Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.29mi

About Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

Madera Restaurant Honored with Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence 2016 and Michelin Rated One Star 2017.
A comfortably elegant ambiance, picturesque views and outdoor terraces welcome guests and Silicon Valley locals to Madera. Featuring an open artisan wood-burning kitchen and extensive wine list, Madera serves rustic American cuisine that celebrates the culinary traditions of the Bay Area
In addition to indoor and outdoor dining, Madera offers two private dining rooms with private terraces and cozy fireplaces. The Lemon Room seats up to 10 guests, and the Orange Room up to 14 guests.


This Menlo Park restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and for Sunday brunch as well.

2825 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday - Saturday: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 280

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 561-1540

Website:
http://maderasandhill.com/

Parking Details:
Rosewood Sand Hill offers complimentary valet as well as optional self-parking.

Complimentary electric car charging station available.

Executive Chef:
Peter Rudolph

Private Party Facilities:
Madera offers two distinctive private dining rooms to suit an array of private events. Private and elegantly detailed, both private dining rooms open onto private outdoor terraces - ideal for pre and post dining activity.

Private Party Contact:
Marissa Griffin: (888) 853-3675

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Mothers day with Madera's Mother Day brunch! $110 Adult/ $55 Child. 4 Course Family style Brunch.****72 Hour Cancellation Policy*******

Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Business Meals (39)
Scenic View (37)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Romantic (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Fireplace (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Great for Lunch (24)
Modern Decor (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Open Kitchen (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Casual (13)
Healthy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
People Watching (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Cozy (10)
Seasonal (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Organic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Private Room (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Vegan (4)
Fun (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (3)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1872 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

superb dinner, attentive service (Eddy was fantastic a fantastic server and their sommelier NAILED it with his recommendation of the Turley dragon Zin)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

This resturant is very expensive and yet has a casual atmosphere, which is too loud for most people.
the food was good, and the service was excellent. the portions are small, and the amendments are nice

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The cuisine is much too complicated. Everything is a "take on" a dish that people usually enjoy. The vegan option was literally a piece of asparagus. I was starving and ended up eating the entire bread basket. The pate appetizer was butter with a slight duck flavor- it was a light cream color, just so you have a visual. For those of us who have eaten pate before, this was a major disappointment. Why are chefs so keen on being different? Just prepare good food and people will come back. I am never going to this restaurant again. Save yourself the pain of tasting a "deconstructed" tiramisu- trust me. Tiramisu is pretty darn good just the way it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Sunday brunch. Flavors and ingredients are good, but entrees (burger and fries, eggs Benedict) were barely warm when they were served. Jasmine tea was over stewed (just too many tea leaves). Breads are lovely and service good, as you'd expect from high end place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The tiramisu is amazing! It's a deconstructed version, but one of the best tiramisu desserts I have ever had. Highly recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The new chef is phenomenal!! Beautiful space and superb food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Deserve the MIchelin Star. Beutil view on San Adreas Fault. Outstanding!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food is not great. The new chef puts too much sugar in everything and it all tastes weird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service and delicious food. Good place for gathering or have a date.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My favorite restaurant in the Bay Area by far. They are firing on all thrusters right now. Highly recommend the Duck, and the new Caviar dish.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

If money is not an issue and you want a view, this is a great choice

We went there for date night and liked it but were a little underwhelmed. The food was good, the view was beautiful, the drinks were decent, the staff were very friendly. My one note was the noise level is high there and the decor feels a little dated. When the check came, I was not totally shocked at the $300 price tag, but did not feel I got my money's worth.
Everything was good, but little was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Celebrating a birthday, the chef sent a special dish and the pastry chef sent an incredible Birthday Cake, not on the menu and made especially for our group.

