About Lüke San Antonio

125 E. Houston St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

San Antonio is now home to acclaimed Chef John Besh’s restaurant, Lüke, on the city's famed Riverwalk, Besh's first restaurant outside of his home state of Louisiana. The casual chic bistro features a menu of authentic Old World cuisine, combining classic German and French cooking techniques served in a warm and inviting space of stylish vintage interior, situated in San Antonio's popular downtown district.

At the helm of the kitchen of Lüke is Executive Chef John Russ, born and raised in New Orleans. At Restaurant August, Chef Russ began to form the relationship with John Besh and he learned the importance of forming relationships with farmers and fisherman, which would later be reinforced by his time working on farms in Alabama, New Hampshire, New York and Maryland. Chef Russ returned to the Besh Restaurant Group as Chef de Cuisine on the invitation of Chef Besh.

To complement its cuisine, Lüke offers an extensive wine list and beer selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily : 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Soledad St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-5853

Website:
http://www.lukesanantonio.com/

Executive Chef:
John Russ

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • mesquite smoked pork ribs
mesquite smoked pork ribs

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Lüke San Antonio offers a unique private dining experience with its second-floor reception space that overlooks the restaurant’s kitchen and the River Walk. Your guests will enjoy Old World cuisine with Texas and New Orleans touches, giving them an experience they won’t soon forget.

Lüke San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (39)
Special Occasion (32)
Scenic View (22)
See All
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Romantic (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Spicy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Cozy (1)
People Watching (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Waterfront (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1589 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great venue along the San Antonio riverw ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great venue along the San Antonio riverwalk. As always, good ambience, and food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was a delight. F ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our dining experience was a delight. Food was delicious and the service was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ribeye was over cooked. I asked for ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The ribeye was over cooked. I asked for rare and it was very medium. It was a thin cut, so that makes it more difficult. The flavor was excellent, but for $34, I would have expected a larger cut. The steak is served with fries. The fries were good.

If your expecting a larger steak, you may want to go elsewhere.

Not really a "hardy" meal, but nice place. There was not really a seen.

I had thought that since the hotel / restaurant is located on the river walk, it would have had a better view; it did not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always enjoy my visits to Luke! Have enj ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always enjoy my visits to Luke! Have enjoyed meeting up with old friends and enjoying great food and refreshing adult beverages!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service at all times. Great ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding service at all times. Great place. Dinner was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting mix on the menu. Enjoyed the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Interesting mix on the menu. Enjoyed the service and variety. Had fried chicken that was lightly bettered and very tasty. Flammenkuchen was a great appetizer. First experience this dish in Strasbourg France. A well done version. Highly recommend restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten at Luke several times pre-Maj ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I've eaten at Luke several times pre-Majestic shows, and I've always been pleased with the food and the service. Don't be fooled by this being in a hotel, especially the Embassy Suites. It is high quality, inventive and tasty food. The menu updates often enough to keep it fresh and interesting for us locals, so recommendations aren't very helpful. All I can say is that I've never had a bad dish. The service has always been good as well, with friendly wait staff and a floor manager always checking in during the meal.

I've never eaten at the bar, but it is always full and buzzing - regardless of night of the week. It looks like a great place for a drink or a bite.

My only suggestion to the restaurant would be a change of napkins. Although the dish towel effect is cute, it is horrible on anything dark colored. At least having a black napkin option would be nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Normally we have an exceptional experien ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Normally we have an exceptional experience here and so appreciate the theme inspired appetizers to go with the Broadway Plays, but this time we did not. Two of us had the usual good food, but two did not. One her dressing was bland for the dish and the other was the Bibb Salad. Four pieces of lettuce, two beets and slivers of carrot. The lettuce was also bitter and it was $16.00. Need to work on this one Luke!

The waitress also forgot our order, we believe, because everyone around us received their order before us. When we asked, she said she would check. We got our meal shortly after.

But never fear we will be back, because this is the first not such great experience for us and we know that will not happen again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The black drum fish was over cooked, and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The black drum fish was over cooked, and felt the portion to be very small based on the price we paid for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Everything was Amazing as usual. I got t ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything was Amazing as usual. I got the Gumbo and shrimp and grits both were excellent. The only complaint is the portion on the bowl Gumbo was a bit small, could give your customers a little more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative and eclectic menu. Limited, but ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Creative and eclectic menu. Limited, but well thought. We went looking for the flavors of New Orleans, and were pleased finding them in their dishes. I had the Louisiana Shrimp with french spicy sausage & jalapeno grits. It was a surprising combination of flavors, probably not for everyone's palate, specially if not used to spicy food. I enjoyed it and found some hints of fennel and/or fenugreek, not sure. I guess we will have to ask Chef John Beck what spice it is. Waiter offered adding blue crab meat on top, which I enjoyed a lot and think that balanced the strong flavors of this dish. I suggest to mix every bite with the puree base on the bottom. I am guessing it's cauliflower puree.

My wife had shrimp over short pasta, not in their menu online, but offered in this San Antonio location. She thouroughly enjoyed and I grabbed a bite and liked it a lot. Very well balanced and with just the right flavors. A lot of parmesan cheese (which my wife loves) complements this well done pasta. Service was not top-notch, but good enough.

