About Madison's

445 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Recently awarded the AAA Four-Diamond Award, Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden at the Old Edwards Inn and Spa helps define the dining scene in downtown Highlands. The talented culinary team hand crafts each dish with farm-to-table, sustainable ingredients to bring out the most abundant flavors nature has to offer. A Wine Spectator award-winning restaurant for the past five years with “Best of“ awards for the past two, Madison's wine list features an expansive selection from an extensive wine cellar. Madison’s sommelier—or “Wine Navigator” as he introduces himself—helps with selections. The Private Wine Cellar offers an intimate dining setting for up to 12 guests. Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Reservations are suggested for lunch and dinner. The Wine Garden is open in the warmer months. All major credit cards are accepted.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00 am - 10:00 am; Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm; Dinner Daily: 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 787-2525

Website:
http://www.madisonscuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Hummingbird Lounge on Friday and Saturday evenings from 6 pm to 10 pm.

Catering:
Overseeing the culinary program at Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden, as well as the Rooftop Terrace, Spa Cafe, Pool Cabana and catering, is executive Chef Johannes Klapdohr. Klapdohr says, “The constant research of selecting the finest products in the region, as well as globally, has become my ultimate passion. To nurture, develop and create sustainable, healthy cuisine that is uncompromised and environmentally responsible continues to be the essence of my culinary philosophy."

Executive Chef:
Johannes Klapdohr

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. The Wine Room is a special experience and comes with a handcrafted menu prepared especially for you by our Chef. We offer the chance to design your own perfect culinary experience with our chef. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever. For reservations please contact us.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: 8287872525

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Escape to the Four-Season mountain town of Highlands nestled in the Western North Carolina Mountains for enchanting destination weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, family events, corporate events or any special occasion. With multiple event venues, the Old Edwards full-service professional event staff will help ensure a smooth, flowing, fairytale event. You’ll just feel the memories being made, as you, your family and your friends join together in authentic surroundings where magical moments emerge from every experience. The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever.

Restaurant Photos

Cheese Plate
Fresh seasonal greens, beets, cucumbers, pecans, dried cranberries
Ice cream trio – butter pecan, strawberry rhubarb, raspberry peach
Spicy buttermilk crackers, pimento cheese
Wild striped bass, summer farm vegetables (corn, tomatoes, asparagus, beans, potato)
Duck Confit Sandwich
Roast Beef Crispy Flatbread
Bangers
Edward's Bramble
BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich
Pecan Crusted Trout
Beef Stroganoff Flatbread
2003 Hartford Red Zinfandel
Cardamom Rose
Chai Dog Millionaire
S’mores
Venison
Aerated Foie Gras
Carrot And Apple Soup
Vegetable Bisque

Madison's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Most Booked
Highlands
Best Restaurants in Highlands / Sapphire ›

Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (47)
Fit for Foodies (39)
See All
Notable Wine List (31)
Great for Lunch (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Scenic View (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Historic (4)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very pleasant, good food, very professio ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very pleasant, good food, very professional waiter.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly one of my top -all time- dining ex ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Truly one of my top -all time- dining experiences that from service to the amazing,high level, foodie- esque and southern charm cuisine. I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service staff was wonderful! Special req ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service staff was wonderful! Special request were an automatic response in the affirmative and with outstanding results.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Madison's is an absolute gem. One of th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Madison's is an absolute gem. One of the best restaurants I have ever dined in and I have travelled extensively and found this to be one of the absolute best finds ever.!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every aspect.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding in every aspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went to Madison's for my Birthday and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I went to Madison's for my Birthday and they made it really special. I'm looking forward to going there again next year.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful adult restaurant, lovely staff ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

wonderful adult restaurant, lovely staff and surrounding, ood was very good and reasonablely priced. loved the whole experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at Madison's and had absolutely no complaints. Seated in a comfy booth overlooking Main Street as the day ended, we received excellent attention and a delicious meal! We will definitely go back!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Madison's was nice, great food and atmos ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Madison's was nice, great food and atmosphere. Loved the staff on every level.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience at Madison's was memorabl ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The experience at Madison's was memorable. One of the best I have had recently including dining in Atlanta, Nashville and Palm Beach - all towns with great food scenes. Food, service, ambiance - all excellent.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Top Drawer establishment in quality and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Top Drawer establishment in quality and presentation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've had lunch here on several occasion ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We've had lunch here on several occasions. The service and food are always excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent- beautiful dining and g ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always excellent- beautiful dining and gracious service

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous, rustic-chic restaurant showcas ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Gorgeous, rustic-chic restaurant showcasing North Carolina's native cuisine with a hearty dose of Southern hospitality. I will be sure my husband takes me here in the future for a special meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire staff was very pleasant and a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The entire staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We arrived on time for our reservations and were seated promptly. My wife and I were celebrating a special wedding anniversary, and were greeted with happy anniversary wishes by each employee and also by the manager, who came to our table personally. The food was prepared as requested and our entire meal was very enjoyable. Madison's Restaurant and the Old Edwards Inn staff were very gracious and made our visit a very special treat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not live up to our expectations and ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Did not live up to our expectations and the other reviews. Just average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Outstanding food and atmosphere with imp ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Outstanding food and atmosphere with impeccable service. Not to be missed!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Madison's is our favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Madison's is our favorite restaurant in Highlands. We have a house in town and eat out at least 3 times a week when we are there. We carried 4 friends to dinner last Saturday night for their 1st visit to Highlands. All of the ladies loved their meals, Two chose the trout, my wife had a salad & the crab cakes. Our other guest had the meat loaf. We had an exceptional server who was friendly, knowledgeable and did not hover over us. My wife & I had a mixed drink, our entre, a glass of rose and split a dessert and with the tip it camp to a little over $150. Madison's is a beautiful restaurant

