About Mader's German Restaurant

1037 N Old World 3rd St
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

At Mader's German Restaurant, you'll get the best ethnic German cuisine that Wisconsin has to offer. Our menus are filled with ethnic dishes that raise the standards of fine dining in Milwaukee. Not many restaurants in the Milwaukee area have as much history as Mader’s. You’ll dine amid a stunning $3 million dollar collection of art, suits of medieval armour and antiques dating back to the 14th century. Browse through our menus, and you will be inclined to make a reservation to experience why Mader's Restaurant continues to be ranked among the top restaurants in Milwaukee, Wisconsin throughout the years.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
German, American

Hours of Operation:

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Old World 3rd St. and Highland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 271-3377

Website:
http://www.madersrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Mader's catering is recognized for creating lavish or traditional dinners, sure to dazzle guests for celebrations of all sizes and occasions. Mader's catering can provide for any affair from gala cocktail receptions, elegant dinner parties, to large tent events accommodating from 35 to 2000 guests

Parking Details:
Mader's German Restaurant offers complimentary valet parking for you and your guests. The valet lot is located right next to our restaurant for your convenience.

Executive Chef:
Lucas Wenthur

Private Party Facilities:
Mader’s German Restaurant has been preparing for your visit since 1902 so that no matter what the occasion, we are fully focused on exceeding your expectations. Whether it's an intimate group or a lavish party, the unrivaled attention of our staff assures you and your guests a memorable experience. Please feel free to contact us to start planning your special event.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Niland: 4142713377x228

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mader's German Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (18)
good for groups (15)
fit for foodies (13)
See All
great for lunch (12)
neighborhood gem (12)
romantic (6)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

I had hoped to replicate the food I had ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I had hoped to replicate the food I had enjoyed during my 2 years in Germany. It did not compare; however, neither has any other American German restaurant. The Octoberfest beer was excellent. My waiter, a first generation Columbian college senior, was super. I was NOT transported back to Germany gastronomically, however, I guess that is to be expected in the USA. The interior of the restaurant is very attractive. All in all, it was a nice evening for the celebration of our 64th anniversary. No, I would not repeat it. Sincerely yours, Norman L. Pedelty

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent taste and even bought the stei ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent taste and even bought the stein to take home!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch

Dined on June 4, 2016

We dined here during downtown dining. The restaurant didn't have my open table reservation, but we were quickly seated. The sauerbraten was excellent as always, and the service was great, despite the restaurant being at capacity. I would definitely recommend maders to anyone who likes some good German food!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Lunch

Dined on June 3, 2016

This is a old school German food. The salad and Schnitzel were very good with the portion size large enough so some could be taken home. The staff was very friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week hit

Dined on June 2, 2016

We had not been to Mader's in years, but we ate there with friends during Restaurant Week in Milwaukee. It was a great value for lunch. The sauerbraten was delicious and we'll go back for lunch or dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic sunday brunch

Dined on May 29, 2016

we came for the Sunday Brunch and it was a feast! Delicious german meal and desserts!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time. The food was excellen ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Our first time. The food was excellent. Our server, Mary, was outstanding. I shall return. For sure.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

What an interesting location and menu! A ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

What an interesting location and menu! A great experience and excellent service from our server Mary. It's fantastic to find such an authentic ethnic restaurant in today's world of chain restaurants.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun evening. A bit expensive but food wa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fun evening. A bit expensive but food was good, service was prompt & friendly, fun atmosphere with a group.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic German Fare

Dined on May 20, 2016

Mader's has been an iconic German restaurant in Milwaukee for many years, and appeals to locals as well as tourists. As one-time Milwaukeeans, we have eaten there a number of times through the years,and have never been disappointed. At our most recent visit, we chose our favorite entrees, wienerschnitzel and sauerbraten.Both were delicious and served in large portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

We made a special drive to go to Mader's ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We made a special drive to go to Mader's. The restaurant is something to see with a great collection of fun stuff to look at. The food, however, was disappointing. We had just dined at a new German gastropub in Madison, where we live, the weekend before, and I have to say that the food there was a lot better than Mader's, and less costly. Service was ok, and bartender was great, but for the prices of the food, I expected something more than what we received.

food5
ambience4
service5

Maders is always favorite, we love bring ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Maders is always favorite, we love bringing out of town guests!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this is german food at its best.

