About Luksus

615 Manhattan Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11222
View Larger Map

luksus at tørst offers a seasonal tasting menu. the price is $125 per person. a $55 beer tasting is also available.

please be advised that service will start promptly so please come 15 minutes early and join us for a beer at the bar beforehand. in fairness to the other guests, anyone arriving late for their reservation will start at the course they arrive for. we cannot accommodate for vegan guests.

cancellations or changes to your party size must be made 24 hours in advance. reservations cancelled with less than 24 hours notice will be charged full menu price plus taxes per person on the reservation.

allergies: when booking, please inform us of ALL dietary issues including any specific food allergies. pescatarian and vegetarian guests are welcome; however, we are unable to accommodate for vegan guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Scandinavian, Nordic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
There is be one seating on Tuesday and Wednesday at 7:30pm.
There are two seatings Thursday through Sunday, at 6:30pm and 9pm.
We are not open on Mondays.

Cross Street:
Driggs

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 389-6034

Website:
http://luksusnyc.com/

Public Transit:
G Train to Nassau Avenue
L Train to Bedford Avenue

Executive Chef:
Daniel Burns

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 6:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu 6:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Luksus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Brooklyn
Special Occasion
Brooklyn
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Brooklyn
Best Restaurants in Greenpoint ›

fit for foodies (32)
special occasion (32)
neighborhood gem (15)
See All
romantic (11)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
good for groups (3)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Greenpoint has a Michelin star!! If you ...

Dined 6 days ago

Greenpoint has a Michelin star!! If you like food and beer Luksus cannot be missed. Chef Daniel's commitment to fresh food and fresh ideas is well deserving of this honor. It is the first and only Restaurant to receive a star and not serve wine. Even though the price is high I would come back for every new menu if I could.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure. My favorite restauran ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a pleasure. My favorite restaurant in NY. I think they are doing more creative things than any other place in NYC. Dreading the day they get 2 Michelin stars and I can't pop in on a whim. I will be happy for them when that day comes. -Brad

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All round incredible, best beer and food ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

All round incredible, best beer and food matching.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Similar to other reviewers comments, I w ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Similar to other reviewers comments, I was a little disappointed at the relative cost of the meal to the dishes served. Typically for tasting menus in this price range, I would have expected more high-end ingredients to be used or at least more proteins. I will note that the waitstaff was amazingly attentive and did a great job to provide high quality service, however for the price I felt tasting course was over priced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brilliant

Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything we had satisfied my taste buds in ways I was not expecting. Really well balanced, with the right amount of attitude, beautiful dishes and the beer paring is a must. I woke up the next day wanting to eat the whole menu all over again and felling like it was physically possible, I was not in a food coma. I can't wait to go back, it was beautiful!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

amazing amazing!! Service was a bit quic ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

amazing amazing!! Service was a bit quick during "snacks" . Loved that the chefs came out to explain their creations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Not worry it:-(

Dined on May 29, 2016

The waiter/staff was good, a bit difficult to understand. But we really didn't Think the food was worth it at all. And we was last one, so we felt we should hurry and stag just wandtet to ger off Early

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We looked forward to this restaurant, bu ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

We looked forward to this restaurant, but were a little disappointed. The food was very innovative a mostly delicious. However, there were a few dishes that were a little too bitter for my taste, especially some of the greens and sauces. I was most disappointed in the beer pairings. Save for one, they were also bitter, bordering on sour in flavor. While they might have been the best pairing for the food, they were not to our taste. And at $55 a person, with four of us dining, I would have expected a LOT of beer for $220. The service was very good and the servers explained all the dishes well. All things considered, I would go back again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We stumbled upon 16-seater Luksus by accident.

Dined on May 22, 2016

We stumbled upon 16-seater Luksus by accident. We enjoyed lots of great craft beer at TORST in the front of house, including bar snacks made by the Luksus chef. Behind a door at the back of the bar lies Luksus, a one-Michelin star rated restaurant discretely waits. This unique Scandinavian restaurant pairs craft beer with their tasting menu and it is well worth it to go on the chef's beer journey here. The ambiance is fairly casual. We were not dressed up that evening as we were not expecting to go to a Michelin rated restaurant, but we fit in just fine in casual clothes. Service was friendly, informative and quick. Food was delicious. Beer pairings leaned towards the sour and were excellent palette cleansers between courses. What an amazing find! Plus we loved that the executive chef was from Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful time at a perfect gem in Williamsburgh

Dined on May 21, 2016

i recently had a wonderful time during The 6:30 dinner party! Great food, fantastic beerpairrings and excellent ambience ❤️

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Awesome concept, dreadful execution

Dined on May 17, 2016

Ludicrously overpriced. Truly awesome concept. Was very attracted to the notion of a progressive restaurant with a tasting menu entirely paired with beer instead of wine. Problem is that pairing didn't work. Rather than enhancing flavors, or balancing them, as is typical of this type of place does with wine, the beer either overpowered or simply killed the flavor of each dish. Very disappointing, pretentious, and priced at about triple what the equivalent meal in Paris would be with wine pairings (and about double that of similar in Copenhagen).

