About Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

Madera Restaurant Honored with Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence 2016 and Michelin Rated One Star 2017.
A comfortably elegant ambiance, picturesque views and outdoor terraces welcome guests and Silicon Valley locals to Madera. Featuring an open artisan wood-burning kitchen and extensive wine list, Madera serves rustic American cuisine that celebrates the culinary traditions of the Bay Area
In addition to indoor and outdoor dining, Madera offers two private dining rooms with private terraces and cozy fireplaces. The Lemon Room seats up to 10 guests, and the Orange Room up to 14 guests.


This Menlo Park restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and for Sunday brunch as well.

2825 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday - Saturday: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 280

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 561-1540

Website:
http://maderasandhill.com/

Parking Details:
Rosewood Sand Hill offers complimentary valet as well as optional self-parking.

Complimentary electric car charging station available.

Executive Chef:
Peter Rudolph

Private Party Facilities:
Madera offers two distinctive private dining rooms to suit an array of private events. Private and elegantly detailed, both private dining rooms open onto private outdoor terraces - ideal for pre and post dining activity.

Private Party Contact:
Marissa Griffin: (888) 853-3675

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Come celebrate with your loved ones at Madera! Featuring a 5 Course dinner inspired by the season and local products.

Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Scenic View (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Business Meals (23)
Romantic (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fireplace (9)
Seasonal (8)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
People Watching (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Fun (4)
Organic (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very limited choices on menu for brunch. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very limited choices on menu for brunch. Ran out of fish even within that! Surprisingly low satisfaction for such a great ambiance and high prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

We had a lovely special family brunch an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a lovely special family brunch and it couldn't have been nicer. It was nice to treat my adult children to a relaxing and enjoyable meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant I've been to in a long t ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best restaurant I've been to in a long time, opened my eyes and taste buds to a new level of cuisine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vegan, Fireplace, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommend madera as a date spot because ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Recommend madera as a date spot because there are so few places with great full bars and lovely service and ambiance in Palo alto. But food is unimpressive--seafood is > 50% of the menu, and all came out heat-lamp-hot and dry/overdone. Skin on fish was seriously shrunken, confirming the overcooking. The menu is really short, so execution of the few dishes should be flawless. Lived in NYC for a long time--not strangers to Michelin stars or expensive meals. But the bad execution adds insult to injury: the portions here (truly minimal) for the price (all entrees over $35, highest in the geographical area) don't compute. We'd happily pay even more for dishes if they were perfectly done. Steak was passable (though ~6 oz) and wine list was great.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Came here for a friend's birthday celebr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Came here for a friend's birthday celebration and was served free champagne, cake, and chocolate -- amazing service too! Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely dinner; starters and entrees were ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Lovely dinner; starters and entrees were excellent. Desert was the only disappointment; it was ordinary in taste but exceptional in appearance. Service was very attentive and friendly. Wine by the glass was also very good

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The location is wonderful. The service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The location is wonderful. The service and people were very attentive. The food was great. The only problem - their vegetarian options were very limited. They had a wonderful grilled Brussels Sprouts, but it was grilled with/next to meat or fish. I did make the vegetarian request on the reservation note: I was impressed they had read it. But it didn't make a difference in their offering. I wished the waiter/chef had offered us grilled vegetables of the day. I am sure it would have been great. Our other dishes were great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hair in soup and had to be sent back Ha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Hair in soup and had to be sent back

Had to request multiple times for a sauce that was supposed to arrive with the rib-eye, by the time the sauce was served the plate was cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The service from Preston and the server ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service from Preston and the server was excellent. My wife had the snapper and thought it was great. I had the rib eye and was disappointed. We had dessert and one was good but the other not so. The prices are too high.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent service with patient waiter le ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent service with patient waiter letting the dinner go well paced

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Fireplace, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a lovely place for a night out. S ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always a lovely place for a night out. Service is consistently excellent. Although it is a quiet environment the acoustics make it harder for larger parties. For just the two of us it's perfect. Appetizers and dessert were fabulous (crab salad and beet appetizer, California citrus dessert). Mains were ok this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

First, you should know that the prices a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First, you should know that the prices are somewhat on the high end. But considering the area (in the heart of Venture Capital country), the prices are pretty reasonable in my opinion.

