About M Street Kitchen

M Street Kitchen is a testament to American cooking done right. M Street Kitchen has always emphasized fresh, organic and seasonal items with an ever-changing menu. Specialties range from tacos to sushi, signature sandwiches and burgers to salads, and breakfast favorites to kick start the day, including the housemade English muffins.

The wine list serves up a boutique selection of primarily California and Oregon wines, a featured selection of Santa Barbara wines, red and white sangria, and an assortment of signature craft cocktails and beer. Don’t forget to leave with a treat or two from the cookie counter!

Interested in our Wine Dinners and special events? Visit mstreetkitchen.com to learn more.

2000 N. Main St
Santa Monica, CA 90405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - THURSDAY:
Breakfast: 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

FRIDAY & SATURDAY
Breakfast: 8:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Join us for Happy Hour in the bar area, 4:00pm - 6:30pm every Monday - Friday!

Cross Street:
Bicknell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 396-9145

Website:
http://www.mstreetkitchen.com/

Executive Chef:
Lincoln Fuge

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Croque Madame - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Eggs Benedict - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Spinach Omelette - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Buttermilk Pancakes - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Commuter Breakfast Sandwich - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Ahi Tuna Tartare - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Coffee Cake Muffin - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Water - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Spinach And Cheddar Omolette - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Scrambled Eggs With Hash Browns, Sausage, and Toast - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Oaxaca Omelet - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Seared Ahi Fish Tacos - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Cookies & Muffins - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
egg white omelette - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Tacos al Pastor - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Drip Coffee - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Pulled Pork Nachos - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Crispy Hash With Poached Egg - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Cappuccino - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Hash Benedict - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Eggs Benedict With Ham - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Miso Glazed Salmon - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
French Toast - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Thai Chili Chicken Wings - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Chocolate Chips Pancakes - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Huevos rancheros - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Miso Glazed Salmon Roll  - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Tacos Al Pastor- Steak  - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Breakfast Buritto - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Evil Thai Princess Salad - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA
Cauliflower risotto with peas and mint - M Street Kitchen, Santa Monica, CA

M Street Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (31)
Great for Brunch (27)
Casual (27)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Groups (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Kid-friendly (20)
Healthy (20)
Afternoon Coffee (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Cozy (17)
Quick Bite (17)
Family Style (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Open Kitchen (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Business Meals (14)
Afternoon Tea (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Fun (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Scenic View (4)
Organic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Romantic (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
918 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The menu is uninspiring and does not inc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

The menu is uninspiring and does not include seasonal items and limited specials. The menu is boring and I wish there was something fresh about it. A fresh, new soup, new seafood dish or even a tasting platter of vegetables. It is a struggle to find something healthy since even the vegetables are covered in nuts, cheeses or heavy oils. The salads used to be plate sized but now are tiny and look unfulfilling. They keep the doors open which makes a nasty draft. M Street is not recommended.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

This is a great neighborhood spot for br ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a great neighborhood spot for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Burger is very good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good. Layed back place. Good food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Very good. Layed back place. Good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch, very friendly and attentiv ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great brunch, very friendly and attentive service, we had a table for 2 - we were with a group of 10 but got hungry early and went out on our own.

After breakfast, we told them about it and then booked them a table for 8 (4 is the limit on OT I think)

Anyway, we were gone by the time they arrived but they reported back that everyone loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent place for breakfast, brunch, ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent place for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner.. Good fresh food. It is noisy but is a very large space.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Really went down hill. Used to be bette ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Really went down hill. Used to be better than generic pub food. Sandwich buns could have been from McDonalds. Service was harried and not friendly. Seems like they want to be more of a sports bar with sports bar food than the semi-cool Santa Monica neighborhood placebit used to be. Problem is that the prices are way tool high for what they offer now. Very disappointing!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We've been eating here for years and the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We've been eating here for years and the service has sadly gone downhill. It took 45 minutes to get our food & half of our breakfast was cold. The manager was very helpful, but it's been a bummer that we keep having experiences like this here. We keep coming back hoping that things will go back to how great it used to be. Here's hoping!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

The food was great and I loved the atm ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was great and I loved the atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience at M Street Ki ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a great experience at M Street Kitchen. We were a few minutes late for our reservation due to heavy Santa Monica traffic but they were very accommodating and seated us right away. My son ate his huevos rancheros as if he hadn't eaten in days. My avocado toast was perfect - eggs poached to perfection and the housemade English muffin was good size. Others had a breakfast burrito and made them disappear! Our waiter was attentive but not overbearing. A delicious brunch all around! I will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Had great breakfast, my daughter recogni ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had great breakfast, my daughter recognized the yes photo from Chicago. They love the avocado toast. My husband wants to return tomorrow.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic in every way! Accommodating an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fantastic in every way! Accommodating and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cauliflower is to die for!!!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Cauliflower is to die for!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

unfortunately our last experience at M S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

unfortunately our last experience at M St. kitchen was not a good one. This place has gone down. The food prices have gone up and the quality of the food has gone down. The waiter took forever to get to our table. He was rushing the whole time. it was my birthday and my husband told them there and no one did a thing about it or need anything special for me. Big bummer not planning on going back

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

EXCELLENT happy hour (for grown-ups AND ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

EXCELLENT happy hour (for grown-ups AND families!) I eat here at least once a week with my family. Great salads, burgers and specials. Ambiance is wonderful!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a member of the Lettuce Entertain You ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As a member of the Lettuce Entertain You Frequent Diner Club, I received a text for $20 off any order over $30. I'd been to this restaurant 3-4 times before and went this past Monday at 7:45 having made reservations on Open Table. It didn't bother me that I had to wait 15 minutes to be seated, but was then told by my gracious server, Joey, that they'd already run out of their fried chicken AND pork chop entrees. I then asked to speak to Richard Solis, the manager, to complain that they'd already run out of TWO entrees so early in the evening and asked him to extend the discount offer (since there was nothing else on the menu which appealed to me or my companion) which he refused to do.

