About Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

2825 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
View Larger Map

Madera Restaurant Honored with Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence 2015 and Michelin Rated 2015.
A comfortably elegant ambiance, picturesque views and outdoor terraces welcome guests and Silicon Valley locals to Madera. Featuring an open artisan wood-burning kitchen and extensive wine list, Madera serves rustic American cuisine that celebrates the culinary traditions of the Bay Area
In addition to indoor and outdoor dining, Madera offers two private dining rooms with private terraces and cozy fireplaces. The Lemon Room seats up to 10 guests, and the Orange Room up to 14 guests.


This Menlo Park restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and for Sunday brunch as well.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday - Saturday: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 280

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 561-1540

Website:
http://maderasandhill.com/

Parking Details:
Rosewood Sand Hill offers complimentary valet as well as optional self-parking.

Complimentary electric car charging station available.

Executive Chef:
Peter Rudolph

Private Party Facilities:
Madera offers two distinctive private dining rooms to suit an array of private events. Private and elegantly detailed, both private dining rooms open onto private outdoor terraces - ideal for pre and post dining activity.

Private Party Contact:
Marissa Griffin: 8888533675

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Menlo Park ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (64)
Scenic View (59)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Fit for Foodies (40)
Great for Lunch (34)
Notable Wine List (34)
Romantic (30)
Great for Brunch (25)
Good for Groups (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Hot Spot (11)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous lunch, service and ambience - f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous lunch, service and ambience - food was delicious and server was so polite and helpful with recommendations

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Price / performance was ok, nothing spec ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Price / performance was ok, nothing special. Ambiance was nice.

A 3-course dinner for 4 guests, with 2 having wine, for about $320,

was entirely acceptable. Wait staff was attentive. The greeter at

the front mistakenly thought I didn't have reservations until

someone told him the others had already been seated, and then he

let me through. Overall, it was a nice evening but nothing special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The amazing meal was even better because ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

The amazing meal was even better because of the excellent service by all restaurant staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They helped us enjoy our anniversary wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

They helped us enjoy our anniversary with great service and good knowledge of the food and wine on the menu. Pricey, but quality was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have dined here many times. The food ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have dined here many times. The food is just getting very pedestrian. I had halibut that was covered in a very off-putting orange sauce. Madera is likely going off my list of usuals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Our server was excellent, ambiance excel ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our server was excellent, ambiance excellent, food excellent!

There was a birthday celebration at the next table (we were outside) and at our table we had a person with a hearing-aid which he had a hard time with the surrounding noise. Our server suggested she find a different table for us, but was not able to - we all survived! We just stayed until the birthday celebration moved on - - -

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had the opportunity to have dinne ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I have had the opportunity to have dinner at Madera twice in the last 3 weeks. It seems to me that the quality of the main dishes has fallen off. They tend to be a bit bland and uninteresting. The appetizers and desserts are excellent. So I think next time I will just have those and skip the main.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Cesar, our server, was amazing, friendly ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Cesar, our server, was amazing, friendly, the epitome of professionalism and provided impeccable service. My guests and I had the most amazing, perfect dining experience that exceeded our expectations. The service, food, and hospitality was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delightful mid-evening meal out ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a delightful mid-evening meal outside Thursday night, great drinks, good appetizers and delicious entrees. The evening was lovely looking West from the patio and the spot was a perfect choice for an important business meeting with someone in from The East Coast.

We each had equally good glasses of different red wine—I had the Turley Zinfandel—and I think the service was first rate, attentive but not overly so.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing to sit outside as the sun goes d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazing to sit outside as the sun goes down. Food was good besides the "grilled" ribeye and short ribs. They obviously sous vide then put in a not-hot-enough grill for a sear. I'm ok with sous vide. Do so at home. But don't call it grilled. Also they cut off all the fat and bring it down to the size and texture (sous vide too long ) of a filet mignon. Very disappointing. The short rib cones out like a poorly formed terrine. Tastes fine but has no context with the side offerings, which themselves were not memorable and added nothing but color (and nutritional value) to the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Lovely restaurant, great location and vi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Lovely restaurant, great location and view, and excellent food. The menu has a variety of choices all with interesting, imaginative sides.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, very knowledgeable server ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great service, very knowledgeable servers. Extensive wine list, but really pricey. A half bottle of Napa Valley Chardonnay was $40. The outside tables have a great view, and it is much quieter than the dining room. Self parking is available, a short walk from the front door.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this place! Food and service are ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love this place! Food and service are amazing! Drinks on the back patio are a great way to relax after brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful location. Very average food. V ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Beautiful location. Very average food. Very average service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

