About Luke Palladino - Seasonal Italian Cooking

199 New Road, Central Square
Suite 60
Linwood, NJ 08221
View Larger Map

Luke Palladino Seasonal Italian Cooking is a culmination of Luke's experiences working throughout Italy. Our menu changes regularly and is based on seasonally-available prime ingredients. We are proud to offer you what so beautifully defines Italian cuisine: freshness of product, simplicity and spontaneity all bound by tradition. 
 Handcrafted pastas are made daily on premises. We feature expertly prepared meat, fish, poultry & seafood. We are a BYOB.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Central Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 926-3030

Website:
http://www.lukepalladino.com/

Catering:
Luke Palladino Catering would be pleased to cater any event, from an intimate dinner or party to an elaborate wedding. Catering menus can be customized with Luke personally, to suit any taste or budget. We will be happy to work with any idea, theme or vision you have for your event.

Delivery, set-up, cooking staff, serving staff, bartenders and other services available.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently situated on Route 9 in Linwood, NJ with access to NJ Transit public transportation. For transportation from any point on Absecon Island, We recommend UBER. First time UBER clients, use promo code PALLADINOS for $20 credit.

Executive Chef:
Luke Palladino

Additional:
Bar Dining, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Luke Palladino - Seasonal Italian Cooking Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City
Neighborhood Gem
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Northfield/Linwood ›

fit for foodies (44)
neighborhood gem (34)
special occasion (31)
See All
romantic (20)
great for lunch (16)
good for groups (10)
hot spot (8)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always the food was great. The season ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

As always the food was great. The seasonal zucchini flowers were outstanding. Our thanks to TJ and the staff

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service was outstanding ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food and the service was outstanding. We had a party of 4 and we had a Prime Ny strip steak, veal saltimbuca, fish special and a pasta dish. All the apps and entrees were cooked to perfection. We

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. A little pricey, but worth i ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food. A little pricey, but worth it. BYOB. Apps are great. Service is great. Little bit tiny but good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite places--Luke is very ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

One of our favorite places--Luke is very creative and uses seasonal, local ingredients all year. Wonderful pastas too--all handmade on site. We love it there!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food in a lovely quiet atmosph ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent food in a lovely quiet atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The squash blossoms were wonderful. The ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The squash blossoms were wonderful. The two special fish were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Our reservation at 6:45 was honored prom ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our reservation at 6:45 was honored promptly and we had a delightful table in the corner near two windows. The noise level was very low until towards the end of our meal when two large groups were seated near us. The food was delicious and all members of our party enjoyed the food very much. The scallops were delicious and I particularly loved the teeny tiny pickled mushrooms. It was just the right touch to make the scallop dish stand out. The portion of Veal Marsala was huge and our other friend enjoyed her trout. It was filleted perfectly. We will definitely go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Marvelous service excellent food the bes ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Marvelous service excellent food the best busboy I've ever had in a restaurant

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

a little off

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

We've eaten here several times and have enjoyed the food. On our recent visit, my sister and I thought the tap water tasted odd, kind of fishy. Not sure why. Also, while everyone seemed to enjoy their meals, I felt that the scallop entree was not to my taste. Scallops are usually sweet and these were bathed in a sauce I didn't care for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Take the Time to Try This Excellent Restaurant

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Second time this month we dined at Luke Palladino's. Whenever we have visitors we make the point of taking them to Luke's for a wonderful meal. We shared several dishes which makes dining at Luke's so much fun. The pasta is excellent and we have never had a bad dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoy the food preparation that ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I really enjoy the food preparation that Luke does. It is always interesting and different.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I have dined here before ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I have dined here before and always had a great meal. Last night we went for our anniversary and had the tasting. It was incredible. We could not decide which course was the best. Our waitress Melissa was very personal and helped make the night enjoyable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolute Gem a Must Try

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We've been to the restaurant several times and always leave more impressed then our previous visit. we started with the Tuna Carpaccio and the Truffled Grissinni. I had the Seared Scallops which were excellent; my wife had the Veal Saltimbocca, very tasty . We also shared the Spaghetti Filetto con Gambratto which had just the right amount of spice to add a little heat to the dish. Desserts were great way to finish the meal. As a BYOB appreciate that you can bring your own and save on the bill.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Great food and presentation but honestly ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Great food and presentation but honestly not worth the high cost. Meal cost $200 + tip for four people very small portions with no sides. BYOB and you're sitting on uncomfortable plastic chairs with very little ambience or atmosphere

