Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Madison's

Recently awarded the AAA Four-Diamond Award, Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden at the Old Edwards Inn and Spa helps define the dining scene in downtown Highlands. The talented culinary team hand crafts each dish with farm-to-table, sustainable ingredients to bring out the most abundant flavors nature has to offer. A Wine Spectator award-winning restaurant for the past five years with “Best of“ awards for the past two, Madison's wine list features an expansive selection from an extensive wine cellar. Madison’s sommelier—or “Wine Navigator” as he introduces himself—helps with selections. The Private Wine Cellar offers an intimate dining setting for up to 12 guests. Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Reservations are suggested for lunch and dinner. The Wine Garden is open in the warmer months. All major credit cards are accepted.

445 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00 am - 10:00 am; Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm; Dinner Daily: 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 787-2525

Website:
http://www.madisonscuisine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the Hummingbird Lounge on Friday and Saturday evenings from 6 pm to 10 pm.

Catering:
Overseeing the culinary program at Madison’s Restaurant and Wine Garden, as well as the Rooftop Terrace, Spa Cafe, Pool Cabana and catering, is executive Chef Johannes Klapdohr. Klapdohr says, “The constant research of selecting the finest products in the region, as well as globally, has become my ultimate passion. To nurture, develop and create sustainable, healthy cuisine that is uncompromised and environmentally responsible continues to be the essence of my culinary philosophy."

Executive Chef:
Johannes Klapdohr

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. The Wine Room is a special experience and comes with a handcrafted menu prepared especially for you by our Chef. We offer the chance to design your own perfect culinary experience with our chef. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever. For reservations please contact us.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: (828) 787-2525

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Escape to the Four-Season mountain town of Highlands nestled in the Western North Carolina Mountains for enchanting destination weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, family events, corporate events or any special occasion. With multiple event venues, the Old Edwards full-service professional event staff will help ensure a smooth, flowing, fairytale event. You’ll just feel the memories being made, as you, your family and your friends join together in authentic surroundings where magical moments emerge from every experience. The Wine Room is the perfect place for a special dinner for 8 to 12 guests. The Wine Room is our actual wine cellar and has an old world charm where you will dine by candlelight in this elegant venue surrounded by some of the world’s best vintages. This Wine Room creates the perfect opportunity to share an evening with friends and family that you will remember forever.

Madison's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Historic (15)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fireplace (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Authentic (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Scenic View (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fun (6)
Healthy (6)
Organic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
642 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was perfect for our Easter celebration. Was just surprised that ham was not offered as it is traditional for Easter . Our server Pete was fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Madison's is located in the Old Edwards Inn (OEI), in Highlands, NC. We drove seven hours from the NC coast to spend three nights at the inn. The first two nights we dined in other restaurants in Highlands which is a lovely mountain town, and while those experiences were fine, our final night's dinner at Madison's made us wish we'd dined there every night. This was our fifth experience dining at a Relais & Chateaux establishment, and Madison's did not disappoint. While their menu changes with the season, do try the superb fois gras stuffed pheasant breast, or the excellent duck a l'orange which was perfect and not cloyingly sweet. If you're a Francophile, you'll also surely enjoy their excellent Sommelier. It was great speaking French with him and discovering our common experiences in France and French west Africa. While I wasn't crazy about the drive up the mountain to get to OEI, Madison's and their sommelier helped make the trip all worthwhile. Definitely worth the trip!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Comfortable quiet table. Excellent tasting food; best of the many restaurants in the Highlands.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our server Sara was outstanding and made the event so special. My mother and I drove over from Young Harris for the afternoon and are we glad that we did! The trout appetizer was out of this world delicious, and our meals (bbq, chicken salad) were excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very much enjoyed our last lunch at Madison's. Great service, quality menu and delicious food. A consistently excellent dining experience!

Tags: Authentic, , , , , , , , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We asked for a table appropriate for a romantic date, as we were on a vacation together as a married couple. They chose a table tucked away in a nook, left a trail of rose petals on our table, and provided the most wonderful experience of our trip. Robert was our server- he had excellent recommendations for both drinks and food! I had a white wine spritzer that was amazing, and my husband had a craft beer. After complimentary spicy crackers and pimento cheese, then complimentary bread, we started with broccoli and cheese soup. Remarkable. Ingredients were separated from the soup itself, which was poured into our bowls at the table, over top of broccoli and puff pastry (which melted in our mouths). Next, we had our entrees- both were superb. Finally, we ordered a chocolate raspberry soufflé with pistachio ice cream- phenomenal. They then brought out tiny truffle cakes (compliments of their pastry chef). Robert had a sparkling personality, but we were cared for by several other staff, including managers, very well. We didn't stop smiling the entire night! We will MOST DEFINITELY be back!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Madison's is a fabulous dining experience in an historic setting - complete with a professional and attentive wait staff, delicious food creatively prepared, and charming ambiance. One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I live on the Gulf Coast and eat a lot of seafood. I had the Sea Bass that was on special and it was outstanding. We look forward to going back next time in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food , service and wonderful time. Would definitely go back when in the area

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Creative specials. Exceptionally prepared with knowledgeable staff. Recommendations by servers were perfect.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very nice for lunch. We went on a Sunday. Our food was very tasty and we enjoyed a white wine spritzer that was very refreshing.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great service, outstanding cuisine, and the location was incredible. A must.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 15, 2017

