About Luksus

615 Manhattan Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11222
View Larger Map

luksus at tørst offers a seasonal tasting menu. the price is $125 per person. a $55 beer tasting is also available.

please be advised that service will start promptly so please come 15 minutes early and join us for a beer at the bar beforehand. in fairness to the other guests, anyone arriving late for their reservation will start at the course they arrive for. we cannot accommodate for vegan guests.

cancellations or changes to your party size must be made 24 hours in advance. reservations cancelled with less than 24 hours notice will be charged full menu price plus taxes per person on the reservation.

allergies: when booking, please inform us of ALL dietary issues including any specific food allergies. pescatarian and vegetarian guests are welcome; however, we are unable to accommodate for vegan guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Scandinavian, Nordic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
There is be one seating on Tuesday and Wednesday at 7:30pm.
There are two seatings Thursday through Sunday, at 6:30pm and 9pm.
We are not open on Mondays.

Cross Street:
Driggs

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 389-6034

Website:
http://luksusnyc.com/

Public Transit:
G Train to Nassau Avenue
L Train to Bedford Avenue

Executive Chef:
Daniel Burns

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating

Luksus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Brooklyn
Special Occasion
Brooklyn
Best Restaurants in Greenpoint ›

fit for foodies (33)
special occasion (32)
neighborhood gem (14)
See All
romantic (12)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
good for groups (4)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A brilliant display of craft in both foo ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 6 days ago

A brilliant display of craft in both food and beer. It has been a true pleasure to be taken through the menu by the chefs of carefully selected ingredients who were left in their true taste and form, acompanied by great craft beers.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm about to move out of town and hittin ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I'm about to move out of town and hitting a few places on my list. Luksus has been on the list since they opened and I'm glad I finally got to experience it. Sat at the Chef's table and got to witness first hand the mastery of Daniel Burns. Each dish was carefully prepared and the flow of the courses was well thought out. We had a great time and I would love to go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely fantastic - the best dining ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Absolutely fantastic - the best dining experience in NYC since we moved here 2 years ago.

You can tell the Chef has worked at the Fat Duck and St. John in the UK. - loved the exciting menus and marrying of flavors.

Highly recommended! In fact. my 2 friends went 2 nights after us on our recommendation!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the trip. Chef Daniel's spot is i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Worth the trip. Chef Daniel's spot is intelligent food in a fun casual atmosphere. Go in with a open mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef and staff at Luksus made my boy ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The chef and staff at Luksus made my boyfriend's birthday truly unforgettable. The menu was impeccable and delightfully vegetarian/pescetarian friendly. Chef Daniel and his sous chef Chuey worked beautifully in tandem, and our glasses never ran dry. We don't get to have fine dining experiences often, but our meal at Luksus left us feeling thoroughly satisfied, a little tipsy and very grateful to the restaurant's absolutely top-notch team. Thanks so much!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was interesting and inventive a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The meal was interesting and inventive and the beer pairing was a nice touch. The only negative I can find in the whole experience was that a few of the beers were not to my taste but this is more about what I look for and not a comment on either the quality or appropriate nature of the choice, which seemed to match each course perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luksus was such a delightful culinary ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Luksus was such a delightful culinary experience! Each course was a surprise, with either the server or chefs themselves coming out to explain the components of the dish! The intimate atmosphere (seats about 16-18 people) was lovely, and very appropriately Scandic. Great if you want a unique palette of flavors, and as equally great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding food experience with excepti ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Outstanding food experience with exceptional service. Worth every penny and then some.

Forget the plane ticket to Scandinavia and go here. Your efforts will be rewarded.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Greenpoint has a Michelin star!! If you ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Greenpoint has a Michelin star!! If you like food and beer Luksus cannot be missed. Chef Daniel's commitment to fresh food and fresh ideas is well deserving of this honor. It is the first and only Restaurant to receive a star and not serve wine. Even though the price is high I would come back for every new menu if I could.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure. My favorite restauran ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a pleasure. My favorite restaurant in NY. I think they are doing more creative things than any other place in NYC. Dreading the day they get 2 Michelin stars and I can't pop in on a whim. I will be happy for them when that day comes. -Brad

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All round incredible, best beer and food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

All round incredible, best beer and food matching.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Similar to other reviewers comments, I w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Similar to other reviewers comments, I was a little disappointed at the relative cost of the meal to the dishes served. Typically for tasting menus in this price range, I would have expected more high-end ingredients to be used or at least more proteins.

