Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 16 times today

Lucky

4.8
527 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Comfort Food
Top Tags:
  • Handcrafted Cocktails
  • Good for a Date
  • Local Ingredients
Lucky specializes in Country French and Southern American comfort food, paired with great wines, craft beers and classic cocktails.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Comfort Food, French American, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(540) 982-1249
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jeff Farmer
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Able to accomodate up to 25 people on select days and only at certain times. Please call Lucky to make arrangements.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Cameron McWhinney: (540) 982-1249
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Jefferson St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available ($3.00) in a lot directly across the street from Lucky. Please prepay.
Additionally, there is ample free parking available on Kirk Avenue and other nearby streets.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 527 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Always a good choice for conversation over cocktails and good food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

I've been to Lucky a few times and I will go again. The food and service are excellent, and I love the downtown vibe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Went for wife's birthday. Food and service was above and beyond. Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Service was top notch. Food was very good and a unique drink menu. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Love this place. Food was delicious as usual, and the drinks, you guys rock!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Food and service was absolutely fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

The entire experience was fantastic. The service was impeccable. Food was delicious. We all got the special monkfish dish and the sauce was amazing. Will come here more often.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Consistently good. Good list of bourbons. Cheese board needs work but no other complaints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Our expectations were high based on reviews we had read. Fortunately it easily met our expectations. Food preparation and service were wonderful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

In town for a conference - I always seek out places doing real farm-to-table dining. Great salads to start, and we both enjoyed our entrees. Nice wine list. Professional and knowledgeable service (thank you Whitney).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Entertaining out of town business associate

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 4, 2018

I found this place very expensive for what one gets. The food was not even mediocre. It was plain boring. I will not go back, except maybe for the handcrafted cocktails, which are impressive for Roanoke.
My brother and his wife recently celebrated their anniversary at Lucky, and they found the same experience. $200 for food for two is ridiculous given the quality and utter lack of flavor. Service is great, but that does not fix the overarching experience. Food is not actively BAD, but I would never send anyone to Lucky to eat. Far too expensive for almost no return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Lucky never disappoints. I was especially pleased that they were able to accomodate our request for a booth Saturday morning online for that evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Enjoyed taking my niece here for her 21st BD!. Great time, wonderful food, superb service. We will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

I've had a number of hit-or-miss experiences with Lucky... maybe just my bad luck. :) The cocktails are awesome and I love what they are trying to do with the menu, but the food has been inconsistent on a number of occasions. Some dishes have been quite good, but most have been mediocre. On this occasion the mussels were excellent, but other dishes were far too salty. My wife loves salt and even she could not eat her sides. I'm not an expert in running a restaurant, but I suspect the problems are due to poorly trained or uncaring kitchen staff. The recipes and ingredients seem to be there, yet the kitchen execution is lacking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Fabulous as always! Favorite restaurant for fresh fish. The grouper was amazing-it just glistened!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great service. Good food. Creative drinks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

A perfect night to celebrate or any occasion you want a good locally grown dinner. The wait staff is impeccable. The food, delicious and generous. Drinks are amazing and has a reasonably priced wine list.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Had a great dinner at Lucky's - food was great - roasted oysters appetizer was fabulous! Staff was attentive and very courteous. I ad the grouper entree special and the fish was cooked perfectly. I will certainly go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

It is SO LOUD in there. Otherwise lovely. Amazing food and service, fantastic drinks. But too loud. Our throats were more from trying to have a conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Best restaurant with amazing service. Best of all are the drinks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Always in form—expertly executed upscale comfort food, best cocktails anywhere around here, and very cool staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Lucky never disappoints! Great food and great service. And even better cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

This place is awesome. If you are in Roanoke, it’s a must for sure. Fantastic cocktails, shishito peppers to die for, crispy fried chicken, sweet and tender scallops, and many other wonderful dishes. Soooo good! I would go out of my way to go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

This was a celebration of my daughter’s graduation from Nursing program. We had a party of eight and from the moment we came through the door until the end of our dinner, everything was perfect. Lucky’s food and service made for a wonderful evening. Definitely a night to remember. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Try one of their creatively mixed cocktails, and if you like a little show while being made, sit at the bar. Food flavorings equally creative and appealing. The mussel bowl is a must - plump and served in a delicious broth. Dessert offerings limited but perfect to share, along with after-dinner coffee drink. Server was knowledgeable and attentive without hovering.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Fantastic food and the specialty cocktails were amazing. Staff were very helpful in description of the menu. Smiles all around. Great atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

A great restaurant. The food was some of the best we have had in Roanoke. Because of the design, expect a noisy atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

I live in Blacksburg and had heard so many my good things about Lucky and decided to get a reservation for my boyfriend's birthday. It was cozy and elegant upon arrival. We had shared a few of the small plates and tried two of the handmade cocktails. Everything was excellent. Our server was very nice and knowledgeable about the menu, including ingredients and locations. I would recommend going here for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Took my significant other out for a birthday dinner. It was the first time either of us had been to Lucky. The drinks, dinner everything was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Late supper after a concert in Elmwood Park. The pork shoulder was a-maz-ing!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The food is always amazing! The drinks are even more amazing! Taylor and Kent are world class bartenders. Our server was amazing! If I could give this place 10 stars, I would.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

This place is the best! I love taking anyone who visits me in Roanoke. The service is impeccable and the food is some of the best.
Every cocktail they have is impressive and they also can make any drink you request

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Very good food, especially the appetizers.
Excellent cocktails, and spot-on service ( not intrusive, but available and prompt and informative/helpful). We enjoyed the entire experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

I live in Washington, DC and drive 3 hours to eat here. The place is absolutely amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The food was scrumptious, the service was fantastic (we had Jeremiah), and the atmosphere was festive. I thoroughly enjoyed the fried brussel sprouts and my husband enjoyed his oysters and southern fried chicken. Will definitely revisit soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

My wife and I had dinner and then concert next door

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Everything about this experience was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Loved trying all the app offerings. Thought the cheese portion on the board was a wee sparce. Cocktails and mussels were fab! Super service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Pork shoulder plate was very heavy on the portion and protein

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14

Tweets by Lucky