About M ST. Cafe

350 Market Street
Saint Paul, MN 55101
View Larger Map

M ST. Cafe is the latest in the lineage of extraordinary dining options at The Saint Paul Hotel. Whether you're joining us for a leisurely breakfast or a buttoned-up business lunch, M ST. Cafe is the perfect sophisticated-yet-casual destination. Whether you're holding a meeting or just meeting friends, M ST. Cafe is the new Downtown St. Paul destination. M ST. offers a unique new concept that is a combination of a la carte and European-style sideboard dining. M ST. offers a classic brunch and also offers privately catered parties and events throughout the day or evening. Meet a client for lunch, or linger over breakfast after a luxurious night at The Saint Paul Hotel. Schedule a mid-morning conference or work with us to create a truly memorable Groom's dinner. Casual dining, warm atmosphere and top level service... everything you'd expect from a restaurant in Minnesota's Landmark Hotel. Formal or informal, scheduled or spontaneous, M ST. is the place to meet in St. Paul.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 6:30am-11:00am, Saturday 7:00am-12:00pm, Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Brunch: Sunday 9:00am-2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
5th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 228-3855

Website:
http://www.mstreetcafe.com/

Parking Details:
We now offer up to 2 hours of complimentary parking for our guests dining at M ST. Cafe. Validated parking is available only at the Lawson Ramp, located between St. Peter Street and Wabasha on 5th Street. Present your parking ticket from the Lawson Parking Ramp to your server.

Private Party Facilities:
M ST. Cafe offers Private Party sites to guests. Locally we are simply known as the place where business gets done & weddings memorable. We specialize in providing the professional service & commitment required to ensure your meeting or event will be not merely successful, but memorable for years.

Private Party Contact:
Sales: 8886415694

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Northwoods Omelet - M ST. Cafe, Saint Paul, MN
  • Andouille Benedict - M ST. Cafe, Saint Paul, MN
Northwoods Omelet - M ST. Cafe, Saint Paul, MN
Andouille Benedict - M ST. Cafe, Saint Paul, MN

M ST. Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Overall
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Food
Twin Cities / St. Paul
1 More
Best Value
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

Great for Brunch (23)
Special Occasion (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
See All
Sunday Lunch (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (12)
Business Meals (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Private Room (7)
Healthy (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Authentic (6)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (6)
Historic (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Family Style (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service. Waitress was pl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service. Waitress was pleasant and made the dinning experience better too!

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Private Room, Business Meals, Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I and four friends met for Sunday brunch ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

I and four friends met for Sunday brunch, and our server was very helpful and pleasant. Each person found things to enjoy at the buffet, and this restaurant continues to be very satisfying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent assortment of brunch foods -- ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent assortment of brunch foods -- good for kids and even our one paleo member. Took our time and had a good post-thanksgiving chat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

went for Thanksgiving Brunch. Very good ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

went for Thanksgiving Brunch. Very good food and nice atmosphere

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Seasonal, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving buffet is the best!!! Grea ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving buffet is the best!!! Great food, excellent variety, comfortable setting. Oh yes, amazing desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Having to stay in the Twin Cities for T ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Having to stay in the Twin Cities for Thanksgiving I couldn't of pick a better place to enjoy dinner. Everything was great

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my fourth Thanksgiving. I highly ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is my fourth Thanksgiving. I highly recommend it. My Mom and I have laughingly said the only negative is "no leftovers". The setting and history add to the feeling of a special event. The food choices seemed to be a little less this year but there are so many to begin with you hardly notice it. The serving staff is exceptional. Welcoming,helpful,respectful but extremely accommodating and attentive. I have also done the lunch brunch with friends and had the same great experience. I suspect that a common comment is the price. My reply is yes, but you get what you pay for. I have recommended the M Street Cafe and will continue to do so. Will be back. See you soon.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Thanksgiving spread. Very baby/tod ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great Thanksgiving spread. Very baby/toddler friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and friendly service! Always ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great food and friendly service! Always a great experience!

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Family Style, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff did a wonderful job of accommo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The staff did a wonderful job of accommodating our grandson's food allergies! We have always enjoyed our times at The St. Paul Hotel and brunch at M St. Cafe is a must.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good buffet. It was unfortunate that the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Good buffet. It was unfortunate that the kitchen was closed for remodeling so the buffet was our only option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent service. A lovely breakfast ex ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent service. A lovely breakfast experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappointed at M Street - good fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Never disappointed at M Street - good food, excellent service,

