About Luksus

615 Manhattan Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11222
View Larger Map

luksus at tørst offers a seasonal tasting menu. the price is $125 per person. a $55 beer tasting is also available.

please be advised that service will start promptly so please come 15 minutes early and join us for a beer at the bar beforehand. in fairness to the other guests, anyone arriving late for their reservation will start at the course they arrive for. we cannot accommodate for vegan guests.

cancellations or changes to your party size must be made 24 hours in advance. reservations cancelled with less than 24 hours notice will be charged full menu price plus taxes per person on the reservation.

allergies: when booking, please inform us of ALL dietary issues including any specific food allergies. pescatarian and vegetarian guests are welcome; however, we are unable to accommodate for vegan guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Scandinavian, Nordic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
There is be one seating on Tuesday and Wednesday at 7:30pm.
There are two seatings Thursday through Sunday, at 6:30pm and 9pm.
We are not open on Mondays.

Cross Street:
Driggs

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 389-6034

Website:
http://luksusnyc.com/

Public Transit:
G Train to Nassau Avenue
L Train to Bedford Avenue

Executive Chef:
Daniel Burns

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating

Restaurant Photos

Luksus
Luksus
Luksus
Luksus
Luksus
Luksus
Luksus
Luksus
Luksus
Luksus
Luksus
Luksus

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 6:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu 6:30PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Luksus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Brooklyn
Special Occasion
Brooklyn
Best Restaurants in Greenpoint ›

Fit for Foodies (28)
Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (14)
See All
Hot Spot (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great Beer (5)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friend and i went to Luksus as it had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

My friend and i went to Luksus as it had been recommended to both of us. it was very good indeed, althouggh the best dishes were the smaller "snacks" they served at the beginning. That's not to take anything away from the larger courses though, it's just that the variety and quality of the earlier small dishes was so good that anything after those was always going to struggle.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative mixed technique kitchen with an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Creative mixed technique kitchen with and an open kitchen. Intimite seatings next to the masterchefs. The dinner was combined with excellent highclass craftbeer.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Private Room, Great Beer, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not wow us for the price. Had the b ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Did not wow us for the price. Had the beer pairing dinner and have had better pairings at a lower cost. However, not a bad experience and the service was top notch from the chef to the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Supreme gourmet experience. If you are a ...

 
 (Raum Hamburg)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Supreme gourmet experience. If you are a beer-nut, this is the place to visit! If not, you will still have an eye-opening experience. Their ability to match the produce of the seasons with exquisite beers is mind-blowing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could go to a better restaurant for valu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Could go to a better restaurant for value of the bill. Dishes were nicely prepared but not a wow factor considering the bill.

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

startet med at rose det helt fantastiske ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

startet med at rose det helt fantastiske miljø og liv der er i baren så kom ligt før spisning og få en øl og ikke minst en efter maden.

even if the owner-brewing beer is not nødventig manner as that on beer menu on the day but the beer which mate with the food meal. the only mediator to put a finger on is that mosques should be a divorced outside for we walked past 2 times the end we tried to go in to spøre where luxury was? our answer was here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent and unique dining experience f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent and unique dining experience for molecular gastronomy Scandinavian fare sitting next to the open kitchen while chef Daniel Burns prepared our tasting menu. Chatting about the spring sprigs of white pine needle he dries and powders into a chip that crested the blueberry ice cream was what made our experience special. The seating next to the kitchen is limited, so be sure to put in a request and arrive early. A great beer bar for beer gourmands.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Casual, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great experience food was lovely.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great experience food was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overrated. They stressed us arriving on ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overrated. They stressed us arriving on time, then sat us 15 min late without apology. The food was nothing that special... It was good and interesting but definitely not worth the price. I felt disappointed and ripped off.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

It was a very personable dining experien ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was a very personable dining experience in a small room with knowledgeable staff. We sat at the counter looking at the kitchen and loved watching the choreography of the preparations. Inventive, fresh food and inspired beer pairings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Go to Luksus for a special occasion, und ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Go to Luksus for a special occasion, understanding that this is the Scandinavian food aesthetic. Will return on the next special occasion..

