Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.78mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Madeleine's

Madeleine’s, located in the heart of the Historic District, is Evansville’s only Fusion Restaurant. Chef Timothy Mills, of The Culinary Institute of America, and Tyra Sikkink named their casual elegant restaurant in honor of their daughter Madeleine. Chef Mills brings his experience from around the country, including New York and Washington, D.C. to the Tri-State. The menu changes weekly and features the freshest seafood and choice meats combined with a fusion flair that makes your dining experience truly unique and pleasurable every time. Our wine cellar houses the Tri-State’s finest selection of premium wines, while our bar features numerous premium liquors and a fusion specialty, Sake Martinis. Whatever the occasion, a romantic dinner, dinning with friends, business entertainment, or just a love of fine food, Madeleine’s is sure to please

423 SE SECOND STREET
Evansville, IN 47713
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
OAK STREET

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 491-8611

Website:
http://www.madeleinesfusion.com/

Executive Chef:
Timothy Mills

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Dancing, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Madeleine's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Cozy (9)
See All
Romantic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (2)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our first visit to Madeleines. Cozy with great art. Our food was average. The service was spectacular. Great wine, beer and cocktails menu. May try it again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was our first time there. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about our dining experience and I plan to go back next weekend!!!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, one of the best restaurants evansville has to offer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Madeleine's was an amazing place. I went there with my girlfriend on a date on valentine's day. I had brought flowers for my date earluer in the day, and they were able to arrange surprising her with them in the middle of dinner. Every one was really kind and friendly, and had an amazing romantic atmosphere. We will definitely be going back again. No doubt about it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My date and I had a wonderful evening at Madeline's. The upstairs seeting was very cozy and romantic and Brook our server was outstanding. Overall was an awesome Valentine's Day experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have dined at Madeleine's before and had excellent service, but this dinner, the service was lacking. We never received bread and our waiter was not attentive. The food was less than spectacular .. salmon was overdone and dry, and one steak dinner ordered medium rare was overdone and another steak dinner ordered medium well was closer to medium and had to be sent back. The waiter was told about the salmon specifically and the customer did not eat the dinner, but there was nothing taken off of the check. Overall...just a frustrating evening with what felt like an overpriced meal. Very sad as we have had wonderful experiences here in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Madeline's had their upstairs decked out with valentine's decor. It was a very nice surprise as we did our date night on Saturday instead of Tuesday.
I got the filet midnon and it was amazing. Probably the best steak I've ever had. Cooked to perfection and topped with a delicious sauce. My wife got the five cheese ravioli and it was amazing as well (I had to try a little).
Overall it was great and worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Poor service, poor food, what's to like. After not being here for over a year we thought we would give it a try. Bad call. Food was terrible, poor quality. Crab cakes dry and overlooked. Grilled Caesar turned out to be Boston Lettuce( not grilled). Lamb chops were more fat than meat.
Service was excruciating slow and inconsistent. Had to ask for water refills. Original entree was not available but took 45 minutes for her to tell us.
Bright spot was sommelier. Knowledgeable and very engaging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Madelleine's is an absolute favorite of ours. Our service on 2/11 was perfect. However, food quality was substandard to what we have become accustomed. The Amish chicken was bland , and accompaniments were luke warm. Duck was very good, and Brussels sprouts were good. Our friends ordered steel head trout and ravioli. Ravioli received high ratings, but the steel head was just ok. Despite some disappointment, the service, staff and previous exceptional experiences will bring us back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This place is the BEST restaurant in Evansville HANDS DOWN! We have been coming here for years and it just keeps getting better! Biggest secret is their outstanding wine cellar.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very romantic. I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The table was split on the monkfish – one person thought it was great, but another felt that the tastes didn't quite mesh. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful food and service! Loved the crab cakes and my filet was divine. My husband had the strip steak which was quite tasty and the Yukon mashed potatoes were excellent. The next time I will order a salad that my husband will also like so we can share it since the one I had was more than I could eat alone. A little pricey, but worth it! This was only our second visit so I can't speak to consistency, but we will go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The service and food were excellent, something that we always expect from Madeleines. We always try to visit the restaurant when we are in Evansville.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Madeleine's was a wonderful find. Great experience all around! The food was amazing and our server was friendly and helpful. Located in the cutest neighborhood! Very cozy restaurant with an extensive selection of cocktails! I would highly suggest this to anyone looking for a nice dining experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good.. great Servive .. food not as good as expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Have dined at Madelein's a number of times, each time it has been delightful until this past Saturday. For starters, the chopped salad was to include maple bacon and it did not, then the asparagus that was ordered with main dish was very tough and partly unedible. Main dish was ok but not great. Dessert was wonderful. I hope this was simply an off night and not an indicator of the direction this place is headed, for an upscale dining experience, it fell some short of the goal on this evening.
Thank you,
T R S 12/17/16

