About M Street Kitchen

2000 N. Main St
Santa Monica, CA 90405
View Larger Map

Located just blocks from Venice Beach, M Street Kitchen, a Lettuce Entertain You restaurant serves up commonly loved classics with a twist and presents an eclectic menu of fresh and delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Interested in our Wine Dinners and special events? Visit mstreetkitchen.com to learn more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - THURSDAY:
Breakfast: 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

FRIDAY & SATURDAY
Breakfast: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Join us for Happy Hour in the bar area, 4:00pm - 6:30pm every Monday - Friday!

Cross Street:
Bicknell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 396-9145

Website:
http://www.mstreetkitchen.com/

Executive Chef:
Lincoln Fuge

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate Father's Day at M Street Kitchen! Treat Dad to our signature brunch items, just steps from the beach.

M Street Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
Westside
Best Restaurants in Santa Monica ›

neighborhood gem (49)
great for outdoor dining (46)
good for groups (43)
See All
great for lunch (40)
great for brunch (40)
kid-friendly (34)
hot spot (32)
fit for foodies (31)
special occasion (23)
vibrant bar scene (11)
notable wine list (5)
romantic (4)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (4)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
779 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service3

Nothing sexy about the food.

Dined 3 days ago

Nothing sexy about the food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing time! Loved the drinks ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had an amazing time! Loved the drinks and the food! Amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the time I made my reservation and ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

From the time I made my reservation and throughout multiple follow-up emails with M Street staff, I was made to feel welcome. Although the restaurant was crowded upon our arrival, the hostess made sure that our reservation was honored and that we had a great seat. We were in town on vacation and was using the meal to start off the day with our cousin who lives in Santa Monica. Our waiter was phenomenal and answered all of our questions patiently. The food was delicious and was one of our favorite meals during our trip to the West Coast. I highly recommend M Street Kitchen and will ensure that it's on our itinerary every time we visit the Los Angeles area.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

The food was terrible and very poor valu ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was terrible and very poor value. Our waitress Savannah was fantastic and made up for it. Best to go for drinks.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Just as one would hope.

Dined on May 20, 2016

The staff and service were very good. We had a little kitchen oversight issue with a small piece of food packaging landing in my meal. The entire staff jumped on the situation and responded as anyone would hope for. The Manager's response was spot on. My replacement meal was perfect.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful and good value!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great service! This was our 3rd time and it didn't disappoint. We dined early to be able to catch a show. Happy hour prices are amazing.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for breakfast and the waitress was ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went for breakfast and the waitress was very helpful in recommending options for my wife and I. Food and service was great and it was a great location!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Good food, OK service

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food and drinks were very good. Kid friendly menu. Service was ok. It took awhile to find our server at the end of the meal and get our bill.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here a few times and have ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined here a few times and have never been disappointed. The food is always delicious and the servers are extremely solicitous and friendly. Would definitely recommend for brunch--the French toast is divine! :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Pancakes were great! Definitely coming b ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Pancakes were great! Definitely coming back!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pet friendly patio. Great place to meet ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Pet friendly patio. Great place to meet with friends traveling with dog. On site parking a plus!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible, very personal service and am ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Incredible, very personal service and amazing food!

food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Very family friendly at dinner.

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were there at dinner on a Friday and there were small kids at nearly every table. Service was good, food was OK and ambiance was average. Many reviews that I read raved about the breakfast here and I will try it again for breakfast near the beach.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was PERFECT and DELICIOUS! 👍 ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Everything was PERFECT and DELICIOUS! 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

M Street Kitchen never disappoints!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Such a delicious breakfast to celebrate my birthday! Not a wrong note at M Street - always delicious, friendly, staff. THANK YOU!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always incredible!