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Interesting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Awesome! Inventive dishes, attentive s ...

vip
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Awesome! Inventive dishes, attentive service, great beer pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was absolutely amazing - the only d ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was absolutely amazing - the only disappointment for me was that we did the $55 beer tasting and despite the tap list being awesome up front, 4 of the 5 beers we received were ones that I can buy at my local package store. There was no reserve bottle list according to our waitress.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were outstanding! The c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food and service were outstanding! The chef did some amazing things with vegetables. Not to mention the seafood and steak. My only complaint is that the beer pairing felt overpriced. You are better off making your own selections from Torst's incredible menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I don't think the Summer menu and pairin ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I don't think the Summer menu and pairings suited me. I will definitely try them again during the other seasons given that I had an exceptional time when I went during the winter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We were blown away by this foodie find. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We were blown away by this foodie find. The food was so interesting and unusual, with a lot of creative flair. We've done quite a lot of fancy tasting menus in the city and this was a charming, understated and delicious experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A brilliant display of craft in both foo ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A brilliant display of craft in both food and beer. It has been a true pleasure to be taken through the menu by the chefs of carefully selected ingredients who were left in their true taste and form, acompanied by great craft beers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm about to move out of town and hittin ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I'm about to move out of town and hitting a few places on my list. Luksus has been on the list since they opened and I'm glad I finally got to experience it. Sat at the Chef's table and got to witness first hand the mastery of Daniel Burns. Each dish was carefully prepared and the flow of the courses was well thought out. We had a great time and I would love to go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely fantastic - the best dining ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Absolutely fantastic - the best dining experience in NYC since we moved here 2 years ago.

You can tell the Chef has worked at the Fat Duck and St. John in the UK. - loved the exciting menus and marrying of flavors.

Highly recommended! In fact. my 2 friends went 2 nights after us on our recommendation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the trip. Chef Daniel's spot is i ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Worth the trip. Chef Daniel's spot is intelligent food in a fun casual atmosphere. Go in with a open mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef and staff at Luksus made my boy ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The chef and staff at Luksus made my boyfriend's birthday truly unforgettable. The menu was impeccable and delightfully vegetarian/pescetarian friendly. Chef Daniel and his sous chef Chuey worked beautifully in tandem, and our glasses never ran dry. We don't get to have fine dining experiences often, but our meal at Luksus left us feeling thoroughly satisfied, a little tipsy and very grateful to the restaurant's absolutely top-notch team. Thanks so much!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was interesting and inventive a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The meal was interesting and inventive and the beer pairing was a nice touch. The only negative I can find in the whole experience was that a few of the beers were not to my taste but this is more about what I look for and not a comment on either the quality or appropriate nature of the choice, which seemed to match each course perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luksus was such a delightful culinary ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Luksus was such a delightful culinary experience! Each course was a surprise, with either the server or chefs themselves coming out to explain the components of the dish! The intimate atmosphere (seats about 16-18 people) was lovely, and very appropriately Scandic. Great if you want a unique palette of flavors, and as equally great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding food experience with excepti ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Outstanding food experience with exceptional service. Worth every penny and then some.

Forget the plane ticket to Scandinavia and go here. Your efforts will be rewarded.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Greenpoint has a Michelin star!! If you ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Greenpoint has a Michelin star!! If you like food and beer Luksus cannot be missed. Chef Daniel's commitment to fresh food and fresh ideas is well deserving of this honor. It is the first and only Restaurant to receive a star and not serve wine. Even though the price is high I would come back for every new menu if I could.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure. My favorite restauran ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a pleasure. My favorite restaurant in NY. I think they are doing more creative things than any other place in NYC. Dreading the day they get 2 Michelin stars and I can't pop in on a whim. I will be happy for them when that day comes. -Brad

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All round incredible, best beer and food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

All round incredible, best beer and food matching.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Similar to other reviewers comments, I w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Similar to other reviewers comments, I was a little disappointed at the relative cost of the meal to the dishes served. Typically for tasting menus in this price range, I would have expected more high-end ingredients to be used or at least more proteins.

