About Lüke San Antonio

125 E. Houston St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

San Antonio is now home to acclaimed Chef John Besh’s restaurant, Lüke, on the city's famed Riverwalk, Besh's first restaurant outside of his home state of Louisiana. The casual chic bistro features a menu of authentic Old World cuisine, combining classic German and French cooking techniques served in a warm and inviting space of stylish vintage interior, situated in San Antonio's popular downtown district.

At the helm of the kitchen of Lüke is Executive Chef John Russ, born and raised in New Orleans. At Restaurant August, Chef Russ began to form the relationship with John Besh and he learned the importance of forming relationships with farmers and fisherman, which would later be reinforced by his time working on farms in Alabama, New Hampshire, New York and Maryland. Chef Russ returned to the Besh Restaurant Group as Chef de Cuisine on the invitation of Chef Besh.

To complement its cuisine, Lüke offers an extensive wine list and beer selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily : 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Soledad St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-5853

Website:
http://www.lukesanantonio.com/

Executive Chef:
John Russ

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Lüke San Antonio offers a unique private dining experience with its second-floor reception space that overlooks the restaurant’s kitchen and the River Walk. Your guests will enjoy Old World cuisine with Texas and New Orleans touches, giving them an experience they won’t soon forget.

Lüke San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (66)
special occasion (60)
great for outdoor dining (47)
See All
good for groups (37)
scenic view (34)
great for lunch (34)
great for brunch (27)
romantic (26)
hot spot (18)
vibrant bar scene (18)
neighborhood gem (15)
kid-friendly (13)
late-night find (10)
notable wine list (9)
Sort By:
Newest
1520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I am typically disappointed with restaur ...

Dined 5 days ago

I am typically disappointed with restaurants on or near The Riverwalk. I was very pleased with my dinner at Luke! We enjoyed fresh mussels, fried brussel sprouts and shrimp and grits. All were delicious! I would love to return and order the same exact meal. We sat outside on the patio - very enjoyable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I found this restaurant to be a great di ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I found this restaurant to be a great disappointment. It is obviously geared to tourists. Nothing special about the food or ambience. The wines were way overpriced. The service was amateuristic. Don't waste a trip here.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience2
service1

So many service issues-hostess told us s ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

So many service issues-hostess told us she couldn' change our seating because the other table had bee specifically reserved. When she seated that table, they asked to be reseated and she told them the same thing. Hmm? Entrees were not delivered at the same time. When the server cleared the apps he gave me bake my used fork. Sloshed coffee and was perturbed that I asked for a clean saucer. Food was ok but nothing special. Gulf fish almond one was over cooked and bland. Bread pudding was excellent. Noise level prevented table conversation.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was AMAZING! We had the fried g ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was AMAZING! We had the fried green tomatoes, Luke burger, and the jumbo shrimp - all incredible!

food3
ambience3
service4

I wish they would bring back some old di ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I wish they would bring back some old dishes. The BBQ shrimp, frog legs , and the charcuterie were always 10/10.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I was in SAT for the night, saw John Bes ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I was in SAT for the night, saw John Besh owned this place and was very excited to experience. Booked a table and arrived to be greet by a very angry nasty hostess, to place that had about 6 parties seated, basically an empty restaurant. One plus there was a band playing! Took far to long to receive a drink or any attention from the staff. The SAT Spurs were playing and all attention was focused on TV monitors. Was hard not to get up and leave at this point, I mean there are literally 100 places to eat on the Riverwalk, but it 830 time to wined down and enjoy some Besh offerings! The gumbo was very good, everything else was okay! I heard it was good for HH- Hope they work on staff to work at a high level! This is not a BAR! Just run like one

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shrimp and grits

Dined on May 10, 2016

Amazing place to eat. Best shrimp and grits ever !!!!! Service was excellent !!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Luke before a concert

Dined on May 9, 2016

I love John Besh, and I love Luke. But my steak was too rare, and was very gristle-y. I won't get the ribeye here again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch. Great choices

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the variety of choices available from prime rib to raw oysters. Desserts were delicious. My wife is always happy when we come to Luke, because she is a shrimp and grits lover... and Luke's never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Happy Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our Mother's Day brunch at Luke was all we had hoped it would be and more. From the fresh oysters, to the prime beef, oysters beinville, buttermilk biscuits, bacon.... I could go on and on. The food was excellently prepared, at the right temperature and always available even with the buffet set up. Luke is never disappointing and usually exceeds expectations. Despite the crowd the wait staff was attentive and friendly. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellence in every aspect.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellence in every aspect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Service