I went in the middle of the cold season and the place reminded me a ski log. A couple of fireplaces going, everyone all bundled up, it just had that ski lodge vibe (without the loudness of drunk skiers), which was pretty cool.

The food was outstanding. The Marin Dungeness Crab Salad was spot on with lots of fresh crab. The entrees were delicious. We had the ribeye and pork and both were cooked to perfection (I really loved the pork belly in the pork plate). The dessert items were sinful and a perfect way to cap a beautiful meal (we had the chocolate sphere and the beignets). Keep in mind the menu changes seasonally so these items might not be available when you get there.

In truth, I would give it 4.5 stars if I could and I would highly recommend it (if you're in the area).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Christmas dinner at Madera was a memorab ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas dinner at Madera was a memorable experience. Everything was on point from the service, food, decor and meal pace. All of us were so pleased and cannot wait to go again next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful Christmas pre-fixe di ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas pre-fixe dinner, with several side dish options. The sommelier was fantastic, offering great pairings while providing a snazzy champagne for our grandmother, who's a sparkling connoisseur!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Pricey and pretentious holiday dinner.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Pricey and pretentious holiday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We enjoyed an exceptional Christmas Day ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We enjoyed an exceptional Christmas Day dinner with my granddaughter and her husband at Madera. It is an expensive restaurant that measures up to cost.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

For birthdays, anniversaries, or any fan ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 25, 2016

For birthdays, anniversaries, or any fancy date, this would have to be high up in your list. Not cheap by far, but perhaps well worth it, especially if you can squeeze in time to savour the splendid sunset scenery, wine in hand, by the fireside at the neighbouring bar.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was quite good - if a little pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was quite good - if a little pricey. Fortunately we had a very good server who made us feel as if we were the only ones in the place.

My partner didn't want proscuitto with her eggs benedict. The server accepted her suggestion of bacon or ham instead, and it was still great. My omelette was perfect.

The only drawback: they were skimpy on the joe. I wasn't offered refills of my coffee cup. I had to remind myself that I wasn't dining at IHOP...

Try and get a table close to the expansive windows and the views of the west hills. Makes up for any discomfort about the prices. Everything is really well done about this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a lovely restaurant with excepti ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This is a lovely restaurant with exceptional service. The food was wonderful... we ordered the duck, whole trout and petrale sole. The duck was a stand out. It's quite expensive, so I can only go once in awhile for a splurge.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent recommendations by Eddie! Gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent recommendations by Eddie! Great service. Tasty food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and the restauran ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was excellent and the restaurant and hotel are beautiful. Our experience however, was disappointing b/c a friend of ours bought the bottle of champagne for us that we enjoyed but the waiter told us that he picked up the tab for it. As a result, we gave him a huge tip (the cost of the champagne). Had our friend not told us that the champagne was a gift from her, we would have never know about it or thanked her for her generosity.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Food is not good, presentation zero ta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food is not good, presentation zero taste average. Ambiance is great otherwise no one would eat there. Service is ok, most of the servers are not friendly or pleasant:( too bad we love the place but for many years they are not doing anything about the menu or better choice of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

The new abbreviated lunch menu leaves fe ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The new abbreviated lunch menu leaves few decent options for dining. Service was absolutely disgusting. We were served 1/4 glasses of the bubbles we had ordered and no refills. Obviously the staff was planning to drink the rest. No one ever checked to see how things were or if we needed anything. How Madera has a Michelin star again is a mystery to us.

