About Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

2825 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
View Larger Map

Madera Restaurant Honored with Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence 2015 and Michelin Rated 2015.
A comfortably elegant ambiance, picturesque views and outdoor terraces welcome guests and Silicon Valley locals to Madera. Featuring an open artisan wood-burning kitchen and extensive wine list, Madera serves rustic American cuisine that celebrates the culinary traditions of the Bay Area
In addition to indoor and outdoor dining, Madera offers two private dining rooms with private terraces and cozy fireplaces. The Lemon Room seats up to 10 guests, and the Orange Room up to 14 guests.


This Menlo Park restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and for Sunday brunch as well.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday - Saturday: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 280

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 561-1540

Website:
http://maderasandhill.com/

Parking Details:
Rosewood Sand Hill offers complimentary valet as well as optional self-parking.

Complimentary electric car charging station available.

Executive Chef:
Peter Rudolph

Private Party Facilities:
Madera offers two distinctive private dining rooms to suit an array of private events. Private and elegantly detailed, both private dining rooms open onto private outdoor terraces - ideal for pre and post dining activity.

Private Party Contact:
Marissa Griffin: 8888533675

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Menlo Park ›

great for outdoor dining (57)
scenic view (56)
special occasion (49)
See All
great for lunch (46)
fit for foodies (44)
romantic (35)
great for brunch (33)
notable wine list (32)
good for groups (30)
vibrant bar scene (25)
hot spot (18)
neighborhood gem (14)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Service very bad! Food not good enough! ...

Dined 2 days ago

Service very bad! Food not good enough! Very disappointed. We waited for almost 15 mins to have our glass of water, then when we having our starter, the main already came, they didn't took our plate when we finished our starter and even we don't drink wine, the wine list still sit on the table. After we finished our main, we wait over 30 mins, still no one add water or clean the plates! After we complained still no one take care our bill and no one come to ask do you need a coffee or tea after the meal!!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I've wanting to eat at Madera since they ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

I've wanting to eat at Madera since they got the star. It was a very nice experience with my friends. But you can see why the star is gone. They forgot part of our order, they made up for it by giving us some delicious desserts. The wine recommendation was very good. The entrees were fantastic. The only complain was the lamb. We were not expecting lamb sausages.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

The wait time and food was not good. Th ...

Dined 4 days ago

The wait time and food was not good. The drinks and bar area, great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptionally good value! We sat outsid ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Exceptionally good value! We sat outside and witnessed an amazing sunset and full moon rise while dining. Our waiter was particularly attentive and knowledgeable about the extensive wine list. His recommendation was perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

We went to Madera for Father's Day break ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Madera for Father's Day breakfast. We had to ask a second time for our drinks (this really shouldn't happen for coffee and tea at breakfast). When the food arrive, though the presentation looked nice, it was cold. Cold eggs just aren't very tasty. The bacon was not thick cut and cooked to mushy not crispy. It seems to me, if you can't do breakfast well, don't do it at all. I had to ask for a refill of coffee (again, this should not happen at breakfast, let alone at a place where the coffee was $6) because nobody ever came by after the food was served to see if everything was ok. I had the polenta and sausage. The polenta was cold. The sausage seemed to pink to me so I saved it and took it home to my dog---after his first bite, he left it. Wow, sausage a dog won't eat. A very disappointing experience. I would recommend going out to a little diner (and for the price, you can go 4 times), and then taking a drive down 280 for the view (the only thing Madera has going for it).