I will note that the waitstaff was amazingly attentive and did a great job to provide high quality service, however for the price I felt tasting course was over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Brilliant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything we had satisfied my taste buds in ways I was not expecting. Really well balanced, with the right amount of attitude, beautiful dishes and the beer paring is a must. I woke up the next day wanting to eat the whole menu all over again and felling like it was physically possible, I was not in a food coma. I can't wait to go back, it was beautiful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing amazing!! Service was a bit quic ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

amazing amazing!! Service was a bit quick during "snacks" . Loved that the chefs came out to explain their creations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not worry it:-(

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The waiter/staff was good, a bit difficult to understand. But we really didn't Think the food was worth it at all. And we was last one, so we felt we should hurry and stag just wandtet to ger off Early

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We looked forward to this restaurant, bu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We looked forward to this restaurant, but were a little disappointed. The food was very innovative a mostly delicious. However, there were a few dishes that were a little too bitter for my taste, especially some of the greens and sauces. I was most disappointed in the beer pairings. Save for one, they were also bitter, bordering on sour in flavor. While they might have been the best pairing for the food, they were not to our taste. And at $55 a person, with four of us dining, I would have expected a LOT of beer for $220. The service was very good and the servers explained all the dishes well. All things considered, I would go back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We stumbled upon 16-seater Luksus by accident.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We stumbled upon 16-seater Luksus by accident. We enjoyed lots of great craft beer at TORST in the front of house, including bar snacks made by the Luksus chef. Behind a door at the back of the bar lies Luksus, a one-Michelin star rated restaurant discretely waits. This unique Scandinavian restaurant pairs craft beer with their tasting menu and it is well worth it to go on the chef's beer journey here.

The ambiance is fairly casual. We were not dressed up that evening as we were not expecting to go to a Michelin rated restaurant, but we fit in just fine in casual clothes. Service was friendly, informative and quick. Food was delicious. Beer pairings leaned towards the sour and were excellent palette cleansers between courses.

What an amazing find! Plus we loved that the executive chef was from Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wonderful time at a perfect gem in Williamsburgh

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

i recently had a wonderful time during The 6:30 dinner party! Great food, fantastic beerpairrings and excellent ambience ❤️

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome concept, dreadful execution

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Ludicrously overpriced. Truly awesome concept. Was very attracted to the notion of a progressive restaurant with a tasting menu entirely paired with beer instead of wine. Problem is that pairing didn't work. Rather than enhancing flavors, or balancing them, as is typical of this type of place does with wine, the beer either overpowered or simply killed the flavor of each dish. Very disappointing, pretentious, and priced at about triple what the equivalent meal in Paris would be with wine pairings (and about double that of similar in Copenhagen).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

The food is amazing at Luksus. Daniel bu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The food is amazing at Luksus. Daniel burns has a winner here. Also Great service and nice ambience in The room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Do not recommend

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been to many Michelin star restaurant but non disappoint like Luksus. I left the restaurant with a hungry stomach and bleeding wallet. The food there had a variety of taste from salty, spicy, bitter and sweet. But the salty and bitter dish was not tasty at all... I would not recommend this place to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

A very special experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a very special and intimate experience. We chose to sit at the counter that separates the kitchen from the dining area, rather than at the tables along the opposite wall. We were able to watch the final steps of food preparation while chatting with Chef Daniel Burns and learning about the ingredients and some of the preparation techniques. It added to the overall experience in a very meaningful way.

The wide variety of tastes presented to us could have been overwhelming if the pace of service had not been so well-timed. Each course created anticipation for the next: Would there be another ingredient or flavor we had never experienced before? What unusual combinations would we encounter? It was an adventure that left us smiling. The great thing about the tasting menu is that you don't have to use any energy to make any decisions; you just sit back and let things happen and enjoy the ride. Instead of fretting over making the right choices or mistakenly rejecting one or another unusual menu item, you just trust the chef to provide you with a great experience. At Luksus, that trust was well-placed.

I decided to order the beer pairings, while my wife ordered from the tap list at Tørst, the adjacent bar. While I was initially disappointed that the beers were served from bottles and cans, rather than draft, it quickly became apparent that it would be nearly impossible to provide as complementary a set of drink pairings from a tap list that changed from day to day. Of the five beers paired with the food, I had tried only one previously. They were all first-rate. Some provided contrast with the dishes, but the finish of the last beer so exquisitely mimicked the last hint of flavor of the dessert that together they provided a perfect coda to the entire experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must visit for beer and food lovers

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Having been to Torst many times, I have heard a lot about Luksus and have wanted to try it. After finally taking the plunge, I can say that it is definitely worth it. Luksus delivers a fine dining experience in a relaxed atmosphere. It's also the only high end restaurant I've ever been to that takes beer seriously. If you're going to go, you must do the beer pairing. It is setup with a tasting menu. The food was impressive. Luksus is a must visit for any foodie or beer lover.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.