About Mader's German Restaurant

1037 N Old World 3rd St
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

At Mader's German Restaurant, you'll get the best ethnic German cuisine that Wisconsin has to offer. Our menus are filled with ethnic dishes that raise the standards of fine dining in Milwaukee. Not many restaurants in the Milwaukee area have as much history as Mader’s. You’ll dine amid a stunning $3 million dollar collection of art, suits of medieval armour and antiques dating back to the 14th century. Browse through our menus, and you will be inclined to make a reservation to experience why Mader's Restaurant continues to be ranked among the top restaurants in Milwaukee, Wisconsin throughout the years.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
German, American

Hours of Operation:

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Old World 3rd St. and Highland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 271-3377

Website:
http://www.madersrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Mader's catering is recognized for creating lavish or traditional dinners, sure to dazzle guests for celebrations of all sizes and occasions. Mader's catering can provide for any affair from gala cocktail receptions, elegant dinner parties, to large tent events accommodating from 35 to 2000 guests

Parking Details:
Mader's German Restaurant offers complimentary valet parking for you and your guests. The valet lot is located right next to our restaurant for your convenience.

Executive Chef:
Lucas Wenthur

Private Party Facilities:
Mader’s German Restaurant has been preparing for your visit since 1902 so that no matter what the occasion, we are fully focused on exceeding your expectations. Whether it's an intimate group or a lavish party, the unrivaled attention of our staff assures you and your guests a memorable experience. Please feel free to contact us to start planning your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Niland: (414) 271-3377 ext. 228

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mader's German Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (17)
Great Beer (15)
Authentic (15)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Romantic (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fireplace (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
207 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a pleasure to stop in at Maders b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always a pleasure to stop in at Maders before a Bucks game. Great staff, super bar tenders, tasty food and super historic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated in a back room of the res ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were seated in a back room of the restaurant where the ambiance is reduced. Our table top rocked whenever anyone touched it. The waitress was pleasant but not very attentive. It took her quite awhile to check back with us regarding second beverages. Our food was tasty but seemed to take a long time to come to us. The soup would have been better if it was hotter. Our experience was just ok. Given Maders reputation I was expecting more. Perhaps it was an "off" night. We will try it once more to see if this was the case.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

If you like German food dining at Mader' ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

If you like German food dining at Mader's is a must.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Epic place...authentic food from the Fat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Epic place...authentic food from the Fatherland. Would totally recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal of sauerbraten as recom ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a great meal of sauerbraten as recommended by our waitress. My spouse had the goulash which was wonderful also. We will probably switch our choices the next time we go, and there will be a next time. Enjoyed every bite and dessert was wonderful also. Don't miss Mader's if you enjoyed good German food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

THIS, folks, is why Milwaukee exists . . ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

THIS, folks, is why Milwaukee exists . . . . plain and simple. The food is German, real German, that Americans can eat (mushroom, beef strudel, Kassler's Ripchen, and the best Sauerbraten in the Midwest). I must also say that the service was outstanding. We had one head server for a family table of ten who made us all feel welcomed and special. The food was served by various servers as it became ready . . . there was nothing we wanted that didn't instantly appear.

The best restaurant experience I have had in years . . . . and I live here.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. Great food, fabulo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fantastic experience. Great food, fabulous service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, friendly and efficient staff ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food, friendly and efficient staff. Allison was our server & she was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service and ambience aren't ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food, service and ambience aren't what they used to be. Has Maders gone corporate? Be careful! Look what happened to Karl Ratzsch's.

How I long for the good old days when these restaurants were the very best Milwaukee had to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was fantastic and the food was e ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Service was fantastic and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Escellent authentic German cuisine serve ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Escellent authentic German cuisine served in an Old World atmosphere of stained glass and armor. Portions large enough to provide a second meal.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great traditional German food. The best ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great traditional German food. The best in downtown Milwaukee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there after a concert at Bradley Ct ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Went there after a concert at Bradley Ctr. Its just short walk. We did have reservations and were seated immediately upon arrival. We have dined there several times. Always a great meal. Would recommend the lamb or steak. Desserts are great alson

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was wonderful The wait staff w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was wonderful

The wait staff were all friendly and helpful. I like their costumes and the decorations that made me feel like being in Germany-- Gemütlicheit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A wonderful place to dine. The food was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A wonderful place to dine. The food was of the German flavor with old world charm. Our waiter in Lederhosen was very knowledgeable and went over the menu with explanation upon our request. The decor is heavy German motif with Humbles, Steins, and Wood Carving. The bar has ample seating set in a traditional German beer hall with heavy iron clad lamps hanging from the ceiling. The food was EXCELLENT. Presentation was superb. I enjoyed the beef and mushroom strudel which accented the flavor of cinnamon and allspice. My partner had Weiner Schnitzel ala Holstein which was done superbly. They do have an extensive beer and wine selection. Thank you Maders for a wonderful food experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meals were well prepared and served ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The meals were well prepared and served hot & in a timely fashion. The water glasses were worn out (cloudy) from the dishwasher so YUK, who drinks public H2O anyway.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to Mader's before the Trans-Siberia ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went to Mader's before the Trans-Siberian Orchestra for brunch. The kids loved the brunch and the atmosphere. Everything was very tasty and the desserts were fantastic. Vintage dress for the staff straight from Germany, outstanding!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Be aware Sunday is brunch only (we didn' ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Be aware Sunday is brunch only (we didn't know that when we made our reservation). It was under $25 including mimosa's and juices. Fabulous array of breakfast and lunch items, great service!