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a lovely dinner, wonderful servic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had a lovely dinner, wonderful service and a great time! We will certainly be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and well designed plates. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent food and well designed plates. Handsome dining room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu is creative with a southern twi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The menu is creative with a southern twist. The decor is inviting. Overall, a very good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous in every way! My favorite dini ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fabulous in every way! My favorite dining spot in Highlands.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of our favorite restauran ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Absolutely one of our favorite restaurants anywhere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing-had my 60th Birthday Lunch with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Amazing-had my 60th Birthday Lunch with my wife and started with a "Sir James Cup" and ended with Shrimp and grits. My partner had the smoked trout BLT and is still talking about it 3 days later! Service and ambience was unreal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. We loved the south Afric ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful food. We loved the south African style lamb sausage starter the most. The wine selection was quite nice as well. As for the quality of the flavoring & food in all, this is often judged by how you feel after the meal. It was clear you seasoned for flavor and not just with salt, which was greatly appreciated the next day when we were pool side in bathing suits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our waiter seemed to be a trainee not a ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our waiter seemed to be a trainee not a regular. Average quality food for a higher price.

Did have a drink in the outdoor Wine Garden which was nice though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always love visiting Highlands and the b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Always love visiting Highlands and the beautiful Old Edwards Inn and Spa. They do an amazing job across the board with quality and level of experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

If you are in Highlands a stay at Old Ed ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

If you are in Highlands a stay at Old Edwards is a must. Dining at Madison's has always been a treat. They hit it in all three areas. Ambiance, excellent food and exceptionally wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Due to food allergies, my wife ordered p ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Due to food allergies, my wife ordered plain grilled fish. She found it to be quite dry and overcooked. When this was mentioned to the waiter he said it was because there was no sauce on it. My meal was duck breast. The meat was fine but the vegetables with it were pretty well overcooked and not very good. However, the blueberry cobbler for dessert was very good.

If you like a snooty restaurant with less than average fare, this is the place for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Wonderful meal--the staff went out of th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful meal--the staff went out of their way to make us feel special. The fresh-baked gluten free bread is insanely good--best I've ever had

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Arby's caliber food in a much nicer sett ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Arby's caliber food in a much nicer setting. When we arrived there was only one other occupied table, a very loud party of 8 (how could 8 people have 3 simultaneous loud conversations for so long?) and we were seated right next to them. Upon realizing we would never be able to have a conversation, we asked for a new table and the atmosphere improved significantly. The service was good except for that inexplicable seating, but the food looked much better on the menu than it came out on the plate. Usually when I choose a restaurant on open table I find food I'd definitely return for, but in this case not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

I love coming to Madison's for the wonde ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I love coming to Madison's for the wonderful setting at the Old Edward's Inn. However, the menu is limited and doesn't have many options for people who don't eat meat or want to eat healthier food. When we visited Madison's for our anniversary, there was only one fish option as they had run out of the other special fish. The chefs are also not accommodating to prepare the dishes to the customers taste. A bit disappointed in our experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We always enjoy Madisons and know we can ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We always enjoy Madisons and know we can count on it for wonderful food and wonderful service in a beautiful setting!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been to Madison's ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My husband and I have been to Madison's many times, breakfast and dinner. We are normally there during the July 4th holiday and some time in the fall. The food and wine have always been excellent and it is normally a relaxing experience. This time was different. The food was good, not great. The Sommelier we have known for many years was gone and so was most of the usual staff. It was very busy and loud with a table filled with kids next to us. The waiter was ok, but not as professional as in the past. Our experience was good, but just not as personalized and special as many visits before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had Supper for my Wife's Birthday and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We had Supper for my Wife's Birthday and the table was covered in Roses. We returned the next night to eat in the Wine Garden on the patio. Both meals were outstanding and the Service was wonderful. We returned again for Breakfast on our final day and it too was marvelous. The Servers were gracious and energetic. We will be staying at the Inn again in August and will certainly eat here again. The restaurant and patio are absolutely gorgeous and romantic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I visited Highlands this ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My husband and I visited Highlands this past week and enjoyed our dinner so much at Madison's the first night we were there, that we had breakfast twice and lunch once (in the Wine Garden) the following two days. The crab cake appetizer and sweet potato vanilla soup were outstanding followed by the Pecan Crusted Springer Mountain Chicken. The herbed turnip and potato gratin, and honey roasted baby carrots and turnips were the perfect flavorful accompaniment to the chicken. Our breakfasts and lunch were equally delicious and the service was outstanding, friendly and attentive. We could not have asked for better dining experiences and are looking forward to a return trip to once again enjoy the cuisine at Madison's.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had dinner with my wife and 11 year ol ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I had dinner with my wife and 11 year old daughter on a Sunday evening. The wine list is superb and the sommelier was charming and helpful, regaling us with stories from his childhood in France. I would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal we had in Highlands! Perfectio ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Best meal we had in Highlands! Perfection! Service and food were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Pete was great The souffle wa ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our waiter Pete was great

The souffle was delishhhhh !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.