About Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill

2825 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
View Larger Map

Madera Restaurant Honored with Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence 2015 and Michelin Rated 2017.
A comfortably elegant ambiance, picturesque views and outdoor terraces welcome guests and Silicon Valley locals to Madera. Featuring an open artisan wood-burning kitchen and extensive wine list, Madera serves rustic American cuisine that celebrates the culinary traditions of the Bay Area
In addition to indoor and outdoor dining, Madera offers two private dining rooms with private terraces and cozy fireplaces. The Lemon Room seats up to 10 guests, and the Orange Room up to 14 guests.


This Menlo Park restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and for Sunday brunch as well.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday - Saturday: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 280

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 561-1540

Website:
http://maderasandhill.com/

Parking Details:
Rosewood Sand Hill offers complimentary valet as well as optional self-parking.

Complimentary electric car charging station available.

Executive Chef:
Peter Rudolph

Private Party Facilities:
Madera offers two distinctive private dining rooms to suit an array of private events. Private and elegantly detailed, both private dining rooms open onto private outdoor terraces - ideal for pre and post dining activity.

Private Party Contact:
Marissa Griffin: 8888533675

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
  • Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA
Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill, Menlo Park, CA

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

After your all done opening your morning presents, continue the celebration with us at Madera. Serving a 3 course holiday inspired menu featuring: Prime Rib, Liberty Farms Roasted duck, and Black Truffle Risotto.
-All Reservations require CC
-72 Hour CXL Policy

Madera - Rosewood Hotel Sand Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Peninsula
Contemporary American
Peninsula
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Menlo Park ›

Special Occasion (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Scenic View (33)
See All
Business Meals (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Romantic (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Open Kitchen (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Fireplace (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (4)
Fun (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Casual (4)
Organic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was meager and tasteless. Service w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was meager and tasteless. Service was very slow.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

The food at Madera continues to disappoi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The food at Madera continues to disappoint. Dinners have been consistently disappointing. We deduced to give it a chance with lunch for the second time. Again the food was tasteless. I had a cup of the Lobster Bullion and so did my husband. The lobster looked like it came out of a can and the bullion had no case at all. Then I ordered the chicory salad, the new signature plate for lunch. It was suppose to come with smoked trout and cheese. My friend also ordered the same dish. It came without the smoked trout and I needed a microscope to find the two bits of cheese in it. We send our salads back to have the trout added and it came back with a few flakes of fish thrown on top of the salad. I am still trying to figure out what was the taste - seriously?

Tags: Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

They went above and beyond to make our d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

They went above and beyond to make our dining experience and celebration of birthday extra special, such as customized menu with the happy birthday message and complimentary birthday dessert with candle. The food there was also of excellent quality.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had our Thanksgiving at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My family and I had our Thanksgiving at Rosewood on Thursday. It was very well done. For the turkey lovers it fit the bill and other there were choices. It was warm and elegant, decorated perfectly for the start of the holiday. It is pricey but for a special occasion Madera is worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, service, atmosphere excellent, but ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere excellent, but $100+ tab for lunch w/no alcohol a bit expensive.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was a little slow but it's gener ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Service was a little slow but it's generally always a pleasure going here.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Lobster consomme and burrata salad were ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Lobster consomme and burrata salad were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We spent minutes trying to get the atten ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We spent minutes trying to get the attention of the wait staff on several occasions – unacceptable for a restaurant of this standing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Amazing patio! We lucked out and also ha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing patio! We lucked out and also had perfect weather. Mid-November yet we were dining al fresco without sleeves. Very kind and professional service. The roasted mushroom flatbread and burrata salad were fantastic. Especially loved the surprise of grated black truffles atop the salad!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a fantastic dining experience at Mad ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had a fantastic dining experience at Madera. The service and the food were superb! I highly recommend our fantastic waiter Eddie Valle. He is a perfect waiter. His attentiveness to every detail never went unnoticed. We asked him many questions about the food and his recommendations were right on.

The liver pate and the ribeye steak were excellent. Desserts are a must at Madera. The manager told me that the restaurant waited a full year before the new pastry chef could start. Each dessert is beautifully done. The desserts are a work of art. I recommend the Chocolate Spheres

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gained deliciousness; lost arrogance. N ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Gained deliciousness; lost arrogance. Now it is worth the time and the money to go there. You will not be disappointed. Familiar dishes dressed in new flavors. Creativity at its best...not overdone. Don't be surprised if Madera receives two Michelin stars at the next review.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Organic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Madera at least 10 times ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We have been to Madera at least 10 times - all outstanding - and so we were surprised at how disappointing this experience was. It was to the point where we will not return to Madera.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

I love the relaxed ambiance with candles ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I love the relaxed ambiance with candles and space between tables. Food was creative and tasty, especially the gnocchi was fantastic with vegetables. I definitely recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I had the Monterey Bay abalone to start. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I had the Monterey Bay abalone to start. It was excellent with the trout roe and Matsutake. However, as one digs digger into the dish, there was too much vinegar at the bottom of the dish. The bread basket accompanied by the butter with Olive oil was one of the best I ever had

Entree was the Schmitz Ranch Pork done as a loin and with Crispy pork Belly.. Both cuts were excellent, moist and very tasty. The skin of the pork belly was a little too tough to cut, but otherwise, it was a good dish.

On the side, I also order the Brussels sprouts. It was way to sour, and I only managed to pick on a few. To their credit, the side order was not include into the final bill.

The winelist was impressive with excellent selection from half bottles to large format bottles.

The staff was friendly, but not as attentive as I would expect from a one Michelin star establishment. The ambience was very comfortable and relaxing, with noise level kept to an acceptable level.

