About M ST. Cafe

M ST. Cafe is the latest in the lineage of extraordinary dining options at The Saint Paul Hotel. Whether you're joining us for a leisurely breakfast or a buttoned-up business lunch, M ST. Cafe is the perfect sophisticated-yet-casual destination. Whether you're holding a meeting or just meeting friends, M ST. Cafe is the new Downtown St. Paul destination. M ST. offers a unique new concept that is a combination of a la carte and European-style sideboard dining. M ST. offers a classic brunch and also offers privately catered parties and events throughout the day or evening. Meet a client for lunch, or linger over breakfast after a luxurious night at The Saint Paul Hotel. Schedule a mid-morning conference or work with us to create a truly memorable Groom's dinner. Casual dining, warm atmosphere and top level service... everything you'd expect from a restaurant in Minnesota's Landmark Hotel. Formal or informal, scheduled or spontaneous, M ST. is the place to meet in St. Paul.

350 Market Street
Saint Paul, MN 55101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 6:30am-11:00am, Saturday 7:00am-12:00pm, Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Brunch: Sunday 9:00am-2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
5th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 228-3855

Website:
http://www.mstreetcafe.com/

Parking Details:
We now offer up to 2 hours of complimentary parking for our guests dining at M ST. Cafe. Validated parking is available only at the Lawson Ramp, located between St. Peter Street and Wabasha on 5th Street. Present your parking ticket from the Lawson Parking Ramp to your server.

Private Party Facilities:
M ST. Cafe offers Private Party sites to guests. Locally we are simply known as the place where business gets done & weddings memorable. We specialize in providing the professional service & commitment required to ensure your meeting or event will be not merely successful, but memorable for years.

Private Party Contact:
Sales: (888) 641-5694

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Northwoods Omelet - M ST. Cafe, Saint Paul, MN
  • Andouille Benedict - M ST. Cafe, Saint Paul, MN

Report a photo problem

Northwoods Omelet - M ST. Cafe, Saint Paul, MN
Andouille Benedict - M ST. Cafe, Saint Paul, MN

M ST. Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (34)
Great for Lunch (21)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Quiet Conversation (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Casual (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Historic (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (8)
Private Room (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Healthy (6)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Family Style (5)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Romantic (4)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
497 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorite places for brunch. C ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

One of our favorite places for brunch. Consistently delicious food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my Supervisors as a year-end lunc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I took my Supervisors as a year-end luncheon. Our wait staff was attentive without being intrusive. We never felt rushed to leave once we finished our meal and dessert. It's always a pleasant experience and a surprise to see what the hot sideboard will be. Thank you.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had a date day with my husband. Our gr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I had a date day with my husband. Our greeting was genuine, services outstanding and great brunch. We were also happy to get 2 hours complimentary parking. The crowd was quiet and ambiance inviting yet simple. We felt elegant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy this place very much--comfortab ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We enjoy this place very much--comfortable, casual, friendly service, and very good food. Though it can be very busy at lunchtime, our experience, after 1pm the crowd thins out and it's a quiet place to have a nice lunch and talk.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We made a reservation but we were not se ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We made a reservation but we were not seated for 10 min after our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a wonderful way to spend the fi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a wonderful way to spend the first day of the New Year. The food was superb for food served buffet style. The service is beyond what you normally experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st came here 50 yrs ago . Still an out ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

1st came here 50 yrs ago . Still an outstanding place. Lots of wonderful memories.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a person that must eat gluten free, I ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As a person that must eat gluten free, I was very disappointed that there was so little choice for dessert and that there were no chocolate dessert possibilities. We have eaten at M St Cafe for New Year's Day before and this buffet seemed much smaller than previous years. While the food we had was good, it was not exceptional.

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

What is better than the best hash browns ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

What is better than the best hash browns is have ever had . Who needs eggs

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our regular experience at the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We enjoyed our regular experience at the M Street Cafe. We visit it at least twice a year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A really beautiful place to have Christm ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A really beautiful place to have Christmas brunch! Great food selection. And well balanced drinks. The atmosphere was very relaxing also.

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food, Tapas, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We told the Manager that there should be ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We told the Manager that there should be more vegetables and that the potatoes and brussel sprouts were under cooked. We also told him that we would be back next year for Christmas.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second consecutive year at ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our second consecutive year at M Street Cafe for Christmas Day brunch and just like the first year, we were not disappointed. We had a fabulous server, great ambiance, exceptional food -everything was perfect! My one disappointment was that you did not have the flour-less chocolate cake dessert this year though there were many other fine selections.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, , Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to M Street Café for their Chris ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went to M Street Café for their Christmas brunch. The food was well-stocked and delicious. Service was excellent. There were some unusual dishes I particularly enjoyed. It was a celebratory time, and we enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the St Paul Hotel and I'm there q ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I love the St Paul Hotel and I'm there quite often but Christmas Eve morning... the day that

I wanted to "treat" some of my family fell short....the food from the buffet was cold, selection was poor and the waiter passed us by with coffee... all the time! We had to keep asking for a hot cup of coffee and he looked like he was more than ready to have us leave...will try again another time M St. Cafe is wonderful as is the other selection in the hotel so I may try for a later

time year for the holiday or will order off the menu!

