About Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

2825 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
View Larger Map

Madera Restaurant Honored with Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence 2015 and Michelin Rated 2015.
A comfortably elegant ambiance, picturesque views and outdoor terraces welcome guests and Silicon Valley locals to Madera. Featuring an open artisan wood-burning kitchen and extensive wine list, Madera serves rustic American cuisine that celebrates the culinary traditions of the Bay Area
In addition to indoor and outdoor dining, Madera offers two private dining rooms with private terraces and cozy fireplaces. The Lemon Room seats up to 10 guests, and the Orange Room up to 14 guests.


This Menlo Park restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and for Sunday brunch as well.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday - Saturday: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 280

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 561-1540

Website:
http://maderasandhill.com/

Parking Details:
Rosewood Sand Hill offers complimentary valet as well as optional self-parking.

Complimentary electric car charging station available.

Executive Chef:
Peter Rudolph

Private Party Facilities:
Madera offers two distinctive private dining rooms to suit an array of private events. Private and elegantly detailed, both private dining rooms open onto private outdoor terraces - ideal for pre and post dining activity.

Private Party Contact:
Marissa Griffin: 8888533675

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Peninsula
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Menlo Park ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (56)
Special Occasion (54)
Scenic View (49)
See All
Fit for Foodies (40)
Notable Wine List (37)
Romantic (28)
Great for Lunch (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Great for Brunch (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Hot Spot (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Business Meals (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Cozy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fun (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1650 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Started with the corn soup and chicken f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Started with the corn soup and chicken for main entree so moist.

My friend had the halibut also a winner.

Bread is delicious and hard to resist.

Service is always so professional and courteous.

I love this place and so do my friends!

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Great foods and Desse ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent service. Great foods and Dessert. Beautiful place

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed in the quality of food. No ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Disappointed in the quality of food. No sides with main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Noise level on terrace is quiet; indoors ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Noise level on terrace is quiet; indoors it's noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Top notch restaurant in all respects. S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Top notch restaurant in all respects. Service and attention to detail is excellent. superb California cosine and amazing wine list and sommelier .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and always outstandi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Exceptional service and always outstanding food. Top notch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Never disappoints. Beautiful, delicious ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Never disappoints. Beautiful, delicious dishes, lovely service, and the most artistic desserts I have ever seen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was horrible, we were ignore ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The service was horrible, we were ignored and our order was incorrect. Will never eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

To our disappointment, the meal and expe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

To our disappointment, the meal and experience fell short of expectations. The setting is perfect, and dining room scenic and comfortable. Service was fine, but not consistent with a Michelin 1 Star. More disappointing was the food. Most of our dishes were fine, though the lamb was terribly disappointing. If it wasn't a Michelin 1 star, I'd give it a four. But I guess we were looking for something a bit more special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Celebrated our 50th. wedding anniversary ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Celebrated our 50th. wedding anniversary. Great food, great service, Attentive wait staff. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was great, my wife likes fanc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This place was great, my wife likes fancy places and she really enjoyed this place as well. It was a little difficult to find. Just go to the hotel's main and they'll direct you, it's right down the hall from there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience with amazing food and e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great experience with amazing food and excellent service. This is clearly a place the VC's and bankers like to go for lunch. I'd say about 90% of the restaurant were extremely successful businessmen having lunch meetings of some sort.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Madera has a lovely outside deck with gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Madera has a lovely outside deck with great views, though inside it was quite noisy.

The service was truly excellent. The food was delicious, though not exciting. The lunch menu is pretty pricey, though I would come back for a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was superb! The food was not ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The service was superb! The food was not as good as expected.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous lunch, service and ambience - f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Fabulous lunch, service and ambience - food was delicious and server was so polite and helpful with recommendations

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Price / performance was ok, nothing spec ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Price / performance was ok, nothing special. Ambiance was nice.

A 3-course dinner for 4 guests, with 2 having wine, for about $320,

was entirely acceptable. Wait staff was attentive. The greeter at

the front mistakenly thought I didn't have reservations until

someone told him the others had already been seated, and then he

let me through. Overall, it was a nice evening but nothing special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The amazing meal was even better because ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The amazing meal was even better because of the excellent service by all restaurant staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They helped us enjoy our anniversary wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

They helped us enjoy our anniversary with great service and good knowledge of the food and wine on the menu. Pricey, but quality was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have dined here many times. The food ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have dined here many times. The food is just getting very pedestrian. I had halibut that was covered in a very off-putting orange sauce. Madera is likely going off my list of usuals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Our server was excellent, ambiance excel ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our server was excellent, ambiance excellent, food excellent!