Tags: Great Beer, Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Business Meals, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Healthy, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

A consistently excellent experience at Madera, both in terms of food and service. This latest visit we were fortunate to have Vanessa as our server. She was friendly, knowledgeable, and patient in answering all of our questions. Would definitely recommend Madera, especially for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was delicious - we enjoyed our fish very much. Service was good, not great...the $50 corkage charge, tho, was ridiculous.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It took so long for o get our food and drinks. Even after asking why it was taking so long it took forever. We were celebrating a bday and waiter asked us at beginning if we were celebrating anything and we told them but we might as well not have. They didn't provide anything special or even acknowledge in any way. That's not a big deal honestly but waiting 40 mins for a drink is silly. Especially when they were slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Nice place but the food is not worthy of the prices.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Excellent food presentation and fresh tasting ingredients. Unfortunately, my roasted duck was a little undercooked. Otherwise, a wonderful place to dining. Oh yes, go for their desserts.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The food was extraordinary, but the service was rushed. Our waiter came over too frequently, loudly interrupting our conversation and wanting always to move things along. The bus boy had to be stopped from clearing plates before everyone was finished. At those prices, there should be a slower pace, without the main course arriving two seconds after the first was cleared. We chose the beignet dessert specifically because it took 20 minutes to prepare!

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Beautiful location, energetic ambiance, open feeling make for an excellent ambiance for business conversations.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Love the atmosphere, and the service. It was a business dinner, and our guest was late at least 45 min. The waiter didn't push us to order anything. Everyone enjoyed the meal, and I would love to go back again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Good restaurant in a great location for SV business meals. Fantastic views. Very consistent service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Limited menu Food not that great. Not enough to choose from. Too rich. Too overpriced for what you get.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The staffs were extremely polite and friendly. Food was great too. The dessert is amazing. We had Hong Kong style which combines pudding, waffle and ice cream. Tastes great.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

took my wife and kids to brunch on her Birthday.Beautiful setting, with very nice and professional staff, attentive and genuine attention to details. The brunch menu and food was very excellent. The proximity of i-280 is not that perceptible, even though we asked to be seat outdoor on the terrace. great time in elegant & refine place, we'll be back!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Although we are frequent patrons of fine dining establishments, I rarely leave reviews. However, our experience at Madera warranted a review--mostly to ensure that others don't get lured in by the seemingly "excellent" overall star rating on Open Table. Do yourself a HUGE favor and steer clear of this place unless you are interested in seeing for yourself what a JOKE it is that this place regained its Michelin star rating. We spent nearly $800 for a party of 4, and it was not worth of dime of that. Take some time to read thru more recent Open Table reviews and you will see that the overall rating does not reflect the more recent dining experiences.

All four of us dining had different entrees and starters--and all four were nothing special and certainly not Michelin quality. The extreme fail of the evening was the "grilled" squid starter. When you order grilled squid/octopus, one expects it to be GRILLED (usually with char marks and a nice seared texture). This squid was not only fishy, it was cold, wet and slimy. I had to eat it with the bread on the table just to get it down! The lamb entree was clearly overcooked, and the kitchen must have known they botched the cooking time, because the lamb was cut very obviously prior to having time to rest (blood and juices were pooled all around the overcooked meat). Nice try attempting to save the lamb, but all you did was leave the meat dry and rubbery.

