About Lupo Verde

1401 T St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Authentic, rustic, Italian fare featuring a variety of small plates, house-made charcuteries, breads, cheeses and antipasti. Wood-fired pizzas are also available along with house-made pastas, whole roasted fish and a premiere selection of meats during dinner. A true Italian experience in an intimate two-story setting.


While making your reservation please be aware that the restaurant provides seating on two floors. On the first floor we have high top tables which are community style seating for small groups or individual large party tables. The upstairs floor is a traditional dining room. Please let us know if you have a preference on where would you like to be seated when making your reservation. We will do our best to honor your request depending on availability of tables.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday Dinner : 5:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday-Sunday Brunch : 10.30am-3.30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 827-4752

Website:
http://lupoverdedc.com/

Public Transit:
U Street Metro

Executive Chef:
Domenico Apollaro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lupo Verde Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
See All
Authentic (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Cozy (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Romantic (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Casual (11)
People Watching (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fun (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Solid Italian food. Little pricey.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Solid Italian food. Little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I really liked the food, and the cocktai ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

I really liked the food, and the cocktails are lovely. It's a bit noisy though and got a lot MORE noisy towards 8:00. Noisy enough to where I had a hard time speaking with my dinner companion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I have been to Lupo many times and I alw ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

I have been to Lupo many times and I always love it. I had the Scialatielli pasta with prawns (a personal favourite) along with calamari. The flavors are well balanced and the server always suggests a nice wine pairing. This place is a gem on the 14th street corridor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for my anniversary w/ my bf an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Came here for my anniversary w/ my bf and had a great time. Wonderful food and great cocktails! Good service too! Definitely recommend. Has the feel of a neighborhood spot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was just "ok". Had a mix up wit ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Service was just "ok". Had a mix up with the wine that was tasted versus actually poured. It wouldn't have been a problem had the server and bar tender acknowledged it was a different wine, which was extremely evident when the colors were compared. The server finally acknowledged there may have been a mix up. While that made us feel a little better and not like we were wrong they then took the class back after they acknowledged a mistake. Lastly, I made sure to note that it was my GF's and they forgot about that too. We love this place for the food and reminder of Italy but I was super disappointed in how everything was handled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The only thing better than the food was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The only thing better than the food was the service. Our waitress was top notch.

This trip was for dinner, but the couple's brunch is also worthwhile.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were awesome! We w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food and service were awesome! We were able to have an enjoyable 3 course meal for 6 people and be at the Studio Theater by 8pm for a performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great resturant. The food, dri ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This is a great resturant. The food, drinks & service are superb.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Fabulous food, service.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Fabulous food, service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate here for a 50th birthday celebrat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We ate here for a 50th birthday celebration right after returning from Italy, and found the food authentically Italian (not Italian-American), creatively conceived, and extremely well prepared. Service was excellent, and the ambience is both romantic and hip. All in all, a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fell in love with Lupo Verde! The food i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fell in love with Lupo Verde! The food is outstanding, cocktails are delicious and the look and feel of the restaurant is energizing and beautiful. Love it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience at Lupo Verde! ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had a great experience at Lupo Verde! It was our first visit and it did not disappoint. Our waitress was fantastic - really personable, knowledgeable, and attentive. The food was delicious - we did a meat and cheese board to start and the servings of each were very nice (not too small, like some others that you may encounter). The wine list was nice with options across various price points for both glasses and bottles. Our entrees were fantastic and easy to share (we got two, but shared so we could enjoy both; but the servings are sufficient for one person's main entree). We also enjoyed their espresso which was really nice quality. Definitely a place worth going back to.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. If you are a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent food and service. If you are a foodie, you have to experience it...definitely a gastric experience that is not to be missed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had two friends visiting from out of t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I had two friends visiting from out of town. They wanted something unique for brunch, I immediately thought of this place. I've been a couple times for brunch now and it's amazing every time. Such a relaxed, fun vibe and the food is fantastic. I highly recommend the patate dish, I split it with a friend and it's very filling!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I absolutely adore this place for brunch ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I absolutely adore this place for brunch. I bring my friends whenever they are in town visiting the city. The purees they offer to pair with their Prosecco is always seasonal, homemade, and absolutely delicious. The value of the brunch is seriously amazing for this part of the city. The ambiance is to die for and always makes for a great Instagram photo. Highly recommended!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, most of the time. Nice serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great place, most of the time. Nice servers and ok hosts at the front. Cute spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Our service was fantastic. We had one o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Our service was fantastic. We had one of the best servers I have had in a long time. Making sure our needs were met with out hovering or rushing. Very knowledgeable about the food and wine. Also - I called ahead for a special birthday desert which was delivered perfectly as a surprise.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good atmosphere and the restaurant ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very good atmosphere and the restaurant is in a great location. This was my second time here however and both times the service is just not up to par with the ambience of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Awesome food, awesome place...this is a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Awesome food, awesome place...this is a gem! We had a great time, and really loved everything from the food, the drinks, the prices, and the venue!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as usual! Great food. Stellar se ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing as usual! Great food. Stellar service. I love this place.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for my birthday and was not disappo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Went for my birthday and was not disappointed. Calamari was fresh and grilled. Wasn't crazy about the salad under it. Meats and cheeses good. Pizza terrific (Veggie). Pastas homemade and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Organic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I've been to Lupo Verde several times. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I've been to Lupo Verde several times.

