About M Restaurant

2 Miranova Place
Columbus, OH 43215
View Larger Map

When you walk into M Restaurant, Cameron Mitchell’s marquee restaurant & bar, you understand. You are not just out on the town. You are in another place entirely — South Beach, perhaps. You’re surrounded by beauty. A lovely perspective of Downtown Columbus. An outdoor terrace overlooking the Scioto riverfront. Light woods and luxurious fabrics. A dramatically lit bar. Artfully plated dishes of eclectic American cuisine, influenced by the assertive flavors of Pacific Rim & Europe. All enhanced by impeccable service and a wine list considered one of the nation's best.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 629-0000

Website:
http://www.matmiranova.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available during dinner service for $5.00.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Rabold

Private Party Facilities:
Two private dining options are available at M. The first is a completely private room with a sliding glass door & curtains that can be opened for a view of the dining room or closed for more privacy. The rectangular-shaped room may accommodate up to 15 guests & is AV friendly. The second option is the semi-private Wine Barrel Room, which may accommodate up to 8 guests. The oval-shaped room is cozy & intimate with lots of candlelight. Private dining at M is the perfect setting for your special celebration or business meeting. Guests may order directly from the menu or we would be more than happy to work with you to create a customized menu to fit your event.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Hahn: 6146290000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour at M

Celebrate happy hour in the bar at M with $5 martinis and selected wines by the glass Monday - Friday from 5 to 7 p.m. Plus, enjoy half price sushi during our great happy hour.

Promotions

Happy Hour

Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour

Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Happiness in one letter - now six days a week! Enjoy $5 featured cocktails and wines by the glass, half price sushi and selected appetizers, Monday – Saturday 5 to 7 p.m. in our bar. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available in the bar area only. Not Available on Holidays. Special valid May 9, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 on Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

M Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Columbus
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
5 More
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Columbus ›

special occasion (84)
romantic (68)
fit for foodies (56)
See All
scenic view (53)
notable wine list (50)
good for groups (23)
great for outdoor dining (21)
hot spot (20)
vibrant bar scene (19)
neighborhood gem (13)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food at M is quite innovative and ve ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The food at M is quite innovative and very well done. Delicious. The only set back for me was the service. If one is to go out and enjoy a night of good food and good wine, you need to get the wine in within 5 minutes after being ordered. Anything longer than that for a fine dining restaurant is just not up for it. So as long as you're a patient diner and looking for really good food, this is the place. But if you have little patience for that, then go to Lindey's so as to avoid a frustrating experience. They took 15 minutes to get our sparkling water and forgot all about the wine order.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our favorite restaurant ever! We came to ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Our favorite restaurant ever! We came to celebrate the purchase of our new home. The food and drinks as always were fantastic. The service was good but has been much better in the past.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience at M!

Dined 5 days ago

Always a great experience at M!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a special occasion, we c ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great place for a special occasion, we celebrated our 32nd year wedding anniversary. We'll go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was by far one of the best dining e ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This was by far one of the best dining experiences we have ever had! The drinks were world class (black orchid!), the sushi was unique and fresh, the bread was to die for (we ate two loaves...oops), the strawberry salad was refreshing, and the entrees made the evening. We decided to look at the desert menu and wish we could have had it all! The coffee and donuts was a perfect end to the evening. Thank you, M for an amazing date night full of ambiance and charm.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my husband's birthday with ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday with the our family and had a wonderful time. It was beautiful and the food delicious. Service was impeccable. Perfect place for a special occasion because of the things mentioned above

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I were out for a night ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My girlfriend and I were out for a night on the town and chose M for our dinner. So glad that we did because it was phenomenal. She had the chicken which was juicy and flavorful and I had lamb which was cooked perfectly and the seasoning was right on. I would recommend M to anyone for any occasion but especially of you are looking for a wow factor! Thanks to the M team for such a great dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first time to M and we choo ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This was our first time to M and we choose it due to the $50 off if you spent $150 exclusive offer I received via email and because we could eat outside with a view! I am always looking for new places to try and we were celebrating Fathers Day and Birthday. We enjoyed the ambience and view outside as we dined on the patio. The service we received was superb and the food was delicious. There was something on the menu for everyone and my daughter (20 yrs.) is a vegetarian and they actually had a special menu for her. My only call out is I still found it to be a little pricey even with the $50 discount. Definitely special occasion criteria with 2 teenagers in tow! At these prices I was hoping they would give my husband a free desert for his birthday like they do at all the other Cameron Mitchell Restaurants. Regardless, I still highly recommend M!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Three of us dining and all had excellent ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Three of us dining and all had excellent meals. They nicely accommodated a vegetarian in our group. Service was impeccable and environment very relaxing and quiet. I actually prefer the Ocean Club dining experience except for the excessive noise level there. M is also rather pricey. Our bill for 3 people (with only two drinks total) came to $242.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

