About Madison's

445 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Recently awarded the AAA Four-Diamond Award, Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden at the Old Edwards Inn and Spa helps define the dining scene in downtown Highlands. The talented culinary team hand crafts each dish with farm-to-table, sustainable ingredients to bring out the most abundant flavors nature has to offer. A Wine Spectator award-winning restaurant for the past five years with “Best of“ awards for the past two, Madison's wine list features an expansive selection from an extensive wine cellar. Madison’s sommelier—or “Wine Navigator” as he introduces himself—helps with selections. The Private Wine Cellar offers an intimate dining setting for up to 12 guests. Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Reservations are suggested for lunch and dinner. The Wine Garden is open in the warmer months. All major credit cards are accepted.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00 am - 10:00 am; Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm; Dinner Daily: 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 787-2525

Website:
http://www.madisonscuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Hummingbird Lounge on Friday and Saturday evenings from 6 pm to 10 pm.

Catering:
Overseeing the culinary program at Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden, as well as the Rooftop Terrace, Spa Cafe, Pool Cabana and catering, is executive Chef Johannes Klapdohr. Klapdohr says, “The constant research of selecting the finest products in the region, as well as globally, has become my ultimate passion. To nurture, develop and create sustainable, healthy cuisine that is uncompromised and environmentally responsible continues to be the essence of my culinary philosophy."

Executive Chef:
Johannes Klapdohr

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. The Wine Room is a special experience and comes with a handcrafted menu prepared especially for you by our Chef. We offer the chance to design your own perfect culinary experience with our chef. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever. For reservations please contact us.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: 8287872525

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Escape to the Four-Season mountain town of Highlands nestled in the Western North Carolina Mountains for enchanting destination weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, family events, corporate events or any special occasion. With multiple event venues, the Old Edwards full-service professional event staff will help ensure a smooth, flowing, fairytale event. You’ll just feel the memories being made, as you, your family and your friends join together in authentic surroundings where magical moments emerge from every experience. The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever.

Restaurant Photos

Cheese Plate
Fresh seasonal greens, beets, cucumbers, pecans, dried cranberries
Ice cream trio – butter pecan, strawberry rhubarb, raspberry peach
Spicy buttermilk crackers, pimento cheese
Wild striped bass, summer farm vegetables (corn, tomatoes, asparagus, beans, potato)
Duck Confit Sandwich
Roast Beef Crispy Flatbread
Bangers
Edward's Bramble
BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich
Pecan Crusted Trout
Beef Stroganoff Flatbread
2003 Hartford Red Zinfandel
Cardamom Rose
Chai Dog Millionaire
S’mores
Venison
Aerated Foie Gras
Carrot And Apple Soup
Vegetable Bisque

Madison's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Highlands
Best Restaurants in Highlands / Sapphire ›

Special Occasion (63)
Romantic (49)
Fit for Foodies (43)
See All
Notable Wine List (36)
Great for Lunch (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Scenic View (17)
Great for Brunch (14)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
539 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The experience at Madison's was memorabl ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

The experience at Madison's was memorable. One of the best I have had recently including dining in Atlanta, Nashville and Palm Beach - all towns with great food scenes. Food, service, ambiance - all excellent.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Top Drawer establishment in quality and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Top Drawer establishment in quality and presentation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've had lunch here on several occasion ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

We've had lunch here on several occasions. The service and food are always excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent- beautiful dining and g ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always excellent- beautiful dining and gracious service

