Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

Madera Restaurant Honored with Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence 2016 and Michelin Rated One Star 2017.
A comfortably elegant ambiance, picturesque views and outdoor terraces welcome guests and Silicon Valley locals to Madera. Featuring an open artisan wood-burning kitchen and extensive wine list, Madera serves rustic American cuisine that celebrates the culinary traditions of the Bay Area
In addition to indoor and outdoor dining, Madera offers two private dining rooms with private terraces and cozy fireplaces. The Lemon Room seats up to 10 guests, and the Orange Room up to 14 guests.


This Menlo Park restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and for Sunday brunch as well. We can accommodate parties of 6 or less in the main dining room. If you care to have a larger party please contact the restaurant directly.

2825 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday - Saturday: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 280

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 561-1540

Website:
http://maderasandhill.com/

Parking Details:
Rosewood Sand Hill offers complimentary valet as well as optional self-parking.

Complimentary electric car charging station available.

Executive Chef:
Reylon Agustin

Private Party Facilities:
Madera offers two distinctive private dining rooms to suit an array of private events. Private and elegantly detailed, both private dining rooms open onto private outdoor terraces - ideal for pre and post dining activity.

Private Party Contact:
Andrea Ayala : (888) 853-3675

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Scenic View (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for a Date (30)
Romantic (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Business Meals (23)
Local Ingredients (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Cozy (12)
Organic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Casual (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Seasonal (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1953 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (London)·Dined a day ago

Waiters were completely inattentive
Had to flag them for coffee and to order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

Place is beautiful with view, Service is professional, foods are delicious. We got a piece cake with candle for free because birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Beautifully decorated restaurant with a great view inside a very nice hotel. I went there to celebrate my husband's birthday with our son. I asked our server if I can order something from the lunch menu for our son and he said no because the restaurant plans for the dinner menu. During our meal, I saw a plate of hamburger and french fries (from the lunch menu) being served to another party at the restaurant which I wasn't thrilled about. I ordered the rib eye which was delicious and for dessert shared beignets with my husband who also received a complimentary slice of cake for his birthday. Overall, we had a nice dinner yet I walked away feeling underwhelmed by the service and overrall dinner. I don't anticipate going back any time soon. I really was hoping to be wowed by this Michelin rated restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

For a $91 lunch before tip, one poor Caesar salad, one good crab sandwich, two ice teas, two cups of coffee - not worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Went for a special family occasion. The food was wonderful but what was even more striking was how genuinely caring and attentive ALL of the staff were -really made us feel special and at home!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

It is a great spot, great food and service. We were there for a special occasion and has great atmosphere. The bar aside the restaurant looks perfect for a stylish sunset. Definitely recommend it!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great location and view at sunset. Service was wonderful and the food exceptional. I plan on returning for a getaway.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great restaurant but OpenTable was "HORRIBLE". Twice you screwed up my reservation. The original confirmed reservation was for 2 at 6:30 for Saturday. You sent me 2 notifications? One Saturday to why I did not honor Friday's reservation and One today why I didn't honor Sat's also. Fortunately, I talked to Madera yesterday and you (OpenTable) had cancelled but they could accommodate us last night. Never again will I use OpenTable ‼️

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great night out! Corkage was a little high but then again they have a fantastic wine list and would probably prefer you to use that. Ford was perfectly cooked. Kalpak was great! Duck was excellent. Beignets for dessert is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was great, service was bad, no way does this restaurant deserve a Michelin designation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great experience! great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Nice ambiance and the food was to die for with the fresh ingredients.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our server was wonderful. Very cheerful and helpful. I had the Madera breakfast, asked for over easy eggs and they came out way over cooked. Question if they really use organic eggs. Other than that it was ok for a business brunch on a Sunday.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Awesome service! Food was excellent, portions a little small but was still amazing.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've been too. Great view, roomy dining room, top notch service and the wine selection is fantastic. The food is really great but the deserts are sublime. We absolutely love coming here. A place you should definitely go to. Once you do, you'll be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Fantastic taste of CA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We were seated on time for a 12:15pm lunch reservation. They were "running low on menus" but we got menus and an order in by 12:20. At 12:50, they had not yet brought us a Caesar salad and a club salad. Wait staff was completely inattentive. Had to track someone down through a bus person. They told us there had been a "hiccup" in the kitchen but our food would be along soon. Offered more iced tea, which we accepted but never came.

This is the story of this whole establishment. Breezy, inattentive service, with no commitment to care or making something right. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We went for an important birthday and were absolutely delighted with everything. Superb food (with terrific vegetarian selections for one of our party). Attentive service. Lovely cocktails and wine. Great ambiance in beautiful surroundings. Creative chef who uses delicious and unusual ingredients such as purslane. A surprise dessert for the birthday celebrant. Can't award it with enough stars --although it was fairly pricey, it was 100% worth it!!

