Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 46 times today

M Street Kitchen

4.6
1126 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Casual
  • Sunday Lunch
A testament to comfort food done right, M Street Kitchen has always emphasized organic and seasonal, even before it became en vogue. The menu brings together beloved classics and uses only the freshest ingredients, presenting simple and accessible modern American cooking. Menu items range from sandwiches and burgers to signature salads and tacos, as well as breakfast favorites to kick start the day.

M Street Kitchen serves up organic house-blend coffees, teas and a variety of specialty espresso drinks. Complement any meal with a boutique selection of West Coast wines, an assortment of craft cocktails and beers. M Street Kitchen encourages guests to take their time and enjoy themselves at all hours of the day – breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Interested in our Wine Dinners and special events? Visit mstreetkitchen.com to learn more.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday-Saturday: 8:00am-10:00pm
Sunday: 8:00am-9:00pm

Join us for Happy Hour daily from 4:00pm to 6:00pm - available in the full restaurant.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(310) 396-9145
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
To view our packages and party menus, visit us at mstreetkitchen.com or contact our Catering Manager Marni Fishbain at mfishbain@leye.com for more information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Bicknell
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1126 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

The best homemade English muffins in town!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great stop before the beach. Excellent food and service. Just right ambience. Really enjoyed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 2 days ago

Great food but hold on to your plate! While mid chew and holding toast, the waiters kept coming by to take our plates as if we were finished, even though it was obvious we were not finished. It was quite irritating.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

The service was horrible and the food was equally as bad. The restaurant wasn't even busy and it took them 20 minutes to get us our drinks. When we asked for water, they brought one bottle of tap water for a party of 7 - just enough to fill 4 cups. Bad all the way around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Everything was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Brought my 1 year old daughter to meet family for lunch. Staff was helpful and friendly and food was delicious. The child's plate for my daughter was healthy and delicious. And there was changing table in the ladies' room which is always a plus for us! We'll return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Enjoyed it very much and loved the menu. Service was excellent and will be back!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The outside tables were so dirty and disgusting. Food had fallen in the cracks of the table and was dried up ... nearly every outside table was just like that. We had to ask to move inside. The menus has dried up food stuck to them as well. Also, my white wine was served to me warm

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Breakfast....Great value - great food - great service - great atmosphere

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

We enjoy the food here, that it’s pet friendly & just a few doors down

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 28, 2018

The food is not as good as it has been in the past. I had the huevos rancheros and my husband had the egg white omelet, and the food was fine, but nothing to rave about. Also, the service was scattered--it took awhile to bring a first cup of coffee, they forgot the toast, and my food was tepid and I had to send it back. As a positive, I was glad that the server was able to bring a replacement dish quite quickly. Overall though, unfortunately, M Street is not the reliable, solid local place for breakfast that it used to be. :o(

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Early breakfast on Sunday morning. It was delicious. Their Italian place next door is also amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

After passing this local hot spot without venturing in, I finally did for a brunch date. You want pancakes? I gotcha pancakes right here! When I ordered the full stack I didn't know a 3 layered cake would arrive -- figuratively. They are fluffy and so wide each one takes up the entire plate. Then you have a choice of fruit -- banana, strawberry, blueberry -- or you can go plain. Easily enough to split for two. The service was exceptional. I had made a reservation via Open Table and the hostess had a nice booth set up for me 10 minutes before the reservation time, and took the time to give me a tour of the outside patio seating just in case I wanted al fresco. If you sign up to the website they offer a $15 discount on your next visit. Check out the lunch and dinner menu at the website ... which will be my next visit.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 20, 2018

The music was hard rock and not relaxing or energizing. Rather, it was loud and irritating and I couldn’t get relaxed even on my birthday. The service was especially slow. Food was not delivered at the same time.

