About Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

2825 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
View Larger Map

Madera Restaurant Honored with Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence 2015 and Michelin Rated 2015.
A comfortably elegant ambiance, picturesque views and outdoor terraces welcome guests and Silicon Valley locals to Madera. Featuring an open artisan wood-burning kitchen and extensive wine list, Madera serves rustic American cuisine that celebrates the culinary traditions of the Bay Area
In addition to indoor and outdoor dining, Madera offers two private dining rooms with private terraces and cozy fireplaces. The Lemon Room seats up to 10 guests, and the Orange Room up to 14 guests.


This Menlo Park restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and for Sunday brunch as well.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday - Saturday: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 280

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 561-1540

Website:
http://maderasandhill.com/

Parking Details:
Rosewood Sand Hill offers complimentary valet as well as optional self-parking.

Complimentary electric car charging station available.

Executive Chef:
Peter Rudolph

Private Party Facilities:
Madera offers two distinctive private dining rooms to suit an array of private events. Private and elegantly detailed, both private dining rooms open onto private outdoor terraces - ideal for pre and post dining activity.

Private Party Contact:
Marissa Griffin: 8888533675

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Peninsula
Contemporary American
Peninsula
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Menlo Park ›

scenic view (51)
great for outdoor dining (50)
special occasion (49)
See All
fit for foodies (44)
great for lunch (41)
notable wine list (32)
romantic (30)
great for brunch (29)
good for groups (24)
vibrant bar scene (23)
hot spot (20)
neighborhood gem (16)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

You're not in the City anymore

Dined 5 days ago

Living in SF spoils foodies, and even just going down the Peninsula one realizes that the standard expected in SF is left at the city line. Based on reviews, Madera seems to be one of the best South Bay restaurants for something above average, but when compared to fine dining in SF it didn't quite hit the mark. All the basic visual components are in place - fancy dining room decor (Orange County style), dramatic vista (if your idea of a lovely view includes a freeway), upscale 'resort' location (I still have to wonder WHO goes to a resort in Menlo Park?!?) - but the food wasn't anything that I'd write home about - it was standard upscale menu, adequately prepared, with little to no imagination or creativity. Nothing to complain about, nothing to laud. Service left something to be desired - one entree was practically dumped on the floor when delivered to the table, and there was a brief moment when it actually looked as if the server would put the dish in front of the diner with everything fallen over and crushed to one side. He then rushed it back to the kitchen and they reassembled. Another minor gripe - two of us specifically said we were splitting an appetizer when ordering, but it was delivered to one diner with no effort to provide a plate for the other diner who was sharing. If you're in the Menlo Park/Palo Alto area and you want a place to have brunch, Madera is perfectly acceptable, a bit pricey, and many people will probably think it's wonderful. But if you're a foodie with high standards, don't make a special trip for it.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience4
service4

Food does not match the ambiance, servic ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food does not match the ambiance, service or price.

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

reviewer

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful. The food was mixed. My wife sent back two martinis. The fir one had enough olive juice in it so that you could see the green tint. Even the waitress could see it. The second one came with far too much vermouth especially when it was ordered extra dry. The hors d'oeuvre has so much nitrous oxide on it that it cooled it down to the point of being crunchy. The main courses were good but sparse. The service was good but for the money, there are better places in the area.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very Satisfied

Dined on May 9, 2016

Mother's Day dinner was very good. Service great! Expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Mothers Day set menu

Dined on May 9, 2016

Good appetizer, main course, and desert. Great presentation. The Gnocchi second course was possibly the worst dish I have ever had in a quality restaurant. There were no discernible gnocchi. If they were present in the dish, they had been reduced to paste. The whole dish was overwhelmed by an oak smoke flavor from god knows where, which ruined the rest of the meal for me.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoy Lunch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been to Madera several times for lunch. Never was disappointed. The view and setting is pleasant. Spacious and open. Food is good. The only thing I felt missed was white tablecloth! If they could put white tablecloth for interior dining and let the outdoor al fresco be bare wood, that'd be perfect for me. I would like to have lunch on a sunny day out and on colder days with my white tablecloth inside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very disappointing. The menu had no brunch items. The prix fix menu had three choices: a salmon steak, veal chop or gnocchi for Mothers Day brunch at 10:00 AM on a Sunday morning. Bizarre to say the least.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Mother's day a day early

