Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Madison's

Recently awarded the AAA Four-Diamond Award, Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden at the Old Edwards Inn and Spa helps define the dining scene in downtown Highlands. The talented culinary team hand crafts each dish with farm-to-table, sustainable ingredients to bring out the most abundant flavors nature has to offer. A Wine Spectator award-winning restaurant for the past five years with “Best of“ awards for the past two, Madison's wine list features an expansive selection from an extensive wine cellar. Madison’s sommelier—or “Wine Navigator” as he introduces himself—helps with selections. The Private Wine Cellar offers an intimate dining setting for up to 12 guests. Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Reservations are suggested for lunch and dinner. The Wine Garden is open in the warmer months. All major credit cards are accepted.

445 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00 am - 10:00 am; Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm; Dinner Daily: 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 787-2525

Website:
http://www.madisonscuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Hummingbird Lounge on Friday and Saturday evenings from 6 pm to 10 pm.

Catering:
Overseeing the culinary program at Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden, as well as the Rooftop Terrace, Spa Cafe, Pool Cabana and catering, is executive Chef Johannes Klapdohr. Klapdohr says, “The constant research of selecting the finest products in the region, as well as globally, has become my ultimate passion. To nurture, develop and create sustainable, healthy cuisine that is uncompromised and environmentally responsible continues to be the essence of my culinary philosophy."

Executive Chef:
Johannes Klapdohr

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. The Wine Room is a special experience and comes with a handcrafted menu prepared especially for you by our Chef. We offer the chance to design your own perfect culinary experience with our chef. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever. For reservations please contact us.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: (828) 787-2525

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Escape to the Four-Season mountain town of Highlands nestled in the Western North Carolina Mountains for enchanting destination weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, family events, corporate events or any special occasion. With multiple event venues, the Old Edwards full-service professional event staff will help ensure a smooth, flowing, fairytale event. You’ll just feel the memories being made, as you, your family and your friends join together in authentic surroundings where magical moments emerge from every experience. The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever.

Madison's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Quiet Conversation (24)
Romantic (24)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Notable Wine List (14)
Cozy (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Scenic View (6)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Live Music (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Casual (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Really enjoyed our experience here. Had a drink in the outdoor wine garden on a beautiful evening. Then had dinner in the dining room. They had gluten free bread options which is hard to find and made this celiac happy. Will go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We eat at Madison's every time we are in the Highlands. Always a great dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Have been here many times ; this time disappointed in the menu and the service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Really good all round restaurant- as ever!!!
Just wish they woukd have someone at the entrance to greet and not have u wait 5 mins!!
Not sure what the french guy was doing either?

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The dining experience is what brings us back, again and again. The food is amazing time after time. The staff is like coming home each time we walk through the door. We have a family home in Highland's but we only get to come up maybe 3 or 4 times a year. We are remembered every time we walk through the door! How amazing is that?! We can't say enough positive things about Madison's!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Madison's. Food choices gave us numerous options and was well prepared. Very elegant setting which was nice for Sunday lunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I have a lot of guests visiting me in Highlands. Madison's is always a must for lunch with my house guests. Always consistent and the breads are always superb.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This was our first visit to this great restaurant in Highlands. Food selection was interesting, there's something for everyone. Service was very professional and prompt. Notable wine list. We will definitely come back and recommend to all in the area. Definitely order the lamb sausage and duck breast with a soufflé for dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Our lunch could not have been better!
The food was lovely, the service even better! So delightful to go to a restaurant where the staff is superb!
Bravo.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent Sunday lunch. Fresh food, excellent service. Great chicken salad

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Awesome food, service and hospitality - will return many times in the future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wonderful ambience and fantastic food and service. They made us feel very special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We come here every time we come to Highlands. This restaurant is not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We enjoyed the delicious meal. The local trout was grilled perfectly. Our waiter was very gracious. The decor was lovely and comfortable. We will most definitely will return for a stay at the hotel and meals in this charming town!