While we have been going to Madera for our Christmas get together for many years, this will be the last I fear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

The Sand Hill $20 Burger used to hav ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The Sand Hill $20 Burger used to have the best fries in this hemisphere. No longer. I think the hotel must have changed kitchen contractors, without telling the new guys how to slice or fry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent service, delicious food and pe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food and perfect spot for a holiday lunch!

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers left a bit to be desired her ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The servers left a bit to be desired here this time. I regularly dine here but the servers seem a bit challenged in understanding English and we had to repeat our requests numerous times. Not what I expect at a Rosewood Hotel in toney Menlo Park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Fantastic food and over the top service. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Fantastic food and over the top service. Overall great experience. We went there for anniversary. Seating was a bit too crowded so could be better for intimate conversation. The staff are really impressive and made our time more special. Definitely recommended.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was phenomenal. He was knowle ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our server was phenomenal. He was knowledgeable, attentive and very pleasant. He is a student at San Jose State and really made our evening. The food and wine were beyond delicious. I had the foie gras and it was perfectly prepared. For our main course we had the pork and ribeye, again just amazing. We love the Coravin system and the wine sommelier is top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was meager and tasteless. Service w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food was meager and tasteless. Service was very slow.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent experience! Food and service i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Excellent experience! Food and service incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Madera continues to disappoi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food at Madera continues to disappoint. Dinners have been consistently disappointing. We deduced to give it a chance with lunch for the second time. Again the food was tasteless. I had a cup of the Lobster Bullion and so did my husband. The lobster looked like it came out of a can and the bullion had no case at all. Then I ordered the chicory salad, the new signature plate for lunch. It was suppose to come with smoked trout and cheese. My friend also ordered the same dish. It came without the smoked trout and I needed a microscope to find the two bits of cheese in it. We send our salads back to have the trout added and it came back with a few flakes of fish thrown on top of the salad. I am still trying to figure out what was the taste - seriously?

Tags: Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

They went above and beyond to make our d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

They went above and beyond to make our dining experience and celebration of birthday extra special, such as customized menu with the happy birthday message and complimentary birthday dessert with candle. The food there was also of excellent quality.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had our Thanksgiving at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My family and I had our Thanksgiving at Rosewood on Thursday. It was very well done. For the turkey lovers it fit the bill and other there were choices. It was warm and elegant, decorated perfectly for the start of the holiday. It is pricey but for a special occasion Madera is worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, service, atmosphere excellent, but ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere excellent, but $100+ tab for lunch w/no alcohol a bit expensive.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was a little slow but it's gener ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Service was a little slow but it's generally always a pleasure going here.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Lobster consomme and burrata salad were ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Lobster consomme and burrata salad were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We spent minutes trying to get the atten ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We spent minutes trying to get the attention of the wait staff on several occasions – unacceptable for a restaurant of this standing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Amazing patio! We lucked out and also ha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing patio! We lucked out and also had perfect weather. Mid-November yet we were dining al fresco without sleeves. Very kind and professional service. The roasted mushroom flatbread and burrata salad were fantastic. Especially loved the surprise of grated black truffles atop the salad!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a fantastic dining experience at Mad ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had a fantastic dining experience at Madera. The service and the food were superb! I highly recommend our fantastic waiter Eddie Valle. He is a perfect waiter. His attentiveness to every detail never went unnoticed. We asked him many questions about the food and his recommendations were right on.

The liver pate and the ribeye steak were excellent. Desserts are a must at Madera. The manager told me that the restaurant waited a full year before the new pastry chef could start. Each dessert is beautifully done. The desserts are a work of art. I recommend the Chocolate Spheres

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gained deliciousness; lost arrogance. N ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Gained deliciousness; lost arrogance. Now it is worth the time and the money to go there. You will not be disappointed. Familiar dishes dressed in new flavors. Creativity at its best...not overdone. Don't be surprised if Madera receives two Michelin stars at the next review.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Organic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.