About Lüke San Antonio

125 E. Houston St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

San Antonio is now home to acclaimed Chef John Besh’s restaurant, Lüke, on the city's famed Riverwalk, Besh's first restaurant outside of his home state of Louisiana. The casual chic bistro features a menu of authentic Old World cuisine, combining classic German and French cooking techniques served in a warm and inviting space of stylish vintage interior, situated in San Antonio's popular downtown district.

At the helm of the kitchen of Lüke is Executive Chef John Russ, born and raised in New Orleans. At Restaurant August, Chef Russ began to form the relationship with John Besh and he learned the importance of forming relationships with farmers and fisherman, which would later be reinforced by his time working on farms in Alabama, New Hampshire, New York and Maryland. Chef Russ returned to the Besh Restaurant Group as Chef de Cuisine on the invitation of Chef Besh.

To complement its cuisine, Lüke offers an extensive wine list and beer selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily : 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Soledad St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-5853

Website:
http://www.lukesanantonio.com/

Executive Chef:
John Russ

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • mesquite smoked pork ribs
mesquite smoked pork ribs

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Lüke San Antonio offers a unique private dining experience with its second-floor reception space that overlooks the restaurant’s kitchen and the River Walk. Your guests will enjoy Old World cuisine with Texas and New Orleans touches, giving them an experience they won’t soon forget.

Lüke San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (59)
special occasion (41)
great for outdoor dining (34)
See All
scenic view (29)
good for groups (27)
great for lunch (21)
great for brunch (17)
romantic (16)
vibrant bar scene (14)
hot spot (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
kid-friendly (7)
notable wine list (7)
late-night find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1535 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service3

Our food wasn't very warm, my salad was ...

Dined 3 days ago

Our food wasn't very warm, my salad was over seasoned and the greens were wilted and there was too much dressing. Our mimosas lacked orange juice and we waited an extra 20 minutes for the "fresh squeezed" juice. Another gal got fries but they weren't very fresh. For the $100+ we spent as a brunch group we weren't very impressed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I dined at Luke while in to ...

Dined 5 days ago

A friend and I dined at Luke while in town on business. We returned few nights later with a larger group of colleagues from the conference. Wonderful resturant! Excellent service of super fresh food prepared perfectly. I will dine at Luke and other John Besh establishments when ever I find myself close. Anxiously waiting the Houston location!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I'm Lukewarm on Luke. A typical hotel r ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

I'm Lukewarm on Luke. A typical hotel restaurant. I should have known better. Wait staff were were gracious and kind. Food was so-so, especially for the price. Two of us had fish which was tasty but not exceptional. I would not go there again.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location. Right on a secluded area ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great location. Right on a secluded area of the River Walk. The Embassy Suites hotel, which houses the restaurant, is a very nice place to stay. We spent an evening here and enjoyed a great dinner at Lüke to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. Thank you to the staff and head chef John Russ for making it a special night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. We came to celebrat ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a great time. We came to celebrate both Fathers Day and my husbands birthday. The service was excellent and the food outstanding. Will definitely come again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and decent service. Did not ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and decent service. Did not like the fact that non-patrons were using the restaurant as a short cut to the hotel next door, weaving through the tables. Restaurant needs to control access

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Happy Hour for GREAT Food!

Dined on June 7, 2016

This place never disappoints; Service its always the Best, friendly Management , Food, Drinks, this place has it all.!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It shouldn't be that difficult

