About Lure + Till

180 Hamilton Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Serving simple, honest food that celebrates Bay Area bounty in an intimate, casual setting, Lure + Till is Silicon Valley’s go-to restaurant for all occasions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday- Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am
Lunch: Monday -Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Breakfast: Saturday-Sunday: 6:30am - 11am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Emerson and Hamilton

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 666-3320

Website:
http://www.lureandtill.com/

Parking Details:
Two hour street parking and public parking lots are located throughout downtown.

Public Transit:
Caltrain is located near our location.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Kelly

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lure + Till Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Palo Alto ›

fit for foodies (29)
great for outdoor dining (28)
special occasion (19)
See All
good for groups (17)
great for lunch (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
neighborhood gem (13)
hot spot (13)
romantic (9)
great for brunch (6)
notable wine list (6)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Horrific service. Actually closer to no ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Horrific service. Actually closer to non-existent. Waiter walked PAST our table frequently! But didn't even make eye contact. When I ordered a second glass of the same wine,he left but then came back to ask what I had the first time! Food OK, but style seemed a more important goal than flavor. Restaurant interior style is an dissonant mashup of wall coverings. I am guessing that eating/drinking outside is the main goal of coming to the restaurant. Finally at the end of dinner, the ultimate surprise - a $20 valet charge! Hey, guys, this is Palo Alto not Manhattan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

very small portions and high prices. foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

very small portions and high prices. food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Inventive cocktails, delicious food, fun ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Inventive cocktails, delicious food, fun vibe, and a warm and attentive team - probably my favorite spot in Palo Alto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, loved the decor but the ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent food, loved the decor but the noise level was extreme. Made it hard to have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Had a great experience. Very "posh" as m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a great experience. Very "posh" as my wife says. Got the ink squid pasta (sounds weird, but it's really good!). Very impressive bar and setting. Feels upscale yet casual. Prices weren't bad at all, entrees ran $20-$36.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location/atmosphere

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great location/atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Some of the food was great, especially t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Some of the food was great, especially the scallops and the asparagus soup. The sea bass was very plain. Desserts were disappointing

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We generally drink wine but they have an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We generally drink wine but they have an extensive selection of beers that sounded interesting so we each had a beer which were good. We also enjoyed our first courses, the oysters and the cold asparagus soup which was very tasty and a nice option on a very warm evening. For the second courses my husband had the lamb ravioli which he said was very good but I had the sea bass which I felt was overcooked as it was rather dry. This was especially disappointing as I had the sea bass at another restaurant a few weeks before and it was very moist and delicious and so that was more what I was expecting. (And the previous time was at an Indian restaurant where I don't normally order fish ).. So overall the experience was good but with so many restaurants in that price range I think I would be tempted to try somewhere else next time.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Slow inattentive service, average food o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Slow inattentive service, average food overpriced. Hardly any red wines below $50 or white wines below $40. The restaurant made an error for which the server was inadequate. We asked for the Manager. When he came he never made eye contact. He said a mistake was made but he never said "I'm sorry." He said he would "fix"" things. He never offered to charge us less. He took no responsibility either personally or for the restaurant. We asked him specifically what he would do to see that it didn't happen again, and he said he was fixing the problem. The obvious answer to "what will you do ..." was seeing that the employees had additional training. Any manager should say this when there is ever a service issue. There is no cost to saying you will add training, and to not say it is a bad business practice. This restaurant wants to make easy money off expensive cocktails and young new Facebook employees who have extra cash and don't mind bad service. I will never go back and will tell my friends not to go. And remember, 5 star ratings are really 4, because 1 star means ZERO. Stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The service was really slow. We ended up ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The service was really slow. We ended up not ordering dinner and going to another place because of it. It was hot and there was no air circulation so it was uncomfortable. Our waiter was nice when he made it to us, but there were only a handful of tables that were seated and didn't explain the slow service. The food was fine, nothing worthwhile. I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Tasty food with a fun bar vibe. A little ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Tasty food with a fun bar vibe. A little loud for a private conversation but could be fun for a group. Service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been there 3 times now. The food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I have been there 3 times now. The food and service were great. It is specially good for small groups. The restaurant also has a beautiful outdoor section which is nice for summer nights.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small menu; excellent choices. Service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Small menu; excellent choices. Service was excellent.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had heard good things about Lure and T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I had heard good things about Lure and TIll. The ambiance was great and it seems like it would be a good place to get together for a cocktail or something along those lines. I went there with my husband for dinner and everything was mediocre. I had the chicken, which was actually very salty, and my husband had the steak, which he said was fine, but nothing to write home about. We also ordered the chickpea appetizer, which was fine as well, but not overly amazing. The menu overall was fairly generic... stuff you'd find at most contemporary american dining establishments.

The dinner was fine, but with so many other options in Palo Alto I doubt I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Service could be improved. Not enough w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Service could be improved. Not enough waiters and water was not filled in timely manner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was poor....took 10 minutes for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Service was poor....took 10 minutes for waiter to return to see whether my friend liked the wine she tasted and then another 10 to get her another glass. My fish was overcooked. Her scallops was too salty.

Not on my list which is unfortunate because it is a nice spot in a great location and the menu was nice. My daughter liked her risotto. The check does fine with just vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Had a great time at this spot for my bro ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Had a great time at this spot for my brother's graduation dinner. The food was good and the ambiance was nice--a bit quiet when we arrived but we were there on the earlier side. Not cheap but that seemed typical for the area (we are out of towners). Lovely selection of specialty cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic restaurant. Some of the best ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Fantastic restaurant. Some of the best food in the Peninsula!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were both very good ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The food and service were both very good. It is an expensive restaurant so one should be prepared to pay.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was good.

