About Lucky

18 Kirk Ave SW
Roanoke, VA 24011
View Larger Map

Lucky specializes in Country French and Southern American comfort food, paired with great wines, craft beers and classic cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, French American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jefferson St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 982-1249

Website:
http://www.eatatlucky.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available ($3.00) in a lot directly across the street from Lucky. Please prepay.
Additionally, there is ample free parking available on Kirk Avenue and other nearby streets.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Farmer

Private Party Facilities:
Able to accomodate up to 25 people on select days and only at certain times. Please call Lucky to make arrangements.

Private Party Contact:
Cameron McWhinney: 5409821249x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Lucky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greater Roanoke
Best Food
Greater Roanoke
Best Service
Greater Roanoke
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Greater Roanoke
Most Booked
Greater Roanoke
Best Restaurants in Roanoke ›

Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Hot Spot (19)
Romantic (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic place..made reservation to imp ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic place..made reservation to impress my first date..did not disappoint..everything was great..looks like we will be returning again..thank you for making it a great start to the night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and service !! Our reservat ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Awesome food and service !! Our reservation was for 7:15 and we did not leave until 11:00pm. We were never rushed and enjoyed dessert and fantastic pours of bourbon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We brought my mother here and she loved ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We brought my mother here and she loved it! She compared it to The Populist in Denver, our favorite restaurant from our hometown, which feels just right.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I brought a friend of mine who was visit ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I brought a friend of mine who was visiting from out of town; and, who had previously owned a restaurant. He is a "foodie" and I was a little concerned but Lucky had been recommended by several people at work. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meals and my friend had nothing but compliments about the food, service and atmosphere. For what we ordered the price was very reasonable as well. I will definitely be back and recommend Lucky to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We just moved to Salem from the NYC area ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We just moved to Salem from the NYC area. We are used to going out for good food and drinks. We are super happy to have found Lucky's. We will be back very soon!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails were very very good! The s ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The cocktails were very very good!

The service was even better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food Awesome drinks Good place to ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food

Awesome drinks

Good place to relax

Great staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The owner really cares about his busines ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The owner really cares about his business. He was very attentive to our wait. He even stopped by our table to see we enjoyed our meal. Our server was great and attentive as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Lucky continues to impress. T ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

As always, Lucky continues to impress. The pork shoulder and the mussels are classics that are not to be missed. Anything on the menu is delicious and their specials are always nice. Their bespoke cocktails are on point and their bar staff are craftsmen of the highest boozy order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Local truffles were good, fired chicken ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Local truffles were good, fired chicken was cooked well but crust was burnt. Kale as collard greens not my favorite. Caesar salad was sub par, and scallops were cooked almost perfectly but the dish was devoid of any character.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

The hostess was absent minded and the dr ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The hostess was absent minded and the drinks lacked flavor

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Great food. Somewhat small portions, bu ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food. Somewhat small portions, but enough. Pricey .

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

A lucky find for us as it was our first ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A lucky find for us as it was our first visit to Roamoke. It was not in the hotel info or an easy google. This we were lucky to come upon it. Excellent drinks. Fresh food w/ wonderful nuances in flavour. Crazy delicious drinks. Ask for the Cube!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Came for dinner right after flying in fr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Came for dinner right after flying in from the northeast. Second time in Roanoke, came to Lucky based on the reviews. We had the cheese board, salads, entrees, and desert. Every course was excellent. Service was professional and attentive. Great bar selection and plenty of original cocktails to choose from. Will definitely be back next time I come to Roanoke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come about once a month and look forw ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We come about once a month and look forward to whatever the special of the day is. A great fresh menu. It's a stable and wonderful treat for an actual culinary experience in a city that otherwise survives on burgers and biscuits. Also love the rotating cocktail specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Order the foie gras--outstanding!! Menu ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Order the foie gras--outstanding!! Menu is eclectic and unusual

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

At first, the ambiance was not what we e ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

At first, the ambiance was not what we expected - it seemed more like a Roanoke bar rather than a fine dining restaurant. The food was good and so was the service. I give it 4 stars, versus 5 stars for - say - Alexander's Restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding meal for Fathers Day! Great ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding meal for Fathers Day! Great Drinks too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The mussels were awesome, but the cheese ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The mussels were awesome, but the cheese board and my friend's gnocchi was tiny for the price. He left hungry...and as a vegetarian, he felt a bit miffed at the portion considering there was no meat in it. I'm a wine enthusiast and foodie so I know my places. Enlarge the portions or lower the cost a bit for vegetarian fare. Seems only fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Nice little neighborhood restaurant. Fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Nice little neighborhood restaurant. Food was excellent. I wish the menu included more than just a few selections. The Cheese Board appetizer was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Special that night was soft shell crabs. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Special that night was soft shell crabs. Very tasty but lots of batter. Small beet salad was enough to share. Gnocchi with mushrooms in broth was a very small portion as an entree. Garlic infused oil with bread was $3. Small piece of bread!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Lucky is hands-down my favorite spot in ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Lucky is hands-down my favorite spot in Roanoke! I can always look forward to a great cocktail, tasty meal and a fun night out there! The staff are the best! Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Surprising Chicken