I will note that the waitstaff was amazingly attentive and did a great job to provide high quality service, however for the price I felt tasting course was over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Brilliant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything we had satisfied my taste buds in ways I was not expecting. Really well balanced, with the right amount of attitude, beautiful dishes and the beer paring is a must. I woke up the next day wanting to eat the whole menu all over again and felling like it was physically possible, I was not in a food coma. I can't wait to go back, it was beautiful!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing amazing!! Service was a bit quic ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

amazing amazing!! Service was a bit quick during "snacks" . Loved that the chefs came out to explain their creations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not worry it:-(

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The waiter/staff was good, a bit difficult to understand. But we really didn't Think the food was worth it at all. And we was last one, so we felt we should hurry and stag just wandtet to ger off Early

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We looked forward to this restaurant, bu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We looked forward to this restaurant, but were a little disappointed. The food was very innovative a mostly delicious. However, there were a few dishes that were a little too bitter for my taste, especially some of the greens and sauces. I was most disappointed in the beer pairings. Save for one, they were also bitter, bordering on sour in flavor. While they might have been the best pairing for the food, they were not to our taste. And at $55 a person, with four of us dining, I would have expected a LOT of beer for $220. The service was very good and the servers explained all the dishes well. All things considered, I would go back again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We stumbled upon 16-seater Luksus by accident.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We stumbled upon 16-seater Luksus by accident. We enjoyed lots of great craft beer at TORST in the front of house, including bar snacks made by the Luksus chef. Behind a door at the back of the bar lies Luksus, a one-Michelin star rated restaurant discretely waits. This unique Scandinavian restaurant pairs craft beer with their tasting menu and it is well worth it to go on the chef's beer journey here.

The ambiance is fairly casual. We were not dressed up that evening as we were not expecting to go to a Michelin rated restaurant, but we fit in just fine in casual clothes. Service was friendly, informative and quick. Food was delicious. Beer pairings leaned towards the sour and were excellent palette cleansers between courses.

What an amazing find! Plus we loved that the executive chef was from Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wonderful time at a perfect gem in Williamsburgh

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

i recently had a wonderful time during The 6:30 dinner party! Great food, fantastic beerpairrings and excellent ambience ❤️

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome concept, dreadful execution

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Ludicrously overpriced. Truly awesome concept. Was very attracted to the notion of a progressive restaurant with a tasting menu entirely paired with beer instead of wine. Problem is that pairing didn't work. Rather than enhancing flavors, or balancing them, as is typical of this type of place does with wine, the beer either overpowered or simply killed the flavor of each dish. Very disappointing, pretentious, and priced at about triple what the equivalent meal in Paris would be with wine pairings (and about double that of similar in Copenhagen).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

The food is amazing at Luksus. Daniel bu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The food is amazing at Luksus. Daniel burns has a winner here. Also Great service and nice ambience in The room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Do not recommend

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been to many Michelin star restaurant but non disappoint like Luksus. I left the restaurant with a hungry stomach and bleeding wallet. The food there had a variety of taste from salty, spicy, bitter and sweet. But the salty and bitter dish was not tasty at all... I would not recommend this place to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

A very special experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a very special and intimate experience. We chose to sit at the counter that separates the kitchen from the dining area, rather than at the tables along the opposite wall. We were able to watch the final steps of food preparation while chatting with Chef Daniel Burns and learning about the ingredients and some of the preparation techniques. It added to the overall experience in a very meaningful way.

The wide variety of tastes presented to us could have been overwhelming if the pace of service had not been so well-timed. Each course created anticipation for the next: Would there be another ingredient or flavor we had never experienced before? What unusual combinations would we encounter? It was an adventure that left us smiling. The great thing about the tasting menu is that you don't have to use any energy to make any decisions; you just sit back and let things happen and enjoy the ride. Instead of fretting over making the right choices or mistakenly rejecting one or another unusual menu item, you just trust the chef to provide you with a great experience. At Luksus, that trust was well-placed.

I decided to order the beer pairings, while my wife ordered from the tap list at Tørst, the adjacent bar. While I was initially disappointed that the beers were served from bottles and cans, rather than draft, it quickly became apparent that it would be nearly impossible to provide as complementary a set of drink pairings from a tap list that changed from day to day. Of the five beers paired with the food, I had tried only one previously. They were all first-rate. Some provided contrast with the dishes, but the finish of the last beer so exquisitely mimicked the last hint of flavor of the dessert that together they provided a perfect coda to the entire experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must visit for beer and food lovers

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Having been to Torst many times, I have heard a lot about Luksus and have wanted to try it. After finally taking the plunge, I can say that it is definitely worth it. Luksus delivers a fine dining experience in a relaxed atmosphere. It's also the only high end restaurant I've ever been to that takes beer seriously. If you're going to go, you must do the beer pairing. It is setup with a tasting menu. The food was impressive. Luksus is a must visit for any foodie or beer lover.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic experience

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Lucky to be offered a seat by the counter. This made it to a menorable evening beyond the great food and the nice beer pairing. Strongly recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Luksus - highly recommend

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We were recommended the restaurant by friends and we were so glad we came. When you arrive you can get a drink and you let them know you're there for dinner and when the kitchen is ready you get taken through. The staff are friendly and the service is impeccable. There are only up to 16 guests per sitting at the max, on the night we went there were only 5 of us so we sat in front of the kitchen which was great to see the chef in action. The food was outstanding and there really is so much attention to detail.

