Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Madeleine's

Madeleine’s, located in the heart of the Historic District, is Evansville’s only Fusion Restaurant. Chef Timothy Mills, of The Culinary Institute of America, and Tyra Sikkink named their casual elegant restaurant in honor of their daughter Madeleine. Chef Mills brings his experience from around the country, including New York and Washington, D.C. to the Tri-State. The menu changes weekly and features the freshest seafood and choice meats combined with a fusion flair that makes your dining experience truly unique and pleasurable every time. Our wine cellar houses the Tri-State’s finest selection of premium wines, while our bar features numerous premium liquors and a fusion specialty, Sake Martinis. Whatever the occasion, a romantic dinner, dinning with friends, business entertainment, or just a love of fine food, Madeleine’s is sure to please

423 SE SECOND STREET
Evansville, IN 47713
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
OAK STREET

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 491-8611

Website:
http://www.madeleinesfusion.com/

Executive Chef:
Timothy Mills

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Dancing, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Madeleine's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Business Meals (6)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Cozy (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic service and amazing bar selection, filet with espresso rub was perfect and butternut squash ravioli wonderful as well! Will definitely visit again next time we’re in Evansville

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The staff was friendly and efficient. The food was AMAZING, from appetizer to desert! It was our anniversary and they had the table sweetly decorated. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Traveling through for a conference. Great surprise find. Will definitely be back when in the area. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

A true treasure in Evansville. Excellent food with an ever-changing menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We love Madeline's. It's expensive, but oh so worth the price! Plan to spend at least 1.5 hours here. It's slow paced which I love because I don't feel rushed to finish and get out so someone else can have my table. I told them we were celebrating a birthday and when we arrived, our table had birthday confetti all over, a ceramic cupcake on the table with a happy birthday sign, and all of our water glasses said happy birthday on them. What a nice touch! Waiter was VERY attentive, but not overbearing. I am a very picky eater, but I can always find something here that I absolutely love, which is saying a lot since their menu changes all the time. Definitely worth the splurge!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Celebrating our wedding anniversary. Wonderful service and very good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This is a gem! We have enjoyed two wonderful dinners here! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Everything from service to food to selection was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This may have been a better restaurant at one time, but not now. The service was good and the environment really quite delightful. The best part of the meal was a beautifully prepared martini. The deconstructed Rangoon appetizer tasted like it was 99% cream cheese with the "crab and lobster" someplace other than on my plate. The entrée was a pork and cherries dish that was over-cooked and lacking in any real complexity. The wine list however was great and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Fantastic! Wine list was amazing and the staff is incredible.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The Service was Excellent. The Wine selection was Good. The 16 oz Dry Aged Rib-eye was cooked to perfection and had great flavor. The Lobster Mac and cheese was to die for along with the Red potato Augratan.

But, the Key Lime Pie was so small I could hardly find it on the plate and for $11.00 I expected a Piece that could be shared with my wife, plus they put green lime zest all over it which was disgusting.

I do recommend Madeline's for everything they have expect for the desserts. We will return and enjoy the wonderful entree's that they have.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

It was Very Good!We will definatlt be back!The Atmosphere was Beautiful and Peaceful, the service was good and friendly, and the Food was Beautiful and Delicious!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Highly recommended. Menu changes with plenty of great choices. This place will not disappoint anyone. Great staff, wonderful food and good drinks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Exceptional experience all around! Our first Anniversary and first time to dine here. We plan to make this an annual experience. Our new favorite for sure!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great meal. Slow service even though restaurant was only 1/2 full. They made up for slow service by comping dessert and coffee.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This place is just awesome. We come to Evansville several times per year and ALWAYS make certain that we carve out an evening at Mad line's. Food, drink, service, are always top shelf. This past visit was truly exceptional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Amazing blend of flavors perfectly served and unique! True gem. Greatest meal I've had in a long time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very good service and food... took a little longer than expected

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My wife and I have dined at Madeleine's many times over the last several years. It has been one of our favorite restaurants in the Evansville area for special occasion dining--always a bit pricey, but with corresponding value. We first noticed slippage in quality of food during a visit in February 2017.

This past Saturday, however, was a complete fall from grace. My wife ordered roasted chicken; I ordered smoked lamb ribs. The roasted chicken was literally so tough on the outside that it was difficult to penetrate with a steak knife. Once "disassembled" the chicken had good flavor, but it was an ordeal to eat. The accompanying side of Peruvian mash was completely tasteless. The lamb ribs were charred, crusty--completely over done. The marinade or basting sauce showed promises of good flavor, but was so over cooked, it was hard to tell. The accompanying side of mashed yams was as tasteless as the Peruvian mash.

