About Madison's

445 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Recently awarded the AAA Four-Diamond Award, Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden at the Old Edwards Inn and Spa helps define the dining scene in downtown Highlands. The talented culinary team hand crafts each dish with farm-to-table, sustainable ingredients to bring out the most abundant flavors nature has to offer. A Wine Spectator award-winning restaurant for the past five years with “Best of“ awards for the past two, Madison's wine list features an expansive selection from an extensive wine cellar. Madison’s sommelier—or “Wine Navigator” as he introduces himself—helps with selections. The Private Wine Cellar offers an intimate dining setting for up to 12 guests. Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Reservations are suggested for lunch and dinner. The Wine Garden is open in the warmer months. All major credit cards are accepted.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00 am - 10:00 am; Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm; Dinner Daily: 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 787-2525

Website:
http://www.madisonscuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Hummingbird Lounge on Friday and Saturday evenings from 6 pm to 10 pm.

Catering:
Overseeing the culinary program at Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden, as well as the Rooftop Terrace, Spa Cafe, Pool Cabana and catering, is executive Chef Johannes Klapdohr. Klapdohr says, “The constant research of selecting the finest products in the region, as well as globally, has become my ultimate passion. To nurture, develop and create sustainable, healthy cuisine that is uncompromised and environmentally responsible continues to be the essence of my culinary philosophy."

Executive Chef:
Johannes Klapdohr

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. The Wine Room is a special experience and comes with a handcrafted menu prepared especially for you by our Chef. We offer the chance to design your own perfect culinary experience with our chef. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever. For reservations please contact us.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: (828) 787-2525

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Escape to the Four-Season mountain town of Highlands nestled in the Western North Carolina Mountains for enchanting destination weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, family events, corporate events or any special occasion. With multiple event venues, the Old Edwards full-service professional event staff will help ensure a smooth, flowing, fairytale event. You’ll just feel the memories being made, as you, your family and your friends join together in authentic surroundings where magical moments emerge from every experience. The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Fresh seasonal greens, beets, cucumbers, pecans, dried cranberries - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Ice cream trio – butter pecan, strawberry rhubarb, raspberry peach - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Spicy buttermilk crackers, pimento cheese - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Wild striped bass, summer farm vegetables (corn, tomatoes, asparagus, beans, potato) - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Cheese Plate - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Duck Confit Sandwich - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Roast Beef Crispy Flatbread - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Bangers - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Edward's Bramble - Madison's, Highlands, NC
BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Pecan Crusted Trout - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Beef Stroganoff Flatbread - Madison's, Highlands, NC
2003 Hartford Red Zinfandel - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Cardamom Rose - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Chai Dog Millionaire - Madison's, Highlands, NC
S’mores - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Venison - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Aerated Foie Gras - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Carrot And Apple Soup - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Vegetable Bisque - Madison's, Highlands, NC

Madison's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Romantic (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Cozy (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Historic (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Scenic View (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (3)
Organic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
608 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed a stay at Old Edwards Inn and th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed a stay at Old Edwards Inn and the restaurant, Madisons was the best thing about the stay. Three meals - breakfast, lunch, and dinner - were phenomenal. Highly recommended whether staying at the Inn or not. We will return for lunch or dinner even if hoteling somewhere else.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server was amazing. Food was good ov ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

The server was amazing. Food was good overall. Somethings were amazing and some were just OK? Overall we love Madison's. They have upped their game in the past few years. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

very relaxed atmosphere, romantic settin ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

very relaxed atmosphere, romantic setting, great food and perfect service. Added you to my "favorite" places

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I came here for our one y ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 9, 2017

My husband and I came here for our one year anniversary. Everything was perfect from the warm cozy atmosphere to the friendly and knowledgable staff and the superb food. Couldn't have improved the experience in any way. We were very well taken care of.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was terrific. Meat and fish were v ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was terrific. Meat and fish were very good. What they can do with vegetables was even more impressive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

UNBELIEVABLE!!!!! Great food - amazing s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 3, 2017

UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!

