Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Lure + Till

4.1
324 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Vibrant Bar Scene

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Serving simple, honest food that celebrates Bay Area bounty in an intimate, casual setting, Lure + Till is Silicon Valley’s go-to restaurant for all occasions.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Monday- Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am
Lunch: Monday -Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Breakfast: Saturday-Sunday: 6:30am - 11am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(650) 666-3320
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jason Morales
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Emerson and Hamilton
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Two hour street parking and public parking lots are located throughout downtown.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Caltrain is located near our location.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 324 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1based on all time ratings
3.9
food
3.9
service
4.0
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

We are so sorry that this restaurant and bar is closed, thanks to the approach of Nobu. Plenty of excellent Japanese restaurants, very few like Lure and Till. The staff was amazing, professional and pleasant-now out of work!!!! A real shame this restaurant is closed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2016

We will miss this place (closing early Jan 2017). Great staff and great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2016

Food and service was great, went for Brunch on Christmas Day, not a lot of open restaurants, very glad we found this gem

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2016

We picked Lure & Till for our Christmas Day brunch with family because of the yelp reviews and we were not disappointed. Everyone's meal was delicious but the two who ordered the hamburgers said the meat was outstanding, and we will all definitely come back again. Excellent service as well.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 23, 2016

We've eaten here many times in the past couple years and previously this was one of our favorite Palo Alto restaurants. This particular meal only the kid pasta and hamachi appetizer got rave reviews. Too much sauce on most dishes so you lost the main flavors, sloppy composition, and slow service for the number of other patrons in the restaurant. The server was attentive when we shared our concerns, did tell us the chef had changed in the past few months,and offered a complimentary dessert (the deconstrcuted smores were quite good).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 10, 2016

The cocktails were incredible, I don't think you can go wrong with any of them! The food was okay.We absolutely loved the ambiance and the service was impeccable! I'd definitely come back for the drinks

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 7, 2016

Nice dinner out with a friend. Chickpea fritters in romesco sauce was a great decision.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 28, 2016

Good ambience and food selections. Our server was very informative..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2016

Before arriving in Palo Alto, we spent a few days in Napa where we had a number of excellent meals, but all four of us agreed that Lure + Till provided a great experience from start to finish. The decor is unique and provides a good vibe. The service was flawless but the highlight was the fresh and delicious food, especially the vegetables! The kitchen had no trouble accommodating dietary preferences and every dish was outstanding. The roasted vegetable salad was great. I had the duck and my husband had the cobia. Two of our young adult kids had risotto and one had scallops. We all cleaned our plates and made room for dessert. We will definitely return here whenever we are in Palo Alto.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 24, 2016

We went here for Thanksgiving dinner, and enjoyed it. The food was pretty good, and the service was friendly and attentive. We liked the gourmet take on the traditional Thanksgiving favorites, and the pastry chef did an excellent pumpkin pie.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 11, 2016

Service was stellar- from the hostess to the waitstaff. Unfortunately most of the food didn't match the excellence of the staff. The chopped salad was colorful and flavorful but the fried chicken sandwich was weird- the chicken skin wasn't fried. Instead it was left pale and rubbery with a thick fried batter surrounding it. My husband'S burger was over cooked and the deviled eggs were dense and without much flavor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 10, 2016

We had an outstanding meal! Perfect scallops, excellent duck breast, and the celery root soup was as good as our waitress said. Timely service, water glass refilled, one of the nicest dinners we have eaten this year!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 4, 2016

Short story: Overpriced for a menu that isn't executed well.

Long story: Lure and Till has great interior decoration, it looks like a great place for a business dinner or upscale date.

Service was slow, they often ignored me when I tried to get their attention and it took almost 20 minutes to get my drink order.

The menu has a wealth of delicious looking items that are somewhat expensive. If these items were executed well, they would be worth the price. However, I found that many menu items failed to deliver. I got their octopus appetizer, the octopus was overcooked and I only got 3 small pieces and the rest of the plate was overly bitter vegetables with no other flavors to counter the bitterness. The scallop entree was fantastic, the scallops were cooked perfectly and the accompanying ingredients worked well together. Finally, I got the poached pear for dessert. The pear was either under-ripe to begin with or it wasn't poached long enough because I had to use a steak knife to cut through it. It was also overwhelmingly flavored of red wine, which is was poached in, but there wasn't enough else going on with the dish to make it worth more than just getting a glass of red wine.

