About Lüke San Antonio

125 E. Houston St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

San Antonio is now home to acclaimed Chef John Besh’s restaurant, Lüke, on the city's famed Riverwalk, Besh's first restaurant outside of his home state of Louisiana. The casual chic bistro features a menu of authentic Old World cuisine, combining classic German and French cooking techniques served in a warm and inviting space of stylish vintage interior, situated in San Antonio's popular downtown district.

At the helm of the kitchen of Lüke is Executive Chef John Russ, born and raised in New Orleans. At Restaurant August, Chef Russ began to form the relationship with John Besh and he learned the importance of forming relationships with farmers and fisherman, which would later be reinforced by his time working on farms in Alabama, New Hampshire, New York and Maryland. Chef Russ returned to the Besh Restaurant Group as Chef de Cuisine on the invitation of Chef Besh.

To complement its cuisine, Lüke offers an extensive wine list and beer selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily : 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Soledad St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-5853

Website:
http://www.lukesanantonio.com/

Executive Chef:
John Russ

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • mesquite smoked pork ribs
mesquite smoked pork ribs

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Lüke San Antonio offers a unique private dining experience with its second-floor reception space that overlooks the restaurant’s kitchen and the River Walk. Your guests will enjoy Old World cuisine with Texas and New Orleans touches, giving them an experience they won’t soon forget.

Lüke San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (55)
special occasion (42)
great for outdoor dining (35)
See All
scenic view (28)
good for groups (26)
great for brunch (20)
great for lunch (20)
romantic (13)
vibrant bar scene (11)
hot spot (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (6)
notable wine list (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Never disappointed food always excellent ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

Never disappointed food always excellent. Hope to come every Tuesday evening after work. Gulf oysters are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Portions are small for the prices. Good ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

Portions are small for the prices. Good quality though. The happy hour is pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Tourist trap restaurant in an Embassy Su ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Tourist trap restaurant in an Embassy Suites hotel. Over priced and underwhelming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Victor was very nice and helpful. I will ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

Victor was very nice and helpful. I will be back for their happy hour.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Totally loved everything about this plac ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Totally loved everything about this place. Food, drinks, service impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very limited menu and portions quite ski ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very limited menu and portions quite skimpy. The soda came in an 8oz bottle and waiter would ask if we needed another soda and was told no, but waiter kept asking are we sure we didn't need another soda. I was disappointed with the food and service and will not eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Very attentive server. We had 7 in our g ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very attentive server. We had 7 in our group and everyone enjoyed their choice of entree and several group appetizers. I would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luke is amazing! The food is always fres ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Luke is amazing! The food is always fresh and the desserts are fantastic!

I recommend everybody try Luke.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service.

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great food great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am a foodie and my wife would say I am ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I am a foodie and my wife would say I am too critical but when a plate is 20 plus dollars a plate it should be out standing and it was not. I had the shrimp over cheese grits. The shrimp was over cooked chewy and dry, for my taste it was also over salted, but this last nail for me was that the shrimp was not deveined are was not washed as it should have been and I got the sensation of sandy grit in my mouth. I do hope they do a better job for this is my town and I want guests that visit to see the gem that San Antonio really is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was ok, but not what I would ex ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was ok, but not what I would expect from such a noteworthy chef. The atmosphere is pretty terrible. It connects the street to the hotel lobby, so tons of foot traffic, families walking through in bathing suits, etc.. Lots of better options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Dinner was very, very good. We had the r ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Dinner was very, very good. We had the roasted brussle sprouts and and the gumbo appetizers. Both were exceptional.

For dinner we had the shrimp and grits (the house specialty) and the fresh fish amandine. The Amadine was very good, but the shrimp and grits was overpowered by the heat of the peppers and the spicy sausage. There was no way to appreciate the creaminess of the grits. It was good, but I left disappointed with that dish.

For dessert we had the bread pudding and was again, just blown away.

