About Mader's German Restaurant

1037 N Old World 3rd St
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

At Mader's German Restaurant, you'll get the best ethnic German cuisine that Wisconsin has to offer. Our menus are filled with ethnic dishes that raise the standards of fine dining in Milwaukee. Not many restaurants in the Milwaukee area have as much history as Mader’s. You’ll dine amid a stunning $3 million dollar collection of art, suits of medieval armour and antiques dating back to the 14th century. Browse through our menus, and you will be inclined to make a reservation to experience why Mader's Restaurant continues to be ranked among the top restaurants in Milwaukee, Wisconsin throughout the years.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
German, American

Hours of Operation:

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Old World 3rd St. and Highland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 271-3377

Website:
http://www.madersrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Mader's catering is recognized for creating lavish or traditional dinners, sure to dazzle guests for celebrations of all sizes and occasions. Mader's catering can provide for any affair from gala cocktail receptions, elegant dinner parties, to large tent events accommodating from 35 to 2000 guests

Parking Details:
Mader's German Restaurant offers complimentary valet parking for you and your guests. The valet lot is located right next to our restaurant for your convenience.

Executive Chef:
Lucas Wenthur

Private Party Facilities:
Mader’s German Restaurant has been preparing for your visit since 1902 so that no matter what the occasion, we are fully focused on exceeding your expectations. Whether it's an intimate group or a lavish party, the unrivaled attention of our staff assures you and your guests a memorable experience. Please feel free to contact us to start planning your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Niland: 4142713377x228

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mader's German Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (16)
Authentic (14)
Great Beer (12)
See All
Comfort Food (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Romantic (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server was very attentive. I would n ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server was very attentive. I would not order the Pinot Noir by the bottle it wasn't of the highest quality for a 4 or 5 star restaurant. Hostess also helped with Christmas Group reservation

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was enthusiastic and informat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our server was enthusiastic and informative. The food was spectacular. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch/lunch reasonable price wit ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great brunch/lunch reasonable price with German inspired foods.

Very good, salad bar great, awesome main course with lots of desserts.

We had a very good waiter as well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were a group of 15 and had reconfirme ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were a group of 15 and had reconfirmed our reservation. We had a private area, which was nice, and I didn't see that there was another big group before us. Yet, we had to wait 20 mins to be seated and another 20 mins before we had wine glasses (empty) brought to the table. We were close to walking out but decided to say something to the hostess. After that, it was the best service ever! Orders were taken, food was served quickly and drinks refilled as soon as glasses were empty. The food was very good - best pork shank ever, Wiener schnitzel was a bit thick, goulash was hearty, sausage platter was outstanding (minus the giant potato ball). Next time, we'll go at 5 pm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I haven't been to this restaurant for mo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I haven't been to this restaurant for more than 20 years. It hasn't changed much which was a good thing. It has kept it's great food and atmosphere. I also see that the Hofbrau is trying to compete with their restaurant a few doors away. Mader's is a Milwaukee original and they are hard to beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing- lousy service and th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Very disappointing- lousy service and the food is just ok. I'd expected a great meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

I have been going to Mader's for 60 year ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I have been going to Mader's for 60 years. It has always been wonderful. We booked a reservation for 6:15. Upon arrival, the reservation was acknowledged but it took a search of the restaurant by the hostess to find a table in the corner at the very end of the second room. The waitress was harried and the service slow although we had ordered the specials of the house. When our entrees arrived, they were room temperature. We had tickets for an event and would have had ample time to have the food reheated and have dessert, but the wait had been so long, that there was time for neither and we had to go. We had driven from Chicago for a special evening and Mader's is frequently our dining destination in that City. Needless to say, after all these many years of good experiences, this was unfortunate, especially with a tab of over $50 per person, including tax and tip. We'll go back and try again. Hopefully, this one time will not be indicative of a decline in overall service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Went to have dinner before a Bucks game. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went to have dinner before a Bucks game. Everything was well done.. atmosphere, service, food and just 1 block to the game. valeted the car when I arrived and picked it up after game.