There was a birthday celebration at the next table (we were outside) and at our table we had a person with a hearing-aid which he had a hard time with the surrounding noise. Our server suggested she find a different table for us, but was not able to - we all survived! We just stayed until the birthday celebration moved on - - -

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had the opportunity to have dinne ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I have had the opportunity to have dinner at Madera twice in the last 3 weeks. It seems to me that the quality of the main dishes has fallen off. They tend to be a bit bland and uninteresting. The appetizers and desserts are excellent. So I think next time I will just have those and skip the main.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Cesar, our server, was amazing, friendly ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Cesar, our server, was amazing, friendly, the epitome of professionalism and provided impeccable service. My guests and I had the most amazing, perfect dining experience that exceeded our expectations. The service, food, and hospitality was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fine. Separately, since ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was fine. Separately, since someone else is paying the bill, can you provide me with an itemized receipt, showing the cost of the alcohol (wine) and food. If not, can you tell how

to get an itemized receipt? Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a delightful mid-evening meal out ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a delightful mid-evening meal outside Thursday night, great drinks, good appetizers and delicious entrees. The evening was lovely looking West from the patio and the spot was a perfect choice for an important business meeting with someone in from The East Coast.

We each had equally good glasses of different red wine—I had the Turley Zinfandel—and I think the service was first rate, attentive but not overly so.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing to sit outside as the sun goes d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazing to sit outside as the sun goes down. Food was good besides the "grilled" ribeye and short ribs. They obviously sous vide then put in a not-hot-enough grill for a sear. I'm ok with sous vide. Do so at home. But don't call it grilled. Also they cut off all the fat and bring it down to the size and texture (sous vide too long ) of a filet mignon. Very disappointing. The short rib cones out like a poorly formed terrine. Tastes fine but has no context with the side offerings, which themselves were not memorable and added nothing but color (and nutritional value) to the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Lovely restaurant, great location and vi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Lovely restaurant, great location and view, and excellent food. The menu has a variety of choices all with interesting, imaginative sides.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, very knowledgeable server ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great service, very knowledgeable servers. Extensive wine list, but really pricey. A half bottle of Napa Valley Chardonnay was $40. The outside tables have a great view, and it is much quieter than the dining room. Self parking is available, a short walk from the front door.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this place! Food and service are ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love this place! Food and service are amazing! Drinks on the back patio are a great way to relax after brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful location. Very average food. V ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Beautiful location. Very average food. Very average service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

The halibut and accompanying vegetables ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The halibut and accompanying vegetables were outstanding. The dressing on the mixed green salad was subtle and did not interfere with the fine New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. Most especially, the first cup of coffee was hot as were subsequent refills. This is unlike most restaurants where the first cup is hot coffee poured into a cold cup and immediately lukewarm.

The view from the deck is scenic. We went there for our anniversary as we have done several time in the past and hope to do many more times.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The bread to start was actually really, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The bread to start was actually really, really good. Both entrees were solid and the dessert was interesting, but I think we just picked the wrong one for us. The highlight is the view on the balcony and classy yet casual atmosphere. And for the wine lovers, there's an uber thick, extensive wine list.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another legendary meal. Love this restau ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Another legendary meal. Love this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice restaurant and good service. This ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Nice restaurant and good service. This visit it wasn't crowded like in the past. Food is not your typical menu but it's good. A favorite "go to" for my family or even business associates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Forgot to bring appetizer

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Forgot to bring appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Dinner with a view! Madera is an amazing ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Dinner with a view! Madera is an amazing restaurant and the outdoor seating had an amazing view. Our waiter, Eddy, was just a gem!!! From the moment we entered the hotel, until the moment we left, everything went perfectly. There is not one thing I can say about the entire experience that I would want to change. The presentation was beautiful on every dish from the appetizer to the desert. The meal lasted a little over 2 hours, and we watched the sun set as we experienced our meal. The wine sommelier had an answer to every question and paired our meal with the perfect wine. I could not more highly recommend this restaurant for a wonderful date or special occasion. Thank you!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice meal, but the day after I dined the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Nice meal, but the day after I dined there, the restaurant reported to Open Table that I didn't honor my reservation (I.e., labeled me a no-show).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Very poor service. We sat at the table f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Very poor service. We sat at the table for nearly 10 minutes without receiving any greetings from the server who glanced at us and simply walked by many times. We didn't get a sip of water until much later. We also had to stare at empty plates after finishing the meals for a good while as well. Again, the server himself and the crews who appeared to be busboys made several rounds of the walk-bys past our table and just looked on while we sat and discussed our business with empty plates in front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Superb service. Meals were amazing. Atmo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Superb service. Meals were amazing. Atmosphere was relaxed yet modern and luxurious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful dinner at Madera. Th ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Madera. The food was even better, and even more beautifully presented, than at our last visit. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived at 7:45 for a birthday dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We arrived at 7:45 for a birthday dinner for six people and we left 3 hours later after just 2 courses, no desert. Horrible service. I have been here before and it has really gone downhill, food was so so.. It seems the staff knew that the 20% gratuity would be charged regardless. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.