Dined on May 7, 2016

As always, we had great food, prompt service, and properly chilled drinks! Dinning her before going to the Majestic is always a wonderful experience. Larry's smile and desert suggestions are perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our Down Town faves!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Nine times out of ten we choose Luke for our dinner before the theater show. It is conveniently located in the Embassy Suites and they have valet parking. We walk to the theater and back. They have great appetizers & main courses as well as great wine and specialty drinks.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Business mixes with Pleasure

Dined on May 6, 2016

This is a great place for a business dinner, especially if 'foodies' are in your group. Lively, with an eclectic menu (try the 'crunchy brussel sprouts'!), it's good food and without overwhelming prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional Find off the main path

Dined on May 5, 2016

We almost didn't find this place since it is on street level and not directly on the Riverwalk...but I'm glad we did! Each dish we tried had the best flavor. The crispy brusell sprouts were a hit even with people that didn't think they would ever like one and the shrimp and grits were phenomenal. If you're there for a drink try the French75 or the Lady Ophelia- very refreshing on those warmer nights.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Expected more...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Met a colleague here for a meeting over lunch. My previous experience at Lüke had only been for drinks and appetizers, but I had been impressed--and being a bit of a food nerd, I was looking forward to experiencing a John Besh restaurant meal. We started with the crispy brussels sprouts, which were excellent, if a little heavy on the almonds. I had a bowl of gumbo to precede my main course--and it was unbelievably good! The seafood was on point, not too much rice, and the roux...dear God, the roux! My main course was the Chile Charred Gulf Shrimp. While it's listed under "Plats Principaux" it really should be listed under "Soupes et Salades." For two reasons: 1) it was essentially a tomato salad with shrimp, and 2) on the bill, it was listed as tomato salad with shrimp. Certainly not what was advertised, nor what would be expected for a main dish. That aside, the shrimp (all five of them...poor, tiny, things) were seasoned and cooked perfectly. The plate was a bit overwhelmed--due to too few shrimp, I'm guessing--by a pile of roasted cherry tomatoes, offset by a couple of tiny crostini. The tomatoes were wonderfully flavored...they just became monotonous, working through the pile, looking for the other advertised ingredients. One had to be quite frugal with one's shrimp, crostini, and olive puree if one wanted to get a bit of each flavor on the plate in as many bites as possible. Otherwise, it was just tomato after tomato. Succulent, delicious, overly-abundant...tomatoes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

There was nothing particularly wrong wit ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

There was nothing particularly wrong with the experience but nothing impressive either. The food, service, and atmosphere were all just ok. But we paid for impressive and didn't get it

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to have good authentic Cajun ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great place to have good authentic Cajun/New Orleans style food with flair. I've been here a number of times and I've never been disappointed. Friends I'm with are equally pleased. The wait staff is attentive and eager to please. The setting is in the heart of downtown, easy walk to the Majestic for theater night. You can even valet park at the Embassy Suites next to the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service2

Disappointed. Was really expecting a sim ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Disappointed. Was really expecting a similar experience to other Besh restaurants. It's location, basically off the Embassy Suites lobby, leaves lots to be desired. Outside traffic/hotel guests stampeding thru the restaurant to get to the lobby is undesirable eating conditions. Children running and bouncing a ball IN THE RESTAURANT is unacceptable. The food, as expected, didn't disappoint.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Surprise

Dined on April 23, 2016

I met some cousins at the restaurant on Saturday night before the Fiesta Flambeau. Frankly, we just wanted someplace we did not have to drive to since we were going to the parade afterwards. One of the cousins suggested Luke's. It was great. We ate on the patio. The waiter turned out to be a former student of my cousin's. San Antonio is a small world!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Help at the bar?

