About Lüke San Antonio

125 E. Houston St.
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

San Antonio is now home to acclaimed Chef John Besh’s restaurant, Lüke, on the city's famed Riverwalk, Besh's first restaurant outside of his home state of Louisiana. The casual chic bistro features a menu of authentic Old World cuisine, combining classic German and French cooking techniques served in a warm and inviting space of stylish vintage interior, situated in San Antonio's popular downtown district.
<
To complement its cuisine, Lüke offers an extensive wine list and beer selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Daily Lunch: 11:00 am- 2:00 pm
Daily Dinner: 5:00 pm- 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Soledad St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 227-5853

Website:
http://www.lukesanantonio.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • mesquite smoked pork ribs - Lüke San Antonio, San Antonio, TX
mesquite smoked pork ribs - Lüke San Antonio, San Antonio, TX

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

In order to provide the best dining experience possible, a credit card number is required to confirm your reservation. We ask for a minimum 48-hour advance notice for cancellations. A $45 per person cancellation fee applies to all cancellations within 48-hours.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

In order to provide the best dining experience possible, a credit card number is required to confirm your reservation. We ask for a minimum 48-hour advance notice for cancellations. A $45 per person cancellation fee applies to all cancellations within 48-hours.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Lüke San Antonio offers a unique private dining experience with its second-floor reception space that overlooks the restaurant’s kitchen and the River Walk. Your guests will enjoy Old World cuisine with Texas and New Orleans touches, giving them an experience they won’t soon forget.

Lüke San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
See All
Scenic View (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fun (11)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
People Watching (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Waterfront (8)
Authentic (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Romantic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Spicy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Cozy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1629 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service started off slow and messed up t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Service started off slow and messed up the drink order, but acknowledged it and finished strong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great restaurant. Great staff. Excellent ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Great restaurant. Great staff. Excellent menu and craft cocktails. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not impressed with the food I purc ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I was not impressed with the food I purchased. I got the venison. It was alright. Nothing spectacular. My fiancé got the pork roast. I tried it and thought it was horrible. She thought it was ok. Food was way overpriced. Won't be going back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

This was my second time here. The first ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was my second time here. The first time was just ok - but this time the food was fantastic. I got the venison ragout with homemade pasta and it was one of the best dishes I've had in years. The Brussels sprouts were spectacular. Loved everything.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Terrible service even with it being the ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Terrible service even with it being the Sunday after Thanksgiving. We expected so much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Great time, unfortunately they ran out o ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great time, unfortunately they ran out of the thanksgiving dinner before we our reservation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Casual, Late-night Find, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Really great food. Love the Cajun flavo ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Really great food. Love the Cajun flavor. The shrimp and grits are a must have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food was fantastic! Over exceeded my ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was fantastic! Over exceeded my expectations.

Just felt like a college cafeteria atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We enjoyed Thanksgiving lunch. A nice a ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed Thanksgiving lunch. A nice assortment of salads and a good raw bar. The Turkey and pit smoked ham were excellent. The Oysters Rockefeller were not on the mark, they were at room temperature and a bit dry. I am sure when ordered off the menu they are cooked to order. I nice experience. The Quart mason jar bloody may with assorted veggies, could have been lunch on its own.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I visited for Thanksgiving Brunch and al ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I visited for Thanksgiving Brunch and all I can say is yummo! Very good food! Excellent I will go again! I was more than satisfied.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly recommend ordering the Brussel sp ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Highly recommend ordering the Brussel sprouts! I also ordered the mussels and fries which was nicely prepared.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My partner and I met several friends her ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My partner and I met several friends here for lunch on Sunday. The staff was very easy-going and patient, yet very professional. The food was very very good--I highly recommend the Shrimp and Grits!