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Went to Luke before a show at the Majestic (as many people do). Arrived at 5:45 for an 8:00 show, and we were out in plenty of time, so that was a plus. A recurring theme is about the service and the quality, and how it is lacking. Well, it was lacking for us, too. You'd think that it would have been fixed by now since it's a common and recurring problem, but it seems to be the same. We were obviously there during happy hour, but our waiter-- although nice and gave us good service in general-- did not "promote" or mention it in any way. We simply got to admire those around us who obviously were aware of different HH offerings that were never told to us. We started with the Flammenkuchen which was very tasty, but beware it is heavy on the fennel seeds (not mentioned on the menu) so if you don't like fennel then you might not like this. We ordered one Luke burger and one Steak Frites. The burger was very good ($14) and served nice and steamy hot... my steak wasn't even warm. Seriously, they top it with paths of compound butter and the butter wasn't even melting. I thought maybe spreading it around would help find a warm spot to melt, but no. I now had a steak with spreaded butter that i had to scrape off because steaks aren't meant to be served with "softened" butter. The flavor of the Steak Frites was fantastic, I can't even imagine how much better it would have been if it were warm. The kicker is, when the waiter asked, I told him that the flavor was good but the steak was cold. He told me, "that's what happens when someone orders a medium or medium rare steak, it's too cold for the butter to melt." Excuse me??? This isn't my first medium rare steak, nor is it my first steak topped with butter, so please don't tell me that "that's what happens" when that's not what happens. Plain and simple, the kitchen staff are not paying attention as to when they fire up orders if we end up with a cold steak and a hot burger. Fix that, Luke, and you'll be on your way to 5 stars!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A night in downtown SA

Dined on June 3, 2016

The food was great! We would definitely eat there again and recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Old Lettuce and Really Bad Soup

Dined on May 31, 2016

It was bad and too loud for a nice conversation. I wouldn't recommend unless you really don't care for the company you are with. Even alone, it is overpriced and not tasty. Service didn't justify a return visit either. Just bad. Was really looking forward to it, too.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was off

Dined on May 31, 2016

On our last visit to Luke there was mis-step in service. While the food as usual was great the service not so. Both my wife and I ordered an appetizer cup of gumbo before the meal as well as ordering a side dish with the meal. The side dish never came and gumbo was served with our meal. Hopefully it was just off night

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Nice place Poor Food

Dined on May 28, 2016

I've now been to Luke twice. Each time I left with the impression that the food is mediocre, overpriced and poorly presented. Will not be back for a third visit.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Way to spicy, amateur service

Dined on May 23, 2016

I ordered the Cajun fried rice with blue crab. I was very disappointed to say the least. It was so spicy I couldn't eat it. I'm from Texas and have been eating spicy food my whole life but this was way, way, way over spiced. It was a real shame because the blue crab in the rice was delicious. I wish I could have tasted more of it. My wife ordered the shrimp and grits and again, way to spicy. Neither one of us could finish our meal. We stopped and got a burger on the way home. I will not be returning. If you decide to risk it, bring a bag of Tums and lowered expectations.

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

"Besht" food...worst service

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Our first visit to Luke with a group was a lovely evening filled with great food and lots of laughs. Sadly, the service did not match the rest of the evening. We were seated promptly but waited to some time for our server to appear...and that was the rule for the rest of the night. Patrons came and went around us while we waited for course after course all night! A possible wonderful and one of a kind evening was only spoiled by, possibly, the worst service I have ever had anywhere in the world. No improvements needed on the food...dramatic improvements necessary on the service end before we will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Date Night

Dined on May 20, 2016

My husband and I dined at Luke last Friday evening around 6:30. The bar area looked nice but we were seated at a table(which is fine with me!). Our server was very attentive, we asked for drink and food recommendations and he offered us some and they were amazing! The food came out quickly and our server made sure we were taken care of. I had one adult beverage plus water, my husband had two adult beverages, we had an appetizer, two entrees and shared a dessert for about $100...not including a tip. The dining area overlooked a serene portion of the River Walk and there was outdoor seating available. The draw back was the noise level but that's ok. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to family and friends and we will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I am typically disappointed with restaur ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I am typically disappointed with restaurants on or near The Riverwalk. I was very pleased with my dinner at Luke! We enjoyed fresh mussels, fried brussel sprouts and shrimp and grits. All were delicious! I would love to return and order the same exact meal. We sat outside on the patio - very enjoyable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I found this restaurant to be a great di ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I found this restaurant to be a great disappointment. It is obviously geared to tourists. Nothing special about the food or ambience. The wines were way overpriced. The service was amateuristic. Don't waste a trip here.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience2
service1

