About Madison's

Recently awarded the AAA Four-Diamond Award, Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden at the Old Edwards Inn and Spa helps define the dining scene in downtown Highlands. The talented culinary team hand crafts each dish with farm-to-table, sustainable ingredients to bring out the most abundant flavors nature has to offer. A Wine Spectator award-winning restaurant for the past five years with “Best of“ awards for the past two, Madison's wine list features an expansive selection from an extensive wine cellar. Madison’s sommelier—or “Wine Navigator” as he introduces himself—helps with selections. The Private Wine Cellar offers an intimate dining setting for up to 12 guests. Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Reservations are suggested for lunch and dinner. The Wine Garden is open in the warmer months. All major credit cards are accepted.

445 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00 am - 10:00 am; Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm; Dinner Daily: 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 787-2525

Website:
http://www.madisonscuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Hummingbird Lounge on Friday and Saturday evenings from 6 pm to 10 pm.

Catering:
Overseeing the culinary program at Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden, as well as the Rooftop Terrace, Spa Cafe, Pool Cabana and catering, is executive Chef Johannes Klapdohr. Klapdohr says, “The constant research of selecting the finest products in the region, as well as globally, has become my ultimate passion. To nurture, develop and create sustainable, healthy cuisine that is uncompromised and environmentally responsible continues to be the essence of my culinary philosophy."

Executive Chef:
Johannes Klapdohr

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. The Wine Room is a special experience and comes with a handcrafted menu prepared especially for you by our Chef. We offer the chance to design your own perfect culinary experience with our chef. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever. For reservations please contact us.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: (828) 787-2525

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Escape to the Four-Season mountain town of Highlands nestled in the Western North Carolina Mountains for enchanting destination weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, family events, corporate events or any special occasion. With multiple event venues, the Old Edwards full-service professional event staff will help ensure a smooth, flowing, fairytale event. You’ll just feel the memories being made, as you, your family and your friends join together in authentic surroundings where magical moments emerge from every experience. The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever.

Madison's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (24)
Romantic (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Historic (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Cozy (13)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (7)
Organic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Scenic View (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fireplace (4)
Fun (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was perfect. The place is beautiful and the service amazing. Bryan and the wine advisor were fun and knowledgeable- unique food offerings and the soufflé was the best I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great lunch, as always!! Wonderful service Fresh selections 👍

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Organic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Sea Bass was presented nicely and the service was excellent. My only complaint was the aujus had a very strange taste. Took away from the Sea Bass which would have been wonderful without the sauce the fish set in.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful experience. Luke our waiter was fantastic. Hope to visit again soon

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great atmosphere and good food. Just be prepared for very small portions. Hate paying a lot of money and leaving hungry. Overall was still a great place for special occasions!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We LOVE Madison's and Highly Recommend Madison's to Everyone!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was delicious and the waiter was good but did mess up the payment. We were called at

11:30 pm to get it corrected. But the manager was very apological about the mishap. I would recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very attentive service. Great cocktails and wine. Wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I had a date for lunch at Madison's yesterday and it was a great date! We were greeted warmly by the hostess and staff. Chef Tim Vos came out to say hello as we know him from way back. They sat us at a cozy table for two. We started with the mussels special which was over the top good and may have been the best mussels we have ever eaten. The mussels were very flavorful with a delicate sauce and homemade crostinis. Then we had the always spectacular trout dip and our final course was the caesar salad all paired with a spectacular burgundy. The homemade breads that were served were divine as well as the final butter cookies. Everything was delicious!! Our server was good, but was a little slow with the wine service. We had our food long before we had our wine. All in all, Madison's did an excellent job taking care of us and we thoroughly enjoyed our lunch date.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome food, service, and ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

This was a perfect spot to celebrate a birthday with a romantic dinner. The food was outstanding. Each bite had special flavor and the dishes were prepared with such flair, perfectly and beautifully laid out. Our server, Nikki, was attentive when necessary and very knowledgeable about all aspects of our dinner. The entire staff was pleasant and aware of how best to keep everyone happy while not being invasive. I highly recommend this fantastic and special place to anyone looking to enjoy every minute and every bite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and took a little road trip to Highlands for her birthday and we decided in advance to have lunch at Madison's. We had high expectations and Madison's did not disappoint. The ambience was great, the food was outstanding and the staff was very forthcoming, friendly and attentive. We will be back for other occasions!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Six of us were at OEI for a girl's weekend. We were on an all inclusive package which included 3 meals at Madison's. We never tired of being there. The staff was professional and accommodating as well as personal and friendly. The food and choices were amazing. The atmosphere was comfortable and provided the perfect setting for memorable times at all 3 meals. Thank you Madison's for helping to make our weekend so special.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Chef Timmy created a delicious scallops entree with red Brussels, kale chip! The pimento cheese tasting was presented as we were seated, followed by bread bites , flavorful entrees with exceptional presentation. We concluded our dining with a treat made from pastry chef Vincenzo . Epitome of excellence in dining at Madison's in Old Edwards Inn , Highlands, NC.

Make s reservation well in advance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

A great spot for a gathering of friends. We appreciate the discounts for locals.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Madison's always offers a quality experience. Pleasing atmosphere, smiling faces, delicious food & beverages, good ambience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Enjoyed a stay at Old Edwards Inn and the restaurant, Madisons was the best thing about the stay. Three meals - breakfast, lunch, and dinner - were phenomenal. Highly recommended whether staying at the Inn or not. We will return for lunch or dinner even if hoteling somewhere else.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The server was amazing. Food was good overall. Somethings were amazing and some were just OK? Overall we love Madison's. They have upped their game in the past few years. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

very relaxed atmosphere, romantic setting, great food and perfect service. Added you to my "favorite" places

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wonderful lunch meeting a girlfriend sharing hometown stories and getting to know one another just a bit better. Delightful delicious cuisine, superb attentive service! Madison's is my all time favorite dining in Highlands for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 9, 2017

My husband and I came here for our one year anniversary. Everything was perfect from the warm cozy atmosphere to the friendly and knowledgable staff and the superb food. Couldn't have improved the experience in any way. We were very well taken care of.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was terrific. Meat and fish were very good. What they can do with vegetables was even more impressive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 3, 2017

UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!