We felt disappointed as we’ve dined here many times before.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Food is great, staff is friendly.
Love the interior.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

I suggested your restaurant because
I had a good experience in the past. I came for breakfast with son and we had amazing blueberry pancakes, eggs, etc.
I brought my 83 year old mother and my 2 sisters and there were noticeable things that weren't up to par. .
My sister ordered a caesar salad and there was no dressing. We got an order of fries and they were cold. When we asked to have hot ones, we were given back ones with the same temperature. I shared the broccoli salad with my sister with chicken and the chicken was dry.
I think my mom's Ahi burger was ok. I was happy to remember this as a choice for lunch, but afterwards I felt apologetic for suggesting it. My son lives in Venice and he has had only good experiences so perhaps it was an off day. I hope this is beneficial.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great spot for our Mother's Day breakfast! Our food was delicious, noise level was good (we could actually hear one another), and the service was attentive and timely. Would love to go for dinner next time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent experience at M street cafe for our second year in a row Mother’s day celebration brunch. Food, service and ambiance were all great. Excellent value. May go there again next year !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

I love the outdoor, dog friendly dining! So few places can accommodate big dogs and have great food and atmosphere! And I love my points card.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Food was excellent. Drinks quenched our thirst and kids meal was good too. Awesome server too, really accommodated us!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I've been going to M Street Kitchen for a few years and the staff have always been super friendly and attentive. It's my favorite place to get brunch on the weekends since the food and drinks are consistently excellent and I always stop by their bakery for their amazing fresh baked goodies! All this AND I can bring my dog when I get a table on the outside patio...which is every time I go:)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Been coming here for years and I have to say they’ve been slipping quality-wise for some time. The menu keeps changing and not for the better. Ground beef replaces steak, Mahi-Mahi replaces sushi grade Ahi. Yet the price isn’t less. $22.95 for tacos? Um, no. On our last visit I ordered the Ahi tuna burger and fries. Both were delivered after a long wait time, and both were cold. Cold fries are not good. What’s the problem? My wife had the simple grilled Salmon, which was good but the waiter recommended side of cauliflower mac’n’cheese was runny and also luke warm. Not good. Maybe the M stands for mediocre.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

M Street Kitchen in Santa Monica has been my go-to eatery for the last decade. It's always comfortable, like a 2nd home. My meal choices have been consistent & tasty. Thank you very much for your service ;)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

I love M street because it's close and usually easy to walk in on the weekdays. I think it's a little overpriced for what you get (I paid $18 for cauliflower haha) but as long as you know that going in it's fine. Drinks are great as long as it's the right bartender working! All in all I wouldn't go here for a special occasion or anything like that but it is good if you live close by and want to grab some food and drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Great service and vibe in the restaurant. I would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Our waitress Cici was excellent the food was amazing . I am so glad it’s near where I live now !

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

I was truly disappointed with my experience at M Street kitchen. I've been several times and have always found it pretty good. I have mostly gone for the location and ambiance.

This time we got a great table outside and the ambiance was perfect. The food on the other hand was not. I ordered the avocado toast - a pretty standard item. When the food arrived I was surprised to find that the bread wasn't toasted and when I asked the waitress she said it was the type of bread they use that made it seem soft and untoasted. I was very disappointed as I was expecting a standard dish that was pretty subpar.

I would return to M Street Kitchen, but definitely would not recommend the avocado toast and would tell future diners to not expect the food to be amazing.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 29, 2018

20 minute wait to give our order, 20 minutes more to be served, 20 minutes more to get the order right.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

M Street never disappoints. We love it here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Absolutely phenomenal food and beverages. Probably one of the best eggs benedict I’ve ever eaten. Love the ambiance and crisp air outdoor seating. Zero proof drinks are fun and refreshing. Can not wait to come back and try other menu items!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Staff attentive, food was hot

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Really enjoyed my breakfast meeting at this charming establishment in Santa Monica just blocks from the Pacific Ocean. It has great customer-friendly features such as convenient street and garage parking; excellent, attentive yet unobtrusive service; attractive food selections; and affordable prices. Highly recommended for any type of gathering, casual or formal. So glad my friend recommended M Street Kitchen! Looking forward to a return trip next time I visit the west coast.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Avocado toast was delicious. Great ambiance for brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Very tasty breakfast - got the avocado toast. Staff was friendly and personable. I would go back again. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Great lunch, with less than attentive service during this visit. Very good avocado toast and a lovely patio seating area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Always delivers! Nice vibe. Great service. Clean tasty food, well presented.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Superb brunch. Homemade English muffins put the delicious eggs Benedict over the top. Whether you like it or not, mule home some of those homemade cookies for later. Ridiculous!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Good place. Been several times. That's how you tell a good restaurant: Will you go back? YES!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Drinks weren’t very good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Great Ahi Tuna sandwich! I would highly recommend this entree!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
29

Tweets by M Street Kitchen