Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Lucky

4.7
491 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Comfort Food
Perfect For:
  • Handcrafted Cocktails
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Lucky specializes in Country French and Southern American comfort food, paired with great wines, craft beers and classic cocktails.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Comfort Food, French American, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(540) 982-1249
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jeff Farmer
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Able to accomodate up to 25 people on select days and only at certain times. Please call Lucky to make arrangements.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Cameron McWhinney: (540) 982-1249
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Jefferson St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available ($3.00) in a lot directly across the street from Lucky. Please prepay.
Additionally, there is ample free parking available on Kirk Avenue and other nearby streets.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 491 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I had dinner and then concert next door

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Everything about this experience was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Loved trying all the app offerings. Thought the cheese portion on the board was a wee sparce. Cocktails and mussels were fab! Super service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Pork shoulder plate was very heavy on the portion and protein

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We went to Lucky for an evening snack after an early dinner. Atmosphere was lively, service was excellent. Great beer, wine and cocktail menu. We ordered 3 appetizers and all were excellent, local ingredients with a twist.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

I’ve lived in NY and Boston and the food here rivaled what you would get there. Cocktails were amazing and food was fantastic. The Handsome Devil and Gloria Clemente cocktails with apps (Brussels sprouts, shishito peppers, & mussels) and The Pear Skin Rug and Ther Cardi B with dinner. Ribeye that melts in your mouth and fried chicken that falls off the bone. I don’t even like coffee but I loved the after dinner espresso.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The staff at Lucky is always so accommodating! I'm so glad that shishito peppers are back in season and ribeye was fatastic! The craft coctails are second to none and the pricing is very reasonable with no compromise on the quality of food and drink. Always impressive!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We are “foodies” who were transplanted here from the Northeast. One of our biggest concerns was having restaurants where we could eat and feel we weren’t settling. We had nothing to worry about. Coming to Lucky’s we found an extremely creative bar and dinner menu made from fresh ingredients and served superbly! The added bonus is the friendly staff who greet us as if we were family returning home. They are extremely knowledgeable about all the items on the changing menu and provide excellent recommendations based on our tastes. Lucky’s is definitely becoming a favorite of ours!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We ordered a bunch of small plates. The waitstaff seemed surprised that we weren't ordering mains but it was our first time here and we wanted to try a bunch of items. Everything was delicious except for the strange dipping oil that came with the bread that we ordered. It was supposed to be olive oil infused with garlic but it definitely wasn't olive oil and there wasn't a hint of garlic. Craft cocktails were delicious and we had one too many each. Stand out food items: oysters, kale with bacon, Brussels sprouts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Wonderful experience at Lucky. Server was very attentive, food was delicious, and location was convenient. Will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

We always enjoy our meals at Lucky. It is a true Neighborhood Gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

What a terrific experience! From the appetizer (the large bread plate with all its olives, tapenade, goat cheese, etc. was a great start), to the entrees (scallops and the pork shoulder), it was a meal to remember! The server was attentive (but not hovering), and the prices reasonable. This was a special occasion, but we’ll be back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Lucky is still the best restaurant in Roanoke. Food is amazing from start to finish. That bourbon list though! Love the atmosphere...great food and drinks without being a stick in the mud.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Love the Oysters on the 1/2 Shell!!!! Best Ever!!! Never been disappointed!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Awesome food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

The Pear Skin Rug cocktail was delicious! We had a wonderful evening with oysters and several small plates! The servers are very welcoming and accommodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Always perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Lucky is always great! I took colleagues who had never been to Roanoke to Lucky and it was a great experience. Great first impression of the Star City!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Lucky never disappoints. The menu is simple enough, but the dishes have a complex ingredient blend that is typically extremely well done. The atmosphere in here is vibrant, but not too loud that you can’t have a direct conversation. All of this, add world class cocktails and service, makes for a great night out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Lucky is one of our favorites, fabulous!!!! Drinks are superb and menu is great. I love the mussels and my husband loves the scallops. Perfect martinis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We've enjoy Lucky's frequently because we enjoy the food, the speciality drinks, and service. For such a small kitchen, the food is remarkable. Kent, one of the bartenders is knowledgeable and readily suggests a cocktail he will make just for you. The wait-staff is friendly and professional and there is no problem with substitutions. Great place for after hours.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

First time. Sat at the bar. Kent was amazing. He took the time to answer questions. His knowledge of drinks and the menu was impressive. He provided a great experience. Met some of the locals which raved about the place. Lots of fun!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We really enjoyed our dinner very much, and our waiter, Jeremiah, was perfect. It's a little pricey here but you really get what you pay for. This is one of our favorites for special occasions!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Dining with a friend and wife

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Excellent service and menu - the menu choices we selected were most enjoyable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Great food and drinks. Enjoyed our visit very much

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The staff was amazing. Soooo attentive and knowledgeable. The food was outstanding!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Another great experience at Lucky. Love the great selection of cocktails and the locally sourced food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Other then I think the waitress forgot my entree order (date got her salad, neighbors ordered after I did and got the same thing I did and were mostly done eating by the time I got my entree) the experience was great. The fried chicken was so hot I couldn't hold on to the bone. And it was delicious, well presented, cooked excellent. Service was excellent (other then above issue). Price could have been lower, but I get it its a trendy restaurant serving food with high quality ingredients.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Cocktails are top notch. Food is excellent. Service is impeccable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

It was ok. Not great. Not bad. Just ok

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

First visit to the restaurant. A bit down a side street but worth the trip. Very nice food and service. Reservation was handled very well and seated as requested by friendly staff. Great food and desserts with a twist on the usual. The staff work as a team to make sure you get great service and enjoy your meal experience. Would recommend for a very nice special meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The employees are on the same page with owners hence delivering a memorable evening inclusive of outstanding dining choices, attentive and courteous service, incredible cocktail options and very reasonable prices for the quality of food/beverages, ambiance and service!

*

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Always a great experience. Thank you again for making our evening special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Very nice restaurant with a fun atmosphere. We had a group of 7 for a work dinner and everything was excellent from the appetizers to the wine to the desert.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We had a great time, however the pork shoulder was not very good. It has been on the menu for years and seems to have gotten worse over time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

The food was some of the best we had ever had hands down. We have the fried chicken and pork and were not disappointed. We both had cocktails which were delightful as well. The bourbon selection was fabulous and the staff was very informative with drink selections.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Excellent! Thank you so much for the hospitable environment, excellent food, and wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Lucky has a great atmosphere for a special occasion date with your significant other. The food was unique and fantastic with a local /regional flair. The service was top notch and accommodating. They have a great selection of unique drinks from the bar. It’s a bit expensive for every-day dining, but well worth it for a special occasion or change of pace. I would highly recommend it an Iwill definitely dine there again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13

Tweets by Lucky