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Madera is a top notch restaurant with excellent food and ambience. Looks like it was a off day during our last visit. Salad and entree all came in crowding the table at the same time. The menu really needs more option and premium choices. I wish they bring back the seared Foi Gras and maybe a nice bone-in prime steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is by far our favorite place for dinner. We love the food, staff, ambience, the whole package!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great experience and lunch at Madera. We sat on the deck and our service.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Inventive food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food was terrific, interesting flavor combinations and original, creative dishes. Service was generally good, occasionally a bit inattentive, but could be overcome without difficulty. A little on the pricey side, not everyday dining for my budget, but not out of the stratosphere for a special occasion. I was stunned and amused when I saw a wine for $35, and learned that was for a glass, not a bottle! I'll never know how good that wine was because I'm far to sensible (cheap) to toss money around like that. Staff was cheerful. No views of the hills until after sundown, because until that time shades must be drawn. After that, pleasant views from nearly anywhere in the dining room. Parking was scarce, with valet available. Definitely on my return-to list for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This was honestly one of the best brunches I've had, I don't remember my servers name but he had great hair, super tall, and blonde, if that helps management know who that is. But anyways he presented himself so eleglently, I knew he was super busy but took the time and patience to make the birthday super special and have a conversation with us about the property gardens.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

A fabulous experience from every point of view. Service, food, ambiance... wonderful.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Bartender took a long time with each round of our beverages even if it was a glass of wine or an espresso....for that find of money service shouldn't be slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Very nice but I find lunch much better in terms of food, service etc. dinner menu is trying too hard and given the very high prices not great value for $. Still nice experience but I'd skip dinner and do lunch instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2017

I loved everything but my meal. My meal was tasty but needed some work at the price point. The corn appetizer was incredible, however, ribeye just OK, pork was fine. Ambience and service are top tier. Incredible service and will return just for that!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Tried Madera for brunch on Sunday and was absolutely blown away. The food was good, the view was incredible, and the service was absolutely impeccable. Huge shout out to Andrea, our server, for going above and beyond to make our experience one that will definitely leave a lasting impression. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great lunch again. Top spot. Great food and excellent service, especially enjoy being waited on by Reuben.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The past three times I have been to Madera, the quality of the food had gone down. It was at one time an excellent restaurant. I thought Rosewood could carry a good restaurant but apparently not. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Our group of 4 was celebrating 2 birthdays. One was a 21st, and the menus were printed with Happy 21st Birthday!. A lovely touch. The other birthday was 54, not so special :) even so, Madera made it feel special. Our son has recently begun cooking extraordinary meals, and it was a treat for him to be able to watch the open kitchen. Our party shared tastes extensively, as everything was so delicious we wanted to be sure that everyone had a taste of everything. We ordered four desserts, and they brought 2 more which were specially made for the birthday girls. We all shared them all - so delicious, I can't recommend one over the rest. The service was exemplary, the cocktails delicious (although surprisingly strong, as seems to be the trend now), the setting was beautiful and comfortable. As this was a special occasion, we dressed up, but you may also see people in nice jeans, and we happened to see someone in costume. Madera makes it all work with its ambiance of casual elegance.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was a prefect evening, dining outdoors on the terrace. Great setting, superb food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great service and really nice atmosphere. The food did not live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

excellent food at reasonable prices, very nice terrace

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Been there for business meetings many times and a dinner couple of times. Good for business meetings but disappointing during dinner. The seafood ceviche was weird tasting, borderline awful. Rib eye steak was good but looked different each time ordered. The homemade white cheese was bland and nothing special. It's a hit and miss. Good wine selection but with a huge markup, with a friendly and experienced wine director. The menu really needs some work and keep it simply delicious (too many weird things being added (do you really need weird stuff on a beautiful for gras? What ever happened to a simple seared for gras?)

Dinner for 4, around $500. Typical dish around $40. Wine markup is huge!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I would pick another place next time,food was good but a lot of money

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our dinner at Madera was the best that I have had in well over a year. My wife and I have been fortunate enough to eat in a number of good restaurants and the meal at Madera was one of the rare ones that left us highly impressed. The selections were all outstanding with interesting combinations of ingredients and flavors without getting too cute. The duck breast was the best I have ever had anywhere. The setting is spectacular and the service flawless. In fact, I was able to use the dinner as an occasion to show my daughter, whose graduation we were celebrating, how good restaurant service is supposed to work.
I will also comment on the wine, since they have a 100 page list (thankfully on-line so diners can sort it out in advance) and the wine will usually cost more then the food. I noted a great price for Guigal Hermitage blanc and asked the sommelier to confirm that the price was correct. She confirmed that it was the correct price, but when she brought us the wine, it was the incorrect wine. Rather than the Hermitage on the wine list, they had Crozes-Hermitage in their cellar, an inferior and cheaper wine. I am sure there are errors to be expected on a list this long. We also had a superb California Syrah with dinner, which was too warm (it was 96 degrees outside that day). The sommelier, a very pleasant and sincerely helpful young woman, put the wine bottle in ice for a short while to cool it to the correct serving temperature. She also remembered to return to pour it at the appropriate time. Warm wine always makes me wonder how a restaurant is storing their wine collection. These minor gripes did not detract from what was overall a really exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our meal at Madera was before a graduation event, and the overall experience was delightful! As we ate early, there were many spare waitstaff and my family felt we were being specially catered to. The food was delicious – the watercress soup was perhaps a little too bitter – but the dessert was by far the highlight! My tiramisu might have been the best dessert I've ever eaten! Additionally, I would compliment my server on a perfect wine pairing with my roasted asparagus entree.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

My wife and I dined here for her birthday/five year anniversary of our engagement. We arrived early for our reservation and sat in the lounge, where they provide service, which allowed us to avoid the crowds in the bar. The drinks were excellent, and the staff was friendly and professional. Once seated, we were offered a complimentary champagne toast to mark the occasions for which we were celebrating. We order a couple of appetizers, and two entrees. The table bread is baked in house and fantastic. Overall, the quality of food was incredible, and only matched by the level of the service. We lingered for over three hours and never felt rushed, but never felt neglected either. We felt like the staff went out of their way to make our night as special as they could, and they completely succeeded.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.