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed our dinner immensely. TJ the ch ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner immensely. TJ the chef actually presented us with two experimental dishes that might be on the Summer menu. The first was a polenta grilled with a sausage ragu. I begged him to make this s permanent menu item. The other was spaghetti and meatballs. Being a non traditional red sauce restaurant it was a nice change and would undoubtedly reorder another time. The service was impeccable and the food as usual terrific.

food5
ambience4
service5

Their very high standards of quality and ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Their very high standards of quality and service are never compromised

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The menu changes seasonally and a new sp ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The menu changes seasonally and a new spring menu is being introduced this week. The winter menu we had to choose from featured few items that sounded appealing to me...too many combinations with ingredients I didn't care for. While the entree that three of us ordered-the duck breast-was good, the platter was very pricey for the portion. At least it was a BYOB. As the weather warms up, it looks like LP will have a pleasant outdoor dining option.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A bit greasy

Dined on April 10, 2016

We went to the restaurant on a sleepy Sunday and there was only one other group. Our waitress was very nice and described the menu well. Our appetizer of the polenta was excellent. The seafood vongole was also very tasty if not salty. The pastas were of mix breed – all were over salted, but the ox tail pasta was delicious. That pasta was a bit chewy. The mushroom dumpling with pesto was way drenched in oil and the pasta with sea urchin had an unusual and generally tasty flavor with some slight off putting after taste. Bread which was was doled out as if a treasure. Generally the meal was good, we went based on a Craig Laban three Bell review from five years ago and I think he came back to visit he wouldn't be giving it the same review.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

tonight we celebrated my father in laws ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

tonight we celebrated my father in laws birthday. the food was outstanding and the service was beyond our expectations. we would highly recommend Luke Palladino's to all our family and friends,

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply excellent

Dined on April 1, 2016

It started with the servers who were fantastic, then the food which was exceptional. Definitely going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Terrific food and service. The fried sea ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Terrific food and service. The fried seafood and the grilled octopus appetizers were great. The whole fish special was also excellent as was the boning, serving.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed. Food is always won ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Never disappointed. Food is always wonderful and staff terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Lunch!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Fantastic lunch w outstanding service. Food was delicious as well as gorgeous presentation! I had salad & sandwich special. Great price! Fresh & delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent meal for AC Restaurant Week on ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Excellent meal for AC Restaurant Week on 3/15/16. We were a party of 5, we added to our 3 course meals w/one additional appetizer for the table.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Restaurant Week

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

We went with friend's for dinner on Saturday night. It was very crowded and we were seated within 20 minutes of our reservation. The food was superb, very good service and we had a wonderful evening. We were not rushed and sat talking at the table for awhile after dinner. The restaurant is a BYOB which we also liked.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

AC restaurant week

Dined on March 11, 2016

Food was fresh and made with high quality ingredients. Good size lunch portion and service was attentive but not overbearing. We got to meet Chef Luke and he was gracious and interested in our critique. We'll be back for dinner selection

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasantly surprised by this neighborhood gem

Dined on March 11, 2016

I had heard many mixed reviews with regards to Luke Palladino's, but in the spirit of restaurant week, I decided to go and see for myself. I had an impromptu lunch date with some of my girlfriends and was able to make an Open Table reservation that morning. We were greeted by the very friendly staff and promptly seated. As this was a BYOB place, my friend brought a lovely bottle of sangria to go with our lunch. My first course was the Eggplant Filomena and it did not disappoint. My second course was the buttery and flavorful Chicken Piccata accompanied with a not so impressive soggy side of spinach. The dessert was a single cannoli which tempted the taste buds and left you wanting more. I was impressed overall and would recommend this restaurant outside of restaurant week.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daily fish Pasta course

Dined on March 10, 2016

Daily fish Pasta course

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

AC Restaurant Week

Dined on March 10, 2016

Didn't have the dessert that was on the menu. The gelato was good but about 2 spoonfulls in the bowl.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience2
service3

