About Madison's

445 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Recently awarded the AAA Four-Diamond Award, Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden at the Old Edwards Inn and Spa helps define the dining scene in downtown Highlands. The talented culinary team hand crafts each dish with farm-to-table, sustainable ingredients to bring out the most abundant flavors nature has to offer. A Wine Spectator award-winning restaurant for the past five years with “Best of“ awards for the past two, Madison's wine list features an expansive selection from an extensive wine cellar. Madison’s sommelier—or “Wine Navigator” as he introduces himself—helps with selections. The Private Wine Cellar offers an intimate dining setting for up to 12 guests. Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Reservations are suggested for lunch and dinner. The Wine Garden is open in the warmer months. All major credit cards are accepted.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00 am - 10:00 am; Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm; Dinner Daily: 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 787-2525

Website:
http://www.madisonscuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Hummingbird Lounge on Friday and Saturday evenings from 6 pm to 10 pm.

Catering:
Overseeing the culinary program at Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden, as well as the Rooftop Terrace, Spa Cafe, Pool Cabana and catering, is executive Chef Johannes Klapdohr. Klapdohr says, “The constant research of selecting the finest products in the region, as well as globally, has become my ultimate passion. To nurture, develop and create sustainable, healthy cuisine that is uncompromised and environmentally responsible continues to be the essence of my culinary philosophy."

Executive Chef:
Johannes Klapdohr

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. The Wine Room is a special experience and comes with a handcrafted menu prepared especially for you by our Chef. We offer the chance to design your own perfect culinary experience with our chef. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever. For reservations please contact us.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: 8287872525

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Escape to the Four-Season mountain town of Highlands nestled in the Western North Carolina Mountains for enchanting destination weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, family events, corporate events or any special occasion. With multiple event venues, the Old Edwards full-service professional event staff will help ensure a smooth, flowing, fairytale event. You’ll just feel the memories being made, as you, your family and your friends join together in authentic surroundings where magical moments emerge from every experience. The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever.

Restaurant Photos

Cheese Plate - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Fresh seasonal greens, beets, cucumbers, pecans, dried cranberries - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Ice cream trio – butter pecan, strawberry rhubarb, raspberry peach - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Spicy buttermilk crackers, pimento cheese - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Wild striped bass, summer farm vegetables (corn, tomatoes, asparagus, beans, potato) - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Duck Confit Sandwich - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Roast Beef Crispy Flatbread - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Bangers - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Edward's Bramble - Madison's, Highlands, NC
BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Pecan Crusted Trout - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Beef Stroganoff Flatbread - Madison's, Highlands, NC
2003 Hartford Red Zinfandel - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Cardamom Rose - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Chai Dog Millionaire - Madison's, Highlands, NC
S’mores - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Venison - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Aerated Foie Gras - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Carrot And Apple Soup - Madison's, Highlands, NC
Vegetable Bisque - Madison's, Highlands, NC

Madison's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Cozy (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (9)
Historic (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall, excellent experience. Food was ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Overall, excellent experience. Food was was wonderful and service was exceptional. Atmosphere was great for dinner with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for after Holiday lunch, very nice, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went for after Holiday lunch, very nice, great food and service was outstanding

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What Happened? Out of 6 meals in Highl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

What Happened?

Out of 6 meals in Highlands recently, this was the only one that was not excellent. The food, which we had enjoyed a year ago (along with their excellent wine list), was sub par. A tri tip sandwich was at least good, but a flat bread was poorly executed. The worst was a chicken with ham sandwich that was bone dry to the point of being inedible and they had a piece of Bentons ham that covered 1/3 of the sandwich...we left 2 of the 3 entrees nearly untouched...no management inquired as to why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value4

A special place for my birthday dinner. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A special place for my birthday dinner.

Love the meatloaf....best ever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Exceptional service. Very attentive, ca ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Exceptional service. Very attentive, caring, informed. Willing to prepare gluten-free breads for a special needs dieter. Food excellently prepared and beautifully presented. Extensive wine list. Sommelier helped select a delicious wine perfectly matched with our meal. Would definitely highly recommend to anyone wanting a first-class dining experience in Highlands, NC.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great at Madison's! We had a gre ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always great at Madison's! We had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Five stars across the board as usual, as ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Five stars across the board as usual, as we never get anything less than excellent food & service from Madison's. We brought guests and they thoroughly enjoyed their meals as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love dining at Madisons. Food is always ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Love dining at Madisons. Food is always very good but it is the service that really shines. Can't wait to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The meat loaf is a house specialty and w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The meat loaf is a house specialty and was outstanding. My wife loved the stripped bass that was on special. Atmosphere was warm and friendly and our waitress was terrific. A great night !

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. Thank you Ce ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent service and food. Thank you Celine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my husband's birthday...food ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Celebrated my husband's birthday...food was good except the waiter forgot to bring me the soup I ordered. And, no birthday dessert was offered even though I had stated on the reservations it was a special occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Madison's will not disappoint, menu, ser ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Madison's will not disappoint, menu, service and food are all second to none. Starting with drinks from the bar through dessert it all was exceptional. My wife had pork loin off the menu and I had halibut from the specials. Whether you're staying at The Old Edward's Inn or just visiting Highlands for the day, don't miss Madison's.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Madisons has always been a lovely dining ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Madisons has always been a lovely dining place and experience. We have been a few times over the years.

