Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Lucy's - University of Alaska Anchorage

The meals here are produced and served by the students of the Culinary Arts and Hospitality program at the University of Alaska Anchorage. The bakery, kitchen and dining room are instructional laboratories. Our curriculum and facilities blend to support students in achieving our goal excellence in fine dining.

3211 Providence Drive
Cuddy Hall
Anchorage, AK 99508
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm (last seating at 12:30pm)

Cross Street:
Seawolf Dr

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 786-1122

Website:
http://www.uaa.alaska.edu/culinary/lucys/

Parking Details:
Parking vouchers available for off-campus guests. Please notify server

Public Transit:
People Mover bus line 36, 3 and 102

Additional:
Cafe, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Lucy's - University of Alaska Anchorage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.9

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
See All
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Casual (3)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (1)
Romantic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The overall experience was great. Everything was as expected for the most part. At first it gave an intimidating feel because the restaurant is wide open and you could see everyone in there. The overall service was as good as it could be. I would go eat here often. Especially because the price is pretty decent for what you're getting.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Had an exceptional business lunch here. This is a restaurant operated by a culinary school. So, the menu, the food and even the servers are all students. It was fun, creative and the price can't be beat. The menu changes so you can come back again for something new.....................and I will! Parking at UAA is tight..............but they did provide us with a parking voucher. It was good food and fun and the students are also fun to interact with. Who knew UAA had a Culinary Program.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Fantastic place! Outstanding selection, wonderful service. We will return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Dining experience was wonderful and food was good... food that I ordered just needs little more work, the rice was too cooked tasted soggy, but my husband and I really enjoyed all the appetizer we ordered... we will be dining again!!

Thank You

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place, fantastic service, delicious food, fair price.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was great, except for the fish dish which was extremely dry.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 7, 2017

My friends and I had a lovely luncheon. The service by Adrian was great and the food was excellent. The atmosphere is very pleasant and I love the decor and the new chairs. The menu offered is always different than what you would get in a regular restaurant. Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our student server was sensitive to our allergies when we mentioned them and remembered them throughout the meal. When one late-arriving guest mentioned she needed to stay away from fish, the server gave her the complimentary appetizer sans the fish.
Sometimes the meat dishes aren't always cooked well enough and the tea bag is too small for the large pot they use--so a larger or different tea is needed. However, I still love Lucy's and enjoy their creative menu.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Lucy's is a fine dining room run by the University of Alaska-Anchorage culinary program. It is staffed by students in the program who are learning aspects of the restaurant biz, but the students are well trained and enthusiastic, hoping to provide a good customer experience. And they succeeded! The food was first-rate, from the fresh rolls to the outstanding desserts. Service was leisurely, the ambience relaxed, the value was very good. Check out Lucy's web site for the menu. Hours are limited but if you want a nice lunch experience in midtown Anchorage, consider going to Lucy's!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The definition of "hidden gem." This place would be booked full every day if people knew about it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great food, great service. Two new menus each semester. Great Culinary Arts program at UAA.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food! Presentation was amazing! Dessert table had so many creative and delicious options!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great lunch as always. We always enjoy the food and presentations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food & attentive service at a very affordable price. Each dish (venison, lamb and pheasant) was well prepared, tasted wonderful and looked attractive. The crab-cake appetizers were abundant with crab and flavor. The desserts topped it off nicely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Fun to dine in a restaurant run by students. They did a fantastic job. The UAA Culinary School has amazing instructors and their students take a lot of pride in their work.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 28, 2016

This was a wonderful experience. Our server was very nervous, but did a great job and was obviously very new to serving. The food was prepared correctly, although the flavors weren't quite there on the appetizers. The lamb was excellent! It was the beginning of the semester so it stands to reason that in a couple of months the flavors would be as on-the-money as the preparations were. I recommend this to all. Come support our future gastronomes!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Went to Lucy's for lunch on a Tuesday. I had the prosciutto wrapped pork loin and my partner had the African braised chicken. We both thoroughly enjoyed our dishes. Our server was also very nice and knowledgeable.
We also lucked out that (maybe since it was the end of the semester?) they were having their "All you can eat" dessert buffet. It had about twelve items. I had a chocolate apricot tort, a raspberry cheesecake cupcake, and cinnamon ice cream. They were also very good, but by then I was too full to go back for more! Maybe next time I'll start with dessert? (although then I would have missed out on the entree, so ?)
In any case, we both really enjoyed it, and will definitely go back (in the fall semester, since they're closed in the summer!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 19, 2016