Dined on May 7, 2016

Couldn't get in on a Sunday for Mother's day so I took a Saturday 11:45 reservation. The waiter was nice enough to acknowledge that Sunday we were unable to make a reservation but that he would do his best to make today just as special. We went about ordering, and the waiter was very knowledge able of the menu. Our food was delivered promptly and the food was tasty. Unfortunately, questions about desert or coffee didn't happen, so we kind of felt waiting on desert wasn't worth it and their were better choices to enjoy desert and coffee elsewhere. I believe if the serving staff had been a bit more attentive and made an attempt to describe the options for desert, we might have stayed to enjoy the rest of our brunch with Madera. Instead we left after asking for the check and paying the bill to enjoy a treat and coffee at a French pastry shop in dowtown Menlo Park. I've eaten at the Rosewood hotel restaurants in London and I can say that service and food quality is definitely higher than here in Silicon Valley. That's not to say it wasn't very good at Madera, it's just that between the service and the food, it is probably more a 4 star not 5 in my book. I've heard great things about Sunday brunch and I will return to try it out. I will definitely also recommend Madera to friends, and I will certainly return. It does have a classy feel and the food is very delicious in addition to the staff being very friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1

Very slow, inattentive service, even on ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Very slow, inattentive service, even on a slow Monday afternoon. Food was just ok, with very high prices for the mediocre quality. Very disappointing...

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't go wrong

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Dine here with frequency, never disappointed. The desserts are masterpieces.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great View, Excellent Service, Good Food

Dined on April 28, 2016

I met two friends here for lunch on a beautiful spring day. We ate outside so that we could enjoy the view of the mountains. The setting is fantastic. The wine list is good and the menu has lots of good choices. Two of us ordered the grilled Sand Hill burger (recommended by another diner as the best thing on the menu), which was very good, and one had the Cobb Salad. We talked well into the afternoon and did not feel as though we needed to rush. The waiters were efficient and attentive when needed--and personable as well. It's a great place to meet friends for a relaxing lunch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A magical place for a magical occasion

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

We love coming to this restaurant, it truly is a magical place. We went there for our 7th wedding anniversary and it did not disappoint. The service was truly exceptional, they were simply amazing and attended to our every need and even a few things that they added as a special touch. We were simply blown away by the service. The food is really good as usual and the desserts are clearly the star: works of art that taste even better. If you haven't been to this place, you have to check it out. It has a great view, great outdoor dining on the deck and a top-notch bar. We will definitely be going back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experienceas always. Good food wit ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great experienceas always. Good food with excellent service and ambiance. Beautiful view

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always very tasty

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Lovely, lovely food. And one of the best outdoor dining areas around.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Favorite

Dined on April 21, 2016

I love Madera's casual elegance. The food is beautifully prepared and presented; the service is warmly prompt. Always a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Service and food were very good, but not ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Service and food were very good, but not good enough for the cost. We expected the cost to deliver more bang for the buck.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great outdoor brunch

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

beautiful April day, great friends from out of town, brunch on the deck, great service, excellent breakfast, gorgeous day....what could be better!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Everything was perfect except for the service.

Dined on April 14, 2016

We went to celebrate a special occasion and splurge and were not disappointed in terms of food and ambiance. The hostess who seated us was very nice but then we had the misfortune of being seated at a section where the waiter seemed ambivalent, fake and often deliberately ignored us. I know that this is not common as we had an amazing waiter the previous time.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Too Little Food....for the price

Dined on April 4, 2016

I have not been to Madera for lunch in some time but was surprised to find the lunch menu just as expensive as the dinner menu for less food! The price range was from $27 - $33 dollars for a lunch entre. I had the scallops which were $31 and I got about 6 quarter inch by quarter inch scallops with some vegetables. I was genuinely hungry after. I also had an appetizer for approx $20 which was octopus. The food was very good just not enough. We had to order a side of french fries and dessert to just get full. The portions are too small for the price, I would have to second think going back as after paying over $50 and not being full there is clearly some thing wrong here..

