Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Madison's

Recently awarded the AAA Four-Diamond Award, Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden at the Old Edwards Inn and Spa helps define the dining scene in downtown Highlands. The talented culinary team hand crafts each dish with farm-to-table, sustainable ingredients to bring out the most abundant flavors nature has to offer.

A Wine Spectator award-winning restaurant for the past five years with “Best of“ awards for the past two, Madison's wine list features an expansive selection from an extensive wine cellar. Madison’s sommelier—or “Wine Navigator” as he introduces himself—helps with selections. The Private Wine Cellar offers an intimate dining setting for up to 12 guests.

Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Reservations are suggested for lunch and dinner. The Wine Garden is open in the warmer months. All major credit cards are accepted.

445 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00 am - 10:00 am; Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm; Dinner Daily: 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 787-2525

Website:
http://www.oldedwardsinn.com/dining

Entertainment:
Live music in the Hummingbird Lounge on Friday and Saturday evenings from 6 pm to 10 pm.

Catering:
Overseeing the culinary program at Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden, as well as the Rooftop Terrace, Spa Cafe, Pool Cabana and catering, is executive Chef Chris Huerta. Huerta says, “The constant research of selecting the finest products in the region, as well as globally, has become my ultimate passion. To nurture, develop and create sustainable, healthy cuisine that is uncompromising and environmentally responsible continues to be the essence of my culinary philosophy."

Executive Chef:
Chris Huerta

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. The Wine Room is a special experience and comes with a handcrafted menu prepared especially for you by our Chef. We offer the chance to design your own perfect culinary experience with our chef. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever. For reservations please contact us.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: (828) 787-2525

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Escape to the Four-Season mountain town of Highlands nestled in the Western North Carolina Mountains for enchanting destination weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, family events, corporate events or any special occasion.

With multiple event venues, the Old Edwards full-service professional event staff will help ensure a smooth, flowing, fairytale event. You’ll just feel the memories being made, as you, your family and your friends join together in authentic surroundings where magical moments emerge from every experience.

The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever.

Madison's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Cozy (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Scenic View (10)
Authentic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fun (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

This was a nice Sunday lunch and the ambiance was great. Service was exceptional and the food was very, very good!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Had lunch while on a mini vacation. I had the chicken salad, it was excellent.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. Great staff, pleasant and helpful.. lovely atmosphere, quiet able to have conversation.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2017

A hurricane had swept through the mountain town during the day. But the staff were all in great form, friendly, attentive, and the chefs were excellent. Madison's is worth every star!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Lovely restaurant. You can be sure if you are taking guests out they will be pleased with their dinner and the lovely hotel/restaurant. Madison’s is part of Old Edwards and is a landmark in Highlands. Definitely a must place to eat and stay while In Highlands. We thougherly enjoyed our evening out that night. Nice wine selection and a varied menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food was amazing as usual. This time they seemed to be understaffed with very few tables occupied. Service was slow

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

After all the hype about Old Edwards Inn we expected to be blown out of the water and dying to come back. Food was mediocre at best and I asked for sweet tea but got unsweet. Neither of my boys even finished their meals which is rare! My daughter and I were unimpressed and left more than half of our plates untouched... soup of the day was puréed as if this were a nursing home dining room and rather tasteless. Very disappointing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Lovely, elegant ambience and excellent food and service. The restaurant was able to adjust menu items to suit my gluten intolerance without cutting back on the quality!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Madison's is an excellent upscale restaurant on the Maine Street in Highlands, NC. The ambiance, service, and food is wonderful! I would highly recommend it .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Waitress was terrible. I used to enjoy going to Madison's. The food was disappointing.. Very little for people with allergies, such as gluten free items. Would not go there again in a hurry. Too many other choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food was delicious and our waiter, Robert, was perfect.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Madisons was great as usual. We met a long time friend for lunch and it was a perfect setting. Food and service were more than we could have asked for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food was really tasty, and the service was amazing. We came for lunch, and we are planning to go back for dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Beyond amazing food and service. The ambiance will delight you and the cuisine is superb. Truly it was our server, Bryan, that took it over the top. This coming from a foodie with extremely high standards. Make plans and go... You will love it!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Lovely setting. Great service. Romantic. Loved it

