Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About M Street Kitchen

M Street Kitchen is a testament to American cooking done right. M Street Kitchen has always emphasized fresh, organic and seasonal items with an ever-changing menu. Specialties range from tacos to sushi, signature sandwiches and burgers to salads, and breakfast favorites to kick start the day, including the housemade English muffins.

The wine list serves up a boutique selection of primarily California and Oregon wines, a featured selection of Santa Barbara wines, red and white sangria, and an assortment of signature craft cocktails and beer. Don’t forget to leave with a treat or two from the cookie counter!

Interested in our Wine Dinners and special events? Visit mstreetkitchen.com to learn more.

2000 N. Main St
Santa Monica, CA 90405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - THURSDAY:
Breakfast: 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

FRIDAY & SATURDAY
Breakfast: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Join us for Happy Hour in the bar area, 4:00pm - 6:30pm every Monday - Friday!

Cross Street:
Bicknell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 396-9145

Website:
http://www.mstreetkitchen.com/

Executive Chef:
Lincoln Fuge

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

M Street Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (32)
Casual (30)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
See All
Kid-friendly (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Healthy (17)
Fun (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Bar Seating (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
People Watching (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Family Style (8)
Cozy (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Romantic (3)
Tapas (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Organic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
986 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

very yummy! Love the brussel sprout salad and brussel sprouts!! love it here!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

This place is fantastic, we are always happy with the meal and service we receive here.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant had a great vibe. Loved the music. The food was delicious and the service was fantastic! I'd definitely go back again!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place to celebrate Mother's Day!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great for location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We loved our food. Loved the hostess. Our server was consistently hostile and a very unhappy-acting individual. Since me and my friend are Buddhists, we're making a special point to chant for him.🙏🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Just so good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Good food but slow service. We came at end of happy hour. That menu had some good deals but i ordered off the regular menu - the korean beef. That was good but it took almost an hour. I probably should have ordered the happy hour meal - maybe that is what everyone was there for.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The waiter who served us was rude, clearly not having a good day and took it out on our party. Other than the awful service we had a nice meal with good company. We were going to complain but didn't think it was worth the trouble of ruining our meal and mood in general.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, People Watching, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My wife and I had Easter lunch here and we really enjoyed it! Even if it was obviously crowded and busy, we were promptly seated in the patio as we had asked in our reservation (a plus as inside can be quite loud!). Everything we ordered was fresh and cooked to perfection: the grilled organic salmon with rice and quinoa was delicious and so was the albacore tuna poke (the latter is a good choice for one person if you like small portions). The quality of food and service was excellent, in spite of the busy day. Our waitress was very nice and helpful. Highly recommended, if you are in Santa Monica!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Restaurant came recommended for its bakery items. Went for breakfast. Food was very mediocre, service extremely slow (it was busy). By the time the food arrived, it was on the cold side. Disappointing because in spite of the food, seems like a lively place to be. Oh, and they got the bill wrong. Disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was simple but delicious!
The servers were all friendly and the customer service was top notch!
I would recommend to all of my friends.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Kitchen seemed to be a bit jammed and a couple of sauces were left off the dishes but was quickly resolved by the waitress.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The host was wonderful. Our server thoughtful and efficient. But the food was not good. The egg sandwich was cold and cheap looking. The pancake were supposed to be buttermilk but had NO FLAVOR. I've eaten here a few times before but I feel the quality took a huge dive. I wouldn't return. The candied bacon however was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

