About M ST. Cafe

350 Market Street
Saint Paul, MN 55101
View Larger Map

M ST. Cafe is the latest in the lineage of extraordinary dining options at The Saint Paul Hotel. Whether you're joining us for a leisurely breakfast or a buttoned-up business lunch, M ST. Cafe is the perfect sophisticated-yet-casual destination. Whether you're holding a meeting or just meeting friends, M ST. Cafe is the new Downtown St. Paul destination. M ST. offers a unique new concept that is a combination of a la carte and European-style sideboard dining. M ST. offers a classic brunch and also offers privately catered parties and events throughout the day or evening. Meet a client for lunch, or linger over breakfast after a luxurious night at The Saint Paul Hotel. Schedule a mid-morning conference or work with us to create a truly memorable Groom's dinner. Casual dining, warm atmosphere and top level service... everything you'd expect from a restaurant in Minnesota's Landmark Hotel. Formal or informal, scheduled or spontaneous, M ST. is the place to meet in St. Paul.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 6:30am-11:00am, Saturday 7:00am-12:00pm, Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Brunch: Sunday 9:00am-2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
5th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(651) 228-3855

Website:
http://www.mstreetcafe.com/

Parking Details:
We now offer up to 2 hours of complimentary parking for our guests dining at M ST. Cafe. Validated parking is available only at the Lawson Ramp, located between St. Peter Street and Wabasha on 5th Street. Present your parking ticket from the Lawson Parking Ramp to your server.

Private Party Facilities:
M ST. Cafe offers Private Party sites to guests. Locally we are simply known as the place where business gets done & weddings memorable. We specialize in providing the professional service & commitment required to ensure your meeting or event will be not merely successful, but memorable for years.

Private Party Contact:
Sales: 8886415694

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Northwoods Omelet
  • Andouille Benedict
Northwoods Omelet
Andouille Benedict

M ST. Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Value
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Great for Brunch
Minneapolis - St. Paul
7 More
Great for Lunch
Minneapolis - St. Paul
American
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Overall
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Food
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Service
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Value
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Great for Lunch
Twin Cities / St. Paul
Best Restaurants in St. Paul ›

Great for Brunch (21)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for Groups (13)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Business Meals (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Historic (3)
Romantic (3)
Cozy (3)
Casual (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I would like to see on the Salad Bar mor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

I would like to see on the Salad Bar more vegetables and other ingredients like cottage cheese, Spinach, boiled egg etc. Also more salad dressing available.

We did not like the hot dish, the sea food was not good for the price charged do not mind to pay one more dollar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Went with my mother and her elderly sist ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Went with my mother and her elderly sister and 33 yr old niece. M-StS was always a nice warm/cozy place to have a quiet lunch where you could hear one another and enjoy a pleasant meal together. Things have slipped a little. Very echo-y this time with more furniture movement noise and generally just not as tidy and orderly and attentive as before. It was OK. Nothing terrible but nothing great. The cheesecake desert was way subpar for the St. Paul Hotel. The actual meal, an omelet, was quite good. No complaints at all. It met the standard expected but the desert tasted like it was from a supermarket. Edible, but just. It's still a good place, but it needs to step up it's game some. I'll go again, but not right away. 5 on a 1-10 scale. M street can do better and I look forward to that day returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I already submitted my review. Florence ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I already submitted my review.

Florence did an outstanding job!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb staff at brunch! My friend and I ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Superb staff at brunch! My friend and I relaxed and enjoyed every morsel.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, delicious food! Love b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great atmosphere, delicious food! Love brunches there!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful anniversary brunch at ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary brunch at M Street Cafe and were very pleased with the quality of the food and the value. I highly recommend the Banana French Toast- it was the best french toast we have ever had. Excellent service and a very enjoyable brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great customer service as usual. The wai ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great customer service as usual. The wait person did forget to bring over bill that had my credit card in it, but remembered after she had delivered change to the other person at my table. Not too big a deal, but just a reminder. Otherwise everything was great. Love the panini sandwiches with just the right amount of side salad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a bit late for our reservation b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were a bit late for our reservation but as stated , we were there before closing and we were treated with full service and in a kindly manner too! The buffet was plentiful and the service better than excellent. We were glad we had chosen the St. Paul Hotel and the Cafe for our special sisters reunion ! It was fun, yummy and not stuffy either!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

