Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Luksus

4.6
194 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Scandinavian
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

luksus at tørst is currently closed for renovations.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Scandinavian, Nordic, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
luksus at tørst is currently closed for renovations.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(718) 389-6034
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Daniel Burns
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Driggs
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
G Train to Nassau Avenue
L Train to Bedford Avenue
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating
What 194 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.6based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was amazing. The beer was fantastic. The staff was great. Everything was spectacular.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 22, 2016

This restaurant is closing soon bec Chef Daniel is going to make gelato in California! I was delighted to be there because I had never been and it is a well known beer focused tasting menu, with 18 seats. The food was impressive. The first of many first course snacks included the most amazing roasted beets and sunchokes I had ever tasted! Everything was very unique- I guess Nordic inspired? And the beer! I am an IPA lover, but branched out to different beers under their tutelage. Very cool place, too bad it's closing!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 17, 2016

This is a truly terrible restaurant - particularly for the price. Do not go. Seriously, just skip it. It's a hipster farce - bad tasting food, skimpy ingredients, no wine, bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 11, 2016

Sat at the counter and service from the kitchen staff was lovely. Veggie focused menu was unique and delicious. Beer pairings were incredible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2016

For what it is, Luksus is a steal. The service, the execution, all exceeded my expectations of a 1 Michelin Starred restaurant. The concept is not for everybody- don't bring your cranky in-laws here looking for chicken or steak- but you will have cutting edge cuisine in a world class setting from a chef with an unbelievable resume. Cannot wait to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2016

Fantastic! The tasting menu accompanied with the beer pairing was a unique and wonderful experience. I loved the food and it was all prepared perfectly. I would have never thought to try some of the items on the tasting menu, but I enjoyed every bite! The service was perfect, extremely attentive without being overbearing. My husband and I had been here three years ago and I was wondering if it would be as good as I remembered...And it was better!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 27, 2016

I must say this was an experience I will never forget. I had been looking forward to this for a very long time. Had visited torst, the bar where luksus is housed, several times and I love it. I got lucky one evening and was able to find a reservation on open table. The whole experience for me can be summed up as ridiculous!!! Ridiculously amazing food at ridiculously expensive price. Was it worth it? I have mixed feelings about this ...I think yes! If you appreciate food and beer. The flavor combinations and the beer parings are truly magical. But if you are not into trying new flavors (some out of your comfort zone ingredients) or don't know much about craft beer, or are in a budget this may not be for you. This was by far the most expensive meal I had ever enjoyed and it may not be reaped any time soon.
The space of the restaurant is very intimate, nicely decorated with a modern feel. You are able to see the kitchen and the chef and staff preparing the food. I was able to sit on the counter so I was able to see everything and even talk with Daniel, the chef. The wait staff was super attentive and engaging. All our dishes where fully explained as well as the beers origin, flavors, uniqueness, and pairing qualities. The chef was really fantastic as a host as well, engaging in conversation and telling us about the dishes he was preparing.
There was a lot of food. The dishes seem small but are very filling and paired with the beer I felt a bit overwhelmed. In total there was 10 different dishes to try (snacks, entres, palate cleanser, dessert) paired with 5 beers. I felt so bad not being able to drink all my beers, they were really great rarities.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 25, 2016

Perhaps it was that food wasn't to our taste. I loved in Denmark for a year and loved the food .. but the amount of pickled vegetables was a bit over the top. The service was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing experience, a must for foodies, unfortunately it has closed since my experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 30, 2016

WOW - unbelievably good...course after course was amazing and delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 23, 2016

Unique experience. Brilliantly paired brews and beautiful fish, radish and other veggies. Our first meal in NYC service could not have been better, first tasting menu too. I was surprised and positively anxious with the coming of each new course.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 22, 2016

A very interesting experience and creative pairing of a beer tasting menu with Scandinavian-inspired dishes. Much poetic license is taken in the food department and it all works! Funky, fun, intimate space in a tiny room at the end of a neighborhood bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2016

It was one of our best experiences in a restaurant.just amazing.every taste made such a big sence
It was perfect!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 20, 2016

Great food and great (versatile) beer pairing! Nice small room with minimalistic light decor. Open kitchen where you can see head chef Daniel Burns and assistant prepare the dishes. Nice, knowledgable, and talkative staff (incl. the chefs).
A clear recomendation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 19, 2016

We went for dinner beer pairing. It was beyond our expectations and worth every penny! The chef was awesome and the wait staff was awesome!! Walk
RUN!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 1, 2016

The restaurant is definitely better suited for couples looking for a romantic one-on-one in a small place than for larger parties. The dining room is too boringly lit and the acoustics in the room are not good. The noise from the bar next door is drowned out with too loud music in the restaurant, so that it is difficult to have a conversation at a table with more than two to four persons. The restaurant lacks some in atmosphere. The food was good and fairly experimental. Some of the beer-pairings were less than impressive, though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent, as always. Never disappoints and always something new on the menu. We did the beer pairing again, but may skip it next time and instead just order beers from the torst tap list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2016

