Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Cafe SoleilCafe Soleil
(741)
American | Downtown, District of Columbia
Reserve Now
The Front Page - DCThe Front Page - DC
(590)
American | Dupont Circle, District of Columbia
Reserve Now
The Front Page - VAThe Front Page - VA
(348)
American | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Reserve Now
Shaw's TavernShaw's Tavern
(223)
Contemporary American | Shaw, District of Columbia
Reserve Now
DGS DelicatessenDGS Delicatessen
(392)
American | Dupont Circle, District of Columbia
Reserve Now
ANKARAANKARA
(168)
Turkish | Dupont Circle, District of Columbia
Reserve Now
The GryphonThe Gryphon
(132)
Steakhouse | Dupont Circle, District of Columbia
Reserve Now
Giovanni's TrattuGiovanni's Trattu
(201)
Italian | Dupont Circle, District of Columbia
Reserve Now
i Ricchii Ricchi
(2576)
Italian | Dupont Circle, District of Columbia
Reserve Now
St. Arnold's Mussel Bar - DupontSt. Arnold's Mussel Bar - Dupont
(74)
Seafood | Dupont Circle, District of Columbia
Reserve Now
Tabard InnTabard Inn
(479)
Contemporary American | Dupont Circle, District of Columbia
Reserve Now
Iron Gate Patio & GardenIron Gate Patio & Garden
(153)
Mediterranean | Dupont Circle, District of Columbia
Reserve Now
Firefly - DCFirefly - DC
(2802)
American | Dupont Circle, District of Columbia
Reserve Now
Daily Grill - Downtown DCDaily Grill - Downtown DC
(984)
Steak | Downtown, District of Columbia
Reserve Now
STK - Washington D.C.STK - Washington D.C.
(496)
Steakhouse | Downtown, District of Columbia
Reserve Now

About Madhatter

1321 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Madhatter is an elegant and fun-loving eatery with Alice in Wonderland themed art, serving traditional American fare with a comfort food twist. Appetizer options, such as the spicy Red King's wings, the Thai-spiced shrimp and the Alice's wonder basket combination plate, are whimsical and perfect for sharing. Popular entrée items include the garlic-butter topped steak frites, the barbecue slow-roasted chicken and the beer-battered fish and chips plate. Madhatter also has a delectable sandwich menu, including the Tweedledum burger topped with pulled pork, bacon and fried onions, the build-your-own hotdog and the flavorful blackened grouper fish tacos.

Madhatter keeps the good times going with its dessert options, such as the banana-stuffed crepes and the Hatter's huge sundae served in a giant martini glass.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 2:00am, Friday & Saturday: 10:00am - 3:00am, Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 833-1495

Website:
http://www.madhatterdc.com/

Entertainment:
DJ and dancing Wednesday-Saturday nights beginning at 9pm

Public Transit:
Dupont Circle South stop on the Redline

Private Party Facilities:
Located in the heart of Dupont Circle, The Madhatter has something for everyone. From Corporate buyouts to private intimate dinners our unique spaces have all your event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Haley: 5712171894x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Honey BBQ Wings
Corn and Crab Bisque
Bacon Wrapped Scallops (Detail)
Bacon Wrapped Scallops
Corn Crab Chowder
Cajun Shrimp Pasta
Hot Tea
Veggie Sandwich
Sautéed Spinach
Bread Basket
Calamari Fritti
Beer
Sauvignon Blanc
Bruschetta
pancakes
Sausage Egg And Cheese On a Croissant And Hashbrowns
Wonderland Dog
Burger and Sweet Potato Fries
Pan Seared Scallops
Bmf Burger
Spicy Thai Shrimp
Oyster Lettuce Wraps
Raspberry Delight
Lobster Special
$5 Burger
Hangover Helper
Frozen MangoRita
The White Queen's Bruschetta
Crab Taquitos
The Hangover Helper
Sort By:
Newest
404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My experience overall was great despite ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My experience overall was great despite it took a long time for a server to come to our table just to ask for drinks. I would definitely go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Pictures are not accurate

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The pictures show the place to be bigger than expected. Dining area is too small and it is mostly bar area. The place and furniture are worned down and uncomfortable. Food and dessert were great, definitely recommend the sundae for dessert.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Terrible service. Absolutely horrible. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Terrible service. Absolutely horrible. The waitress was horrible and never gave me my change. 16$. I guess she decided to keep it herself. Said something about it but it turns up missing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Very average place for brunch in DuPont ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Very average place for brunch in DuPont Circle. Slow but courteous service. Very so-so food. Not special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great service, tasty food

 
 (London)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Madhatter looked pretty interesting from its description, and I'm glad I went for it! First of all, all the music they played that night was pretty much my iPod music from the ages of 15-18 and I kinda loved it (think Panic! At the Disco, Nirvana and Fall Out Boy).

