Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Madison's

Recently awarded the AAA Four-Diamond Award, Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden at the Old Edwards Inn and Spa helps define the dining scene in downtown Highlands. The talented culinary team hand crafts each dish with farm-to-table, sustainable ingredients to bring out the most abundant flavors nature has to offer. A Wine Spectator award-winning restaurant for the past five years with “Best of“ awards for the past two, Madison's wine list features an expansive selection from an extensive wine cellar. Madison’s sommelier—or “Wine Navigator” as he introduces himself—helps with selections. The Private Wine Cellar offers an intimate dining setting for up to 12 guests. Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Reservations are suggested for lunch and dinner. The Wine Garden is open in the warmer months. All major credit cards are accepted.

445 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00 am - 10:00 am; Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm; Dinner Daily: 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 787-2525

Website:
http://www.madisonscuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Hummingbird Lounge on Friday and Saturday evenings from 6 pm to 10 pm.

Catering:
Overseeing the culinary program at Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden, as well as the Rooftop Terrace, Spa Cafe, Pool Cabana and catering, is executive Chef Johannes Klapdohr. Klapdohr says, “The constant research of selecting the finest products in the region, as well as globally, has become my ultimate passion. To nurture, develop and create sustainable, healthy cuisine that is uncompromised and environmentally responsible continues to be the essence of my culinary philosophy."

Executive Chef:
Johannes Klapdohr

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. The Wine Room is a special experience and comes with a handcrafted menu prepared especially for you by our Chef. We offer the chance to design your own perfect culinary experience with our chef. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever. For reservations please contact us.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: (828) 787-2525

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Escape to the Four-Season mountain town of Highlands nestled in the Western North Carolina Mountains for enchanting destination weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, family events, corporate events or any special occasion. With multiple event venues, the Old Edwards full-service professional event staff will help ensure a smooth, flowing, fairytale event. You’ll just feel the memories being made, as you, your family and your friends join together in authentic surroundings where magical moments emerge from every experience. The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever.

Madison's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (33)
Anniversaries (25)
Romance (23)
See All
CreativeCuisine (17)
GoodForDates (16)
QuietConversation (15)
Foodies (14)
SundayLunch (13)
LocalIngredients (13)
NotableWineList (12)
Birthdays (10)
WorthTheDrive (10)
Cozy (10)
HandcraftedCocktails (9)
BusinessMeals (9)
Historic (7)
NeighborhoodGem (7)
Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Fireplace (5)
Seasonal (4)
PrePostTheatre (4)
OutdoorDining (4)
Fun (4)
Brunch (3)
AfternoonTea (3)
ScenicView (3)
Healthy (2)
ComfortFood (2)
GlutenFree (2)
PaleoFriendly (2)
Casual (2)
Groups (2)
MolecularGastronomy (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Organic (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
PeopleWatching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
HotSpot (1)
LateNightFind (1)
LiveMusic (1)
TastingMenu (1)
Sort By:
S
657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Beat shrimp and grits I've ever had. Cool place, very professional and high end!! Old school charm!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Quality of food and service was excellent. Portions of food verses price were kind of small.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We have been to Madison's many times and always enjoy the unique and imaginative cuisine. This time we celebrated Father's Day by having lunch with our daughter and her boyfriend in Madison's dining room. We were given a comfortable booth by a window and felt tucked in and buffered from the bustle outside. Our service was attentive but not hovering as our waiter, Mimi, knew how to strike a balance between friendly but unobtrusive. The Chef used seasonal and edible flowers to enliven our plates and each one was beautifully arranged. On the charcuterie plate, there was a fabulous Duck "jerky" paired with a goat cheese and preserve that tickled a new taste bud! This meal managed to live up to the very high standard set by our previous experiences. We will be back!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The service was not perfect. The waiter took care of the women but forgot the men. Once they ordered they got the wrong beer. I ordered the special with scallops and the leeks were very sandy.

Other than that it was great!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Excellent dinning in a rustic atmosphere. It lives up to its reputation. The staff both in Madison's and the Old Edwards Inn are top notch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The service was very slow. The bottle of wine we ordered from the wine list was not in stock. The lettuce on our salads was brown. The chicken was dry and inedible. The shrimp were way undercooked when I specifically asked for spicy and well done! They were plain and I could not eat. We live here. We will not be returning and certainly spread the word at how disappointing the 45th anniversary of our dear friends was!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We were on a mini vacation and Madison's was highly recommended. So glad we went the food was outstanding ❤️.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Food was good with excellent service. We went for lunch and I thought menu was a bit limited and pricey for lunch. I think it would be better dinner spot.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Wonderful experience. Courtesy staff. Quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 29, 2017

