Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

Madera Restaurant Honored with Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence 2016 and Michelin Rated One Star 2017.
A comfortably elegant ambiance, picturesque views and outdoor terraces welcome guests and Silicon Valley locals to Madera. Featuring an open artisan wood-burning kitchen and extensive wine list, Madera serves rustic American cuisine that celebrates the culinary traditions of the Bay Area
In addition to indoor and outdoor dining, Madera offers two private dining rooms with private terraces and cozy fireplaces. The Lemon Room seats up to 10 guests, and the Orange Room up to 14 guests.


This Menlo Park restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and for Sunday brunch as well.

2825 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday - Saturday: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 280

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 561-1540

Website:
http://maderasandhill.com/

Parking Details:
Rosewood Sand Hill offers complimentary valet as well as optional self-parking.

Complimentary electric car charging station available.

Executive Chef:
Peter Rudolph

Private Party Facilities:
Madera offers two distinctive private dining rooms to suit an array of private events. Private and elegantly detailed, both private dining rooms open onto private outdoor terraces - ideal for pre and post dining activity.

Private Party Contact:
Marissa Griffin: (888) 853-3675

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Scenic View (43)
Notable Wine List (38)
See All
Business Meals (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Romantic (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Fireplace (14)
Casual (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
People Watching (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Seasonal (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Cozy (9)
Healthy (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (7)
Organic (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Private Room (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (2)
Fun (2)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1914 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Been there for business meetings many times and a dinner couple of times. Good for business meetings but disappointing during dinner. The seafood ceviche was weird tasting, borderline awful. Rib eye steak was good but looked different each time ordered. The homemade white cheese was bland and nothing special. It's a hit and miss. Good wine selection but with a huge markup, with a friendly and experienced wine director. The menu really needs some work and keep it simply delicious (too many weird things being added (do you really need weird stuff on a beautiful for gras? What ever happened to a simple seared for gras?)

Dinner for 4, around $500. Typical dish around $40. Wine markup is huge!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I would pick another place next time,food was good but a lot of money

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Our dinner at Madera was the best that I have had in well over a year. My wife and I have been fortunate enough to eat in a number of good restaurants and the meal at Madera was one of the rare ones that left us highly impressed. The selections were all outstanding with interesting combinations of ingredients and flavors without getting too cute. The duck breast was the best I have ever had anywhere. The setting is spectacular and the service flawless. In fact, I was able to use the dinner as an occasion to show my daughter, whose graduation we were celebrating, how good restaurant service is supposed to work.
I will also comment on the wine, since they have a 100 page list (thankfully on-line so diners can sort it out in advance) and the wine will usually cost more then the food. I noted a great price for Guigal Hermitage blanc and asked the sommelier to confirm that the price was correct. She confirmed that it was the correct price, but when she brought us the wine, it was the incorrect wine. Rather than the Hermitage on the wine list, they had Crozes-Hermitage in their cellar, an inferior and cheaper wine. I am sure there are errors to be expected on a list this long. We also had a superb California Syrah with dinner, which was too warm (it was 96 degrees outside that day). The sommelier, a very pleasant and sincerely helpful young woman, put the wine bottle in ice for a short while to cool it to the correct serving temperature. She also remembered to return to pour it at the appropriate time. Warm wine always makes me wonder how a restaurant is storing their wine collection. These minor gripes did not detract from what was overall a really exceptional dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Our meal at Madera was before a graduation event, and the overall experience was delightful! As we ate early, there were many spare waitstaff and my family felt we were being specially catered to. The food was delicious – the watercress soup was perhaps a little too bitter – but the dessert was by far the highlight! My tiramisu might have been the best dessert I've ever eaten! Additionally, I would compliment my server on a perfect wine pairing with my roasted asparagus entree.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My wife and I dined here for her birthday/five year anniversary of our engagement. We arrived early for our reservation and sat in the lounge, where they provide service, which allowed us to avoid the crowds in the bar. The drinks were excellent, and the staff was friendly and professional. Once seated, we were offered a complimentary champagne toast to mark the occasions for which we were celebrating. We order a couple of appetizers, and two entrees. The table bread is baked in house and fantastic. Overall, the quality of food was incredible, and only matched by the level of the service. We lingered for over three hours and never felt rushed, but never felt neglected either. We felt like the staff went out of their way to make our night as special as they could, and they completely succeeded.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

A lot of hype (including the irritating phone call a day before "just to confirm your reservation") for a totally underwhelming experience. I could have probably got a nicer omelette at a local breakfast dive. Only hot sauce was Tabasco, so sixties. Coffee didn't seem that fresh. Underwhelming all round especially given steep prices.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The bar was very slow in serving us. But the restaurant service was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very accommodating, pleasant hostess and staff. Bartender also very friendly and accommodating. Impressed by the lack of urgency/turnover- felt very welcomed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very professional service without being stuffy. Great food, though portions are on the small size. Beautiful, carefully maintained premises. I am looking forward towards another visit, even driving from San Francisco.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The restaurant and the food served by isn't what the reviews suggest.
I ordered a baby kale salad which was not special but was satisfactory. The main dish that I ordered was the Halibut and it was taste less and dry.
The beer selection is nothing special. You get those beers at any cheap restaurant.
Overall, My whole experience a dot better than a regular fast casual restaurant, but the price is much much higher.
The view from the place is gorgeous, so if that justify the price for you , then go for it.
As someone who was raised on top notch food, I am yet to find good food in this area. There is a myth that the restaurants are good but so far, I have found nothing great.
The service is mediocre.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great restaurant, deserves the Michelin Star. The service and food were both top-notch.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Every dish was great except a new duck entrée was very tough and not very flavorful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Seating was awful, not what I asked for or hoped. Dark and noisy.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Very pleasant on the outdoor patio — quiet, with a nice vista on the Santa Cruz mountains. Exquisite small dishes with imaginative combinations of ingredients.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Made one request for a table area which could have been easily accommodated. Instead seated in the one area I specifically asked not to be. Quite a bummer, and the area was unfortunately as expected - with kids running around, no heat lamps, etc.
Key is that you shouldn't bother to make a request for this restaurant when booking since they don't look at it ahead of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

