Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About M Street Kitchen

A testament to comfort food done right, M Street Kitchen has always emphasized organic and seasonal, even before it became en vogue. The menu brings together beloved classics and uses only the freshest ingredients, presenting simple and accessible modern American cooking. Menu items range from sandwiches and burgers to signature salads and tacos, as well as breakfast favorites to kick start the day.

M Street Kitchen serves up organic house-blend coffees, teas and a variety of specialty espresso drinks. Complement any meal with a boutique selection of West Coast wines, an assortment of craft cocktails and beers. M Street Kitchen encourages guests to take their time and enjoy themselves at all hours of the day – breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Interested in our Wine Dinners and special events? Visit mstreetkitchen.com to learn more.

2000 N. Main St
Santa Monica, CA 90405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - THURSDAY:
Breakfast: 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

FRIDAY & SATURDAY
Breakfast: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Join us for Happy Hour in the bar area, 4:00pm - 6:30pm every Monday - Friday!

Cross Street:
Bicknell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 396-9145

Website:
http://www.mstreetkitchen.com/

Catering:
To view our packages and party menus, visit us at mstreetkitchen.com or contact our Catering Manager Marni Fishbain at mfishbain@leye.com for more information.

Executive Chef:
Lincoln Fuge

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

M Street Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Brunch (22)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Great for Lunch (14)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
People Watching (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Romantic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Cozy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Sports (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great Beer (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Babou & I have been eating here ~ 5 years. M Street Kitchen has been our favorite go-to eatery whenever we come to Santa Monica or the Palisades. The food preparation has been consistent and almost always been very tasty :). Though I am not much of an imbiber, an IPA on a hot sunny day does hit the spot!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food and super friendly staff. Try the Brussels sprouts salad. So nice and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Went for a business lunch, and the food was outstanding. I had the salmon and it was perfectly cooked and my co-worker had the breakfast and was blown away by the English muffin, the best he has ever had! The best part was ordering cookies to go and on the way back to the office, we were astonished how extremely moist and so good they were. The service was profound and very welcoming, we will surely come back to dine!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My favorite place for breakfast, lunch and diner, classy atmosphere, great music, food is great and consistent every time, friendly and very professional staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Ate here when we were visiting Santa Monica and it was fabulous! Would highly recommend it, food was fabulous!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner as usual!we love it! We always have fun and I love the cauliflower dish for appetizer and Brussels sprouts salad! Very yummy! My boyfriend can eat hamburger or chicken sandwich and fries! Which he loves!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We had an excellent meal and the best service California has to offer! I recommend the Rose. It's the perfect accompaniment to any meal!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Such amazing food. Just watch out for the stabbings and crazy people outside. Lots of homeless people here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent. Food is amazing. Banana pancakes and candied bacon are must haves

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Dinner with party of 4 plus infant. Gracious and friendly service, although slightly inattentive towards the end of the meal. Food was delicious and great cocktail (Honey Margarita). Only complaint is that we asked for a non-spicy dish selection for a breastfeeding mom and the wood grilled mahi still came out with considerable heat. Overall great experience. Definitely recommend if you are in the area. Also has a great but busy brunch.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We rode our bikes to M Street Kitchen as we were avoiding the usual tourist traps along the beach. This place was perfect for oir Sunday brunch. Dog friendly and great service. It was a great way to end our extended stay in Santa Monica.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

The food and the service were good. It got a little loud at times which made it harder to converse. The waiters were great and our meals were spot on as ordered.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Nice urban chic vibe, good brunch menu - we really liked it.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Good bloody mary...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great as usual. Cocktails were tasty. Brunch was delish.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The best cookie I have ever had. Please don't leave M Street Kitchen without ordering one with ice cream on top or to go.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Have to remember not to go on Friday nights anymore. They had a horrendous "singer" that almost spoiled our evening. Couldn't hear each other talk and it was bad - I don't know how this guy got hired.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Nice place for my grown kids and I to visit with my brother and his wife when we come to town.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

M is for "meh." I was very underwhelmed by this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Fresh food that tastes as great as it looks. Great service and the food comes out fast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great local
Place to meet friends. Our server Charlie was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

fun restaurant! enjoyed our dinner as usual, but sad that they didn't have my usual brussel sprout salad. That is something you are famous for and should never ever run out of brussel sprouts!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Have been coming here for years and by far this was one of the most disastrous dinners in regards to the food and service. There was absolutely no service. I had to get up to get our own water, silverware, check on food multiple times for just nachos that took almost 45 minutes to come out and were soggy and cold by the time they arrived.
Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

WONDERFUL FIND. ENJOYED THE FOOD. GREAT FOR BRUNCH

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We are on vacation and discovered M Street yesterday as we booked a family get-together meal. The service and food was so great that we came back today for the second time. Even better today! Great service, great food, and overall a "ten." Well done, M team...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great space, incredible food. Will be back as often as possible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

From the friendly greeting to the fabulous wait staff to the awesome and delicious food choices, M Street Kitchen rates "awesome"!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

A GREAT waiter can make all the difference! Our waiter restored my faith in M Street!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Good food and fairly good service. Kitchen and hosts seemed a bit overwhelmed with Father's Day crowd. Our orders were wrong/incomplete, though waitress did well to resolve quickly. Plus we were five plus infant stroller at a table for four (despite having a reservation), so it was quite tight. Restaurant too warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Very nice place! Friendly servers!
Good coffee! Love the location!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Haven't been here in awhile. Always enjoyed food and scene. But this time the new menu seemed to be more streamlined and the food followed. Fish taco was very avg and apps not very impressive. Seem to be more fast foodish. Dessert took a step back as well. Like he place so hopefully it was a one time miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great restaurant. Worth the drive for fresh good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

My boyfriend and I were heading out to Los Liones to hike with our dog and the patio at M street was a great first stop to fuel up with our pup in tow. The staff was very accommodating to us and our pup. Definitely recommend for anyone looking to enjoy outdoor dining in Santa Monica. Also incredibly dog friendly!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great dinner spot. Although the menu is pretty small, there is definitely something for everyone. And the food ordered was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Cold "hot" food - rice & beans inedible, like paste. Steak taco had enough steak for one taco. Roasted cauliflower over-sauced. Overall food was poor.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great place for families, happy hour, outside seating and atmosphere. We love this place!

Tags: Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

very yummy! Love the brussel sprout salad and brussel sprouts!! love it here!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This place is fantastic, we are always happy with the meal and service we receive here.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great atmosphere and delicious chocolate cake dessert!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.