About Lucky

18 Kirk Ave SW
Roanoke, VA 24011
View Larger Map

Lucky specializes in Country French and Southern American comfort food, paired with great wines, craft beers and classic cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, French American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jefferson St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 982-1249

Website:
http://www.eatatlucky.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available ($3.00) in a lot directly across the street from Lucky. Please prepay.
Additionally, there is ample free parking available on Kirk Avenue and other nearby streets.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Farmer

Private Party Facilities:
Able to accomodate up to 25 people on select days and only at certain times. Please call Lucky to make arrangements.

Private Party Contact:
Cameron McWhinney: 5409821249x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Lucky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Bar Seating (14)
Casual (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (11)
Romantic (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Fun (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Authentic (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
People Watching (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent atmosphere and the best cockta ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent atmosphere and the best cocktails in the Roanoke Valley. Steak was over salted but I was able to scrape it off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had never been to Luckys, it was a great ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Had never been to Luckys, it was a great evening. Great food, cocktails! Our waiter was very knowlegable. Will definately return!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a little pricy but the food was g ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

It was a little pricy but the food was good. Rating might be down a little since the previous day we had an exceptional experience at anither restaurant

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very impressed with this spot in downtow ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Very impressed with this spot in downtown Roanoke. The specialty cocktails were fantastic and made with craft liquor and unique flavors. The food was excellent - very fresh, and the flavors came together nicely. The shishito peppers and fingerling potato skins were great as appetizers and then the scallops were cooked very well, they were large, had a lot of flavor, and came with cauliflower and croutons that added a nice crunch to the melt-in-your-mouth scallops. Great vibe and atmosphere. Overall, I was definitely a fan and will return when I visit Roanoke again on business.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always, the food and drinks a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Awesome as always, the food and drinks are wonderful, love the bar!

Tags: Happy Hour, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great service and food! Definite ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Overall great service and food! Definitely will be back again. Taylor Mann is one of the best bartenders around

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely atmosphere, great cocktails and a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely atmosphere, great cocktails and a nice place to be on NYE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Lucky is a 5 star dinning experience. T ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Lucky is a 5 star dinning experience. The food selections a awesome and I love farm to table. The service was excellent as was the food. I had the ribeye steak with bone marrow butter it came with fresh cut French fries and homemade ketchup. It also had a fresh salad with house dressing that was very tasty. It was an overall excellent dinning experience. They also have very yummy creative cocktails! I would suggest this as anlsi must try dinning!

Kudos Lucky your food and service is excellent every time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lucky is always a good choice! What set ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lucky is always a good choice! What sets Lucky apart from other establishments is their commitment to consistently produce quality food and beverage. On this particular visit I was joined by a friend who had never been to the restaurant. He was skeptical about all the hype that Lucky gets. We did the full experience starting with impeccably made cocktails, most notably "the handsome devil". Followed by the bone marrow appetizer and a beet salad. For our entrees we had the pork shoulder and the ribeye with marrow butter. Although both were fantastic, I have to say that was probably the best ribeye I've ever tasted and it was cooked to perfection. My only complaint is that due to how busy the restaurant was our server was not as attentive as she should have been. It was terribly loud as well which made it difficult to hear my dinner companion or the server. However, a small price to pay for such a wonderful dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The food was excellent. We started with ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was excellent. We started with a bone marrow appetizer that was decadent. My wife had a reconstructed turkey dish made with sausage over fava beans and it was delicious. I had the duck confit over pappardelle which was also excellent. The place is noisy and even the seats at the bar are filled by either reservation or first come. The place is small, and though the bartenders are clearly talented and serve delicious drinks, it's not a bar that you can stand around. They want everyone seated. Just keep that in mind. I recommend reservations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Happy Hour, Historic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We shared six wonderful appetizers. The ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We shared six wonderful appetizers. The mussels are the best in town. The oysters and shishito peppers were amazing. The drinks are beyond compare. The service was wonderful. All around wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always wonderful. I love th ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food is always wonderful. I love their fried chicken. Great ambiance!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, great food and ambience! Terr ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