The halibut and accompanying vegetables ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The halibut and accompanying vegetables were outstanding. The dressing on the mixed green salad was subtle and did not interfere with the fine New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. Most especially, the first cup of coffee was hot as were subsequent refills. This is unlike most restaurants where the first cup is hot coffee poured into a cold cup and immediately lukewarm.

The view from the deck is scenic. We went there for our anniversary as we have done several time in the past and hope to do many more times.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The bread to start was actually really, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The bread to start was actually really, really good. Both entrees were solid and the dessert was interesting, but I think we just picked the wrong one for us. The highlight is the view on the balcony and classy yet casual atmosphere. And for the wine lovers, there's an uber thick, extensive wine list.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another legendary meal. Love this restau ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Another legendary meal. Love this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice restaurant and good service. This ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Nice restaurant and good service. This visit it wasn't crowded like in the past. Food is not your typical menu but it's good. A favorite "go to" for my family or even business associates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Forgot to bring appetizer

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Forgot to bring appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Dinner with a view! Madera is an amazing ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Dinner with a view! Madera is an amazing restaurant and the outdoor seating had an amazing view. Our waiter, Eddy, was just a gem!!! From the moment we entered the hotel, until the moment we left, everything went perfectly. There is not one thing I can say about the entire experience that I would want to change. The presentation was beautiful on every dish from the appetizer to the desert. The meal lasted a little over 2 hours, and we watched the sun set as we experienced our meal. The wine sommelier had an answer to every question and paired our meal with the perfect wine. I could not more highly recommend this restaurant for a wonderful date or special occasion. Thank you!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice meal, but the day after I dined the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Nice meal, but the day after I dined there, the restaurant reported to Open Table that I didn't honor my reservation (I.e., labeled me a no-show).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Very poor service. We sat at the table f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Very poor service. We sat at the table for nearly 10 minutes without receiving any greetings from the server who glanced at us and simply walked by many times. We didn't get a sip of water until much later. We also had to stare at empty plates after finishing the meals for a good while as well. Again, the server himself and the crews who appeared to be busboys made several rounds of the walk-bys past our table and just looked on while we sat and discussed our business with empty plates in front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Superb service. Meals were amazing. Atmo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Superb service. Meals were amazing. Atmosphere was relaxed yet modern and luxurious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful dinner at Madera. Th ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Madera. The food was even better, and even more beautifully presented, than at our last visit. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived at 7:45 for a birthday dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We arrived at 7:45 for a birthday dinner for six people and we left 3 hours later after just 2 courses, no desert. Horrible service. I have been here before and it has really gone downhill, food was so so.. It seems the staff knew that the 20% gratuity would be charged regardless. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Great experience and enjoyed the food bu ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great experience and enjoyed the food but thought the entry portions were small. Sat outside and enjoyed the ambience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is one of a few restaurants that do ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is one of a few restaurants that does not ever disappoint. Excellent in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menue is boring and food has no taste. W ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Menue is boring and food has no taste. We love the ambience. Close to my home and we love going there but menue and food is the problem and need to improve. almost everyone in the neiberhood talk about the bad food there and they are not doing anything about it. Last time I was there for lunch with 5 other friends, our server was so rude that we could not believe it....Talking about Serious attitude problem. it's a shame that such Resturant in this great location don't care about all the complains they hear.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Excellent food. Waiter ok, didn't even a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent food. Waiter ok, didn't even ask if it was a special occasion though. Less bread selection at the beginning sad to report from last time, their bread is very good. First time dining inside; flies in the room. Did I mention the food is excellent? Can't say that enough

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

HostEss, food, cocktails, wine , sommeli ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

HostEss, food, cocktails, wine , sommelier , ambiance all exceptional. Wait staff service was not commensurate .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

