About M Restaurant

2 Miranova Place
Columbus, OH 43215
View Larger Map

When you walk into M Restaurant, Cameron Mitchell’s marquee restaurant & bar, you understand. You are not just out on the town. You are in another place entirely — South Beach, perhaps. You’re surrounded by beauty. A lovely perspective of Downtown Columbus. An outdoor terrace overlooking the Scioto riverfront. Light woods and luxurious fabrics. A dramatically lit bar. Artfully plated dishes of eclectic American cuisine, influenced by the assertive flavors of Pacific Rim & Europe. All enhanced by impeccable service and a wine list considered one of the nation's best.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 629-0000

Website:
http://www.matmiranova.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available during dinner service for $5.00.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Rabold

Private Party Facilities:
Two private dining options are available at M. The first is a completely private room with a sliding glass door & curtains that can be opened for a view of the dining room or closed for more privacy. The rectangular-shaped room may accommodate up to 15 guests & is AV friendly. The second option is the semi-private Wine Barrel Room, which may accommodate up to 8 guests. The oval-shaped room is cozy & intimate with lots of candlelight. Private dining at M is the perfect setting for your special celebration or business meeting. Guests may order directly from the menu or we would be more than happy to work with you to create a customized menu to fit your event.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Hahn: 6146290000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour at M

Celebrate happy hour in the bar at M with $5 martinis and selected wines by the glass Monday - Friday from 5 to 7 p.m. Plus, enjoy half price sushi during our great happy hour.

Promotions

Happy Hour

Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour

Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Happiness in one letter - now six days a week! Enjoy $5 featured cocktails and wines by the glass, half price sushi and selected appetizers, Monday – Saturday 5 to 7 p.m. in our bar. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available in the bar area only. Not Available on Holidays. Special valid May 9, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 on Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

M Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
2 More
Special Occasion
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Columbus ›

special occasion (102)
romantic (91)
fit for foodies (65)
See All
scenic view (61)
notable wine list (59)
hot spot (25)
good for groups (24)
vibrant bar scene (22)
neighborhood gem (14)
late-night find (12)
great for outdoor dining (10)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1751 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was outstanding! We tried the ...

Dined 17 hours ago

The food was outstanding! We tried the Surf and Turf, the carpaccio on top of a tempura shrimp roll added a nice twist, the salmon, ahi tuna, asparagus and lobster mashed potatoes were lovely as well, great flavor profile and cooked perfectly as well. For dessert our server recommended the coffee and donuts which we also enjoyed very much, not too complicated- very warm beignets, crunchy on the outside, perfectly soft on the inside with a chocolate sauce, a delightful strawberry sauce and my favorite- frozen espresso. Overall we were very impressed and would definitely return. There is also a lovely lighted patio out back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful coursing as we never felt rush ...

Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful coursing as we never felt rushed. Excellent wine list and Josh's service was extraordinary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We have been to M many times before and, ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

We have been to M many times before and, except for one previous occasion, we were always very satisfied. This time, we were not disappointed either; most of what we eat, was excellent. However, I have to bring up the sushi issue. I ordered the ahi tuna sushi as an appetizer. I got rolls of rice filled with vegetables and topped with a paper thin transparent slice of tuna less than a square inch in size. I believe most people eat sushi for the fish, which is complemented by the nice sushi rice. Here, I could not even taste the tuna when I bit into the sushi. Finally, I collected all the paper thin pieces of tuna, eat them and left the rice on the plate. I should have sent it back. Our waitress was a very nice young lady but she was obviously a novice. Anyway, if you want to eat sushi at M, first make sure that you will get some seafood with it as well, not only the rice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love M. Don't get there often but sto ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I love M. Don't get there often but stopped by prior to a show last week at the Palace. They have fabulous cocktails. I had the vanilla Manhattan, delicious. Had one of their "known for" dishes, the veal tenderloin and cheeks (which I had never had and I love veal) and it was fantastic, melt in your mouth tender and great depth of flavors. My husband had the steak in a bowl which he thoroughly enjoyed. Don't skip the truffled mac and cheese, just plain yum. The biggest criticism I have is trying to figure out what to pick, there are just too many excellent options. I guess that's how they keep you coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous meal. My nephews trans ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We had a fabulous meal. My nephews transferring back to California for college. We wanted to send him off with an exceptional dinner and you provided just that! See you next time ! We thoroughly enjoy everything about your restaurant .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely incredible food, service, and ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Absolutely incredible food, service, and drinks. Chris, the bartender, makes the best French 75 I've ever had.

food3
ambience4
service2

The Poke was outstanding. I had the veal ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The Poke was outstanding. I had the veal and veal cheek, it was good but not the best I've ever had. My dining companion had the steak in a bowl. They enjoyed their meal. However, the quality just didn't seem to be up to par with the prices.The drinks while expensive, (we ordered spiced rum and Diet Coke. ) They only had diet Pepsi and that is all we tasted. We ended up asking for another rum straight up just to add to our drinks.