Overall, I paid an expensive bill for a meal that did not deliver. Would not recommend unless you only want to get the scallop entree, then it would be worth it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 4, 2016

Perfectly fine meal, but nothing special and there are much better alternatives for the price. We enjoyed their signature pasta special, but otherwise found the dishes to be just okay.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 3, 2016

Entire staff (including General manager) pitch in to make service outstanding. I'm a sucker for service with a smile, everyone was very pleasant! Would've rated food higher if my husband's Lamb pasta dish wasn't so overcooked. My squid in pasta was exceptional! As was the passion fruit dessert. Love the appetizers and the fresh crisp Market salad. Glad to find another option in PA. Walk into town if you're able, parking is ridiculous!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 3, 2016

A birthday lunch catchup with a girlfriend. I have wanted to try this place. Great fresh interesting combo menu. My husband would probably not enjoy finding a choice on the menu.
Deviled eggs...were fluffy, but a little too mustardy for me. The spot prawn salad over beans was lovely. I ordered the chickpeas cake, with ricotta salata...needed to be seasoned...a little lackluster. They comped a 🎂🎁birthday dessert which was fantastic.
Vanilla Pannacotta with a a current sorbet.
Wow.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 29, 2016

Food is not satisfying. Walked in past the host. I walked into the entire restaurant trying to figure out where to check in. What's amazing is the hostess held the door open for me when I walked into the front door but didn't ask me if I had a reservation to the restaurant despite the fact that she AND another gentleman who accompanied her at the desk saw me walk into the restaurant. Waitress was young and needed help. She was kind but not experienced which I can understand why she had to go back and fourth 3x's to the bar to get the drinks right.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 26, 2016

Business dinner with 5 colleagues. Food was good and clientele was very diverse and eclectic. Noise wasn't too bad so was able to converse easily. Nothing extreme so made for good atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 22, 2016

It was okay, and on a special anniversary evening without 3 kids, I was hoping for a wow. We were not wow'd for the price. Wine list was typical restaurant markup, and we almost brought a bottle from home and paid the corkage (which I recommend). Service was fine, but it was not very crowded on a weeknight. Food was most disappointing, okay, but not exceptional. Portions were small so we ended up ordering more appetizers after dinner. Glad we checked them out but we will not be back. So many other better options in the vicinity.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 22, 2016

Overall was good. However, the guy waiter took our order not too attentive and he didn't repeat the order until I repeat what I order. He is very nice and friendly that my friend order was incorrect. Very nice and pleasant experience. I would like to go back and try their dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 12, 2016

Great cocktails and excellent food. We loved all the dishes we ordered, stuck to sharing appetizers and salads which was more than enough. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 9, 2016

The outside seating is wonderful. Our waiter was just ok. They had a limited menu. They advertised oysters on the lunch menu and on the special tasting menu but had no oysters....that was disappointing. We won't rush back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2016

Enjoyed the décor and food was wonderful - I loved all the flavors that our chef introduced and care in presentation and subtle richness of tastes.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 4, 2016

Unfortunately Lure and Till closed. I thought it was a very good restaurant and was sad to see it gone.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 27, 2016

Had duck. Went away hungry and had to go eat with my friend after elsewhere.
Would have been fine with more veggies and potatoes perhaps.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 26, 2016

Expensive place for a simple lunch and the value is not proportionate to the cost. Like $55 for one person. Food is good but not exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 23, 2016

Everything was great including dessert and wine. Steak is highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 21, 2016

Great food. Horrid noise levels.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2016

The food, wine and atmosphere were excellent. Our waitress was attentive, yet low key. The overall experience was very positive based on the menu, wine list, and well trained staff. We'll return (regularly)...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2016

We had dinner on Friday night and really liked evening from our waitress to overall service to food. The evening was exceptional 😀