Great food - amazing service from Pete - phenomenal wine list!!!

Lamb and feta sausage appetizer - amazing

Ceases salad with fresh withe anchovies - excellent

Filet with creamed greens was buttery and perfect

Double large lamb rack chops with truffle mac n cheese - YUMMMEEEEE!!!!!!!

Highly recommend for a dinner whilst in Highlands.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Madison's is an elegant dining experience, and it never fails to please. There is always a sommelier to assist with wine questions----something that indicates an establishment with fine dining. Their emphasis is often on local, fresh ingredients, and they easily acommodate special dietary requests. I highly recommend Madison's !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very good! Enjoyed food and service! Mimi is wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Madisons is highly recommended for wonderful food and service. Dining there is both charming and a treat. I would not hesitate to take the most critical friend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The place, food, service are all outstanding but we felt "punished" for using Open Table...only ones there, then only a few others arrived before we left. Had no later options when we made reservations 2weeks out. I will skip the OT site in the future when this appears to be the situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Madison's on the first night of our stay at Old Edwards Inn. The atmosphere is very upscale but not stuffy. The service was excellent...friendly, informative, checked on us alot but not too much. The food was delicious as well...all in all, a great dining experience! Highly recommend, especially if you are staying at the inn.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Madison's represents the "gem" of the mountains in Highlands, NC. Overall, it is a good value when one considers the quality of food, service, and ambience. Reservations are important and valued by the staff and they will acknowledge you by name. Food service is not rushed because management wants you to take in an enjoy the environment and your guests. Access to this restaurant is not via four-lane highway. One has to negotiate mountain terrain to arrive. However, you will soon forget the driving challenge because your will be treated to a memorable experience. And, you'll most likely return again as do we.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our server was super awesome. His name was Robin. I loved him!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The services was excellent! The table setting and food was wonderful. Each of us ordered something different and we all liked our meals very much. We had a great time on our little trip to the Highlands with the meal at Madison's was a high point.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Really enjoyed the atmosphere and outstanding service of Madison's on a rainy day in Highlands. Great food even though we only had a simple lunch of soup and salads. Looking forward to our return this spring using an Old Edward's Inn pkg. deal of 3 meals with a hotel room stay.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Very enjoyable evening with excellent cuisine although not quite 5 star, and pricey. Nice touch to allow us to bring in a special bottle wine--$30 corkage fee is fine/typical. Good cocktails. Only mild annoyance was tried to seat 4 of us along hall where moderate foot traffic. After some persistence and wait - not busy at 6 pm. - then seated at wonderful table with a view. Nice young waiter was a little pushy to get us to order but then saw we going at OUR pace and was very nice.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always a nice time at Madison's. The food, wine and service were very good. My husband had the bolognese and I had the guinea hen which were both delicious. It is good value for an excellent meal with a reasonable wine. It is a little cold in the dining room, so wear socks and bring a sweater.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was outstanding! It was our 41st anniversary, and the table was decorated in rose petals. Our server, Penny Jo was so sweet and attentive. Great service!! Can't wait until we return next year!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was fabulous food service and wine. Great experiences

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Our fourth annual trip to Highlands with a meal at Madison's. Lovely lunch with squash soup and salads. Exquiste food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Overall, excellent experience. Food was was wonderful and service was exceptional. Atmosphere was great for dinner with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went for after Holiday lunch, very nice, great food and service was outstanding

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

What Happened?

Out of 6 meals in Highlands recently, this was the only one that was not excellent. The food, which we had enjoyed a year ago (along with their excellent wine list), was sub par. A tri tip sandwich was at least good, but a flat bread was poorly executed. The worst was a chicken with ham sandwich that was bone dry to the point of being inedible and they had a piece of Bentons ham that covered 1/3 of the sandwich...we left 2 of the 3 entrees nearly untouched...no management inquired as to why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A special place for my birthday dinner.

Love the meatloaf....best ever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Exceptional service. Very attentive, caring, informed. Willing to prepare gluten-free breads for a special needs dieter. Food excellently prepared and beautifully presented. Extensive wine list. Sommelier helped select a delicious wine perfectly matched with our meal. Would definitely highly recommend to anyone wanting a first-class dining experience in Highlands, NC.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always great at Madison's! We had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Five stars across the board as usual, as we never get anything less than excellent food & service from Madison's. We brought guests and they thoroughly enjoyed their meals as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Love dining at Madisons. Food is always very good but it is the service that really shines. Can't wait to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Fantastic service and food was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The meat loaf is a house specialty and was outstanding. My wife loved the stripped bass that was on special. Atmosphere was warm and friendly and our waitress was terrific. A great night !

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent service and food. Thank you Celine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Celebrated my husband's birthday...food was good except the waiter forgot to bring me the soup I ordered. And, no birthday dessert was offered even though I had stated on the reservations it was a special occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Madison's will not disappoint, menu, service and food are all second to none. Starting with drinks from the bar through dessert it all was exceptional. My wife had pork loin off the menu and I had halibut from the specials. Whether you're staying at The Old Edward's Inn or just visiting Highlands for the day, don't miss Madison's.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.