About Lupo Verde

Authentic, rustic, Italian fare featuring a variety of small plates, house-made charcuteries, breads, cheeses and antipasti. Wood-fired pizzas are also available along with house-made pastas, whole roasted fish and a premiere selection of meats during dinner. A true Italian experience in an intimate two-story setting.


While making your reservation please be aware that the restaurant provides seating on two floors. On the first floor we have high top tables which are community style seating for small groups or individual large party tables. The upstairs floor is a traditional dining room. Please let us know if you have a preference on where would you like to be seated when making your reservation. We will do our best to honor your request depending on availability of tables.

1401 T St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday Dinner : 5:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday-Sunday Brunch : 10.30am-3.30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 827-4752

Website:
http://lupoverdedc.com/

Public Transit:
U Street Metro

Executive Chef:
Domenico Apollaro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lupo Verde Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Authentic (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (23)
Bar Seating (21)
Cozy (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Casual (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
People Watching (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Business Meals (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love this place.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great tasting gnocchi but was disappoint ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great tasting gnocchi but was disappointed with the portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We went for a business dinner with a gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We went for a business dinner with a group of 9 people...it was very enjoyable. Sharing a salumi and cheese board ( 5 each) at teh beginning set off the evening with a nice pace, then every person picked their individual main...great options are also to pick e.g. the pork belly from the appetizer menu and rappini and finocchio sides to create a main course. We shared 4 desserts in the end and the semifreddo was delightful.

Overall great evening, good food, good atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I ordered a Lup Verde salad & the ink pa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I ordered a Lup Verde salad & the ink pasta. My husband ordered the calamari & duck. Great food, cozy atmosphere & great service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been for brunch a few times and hav ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Have been for brunch a few times and have been blown away by the food each time! While Italian may not be your typical brunch option, the food is spectacular and a nice change from your standard brunch fare (while still having some egg and French toast options for the less adventurous). This has become our staple for visiting friends, parents or just a nice lunch out. Highly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spilled on

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Spilled on

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Met some friends from out of town and wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Met some friends from out of town and wanted to impress them with a good D.C. Restaurant-this restaurant did not disappoint. Everything we ate was fabulous and the service was wonderful-even the guy filling up our water was friendly and making us laugh :) I can't wait to go back:)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was incredibly delicious! Suc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Everything was incredibly delicious! Such a great meal and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm. Inviting. Great service. Great foo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Warm. Inviting. Great service. Great food. Will go back. I didn't feel as though I was in a typical Washington DC expense account restaurant; Moti the waiter seemed to really care about our preferences and what would be best for our tastes. Just a delightful evening. I'd go weekly if I lived in the neighborhood!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed they were only offerin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very disappointed they were only offering a brunch menu. We went for lunch at 1:30; it's an Italian restaurant, we went for pasta.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Incredible food and great service. We L ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Incredible food and great service. We LOVED everything. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cheese shop! We get a lot of chee ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great cheese shop! We get a lot of cheese plates, so it was a nice surprise to find such attention to this selection. In short, they have their own internal "shop" and the staff are properly versed in the offerings. Nice cozy spot with quality food and service. Laid back, hip vibe. We enjoyed it and will be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had wanted to try Lupo Verde for a wh ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had wanted to try Lupo Verde for a while and it's sad that we didn't enjoy it.

First the server was almost non-existent and served people who were there after us before us.

The cocktails were overpriced and amounted to water with a splash of bourbon...we ordered manhattans

The pasta was decent but the portion wouldn't even be a lunch portion at any other restaurant.

Overall it's disappointing and I'd recommend Floriana if you want decent Italian food and great drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The service was quite poor. Hosts and wa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The service was quite poor. Hosts and waiters with attitudes when asked the simplest things. Shame. Food was medium. Nothing outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We visited Lupo Verde a couple of nights ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We visited Lupo Verde a couple of nights ago and were a little disappointed. I made a reservation through open table, and when we arrived we were seated at a communal style table. I think it was the only one they have. Normally, I wouldn't mind, but this was a special occasion we were celebrating so I hoped for something a little more private. The service was very good, but the food was mediocre. I wish it tasted as good as it looked. We sent my first pasta dish (the seafood carbonara) back because it was bland and not as described at all and I didn't enjoy it. I replaced it with the ragu, which was also underwhelming. Our server was very good and the restaurant has a beautiful atmosphere, but the cuisine was not worth returning for.