I have been lunching at Lucy's on and off for 15 years. The quality and value never varies--it is always excellent. I started going when I was a student, and now I take my own students as well as co-workers. It's always a treat, and the food and service are always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 14, 2016

We've been here before... and we'll be here again! Everything about this place says quality. Outstanding service, great bread, fantastic food. The presentation is also top-notch. The only downside is that it is so popular that one must make reservations, sometimes up to a week in advance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 13, 2016

Lucy's is a gem. Reasonable prices for outstanding food and service. We try to go there once a month during the school year.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 31, 2016

My experiences at Lucy's Restaurant are consistently superior. The students work as servers and make the varied and always delicious meals and desserts. I would definitely recommend to all as a fine dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Lucy's is a lovely place to have a special occasion lunch - white tablecloths, cloth napkins, attentive wait staff, delicious special food offerings with moderate pricing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2016

The food was great, but feels a little like eating in a conference room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 11, 2016

Calm enough for conversation; food so very interesting, desserts amazing. All happy. We waited a lng time for the entree,but server great to offer food, beverages.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 23, 2016

On a vacation from Texas for Fur Rendevous, we were looking for interesting venues. We had never experienced a culinary school's "product" and thought this would be fun. It was....A bit challenging to find and park, but the food was great...The shaved beet and carrot salad with
chevre and pickled quail eggs was delicious ...We were there on a day where they had an
"all you can eat" dessert table which showcased individual chefs. The lavender panacotta topped with fresh pineapple compote and chia seeds was fabulous. The girl who made it actually came out and gave me the basic recipe and I will definitely try it. She called it
a "relatively healthy dessert"...based on coconut milk & honey..My husband had the Bombay
sliders which he said were great....they were accompanied by breaded and fried asparagus spears which I tasted ...WOW!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Great place to meet with colleagues over lunch. Students-in-training are attentive and well- versed on the menu items. My mahi- kabobs were tasty and done perfectly. Others enjoyed the shrimp appetizers. We all couldn't resist sampling the Valentines-themed desserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 4, 2016

We try to visit Lucy's a couple times every year and are never disappointed. The Culinary Arts students prepare (under strict supervision of a renowned chef) and serve the meals. The menu is diverse and has something for everyone, including a vegetarian option.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 3, 2016

You won't find a better lunch in Anchorage. Alaskan's should be proud of UAA's culinary arts program.

Tags: Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 2, 2016

I had the Bombay turkey sliders with asparagus fries and they were absolutely delicious! I had the panna cotta lavender dessert as well and that was amazing. It was presented beautifully and tasted just as good.

Thank you! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 27, 2016

Our server was a very nice young woman who took our order and disappeared for 10 minutes at a time, leaving our water glasses empty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2015

Amazing spot, I just hope it's never discovered by the masses. Food was delicious, our server Cheyenne was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2015

The lunch menu offered so many different, appealing selections that my friends and I had a difficult time making a decision. I selected the lamb chops and they were cooked to perfection. Both my friends ordered the skirt steak with pesto and it was scrumptious. We ordered as a group the red velvet cheese cake and apple crisp. I could have eaten two of the cheesecake. The students are doing an excellent job of cooking and serving. Keep Lucy Cuddy's in mind for lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 11, 2015

Once again Lucy's has presented an innovative menu that proves to be excellent. Every item at our table received high praise, and we're a group not easy to please. Just when we think they can't possibly equal or exceed our last visit there, they come up with "more good."

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 3, 2015

I have eaten here on a number of occasions. The food is high quality and different but not always perfect, this is a learning institution. Service is usually good, but again, they are learning. If you are looking for upper end with medium cost and interesting choices, this is the place. Wish they served wine.

Tags: Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 29, 2015

My only complaint is that this restaurant is only open for lunch and not all year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2015

I hesitate to give too much praise because it is already hard enough to get reservations at times. If this place were to get the credit it deserves it would be impossible to get in. Great food at a fair price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 6, 2015

Food is excellent, prices are fair. The menu changes regularly and there is always something new and exciting to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 2, 2015

This is a Anchorage's little gem, Lucy's. If you haven't been, give it a try. You will not be disappointment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 2, 2015

Always an enjoyable experience. We eat there 4x per semester--twice each for first half and second half menus. Great to see the students in the Culinary Arts program given imaginative reign to come up with amuse, salad, main dish and dessert options for the menus. Inexpensive for the options compared to other top restaurants in Anchorage. Tips are pooled to finance end of semester event for the participating culinary arts students.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2015

I've now eaten at Lucy's five times. The food is outstanding and we always leave marveling at the value we received.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.