Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

Madera Restaurant Honored with Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence 2016 and Michelin Rated One Star 2017.
A comfortably elegant ambiance, picturesque views and outdoor terraces welcome guests and Silicon Valley locals to Madera. Featuring an open artisan wood-burning kitchen and extensive wine list, Madera serves rustic American cuisine that celebrates the culinary traditions of the Bay Area
In addition to indoor and outdoor dining, Madera offers two private dining rooms with private terraces and cozy fireplaces. The Lemon Room seats up to 10 guests, and the Orange Room up to 14 guests.


This Menlo Park restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and for Sunday brunch as well. We can accommodate parties of 6 or less in the main dining room. If you care to have a larger party please contact the restaurant directly.

2825 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday - Saturday: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 280

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 561-1540

Website:
http://maderasandhill.com/

Parking Details:
Rosewood Sand Hill offers complimentary valet as well as optional self-parking.

Complimentary electric car charging station available.

Executive Chef:
Reylon Agustin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Gather with friends and family and create new holiday memories while savoring our fall-inspired Family Style Thanksgiving menu. Reservations guaranteed with a credit card on file, a 72hr cancellation policy for all bookings.
$110 Adults, $55 Children under 12. 20% gratuity added to all parties

Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Scenic View (39)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Business Meals (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Local Ingredients (20)
Worth the Drive (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Healthy (10)
Seasonal (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Organic (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Fun (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (6)
People Watching (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
1990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2017

We are frequent Madera customers. Last Sunday evening was a disappointment, not sure if chef is different or it was just an off night. Table was excellent on the deck, but although waiter was professional, he was not friendly and it seemed he was just mumbling off phrases he memorized. I had the Sunchoke Veloute, Kampachi and Duck. Nothing stood out as memorable and the soup was served too cool. My boyfriend said the Heirloom Tomato salad was also just okay. Not so sure we will go back often anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

From start to finish our dinner was outstanding. Wines were incredible and although you could spend a ton of money on some of the vintages, we had a Sancerre that was delicious and reasonable. Rachel the Somm is spot on, ask her as she really knows her wines.
We can't wait to go back, if I lived closer I would frequent this place as often as possible.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Scenic View, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

My eggs Benedict arrived tepid and we had to chase the overly familiar waiter down to pay the check. At this level of hotel and this price point, the service and food should be far better than they are. Great view, but otherwise not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
·Dined on October 15, 2017

My first visit, will return. Shared two appetizers with my date, the first, grilled foie gras, had lots of flavors and nuances. The second, the angelloti, was a new take on a pasta dish, delectable. Then we shared the halibut, soft and tender white meat. Delicious. The pairings were Sangiovese and Malbec for the appetizers and a NZ daub blanc for the halibut. Perfect. Finished the dinner with a double expresso, aromatic and tasty.
I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2017

great place for lunch and for dinner. Excellent food, service and place.
Noisy at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

My daughter (vegetarian) was treated very well. They even had a blanket for her to use, when the evening got a little chilly. The food was well done. Great experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Nothing but smiles and great service from everyone at the restaurant. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Nice view good food ok drinks
I would recommend this restaurant to others but my only comment would be to order off the extensive wine list. The cocktails were just ok. That was a little disappointing, but the food was nicely prepared and presented.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

It was my first date and the evening could not be anymore perfect. From the view the seating I asked for the service the food. Everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food and ambience are just amazing. I just love dining at Madera.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Very very slow service at breakfast, especially beverages. Food was ok though slightly skimpy portions. Nice patio table with lovely view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Good but very expensive! The view was fantastic, as was the ambience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

If you want a delicious mile high burger, Madera has a $20 version that beats anything I've ever had. FULL STOP.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was absolutely amazing and service was perfect. Great for a business meal when you want to impress your guest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Pork loin is da bomb.. peach dessert was awesome.. friendly staff.. great selection of wine.. your partner would be impressed by your choice of restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Wonderful! Thank you, we will be back - it's our go to place for business

