About Mader's German Restaurant

1037 N Old World 3rd St
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

At Mader's German Restaurant, you'll get the best ethnic German cuisine that Wisconsin has to offer. Our menus are filled with ethnic dishes that raise the standards of fine dining in Milwaukee. Not many restaurants in the Milwaukee area have as much history as Mader’s. You’ll dine amid a stunning $3 million dollar collection of art, suits of medieval armour and antiques dating back to the 14th century. Browse through our menus, and you will be inclined to make a reservation to experience why Mader's Restaurant continues to be ranked among the top restaurants in Milwaukee, Wisconsin throughout the years.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
German, American

Hours of Operation:

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Old World 3rd St. and Highland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 271-3377

Website:
http://www.madersrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Mader's catering is recognized for creating lavish or traditional dinners, sure to dazzle guests for celebrations of all sizes and occasions. Mader's catering can provide for any affair from gala cocktail receptions, elegant dinner parties, to large tent events accommodating from 35 to 2000 guests

Parking Details:
Mader's German Restaurant offers complimentary valet parking for you and your guests. The valet lot is located right next to our restaurant for your convenience.

Executive Chef:
Lucas Wenthur

Private Party Facilities:
Mader’s German Restaurant has been preparing for your visit since 1902 so that no matter what the occasion, we are fully focused on exceeding your expectations. Whether it's an intimate group or a lavish party, the unrivaled attention of our staff assures you and your guests a memorable experience. Please feel free to contact us to start planning your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Niland: 4142713377x228

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mader's German Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Great for Lunch (14)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Romantic (8)
Historic (8)
Authentic (7)
Great Beer (7)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Casual (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Private Room (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great restaurant! I highlly recommend t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great restaurant! I highlly recommend this restaurant. Great food.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Old fashioned German Restaurant. B ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great Old fashioned German Restaurant. Beautiful décor and great authentic German food. Wait staff is fantastic, friendly and helpful.

Tags: Cozy, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and beer were good but somehow ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food and beer were good but somehow they lost our open table reservation. Luckily it was for 6 pm and were able to get us in (party of 6). If it was later, we would have waited a long time.

Tags: Great Beer, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

No small wonder they've been around for ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

No small wonder they've been around for over a hundred years -- deservedly so! What's the German equivalent of "Grande Dame" of German restaurants in Milwaukee? Teutonic atmosphere and wait-staff uniforms greet you. I can attest to the very high quality of the pork shank. So glad I had it! Split it with my wife who ordered the wonderful spaetzle mac n cheese. Our party of 8 wolfed down the oversized pretzel and the sausage & cheese board as starters. In addition to the wonderful selection of German beers on tap, the wine drinkers among us found some acceptable selections. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The veal schnitzel was divine

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The veal schnitzel was divine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mader's is one of our favorite restauran ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Mader's is one of our favorite restaurants to visit when in Milwaukee. Their food is delicious and the server was very consciousness. Even the valet is quick and courteous. My only complaint is that the bartender had no clue how to make an apple martini. This was disappointing as I have previously visited and had experienced one of the best martinis ever.

Hopefully this will be remedied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress Sara gave great recommendat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our waitress Sara gave great recommendations.... Chicken schnitzle, spaetzle, and red cabbage great also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and atmosphere. Was the highl ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Was the highlight of our weekend in Milwaukee

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is incredible. It is the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This restaurant is incredible. It is the most famous German restaurant in America. My parents brought me for dinner when I was visiting. I recommend the Pork Shank or the Sauerbraten. My dad couldn't get enough of the Sauerbraten!

YUM!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worthy of its reputation. We had read th ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Worthy of its reputation. We had read the reviews and had heard of all the famous celebrities who have dined at Mader's over the years, but in the end, it's all about the food and the setting, both of which were excellent. The atmosphere is charming, perhaps a bit overdone, but the food is very good and the portions large. Not the best restaurant in Milwaukee, but if you enjoy traditional German food, this is the place for you. Very good beer list, and outstanding side dishes.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food great atmosphere

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was very good and the food was g ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was very good and the food was good. I felt it was a bit on the pricey side for the type of food served and the ambience is too kitschy for my taste, but my client chose it. We did have a good time, and the staff could not have been nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The food was ok, but the smoked pork was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was ok, but the smoked pork was really, REALLY salty! The spätzle though was great and beer was good solid German beer, I just wish I had gotten the wiener snitzel!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Awesome decor and feel. Good food, not t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Awesome decor and feel. Good food, not terribly unique but well-done.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Tried out Mader's and were very pleased. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Tried out Mader's and were very pleased. Great German food really neat atmosphere made you feel like you were in Germany! Highly recommend it!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner was excellent and we had an i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our dinner was excellent and we had an incredible server. My husband had the Ritter Schnitzel and I ordered the Sauerbraten. Both of these dishes were out of this world. Of course, we had to order the liver dumpling soup which was absolutely delicious. It is difficult to find good German restaurants but Mader's is definitely an excellent German restaurant. I grew up in Chicago so really appreciate the dinner we had at Mader's. This was fun and brought back great memories. Looking forward to our next visit.

Thank you to your entire staff.

