About Lupo Verde

1401 T St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Authentic, rustic, Italian fare featuring a variety of small plates, house-made charcuteries, breads, cheeses and antipasti. Wood-fired pizzas are also available along with house-made pastas, whole roasted fish and a premiere selection of meats during dinner. A true Italian experience in an intimate two-story setting.


While making your reservation please be aware that the restaurant provides seating on two floors. On the first floor we have high top tables which are community style seating for small groups or individual large party tables. The upstairs floor is a traditional dining room. Please let us know if you have a preference on where would you like to be seated when making your reservation. We will do our best to honor your request depending on availability of tables.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday Dinner : 5:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday-Sunday Brunch : 10.30am-3.30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 827-4752

Website:
http://lupoverdedc.com/

Public Transit:
U Street Metro

Executive Chef:
Domenico Apollaro

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lupo Verde Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (70)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Romantic (47)
See All
Special Occasion (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Hot Spot (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Great for Brunch (26)
Good for Groups (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Late-night Find (12)
Great for Lunch (7)
Scenic View (7)
Kid-friendly (4)
Business Meals (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I took my girlfriend to Lupo Verde for h ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

I took my girlfriend to Lupo Verde for her birthday dinner and we had a fantastic time. The food and wine were both great, especially the pulpo! Great place for a date

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, just wonderful. We were exha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful, just wonderful. We were exhausted after a long drive from Boston and settling my son at his college. The food and atmosphere were great, and the day was transformed into a special occasion. Highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Extraordinary food and service. One of t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Extraordinary food and service. One of the best octopus (polpo) I have ever had

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure why folks rave about this spot. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Not sure why folks rave about this spot. Food is just okay. Service ranges from rude to awkward to just plain inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Best charcuterie, service and cocktails!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best charcuterie, service and cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A friend recommended the place but we we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A friend recommended the place but we were disappointed with the food. We had focaccia very oily and we got a plate with olive oil to deep focaccia in it. The pasta we ordered were not great. Maybe the only good thing was the dessert. It is true that most people around us did not eat but had drinks. Maybe this is what we should have done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We had not been there since Christmas ev ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had not been there since Christmas eve which was a lovely time. When we went back this summer, we had wondered why this was not on our list more frequently. The food was delicious and the service was attentive but not overly bearing. We will be back much sooner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another excellent evening with great foo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Another excellent evening with great food and a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Portions were super small

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Portions were super small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

W O W we were so happy we found this res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

W O W we were so happy we found this restaurant for our first evening during our stay in Seattle! The food was really sumptuous and our server, Bruce, was helpful, professional and friendly. He even gave me a tin of one of the special seasoning, za-atar, to take home. My husband had and really enjoyed the pork chopped seasoned with it. We will definitely recommend this restaurant and hope we have an opportunity to go again sometime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food it was my third time each ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food it was my third time each time food was great very good wine list

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been here for dinner and the food i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I've been here for dinner and the food is amazing. On this occasion I was there for brunch which was sadly very disappointing. My dining companion ordered the eggs Benedict and was unable to eat it: tons of sauce, mealy texture and a gigantic portion. I ordered a pasta dish that was average at best. The brunch menu looked subpar but perhaps we should have stuck with that. Will not be back for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Delicious food and drink, very welcoming ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Delicious food and drink, very welcoming, great experience. Loved the scallops and artichoke.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was clearly having some mecha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Restaurant was clearly having some mechanical issues

- they were out of lot of things on the menu (no pizza, several other items). after we placed order, the waiter came back and apologized that they were out of the scallops...and we had to pick something else...even

the dessert we ordered...they came back and said it wasn't available...

A tad frustrating...but they handled it well - comped several items, sent over a prickly pear digistif - and were very apologetic. Food we had was great...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food across the board. Fresh i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent food across the board. Fresh ingredients, well prepared.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, however, portions were tiny. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food, however, portions were tiny. Shouldn't pay $15 for pasta and then grab McDonald sandwich to be filled

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Came here for my birthday and had the be ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Came here for my birthday and had the best night. Came right back two days later. Everything was perfect. The service is amazing. Had the best time. Easily my favorite restaurant on 14th St.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lupo Verde was one of a few restaurants ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Lupo Verde was one of a few restaurants that accepted the Open Table gift certificate. Service was a bit slow but the food is delicious. It was quiet for a weeknight as well. A little too pricey to eat here all the time though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great for a date night!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great for a date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a late lunch, early dinn ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place for a late lunch, early dinner, or just for a whenever meal. I've always been impressed with how well the staff knows their food and drinks. Great little spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is very well crafted and delicious. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food is very well crafted and delicious. Service, however, was sorely lacking. We waited for ten minutes after being seated for the server to arrive. The server paid little attention to our table throughout the meal, and never asked if we wanted additional drinks. Took forever to provide the bill when asked. During our entire meal, we were one of only three tables occupied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Loved my meal. Started with the chilled ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Loved my meal. Started with the chilled yellow tomato soup. It had a small bread raft that was topped with fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, anchovies & herbs/greens. Outstanding, but I put the anchovies to the side. (Not my favorite.) Had the tonnarelli cacao e pepe. Also delicious. Wine list had many interesting choices. Will be coming back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding service! Probably one of the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding service! Probably one of the better experiences I have had in over ten years in DC, in terms of table service. Lively ambience and authentic, homemade pasta, coupled with an impressive Italian wine list-all makes Lupo Verde on of DC's true gems for casual to classy dining experiences!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The only good thing about the dinner was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The only good thing about the dinner was the wine. We ordered two appetizers. The carpaccio was terrible, no flavor at all. we expected parmeggiano 24 years according to the menu, and the dish came with a cream of parmeggiano that made impossible to taste the flavour of the cheese. and some greasy arugula fritters and without flavor. the dish was served over arugula and greens, we could not cut the meat because of the plate shape. it was the weirdest carpaccio i have ever tried. Also, the bread was not fresh. the manager said it was baked the same day, but probably for the morning service. the second appetizer, better but nothing worth remembering. overall, tasteless appetizers. So bad, we did not order the entree. at least they did not charge us with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