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Madera is spacious yet generates vibranc ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Madera is spacious yet generates vibrancy and energy. The wine list was excellent and the food, well executed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The whole experience was wonderful. It w ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The whole experience was wonderful. It was a birthday celebration with a friend. We chose substantial three courses, but we shared every one of them, and we were more than satisfied. The flavors, the presentation and the quality of food were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience. Wonderful meal and ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Awesome experience. Wonderful meal and service. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service; something about the a ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent service; something about the ambiance of this place leads to enjoyable, long meals. We were there (group of 6) for nearly 5 hours. Great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious

Dined on May 31, 2016

Great food, the Beet salad was excellent, and the halibut with fennel broth was perfectly cooked and the couple of mussels served with the dish were amazing and so perfectly cooked. the peanut butter chocolate brownie was a totally divine dessert and went down far to easily!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My sister and I went to Madera to celebr ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

My sister and I went to Madera to celebrate her graduation. We enjoyed their Liberty Duck and dry-aged beef (ribeye and shortrib). The duck, neither too fat nor too lean, was served with puree de petits pois and apricots. The service was definitely deserving of their Michelin star. The staff was very attentive and knowledgeable about their food and wine menus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4

Great ambiance & view on patio

Dined on May 30, 2016

Great ambiance & view on patio

food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We love the food, wine selection, and ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

We love the food, wine selection, and the ambiance is terrific. However the service from the hostess on was lacking this time. They called to confirm our reservation and yet when we got there the hostess asked us to wait in the bar. So of course, we did. Then after ten minutes, I went to find out what had happened---as they weren't busy. The hostess was setting up tables. She could have easily seated us and then continued not having us wait. Additionally, we had to ask for water several times, bread, etc. Not what you expect for this caliber place.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We had lunch on the balcony with a dista ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We had lunch on the balcony with a distant view of the hotel blocks and swimming pool and further away, the coastal mountains. Very pleasant experience. Prices are high, but they are catering the venture capital community on Sand Hill Road who are never spend their own money. An 8 oz coke is $2.50 and served in a tiny bottle (didn't know they made them so small)... no free refills...buy another bottle. Win list is extensive buy appears to have 3x (maybe more) markup vs. typical restaurant 2X.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

High rent.

Dined on May 26, 2016

Food, service and ambience all excellent. Wines way too expensive. $264 for lunch for two is a bit much. Obviously a place for high rollers or those on expense accounts.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a special dinner

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

This is a hangout for Venture Capitalists - even on a Sunday night we saw one entertaining. These are the folk that fund Silicon Valley startups. So it's a really nice place to dine. My husband had been for a couple of nice lunches with VCs and we'd both had a private dinner in one of the lovely chalets on site, but this was the first time we had dined for dinner together. Initially the blinds were closed to keep out the low sun, but then they were opened to reveal the lovely hill view. The food was creative, delicious and most enjoyable. My appetizer had caviar - most delicious and delicate. I had lamb done three ways - including a home-made sausage. The desserts were really beautifully prepared - mine had a basil shortbread as a base and it remained firm and not soggy, even though it had a mousse-like creation above it. The coffee was excellent - from an artisan roaster and you could tell. The server did a great job given he was fairly new. The wine list was extensive and well-designed with prices for every purse.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

You're not in the City anymore

Dined on May 22, 2016

Living in SF spoils foodies, and even just going down the Peninsula one realizes that the standard expected in SF is left at the city line. Based on reviews, Madera seems to be one of the best South Bay restaurants for something above average, but when compared to fine dining in SF it didn't quite hit the mark. All the basic visual components are in place - fancy dining room decor (Orange County style), dramatic vista (if your idea of a lovely view includes a freeway), upscale 'resort' location (I still have to wonder WHO goes to a resort in Menlo Park?!?) - but the food wasn't anything that I'd write home about - it was standard upscale menu, adequately prepared, with little to no imagination or creativity. Nothing to complain about, nothing to laud. Service left something to be desired - one entree was practically dumped on the floor when delivered to the table, and there was a brief moment when it actually looked as if the server would put the dish in front of the diner with everything fallen over and crushed to one side. He then rushed it back to the kitchen and they reassembled. Another minor gripe - two of us specifically said we were splitting an appetizer when ordering, but it was delivered to one diner with no effort to provide a plate for the other diner who was sharing. If you're in the Menlo Park/Palo Alto area and you want a place to have brunch, Madera is perfectly acceptable, a bit pricey, and many people will probably think it's wonderful. But if you're a foodie with high standards, don't make a special trip for it.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience4
service4

Food does not match the ambiance, servic ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food does not match the ambiance, service or price.