A very good dinner. Probably the best we've had since moving to San Antonio in November of 2015.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

There is a lot of hype about this restau ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

There is a lot of hype about this restaurant, and I was really looking forward to trying it. The most I can say about it is, "Meh." Nothing particularly bad, nothing particularly good. Wine was unremarkable. Food was unremarkable. Just inoffensive. I have had much better dinners in San Antonio. A bit disappointed that I decided to try a new place with friends from Los Angeles. I should have stayed with my old stanbys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

The Monday special or fried chicken, red ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The Monday special or fried chicken, red beans and rice was to die for. Give the cocktails a taste because they were all excellent that we tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I visited San Antonio the ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My husband and I visited San Antonio the other weekend and had dinner at Luke on our last night. The food was excellent, but just a little overpriced. The oysters were fantastic!! Service was good and waiter was friendly, could've been a little more knowledgeable about some menu items but we were not disappointed. He gave us a good recommendation for a cocktail bar to go to afterwards. We sat in the back of the dining room and the door that goes out to the patio next to us was extremely loud when opening/closing and there was a good bit of traffic through it. Regardless, I would definitely come back here for another special occasion/date night. Would be good for a group outing, too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food but the service was subpar. La ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Good food but the service was subpar. Lack of attentiveness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Not happy at all with the service. The ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Not happy at all with the service. The oysters we ordered before dinner weren't cleared off when the entrees came so everything was very crowded. Apparently the server of the entrees was not allowed to remove the dishes -- he said the waitress would be by to get them. We ended up moving the platters to the floor so we could continue, because she was occupied with another table (we were the only 2 tables in the area, but the other table took all of her attention). One diner's steak, ordered medium rare, was cold and bloody in the center. The server offered to take it back to re-fire it, but that wasn't really possible since the steak was finished with a sauce, but also every one else already had their food and we were trying to get to a show.

Otherwise, the food is good but over-priced given the issues we had.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Our food wasn't very warm, my salad was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our food wasn't very warm, my salad was over seasoned and the greens were wilted and there was too much dressing. Our mimosas lacked orange juice and we waited an extra 20 minutes for the "fresh squeezed" juice. Another gal got fries but they weren't very fresh. For the $100+ we spent as a brunch group we weren't very impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

A friend and I dined at Luke while in to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A friend and I dined at Luke while in town on business. We returned few nights later with a larger group of colleagues from the conference. Wonderful resturant! Excellent service of super fresh food prepared perfectly. I will dine at Luke and other John Besh establishments when ever I find myself close. Anxiously waiting the Houston location!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm Lukewarm on Luke. A typical hotel r ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I'm Lukewarm on Luke. A typical hotel restaurant. I should have known better. Wait staff were were gracious and kind. Food was so-so, especially for the price. Two of us had fish which was tasty but not exceptional. I would not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great location. Right on a secluded area ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great location. Right on a secluded area of the River Walk. The Embassy Suites hotel, which houses the restaurant, is a very nice place to stay. We spent an evening here and enjoyed a great dinner at Lüke to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. Thank you to the staff and head chef John Russ for making it a special night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great time. We came to celebrat ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a great time. We came to celebrate both Fathers Day and my husbands birthday. The service was excellent and the food outstanding. Will definitely come again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and decent service. Did not ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and decent service. Did not like the fact that non-patrons were using the restaurant as a short cut to the hotel next door, weaving through the tables. Restaurant needs to control access

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Favorite Happy Hour for GREAT Food!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

This place never disappoints; Service its always the Best, friendly Management , Food, Drinks, this place has it all.!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It shouldn't be that difficult

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Went to Luke before a show at the Majestic (as many people do). Arrived at 5:45 for an 8:00 show, and we were out in plenty of time, so that was a plus.

A recurring theme is about the service and the quality, and how it is lacking. Well, it was lacking for us, too. You'd think that it would have been fixed by now since it's a common and recurring problem, but it seems to be the same. We were obviously there during happy hour, but our waiter-- although nice and gave us good service in general-- did not "promote" or mention it in any way. We simply got to admire those around us who obviously were aware of different HH offerings that were never told to us. We started with the Flammenkuchen which was very tasty, but beware it is heavy on the fennel seeds (not mentioned on the menu) so if you don't like fennel then you might not like this. We ordered one Luke burger and one Steak Frites. The burger was very good ($14) and served nice and steamy hot... my steak wasn't even warm. Seriously, they top it with paths of compound butter and the butter wasn't even melting. I thought maybe spreading it around would help find a warm spot to melt, but no. I now had a steak with spreaded butter that i had to scrape off because steaks aren't meant to be served with "softened" butter. The flavor of the Steak Frites was fantastic, I can't even imagine how much better it would have been if it were warm. The kicker is, when the waiter asked, I told him that the flavor was good but the steak was cold. He told me, "that's what happens when someone orders a medium or medium rare steak, it's too cold for the butter to melt." Excuse me??? This isn't my first medium rare steak, nor is it my first steak topped with butter, so please don't tell me that "that's what happens" when that's not what happens. Plain and simple, the kitchen staff are not paying attention as to when they fire up orders if we end up with a cold steak and a hot burger. Fix that, Luke, and you'll be on your way to 5 stars!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A night in downtown SA

