About Lucy Ethiopian Restaurant & Lounge

6800 Southwest Fwy
Suite D
Houston, TX 77074
View Larger Map

One of Houstonia magazines 50 Best Places to Eat in Houston, Lucy Restaurant and Lounge celebrates the roots of humanity in Ethiopia - which you will find in our food, art-gallery, and festivities. We are family-owned and operated with friendly staff, delicious food and drink, and a great atmosphere!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Ethiopian

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm.
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am.
Sunday: 11:00am - 11:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 334-0000

Website:
http://www.lucyhouston.com/ordereze/default.aspx

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout

Lucy Ethiopian Restaurant & Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (12)
fit for foodies (11)
special occasion (8)
See All
great for lunch (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
romantic (5)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
57 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From the entrance to being seated, my wi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

From the entrance to being seated, my wife

and I were recognized by each employee. Suzanne, manager, welcomed us shortly afterwards. Service was timely. The meal was exceptional.

A most enjoyable dining experience! Highly recommended for anyone wanting authentic Ethiopian food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as usual. It had been awhile ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food as usual. It had been awhile since we had been in and it looks like they've made a few changes in plating and service uniforms. It had a nice crowd for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service. It was roman ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fantastic food and service. It was romantic yet causal enough for family with children. The food was authentic and was spiced to perfection. There was a wide range of dishes to choice from. Exceptional quality, you could tell the food was prepared fresh. I recommend Lucy's to any once that loves spicy, authentic and delicious cuisine. The prices were also very reasonable. I hope they don't change a thing.

Anthony Collins

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food and wonderful staff. The i ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Terrific food and wonderful staff. The interior atmosphere was such a pleasant surprise since it is located right on a busy freeway..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had much better Ethiopian food at ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have had much better Ethiopian food at hole-in-the-wall dives. More emphasis on food and perhaps less on white-tablecloth decor would go a long way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Lucy's is a hidden gem that's very warm ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Lucy's is a hidden gem that's very warm and relaxing. I would highly recommend trying the sampler platter and, of course, the COFFEE.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My favorite Ethiopian restaurant, Lucy i ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My favorite Ethiopian restaurant, Lucy is reliably good! I bring all my friends and family here to have a great meal and often a new experience. Have eaten Ethiopian food since childhood. This is flavorful, with generous portions and a clean and inspired ambiance. It feels authentic.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely Place

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The restaurant itself is gorgeous, with a luxurious lounge full of soft chairs and couches as well as regular tables and chairs. The staff was friendly and attentive, the food was great and the portions large.

We were intrigued by the honey wine and got some — excellent decision, it's divinely sweet. I got the sampler platter because I wanted to try everything. It's a stunning amount of food, all of which is great. I especially love the gored gored.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was great and the waiter was friend ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Good was great and the waiter was friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite places in Houston

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food, atmosphere, and customer service is superb. This place is truly a family-run business, that makes their customers feel like family, too. We will be regulars here. If it's your first time, get the veggie platter with or without meat. You won't be disappointed. Also, if you consider yourself a coffee lover, nothing beats the feel of an authentic coffee experience, from the country of coffee's origin. Lastly....honey wine....need I say more?

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

This was my second visit here and it was perfect Susanna, the owner is pure grace , , and ! Th food was so good and all the staff seem like family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the improvements

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

It's been awhile since we previously visited this place and we were pleasantly surprised to see a lot of improvements. The food was well prepared and served on much bigger platter than the last time. The place looked cleaner and the service was great. Our guests who tasted ethiopian cuisine for the first time and were not much into spicy food, loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

enjoyable evening with friends

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Service and food were excellent. Wish their wine selection would have been complete.

Did not have Sauvignon blanc but chardonnay was o.k.

Edan was a helpful server.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very nice find

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This was my first Ethopian dining experience and I really enjoyed the lamb dish. It was a nicely spicy dish with brown rice and a salad. I invited a guest and he enjoyed the curry chicken. The overall dining experience was favorable and we enjoyed the college basketball games Sunday afternoon via the mounted flat screens. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being vegetarians, international cuisine ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Being vegetarians, international cuisine gets restrictive. But here we had great options . The taste was great with all the right spices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food is amazing. The server who saw ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food is amazing. The server who saw to us was very helpful and explained the nuances of Ethiopian food to us. My only complaint was that the restaurant looked dated and lacked the ambience for a place where you could take a date or group of friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

First time here

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

It was my first time here and my first time having Ethiopian food. I was blown away. I highly recommend this restaurant. The food was amazing and the service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Whoa.....

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

What can I say? The food was barely "OKAY," and certainly nothing to tell your friends and family about.

Yes. It's authentic. The owners are from Ethopia. Friendly and truly nice people. But I felt the food was underwhelming and the menu a bit "programmed."

