, and sauce Robert “gravy” - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Ceaser - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Strip loin with chanterelle mushrooms, salted potatoes, and grilled asparagus - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Alberta beef carpaccio - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Roast duck with gnocchi and fennel - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
seared halibut with double smoked bacon risotto and roast tomatoes - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Pheasant Breast  - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Chicken And Angry Potatoes - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB
Blue Crab Frittata - Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn, Edmonton, AB

Specials

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $99.50

Sunday Dec 25, 2016 from 4:30 PM - 8:00 PM

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $99.50

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Specials

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $99.50

Sunday Dec 25, 2016 from 4:30 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $99.50. Excludes Tax and Tip. Two Seatings 5:00pm and 7:30pm. Reservations Required. Menu Available Online. Special valid on Sunday Dec 25, 2016 from 4:30 PM - 8:00 PM.

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $99.50

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $99.50. Excludes Tax and Tip. Two Seatings 5:00pm & 7:30pm. Reservations Required. Menus available Online. Special valid on Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM.

Madison's Grill - Union Bank Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Romantic (13)
See All
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Cozy (8)
Fireplace (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Private Room (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Historic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Casual (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
534 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had a very enjoyable evening. The food ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

I had a very enjoyable evening. The food, service, ambience were all exemplary. I am just visiting the city but will have no hesitation to go again when I return.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding staff. Excellent food and wi ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Outstanding staff. Excellent food and wine. Great ambience for fine dining with friends on a Saturday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great ambience, excellent service, OK fo ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great ambience, excellent service, OK food and exceptionally pricey menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

We were celebrating our 41st wedding ann ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We were celebrating our 41st wedding anniversary in the company of our youngest daughter and her husband who were celebrating their 3rd anniversary. We very much enjoyed our experience at Madison Grill due to the food, which the chef picked for us ( three course option), but also, largely, due to the service and personality of our server. (Sorry, forgot his name. He was a middle aged gentleman with a very soft spoken manner. We much appreciated his help to assist us thru the evening.)

Thank you, all, so much. You will see us again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Fireplace, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

From start to finish a great anniversary ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 18, 2016

From start to finish a great anniversary dinner, Solomon looked after us very well and his timing of courses was perfect as were the wine selections for the 3 course dinner. One table was a bit boisterous at times but nothing horrendous. A relaxed pace never felt rushed like some other places where they seem to clock watch.

Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food excellent as always. My ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Service and food excellent as always. My guests and I felt genuinely taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Food was more complex ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Service was great. Food was more complex than some places that consider themselves fine dining, but they can't beat Hardware Grill. Prices are comparable. (We had a show to go to on Sunday and Hardware Grill is not open on Sundays)

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A little disappointed with the stew. I ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 20, 2016

A little disappointed with the stew. It was a small portion and was quite salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service, Winter 28 selections were ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great service, Winter 28 selections were a nice simple way of ordering yet had good variety. Ambience was so good we stayed longer than planned! Very nice boutique restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service as usual. ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great food and great service as usual. This is my go to restaurant for business meetings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot before the game! We only ha ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Perfect spot before the game! We only have so much time and they respected our time constraints and the service was great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Madison's is a beautiful restaurant. O ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Madison's is a beautiful restaurant. Our service was exceptional, our food delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, food and atmosphere are top-not ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Service, food and atmosphere are top-notch in this cozy, classy place-even a bigger treat if you're staying in the Union Bank Inn upstairs!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the chefs choice six course meal. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had the chefs choice six course meal. Best of the the dishes was the lamb. How ever the pork belly dish was a little over cooked. Otherwise it still is a great restaurant would highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I haven't been here in quite awhile. Ve ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I haven't been here in quite awhile. Very glad to re-visit as I had forgotten how much I like this spot. The ambiance is so relaxing; a nice size room and very tasteful decor, giving an intimate feeling to the room but not at all stuffy.

The service was excellent, professional but friendly. Our server did think to ask if we were on our way to a movie or the theatre so he could be sure our meals were timed accordingly. The menu is not large but has a very good variety, and most importantly, our starters and dinner were unquestionably worth the price. Beautifully plated, delicious to eat.

I wished we could have stayed for dessert but will next time.

I love this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our fourth or fifth trip to Mad ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was our fourth or fifth trip to Madison's Grill and it was great. The food was outstanding and the service was wonderful. Both the appetizer and the main courses were cooked and seasoned very well. I really enjoy that they often change the menu here so you get to try different plates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and myself recently dined at ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband and myself recently dined at Madison's Grill. We have had dinner there several times in the past and have always enjoyed it. The ambience and service was very good. My short rib dinner was also very good, however my husband did not enjoy his dinner at all. He had the chicken dinner which had three small pieces of chicken, cold cauliflower and a very small amount of diced sweet potatoes. and was $34.00! Yes...we would probably dine there again but would not order the chicken dish.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Highly recommended. The menu was terrifi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Highly recommended. The menu was terrific with so many mouth watering choices we will have to come back. We enjoyed the onion tart and tuna nicoise - exquisite presentation and wonderful taste. Impeccable and discrete service and ideal atmosphere for a quiet meeting. Great value!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for classy and quiet downto ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Perfect spot for classy and quiet downtown breakfast

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was not overly impressed with my busin ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I was not overly impressed with my business lunch at Madison's. The food and wine is very expensive and the food does not warrant the expense. My salmon was overcooked and the risotto was greasy. I will not go back again. On the up side, the service and ambience were very good.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We had the 6 course meal ! Amazing to le ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We had the 6 course meal ! Amazing to let the chef do his thing and surprise us . Each course was amazing !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Madison Grill is consistently a great di ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Madison Grill is consistently a great dining experience. Great food and service in a wonderful and quiet setting.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice ambience, food and service wer ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Very nice ambience, food and service were first rate!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food and excellent service. Wi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service. Will go back again for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Madison's 4 times and eac ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 15, 2016