No comment

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful. Very fresh and authentic foods! I loved the truffle mac and cheese - that's a must! However, our waiter asked if we wanted a little extra to take home with us at the end of the night (because he knew I loved it) and then ended up charging us full price for it. I thought it was going to be a nice little complimentary touch, but wouldn't have agreed to a little "extra" if I knew we'd pay for an entire side. That us that seemed a little deceitful..but that might be was restaurants do? Other than that, the experience was amazing and we will definitely go back! Anything with mascarpone cheese (lemon or strawberry cheesecake) is on point. highly recommended!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Nice for a romantic date. Quiet atmosphere but yet there were families with children and they were accommodated lovely. Enjoyed our food selections.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Had the grouper sandwich and it was NOT good. Bland and overpriced. I sent it back half eaten and no offer was made to bring something else or compensate me in some other way. $19.00 for a soggy sandwich and tiny bowl of soup.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Superb restaurant! Service was impeccable, so was the meal. Every dish we tried was a perfection! Will be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Easter dinner was lovely and the service second to none!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was perfect for our Easter celebration. Was just surprised that ham was not offered as it is traditional for Easter . Our server Pete was fantastic!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Madison's is located in the Old Edwards Inn (OEI), in Highlands, NC. We drove seven hours from the NC coast to spend three nights at the inn. The first two nights we dined in other restaurants in Highlands which is a lovely mountain town, and while those experiences were fine, our final night's dinner at Madison's made us wish we'd dined there every night. This was our fifth experience dining at a Relais & Chateaux establishment, and Madison's did not disappoint. While their menu changes with the season, do try the superb fois gras stuffed pheasant breast, or the excellent duck a l'orange which was perfect and not cloyingly sweet. If you're a Francophile, you'll also surely enjoy their excellent Sommelier. It was great speaking French with him and discovering our common experiences in France and French west Africa. While I wasn't crazy about the drive up the mountain to get to OEI, Madison's and their sommelier helped make the trip all worthwhile. Definitely worth the trip!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Comfortable quiet table. Excellent tasting food; best of the many restaurants in the Highlands.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our server Sara was outstanding and made the event so special. My mother and I drove over from Young Harris for the afternoon and are we glad that we did! The trout appetizer was out of this world delicious, and our meals (bbq, chicken salad) were excellent!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very much enjoyed our last lunch at Madison's. Great service, quality menu and delicious food. A consistently excellent dining experience!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, , , , , , , , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We asked for a table appropriate for a romantic date, as we were on a vacation together as a married couple. They chose a table tucked away in a nook, left a trail of rose petals on our table, and provided the most wonderful experience of our trip. Robert was our server- he had excellent recommendations for both drinks and food! I had a white wine spritzer that was amazing, and my husband had a craft beer. After complimentary spicy crackers and pimento cheese, then complimentary bread, we started with broccoli and cheese soup. Remarkable. Ingredients were separated from the soup itself, which was poured into our bowls at the table, over top of broccoli and puff pastry (which melted in our mouths). Next, we had our entrees- both were superb. Finally, we ordered a chocolate raspberry soufflé with pistachio ice cream- phenomenal. They then brought out tiny truffle cakes (compliments of their pastry chef). Robert had a sparkling personality, but we were cared for by several other staff, including managers, very well. We didn't stop smiling the entire night! We will MOST DEFINITELY be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Madison's is a fabulous dining experience in an historic setting - complete with a professional and attentive wait staff, delicious food creatively prepared, and charming ambiance. One of my favorite restaurants!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I live on the Gulf Coast and eat a lot of seafood. I had the Sea Bass that was on special and it was outstanding. We look forward to going back next time in town.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food , service and wonderful time. Would definitely go back when in the area

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Creative specials. Exceptionally prepared with knowledgeable staff. Recommendations by servers were perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very nice for lunch. We went on a Sunday. Our food was very tasty and we enjoyed a white wine spritzer that was very refreshing.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great service, outstanding cuisine, and the location was incredible. A must.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Historic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 15, 2017

A great historical place to have a special occasion meal. The menu is very original and not expensive. They have local trout and Pheasant and they were both fresh and the best we have ever had. If your within 50 miles you should have dinner at Madisons.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The experience was great overall. The service was exemplary. All of the servers and sommelier went out of their way to ensure we were pleased with everything we ordered. The food was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A delightful experience. Perfect for a luncheon meeting or get-together with friends. The food exceeded our expectations and the ambience is really quite special.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I've been to Madison's before and the food was good, but this time it was just not good! I got the ribeye and asked for it medium rare and it was over well done...and lacked taste. I was with 3 other people who's meals were just 'ok'...very underwhelming, especially for the price. Unfortunately it was my birthday and I was pretty bummed to spend $200 on a dinner that wasn't good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was perfect. The place is beautiful and the service amazing. Bryan and the wine advisor were fun and knowledgeable- unique food offerings and the soufflé was the best I've ever had.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great lunch, as always!! Wonderful service Fresh selections 👍

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Organic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Sea Bass was presented nicely and the service was excellent. My only complaint was the aujus had a very strange taste. Took away from the Sea Bass which would have been wonderful without the sauce the fish set in.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful experience. Luke our waiter was fantastic. Hope to visit again soon

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great atmosphere and good food. Just be prepared for very small portions. Hate paying a lot of money and leaving hungry. Overall was still a great place for special occasions!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We LOVE Madison's and Highly Recommend Madison's to Everyone!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was delicious and the waiter was good but did mess up the payment. We were called at
11:30 pm to get it corrected. But the manager was very apological about the mishap. I would recommend it for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very attentive service. Great cocktails and wine. Wonderful atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I had a date for lunch at Madison's yesterday and it was a great date! We were greeted warmly by the hostess and staff. Chef Tim Vos came out to say hello as we know him from way back. They sat us at a cozy table for two. We started with the mussels special which was over the top good and may have been the best mussels we have ever eaten. The mussels were very flavorful with a delicate sauce and homemade crostinis. Then we had the always spectacular trout dip and our final course was the caesar salad all paired with a spectacular burgundy. The homemade breads that were served were divine as well as the final butter cookies. Everything was delicious!! Our server was good, but was a little slow with the wine service. We had our food long before we had our wine. All in all, Madison's did an excellent job taking care of us and we thoroughly enjoyed our lunch date.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.