Great food - amazing service from Pete - phenomenal wine list!!!

Lamb and feta sausage appetizer - amazing

Ceases salad with fresh withe anchovies - excellent

Filet with creamed greens was buttery and perfect

Double large lamb rack chops with truffle mac n cheese - YUMMMEEEEE!!!!!!!

Highly recommend for a dinner whilst in Highlands.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Madison's is an elegant dining experienc ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Madison's is an elegant dining experience, and it never fails to please. There is always a sommelier to assist with wine questions----something that indicates an establishment with fine dining. Their emphasis is often on local, fresh ingredients, and they easily acommodate special dietary requests. I highly recommend Madison's !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good! Enjoyed food and service! Mim ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very good! Enjoyed food and service! Mimi is wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Madisons is highly recommended for wonde ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Madisons is highly recommended for wonderful food and service. Dining there is both charming and a treat. I would not hesitate to take the most critical friend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place, food, service are all outstan ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The place, food, service are all outstanding but we felt "punished" for using Open Table...only ones there, then only a few others arrived before we left. Had no later options when we made reservations 2weeks out. I will skip the OT site in the future when this appears to be the situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful dinner at Madison's o ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Madison's on the first night of our stay at Old Edwards Inn. The atmosphere is very upscale but not stuffy. The service was excellent...friendly, informative, checked on us alot but not too much. The food was delicious as well...all in all, a great dining experience! Highly recommend, especially if you are staying at the inn.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Madison's represents the "gem" of the mo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Madison's represents the "gem" of the mountains in Highlands, NC. Overall, it is a good value when one considers the quality of food, service, and ambience. Reservations are important and valued by the staff and they will acknowledge you by name. Food service is not rushed because management wants you to take in an enjoy the environment and your guests. Access to this restaurant is not via four-lane highway. One has to negotiate mountain terrain to arrive. However, you will soon forget the driving challenge because your will be treated to a memorable experience. And, you'll most likely return again as do we.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was super awesome. His name ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our server was super awesome. His name was Robin. I loved him!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The services was excellent! The table se ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The services was excellent! The table setting and food was wonderful. Each of us ordered something different and we all liked our meals very much. We had a great time on our little trip to the Highlands with the meal at Madison's was a high point.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the atmosphere and outsta ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Really enjoyed the atmosphere and outstanding service of Madison's on a rainy day in Highlands. Great food even though we only had a simple lunch of soup and salads. Looking forward to our return this spring using an Old Edward's Inn pkg. deal of 3 meals with a hotel room stay.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Very enjoyable evening with excellent cu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Very enjoyable evening with excellent cuisine although not quite 5 star, and pricey. Nice touch to allow us to bring in a special bottle wine--$30 corkage fee is fine/typical. Good cocktails. Only mild annoyance was tried to seat 4 of us along hall where moderate foot traffic. After some persistence and wait - not busy at 6 pm. - then seated at wonderful table with a view. Nice young waiter was a little pushy to get us to order but then saw we going at OUR pace and was very nice.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a nice time at Madison's. The foo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always a nice time at Madison's. The food, wine and service were very good. My husband had the bolognese and I had the guinea hen which were both delicious. It is good value for an excellent meal with a reasonable wine. It is a little cold in the dining room, so wear socks and bring a sweater.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was outstanding! It was our 41s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was outstanding! It was our 41st anniversary, and the table was decorated in rose petals. Our server, Penny Jo was so sweet and attentive. Great service!! Can't wait until we return next year!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fabulous food service and wine. G ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was fabulous food service and wine. Great experiences

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our fourth annual trip to Highlands with ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Our fourth annual trip to Highlands with a meal at Madison's. Lovely lunch with squash soup and salads. Exquiste food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, excellent experience. Food was ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Overall, excellent experience. Food was was wonderful and service was exceptional. Atmosphere was great for dinner with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for after Holiday lunch, very nice, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went for after Holiday lunch, very nice, great food and service was outstanding

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What Happened? Out of 6 meals in Highl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

What Happened?

