Madhatter

3.8
417 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Great for Brunch
  • Vibrant Bar Scene

Similar Restaurants

About

Madhatter is an elegant and fun-loving eatery with Alice in Wonderland themed art, serving traditional American fare with a comfort food twist. Appetizer options, such as the spicy Red King's wings, the Thai-spiced shrimp and the Alice's wonder basket combination plate, are whimsical and perfect for sharing. Popular entrée items include the garlic-butter topped steak frites, the barbecue slow-roasted chicken and the beer-battered fish and chips plate. Madhatter also has a delectable sandwich menu, including the Tweedledum burger topped with pulled pork, bacon and fried onions, the build-your-own hotdog and the flavorful blackened grouper fish tacos.

Madhatter keeps the good times going with its dessert options, such as the banana-stuffed crepes and the Hatter's huge sundae served in a giant martini glass.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 2:00am, Friday & Saturday: 10:00am - 3:00am, Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(202) 833-1495
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Located in the heart of Dupont Circle, The Madhatter has something for everyone. From Corporate buyouts to private intimate dinners our unique spaces have all your event needs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Haley: (571) 217-1894
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Dupont Circle South stop on the Redline
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
DJ and dancing Wednesday-Saturday nights beginning at 9pm
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access
What 417 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.8based on all time ratings
3.8
food
3.8
service
3.7
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on February 13, 2016

My experience overall was great despite it took a long time for a server to come to our table just to ask for drinks. I would definitely go again

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 13, 2016

The pictures show the place to be bigger than expected. Dining area is too small and it is mostly bar area. The place and furniture are worned down and uncomfortable. Food and dessert were great, definitely recommend the sundae for dessert.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 7, 2016

Terrible service. Absolutely horrible. The waitress was horrible and never gave me my change. 16$. I guess she decided to keep it herself. Said something about it but it turns up missing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 7, 2016

Very average place for brunch in DuPont Circle. Slow but courteous service. Very so-so food. Not special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2016

Madhatter looked pretty interesting from its description, and I'm glad I went for it! First of all, all the music they played that night was pretty much my iPod music from the ages of 15-18 and I kinda loved it (think Panic! At the Disco, Nirvana and Fall Out Boy).

I have a few bizarre allergies so picked the place for a salad they served that I could eat. Sadly the online menu was out of date and they no longer made it, but the server was very accommodating and asked the chef to make it for me! So kind. He was very attentive and made sure we really enjoyed our meal.

Given the amazing happy hour deals I will definitely be back for the bar!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2016

My best friend and I visited DC for a night and was looking for a cheap happy hour spot. We came across this place and are very happy we did. The happy hour appetizers were all $5 and they have $3 beers and $4 and $5 dollar cocktails.

The food came out fast, we both got 2 apps to split and 2 drinks a piece, split the check and including tipping out very nice bartender still spent less than $20 a person.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 31, 2016

I don't normally write reviews but I am compelled to do it now. I was taking my friend out for a light dinner and read that this was a cool and fun. I have to say I was taken aback that this was the same day as a bar crawl. Loud and obnoxious people blocking the entrance and the opening to the regular tables. The service was good a little pricey for bar food. The server was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 31, 2016

bottomless mimosas for $12?!?! Can't beat that! The servers are fun, energetic & attentive & the food is awesome also. Inexpensive & tasty

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 31, 2016

A friend and I went to the Madhatter for Sunday brunch because bottomless champagne. We both really enjoyed our food. I had the Tostadas Rancheras and she had the chicken and waffles. Our server was very nice. We did occasionally have to wave her down for refills but our glasses generally didn't stay empty for too long. My one real complaint is that they have a DJ come in at 1pm and start blasting music. It brings a lot of energy but it also makes it really difficult to talk. There were a couple times when my throat started to hurt from straining to talk. All in all, I'd probably go back be get there earlier so we can be finishing up when the DJ arrives.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 31, 2016

Good atmosphere until the DJ plugged. Made it impossible to hold a conversation. Also the service was a little lacking but it was busy so that was understandable. Pancakes aren't that great but rest of the food was good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 27, 2015

Came for brunch and really enjoyed the food! The burger wasn't great but the steak burrito, tostada, and hangover cure were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2015

Overall I enjoyed this establishment. The food is great and the staff is very friendly and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2015

MadHatter is a great time! They have a DJ on Sundays on Brunch! The mimosas kept flowing and the appetizer menu has loaded tater tots.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 24, 2015

Great night spot but don't expect seating. I'm not sure why open table has reservations for this resturant after 10 because the remove 90% of there tables around 9pm. Overall the drinks were okay and the food was pretty bland. The Fish Bowl hats are pretty cool though!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 24, 2015

I really enjoy Madhatter, and I find their brunch delicious but generally affordable. I was really disappointed, however, by their seating policy. I was meeting friends for brunch. With significant others, our group totalled 6 people. I planned ahead and made a reservation. As is par for the course in DC, the metro was delayed because of single tracking. Madhatter would not seat us until our ENTIRE party was there. The place was not packed. Our reservation was at 1:45, and we were not seated until 2:30. By that point we only had 30 minutes left on brunch. I will definitely not be choosing Madhatter again for any type of group get together!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2015

This place was amazing over all good service. Food was wonderful. Definitely a 5 Star and will be coming again

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 22, 2015

Overall it's a nice restaurant. My only issue was the food was not hot. My eggs were warms and my waffle was room tempature.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 21, 2015