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous, rustic-chic restaurant showcas ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Gorgeous, rustic-chic restaurant showcasing North Carolina's native cuisine with a hearty dose of Southern hospitality. I will be sure my husband takes me here in the future for a special meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire staff was very pleasant and a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The entire staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We arrived on time for our reservations and were seated promptly. My wife and I were celebrating a special wedding anniversary, and were greeted with happy anniversary wishes by each employee and also by the manager, who came to our table personally. The food was prepared as requested and our entire meal was very enjoyable. Madison's Restaurant and the Old Edwards Inn staff were very gracious and made our visit a very special treat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not live up to our expectations and ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Did not live up to our expectations and the other reviews. Just average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Outstanding food and atmosphere with imp ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Outstanding food and atmosphere with impeccable service. Not to be missed!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Madison's is our favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Madison's is our favorite restaurant in Highlands. We have a house in town and eat out at least 3 times a week when we are there. We carried 4 friends to dinner last Saturday night for their 1st visit to Highlands. All of the ladies loved their meals, Two chose the trout, my wife had a salad & the crab cakes. Our other guest had the meat loaf. We had an exceptional server who was friendly, knowledgeable and did not hover over us. My wife & I had a mixed drink, our entre, a glass of rose and split a dessert and with the tip it camp to a little over $150. Madison's is a beautiful restaurant

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a lovely dinner, wonderful servic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had a lovely dinner, wonderful service and a great time! We will certainly be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and well designed plates. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent food and well designed plates. Handsome dining room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu is creative with a southern twi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The menu is creative with a southern twist. The decor is inviting. Overall, a very good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous in every way! My favorite dini ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fabulous in every way! My favorite dining spot in Highlands.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of our favorite restauran ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Absolutely one of our favorite restaurants anywhere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing-had my 60th Birthday Lunch with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Amazing-had my 60th Birthday Lunch with my wife and started with a "Sir James Cup" and ended with Shrimp and grits. My partner had the smoked trout BLT and is still talking about it 3 days later! Service and ambience was unreal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. We loved the south Afric ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful food. We loved the south African style lamb sausage starter the most. The wine selection was quite nice as well. As for the quality of the flavoring & food in all, this is often judged by how you feel after the meal. It was clear you seasoned for flavor and not just with salt, which was greatly appreciated the next day when we were pool side in bathing suits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our waiter seemed to be a trainee not a ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our waiter seemed to be a trainee not a regular. Average quality food for a higher price.

Did have a drink in the outdoor Wine Garden which was nice though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always love visiting Highlands and the b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Always love visiting Highlands and the beautiful Old Edwards Inn and Spa. They do an amazing job across the board with quality and level of experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

If you are in Highlands a stay at Old Ed ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

If you are in Highlands a stay at Old Edwards is a must. Dining at Madison's has always been a treat. They hit it in all three areas. Ambiance, excellent food and exceptionally wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Due to food allergies, my wife ordered p ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Due to food allergies, my wife ordered plain grilled fish. She found it to be quite dry and overcooked. When this was mentioned to the waiter he said it was because there was no sauce on it. My meal was duck breast. The meat was fine but the vegetables with it were pretty well overcooked and not very good. However, the blueberry cobbler for dessert was very good.

If you like a snooty restaurant with less than average fare, this is the place for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Wonderful meal--the staff went out of th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful meal--the staff went out of their way to make us feel special. The fresh-baked gluten free bread is insanely good--best I've ever had

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Arby's caliber food in a much nicer sett ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Arby's caliber food in a much nicer setting. When we arrived there was only one other occupied table, a very loud party of 8 (how could 8 people have 3 simultaneous loud conversations for so long?) and we were seated right next to them. Upon realizing we would never be able to have a conversation, we asked for a new table and the atmosphere improved significantly. The service was good except for that inexplicable seating, but the food looked much better on the menu than it came out on the plate. Usually when I choose a restaurant on open table I find food I'd definitely return for, but in this case not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