Out of 6 meals in Highlands recently, this was the only one that was not excellent. The food, which we had enjoyed a year ago (along with their excellent wine list), was sub par. A tri tip sandwich was at least good, but a flat bread was poorly executed. The worst was a chicken with ham sandwich that was bone dry to the point of being inedible and they had a piece of Bentons ham that covered 1/3 of the sandwich...we left 2 of the 3 entrees nearly untouched...no management inquired as to why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value4

A special place for my birthday dinner. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A special place for my birthday dinner.

Love the meatloaf....best ever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Exceptional service. Very attentive, ca ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Exceptional service. Very attentive, caring, informed. Willing to prepare gluten-free breads for a special needs dieter. Food excellently prepared and beautifully presented. Extensive wine list. Sommelier helped select a delicious wine perfectly matched with our meal. Would definitely highly recommend to anyone wanting a first-class dining experience in Highlands, NC.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great at Madison's! We had a gre ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always great at Madison's! We had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Five stars across the board as usual, as ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Five stars across the board as usual, as we never get anything less than excellent food & service from Madison's. We brought guests and they thoroughly enjoyed their meals as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love dining at Madisons. Food is always ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Love dining at Madisons. Food is always very good but it is the service that really shines. Can't wait to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and food was wonderful

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Fantastic service and food was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meat loaf is a house specialty and w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The meat loaf is a house specialty and was outstanding. My wife loved the stripped bass that was on special. Atmosphere was warm and friendly and our waitress was terrific. A great night !

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. Thank you Ce ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent service and food. Thank you Celine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my husband's birthday...food ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Celebrated my husband's birthday...food was good except the waiter forgot to bring me the soup I ordered. And, no birthday dessert was offered even though I had stated on the reservations it was a special occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Madison's will not disappoint, menu, ser ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Madison's will not disappoint, menu, service and food are all second to none. Starting with drinks from the bar through dessert it all was exceptional. My wife had pork loin off the menu and I had halibut from the specials. Whether you're staying at The Old Edward's Inn or just visiting Highlands for the day, don't miss Madison's.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Madisons has always been a lovely dining ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Madisons has always been a lovely dining place and experience. We have been a few times over the years.

However my husband and I, and my sister and her husband were celebrating our anniversaries on that day and 3 days before. We told the res people of that special occasion.

Although our waitress was very friendly and attentive in greeting us, she did not acknowledge our occasion. We told her of it ourselves. We were not offered any special item...like maybe a shared dessert or something small.

Also the service was quite spotty in their timing of attention during the whole meal.

My husband ordered the meat loaf and was disappointed. Not very impressive.

The bread that was offered was very good. The pasta bolanesse was good. The salads were very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Serving team and kitchen staff were real ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Serving team and kitchen staff were really great in thier knowledge of gluten free options

We enjoyed 3 creative presentations of delicious trout, shrimp n grits and fish'n chips

Great lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our 22nd anniversary dinner and h ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was our 22nd anniversary dinner and honestly my expectations were very high. The meal portion was very small and it was cold. The service was outstanding but the food was not worth the money and it was very small portions. I don't think I will go back for dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Perfection! We enjoyed every aspect of o ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Perfection! We enjoyed every aspect of our dinner and breakfast experience. The oatmeal was heavenly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Thius was the best restaurant in Highlan ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Thius was the best restaurant in Highlands, North Carolina.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Terrible wait staff. Pretent ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food. Terrible wait staff. Pretentious environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

We were there for an ordinary lunch and ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We were there for an ordinary lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the food and experience. We were courteously seated near a window with a view of the town and "Bier Garten". Waitress was very attentive without being intrusive and the food was excellent. Since it is located in the elegant Old Edwards Inn, we expected it too be costly but was no more than the other nice restaurants in Highlands and less than some.

Altogether a fine experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy, , Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.