About Lucky

Lucky specializes in Country French and Southern American comfort food, paired with great wines, craft beers and classic cocktails.

18 Kirk Ave SW
Roanoke, VA 24011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, French American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jefferson St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 982-1249

Website:
http://www.eatatlucky.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available ($3.00) in a lot directly across the street from Lucky. Please prepay.
Additionally, there is ample free parking available on Kirk Avenue and other nearby streets.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Farmer

Private Party Facilities:
Able to accomodate up to 25 people on select days and only at certain times. Please call Lucky to make arrangements.

Private Party Contact:
Cameron McWhinney: (540) 982-1249

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Lucky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Creative Cuisine (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Romantic (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Cozy (12)
Casual (12)
Authentic (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Healthy (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Historic (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 hours ago

Best foodie meal in Roanoke!!! A must!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Lucky is a staple for us when we have friends come to town! If you are looking for a great cocktail, this is the place to go ...they take their libations very seriously! Best tonic (homemade!) I've ever had! Large wine list as well. Request a seat near the front of the restaurant if you want more light or less noise. The vibe is happy and active.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The best in customer service and in food. I can not wait untill i get too go back again!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Enjoyed the experience! It was my husband's birthday. Like the specialty drinks!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Lucky is the only restaurant in Roanoke worth going to in my mind. I'll admit I've become a bit of a food snob since my daughter moved to Charleston, SC and we make frequent visits there. The amazing restaurants in Charleston abound! Lucky is the only restaurant I've found in this area that compares. The food and service never disappoint!! Always look forward to eating there, and always come away satisfied!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at Lucky. It was just perfect!! By request we were seated at a quiet table for two. The original cocktails were exceptional, especially the whiskey on the rocks with a large infused ice cube!! The prime rib with a bottle of Malbec wine was outstanding, and more than we could eat or drink, so we enjoyed the meal all over again at home the next evening. The servers were very prompt and friendly. All in all just a perfect anniversary dinner. Thanks Lucky!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were in Roanoke for an event at the museum and an overnight. I was not familiar with the current restaurant choices and was delighted to find Lucky via online reviews. It was a great choice and wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food as always. Limited menu but everything on it is created with local purveyors. Excellent spirits selection, particularly bourbon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The oysters and desert were perfect, but the striped bass main course was underwhelming in both presentation and flavor.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was all very good, from the cheese platter, to the marrow bones, to the amazing roast pork with grits. Enjoyed it all. And they happened to have one of my favorite beers on tap, Bells Hopslam...bonus!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food at Lucky's is indeed delicious.
Unfortunately, my wife and I (older Americans) suffer from hearing issues.
This place is WAY too noisy to enjoy a delicious dinner.
I doubt this affects younger folks, but I would have a hard time recommending this to older poeople.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Chardonnay choices were slim. It would be nice to have a more diverse list for choices and also per glass

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and great service. Will go again. The bartenders are phenomenal. The drinks are really fabulous.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

If you're looking for a wonderful meal with amazingly creative cocktails in a cozy, intimate setting, look no further!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Could not believe what I had to pay for 4 scallops. My wife and I walked to Texas Tavernafterwards to eat because we BOTH. We're very hungry. Will NEVET be back. Billy's is much better. Much more food AND did not have to pay for the sides. Hey y'all. If you come, bring ya some potted ham and crackers because you will need it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Real good place for a nice dinner. Eclectic menu is very good and changes regularly.
Would definitely recommend!! Stellina (same owners) down the street is great for pre/post theater drinks.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love this restaurant! Menu is always changing, food is delicious and great atmosphere. If your in Roanoke, VA go to Lucky!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had a window seat for a weekday dinner. The baked oyster appetizer was wonderful and the green salad with blueberry vinagrette dressing was fresh and delicious. We enjoyed two entrees: the grilled scallops were done just right and the sea bass was just about perfect.

The wait staff was attentive and prompt.

Overall a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food....good service. Neat atmosphere. The dining area is on the small side and it was very noisy. I was there with a client and found it difficult to talk without raising our voices. Otherwise, it was a great experience and I will definitely be going back - just not with a client.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always, delicious food and wonderful bar drinks! Waitstaff can be a little hit or miss but it's small enough that you can get the help you need just by asking.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

At this price level you don't expect to have you wife sit on a bench in front of door. Also you don't expect other waiting restaurant goers to be allowed to set at coat rack and watch you eat.