The service, unfortunately, measured down to the quality of the food on this occasion--completely inattentive during an evening with average size crowd (several open tables). We probably would have complained, but the service was so non-existent, and it took so long to place and receive our order, we decided to finish and move on. In all fairness, I had stated that we were relaxing and in no rush, but...

I'll never say never, regarding a return visit, but I'll want to see a string of rave reviews before we try Madeleine's again. And this is a shame, because Madeleine's has been top notch for many years. Hope the restaurant address the kitchen deficiency we experienced on Saturday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The service was not good, the server was lacking in her job. Even when she was asking what we would like to order she was not attentive. The Kitchen was very slow , Tim should jump in and help to get them back on track. The food and the service is just not what it was in the first few years. I hate to write this review because this was my favorite place for years and I hope it returns to the standards they once had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We arrived early and were seated before our reservation time. My first choice was not available but I was still very pleased with my entree. The grilled ceasar salad was probably my favorite part if the meal. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Granted we were the only ones on the patio, but it was peaceful night of dining and food was great. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Madeleine's is our "go to" place for special occasions and great food in the Evansville area. The food is always outstanding and the ambiance makes it special and memorable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 2, 2017

we had a great server, but I can't remember her name. Diner was excellent. Jim

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

really enjoyable evening. We just got appetizers, but they were enough for a late night get together. Tony the bartender really makes a great old fashion. And is very knowledgeable about the wine list. Our server was very nice too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our first visit to Madeleines. Cozy with great art. Our food was average. The service was spectacular. Great wine, beer and cocktails menu. May try it again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was our first time there. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about our dining experience and I plan to go back next weekend!!!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, one of the best restaurants evansville has to offer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Madeleine's was an amazing place. I went there with my girlfriend on a date on valentine's day. I had brought flowers for my date earluer in the day, and they were able to arrange surprising her with them in the middle of dinner. Every one was really kind and friendly, and had an amazing romantic atmosphere. We will definitely be going back again. No doubt about it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My date and I had a wonderful evening at Madeline's. The upstairs seeting was very cozy and romantic and Brook our server was outstanding. Overall was an awesome Valentine's Day experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have dined at Madeleine's before and had excellent service, but this dinner, the service was lacking. We never received bread and our waiter was not attentive. The food was less than spectacular .. salmon was overdone and dry, and one steak dinner ordered medium rare was overdone and another steak dinner ordered medium well was closer to medium and had to be sent back. The waiter was told about the salmon specifically and the customer did not eat the dinner, but there was nothing taken off of the check. Overall...just a frustrating evening with what felt like an overpriced meal. Very sad as we have had wonderful experiences here in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Madeline's had their upstairs decked out with valentine's decor. It was a very nice surprise as we did our date night on Saturday instead of Tuesday.
I got the filet midnon and it was amazing. Probably the best steak I've ever had. Cooked to perfection and topped with a delicious sauce. My wife got the five cheese ravioli and it was amazing as well (I had to try a little).
Overall it was great and worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Poor service, poor food, what's to like. After not being here for over a year we thought we would give it a try. Bad call. Food was terrible, poor quality. Crab cakes dry and overlooked. Grilled Caesar turned out to be Boston Lettuce( not grilled). Lamb chops were more fat than meat.
Service was excruciating slow and inconsistent. Had to ask for water refills. Original entree was not available but took 45 minutes for her to tell us.
Bright spot was sommelier. Knowledgeable and very engaging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Madelleine's is an absolute favorite of ours. Our service on 2/11 was perfect. However, food quality was substandard to what we have become accustomed. The Amish chicken was bland , and accompaniments were luke warm. Duck was very good, and Brussels sprouts were good. Our friends ordered steel head trout and ravioli. Ravioli received high ratings, but the steel head was just ok. Despite some disappointment, the service, staff and previous exceptional experiences will bring us back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This place is the BEST restaurant in Evansville HANDS DOWN! We have been coming here for years and it just keeps getting better! Biggest secret is their outstanding wine cellar.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful food and service! Loved the crab cakes and my filet was divine. My husband had the strip steak which was quite tasty and the Yukon mashed potatoes were excellent. The next time I will order a salad that my husband will also like so we can share it since the one I had was more than I could eat alone. A little pricey, but worth it! This was only our second visit so I can't speak to consistency, but we will go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very romantic. I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The table was split on the monkfish – one person thought it was great, but another felt that the tastes didn't quite mesh. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The service and food were excellent, something that we always expect from Madeleines. We always try to visit the restaurant when we are in Evansville.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Madeleine's was a wonderful find. Great experience all around! The food was amazing and our server was friendly and helpful. Located in the cutest neighborhood! Very cozy restaurant with an extensive selection of cocktails! I would highly suggest this to anyone looking for a nice dining experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good.. great Servive .. food not as good as expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.