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is amazing at Luksus. Daniel bu ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food is amazing at Luksus. Daniel burns has a winner here. Also Great service and nice ambience in The room

food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Do not recommend

Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been to many Michelin star restaurant but non disappoint like Luksus. I left the restaurant with a hungry stomach and bleeding wallet. The food there had a variety of taste from salty, spicy, bitter and sweet. But the salty and bitter dish was not tasty at all... I would not recommend this place to my friends.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very special experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a very special and intimate experience. We chose to sit at the counter that separates the kitchen from the dining area, rather than at the tables along the opposite wall. We were able to watch the final steps of food preparation while chatting with Chef Daniel Burns and learning about the ingredients and some of the preparation techniques. It added to the overall experience in a very meaningful way. The wide variety of tastes presented to us could have been overwhelming if the pace of service had not been so well-timed. Each course created anticipation for the next: Would there be another ingredient or flavor we had never experienced before? What unusual combinations would we encounter? It was an adventure that left us smiling. The great thing about the tasting menu is that you don't have to use any energy to make any decisions; you just sit back and let things happen and enjoy the ride. Instead of fretting over making the right choices or mistakenly rejecting one or another unusual menu item, you just trust the chef to provide you with a great experience. At Luksus, that trust was well-placed. I decided to order the beer pairings, while my wife ordered from the tap list at Tørst, the adjacent bar. While I was initially disappointed that the beers were served from bottles and cans, rather than draft, it quickly became apparent that it would be nearly impossible to provide as complementary a set of drink pairings from a tap list that changed from day to day. Of the five beers paired with the food, I had tried only one previously. They were all first-rate. Some provided contrast with the dishes, but the finish of the last beer so exquisitely mimicked the last hint of flavor of the dessert that together they provided a perfect coda to the entire experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A must visit for beer and food lovers

Dined on May 4, 2016

Having been to Torst many times, I have heard a lot about Luksus and have wanted to try it. After finally taking the plunge, I can say that it is definitely worth it. Luksus delivers a fine dining experience in a relaxed atmosphere. It's also the only high end restaurant I've ever been to that takes beer seriously. If you're going to go, you must do the beer pairing. It is setup with a tasting menu. The food was impressive. Luksus is a must visit for any foodie or beer lover.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic experience

Dined on May 3, 2016

Lucky to be offered a seat by the counter. This made it to a menorable evening beyond the great food and the nice beer pairing. Strongly recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luksus - highly recommend

Dined on April 14, 2016

We were recommended the restaurant by friends and we were so glad we came. When you arrive you can get a drink and you let them know you're there for dinner and when the kitchen is ready you get taken through. The staff are friendly and the service is impeccable. There are only up to 16 guests per sitting at the max, on the night we went there were only 5 of us so we sat in front of the kitchen which was great to see the chef in action. The food was outstanding and there really is so much attention to detail. They serve only beer but I did see others bring a bottle of wine to eat with the meal so you can ask on booking. My husband really enjoyed the beer matching to the food. If you're a foodie or looking for an evening out to enjoy great food definitely make a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

what an experience

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his 35th birthday and we were escorted into the dining area. We were then asked where we wanted to sit (kitchen bar or table) we chose the kitchen bar and soon realized that we were watching Chef Daniel working the entire time. We spoke with him about the different courses and overall had the best time. The food was amazing, the beer pairing was delicious (I'm not a beer person but they were so good) my boyfriend is more the beer connoisseur and he loved all of them. Definitely go early to enjoy a drink at Torst the bar in the front of Luksus. It is worth the money for the experience and food we had!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service4

Interesting location and room. Great bee ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Interesting location and room. Great beers. Food was ok but not Scandinavian...not really a 1 star place...

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great tastes of Food

Dined on February 20, 2016

I went to the restaurant solo this past weekend and loved my experience. I was able to sit right up front where I was able to watch Chef Daniel Burns orchestrate plating a artistry of outstanding plate composition. I chose to include the beer pairing, but didn't love the style of Sours and Wild ales that were selected. Service was great, courses were presented by the sous chef and drinks were kept full at all times. Beer was poured by waitstaff. Overall I would highly recommend dining @ Luksus !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely sit at the bar if possible!

