About Lucy Ethiopian Restaurant & Lounge

6800 Southwest Fwy
Suite D
Houston, TX 77074
View Larger Map

One of Houstonia magazines 50 Best Places to Eat in Houston, Lucy Restaurant and Lounge celebrates the roots of humanity in Ethiopia - which you will find in our food, art-gallery, and festivities. We are family-owned and operated with friendly staff, delicious food and drink, and a great atmosphere!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Ethiopian

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm.
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am.
Sunday: 11:00am - 11:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 334-0000

Website:
http://www.lucyhouston.com/ordereze/default.aspx

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout

Lucy Ethiopian Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Family Style (4)
See All
Spicy (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Romantic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
64 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unable to make up our minds, we ordered ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Unable to make up our minds, we ordered the vegetarian sampler and the meat sampler - way too much food for two, but all was tasty. Most remarkable were the collard greens: they were very good, but cooked without any bacon - the best collard greens I've ever eaten.

Tags: Spicy, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My husband and I absolutely love this pl ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My husband and I absolutely love this place. Our favorite is the Curry Basil Chicken. I love the atmosphere, the music, the culture and the staff is always friendly. Great for date night, groups and they have a side for the family and kids too. I definitely recommend Lucys

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Romantic, Private Room, Fun, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great evening out for our ext ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 7, 2016

This was a great evening out for our extended family and a real eating adventure. If you have never eaten Ethiopian food there are no utensils, food is pickup with Ethiopian bread (Ingera). The food is spicy and delicious; it is a great evening spent with friends. I recommend eating in the lounge which has low tables and after dinner coffee is a real treat.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there. Great food and excell ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

First time there. Great food and excellent service! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Spicy, Family Style, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best place I have ever eaten ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2016

One of the best place I have ever eaten at. I was very impressed. The food was so fun to eat and was delicious. I wanted to eat more but I was so full. They give you a lot of food for the price also. The service was amazing. Everyone was very informative and answered all my questions. They also came to check on us often. Overall, I would very pleased with the service and the food. Would def. come back!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Vegan, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had my birthday dinner here. What a wo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 1, 2016

I had my birthday dinner here. What a wonderful experience! Kudos to to staff for making my party of twenty completely satisfied and happy! Everything from the service to the absolutely delicious food was truly remarkable. Would do it again in a heart-beat! Thank you, thank you.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an unexpected gem. Food was delicio ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2016

What an unexpected gem. Food was delicious and the price is right. Great value. Everyone who we interacted with was eager to educate us on the cuisine. Will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

From the entrance to being seated, my wi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2016

From the entrance to being seated, my wife

and I were recognized by each employee. Suzanne, manager, welcomed us shortly afterwards. Service was timely. The meal was exceptional.

A most enjoyable dining experience! Highly recommended for anyone wanting authentic Ethiopian food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as usual. It had been awhile ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food as usual. It had been awhile since we had been in and it looks like they've made a few changes in plating and service uniforms. It had a nice crowd for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service. It was roman ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fantastic food and service. It was romantic yet causal enough for family with children. The food was authentic and was spiced to perfection. There was a wide range of dishes to choice from. Exceptional quality, you could tell the food was prepared fresh. I recommend Lucy's to any once that loves spicy, authentic and delicious cuisine. The prices were also very reasonable. I hope they don't change a thing.

Anthony Collins

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food and wonderful staff. The i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Terrific food and wonderful staff. The interior atmosphere was such a pleasant surprise since it is located right on a busy freeway..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had much better Ethiopian food at ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have had much better Ethiopian food at hole-in-the-wall dives. More emphasis on food and perhaps less on white-tablecloth decor would go a long way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Lucy's is a hidden gem that's very warm ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Lucy's is a hidden gem that's very warm and relaxing. I would highly recommend trying the sampler platter and, of course, the COFFEE.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My favorite Ethiopian restaurant, Lucy i ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2016

My favorite Ethiopian restaurant, Lucy is reliably good! I bring all my friends and family here to have a great meal and often a new experience. Have eaten Ethiopian food since childhood. This is flavorful, with generous portions and a clean and inspired ambiance. It feels authentic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely Place

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 29, 2016

The restaurant itself is gorgeous, with a luxurious lounge full of soft chairs and couches as well as regular tables and chairs. The staff was friendly and attentive, the food was great and the portions large.

We were intrigued by the honey wine and got some — excellent decision, it's divinely sweet. I got the sampler platter because I wanted to try everything. It's a stunning amount of food, all of which is great. I especially love the gored gored.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was great and the waiter was friend ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Good was great and the waiter was friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite places in Houston

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food, atmosphere, and customer service is superb. This place is truly a family-run business, that makes their customers feel like family, too. We will be regulars here. If it's your first time, get the veggie platter with or without meat. You won't be disappointed. Also, if you consider yourself a coffee lover, nothing beats the feel of an authentic coffee experience, from the country of coffee's origin. Lastly....honey wine....need I say more?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2016

This was my second visit here and it was perfect Susanna, the owner is pure grace , , and ! Th food was so good and all the staff seem like family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the improvements

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2016

It's been awhile since we previously visited this place and we were pleasantly surprised to see a lot of improvements. The food was well prepared and served on much bigger platter than the last time. The place looked cleaner and the service was great. Our guests who tasted ethiopian cuisine for the first time and were not much into spicy food, loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

enjoyable evening with friends

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Service and food were excellent. Wish their wine selection would have been complete.

