About Madison's

445 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Recently awarded the AAA Four-Diamond Award, Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden at the Old Edwards Inn and Spa helps define the dining scene in downtown Highlands. The talented culinary team hand crafts each dish with farm-to-table, sustainable ingredients to bring out the most abundant flavors nature has to offer. A Wine Spectator award-winning restaurant for the past five years with “Best of“ awards for the past two, Madison's wine list features an expansive selection from an extensive wine cellar. Madison’s sommelier—or “Wine Navigator” as he introduces himself—helps with selections. The Private Wine Cellar offers an intimate dining setting for up to 12 guests. Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Reservations are suggested for lunch and dinner. The Wine Garden is open in the warmer months. All major credit cards are accepted.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00 am - 10:00 am; Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm; Dinner Daily: 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 787-2525

Website:
http://www.madisonscuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Hummingbird Lounge on Friday and Saturday evenings from 6 pm to 10 pm.

Catering:
Overseeing the culinary program at Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden, as well as the Rooftop Terrace, Spa Cafe, Pool Cabana and catering, is executive Chef Johannes Klapdohr. Klapdohr says, “The constant research of selecting the finest products in the region, as well as globally, has become my ultimate passion. To nurture, develop and create sustainable, healthy cuisine that is uncompromised and environmentally responsible continues to be the essence of my culinary philosophy."

Executive Chef:
Johannes Klapdohr

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. The Wine Room is a special experience and comes with a handcrafted menu prepared especially for you by our Chef. We offer the chance to design your own perfect culinary experience with our chef. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever. For reservations please contact us.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: 8287872525

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Escape to the Four-Season mountain town of Highlands nestled in the Western North Carolina Mountains for enchanting destination weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, family events, corporate events or any special occasion. With multiple event venues, the Old Edwards full-service professional event staff will help ensure a smooth, flowing, fairytale event. You’ll just feel the memories being made, as you, your family and your friends join together in authentic surroundings where magical moments emerge from every experience. The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever.

Restaurant Photos

Madison's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Value
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Asheville / W. North Carolina
2 More
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Highlands
Best Restaurants in Highlands / Sapphire ›

special occasion (49)
romantic (46)
fit for foodies (35)
See All
notable wine list (26)
great for lunch (20)
great for brunch (19)
scenic view (12)
good for groups (11)
great for outdoor dining (10)
neighborhood gem (9)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
494 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Spectacular!!

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I went to the Old Edwards Inn for a weekend getaway. We had dinner at Madison and enjoyed every-bit of our experience. The dinner and wine menu were spectacular!! Thank you!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I wanted our last night i ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

My husband and I wanted our last night in Highlands to be memorable so after a fabulous Mother's Day brunch at Madisons we decided to return for dinner. Everything was wonderful with only one exception but in our opinion it was an important exception. Our server, while very pleasant rushed us through every course from beginning to end. She literally could not have brought each course and the check out faster. I couldn't tell if they were just wanting to turn the table or if she had been trained (since she was doing her internship there) to move at this speed but unfortunately it impacted our experience as we felt like we had to eat fast and and make room for the next party wanting our table.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our Dinner experience was excellent. Ser ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Our Dinner experience was excellent. Service was very good, food excellent and the setting was beautiful and comfortable. Highly recommend this location when dining in the Highlands.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

The special for the evening was halibut ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The special for the evening was halibut which was wonderful. It was NYC top restaurant level quality.

food3
ambience5
service5

Amazing service.

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Amazing service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceeded my expectations!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Exceeded my expectations!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best in HIghlands

Dined on May 7, 2016

We have a home in Highlands and are there four nights a week most of the year. We have tried all the restaurants, most several times. Madison's stands above the rest. The hotel and the restaurant were built out at the highest quality level, creating a warm, sophisticated ambiance. Food is consistently outstanding, including a nice freeby to start and great jalapeno cornbread rolls. Service is excellent. The wine list is outstanding, though pricey. And there are several killer deserts. Prices are fair for the quality of the experience. It's actually a good place to have a great burger when not in the mood for a fancy meal. Book early. It's always sold out on weekends all summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

A good lunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

We enjoyed our first visit. The lunch menu was good; it was a pleasant dining experience. Our server, Julian, seemed met our needs but was a bit slow in (1) being available, and (2) beinging our orders.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Twice in a weekend

Dined on April 29, 2016

We ate here twice (dinner and brunch) and it was outstanding both times. I really appreciated the fresh, local ingredients and the wonderful atmosphere and wait staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch following an excellent dinne ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great lunch following an excellent dinner. Duck and lamb bollonesse was superb, as was chicken entree. Sommelier was very knoedgeable and helped us pick a great match to our taste (and not the most expensive).