Dined on May 2, 2016

The oxtail soup was meaty. The pork shank was fall off the bone tender and the apple strudel (made to order give 20 minutes) was crispy and saucy which made it wonderful. Decor was nice but not over the top. Easy to see why it is a favorite with Presidents and entertainers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best German Cuisine and Beer....so Authentic!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Traveling in the area, we were told to try Madar's. We did make a reservation which was good because this place gets very busy. A very nice selection of German beers and wines. The Spaten Octoberfest was a big favorite. The best ever. Meals were unbelievable. Bavarian Platter, Sauerbraten and Wienerschnitzel. Outstanding. The pretzel bread was so so good. Too bad there was no room for dessert as we were told the apple strudel was to die for. Well, maybe next time. There must be a next time!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great taste of Germany

Dined on April 3, 2016

It's been a few years since I've been to Mader's and this time I brought a bunch of people from out of town. IT was a wonderful experience and gave them all a great taste of quality German food and fantastic hospitality that is part of the Milwaukee restaurant scene. Make sure you start with the classic Pretzel, but the real gems are the pork dishes! I hope to go back soon!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

good food and service

Dined on March 21, 2016

had a nice dinner before a concert at the Bradley center. Was able to park there for the show. Good German food and nice wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was great but service was slow.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was great but service was slow.

food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Took over 30 mins to get a waitress. Ove ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Took over 30 mins to get a waitress. Over an hour to get our food served.

food5
ambience5
service4

We went Valentine's weekend with friends ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We went Valentine's weekend with friends. It did take a bit to order drinks and our meal, but we understand it was a very busy night. Our waitress was very nice and the food was delicious. We will definitely dine here again.

food4
ambience5
service2

The atmosphere at Mader's is great! The ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The atmosphere at Mader's is great! The food and drinks are very good. However, I was surprised at how long it took to get our food. We didn't get our food for over an hour. I was starting to wonder if our order was lost. The food is good, but the portion was way to gigantic. Next time I'll just order appetizers or I'd split something with my date.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A Milwaukee gem

Dined on February 7, 2016

Mader's is a Milwaukee institution and lives up to its reputation. It's not hip or trendy, and that's why it's a classic. Superb service and great old school German fare. Sat at the table where JFK dined back in 1959.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Expensive and just "ok". It's no Chi Brauhaus.

Dined on January 24, 2016

We planned a night in Milwaukee with no kids, just for fun, and for our anniversary (which I included in the reservation notes and was not acknowledged). My dad had always talked about this place so I made the reservation. The head server, a female, was good but it was slow, in general. It was not busy for a Saturday at 7, and there was not a lot of staff. The entrees were $30 and up and did not include soup or salad. They did not have or know what a cucumber salad was, but they tried to make me one, which was nice. It was just ok, I love this kind of food and know what to expect and this was not it.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A must in MKE

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

Mader's is a Milwaukee gem. That being said it is showing some signs of wear - but when in Milwaukee it is a notable restaurant to visit. Service was very good to our large business group with separate checks - no complaint and willing to do so. Food was good - German specialties were the preferred. Some vegetarian options and a decent selection of deserts. Spatzle was good as were the schnitzles. Decent wine selection and a fabulous beer selection - heavy on Germans, of course. Old history and a definite look to the restaurant. We enjoyed our meal and would go back at some point in the future.

Tags: child friendly, group bookings
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

It Was Good. Not Great, Good

Dined on January 16, 2016

I ordered one of their specialties, the Rouladen and was a bit disappointed at how bland it was to me. The meat was very tender and well cooked, but there just wasn't much flavor. My wife had the Wiener Schnitzel with capers and fried eggs, which was excellent. Highlight of the evening. Our daughter had the Cheese and Sausage board which was very good. The service was the best of any restaurant I've experienced. I'm 65 years old and have travelled more than my share and our server was fantastic. I wish I could remember her name (like I said I'm 65) but I am pretty sure it started with an "A". She was fantastic. The ambiance is reason enough to dine here. The pictures and personal notes from celebrities and Presidents from the distant past to present day is like a stroll through their personal museum. Fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're from out of town but come here whe ...