Portions are very small. Duck was over c ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Portions are very small. Duck was over cooked.

food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Restaurant Week Dinner

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

We've dined here and at their previous location many times. It is usually very good, often excellent. On this particular night, the $33.16 prix fixe menu was excellent but the execution was mixed. The crespelle was terrific as usual but the arancini was just OK. The fish was fine, and the black spaghetti with garlic and oil was very good but suffered from a large excess of oil, which had to be drained off from the dish onto the bread plate to make it more palatable. In the past, this has happened with other dishes, including the crespelle which has sometimes had an excess of butter. Sometimes they put in extra oil or butter thinking they are giving you something extra, but they are hurting the preparation which would otherwise have been much better. When Luke was in the kitchen, this never happened, but those days are gone. We usually like more sauce rather than less, particularly when it is a married sauce with several flavors, but not when it is just oil or separated butter. Regarding service, this is one of those restaurants where once your order is taken, the meal is served by other staff, and quite promptly. We'd have offered the above food prep feedback to the waiter, but after ordering, we never saw the waiter again, even before ordering coffee and dessert. The waiter should check on each course soon after it is served and at the end of the meal, but with larger crowd due to Restaurant Week, I guess they were stretched thin, although it wasn't packed and we dined early.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on March 8, 2016

We eat here often and it is our "go to" restaurant for special occasions. The food is delicious especially the fish of the day and pasta - cooked to perfection. My daughter is a vegetarian and it is difficult to find gourmet vegetarian food but at Luke's there is always something good for her to order, and if not, they will make her something special. My grandson LOVES the homemade breadsticks with truffle butter and prosciutto and I love everything on the menu. It's a little pricey at times but it's a BYOB so you save money by bringing your own wine and not having to pay for alcohol so it even's itself out. You've got to try it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Mixed experience at Luke Palladinos

Dined on February 25, 2016

On a chilly winter evening, we looked forward to the fire at Luke Palladinos. Unfortunately, it wasn't lit, making an already somewhat chilly atmosphere even more chilly. Our waiter was pleasant and attentive, but it took 20 minutes to get our appetizers - two bowls of soup. Why should soup take 20 minutes, when there was only one other occupied table in the place? My clams and spaghetti was so salty I could only eat half. The pasta was exceptionally good - firm, chewy, buttery - but the dish had been way too heavily salted. And the food is pricey: for two bowls of soup, one scallop app and one spaghetti and clams, our bill was over $60. Not a great value.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Bit Pricey

Dined on February 21, 2016

I totally enjoyed the food but amount for dollar figure is a bit off, I feel like I was paying for the name which has some merit but not a balance of cost for total product. I would recommend but not without letting them know that it is pricing vs quantity is not balanced.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious and unique

Dined on February 21, 2016

High end food in a quiet atmosphere with attention to detail. Local fresh ingredients for a sophisticated pallet. Also, great service and people who remember you on the next visit!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Hype doesn't deliver

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Often had heard what a great experience, food and service, at Luke Palladino. I wish I could confirm that. The tables are so close I could easily enjoy eating off my neighbors plate. I was constantly bumped by staff and other customers. The staff had trouble getting to all tables. The food was surprisingly bland and with no salt or pepper on the tables and when asked, the response was the chef has appropriately seasoned the dish. Ok so guess my pallet isn't Palladino worthy.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent. Loved the ragu and the flatb ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Excellent. Loved the ragu and the flatbread

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great-even on a super busy night

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Our latest visit was on February 14th-the 2nd busiest dining out night of the year. The staff and kitchen handled the crush as though it was any night of the year, with their always friendly and efficient service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, bad seat

Dined on February 14, 2016

We've been to this restaurant before at the other location. The food is great. We always have a wonderful meal with great presentation. Our only complaint this time was we were seated at the first table you come to when you walk in and it's in a awkward spot. I had my arm or head bumped at least 5 times by either other guests or staff. And we felt like we had to keep our arms in tight or we'd get banged. It wasn't very relaxing. I think maybe they should loose this one table. It is just a small table for only two. The others didn't look awkward.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

Waitress was very slow but the food was ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Waitress was very slow but the food was very good

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.