About Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

2825 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
View Larger Map

Madera Restaurant Honored with Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence 2015 and Michelin Rated 2015.
A comfortably elegant ambiance, picturesque views and outdoor terraces welcome guests and Silicon Valley locals to Madera. Featuring an open artisan wood-burning kitchen and extensive wine list, Madera serves rustic American cuisine that celebrates the culinary traditions of the Bay Area
In addition to indoor and outdoor dining, Madera offers two private dining rooms with private terraces and cozy fireplaces. The Lemon Room seats up to 10 guests, and the Orange Room up to 14 guests.


This Menlo Park restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and for Sunday brunch as well.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday - Saturday: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 280

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 561-1540

Website:
http://maderasandhill.com/

Parking Details:
Rosewood Sand Hill offers complimentary valet as well as optional self-parking.

Complimentary electric car charging station available.

Executive Chef:
Peter Rudolph

Private Party Facilities:
Madera offers two distinctive private dining rooms to suit an array of private events. Private and elegantly detailed, both private dining rooms open onto private outdoor terraces - ideal for pre and post dining activity.

Private Party Contact:
Marissa Griffin: 8888533675

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Peninsula
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Menlo Park ›

great for outdoor dining (62)
scenic view (60)
special occasion (56)
See All
fit for foodies (45)
great for lunch (40)
romantic (35)
great for brunch (33)
notable wine list (31)
good for groups (27)
vibrant bar scene (24)
hot spot (16)
neighborhood gem (11)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Forgot to bring appetizer

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

Forgot to bring appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Nice meal, but the day after I dined the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Nice meal, but the day after I dined there, the restaurant reported to Open Table that I didn't honor my reservation (I.e., labeled me a no-show).

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Very poor service. We sat at the table f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very poor service. We sat at the table for nearly 10 minutes without receiving any greetings from the server who glanced at us and simply walked by many times. We didn't get a sip of water until much later. We also had to stare at empty plates after finishing the meals for a good while as well. Again, the server himself and the crews who appeared to be busboys made several rounds of the walk-bys past our table and just looked on while we sat and discussed our business with empty plates in front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Superb service. Meals were amazing. Atmo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Superb service. Meals were amazing. Atmosphere was relaxed yet modern and luxurious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful dinner at Madera. Th ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Madera. The food was even better, and even more beautifully presented, than at our last visit. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived at 7:45 for a birthday dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We arrived at 7:45 for a birthday dinner for six people and we left 3 hours later after just 2 courses, no desert. Horrible service. I have been here before and it has really gone downhill, food was so so.. It seems the staff knew that the 20% gratuity would be charged regardless. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Great experience and enjoyed the food bu ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great experience and enjoyed the food but thought the entry portions were small. Sat outside and enjoyed the ambience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is one of a few restaurants that do ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is one of a few restaurants that does not ever disappoint. Excellent in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menue is boring and food has no taste. W ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Menue is boring and food has no taste. We love the ambience. Close to my home and we love going there but menue and food is the problem and need to improve. almost everyone in the neiberhood talk about the bad food there and they are not doing anything about it. Last time I was there for lunch with 5 other friends, our server was so rude that we could not believe it....Talking about Serious attitude problem. it's a shame that such Resturant in this great location don't care about all the complains they hear.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Excellent food. Waiter ok, didn't even a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent food. Waiter ok, didn't even ask if it was a special occasion though. Less bread selection at the beginning sad to report from last time, their bread is very good. First time dining inside; flies in the room. Did I mention the food is excellent? Can't say that enough

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

HostEss, food, cocktails, wine , sommeli ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

HostEss, food, cocktails, wine , sommelier , ambiance all exceptional. Wait staff service was not commensurate .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

It's gorgeous and relaxing with amazing ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It's gorgeous and relaxing with amazing food. Love the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great but they forgot to bring ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was great but they forgot to bring out our appetizers and also gave me meat on my plate when I specifically requested for it to be removed as I'm a vegi. When I asked for them remedy the situation, they came back with the same plate but without the meat which I thought was extremely poor customer service. I requested they remake it, but they should have done this without me having to ask once I had pointed out their error.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

I have dined at Madera several times bef ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I have dined at Madera several times before. I understand that they recently gained a new head chef. This was by far the BEST tasting meal I ever had at this restaurant. From the Appetizer all the way to dessert. For appetizer we had hamachi Crudo which was out of this world. Beautifully thought out flavor combinations and textures. Both of our entrees were well portioned for this kind of dining experience. Stunning dishes!!

Everything was outstanding our server was knowledgeable and attentive. She provided the best care we could ask for our evening.

