About M Street Kitchen

2000 N. Main St
Santa Monica, CA 90405
View Larger Map

Located just blocks from Venice Beach, M Street Kitchen, a Lettuce Entertain You restaurant serves up commonly loved classics with a twist and presents an eclectic menu of fresh and delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Interested in our Wine Dinners and special events? Visit mstreetkitchen.com to learn more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - THURSDAY:
Breakfast: 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

FRIDAY & SATURDAY
Breakfast: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Join us for Happy Hour in the bar area, 4:00pm - 6:30pm every Monday - Friday!

Cross Street:
Bicknell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 396-9145

Website:
http://www.mstreetkitchen.com/

Executive Chef:
Lincoln Fuge

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Croque Madame
Eggs Benedict
Spinach Omelette
Buttermilk Pancakes
Commuter Breakfast Sandwich
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Coffee Cake Muffin
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice
Water
Spinach And Cheddar Omolette
Scrambled Eggs With Hash Browns, Sausage, and Toast
Oaxaca Omelet
Seared Ahi Fish Tacos
Cookies & Muffins
egg white omelette
Tacos al Pastor
Drip Coffee
Pulled Pork Nachos
Crispy Hash With Poached Egg
Cappuccino
Hash Benedict
Eggs Benedict With Ham
Miso Glazed Salmon
French Toast
Thai Chili Chicken Wings
Chocolate Chips Pancakes
Huevos rancheros
Miso Glazed Salmon Roll
Tacos Al Pastor- Steak
Breakfast Buritto
Evil Thai Princess Salad
Cauliflower risotto with peas and mint

M Street Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (51)
Great for Brunch (49)
Great for Lunch (43)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good for Groups (42)
Kid-friendly (34)
Hot Spot (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Special Occasion (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Romantic (6)
Scenic View (6)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sort By:
Newest
815 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

food was very good. great server--very f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

food was very good. great server--very friendly. atmosphere very inviting. was there for lunch with my daughter-i was visiting from Pennsylvania. Had 4table outside.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Love this restaurant. Food is diverse an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love this restaurant. Food is diverse and healthy and never disappoints.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

really enjoyed our evening here!! Loved ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

really enjoyed our evening here!! Loved my brussel sprout salad and cauliflower appetizer!! Yum!! Will come again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i always love it here. great food and fu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

i always love it here. great food and fun people watching right on the corner. i had the fish tacos and loved them!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Host was rude, accommodated people with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Host was rude, accommodated people with out a reservation then didn't have a table for me. When I did sit, there was no server for quite some time. I left before anyone came to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I always love their food. Our waiter was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I always love their food. Our waiter wasn't the most attentive but he was nice when he was around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent brunch in a lively setting. Ha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent brunch in a lively setting. Hash brown eggs Benedict was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible service, mediocre food, and so ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Horrible service, mediocre food, and so noisy that we could not hear each other across the table.

Most of all the service was so, so slow that a simple breakfast meal without a dessert took over 1.5 hours, including the 15-20 minutes we sat before we finally saw a waiter. To top it off, the waiter brings lukewarm full glasses of water to the table, and also brings a backup extra bottle for water refills that was pre-chilled and ice cold...as if it couldn't get any worse.

Service was a disaster and the food was just so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Had a great brunch with friends, great c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had a great brunch with friends, great cocktails and food

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall, an average experience. We had ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overall, an average experience.

We had to wait 5+ minutes at the host stand to check in because the host was setting up a table for a large party. A line formed around us, and created quite the frenzy - no other members of the staff acknowledged the line, however they didn't seem understaffed. Poor arrival experience ultimately.

Our server was friendly and ensured our drinks were full when we sat down, but the food took a long time to come out. The fries on our plate were cold when delivered, making me think the dish had sat for sometime before making it to our table. We had to ask for the check once out meal was complete. A pet peeve of mine, as our server only checked on us once after the food arrived, a different person cleared our plates, and then we just sat there waiting.

Food was average. I ordered the patty melt and it was flavorful. My personal preference would have been a different bread. The brioche pieces were cut very thick and overwhelmed the sandwich. I ate it open face instead. Fries tasted fine, but we're not warm.

Outdoor patio is a great atmosphere and good for people watching. If I returned, it would be for brunch on the outdoor patio and with the expectation of waiting a while for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

From the moment we met the hostess to th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

From the moment we met the hostess to the servers and the manager, this was an overall good experience. Samantha, our server, was attentive to our needs and ensured we were content at all times. She even tried helping me download my OpenTable points by requesting that her manager, Keith, came to assist us.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect for friend's getting together wi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Perfect for friend's getting together with a plenty of interesting dishes.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been coming to M Street Kitchen ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We have been coming to M Street Kitchen for years. The food is always good. The prices, however, have recently gone up quite a bit.

This past visit, our waiter was not very good. He didn't come back and ask how our food was and we had to track him down to ask for refills for our drinks. We also asked, when we first sat down and ordered our drinks, if we could have some water for our puppy and he never brought it. We had to ask the food-runner and she immediately brought it.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

50 characters 50 characters 50 character ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

50 characters 50 characters 50 characters 50 characters

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Cold and untoasted "toast". I know I cou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Cold and untoasted "toast". I know I could've sent it back, but I was just too hungry after waiting quite a while in an empty restaurant. This was something the server should have noticed. It was almost as if they had just pulled it out of the bag and put it on the plate.

Next time I'll ask for it WELL DONE.