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Wow, what an amazing experience. The bes ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wow, what an amazing experience. The best authentic fine Italian restaurant outside of Italy. From the moment you walk in the staff and owners ensure you have a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great waitress and service. Good and tre ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

great waitress and service. Good and trendy drinks and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal with friends - assisted by ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fabulous meal with friends - assisted by engaging, knowledgeable server (Anne Marie). Owner came to chat as well, on a busy Friday evening. All comfortable, accommodating and fun! Beautiful flavors and presentation of food. Portions were perfect and atmosphere was cheerful and casual. We're eager to return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it. Delicious food in a relaxed at ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Loved it. Delicious food in a relaxed atmosphere with first date service. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good, and the atmosphere wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was good, and the atmosphere was good for the time I walked in with my friend. Probably because it was early in the evening on a Friday, it felt like the food was rushed out in order to keep the kitchen from being backed up. Still, I would recommend Lupo Verde as nice place to sit down and have a meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The very good food at very reasonable pr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The very good food at very reasonable prices understandably draws a good crowd. But, the place is so congested you wonder if the Fire Marshall has been through lately. Prepare to be bumped a lot, even once seated. Aside from the snarky blonde at the hostess stand, service was outstanding (Ann Marie), the manager stopped by to say hello, and the place has a lot of charm. The overall rating takes a substantial hit from the overcrowded space, however; otherwise, there's a lot to like here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

What fun! What food!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

What fun! What food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've lived in the neighborhood for over ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We've lived in the neighborhood for over 28 years and are never disappointed when we have a meal here. Bravo to the Chef for consistency in the quality and tasteful dishes. The service is always top notch. We will return...often!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best restaurants in DC, Lupe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

One of the best restaurants in DC, Lupe Verde features house-made pasta and imported charcuterie. Our go-to dishes include the duck speck and artichoke flowers. They make some liquors in-house also, but the selection varies. There's usually a Fernet. Antonio makes this place run smoothly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food and amazing place. I felt ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delicious food and amazing place. I felt like I was in Tuscany, Italy. However, the meals could be more well served.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lupo has the best mix of amazing food, b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lupo has the best mix of amazing food, beautiful atmosphere and good vibes. Hands down place to go if you want to eat on 14th Street. Food takes me to Italy every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Convenient Italian style restaurant. Av ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Convenient Italian style restaurant. Average range of dishes. Unusual or hard to find Italian wines. Excellent Mediterranean salad though overpriced for volume. For vegetarians the vegetable sides (Contorni) were very attractively priced and above average presentations. Broccoli raab was the best of the three. Rukola fritter's were fine and obviously not what you'd expect to find on a menu very often. Fennel was above average. Dining tables are essentialy on second floor with bar protruding on most of the room. Makes the tables adjacent narrow and the feeling overall of being cramped for both those at bar and those at the tables. Wait staff are extremely attentive until the place gets packed and then they take care of you as quickly as they can. They're champs for running up the stairs with your food from the first floor kitchen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything was great except that I had m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was great except that I had made a reservation under the assumption we would have a private table upstairs. Once we got there we were seated at what seemed to be a community table downstairs which we shared with another couple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We were in town visiting and had Christm ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were in town visiting and had Christmas dinner here. The restaurant is charming and cozy and the food is wonderful. I have always had great meals. Wonderful meat and cheese options for a plate, great vegetarian options and everything has been very well done. Always happy to eat at Lupo Verde

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Exceptional specials in a fine location. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Exceptional specials in a fine location. Perfect pasta and a cocktail list to suit your day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second time to Lupo Verde an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was my second time to Lupo Verde and unfortunately, is was a bit disappointing. We were a family party of 6 for Christmas Eve and chose their prix fixed 'Festa de sette pesci' (Feast of 7 fishes) meal. The food overall was very good, (only 1 fish dish - octopus with chick peas, we unanimously did not like) but the time in between courses - 20-30 min, was too long. When our dessert came, we were never asked about coffee or after-dinner cordials, but admittedly, after 3 hrs we were ready to head home. The staff is friendly and accommodating, but we got the feeling, despite the early seating (6:45p) they were struggling to keep up. I'll go back again, their pasta's are excellent, but maybe not on a 'special' night.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We've been several times and fell in lov ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We've been several times and fell in love with this restaurant. Most of the time the service is excellent but last night we had to repeatedly ask for bread and weren't provided with all the food we ordered. Since we usually have excellent service I would accept this as a problem with a particular server but would I believe in giving an accurate review so others can make their own decision.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

This is a great neighborhood restaurant. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is a great neighborhood restaurant. Authentic Italian food. A great locals feel in terms of ambience and clientele. We don't go back more frequently only because we forget to plan ahead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food. Fun neighborhood italian. Se ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food.

Fun neighborhood italian. Service was a bit slow.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was personal but did not receive ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service was personal but did not receive a side that I ordered. Entrees were good- everything al a carte, so a bit priceyz.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our top 5 D.C. Divining place

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our top 5 D.C. Divining place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server forgot about us for a while at fi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Server forgot about us for a while at first, after we flagged her down she was great afterward though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Another fabulous meal at Lupo Verde - co ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Another fabulous meal at Lupo Verde - cocktails and calamari appetizer were delicious, as were all our entrees - lasagna, squid ink pasta were especially drooled over. A perfect, welcoming spot on a cold December evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Owner and staff are amazing! Best restau ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Owner and staff are amazing! Best restaurant in DC, hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lupo Verde, with fairly extensive (given ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Lupo Verde, with fairly extensive (given the size of the townhouse it occupies) bars on its upper and lower levels, is popular with the trendy, younger crowds prevalent on 14th St. But I (a baby boomer) have always felt comfortable dining there, and for this dinner, I decided to take my parents, who are in their 80s. That they had a good time was a credit to Lupo Verde's fine food and service, and the charming, cozy upstairs dining room that is not too noisy in the early evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.