About Madeleine's

423 SE SECOND STREET
Evansville, IN 47713
View Larger Map

Madeleine’s, located in the heart of the Historic District, is Evansville’s only Fusion Restaurant. Chef Timothy Mills, of The Culinary Institute of America, and Tyra Sikkink named their casual elegant restaurant in honor of their daughter Madeleine. Chef Mills brings his experience from around the country, including New York and Washington, D.C. to the Tri-State. The menu changes weekly and features the freshest seafood and choice meats combined with a fusion flair that makes your dining experience truly unique and pleasurable every time. Our wine cellar houses the Tri-State’s finest selection of premium wines, while our bar features numerous premium liquors and a fusion specialty, Sake Martinis. Whatever the occasion, a romantic dinner, dinning with friends, business entertainment, or just a love of fine food, Madeleine’s is sure to please

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
OAK STREET

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 491-8611

Website:
http://www.madeleinesfusion.com/

Executive Chef:
Timothy Mills

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Dancing, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Madeleine's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Southwest Indiana / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Evansville
Best Restaurants in Evansville ›

romantic (16)
special occasion (15)
neighborhood gem (13)
See All
fit for foodies (12)
notable wine list (10)
great for outdoor dining (10)
good for groups (4)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good food. Very nice atmosphere. ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very good food. Very nice atmosphere. Will return

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I like everything about Made ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I like everything about Madeleine's for special occasion dining. On our most recent visit, the server was attentive ad very knowledgeable of the menu, and our table near a front window was perfect for an anniversary dinner. My wife raved about the haddock special; by duck breast was superb. We will return and highly recommend for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was superb, we enjoyed the a ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our service was superb, we enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was delicious! I would highly recommend the pork loin. My wife and I will definitely be back soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed in our dinner. My sal ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I was disappointed in our dinner. My salad was dripping in dressing to the point that I only ate 4 bites. The manager offered to make another, but i did not want to do that. She first offered to add more lettuce which I could not believe was suggested at a fine restaurant. The soft shell crab had absolutely no meat so it was not worth eating at all. The scallops appetizer was delicious so that was actually the only food I ate. The person I was with liked the kale salad. The ono fish was described by the waitress as flakey but it was in fact a very dense steak fish. Disappointing. We had two drinks, 2 beers, one bottle of wine. The wine was good. Wine was $60/bottle. All total it cost $270 with the tip. Not worth it. I would not recommend eating here. We left hungry and went somewhere else for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Wonderful dining experience

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My husband and I visited Madeline's Fusion in Friday evening at 6pm. We requested to sit on the patio which was a great choice. It was almost an island vibe with fans and music as well. The food was amazing. For an app we had the crying tiger beef, the chicken dish of the week may have been the best we have ever had! And the pork tenderloin was great too! Great for a special occasion. Out of our price range on a normal day but we will be back next year for our 2nd anniversary!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still an outstanding restaurant. We love ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Still an outstanding restaurant. We love eating here. The service is impeccable, drinks are always great, and the food beyond compare and expectations. We love it when the owner stops by our table to say hi or mention a new dessert. She's the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic local independent restaurant

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

We have dined at Madeline's at least 30 times. Always fantastic, enjoy how the menu is constantly changing. Food is top quality, service is attentive without being overbearing. Don't leave without having dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So glad we went!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We had a lovely experience with friends at Madeline's. Our food was good, the service was great and the ambiance was perfect. We look forward to returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, like the atmosphere. Will retur ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Overall, like the atmosphere. Will return for special occasions. Good food/drinks, but pricey. A few portions too small, and a some food temperatures inconsistent (hot outside, cold inside).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great Dining

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Food and wine are excellent! Brett was great and made our dinner even better!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricy but Special

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent food. Crab cakes taste and texture compared well with those I've experienced in Northeast. However, small proportion size did not justify price. Filet was excellent. Cooked perfectly, very tender, excellent taste. Salad prepared nicely and tasted great. Service was very good. Attentive but not on a pushy level. A sincere friendly attitude. Sitting by front entrance on a cold night was a bit chilly

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Food, Service and atmosphere!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This is a great find. Great menu that changes monthly, food is amazing, service is one of the best. We have been to many restaurants around the country, and this is one of the best. Unique combinations of food, fresh seafood, excellent steaks. Highly recommend

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our review

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We loved the relaxed feel. The food was great, I had the ribeye, she had the strip. Both grilled to perfection. The wine list was outstanding. The service by Kinsey was outstanding-she was attentive (not overly attentive), her knowldge and recommendations were perfect. We will definitely return for a cozy romantic dinner. Please give Kinsey our thanks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable evening

