About Madison's

445 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Recently awarded the AAA Four-Diamond Award, Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden at the Old Edwards Inn and Spa helps define the dining scene in downtown Highlands. The talented culinary team hand crafts each dish with farm-to-table, sustainable ingredients to bring out the most abundant flavors nature has to offer. A Wine Spectator award-winning restaurant for the past five years with “Best of“ awards for the past two, Madison's wine list features an expansive selection from an extensive wine cellar. Madison’s sommelier—or “Wine Navigator” as he introduces himself—helps with selections. The Private Wine Cellar offers an intimate dining setting for up to 12 guests. Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Reservations are suggested for lunch and dinner. The Wine Garden is open in the warmer months. All major credit cards are accepted.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00 am - 10:00 am; Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm; Dinner Daily: 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 787-2525

Website:
http://www.madisonscuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Hummingbird Lounge on Friday and Saturday evenings from 6 pm to 10 pm.

Catering:
Overseeing the culinary program at Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden, as well as the Rooftop Terrace, Spa Cafe, Pool Cabana and catering, is executive Chef Johannes Klapdohr. Klapdohr says, “The constant research of selecting the finest products in the region, as well as globally, has become my ultimate passion. To nurture, develop and create sustainable, healthy cuisine that is uncompromised and environmentally responsible continues to be the essence of my culinary philosophy."

Executive Chef:
Johannes Klapdohr

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. The Wine Room is a special experience and comes with a handcrafted menu prepared especially for you by our Chef. We offer the chance to design your own perfect culinary experience with our chef. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever. For reservations please contact us.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: 8287872525

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Escape to the Four-Season mountain town of Highlands nestled in the Western North Carolina Mountains for enchanting destination weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, family events, corporate events or any special occasion. With multiple event venues, the Old Edwards full-service professional event staff will help ensure a smooth, flowing, fairytale event. You’ll just feel the memories being made, as you, your family and your friends join together in authentic surroundings where magical moments emerge from every experience. The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever.

Restaurant Photos

Duck Confit Sandwich
Roast Beef Crispy Flatbread
Bangers
Edward's Bramble
BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich
Pecan Crusted Trout
2003 Hartford Red Zinfandel
Beef Stroganoff Flatbread
Cardamom Rose
Chai Dog Millionaire
S’mores
Venison
Carrot And Apple Soup
Aerated Foie Gras
Vegetable Bisque

Madison's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
2 More
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Highlands
Best Restaurants in Highlands / Sapphire ›

special occasion (54)
romantic (48)
fit for foodies (42)
See All
notable wine list (28)
great for lunch (23)
great for brunch (18)
great for outdoor dining (15)
scenic view (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
good for groups (11)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had dinner with my wife and 11 year ol ...

Dined 3 days ago

I had dinner with my wife and 11 year old daughter on a Sunday evening. The wine list is superb and the sommelier was charming and helpful, regaling us with stories from his childhood in France. I would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal we had in Highlands! Perfectio ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Best meal we had in Highlands! Perfection! Service and food were exceptional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Pete was great The souffle wa ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter Pete was great The souffle was delishhhhh !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We had the trout. I had the trout dinne ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

We had the trout. I had the trout dinner and my wife had the trout ala carte. Both were mediocre and not the quality we expect from north carolina trout. We have had trout in this area before and it was always fresh and succulent. This was neither. A big disappointment.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It is a restaurant where our party of 3 ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

It is a restaurant where our party of 3 dined two nights in a row while staying at the Old Edwards Inn. And we also had a large breakfast there three mornings in a row. Everything was delicious and perfectly cooked each time. Our service was excellent and atmosphere relaxing and beautiful. I live in California and will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dined for lunch on a Saturday. Service ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Dined for lunch on a Saturday. Service is always impeccable. Ordered the smoked trout dip - good, but crackers are 'doughy' and should be something crispier with more flavor. Made the dip almost bland. Also ordered the grilled chicken/ham panini - not much flavor until I added my own mustard. Also ordered the beet salad which was very good. It would only take a few minutes for the chef to actually taste the items leaving the kitchen to see that they need just a little 'something'.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone, especially our server, Nina, ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Everyone, especially our server, Nina, was extremely courteous and friendly. The seating in the sofas/booth was extremely comfortable. The service was prompt and the food delicious. The assortment of breads and the pimento cheese appetizer started things off on a lovely note. We had absolutely no complaints. It was a great place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Madison's for lunch was a lovely end to ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Madison's for lunch was a lovely end to a fabulous Highlands weekend. The staff was attentive and kind to our well-.behaved one- year-old. The food was outstanding as well. Beautiful surroundings add to the exceptional experience.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Surprise