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Returned after 5 year gap

Dined on May 8, 2016

It has been about 5 years since my wife and I ate here last. It was such a memorable time that we were so excited to give M another try. This time it was about on par with the service that you would expect from the Pearl, which is to say alright but not quite up to a fine dining level. The sushi was so-so but we did get a lot of sashimi for the price. I do understand that this isn't a sushi restaurant but the food shouldn't be on the menu if it isn't to be on par with the fuagra, or steak dishes. The dish we were most excited about was the truffle mac & cheese. This was phenomenal the last time but not so this time. It was Mother's day but we were there before the rush. If this was our first experience we wouldn't be going back but I think that this was just an off day for M and will be giving it another go.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Mother's Day brunch. Guarant ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding Mother's Day brunch. Guaranteed excellent food. Great service.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Decent, but wine gouging hurt experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was good, service a bit slow, but not terrible. Waitress not overly attentive. Bad thing was wine at triple retail, I don't mind double, but when charging triple, you are gouging.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

I always look forward to dining at M

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Our daughter's birthday and of course she chose M - it is a special place to dine in Columbus and we choose it often for such occasions. Very consistent with great preparations and beautiful surroundings - we had a lovely evening and always recommend "Steak in a Bowl" to our friends who have not tried it yet. Yum.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

So-so visit this time ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Arrived 30 mins early for reservation. Bar had seats to enjoy a cocktail pre-flight which we planned on. Seated 5 mins after sitting at bar (uhh, why did i arrive early?). Probably should tell them next time: dont bother me until my reservation time. Ordered app. App came timely, and delicious as usual. Another server came to take our dinner order, no worry. Our server was running around. But drink refills and dinner were wayy to long in between. Another app came (even thou we didnt order it-expeditor was surprised) ... Dinner was ok when it arrived thou. Probably just chalk it up to bad night ... Still a great place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful place. Great scenery and servi ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Beautiful place. Great scenery and service however the food was not worth the price tag. $112 for 2 people and I have had much better food for a fraction of the cost. We were rather disappointed to say the least. WAY too heavy on the amount of salt used. My wifes was very salty as well and she didn't get the same thing as I did. I have no problems dropping some good cash on a great meal just not here anymore and its a shame because it was a lovely place. I just couldn't drink enough water to quench my thirst after that dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed our first trip to M. We have ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

We enjoyed our first trip to M. We have eaten many times at the other Cameron Mitchell restaurants and have never been disappointed

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Dissapointed

Dined on March 19, 2016

Not a bad place, but for the price, I wasn't impressed. Especially the lobster mashed potatoes. Came out with puddles of oil on them. Gross... chef needs to learn how to cook without dousing everything in oil. For the price of the meal, I expect better than what Red Lobster can do.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

really good food perfectly prepared!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Wedding dinner! Some would consider the portions small but I thought they were perfect and left room for an incredible dessert! Fantastic! Pricey as most Mitchell places but as always it's worth it for the quality.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good but pricey

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food and atmosphere were very good. The food is very pricey and while I enjoyed dinner, I think there are too many other notable and fine restaurants in which I would like to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

This was restaurant was recommended to us by a good friend, it had good reviews so we went. We visited the Columbus for the second time. When we got to the restaurant they took us to our table, which there was an issue with, but very quickly they fixed it and apologized. The rest of the evening was superb! The food, the service, the ambiance.....just everything was perfect! It reminded us to our visit in Vancouver. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

M is perfect for a special occasion!

Dined on March 6, 2016

We had an absolutely fantastic time at M. The black orchid martini is great. The steak in a bowl is pretty much the best. The asparagus are delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love the M

Dined on March 5, 2016

Always have a great experience from the staff to the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the truly greats...

Dined on March 5, 2016

We are always delighted with the service and food at M, and it is our 'go to restaurant' for all really special occasions. Since the closure of Handke's it definitely tops our short list for 'best restaurant in Columbus'. We have only one small criticism: Normally one of its attractions for us is the low ambient noise level, but for some reason that was not the case on our most recent visit on a Saturday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb as always! Server Kaki is excelle ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Superb as always! Server Kaki is excellent

food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, though not good as expected.

Dined on March 4, 2016

Good food, though not good as expected.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service!

Dined on March 2, 2016

We went for a birthday and made a reservation. Once we arrived we were seated at a special table and got a birthday dessert. When my girlfriend complained she was cold the waitress had the staff change the temperature of the room. Superb service and the food was top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

A trendy "average" restaurant

Dined on February 28, 2016

It is too noisy for a restaurant where one is supposed to have a conversation and not to cheer the favorite NFL team. Drinks are good and wine list has a nice selection from all over the world (the Italian wines are pretty good choices!). Food is in the average, and all things that anyone can easily cook at home. The kale salad with quinoa has no kale and no quinoa, but a huge amount of arugula, so why not naming it arugula salad? Desserts are great. The semifreddo coffee is "hors categorie"! The idea of serving it in an espresso cup with milk froth is very notable. I would serve it as it is, without the munchkins and the chocolate cream. The lemon creme brulee was delicious, and the blueberry jam on top was a perfect match. The server was amazing and perfect! She was also so kind to serve me an additional semifreddo when I pointed out that they should serve it alone. Other than that, I would never recommend the restaurant to a friend, because it's just average food.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the seafood cones, butternut squa ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