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

That staff was excellent. The wine list was great and the server was very knowledgable and fun to interact with on the wine pairing.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cold but expensive

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

We went on a Tuesday night and ordered appetizers along with main courses. There appeared to be only one waiter working the entire restaurant. It took awhile to get them and our 2 appetizers came separately.....we had completely finished the first one before the second one came. Both were lukewarm in temperature. We were ordering drinks from the bar also. At one point it took so long for one drink to arrive that the waiter gave it to us 'on the house'. When our dinners finally came to the table, they were both cold so we sent them back. The waiter was extremely apologetic about that. I will say that the food was delicious! But the prices were quite high. I don't think a restaurant that charges $40 for a steak should take so long and then send it to a table cold. The entire bill was $188 for 2 people who ordered 2 appetizers, several drinks, 2 dinners, and 1 dessert. To spend that much money waiting for cold food to arrive is not worth it in my opinion (even though it was very tasty).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

A delightful date at Madeline's

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

My boyfriend and I tried Madeline's on New Years Eve and it was simply delicious! The service was especially excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent in Everyway

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

All 4 entrees were excellent in flavor & presentation. Server was extremely friendly, fun, & took excellent care of us without interrupting. Our vegetarian & gluten free requests were no problem for the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, the service, the intimate smal ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

The food, the service, the intimate small setting werr all incredible! Food was excellent and served quickly, the place was maybe half full at 8:30 on a SAT night but I was able sit across from my girlfriend and still hold a quiet conversation. Definitely some place high on our list for special dinners out if we are in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best eatery in the wasteland of Evansville.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Reserved through Open Table and got the best seat in the house despite changing the time, then arriving early with no companion. Madeleine's can boast some talent in the kitchen and some ambition in the management. Those unable to avoid a night in Evansville would be well advised to spend it here.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

An excellent quirky place found in Evansville, IN

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Say WHAT??!! A foodies delight in Evansville, IN you say??!! YES! Our table of 8 was seated in a private room on the 2nd floor of a Victorian-style house in an old neighborhood of Evansville, not exactly what one would expect. as you would find some place like this more so in the South-End of Boston, or some other hip, chic area.

The food was excellent...the atmosphere unique, and our server was our own for the night! A little over-talkative, but we asked her first!

If you would like to experience food (they called it Fusion, etc), that is truly unique, book your reservation now! Fried Kale with bacon...Grilled Romaine lettuce with blue cheese dressing? YUM! Duck...cooked perfectly. Lamb chops...cooked perfectly. Everyone's meal (except mine) was cooked perfectly...guess I should have been more adventurous and asked for something besides the curry chicken (light on the spice and a little dry).

Besides the one or two miss-steps, this place is a gem in a place you would normally never look!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Hidden Gem

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Great little restaurant!

The outdoor dining area is great and the food is tasty as well. Love the location, gives it the unique character that all local gems seem to have.

Make reservations as their is not a lot of seating inside, which again, adds to the charm of the restaurant.

Will definitely be a repeat visitor and look forward to being able to enjoy the patio area when the weather is a bit better.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Good for Special Occasions

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Though this is definitely a very nice restaurant with a very extensive wine selection and superb service, the price is high for the caliber of food served. Would certainly recommend to a friend and return.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice place; trying too hard for inventiveness.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Cosy dining room displaying art glass collection. Just shy of pretentious. Food was prepared well but the chef's odd combinations and experimentation with too many flavors did not always mix well. Strawberry sauced duck breast was much too intensely fruity to be interesting and overwhelmed even the distinct taste of duck. Pureeing beans as a bed makes an interesting presentation but denied needed texture to the dish. The straightforward lamb chops were a winner.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Excellent food. Great for a date night.

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

We went here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. The food was great and so was the service. Will definitely go back for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent find!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 7, 2015

Recommended by a hotel as the "best in town"... THEY WERE RIGHT!! Excellent dinner, exceptional service and wonderful atmosphere. I will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful experience! Great ambiance, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

A wonderful experience! Great ambiance, great waiter (Tony), great food!!! A destination spot!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Enjoyed our first experience ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Great food. Enjoyed our first experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great romantic spot for dinner with her!

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

I was on a first date with a lovely lady, and she suggested this place. We both loved everything about it, and we will be back soon! We reccommend the patio corner spot!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A perfect girls night out.

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

Madeliene's is a gem located in the historic district of Evansville. The quaint exterior and modern interior of the building makes a perfect setting. The braised pork tenderloin with Yukon mashed sweet potatoes is delicious with perfect spices. Our waitress was excellent. She new that we need to leave at 7:15 p.m. and had the food arrive at the table in an timely manner. And the check was on the table at 7:10 just in time for us to leave for the show. Madeliene's was a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hits and misses

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

Very cute setting....great ambiance.! The tomato and watermelon salad was outstanding!! The scallops appetizer was also terrific.....cooked perfectly. The owner or manager (not sure which) was very friendly and accommodating, even offered a private room for me to feed my baby if I needed to.