The restaurant décor was very nice. We ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The restaurant décor was very nice. We were greeted immediately by the hostess who told us it would be a few minutes before we could be seated. We went to the bar to grab a drink. The bartender was friendly and handed us a cocktail menu. We knew what we wanted to order however the bartender did not come by to take our order. After a few minutes we were ready to be sat. Once seated, we were greeted by our server whose appearance was on spot and she was very friendly. She took our drink order and returned with our drinks in a timely manner. Once we ordered the salad and appetizer came on fairly quickly. Our entree's on the other hand took an hour and 5 minutes from the time we sat down. We ordered fairly quickly and ate our salad and appetizers very quickly as well. I asked our server what was taking so long, and she told us that they had a large party. Our food came out shortly after and the food was just average. I had a tuna sushi roll which did not hold together very well. I was a little disappointed. My husband had the veal which was good but not worth the cost and wait. The manager came over as we were finishing our meals and seemed concerned that we were asking about the wait. He offered us dessert and after dinner drinks, typical for when a guest complains. Overall the service was good, however the food and timing was not. Unfortunately we will not be returning. Both my husband and I have worked in the service industry for years so our expectations were high. Maybe our expectations were too high for this experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday Celebration

Dined on June 10, 2016

I took my wife here for her birthday. We've been before, and it is a favorite of hers. We've never been disappointed. The service was excellent, and the food was amazing. The birthday treat was an added bonus.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our experience at M was good from enteri ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our experience at M was good from entering the front door early (16 mins), to meeting Trevor our server to the champagne he recommended to the tasty bread and butter appetizer to the sumptuous Veal Migon. One tiny regret is not having another sliver of bread to capture the last drop of gravy that surrounded the veal. Dessert was the pecan cheesecake topped with vanilla ice cream. Very memorable for our anniversary dinner. Thank you!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

M...agnificent

Dined on June 3, 2016

The view, the ambience, the live jazz band, the location,...very well done!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was outstanding! We tried the ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was outstanding! We tried the Surf and Turf, the carpaccio on top of a tempura shrimp roll added a nice twist, the salmon, ahi tuna, asparagus and lobster mashed potatoes were lovely as well, great flavor profile and cooked perfectly as well. For dessert our server recommended the coffee and donuts which we also enjoyed very much, not too complicated- very warm beignets, crunchy on the outside, perfectly soft on the inside with a chocolate sauce, a delightful strawberry sauce and my favorite- frozen espresso. Overall we were very impressed and would definitely return. There is also a lovely lighted patio out back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

another birthday celebrated at M

Dined on May 28, 2016

We always enjoy an evening at M, it is our go-to restaurant for special occasions

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2

A nice restaurant, but in my opinion the ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

A nice restaurant, but in my opinion the food and service are better at ocean club.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was great. The steak in a bowl, ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was great. The steak in a bowl, was delicious. The service however, was rather disappointing. There were two private events, and so our meal ended up taking over two and a half hours. Normally I wouldn't mind, but we had a ten month old with us, and expressed that we were somewhat in a hurry (meaning we reasonably wanted our meal to take less than two hours).

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have never had a bad experience at a ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We have never had a bad experience at a Cameron Mitchell restaurant, but M is outstanding even in that rare company because of the fine view, ambience, food and service. We highly recommend M.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful coursing as we never felt rush ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Wonderful coursing as we never felt rushed. Excellent wine list and Josh's service was extraordinary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We have been to M many times before and, ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

We have been to M many times before and, except for one previous occasion, we were always very satisfied. This time, we were not disappointed either; most of what we eat, was excellent. However, I have to bring up the sushi issue. I ordered the ahi tuna sushi as an appetizer. I got rolls of rice filled with vegetables and topped with a paper thin transparent slice of tuna less than a square inch in size. I believe most people eat sushi for the fish, which is complemented by the nice sushi rice. Here, I could not even taste the tuna when I bit into the sushi. Finally, I collected all the paper thin pieces of tuna, eat them and left the rice on the plate. I should have sent it back. Our waitress was a very nice young lady but she was obviously a novice. Anyway, if you want to eat sushi at M, first make sure that you will get some seafood with it as well, not only the rice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love M. Don't get there often but sto ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I love M. Don't get there often but stopped by prior to a show last week at the Palace. They have fabulous cocktails. I had the vanilla Manhattan, delicious. Had one of their "known for" dishes, the veal tenderloin and cheeks (which I had never had and I love veal) and it was fantastic, melt in your mouth tender and great depth of flavors. My husband had the steak in a bowl which he thoroughly enjoyed. Don't skip the truffled mac and cheese, just plain yum. The biggest criticism I have is trying to figure out what to pick, there are just too many excellent options. I guess that's how they keep you coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous meal. My nephews trans ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We had a fabulous meal. My nephews transferring back to California for college. We wanted to send him off with an exceptional dinner and you provided just that! See you next time ! We thoroughly enjoy everything about your restaurant .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely incredible food, service, and ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Absolutely incredible food, service, and drinks. Chris, the bartender, makes the best French 75 I've ever had.

food3
ambience4
service2

The Poke was outstanding. I had the veal ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The Poke was outstanding. I had the veal and veal cheek, it was good but not the best I've ever had. My dining companion had the steak in a bowl. They enjoyed their meal. However, the quality just didn't seem to be up to par with the prices.The drinks while expensive, (we ordered spiced rum and Diet Coke. ) They only had diet Pepsi and that is all we tasted. We ended up asking for another rum straight up just to add to our drinks.