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pricey but good

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

The food is excellently prepared, the service is impeccable. If you sit outside the view is great. But don't expect large portions. My day boat scallop lunch for $31 had two scallops.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

A busy night dinner at Madera

Dined on March 25, 2016

Been here a few times, lunch and brunch are fine, this was the worst. Came in for dinner, had to adjust reservation, group size twice - Hostess was very accommodating. Restaurant is very loud when busy - it was full. The beautiful hardwood surfaces, little soft material, make for a loud atmosphere - I would not suggest a romantic dinner. Food was creative and good, but not outstanding, had Petrale sole, cauliflower soup and some fois gras - the fois was the best and least complex. Tried stinging nettle gnocchi a friend had, was not impressed, too soft and strong simple flavor, no complexity. Did not compare with a any Michelin star rated place I've been, and was not as good as last year. Service was way below expectations for a place of this caliber - server was all over the place, too busy or not paying attention, ran out of water several times, wine orders took a very long time, even by the glass. We had a bottle of champagne to start, 15 minutes to fetch. Our first courses arrived all willy nilly. One guy got his truffle custard which goes in the soup, but no soup, another dish showed up, a bit later my custard and soup simultaneously, mentioned the missing soup, runner left confused, a few minutes later, a salad arrived, tried to mention the missing liquid, the runner ran off, last gnocchi arrived, still no soup for the first guy, we yelled for attention (to get over the ambient noise), the soup part was picked up and brought over, with no apology. The waiter asked about wine, pointed out waters being empty, said we would order wine with the mains, he never comes back until mid-way through the main, attempting to get attention of anyone throughout the courses, or between was difficult. Ordered some wine by the glass, hoping to get it quickly, took 10 minutes. Attempting to find anyone to bring the check was also difficult. I gave them the benefit of the doubt, that maybe it was just a really busy night, and tipped, but service was pretty comically sad.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food with amazing views.

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

We enjoyed a delightful dinner and lovely brunch at Madera restaurant this past weekend. The views from the dining room were magnificent, and( weather-permitting) the outdoor bar and eating areas are really lovely.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Service could be better

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Visited a couple of time and the food was very good as usual, however last visit for my husband birthday service could be better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service5

Nice view. Bar was packed

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Nice view. Bar was packed

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Bad service and food.

Dined on February 28, 2016

(1) Had to ask twice for water, with one of two glasses to be without ice - both were FULL of ice when finally brought, perhaps ten minutes after the 2nd request. (2) Had to ask for bread, none offered within 15 minutes of arrival. (3) Plenty of staff (1.30pm Sunday, getting quiet) but waiter was inattentive; we left no tip. (4) Beet salad: Over-dressed with red and white goo. All beets were small and round--nearly impossible to spear with a fork -- should have been cut in half so they couldn't slither away. (5) Eggs benedict with crab: dry plain muffin with VERY dry crab cakes, poached eggs topped with very little tasteless sauce. Presentation was monochromatic, nil decor. (6) Burnt and greasy deep-fried brussels sprouts side dish. (7) Your 'famous' french fries, side order: a thin layer of decent fries hid mostly small greasy little pieces below. (Partial diagnosis: fried in broken down - old - oil ). (8) Strangers at the next table, a family of 8, later volunteered in the parking lot that the food wasn't good. (9) We'd been to Madera at least 20 times....sorry, not again, until you've replaced the senior management. JCH

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

High end Hotel Food

Dined on February 26, 2016

Certainly a stunningly handsome room with very competent service, but........food quality just wasn't there for prices paid. I felt it was all about presentation. If you are planning on cocktails and some nice wines, plan on at least $200 per person. I honestly haven't had a tougher rib eye entree in my life and it came highly recommended by our wait person. Should have sent it back as I was envisioning the need for a Heimlich maneuver with a misplaced swallow!

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, Preston was attentive and fr ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

Our server, Preston was attentive and friendly but didn't hover. Food and wine was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a lovely place to relax at the end ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

Such a lovely place to relax at the end of the day. Beautiful restaurant with great service.

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Not much food for the $$$$$

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Had the lobster and mine was cooked to perfection. My husbands was tough. It said ravioli came with it. One small ravioli was it. I understand small plates, but it was really small...The one good thing is you don't have to look for parking....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 20, 2016

Excellent place for brunch and for big parties they have the beautiful Orange Room

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Screeching child near us ruined Valentine's lunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

There were 2 children with parents and grandparents at a table near us on Valentine's Day. It was lunch and we are kid-friendly so thought nothing of it when they were seated. However, the young child began screeching loudly at regular intervals and the parents never looked over at others to gesture a 'sorry' or any type of acknowledgment. The screech was loud and filled the restaurant. Everyone heard it. At the table closest to theirs, a woman kept getting up and looking directly at the parents over the short wall separator. Nothing. It would have been kind and professional had the manager asked the parents to temper their child's horrid screech. Or leave.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not Good Value for Money

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I had Valentine's Brunch at Madera. Though the atmosphere was romantic and quite pleasant we felt the food was very mediocre. Though I specifically asked about the freshness of the crab/shrimp Benedict, it tasted fishy as did my husband's smoked salmon benedict. We could not even find an interesting dessert to be sinful on this special day. The service was attentive, but the champagne needed to be more chilled. For all this we paid very handsomely. This is the first "thumbs down" review I have ever done on Open Table.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Romantic Get-Away

Dined on February 14, 2016

Lovely restaurant. We went for the Valentine's Day Prix Fixe. Beautiful scenic view of the Santa Cruz Mountains in a retreat like environment. Food was made with perfection. The bar had wonderful cocktails and live jazz. Perfect get-away and location for a romantic stay-cation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional dining experience @ Madera.