Rosemarie

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation and it was worth i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We made a reservation and it was worth it to do so! After we were seated for dinner the restaurant and bar got very busy, and I can see why! The service was excellent, we had a knowledgable and helpful waiter who made spot-on recommendations. Our food was fantastic and so were our drinks. We went to an event at the Bradley Center after, and parking was included with our meal which was a surprise perk! I would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys traditional German food and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite German restaurant in the US. G ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Favorite German restaurant in the US. Great German meal, though way too much food. Should consider sharing some plates with others.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic. Restaurant was clean ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was fantastic. Restaurant was clean. Host and hostess where great. Food server was just ok. Having eaten there before I knew what great service they have. Slightly disappointed, but not enough to stop me from going back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

All if not more than expected. Definitel ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

All if not more than expected. Definitely going back. I hope with the whole family

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten at Mader's many times over ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We have eaten at Mader's many times over the years. The food is always wonderful. We are not in a position to judge if it is authentic German or not but it certainly seems that way and it is delicious. The pork shank is the best thing on the menu IMO. We always end up with a to-go box and enjoy it again the next day. I have tried the German Chocolate cake and it was dry and had limited flavor. On the other hand the Apple Strudel was wonderful if you have time to wait. So our recommendation is to order the Apple Strudel when your food arrives. It is that good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Service and quality of food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service and quality of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful family dinner with th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had a wonderful family dinner with three generations, love Mader's we try to go every year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Still the best place for authentic Germa ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Still the best place for authentic German food in Milwaukee. Lots of history on the walls

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This classic old German restaurant has h ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This classic old German restaurant has hosted many celebrities over the last 100 or so years. The beer list is excellent and the menu is full of the typical German fare. They are a little under staffed so don't expect the best service. Still a worthwhile spot however.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

I had hoped to replicate the food I had ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I had hoped to replicate the food I had enjoyed during my 2 years in Germany. It did not compare; however, neither has any other American German restaurant. The Octoberfest beer was excellent. My waiter, a first generation Columbian college senior, was super. I was NOT transported back to Germany gastronomically, however, I guess that is to be expected in the USA. The interior of the restaurant is very attractive. All in all, it was a nice evening for the celebration of our 64th anniversary.

No, I would not repeat it.

Sincerely yours,

Norman L. Pedelty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Excellent taste and even bought the stei ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent taste and even bought the stein to take home!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We dined here during downtown dining. The restaurant didn't have my open table reservation, but we were quickly seated. The sauerbraten was excellent as always, and the service was great, despite the restaurant being at capacity. I would definitely recommend maders to anyone who likes some good German food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Lunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This is a old school German food. The salad and Schnitzel were very good with the portion size large enough so some could be taken home. The staff was very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant Week hit

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We had not been to Mader's in years, but we ate there with friends during Restaurant Week in Milwaukee. It was a great value for lunch. The sauerbraten was delicious and we'll go back for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic sunday brunch

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

we came for the Sunday Brunch and it was a feast! Delicious german meal and desserts!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time. The food was excellen ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Our first time. The food was excellent. Our server, Mary, was outstanding. I shall return. For sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an interesting location and menu! A ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

What an interesting location and menu! A great experience and excellent service from our server Mary. It's fantastic to find such an authentic ethnic restaurant in today's world of chain restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fun evening. A bit expensive but food wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Fun evening. A bit expensive but food was good, service was prompt & friendly, fun atmosphere with a group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Authentic German Fare

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Mader's has been an iconic German restaurant in Milwaukee for many years, and appeals to locals as well as tourists. As one-time Milwaukeeans, we have eaten there a number of times through the years,and have never been disappointed. At our most recent visit, we chose our favorite entrees, wienerschnitzel and sauerbraten.Both were delicious and served in large portions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a special drive to go to Mader's ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We made a special drive to go to Mader's. The restaurant is something to see with a great collection of fun stuff to look at. The food, however, was disappointing. We had just dined at a new German gastropub in Madison, where we live, the weekend before, and I have to say that the food there was a lot better than Mader's, and less costly. Service was ok, and bartender was great, but for the prices of the food, I expected something more than what we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Maders is always favorite, we love bring ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Maders is always favorite, we love bringing out of town guests!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

this is german food at its best.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

The oxtail soup was meaty. The pork shank was fall off the bone tender and the apple strudel (made to order give 20 minutes) was crispy and saucy which made it wonderful. Decor was nice but not over the top. Easy to see why it is a favorite with Presidents and entertainers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best German Cuisine and Beer....so Authentic!!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Traveling in the area, we were told to try Madar's. We did make a reservation which was good because this place gets very busy. A very nice selection of German beers and wines. The Spaten Octoberfest was a big favorite. The best ever. Meals were unbelievable. Bavarian Platter, Sauerbraten and Wienerschnitzel. Outstanding. The pretzel bread was so so good. Too bad there was no room for dessert as we were told the apple strudel was to die for. Well, maybe next time. There must be a next time!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great taste of Germany

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

It's been a few years since I've been to Mader's and this time I brought a bunch of people from out of town. IT was a wonderful experience and gave them all a great taste of quality German food and fantastic hospitality that is part of the Milwaukee restaurant scene. Make sure you start with the classic Pretzel, but the real gems are the pork dishes! I hope to go back soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.