About Lupo Verde

1401 T St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Authentic, rustic, Italian fare featuring a variety of small plates, house-made charcuteries, breads, cheeses and antipasti. Wood-fired pizzas are also available along with house-made pastas, whole roasted fish and a premiere selection of meats during dinner. A true Italian experience in an intimate two-story setting.


While making your reservation please be aware that the restaurant provides seating on two floors. On the first floor we have high top tables which are community style seating for small groups or individual large party tables. The upstairs floor is a traditional dining room. Please let us know if you have a preference on where would you like to be seated when making your reservation. We will do our best to honor your request depending on availability of tables.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday Dinner : 5:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday-Sunday Brunch : 10.30am-3.30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 827-4752

Website:
http://lupoverdedc.com/

Public Transit:
U Street Metro

Executive Chef:
Domenico Apollaro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lupo Verde Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (80)
neighborhood gem (69)
romantic (56)
See All
special occasion (53)
great for outdoor dining (45)
hot spot (43)
notable wine list (41)
great for brunch (33)
vibrant bar scene (31)
good for groups (31)
late-night find (16)
great for lunch (7)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (5)
business meals (1)
outstanding value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, however, portions were tiny. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, however, portions were tiny. Shouldn't pay $15 for pasta and then grab McDonald sandwich to be filled

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Came here for my birthday and had the be ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Came here for my birthday and had the best night. Came right back two days later. Everything was perfect. The service is amazing. Had the best time. Easily my favorite restaurant on 14th St.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lupo Verde was one of a few restaurants ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Lupo Verde was one of a few restaurants that accepted the Open Table gift certificate. Service was a bit slow but the food is delicious. It was quiet for a weeknight as well. A little too pricey to eat here all the time though!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great for a date night!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great for a date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a late lunch, early dinn ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place for a late lunch, early dinner, or just for a whenever meal. I've always been impressed with how well the staff knows their food and drinks. Great little spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is very well crafted and delicious. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food is very well crafted and delicious. Service, however, was sorely lacking. We waited for ten minutes after being seated for the server to arrive. The server paid little attention to our table throughout the meal, and never asked if we wanted additional drinks. Took forever to provide the bill when asked. During our entire meal, we were one of only three tables occupied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Loved my meal. Started with the chilled ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Loved my meal. Started with the chilled yellow tomato soup. It had a small bread raft that was topped with fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, anchovies & herbs/greens. Outstanding, but I put the anchovies to the side. (Not my favorite.) Had the tonnarelli cacao e pepe. Also delicious. Wine list had many interesting choices. Will be coming back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding service! Probably one of the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding service! Probably one of the better experiences I have had in over ten years in DC, in terms of table service. Lively ambience and authentic, homemade pasta, coupled with an impressive Italian wine list-all makes Lupo Verde on of DC's true gems for casual to classy dining experiences!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The only good thing about the dinner was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The only good thing about the dinner was the wine. We ordered two appetizers. The carpaccio was terrible, no flavor at all. we expected parmeggiano 24 years according to the menu, and the dish came with a cream of parmeggiano that made impossible to taste the flavour of the cheese. and some greasy arugula fritters and without flavor. the dish was served over arugula and greens, we could not cut the meat because of the plate shape. it was the weirdest carpaccio i have ever tried. Also, the bread was not fresh. the manager said it was baked the same day, but probably for the morning service. the second appetizer, better but nothing worth remembering. overall, tasteless appetizers. So bad, we did not order the entree. at least they did not charge us with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We went to Lupo Verdi to celebrate my bi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We went to Lupo Verdi to celebrate my birthday. The service was great as well as the food. I agree with other reviews that portions are small for the price. Our biggest disappointment was that there was no AC on one of the hottest nights of the year. We were not told this when checking in, which is a huge a management concern. We should have been given the option of going elsewhere. Then we were served water in the smallest glasses possible. To be fair, they were refilled constantly but shouldn't you give out bigger glasses when it's at least 85 degrees in your restaurant? We loved the food but won't be back anytime soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The first time I went to Lupo Verde abou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The first time I went to Lupo Verde about a month ago for dinner with my boyfriend, the service was terrible - not because the waiter was inattentive, but because he was noticeably trying to get us to buy whatever we could to up the bill total and it came off as pushy and desperate. My friends I figured we'd give the restaurant another shot for brunch this past weekend. This time around, we didn't see a waiter for over 20 minutes and were extremely confused about why we weren't being paid attention to. If the issue is short staff, this venue needs to find ways to mitigate that - and also to hire people with customer service skills and respect. The food, ambiance, and location are too good to waste on poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The food is very good and plentiful for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is very good and plentiful for the price. The service is TERRIBLE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

At the end of our meal we saw a mouse si ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

At the end of our meal we saw a mouse sitting there looking up at us for scraps. We told our server and he shrugged his shoulders. Not even an apology. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

Outstanding....loved every minute of it. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Outstanding....loved every minute of it. Outstanding....loved every minute of it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food!!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Amazing service and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Live in the neighborhood but had never b ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Live in the neighborhood but had never been. Reserved for six for birthday celebration. I'm a Lupo Verde convert!! Amazing food, awesome service. Our waitperson was the absolute best - suggestions, knowledge, etc. Polpo exquisite as was all pastas, cheese board, desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the French toast for brunch and it w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had the French toast for brunch and it was absolutely delicious. Also had a drink called the Spritz, which was really refreshing for an 85 degree day (albeit a tad bitter). My brunch companion had the spaghetti carbonara and loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Just a great restaurant all around: exce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Just a great restaurant all around: exceptional food, drinks, top service, atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was lacking, especially in the b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was lacking, especially in the beginning. We had to wait quite awhile before the bottle of wine was delivered to the table - even though the manage on-duty was the one to take our order. Our appetizer also took a very long time to arrive. However, once the food started coming it was divine! We even shared a dessert and enjoyed cappuccinos. I ordered the cacio y pepe - a favorite Roman pasta dish that is generally hard to find. It did not disappoint.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Lupo Verde has Very good food and a grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Lupo Verde has Very good food and a great staff. We had wine and apps and meals and were very satisfied