So many service issues-hostess told us s ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

So many service issues-hostess told us she couldn' change our seating because the other table had bee specifically reserved. When she seated that table, they asked to be reseated and she told them the same thing. Hmm? Entrees were not delivered at the same time. When the server cleared the apps he gave me bake my used fork. Sloshed coffee and was perturbed that I asked for a clean saucer. Food was ok but nothing special. Gulf fish almond one was over cooked and bland. Bread pudding was excellent. Noise level prevented table conversation.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was AMAZING! We had the fried g ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was AMAZING! We had the fried green tomatoes, Luke burger, and the jumbo shrimp - all incredible!

food3
ambience3
service4

I wish they would bring back some old di ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

I wish they would bring back some old dishes. The BBQ shrimp, frog legs , and the charcuterie were always 10/10.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I was in SAT for the night, saw John Bes ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I was in SAT for the night, saw John Besh owned this place and was very excited to experience. Booked a table and arrived to be greet by a very angry nasty hostess, to place that had about 6 parties seated, basically an empty restaurant. One plus there was a band playing! Took far to long to receive a drink or any attention from the staff. The SAT Spurs were playing and all attention was focused on TV monitors. Was hard not to get up and leave at this point, I mean there are literally 100 places to eat on the Riverwalk, but it 830 time to wined down and enjoy some Besh offerings! The gumbo was very good, everything else was okay! I heard it was good for HH- Hope they work on staff to work at a high level! This is not a BAR! Just run like one

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shrimp and grits

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Amazing place to eat. Best shrimp and grits ever !!!!! Service was excellent !!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Luke before a concert

Dined on May 9, 2016

I love John Besh, and I love Luke. But my steak was too rare, and was very gristle-y. I won't get the ribeye here again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch. Great choices

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the variety of choices available from prime rib to raw oysters. Desserts were delicious. My wife is always happy when we come to Luke, because she is a shrimp and grits lover... and Luke's never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Happy Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our Mother's Day brunch at Luke was all we had hoped it would be and more. From the fresh oysters, to the prime beef, oysters beinville, buttermilk biscuits, bacon.... I could go on and on. The food was excellently prepared, at the right temperature and always available even with the buffet set up. Luke is never disappointing and usually exceeds expectations. Despite the crowd the wait staff was attentive and friendly. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellence in every aspect.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellence in every aspect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Service

Dined on May 7, 2016

As always, we had great food, prompt service, and properly chilled drinks! Dinning her before going to the Majestic is always a wonderful experience. Larry's smile and desert suggestions are perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our Down Town faves!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Nine times out of ten we choose Luke for our dinner before the theater show. It is conveniently located in the Embassy Suites and they have valet parking. We walk to the theater and back. They have great appetizers & main courses as well as great wine and specialty drinks.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Business mixes with Pleasure

Dined on May 6, 2016

This is a great place for a business dinner, especially if 'foodies' are in your group. Lively, with an eclectic menu (try the 'crunchy brussel sprouts'!), it's good food and without overwhelming prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional Find off the main path