Dined on June 10, 2016

We came to stay at the inn and made reservations at Madison's. The food was excellent without being overly contrived. The white asparagus soup with trout caviar and poached egg was terrific. We vowed to make the inn a yearly tradition as the hospitality of all of the staff members was exceptional. Highlands is a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable; there were m ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The service was impeccable; there were multiple wait staff who checked on us in timely ways. The food was exquisite, and the complimentary rackers with pimento cheese and truffles for dessert were a wonderful touch!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dinning experience

Dined on June 8, 2016

Food was excellent. Great service and atmosphere. Really enjoyed our dinner. Provided that extra touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable and memorable! We enjoye ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Very enjoyable and memorable! We enjoyed the surroundings, the staff, the menu, and wine list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful evening in every way. Best sh ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Delightful evening in every way. Best short ribs we've ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Not worth the price

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Very attractive setting and acceptable food. Given the price point we found the service to be less than it should be. Our server was pleasant but was not well trained. She had little idea of what was available from the bar or many details about the menu. Also, we had an early reservation (6 pm) and still waited for a table in a mostly empty dining room. While waiting the hostess asked if we would like a drink which we ordered. We didn't hear anything more about our drinks until we were seated at which point the server told us they didn't have the Scotch my husband had ordered. She then had to go find out which brands they did have. Pace of service was not what it should be either. Waitstaff would come by multiple times in a short period and then not for extended periods. Again I find this to be a training issue as everyone was pleasant. As mentioned, food was ok but not special.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious burgers!

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Of course Madison's is always a good spot for a romantic night out or a special occasion, but if you just want to pop in (with a reservation) for their dinner burger... it is delicious and paired with thinly cut, handmade truffle fries. The new fun and personable som, Phillipe, will find an affordable bottle of wine too to go just right with those burgers.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved Madisons

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

We are considering buying a second home in North Carolina and focusing on the Highlands area. We received great recommendations about the Old Edwards Inn and all of their facilities, including a few great restaurants such as Madison's. We were not disappointed. Everything from the wait staff, the music, the room, the fresh bread and homemade butter, the greats salads, and the steak and fish were all outstanding, it really made our trip so thanks!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Spectacular!!

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I went to the Old Edwards Inn for a weekend getaway. We had dinner at Madison and enjoyed every-bit of our experience. The dinner and wine menu were spectacular!! Thank you!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I wanted our last night i ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

My husband and I wanted our last night in Highlands to be memorable so after a fabulous Mother's Day brunch at Madisons we decided to return for dinner. Everything was wonderful with only one exception but in our opinion it was an important exception. Our server, while very pleasant rushed us through every course from beginning to end. She literally could not have brought each course and the check out faster. I couldn't tell if they were just wanting to turn the table or if she had been trained (since she was doing her internship there) to move at this speed but unfortunately it impacted our experience as we felt like we had to eat fast and and make room for the next party wanting our table.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our Dinner experience was excellent. Ser ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Our Dinner experience was excellent. Service was very good, food excellent and the setting was beautiful and comfortable. Highly recommend this location when dining in the Highlands.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

The special for the evening was halibut ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The special for the evening was halibut which was wonderful. It was NYC top restaurant level quality.

food3
ambience5
service5

Amazing service.

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Amazing service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceeded my expectations!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Exceeded my expectations!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best in HIghlands

Dined on May 7, 2016

We have a home in Highlands and are there four nights a week most of the year. We have tried all the restaurants, most several times. Madison's stands above the rest. The hotel and the restaurant were built out at the highest quality level, creating a warm, sophisticated ambiance. Food is consistently outstanding, including a nice freeby to start and great jalapeno cornbread rolls. Service is excellent. The wine list is outstanding, though pricey. And there are several killer deserts. Prices are fair for the quality of the experience. It's actually a good place to have a great burger when not in the mood for a fancy meal. Book early. It's always sold out on weekends all summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

A good lunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

We enjoyed our first visit. The lunch menu was good; it was a pleasant dining experience. Our server, Julian, seemed met our needs but was a bit slow in (1) being available, and (2) beinging our orders.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Twice in a weekend

Dined on April 29, 2016

We ate here twice (dinner and brunch) and it was outstanding both times. I really appreciated the fresh, local ingredients and the wonderful atmosphere and wait staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch following an excellent dinne ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great lunch following an excellent dinner. Duck and lamb bollonesse was superb, as was chicken entree. Sommelier was very knoedgeable and helped us pick a great match to our taste (and not the most expensive).

