About Lüke San Antonio

San Antonio is now home to acclaimed Chef John Besh’s restaurant, Lüke, on the city's famed Riverwalk, Besh's first restaurant outside of his home state of Louisiana. The casual chic bistro features a menu of authentic Old World cuisine, combining classic German and French cooking techniques served in a warm and inviting space of stylish vintage interior, situated in San Antonio's popular downtown district.
<
To complement its cuisine, Lüke offers an extensive wine list and beer selection.

125 E. Houston St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Daily Lunch: 11:00 am- 2:00 pm
Daily Dinner: 5:00 pm- 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Soledad St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-5853

Website:
http://www.lukesanantonio.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Lüke San Antonio offers a unique private dining experience with its second-floor reception space that overlooks the restaurant’s kitchen and the River Walk. Your guests will enjoy Old World cuisine with Texas and New Orleans touches, giving them an experience they won’t soon forget.

Lüke San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Scenic View (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Casual (15)
Business Meals (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Waterfront (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Authentic (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Fun (11)
Romantic (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
People Watching (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Cozy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We ordered shrimp and grits and steak. M ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We ordered shrimp and grits and steak. My girlfriend and I shared meals and we both got stomach aches. Not sure what it was but didn't fee good. For the price I expected more presentation and tastier meal. I have been to NOLA many times and feel this missed the mark and at an end downside price! May give it another try but not on top of my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Servers were excellent, bar service to t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Servers were excellent, bar service to the table was a little lagging but not detrimental to the overall experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Joined friends from out of town that din ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Joined friends from out of town that dine at places such as The French Laundry and they raved about the food. Awesome weather on the patio

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful outdoor lunch overlooking the ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful outdoor lunch overlooking the Riverwalk. Phenomenally prepared food, and a real treat to just enjoy the great venue and food together.

Worth the trip!!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was good. Nothing blew my min ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was good. Nothing blew my mind. The Brussels sprouts tasted exactly like a dish from another restaurant (Hot Joy) but were significantly more expensive. The setting and tables were far too casual for the price range. My cocktail came in a snifter, a glass typically used for serving whiskey, and it looked fairly unprofessional. Everything was prepared correctly but I didn't feel that the all around experience was worth the extremely high price point. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I went to Luke because of th ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I went to Luke because of the San Antonio Restaurant Week. The restaurant had advertising on open table for the event. When we arrived I was informed that they were not participating in restaurant week because of recent changes in management. This was unfortunate, because my wife and I had traveled downtown and paid to park ($20) to visit this restaurant. However, the staff made up for the miscommunication by suggesting the express meal option along with providing a free dessert. We were very impressed with the food and timely service and left with a reasonable bill. Overall, I plan on returning with my wife for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

absolutely amazing food, atmosphere, and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 7 days ago

absolutely amazing food, atmosphere, and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was poor. Drinks arrived very l ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was poor. Drinks arrived very late and after we had our first course. Also after waiting about 15 minutes, the server came back and said they did not have a drink we had ordered. We had to ask the server to clear our plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Very loud, service was very slow, came b ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very loud, service was very slow, came back after a show a few blocks away and they would allow us to have a drink, 11 pm and indicated they had already had last call. Very poor for the only Hotel bar and on a Saturday night after a Broadway performance a few blocks away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

I expected a higher end dining experienc ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I expected a higher end dining experience. This restaurant was only slightly above Popeye's Fried Chicken is terms of Louisiana cooking and ambiance. Will not return. Service was awful.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I come to Luke a lot and am a big fan. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I come to Luke a lot and am a big fan. It is the perfect place to go before going to a show at the Empire or the Majestic, valet park your car, have a great meal and then so see a show. Your car will be waiting after the show.

We always order the French 75 cocktail at Luke. They are the best I have ever had, anywhere! The appetizers are also fun to share. This time we tried something new on the menu - the hand empanadas filled with crawfish etoufee. They were fantastic!! We could have eaten two orders of them, but restrained ourselves. The fried brussel sprouts are always on our order, as is the beet salad and fries. This time one of us ordered the gumbo. It is usually fantastic but the roux tasted burned. If I had been at home I would have thrown it out and started over. I was also sad to see that east coast oysters were off of the menu. :(

I'll be back though. Luke is worth the drive downtown. It is a gem that we are lucky to have in San Antonio

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The complimentary boudan balls, thanks t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The complimentary boudan balls, thanks to our theater tickets, were fantastic. My almondine fish was wonderful

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have been to Luke in NOLA and was blow ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I have been to Luke in NOLA and was blown away. While the food at this location was good, it was not as memorable as the NOLA location. Service was a little slow but professional when around.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Perfect place to celebrate my husbands b ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Perfect place to celebrate my husbands birthday! Great food, drinks and atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food here was really good. I had oyster ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food here was really good. I had oysters in the half shell which we fresh and delicious. A also had a side of the jalapeño polenta which was outstanding!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My experience at Luke's was ver

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My experience at Luke's was ver

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Had a mediocre meal at Lüke. The sever s ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Had a mediocre meal at Lüke. The sever seemed was minimally attentive- as if he just wanted his work shift to be over- checked on us a little as possible. The meal was delicious however the creme brûlée was terrible. I know the sugar is supposed to be "burnt" but the middle or our was literally blackened and there was a thick layer or granulated sugar left underneath the brûléed layer that was really unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