Only comment was perhaps too much dressing on house salad.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We haven't been there in years, the food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We haven't been there in years, the food was as excellent as we remember and our wine was very good, too. They serve a warm pretzel bread loaf and it was delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fun place, great service, lovely authent ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Fun place, great service, lovely authentic good food, definitely on the heavy side so don't eat all day before you go! Nice wine selection and fun cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

When we arrived, the restaurant didn't h ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

When we arrived, the restaurant didn't have our OpenTable reservation for 7 for brunch. I showed them the confirmation email and they figured it all out without any issues.

Our waitress immediately started us off with our bottomless mimosas and Oktoberfest beers. The only complaint was my wife's Bloody Mary which tasted like pure unsalted tomato juice and no vodka. She ate the condiments and could only stomach a few sips.

Overall though, everything was really good and the food was great! Eggs Benedict on pretzel buns, assorted meats & cheeses, peel and eat shrimp, oh my! There was 10 hot chafing dishes of authentic German fare featuring Sauerbraten, red cabbage, wursts, spaetzel, and Hungarian goulash.

There was an action station with an omelette/egg bar, waffle bar and chef carved beef tenderloin. Plenty of food and variety for everyone's palate.

The dessert station had all kinds of sweets but the standout was the house made apple strudel.

The history of the place is impressive and their art collection is really cool to see.

We had a wonderful time with our family and would definitely recommend it to others.

The valet parking is very convenient as well.

Prost!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

In Milwaukee on business. My wife and I ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

In Milwaukee on business. My wife and I had Sunday Brunch here - it was fantastic. The food was excellent (and abundant!), the service was attentive and very friendly, and the price was very reasonable. We enjoyed it so much we returned the following Sunday before leaving Milwaukee.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great German beer choices at the bar wit ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great German beer choices at the bar with a very generous time frame for Happy Hour prices. Atmosphere was great (you feel like you're in an oldService was excellent. I believe Mary was our waitress; She was attentive, personable and very pleasant. Great selection of german meal choices; had a hard time picking just one! Ordered the pretzel appetizer (one served our whole table of 6).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really fun venue. Food was very good. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Really fun venue. Food was very good. The atmosphere is fun and special. Not somewhere you would go frequently as the food is very heavy German food. But as a special place to go with a group of friends, it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was pretty quiet at lunch ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The restaurant was pretty quiet at lunch on Saturday. Service was attentive and the food was pretty good. We shared a sampler platter and each of the three dishes were well prepared and tasted good. The pretzel bread loaf was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent authentic German meal!! I wo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Excellent authentic German meal!! I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an excellent meal in the downtown Milwaukee area.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, great ambiance, went for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fantastic food, great ambiance, went for my wife's birthday dinner and had a wonderful experience

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was just a bit underwhelmed overall -- d ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Was just a bit underwhelmed overall -- definitely worth the visit and the food was very good . Our table was in the far back room; next time, I would ask to be seated closer to the front -- the back room lighting is a bit too bright, the room too narrow, and just not the comfort or atmosphere that would make the evening great. Our server was okay -- a bit on the pushy side to take an order and a bit unclear in answering questions about the drinks and the wine but knew the food very well. All in all -- you should go when in Milwaukee -- just get the table in a room nicer than the back room.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant! I highlly recommend t ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great restaurant! I highlly recommend this restaurant. Great food.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Old fashioned German Restaurant. B ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great Old fashioned German Restaurant. Beautiful décor and great authentic German food. Wait staff is fantastic, friendly and helpful.

Tags: Cozy, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and beer were good but somehow ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food and beer were good but somehow they lost our open table reservation. Luckily it was for 6 pm and were able to get us in (party of 6). If it was later, we would have waited a long time.