hmmm...the receivers were rude enough to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

hmmm...the receivers were rude enough to make my lunch bad, thumbs up for that :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was fabulous; the service was e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was fabulous; the service was even better! Good spot for a business breakfast.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited M St. Cafe for brunch on Fath ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We visited M St. Cafe for brunch on Father's Day/my husband's birthday. The food selection on the buffet was outstanding--no problem finding options for those in the group who need to avoid some types of food, and everything was delicious. Be sure to save room for the dessert table! Our server also brought out a birthday sundae for my husband, but by then we were all too full to do it justice.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was beautiful and delicious! G ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was beautiful and delicious! Gorgeous fruits, tossed salad with exotic ingredients, wonderful desserts, rare prime rib, extra sauces.. We would definitely go back for brunch!.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was very friendly and timely. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The server was very friendly and timely. All of our needs were met with complete courtesy. The food was served fresh, and perfect temperature, and was delicious, as I would expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Sunday Breakfast!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Our Sunday morning breakfast for four at the M Street Cafe was an outstanding experience. The Cafe is in the lower level of the St. Paul Hotel and is a beautiful setting for any meal. We made a reservation for 8 am but the restaurant was not crowded at that hour. Our meals were served in a timely manner and were all delicious, including the Northwoods Omelet (with tender asparagus finely diced) and the Eggs Benedict. The egg dishes were cooked to perfection and nicely seasoned. The coffee was strong, hot and our cups promptly refilled by our friendly and efficient waitress. We had a great time! The St. Paul Hotel was a wonderful stay and our breakfast experience just topped it off. Even the restrooms are beautiful...what a gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great brunch

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was our second time at M St Café for brunch, it was superb as it was the last time. The salmon melted in your mouth, the salad was bursting with flavor, the malted waffles were wonderful. The prime rib was very good. This will not be our last time dining at M St.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I have been to the M Street Cafe on many occasions. I love the Sunday brunch. My mom and dad spent their wedding night at the St.Paul Hotel. It is one of my very special places.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and great food.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a very nice, leisurely brunch prior to the opera matinee.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

M Street Cafe — great for Mother's Day!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I was a very busy Sunday (Mother's Day!) but we never felt rushed or harried. Everyone we encountered was very nice and professional, from the people at the host station to the food attendants. Our server was very friendly and took extra time to go over gluten-free options with my wife, who has Celiac disease (so she really has to be careful to avoid allergens); that was much appreciated. I thought the food was fantastic; everything I tried was delicious and fresh. The piano music of Chris Lomheim was beautiful and really added to the elegant ambiance.

It's not cheap, but for a special occasion like this, I was more than happy to splurge a bit to show "Mom" a good time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We came for Mother's Day brunch with our ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We came for Mother's Day brunch with our three year old grandson. Our only suggestion would be to include a plain chicken breast for the picky and non-adventurous preschool crowd.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food. Don't have to wait too long to get your food. Fast service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's day brunch

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food overall was very disappointing. This is our third visit to the Sunday buffet and i must say it was extremely disappointing. The beef was fatty and not tasty. the desserts were very pedestrian and disappointing. may not return

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Value on the Dessert Table Alone!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been to many $30+ brunches and the value here was fantastic . All the food was clearly homemade and very creative. A couple of items could have been fresher/hotter but all in all a wonderful and relaxed place to enjoy good food and some of the most amazing desserts! The entire staff were incredibly helpful and worked so well together. You could tell they really enjoy what they do for a living.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect Mother's Day Brunch!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our 1st time dining here. The food was great! The malted waffles were hands down the best waffles we have ever had. There was a great selection, from seafood choices to breakfast items, and everything in between. Great dessert display including a chocolate fountain. Variety of ages in our group and we were all impressed. Service was great, very friendly and attentive. We will definitely be coming back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business Lunch