However my husband and I, and my sister and her husband were celebrating our anniversaries on that day and 3 days before. We told the res people of that special occasion.

Although our waitress was very friendly and attentive in greeting us, she did not acknowledge our occasion. We told her of it ourselves. We were not offered any special item...like maybe a shared dessert or something small.

Also the service was quite spotty in their timing of attention during the whole meal.

My husband ordered the meat loaf and was disappointed. Not very impressive.

The bread that was offered was very good. The pasta bolanesse was good. The salads were very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Serving team and kitchen staff were real ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Serving team and kitchen staff were really great in thier knowledge of gluten free options

We enjoyed 3 creative presentations of delicious trout, shrimp n grits and fish'n chips

Great lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our 22nd anniversary dinner and h ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was our 22nd anniversary dinner and honestly my expectations were very high. The meal portion was very small and it was cold. The service was outstanding but the food was not worth the money and it was very small portions. I don't think I will go back for dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Perfection! We enjoyed every aspect of o ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Perfection! We enjoyed every aspect of our dinner and breakfast experience. The oatmeal was heavenly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Thius was the best restaurant in Highlan ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Thius was the best restaurant in Highlands, North Carolina.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Terrible wait staff. Pretent ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food. Terrible wait staff. Pretentious environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

We were there for an ordinary lunch and ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We were there for an ordinary lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the food and experience. We were courteously seated near a window with a view of the town and "Bier Garten". Waitress was very attentive without being intrusive and the food was excellent. Since it is located in the elegant Old Edwards Inn, we expected it too be costly but was no more than the other nice restaurants in Highlands and less than some.

Altogether a fine experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant, good food, very professio ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very pleasant, good food, very professional waiter.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly one of my top -all time- dining ex ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Truly one of my top -all time- dining experiences that from service to the amazing,high level, foodie- esque and southern charm cuisine. I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service staff was wonderful! Special req ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service staff was wonderful! Special request were an automatic response in the affirmative and with outstanding results.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Madison's is an absolute gem. One of th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Madison's is an absolute gem. One of the best restaurants I have ever dined in and I have travelled extensively and found this to be one of the absolute best finds ever.!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every aspect.

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding in every aspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went to Madison's for my Birthday and ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 2, 2016

I went to Madison's for my Birthday and they made it really special. I'm looking forward to going there again next year.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful adult restaurant, lovely staff ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 28, 2016

wonderful adult restaurant, lovely staff and surrounding, ood was very good and reasonablely priced. loved the whole experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at Madison's and had absolutely no complaints. Seated in a comfy booth overlooking Main Street as the day ended, we received excellent attention and a delicious meal! We will definitely go back!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Madison's was nice, great food and atmos ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Madison's was nice, great food and atmosphere. Loved the staff on every level.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience at Madison's was memorabl ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The experience at Madison's was memorable. One of the best I have had recently including dining in Atlanta, Nashville and Palm Beach - all towns with great food scenes. Food, service, ambiance - all excellent.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Top Drawer establishment in quality and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Top Drawer establishment in quality and presentation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've had lunch here on several occasion ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We've had lunch here on several occasions. The service and food are always excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent- beautiful dining and g ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always excellent- beautiful dining and gracious service

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous, rustic-chic restaurant showcas ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Gorgeous, rustic-chic restaurant showcasing North Carolina's native cuisine with a hearty dose of Southern hospitality. I will be sure my husband takes me here in the future for a special meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire staff was very pleasant and a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The entire staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We arrived on time for our reservations and were seated promptly. My wife and I were celebrating a special wedding anniversary, and were greeted with happy anniversary wishes by each employee and also by the manager, who came to our table personally. The food was prepared as requested and our entire meal was very enjoyable. Madison's Restaurant and the Old Edwards Inn staff were very gracious and made our visit a very special treat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not live up to our expectations and ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Did not live up to our expectations and the other reviews. Just average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Outstanding food and atmosphere with imp ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Outstanding food and atmosphere with impeccable service. Not to be missed!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Madison's is our favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Madison's is our favorite restaurant in Highlands. We have a house in town and eat out at least 3 times a week when we are there. We carried 4 friends to dinner last Saturday night for their 1st visit to Highlands. All of the ladies loved their meals, Two chose the trout, my wife had a salad & the crab cakes. Our other guest had the meat loaf. We had an exceptional server who was friendly, knowledgeable and did not hover over us. My wife & I had a mixed drink, our entre, a glass of rose and split a dessert and with the tip it camp to a little over $150. Madison's is a beautiful restaurant

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a lovely dinner, wonderful servic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had a lovely dinner, wonderful service and a great time! We will certainly be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and well designed plates. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent food and well designed plates. Handsome dining room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.