Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 6/18
Time
8:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 59 times today

Madera - Rosewood Sand Hill

4.6
2159 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
Madera Restaurant Honored with Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence 2017 and Michelin Rated One Star 2018.

A comfortably elegant ambiance, picturesque views and outdoor terraces welcome guests and Silicon Valley locals to Madera. Featuring an open artisan wood-burning kitchen and extensive wine list, Madera serves rustic American cuisine that celebrates the culinary traditions of the Bay Area

In addition to indoor and outdoor dining, Madera offers two private dining rooms with private terraces and cozy fireplaces. The Lemon Room seats up to 10 guests, and the Orange Room up to 14 guests.


This Menlo Park restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and for Sunday brunch as well. We can accommodate parties of 6 or less in the main dining room. If you care to have a larger party please contact the restaurant directly.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Californian, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast
Daily 6:30 am–10:30 am
Lunch
Mon–Sat 11:30 am–2:30 pm
Brunch
Sun 11:30 am–2:30 pm
Dinner
Daily 5:30 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(650) 561-1540
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Reylon Agustin
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
HWY 280
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Rosewood Sand Hill offers complimentary valet as well as optional self-parking.

Complimentary electric car charging station available.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2159 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.7
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Service was awesome. Appetizers were very good, entres were ok

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Dined at Madera for my birthday recently. The service was friendly and outstanding, always with a smile. The atmosphere was fancy but relaxed, warm modern dining room. and the food was excellent. A great experience from a beautiful hotel.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We have dined here before. It was a Thursday evening so I suspect that many corporate groups were celebrating successful venture capital deals. Inside it was crowded and we know that it gets noisy.

Outside it was quieter, but there was a lot of wind. It got cold quickly. We were not dressed warm enough. We noticed that one couple, who must have been staying in the hotel actually brought bathtowels to the table to stay warm. For a couple of hours it was quite windy and cooled. Then the staff lit off the outdoor heaters.

What we know is that the food is excellent. Quality is cherished over quantity and this is just fine with us. Just to mention a few items, between the two of us we had roasted gnocchi, a green salad, scallops, lamb, a lemon flan on a very nice cake, two glasses of Sangiovese, and decaf espresso.

We have been here before and will definitely return: probably with jackets and scarves.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Had a 5:45 pm reservation for our 46th anniversary. We were ushered to a very poor table in a room that was nearly empty . (We dine there quite frequently.) When we first requested to move, we were told we could not because all the othertables were reserved, however; we, too, had a reservation. After requesting to move more than once, finally we were able to move. We have NEVER experienced such abrupt service like that at your restaurant so it was shocking!
Towards the end of the night, Cody came to us and apologized which was very kind as originally it was he who was so adamant about switching us.
We had a nice talk with him....
When someone arrives and has a reservation, my feeling is that they should be we’ll accommodated as the “the others” might not even show, right.
Overall, the wait staff were excellent, as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Really like the interior and dishes design. Worth each penny.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Good food and the ambience ..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Menu was somewhat limited. And the service was very average.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Very limited menu. Dinner wasn’t great. Too bad. Used to be fabulous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Fabulous, refined enchanting
Atmosphere, superb service, transforms to a very special experience

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Megan is the worst waitress I have ever had in my entire life.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Overpriced. Food was ok, I had the trout which I thought was whatever

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Top notch. Hard to get any better than this in Silicon Valley.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Nothing special.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Had a business lunch at Madera recently. I ordered the Caesar salad with shrimp and my guest ordered the trout. Our server was difficult to understand. I think she should elevate her voice to compensate for the ambient noise level. Back to the food: My Caeser was "meh" and my guest indicated she enjoyed the trout. I was alarmed to learn when the check arrived that the trout had a $60 price tag. I've been to Madera a hand full of times in the last few years (always lunches) and, based on the other day, I'll think twice about returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Food was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

We took our friends to dinner for their anniversary and they were blown away!! Great service, delicious food and beautiful scenery!!! We'll all be back soon!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Wife and I had an excellent meal here for our anniversary. Food was excellent, service was great ( the waiter was very helpful in explaining all the food and wine options, and let us try a couple of the wines before picking :)). We got two starters: white asparagus, and the squid ink tagliatelle. Both were very good. The squid ink tagliatelle had a good amount of dungeness crab in it, we were happy with that :) We split three mains: scallops, duck, and lamb. All were really excellent. My favorite was the lamb, my wife's favorite was the duck I think, but again all three were excellent. For dessert, the Meyer Lemon Curd and Chocolate Earl Grey were both excellent as well. The lemon curd was very flavorful but not harshly tart, usually I find dishes like that a little bland or too tart, but this wasn't either. The chocolate earl grey had a really good mix of chocolate and earl grey flavor, without either overpowering the other.

