About Lucky

18 Kirk Ave SW
Roanoke, VA 24011
View Larger Map

Lucky specializes in Country French and Southern American comfort food, paired with great wines, craft beers and classic cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, French American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jefferson St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 982-1249

Website:
http://www.eatatlucky.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available ($3.00) in a lot directly across the street from Lucky. Please prepay.
Additionally, there is ample free parking available on Kirk Avenue and other nearby streets.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Farmer

Private Party Facilities:
Able to accomodate up to 25 people on select days and only at certain times. Please call Lucky to make arrangements.

Private Party Contact:
Cameron McWhinney: 5409821249x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Lucky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greater Roanoke
Best Food
Greater Roanoke
Best Service
Greater Roanoke
1 More
Most Booked
Greater Roanoke
Best Restaurants in Roanoke ›

Fit for Foodies (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Hot Spot (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Casual (14)
Fun (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Authentic (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Romantic (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Cozy (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Great Beer (6)
Modern Decor (5)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Healthy (2)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Literally a hidden gem

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Literally a hidden gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time! The food was delic ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a great time! The food was delicious and the drinks were amazing!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food always. Great fall cockta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent food always. Great fall cocktails!! We enjoyed the pork shoulder as well as the stripped bass special. The pork portion was generous; the fish portion was much smaller. Awesome kale side dish. Awesome pot de creme for dessert (would have liked a less sweet whipped cream topping, tho). Appreciate that the restaurant works to provide gluten-free options. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were traveling through Roanoke and ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We were traveling through Roanoke and had dinner at Lucky's. The atmosphere was lively and casual. We had a reservation, but due to a not exact arrival time we needed to change it. The hostess was totally great and flexible. Our waitress was equally great and cheerfully asked the kitchen to accommodate my garlic allergy. The food was inventive and fresh. We would definitely eat there again and recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, the Kale was fantastic! Very ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good food, the Kale was fantastic! Very loud.. hard to hear your dinner mate but would be great for hanging with friends at the bar if you could get reservation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

An overall wonderful experience for a sp ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

An overall wonderful experience for a splurge - beautiful space, a welcoming and knowledgeable staff, and good golly the food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bone marrow. And they made a drink they ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Bone marrow. And they made a drink they make at Fortunato for us. Very impressive waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent from appetizer to des ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Food was excellent from appetizer to desert.

Bar side of restaurant very loud. Would need to be seated on other side if you desire quiet.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great ambiance. Great service. Top notch ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great ambiance. Great service. Top notch drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had friends from out of town visit and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I had friends from out of town visit and wanted to take them to a place that had a good atmosphere and great food. We also wanted to celebrate my recent engagement and thought this was the perfect place because I'd been to Lucky's before and truly enjoyed it. We came in about 10 minutes early for an 8:45pm reservation. Unfortunately, we were greeted by a hostess who was not exactly the most warm and welcoming. She told us our table isn't ready and when we asked how long it may take she became somewhat snarky and said guests usually get up to 2.5 hrs with their reservation. When we asked if we can go to the bar and get a drink, she didn't seem to like that comment and said it's full and we don't allow standing. I was embarrassed and wanted to take my friends some place else, however another employee was very sweet and told us it'll take just 10 minutes and she said we can wait and set aside chairs for us. The rest of our dining experience was great. Our waitress was wonderful and attentive and my friends really enjoyed the cocktails, food and even continued to talk about it the next day. I would still come here and take friends because of the rest of my experience but I'm sure I'm not the only one who gets turned off by an unpleasant hostess especially because she is the first person who greets you.

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Outstanding as always. Best seafood in R ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Outstanding as always. Best seafood in Roanoke. Rockfish was excellent. Always something interesting and fun on the menu, like the roasted bone marrow appetizer. Delicious.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome! Great food, outstanding and c ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Awesome! Great food, outstanding and creative bar. Happy vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was amazing. The price was as e ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was amazing. The price was as expected, however, I would liked to have seen bigger portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Can't say enough, great food, great drin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Can't say enough, great food, great drinks,

Great waitstaff!

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent meal and service. love special ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 9, 2016

excellent meal and service. love special drink menu options

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always amazing-- from bar, to table, ser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always amazing-- from bar, to table, service to ambiance. Lucky is top two favorite date night restaurants in the valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our most recent visit was the traditiona ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Our most recent visit was the traditional Halloween dinner. We almost always dine at the bar so we can watch the barkeeps in action. Hunter, one of the owners, waited on us this year and was very entertaining. I continue to think of Lucky as the Best Bar South of Manhattan. While I was drinking only tonic water this year, it was the home-brewed version you get only at Lucky. Absolutely marvelous.

