About M Street Kitchen

2000 N. Main St
Santa Monica, CA 90405
View Larger Map

M Street Kitchen is a testament to American cooking done right. M Street Kitchen has always emphasized fresh, organic and seasonal items with an ever-changing menu. Specialties range from tacos to sushi, signature sandwiches and burgers to salads, and breakfast favorites to kick start the day, including the housemade English muffins.

The wine list serves up a boutique selection of primarily California and Oregon wines, a featured selection of Santa Barbara wines, red and white sangria, and an assortment of signature craft cocktails and beer. Don’t forget to leave with a treat or two from the cookie counter!

Interested in our Wine Dinners and special events? Visit mstreetkitchen.com to learn more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - THURSDAY:
Breakfast: 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

FRIDAY & SATURDAY
Breakfast: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Join us for Happy Hour in the bar area, 4:00pm - 6:30pm every Monday - Friday!

Cross Street:
Bicknell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 396-9145

Website:
http://www.mstreetkitchen.com/

Executive Chef:
Lincoln Fuge

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Croque Madame - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Eggs Benedict - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Spinach Omelette - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Buttermilk Pancakes - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Commuter Breakfast Sandwich - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Ahi Tuna Tartare - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Coffee Cake Muffin - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Water - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Spinach And Cheddar Omolette - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Scrambled Eggs With Hash Browns, Sausage, and Toast - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Oaxaca Omelet - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Seared Ahi Fish Tacos - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Cookies & Muffins - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
egg white omelette - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Tacos al Pastor - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Drip Coffee - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Pulled Pork Nachos - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Crispy Hash With Poached Egg - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Cappuccino - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Hash Benedict - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Eggs Benedict With Ham - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Miso Glazed Salmon - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
French Toast - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Thai Chili Chicken Wings - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Chocolate Chips Pancakes - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Huevos rancheros - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Miso Glazed Salmon Roll  - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Tacos Al Pastor- Steak  - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Breakfast Buritto - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Evil Thai Princess Salad - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Cauliflower risotto with peas and mint - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Season's eatings! We're open this Christmas Eve for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Enjoy our full menus from 8AM - 11PM. Comfort food at its best!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Happy New Year's Eve! End 2016 on a delicious note with our full brunch, lunch and dinner menus from 8:00AM - 11:00PM.

M Street Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
Westside
Best Restaurants in Santa Monica ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Great for Lunch (34)
Great for Brunch (30)
See All
Casual (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Kid-friendly (24)
Hot Spot (19)
Healthy (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Quick Bite (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Fun (11)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Cozy (10)
Family Style (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Business Meals (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Romantic (5)
Scenic View (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Organic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
843 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious. The bacon was es ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious. The bacon was especially delicious. The coffee was so weak we sent it back...barely flavored water. Our server was great. Too noisy for good conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Bakery is amazing! Homemade English muff ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Bakery is amazing! Homemade English muffins are off the hook

the thai chicken salad is a must!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beyond superb service and the food was d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Beyond superb service and the food was delicious - AS ALWAYS!!

Very grateful you're in my neighborhood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like the atmosphere, decor and great, he ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Like the atmosphere, decor and great, healthy breakfast food. (Haven't tried the lunch or dinner menus yet.) Was not impressed with the seating host; made us feel like we were a bother. Thankfully the waitress was friendly and helpful. Suggestion: smiles, friendly manners and nice dress go a long way. Not really impressed with sloppy attire to welcome guests.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Flavorless food, very slow service, lots ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Flavorless food, very slow service, lots of flies when eating on patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was good but the restaurant was kin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food was good but the restaurant was kind of dirty...saw a bug crawling on the wall behind me after we finished our meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The M Street Kitchen nachos are the best ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The M Street Kitchen nachos are the best, we drive out of our way just for those. So many other great items on the menu as well.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date visited 11.10.16 Breakfast Always ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Date visited 11.10.16

Breakfast

Always visit this place every time we are in town from Chicago ( frequent diner member).

We've been coming here since LA Grande Orange and always had extremely pleasant experiences. Last visit,not so much. Our server was very unenthusiastic and inattentive as our side of bacon went to a different party and we saw them look perplexed when it arrived. Table next to us was not bussed until it was absolutely necessary. Will we return? For sure.

Entree always lived up to expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

The Food was delicious! Perfect place fo ...

 
 (Raum Stuttgart)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The Food was delicious! Perfect place for healthy food at a very good price level. Thanks!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a good experience. The fried chic ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always a good experience. The fried chicken is amazing but wish they didn't stop the biscuits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

had been here quite a few times This ti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

had been here quite a few times This time a 2pm Sunday reservation was not busy and the service was horrible and we waited 20 mins for a after dinner espresso Plenty of other places on Main Street sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

staff was knowledgeable - Brunch selecti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

staff was knowledgeable - Brunch selection was awesome and waiter recommendation was great. I love the bakery attached. Eggs Benedict was amazing and I do not like hollandaise at all but I ate it here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed. We arrived on time a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very disappointed. We arrived on time and were seated immediately. It took a long time for our server, Kevin to get to us. We ordered coffee drinks and waited forever for them. I will say my hot drink, the Havana coffee was delicious. My husband had the iced coffee with coffee, sweetened milk and some caramel syrup. I believe it is the most delicious coffee drink I have ever tasted. It just took way too long for it to arrive. Our server said that they were short staffed that day, and boy, was it evident. I ordered the breakfast tacos. All the fixings for the tacos were on the plate and you make your own. Sadly, the eggs were cold. I was so hungry by then, that I ate them anyway. Seems to be family friendly. Limited street parking. No valet at brunch.

