About Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

2825 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
View Larger Map

Madera Restaurant Honored with Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence 2016 and Michelin Rated One Star 2017.
A comfortably elegant ambiance, picturesque views and outdoor terraces welcome guests and Silicon Valley locals to Madera. Featuring an open artisan wood-burning kitchen and extensive wine list, Madera serves rustic American cuisine that celebrates the culinary traditions of the Bay Area
In addition to indoor and outdoor dining, Madera offers two private dining rooms with private terraces and cozy fireplaces. The Lemon Room seats up to 10 guests, and the Orange Room up to 14 guests.


This Menlo Park restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and for Sunday brunch as well.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday - Saturday: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 280

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 561-1540

Website:
http://maderasandhill.com/

Parking Details:
Rosewood Sand Hill offers complimentary valet as well as optional self-parking.

Complimentary electric car charging station available.

Executive Chef:
Peter Rudolph

Private Party Facilities:
Madera offers two distinctive private dining rooms to suit an array of private events. Private and elegantly detailed, both private dining rooms open onto private outdoor terraces - ideal for pre and post dining activity.

Private Party Contact:
Marissa Griffin: (888) 853-3675

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Scenic View (31)
Business Meals (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Romantic (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Open Kitchen (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Fireplace (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Cozy (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Healthy (9)
People Watching (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Seasonal (9)
Casual (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Organic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Family Style (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Historic (2)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1836 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was wonderful and warm from the front of the house to the back. Big wine selection. A little noisy, but tolerable once you get settled in.

Tags: Fireplace, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The food here was all very well-executed and commensurate with what I'd expect from a Michelin star. The staff from the kitchen were all great, explained the food well, and didn't over/under-do things. Sommelier and beverage service in general was well-executed. So that's the good.

The bad is the service was just awful otherwise. Appetizers arrived minutes after we ordered, just a minute after the bread showed up. Entrees were on the table within five minutes of the appetizers being cleared. From sitting down to the end of dinner was just forty minutes, mostly because we tried to take our time with our dishes. There wasn't really a moment to enjoy our company or, for the matter, our drinks and meal. Beverage refill requests firt appeared when our entrees were complete. Just inexcusably bad timing, all around.

What gets weirder is then that dessert and coffee then dragged on for nearly two hours. It may be we just had an off server or an off evening? But the service experience was not generally consistent with the Michelin rating despite the food, wine, and beverage program clearly being at that level.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Fireplace, People Watching, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Only went to sit on sunny terrace

Shouldn't have bothered to have food

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Kudos to the chef for unique and flavorful cuisine. Loved the fried chicken, risotto with asparagus, and chocolate/pear dessert! Incredible food, lovely ambiance, and outstanding, cheerful, and efficient service! A special dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Beautiful and modern venue. Service is friendly and informative. Our waiter did not hesitate to brag about how the ingredients were fresh, seasonal, local, and sustainable. I was surprised how good a local salad could be as an appetizer and was impressed with the Hong Kong style dessert. The poached Walu was flavorful, but a little bit soggier than I anticipated giving an unwanted texture. Pauses between dishes were very long and I don't think that was intentional. Will come here again for another special occasion or business meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a wonderful experience and I look forward to returning again soon. The food was absolutely delicious, the service was outstanding and I could not have asked for a better experience for a Sunday brunch. I asked for a quiet table and they accommodated this request along with making the entire dining experience special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

none of us enjoyed the food , salads were good but not a reason to go back

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Compared to last year the service has gotten better. The people at the front desk greeted me by name and thanked me by name when I left----much better than the non-caring, "who are you" attitude of a year ago. The food portions are very small, however, and at the top of the price range. Bad value. The waiters were just OK in their knowledge of the offerings but I expect more for the price and reputation.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My husband and myself love fine dining and are complete foodies. We have eaten at many Michelin rated restaurants. We were very disappointed. The presentation is beautiful but he taste didn't follow. My husband got the pork tenderloin which came with pork belly as well. It was so hard he couldn't get a knife through the skin and the pork was tasteless. I have had lots of Froi grais throughout France and here and this was more like the texture and taste of a liver butter.