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Returned after 5 year gap

Dined on May 8, 2016

It has been about 5 years since my wife and I ate here last. It was such a memorable time that we were so excited to give M another try. This time it was about on par with the service that you would expect from the Pearl, which is to say alright but not quite up to a fine dining level. The sushi was so-so but we did get a lot of sashimi for the price. I do understand that this isn't a sushi restaurant but the food shouldn't be on the menu if it isn't to be on par with the fuagra, or steak dishes. The dish we were most excited about was the truffle mac & cheese. This was phenomenal the last time but not so this time. It was Mother's day but we were there before the rush. If this was our first experience we wouldn't be going back but I think that this was just an off day for M and will be giving it another go.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Mother's Day brunch. Guarant ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding Mother's Day brunch. Guaranteed excellent food. Great service.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Decent, but wine gouging hurt experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was good, service a bit slow, but not terrible. Waitress not overly attentive. Bad thing was wine at triple retail, I don't mind double, but when charging triple, you are gouging.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

I always look forward to dining at M

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Our daughter's birthday and of course she chose M - it is a special place to dine in Columbus and we choose it often for such occasions. Very consistent with great preparations and beautiful surroundings - we had a lovely evening and always recommend "Steak in a Bowl" to our friends who have not tried it yet. Yum.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

So-so visit this time ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Arrived 30 mins early for reservation. Bar had seats to enjoy a cocktail pre-flight which we planned on. Seated 5 mins after sitting at bar (uhh, why did i arrive early?). Probably should tell them next time: dont bother me until my reservation time. Ordered app. App came timely, and delicious as usual. Another server came to take our dinner order, no worry. Our server was running around. But drink refills and dinner were wayy to long in between. Another app came (even thou we didnt order it-expeditor was surprised) ... Dinner was ok when it arrived thou. Probably just chalk it up to bad night ... Still a great place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful place. Great scenery and servi ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Beautiful place. Great scenery and service however the food was not worth the price tag. $112 for 2 people and I have had much better food for a fraction of the cost. We were rather disappointed to say the least. WAY too heavy on the amount of salt used. My wifes was very salty as well and she didn't get the same thing as I did. I have no problems dropping some good cash on a great meal just not here anymore and its a shame because it was a lovely place. I just couldn't drink enough water to quench my thirst after that dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed our first trip to M. We have ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

We enjoyed our first trip to M. We have eaten many times at the other Cameron Mitchell restaurants and have never been disappointed

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Dissapointed

Dined on March 19, 2016

Not a bad place, but for the price, I wasn't impressed. Especially the lobster mashed potatoes. Came out with puddles of oil on them. Gross... chef needs to learn how to cook without dousing everything in oil. For the price of the meal, I expect better than what Red Lobster can do.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

really good food perfectly prepared!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Wedding dinner! Some would consider the portions small but I thought they were perfect and left room for an incredible dessert! Fantastic! Pricey as most Mitchell places but as always it's worth it for the quality.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good but pricey

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food and atmosphere were very good. The food is very pricey and while I enjoyed dinner, I think there are too many other notable and fine restaurants in which I would like to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

This was restaurant was recommended to us by a good friend, it had good reviews so we went. We visited the Columbus for the second time. When we got to the restaurant they took us to our table, which there was an issue with, but very quickly they fixed it and apologized. The rest of the evening was superb! The food, the service, the ambiance.....just everything was perfect! It reminded us to our visit in Vancouver. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

M is perfect for a special occasion!

Dined on March 6, 2016

We had an absolutely fantastic time at M. The black orchid martini is great. The steak in a bowl is pretty much the best. The asparagus are delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love the M

Dined on March 5, 2016

Always have a great experience from the staff to the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the truly greats...

Dined on March 5, 2016

We are always delighted with the service and food at M, and it is our 'go to restaurant' for all really special occasions. Since the closure of Handke's it definitely tops our short list for 'best restaurant in Columbus'. We have only one small criticism: Normally one of its attractions for us is the low ambient noise level, but for some reason that was not the case on our most recent visit on a Saturday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb as always! Server Kaki is excelle ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Superb as always! Server Kaki is excellent

food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, though not good as expected.

Dined on March 4, 2016

Good food, though not good as expected.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.