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a lovely fifth anniversary dinner date at Madison's. All of our food choices were fabulous and the service impeccable!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wine steward Philippe is always knowledgeable and friendly, a reason to visit Madisons in itself. The Sunburst trout is always crispy and delicious. The duck breast was exceptional and dessert was bananas foster soufflé and was a great end to another fabulous meal at Madisons. The wine recommendations by Philippe and waiter Robert were reasonably priced and were welcomed additions to our meals

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Really interesting menu. Southern inspired but really a bit Continental influenced. Super fresh and manages farm to table sincerely and without pretense. The menu approachable in terms of both food combinations and simplicity. Definitely recommend. Definitely worth a visit if in town or even the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Superb service, delicious cuisine, exceptional vegetables of favs beans with trout, love the nibble of pastry tasting at the finale of dinner! Only Vincenz could create such delicious delicacies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 14, 2017

As always, never disappoints. Excellent food, ambiance and service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very good meal great service Highlands is a great place to go to beat the heat of summer

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We loved Madison's. The white asparagus soup was a highlight. Both my trout entree and my husbands hanger steak were delicious and creatively presented. We also shared an order of the truffle mac and cheese. Deliciously decadent! We split a lovely lemon soufflé for dessert. Service is faultless.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 10, 2017

All around wonderful dining experience. The staff were polite and knowledgeable. The food was exquisite.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Our waitress had other duties so we were mostly ignored and had to summon others for service. It wasn't her fault because she was waiting tables outside. She was very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Loved everything about our meal, highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great! As always. We love the service and the food. The scenery is worth everything!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Best meal in Highlands! White asparagus soup was perfect as was local trout. Baked Alaska for desert was a gem!

It was a pleasure to be served by a team of professionals. Gentlemen, a great place to impress your lady!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2017

My mother-in-law and I were mesmerized by Madison's at OEI during the July 4th holiday weekend as we shared intimate conversation over our delicious order of Cherry Chicken Salad. We agreed our decision to make a reservation and dine inside, a part from our usual wine garden al fresco go to, was spot on and a most civilized way to honor and celebrate our great country's birthday. Our exemplary experience was further punctuated by the gracious staff and thoughtful attention to every detail!

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Having been to Madison's numerous occasions and experiencing great service and a focus on fine food , this last visit was terrible. While a busy holiday weekend can explain some of the issues, there is no excuse for a poor wait staff. We drove 2 hours to enjoy a meal - wish we had gone elsewhere given the overall dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

See the TrishaF review below.....I totally agree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Madison's never fails to provide a great meal, at a reasonable price, in one of the most beautiful restaurants. White tablecloths, silver flatware, linen napkins and a crisp, attentive wait staff all add to the feeling of luxury at a moderate price. I wouldn't recommend bringing kids because it is really a grown-ups restaurant , noted for its beautiful architecture, its windows overlooking a landscaped garden with seating and a place for quiet conversation. It is truly a pleasure to dine here. We keep coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Loved everything about it...food...service ...ambiance.......commitment to us as their guest to have a wonderful experience...5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We celebrated our 18th wedding anniversary here and couldn't be more pleased with the entire evening. Everything was outstanding - the food, atmosphere and service. Special thanks to our waiter for the picture taking, the wine steward for our conversation and his suggestions and to Madison's for the overall experience. And, thanks for the special dessert. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Very nice experience. Good food service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Beat shrimp and grits I've ever had. Cool place, very professional and high end!! Old school charm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Quality of food and service was excellent. Portions of food verses price were kind of small.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We have been to Madison's many times and always enjoy the unique and imaginative cuisine. This time we celebrated Father's Day by having lunch with our daughter and her boyfriend in Madison's dining room. We were given a comfortable booth by a window and felt tucked in and buffered from the bustle outside. Our service was attentive but not hovering as our waiter, Mimi, knew how to strike a balance between friendly but unobtrusive. The Chef used seasonal and edible flowers to enliven our plates and each one was beautifully arranged. On the charcuterie plate, there was a fabulous Duck "jerky" paired with a goat cheese and preserve that tickled a new taste bud! This meal managed to live up to the very high standard set by our previous experiences. We will be back!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The service was not perfect. The waiter took care of the women but forgot the men. Once they ordered they got the wrong beer. I ordered the special with scallops and the leeks were very sandy.

Other than that it was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Excellent dinning in a rustic atmosphere. It lives up to its reputation. The staff both in Madison's and the Old Edwards Inn are top notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The service was very slow. The bottle of wine we ordered from the wine list was not in stock. The lettuce on our salads was brown. The chicken was dry and inedible. The shrimp were way undercooked when I specifically asked for spicy and well done! They were plain and I could not eat. We live here. We will not be returning and certainly spread the word at how disappointing the 45th anniversary of our dear friends was!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.