Dined on February 18, 2016

Definitely sit at the bar if possible!

food1
ambience5
service1

What was memorable..the chef must be a p ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

What was memorable..the chef must be a person who wants to prove he exists in this world. Strong flavor maybe to his likings but should understand we support an experiment but also need a reward.

food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Overbooked

Dined on February 16, 2016

We were seated in the bar area instead of the restaurant 30 minutes late because they were overbooked and running late. Yes it was a 12 course tasting menu but it took over 3 hours to serve it all, there were inordinate waits between courses. The food was above average but the wait, the poor seating and unevenness in course delivery led to a less than stellar experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience all around

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was spectacular. Creative combinations--continuous stream of delectable morsels. Service was friendly and professional. Ambience was charming--like sitting in the kitchen of some terrific chefs with an intimate group.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Evening

Dined on January 27, 2016

Had a great time at Luksus and really enjoyed sitting at the bar, interacting with the kitchen and talking about the food with Chef David. The food was amazing and the beer is spectacular. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service4

Noise level was insane and it was freezi ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Noise level was insane and it was freezing, diner actually had their jackets on we couldn't wait for it to be over and leave. Service all seemed very rushed and it looked like everything was already prepared just needed to be played.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Inspired dining with beer

Dined on January 16, 2016

A unique dining experience combining seasonal ingredients with great technique and absolutely inspired Beer pairings

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal I have ever had at a restaurant

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

I can't say much except that this is the best meal I have ever had at a restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

H and I have to say that I was expecting ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

H and I have to say that I was expecting a different experience. Main concern was the service that was too stiff opposed to a restaurant where you eat many dishes with your hand. I would prefer something friendlier and easy but obviously knowledgable. The food was overpriced for what we got, we've been served a good bread with great butter twice... Final bill 200... I can eat good bread and butter for 10... The radicchio was excellent but again apart for this I was expecting something more sophisticated. I didn't meet the chef at the table... I'm a regular at probably what I can consider my favourite bar in the world and with 3 tables I guess he can come around and make it warmer and more personalised. I would love to see this restaurant growing and become one of the great, I live in the neighbour and I love Toørst, from what I could see there is a long way to do... Unfortunately due to the price I won't be able to check the improvements for a while... And also due to this experience

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Secret Dining Behind Beer Bar!

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

1 Michelin Star tasting menu - ALL the bites in our tasting were great! each dish was very different but all well done. Hidden in the back of Torst Beer Bar - I would probably skip the beer pairings though as they are pricey and I only enjoyed 2 of the 5 we received.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Some interesting food

vip
Dined on December 20, 2015

Interesting tasting menu with some hits like the parsnip ice cream and some fantastic bread but on the whole it was a lot of money for some courses that just didn't cut it. The beers are quite good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on December 18, 2015

One of the best dining experiences I have had in my 11.5 years in NYC, compared to St. Anselm and Dear Bushwick to Freeman's and Cafe Gitane. Chef Daniel Burns is a true culinary genius not to mention one of the kindest and most humble people I have met. The presentation was detailed, intellectual and visually breathtaking. My palette was beyond pleased from a dining experience, after a very long time. I am a vegetarian and was accommodated to beyond my expectations. This is the kind of vibe restarants should have. Humble, knowledgeable, attentive and brilliant. The price may seem high but worth every penny. I don't drink beer but my plus 1 did the beer tasting and was very pleased. I wish Chef Burns and his team ultimate success however hope it doesnt become impossible to get a reservation! Bon Apetit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing spot behind Torst. Highly recomm ...

Dined on December 10, 2015

Amazing spot behind Torst. Highly recommend this spot and the beer pairing. The food was great and went perfectly with the drinks. We sat at the bar and could see the Chefs at work which added to the experience.

food3
ambience3
service2

Very Disappointing Experience

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

Had been looking forward to Luksus for months but was a big letdown. Foodwise some of the "snacks" (small bites served in rapid succession at the start of the meal) were excellent but the three more substantial savory courses were nothing all that interesting/unusual or delicious. The entree (duo of goat) was tough, gristly and not even attractively plated. Service was robotic; simply dropped off our food and recited a blurb about the components, no warmth or banter. Meal was faster paced than I had been anticipating. Dietary aversion was ignored. Drink selection includes overpriced beers a la carte from neighboring bar Torst or overpriced beer pairing. Does not even come close to the hype and is an incredibly poor value.

food5
ambience5
service5

WoW!!!

Dined on November 19, 2015

Amazing on all accounts!! Definitely something everybody should try !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

surprise pairing

Dined on November 16, 2015

the food was excellent !! we were there with my family (4) and the first surprise was the beer pairing instead of wine pairing. it was a new experience for us and it was excellent pairing

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely worth going.

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

Absolutely worth going.

food5
ambience3
service4

If you haven't been to Luksus - go now

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

The food is the real reason to go, but you will learn something about how beer and cider can support a great meal as well. Don't expect to get over-serviced but prepare instead for a brilliant chef showing a very versatile talent. From the sourdough bread to the pink pork and the broad range of fantastic vegetables - unique.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice dinner, well served

Dined on October 25, 2015

We had a very good nice evening and a good dinner. We especially like all the small starters, which was just a bit. The bits where interesting taste combination and made it from a good dinner to experimental dinner which was why we came.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a truly unique experience made e ...

Dined on October 18, 2015

This is a truly unique experience made even better by the beer pairings, if you're a beer lover like me. Definitely not a cheap meal, but it was clearly prepared and executed very skillfully with a lot of creativity.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.