Did not have Sauvignon blanc but chardonnay was o.k.

Edan was a helpful server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very nice find

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2016

This was my first Ethopian dining experience and I really enjoyed the lamb dish. It was a nicely spicy dish with brown rice and a salad. I invited a guest and he enjoyed the curry chicken. The overall dining experience was favorable and we enjoyed the college basketball games Sunday afternoon via the mounted flat screens. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being vegetarians, international cuisine ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Being vegetarians, international cuisine gets restrictive. But here we had great options . The taste was great with all the right spices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food is amazing. The server who saw ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food is amazing. The server who saw to us was very helpful and explained the nuances of Ethiopian food to us. My only complaint was that the restaurant looked dated and lacked the ambience for a place where you could take a date or group of friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

First time here

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 31, 2016

It was my first time here and my first time having Ethiopian food. I was blown away. I highly recommend this restaurant. The food was amazing and the service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Whoa.....

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 26, 2016

What can I say? The food was barely "OKAY," and certainly nothing to tell your friends and family about.

Yes. It's authentic. The owners are from Ethopia. Friendly and truly nice people. But I felt the food was underwhelming and the menu a bit "programmed."

I'm glad we experienced this cuisine. But doubt it will be a repeat performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Loved Lucy's. Good food, music and atmos ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 25, 2016

Loved Lucy's. Good food, music and atmosphere. Looking forward to returning to try different things on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best Ethiopian food this side of Eth ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 24, 2016

The best Ethiopian food this side of Ethiopia. Authentic,delicious, and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Ethiopian food

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Great food. Huge number of vegetarian options. I typically get a delicious veggie sampler to share with my companion. Other samplers available. Each dish is well-prepared and nourishing for a very reasonable cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love Lucy. Delicious!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2016

We love Lucy. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outdated Over Spiced Food

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2015

The lounge area is dated and need new decor. The food was just OK my taste buds were overly stimulated because of the amount of spices they used on my 7 side veggie dish.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Very good food! Never had Ethiopian brea ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Very good food! Never had Ethiopian bread before. I was not used to just using my hands, throwing the bread on the meat and veggies, then picking it up and eating it. I asked for spicy and the meal came out with a kick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and a dining experience!

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on November 28, 2015

Three of us went there for lunch at their lounge which has a great ambiance. Both food and service were fantastic! I'd surely go there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really liked the restaurant Staff was g ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 9, 2015

Really liked the restaurant

Staff was great and very helpful

Food was very good

Music however was too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2015

Had dinner on Saturday before a concert at Arena Theater. The food was fantastic and the service exceptional. We will definitely come back and bring others to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Different Experience

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2015

Unless you know Ethiopian food the menu is very confusing but the wait staff is very helpful.

I recommend a sampler plate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food is always great and the staff friendly.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 20, 2015

The front room has live music and the lounge in the back room has a good vibe

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lucy is my new favorite restaurant!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2015

We dined at Lucy after reading numerous outstanding reviews. Lucy definitely delivered! The ambience is wonderful - warm and inviting. We wanted a romantic evening with an awesome dining experience and we were not disappointed. We went on a Thursday night. Mind you, even though there were huge TV screens on the other side of the room with football and soccer - the noise level was very low. There were also a couple of groups dining - no distractions at all. With all of that going on, most restaraunts fall short on service. Not Lucy! Our waiter was exceptionally professional and friendly. He was patient with us in explaining each dish in detail. And while some reviews stated that the food delivery was slow, our dishes came to the table rather quickly. We started with honey wine and sambusa. The sambusa was fresh, crispy, and tasty. For the main course we had beef, lamb, chicken, split peas, lentils, cabbage, and collards greens. The taste buds at our table were dancing!! The portion sizes were more than ample. For dessert we had tiramasu. DELICIOUS! I'm leaving out a lot of wonderful details. Give Lucy a try and you won't be disappointed. There's also a lounge section with a dancefloor. Our waiter stated that a jazz trio performs on Saturday nights. Can't wait to visit Lucy again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. Friendly staff. We loved ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 12, 2015

Delicious food. Friendly staff. We loved it. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was warm and friendly, atten ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 30, 2015

The service was warm and friendly, attentive but not intrusive. Shelam was an absolute joy. The food was flavorful and filling without being too heavy. We left feeling satisfied but not miserable. Also, the best humus I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food quiet romantic date night

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2015

Everything was on point, from the food to the drinks. The waiters are excellent, and will always stay on point with the orders. I would recommend everything to eat. There isn't one bad item on that list

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.