We sat outside, where we got a good view of the rolling hills and mountains behind them. The restaurant is overlooking the pool area of the resort (though high enough above the pool that there isn't a lot of noise from the pool), with highway 280 behind that (though mostly hidden from view, you just see the occasional taller car/truck buzzing by), but behind that is all hills/small-mountains, with the sun setting behind it :)

Overall, we were both really happy with our restaurant choice for our anniversary :) Madera is not cheap, so not an everyday thing (at least for us), but for special occasions it's definitely on our list to come back to :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Lovely day on the outside patio (under sunshades). We enjoyed Sunday Brunch, which was pricey (as expected) but we lingered and has a good time. The Gnocchi was not especially good, but the trout made up for it. Great wine selection as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Food.. FABULOUS! Service... PERFECT! The entire restaurant crew.. AMAZING!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

My go-to neighborhood spot

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

It's always a luxurious experience, especially after a manicure and pedicure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

The Chef's Tasting Menu is a MUST!!! It was wonderful and the service at Madera is hard to beat. Our Som was brilliant, young, but she knew her stuff and we had the most amazing/versatile bottle of Rose to accompany all of our courses. We didn't want to drink too much, so, instead of selecting the wine pairing, we split a bottle that worked well with everything. Much gratitude to our talented Som.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Went to Madera for a birthday and we were very happy with the service and the food. Everyone was very pleasant from the moment we arrived. Everything we ordered tasted fantastic and they even gave us an additional dessert for my wife’s birthday!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went for Mother's Day lunch! the food was not good at all. there was no dish that i liked. the service was okay too. Asked for sliced lemon with my water, never got lemon. the food came quickly, they didn't present it, didn't taste good and there wasn't even enough food to be honest. This was a preset menu and i expected good amount of food for the price asked. Didn't worth even half of the money that we paid. After they brought the desert we waited another 10 minutes to get our teas. Desert was messed up too. Asked for two different ones, they brought two same ones. don't recommend. sorry chef. Main factor is the food, it's just not good. i cook better at home. thanks for having us!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went for Mother's Day brunch, service was perfect! There were some good dishes (crispy pork, shortbread and dessert) but some really bland (quiche, eggs benedict, potatoes)ones too. Overall the food was good. Ambiance was really nice. It would have been nice to eat outside with scenic, panoramic views of hills but they were all taken. Roses and chocolates given to moms was a perfect touch!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

a lot of money for a pre-fixe moms day menu that was good at best, fair overall. Service a little less than the $600+ price tag for 4 would suggest.

At more "normal" prices for a brunch/breakfast (high end, certainly), I might feel a little differently.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

the location and building are soo beautiful and you are looking out on the hills which makes for a lovely relaxing experience. Food is expensive and drinks are also,but worth it for the ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Vey nice place for an upscale lunch or dinner. Excellent service and the food was awesome! Will certainly come back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The food was super even the noise level is kind at the border line of loud, server was good but not superb,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Alex was wonderful! Great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

It was lovely!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Outstanding and beautiful presentation!
Service was also impeccable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

I have come here for a couple business lunches and have done a small fundraiser here for a former candidate. I came here recently for my birthday for a nice formal dinner. The appetizers were out of this world: a squid ink pasta with uni sauce; the fois gras, and the asparagus. We shared the ribeye for two. It was like succulent meat jello. The view is something not many others can compete with. It's both top-notch cuisine and a gorgeous view when it's usually one or the other.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

We love Madera! Everything about it is first rate, warm and unpretentious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Great date night with my wife at Madera. Vanessa's service was excellent (again: she was our server when we were at Madera a few months ago). Creative food, very tasty, presented nicely. Superb wine list, with a reasonable selection by the glass (including some VERY nice wines). We will be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Excellent, excellent service and food! Fresh homemade bread with the meal. Good choices for meat and fish; ok for vegetarians but not much variety there.

The desserts are AMAZING!

We were there saying goodbye to a friend who is moving away -- it was lovely for that, as they never tried to rush us out. We ate and were able to sit and talk for a long while.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Attended the Kentucky Derby event. It was fantastic! Hope they do it again next year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Our boss was taking us out for belated admin day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Very competent and diligent staff, and great food, great atmosphere. I will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

We went to celebrate our anniversary. The food was great. We ordered the beet salad and the asparagus salad for starters and we were delighted with how good they tasted. For the main course we had the New York strip and the swordfish and we both loved it. The portions were just enough to leave you with some room for dessert.

We were also given a complimentary dessert to celebrate our anniversary.

The service was great and we will definitely be going back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
54

Tweets by Madera - Rosewood Sand Hill