As always, great food and ambience! Terrific service too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lucky is always a hit. The ever changing ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Lucky is always a hit. The ever changing cocktails and dinner specials are something to look forward too, while the menu treasures the entrees that you can count on. The service is always excellent and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and mixed drinks. Good time. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food and mixed drinks. Good time. Kind of Loud. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lucky has a well-deserved reputation for ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Lucky has a well-deserved reputation for creativity and unique takes on food and drink. While I am not a fan, others are and I respect their perspectives. Our party of six reflected this diverse viewpoint. Three found the scallops and fried chicken to be perfect in every respect. One applauded a pork and grits dish as divine. Two of us chose salads because there was simply nothing else on a very limited menu that appeared appetizing. As it were, our salads were utterly tasteless and neither was consumed in its entirety. Pre-dinner cocktails were ruled perfect in every way. Lucky is an island of different in a sea of sameness in the Roanoke restaurant scene and for that it has garnered a loyal following. I don't share in the enthusiasm, but obviously it meets a need and far be it from me to knock success.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great and personable service, amazing at ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great and personable service, amazing atmosphere and outstanding food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Of all the restaurants I have eaten at t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Of all the restaurants I have eaten at this is one of the most interesting. The food is what I would call modern southern. The menu was a refreshing change from what I am used to. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have never been disappointed when eat ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We have never been disappointed when eating at Lucky. Moving here from a big city it's been hard to find real quality food and especially good service. This place has both. We will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love going there!!! We love the food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We love going there!!! We love the food & bar!!! What great people that help us and wonderful drinks, food & ambience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole menu is amazing- delicious dri ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The whole menu is amazing- delicious drinks, banging bacon, and the duck confit was the best I have ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has some great cocktails with ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This place has some great cocktails with bartenders that are excited to make crafty drinks. Also, the fried chicken is pretty outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Literally a hidden gem

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Literally a hidden gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time! The food was delic ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a great time! The food was delicious and the drinks were amazing!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food always. Great fall cockta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent food always. Great fall cocktails!! We enjoyed the pork shoulder as well as the stripped bass special. The pork portion was generous; the fish portion was much smaller. Awesome kale side dish. Awesome pot de creme for dessert (would have liked a less sweet whipped cream topping, tho). Appreciate that the restaurant works to provide gluten-free options. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were traveling through Roanoke and ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We were traveling through Roanoke and had dinner at Lucky's. The atmosphere was lively and casual. We had a reservation, but due to a not exact arrival time we needed to change it. The hostess was totally great and flexible. Our waitress was equally great and cheerfully asked the kitchen to accommodate my garlic allergy. The food was inventive and fresh. We would definitely eat there again and recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, the Kale was fantastic! Very ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good food, the Kale was fantastic! Very loud.. hard to hear your dinner mate but would be great for hanging with friends at the bar if you could get reservation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

An overall wonderful experience for a sp ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

An overall wonderful experience for a splurge - beautiful space, a welcoming and knowledgeable staff, and good golly the food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bone marrow. And they made a drink they ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Bone marrow. And they made a drink they make at Fortunato for us. Very impressive waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent from appetizer to des ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Food was excellent from appetizer to desert.

Bar side of restaurant very loud. Would need to be seated on other side if you desire quiet.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great ambiance. Great service. Top notch ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great ambiance. Great service. Top notch drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had friends from out of town visit and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I had friends from out of town visit and wanted to take them to a place that had a good atmosphere and great food. We also wanted to celebrate my recent engagement and thought this was the perfect place because I'd been to Lucky's before and truly enjoyed it. We came in about 10 minutes early for an 8:45pm reservation. Unfortunately, we were greeted by a hostess who was not exactly the most warm and welcoming. She told us our table isn't ready and when we asked how long it may take she became somewhat snarky and said guests usually get up to 2.5 hrs with their reservation. When we asked if we can go to the bar and get a drink, she didn't seem to like that comment and said it's full and we don't allow standing. I was embarrassed and wanted to take my friends some place else, however another employee was very sweet and told us it'll take just 10 minutes and she said we can wait and set aside chairs for us. The rest of our dining experience was great. Our waitress was wonderful and attentive and my friends really enjoyed the cocktails, food and even continued to talk about it the next day. I would still come here and take friends because of the rest of my experience but I'm sure I'm not the only one who gets turned off by an unpleasant hostess especially because she is the first person who greets you.

Tags: Fun, , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Outstanding as always. Best seafood in R ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Outstanding as always. Best seafood in Roanoke. Rockfish was excellent. Always something interesting and fun on the menu, like the roasted bone marrow appetizer. Delicious.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome! Great food, outstanding and c ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Awesome! Great food, outstanding and creative bar. Happy vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was amazing. The price was as e ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was amazing. The price was as expected, however, I would liked to have seen bigger portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Can't say enough, great food, great drin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Can't say enough, great food, great drinks,

Great waitstaff!

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent meal and service. love special ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 9, 2016

excellent meal and service. love special drink menu options

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always amazing-- from bar, to table, ser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always amazing-- from bar, to table, service to ambiance. Lucky is top two favorite date night restaurants in the valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our most recent visit was the traditiona ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Our most recent visit was the traditional Halloween dinner. We almost always dine at the bar so we can watch the barkeeps in action. Hunter, one of the owners, waited on us this year and was very entertaining. I continue to think of Lucky as the Best Bar South of Manhattan. While I was drinking only tonic water this year, it was the home-brewed version you get only at Lucky. Absolutely marvelous.

Dinner, as usual, was comprised of fine product (I had the sea bass special) prepared with both art and skill. Positively delightful in every way. We sent clean plates back to the kitchen.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.