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Service was outstanding and everyone enjoyed their meal. I ordered the Steak Cobb but wished I had told them to cook the steak medium rare because it came medium well. Otherwise, everything was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Used to love it.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

For the first time, I was disappointed in the food. What happened since we were there last (Dec. 25 and perhaps once since. )? Still like the atmosphere and the service was better than previous visits. They used to make very good omelets, but this was totally different, like synthetic somehow. And my friend said her crème brule tasted like it was out of a can. Please tell them not to diminish the food quality to keep the price point.

We don't go often, maybe 1-3 times a year, but have been going there for many many years. Will go back once more hoping this experience was a fluke.

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

sued

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I love the wild rice soup on a cold day! And there are many of those opportunities in MN. :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great tasting food. Will be going back

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Great tasting food. Will be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food and service are good. I don't love ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Food and service are good. I don't love that it's in the basement and lacks any view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Sideboard provides a nice set of healthy ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Sideboard provides a nice set of healthy choices for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

SUNDAY BRUNCH

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

A friend and I enjoyed a leisurely brunch on Sunday before going to a matinee performance at The Ordway. As always, the selection of food was very good, the omelet-maker was efficient and accommodating, and our table server was very gracious. I value the availability of this restaurant on Sundays!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Off day for M St Cafe.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

I don't think they were expecting a large lunch crowd. They ran out of buffet items (I.e. salmon). Service was poor, my lunch date was late and the waiter never checked back. Usually it's a great place to eat. I'll chalk it up as an off day.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Great lunch

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Our lunch here was delicious. Very generous portions so some people took home food for dinner. The service was excellent. We were never rushed so we sat and talked a bit after we finished our meal. The hotel and the restaurant feel elegant. Very nice setting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Breakfast - Great Service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The Smoked Salmon starter was amazing and the Corned Beef Hash was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentines brunch

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

It was a great experience! Even from before I was in the restaurant I needed some possible last minute changes in my reservations and their staff was very polite and efficient in helping me. The waiters were very polite throughout the my whole meal, there was just one moment when I had some trouble getting some more coffee. The staff that worked on the food stations weren't as friendly, which is surely an area that they need improvement.

Overall I found the place to be expansive and only worth going for very especial occasions, as brunch for two plus two cups of coffee ended up being over $70 (including tips). But if you have something especial to celebrate, it is worth doing it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We went for brunch. Got lost for a bit a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We went for brunch. Got lost for a bit as the restaurant is downstairs of the St Paul Hotel. They have great Bloody Mary's! Food was amazing! And they have a fruit buffet! Our waiter was incredibly nice and helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Disappointed - Noon Full Meal

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

I was disappointed that the buffet plates were refrigerater cold when they should have been nicely warmed. I was told that nothing could be done. The buffet food was almost cold and the dull fork tines could not be pressed through the lettuce in the salad. The coffee was good and hot, but all in all, this experience was not worth the money charged for it. The chairs could have some padding on them too. Really Disappointed

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great for lunch

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

The best thing I ever got from my ex boyfriend was him taking me to M Street Cafe once, because now it's my favorite place for Macaroni and Cheese! It's fabulous, homemade and baked with a crunchy topping.

Great service as well, the waitress was almost psychic in how she always knew right when to come check on us and bring more drinks.

My only warning is that it tends to very busy at lunch time so be sure to either make a reservation or call ahead.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I enjoyed the brunch.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The brunch service was excellent. There was a wide variety of food. Some of the food could have been warmer, but it was all good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hidden secret!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We love the M Street Cafe! We have been there for Sunday brunch as well as weekday lunch. The food is always excellent! The Sunday brunch is a well-kept secret at the amazing price of $22.95!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Excellent service and amazing food! Their brunch is fabulous.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.