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food served here was fantastic from the appetizers to the main dishes, sides, and deserts. I would easily recommend it to anyone I know.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great bar selection, only downside is limited street parking.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I was delighted with the restaurant but disappointed in the cost in relation to the portion size. Our appetizer was delicious but very overpriced and was disappointed in the lack of fresh basil on our caprese salad. Would go again but would choose wiser in my order

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My husband and I had a great experience. The bartender went out of his way to make is the perfect cocktail and pick out the best wine. Our server was very sweet and the food was amazing!... we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I was very disappointed in my dinner - but think I might have ordered the wrong items as some of the other selections actually looked good. On a positive note - this is a very quaint and cozy neighborhood spot. Service was attentive. Unfortunately, food just did not hit the mark for me - especially given the price. Crying tiger beef appetizer was unimpressive - very small scraps of meat with a simple spicy sauce. My entree was an even bigger disappointment - the Blackened Red Fish. I expected a full piece of fish - what I got was chunks of fish that were heavily over-spiced and unrecognizable when it arrived on a bed of black rice which was sticky and only slightly warm. I actually thought they had brought out the wrong entree at first. Sorry to say - but there was nothing good about that dish at all. Lobster mac side dish was okay. A few others ordered the NY Steak Au Pouivre and that actually looked nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great dinner. Portion sizes could have been just a bit more (i.e. appetizers ordered). Elegant dining and very tasty.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Not a lot of dining options in Evansville. This one was recommended. People were friendly enough, especially our server. Food was just ok. Kind of expensive for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Weather was nice enough to sit outside on patio. It was lovely. Food, wine and service were all perfect. Highly recommended

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The waitress was attentive and Informative about the menu. The bar selection was expansive and the menu had a wonderful variety. The food was out of this world! I would highly recommend Dining here for a special occasion or romantic night out!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on October 14, 2016

we have been to madeleines before and it was excellent. there was something off this time. my wife recieved something totally different than what she ordered, it was sent back and she picked a different menu item. It was wrong again, something totally different than what was described on the menu. My steak was good but not worth the $$ I paid for it. We will probably go back but it wont be our first choice. bad form madeleines bad form.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We went to Madeline's Wednesday evening and had a fabulous dining experience. It was a beautiful fall evening so we chose the outdoor seating. The patio setting there is cozy and relaxing. Everything about the evening was first class, from the cocktails and appetizers through the main course to desserts and coffee. The staff was very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable.
We are looking forward to a return visit soon!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Lovely restaurant, terrific staff...Brian was great..., and the food is superb. The menu changes and is always interesting. The Saigon chicken was the table favorite.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went to Madeleine's during Evansville's Restaurant Week. Our server was outstanding and a great help in picking a wonderful red wine for dinner. We got the Restaurant Week meal which consisted of salad (chopped for me and Caesar for him), Beef Wellington with asparagus and potatoes, and a chocolate mousse cake. We added an order of scallops for an appetizer. Everything was very fresh. The salads were fresh with house made dressings. The beef was cooked perfectly. I feared the cake would not measure up but it was so delicious. It was moist and dense. Just perfect! The restaurant is beautiful and the food was outstanding. It was the best meal I've had in a long while. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent Food! We highly recommend Madeleine's, it's worth the drive. Great atmosphere & good service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2016

First visit, anniversary celebration which we told server. Very slow service even for cocktails while waiting for food. Menu not our personal taste preference, do not plan to return. Definitely pricey meal that really didn't like

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very quaint little restaurant in historic district. Very friendly staff. Food was first class and imaginative. Can not say enough about the wine selection! Never in such a small local type restaurant have I saw such a really nice selection of wines. Apparently the sommelier and I have similar tastes in wines. Many of my favorite California vintners and selections not often seen and at a good price I might add. Enjoyed the night emensely !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was great and our server was very attentive. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Calm relaxing atmosphere with manners and upscale dining.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good food, slightly pricey, nice experience. Will go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Only negative was that I asked for a high chair and booster seat - neither was ready - they have to find both - which didn't take long...just surprised it wasn't ready given I covered that in the reservation and they called to confirm and we went over it again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Very good food. Very nice atmosphere. Will return

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I like everything about Madeleine's for special occasion dining. On our most recent visit, the server was attentive ad very knowledgeable of the menu, and our table near a front window was perfect for an anniversary dinner. My wife raved about the haddock special; by duck breast was superb. We will return and highly recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our service was superb, we enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was delicious! I would highly recommend the pork loin. My wife and I will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on June 21, 2016

I was disappointed in our dinner. My salad was dripping in dressing to the point that I only ate 4 bites. The manager offered to make another, but i did not want to do that. She first offered to add more lettuce which I could not believe was suggested at a fine restaurant. The soft shell crab had absolutely no meat so it was not worth eating at all. The scallops appetizer was delicious so that was actually the only food I ate. The person I was with liked the kale salad. The ono fish was described by the waitress as flakey but it was in fact a very dense steak fish. Disappointing. We had two drinks, 2 beers, one bottle of wine. The wine was good. Wine was $60/bottle. All total it cost $270 with the tip. Not worth it. I would not recommend eating here. We left hungry and went somewhere else for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.