About M Street Kitchen

2000 N. Main St
Santa Monica, CA 90405
View Larger Map

Located just blocks from Venice Beach, M Street Kitchen, a Lettuce Entertain You restaurant serves up commonly loved classics with a twist and presents an eclectic menu of fresh and delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Interested in our Wine Dinners and special events? Visit mstreetkitchen.com to learn more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - THURSDAY:
Breakfast: 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

FRIDAY & SATURDAY
Breakfast: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Join us for Happy Hour in the bar area, 4:00pm - 6:30pm every Monday - Friday!

Cross Street:
Bicknell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 396-9145

Website:
http://www.mstreetkitchen.com/

Executive Chef:
Lincoln Fuge

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Croque Madame
Eggs Benedict
Spinach Omelette
Buttermilk Pancakes
Commuter Breakfast Sandwich
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice
Water
Coffee Cake Muffin
Spinach And Cheddar Omolette
Scrambled Eggs With Hash Browns, Sausage, and Toast
Oaxaca Omelet
Seared Ahi Fish Tacos
Cookies & Muffins
egg white omelette
Tacos al Pastor
Drip Coffee
Pulled Pork Nachos
Crispy Hash With Poached Egg
Cappuccino
Hash Benedict
Eggs Benedict With Ham
Miso Glazed Salmon
Tacos Al Pastor- Steak
Thai Chili Chicken Wings
Chocolate Chips Pancakes
Huevos rancheros
Miso Glazed Salmon Roll
French Toast
Breakfast Buritto
Evil Thai Princess Salad
Cauliflower risotto with peas and mint

M Street Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Westside
Californian
Westside
Best Restaurants in Santa Monica ›

great for outdoor dining (44)
great for brunch (42)
neighborhood gem (41)
See All
great for lunch (38)
good for groups (38)
kid-friendly (28)
hot spot (26)
fit for foodies (24)
special occasion (18)
vibrant bar scene (12)
romantic (4)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
795 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really enjoyed the food, drinks and ambi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Really enjoyed the food, drinks and ambiance. Our server was very slow tho - and it was not a busy night

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The most dismal, disappointing and insul ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The most dismal, disappointing and insulting service experience I have ever had. Going to miss their awesome cookies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Best eggs Benedict ever and by far the m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Best eggs Benedict ever and by far the most helpful and accommadating staff in Santa Monica.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Met my out-of-town nephew there for Brun ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Met my out-of-town nephew there for Brunch since he was staying close by. We were seated immediately and the wait staff was pleasant. The Bacon was the best I ever tasted. My nephew has a spicy breakfast sandwich that was more than he could eat and he loved it. I had the Smoked Salmon Benedict. Their version of the sauce was a little too sweet for my taste. Their homemade English muffins were terrific. The Hash Brown were overcooked. Had to wait a long time for an Iced Coffee, but overall, I would go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Relaxing atmosphere and good food.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Relaxing atmosphere and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went here because I could make a reserva ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went here because I could make a reservation for a Saturday brunch for a meal with a work colleague. I arrived early and was seated promptly. It's a nice atmosphere and people seated on the outside patio can bring their furry friends.

I ordered a bloody mary which the server informed me was $8 ($2 more than what was printed on the menu because the mix was made in house. Don't understand why they couldn't update the menu)

The food was satisfactory (breakfast tacos and eggs benedict). Service was also decent.

i would say that I was disturbed to see that someone had decided to dry their swimwear and children's underwear on a table on the patio. I had to call a manager over and inform them that not only was this unseemly but probably a health violation to have underwear and swim drying on a table that dinners would be eating. I can't believe that none of the servers, hostess or manager who was walking past this didn't see that this something that needed to be taken care of. It made me doubt the level of cleanliness or the extent to which managers noticed things in their restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good casual dining spot. Food was very g ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good casual dining spot. Food was very good and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The service and restaurant is really nic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service and restaurant is really nice. My problem is 100% of the time the food arrives warm or ice cold. The English muffins are ALWAYS cold. There is some kind of disconnect with placing the food under the warmers once they are ready and/or delivering them on a timely manner. I don't know what would help, but it is too bad because it always happens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were four people - each had something ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We were four people - each had something different, from a short rib sandwich to a quinoa salad to a vegie burger and a turkey burger. All of us very pleased with our food. Good fries. And very good guacamole & chips. Excellent service, start to finish.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have enjoyed eating at M Street Kitchen ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Have enjoyed eating at M Street Kitchen many times but this was my first experience with brunch. Unimpressed with menu selections. Had scrambled eggs which were cold and no better than IHOP