They serve only beer but I did see others bring a bottle of wine to eat with the meal so you can ask on booking. My husband really enjoyed the beer matching to the food.

If you're a foodie or looking for an evening out to enjoy great food definitely make a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

what an experience

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his 35th birthday and we were escorted into the dining area. We were then asked where we wanted to sit (kitchen bar or table) we chose the kitchen bar and soon realized that we were watching Chef Daniel working the entire time. We spoke with him about the different courses and overall had the best time. The food was amazing, the beer pairing was delicious (I'm not a beer person but they were so good) my boyfriend is more the beer connoisseur and he loved all of them. Definitely go early to enjoy a drink at Torst the bar in the front of Luksus. It is worth the money for the experience and food we had!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting location and room. Great bee ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Interesting location and room. Great beers. Food was ok but not Scandinavian...not really a 1 star place...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Great tastes of Food

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I went to the restaurant solo this past weekend and loved my experience. I was able to sit right up front where I was able to watch Chef Daniel Burns orchestrate plating a artistry of outstanding plate composition. I chose to include the beer pairing, but didn't love the style of Sours and Wild ales that were selected. Service was great, courses were presented by the sous chef and drinks were kept full at all times. Beer was poured by waitstaff. Overall I would highly recommend dining @ Luksus !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Definitely sit at the bar if possible!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Definitely sit at the bar if possible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What was memorable..the chef must be a p ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

What was memorable..the chef must be a person who wants to prove he exists in this world. Strong flavor maybe to his likings but should understand we support an experiment but also need a reward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Overbooked

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We were seated in the bar area instead of the restaurant 30 minutes late because they were overbooked and running late. Yes it was a 12 course tasting menu but it took over 3 hours to serve it all, there were inordinate waits between courses. The food was above average but the wait, the poor seating and unevenness in course delivery led to a less than stellar experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Great experience all around

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was spectacular. Creative combinations--continuous stream of delectable morsels. Service was friendly and professional. Ambience was charming--like sitting in the kitchen of some terrific chefs with an intimate group.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Evening

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Had a great time at Luksus and really enjoyed sitting at the bar, interacting with the kitchen and talking about the food with Chef David. The food was amazing and the beer is spectacular. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise level was insane and it was freezi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Noise level was insane and it was freezing, diner actually had their jackets on we couldn't wait for it to be over and leave. Service all seemed very rushed and it looked like everything was already prepared just needed to be played.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Inspired dining with beer

 
 (London)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

A unique dining experience combining seasonal ingredients with great technique and absolutely inspired Beer pairings

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best meal I have ever had at a restaurant

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

I can't say much except that this is the best meal I have ever had at a restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

H and I have to say that I was expecting ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

H and I have to say that I was expecting a different experience. Main concern was the service that was too stiff opposed to a restaurant where you eat many dishes with your hand. I would prefer something friendlier and easy but obviously knowledgable. The food was overpriced for what we got, we've been served a good bread with great butter twice... Final bill 200... I can eat good bread and butter for 10... The radicchio was excellent but again apart for this I was expecting something more sophisticated. I didn't meet the chef at the table... I'm a regular at probably what I can consider my favourite bar in the world and with 3 tables I guess he can come around and make it warmer and more personalised. I would love to see this restaurant growing and become one of the great, I live in the neighbour and I love Toørst, from what I could see there is a long way to do... Unfortunately due to the price I won't be able to check the improvements for a while... And also due to this experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Secret Dining Behind Beer Bar!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

1 Michelin Star tasting menu - ALL the bites in our tasting were great! each dish was very different but all well done. Hidden in the back of Torst Beer Bar - I would probably skip the beer pairings though as they are pricey and I only enjoyed 2 of the 5 we received.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Some interesting food

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Interesting tasting menu with some hits like the parsnip ice cream and some fantastic bread but on the whole it was a lot of money for some courses that just didn't cut it. The beers are quite good.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Fantastic

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

One of the best dining experiences I have had in my 11.5 years in NYC, compared to St. Anselm and Dear Bushwick to Freeman's and Cafe Gitane. Chef Daniel Burns is a true culinary genius not to mention one of the kindest and most humble people I have met. The presentation was detailed, intellectual and visually breathtaking. My palette was beyond pleased from a dining experience, after a very long time. I am a vegetarian and was accommodated to beyond my expectations. This is the kind of vibe restarants should have. Humble, knowledgeable, attentive and brilliant. The price may seem high but worth every penny. I don't drink beer but my plus 1 did the beer tasting and was very pleased. I wish Chef Burns and his team ultimate success however hope it doesnt become impossible to get a reservation! Bon Apetit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.