I was so looking forward to dining at Lu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was so looking forward to dining at Lupo Verde given that it has such a cute exterior, is in such a great neighborhood and it made the Washingtonian Top 100. Unfortunately, the restaurant did not live up to my expectations. Despite having made a reservation a month before to have dinner with a friend who had lived out of the country for a year, we ended up being sat on a high-top bar table with other guests. I mentioned my reservation and that I had made it a month prior to the host, but the host did not seem to care. Our server started off friendly and helpful, but then disappeared for 20 minutes after we ordered a bottle of wine. When we finally got a hold of him, he said he couldn't find the bottle we requested (a popular Pinot Grigio). The food itself was good, not great -- especially in a city filled with amazing Italian restaurants. My friend and I left happy to have caught up, but disappointed in the experience overall. I will not be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

We went to Lupo Verdi to celebrate my bi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We went to Lupo Verdi to celebrate my birthday. The service was great as well as the food. I agree with other reviews that portions are small for the price. Our biggest disappointment was that there was no AC on one of the hottest nights of the year. We were not told this when checking in, which is a huge a management concern. We should have been given the option of going elsewhere. Then we were served water in the smallest glasses possible. To be fair, they were refilled constantly but shouldn't you give out bigger glasses when it's at least 85 degrees in your restaurant? We loved the food but won't be back anytime soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The first time I went to Lupo Verde abou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The first time I went to Lupo Verde about a month ago for dinner with my boyfriend, the service was terrible - not because the waiter was inattentive, but because he was noticeably trying to get us to buy whatever we could to up the bill total and it came off as pushy and desperate. My friends I figured we'd give the restaurant another shot for brunch this past weekend. This time around, we didn't see a waiter for over 20 minutes and were extremely confused about why we weren't being paid attention to. If the issue is short staff, this venue needs to find ways to mitigate that - and also to hire people with customer service skills and respect. The food, ambiance, and location are too good to waste on poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The food is very good and plentiful for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is very good and plentiful for the price. The service is TERRIBLE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

At the end of our meal we saw a mouse si ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

At the end of our meal we saw a mouse sitting there looking up at us for scraps. We told our server and he shrugged his shoulders. Not even an apology. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

Outstanding....loved every minute of it. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Outstanding....loved every minute of it. Outstanding....loved every minute of it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food!!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Amazing service and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Live in the neighborhood but had never b ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Live in the neighborhood but had never been. Reserved for six for birthday celebration. I'm a Lupo Verde convert!! Amazing food, awesome service. Our waitperson was the absolute best - suggestions, knowledge, etc. Polpo exquisite as was all pastas, cheese board, desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the French toast for brunch and it w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had the French toast for brunch and it was absolutely delicious. Also had a drink called the Spritz, which was really refreshing for an 85 degree day (albeit a tad bitter). My brunch companion had the spaghetti carbonara and loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Just a great restaurant all around: exce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Just a great restaurant all around: exceptional food, drinks, top service, atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was lacking, especially in the b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was lacking, especially in the beginning. We had to wait quite awhile before the bottle of wine was delivered to the table - even though the manage on-duty was the one to take our order. Our appetizer also took a very long time to arrive. However, once the food started coming it was divine! We even shared a dessert and enjoyed cappuccinos. I ordered the cacio y pepe - a favorite Roman pasta dish that is generally hard to find. It did not disappoint.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Lupo Verde has Very good food and a grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Lupo Verde has Very good food and a great staff. We had wine and apps and meals and were very satisfied

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing, we had a fabulous ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food was amazing, we had a fabulous meal. It's a dining experience. We were very happy that the kitchen is open later than most places and they will serve you dinner if you sit as late as 10:00 on a weeknight! The patio shuts down at 11:00 and you have to go inside. Overall an extremely pleasurable dining experience and we will go back again SOON!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lupo verde was lovely as usual! We sat o ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Lupo verde was lovely as usual! We sat outside and the weather and atmosphere contributed to a wonderful evening of great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food and Service!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and Service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall pretty darn good. I am glad our ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Overall pretty darn good. I am glad our party got there early. Once the place filled up it was noisy and crowded. Great service. Food was great. Fun cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.