Getting to know the chef and the staff, in a setting that is casual yet classy, while enjoying the finest arrangements and pairings of food and beverage this side of the east river. The unconventional approach of beer pairings with food, instead of wine, turned out to be as nuanced complex and delicious as the finest wine and food pairings in manhattan. The waiter was able to accomodate some slight differences in taste with the beers for my fiance, resulting in the perfect flavor palette for her. We practically fell out of the restaurant, we were so overjoyed and vibrant after such a delightful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 29, 2016

The good was terrific - inventive and delicious. The staff was energetic and knowledgeable. It's a small, intimate setting. Quite pleasant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2016

My friend and i went to Luksus as it had been recommended to both of us. it was very good indeed, althouggh the best dishes were the smaller "snacks" they served at the beginning. That's not to take anything away from the larger courses though, it's just that the variety and quality of the earlier small dishes was so good that anything after those was always going to struggle.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 21, 2016

Creative mixed technique kitchen with and an open kitchen. Intimite seatings next to the masterchefs. The dinner was combined with excellent highclass craftbeer.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 15, 2016

Did not wow us for the price. Had the beer pairing dinner and have had better pairings at a lower cost. However, not a bad experience and the service was top notch from the chef to the server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2016

Supreme gourmet experience. If you are a beer-nut, this is the place to visit! If not, you will still have an eye-opening experience. Their ability to match the produce of the seasons with exquisite beers is mind-blowing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 31, 2016

Could go to a better restaurant for value of the bill. Dishes were nicely prepared but not a wow factor considering the bill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2016

startet med at rose det helt fantastiske miljø og liv der er i baren så kom ligt før spisning og få en øl og ikke minst en efter maden.

even if the owner-brewing beer is not nødventig manner as that on beer menu on the day but the beer which mate with the food meal. the only mediator to put a finger on is that mosques should be a divorced outside for we walked past 2 times the end we tried to go in to spøre where luxury was? our answer was here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent and unique dining experience for molecular gastronomy Scandinavian fare sitting next to the open kitchen while chef Daniel Burns prepared our tasting menu. Chatting about the spring sprigs of white pine needle he dries and powders into a chip that crested the blueberry ice cream was what made our experience special. The seating next to the kitchen is limited, so be sure to put in a request and arrive early. A great beer bar for beer gourmands.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 13, 2016

Great experience food was lovely.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 12, 2016

Overrated. They stressed us arriving on time, then sat us 15 min late without apology. The food was nothing that special... It was good and interesting but definitely not worth the price. I felt disappointed and ripped off.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2016

It was a very personable dining experience in a small room with knowledgeable staff. We sat at the counter looking at the kitchen and loved watching the choreography of the preparations. Inventive, fresh food and inspired beer pairings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2016

Go to Luksus for a special occasion, understanding that this is the Scandinavian food aesthetic. Will return on the next special occasion..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2016

Interesting

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 2, 2016

Awesome! Inventive dishes, attentive service, great beer pairings.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was absolutely amazing - the only disappointment for me was that we did the $55 beer tasting and despite the tap list being awesome up front, 4 of the 5 beers we received were ones that I can buy at my local package store. There was no reserve bottle list according to our waitress.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 30, 2016

Food and service were outstanding! The chef did some amazing things with vegetables. Not to mention the seafood and steak. My only complaint is that the beer pairing felt overpriced. You are better off making your own selections from Torst's incredible menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 29, 2016

I don't think the Summer menu and pairings suited me. I will definitely try them again during the other seasons given that I had an exceptional time when I went during the winter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 27, 2016

We were blown away by this foodie find. The food was so interesting and unusual, with a lot of creative flair. We've done quite a lot of fancy tasting menus in the city and this was a charming, understated and delicious experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 16, 2016

A brilliant display of craft in both food and beer. It has been a true pleasure to be taken through the menu by the chefs of carefully selected ingredients who were left in their true taste and form, acompanied by great craft beers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 15, 2016

I'm about to move out of town and hitting a few places on my list. Luksus has been on the list since they opened and I'm glad I finally got to experience it. Sat at the Chef's table and got to witness first hand the mastery of Daniel Burns. Each dish was carefully prepared and the flow of the courses was well thought out. We had a great time and I would love to go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 13, 2016

Absolutely fantastic - the best dining experience in NYC since we moved here 2 years ago.

You can tell the Chef has worked at the Fat Duck and St. John in the UK. - loved the exciting menus and marrying of flavors.

Highly recommended! In fact. my 2 friends went 2 nights after us on our recommendation!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 12, 2016

Worth the trip. Chef Daniel's spot is intelligent food in a fun casual atmosphere. Go in with a open mind.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5