I have a few bizarre allergies so picked the place for a salad they served that I could eat. Sadly the online menu was out of date and they no longer made it, but the server was very accommodating and asked the chef to make it for me! So kind. He was very attentive and made sure we really enjoyed our meal.

Given the amazing happy hour deals I will definitely be back for the bar!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOOD IS GREAT AND CHEAP!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

My best friend and I visited DC for a night and was looking for a cheap happy hour spot. We came across this place and are very happy we did. The happy hour appetizers were all $5 and they have $3 beers and $4 and $5 dollar cocktails.

The food came out fast, we both got 2 apps to split and 2 drinks a piece, split the check and including tipping out very nice bartender still spent less than $20 a person.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Bar Please

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I don't normally write reviews but I am compelled to do it now. I was taking my friend out for a light dinner and read that this was a cool and fun. I have to say I was taken aback that this was the same day as a bar crawl. Loud and obnoxious people blocking the entrance and the opening to the regular tables. The service was good a little pricey for bar food. The server was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

bottomless mimosas for $12?!?! Can't bea ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

bottomless mimosas for $12?!?! Can't beat that! The servers are fun, energetic & attentive & the food is awesome also. Inexpensive & tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, decent service, but a bit loud

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

A friend and I went to the Madhatter for Sunday brunch because bottomless champagne. We both really enjoyed our food. I had the Tostadas Rancheras and she had the chicken and waffles. Our server was very nice. We did occasionally have to wave her down for refills but our glasses generally didn't stay empty for too long. My one real complaint is that they have a DJ come in at 1pm and start blasting music. It brings a lot of energy but it also makes it really difficult to talk. There were a couple times when my throat started to hurt from straining to talk. All in all, I'd probably go back be get there earlier so we can be finishing up when the DJ arrives.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Good atmosphere until the DJ plugged. Ma ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Good atmosphere until the DJ plugged. Made it impossible to hold a conversation. Also the service was a little lacking but it was busy so that was understandable. Pancakes aren't that great but rest of the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Came for brunch and really enjoyed the f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Came for brunch and really enjoyed the food! The burger wasn't great but the steak burrito, tostada, and hangover cure were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall I enjoyed this establishment. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Overall I enjoyed this establishment. The food is great and the staff is very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Time!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

MadHatter is a great time! They have a DJ on Sundays on Brunch! The mimosas kept flowing and the appetizer menu has loaded tater tots.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great night spot but don't expect seatin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Great night spot but don't expect seating. I'm not sure why open table has reservations for this resturant after 10 because the remove 90% of there tables around 9pm. Overall the drinks were okay and the food was pretty bland. The Fish Bowl hats are pretty cool though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Great just not for groups

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

I really enjoy Madhatter, and I find their brunch delicious but generally affordable. I was really disappointed, however, by their seating policy. I was meeting friends for brunch. With significant others, our group totalled 6 people. I planned ahead and made a reservation. As is par for the course in DC, the metro was delayed because of single tracking. Madhatter would not seat us until our ENTIRE party was there. The place was not packed. Our reservation was at 1:45, and we were not seated until 2:30. By that point we only had 30 minutes left on brunch. I will definitely not be choosing Madhatter again for any type of group get together!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Mad

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

This place was amazing over all good service. Food was wonderful. Definitely a 5 Star and will be coming again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Critique

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

Overall it's a nice restaurant. My only issue was the food was not hot. My eggs were warms and my waffle was room tempature.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Sitting outside quietly!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

Although Madhatter's front door is on noisy Connecticut Ave, the outdoor seating is on 18th, which is not terribly busy, making dining here very pleasant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waitress Kat was great. The ambience ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

Our waitress Kat was great. The ambience and food was better than expected!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good for Brunch

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

Loved the Alice in Wonderland decor. Nice selection for Sunday brunch - drink & food. Great home fries & eggs.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It was nice

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

I went to madhatter for a saturday birthday brunch celebration and even though I my reservation amount of people kept changing they were very accomodating. People go there to drink all afternoon and the employees know it so they tend to make sure your cup doesn't get empty if you go for that. Otherwise the food was good and it was a nice place to talk. (I ate outside which was a lot more busy than outside but not extremely loud)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is a bar not a restaurant.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

Restaurant are serves bar food. Food was barely edible. Drinks tasted like chemicals. There was no one there over 25. I am part of a two-couple group that eats out every week. This is one of the worst restaurants I have been to in Washington DC area. Waitress was pleasant but got drink order wrong, brought the bill before offering us the dessert menu, brought a separate for each person in the group. This is definitely not a place for mature and sophisticated diners.