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rueben rolls are the best

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Rueben rolls are the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and nice large portions. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very good food and nice large portions. A little bit on the pricier side but worth it. The waitress was very prompt and nice. Overall there were no issues.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was very attentive. I would n ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our server was very attentive. I would not order the Pinot Noir by the bottle it wasn't of the highest quality for a 4 or 5 star restaurant. Hostess also helped with Christmas Group reservation

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was enthusiastic and informat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our server was enthusiastic and informative. The food was spectacular. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch/lunch reasonable price wit ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great brunch/lunch reasonable price with German inspired foods.

Very good, salad bar great, awesome main course with lots of desserts.

We had a very good waiter as well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were a group of 15 and had reconfirme ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were a group of 15 and had reconfirmed our reservation. We had a private area, which was nice, and I didn't see that there was another big group before us. Yet, we had to wait 20 mins to be seated and another 20 mins before we had wine glasses (empty) brought to the table. We were close to walking out but decided to say something to the hostess. After that, it was the best service ever! Orders were taken, food was served quickly and drinks refilled as soon as glasses were empty. The food was very good - best pork shank ever, Wiener schnitzel was a bit thick, goulash was hearty, sausage platter was outstanding (minus the giant potato ball). Next time, we'll go at 5 pm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I haven't been to this restaurant for mo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I haven't been to this restaurant for more than 20 years. It hasn't changed much which was a good thing. It has kept it's great food and atmosphere. I also see that the Hofbrau is trying to compete with their restaurant a few doors away. Mader's is a Milwaukee original and they are hard to beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing- lousy service and th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Very disappointing- lousy service and the food is just ok. I'd expected a great meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

I have been going to Mader's for 60 year ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I have been going to Mader's for 60 years. It has always been wonderful. We booked a reservation for 6:15. Upon arrival, the reservation was acknowledged but it took a search of the restaurant by the hostess to find a table in the corner at the very end of the second room. The waitress was harried and the service slow although we had ordered the specials of the house. When our entrees arrived, they were room temperature. We had tickets for an event and would have had ample time to have the food reheated and have dessert, but the wait had been so long, that there was time for neither and we had to go. We had driven from Chicago for a special evening and Mader's is frequently our dining destination in that City. Needless to say, after all these many years of good experiences, this was unfortunate, especially with a tab of over $50 per person, including tax and tip. We'll go back and try again. Hopefully, this one time will not be indicative of a decline in overall service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Went to have dinner before a Bucks game. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went to have dinner before a Bucks game. Everything was well done.. atmosphere, service, food and just 1 block to the game. valeted the car when I arrived and picked it up after game.

Only comment was perhaps too much dressing on house salad.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We haven't been there in years, the food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We haven't been there in years, the food was as excellent as we remember and our wine was very good, too. They serve a warm pretzel bread loaf and it was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fun place, great service, lovely authent ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Fun place, great service, lovely authentic good food, definitely on the heavy side so don't eat all day before you go! Nice wine selection and fun cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Solid favorite for wonderful German fare ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Solid favorite for wonderful German fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we arrived, the restaurant didn't h ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

When we arrived, the restaurant didn't have our OpenTable reservation for 7 for brunch. I showed them the confirmation email and they figured it all out without any issues.

Our waitress immediately started us off with our bottomless mimosas and Oktoberfest beers. The only complaint was my wife's Bloody Mary which tasted like pure unsalted tomato juice and no vodka. She ate the condiments and could only stomach a few sips.

Overall though, everything was really good and the food was great! Eggs Benedict on pretzel buns, assorted meats & cheeses, peel and eat shrimp, oh my! There was 10 hot chafing dishes of authentic German fare featuring Sauerbraten, red cabbage, wursts, spaetzel, and Hungarian goulash.

There was an action station with an omelette/egg bar, waffle bar and chef carved beef tenderloin. Plenty of food and variety for everyone's palate.

The dessert station had all kinds of sweets but the standout was the house made apple strudel.

The history of the place is impressive and their art collection is really cool to see.

We had a wonderful time with our family and would definitely recommend it to others.

The valet parking is very convenient as well.

Prost!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

In Milwaukee on business. My wife and I ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

In Milwaukee on business. My wife and I had Sunday Brunch here - it was fantastic. The food was excellent (and abundant!), the service was attentive and very friendly, and the price was very reasonable. We enjoyed it so much we returned the following Sunday before leaving Milwaukee.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great German beer choices at the bar wit ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great German beer choices at the bar with a very generous time frame for Happy Hour prices. Atmosphere was great (you feel like you're in an oldService was excellent. I believe Mary was our waitress; She was attentive, personable and very pleasant. Great selection of german meal choices; had a hard time picking just one! Ordered the pretzel appetizer (one served our whole table of 6).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really fun venue. Food was very good. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Really fun venue. Food was very good. The atmosphere is fun and special. Not somewhere you would go frequently as the food is very heavy German food. But as a special place to go with a group of friends, it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was pretty quiet at lunch ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The restaurant was pretty quiet at lunch on Saturday. Service was attentive and the food was pretty good. We shared a sampler platter and each of the three dishes were well prepared and tasted good. The pretzel bread loaf was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent authentic German meal!! I wo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Excellent authentic German meal!! I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an excellent meal in the downtown Milwaukee area.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, great ambiance, went for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fantastic food, great ambiance, went for my wife's birthday dinner and had a wonderful experience

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was just a bit underwhelmed overall -- d ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Was just a bit underwhelmed overall -- definitely worth the visit and the food was very good . Our table was in the far back room; next time, I would ask to be seated closer to the front -- the back room lighting is a bit too bright, the room too narrow, and just not the comfort or atmosphere that would make the evening great. Our server was okay -- a bit on the pushy side to take an order and a bit unclear in answering questions about the drinks and the wine but knew the food very well. All in all -- you should go when in Milwaukee -- just get the table in a room nicer than the back room.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant! I highlly recommend t ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great restaurant! I highlly recommend this restaurant. Great food.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.