The restaurant seemed a little bit noisier than before due to families with children/babies. Perhaps that made the atmosphere a bit less romantic, but other than that we couldn't be happier and I'm looking forward very much to return to Madera for dinner.

Regaining the Michelin star is not far behind.

Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had been to Madera several times in p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had been to Madera several times in past few years and enjoyed our experience. However the quality of the food was terrible this last time. I am guessing the chef or management has changed. None of us like our food and given the high price we will not be dinning at Madera again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

I was at Rosewood for breakfast last Thu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I was at Rosewood for breakfast last Thursday with a group of friends to celebrate a yearlong trip my husband and I are about to take. It was a farewell breakfast. My friend ordered oatmeal and told the waiter at the end of the mail that the oatmeal was terrible. She said that she would make sure to take it off the bill. Then the manager came over and apologized for the mishap. He then comped us the entire meal. It was amazing! I have never had that experience before. Thank you so much for your kindness!! It was such a wonderful send off to be with my friends, and then to be treated with such kind hospitality!!! Wow!!

We are traveling around the USA and left our home in Palo Alto yesterday to start this journey.

Thank you so much for everything!!! By the way, I told this story to a Menlo Park friend, and she immediately called to make a reservation there. Spreading the good word!! I will b back in a year, and come to visit you again.

Thank so much!

Nancy Soforenko

Do you have other restaurants\hotels in the US or aboard?

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Service very bad! Food not good enough! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service very bad! Food not good enough! Very disappointed. We waited for almost 15 mins to have our glass of water, then when we having our starter, the main already came, they didn't took our plate when we finished our starter and even we don't drink wine, the wine list still sit on the table. After we finished our main, we wait over 30 mins, still no one add water or clean the plates! After we complained still no one take care our bill and no one come to ask do you need a coffee or tea after the meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

I've wanting to eat at Madera since they ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've wanting to eat at Madera since they got the star. It was a very nice experience with my friends. But you can see why the star is gone. They forgot part of our order, they made up for it by giving us some delicious desserts. The wine recommendation was very good. The entrees were fantastic. The only complain was the lamb. We were not expecting lamb sausages.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The wait time and food was not good. Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The wait time and food was not good. The drinks and bar area, great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Exceptionally good value! We sat outsid ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Exceptionally good value! We sat outside and witnessed an amazing sunset and full moon rise while dining. Our waiter was particularly attentive and knowledgeable about the extensive wine list. His recommendation was perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Madera for Father's Day break ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Madera for Father's Day breakfast. We had to ask a second time for our drinks (this really shouldn't happen for coffee and tea at breakfast). When the food arrive, though the presentation looked nice, it was cold. Cold eggs just aren't very tasty. The bacon was not thick cut and cooked to mushy not crispy. It seems to me, if you can't do breakfast well, don't do it at all. I had to ask for a refill of coffee (again, this should not happen at breakfast, let alone at a place where the coffee was $6) because nobody ever came by after the food was served to see if everything was ok. I had the polenta and sausage. The polenta was cold. The sausage seemed to pink to me so I saved it and took it home to my dog---after his first bite, he left it. Wow, sausage a dog won't eat. A very disappointing experience. I would recommend going out to a little diner (and for the price, you can go 4 times), and then taking a drive down 280 for the view (the only thing Madera has going for it).

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Madera is spacious yet generates vibranc ...

 
 (Singapore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Madera is spacious yet generates vibrancy and energy. The wine list was excellent and the food, well executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The whole experience was wonderful. It w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The whole experience was wonderful.

It was a birthday celebration with a friend.

We chose substantial three courses, but we shared every one of them, and we were more than satisfied.

The flavors, the presentation and the quality of food were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome experience. Wonderful meal and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Awesome experience. Wonderful meal and service. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service; something about the a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent service; something about the ambiance of this place leads to enjoyable, long meals. We were there (group of 6) for nearly 5 hours. Great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Great food, the Beet salad was excellent, and the halibut with fennel broth was perfectly cooked and the couple of mussels served with the dish were amazing and so perfectly cooked.

the peanut butter chocolate brownie was a totally divine dessert and went down far to easily!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My sister and I went to Madera to celebr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

My sister and I went to Madera to celebrate her graduation. We enjoyed their Liberty Duck and dry-aged beef (ribeye and shortrib). The duck, neither too fat nor too lean, was served with puree de petits pois and apricots. The service was definitely deserving of their Michelin star. The staff was very attentive and knowledgeable about their food and wine menus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance & view on patio

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Great ambiance & view on patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