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Wild boar Rago

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wild boar Rago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Parking could be an issue. Though hotel ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Parking could be an issue. Though hotel

Offers &7 valet for Luke's patrons, baker allotment could be filled and you have to park your own

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We were looking for an interesting resta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were looking for an interesting restaurant in San Antonio, off the beaten path and offering locally sourced, creative cuisine. The information provided on the Open Table entry for Luke sold me on this being the right place, especially the details about chef John Russ who had worked on farms in Alabama (our home state) and in New England (our current home-Vermont). Food was everything we'd hoped it might be and we met the chef too, along with the restaurant manager who told us more about the John Besh story. The Brussels sprouts appetizer is superb and our entrees - Wild Boar ragout and Shrimp and Grits - made us both very happy. We topped it off with a delightful dessert and espresso. Wine selections (esp option to choose half carafe) were great and so were the oysters for appetizers. The next day we had brunch at Luke's and were equally pleased with everything.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Thanks for giving us a special birthday ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Thanks for giving us a special birthday dinner night!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Gumbo was great as usual. The Gulf D ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The Gumbo was great as usual. The Gulf Drum entre could not have been better. The accompaniments added so much to the fish. Always a great experience before a show at the Majestic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant advertises as on the river wa ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Restaurant advertises as on the river walk but they are above.

Service was great.

Food was good Gumbo had great flavor but was not hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Asked them to please open a location in ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Asked them to please open a location in our home town. Can't get good Creole cooking in Seattle.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent meal at Luke. Food was fresh a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent meal at Luke. Food was fresh and tasty, and service was great. Definitely would come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food. Great service. Menu not ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Very good food. Great service. Menu not that extensive though.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I was really looking forward to the food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was really looking forward to the food at Luke. Maybe if we would have dined inside it would have been more enjoyable. We chose to sit on the patio. It seemed we weren't a part of the ambiance of the restaurant . The service was fine but the area seemed more of an afterthought. The fresh oysters were very good. We also had the corn and crab fritters. They were tasty, but mainly tasted of corn, not much crab. My son had the Slow Roasted Tender Belly Porchetta. He loved it. I had the Prime Steak Frites. It was very tasty buy very rich. It was taken home and enjoyed the next day, by my son.

Overall we had an enjoyable evening but for the cost, I really wanted it to be more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Asked to be seated outdoors .. Was told ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Asked to be seated outdoors .. Was told no outdoor seating d/t possibility of rain.. As dinner progressed outdoor seating was full!!!

4 top actually too small once food arrived & noise level was horrible.. No conversation could be had😬

Food was good but not exceptional .. Nola much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

My wife and I went to the Luke (San Anto ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 2, 2016

My wife and I went to the Luke (San Antonio Riverwalk) for our 2 year anniversary. I noted that in my opentable request, and they sat us down and immediately brought us 2 glasses of champagne and congratulated us! That was a great first impression.

The menu is very much New Orleans style, with very creative differences. Since we had a 150 dollar gift certificate, we decided to try as much as we could.

The Flammenkuchen appetizer was delicious. The "tender belly bacon" wasn't too salty, and it was kind of like a sweet pizza. 5 stars.

The bowl of Seafood Gumbo à La Creole with 10 dollar addon of crab was decent, but it was extremely salty. Maybe I wouldn't have had an issue with it if I wasn't watching my sodium, but the saltiness hit me pretty hard every time I took a bite. 3 stars.

The Wild Boar Ragout was my dish, and it was fantastic. The perfect blend of pasta, greens, and meat with a great sauce. Good portion size. 5 stars.

The Shrimp and Grits that my wife had (with 10 dollar crab addon of course) was even more delicious! The roasted jalepeno cheese grits gave a perfect spiciness to the dish, and the grits were very smooth and tasty. The seafood was amazing on top. 5 stars.

We finished off the night with 2 desserts.

The "Gâteau Basque" was a vanilla cake with crème fraîche and fresh fruit jam. We felt that the cake was just a bit undercooked, but I loved the flavor and ate more than she did. 4 stars.