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

reviewer

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful. The food was mixed. My wife sent back two martinis. The fir one had enough olive juice in it so that you could see the green tint. Even the waitress could see it. The second one came with far too much vermouth especially when it was ordered extra dry. The hors d'oeuvre has so much nitrous oxide on it that it cooled it down to the point of being crunchy. The main courses were good but sparse. The service was good but for the money, there are better places in the area.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very Satisfied

Dined on May 9, 2016

Mother's Day dinner was very good. Service great! Expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Mothers Day set menu

Dined on May 9, 2016

Good appetizer, main course, and desert. Great presentation. The Gnocchi second course was possibly the worst dish I have ever had in a quality restaurant. There were no discernible gnocchi. If they were present in the dish, they had been reduced to paste. The whole dish was overwhelmed by an oak smoke flavor from god knows where, which ruined the rest of the meal for me.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoy Lunch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been to Madera several times for lunch. Never was disappointed. The view and setting is pleasant. Spacious and open. Food is good. The only thing I felt missed was white tablecloth! If they could put white tablecloth for interior dining and let the outdoor al fresco be bare wood, that'd be perfect for me. I would like to have lunch on a sunny day out and on colder days with my white tablecloth inside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very disappointing. The menu had no brunch items. The prix fix menu had three choices: a salmon steak, veal chop or gnocchi for Mothers Day brunch at 10:00 AM on a Sunday morning. Bizarre to say the least.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Mother's day a day early

Dined on May 7, 2016

Couldn't get in on a Sunday for Mother's day so I took a Saturday 11:45 reservation. The waiter was nice enough to acknowledge that Sunday we were unable to make a reservation but that he would do his best to make today just as special. We went about ordering, and the waiter was very knowledge able of the menu. Our food was delivered promptly and the food was tasty. Unfortunately, questions about desert or coffee didn't happen, so we kind of felt waiting on desert wasn't worth it and their were better choices to enjoy desert and coffee elsewhere. I believe if the serving staff had been a bit more attentive and made an attempt to describe the options for desert, we might have stayed to enjoy the rest of our brunch with Madera. Instead we left after asking for the check and paying the bill to enjoy a treat and coffee at a French pastry shop in dowtown Menlo Park. I've eaten at the Rosewood hotel restaurants in London and I can say that service and food quality is definitely higher than here in Silicon Valley. That's not to say it wasn't very good at Madera, it's just that between the service and the food, it is probably more a 4 star not 5 in my book. I've heard great things about Sunday brunch and I will return to try it out. I will definitely also recommend Madera to friends, and I will certainly return. It does have a classy feel and the food is very delicious in addition to the staff being very friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1

Very slow, inattentive service, even on ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Very slow, inattentive service, even on a slow Monday afternoon. Food was just ok, with very high prices for the mediocre quality. Very disappointing...

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't go wrong

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Dine here with frequency, never disappointed. The desserts are masterpieces.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great View, Excellent Service, Good Food

Dined on April 28, 2016

I met two friends here for lunch on a beautiful spring day. We ate outside so that we could enjoy the view of the mountains. The setting is fantastic. The wine list is good and the menu has lots of good choices. Two of us ordered the grilled Sand Hill burger (recommended by another diner as the best thing on the menu), which was very good, and one had the Cobb Salad. We talked well into the afternoon and did not feel as though we needed to rush. The waiters were efficient and attentive when needed--and personable as well. It's a great place to meet friends for a relaxing lunch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A magical place for a magical occasion

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

We love coming to this restaurant, it truly is a magical place. We went there for our 7th wedding anniversary and it did not disappoint. The service was truly exceptional, they were simply amazing and attended to our every need and even a few things that they added as a special touch. We were simply blown away by the service. The food is really good as usual and the desserts are clearly the star: works of art that taste even better. If you haven't been to this place, you have to check it out. It has a great view, great outdoor dining on the deck and a top-notch bar. We will definitely be going back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experienceas always. Good food wit ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great experienceas always. Good food with excellent service and ambiance. Beautiful view

