About Lucy's - University of Alaska Anchorage

3211 Providence Drive
Cuddy Hall
Anchorage, AK 99508
View Larger Map

The meals here are produced and served by the students of the Culinary Arts and Hospitality program at the University of Alaska Anchorage. The bakery, kitchen and dining room are instructional laboratories. Our curriculum and facilities blend to support students in achieving our goal excellence in fine dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm (last seating at 12:30pm)

Cross Street:
Seawolf Dr

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 786-1122

Website:
http://www.uaa.alaska.edu/culinary/lucys/

Parking Details:
Parking vouchers available for off-campus guests. Please notify server

Public Transit:
People Mover bus line 36, 3 and 102

Additional:
Cafe, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Lucy's - University of Alaska Anchorage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
11 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

great for lunch (19)
fit for foodies (15)
special occasion (13)
See All
good for groups (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for brunch (2)
romantic (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The best kept secret in U-Med District

Dined on April 19, 2016

I have been lunching at Lucy's on and off for 15 years. The quality and value never varies--it is always excellent. I started going when I was a student, and now I take my own students as well as co-workers. It's always a treat, and the food and service are always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lucy's is a great lunch spot

Dined on April 19, 2016

Went to Lucy's for lunch on a Tuesday. I had the prosciutto wrapped pork loin and my partner had the African braised chicken. We both thoroughly enjoyed our dishes. Our server was also very nice and knowledgeable. We also lucked out that (maybe since it was the end of the semester?) they were having their "All you can eat" dessert buffet. It had about twelve items. I had a chocolate apricot tort, a raspberry cheesecake cupcake, and cinnamon ice cream. They were also very good, but by then I was too full to go back for more! Maybe next time I'll start with dessert? (although then I would have missed out on the entree, so ?) In any case, we both really enjoyed it, and will definitely go back (in the fall semester, since they're closed in the summer!)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five stars all the way around

Dined on April 14, 2016

We've been here before... and we'll be here again! Everything about this place says quality. Outstanding service, great bread, fantastic food. The presentation is also top-notch. The only downside is that it is so popular that one must make reservations, sometimes up to a week in advance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 13, 2016

Lucy's is a gem. Reasonable prices for outstanding food and service. We try to go there once a month during the school year.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experiences at Lucy's Restaurant are ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

My experiences at Lucy's Restaurant are consistently superior. The students work as servers and make the varied and always delicious meals and desserts. I would definitely recommend to all as a fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely Dining Experience!

Dined on March 31, 2016

Lucy's is a lovely place to have a special occasion lunch - white tablecloths, cloth napkins, attentive wait staff, delicious special food offerings with moderate pricing.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday lunch

Dined on March 11, 2016

Calm enough for conversation; food so very interesting, desserts amazing. All happy. We waited a lng time for the entree,but server great to offer food, beverages.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A Fun Experience

Dined on February 23, 2016

On a vacation from Texas for Fur Rendevous, we were looking for interesting venues. We had never experienced a culinary school's "product" and thought this would be fun. It was....A bit challenging to find and park, but the food was great...The shaved beet and carrot salad with chevre and pickled quail eggs was delicious ...We were there on a day where they had an "all you can eat" dessert table which showcased individual chefs. The lavender panacotta topped with fresh pineapple compote and chia seeds was fabulous. The girl who made it actually came out and gave me the basic recipe and I will definitely try it. She called it a "relatively healthy dessert"...based on coconut milk & honey..My husband had the Bombay sliders which he said were great....they were accompanied by breaded and fried asparagus spears which I tasted ...WOW!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience

Dined on February 12, 2016

Great place to meet with colleagues over lunch. Students-in-training are attentive and well- versed on the menu items. My mahi- kabobs were tasty and done perfectly. Others enjoyed the shrimp appetizers. We all couldn't resist sampling the Valentines-themed desserts!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on February 4, 2016

We try to visit Lucy's a couple times every year and are never disappointed. The Culinary Arts students prepare (under strict supervision of a renowned chef) and serve the meals. The menu is diverse and has something for everyone, including a vegetarian option.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on February 3, 2016

You won't find a better lunch in Anchorage. Alaskan's should be proud of UAA's culinary arts program.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Yum :)

Dined on February 2, 2016

I had the Bombay turkey sliders with asparagus fries and they were absolutely delicious! I had the panna cotta lavender dessert as well and that was amazing. It was presented beautifully and tasted just as good. Thank you! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Food was great, service not so much

Dined on January 27, 2016

Our server was a very nice young woman who took our order and disappeared for 10 minutes at a time, leaving our water glasses empty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Shhh!

Dined on November 13, 2015

Amazing spot, I just hope it's never discovered by the masses. Food was delicious, our server Cheyenne was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food with friends

Dined on November 12, 2015

The lunch menu offered so many different, appealing selections that my friends and I had a difficult time making a decision. I selected the lamb chops and they were cooked to perfection. Both my friends ordered the skirt steak with pesto and it was scrumptious. We ordered as a group the red velvet cheese cake and apple crisp. I could have eaten two of the cheesecake. The students are doing an excellent job of cooking and serving. Keep Lucy Cuddy's in mind for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

More good!

Dined on November 11, 2015

Once again Lucy's has presented an innovative menu that proves to be excellent. Every item at our table received high praise, and we're a group not easy to please. Just when we think they can't possibly equal or exceed our last visit there, they come up with "more good."

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3

Lucy Cuddy

Dined on November 3, 2015

I have eaten here on a number of occasions. The food is high quality and different but not always perfect, this is a learning institution. Service is usually good, but again, they are learning. If you are looking for upper end with medium cost and interesting choices, this is the place. Wish they served wine.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Place is amazing

Dined on October 29, 2015

My only complaint is that this restaurant is only open for lunch and not all year.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Love it!