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a great anniversary dinner at Lure + Till. A staff member even stopped by our table to wish us happy anniversary, and our server brought us a special dessert on the house which was incredibly thoughtful...and delicious! Excellent wait staff and customer service all around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2016

Came here for dinner on a week night to catch up with a good friend. Service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. We ordered the house specialty, the Squid Ink Campanelle, which was outstanding. The Soft Shell Crab and Heirloom Tomato Salad appetizers were also very, very good. The atmosphere was comfortable - almost like sitting at home. We really liked that it felt outdoors without being outdoors. There were a lot of people in the restaurant but it wasn't noisy. The only drawback is that the valet parking was $20 for 3 hours.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 3, 2016

Thought it was hot new restaurant but was disappointed with food and service. Drinks were really good and glad they had heater with outdoor seating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2016

We went on a Saturday night at 7pm - not crowded and relatively quiet. That changed as the restaurant filled but was still okay by the end of our meal (a bit noisier though). Corn soup and beet appetizers were both very good. Duck was terrific. Service was attentive and our wait person was very bubbly. All in all a very nice meal. We will go back

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 3, 2016

When we arrived for our reservation, there was no host at stand. We had to go to front desk and he escorted us to a table. Ordered quiche which was served in a metal disposable receptacle add if it were not made in house. I cut into it and it was all liquid. I obviously sent it back. They made me an omelet instead which I was fully charged for.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 2, 2016

We like to go out for drinks on Friday nights and Lure & Till was a nice change of pace. They have very creative cocktails and mine was delicious. Instead of ordering entrees my husband and I shared some small plates including the charcuterie plate, which was pretty filling. I like the place for the drinks and the atmosphere more than the food, but food is very good too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 2, 2016

First time at Lure & Till. Really enjoyed it. The food was excellent, the ambience was perfect (indoor/outdoor and stylish), and our server/service outstanding. Started with the Hamachi and Crispy Pork Belly. Think they left off the smoked olive oil on the Hamachi as their was no sauce with it (just slight touch of salt) and I never tasted the smoked olive oil. The Hamachi was very fresh, but the dish seemed incomplete. Pork belly was outstanding - perfectly cooked, very flavorful. Excellent starter. My wife had the Squid Ink Campanelle - it as outstanding. Perfectly cooked, incredible flavor - really well done. I had the sole at the waiter's recommendation (choosing between the sole and scallops) and he was right. Amazing dish. Sole was flavorful, not dry, and the vegetables that accompanied were each perfectly cooked. The sabayon was on a portion of the dish and didn't overwhelm it. Dessert was a shared deconstructed 'Smores - I was skeptical, but it was a perfect end to a great meal. We could each try what we liked, and it turns out that graham cracker ice cream, a bit of house-made marsh mellow and chocolate custard combined was the best way to eat it! Will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 30, 2016

Drinks are good, thought the wine list is weak. Great room, and nice view out to the street. Unfortunately, the dishes were just not that good. And by that I mean they are ill conceived weird mixes of things. And beyond that, things were overcooked and undercooked. Go for a cocktail, but go elsewhere for eats.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 25, 2016

The cocktails are very good and the small bites on the menu are both unique and tasty. The knock for the ambiance is because there were two moving trucks parked right by the place, moving people into nearby apartments. The restaurant doesn't have control over that, so I just want to give fair warning to everyone.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 20, 2016

We made reservations at Lure & Till to celebrate a belated birthday. We arrived on time for our reservation only to be told they were running behind and we could not be seated for 15 to 30 minutes. No one suggested we get a drink at the bar or have some appetizers. After a great deal of movement on the part of the staff, we were seated in 15 minutes. Only to wait for a server. We actually watched a table near us get seated, get water, and have a waiter take drink orders while we sat at a table with nothing. We had to actually flag down wait staff . Then we had to ask for basics like bread when our appetizers arrived. At no point did management come over, introduce themselves and/or apologize. At the end of the meal the waitress stated they had taken off the $9 dessert (from a $250 bill) as an apology for the initial wait. Too little to late. While the food was fine it could not overcome the poor service and customer care. There are many choices when eating out and this will not be one we repeat.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9