The Key Lime Parfait with candied almonds and cheesecake ice cream was good. The lime didn't overpower the dessert. I just wish the dessert was presented in a larger glass. The almonds on top kept pouring out onto the table everytime I tried to get to the lime at the bottom! 3 stars.

The waiter was good, if not a bit shy. He was very friendly and helpful.

We'd definitely go back to try out some of the other dishes!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter was rushing us. The live musi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The waiter was rushing us. The live music was playing outside, even though nobody was sitting outside. The gulf fish was bland, unexciting and severely overpriced. Overall, I regret taking someone here for their birthday. Incredibly disappointed. Will not be returning unless something drastically changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

While in San Antonio for a girls trip we ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

While in San Antonio for a girls trip we had experienced a litany of poor service. The many meals where we felt rushed out or forgotten were made up for by how great we were treated here. While hoping for more "brunch" options, we were impressed with the pleasant service, great coffee, and beautiful scene.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent !

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was excellent !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great family gathering. 15!people on the ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great family gathering. 15!people on the patio! Service was excellent. Food was outstanding (as always)! Drinks the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints! Very solid food and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Never disappoints! Very solid food and you can valet park your car through the hotel.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Lunch with client. Beet salad with chick ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Lunch with client. Beet salad with chicken was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am shocked this establishment is not p ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I am shocked this establishment is not packed every night of the week. The brussel sprouts were amazing to start followed by the shrimp and grits. Ended the meal off with a key lime treat topped with cream cheese ice cream. A culinary delight - Luke is on the top of my list when I'm San Antonio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was EXCELLENT, both the food and the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

It was EXCELLENT, both the food and the service!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. Wonderful service. Very ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Wonderful food. Wonderful service. Very pleased with meal. The gumbo was excellent. My companion is still referring to the wonderful salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Be prepared to Spend. This is worth ever ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Be prepared to Spend. This is worth every dime. However i think the $ sign can vary regionally. We were expecting a $$ menu and our bill wound up being about a $$$$ or a 3.5$ bill when compared to other dining experiences .

Wait Staff was INCREDIBLE. Super friendly always there for you no matter what. very knowledgeable about their menu and WHERE the food comes from.

THE FOOD WAS AMAZING! Took my new husband here to celebrate our wedding and he is STILL talking about the food.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent services. Brussels were awesom ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Excellent services. Brussels were awesome

A must try

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So convenient being a walk around the bl ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 27, 2016

So convenient being a walk around the block, and with reservations we were immediately seated. Very tasty and unique food selections. Thank you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Luke is my "go to" restaurant when I am ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Luke is my "go to" restaurant when I am meeting a friend before an event downtown. The food is great and the menu changes seasonally. It is a wonderful mix up of New Orleans style food mixed with German. Sounds crazy, but it works. There is always fresh seafood and game on the menu.

If you like quail and it is on the menu, order it! The appetizers are always great. I can't go there without ordering a French 75. Best in San Antonio!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and the ambian ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The service was excellent and the ambiance was great. But the food was not that great. Started with a glass of wine a Bloody Mary and a shrimp appetizer. I really enjoyed the appetizer, light tempura batter with a "bam bam sauce". They then served us beignets that were tough. The presentation was nice but when you bit into them you had to pull really hard and I didn't care for a sweet before my lunch. I had the sweet corn crab risotto which I thoroughly enjoyed, it being a Sunday the item was not on their menu but they made it for me anyway. On the other hand my husband had the fish which I believe was a black drum?? Can't recall but it was sad looking. My husband loves any type of fish but this one looked like it had been sitting out for a while heated up and served to him. It was served over a bed of steamed vegetables that also needed some help. The whole dish was mediocre in fact that evening he told me my pork tenderloin tasted better than his dish.

Overall the location and restaurant is lovely. We may give them another try for happy hour. Enjoy. . . . .

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Great venue along the San Antonio riverw ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great venue along the San Antonio riverwalk. As always, good ambience, and food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was a delight. F ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our dining experience was a delight. Food was delicious and the service was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.