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always very tasty

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Lovely, lovely food. And one of the best outdoor dining areas around.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Favorite

Dined on April 21, 2016

I love Madera's casual elegance. The food is beautifully prepared and presented; the service is warmly prompt. Always a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Service and food were very good, but not ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Service and food were very good, but not good enough for the cost. We expected the cost to deliver more bang for the buck.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great outdoor brunch

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

beautiful April day, great friends from out of town, brunch on the deck, great service, excellent breakfast, gorgeous day....what could be better!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Everything was perfect except for the service.

Dined on April 14, 2016

We went to celebrate a special occasion and splurge and were not disappointed in terms of food and ambiance. The hostess who seated us was very nice but then we had the misfortune of being seated at a section where the waiter seemed ambivalent, fake and often deliberately ignored us. I know that this is not common as we had an amazing waiter the previous time.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Too Little Food....for the price

Dined on April 4, 2016

I have not been to Madera for lunch in some time but was surprised to find the lunch menu just as expensive as the dinner menu for less food! The price range was from $27 - $33 dollars for a lunch entre. I had the scallops which were $31 and I got about 6 quarter inch by quarter inch scallops with some vegetables. I was genuinely hungry after. I also had an appetizer for approx $20 which was octopus. The food was very good just not enough. We had to order a side of french fries and dessert to just get full. The portions are too small for the price, I would have to second think going back as after paying over $50 and not being full there is clearly some thing wrong here..

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pricey but good

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

The food is excellently prepared, the service is impeccable. If you sit outside the view is great. But don't expect large portions. My day boat scallop lunch for $31 had two scallops.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

A busy night dinner at Madera

Dined on March 25, 2016

Been here a few times, lunch and brunch are fine, this was the worst. Came in for dinner, had to adjust reservation, group size twice - Hostess was very accommodating. Restaurant is very loud when busy - it was full. The beautiful hardwood surfaces, little soft material, make for a loud atmosphere - I would not suggest a romantic dinner. Food was creative and good, but not outstanding, had Petrale sole, cauliflower soup and some fois gras - the fois was the best and least complex. Tried stinging nettle gnocchi a friend had, was not impressed, too soft and strong simple flavor, no complexity. Did not compare with a any Michelin star rated place I've been, and was not as good as last year. Service was way below expectations for a place of this caliber - server was all over the place, too busy or not paying attention, ran out of water several times, wine orders took a very long time, even by the glass. We had a bottle of champagne to start, 15 minutes to fetch. Our first courses arrived all willy nilly. One guy got his truffle custard which goes in the soup, but no soup, another dish showed up, a bit later my custard and soup simultaneously, mentioned the missing soup, runner left confused, a few minutes later, a salad arrived, tried to mention the missing liquid, the runner ran off, last gnocchi arrived, still no soup for the first guy, we yelled for attention (to get over the ambient noise), the soup part was picked up and brought over, with no apology. The waiter asked about wine, pointed out waters being empty, said we would order wine with the mains, he never comes back until mid-way through the main, attempting to get attention of anyone throughout the courses, or between was difficult. Ordered some wine by the glass, hoping to get it quickly, took 10 minutes. Attempting to find anyone to bring the check was also difficult. I gave them the benefit of the doubt, that maybe it was just a really busy night, and tipped, but service was pretty comically sad.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food with amazing views.

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

We enjoyed a delightful dinner and lovely brunch at Madera restaurant this past weekend. The views from the dining room were magnificent, and( weather-permitting) the outdoor bar and eating areas are really lovely.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Service could be better

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Visited a couple of time and the food was very good as usual, however last visit for my husband birthday service could be better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service5

Nice view. Bar was packed

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Nice view. Bar was packed

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.