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food was great! We would definitely eat there again and recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Old Lettuce and Really Bad Soup

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

It was bad and too loud for a nice conversation. I wouldn't recommend unless you really don't care for the company you are with. Even alone, it is overpriced and not tasty. Service didn't justify a return visit either. Just bad. Was really looking forward to it, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Service was off

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

On our last visit to Luke there was mis-step in service. While the food as usual was great the service not so. Both my wife and I ordered an appetizer cup of gumbo before the meal as well as ordering a side dish with the meal. The side dish never came and gumbo was served with our meal. Hopefully it was just off night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice place Poor Food

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I've now been to Luke twice. Each time I left with the impression that the food is mediocre, overpriced and poorly presented.

Will not be back for a third visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Way to spicy, amateur service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

I ordered the Cajun fried rice with blue crab. I was very disappointed to say the least. It was so spicy I couldn't eat it. I'm from Texas and have been eating spicy food my whole life but this was way, way, way over spiced. It was a real shame because the blue crab in the rice was delicious. I wish I could have tasted more of it. My wife ordered the shrimp and grits and again, way to spicy. Neither one of us could finish our meal. We stopped and got a burger on the way home. I will not be returning. If you decide to risk it, bring a bag of Tums and lowered expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

"Besht" food...worst service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our first visit to Luke with a group was a lovely evening filled with great food and lots of laughs. Sadly, the service did not match the rest of the evening. We were seated promptly but waited to some time for our server to appear...and that was the rule for the rest of the night. Patrons came and went around us while we waited for course after course all night! A possible wonderful and one of a kind evening was only spoiled by, possibly, the worst service I have ever had anywhere in the world.

No improvements needed on the food...dramatic improvements necessary on the service end before we will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Fun Date Night

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My husband and I dined at Luke last Friday evening around 6:30. The bar area looked nice but we were seated at a table(which is fine with me!). Our server was very attentive, we asked for drink and food recommendations and he offered us some and they were amazing! The food came out quickly and our server made sure we were taken care of. I had one adult beverage plus water, my husband had two adult beverages, we had an appetizer, two entrees and shared a dessert for about $100...not including a tip. The dining area overlooked a serene portion of the River Walk and there was outdoor seating available. The draw back was the noise level but that's ok. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to family and friends and we will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am typically disappointed with restaur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

I am typically disappointed with restaurants on or near The Riverwalk. I was very pleased with my dinner at Luke! We enjoyed fresh mussels, fried brussel sprouts and shrimp and grits. All were delicious! I would love to return and order the same exact meal. We sat outside on the patio - very enjoyable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I found this restaurant to be a great di ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I found this restaurant to be a great disappointment. It is obviously geared to tourists. Nothing special about the food or ambience. The wines were way overpriced. The service was amateuristic. Don't waste a trip here.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

So many service issues-hostess told us s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

So many service issues-hostess told us she couldn' change our seating because the other table had bee specifically reserved. When she seated that table, they asked to be reseated and she told them the same thing. Hmm? Entrees were not delivered at the same time. When the server cleared the apps he gave me bake my used fork. Sloshed coffee and was perturbed that I asked for a clean saucer. Food was ok but nothing special. Gulf fish almond one was over cooked and bland. Bread pudding was excellent. Noise level prevented table conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The food was AMAZING! We had the fried g ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was AMAZING! We had the fried green tomatoes, Luke burger, and the jumbo shrimp - all incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I wish they would bring back some old di ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I wish they would bring back some old dishes. The BBQ shrimp, frog legs , and the charcuterie were always 10/10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I was in SAT for the night, saw John Bes ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

I was in SAT for the night, saw John Besh owned this place and was very excited to experience. Booked a table and arrived to be greet by a very angry nasty hostess, to place that had about 6 parties seated, basically an empty restaurant. One plus there was a band playing!

Took far to long to receive a drink or any attention from the staff. The SAT Spurs were playing and all attention was focused on TV monitors.

Was hard not to get up and leave at this point, I mean there are literally 100 places to eat on the Riverwalk, but it 830 time to wined down and enjoy some Besh offerings! The gumbo was very good, everything else was okay!

I heard it was good for HH-

Hope they work on staff to work at a high level! This is not a BAR!

Just run like one

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Shrimp and grits

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Amazing place to eat. Best shrimp and grits ever !!!!! Service was excellent !!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luke before a concert

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I love John Besh, and I love Luke. But my steak was too rare, and was very gristle-y. I won't get the ribeye here again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.