About Lüke San Antonio

125 E. Houston St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

San Antonio is now home to acclaimed Chef John Besh’s restaurant, Lüke, on the city's famed Riverwalk, Besh's first restaurant outside of his home state of Louisiana. The casual chic bistro features a menu of authentic Old World cuisine, combining classic German and French cooking techniques served in a warm and inviting space of stylish vintage interior, situated in San Antonio's popular downtown district.

At the helm of the kitchen of Lüke is Executive Chef John Russ, born and raised in New Orleans. At Restaurant August, Chef Russ began to form the relationship with John Besh and he learned the importance of forming relationships with farmers and fisherman, which would later be reinforced by his time working on farms in Alabama, New Hampshire, New York and Maryland. Chef Russ returned to the Besh Restaurant Group as Chef de Cuisine on the invitation of Chef Besh.

To complement its cuisine, Lüke offers an extensive wine list and beer selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily : 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Soledad St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-5853

Website:
http://www.lukesanantonio.com/

Executive Chef:
John Russ

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • mesquite smoked pork ribs
mesquite smoked pork ribs

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Lüke San Antonio offers a unique private dining experience with its second-floor reception space that overlooks the restaurant’s kitchen and the River Walk. Your guests will enjoy Old World cuisine with Texas and New Orleans touches, giving them an experience they won’t soon forget.

Lüke San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (48)
Special Occasion (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
See All
Scenic View (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Lunch (19)
Great for Brunch (15)
Romantic (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1575 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dined with a friend during Restaurant We ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

Dined with a friend during Restaurant Week. Hostess tried to seat us by the noisy bar despite several better tables. The eggplant and swordfish appetizer was good albeit very "one note" i.e. chile spice as were 3 of 4 choices. Dessert: bread pudding was over cooked, pear tart crust was heavy with shortening. Noise level high. I will not go here again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Lüke was great. Took my wife for date ni ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Lüke was great. Took my wife for date night. Great restaurant week special. Great overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Spicy, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

If I had to find one thing to nitpick ab ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

If I had to find one thing to nitpick about Luke, it would be the noise level. It seemed almost rowdy for a upscale menu and slow dinner experience. Everything else, though, was delightful. Our waiter was excellent and took very good care of us. The food and drinks were delicious and I would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for a birthday celebration and had ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went for a birthday celebration and had a fabulous evening Loved the Resturant week menu Will go back

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice! Food excellent! Service excel ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very nice! Food excellent! Service excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service, OUTSTANDING food!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic service, OUTSTANDING food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service. Chef John sp ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Chef John specialized the evening with a visit to the table. Asked for feedback and our thoughts on his establishment. Highly recommend people go and check it out yourself.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was perfect, food delicious exce ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was perfect, food delicious except for the tough pork chop. We enjoyed dining outside. Inside would have been miserable due to the noise. Proper acoustics are badly needed. Because of this we will only go back when weather is moderate, not in August or January.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My shrimp and grits meal was wonderful. ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My shrimp and grits meal was wonderful. The shrimp were cooked just right and the grits were creamy and with the right amount of kick from the chorizo. Glad I decided to give the restaurant a try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We live downtown and meet a group of fri ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We live downtown and meet a group of friends here on a regular basis. Always great food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Server was very rude. Ignored us most of ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Server was very rude. Ignored us most of the time when we ordered four different types of apps, drinks and dessert. Bill was about the same as dinner would be but we got treated like homeless people. Never asked if I wanted another cocktail etc. Got order wrong anyway and seemed upset when we wanted more food that wasn't the special. Expected better service because she was nice to other tables around us. Food was good but experience sour!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We liked the ambiance and the service. G ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We liked the ambiance and the service. Good choices!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I thought the food was good, but the ser ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I thought the food was good, but the service was horrible.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Loved the food and service, I always enj ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Loved the food and service, I always enjoy going to Luke's

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, not been disappointed with the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

As usual, not been disappointed with the food quality and choices even though the menu changes with the seasons and availability of some locally sourced foods/ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful meal perfect table enjoyed it!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wonderful meal perfect table enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ordered a French 75. The champagne fizze ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Ordered a French 75. The champagne fizzed all over yet she continued to make the drink and handed me the drinking saying "we usually don't serve it this way with a straw but here you go". She should have made the drink again if she knew it wasn't right. Drink was aweful. I didn't drink it then she decided to be rude after telling her it was not good. Food is always good, just hate bad customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Open table was quick, convenient, and su ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Open table was quick, convenient, and super easy to use. I definitely use it again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were treated amazingly well ! The me ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were treated amazingly well !

The menu is limited yet special!

Love this spot!