Drinks are good

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The restaurant has great potential, but the quality of the food was not of the level expected considering the prices that were charged. In addition, their was not consistency, as two members of our party ordered the same entree, but we received two completely different portion sizes and cuts of meat.

Tags: Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great staff and interesting menu. Food was great and good cocktails. Wine list was average but had something for every taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Overall Lucky's was good. The wine selection great! We went during restaurant week. Service was slow, not the kitchen but we had to ask twice for someone to find our waitress. Couldn't understand that because 2 tables were empty next to us. Two of the 3 course dinner was excellent; the she crab soup and the red snapper. The clam appetizer I had trouble finding any clams other than the shells it came in. My friend ordered the beef tongue salad, again trouble finding the meat in the dish. The wines that the chef paired with the dishes were right on. Small entree portions

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food is outstanding; the cocktails amazing. Both are innovative. The atmosphere is vibrant so maybe not the best place for a quiet romantic evening. But for a fun evening with friends it is a great choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Very creative cocktails, cosy seating and gourmet comfort food. It doesn't get much better than this.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and the best cocktails in the Roanoke Valley. Steak was over salted but I was able to scrape it off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Had never been to Luckys, it was a great evening. Great food, cocktails! Our waiter was very knowlegable. Will definately return!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was a little pricy but the food was good. Rating might be down a little since the previous day we had an exceptional experience at anither restaurant

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Very impressed with this spot in downtown Roanoke. The specialty cocktails were fantastic and made with craft liquor and unique flavors. The food was excellent - very fresh, and the flavors came together nicely. The shishito peppers and fingerling potato skins were great as appetizers and then the scallops were cooked very well, they were large, had a lot of flavor, and came with cauliflower and croutons that added a nice crunch to the melt-in-your-mouth scallops. Great vibe and atmosphere. Overall, I was definitely a fan and will return when I visit Roanoke again on business.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Awesome as always, the food and drinks are wonderful, love the bar!

Tags: Happy Hour, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Overall great service and food! Definitely will be back again. Taylor Mann is one of the best bartenders around

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Lucky is absolutely one of the exceptional Roanoke restaurants - fantastic food, and the bar and creative cocktail menu are the very best west of Richmond. The staff, top to bottom, is first rate.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely atmosphere, great cocktails and a nice place to be on NYE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Lucky is a 5 star dinning experience. The food selections a awesome and I love farm to table. The service was excellent as was the food. I had the ribeye steak with bone marrow butter it came with fresh cut French fries and homemade ketchup. It also had a fresh salad with house dressing that was very tasty. It was an overall excellent dinning experience. They also have very yummy creative cocktails! I would suggest this as anlsi must try dinning!
Kudos Lucky your food and service is excellent every time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lucky is always a good choice! What sets Lucky apart from other establishments is their commitment to consistently produce quality food and beverage. On this particular visit I was joined by a friend who had never been to the restaurant. He was skeptical about all the hype that Lucky gets. We did the full experience starting with impeccably made cocktails, most notably "the handsome devil". Followed by the bone marrow appetizer and a beet salad. For our entrees we had the pork shoulder and the ribeye with marrow butter. Although both were fantastic, I have to say that was probably the best ribeye I've ever tasted and it was cooked to perfection. My only complaint is that due to how busy the restaurant was our server was not as attentive as she should have been. It was terribly loud as well which made it difficult to hear my dinner companion or the server. However, a small price to pay for such a wonderful dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was excellent. We started with a bone marrow appetizer that was decadent. My wife had a reconstructed turkey dish made with sausage over fava beans and it was delicious. I had the duck confit over pappardelle which was also excellent. The place is noisy and even the seats at the bar are filled by either reservation or first come. The place is small, and though the bartenders are clearly talented and serve delicious drinks, it's not a bar that you can stand around. They want everyone seated. Just keep that in mind. I recommend reservations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Happy Hour, Historic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We shared six wonderful appetizers. The mussels are the best in town. The oysters and shishito peppers were amazing. The drinks are beyond compare. The service was wonderful. All around wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food is always wonderful. I love their fried chicken. Great ambiance!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

As always, great food and ambience! Terrific service too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.