I'm in the service industry myself so I understand how difficult it is to work the holidays.... maybe he was just having a rough morning!

I still got to visit with Family and that is the most important!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Lovely spot for our annual family holida ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Lovely spot for our annual family holiday brunch. Top-notch food and service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Historic, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect food and service. Amb ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Absolutely perfect food and service. Ambiance was casual. Though busy, never felt rushed to leave. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A great restaurant in an historic hotel, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

A great restaurant in an historic hotel, a large group of us met for brunch after a Saturday night at the Ordway. It was fabulous. Very kind, courteous wait staff. Excellent food. No problems for my vegetarian friend as they offered several choices.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have taken people that I work with her ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I have taken people that I work with here for the past three years during the holiday season. We have always been satisfied with the food and the service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Tasty food. Warm ambiance. Welcoming hos ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Tasty food. Warm ambiance. Welcoming hosts and chef. Would definitely eat there again. My only gripe is about the waitress we had, friendly, but over the top attentive, would have liked to finish a conversation with friends without getting interrupted, and have been able to relax.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Brunch was okay and a good price but exp ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Brunch was okay and a good price but expected a bigger selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and service. Waitress was pl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food and service. Waitress was pleasant and made the dinning experience better too!

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Private Room, Business Meals, Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I and four friends met for Sunday brunch ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I and four friends met for Sunday brunch, and our server was very helpful and pleasant. Each person found things to enjoy at the buffet, and this restaurant continues to be very satisfying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent assortment of brunch foods -- ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent assortment of brunch foods -- good for kids and even our one paleo member. Took our time and had a good post-thanksgiving chat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

went for Thanksgiving Brunch. Very good ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

went for Thanksgiving Brunch. Very good food and nice atmosphere

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Seasonal, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving buffet is the best!!! Grea ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving buffet is the best!!! Great food, excellent variety, comfortable setting. Oh yes, amazing desserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Having to stay in the Twin Cities for T ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Having to stay in the Twin Cities for Thanksgiving I couldn't of pick a better place to enjoy dinner. Everything was great

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my fourth Thanksgiving. I highly ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is my fourth Thanksgiving. I highly recommend it. My Mom and I have laughingly said the only negative is "no leftovers". The setting and history add to the feeling of a special event. The food choices seemed to be a little less this year but there are so many to begin with you hardly notice it. The serving staff is exceptional. Welcoming,helpful,respectful but extremely accommodating and attentive. I have also done the lunch brunch with friends and had the same great experience. I suspect that a common comment is the price. My reply is yes, but you get what you pay for. I have recommended the M Street Cafe and will continue to do so. Will be back. See you soon.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Thanksgiving spread. Very baby/tod ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great Thanksgiving spread. Very baby/toddler friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and friendly service! Always ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great food and friendly service! Always a great experience!

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Family Style, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff did a wonderful job of accommo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The staff did a wonderful job of accommodating our grandson's food allergies! We have always enjoyed our times at The St. Paul Hotel and brunch at M St. Cafe is a must.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good buffet. It was unfortunate that the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Good buffet. It was unfortunate that the kitchen was closed for remodeling so the buffet was our only option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent service. A lovely breakfast ex ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent service. A lovely breakfast experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappointed at M Street - good fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Never disappointed at M Street - good food, excellent service,

thank you

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! They have a great sele ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was amazing! They have a great selection of items and everything is delicious! It's neat because the chefs are right there so you can talk to them and watch them prepare things. I highly recommend the salmon, waffles, potatoes, omelet bar, tomato bisque soup and ALL of the desserts. It definitely reminds me of Europe - kudos M St Cafe!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food Resembles any nice hotel ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food Resembles any nice hotel or cruise ship buffet Really great coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Really nice service they explain what wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Really nice service they explain what was over there to eat I did not leave hunger. Are server was on top of his work leave the plate by the time I got back it was gone good service and food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is wonderful--the buffet was ex ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food is wonderful--the buffet was excellent; servers were attentive. A bit loud, but still able to converse.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic! Went for brunch a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was fantastic! Went for brunch and will definitely go back.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always great!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.