The restaurant is located on the riverwalk, and although it is located in the same building as the adjacent hotel, it is accesible from the street, so you have the feel of a stand-alone restaurant. Nice views of the riverwalk, but not from all tables. Actually, although we asked to be seated on one of their best view tables, we were seated in an area with obstructed views, Their best tables seemed to be out of service. Why not having their best tables available?

Overall a good experience, memorable enough.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Been there many times and this time we w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Been there many times and this time we were totally disappointed. Fried green tomatoes, no flavor at all. Restaurant week meal marginal at best. Steak, well, I could get a better steak anywhere, nothing spectacular. I have had many better meals and this was a total disappointment. Will not return again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Luke never disappoints! Excellent mussel ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Luke never disappoints! Excellent mussels in wine sauce and the roasted brussel sprouts with almonds are fabulous! BBQ shrimp (heads on!) was moist and tasty. Paired with an excellent Becker Texas wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dined with a friend during Restaurant We ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Dined with a friend during Restaurant Week. Hostess tried to seat us by the noisy bar despite several better tables. The eggplant and swordfish appetizer was good albeit very "one note" i.e. chile spice as were 3 of 4 choices. Dessert: bread pudding was over cooked, pear tart crust was heavy with shortening. Noise level high. I will not go here again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Lüke was great. Took my wife for date ni ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Lüke was great. Took my wife for date night. Great restaurant week special. Great overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Spicy, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Business Meals, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

If I had to find one thing to nitpick ab ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

If I had to find one thing to nitpick about Luke, it would be the noise level. It seemed almost rowdy for a upscale menu and slow dinner experience. Everything else, though, was delightful. Our waiter was excellent and took very good care of us. The food and drinks were delicious and I would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for a birthday celebration and had ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went for a birthday celebration and had a fabulous evening Loved the Resturant week menu Will go back

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice! Food excellent! Service excel ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very nice! Food excellent! Service excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service, OUTSTANDING food!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic service, OUTSTANDING food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service. Chef John sp ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Chef John specialized the evening with a visit to the table. Asked for feedback and our thoughts on his establishment. Highly recommend people go and check it out yourself.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was perfect, food delicious exce ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was perfect, food delicious except for the tough pork chop. We enjoyed dining outside. Inside would have been miserable due to the noise. Proper acoustics are badly needed. Because of this we will only go back when weather is moderate, not in August or January.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My shrimp and grits meal was wonderful. ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My shrimp and grits meal was wonderful. The shrimp were cooked just right and the grits were creamy and with the right amount of kick from the chorizo. Glad I decided to give the restaurant a try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We live downtown and meet a group of fri ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We live downtown and meet a group of friends here on a regular basis. Always great food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Server was very rude. Ignored us most of ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Server was very rude. Ignored us most of the time when we ordered four different types of apps, drinks and dessert. Bill was about the same as dinner would be but we got treated like homeless people. Never asked if I wanted another cocktail etc. Got order wrong anyway and seemed upset when we wanted more food that wasn't the special. Expected better service because she was nice to other tables around us. Food was good but experience sour!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We liked the ambiance and the service. G ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We liked the ambiance and the service. Good choices!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I thought the food was good, but the ser ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I thought the food was good, but the service was horrible.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Loved the food and service, I always enj ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Loved the food and service, I always enjoy going to Luke's

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, not been disappointed with the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

As usual, not been disappointed with the food quality and choices even though the menu changes with the seasons and availability of some locally sourced foods/ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful meal perfect table enjoyed it!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wonderful meal perfect table enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ordered a French 75. The champagne fizze ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Ordered a French 75. The champagne fizzed all over yet she continued to make the drink and handed me the drinking saying "we usually don't serve it this way with a straw but here you go". She should have made the drink again if she knew it wasn't right. Drink was aweful. I didn't drink it then she decided to be rude after telling her it was not good. Food is always good, just hate bad customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Open table was quick, convenient, and su ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Open table was quick, convenient, and super easy to use. I definitely use it again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were treated amazingly well ! The me ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were treated amazingly well !

The menu is limited yet special!

Love this spot!

My only wish is for the hotel patrons not to cut through the restaurant to reach the rooms.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Had great time. Food was exceptional. We ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had great time. Food was exceptional. We highly recommend this restaurant .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Never disappointed food always excellent ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Never disappointed food always excellent. Hope to come every Tuesday evening after work. Gulf oysters are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Portions are small for the prices. Good ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Portions are small for the prices. Good quality though. The happy hour is pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Tourist trap restaurant in an Embassy Su ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Tourist trap restaurant in an Embassy Suites hotel. Over priced and underwhelming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Victor was very nice and helpful. I will ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Victor was very nice and helpful. I will be back for their happy hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Totally loved everything about this plac ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Totally loved everything about this place. Food, drinks, service impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very limited menu and portions quite ski ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very limited menu and portions quite skimpy. The soda came in an 8oz bottle and waiter would ask if we needed another soda and was told no, but waiter kept asking are we sure we didn't need another soda. I was disappointed with the food and service and will not eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Very attentive server. We had 7 in our g ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very attentive server. We had 7 in our group and everyone enjoyed their choice of entree and several group appetizers. I would go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.