It's gorgeous and relaxing with amazing ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It's gorgeous and relaxing with amazing food. Love the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great but they forgot to bring ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was great but they forgot to bring out our appetizers and also gave me meat on my plate when I specifically requested for it to be removed as I'm a vegi. When I asked for them remedy the situation, they came back with the same plate but without the meat which I thought was extremely poor customer service. I requested they remake it, but they should have done this without me having to ask once I had pointed out their error.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

I have dined at Madera several times bef ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I have dined at Madera several times before. I understand that they recently gained a new head chef. This was by far the BEST tasting meal I ever had at this restaurant. From the Appetizer all the way to dessert. For appetizer we had hamachi Crudo which was out of this world. Beautifully thought out flavor combinations and textures. Both of our entrees were well portioned for this kind of dining experience. Stunning dishes!!

Everything was outstanding our server was knowledgeable and attentive. She provided the best care we could ask for our evening.

The restaurant seemed a little bit noisier than before due to families with children/babies. Perhaps that made the atmosphere a bit less romantic, but other than that we couldn't be happier and I'm looking forward very much to return to Madera for dinner.

Regaining the Michelin star is not far behind.

Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had been to Madera several times in p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had been to Madera several times in past few years and enjoyed our experience. However the quality of the food was terrible this last time. I am guessing the chef or management has changed. None of us like our food and given the high price we will not be dinning at Madera again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

I was at Rosewood for breakfast last Thu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I was at Rosewood for breakfast last Thursday with a group of friends to celebrate a yearlong trip my husband and I are about to take. It was a farewell breakfast. My friend ordered oatmeal and told the waiter at the end of the mail that the oatmeal was terrible. She said that she would make sure to take it off the bill. Then the manager came over and apologized for the mishap. He then comped us the entire meal. It was amazing! I have never had that experience before. Thank you so much for your kindness!! It was such a wonderful send off to be with my friends, and then to be treated with such kind hospitality!!! Wow!!

We are traveling around the USA and left our home in Palo Alto yesterday to start this journey.

Thank you so much for everything!!! By the way, I told this story to a Menlo Park friend, and she immediately called to make a reservation there. Spreading the good word!! I will b back in a year, and come to visit you again.

Thank so much!

Nancy Soforenko

Do you have other restaurants\hotels in the US or aboard?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Service very bad! Food not good enough! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service very bad! Food not good enough! Very disappointed. We waited for almost 15 mins to have our glass of water, then when we having our starter, the main already came, they didn't took our plate when we finished our starter and even we don't drink wine, the wine list still sit on the table. After we finished our main, we wait over 30 mins, still no one add water or clean the plates! After we complained still no one take care our bill and no one come to ask do you need a coffee or tea after the meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

I've wanting to eat at Madera since they ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've wanting to eat at Madera since they got the star. It was a very nice experience with my friends. But you can see why the star is gone. They forgot part of our order, they made up for it by giving us some delicious desserts. The wine recommendation was very good. The entrees were fantastic. The only complain was the lamb. We were not expecting lamb sausages.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The wait time and food was not good. Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The wait time and food was not good. The drinks and bar area, great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Exceptionally good value! We sat outsid ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Exceptionally good value! We sat outside and witnessed an amazing sunset and full moon rise while dining. Our waiter was particularly attentive and knowledgeable about the extensive wine list. His recommendation was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Madera for Father's Day break ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Madera for Father's Day breakfast. We had to ask a second time for our drinks (this really shouldn't happen for coffee and tea at breakfast). When the food arrive, though the presentation looked nice, it was cold. Cold eggs just aren't very tasty. The bacon was not thick cut and cooked to mushy not crispy. It seems to me, if you can't do breakfast well, don't do it at all. I had to ask for a refill of coffee (again, this should not happen at breakfast, let alone at a place where the coffee was $6) because nobody ever came by after the food was served to see if everything was ok. I had the polenta and sausage. The polenta was cold. The sausage seemed to pink to me so I saved it and took it home to my dog---after his first bite, he left it. Wow, sausage a dog won't eat. A very disappointing experience. I would recommend going out to a little diner (and for the price, you can go 4 times), and then taking a drive down 280 for the view (the only thing Madera has going for it).

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.