It was cool and foggy in Pacifica on Memorial Day. I was not very motivated to get out and do anything. Then I thought about a late lunch at Madera. It was perfect. We sat out on the patio and enjoyed the nice weather, the nice view, and excellent food and wine. The service was outstanding. I did not catch our waiter's name, but IsraelC is listed on the credit charge receipt. What a very nice afternoon.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Charming place. Wish they had gluten free options and better coffee. Overall, it was a pleasant dining experience and our server was sweet and attentive.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2017

It has become way too expensive. Lunch for two without dessert over $200 + tax and tip. Also, there aren't any small appetizers; most of them are entire lunch size. Where is a nice shrimp cocktail? They used to have tempura which was fantastic. My guest didn't like the burger - larger than a mouth - and not seasoned very well at all. The ambiance is best out on the deck. The whole trout was very good, but $48? Or maybe it was $45. Anyway, it was a lot. The vegetable bowl was unsightly, with sort of greens and tomato mashed together.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The staff was welcoming and top notch. The food was excellent and view lovely. I was there for a work luncheon, but this could easily be a great date spot, wonderful for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Beautiful location. Great service. Good vegetarian options.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Overall amazing restaurant. Would recommend to anyone. Service is impeccable.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Decided to give this restaurant another try. The food was tasty but the portions are small. The variety on the menu is low. Would've been better to have a broader range of foods. We had the salmon and the ribeye. The portions were small and nicely presented on the plate. The vegetables were tiny. The price was fairly high. The bar area is quite nice. On my next visit, would probably eat only in the bar area. Restaurant not really worth it.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Worse experience ever. Came to celebrate my 75 birthday and they did nothing to recognize it, even after being called and asking about ordering a cake and they said they always give a piece of cake with a candle and they did not.. I am only 75 once so will not get a 2nd chance ..Talked to the manager and said when we come again she will give us wine and hor'dourves. She should have invited us to dinner instead To bad. So unbusiness like. Never again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We loved it! We went for my wife's birthday and we were not let down. There was a beautiful view, great service, a nice ambiance, and delicious food. It's expensive, but worth it, especially when you're looking for a fancy/upscale experience.

They do a couple special things for birthdays: put a special message on the menu wishing a happy birthday and give you a free dessert with a candle. Our server also referenced my wife's birthday a few different times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The high level of noise distracted from the overall experience that was very good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Five of us dined at Madera for Mother's Day, and had a lovely evening. We asked to move to a different table, to avoid a frequently opened door to the outside dining area, and they accommodated our request quickly. The sommelier was helpful in picking out a wonderful (although pricey) Chardonnay to accompany the meal. The first course selections were very good, although none was exceptional. Garden salad and Asparagus were quite nice and the Fois Gras was an interesting touch. Mains were very good - the trio of lamb was delicious as was the Halibut and special steak. Overall, the meal was quite enjoyable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very good service, but truly mediocre food, except for the desert which was exceptional. It seems the chef trying too hard to be creative and forgetting fundamentals.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good attentive service, food was excellent. Upscale ambience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food is ridiculously small for price - great desserts though.
Also the price for a really bland easy salad is also a horrible value

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Impeccable service and excellent food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I took a new lady friend and she was impressed. It was a good "lady's lunch". Something different.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Eddie was the best waiter we have had in many restaurants- he knew all the dishes - we had a great time 🎯

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This food told an Alice in Wonderland story of imagination and perfection. We all loved it! Take at least four people and try everything! Can't wait for another special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Authentic, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

2 salads w chicken, water and 2 cappuccinos for $90 w tip is a bit much. I won't be bringing clients here very regularly.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

A bit pricey - but not crazy, given the location and the clientele. Pretty amazing views and wine list. Bar is very nice - especially outdoors - but very busy bar scene and sometimes hard to get a seat. Great place for a business meal.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Not much for serious eaters. No steak, limited menu. Keep Foie Gras and some steak for real foodies. Have someone redesign the menu please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Truly disappointing business lunch

I've eaten at Madera 8-10 times in my life and always had a good food experience, but not this time. The cobb salad they served me was perhaps the worst I've ever eaten. Unripe avocado (which was replaced by more unripe avocado when I explained that the avocado was inedible) and totally bland watery dressing. The quality of the ham and chicken was fine, but the dressing and avocado just ruined the salad. I will say the bread they served was delicious (which is why I rated the food fair instead of poor) and the waitstaff did what they could to rectify the matter (but apparently all they had in the kitchen was hard avocados) but I will not return to Madera again for lunch if I can help it.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Server was difficult to understand, but otherwise effective.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was very good, but somewhat uninspired. The corkage fee is $50.00, which is ridiculous, for where we are, and the service was not up to par with what one expects when dining in a high end restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our experience at Madera was not what one would expect from a top rated restaurant. The service oozed with a fake deference that became annoying after fifteen minutes. My entrée was lukewarm and tasted rancid. I was told that it was impossible that the fish was bad because it comes in fresh every day. It would have been nice to hear something like, “I am so sorry madam, what else can I offer you?” Staff was rushing all around but not so much at our table. We had to directly request for our wine glasses to be replenished from our bottle and ice buckets are shared. Our waiter offered our wine to the guests at the next table. Oops!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.