Dined on October 9, 2015

I hesitate to give too much praise because it is already hard enough to get reservations at times. If this place were to get the credit it deserves it would be impossible to get in. Great food at a fair price.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Love this place!

Dined on October 6, 2015

Food is excellent, prices are fair. The menu changes regularly and there is always something new and exciting to try.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding, Outstanding!!!

Dined on October 2, 2015

This is a Anchorage's little gem, Lucy's. If you haven't been, give it a try. You will not be disappointment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an enjoyable experience. We eat t ...

Dined on October 2, 2015

Always an enjoyable experience. We eat there 4x per semester--twice each for first half and second half menus. Great to see the students in the Culinary Arts program given imaginative reign to come up with amuse, salad, main dish and dessert options for the menus. Inexpensive for the options compared to other top restaurants in Anchorage. Tips are pooled to finance end of semester event for the participating culinary arts students.

food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT place for lunch

Dined on April 2, 2015

I've now eaten at Lucy's five times. The food is outstanding and we always leave marveling at the value we received.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful

vip
Dined on March 31, 2015

Wonderful restaurant on the campus of UAA. A little hard to find if your not familiar with the campus, but definitely worth the trouble. Amazingly good food cooked by students, very well priced. Will go there often from now on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!

Dined on February 19, 2015

we always go here with high expectations and are never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Always a great experience

Dined on November 21, 2014

No matter how many times I visit it's always fun and exciting so try the new menu and dessert buffet on Fridays!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Limited menu not a problem

Dined on November 6, 2014

Menu was limited, but everything we tried was wonderful. Ostrich appetizer, soup, entrees elk shop and duck & mushroom crepes. Unfortunately had no room for dessert. They look yummy.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

continuous high standards

Dined on November 5, 2014

I'm a regular at Lucy's because the overall experience is so very pleasant. The menu is innovative and interesting, always living up to my expectations. The "student-team" tries so hard, and is so humble about being learners. Their youth makes even their mistakes o.k.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Five Star Plus!

Dined on November 4, 2014

The menu choices and food quality are top notch in Lucy's. The students of the UAA culinary program have developed a diverse menu of internationally inspired cuisine and deliver a delicious well plated meal that coupled with the outstanding service and quiet elegant setting makes for a memorable midday treat.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent lunch spot

Dined on November 4, 2014

This place is the perfect lunch spot, I had an amazing time on a lunch date and the soups, salads, and entrees are all very tasty and very reasonably priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

best deal on campus

Dined on October 23, 2014

Food is reasonably priced and options are great. Best place to eat on campus.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Lucy's is always a winner

Dined on October 8, 2014

Love the room, food and the waiters in training. It is always a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

One of the Best Alaska Restaurants

Dined on October 1, 2014

This restaurant is really a hidden gem. Food is prepared by the UAA culinary arts students and is both delicious and beautifully presented. Every dessert is well crafted and elegantly finished. I'm part of two couples who tend to go there for every special occasion we have (or can make up). These culinary students are truly gifted.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

best kept secret

Dined on September 25, 2014

don't tell anyone............. they only serve lunch, but it's the best in town and for moderate prices! It's run entirely by the students in the culinary arts program so the service is always slow, but who cares?! Food is fresh, innovative, and absolutely glorious in its presentation. The room is large but the tables are far apart so there's privacy and it's easy to talk to your lunch companions. I've been going there for years and the quality never lags. Used to be my best kept secret!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service3

Farewell lunch at Lucy's

Dined on April 24, 2014

It had been more than 10 years since my last visit to Lucy's and I was pleasantly surprised that it had managed to maintain the same high standard. There were 4 of us at the table. 2 were delighted at their selection of main course (swordfish); 1 wished she had selected the swordfish as her menu item was only ok (rather messy and too much rice); and 1 was unable to eat hers but that may have had nothing to do with the quality of the food. The dessert table, as always, was magnificent. Overall, a most pleasant experience, and I shall be back. If only Lucy's were open for longer than just the spring semester. It is one of the best-kept secrets in the U-Med District. A speedier service would be helpful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Who knew?

Dined on April 23, 2014

In the middle of UAA campus is a little known dining experience. The culinary arts students work to improve their skills while providing a great meal. I recommend enjoy take the opportunity to try Lucy's at least once a semester and the menu changes, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Lucy's- great for visiting

Dined on April 22, 2014

I always enjoy Lucy's because it is relaxed, great food, and not noisy. I often go with friends, neighbors or people I want to catch up with. People who haven't been there before are always pleasantly surprised at the food variety, quality, and prices.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Respite from work

Dined on April 10, 2014

Dining at Lucy's was a delightful experience. Our party of four looked forward to it after reviewing the menu. Our gluten free and mushroom and shell fish sensitive parties appreciated the extra effort made by our server (Chase) in finding out the ingredients in the dishes and helping them select an appropriate entre. Everyone enjoyed their choice. The Tomato Leek soup had a delightful spicy surprise. The flavors of the dishes were subtle but distinct. The quiet atmosphere was a great respite from work and the usual hubbub of lunch hour dining.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Lucy's - Anchorage's Gem

Dined on April 10, 2014

I have had the pleasure of dining at Lucy's on two occasions. Both times the food was inventive and interesting, well-presented, and the service was exemplary. The ambience at Lucy's is low-key but friendly. The tables are always beautifully set with clean linens, shining table and glassware and fresh flowers. All in all, Lucy's is a treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

another successful culinary year!

Dined on April 9, 2014

Once again I had several memorable meals this year at Lucy's. Food was imaginative, beautifully presented and oh-so-tasty.The dinner rolls are in the same "boat" even though I think we tend to underappreciate them. Looking forward to next fall!

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.