The

In summary, it was an OK experience for a one star establishment.

Total spent, including drinks, ~$180

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The food presentation was artistic from ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food presentation was artistic from the entrees to the desserts.

The noise level was so high that we couldn't carry on a conversation. I assume this is due to poor engineering of the acoustics of the dining room.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely superb food, service and drin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Absolutely superb food, service and drinks. From the first step through the door to the last step out, I had an amazing time here. They have valet parking for the restaurant. Farm fresh to table. Open Kitchen. Comfortable seating and wonderful dining setting. The sommelier is on point with meal pairings. Im definitely looking forward to coming back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my family to dine at Madera. The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I took my family to dine at Madera. The atmosphere was pleasant and the service was good. Unfortunately, my wife's order was incorrect and the meals took a little longer than we would have liked. The plus side was that both our waiter and manager apologized and furthermore, our entrees were comp.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Unfortunately service was very slow. Too ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Unfortunately service was very slow. Took 30 minutes just to get our order taken ( we did not order drinks). Food was OK, visually appealing, but taste did not measure up.

View is great if you get there before sunset, trying to be imaginative, but don't succeed.

Puzzled how they got one star.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was good. Server was slow to brin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was good.

Server was slow to bring the bill.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Great food, decor, and service. My wife ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great food, decor, and service. My wife had the duck (fabulous) and I had the beef ribeye steak (grilled perfectly). Don't miss the caviar appetizer with the shrimp "reduction" (marvelous).

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor and ambiance are nice, but the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The decor and ambiance are nice, but the food and service are mediocre. Would return for drinks, but not dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Three old friends together for a special ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Three old friends together for a special birthday. Food service ambiance all excellent.

Fabulous evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wish the lunch menu was a bit bigger reg ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

wish the lunch menu was a bit bigger regarding luncheon things. more hearty salad choices, or sandwich choices.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall the food, ambiance and service w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Overall the food, ambiance and service were very fine. However, would not recommend this restaurant to anyone with food restrictions. We informed the waiter that my husband could not eat sugar and reiterated this constraint with every course. Both the server and the kitchen were completely disrespectful of the restriction, repeatedly offering sweets and actually trying to convince him to eat them.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We love the outdoor patio because of the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We love the outdoor patio because of the scenic outlook to mountainside. Great place for outdoor brunch when weather nice. Service could be better though on the multiple times we have been there. Overall a solid place to go for special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I came here for my birthday and we had s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I came here for my birthday and we had such a beautiful meal. We enjoyed the view as the sun set and the food so much we did not realize that we wound up staying 3 hours. The server was the perfect balance of funny and sweet but not too intrusive. She really made the entire experience wonderful. The som was sweet to listen and make good recommendations for us. The hamachi crudo was a refreshing start but the amuse bouche dishes in between were very salty. Our entrees were all very delicious and perfectly cooked medium rare. Our favorites were the steak, duck and lamb, in that order. We had both the California Grapes and Candied Meyer Lemon for dessert. We were delighted by the playfulness of the California Grapes and the surprising bursts of violet in the sorbet. The variance in textures on the plate were delightful.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been here a few times. Food is grea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I've been here a few times. Food is great and comparable to other area restaurants. My dish wasn't cooked right, so that was disappointing. They didn't take it off my bill, which would have been the right thing to do. Otherwise our dishes were good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was cold and not served on a ho ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was cold and not served on a hot plate. The salad was soggy and the server took of for 25 minutes at the end of our dinner. For 5 people we spent $600 including tip and everyone was disappointed. Plus a verbal fight started up after dinner between our group. Just added "salt to the wound". Not a pleasant birthday experience for my wife.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

My husband and I love Madera! Our most ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

My husband and I love Madera! Our most recent visit was to celebrate our wedding anniversary and everyone there treated us so wonderfully. From the hostess to the wait staff, to the kitchen staff - everyone was wonderful. And the food was fabulous!!! I love how creative they are with the dishes and the presentation is always impressive. Great place!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice and relaxing environment with a gre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Nice and relaxing environment with a great hillside view and great place for small intimate gatherings.

Food was average, but the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Started with the corn soup and chicken f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Started with the corn soup and chicken for main entree so moist.

My friend had the halibut also a winner.

Bread is delicious and hard to resist.

Service is always so professional and courteous.

I love this place and so do my friends!

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Great foods and Desse ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent service. Great foods and Dessert. Beautiful place

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed in the quality of food. No ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Disappointed in the quality of food. No sides with main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Noise level on terrace is quiet; indoors ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Noise level on terrace is quiet; indoors it's noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Top notch restaurant in all respects. S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Top notch restaurant in all respects. Service and attention to detail is excellent. superb California cosine and amazing wine list and sommelier .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and always outstandi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Exceptional service and always outstanding food. Top notch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Never disappoints. Beautiful, delicious ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Never disappoints. Beautiful, delicious dishes, lovely service, and the most artistic desserts I have ever seen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was horrible, we were ignore ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The service was horrible, we were ignored and our order was incorrect. Will never eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

To our disappointment, the meal and expe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

To our disappointment, the meal and experience fell short of expectations. The setting is perfect, and dining room scenic and comfortable. Service was fine, but not consistent with a Michelin 1 Star. More disappointing was the food. Most of our dishes were fine, though the lamb was terribly disappointing. If it wasn't a Michelin 1 star, I'd give it a four. But I guess we were looking for something a bit more special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Celebrated our 50th. wedding anniversary ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Celebrated our 50th. wedding anniversary. Great food, great service, Attentive wait staff. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.