About M Street Kitchen

2000 N. Main St
Santa Monica, CA 90405
View Larger Map

M Street Kitchen is a testament to American cooking done right. M Street Kitchen has always emphasized fresh, organic and seasonal items with an ever-changing menu. Specialties range from tacos to sushi, signature sandwiches and burgers to salads, and breakfast favorites to kick start the day, including the housemade English muffins.

The wine list serves up a boutique selection of primarily California and Oregon wines, a featured selection of Santa Barbara wines, red and white sangria, and an assortment of signature craft cocktails and beer. Don’t forget to leave with a treat or two from the cookie counter!

Interested in our Wine Dinners and special events? Visit mstreetkitchen.com to learn more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - THURSDAY:
Breakfast: 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

FRIDAY & SATURDAY
Breakfast: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Join us for Happy Hour in the bar area, 4:00pm - 6:30pm every Monday - Friday!

Cross Street:
Bicknell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 396-9145

Website:
http://www.mstreetkitchen.com/

Executive Chef:
Lincoln Fuge

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

M Street Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Kid-friendly (16)
Afternoon Coffee (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Family Style (15)
Cozy (14)
Healthy (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Quick Bite (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Business Meals (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Romantic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Authentic (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This used to be a favorite breakfast spo ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

This used to be a favorite breakfast spot for years. My latest visit the food was very mediocre to bad. The avocado toast had so much onion mixed in the avocado that it overpowered any other flavor. It didn't taste fresh. My friend said it was very disappointing and wondered why I had raved over the place and insisted we dine there. The candied bacon used to be divine. It has lost its magic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was alittle bland, wasn't very spec ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was alittle bland, wasn't very special for Valentine's Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Both the salmon bowl and the seared tuna ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Both the salmon bowl and the seared tuna bowl were outstanding. Sat outside (on a date and inside was loud with many families) on a cold night. Only half the seats had heaters but hostess offered a blanket for my date, and then had to be reminded twice to get it. Server seemed new and a bit lost, was hard to find when needed. This is a good family restaurant with burgers that reminded me of some fun LEYE restaurants from my days in Chicago, but seems to want to be more upscale for couples and just needs a bit more attentive service to get there. Also there needs to be at least one appetizer without cilantro. Great restaurant but wrong occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was great, service was excellent! W ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great, service was excellent! Will definitely be back SOON!

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Casual, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed ourselves. We will def ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We really enjoyed ourselves. We will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, choices for everyone and Am ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, choices for everyone and Amazing Cookies!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lousy service Forgot dishes Served a dri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Lousy service

Forgot dishes

Served a drink in a broken glass

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Very loud and the food was all spicy but ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Very loud and the food was all spicy but not mentioned on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

So blessed to have M Street Kitchen in m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 6, 2017

So blessed to have M Street Kitchen in my neighborhood - with parking providing! LOVE THAT! All excellent. Thanks so much.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great breakfast experience! This was my ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great breakfast experience! This was my first time visiting and I WILL be back. It's a bit pricey for breakfast ($80 for a part of 3 - including tip) - but, it's worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great place and great location ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is a great place and great location - very welcoming!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, , Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food - lots of creative options. Ba ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good food - lots of creative options. Bad service - took 25 minutes to put in a drink order, that was delivered to the wrong table. Great ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Great service!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as good as last year. Chef was reall ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Not as good as last year. Chef was really off. Salt was out of control. Had to remake our steaks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

WELL.....go to M Street pretty consisten ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

WELL.....go to M Street pretty consistently for their veggie burger (TO DIE FOR) and I order it protein style and a side salad and this waiter was the first EVER to offer things like cucumber, tomato, onion, etc., for my side salad. I was so happy (didn't know such options were even possible) that I spoke to the manager to acknowledge him. NICE! THANK YOU!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mexican hash browns were delicious— I or ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Mexican hash browns were delicious— I ordered them with over hard eggs instead of sunny side up, but the substitution was ignored and I received sunny side up. Not a big deal, it was tasty nonetheless!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wow! This place was hopping, even for a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wow! This place was hopping, even for a Saturday night. We asked our server if this was a usual Saturday night, and she said she'd never seen the place so busy. So clearly the service staff and kitchen were stressed, but I'm pleased to report we still had a wonderful meal. Things took a little longer to come out, but that was fine given how delicious everything was. M Street Kitchen remains a solid, reliable place to have a great, fun meal in Santa Monica!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good. Service was good. Great food ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good. Service was good. Great food choices in a neat neighborhood.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hamburger greasy and very tough. Fries ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Hamburger greasy and very tough. Fries good but also greasy. Chicken breast in sandwich dry and not tender. buns soft and fall apart. Cole slaw decent. Big decline in food quality since we were here last a few months ago. The restaurant looks dirty and unkempt. The men's room is tacky. The wait staff is excellent and deserving of a much better environment and kitchen. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