We started in the bar where two Hendricks drinks were $50 including tip and the popcorn they brought to the table was stale. We would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was well worth the drive on a wet and windy late afternoon for dinner at Madera. This was our first time here, and it was a Valentine's dinner that we scheduled, later in the week. The atmosphere, decor, attentive and polite service complemented the delicious meal. Our server Eddie, and the rest of the wait staff, were personable, helpful, and attentive throughout the evening, even as it got busier. The portions were perfect, not too small, not too much, always wanting more, but ready in anticipation for the next course. The breads were so fresh and tasty. The starters, agnolotti and heirloom salad, were delicious. The main course we both had was the fish, Walu. The fish was perfectly cooked, the presentation was nice, and the depth of the flavors was magnificent. We ended it with a new dessert dish introduced that day, a Hong Kong inspired dish, that was an assortment of sample sweets that brought us back to our trip to HK. Can't wait to visit Madera on a warm day and enjoy the views and outdoor patio. The atmosphere was unpretentious and yet elegant. Definitely a nice place to enjoy a conversation with service and great food to match.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This restaurant is beautiful and outrageously pricey. The lunch menu has limited options if you are not interested in a full dinner-type menu. My kale salad with chicken was unimaginative. Disappointing overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I have had lunch at Madera literally 50+ times. It's my go to restaurant on my way to/from or in between meetings in the valley. I always look forward to the experience. A real treat. Had dinner with clients here for the first time this week. On the plus side, a beautiful restaurant and service always top notch. But the noise level is incredible. You can basically talk to the person right next to you. Was surprised how limited (and expensive) the menu was. A lot of esoteric ingredients to you have to look up. For a group of 7, 6 of us got the white fish because it was the most recognizable. The green salad was way overdressed with very strong ginger and soy flavors. The wine list is massive- literally a book. Maybe 90% of the bottles are over $100. Think this place goes from a fabulous lunch spot to an overly pretentious overly expensive dinner spot. Definitely would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a pre-fix menu for Valentines Day and found it very rich and was not able to consume every bite but otherwise an excellent meal. We did feel a little rushed to start our meal upon arrival. We requested a couple of times to hold off so we could enjoy a cocktail before eating. All and all though the food and atmosphere was vey nice.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My guests and I had an outstanding lunch. I was a repeat customer, so no surprise. It was a first time for my guests, and their high expectations were exceeded. We were all very pleased with all aspects of the experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

the waiter services was very poor - 3rd time now that we are not happy with the service; broughts the main disk before the salad... the server was clearly NOT trained

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

After dining here last summer, I did not have high expectations, but it is clear there is a new chef in town, and dinner was excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I didn't go for a long time...before, I had good, ok, and so-so experience... today, as a pre-Valentine celebration, my fiance and I had the best experience ever! Surprise-surpise... the table location was prefect, we were able to talk and observe the rest of the crowd. The dishes were prefect too, and i have been called as a very picky customer:-). We will be definitely back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and it was our first time at Madera. We both felt it was one of the overall best dining experiences we have had. Also, it's great to finally get a restaurant in the Palo Alto/Menlo Park area that is worthy of a Michelin star.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I celebrated my birthday at Madera and it's was so memorable! The ambiance at the restaurant was great! Our table was right in front of the huge fireplace and it felt incredibly cozy. Our sommelier and waiter were so helpful and gave great recommendations on the food and champagne. Every single plate that came to the table was a true masterpiece. I'd highly recommend trying Walu for entree - the fish is very meaty and yet so tender. Oh and the desserts! We ordered three various desserts for the table and all of them were perfect, very light and sweet finish of our dinner. I can't wait for another experience at Madera! Big thank you to all who contributed to making this place so special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Beautiful space; great service; excellent wine list. The food was very good (although you did have the feeling that the chef was trying a little too hard at times).

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

It's always nice to lunch here because of ambience and views!! Food is consistently good. This time I had the burger with bacon which was cooked to perfection. Other friends had roasted chicken and petrale sole and both said their dishes were good as well. The best part of the meal was the kung fu tea chocolate dessert. It's heaven on earth!! Service was also very attentive.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I liked the amuse bouche, the appetizers, and the dessert. The main course (chickpea panisse) was just ok - it was quite dry and not very tasty in my opinion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

WAS EXCELLENT LOVE THE MENU AND THE DECOR AND COULDN'T SAY ONE BAD THING.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Celebrated a birthday and it was outstanding! Hands down one of my favorite dining experiences!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I took my friend to Madera for her Birthday Lunch. After the waiter determined that the wobble in the table was not repairable, we each enjoyed the Caesar salad with shrimp. The dessert was unusual but good & the service was great. Overall another enjoyable meal at Rosewood.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

WE love Madera and dine there regularly. they have a wonderful wine list and very seasonal local menu. I always recommend this restaurant. it was a bit loud for lunch and I could not hear my girlfriend across the table but we really enjoyed out lunch - absolutely delicious and the wait staff were always around and very professional.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We came in for a corporate dinner. The atmosphere was incredibly beautiful as we arrived just before sunset. Service, however was terrible, we had to flag down staff for water (after sitting for at least 15 minutes) and then again when no one came back around for drink orders (another 15 minutes) and again when it was time for the bill. The food was expensive, which would be ok if it had been an amazing meal, but it was far from that. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We have been here many times.

Menu selection is limited.

Corkage fee $50. (Overpriced).

Pizza with hummus and mushroom was delicious as a starter.

The chocolate swirl was great.