Our waiter had a flat personality; not friendly but not rude either....just sort of robotic and this took away from the experience. I was frustrated that we had to ask for our bread 30 minutes after being seated. My lamb loin was served warm, not hot which was disappointing and was very bland. The salt shaker was broken and I asked for salt and was promptly given giant salt flakes the size of coconut flakes rather than regular salt, so some of my bites were very salty while some remained bland.

We ordered fried cheesecake after dinner and all agreed it essentially tasted like the oil it had been cooked in. The coffee was great.

They had a nice wine list and an interesting menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

disappointed

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

Kitchen can't handle a crowd. Poor service. Can't cook a steak appropriately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Perfect for Special Occasions

 
·Dined on June 27, 2015

I booked Madeleine's on recommendation of a friend as one of the nicest restaurants in Evansville for a special occasion. My parents were celebrating their 40th wedding anniversary so I didn't want anything run of the mill. Madeleine's more than lived up to the recommendation. The hostess greeted my parents by telling them Happy Anniversary and they had put special consideration into the way our table was set. (We had red charger plates, heart gems scattered on the table and a special candle all set out.)

The food was excellent and probably the best I've had at any restaurant in Evansville. Perfect portion sizes and absolutely delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent surprise in Evansville! Food ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2015

Excellent surprise in Evansville! Food was great - try the lamb. Awesome! Good wine list at reasonable prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dinner ever!

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on May 31, 2015

My wife and I absolutely loved our dinner. Food was amazing and service was top notch. My wife and I will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made our reservation online. Don't k ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

We made our reservation online. Don't know if that made a difference. It appeared the wait staff was undersized and overworked. we don't expect to be best friends with our server, but we were barely able to make eye contact with him because he appeared so busy. Also, when we were first seated from the bar to our table we waited quite awhile before anyone came to our table with menus, etc. Something about we already had a drink so they thought someone was waiting on us. Lack of communication? We ordered appetizers and salads with our bottle of wine. The food was excellent, but we felt the appetizer portion was small compared to the price of the appetizer. It had been awhile since we had dined at Madeline's. During the past years, we've had both positive and negative experiences. We want to like and support Madeline's, but our experience Saturday night was just mediocre.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Excellent in Theory

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 1, 2015

Perhaps this restaurant deserves a second chance. When looking at their menu which changes daily it really does look good. In our case the preparation of the items was done with less care than I would have expected from a place that wants to be an upscale place. My stuffed chicken breast came out burnt on top and the steaks were overdone. Perhaps the chef left the kitchen for a while (?).

Our server meant well but she spoke so fast that she made us all feel nervous and kept coming back to prompt us to order several times although we had told her that we needed some time. It was like she needed to be somewhere and we were holding her back. We had to ask several times to get the candle lit on our table and only after we had lit one for ourselves did she come by and and light one for us. These are all training issues and perhaps with some training she will learn her trade.

The ambiance was great and a couple of table especially the ones in the windows offered romantic settings and seemed to indicate that the restaurant had promise. The manager/owner was very friendly and and set everyone at ease. She was good at telling the story of the restaurant. Perhaps it was just a bad night for the chef and server. If I ever get back to Evansville I would give this restaurant another chance.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Madeleine's

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

After living in the Evansville area for more than 8 years, our evening at Madeleine's is overall the absolute best we have experienced in this market to date. The only reason the food category didn't receive 5 stars is because, in our opinion, there are some very minor "rough edges" that could easily be fixed. Although the entree's were delicious and attractively plated, it just seemed the "off the shelf" croissants, croutons and crackers were a little out of sync with everything else. Fresh baked breads and a little attention to details would really add to the overall experience. Don't misunderstand this review, though. Based on our first and only experience at Madeleine's, we are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

standout in evansville

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 17, 2015

Took our son and his significant other here to celebrate the end of their last semester of college. Nicely decorated with great ambiance.

Escargot and scallop starters were fantastic. Entrees ran the gamut and everything was done nicely. The spicy creme Brule was great as was the flourless chocolate cake.

Can't miss with this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch service, menu and bar!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 29, 2015

Exceptional service and food! My husband and I just shared a fantastic meal from appetizers to cocktails to wine service to entrees and dessert. Our waiter, Cory, was impeccable. The food was prepared with care and attention to flavor & presentation. We will be back when in the area as well as recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.