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The chilled corn soup I sent amazing! The chicken with lentils was extremely salty - we did inform the waiter and he offered to replace it but we decided not to.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were visiting from east coast and found this gem. Outdoor seating was wonderful with great view. Service was outstanding. Food looked beautiful and simply delicious! If I am back, I am definitely going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Flawless service for a special occasion, if like me you are stressed about things going wrong on a special occasion, look no more. Staff at Madera went above and beyond just because I mentioned it was our anniversary and requested a table by the window. Food is great and view is nice (if going before sunset), but for us what really made a difference was the service, prompt but not pushy, multiple courtesies and attention to detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Madera has a great setting and it's nice if you can take advantage of the outdoor eating area. It would be even better if they were able to get air to circulate on hot days so the outside was more doable. The food has always been good, but I don't find it outstanding. Our servers have always been friendly and professional. To be honest, it is just too expensive for future visits. This last lunch between 3 women-3 salads, 1 glass of wine, 1 Bellini, 2 desserts shared and 3 iced coffee drinks came to $180. That's just ridiculous. My salad though good, came on a plate that they filled half with the salad and the other half was literally empty-odd presentation esp. when it cost so much. W probably won't dine here again in the future as it just seems to get more expensive and the food doesn't wow me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Wonderful food and great staff, very attentive. Had a variety of dishes and all were really yummy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Madera has never disappointed us, always impressed us, every time we visit. From breakfasts to lunches, special dinners, Christmas, you name it. This is our "go-to" place when we want a dependable five star dining experience. We have been going here for years and it is always a great dining experience.....food, setting, service and a great staff. You are a dependable "best".

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Exceptional evening! Madera went the extra mile for a special family birthday and every detail was greatly appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Exceeded expectations, food was amazing and the wine perfect. Thanks !!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Organic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Such a fabulous restaurant! The service is impeccable and the food is creative. Best was the hazelnut cream filled chocolate macarons. Really beautiful views at sunset.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

probably expected more from the restaurant at this expensive resort. We were there on a Sunday and so had Brunch. My Eggs Benedict were so-so and my wife's selection was nothing special, throw in a mimosa and a blueberry lemonade and you are out the door for about $75 +tip

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The bucolic setting is a rare find so close to its Bay Area villages and transportation. A wonderful relaxing property to enjoy no matter the length of your visit. The magnificent use of wood in the interior is awesome and a memorable feature of the property. And yes, brunch was everything we had anticipated and more. I am fortunate to live on the Peninsula with an opportunity to return to your property. Staff members were enthusiastic and friendly and certainly set the stage for a wonderful welcome and service throughout.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food is always exceptional regardless of time of day, and the staff are incredibly thoughtful, professional, helpful, accommodating, and very, very good and knowledgeable. We had fantastic meals,and always love the entire experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great overall experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was really a great evening and I really appreciate the restaurants's great job.. We were celebrating a special evening and I recommend anyone celebrating a special evening look at this place.

If I can provide one suggestion, I wish they would have had a few more people on the floor. It is a minor nit, but I would have expected that a few more people would have stopped by and cleared plates and refilled wine glasses. Not that I wanted to be doted on, but I also didn't want to be waiting for them to take our orders before going out to the balcony to enjoy the sunset...

Its a great location, awesome food, and great place... my suggestions are only to management to make it into a perfect evening.....

Thanks again!
Michael, Carolyn, Jennifer, Judy, and Michael

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

nice restaurant and nice atmosphere but is way way overpriced, and value for money is pretty low.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The staff here could not have been nicer. I changed our plans several times, canceling, and rebooking at the last minute, and they even had special menus printed for my husband's birthday. Wonderful service, food, and ambiance. A magical evening. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Madera is a scene. Lots of Silicon Valley folks, Sand Hill VC's, international types looking to sell or buy into the next big tech idea. The menu prices reflect Madera's clientele: designer jeans, Gucci, Manolo,Swiss watches, Ferraris and Porches ion the parking lot mean caviar ($120 an ounce), great wines, mile high $18 hamburgers, designer salads and the world's best beignets for dessert. Was the scene worth it- sure.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Everything was Devine. Spicy chicken was very interesting with little influences of various countries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Wonderful place from every perspective and for all occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Waiters were completely inattentive
Had to flag them for coffee and to order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Place is beautiful with view, Service is professional, foods are delicious. We got a piece cake with candle for free because birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Beautifully decorated restaurant with a great view inside a very nice hotel. I went there to celebrate my husband's birthday with our son. I asked our server if I can order something from the lunch menu for our son and he said no because the restaurant plans for the dinner menu. During our meal, I saw a plate of hamburger and french fries (from the lunch menu) being served to another party at the restaurant which I wasn't thrilled about. I ordered the rib eye which was delicious and for dessert shared beignets with my husband who also received a complimentary slice of cake for his birthday. Overall, we had a nice dinner yet I walked away feeling underwhelmed by the service and overrall dinner. I don't anticipate going back any time soon. I really was hoping to be wowed by this Michelin rated restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2017

For a $91 lunch before tip, one poor Caesar salad, one good crab sandwich, two ice teas, two cups of coffee - not worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.