About Lucky

18 Kirk Ave SW
Roanoke, VA 24011
View Larger Map

Lucky specializes in Country French and Southern American comfort food, paired with great wines, craft beers and classic cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, French American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jefferson St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 982-1249

Website:
http://www.eatatlucky.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available ($3.00) in a lot directly across the street from Lucky. Please prepay.
Additionally, there is ample free parking available on Kirk Avenue and other nearby streets.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Farmer

Private Party Facilities:
Able to accomodate up to 25 people on select days and only at certain times. Please call Lucky to make arrangements.

Private Party Contact:
Cameron McWhinney: 5409821249x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Lucky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Virginia
Best Overall
Greater Roanoke
Best Food
Greater Roanoke
5 More
Best Service
Greater Roanoke
Best Value
Greater Roanoke
Fit for Foodies
Greater Roanoke
Neighborhood Gem
Greater Roanoke
Most Booked
Greater Roanoke
Best Restaurants in Roanoke ›

fit for foodies (42)
special occasion (32)
vibrant bar scene (28)
See All
neighborhood gem (21)
hot spot (17)
romantic (15)
late-night find (8)
good for groups (7)
notable wine list (6)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Local truffles were good, fired chicken ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Local truffles were good, fired chicken was cooked well but crust was burnt. Kale as collard greens not my favorite. Caesar salad was sub par, and scallops were cooked almost perfectly but the dish was devoid of any character.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

The hostess was absent minded and the dr ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The hostess was absent minded and the drinks lacked flavor

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Great food. Somewhat small portions, bu ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food. Somewhat small portions, but enough. Pricey .

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

A lucky find for us as it was our first ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A lucky find for us as it was our first visit to Roamoke. It was not in the hotel info or an easy google. This we were lucky to come upon it. Excellent drinks. Fresh food w/ wonderful nuances in flavour. Crazy delicious drinks. Ask for the Cube!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Came for dinner right after flying in fr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Came for dinner right after flying in from the northeast. Second time in Roanoke, came to Lucky based on the reviews. We had the cheese board, salads, entrees, and desert. Every course was excellent. Service was professional and attentive. Great bar selection and plenty of original cocktails to choose from. Will definitely be back next time I come to Roanoke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come about once a month and look forw ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We come about once a month and look forward to whatever the special of the day is. A great fresh menu. It's a stable and wonderful treat for an actual culinary experience in a city that otherwise survives on burgers and biscuits. Also love the rotating cocktail specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Order the foie gras--outstanding!! Menu ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Order the foie gras--outstanding!! Menu is eclectic and unusual

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

At first, the ambiance was not what we e ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

At first, the ambiance was not what we expected - it seemed more like a Roanoke bar rather than a fine dining restaurant. The food was good and so was the service. I give it 4 stars, versus 5 stars for - say - Alexander's Restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding meal for Fathers Day! Great ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding meal for Fathers Day! Great Drinks too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The mussels were awesome, but the cheese ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The mussels were awesome, but the cheese board and my friend's gnocchi was tiny for the price. He left hungry...and as a vegetarian, he felt a bit miffed at the portion considering there was no meat in it. I'm a wine enthusiast and foodie so I know my places. Enlarge the portions or lower the cost a bit for vegetarian fare. Seems only fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Nice little neighborhood restaurant. Fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Nice little neighborhood restaurant. Food was excellent. I wish the menu included more than just a few selections. The Cheese Board appetizer was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Special that night was soft shell crabs. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Special that night was soft shell crabs. Very tasty but lots of batter. Small beet salad was enough to share. Gnocchi with mushrooms in broth was a very small portion as an entree. Garlic infused oil with bread was $3. Small piece of bread!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Lucky is hands-down my favorite spot in ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Lucky is hands-down my favorite spot in Roanoke! I can always look forward to a great cocktail, tasty meal and a fun night out there! The staff are the best! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Surprising Chicken

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed eating at Lucky for the first time. We met friends and enjoyed the evening. Although we did not drink, the beverages concocted at the bar looked wonderful. I ordered a dozen Old Salt oysters on the half shell and although a bit small, they were tasty. Three of us ordered the chicken with mashed potatoes and the skin was crispy, juicy and delicious. Another member of our party enjoyed the day's catch of bass and stated it was also well prepared and a good choice. The waitress was laid back and very responsive. The overall mood was a bit hip without being intimidating for us middle agers.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Accessible gourmet

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The entire menu was appealing, so it was hard for the hubby and I to choose. We settled on the cheese board for a starter and were so impressed! The cheeses were the perfect temperature and the accompments spot on. I had the mushroom gnocchi with gooseberries, which were an interesting addition. The gnocchi were like little pillows. My husband had a braised pork dish that was meltingly tender. I'm so glad we found this restaurant as we were passing through!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The NY Strip & Frittes here might be the best thing I've ever had. Drinks are awesome as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We allways enjoy coming to Lucky.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The food,service,and drinks are allways top notch. We brought friends tha hadn't been here before and they were impressed.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Find!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We found Lucky while visiting our son. Great food, our server, Devon, was fantastic - - everything was superb. Can't wail to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lucky Rules

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Exceptional service, outstanding cocktails, killer vibe, and really delicious oysters! Can't say enough good things.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters on the half shell were great