I have been to Madison's 4 times and each time has surpassed my expectations. By far on of my favourite restaurants in Edmonton. High quality food, incredible chefs and outstanding servers. I highly recommended the 3 course meal with or without wine pairing. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked our special wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We booked our special wedding anniversary dinner on line with Open Table, making reference to that fact. Restaurant was not busy. We ordered an onion tart to share as an appetizer which was just okay. My wife had roast chicken which she loved and I had the Steelhead Trout which was gorgeous but the mushroom was rubbery, the broccolini was "limp" and the mint pea puree seemed to "get in the way" of the rest of the food on the plate. Table service was attentive but we could have done without the gratuitous comments such as "how are the first bites tasting" and "if you don't want that truffle on your dessert plate, then I'll eat it." The time between our appetizer being finished and the arrival of the entree was about 30 minutes which is unacceptably long and our waiter did not apologize or explain the reason for the delay. Our water glasses were not re-filled until after we had finished our entree. My wife and I shared a 1/2 bottle of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc which seemed over-priced. The wine list was surprisingly limited and the only sparkling wine by the glass was a cheap Spanish one and there was no Prosecco at all. No mention or acknowledgement of our special anniversary was made by the waiter. Overall, a disappointing evening which was in stark contrast to the one we spent at Madison's Grill for our 10th Wedding Anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The place was empty at 7pm on a Sunday n ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 25, 2016

The place was empty at 7pm on a Sunday night. There were two other tables with 2 people each. It took 45 minutes to get one appetizer and a full hour for our two dinners. This was a disgrace. The lamb chops were excellent but the strip loin was overcooked (asked for medium rare got medium) . What was the chef "busy" that night? Overall a very disappointed night, particular after reading other reviews. Would neither go back nor recommend. It you cannot handle three tables a total of 6 individuals, what happerns on a busy night or this there ever one at the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The breakfast selection is outstanding a ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The breakfast selection is outstanding and it is included in your overnight stay which is a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and first rate service. ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great atmosphere and first rate service. The food was superb. Great place to celebrate special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoy this restaurant. Great foo ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Really enjoy this restaurant. Great food and wonderful ambience. Thank you to Kevin for the wonderful service. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was well presented but against ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was well presented but against my best judgement I shouldn't have ordered the seared tuna. It was obviously defrosted and was not that nice, the sauce was overwhelming and drowned out the taste.

Otherwise

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Although we had enjoyed Madison's before ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Although we had enjoyed Madison's before it was a first visit for our friends. Usually difficult to impress, our friends are still talking about the excellent meal and service provided. It was a wonderful way to celebrate our joint wedding anniversaries.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The four of us in our party all had the ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 6, 2016

The four of us in our party all had the six course tasting menu. We have had this before and it never disappoints. The food was excellent, as we waited to learn what would be presented as each course was set in front of us was full of anticipation. Each course was a wonderful experience. Service was attentive yet not overly. It was well paced but expect a full evening- ours was 3 hours but we expected this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I visited Madison's on Mo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 5, 2016

My husband and I visited Madison's on Monday as part of our honeymoon celebration. Being the day after a long-weekend, the restaurant was very quiet; the staff went out of their way to make our experience memorable. It was like having our own private chef, sommelier, and dining room. We had the six course Chef's Tasting Menu with wine pairings...and it was fantastic!

I cannot say enough about Todd, our waiter/sommelier! He was kind, knowledgeable, and gave us just the right amount of attention. He got really into the pairings, even broke out some special bottles just for us. Every dish was a delight but the chicken confit with roasted parsnip purée was a sheer delight!

Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Madison's Grill has substantively hiked ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Madison's Grill has substantively hiked prices while providing lower quality food. It used to be a regular option for a business lunch but that will no longer be the case for me. $22 for a extremely mediocre Cobb salad; $24 for a caesar salad with chicken on the side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Often book this restaurant for lunch mee ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Often book this restaurant for lunch meetings, great atmosphere service and food quality.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Warm white wine was only the start

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have enjoyed Madison's on several occasions prior. The poor experience started with the white wine being served at room temperature. The waiter did not want to do anything explaining he just removed the wine from the chiller however the maî·tre d intervened and provided a chilled bottle. The salads and appetizer arrived promptly and were fine. the main course however took an inordinately long time to arrive and when they arrived the meals the plates were warm but the meals were entirely stone cold. We complained to the waiter who apologized but he did not make a decision to correct the problem. We asked for the maî·tre d and the maî·tre d had the meals taken back to the kitchen. Moments later the meals came back and this time the plates were hot however the meals were only warm on the surface and still unsatisfactory. The solution provided was to remove the wine and liquor cost from the bill rather than provide a satisfactory meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Excellent brunch in semi private room

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 22, 2016

The location was excellent, the food was very good. Service was very good and the private room was a great bonus for a 90th birthday brunch. The only item I'd like to see changed is the parking - was a tad expensive at $6/hr.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Madisons grill is always wonderful. We h ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Madisons grill is always wonderful. We have breakfast here every year on our wedding anniversary and everything about this little gem is on point. Our first experience with madisons, and the union bank inn was our wedding and they won us over. We look forward to our date with Madisons and the dinner menu is lovely as well. Thank you madisons for always making us feel special! TG

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Dinner

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I booked online for Mother's Day Dinner, on Mother's Day! That in itself is a feat! The restaurant was vey nice and quiet ambiance was lovely. We ordered our food and when it came out it was cooked to perfection. We had the trout and the roast chicken. Divine. Have already recommended this restaurant. We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.