I love coming to Madison's for the wonde ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I love coming to Madison's for the wonderful setting at the Old Edward's Inn. However, the menu is limited and doesn't have many options for people who don't eat meat or want to eat healthier food. When we visited Madison's for our anniversary, there was only one fish option as they had run out of the other special fish. The chefs are also not accommodating to prepare the dishes to the customers taste. A bit disappointed in our experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We always enjoy Madisons and know we can ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We always enjoy Madisons and know we can count on it for wonderful food and wonderful service in a beautiful setting!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been to Madison's ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My husband and I have been to Madison's many times, breakfast and dinner. We are normally there during the July 4th holiday and some time in the fall. The food and wine have always been excellent and it is normally a relaxing experience. This time was different. The food was good, not great. The Sommelier we have known for many years was gone and so was most of the usual staff. It was very busy and loud with a table filled with kids next to us. The waiter was ok, but not as professional as in the past. Our experience was good, but just not as personalized and special as many visits before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had Supper for my Wife's Birthday and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We had Supper for my Wife's Birthday and the table was covered in Roses. We returned the next night to eat in the Wine Garden on the patio. Both meals were outstanding and the Service was wonderful. We returned again for Breakfast on our final day and it too was marvelous. The Servers were gracious and energetic. We will be staying at the Inn again in August and will certainly eat here again. The restaurant and patio are absolutely gorgeous and romantic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I visited Highlands this ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My husband and I visited Highlands this past week and enjoyed our dinner so much at Madison's the first night we were there, that we had breakfast twice and lunch once (in the Wine Garden) the following two days. The crab cake appetizer and sweet potato vanilla soup were outstanding followed by the Pecan Crusted Springer Mountain Chicken. The herbed turnip and potato gratin, and honey roasted baby carrots and turnips were the perfect flavorful accompaniment to the chicken. Our breakfasts and lunch were equally delicious and the service was outstanding, friendly and attentive. We could not have asked for better dining experiences and are looking forward to a return trip to once again enjoy the cuisine at Madison's.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had dinner with my wife and 11 year ol ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I had dinner with my wife and 11 year old daughter on a Sunday evening. The wine list is superb and the sommelier was charming and helpful, regaling us with stories from his childhood in France. I would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal we had in Highlands! Perfectio ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Best meal we had in Highlands! Perfection! Service and food were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Pete was great The souffle wa ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our waiter Pete was great

The souffle was delishhhhh !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the trout. I had the trout dinne ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had the trout. I had the trout dinner and my wife had the trout ala carte. Both were mediocre and not the quality we expect from north carolina trout. We have had trout in this area before and it was always fresh and succulent. This was neither. A big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

It is a restaurant where our party of 3 ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

It is a restaurant where our party of 3 dined two nights in a row while staying at the Old Edwards Inn. And we also had a large breakfast there three mornings in a row. Everything was delicious and perfectly cooked each time. Our service was excellent and atmosphere relaxing and beautiful. I live in California and will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dined for lunch on a Saturday. Service ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Dined for lunch on a Saturday. Service is always impeccable. Ordered the smoked trout dip - good, but crackers are 'doughy' and should be something crispier with more flavor. Made the dip almost bland. Also ordered the grilled chicken/ham panini - not much flavor until I added my own mustard. Also ordered the beet salad which was very good. It would only take a few minutes for the chef to actually taste the items leaving the kitchen to see that they need just a little 'something'.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Everyone, especially our server, Nina, ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Everyone, especially our server, Nina, was extremely courteous and friendly. The seating in the sofas/booth was extremely comfortable. The service was prompt and the food delicious. The assortment of breads and the pimento cheese appetizer started things off on a lovely note.

We had absolutely no complaints. It was a great place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Madison's for lunch was a lovely end to ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Madison's for lunch was a lovely end to a fabulous Highlands weekend. The staff was attentive and kind to our well-.behaved one- year-old.

The food was outstanding as well. Beautiful surroundings add to the exceptional experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Surprise

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We came to stay at the inn and made reservations at Madison's. The food was excellent without being overly contrived. The white asparagus soup with trout caviar and poached egg was terrific. We vowed to make the inn a yearly tradition as the hospitality of all of the staff members was exceptional. Highlands is a gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable; there were m ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The service was impeccable; there were multiple wait staff who checked on us in timely ways. The food was exquisite, and the complimentary rackers with pimento cheese and truffles for dessert were a wonderful touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinning experience

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Food was excellent. Great service and atmosphere. Really enjoyed our dinner. Provided that extra touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very enjoyable and memorable! We enjoye ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Very enjoyable and memorable! We enjoyed the surroundings, the staff, the menu, and wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.