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Absolutely great evening. Had the diver scallops with califlower and a cream sauce. Excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed this time

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Lucky is one our favorite restaurants in Roanoke. This time , however, I was very disappointed in my entire. It was a duck pasta dish that was no where near entree sized, for which I was charged $26.00! I think sometimes popularity gets the best of a place!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Staff was terrific, the food was inventi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Staff was terrific, the food was inventive, and the bar was top notch. The place has an older bistro feel, and the after work crowd is a bit boisterous, but all in all it is a fun vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delectable

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

The ambiance was warm and inviting. The waiter was very friendly and helpful. He had good suggestions. The owner was there and checked in on customers. The cheese board appetizer was delicious. My food was rich, delicious and very comforting. The unusual cocktails really hit the spot and were unique. I have a gluten allergy and there were selections for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Always amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will go back

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

First time here and we would definitely go back. The atmosphere was perfect, fun and upscale. The food was amazing. I had the NY strip and it was cooked to perfection and the taste was mmmmmm! Wait staff was very friendly and helpful. Great little restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Lucky is always a fun spot with great food and drinks.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cheese plate is fabulous with 4 diff ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

The cheese plate is fabulous with 4 different cheeses, delicious pickled onions, candied pecans and a variety of olives. The meal went downhill from there. I was debating the fried country chicken and the mushroom gnocchi. The waiter told us the chicken was their most popular dish. It was served bone-in sitting on kale soggy from the bland gravy and with mashed potatoes. It was no match for Lexington's Southern Inn fried chicken. I was disappointed. My husband had the steak with frites. He said it was just OK. I tried a frite and it was more like a soggy French fry. If I return it will be for a glass of wine and the cheese plate. That was what the table next to us did and it was a great idea. Expensive for the quality. The service, however, was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Loved the food menu and really loved the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Loved the food menu and really loved the drink specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed in the entree

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Our party ordered the pork shoulder, scallops and duck pasta. While the appetizers, salads and drinks were amazing we were somewhat dissapointed with the entrees. The scallops were a little too salt and the cauliflower puree wasn't amazing either. The pork lacked salt and was a little over cooked. We generally love Lucky so were disappointed to have this experience with our out of town guests. We'll go back but maybe a with slightly lower expectations.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great experience

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This place was a welcomed find. The food was awesome and the service was great. I love the atmosphere. This is a definite place revisit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and two friends of ours had confirmed reservations for 8:30 pm on Valentine's Day. We showed up at that time and were told that they did not have a table ready for us right then but it would be soon. So we sat at the bar and had some drinks. We had decent service from the bartenders, but not the response you would expect when a restaurant failed to deliver on reservations. We did not get a table until 9:15 pm (45 minutes late). My wife and I ordered the same thing and it was good, but my friends were not so lucky (pun intended). One of them ordered the special and got such a small amount of food that I shared some of mine with her. The other ordered a $40 steak, was not asked how he wanted it cooked and it was cold. He also changed his side dish and received the correct side, but got charged for two ($7 for nothing). After paying we spoke with the manager to express our frustration and give him a chance to explain. He was very friendly, but could only say to come find him the next time we come in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

A great dinner to be had

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We live in DC and visit Blacksburg every now and then. Lucky is now our "must do" even though Roanoke is about a half hour drive from Blacksburg! Delicious, delicious food and very pleasant service on both occasions we've been there. We are "foodies" but the menu has something for everyone. Definitely get a reservation. It's a small space and they absolutely fill up even at the bar. Parking is easy as there is a metered lot across the street.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great trip to Va

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We loved Lucky everything about it was awesome from the food to the great service, cant remember our servers name but she was great. would definitely go back next time we are in Roanoke.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Downtown Gem with Quality Food

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Had dinner here while we were traveling through Roanoke. Excellent prepared farm to table food and if you enjoy craft cocktails, they have a great bar set-up too! Our table had the roasted chicken which was moist and flavorful along with the pork chop cooked with some excellent vegetable sides that normally my husband wouldn't eat. Restaurant space is small and so recommend reservations. They also have a great bar if you are just looking to have drinks!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Good but Noisy

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

The food and service at Lucky were excellent. Our party had a great time celebrating my wife's birthday. However, it was so noisy we had a difficult time hearing each other. Really noisy!! I would still return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Dinner was perfect, I liked it so well that I made reservations for the following night as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cube is genius

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The three course meals with wine pairings for Food Week were phenomenal. But the crowning achievement was The Cube. A frozen ice cube of spices and magic in a smokey glass of Bourbon. Up front, a delicious Bourbon, and as The Cube melts, layers and layers of new tastes unfold. Quite an experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, service was just OK.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Our first visit to Lucky. Got a great table. The food was good and interesting. We enjoyed the ambience. Unfortunately, our waiter forgot about us. We would have enjoyed the experience a lot more with just a little more attentiveness by the staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We had a fabulous time at Lucky.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

The food and service were outstanding! The noise level is very loud so not a great restraint for conversation. I did note that there is a "front" area and "bar" area. The front area looked to have about 5 tables. The next time I go to Lucky I will request the "front" area, perhaps it will be a bit quieter. Highly recommended this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Excellent place to have dinner with my wife on her birthday. The appetizer and drink special was great. Our dinner was good to perfection. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.