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed eating at Lucky for the first time. We met friends and enjoyed the evening. Although we did not drink, the beverages concocted at the bar looked wonderful. I ordered a dozen Old Salt oysters on the half shell and although a bit small, they were tasty. Three of us ordered the chicken with mashed potatoes and the skin was crispy, juicy and delicious. Another member of our party enjoyed the day's catch of bass and stated it was also well prepared and a good choice. The waitress was laid back and very responsive. The overall mood was a bit hip without being intimidating for us middle agers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Accessible gourmet

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The entire menu was appealing, so it was hard for the hubby and I to choose. We settled on the cheese board for a starter and were so impressed! The cheeses were the perfect temperature and the accompments spot on. I had the mushroom gnocchi with gooseberries, which were an interesting addition. The gnocchi were like little pillows. My husband had a braised pork dish that was meltingly tender. I'm so glad we found this restaurant as we were passing through!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The NY Strip & Frittes here might be the best thing I've ever had. Drinks are awesome as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We allways enjoy coming to Lucky.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The food,service,and drinks are allways top notch. We brought friends tha hadn't been here before and they were impressed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Find!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We found Lucky while visiting our son. Great food, our server, Devon, was fantastic - - everything was superb. Can't wail to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lucky Rules

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Exceptional service, outstanding cocktails, killer vibe, and really delicious oysters! Can't say enough good things.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters on the half shell were great

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Absolutely great evening. Had the diver scallops with califlower and a cream sauce. Excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed this time

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Lucky is one our favorite restaurants in Roanoke. This time , however, I was very disappointed in my entire. It was a duck pasta dish that was no where near entree sized, for which I was charged $26.00! I think sometimes popularity gets the best of a place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Staff was terrific, the food was inventi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Staff was terrific, the food was inventive, and the bar was top notch. The place has an older bistro feel, and the after work crowd is a bit boisterous, but all in all it is a fun vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delectable

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

The ambiance was warm and inviting. The waiter was very friendly and helpful. He had good suggestions. The owner was there and checked in on customers. The cheese board appetizer was delicious. My food was rich, delicious and very comforting. The unusual cocktails really hit the spot and were unique. I have a gluten allergy and there were selections for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Always amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will go back

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

First time here and we would definitely go back. The atmosphere was perfect, fun and upscale. The food was amazing. I had the NY strip and it was cooked to perfection and the taste was mmmmmm! Wait staff was very friendly and helpful. Great little restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Lucky is always a fun spot with great food and drinks.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cheese plate is fabulous with 4 diff ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

The cheese plate is fabulous with 4 different cheeses, delicious pickled onions, candied pecans and a variety of olives. The meal went downhill from there. I was debating the fried country chicken and the mushroom gnocchi. The waiter told us the chicken was their most popular dish. It was served bone-in sitting on kale soggy from the bland gravy and with mashed potatoes. It was no match for Lexington's Southern Inn fried chicken. I was disappointed. My husband had the steak with frites. He said it was just OK. I tried a frite and it was more like a soggy French fry. If I return it will be for a glass of wine and the cheese plate. That was what the table next to us did and it was a great idea. Expensive for the quality. The service, however, was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Loved the food menu and really loved the ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Loved the food menu and really loved the drink specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed in the entree

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Our party ordered the pork shoulder, scallops and duck pasta. While the appetizers, salads and drinks were amazing we were somewhat dissapointed with the entrees. The scallops were a little too salt and the cauliflower puree wasn't amazing either. The pork lacked salt and was a little over cooked. We generally love Lucky so were disappointed to have this experience with our out of town guests. We'll go back but maybe a with slightly lower expectations.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great experience

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This place was a welcomed find. The food was awesome and the service was great. I love the atmosphere. This is a definite place revisit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and two friends of ours had confirmed reservations for 8:30 pm on Valentine's Day. We showed up at that time and were told that they did not have a table ready for us right then but it would be soon. So we sat at the bar and had some drinks. We had decent service from the bartenders, but not the response you would expect when a restaurant failed to deliver on reservations. We did not get a table until 9:15 pm (45 minutes late). My wife and I ordered the same thing and it was good, but my friends were not so lucky (pun intended). One of them ordered the special and got such a small amount of food that I shared some of mine with her. The other ordered a $40 steak, was not asked how he wanted it cooked and it was cold. He also changed his side dish and received the correct side, but got charged for two ($7 for nothing). After paying we spoke with the manager to express our frustration and give him a chance to explain. He was very friendly, but could only say to come find him the next time we come in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.