Dined on April 14, 2016

My favorite restaurant in ALL of Santa Monica! Thank you so much!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Good was excellent!!! The service was g ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Good was excellent!!! The service was great! My entire family enjoyed their meal. The chocolate chip cookie was outstanding! The pretzel croissant was great and so was the the Colossal English muffin! Great prices and validated parking near the BEACH!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to eat and meet

Dined on April 4, 2016

Really enjoyed the whole booking. Great friendly service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant decor was excellent. The ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

The restaurant decor was excellent. The food came promptly and the flavor was awesome. The staff was very attentive and cordial.

food4
ambience4
service4

Our experience was nice. Service was gre ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Our experience was nice. Service was great and food came out quickly. We dined with our 3 children and even their food was delicious. Good, drinks, great ambiance!

food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic food in a great setting!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Fantastic food in a great setting!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Fabulous spot for breakfast. The food was fresh and delicious. We liked it so much we came back to the sister restaurant for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Look No Further

Dined on March 27, 2016

Nobu isn't necessary to make an LA vacation fantastic food-wise, simply go to M Street Kitchen! The food was healthy and delicious and the restaurant was packed, which added to the overall vibe. Lots of unique drinks and plates to choose from!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food , great night

Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I went here on a Friday night , the food was superb we both had the burger . The service was extremely good our waitress was lovely and very helpful. I would give this 10/10 and would definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was outstanding ! Never had bee ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

The food was outstanding ! Never had been there . Can't wait to go back .

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Better during the day than night

Dined on March 10, 2016

Our table was so dark that one of the people in our party had to get out her phone flashlight to read the menu. The service was good, but they took quite a long time in between taking our drink order and dinner order. Everyone was happy with their food and drinks. I think this would be a better spot for a date or very small group because the music can be on the louder side, making conversation a bit difficult.

food1
ambience1
service4

We come for the fried chicken, the most ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

We come for the fried chicken, the most popular and best thing on the menu. Being the most popular, the new chef felt obligated to change it. No more biscuit. The honey that was for the biscuit is now poured on the chicken (disgusting). The recipe for the breading is now very peppery and it falls off the chicken. Apparently there have been lots of complaints, but management doesn't seem to care. Bye-bye M Street. We won't be back.

food5
ambience4
service4

Our waiter was great, the food was great ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Our waiter was great, the food was great, the music was a little loud but not a problem. The only issue was that the hostess was a little frustrating. She couldn't find our reservation and suggested that maybe I made it for the wrong day instead of implying that maybe they had a system issue, which they did. Additionally, they only had hi-top and outdoor seating which we would normally be flexible for but couldn't in this instance because of older family members. They worked it out but insinuated that the issue was ours and not theirs. Maybe she was having a bad day. I'd still go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and service.

Dined on February 9, 2016

Always great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5

A great, eclectic and diverse menu of fr ...

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

A great, eclectic and diverse menu of fresh options that suited everyone in our group.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place to Eat

Dined on February 9, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. Their Happy Hour Menu is great for small plates that can make up a full meal. Their regular menu provides a variety of choices that should appeal to any appetite. If you have children, our observation is that it is very kid friendly and the children we saw there were very well behaved. All in all we would highly recommend M Street Kitchen.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best bacon ever. The curry quinoa legit ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Best bacon ever. The curry quinoa legit. Eggs Benedict hashbrown delish.

food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Ordered the short rib which I was really ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

Ordered the short rib which I was really excited about, but the majority of it was fat. It was also covered in a heavy sauce as was the polenta that came with the short rib. I've had better food here, but the short rib dish was very subpar!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always enjoy my dining experience at M Street.

Dined on January 31, 2016

We recently came to M Street for brunch. The food and ambiance was great as usual. It is a fun place to meet up with friends.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Love M Street Kitchen!! Fun vibrant atmo ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Love M Street Kitchen!! Fun vibrant atmosphere and great waitstaff. And the most perfect mimosa! My favorite place for breakfast.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

M Street hits the Mark

Dined on January 31, 2016

2 out of 3 dishes were great, the bakery and pizza joint affiliated made me go back the next day to try them as well

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Loved the new menu

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Really loved the new menu, especially the veggie burger with vegetarian chili. The cauliflower is excellent. Great patio where you can bring your dog.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and nice atmosphere

vip
Dined on January 19, 2016

Always a favorite when I visit Santa Monica. Interesting and quality menu. Good drinks and great service. A good fit for groups, families, or a date.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good mid-week Spot

Dined on January 15, 2016

Terrific burgers. French fries excellent, but they come pale and a bit soft unless you ask for them crispy. Ask for them crispy. Big difference. Recommend coming after 7 when the kid rush abates, and there's less competition for a table, i.e., you're less likely to have to wait. Everything I've tried has been excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Love the food and service!

Dined on January 13, 2016

Keep introducing friends to M Street and they love it too! Will be back tomorrow! Thanks for everything, M Street Kitchen!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.