About Lure + Till

180 Hamilton Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Serving simple, honest food that celebrates Bay Area bounty in an intimate, casual setting, Lure + Till is Silicon Valley’s go-to restaurant for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday- Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am
Lunch: Monday -Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Breakfast: Saturday-Sunday: 6:30am - 11am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Emerson and Hamilton

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 666-3320

Website:
http://www.lureandtill.com/

Parking Details:
Two hour street parking and public parking lots are located throughout downtown.

Public Transit:
Caltrain is located near our location.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Kelly

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Lure + Till Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Palo Alto ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Romantic (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Fun (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Business Meals (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Healthy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
 (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Horrid noise levels.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Great food. Horrid noise levels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

The food, wine and atmosphere were excel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food, wine and atmosphere were excellent. Our waitress was attentive, yet low key. The overall experience was very positive based on the menu, wine list, and well trained staff. We'll return (regularly)...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had dinner on Friday night and really ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had dinner on Friday night and really liked evening from our waitress to overall service to food. The evening was exceptional 😀

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great anniversary dinner at Lure + ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had a great anniversary dinner at Lure + Till. A staff member even stopped by our table to wish us happy anniversary, and our server brought us a special dessert on the house which was incredibly thoughtful...and delicious! Excellent wait staff and customer service all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here for dinner on a week night to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Came here for dinner on a week night to catch up with a good friend. Service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. We ordered the house specialty, the Squid Ink Campanelle, which was outstanding. The Soft Shell Crab and Heirloom Tomato Salad appetizers were also very, very good. The atmosphere was comfortable - almost like sitting at home. We really liked that it felt outdoors without being outdoors. There were a lot of people in the restaurant but it wasn't noisy. The only drawback is that the valet parking was $20 for 3 hours.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thought it was hot new restaurant but wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Thought it was hot new restaurant but was disappointed with food and service. Drinks were really good and glad they had heater with outdoor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We went on a Saturday night at 7pm - not ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went on a Saturday night at 7pm - not crowded and relatively quiet. That changed as the restaurant filled but was still okay by the end of our meal (a bit noisier though). Corn soup and beet appetizers were both very good. Duck was terrific. Service was attentive and our wait person was very bubbly. All in all a very nice meal. We will go back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When we arrived for our reservation, the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

When we arrived for our reservation, there was no host at stand. We had to go to front desk and he escorted us to a table. Ordered quiche which was served in a metal disposable receptacle add if it were not made in house. I cut into it and it was all liquid. I obviously sent it back. They made me an omelet instead which I was fully charged for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

We like to go out for drinks on Friday n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We like to go out for drinks on Friday nights and Lure & Till was a nice change of pace. They have very creative cocktails and mine was delicious. Instead of ordering entrees my husband and I shared some small plates including the charcuterie plate, which was pretty filling. I like the place for the drinks and the atmosphere more than the food, but food is very good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

First time at Lure & Till. Really enjoy ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

First time at Lure & Till. Really enjoyed it. The food was excellent, the ambience was perfect (indoor/outdoor and stylish), and our server/service outstanding. Started with the Hamachi and Crispy Pork Belly. Think they left off the smoked olive oil on the Hamachi as their was no sauce with it (just slight touch of salt) and I never tasted the smoked olive oil. The Hamachi was very fresh, but the dish seemed incomplete. Pork belly was outstanding - perfectly cooked, very flavorful. Excellent starter. My wife had the Squid Ink Campanelle - it as outstanding. Perfectly cooked, incredible flavor - really well done. I had the sole at the waiter's recommendation (choosing between the sole and scallops) and he was right. Amazing dish. Sole was flavorful, not dry, and the vegetables that accompanied were each perfectly cooked. The sabayon was on a portion of the dish and didn't overwhelm it. Dessert was a shared deconstructed 'Smores - I was skeptical, but it was a perfect end to a great meal. We could each try what we liked, and it turns out that graham cracker ice cream, a bit of house-made marsh mellow and chocolate custard combined was the best way to eat it! Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Drinks are good, thought the wine list i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Drinks are good, thought the wine list is weak. Great room, and nice view out to the street. Unfortunately, the dishes were just not that good. And by that I mean they are ill conceived weird mixes of things. And beyond that, things were overcooked and undercooked. Go for a cocktail, but go elsewhere for eats.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

