Lucy's - University of Alaska Anchorage

4.7
197 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
The meals here are produced and served by the students of the Culinary Arts and Hospitality program at the University of Alaska Anchorage. The bakery, kitchen and dining room are instructional laboratories. Our curriculum and facilities blend to support students in achieving our goal excellence in fine dining. Lucy's Restaurant is open when students are in session spring and fall semester. Please see our web page at http://www.uaa.alaska.edu/lucys/ for dates.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:00pm (last seating at 12:30pm). Lucy's Restaurant is open when students are in session spring and fall semester.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(907) 786-1122
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Noah Miller
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Seawolf Dr
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Lucy's no longer validates parking. We apologize for any inconvenience. There is a kiosk to pay for parking in the lot or you can download the Passport parking app to access payment via smartphone. Visit m.ppprk.com for details. Parking is free on Fridays.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
People Mover bus line 36, 3 and 102
Additional
Cafe, Private Room, Wheelchair Access
What 197 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.8
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Excellent service, as well as tasty and attractive food. Very innovative items on the menu every time. It is too bad the dessert is not available as a sampler anymore. The portions are large, and it is difficult to choose only one of the many scrumptious items.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Great time!! The only compliant I have is that I called and left a message to find out if there was a children’s menu, or if the chef could make basic childrens food, like pizza. I did not receive a call back or voicemail.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Delicious food served with just the right attentiveness

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

This is our second visit as a retired couple and we enjoy the cheerful service, creative foods, and the reasonable cost.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Lucy's on the UAA campus, is one of Anchorage's best kept secrets. The food is consistently cutting edge, fresh, and beautifully presented. (Because the chefs and wait staff are students, you will experience a high end meal at a discount.)
Lucy's is known for hospitality and attention to detail. From fresh flowers and starched white linens to the house made rolls and complimentary appetizers. Wait staff are exceptional. You are greeted warmly at the door and service is prompt, friendly and attentive throughout the dining experience. One feels pampered when surrounded by professionals who have a passion for quality in all they do. Lucy's easily rivals any restaurant in the city.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Just go ... great food and great experience. Fine dining provided by University of Alaska Anchorage culinary students and faculty. Limited hours and days but so worth the special planning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 5, 2017

Lucy's was great as usual. The menu never disappoints nor does the cooking!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Lucy's is always a good place to go and visit. It is a very leisurely lunch, minimal background noise. Food is always creative, and desserts worth saving room for.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 15, 2017

We enjoyed knowing the food was prepared and served by the students of the culinary program at UAA. We also expected an interesting food experience. Many of the items were beautifully done, tasty and well plated. That being said, all was not perfect. Fortunately there is a comment card provided for feedback and we gave ours willingly. I look forward to returning again. Thank you culinary students and chefs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 9, 2017

We are never disappointed at Lucy's! Tremendous food with a constantly changing menu. Great value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2017

What a fantastic find!! The food was wonderful and the service excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 26, 2017

Absolutely delicious! It's hard to believe that students made these amazing culinary delights. UAA is producing outstanding culinary chefs!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 12, 2017

Good as always. The menu this semester is particularly good - so hard to choose just one entree!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2017

Lucy's is always a great place to meet friends, and catch up. the food is good, and the choice always surprises people the first time they visit. I like to bring people who haven't been here before. The atmosphere is relaxed, and it is easy to catch up on each other's lives. The apricot, sponge cake roll the day before was maybe the best dessert I've had at Lucy's. I usually have chocolate, but this was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

As always, the students working the restaurant at Lucy's have come up with another great menu. And the teachers have done a great job at showing the students how to run it. It's always a pleasure and a treat to eat at Lucy's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 27, 2017

The crab salad was probably the best salad I have ever had. There were entire pieces of king crab. Half a perfectly ripe avocado sliced and lettuce with multi colored cherry tomatoes. With a mystery delish dressing in just the right amount. Perfect! For dessert I loved the hand made truffles with the creamy white insides with a citrus flavor. I will definitely be back for more!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2017

I enjoyed the experience of having students preparing and serving food. As a parent of a student at UAA I must say I love this school and think everything about it has been excellent and this is his second year. The food prepared by the culinary students was delightful. The salad was loaded with a variety of tasty veggies. The meat was cooked to perfection. The risotto was also perfectly cooked. The server was very attentive. The dessert bar at the end was an amazing touch. Prices are half that of a regular restaurant. My girlfriend and I were tickled. The only request I have is vegan options, gluten free options and nut free options too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2017

The food was 5 star and value was unbelievable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2017

Overall a great lunch spot with friendly efficient service. The vegetation entree was more like an appetizer size dish. The dessert bar is a great deal and delicious. We like coming here for special occasions. The food is creative and well prepared and the quiet ambience is ideal for conservation and relaxation. Take your time here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2017

Lucy's is, as other people noted, a hidden gem. Nestled in Cuddy Hall on the UAA campus, the food is prepared and served by the Culinary Arts students. Our server was friendly, efficient and knowledgable. The food was both beautiful and delicious. The prices were extremely reasonable and the offerings surprisingly varied and plentiful. The complimentary amuse bouche and the truffles at the end of the meal were a bonus. I'll be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2017

As always, Lucy's food is it's star. The students who run Lucy's have a knack for coming up with fresh, creative combinations that make your taste buds pop with flavor.