We love the food, wine selection, and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We love the food, wine selection, and the ambiance is terrific. However the service from the hostess on was lacking this time. They called to confirm our reservation and yet when we got there the hostess asked us to wait in the bar. So of course, we did. Then after ten minutes, I went to find out what had happened---as they weren't busy. The hostess was setting up tables. She could have easily seated us and then continued not having us wait. Additionally, we had to ask for water several times, bread, etc. Not what you expect for this caliber place.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We had lunch on the balcony with a dista ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had lunch on the balcony with a distant view of the hotel blocks and swimming pool and further away, the coastal mountains. Very pleasant experience. Prices are high, but they are catering the venture capital community on Sand Hill Road who are never spend their own money. An 8 oz coke is $2.50 and served in a tiny bottle (didn't know they made them so small)... no free refills...buy another bottle. Win list is extensive buy appears to have 3x (maybe more) markup vs. typical restaurant 2X.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

High rent.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Food, service and ambience all excellent. Wines way too expensive. $264 for lunch for two is a bit much. Obviously a place for high rollers or those on expense accounts.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for a special dinner

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

This is a hangout for Venture Capitalists - even on a Sunday night we saw one entertaining. These are the folk that fund Silicon Valley startups. So it's a really nice place to dine. My husband had been for a couple of nice lunches with VCs and we'd both had a private dinner in one of the lovely chalets on site, but this was the first time we had dined for dinner together.

Initially the blinds were closed to keep out the low sun, but then they were opened to reveal the lovely hill view.

The food was creative, delicious and most enjoyable. My appetizer had caviar - most delicious and delicate. I had lamb done three ways - including a home-made sausage. The desserts were really beautifully prepared - mine had a basil shortbread as a base and it remained firm and not soggy, even though it had a mousse-like creation above it.

The coffee was excellent - from an artisan roaster and you could tell.

The server did a great job given he was fairly new. The wine list was extensive and well-designed with prices for every purse.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You're not in the City anymore

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Living in SF spoils foodies, and even just going down the Peninsula one realizes that the standard expected in SF is left at the city line.

Based on reviews, Madera seems to be one of the best South Bay restaurants for something above average, but when compared to fine dining in SF it didn't quite hit the mark. All the basic visual components are in place - fancy dining room decor (Orange County style), dramatic vista (if your idea of a lovely view includes a freeway), upscale 'resort' location (I still have to wonder WHO goes to a resort in Menlo Park?!?) - but the food wasn't anything that I'd write home about - it was standard upscale menu, adequately prepared, with little to no imagination or creativity. Nothing to complain about, nothing to laud.

Service left something to be desired - one entree was practically dumped on the floor when delivered to the table, and there was a brief moment when it actually looked as if the server would put the dish in front of the diner with everything fallen over and crushed to one side. He then rushed it back to the kitchen and they reassembled. Another minor gripe - two of us specifically said we were splitting an appetizer when ordering, but it was delivered to one diner with no effort to provide a plate for the other diner who was sharing.

If you're in the Menlo Park/Palo Alto area and you want a place to have brunch, Madera is perfectly acceptable, a bit pricey, and many people will probably think it's wonderful. But if you're a foodie with high standards, don't make a special trip for it.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food does not match the ambiance, servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food does not match the ambiance, service or price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

reviewer

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful. The food was mixed. My wife sent back two martinis. The fir one had enough olive juice in it so that you could see the green tint. Even the waitress could see it. The second one came with far too much vermouth especially when it was ordered extra dry.

The hors d'oeuvre has so much nitrous oxide on it that it cooled it down to the point of being crunchy. The main courses were good but sparse.

The service was good but for the money, there are better places in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Delicious food and excellent service.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Satisfied

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Mother's Day dinner was very good.

Service great!

Expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mothers Day set menu

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Good appetizer, main course, and desert. Great presentation.

The Gnocchi second course was possibly the worst dish I have ever had in a quality restaurant. There were no discernible gnocchi. If they were present in the dish, they had been reduced to paste. The whole dish was overwhelmed by an oak smoke flavor from god knows where, which ruined the rest of the meal for me.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Enjoy Lunch!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been to Madera several times for lunch. Never was disappointed. The view and setting is pleasant. Spacious and open. Food is good. The only thing I felt missed was white tablecloth! If they could put white tablecloth for interior dining and let the outdoor al fresco be bare wood, that'd be perfect for me. I would like to have lunch on a sunny day out and on colder days with my white tablecloth inside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very disappointing. The menu had no brunch items. The prix fix menu had three choices: a salmon steak, veal chop or gnocchi for Mothers Day brunch at 10:00 AM on a Sunday morning. Bizarre to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.