They were out of Moscato. The waitress c ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They were out of Moscato. The waitress couldn't tell me the type of house beer. She just said it was drinkable. My wife's drum looked like something from Long John Silvers. The Shrimp and grits were good however. Just wasn't a good experience.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was delicious, although richer than ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was delicious, although richer than we usually eat. Large portions. Attentive but discrete service. Excellent overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We love going to Luke. Very consistent w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We love going to Luke. Very consistent with the food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The maitre'd provided us with an outside ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The maitre'd provided us with an outside table that was satisfactory. The waiter was attentive yet not intrusive. The food was delicious: appetizer: Bowl of gumbo (great spicy dish), entrees: shrimp with grits and roast chicken with some great rolls and butter in the side made for a great meal. Ambience? A bit cavernous on a week day night but all and all quite nice and worth it. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed the evening very much and will d ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Enjoyed the evening very much and will definitely be back. The only complaint is the size of the table. There was barely enough room to accommodate 4 adults especially with oysters as an appetizer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING! From our fabulous wait staff to ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

AMAZING! From our fabulous wait staff to our very special Bloody Marys to our incredible Brussels sprout appetizer to our beautiful/tasty entree to the piece de resistance bread pudding!!!!

We couldn't have had a more perfect Christmas celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband enjoyed the Prix Fixe meal, w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My husband enjoyed the Prix Fixe meal, which was too heavy for my tastes. I had the crispy fish, which was very good. The Brussels sprouts ordered as a side, were the best I've ever had.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, good service, great company! ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good food, good service, great company! Nice spot close to the Riverwalk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I ate at Luke's Christmas Ev ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My wife and I ate at Luke's Christmas Eve and it was a wonderful experience. It started with a $30 bottle of French wine that was really, really good! Our appetizer was the Louisiana shrimp with two delectable sauces. For the main course we both ordered the crispy Texas redfish with lump crabmeat and wild mushrooms that was out of this world! The bearnaise sauce was a perfect accompaniment to the crispy fish. We also enjoyed the Christmas mashed potatoes. For dessert we had Brendan's bread pudding, also great. Our server was very knowledgeable and attentive, but not intrusive. We also met Luke and the chef which added to our experience. I have had many great meals in my life and this one was one of the best ever for a very reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was loud and average for value.

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was loud and average for value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Extremely accommodating, team style serv ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Extremely accommodating, team style service, manager checks on you and every server made sure that there was nothing I was allergic to in my food. Very creative food presentation. Cooked just right. Could provide a bit more veggies for those of us needing to eat more balanced diets and who don't have bread (nutritionless filler), more veggies would provide color with entrée also. Very accommodating for me with my service dog.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food, great service and a truly pr ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food, great service and a truly professional staff! They are very attentive and go all out to make sure you have an enjoyable experience! I'll be back and bringing lots of friends!

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, , Authentic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artichoke dip was insanely delicious

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Artichoke dip was insanely delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there for our Anniversary ... was a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went there for our Anniversary ... was ask to wait at bar until table was ready... BAR STOOLS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE ... Drinks were great. Menu options small but the food and service was EXCELLENT!

LOUISIANA COUPLE! NJOYED

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a favorite, Luke San Antonio does ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always a favorite, Luke San Antonio does not disappoint. We were seated at a table with a great view of the Riverwalk, which is decorated for Christmas. The servers were friendly and attentive and very informative about the menu. We ordered oysters on the half shell for appetizers, and they were fresh and succulent. My husband's entree was the porchetta, which was tender on the inside but had a crunch, chicharron-like crust on the outside. I ordered the mussels and frites. The huge bowl of PEI mussels came with a delicious garlicky cream sauce. The frites were hot, crisp, and plentiful.

We love Luke San Antonio and try to get there at least once a year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, , Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was average; waiter was not knowled ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Food was average; waiter was not knowledgeable about the menu; not worth the hype

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great brunch and amazing food. Loved the ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great brunch and amazing food. Loved the decor and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best oysters and ribeye steak in South T ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Best oysters and ribeye steak in South Texas hands down!

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had another great experience at Luke! ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had another great experience at Luke! Service was top notch, and the food was excellent! It's no secret why we keep coming back here time and time again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to see the Christmas lights, forgot ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went to see the Christmas lights, forgot Luke's was at the very end of the more popular section of the riverwalk. Drizzle kept us from really walking to far from the restaurant. Food was good as expected. Waiter did not inform well on extra prices and service was a bit slow. Food was authentic and good - a lot of it and the leftovers heated up well. We'll go again as it's an easy in/out of downtown for the locals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

We have eaten here a few times for lunch ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have eaten here a few times for lunch and enjoyed the food, atmosphere and had great service. Based on our experience, we decided to meet friends here for dinner and unfortunately, we were disappointed this time around. Service was very slow and a couple of individuals in our party had to ask for a tea refill several times before the glass was refilled. We were asked and brought desert menus even before our dinner plates were cleared away and when the table was finally cleared, the table mess...silverware, some spilled fries, etc., were left for us to look at while we looked over the desert menu. I expected better...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our service was noteworthy from hostess, ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our service was noteworthy from hostess, servers, and management. Food was very good also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were very disappointed in this restau ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We were very disappointed in this restaurant. It lacked ambiance, the presentation of food was poor, they had a very limited menu and were out of items, and cost did not match the experience. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.