We had the seafood cones, butternut squash ravioli, scallops, veal two ways, & beef tenderloin butter poached with foie gras. It was all excellent!! The butternut squash ravioli with duck confit was absolutely amazing. We travel all over and love fine dining in particular. The wine, our server Trevor and the ambience did not disappoint. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience3
service5

Very pricy, the servings are small, but ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Very pricy, the servings are small, but tasty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi

Dined on February 27, 2016

Our group just had sushi and salads but the sushi was AMAZING! We tried several of the options.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and atmosphere was great. The c ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

The food and atmosphere was great. The chef is great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters Rock!!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Fantastic views wonderful to have oysters brought in. The lamb was wonderful as was the rainbow trout. amazing wine selection and Nigel was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful - As Always

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

My wife and I started dating there even before we started dating. Don't ask. We've returned frequently, including following our nearby wedding. Suffice it to say, it is a special place for us. In the dozen or so years we've been going, it's had its ups and downs. But those bumps seem to have been largely leveled out and M clearly deserves its position as one of Central Ohio's best restaurants. Our most recent visit included: perfectly prepared cocktails; Three Cones (my wife's favorite); Shrimp Tempura (tasty but the shrimp a bit dry - the evening's only misstep); Sea Bass (spectacular as usual); Rainbow Trout (a truly wonderful featured special); Mac & Cheese (Yes, I know this made no sense - but it's sooooo good.); accompanied by a couple of glasses of The Four Graces Pinot Gris. We skipped dessert. Or, shall I say, we had the Mac & Cheese instead. We were greeted promptly and warmly. Josh, our waiter, was courteous, friendly and professional. A wonderful dinner. Two bones to pick remain. Frankly, the tableware just ain't up to snuff. Flatware and accessories (salt+peppers and candleholders) are especially misplaced in so otherwise elegant an establishment. The valet car retrieval process has always been and remains awful. Certainly, these aren't reasons not to visit. They're just on the very short list of areas for improvement.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

cjpcar

Dined on February 20, 2016

I had not been to M in awhile so I was pleasantly surprised and excited by my experience. The food had been taken to a new level. I was with two other people so we all sampled each others appetizers and entrees. Everything was extraordinary!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening

Dined on February 20, 2016

It was our anniversary and from the moment we sat down we were treated like royalty. Our sever(Kaki) was very attentative and made the evening very enjoyable. From the champagne to the desert everything was excellent(as it always is when we dine at M) Thank you to everyone for making our anniversary date and dinner so very special.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must go to in columbus

Dined on February 19, 2016

I went with my boyfriend here for his birthday and it was fantastic! The dinner view is gorgeous and I honestly felt as though we were the only two in the restaurant! I started off with the black orchid drink which was probably the best drink I have ever had and then we ordered a bunch of appetizers and sides and the lamb chops to share everything because we couldn't decide. Everything we had was amazing! The service was good and I didn't feel rushed at all! It did take a little longer than usual for dinner but I didn't mind one bit! I would definitely go back for another special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Website menu misleading

Dined on February 14, 2016

The menu listed on the website for m at miranova made it seem as if everything came as one meal. When in reality each item need to be ordered individually, which was slightly misleading. Other than that it was a nice evening

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine

Dined on February 14, 2016

Special for a special night. Exquisite drinks, view and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great, Iconic Columbus spot

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

I've been to practically every good restaurant in town and this was my first trip to M. Had a cocktail in the bar while waiting for a table and was quite impressed with the service in the bar and the roominess in the bar. Food was really good, lamb just a little tough (so only 4 stars) - wine list is fantastic. Spectacular view of the Downtown skyline. Might be our new favorite restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Generally, a poor experience overall

Dined on February 14, 2016

We waited 25 minutes past our reservation time to get seated. Host tried to make excuse about it being a holiday weekend. Then, we waited a bit too long for our server to come to our table. We came close to just leaving before the server finally arrived. We ended up ordering and eating our salads which were fair at best. For instance, the caesar salad was rather small, the romaine lettuce was wilted and the croutons looked like they came out of a bag one would buy at a grocery store. We paid our check ($33 for 1 beer, 1 wine, 1 drink and 2 salads) and left after eating our salads. We will not be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, Repeat customer, LOVE THIS PLACE

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great Food, Wonderful Service, Valet Parking, Clean bathrooms, nice selection of entrees, great cocktails We were seated at our reservation time even though a very busy Saturday night. Server could have offered a second drink or coffee at the end of the meal (Minor items). I love this place and come here whenever I am in Columbus.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2

As it was Valentine's Weekend, the resta ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

As it was Valentine's Weekend, the restaurant packed the tables together. It was a dining with people at the table on either side of you whether you cared to or not. We will sure never to go on a holiday again.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.