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Food, Just Takes a Long Time

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We have eaten at Madison's a number of times for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Food is always outstanding as it was on this lunch visit. Servers are impeccably trained. One recurring theme though on all visits is it just takes forever to have a meal. Maybe this is by design because people in the area make an entire day or evening of having a meal. But to me over an hour and half for even a leisurely lunch when the reason it took too long isn't that you wanted to talk but the food took that long, is excessive. We had an appetizer, chicken sandwich, pasta dish and dessert but it had to be 20 minutes between courses. We caught on ordering dessert and wouldn't let the very pleasant server leave until we chose something asking for the check at that time as well and also kept her there when she brought it. We weren't looking for fast food by any stretch but this is a recurring theme with all visits we are not fond of.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dining experience at Madison's

Dined on April 16, 2016

We've dined at Madison's dozens of times over the last 6 years and they just keep getting better. The menu is updated frequently to incorporate seasonally relevant food product that is impeccably prepared and presented. The short rib was outstanding, as was the composed sea bass and scallop entree. Chef Chris is taking the menu to new heights and the service was perfect. A "must" visit on every trip for us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Madison's; the best in the Highlands area

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Madison's is my "Go To Place" when everything needs to be just right! The food is exceptional, the wait staff attentive and well trained, the dining room is comfortable, bright and scenic. Excellent wine and it is at the Old Edwards Inn. Treat yourself; take a hike past the hotel reception desk, down the hall and up to the Hummingbird Bar. It is like stepping back in time. Beautifully appointed, with an experienced and knowledgeable bar tender, a delightful place to enjoy a drink and catch up with friends, family or a loved one. Then enjoy a delightful meal at Madison's. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite

Dined on April 11, 2016

We went here for my birthday. The service was personable and professional. I had a fish and scallop dish that was delicious. My husband had a pasta dish that was great. I am gluten intolerant. The gluten free corn bread and gluten free role was such a treat, most restaurants do not have. I have to say, also, that breakfast at the Old Edwards Inn is a great find, also! You must get there before 10 am. (For that matter, lunch is great, too!)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very reasonable prices, excellent food, ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Very reasonable prices, excellent food, service and ambience

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, great attention to detail ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Fabulous food, great attention to detail, would definitely come again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most delicious food EVER!!!

Dined on March 10, 2016

I highly recommend Madison's! Everyone at Madison's makes you feel so special from the moment you walk in the door until the time you leave. First Class atmosphere!!! I have been going to Highlands for many years and Madison's always first on our list for dining.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Madison's is always a great choice for i ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

Madison's is always a great choice for intimate dinner celebrating most anything. On this occasion we were celebrating our 26th wedding anniversary.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food and Service

Dined on March 5, 2016

We dined here for a surprise dinner for my wife. The maitre d' was amazing. He called to confirm our reservation and without me asking he had our table covered with roses, and he gave us the same table we dined at for our engagement dinner. Our server was absolutely perfect. The food was excellent, and we will definitely be coming back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night

Dined on February 21, 2016

A romantic night out was what we had in mind when reserving this restaurant. We enjoyed everything from the upscale atmosphere to the delicious menu. When booking we only had the option to dine at 9pm. It gave us a chance to enjoy the lounge of the hotel. When visiting Highlands we will return again. Service was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful

Dined on February 19, 2016

This was our first time at Madison's but it won't be our last! The food and service were great and setting is perfect for a romantic dinner. The breakfast is very good as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful experience!

Dined on February 6, 2016

My wife and I throughly enjoyed our dinner at Madisons. We appreciated the half wine bottle option so we could enjoy our own choice of beverages. The steak was incredible and my wife said the truffle macaroni was definitely unforgettable. We will be returning soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Madison's

Dined on January 29, 2016

Our experience was so good that we dined at Madison's two nights in a row. Composed seafood special, short rib and pork chop were super tasty. We'll be back on our next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous Food-Service Needs Attention

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food, ambiance were as wonderful as ever. The service was a bit slow and our server apologized twice for the delays.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal, never fails to meet the mark

Dined on January 13, 2016

Close friends joined my wife and I for dinner at Madison's in the Old Edwards Inn. Once again we had a delicious meal with outstanding service. We were greeted as we arrived by a friendly young lady who led us to our table. Being early January, Highlands was empty but sitting in front of a roaring fire and reading at our house was very relaxing. Two of us opted for the Sheephead filet with the Champagne Bland de Blanc sauce. I had started my meal with a Brussels sprout and mushroom soup that warmed me from the 18 degrees that we came inside from. The fish was perfectly done though I would have liked a larger piece. Our server was very courteous and ably answered all of our questions about the items on the menu. We met a delightful family from Venezuela whose 7 year old was celebrating his birthday that were seated next to us. All four of us enjoyed our meal and once again we unanimously said Madison's was our favorite among the many fine restaurants in Highlands.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Edwards an absolute gem