Would not knock myself out to go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

great service and always an awesome and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

great service and always an awesome and diverse menu. great veggie options :)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had the hash brown eggs Benedict and it ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Had the hash brown eggs Benedict and it was very delicious and filling. Will definitely be heading back again for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The brussel sprout salad (w/chicken) was ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The brussel sprout salad (w/chicken) was excellent. We had a great time...busy and a bit noisy for my taste but what restaurant isn't these days. Don't forget soundproofing guys...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The pancakes are so fluffy and delicious ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The pancakes are so fluffy and delicious, but HUGE. One is definitely a great serving size! The Mexican Mocha (I think that's what it was called) was like a spiced hot chocolate, definitely recommend that too! Overall, extremely satisfied by my dining experience at M Street Kitchen.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrible rude waiter

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Terrible rude waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Their breakfast rocks! Do not miss the h ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Their breakfast rocks! Do not miss the house made English Muffins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food has not been good for some time ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food has not been good for some time...since the recent menu changes the quality has declined dramatically. New ownership? New cooks? What's going on? We were regulars but no more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

great breakfast while in town visiting o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

great breakfast while in town visiting our daughter. with reservation had no wait. will be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

M Street was recommended to us and we c ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

M Street was recommended to us and we couldn't have been happier. Nice bar area, great outdoor and indoor seating. Fun, vibrant environment with great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love love love your veggie burger! Pl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I love love love your veggie burger! Please don't take it off your ever-changing menu!

Your menu this time (from last week) was less attractive to all of us, than usual. Very expensive, with less selection. Thank you.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was very good. great server--very f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2016

food was very good. great server--very friendly. atmosphere very inviting. was there for lunch with my daughter-i was visiting from Pennsylvania. Had 4table outside.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Love this restaurant. Food is diverse an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Love this restaurant. Food is diverse and healthy and never disappoints.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

really enjoyed our evening here!! Loved ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

really enjoyed our evening here!! Loved my brussel sprout salad and cauliflower appetizer!! Yum!! Will come again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i always love it here. great food and fu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2016

i always love it here. great food and fun people watching right on the corner. i had the fish tacos and loved them!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Host was rude, accommodated people with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Host was rude, accommodated people with out a reservation then didn't have a table for me. When I did sit, there was no server for quite some time. I left before anyone came to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I always love their food. Our waiter was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I always love their food. Our waiter wasn't the most attentive but he was nice when he was around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and service!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent brunch in a lively setting. Ha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent brunch in a lively setting. Hash brown eggs Benedict was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible service, mediocre food, and so ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Horrible service, mediocre food, and so noisy that we could not hear each other across the table.

Most of all the service was so, so slow that a simple breakfast meal without a dessert took over 1.5 hours, including the 15-20 minutes we sat before we finally saw a waiter. To top it off, the waiter brings lukewarm full glasses of water to the table, and also brings a backup extra bottle for water refills that was pre-chilled and ice cold...as if it couldn't get any worse.

Service was a disaster and the food was just so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Had a great brunch with friends, great c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had a great brunch with friends, great cocktails and food

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Bonne adresse à santa Monica. Vous pouv ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Bonne adresse à santa Monica. Vous pouvez y aller aussi bien pour le petit déjeuner que pour un dîner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, an average experience. We had ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overall, an average experience.

We had to wait 5+ minutes at the host stand to check in because the host was setting up a table for a large party. A line formed around us, and created quite the frenzy - no other members of the staff acknowledged the line, however they didn't seem understaffed. Poor arrival experience ultimately.

Our server was friendly and ensured our drinks were full when we sat down, but the food took a long time to come out. The fries on our plate were cold when delivered, making me think the dish had sat for sometime before making it to our table. We had to ask for the check once out meal was complete. A pet peeve of mine, as our server only checked on us once after the food arrived, a different person cleared our plates, and then we just sat there waiting.

Food was average. I ordered the patty melt and it was flavorful. My personal preference would have been a different bread. The brioche pieces were cut very thick and overwhelmed the sandwich. I ate it open face instead. Fries tasted fine, but we're not warm.

Outdoor patio is a great atmosphere and good for people watching. If I returned, it would be for brunch on the outdoor patio and with the expectation of waiting a while for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

From the moment we met the hostess to th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2016

From the moment we met the hostess to the servers and the manager, this was an overall good experience. Samantha, our server, was attentive to our needs and ensured we were content at all times. She even tried helping me download my OpenTable points by requesting that her manager, Keith, came to assist us.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect for friend's getting together wi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Perfect for friend's getting together with a plenty of interesting dishes.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been coming to M Street Kitchen ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2016

We have been coming to M Street Kitchen for years. The food is always good. The prices, however, have recently gone up quite a bit.

This past visit, our waiter was not very good. He didn't come back and ask how our food was and we had to track him down to ask for refills for our drinks. We also asked, when we first sat down and ordered our drinks, if we could have some water for our puppy and he never brought it. We had to ask the food-runner and she immediately brought it.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

50 characters 50 characters 50 character ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

50 characters 50 characters 50 characters 50 characters

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Cold and untoasted "toast". I know I cou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Cold and untoasted "toast". I know I could've sent it back, but I was just too hungry after waiting quite a while in an empty restaurant. This was something the server should have noticed. It was almost as if they had just pulled it out of the bag and put it on the plate.

Next time I'll ask for it WELL DONE.

We will be back though, we still are fans.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.