A great historical place to have a special occasion meal. The menu is very original and not expensive. They have local trout and Pheasant and they were both fresh and the best we have ever had. If your within 50 miles you should have dinner at Madisons.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The experience was great overall. The service was exemplary. All of the servers and sommelier went out of their way to ensure we were pleased with everything we ordered. The food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A delightful experience. Perfect for a luncheon meeting or get-together with friends. The food exceeded our expectations and the ambience is really quite special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I've been to Madison's before and the food was good, but this time it was just not good! I got the ribeye and asked for it medium rare and it was over well done...and lacked taste. I was with 3 other people who's meals were just 'ok'...very underwhelming, especially for the price. Unfortunately it was my birthday and I was pretty bummed to spend $200 on a dinner that wasn't good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was perfect. The place is beautiful and the service amazing. Bryan and the wine advisor were fun and knowledgeable- unique food offerings and the soufflé was the best I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great lunch, as always!! Wonderful service Fresh selections 👍

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Organic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Sea Bass was presented nicely and the service was excellent. My only complaint was the aujus had a very strange taste. Took away from the Sea Bass which would have been wonderful without the sauce the fish set in.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful experience. Luke our waiter was fantastic. Hope to visit again soon

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great atmosphere and good food. Just be prepared for very small portions. Hate paying a lot of money and leaving hungry. Overall was still a great place for special occasions!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We LOVE Madison's and Highly Recommend Madison's to Everyone!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was delicious and the waiter was good but did mess up the payment. We were called at
11:30 pm to get it corrected. But the manager was very apological about the mishap. I would recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very attentive service. Great cocktails and wine. Wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I had a date for lunch at Madison's yesterday and it was a great date! We were greeted warmly by the hostess and staff. Chef Tim Vos came out to say hello as we know him from way back. They sat us at a cozy table for two. We started with the mussels special which was over the top good and may have been the best mussels we have ever eaten. The mussels were very flavorful with a delicate sauce and homemade crostinis. Then we had the always spectacular trout dip and our final course was the caesar salad all paired with a spectacular burgundy. The homemade breads that were served were divine as well as the final butter cookies. Everything was delicious!! Our server was good, but was a little slow with the wine service. We had our food long before we had our wine. All in all, Madison's did an excellent job taking care of us and we thoroughly enjoyed our lunch date.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome food, service, and ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

This was a perfect spot to celebrate a birthday with a romantic dinner. The food was outstanding. Each bite had special flavor and the dishes were prepared with such flair, perfectly and beautifully laid out. Our server, Nikki, was attentive when necessary and very knowledgeable about all aspects of our dinner. The entire staff was pleasant and aware of how best to keep everyone happy while not being invasive. I highly recommend this fantastic and special place to anyone looking to enjoy every minute and every bite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and took a little road trip to Highlands for her birthday and we decided in advance to have lunch at Madison's. We had high expectations and Madison's did not disappoint. The ambience was great, the food was outstanding and the staff was very forthcoming, friendly and attentive. We will be back for other occasions!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Six of us were at OEI for a girl's weekend. We were on an all inclusive package which included 3 meals at Madison's. We never tired of being there. The staff was professional and accommodating as well as personal and friendly. The food and choices were amazing. The atmosphere was comfortable and provided the perfect setting for memorable times at all 3 meals. Thank you Madison's for helping to make our weekend so special.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Chef Timmy created a delicious scallops entree with red Brussels, kale chip! The pimento cheese tasting was presented as we were seated, followed by bread bites , flavorful entrees with exceptional presentation. We concluded our dining with a treat made from pastry chef Vincenzo . Epitome of excellence in dining at Madison's in Old Edwards Inn , Highlands, NC.
Make s reservation well in advance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

A great spot for a gathering of friends. We appreciate the discounts for locals.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Madison's always offers a quality experience. Pleasing atmosphere, smiling faces, delicious food & beverages, good ambience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Enjoyed a stay at Old Edwards Inn and the restaurant, Madisons was the best thing about the stay. Three meals - breakfast, lunch, and dinner - were phenomenal. Highly recommended whether staying at the Inn or not. We will return for lunch or dinner even if hoteling somewhere else.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The server was amazing. Food was good overall. Somethings were amazing and some were just OK? Overall we love Madison's. They have upped their game in the past few years. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

very relaxed atmosphere, romantic setting, great food and perfect service. Added you to my "favorite" places

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wonderful lunch meeting a girlfriend sharing hometown stories and getting to know one another just a bit better. Delightful delicious cuisine, superb attentive service! Madison's is my all time favorite dining in Highlands for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 9, 2017

My husband and I came here for our one year anniversary. Everything was perfect from the warm cozy atmosphere to the friendly and knowledgable staff and the superb food. Couldn't have improved the experience in any way. We were very well taken care of.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was terrific. Meat and fish were very good. What they can do with vegetables was even more impressive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 3, 2017

UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!
Great food - amazing service from Pete - phenomenal wine list!!!
Lamb and feta sausage appetizer - amazing
Ceases salad with fresh withe anchovies - excellent
Filet with creamed greens was buttery and perfect
Double large lamb rack chops with truffle mac n cheese - YUMMMEEEEE!!!!!!!

Highly recommend for a dinner whilst in Highlands.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Madison's is an elegant dining experience, and it never fails to please. There is always a sommelier to assist with wine questions----something that indicates an establishment with fine dining. Their emphasis is often on local, fresh ingredients, and they easily acommodate special dietary requests. I highly recommend Madison's !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.