Tags: Great Beer, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

No small wonder they've been around for ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 2, 2016

No small wonder they've been around for over a hundred years -- deservedly so! What's the German equivalent of "Grande Dame" of German restaurants in Milwaukee? Teutonic atmosphere and wait-staff uniforms greet you. I can attest to the very high quality of the pork shank. So glad I had it! Split it with my wife who ordered the wonderful spaetzle mac n cheese. Our party of 8 wolfed down the oversized pretzel and the sausage & cheese board as starters. In addition to the wonderful selection of German beers on tap, the wine drinkers among us found some acceptable selections. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The veal schnitzel was divine

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The veal schnitzel was divine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mader's is one of our favorite restauran ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Mader's is one of our favorite restaurants to visit when in Milwaukee. Their food is delicious and the server was very consciousness. Even the valet is quick and courteous. My only complaint is that the bartender had no clue how to make an apple martini. This was disappointing as I have previously visited and had experienced one of the best martinis ever.

Hopefully this will be remedied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress Sara gave great recommendat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our waitress Sara gave great recommendations.... Chicken schnitzle, spaetzle, and red cabbage great also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and atmosphere. Was the highl ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Was the highlight of our weekend in Milwaukee

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is incredible. It is the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2016

This restaurant is incredible. It is the most famous German restaurant in America. My parents brought me for dinner when I was visiting. I recommend the Pork Shank or the Sauerbraten. My dad couldn't get enough of the Sauerbraten!

YUM!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worthy of its reputation. We had read th ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Worthy of its reputation. We had read the reviews and had heard of all the famous celebrities who have dined at Mader's over the years, but in the end, it's all about the food and the setting, both of which were excellent. The atmosphere is charming, perhaps a bit overdone, but the food is very good and the portions large. Not the best restaurant in Milwaukee, but if you enjoy traditional German food, this is the place for you. Very good beer list, and outstanding side dishes.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food great atmosphere

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was very good and the food was g ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was very good and the food was good. I felt it was a bit on the pricey side for the type of food served and the ambience is too kitschy for my taste, but my client chose it. We did have a good time, and the staff could not have been nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The food was ok, but the smoked pork was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was ok, but the smoked pork was really, REALLY salty! The spätzle though was great and beer was good solid German beer, I just wish I had gotten the wiener snitzel!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Awesome decor and feel. Good food, not t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Awesome decor and feel. Good food, not terribly unique but well-done.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Tried out Mader's and were very pleased. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Tried out Mader's and were very pleased. Great German food really neat atmosphere made you feel like you were in Germany! Highly recommend it!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner was excellent and we had an i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our dinner was excellent and we had an incredible server. My husband had the Ritter Schnitzel and I ordered the Sauerbraten. Both of these dishes were out of this world. Of course, we had to order the liver dumpling soup which was absolutely delicious. It is difficult to find good German restaurants but Mader's is definitely an excellent German restaurant. I grew up in Chicago so really appreciate the dinner we had at Mader's. This was fun and brought back great memories. Looking forward to our next visit.

Thank you to your entire staff.

Rosemarie

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation and it was worth i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We made a reservation and it was worth it to do so! After we were seated for dinner the restaurant and bar got very busy, and I can see why! The service was excellent, we had a knowledgable and helpful waiter who made spot-on recommendations. Our food was fantastic and so were our drinks. We went to an event at the Bradley Center after, and parking was included with our meal which was a surprise perk! I would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys traditional German food and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite German restaurant in the US. G ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Favorite German restaurant in the US. Great German meal, though way too much food. Should consider sharing some plates with others.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic. Restaurant was clean ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was fantastic. Restaurant was clean. Host and hostess where great. Food server was just ok. Having eaten there before I knew what great service they have. Slightly disappointed, but not enough to stop me from going back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

All if not more than expected. Definitel ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 21, 2016

All if not more than expected. Definitely going back. I hope with the whole family

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten at Mader's many times over ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We have eaten at Mader's many times over the years. The food is always wonderful. We are not in a position to judge if it is authentic German or not but it certainly seems that way and it is delicious. The pork shank is the best thing on the menu IMO. We always end up with a to-go box and enjoy it again the next day. I have tried the German Chocolate cake and it was dry and had limited flavor. On the other hand the Apple Strudel was wonderful if you have time to wait. So our recommendation is to order the Apple Strudel when your food arrives. It is that good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Service and quality of food

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service and quality of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.