Richard Solis has no business being a manager of any restaurant and had a very rude and unaccommodating attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our server was very slow, not attentive ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Our server was very slow, not attentive (and the restaurant was not busy). Part of the food came out soggy and when I addressed it to the waiter he was quick to bring out the same soggy dish, I then approached a manager who was just as bad and had an attitude. After they somewhat fixed the food the server didn't even come to check on us until we flagged him down for the check. Will not visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I tried the grilled steak. It was nice & ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I tried the grilled steak. It was nice & seasoned well. I substituted the french fries for the mashed potatoes.

I went in the early evening and it was nice and quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Rude staff. Long wait for food. Buzzing ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Rude staff. Long wait for food. Buzzing heater above us that could not be turned off. Small portions, we had to order extra food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Maybe a few lighter breakfast dish choic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Maybe a few lighter breakfast dish choices. The coffee could be served hotter.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Several friends from different towns dec ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Several friends from different towns decided to meet here for lunch to catch up during the holiday shopping. We were delighted with the place, able to talk, we all had the Bangkok Thai salad which we loved, if everything is that good, the menu is terrific. it was a bargain and

we will be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Although the food was excellent, the mus ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Although the food was excellent, the music and atmosphere was too noisy for my family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Never disappointed! Thank you EVERYONE! ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Never disappointed! Thank you EVERYONE! Food/service were spectacular!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always superb food, service and total ex ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Always superb food, service and total experience. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. The bacon was es ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was delicious. The bacon was especially delicious. The coffee was so weak we sent it back...barely flavored water. Our server was great. Too noisy for good conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Bakery is amazing! Homemade English muff ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Bakery is amazing! Homemade English muffins are off the hook

the thai chicken salad is a must!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beyond superb service and the food was d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Beyond superb service and the food was delicious - AS ALWAYS!!

Very grateful you're in my neighborhood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like the atmosphere, decor and great, he ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Like the atmosphere, decor and great, healthy breakfast food. (Haven't tried the lunch or dinner menus yet.) Was not impressed with the seating host; made us feel like we were a bother. Thankfully the waitress was friendly and helpful. Suggestion: smiles, friendly manners and nice dress go a long way. Not really impressed with sloppy attire to welcome guests.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Flavorless food, very slow service, lots ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Flavorless food, very slow service, lots of flies when eating on patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was good but the restaurant was kin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food was good but the restaurant was kind of dirty...saw a bug crawling on the wall behind me after we finished our meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The M Street Kitchen nachos are the best ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The M Street Kitchen nachos are the best, we drive out of our way just for those. So many other great items on the menu as well.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date visited 11.10.16 Breakfast Always ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Date visited 11.10.16

Breakfast

Always visit this place every time we are in town from Chicago ( frequent diner member).

We've been coming here since LA Grande Orange and always had extremely pleasant experiences. Last visit,not so much. Our server was very unenthusiastic and inattentive as our side of bacon went to a different party and we saw them look perplexed when it arrived. Table next to us was not bussed until it was absolutely necessary. Will we return? For sure.

Entree always lived up to expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

The Food was delicious! Perfect place fo ...

 
 (Raum Stuttgart)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The Food was delicious! Perfect place for healthy food at a very good price level. Thanks!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a good experience. The fried chic ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always a good experience. The fried chicken is amazing but wish they didn't stop the biscuits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

had been here quite a few times This ti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

had been here quite a few times This time a 2pm Sunday reservation was not busy and the service was horrible and we waited 20 mins for a after dinner espresso Plenty of other places on Main Street sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

staff was knowledgeable - Brunch selecti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

staff was knowledgeable - Brunch selection was awesome and waiter recommendation was great. I love the bakery attached. Eggs Benedict was amazing and I do not like hollandaise at all but I ate it here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed. We arrived on time a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very disappointed. We arrived on time and were seated immediately. It took a long time for our server, Kevin to get to us. We ordered coffee drinks and waited forever for them. I will say my hot drink, the Havana coffee was delicious. My husband had the iced coffee with coffee, sweetened milk and some caramel syrup. I believe it is the most delicious coffee drink I have ever tasted. It just took way too long for it to arrive. Our server said that they were short staffed that day, and boy, was it evident. I ordered the breakfast tacos. All the fixings for the tacos were on the plate and you make your own. Sadly, the eggs were cold. I was so hungry by then, that I ate them anyway. Seems to be family friendly. Limited street parking. No valet at brunch.

Would not knock myself out to go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

great service and always an awesome and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

great service and always an awesome and diverse menu. great veggie options :)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had the hash brown eggs Benedict and it ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Had the hash brown eggs Benedict and it was very delicious and filling. Will definitely be heading back again for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The brussel sprout salad (w/chicken) was ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The brussel sprout salad (w/chicken) was excellent. We had a great time...busy and a bit noisy for my taste but what restaurant isn't these days. Don't forget soundproofing guys...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The pancakes are so fluffy and delicious ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The pancakes are so fluffy and delicious, but HUGE. One is definitely a great serving size! The Mexican Mocha (I think that's what it was called) was like a spiced hot chocolate, definitely recommend that too! Overall, extremely satisfied by my dining experience at M Street Kitchen.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.