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We were delighted with our evening at Madison's. Our server, Luke, was excellent. He was knowledgeable and personable. Food was delicious and presented beautifully. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My wife and I have dined at Madison's on several occasions and always enjoyed it. We had guests visiting us in North Carolina for a few days and decided to take them there for dinner. Our visitors are known to be somewhat fanatical about levels of service and attention to detail when dining, yet they were extremely impressed with Madison's - the ambiance, food, and especially the service, which was first class as usual.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Madison's at Old Edwards Inn is great location for people watching outside while enjoying meals. We had a late lunch, trout, BBQ and cocktails. Food was very good; service was friendly and prompt. All in all, was a great way to begin our eclipse viewing trip. Recommend for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We enjoyed our lunch and our delightful waitperson Murphy. The food was different and delicious with a lovely presentation.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Really enjoyed our experience here. Had a drink in the outdoor wine garden on a beautiful evening. Then had dinner in the dining room. They had gluten free bread options which is hard to find and made this celiac happy. Will go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We eat at Madison's every time we are in the Highlands. Always a great dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Have been here many times ; this time disappointed in the menu and the service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Really good all round restaurant- as ever!!!
Just wish they woukd have someone at the entrance to greet and not have u wait 5 mins!!
Not sure what the french guy was doing either?

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The dining experience is what brings us back, again and again. The food is amazing time after time. The staff is like coming home each time we walk through the door. We have a family home in Highland's but we only get to come up maybe 3 or 4 times a year. We are remembered every time we walk through the door! How amazing is that?! We can't say enough positive things about Madison's!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Madison's. Food choices gave us numerous options and was well prepared. Very elegant setting which was nice for Sunday lunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I have a lot of guests visiting me in Highlands. Madison's is always a must for lunch with my house guests. Always consistent and the breads are always superb.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This was our first visit to this great restaurant in Highlands. Food selection was interesting, there's something for everyone. Service was very professional and prompt. Notable wine list. We will definitely come back and recommend to all in the area. Definitely order the lamb sausage and duck breast with a soufflé for dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Our lunch could not have been better!
The food was lovely, the service even better! So delightful to go to a restaurant where the staff is superb!
Bravo.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent Sunday lunch. Fresh food, excellent service. Great chicken salad

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Awesome food, service and hospitality - will return many times in the future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wonderful ambience and fantastic food and service. They made us feel very special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We come here every time we come to Highlands. This restaurant is not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We enjoyed the delicious meal. The local trout was grilled perfectly. Our waiter was very gracious. The decor was lovely and comfortable. We will most definitely will return for a stay at the hotel and meals in this charming town!

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a lovely fifth anniversary dinner date at Madison's. All of our food choices were fabulous and the service impeccable!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wine steward Philippe is always knowledgeable and friendly, a reason to visit Madisons in itself. The Sunburst trout is always crispy and delicious. The duck breast was exceptional and dessert was bananas foster soufflé and was a great end to another fabulous meal at Madisons. The wine recommendations by Philippe and waiter Robert were reasonably priced and were welcomed additions to our meals

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Really interesting menu. Southern inspired but really a bit Continental influenced. Super fresh and manages farm to table sincerely and without pretense. The menu approachable in terms of both food combinations and simplicity. Definitely recommend. Definitely worth a visit if in town or even the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Superb service, delicious cuisine, exceptional vegetables of favs beans with trout, love the nibble of pastry tasting at the finale of dinner! Only Vincenz could create such delicious delicacies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 14, 2017

As always, never disappoints. Excellent food, ambiance and service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very good meal great service Highlands is a great place to go to beat the heat of summer

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.