Although Madhatter's front door is on noisy Connecticut Ave, the outdoor seating is on 18th, which is not terribly busy, making dining here very pleasant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 16, 2015

Our waitress Kat was great. The ambience and food was better than expected!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 16, 2015

Loved the Alice in Wonderland decor. Nice selection for Sunday brunch - drink & food. Great home fries & eggs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 15, 2015

I went to madhatter for a saturday birthday brunch celebration and even though I my reservation amount of people kept changing they were very accomodating. People go there to drink all afternoon and the employees know it so they tend to make sure your cup doesn't get empty if you go for that. Otherwise the food was good and it was a nice place to talk. (I ate outside which was a lot more busy than outside but not extremely loud)

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 7, 2015

Restaurant are serves bar food. Food was barely edible. Drinks tasted like chemicals. There was no one there over 25. I am part of a two-couple group that eats out every week. This is one of the worst restaurants I have been to in Washington DC area. Waitress was pleasant but got drink order wrong, brought the bill before offering us the dessert menu, brought a separate for each person in the group. This is definitely not a place for mature and sophisticated diners.

The rating on Open Table is definitely misleading

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 2, 2015

I do not recommend this restaurant. The service was extremely bad, and the food was mediocre for comparably priced restaurants in the area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 2, 2015

Bacon Mac and cheese was delicious! Should be a regular meal and not an appetizer. Mango margarita tasted fresh and perfect margarita consistency (stayed frozen and smooth, not overly slushy). Beef brisket sandwich was ok but some pieces were crunchy and fatty, and the cole slaw on the sandwich wasn't the greatest. Cute building and loved the Alice in wonderland theme, but it was in a rough part of town and made us slightly uncomfortable. The music is also unnecessarily loud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 2, 2015

I went to the Mad Hatter for brunch for my birthday with my family and as soon as I walked in I immediately fell in love with the ambiance of the place. Our waitress was awesome. The music was great, the food was good and one can't forget about the unlimited mimosas :). I'll definitely be back for brunch again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 19, 2015

Best brunch by far!!! will be back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 19, 2015

I want to love this place. I've only been twice and each time service was questionable. The first time I was with a large group and it took a long time for them to seat us and then fill our orders. I didn't mind the wait time to sit but once seated you would think there were systems in place to then get our food within a reasonable time frame. The food is great when it finally gets to you. I recently went again with my husband and 2 children. We were seated right away (made a reservation). But then we sat and sat and sat. It took 45 minutes for my kids food to finally make it to the table and this was after I complained. I was told that there was a large private party and wait times were slower than normal however I witnessed 3 other tables come in after us yet they all received there food before we did. The manager came over and confessed that our waiter forgot to submit our order and again this large party. Not my problem. Staff up for that. Needless to say they did the right thing and comped our meal. I did leave a tip because the servers were not at fault. Not sure I will go back which is a shame because the French toast is the best. But the service needs improving.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 18, 2015

For a brunch it was very loud. They were playing rap music at 11am. I know it's a college bar at night, but it was a little too much for the morning. Otherwise the food and drinks were good and reasonably priced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 4, 2015

Pretty good prices for brunch. $12 bottomless mimosas. Food was good, not mind blowing, but very tasty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 3, 2015

Had the Fish an chips W/malt vinegar it was yummy. Our Server was Great he had a super personality and was on top of any thing we needed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 28, 2015

This place has an excellent brunch! I was bummed there's no bottomless Bloody Mary deal, but the plethora of hot sauces kinda made up for that. Delicious food, great service, bottomless champagne! Definitely try this place out if you're in the area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2015

MadHatter was a great place for an affordable brunch! I called once to increase the number of people for my reservation and they were able to accommodate the extra people easily! You can't go wrong with bottomless mimosas! Overall, a great way to celebrate your birthday! My only piece of information to others is that in order to be seated, your entire party must be there! I was never notified of this and trying to get 15 people to arrive at the same time is slightly difficult...just a FYI!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 24, 2015

Good brunch, affordable, enjoyed the DJ. Would return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2015

This was my second time visiting Madhatter and both times it was great. The food was amazing and the service was awesome. I had the chicken and waffles this time and it was sooo good. The chicken was golden, crispy, and heavenly! The mimosas were good as well. This just might be my favorite brunch spot!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2015

I went for my birthday brunch for the hangover helper. As usual, it was amazing. I'll definitely be back in the near future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2015

This restaurant has everything you need for a special night out. It is fancy but still has the feel of a sports bar. It has delicious food that is not very expensive at all. The service is great and the food was delivered well before I expected it. Overall great place!! Will definitely visit again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2015

Although waiting a few minutes for the host to return to the stand, my party was promptry seated. The server was friendly, food was great, and the glasses stayed full. I will definitely be returning.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 8, 2015

Went here for a business lunch. The food was surprisingly good. I highly recommend the shrimp tostadas. Amazing. Preferred outdoor seating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2015

The service and the food were both awesome! I love the "Alice in Wonderland" decor. I was a bit disappointed that the "tea party" on the ceiling was in a separate dining area that appeared to be used for private parties. However, it wasn't being used and was able enter and view the ceiling.

The calamari and Thai shrimp appetizers were both good, but the shrimp wad the better of the two. If you love spicy (and I do), you must get the Thai shrimp. I planned to get the "Madhatter pasta", but it wasn't on the menu. I asked about it and our waiter stated that I could have it even though it was no longer t a menu item. It was delicious! I plan to return and try one of the burgers.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2015

The French toast is really some of the best in DC. I don't know what they put on the outside of it, but it's simply amazing!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11