"M" is for mediocre. The rice bowl was lukewarm, not hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We were on vacation and ended up at M Street 2 for dinner and once for take-out. It was the best option in the area for our family that includes burger lovers and vegans. The food was delicious, the servers were very friendly and the prices were very reasonable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Staff was very friendly. Food was good. I ate there 2 weeks in a row and had the Chile Relleno omelette both times and really enjoyed it. However, if you want the english muffin instead of toast you need to ask.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Love dining outside here. Super popular for weekend breakfast. And plenty of good stuff on the menu. Highly recommend the eggs Benedict with house made English Muffins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I had a reservation and still had to wait 30 minutes. The host/hostesses seemed frazzled and the male host was rude. We couldn't locate our server most of the time. The food was good, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Since M Street discontinued my favorite item from their dinner menu, I was DELIGHTED that I was able to get the veggie burger for dinner - THANK GOD FOR SMALL FAVORS!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Yum! We thoroughly enjoyed brunch at M Street! It was recommended by our hotel concierge and did not disappoint. I was glad we made reservations on Open Table because there was a wait when we got there, but we were seated immediately. I had the Mexican hashbrown and my husband had the hashbrown eggs Benedict. Our server was extremely helpful and polite. Food came out in a very timely manner. I'm glad we tried this place and would definitely go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Came here for a catch up brunch. Really delicious food, and good ambiance. Patio is nice and it's a good space to take a walk after. Service wasn't the best - not bad - just not that attentive.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

If you google dog friendly restaurants, M - Street is one of the few that comes up. After a family hike with the dog we went to M - Street and had a great meal with wonderful friendly service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Great Beer, Fun, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great neighborhood joint. Great food creatively prepared. Very good service. Very southern California casual. Noisy and vibrant. Selection of vegan and non-vegan foods. Last night I had the "California Ahi tuna and curried rice". Good amount of tuna and more than enough rice. My daughter eats Kale, (Ugh) and always has something to do with that god awful ingredient. She seems happy with it, so no complaints from her. Sometimes we have a drink and they are always generous. We come here a lot, always satisfied and happy when we leave. Summer time, eat outside. Less noise. Parking free with validation. All in all good value for the money.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Always the best service and amazing food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Love M Street! Good, healthy yummy food. Their bakery products are insane. Worth the wait!

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Their bacon is to die for so is their biscuit and the price was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Third time here. The dishes felt less inspired and in general too spicy for some in our party.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I came here for brunch this time expecting the food to be really good because I had come here for happy hour/ dinner which was. The breakfast Menu items are pretty basic, each of us got a different item and each were not satisified. Number one being the eggs- the bendicit- were past poached, eggs over easy- are supposed to have white all cooked just yolk (yellow) is running but white was running all over. Two of us had Mexican meal items and both were so dry/ no flavor- hauevos rancheros usually have toritalla chips but they use a dry tortilla underneath no specical salsa. Our waitress was super nice though and offered to redo everything but we were too hungry. She ended up giving us some free cookies for the dissatisfaction. Maybe it was just an off day for the cooks!

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Breakfast was delicious, not overly expensive and the atmosphere was eclectic. Service was outstanding and we never felt pressure to hustle. Enjoyed our experience greatly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My turkey club : meat tasted old , bacon was not included as had been ordered, tomato not ripe -
Disappointing ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Good food and service. Quiet Monday night. Staff was attentive and acknowledged our friend's birthday.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Only had 1 salad left of what we ordered, seemed like they forgot to put order in, food was bland & just not very good at all. Used to be my favorite salad (Brussels sprout) but it wasn't good and I barely ate it. Added chicken which was practically thrown on the plate, not cut up and was super charred tasting to the point of not eating it. Disappointing experience. Only good thing was the butternut squash soup and the server was nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

And amazing atmosphere very good food fantastic music and amazing service you just cannot go wrong with this place

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

SOOOO happy that veggie burgers are available at lunch - my favorite item on the menu at M Street Kitchen! Halleluliah and thanks! Please put it back on your dinner menu!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Went there Saturday night about 730 We sat a high top and the service was beyond slow. Had to ask where are aps were and when they came they were cold. The main dish was just not good. Would never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Love this place! Great ambiance for either a relaxed business meal, or a casual date. The bowls are just to die for - I believe it's the curry black quinoa bowl where you can add a protein that we love so much. My only negative it the the prices are a little high.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Fun, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Manchego takes care of their customers and we loved every bit of their food. Special attention is given to you and their chef is amazing!!!

Thank you!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Modern Decor, Romantic, Tapas, Healthy, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I hate to say this, but they really need to figure out their parking lot situation, their validation machine didn't work and I had to leave he car downstairs to walk back up (with an infant child). Anyway, it's upsetting because we eat there frequently but I just won't go back given that parking is such a hassle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.