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing, we had a fabulous ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food was amazing, we had a fabulous meal. It's a dining experience. We were very happy that the kitchen is open later than most places and they will serve you dinner if you sit as late as 10:00 on a weeknight! The patio shuts down at 11:00 and you have to go inside. Overall an extremely pleasurable dining experience and we will go back again SOON!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lupo verde was lovely as usual! We sat o ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Lupo verde was lovely as usual! We sat outside and the weather and atmosphere contributed to a wonderful evening of great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food and Service!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and Service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall pretty darn good. I am glad our ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Overall pretty darn good. I am glad our party got there early. Once the place filled up it was noisy and crowded. Great service. Food was great. Fun cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I found the menu overly complicated. Al ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I found the menu overly complicated. All of the seating is generally uncomfortable, hard chairs and high top tables. High top chairs have a wobble feature that makes you feel like you have to balance throughout the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was fine, service was so-so. Nothin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was fine, service was so-so. Nothing terrible, nothing amazing. A solid 3 star joint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Really beautiful decor and the food was amazing!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I have recently been to Italian-inspired brunches and Lupo Verde was one of the best. Their initial pastry platter was fantastic! Everyone enjoyed their meals, even calling the pizza one of the best breakfast pizzas they have ever had. Would definitely recommend this for foodies and the decor is beautiful as well!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best rustic Italian in DC

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Lupo Verde is my favorite Italian restaurant in the city. The cocktail list is amazing, the pasta dishes can't be beat, and the octopus appetizer was extremely well executed. Basically, I know that everything on the menu will blow me away, so I'll have to keep going back until I've tasted it all. The waiter was from Naples, Italy, and was the perfect combo of knowledgeable and non-invasive. I love this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great visit

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We typically go to Lupo Verde for date night, but brought family this time - including a 10 month old baby. She was a bit cranky and loud after waking up from a nap, but the restaurant staff was WONDERFUL and didn't blink an eye. They were ready to go with stroller storage and a high chair... and strawberries. The food and service were fantastic, per usual. Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the charcuterie and mixed it up w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We had the charcuterie and mixed it up with our picks and our server's suggestions. Very good, and we appreciated the time allowed between the cheese/meat board and our entree - perfect. We had the tortellini and spicy eggplant pasta dishes - both incredibly fresh and completely homemade. The bartender brought our first round of drinks and, when asked, suggested a delicious red wine. I wish we'd written it down - it was perfect with our pastas. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Italian Food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

It is always a pleasure coming to eat at Lupo Verde.

The owners, especially Antonio and the help make us feel very at home.

They are very warm and friendly.

As for the food everything we have tried has been delicious. The artichoke is a must for an appetizer, as well as the tray of cheeses and salumi.

The home made pasta is always perfect.

The Menu is simple and not extensive but wonderful.

Reservations recommended.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A mixed bag

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Some of the food was good, however we had a pasta dish that just tasted awful. We could not eat it. Other dishes were just OK and not worth the price. On the bright side, the service was very good and our server removed the awful pasta dish from the bill. Not sure I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

service is hurting this place

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This was my second time at Lupo Verde and once again the food was fantastic. However, the service was once again sub par. The wait staff is not nearly attentive enough and they act like they are doing you a favor by allowing you to eat there. If the service was on par with the food this place would be amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely Italian food, well executed with ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Lovely Italian food, well executed with some unusual and interesting dishes. We sat on the patio which was perfect for a summer evening, pretty and atmospheric. Recommend the Antipasti, cheese and salami board to start. No complaints except the wine list which was over priced and complicated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice setting, ok food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The restaurant has nice ambiance, but I was not impressed with the food. In full disclosure, I have very high standards when it comes to the authenticity of Italian food. The Carciofi Giudea (fried artichoke) I ordered is not at all a Carciofi alla Giudea, which should be fried without breading. Instead, the version served here was breaded, and the breading was soggy. Even more strangely, this typically Roman dish was paired with an alleged "Bagna Calda", which should be a northern (Piedmont) specialty, but the "Bagna Calda" served here was not really a Bagna Calda either: instead of a dip, it was more like a salsa. My friend ordered a pasta dish, which I did not taste but did not look very appealing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fantastic brunch! The French toast and p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Fantastic brunch! The French toast and pancakes are out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent service and very good food! We ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent service and very good food! We did call a few hours ahead to request outdoor seating, but when we arrived they said it'd be a 30 min wait for outdoor. Everything else was great though!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great choice for Italian. Food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Always a great choice for Italian. Food is excellent and very authentic. Reasonably priced and great service. Can get a little noisy but thats all part of the experience. One of my faves for Italian in DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I am from Spain, and I travel every at l ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I am from Spain, and I travel every at least once to Italy. I love the Italian food and yesterday it was the first time that I saw a Carpaccio di manzo without parmigiano cheese. The carciofi was good bad it was fried.

I dont thing I will come back, I did not like at all.

But, the service was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

All the appetizers, salads and pasta dis ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

All the appetizers, salads and pasta dishes we ate were tremendous. Complex, delicious, balance, good portion size (nothing was overwhelming). Lamb main didn't hit that mark, but, hey, 7 out of maybe 8 dishes is pretty darn good. Cocktails also great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.