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Nice ambience for a midweek date night. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Nice ambience for a midweek date night. Food was good but not outstanding. Good variety of choices, prices on par for Palo alto.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Pasta was great. Service poor.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was good, service very poor. We had to flag down 2 different wait people after 20 minutes of waiting to order a drink. Finally a 3rd person took our drink order and said that the hostess had been "mixed" up. Food came in a timely matter. Coffee order was mixed up. All three of us ordered the same thing but the server only brought 2. It took another 5 minutes to get the 3rd cup of coffee. The servers were also having a difficult time hearing us. It was too loud to hear my friend speak across the table. Overall the din made it impossible to speak to anyone except the person seated next to you.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Server was abrasive and kept rushing us. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Server was abrasive and kept rushing us. Needs more table service training.

Food was good, atmosphere loud - could barely hear my girlfriend, but the negative was our waiter who was not friendly and kept rushing us.....bit of an attitude.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Mother's Day Dinner was perfect

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We were very impressed with the staff and the presentation of the food. Our hostess Stephanie was lovely and Vincent that brought the wine was awesome as well.

We thought we wanted to sit inside so we were shown to a table inside and decided that the outdoor atmosphere with heaters was better.

The hostess was very gracious letting us choose where we would be most comfortable.

We had cocktails, wine, entrees and dessert.

Overall, it was a very pleasant Mother's Day!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Mother's Day Brunch Disappointment

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I've eaten at L&T many times and ai will again but my experience this past Mother's Day was very disappointing. I was frankly not looking for a Mother's Day Brunch, simply brunch, and was surprised after being seated to find that the only food available was brunch -- for $65 + $25 for bottomless mimosas. My friend was ready to leave when she heard the price but I was sufficiently worn out from looking for parking that I told her I would buy the meal this time and she can treat me next time to a much less costly meal. Well, the food was tasty but absolutely not worth the money. Smoked salmon with creme fraiche and caviar, deviled eggs, a boring boring cheese plate, cold, unattractive miniature store bought croissants,, 2 green salads, Yougurt and fruit, chicken hash, some veggies, bacon and sausage and strawberry shortcake and bread pudding is simply not a $65 brunch. No seafood, no substantial meat dish, no sushi, no array of desserts, nothing interesting or tasty and not nicely displayed. Extra silverware was not to be found, the waitress brought the bill after 15 minutes assuming we were done, coffee and tea and juice were extra. Really a ripoff.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Last time I was there it's when they fir ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Last time I was there it's when they first opened and the food was OK but the service was not so great and they had the whole place open so I was really cold. It was not the greatest experience. But this time I had a great experience! They apparently changed the menu and the food was great! And the service was hugely improved. Our server was so sweet and attentive, we loved her! Definitely will come back again sooner this time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food was delicious and our server was te ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

food was delicious and our server was terrific----very knowledgeable about menu and wine choices, and she made wonderful recommendations. I was undecided about which wine by the glass to order and she brought out 2 small samples of each to taste so I could decide.

the beet side dish was yummy, duck was just right with tasty vegetables.

the decor and ambience in restaurant very modern and clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wait staff.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Great wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top Tier in Palo Alto

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Great atmosphere, limited but very well executed menu, professional service. Best octopus that I've had on the West Coast. Fish main coarse was also excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I enjoy this place. It's qui ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

My wife and I enjoy this place. It's quiet and the food is very good. I wish there was a bit more of it in the plate :) Service was great and staff friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Squid Ink is Yummy

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Their cocktails are delicious, their appetizers will make your mouth water, the entrees do not disappoint and their dessert is delectable. A win across all fronts, so pleased I came here! Also, the waitstaff are incredibly attentive and knowledgeable about the menu so they make great recommendations based off personal preferences.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great inspired drinks and veggie options

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Great mixed drinks and avocado toast! If I didn't hate going to places that serve Foie Gras it would be a great repeat spot...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Best duck ever! Delicious confit and du ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Best duck ever! Delicious confit and duck meat sausage provided two ways to enjoy it. We shared the meaty hamachi and the octopus small plates to start. Food was great, service attentive. It was pre-concert, so quiet, but filling up by 7 when we left. We were by the window, my only complaint was that there is a slight draft, and the wind set up a low hum, but that's not normally a problem!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great food even better service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

It's always a pleasure to eat at Lure and Till-interesting menu items well executed and a friendly, efficient wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first vist

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Many pluses: Great service, not large portions but excellent presentation. Prices were quite high ($14 for a Rusty Nail) so I'll consider this for special occasions.

The Men's Room urinal is a 'must see.' I put a picture of it on facebook.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Okay

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Lure + Till for all the hype and hipness of the decor is overall average. The bar seemed to be full and they certainly had a nice cocktail menu but being pregnant I could not partake, so cannot review the bar scene.

The food was good but nothing spectacular given the poshness of the menu. It seems like they are trying too hard to be foodies when they could just make really good basic food.

I would go back if the menu was updated just to see if they had honed it properly.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Staff was very friendly and the food was ...

 
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Staff was very friendly and the food was delicious

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not worth the visit

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The hostess was unwelcoming and the food was sub par. Our server was the best part of the visit but she wasn't helped by the kitchen. Really too bad because it showed such promise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

For serious foodies

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Charming setting a serious view on recipes. Go in if you are celebrating something worthwhile, because even though there is serious thought behind a rather limited menu, it will cost you. Totally worth it though - pasta with braised short ribs is a standout!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible service, great food

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Terrible service, great food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.