We will be back though, we still are fans.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved absolutely everything about this ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I loved absolutely everything about this place..we went for brunch and sat at a table outside! The food, the atmosphere, and the service were all incredible. If we would have been in California longer, I would have definitely come back, because this was one of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great to be seated outdoors on a lovely ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great to be seated outdoors on a lovely summer eve. Food was good as was the service. Lingered for a while and was not rushed. Will return!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very cool vibe. Didn't see anyone (else ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Very cool vibe. Didn't see anyone (else) over the age of 30, though. The service (from host, waitress, and cafe counter) was excellent - extremely attentive and friendly. Cafe pastries were heavenly. Sadly, the restaurant food left much to be desired (Evil Thai Salad came with pale watery iceberg, and not even a hint of ginger root or cilantro, was small for an entree, and was served a la cart, without bread or other side dish of any kind). The restroom was at least 10 degrees hotter than the outside temp, maybe more. Considering the area, it would've been super nice to know about the validated 90-minute parking structure below the restaurant BEFORE spending 35-40 minutes hunting for paid street parking on a 90F day, then walking 5 blocks back, arriving late, sweaty, and frustrated. The validated and covered parking is a HUGE bonus, and could, for example, be advertised wherever MSK appears on-line, and perhaps even on a large sign at the front door (I made half a dozen passes in my car, as did the friend I was meeting). I would recommend conditionally - again, really good service, drinks and bar scene look like fun, and with all the existing positive food reviews, surely the other entrees must be good...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Terrible service. We waited for an exten ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Terrible service. We waited for an extended time to get our meals. I in fact had to go ask for them to bring it out to our table. They were not busy at the time we were there. We simply were stuck with a lazy waiter.

Furthermore, this restaurant gets by on overpriced, low quality food. The portions were also very small for the amount they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Really enjoyed the food, drinks and ambi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Really enjoyed the food, drinks and ambiance. Our server was very slow tho - and it was not a busy night

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The most dismal, disappointing and insul ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The most dismal, disappointing and insulting service experience I have ever had. Going to miss their awesome cookies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Best eggs Benedict ever and by far the m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Best eggs Benedict ever and by far the most helpful and accommadating staff in Santa Monica.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Met my out-of-town nephew there for Brun ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Met my out-of-town nephew there for Brunch since he was staying close by. We were seated immediately and the wait staff was pleasant. The Bacon was the best I ever tasted. My nephew has a spicy breakfast sandwich that was more than he could eat and he loved it. I had the Smoked Salmon Benedict. Their version of the sauce was a little too sweet for my taste. Their homemade English muffins were terrific. The Hash Brown were overcooked. Had to wait a long time for an Iced Coffee, but overall, I would go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Relaxing atmosphere and good food.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Relaxing atmosphere and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went here because I could make a reserva ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went here because I could make a reservation for a Saturday brunch for a meal with a work colleague. I arrived early and was seated promptly. It's a nice atmosphere and people seated on the outside patio can bring their furry friends.

I ordered a bloody mary which the server informed me was $8 ($2 more than what was printed on the menu because the mix was made in house. Don't understand why they couldn't update the menu)

The food was satisfactory (breakfast tacos and eggs benedict). Service was also decent.

i would say that I was disturbed to see that someone had decided to dry their swimwear and children's underwear on a table on the patio. I had to call a manager over and inform them that not only was this unseemly but probably a health violation to have underwear and swim drying on a table that dinners would be eating. I can't believe that none of the servers, hostess or manager who was walking past this didn't see that this something that needed to be taken care of. It made me doubt the level of cleanliness or the extent to which managers noticed things in their restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good casual dining spot. Food was very g ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good casual dining spot. Food was very good and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The service and restaurant is really nic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service and restaurant is really nice. My problem is 100% of the time the food arrives warm or ice cold. The English muffins are ALWAYS cold. There is some kind of disconnect with placing the food under the warmers once they are ready and/or delivering them on a timely manner. I don't know what would help, but it is too bad because it always happens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were four people - each had something ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We were four people - each had something different, from a short rib sandwich to a quinoa salad to a vegie burger and a turkey burger. All of us very pleased with our food. Good fries. And very good guacamole & chips. Excellent service, start to finish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have enjoyed eating at M Street Kitchen ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Have enjoyed eating at M Street Kitchen many times but this was my first experience with brunch. Unimpressed with menu selections. Had scrambled eggs which were cold and no better than IHOP

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Nice casual atmosphere and food is alway ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Nice casual atmosphere and food is always good. It's my go to neighborhood breakfast spot. Staff is always friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Slow-absent service, food good

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

good food, poor service, long wait for food, waiter never brought the birthday dessert for my daughter's birthday celebration. We had to ask for utensils, had to ask for the check, only way I would go back is for take-out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Fun place to eat

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Breakfast was very good. A very vibrant and busy place. Will return and bring friends

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nothing sexy about the food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Nothing sexy about the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We had an amazing time! Loved the drinks ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had an amazing time! Loved the drinks and the food! Amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An overall great choice that never lets ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

An overall great choice that never lets me down. Great brunch spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the time I made my reservation and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

From the time I made my reservation and throughout multiple follow-up emails with M Street staff, I was made to feel welcome. Although the restaurant was crowded upon our arrival, the hostess made sure that our reservation was honored and that we had a great seat. We were in town on vacation and was using the meal to start off the day with our cousin who lives in Santa Monica. Our waiter was phenomenal and answered all of our questions patiently. The food was delicious and was one of our favorite meals during our trip to the West Coast. I highly recommend M Street Kitchen and will ensure that it's on our itinerary every time we visit the Los Angeles area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was terrible and very poor valu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was terrible and very poor value. Our waitress Savannah was fantastic and made up for it. Best to go for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Just as one would hope.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The staff and service were very good. We had a little kitchen oversight issue with a small piece of food packaging landing in my meal. The entire staff jumped on the situation and responded as anyone would hope for. The Manager's response was spot on. My replacement meal was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful and good value!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great service! This was our 3rd time and it didn't disappoint. We dined early to be able to catch a show. Happy hour prices are amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.