Dined on February 14, 2016

I enjoyed a romantic dinner at Madera the evening before Valentine's day. The prix fixe menu offerings were exceptional, down to the very last bite of every dish. There were also wonderful wine selections. Thankfully, it was a temperate evening and we were able to dine outside. While Madera is beautiful, the inside seemed noisy and very busy. Outside was quiet, spacious, and the views above the freeway of the hills were lovely. Also, the heat lamps are great (quite often I find them insufficient). I should also mention that the service was top notch. While the waiter stopped by frequently, he was low key and personable and enhanced our experience, as did the variety of servers who brought each course. This is now among my favorites for a special occasion meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I celebrated Valentines Day Saturday night at Madera. The restaurant had a four course tasting menu which they did tell us about when they called to confirm our reservation. We were excited to see the menu choices as we have eaten at Madera before and the food was excellent. The wine list is extensive and many of the wines offered are hard to find so we were looking forward to choosing something special for the evening. We had an early reservation (5:45) so the restaurant was fairly empty when we arrived. The hostess offered to seat us a a table for two that was literally the furthest table from the windows and only a few steps from the front desk. We asked if we could sit somewhere else and we were placed at a table right in front of the window. Why would put us (and the next 4 couples in came in after us) in the position of having to ask to sit somewhere else when we had such a early reservation?? Then we were given the tasting menu and the wine list. I was floored when I read the menu and realized there were only 2 options to choose from for each course. The main course was either Duck or Fish. Really?? I am allergic to duck so I had to choose the fish. I was really shocked there was not a beef, chicken or even a vegetarian option on the menu. We was also very surprised they didn't even offer a wine paring with the courses considering how extensive their wine list is...... When our waiter came over to see if we had any questions, I told him that I can't eat duck and asked if there was anything else other than the fish as an option and he said no. I was disappointed but ordered the fish as I was hoping that it would be amazing. While the fish was good, it was not even close to the level of what one would expect at a restaurant of this caliber and when there are only 2 options offered on the menu. It was very simply prepared in a light broth/sauce with some root veggies, nothing special or even interesting :-(

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food (breakfast) was okay, the servi ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

The food (breakfast) was okay, the service was impeccable, the view is gorgeous. After we were seated, the hostess sat one member of our party at a separate table, and it took us a while to figure out that this person was not late, but sitting at a different table. This person asked for the reservation name, and the hostess said we had not yet arrived, which we had!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

When there is Evvia why waste on Madera ?

Dined on February 11, 2016

Pretty much ambiance and that is that, nothing impressed me remotely about food. Sub-par food priced at Evvia or Village Pub level. Well, in short you all should go to Evvia or Village Pub while you are in the area and hit rosewood for drinks to amuse yourself with all the silliness

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Much better!!

vip
Dined on February 2, 2016

After the disappointing meal in Sept, I am happy to report that this experience was more like our usual ones. The food was solid, arrived on time, good attention from the wait person and a much better overall experience. Happy to see the other visit was an anomaly....

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Memorable Dinner with Out of Town Relatives

Dined on February 1, 2016

We have dined at Madera many times and are never disappointed. Once again a memorable meal with my out of town relatives. The wine pairing by Rachel was perfect for each guest as each of us had different entrees, etc. I had to try the grilled Foie Gras (new on the menu). I had a similar appetizer in London recently and wanted to compare the two since I had not had this preparation previously. Once again, Madera came up to the standard of making a perfect appetizer to savor. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Small but varied menu. Started with caul ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Small but varied menu. Started with cauliflower soup and greens salad. Both excellent. Soup poured over truffle cream and nuts. Entrees petrale sole and lamb panisse. Petrale has spaetzle, beets. Lamb a combo of sausage and loin. Everything was well seasoned. Dessert splurge. Peanut parfait. Brittle, ice cream, brownie. Excellent! Beautiful setting. Would recommend to our foodie friends.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.