The food is always amazing, fresh, authentic and delicious, cocktails are small but excellent.

This time our waiter was so unpleasant that it really affected our evening. He constantly rushed us, rolled his eyes and made every interaction uncomfortable. His station was never completely full, so nobody was waiting for "our" table.

The food there always gets 5 stars from me:)

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

The meal was excellent from starter to d ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The meal was excellent from starter to dessert. Wine from southern Italy a discovery. Food prices reasonable. Owner delightful. No complaints from party of 4.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful dinner and great service!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Delightful dinner and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic! We lived in Italy for a numbe ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Fantastic! We lived in Italy for a number of years, be the whole experience at Lupo Verde was so much like Italy. Service was fantastic, menu was diverse, food was delightful and ambiance was great. Without a doubt will become a regular for our 'real Italian' meal haunts!!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only so, so. The food was OK the ambian ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Only so, so. The food was OK the ambiance was poor and the noise level loud. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Absolutely the most authentic Italian fo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Absolutely the most authentic Italian food you will f8nd. Over the top delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food but small portions.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great food but small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We came here for our anniversary, and co ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We came here for our anniversary, and couldn't have been happier. Our server was wonderful, walking us through selections, attentive but never rushed us. We're not sure why it took us so long to try out this neighborhood spot, but we'll definitely be back - - and won't just wait the year!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Two nights in a row! WOW! I never go to ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Two nights in a row! WOW! I never go to the same place two nights in a row! So you know it has to be great!!!

First night was Burrata and my favorite; Cacio e Pepe. Awesome! Second night was the fried artichokes and Fusilli. Awesome Again! Food and portions are authentic Italian. Don't expect the pasta as American portions. It's true Italian portions. Can't wait to be in The Logan Circle area again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I've been here twice recently and the se ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I've been here twice recently and the service both times has been terrible. The servers are MIA and coffee arrived after our food which took a good 25 minutes to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Went here with my boyfriend for his birt ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Went here with my boyfriend for his birthday. Excellent choice! Service was great, as was the food. Particularly enjoyed the gnocchi. Probably to rich as a standalone entre, but paired with a couple other dishes, it was absolutely delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitstaff was very friendly and extr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The waitstaff was very friendly and extremely knowledgable of their unique and delicious menu. They offered up great recommendations, loved this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a neighborhood gem! Came here fo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is a neighborhood gem! Came here for my parents' anniversary. Great service and food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Besides having fantastic food and a beau ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Besides having fantastic food and a beautiful restaurant, the staff were very professional and accommodating. Lupo Verde has become my favorite restaurant in DC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great DC urban atmosphere...mix of old b ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Great DC urban atmosphere...mix of old brick and new trappings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, People Watching, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This place never disappoints. You alway ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2016

This place never disappoints. You always know you go something very special. This week, the duck breast and the scallops were out of this world.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Lupo Verde has become one of our favorit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Lupo Verde has become one of our favorites for special events or for just catching up with old friends. This time we brought 9 for a birthday dinner. (Ask for the large round table upstairs if you can.) The homemade pastas are all amazing - not a one that isn't fantastic. It's modern, updated Italian cuisine - not the heavy red-sauce types - and with wonderful seafood options as well. One in our party ordered the salt-roasted whole branzino ; incredibly moist and flavorful. Our server was sharp, anticipated our needs, and was fun to engage with. Great wine list from which to choose reasonable or special-occasion wines. Oh - be sure to arrive early and enjoy one of their creative, hand-crafted cocktails. Many are inspired with Italian liquors. Great and helpful bartenders, always!

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sometimes, everything at a restaurant cl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Sometimes, everything at a restaurant clicks. And while Lupo Verde would not be my first choice in DC for great Italian food, our most recent meal there was exceptional. The upstairs dining room in an old Victorian rowhouse can be one of the most charming places in town to dine when it is not too crowded, as was the case with our early Sunday evening dinner. Our meals were both interesting and flawlessly prepared. Service was attentive and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.