The rating on Open Table is definitely misleading

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Bacon Mac and cheese was delicious! Shou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

Bacon Mac and cheese was delicious! Should be a regular meal and not an appetizer. Mango margarita tasted fresh and perfect margarita consistency (stayed frozen and smooth, not overly slushy). Beef brisket sandwich was ok but some pieces were crunchy and fatty, and the cole slaw on the sandwich wasn't the greatest. Cute building and loved the Alice in wonderland theme, but it was in a rough part of town and made us slightly uncomfortable. The music is also unnecessarily loud.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I do not recommend this restaurant. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

I do not recommend this restaurant. The service was extremely bad, and the food was mediocre for comparably priced restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Brunch at Mad Hatter

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

I went to the Mad Hatter for brunch for my birthday with my family and as soon as I walked in I immediately fell in love with the ambiance of the place. Our waitress was awesome. The music was great, the food was good and one can't forget about the unlimited mimosas :). I'll definitely be back for brunch again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best brunch by far!!! will be back!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

Best brunch by far!!! will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Conflicted

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

I want to love this place. I've only been twice and each time service was questionable. The first time I was with a large group and it took a long time for them to seat us and then fill our orders. I didn't mind the wait time to sit but once seated you would think there were systems in place to then get our food within a reasonable time frame. The food is great when it finally gets to you. I recently went again with my husband and 2 children. We were seated right away (made a reservation). But then we sat and sat and sat. It took 45 minutes for my kids food to finally make it to the table and this was after I complained. I was told that there was a large private party and wait times were slower than normal however I witnessed 3 other tables come in after us yet they all received there food before we did. The manager came over and confessed that our waiter forgot to submit our order and again this large party. Not my problem. Staff up for that. Needless to say they did the right thing and comped our meal. I did leave a tip because the servers were not at fault. Not sure I will go back which is a shame because the French toast is the best. But the service needs improving.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

For a brunch it was very loud. They were ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

For a brunch it was very loud. They were playing rap music at 11am. I know it's a college bar at night, but it was a little too much for the morning. Otherwise the food and drinks were good and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Pretty good prices for brunch. $12 botto ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

Pretty good prices for brunch. $12 bottomless mimosas. Food was good, not mind blowing, but very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

YUM

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

Had the Fish an chips W/malt vinegar it was yummy. Our Server was Great he had a super personality and was on top of any thing we needed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

This place has an excellent brunch! I wa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

This place has an excellent brunch! I was bummed there's no bottomless Bloody Mary deal, but the plethora of hot sauces kinda made up for that. Delicious food, great service, bottomless champagne! Definitely try this place out if you're in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

MadHatter was a great place for an affor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 14, 2015

MadHatter was a great place for an affordable brunch! I called once to increase the number of people for my reservation and they were able to accommodate the extra people easily! You can't go wrong with bottomless mimosas! Overall, a great way to celebrate your birthday! My only piece of information to others is that in order to be seated, your entire party must be there! I was never notified of this and trying to get 15 people to arrive at the same time is slightly difficult...just a FYI!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good brunch

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

Good brunch, affordable, enjoyed the DJ. Would return.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Definitely check this spot out!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

This was my second time visiting Madhatter and both times it was great. The food was amazing and the service was awesome. I had the chicken and waffles this time and it was sooo good. The chicken was golden, crispy, and heavenly! The mimosas were good as well. This just might be my favorite brunch spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

I went for my birthday brunch for the hangover helper. As usual, it was amazing. I'll definitely be back in the near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

This restaurant has everything you need for a special night out. It is fancy but still has the feel of a sports bar. It has delicious food that is not very expensive at all. The service is great and the food was delivered well before I expected it. Overall great place!! Will definitely visit again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

Although waiting a few minutes for the host to return to the stand, my party was promptry seated. The server was friendly, food was great, and the glasses stayed full. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun Lunch Spot

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2015

Went here for a business lunch. The food was surprisingly good. I highly recommend the shrimp tostadas. Amazing. Preferred outdoor seating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Alice would love it here!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 1, 2015

The service and the food were both awesome! I love the "Alice in Wonderland" decor. I was a bit disappointed that the "tea party" on the ceiling was in a separate dining area that appeared to be used for private parties. However, it wasn't being used and was able enter and view the ceiling.

The calamari and Thai shrimp appetizers were both good, but the shrimp wad the better of the two. If you love spicy (and I do), you must get the Thai shrimp. I planned to get the "Madhatter pasta", but it wasn't on the menu. I asked about it and our waiter stated that I could have it even though it was no longer t a menu item. It was delicious! I plan to return and try one of the burgers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 26, 2015

The French toast is really some of the best in DC. I don't know what they put on the outside of it, but it's simply amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.