The menu choice is limited.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very limited choices on menu for brunch. Ran out of fish even within that! Surprisingly low satisfaction for such a great ambiance and high prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a lovely special family brunch and it couldn't have been nicer. It was nice to treat my adult children to a relaxing and enjoyable meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best restaurant I've been to in a long time, opened my eyes and taste buds to a new level of cuisine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vegan, Fireplace, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Recommend madera as a date spot because there are so few places with great full bars and lovely service and ambiance in Palo alto. But food is unimpressive--seafood is > 50% of the menu, and all came out heat-lamp-hot and dry/overdone. Skin on fish was seriously shrunken, confirming the overcooking. The menu is really short, so execution of the few dishes should be flawless. Lived in NYC for a long time--not strangers to Michelin stars or expensive meals. But the bad execution adds insult to injury: the portions here (truly minimal) for the price (all entrees over $35, highest in the geographical area) don't compute. We'd happily pay even more for dishes if they were perfectly done. Steak was passable (though ~6 oz) and wine list was great.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Came here for a friend's birthday celebration and was served free champagne, cake, and chocolate -- amazing service too! Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Lovely dinner; starters and entrees were excellent. Desert was the only disappointment; it was ordinary in taste but exceptional in appearance. Service was very attentive and friendly. Wine by the glass was also very good

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The location is wonderful. The service and people were very attentive. The food was great. The only problem - their vegetarian options were very limited. They had a wonderful grilled Brussels Sprouts, but it was grilled with/next to meat or fish. I did make the vegetarian request on the reservation note: I was impressed they had read it. But it didn't make a difference in their offering. I wished the waiter/chef had offered us grilled vegetables of the day. I am sure it would have been great. Our other dishes were great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Hair in soup and had to be sent back

Had to request multiple times for a sauce that was supposed to arrive with the rib-eye, by the time the sauce was served the plate was cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service from Preston and the server was excellent. My wife had the snapper and thought it was great. I had the rib eye and was disappointed. We had dessert and one was good but the other not so. The prices are too high.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent service with patient waiter letting the dinner go well paced

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Fireplace, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always a lovely place for a night out. Service is consistently excellent. Although it is a quiet environment the acoustics make it harder for larger parties. For just the two of us it's perfect. Appetizers and dessert were fabulous (crab salad and beet appetizer, California citrus dessert). Mains were ok this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First, you should know that the prices are somewhat on the high end. But considering the area (in the heart of Venture Capital country), the prices are pretty reasonable in my opinion.

I went in the middle of the cold season and the place reminded me a ski log. A couple of fireplaces going, everyone all bundled up, it just had that ski lodge vibe (without the loudness of drunk skiers), which was pretty cool.

The food was outstanding. The Marin Dungeness Crab Salad was spot on with lots of fresh crab. The entrees were delicious. We had the ribeye and pork and both were cooked to perfection (I really loved the pork belly in the pork plate). The dessert items were sinful and a perfect way to cap a beautiful meal (we had the chocolate sphere and the beignets). Keep in mind the menu changes seasonally so these items might not be available when you get there.

In truth, I would give it 4.5 stars if I could and I would highly recommend it (if you're in the area).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas dinner at Madera was a memorable experience. Everything was on point from the service, food, decor and meal pace. All of us were so pleased and cannot wait to go again next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas pre-fixe dinner, with several side dish options. The sommelier was fantastic, offering great pairings while providing a snazzy champagne for our grandmother, who's a sparkling connoisseur!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Pricey and pretentious holiday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We enjoyed an exceptional Christmas Day dinner with my granddaughter and her husband at Madera. It is an expensive restaurant that measures up to cost.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

For birthdays, anniversaries, or any fancy date, this would have to be high up in your list. Not cheap by far, but perhaps well worth it, especially if you can squeeze in time to savour the splendid sunset scenery, wine in hand, by the fireside at the neighbouring bar.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was quite good - if a little pricey. Fortunately we had a very good server who made us feel as if we were the only ones in the place.

My partner didn't want proscuitto with her eggs benedict. The server accepted her suggestion of bacon or ham instead, and it was still great. My omelette was perfect.

The only drawback: they were skimpy on the joe. I wasn't offered refills of my coffee cup. I had to remind myself that I wasn't dining at IHOP...

Try and get a table close to the expansive windows and the views of the west hills. Makes up for any discomfort about the prices. Everything is really well done about this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This is a lovely restaurant with exceptional service. The food was wonderful... we ordered the duck, whole trout and petrale sole. The duck was a stand out. It's quite expensive, so I can only go once in awhile for a splurge.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent recommendations by Eddie! Great service. Tasty food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was excellent and the restaurant and hotel are beautiful. Our experience however, was disappointing b/c a friend of ours bought the bottle of champagne for us that we enjoyed but the waiter told us that he picked up the tab for it. As a result, we gave him a huge tip (the cost of the champagne). Had our friend not told us that the champagne was a gift from her, we would have never know about it or thanked her for her generosity.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food is not good, presentation zero taste average. Ambiance is great otherwise no one would eat there. Service is ok, most of the servers are not friendly or pleasant:( too bad we love the place but for many years they are not doing anything about the menu or better choice of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.