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

We're from out of town but come here when visiting. Food is delicious - all made from scratch and always wonderful. Servers are delightful, and very helpful with food selections. A great restaurant for small and large groups.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food! A nice place to have con ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Excellent food! A nice place to have conversation and enjoy a good meal.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Dave Nelson

Dined on December 26, 2015

Have never been disappointed. Conveniently located with valet parking on premises. Authentic German food and beverages.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Special Place!

Dined on December 14, 2015

I was thrilled to finally eat at Mader's. We were delighted to find Fransizkaner Heffe Weissbier on tap. I was introduced to Ruben Rolls (Thank God I live is South Florida!) The Schnitzel was huge and tasty and the red cabbage and spaetzle authentic and superb. A fabulous excuse to visit Milwaukee again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience

Dined on December 12, 2015

My family and I had a wonderful din8ng exoerience at Mader's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday and anniversary special place

Dined on December 7, 2015

My wife and I had our first meal as a married couple at Maders in 1972 and have had a number of our anniversary lunches or dinners there ever since. A few years ago we had lunch at your restaurant and completed your birthday list and have tried to have lunch there each year. We find the food excellent with the atmosphere relaxing and also reminds us of our first visit many years ago. We have suggested your restaurant to friends and relatives and have heard favorable responses from them. May you be with us for many more years.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service1

A Train Wreck of a Night

Dined on December 5, 2015

Had a reservation for 6:00, showed up at 5:45, did not get seated 'till 6:10. They ran out of menus, hostess said she'd bring us some shortly. Hostess then walked past our table 4 or 5 times, with menus she was taking back to the hostess station, rudely ignoring us. Took server another 15 minutes to get to us. We had tickets for a 7:00 show. Told her this and went with a couple of schnitzels. She took our orders, bar order never came out (no one in our dinning room was getting drinks while we were there). Food finally came out at 6:50, appetizer came out 5 minutes later. Mader's used to be a great place to go. It is sad to see a place go into a death spiral. Management needs to get on the ball and focus of customer service and the small details, right now they act as they don't care and the past reputation will carry them... There are a better German options near by that should be visited before you give Mader's your business.

food5
ambience4
service3

Great food, ok service

Dined on November 28, 2015

Great restaurant that we always enjoy. Service was definitely lacking this time though. Have had much better service previously. Never got a drink menu and was over 10 minutes before our waitress even came over to the table to take our drink orders.

food5
ambience4
service5

Pleasantly Surprised

Dined on November 21, 2015

I haven't had much German food in my life so didn't really have an expectation for Mader's but it was great. The food was so good (especially the sausage platter appetizer) and the service was great. We arrived a bit before our reservation but we were sat right away. It was fun seeing the pictures of the different celebrities who have eaten at Mader's, too.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Our first time there and we really enjoy ...

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

Our first time there and we really enjoyed it, we will definitely go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food Great service

Dined on November 14, 2015

We hadn't been to Maders in years and it really was better than ever. The service was fun and professional. The food was a joy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Service and Then Some

Dined on November 11, 2015

We had eaten Mader's food before at German Fest but had never been to the restaurant. We had an early (5:30pm) dinner reservation on a Wednesday and when we arrived, the place was nearly empty. I had the German Sampler--it was fantastic and had a nice variety. My girlfriend had the Schnitzel--it was good but a little bland because she accidentally ordered it without the gravy. We each had dessert as well. I had the bread pudding, which was exquisite. My girlfriend loved the light, summery taste of the schaum torte with ice cream and strawberries. However, our service was the best part of the evening. Our waitress (sadly, I can't remember her name) was attentive without hovering and she took excellent care of us. But she went above and beyond when we heard her running behind us when we were a block from the restaurant and she brought us our leftovers which we had forgotten on the table. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4

Search Gut

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

Nicely prepared German food and a comprehensive list of beers. The interior could use some buffing up but it has plenty of atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

Food was very good. Service was perfect ...

Dined on October 20, 2015

Food was very good. Service was perfect for our group. Not rushed.

food4
ambience4
service4

Food was great and very filling!

Dined on October 15, 2015

Food was great and very filling!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best German food

Dined on October 13, 2015

I ate at this restaurant over 20 years ago. It was memorable then and is memorable now. I hadn't been to Milwaukee for 20 years and couldn't wait to take my team there. The food was awesome. The service was equally great. Love the historical relevance of Maders as well!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.