Dined on January 6, 2016

My fiance and I went with friends to celebrate a birthday and our engagement, due to traffic we were slightly late for our reservation. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and they did everything to ensure that we were able to continue our celebration. The food was impeccable, the staff polite and friendly. Accommodation and views are just outstanding. We will certainly be going again, maybe even for my friend's wedding!!! Just brilliant

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for Celebration Dinner

Dined on January 6, 2016

The food was excellent, as usual, and the service was especially good.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Service needs improvement

Dined on January 4, 2016

It pains me to not give Madison's 5 stars because we had such an amazing experience in the past, but this experience was much different. Our server, while very nice, did not have it all together and it really messed up our dining experience. We were all pretty shocked at the difference in our table experience vs the table next to us as we could hear their waiter and what a good job he was doing. Ours messed up our dessert order, left us sitting waiting on water, couldn't get the wine expert to our table, and on and on. The food was outstanding, but the service was unfortunate, especially for the price tag.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great good, stuffy atmosphere

Dined on January 2, 2016

The food was incredible and priced well. The wine selection and corresponding inventory was impressive. The historic inn and restaurant setting is extraordinary, but the atmosphere is quite uncomfortable bordering on inhospitable. Except for our young server, who was extraordinary, we found the staff uptight and stressed. Very stiff atmosphere!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service is always f ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

Outstanding food and service is always found here. It is just a wonderful place to enjoy great food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

We have only had lunch and dinner and en ...

Dined on December 15, 2015

We have only had lunch and dinner and enjoyed both very much. We will go back! The best Old Fashion I've ever had. Great ice cubes!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining at Madisons is always a pleasure

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

It is always a treat to dine at Madisons as the food is excellent and the service standard very high. Add a little holiday decor and spirit of Christmas and it is a perfect holiday treat. Madisons consistently delivers great food and great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Madison's is the bomb!

Dined on December 5, 2015

Madison's is part of the Old Edward's Inn in Highlands...and it's one of those places that just...gets it. We go whenever we are in town(Cashiers just down the road) and it is always, always on point. Terrific food, wonderful surroundings, and excellant service....the troika! This time it was lunch after the Christmas parade...started with their wonderful pmiento cheese and crackers that are to die for (I know you think, some on - crackers?), but seriously, they're that good...more like a pastry than a cracker. The shrimp and grits had this wonderful red gravy, Anson Mills grits of course-the best in the world-, great glass of wine...it was just a truly memorable holiday lunch. You can't go wrong here....

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Stayed at the Old Edwards

Dined on November 21, 2015

So glad we capped off our stay with dinner at Madison's. Great history and a great wine lover's restaurant. Our server was sub-par, but not because he wasn't trying. Fortunately we were able to hear everything our neighboring table's server had to say, which was much more helpful. Tables are a bit too close and getting in and out without bumping the neighbor was a challenge for a 5'10" 160# guy. Overall, we were pleased and would do it again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Madison's for Lunch

Dined on November 21, 2015

We stopped in Highlands for lunch a few days before Thanksgiving. Loved the place and the service was excellent. There were four in our party and we had various sandwiches which were all very good. However we all agreed they were a little bland. Asked for some horseradish sauce to spice it up a little. Would definitely eat here again.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection.

Dined on November 14, 2015

We had a wonderful experience at Madison's! Could not have been more perfect. I accidentally booked our reservation on the wrong night, and they graciously made room for us so we could still enjoy a night out. The service was impeccable and the food was even better. Two thumbs up from two very tired and appreciative parents.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

outstanding in every respect

Dined on November 13, 2015

Madison's has emerged has the finest restaurant in Highlands. It has no weaknesses. The physical setting is the most elegant and inviting in the area by far. The food is excellent as is the service. Once regarded as expensive, prices are now comparable to the other better restaurants nearby and when the freebies are considered (cheese and crackers, great bread selection, brownie for desert), it actually seems like a bargain. wine list is pricey but tolerable if you know what to look for. I usually go for a Spanish red or an Argentine malbec, where wines with 90 plus ratings can usually be found for $50 or less.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent food

vip
Dined on November 11, 2015

We had a celebratory dinner for two at one of our favorite restaurants in Highlands. The food was excellent. The service was good, but there were a few hiccups with our server including not coming by to refill our wine and water glasses and forgetting our bread service. The chefs took great care of us and the manager Charles always makes us feel very welcome and is accommodating. I highly recommend Madison's for a special lunch or dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Super restaurant, fresh food locally grown.

Dined on November 11, 2015

Great view overlooking wine garden, fresh food super service great restaurant for special occasions. Price is equal to other fine restaurants but well worth it.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Madison's was a very lovely dining exper ...

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

Madison's was a very lovely dining experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.