Dined on May 5, 2016

We almost didn't find this place since it is on street level and not directly on the Riverwalk...but I'm glad we did! Each dish we tried had the best flavor. The crispy brusell sprouts were a hit even with people that didn't think they would ever like one and the shrimp and grits were phenomenal. If you're there for a drink try the French75 or the Lady Ophelia- very refreshing on those warmer nights.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Expected more...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Met a colleague here for a meeting over lunch. My previous experience at Lüke had only been for drinks and appetizers, but I had been impressed--and being a bit of a food nerd, I was looking forward to experiencing a John Besh restaurant meal. We started with the crispy brussels sprouts, which were excellent, if a little heavy on the almonds. I had a bowl of gumbo to precede my main course--and it was unbelievably good! The seafood was on point, not too much rice, and the roux...dear God, the roux! My main course was the Chile Charred Gulf Shrimp. While it's listed under "Plats Principaux" it really should be listed under "Soupes et Salades." For two reasons: 1) it was essentially a tomato salad with shrimp, and 2) on the bill, it was listed as tomato salad with shrimp. Certainly not what was advertised, nor what would be expected for a main dish. That aside, the shrimp (all five of them...poor, tiny, things) were seasoned and cooked perfectly. The plate was a bit overwhelmed--due to too few shrimp, I'm guessing--by a pile of roasted cherry tomatoes, offset by a couple of tiny crostini. The tomatoes were wonderfully flavored...they just became monotonous, working through the pile, looking for the other advertised ingredients. One had to be quite frugal with one's shrimp, crostini, and olive puree if one wanted to get a bit of each flavor on the plate in as many bites as possible. Otherwise, it was just tomato after tomato. Succulent, delicious, overly-abundant...tomatoes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

There was nothing particularly wrong wit ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

There was nothing particularly wrong with the experience but nothing impressive either. The food, service, and atmosphere were all just ok. But we paid for impressive and didn't get it

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to have good authentic Cajun ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great place to have good authentic Cajun/New Orleans style food with flair. I've been here a number of times and I've never been disappointed. Friends I'm with are equally pleased. The wait staff is attentive and eager to please. The setting is in the heart of downtown, easy walk to the Majestic for theater night. You can even valet park at the Embassy Suites next to the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service2

Disappointed. Was really expecting a sim ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Disappointed. Was really expecting a similar experience to other Besh restaurants. It's location, basically off the Embassy Suites lobby, leaves lots to be desired. Outside traffic/hotel guests stampeding thru the restaurant to get to the lobby is undesirable eating conditions. Children running and bouncing a ball IN THE RESTAURANT is unacceptable. The food, as expected, didn't disappoint.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Surprise

Dined on April 23, 2016

I met some cousins at the restaurant on Saturday night before the Fiesta Flambeau. Frankly, we just wanted someplace we did not have to drive to since we were going to the parade afterwards. One of the cousins suggested Luke's. It was great. We ate on the patio. The waiter turned out to be a former student of my cousin's. San Antonio is a small world!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Help at the bar?

Dined on April 20, 2016

Went for dinner and drinks. Food was tasty, server was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. However, our initial drink order took over 5 minutes to process (glasses of champagne and beer) and left us disappointed in the timeliness of the bar service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Formally a decently good restaurant.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Have eaten at Luke several times and for the most part had good dining experiences with attentive service and interesting, tasty starters. Most of the time we ate outside or inside only when it was very uncrowded. The noise level inside is atrocious and the music completely obnoxious. It has been a while since dining here and it has gone very downhill especially in the quality of the food and the service was some of the worst ever. We have taken it off our list.

food3
ambience3
service2

Good food and flavor combinations but sl ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Good food and flavor combinations but sloppy presentation. For this caliber of restaurants, I expected more conscientious service and descriptions of the menu. The plates arrived messy and incomplete appearing. That being said, the food was very good and the patio setting very nice. We live in Boulder, CO and the competition among our restaurants is fierce!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Happy Hour

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Happy Hour Review Fried Oysters: 5/5 (extremely delicious) Raw Oysters: 5/5 (large and cleaned well) Charbroiled Oysters: 1/5 (fishy tasting, not good) Cocktails: 5/5 (all were tasty) Atmosphere: 4/5 (great but a little conservative) Service: 5/5 (no complaints)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3

Waiter recommended Brussels and shrimp b ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Waiter recommended Brussels and shrimp bam bam, and they didn't disappoint. Baby beets was also excellent. Service a bit slow, difficult to flag our waiter to order both times, but we had a good experience and I'd definitely go back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.