Dinner, as usual, was comprised of fine product (I had the sea bass special) prepared with both art and skill. Positively delightful in every way. We sent clean plates back to the kitchen.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, excellent martini and fun li ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food, excellent martini and fun lively atmosphere in historic Roanoke.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great as Alway Meet all expectations a m ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great as Alway

Meet all expectations a must try if in Roanoke.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I ate here 2 weeks ago. Hard ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

My wife and I ate here 2 weeks ago. Hard to get a reservation on a Monday night...who knew? But the food explains why. Two very nice salads to start, then she had the duck confit ragout and I had the local pork shoulder. Both were outstanding! Followed by a shared bread pudding which may be the best I've ever had, which is saying something, since I love bread pudding. Even the coffee was great. One of the best French roasts I've had in a long time. Definitely worth a return visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent experience. Staff was very fri ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Excellent experience. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Gave great recommendations. Specialty drinks were phenomenal. I would come back just for drinks but the food was outstanding as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant in Roanoke. Best ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Roanoke. Best cocktails anywhere.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great mixologist at bar. Excellent food ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great mixologist at bar. Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service by Hunter and Nexus. Food ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great service by Hunter and Nexus. Food was fantastic. I love the fried chicken! Drink recommendations were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Caesar salad and pork shoulder were ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The Caesar salad and pork shoulder were both very good. In fact, the salad was probably the best I have had in a long time. Wish the server had told me that the entree came with a mixed green salad side when I ordered because then I could have tried one of their appetizers instead. Cocktails were unexpectedly pricey but were well made and not watered down. I would have given this three stars overall except that they charged me $3.00 for one small piece of baguette. Considering what I spent on the entire meal one would expect the bread to be included.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

First time in Roanoke & I'm so glad we c ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 17, 2016

First time in Roanoke & I'm so glad we chose to dine here! Unique menu, and impressive drink selection. While this place has more of an upscale feel, the staff adapted perfectly to our more casual vibe. Only reason for not giving a perfect review was that our delicious cocktails sometimes took 15min to get delivered. I would absolutely visit Lucky if I ever found myself in Roanoke again!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In Roanoke for business trip on my anniv ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 17, 2016

In Roanoke for business trip on my anniversary. Wife picked Lucky for dinner. In short, we were lucky. One of the best meals in our 29 years of marriage. Not a white tablecloth high brow restaurant. It's all about the food... and cocktails. Shishito peppers outstanding, nicely spiced and grilled at different levels of char. Roasted oysters unlike any others. Duck confit delectable. Server made good suggestions and was attentive. Cocktails are creative and well executed. Roanoke apparently has a budding foodie scene. Who knew?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lucky has excellent food and cocktails. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Lucky has excellent food and cocktails. You'll have the best experience eating/drinking at the bar when you're dining along or with one other. Somehow the space outside of the bar and the booths seems like and afterthought, so it's less enjoyable. That said, if a table is all you can get it's worth it. The food is excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Refused to seat us by the window citing ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Refused to seat us by the window citing incoming reservation that never came after 2 hours. Right by door cold. Call to ensure best table. Food ok. Little $$ for what we got. Mussels not as good as others in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Marrow was incredible. Scallops and fri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Marrow was incredible. Scallops and fried chicken at next table over looked amazing. The CUBE was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Seasonal menu. Craft cocktai ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great food. Seasonal menu. Craft cocktails. Impeccable service. Attention to detail.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant! Love you guys!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My favorite restaurant! Love you guys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came well recommended and certainly was. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Came well recommended and certainly was. From the hostess, our super waiter to the great food. The bar was so energetic and the mixologist was a magician!! They worked with my allergies and came up with great alternative for the entree I wanted.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a gastronomical experience with a great bar scene to boot!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had dined at Lucky two nights back-to ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I had dined at Lucky two nights back-to back in January 2016, the food, drinks and atmosphere were great! I was excited to dine there again on Friday night 10-7-16. Unfortunatly the standards had slipped. I ordered the beet salad as a starter, it was swimming in dressing and had to be sent back. I ordered the oyster "app", which was nicely prepared and flavorful. The server failed to place the order for my entre`, in a timely manner so after reminding him, my main course was served, delicious scallops . I hate having to send food back and direct my table service. At this level, all aspects should be seemless with the kitchen, bar and waitstaff working in unison at the top of their profession. Friday night for Lucky, the business of being a top rated restaurant was "out of sync".

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Pro: attentive server Cons: Overpriced ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Pro:

attentive server

Cons:

Overpriced

Very noisy

Entree was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Go early and have a drink at the bar. Th ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Go early and have a drink at the bar. The craft cocktails are amazing and watching the bartenders make drinks is very impressive. The bar had a very cool, prohibition-like feel and you could tell how skilled the bartenders were as they perfected each drink. For bourbon drinkers, my husband recommends "The Cube." It's not on their cocktail menu, but the bartender said its by far their most popular drink.

For dinner we enjoyed the bread plate as an appetizer and then I had the scallops and my husband ordered the pork entree. Both were beautifully plated and tasted even better than they looked. I would highly recommend Lucky for a fun date night or even just for cocktail hour. We would definitely go back again next time we are in Roanoke!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food had excellent flavor but portions w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food had excellent flavor but portions were small. Way over priced for value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Delightful evening before seeing a local ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Delightful evening before seeing a local production of a new play. Service was great, not rushed, and the entrees were great, as usual.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at this r ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 26, 2016

This was our first time dining at this restaurant. The food was very good. I ordered the Black Grouper special and my wife ordered the Diver Scallops. We also share the large bread plate appetizer. All of the food was nicely prepared. The Grouper could have been cooked a bit less but Grouper is very easy to overcook. We ordered a red wine blend - Sinols Negre 2015 - from the Emporda region of Spain. It was the least expensive red on the wine list but one of the best wines we have ever tasted. The staff were very friendly, courteous and efficient. Compared to many of the other restaurants in southwest Virginia this is a gem.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.