My only concern would be the rate of service. If you are expecting to go and get in and out in less than an hour with a full meal (appetizer, entree, dessert), you actually need to plan a minimum of 2 hours. Our reservation was for 11:45 and we were seated right away but we did not get out of the restaurant until 1:45 and, even then, it meant we had to take our dessert in boxes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2017

This place is a well kept secret and I hope to spread the word of what a great value dining here was for us. Unexpected delights.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2017

Had an exceptional business lunch here. This is a restaurant operated by a culinary school. So, the menu, the food and even the servers are all students. It was fun, creative and the price can't be beat. The menu changes so you can come back again for something new.....................and I will! Parking at UAA is tight..............but they did provide us with a parking voucher. It was good food and fun and the students are also fun to interact with. Who knew UAA had a Culinary Program.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2017

The overall experience was great. Everything was as expected for the most part. At first it gave an intimidating feel because the restaurant is wide open and you could see everyone in there. The overall service was as good as it could be. I would go eat here often. Especially because the price is pretty decent for what you're getting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2017

Fantastic place! Outstanding selection, wonderful service. We will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2017

Dining experience was wonderful and food was good... food that I ordered just needs little more work, the rice was too cooked tasted soggy, but my husband and I really enjoyed all the appetizer we ordered... we will be dining again!!

Thank You

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place, fantastic service, delicious food, fair price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was great, except for the fish dish which was extremely dry.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2017

My friends and I had a lovely luncheon. The service by Adrian was great and the food was excellent. The atmosphere is very pleasant and I love the decor and the new chairs. The menu offered is always different than what you would get in a regular restaurant. Thank you

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2016

Our student server was sensitive to our allergies when we mentioned them and remembered them throughout the meal. When one late-arriving guest mentioned she needed to stay away from fish, the server gave her the complimentary appetizer sans the fish.
Sometimes the meat dishes aren't always cooked well enough and the tea bag is too small for the large pot they use--so a larger or different tea is needed. However, I still love Lucy's and enjoy their creative menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 15, 2016

Lucy's is a fine dining room run by the University of Alaska-Anchorage culinary program. It is staffed by students in the program who are learning aspects of the restaurant biz, but the students are well trained and enthusiastic, hoping to provide a good customer experience. And they succeeded! The food was first-rate, from the fresh rolls to the outstanding desserts. Service was leisurely, the ambience relaxed, the value was very good. Check out Lucy's web site for the menu. Hours are limited but if you want a nice lunch experience in midtown Anchorage, consider going to Lucy's!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 9, 2016

The definition of "hidden gem." This place would be booked full every day if people knew about it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2016

Great food, great service. Two new menus each semester. Great Culinary Arts program at UAA.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food! Presentation was amazing! Dessert table had so many creative and delicious options!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2016

Great lunch as always. We always enjoy the food and presentations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food & attentive service at a very affordable price. Each dish (venison, lamb and pheasant) was well prepared, tasted wonderful and looked attractive. The crab-cake appetizers were abundant with crab and flavor. The desserts topped it off nicely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2016

Fun to dine in a restaurant run by students. They did a fantastic job. The UAA Culinary School has amazing instructors and their students take a lot of pride in their work.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 28, 2016

This was a wonderful experience. Our server was very nervous, but did a great job and was obviously very new to serving. The food was prepared correctly, although the flavors weren't quite there on the appetizers. The lamb was excellent! It was the beginning of the semester so it stands to reason that in a couple of months the flavors would be as on-the-money as the preparations were. I recommend this to all. Come support our future gastronomes!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2016

I have been lunching at Lucy's on and off for 15 years. The quality and value never varies--it is always excellent. I started going when I was a student, and now I take my own students as well as co-workers. It's always a treat, and the food and service are always excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2016

Went to Lucy's for lunch on a Tuesday. I had the prosciutto wrapped pork loin and my partner had the African braised chicken. We both thoroughly enjoyed our dishes. Our server was also very nice and knowledgeable.
We also lucked out that (maybe since it was the end of the semester?) they were having their "All you can eat" dessert buffet. It had about twelve items. I had a chocolate apricot tort, a raspberry cheesecake cupcake, and cinnamon ice cream. They were also very good, but by then I was too full to go back for more! Maybe next time I'll start with dessert? (although then I would have missed out on the entree, so ?)
In any case, we both really enjoyed it, and will definitely go back (in the fall semester, since they're closed in the summer!)

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5

Tweets by Lucy's - University of Alaska Anchorage