thank you

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! They have a great sele ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was amazing! They have a great selection of items and everything is delicious! It's neat because the chefs are right there so you can talk to them and watch them prepare things. I highly recommend the salmon, waffles, potatoes, omelet bar, tomato bisque soup and ALL of the desserts. It definitely reminds me of Europe - kudos M St Cafe!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food Resembles any nice hotel ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food Resembles any nice hotel or cruise ship buffet Really great coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Really nice service they explain what wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Really nice service they explain what was over there to eat I did not leave hunger. Are server was on top of his work leave the plate by the time I got back it was gone good service and food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is wonderful--the buffet was ex ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food is wonderful--the buffet was excellent; servers were attentive. A bit loud, but still able to converse.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic! Went for brunch a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was fantastic! Went for brunch and will definitely go back.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always great!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I went on a Saturday morning and ended u ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I went on a Saturday morning and ended up having a extremely overpriced continental breakfast. The service was not that good, and the setting was really bad. I wont recomend the place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Quality food at the brunch buffet. Great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Quality food at the brunch buffet. Great service. Worth every penny!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I am shocked. The food has always been s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I am shocked. The food has always been spectacular. This past Sunday, October 16th, the Hollandaise sauce on the Eggs Benedict was tasteless. And those Eggs Benedict are what I was looking forward to from the moment I made the reservation. I bragged to my friends, a brunch with Eggs Benedict is the brunch for me. I am beyond disappointed. And it cost over $70, and I don't ever spend that much money eating out!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

The offerings on the hot buffet on Frida ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The offerings on the hot buffet on Friday, October 6, were outstanding. It was a new menu, and since we often eat here, we were happen to see some innovation. Kudos to the sous chef, who created the menu!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice variety of choices on the side boar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Nice variety of choices on the side board. The Salmon was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Classy brunch in a beautiful, historic l ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Classy brunch in a beautiful, historic location. A gem in downtown Saint Paul.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would like to see on the Salad Bar mor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I would like to see on the Salad Bar more vegetables and other ingredients like cottage cheese, Spinach, boiled egg etc. Also more salad dressing available.

We did not like the hot dish, the sea food was not good for the price charged do not mind to pay one more dollar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

An incredible experience. Our server mad ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 18, 2016

An incredible experience. Our server made the day special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went with my mother and her elderly sist ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Went with my mother and her elderly sister and 33 yr old niece. M-StS was always a nice warm/cozy place to have a quiet lunch where you could hear one another and enjoy a pleasant meal together. Things have slipped a little. Very echo-y this time with more furniture movement noise and generally just not as tidy and orderly and attentive as before. It was OK. Nothing terrible but nothing great. The cheesecake desert was way subpar for the St. Paul Hotel. The actual meal, an omelet, was quite good. No complaints at all. It met the standard expected but the desert tasted like it was from a supermarket. Edible, but just. It's still a good place, but it needs to step up it's game some. I'll go again, but not right away. 5 on a 1-10 scale. M street can do better and I look forward to that day returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I already submitted my review. Florence ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I already submitted my review.

Florence did an outstanding job!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb staff at brunch! My friend and I ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Superb staff at brunch! My friend and I relaxed and enjoyed every morsel.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, delicious food! Love b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great atmosphere, delicious food! Love brunches there!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful anniversary brunch at ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary brunch at M Street Cafe and were very pleased with the quality of the food and the value. I highly recommend the Banana French Toast- it was the best french toast we have ever had. Excellent service and a very enjoyable brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great customer service as usual. The wai ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great customer service as usual. The wait person did forget to bring over bill that had my credit card in it, but remembered after she had delivered change to the other person at my table. Not too big a deal, but just a reminder. Otherwise everything was great. Love the panini sandwiches with just the right amount of side salad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a bit late for our reservation b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were a bit late for our reservation but as stated , we were there before closing and we were treated with full service and in a kindly manner too! The buffet was plentiful and the service better than excellent. We were glad we had chosen the St. Paul Hotel and the Cafe for our special sisters reunion ! It was fun, yummy and not stuffy either!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

hmmm...the receivers were rude enough to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2016

hmmm...the receivers were rude enough to make my lunch bad, thumbs up for that :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was fabulous; the service was e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was fabulous; the service was even better! Good spot for a business breakfast.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited M St. Cafe for brunch on Fath ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We visited M St. Cafe for brunch on Father's Day/my husband's birthday. The food selection on the buffet was outstanding--no problem finding options for those in the group who need to avoid some types of food, and everything was delicious. Be sure to save room for the dessert table! Our server also brought out a birthday sundae for my husband, but by then we were all too full to do it justice.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was beautiful and delicious! G ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was beautiful and delicious! Gorgeous fruits, tossed salad with exotic ingredients, wonderful desserts, rare prime rib, extra sauces.. We would definitely go back for brunch!.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was very friendly and timely. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The server was very friendly and timely. All of our needs were met with complete courtesy. The food was served fresh, and perfect temperature, and was delicious, as I would expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Sunday Breakfast!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Our Sunday morning breakfast for four at the M Street Cafe was an outstanding experience. The Cafe is in the lower level of the St. Paul Hotel and is a beautiful setting for any meal. We made a reservation for 8 am but the restaurant was not crowded at that hour. Our meals were served in a timely manner and were all delicious, including the Northwoods Omelet (with tender asparagus finely diced) and the Eggs Benedict. The egg dishes were cooked to perfection and nicely seasoned. The coffee was strong, hot and our cups promptly refilled by our friendly and efficient waitress. We had a great time! The St. Paul Hotel was a wonderful stay and our breakfast experience just topped it off. Even the restrooms are beautiful...what a gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.