I'm glad we experienced this cuisine. But doubt it will be a repeat performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Loved Lucy's. Good food, music and atmos ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

Loved Lucy's. Good food, music and atmosphere. Looking forward to returning to try different things on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best Ethiopian food this side of Eth ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The best Ethiopian food this side of Ethiopia. Authentic,delicious, and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Ethiopian food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Great food. Huge number of vegetarian options. I typically get a delicious veggie sampler to share with my companion. Other samplers available. Each dish is well-prepared and nourishing for a very reasonable cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love Lucy. Delicious!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

We love Lucy. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outdated Over Spiced Food

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

The lounge area is dated and need new decor. The food was just OK my taste buds were overly stimulated because of the amount of spices they used on my 7 side veggie dish.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Very good food! Never had Ethiopian brea ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Very good food! Never had Ethiopian bread before. I was not used to just using my hands, throwing the bread on the meat and veggies, then picking it up and eating it. I asked for spicy and the meal came out with a kick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and a dining experience!

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Three of us went there for lunch at their lounge which has a great ambiance. Both food and service were fantastic! I'd surely go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really liked the restaurant Staff was g ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 9, 2015

Really liked the restaurant

Staff was great and very helpful

Food was very good

Music however was too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

Had dinner on Saturday before a concert at Arena Theater. The food was fantastic and the service exceptional. We will definitely come back and bring others to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Different Experience

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 7, 2015

Unless you know Ethiopian food the menu is very confusing but the wait staff is very helpful.

I recommend a sampler plate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food is always great and the staff friendly.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

The front room has live music and the lounge in the back room has a good vibe

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lucy is my new favorite restaurant!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

We dined at Lucy after reading numerous outstanding reviews. Lucy definitely delivered! The ambience is wonderful - warm and inviting. We wanted a romantic evening with an awesome dining experience and we were not disappointed. We went on a Thursday night. Mind you, even though there were huge TV screens on the other side of the room with football and soccer - the noise level was very low. There were also a couple of groups dining - no distractions at all. With all of that going on, most restaraunts fall short on service. Not Lucy! Our waiter was exceptionally professional and friendly. He was patient with us in explaining each dish in detail. And while some reviews stated that the food delivery was slow, our dishes came to the table rather quickly. We started with honey wine and sambusa. The sambusa was fresh, crispy, and tasty. For the main course we had beef, lamb, chicken, split peas, lentils, cabbage, and collards greens. The taste buds at our table were dancing!! The portion sizes were more than ample. For dessert we had tiramasu. DELICIOUS! I'm leaving out a lot of wonderful details. Give Lucy a try and you won't be disappointed. There's also a lounge section with a dancefloor. Our waiter stated that a jazz trio performs on Saturday nights. Can't wait to visit Lucy again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. Friendly staff. We loved ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Delicious food. Friendly staff. We loved it. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was warm and friendly, atten ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

The service was warm and friendly, attentive but not intrusive. Shelam was an absolute joy. The food was flavorful and filling without being too heavy. We left feeling satisfied but not miserable. Also, the best humus I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food quiet romantic date night

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

Everything was on point, from the food to the drinks. The waiters are excellent, and will always stay on point with the orders. I would recommend everything to eat. There isn't one bad item on that list

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjiyed Lucy Very Much

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2015

We enjoyed our experience at Lucy very much. The food was very tasty and quite an exotic experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 20, 2015

I loved the food, service and the experience definitely will be going back

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice to find Ethiopian food in Houston.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

I had a very nice dinner at Lucy's. The price was reasonable and the food was good, but not great. I had a lamb dish, which tasted good, but the meat was not flavorful enough. The jalapeño margaritas were delicious. I wished that the entree would've come with a few vegetable side dishes, or that there were more combo platter options for a single diner.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Dinner was delicious. We shared a large ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Dinner was delicious. We shared a large platter for groups. For the cost. we felt that there could have been more food on the platter but everything on it was wonderful. We loved the explanations and especially learning about the bread. We'll return but order differently next time, hoping there is more food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely Ethiopian restaurant with good se ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 9, 2015

Lovely Ethiopian restaurant with good service and great tasting food. Will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Loved it

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 31, 2015

Had been wanting to try for ages....it was worth the wait! It was my first experience at an Ethiopian restaurant so I don't have a frame of reference for exact comparison. All I can say is that the food was great. Completely enjoyed the shrimp watt -- spicy but not overwhelmimgly so with unique and intriguing flavors. Also had a side of collard greens that was to die for. The place was empty at lunchtime, which I can't really understand. Service was very courteous, informative and prompt. Will definitely be back!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great authentic food

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 9, 2015

Great authentic food. From plain to spicy....they have it all. Cant beat the anjeera bread. Asked for the home made honey wine...

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.