About Lupo Verde

1401 T St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Authentic, rustic, Italian fare featuring a variety of small plates, house-made charcuteries, breads, cheeses and antipasti. Wood-fired pizzas are also available along with house-made pastas, whole roasted fish and a premiere selection of meats during dinner. A true Italian experience in an intimate two-story setting.


While making your reservation please be aware that the restaurant provides seating on two floors. On the first floor we have high top tables which are community style seating for small groups or individual large party tables. The upstairs floor is a traditional dining room. Please let us know if you have a preference on where would you like to be seated when making your reservation. We will do our best to honor your request depending on availability of tables.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday Dinner : 5:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday-Sunday Brunch : 10.30am-3.30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 827-4752

Website:
http://lupoverdedc.com/

Public Transit:
U Street Metro

Executive Chef:
Domenico Apollaro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lupo Verde Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (53)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
See All
Romantic (34)
Special Occasion (31)
Hot Spot (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Late-night Find (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
People Watching (5)
Scenic View (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Casual (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service were truly fantasti ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were truly fantastic. Our server was incredibly accommodating and ensured we had a great first experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very tasty food, but pretty expensive fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very tasty food, but pretty expensive for what it was and how much you got.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Five of us dined at Lupo Verde on a Thu ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Five of us dined at Lupo Verde on a Thursday evening. We were seated right near the front door, which was not ideal, but was all that was available even though we had a reservation. We were concerned the space would be too noisy for good conversation, but it was fine. The food was quite tasty. Four of us had pasta dishes; they all were good. Note that the pasta portions are not large, but they were plenty as we also shared a salad. The fifth person had tomato soup and a salad; both were quite good. We would definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is very good. Inside is too noisy b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food is very good. Inside is too noisy but sitting outside was lovely on a beautiful evening. Service was very slow and quite inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I visit DC often on business and use the ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I visit DC often on business and use the opportunity to catch up with friends. I have dined at Lupo Verde twice now and had wonderful experiences. Great food, variety on menu, good options for Vegetarians and great atmosphere. Located on vibrant 14th street but great for a conversation with friends or a date!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The wrong dish was served to my dining c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The wrong dish was served to my dining companion. Although the dish tasted well once it arrived, nothing was offered to us to compensate for the 10-15 minute delay while waiting for the correct dish.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

strangly no bread was served, or even of ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

strangly no bread was served, or even offered at a brunch ??

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The food we had was very good although t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food we had was very good although the portions seemed small. Perhaps they expect customers to purchase primi, secondi, etc. They should have mentioned that if that's the case. The waiter was attentive at first but he abandoned us to another waiter. The second waiter was not attentive at all, and after a 30 min wait for desserts (with one request to the second waiter for a status on the desserts) the manager came by. When we repeated our problem, the desserts suddenly appeared. And they were rather disappointing. They did not charge us for the desserts after we requested that. The building is attractive and a good location. They need to fix some things before I would go back. We appreciate the managers intervention but it shouldn't have to come to that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Okay somewhat Italian food. Disappointi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Okay somewhat Italian food. Disappointing ambiance and flavored not outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

This was the least authentic Italian foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was the least authentic Italian food imaginable. I ordered the burrata and was presented with a Safeway quality mozzarella. The pesto I ordered was made with the sauce base prepared for the cacio e pepe and the final product was inedibly salty. Both dishes were sent back and the waiters and managers were very gracious and brought us free dessert. I had come to lupo verde a year before and the food had been impeccable. Unfortunately, I later found out, the day before had been the former chef's (an italian) last day. That day was the new chefs new day, but there must have been a new sous chef as well for how poorly those dishes had been prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Pros: food and service were wonderful; i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Pros: food and service were wonderful; interesting salad and scallops cooked just right. Cons: too dark to really see the menu or the food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The waiter was a bit rude but the food w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The waiter was a bit rude but the food was amazing

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great dinner - waitress was wonderful. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great dinner - waitress was wonderful. Host at the front was a wee bit chilly and not very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was amazing- fried artichokes were ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was amazing- fried artichokes were best we've ever had. The main courses were perfect, martini's were stellar. We were disappointed to be sat upstairs, and then even more disappointed to be on the through-lane to the bathroom and kitchen stairs since we had reservations days in advance- not just a walk in where they had to put us at a table. The outdoor patio looked marvelous, and the downstairs was spacious with open windows to the outside. Basically- if they lead you to the stairs ask again to be seated downstairs, but if all else, go with it because the food makes up for the cramped quarters.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is just ok, no so many options ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food is just ok, no so many options . Not a place to go with kids any age