The menu is uninspiring and does not inc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The menu is uninspiring and does not include seasonal items and limited specials. The menu is boring and I wish there was something fresh about it. A fresh, new soup, new seafood dish or even a tasting platter of vegetables. It is a struggle to find something healthy since even the vegetables are covered in nuts, cheeses or heavy oils. The salads used to be plate sized but now are tiny and look unfulfilling. They keep the doors open which makes a nasty draft. M Street is not recommended.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

This is a great neighborhood spot for br ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This is a great neighborhood spot for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Burger is very good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good. Layed back place. Good food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Very good. Layed back place. Good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch, very friendly and attentiv ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great brunch, very friendly and attentive service, we had a table for 2 - we were with a group of 10 but got hungry early and went out on our own.

After breakfast, we told them about it and then booked them a table for 8 (4 is the limit on OT I think)

Anyway, we were gone by the time they arrived but they reported back that everyone loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent place for breakfast, brunch, ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent place for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner.. Good fresh food. It is noisy but is a very large space.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Really went down hill. Used to be bette ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Really went down hill. Used to be better than generic pub food. Sandwich buns could have been from McDonalds. Service was harried and not friendly. Seems like they want to be more of a sports bar with sports bar food than the semi-cool Santa Monica neighborhood placebit used to be. Problem is that the prices are way tool high for what they offer now. Very disappointing!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We've been eating here for years and the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We've been eating here for years and the service has sadly gone downhill. It took 45 minutes to get our food & half of our breakfast was cold. The manager was very helpful, but it's been a bummer that we keep having experiences like this here. We keep coming back hoping that things will go back to how great it used to be. Here's hoping!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

The food was great and I loved the atm ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was great and I loved the atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience at M Street Ki ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a great experience at M Street Kitchen. We were a few minutes late for our reservation due to heavy Santa Monica traffic but they were very accommodating and seated us right away. My son ate his huevos rancheros as if he hadn't eaten in days. My avocado toast was perfect - eggs poached to perfection and the housemade English muffin was good size. Others had a breakfast burrito and made them disappear! Our waiter was attentive but not overbearing. A delicious brunch all around! I will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Had great breakfast, my daughter recogni ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had great breakfast, my daughter recognized the yes photo from Chicago. They love the avocado toast. My husband wants to return tomorrow.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic in every way! Accommodating an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fantastic in every way! Accommodating and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cauliflower is to die for!!!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Cauliflower is to die for!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

unfortunately our last experience at M S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

unfortunately our last experience at M St. kitchen was not a good one. This place has gone down. The food prices have gone up and the quality of the food has gone down. The waiter took forever to get to our table. He was rushing the whole time. it was my birthday and my husband told them there and no one did a thing about it or need anything special for me. Big bummer not planning on going back

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

EXCELLENT happy hour (for grown-ups AND ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

EXCELLENT happy hour (for grown-ups AND families!) I eat here at least once a week with my family. Great salads, burgers and specials. Ambiance is wonderful!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a member of the Lettuce Entertain You ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As a member of the Lettuce Entertain You Frequent Diner Club, I received a text for $20 off any order over $30. I'd been to this restaurant 3-4 times before and went this past Monday at 7:45 having made reservations on Open Table. It didn't bother me that I had to wait 15 minutes to be seated, but was then told by my gracious server, Joey, that they'd already run out of their fried chicken AND pork chop entrees. I then asked to speak to Richard Solis, the manager, to complain that they'd already run out of TWO entrees so early in the evening and asked him to extend the discount offer (since there was nothing else on the menu which appealed to me or my companion) which he refused to do.

Richard Solis has no business being a manager of any restaurant and had a very rude and unaccommodating attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our server was very slow, not attentive ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Our server was very slow, not attentive (and the restaurant was not busy). Part of the food came out soggy and when I addressed it to the waiter he was quick to bring out the same soggy dish, I then approached a manager who was just as bad and had an attitude. After they somewhat fixed the food the server didn't even come to check on us until we flagged him down for the check. Will not visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I tried the grilled steak. It was nice & ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I tried the grilled steak. It was nice & seasoned well. I substituted the french fries for the mashed potatoes.

I went in the early evening and it was nice and quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Rude staff. Long wait for food. Buzzing ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Rude staff. Long wait for food. Buzzing heater above us that could not be turned off. Small portions, we had to order extra food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Maybe a few lighter breakfast dish choic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Maybe a few lighter breakfast dish choices. The coffee could be served hotter.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Several friends from different towns dec ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Several friends from different towns decided to meet here for lunch to catch up during the holiday shopping. We were delighted with the place, able to talk, we all had the Bangkok Thai salad which we loved, if everything is that good, the menu is terrific. it was a bargain and

we will be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Although the food was excellent, the mus ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Although the food was excellent, the music and atmosphere was too noisy for my family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.