The cocktails are very good and the smal ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The cocktails are very good and the small bites on the menu are both unique and tasty. The knock for the ambiance is because there were two moving trucks parked right by the place, moving people into nearby apartments. The restaurant doesn't have control over that, so I just want to give fair warning to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Fantastic entrees! Service was slow to s ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Fantastic entrees! Service was slow to start but improved over dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We made reservations at Lure & Till to c ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We made reservations at Lure & Till to celebrate a belated birthday. We arrived on time for our reservation only to be told they were running behind and we could not be seated for 15 to 30 minutes. No one suggested we get a drink at the bar or have some appetizers. After a great deal of movement on the part of the staff, we were seated in 15 minutes. Only to wait for a server. We actually watched a table near us get seated, get water, and have a waiter take drink orders while we sat at a table with nothing. We had to actually flag down wait staff . Then we had to ask for basics like bread when our appetizers arrived. At no point did management come over, introduce themselves and/or apologize. At the end of the meal the waitress stated they had taken off the $9 dessert (from a $250 bill) as an apology for the initial wait. Too little to late. While the food was fine it could not overcome the poor service and customer care. There are many choices when eating out and this will not be one we repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Server spilled 2 full glasses on one of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Server spilled 2 full glasses on one of us, as an apology he comp'd two glasses of wine. There were 3 of us at the table. Did NOTHING for the person whose pants were soaked, didn't offer to pay to have her clothes cleaned, didn't offer her a complimentary glass of wine, though he should have paid for her meal. The waitress made a joke about spilling coffee on a baby. No manager came over to apologize, it was handled terribly. We didn't make a scene, but a guest should be well treated even when they don't yell at you for a mistake - and it was a big one. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Best seabass EVER!. Scallops v. tasty. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best seabass EVER!. Scallops v. tasty. Fresh food ingredients high quality. Waitstaff and hostess superb; correctly guessed an anniversary dinner. Perfect date.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best patio dining in Palo Alto, great fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best patio dining in Palo Alto, great food with a Michelin-star chef in the kitchen, great drinks, what's not to like?

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find - was visiting the area on va ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great find - was visiting the area on vacation; good food and attentive service

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice chic restaurant, with lots of energ ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Nice chic restaurant, with lots of energy and a young crowd. The English peas and roasted carrots outshone the sole on my wife's plate, and the risotto, which the waiter said could be done vegan, was just bland. I would recommend something else for vegans (I should have known better, but thought the chef would add some olive oil and spices to make up for the cream and parmesan). The fried chic pea fritters (panisse?) were nice, thicker than expected and lightly fried. But they would smothered with dollops of which Romesco sauce. The sauce wasn't bad; there was just way too much of it. The heirloom tomato appetizer was good but not exciting. Overall disappointing; I would not recommend Lure + Till.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The drinks are super expensive. Whilst t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The drinks are super expensive. Whilst that is fine if I'm getting something extraordinary, but at $15-$16 a drink, I expect the mixologist/bar tender to be able to tell me what some of the obscure sounding ingredients are. Similar to a server at a restaurant serving a $40 entree. The bar tender seemed very bothered by me asking what was in some of their drinks and kept repeating "there's too many ingredients in the drink". He had the opportunity to seduce me into loving the drink before i ordered it. Instead he left me irritated.

The food is very expensive and just not worth the money.

Love the atmosphere. I wouldn't mind meeting a friend there for a standard drink and an appetizer but that's it. Its too bad because I've enjoyed my time there on previous occasions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Horrific service. Actually closer to no ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Horrific service. Actually closer to non-existent. Waiter walked PAST our table frequently! But didn't even make eye contact. When I ordered a second glass of the same wine,he left but then came back to ask what I had the first time! Food OK, but style seemed a more important goal than flavor. Restaurant interior style is an dissonant mashup of wall coverings. I am guessing that eating/drinking outside is the main goal of coming to the restaurant. Finally at the end of dinner, the ultimate surprise - a $20 valet charge! Hey, guys, this is Palo Alto not Manhattan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

very small portions and high prices. foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

very small portions and high prices. food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Inventive cocktails, delicious food, fun ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Inventive cocktails, delicious food, fun vibe, and a warm and attentive team - probably my favorite spot in Palo Alto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, loved the decor but the ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent food, loved the decor but the noise level was extreme. Made it hard to have a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Had a great experience. Very "posh" as m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a great experience. Very "posh" as my wife says. Got the ink squid pasta (sounds weird, but it's really good!). Very impressive bar and setting. Feels upscale yet casual. Prices weren't bad at all, entrees ran $20-$36.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location/atmosphere