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The service was slow and servers were in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The service was slow and servers were inattentive. The food was cold upon arrival and there was hair in the omelette. I was shocked at how awful the experience was. Not what I expected from Lupo Verde.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The amazing food and the atmosphere

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The amazing food and the atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten several times since it open ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I have eaten several times since it opened and I found the food and service to be good. But I was disappointed with the management. When my party arrived, we were seated at a communal table with 3 other people across from the bar. The high stools were unsteady and uncomfortable. When I requested a private table, I was told that many tables were used for a private function. I informed the staff that in the future, that management should inform diners at the time (or even after) reservation about seating arrangements.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Lupo Verde is a jem off of 14th Street N ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Lupo Verde is a jem off of 14th Street NW and T St NW. It is a little pricey, but the food is excellent. A great place for a group dinner with friends or family.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Healthy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I took my girlfriend to Lupo Verde for h ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I took my girlfriend to Lupo Verde for her birthday dinner and we had a fantastic time. The food and wine were both great, especially the pulpo! Great place for a date

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, just wonderful. We were exha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Wonderful, just wonderful. We were exhausted after a long drive from Boston and settling my son at his college. The food and atmosphere were great, and the day was transformed into a special occasion. Highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Extraordinary food and service. One of t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Extraordinary food and service. One of the best octopus (polpo) I have ever had

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure why folks rave about this spot. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Not sure why folks rave about this spot. Food is just okay. Service ranges from rude to awkward to just plain inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Best charcuterie, service and cocktails!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best charcuterie, service and cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A friend recommended the place but we we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A friend recommended the place but we were disappointed with the food. We had focaccia very oily and we got a plate with olive oil to deep focaccia in it. The pasta we ordered were not great. Maybe the only good thing was the dessert. It is true that most people around us did not eat but had drinks. Maybe this is what we should have done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We had not been there since Christmas ev ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had not been there since Christmas eve which was a lovely time. When we went back this summer, we had wondered why this was not on our list more frequently. The food was delicious and the service was attentive but not overly bearing. We will be back much sooner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another excellent evening with great foo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Another excellent evening with great food and a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Portions were super small

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Portions were super small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

W O W we were so happy we found this res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

W O W we were so happy we found this restaurant for our first evening during our stay in Seattle! The food was really sumptuous and our server, Bruce, was helpful, professional and friendly. He even gave me a tin of one of the special seasoning, za-atar, to take home. My husband had and really enjoyed the pork chopped seasoned with it. We will definitely recommend this restaurant and hope we have an opportunity to go again sometime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food it was my third time each ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food it was my third time each time food was great very good wine list

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been here for dinner and the food i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I've been here for dinner and the food is amazing. On this occasion I was there for brunch which was sadly very disappointing. My dining companion ordered the eggs Benedict and was unable to eat it: tons of sauce, mealy texture and a gigantic portion. I ordered a pasta dish that was average at best. The brunch menu looked subpar but perhaps we should have stuck with that. Will not be back for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Delicious food and drink, very welcoming ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Delicious food and drink, very welcoming, great experience. Loved the scallops and artichoke.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was clearly having some mecha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Restaurant was clearly having some mechanical issues

- they were out of lot of things on the menu (no pizza, several other items). after we placed order, the waiter came back and apologized that they were out of the scallops...and we had to pick something else...even

the dessert we ordered...they came back and said it wasn't available...

A tad frustrating...but they handled it well - comped several items, sent over a prickly pear digistif - and were very apologetic. Food we had was great...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food across the board. Fresh i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent food across the board. Fresh ingredients, well prepared.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, however, portions were tiny. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food, however, portions were tiny. Shouldn't pay $15 for pasta and then grab McDonald sandwich to be filled

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Came here for my birthday and had the be ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Came here for my birthday and had the best night. Came right back two days later. Everything was perfect. The service is amazing. Had the best time. Easily my favorite restaurant on 14th St.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lupo Verde was one of a few restaurants ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Lupo Verde was one of a few restaurants that accepted the Open Table gift certificate. Service was a bit slow but the food is delicious. It was quiet for a weeknight as well. A little too pricey to eat here all the time though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great for a date night!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great for a date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a late lunch, early dinn ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place for a late lunch, early dinner, or just for a whenever meal. I've always been impressed with how well the staff knows their food and drinks. Great little spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is very well crafted and delicious. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food is very well crafted and delicious. Service, however, was sorely lacking. We waited for ten minutes after being seated for the server to arrive. The server paid little attention to our table throughout the meal, and never asked if we wanted additional drinks. Took forever to provide the bill when asked. During our entire meal, we were one of only three tables occupied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.