Our waiter was polite but not overly helpful. The runners barely spoke English, and what little they did speak was so heavily accented that none of us had any idea what they were saying when trying to explain our dishes. :( The only redeeming quality of this place is the extensive wine list and the very knowledgeable Sommelier, who recommended two excellent bottles that night. I really wanted to like this place, but sadly, we will have to take it off the dining rotation from here on out.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had the Asparagus and Heirloom greens for starters and then the Lamb and Chickpea Panisse for main and a Kung Fu tea as desert. Started with a cocktail (Manhattan and Lion on the Beach?). Ambiente is immaculate and spacy, reception and service were friendly and personal. The food did not blow us away but we had a very nice half bottle of Pinot (the wine list is quite extensive). Overall it was a nice evening, though the prices are on the high end and the value very questionable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I get why Madera received a Michelin star. Wonderful attention to detail, amazing preparation and presentation of food, superb pairing of wines with our courses. You might think $18 for five spears of asparagus is steep. But paired with a white burgundy and with each bite savored, we didn't want more. Portions might seem small to some, but if you take the time to enjoy each bite, it's really a perfect meal. The walu was decadent, the duck breast cooked perfectly with just the right accoutrements. Donuts for dessert with a Madeira and some coffee capped off the meal wonderfully. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Enjoyable meal. My party hogged the table for several hours but the staff was very good about it. As long as I didn't ask for anything special, anything really out of the ordinary, I think we were treated very well by the staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Beautiful restaurant! If only the service matched the ambiance. Our greeting was less than friendly, and we were seated at a table behind the service stand even though the restaurant was only about one third full. The service was slow/non-existent. We waited 20 minutes for the wine server to answer a question regarding wine on this a slow night. We then waited for someone to take our order. When the food finally arrived, all three of our dishes were cold, not luke warm, but stone cold. If the entrees had been hot, they would have been delicious. The hostess was told it was a birthday celebration which was also noted on the reservation. This was not acknowledged. There are many better upscale restaurants in which to spend a special day.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wonderful birthday dinner and even made friends with couple next to us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I had a great burger for lunch and my date had the duck. Both were excellent. One of the great things I like about this place is that their pre-meal bread ... is fantastic! Most restaurant bring you some crap bread as if it's something to behold. Well Madera actually takes pride in their bread. It's not only extremely tasty but they prepare their own butter too ... it's infused with some kind of oil and it's extremely tasty. I actually look forward to the bread ... silly right! I also love that you can either sit outside or near the windows and enjoy a rather nice view (only interrupted) by the 280 freeway. My only complaint from this visit was the wait staff was not very attentive ... which they normally are. We had to ask 3 times to get a coffee cup refilled and extra butter. That shouldn't happen at such an exclusive and expensive place.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food has improved amazingly after they lost their Michelin star, presumably due to their new chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Amazing views but the food wasn't special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Just perfect for any occasion, service great, wine list impressive and food yummy .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The server was kind, but too busy. We had to call him to take our orders. Also, valet was understaffed. We watched the drivers drive too fast. I asked the valet not to drive our car too fast. It also took too long to bring our car out. Please consider coordinating the server with the valet. M&W Roelandts

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Service was wonderful and warm from the front of the house to the back. Big wine selection. A little noisy, but tolerable once you get settled in.

Tags: Fireplace, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food here was all very well-executed and commensurate with what I'd expect from a Michelin star. The staff from the kitchen were all great, explained the food well, and didn't over/under-do things. Sommelier and beverage service in general was well-executed. So that's the good.

The bad is the service was just awful otherwise. Appetizers arrived minutes after we ordered, just a minute after the bread showed up. Entrees were on the table within five minutes of the appetizers being cleared. From sitting down to the end of dinner was just forty minutes, mostly because we tried to take our time with our dishes. There wasn't really a moment to enjoy our company or, for the matter, our drinks and meal. Beverage refill requests firt appeared when our entrees were complete. Just inexcusably bad timing, all around.

What gets weirder is then that dessert and coffee then dragged on for nearly two hours. It may be we just had an off server or an off evening? But the service experience was not generally consistent with the Michelin rating despite the food, wine, and beverage program clearly being at that level.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Fireplace, People Watching, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Only went to sit on sunny terrace
Shouldn't have bothered to have food

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Kudos to the chef for unique and flavorful cuisine. Loved the fried chicken, risotto with asparagus, and chocolate/pear dessert! Incredible food, lovely ambiance, and outstanding, cheerful, and efficient service! A special dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Beautiful and modern venue. Service is friendly and informative. Our waiter did not hesitate to brag about how the ingredients were fresh, seasonal, local, and sustainable. I was surprised how good a local salad could be as an appetizer and was impressed with the Hong Kong style dessert. The poached Walu was flavorful, but a little bit soggier than I anticipated giving an unwanted texture. Pauses between dishes were very long and I don't think that was intentional. Will come here again for another special occasion or business meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.