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great location/atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great restaurant design. Goo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food. Great restaurant design. Good location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Some of the food was great, especially t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Some of the food was great, especially the scallops and the asparagus soup. The sea bass was very plain. Desserts were disappointing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We generally drink wine but they have an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We generally drink wine but they have an extensive selection of beers that sounded interesting so we each had a beer which were good. We also enjoyed our first courses, the oysters and the cold asparagus soup which was very tasty and a nice option on a very warm evening. For the second courses my husband had the lamb ravioli which he said was very good but I had the sea bass which I felt was overcooked as it was rather dry. This was especially disappointing as I had the sea bass at another restaurant a few weeks before and it was very moist and delicious and so that was more what I was expecting. (And the previous time was at an Indian restaurant where I don't normally order fish ).. So overall the experience was good but with so many restaurants in that price range I think I would be tempted to try somewhere else next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Slow inattentive service, average food o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Slow inattentive service, average food overpriced. Hardly any red wines below $50 or white wines below $40. The restaurant made an error for which the server was inadequate. We asked for the Manager. When he came he never made eye contact. He said a mistake was made but he never said "I'm sorry." He said he would "fix"" things. He never offered to charge us less. He took no responsibility either personally or for the restaurant. We asked him specifically what he would do to see that it didn't happen again, and he said he was fixing the problem. The obvious answer to "what will you do ..." was seeing that the employees had additional training. Any manager should say this when there is ever a service issue. There is no cost to saying you will add training, and to not say it is a bad business practice. This restaurant wants to make easy money off expensive cocktails and young new Facebook employees who have extra cash and don't mind bad service. I will never go back and will tell my friends not to go. And remember, 5 star ratings are really 4, because 1 star means ZERO. Stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The service was really slow. We ended up ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The service was really slow. We ended up not ordering dinner and going to another place because of it. It was hot and there was no air circulation so it was uncomfortable. Our waiter was nice when he made it to us, but there were only a handful of tables that were seated and didn't explain the slow service. The food was fine, nothing worthwhile. I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Tasty food with a fun bar vibe. A little ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Tasty food with a fun bar vibe. A little loud for a private conversation but could be fun for a group. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been there 3 times now. The food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I have been there 3 times now. The food and service were great. It is specially good for small groups. The restaurant also has a beautiful outdoor section which is nice for summer nights.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small menu; excellent choices. Service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Small menu; excellent choices. Service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had heard good things about Lure and T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I had heard good things about Lure and TIll. The ambiance was great and it seems like it would be a good place to get together for a cocktail or something along those lines. I went there with my husband for dinner and everything was mediocre. I had the chicken, which was actually very salty, and my husband had the steak, which he said was fine, but nothing to write home about. We also ordered the chickpea appetizer, which was fine as well, but not overly amazing. The menu overall was fairly generic... stuff you'd find at most contemporary american dining establishments.

The dinner was fine, but with so many other options in Palo Alto I doubt I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Service could be improved. Not enough w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Service could be improved. Not enough waiters and water was not filled in timely manner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was poor....took 10 minutes for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Service was poor....took 10 minutes for waiter to return to see whether my friend liked the wine she tasted and then another 10 to get her another glass. My fish was overcooked. Her scallops was too salty.

Not on my list which is unfortunate because it is a nice spot in a great location and the menu was nice. My daughter liked her risotto. The check does fine with just vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Had a great time at this spot for my bro ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Had a great time at this spot for my brother's graduation dinner. The food was good and the ambiance was nice--a bit quiet when we arrived but we were there on the earlier side. Not cheap but that seemed typical for the area (we are out of towners). Lovely selection of specialty cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic restaurant. Some of the best ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Fantastic restaurant. Some of the best food in the Peninsula!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were both very good ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The food and service were both very good. It is an expensive restaurant so one should be prepared to pay.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.