My only wish is for the hotel patrons not to cut through the restaurant to reach the rooms.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Had great time. Food was exceptional. We ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had great time. Food was exceptional. We highly recommend this restaurant .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Never disappointed food always excellent ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Never disappointed food always excellent. Hope to come every Tuesday evening after work. Gulf oysters are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Portions are small for the prices. Good ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Portions are small for the prices. Good quality though. The happy hour is pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Tourist trap restaurant in an Embassy Su ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Tourist trap restaurant in an Embassy Suites hotel. Over priced and underwhelming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Victor was very nice and helpful. I will ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Victor was very nice and helpful. I will be back for their happy hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Totally loved everything about this plac ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Totally loved everything about this place. Food, drinks, service impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very limited menu and portions quite ski ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very limited menu and portions quite skimpy. The soda came in an 8oz bottle and waiter would ask if we needed another soda and was told no, but waiter kept asking are we sure we didn't need another soda. I was disappointed with the food and service and will not eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Very attentive server. We had 7 in our g ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very attentive server. We had 7 in our group and everyone enjoyed their choice of entree and several group appetizers. I would go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luke is amazing! The food is always fres ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Luke is amazing! The food is always fresh and the desserts are fantastic!

I recommend everybody try Luke.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service.

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great food great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am a foodie and my wife would say I am ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I am a foodie and my wife would say I am too critical but when a plate is 20 plus dollars a plate it should be out standing and it was not. I had the shrimp over cheese grits. The shrimp was over cooked chewy and dry, for my taste it was also over salted, but this last nail for me was that the shrimp was not deveined are was not washed as it should have been and I got the sensation of sandy grit in my mouth. I do hope they do a better job for this is my town and I want guests that visit to see the gem that San Antonio really is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was ok, but not what I would ex ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was ok, but not what I would expect from such a noteworthy chef. The atmosphere is pretty terrible. It connects the street to the hotel lobby, so tons of foot traffic, families walking through in bathing suits, etc.. Lots of better options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Dinner was very, very good. We had the r ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Dinner was very, very good. We had the roasted brussle sprouts and and the gumbo appetizers. Both were exceptional.

For dinner we had the shrimp and grits (the house specialty) and the fresh fish amandine. The Amadine was very good, but the shrimp and grits was overpowered by the heat of the peppers and the spicy sausage. There was no way to appreciate the creaminess of the grits. It was good, but I left disappointed with that dish.

For dessert we had the bread pudding and was again, just blown away.

A very good dinner. Probably the best we've had since moving to San Antonio in November of 2015.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

There is a lot of hype about this restau ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

There is a lot of hype about this restaurant, and I was really looking forward to trying it. The most I can say about it is, "Meh." Nothing particularly bad, nothing particularly good. Wine was unremarkable. Food was unremarkable. Just inoffensive. I have had much better dinners in San Antonio. A bit disappointed that I decided to try a new place with friends from Los Angeles. I should have stayed with my old stanbys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

The Monday special or fried chicken, red ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The Monday special or fried chicken, red beans and rice was to die for. Give the cocktails a taste because they were all excellent that we tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I visited San Antonio the ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My husband and I visited San Antonio the other weekend and had dinner at Luke on our last night. The food was excellent, but just a little overpriced. The oysters were fantastic!! Service was good and waiter was friendly, could've been a little more knowledgeable about some menu items but we were not disappointed. He gave us a good recommendation for a cocktail bar to go to afterwards. We sat in the back of the dining room and the door that goes out to the patio next to us was extremely loud when opening/closing and there was a good bit of traffic through it. Regardless, I would definitely come back here for another special occasion/date night. Would be good for a group outing, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food but the service was subpar. La ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Good food but the service was subpar. Lack of attentiveness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Not happy at all with the service. The ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Not happy at all with the service. The oysters we ordered before dinner weren't cleared off when the entrees came so everything was very crowded. Apparently the server of the entrees was not allowed to remove the dishes -- he said the waitress would be by to get them. We ended up moving the platters to the floor so we could continue, because she was occupied with another table (we were the only 2 tables in the area, but the other table took all of her attention). One diner's steak, ordered medium rare, was cold and bloody in the center. The server offered to take it back to re-fire it, but that wasn't really possible since the steak was finished with a sauce, but also every one else already had their food and we were trying to get to a show.

Otherwise, the food is good but over-priced given the issues we had.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Our food wasn't very warm, my salad was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our food wasn't very warm, my salad was over seasoned and the greens were wilted and there was too much dressing. Our mimosas lacked orange juice and we waited an extra 20 minutes for the "fresh squeezed" juice. Another gal got fries but they weren't very fresh. For the $100+ we spent as a brunch group we weren't very impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

A friend and I dined at Luke while in to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A friend and I dined at Luke while in town on business. We returned few nights later with a larger group of colleagues from the conference. Wonderful resturant! Excellent service of super fresh food prepared perfectly. I will dine at Luke and other John Besh establishments when ever I find myself close. Anxiously waiting the Houston location!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm Lukewarm on Luke. A typical hotel r ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I'm Lukewarm on Luke. A typical hotel restaurant. I should have known better. Wait staff were were gracious and kind. Food was so-so, especially for the price. Two of us had fish which was tasty but not exceptional. I would not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.