Dined on April 20, 2016

Went for dinner and drinks. Food was tasty, server was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. However, our initial drink order took over 5 minutes to process (glasses of champagne and beer) and left us disappointed in the timeliness of the bar service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Formally a decently good restaurant.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Have eaten at Luke several times and for the most part had good dining experiences with attentive service and interesting, tasty starters. Most of the time we ate outside or inside only when it was very uncrowded. The noise level inside is atrocious and the music completely obnoxious. It has been a while since dining here and it has gone very downhill especially in the quality of the food and the service was some of the worst ever. We have taken it off our list.

food3
ambience3
service2

Good food and flavor combinations but sl ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Good food and flavor combinations but sloppy presentation. For this caliber of restaurants, I expected more conscientious service and descriptions of the menu. The plates arrived messy and incomplete appearing. That being said, the food was very good and the patio setting very nice. We live in Boulder, CO and the competition among our restaurants is fierce!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Happy Hour

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Happy Hour Review Fried Oysters: 5/5 (extremely delicious) Raw Oysters: 5/5 (large and cleaned well) Charbroiled Oysters: 1/5 (fishy tasting, not good) Cocktails: 5/5 (all were tasty) Atmosphere: 4/5 (great but a little conservative) Service: 5/5 (no complaints)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3

Waiter recommended Brussels and shrimp b ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Waiter recommended Brussels and shrimp bam bam, and they didn't disappoint. Baby beets was also excellent. Service a bit slow, difficult to flag our waiter to order both times, but we had a good experience and I'd definitely go back.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Getting better

Dined on April 3, 2016

I must say that this time the service was certainly better than the last time we were there. It as still lacking especially since the dining room was not crowded but it was better. The food was great. We brought some friends from out of town and they were very impressed. Overall food is great but experience can still be hurt by lack of attention to service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

We dined at Luke San Antonio on our last night in Texas which was a perfect ending for our 8 days in Austin, New Braunfels and San Antonio. This was one of the very best dining experiences that we had. The New Orleans style gumbo was loaded with lots of andouille sausage and just the right amount of rice. The Salad Luke was very fresh and tasty. The entrees, Gulf Shrimp served on a bed of cheesy Jalapeno grits with andouille sausage in a lovely roux and the beef entrecote in a bordelaise with skinny fries were both amazing. A great meal with perfect service from our waiter, Tre Lozno.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

The oysters are know longer 50 cents the ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

The oysters are know longer 50 cents they are 1 dollar each during happy hour now

food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

First time for brunch little over priced not even a free glass of champagne for $50, lots of salads their usual grits and gravy they had waffles but no maple syrup I guess not in the budget, overall food was good but not a great offering of food for the price. Really best bet is their Happy Hour.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

The Easter Brunch buffet was outstanding ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Easter Brunch buffet was outstanding!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent selection & outstanding quality. I highly recommend the Easter Brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Special Occasion

Dined on March 27, 2016

We chose Lüke for our 19th wedding anniversary dinner. A bit risky for a first visit but we couldn't have been more pleased with our dining experience. The staff welcomed us with complimentary champagne and we followed this with a wonderful, savory meal. Salad and crusty bread to start the meal was remarkable. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

hit and miss

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

been a few times. first was better. second (party of eight) service was good when it showed up but there were long lags - a painful one between starters and entrees.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Luke!!

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

We love the food and service at Luke. We were very disappointed that the hush puppies and fried founder were taken off the menu - those were two of our favorites. We come to Luke often and will continue to do so and hope our favorites will reappear on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We would try it again

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

After having eaten at Luke in Nola several times over the years, I was excited to try the San Antonio location. My companion enjoyed his fish dish very much, but my meal was extraordinarily dry and just "missing something". However, when I mentioned this to our server and he in turn mentioned it to the floor manager, they did a great job of handling my comments in a pleasant way, and also by offering to either remove it from my check or bring me something else. I would definitely try this restaurant again.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was absolutely delicious. Our ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about each plate and offered great advice and service.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very loud

Dined on March 13, 2016

Saturday night, not every table in use but the noise level is very loud. Recommend outdoor seating to be able to converse. Food, service excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food - so glad to be able to en ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Fabulous food - so glad to be able to enjoy a John Besh restaurant outside of NOLA but still have that amazing New Orleans flavor! The Key Lime dessert was to die for

food5
ambience5
service5

First time for happy hour - took advanta ...

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

First time for happy hour - took advantage of oysters on the half shell and drink specials. Gumbo was outstanding and the brussel sprouts, yes Brussel sprouts - amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luke is one of the best customer service ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Luke is one of the best customer service ops in San Antonio

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.