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Nice casual atmosphere and food is alway ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Nice casual atmosphere and food is always good. It's my go to neighborhood breakfast spot. Staff is always friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Slow-absent service, food good

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

good food, poor service, long wait for food, waiter never brought the birthday dessert for my daughter's birthday celebration. We had to ask for utensils, had to ask for the check, only way I would go back is for take-out.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Fun place to eat

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Breakfast was very good. A very vibrant and busy place. Will return and bring friends

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nothing sexy about the food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Nothing sexy about the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We had an amazing time! Loved the drinks ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had an amazing time! Loved the drinks and the food! Amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An overall great choice that never lets ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

An overall great choice that never lets me down. Great brunch spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the time I made my reservation and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

From the time I made my reservation and throughout multiple follow-up emails with M Street staff, I was made to feel welcome. Although the restaurant was crowded upon our arrival, the hostess made sure that our reservation was honored and that we had a great seat. We were in town on vacation and was using the meal to start off the day with our cousin who lives in Santa Monica. Our waiter was phenomenal and answered all of our questions patiently. The food was delicious and was one of our favorite meals during our trip to the West Coast. I highly recommend M Street Kitchen and will ensure that it's on our itinerary every time we visit the Los Angeles area.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was terrible and very poor valu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was terrible and very poor value. Our waitress Savannah was fantastic and made up for it. Best to go for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Just as one would hope.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The staff and service were very good. We had a little kitchen oversight issue with a small piece of food packaging landing in my meal. The entire staff jumped on the situation and responded as anyone would hope for. The Manager's response was spot on. My replacement meal was perfect.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful and good value!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great service! This was our 3rd time and it didn't disappoint. We dined early to be able to catch a show. Happy hour prices are amazing.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for breakfast and the waitress was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Went for breakfast and the waitress was very helpful in recommending options for my wife and I. Food and service was great and it was a great location!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, OK service

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The food and drinks were very good. Kid friendly menu. Service was ok. It took awhile to find our server at the end of the meal and get our bill.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

We have dined here a few times and have ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined here a few times and have never been disappointed. The food is always delicious and the servers are extremely solicitous and friendly. Would definitely recommend for brunch--the French toast is divine! :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pancakes were great! Definitely coming b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Pancakes were great! Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pet friendly patio. Great place to meet ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Pet friendly patio. Great place to meet with friends traveling with dog. On site parking a plus!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorite brunch spots in Los A ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

One of my favorite brunch spots in Los Angeles! The french toast is the best!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible, very personal service and am ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Incredible, very personal service and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very family friendly at dinner.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We were there at dinner on a Friday and there were small kids at nearly every table. Service was good, food was OK and ambiance was average. Many reviews that I read raved about the breakfast here and I will try it again for breakfast near the beach.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was PERFECT and DELICIOUS! 👍 ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Everything was PERFECT and DELICIOUS! 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

M Street Kitchen never disappoints!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Such a delicious breakfast to celebrate my birthday! Not a wrong note at M Street - always delicious, friendly, staff. THANK YOU!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always incredible!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

My favorite restaurant in ALL of Santa Monica! Thank you so much!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was excellent!!! The service was g ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Good was excellent!!! The service was great! My entire family enjoyed their meal. The chocolate chip cookie was outstanding! The pretzel croissant was great and so was the the Colossal English muffin! Great prices and validated parking near the BEACH!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat and meet

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Really enjoyed the whole booking. Great friendly service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant decor was excellent. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The restaurant decor was excellent. The food came promptly and the flavor was awesome. The staff was very attentive and cordial.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience was nice. Service was gre ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Our experience was nice. Service was great and food came

out quickly. We dined with our 3 children and even their food was delicious. Good, drinks, great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic food in a great setting!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Fantastic food in a great setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent Easter brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Fabulous spot for breakfast. The food was fresh and delicious. We liked it so much we came back to the sister restaurant for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Look No Further

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Nobu isn't necessary to make an LA vacation fantastic food-wise, simply go to M Street Kitchen! The food was healthy and delicious and the restaurant was packed, which added to the overall vibe. Lots of unique drinks and plates to choose from!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food , great night

 
 (London)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I went here on a Friday night , the food was superb we both had the burger .

The service was extremely good our waitress was lovely and very helpful.

I would give this 10/10 and would definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.