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Food, Just Takes a Long Time

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We have eaten at Madison's a number of times for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Food is always outstanding as it was on this lunch visit. Servers are impeccably trained. One recurring theme though on all visits is it just takes forever to have a meal. Maybe this is by design because people in the area make an entire day or evening of having a meal. But to me over an hour and half for even a leisurely lunch when the reason it took too long isn't that you wanted to talk but the food took that long, is excessive. We had an appetizer, chicken sandwich, pasta dish and dessert but it had to be 20 minutes between courses. We caught on ordering dessert and wouldn't let the very pleasant server leave until we chose something asking for the check at that time as well and also kept her there when she brought it. We weren't looking for fast food by any stretch but this is a recurring theme with all visits we are not fond of.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dining experience at Madison's

Dined on April 16, 2016

We've dined at Madison's dozens of times over the last 6 years and they just keep getting better. The menu is updated frequently to incorporate seasonally relevant food product that is impeccably prepared and presented. The short rib was outstanding, as was the composed sea bass and scallop entree. Chef Chris is taking the menu to new heights and the service was perfect. A "must" visit on every trip for us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Madison's; the best in the Highlands area

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Madison's is my "Go To Place" when everything needs to be just right! The food is exceptional, the wait staff attentive and well trained, the dining room is comfortable, bright and scenic. Excellent wine and it is at the Old Edwards Inn. Treat yourself; take a hike past the hotel reception desk, down the hall and up to the Hummingbird Bar. It is like stepping back in time. Beautifully appointed, with an experienced and knowledgeable bar tender, a delightful place to enjoy a drink and catch up with friends, family or a loved one. Then enjoy a delightful meal at Madison's. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite

Dined on April 11, 2016

We went here for my birthday. The service was personable and professional. I had a fish and scallop dish that was delicious. My husband had a pasta dish that was great. I am gluten intolerant. The gluten free corn bread and gluten free role was such a treat, most restaurants do not have. I have to say, also, that breakfast at the Old Edwards Inn is a great find, also! You must get there before 10 am. (For that matter, lunch is great, too!)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very reasonable prices, excellent food, ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Very reasonable prices, excellent food, service and ambience

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, great attention to detail ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Fabulous food, great attention to detail, would definitely come again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most delicious food EVER!!!

Dined on March 10, 2016

I highly recommend Madison's! Everyone at Madison's makes you feel so special from the moment you walk in the door until the time you leave. First Class atmosphere!!! I have been going to Highlands for many years and Madison's always first on our list for dining.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Madison's is always a great choice for i ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

Madison's is always a great choice for intimate dinner celebrating most anything. On this occasion we were celebrating our 26th wedding anniversary.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food and Service

Dined on March 5, 2016

We dined here for a surprise dinner for my wife. The maitre d' was amazing. He called to confirm our reservation and without me asking he had our table covered with roses, and he gave us the same table we dined at for our engagement dinner. Our server was absolutely perfect. The food was excellent, and we will definitely be coming back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night

Dined on February 21, 2016

A romantic night out was what we had in mind when reserving this restaurant. We enjoyed everything from the upscale atmosphere to the delicious menu. When booking we only had the option to dine at 9pm. It gave us a chance to enjoy the lounge of the hotel. When visiting Highlands we will return again. Service was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful

Dined on February 19, 2016

This was our first time at Madison's but it won't be our last! The food and service were great and setting is perfect for a romantic dinner. The breakfast is very good as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful experience!

Dined on February 6, 2016

My wife and I throughly enjoyed our dinner at Madisons. We appreciated the half wine bottle option so we could enjoy our own choice of beverages. The steak was incredible and my wife said the truffle macaroni was definitely unforgettable. We will be returning soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Madison's

Dined on January 29, 2016

Our experience was so good that we dined at Madison's two nights in a row. Composed seafood special, short rib and pork chop were super tasty. We'll be back on our next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous Food-Service Needs Attention

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food, ambiance were as wonderful as ever. The service was a bit slow and our server apologized twice for the delays.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.