About Lucky

Lucky specializes in Country French and Southern American comfort food, paired with great wines, craft beers and classic cocktails.

18 Kirk Ave SW
Roanoke, VA 24011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, French American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jefferson St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 982-1249

Website:
http://www.eatatlucky.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available ($3.00) in a lot directly across the street from Lucky. Please prepay.
Additionally, there is ample free parking available on Kirk Avenue and other nearby streets.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Farmer

Private Party Facilities:
Able to accomodate up to 25 people on select days and only at certain times. Please call Lucky to make arrangements.

Private Party Contact:
Cameron McWhinney: (540) 982-1249

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Lucky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Romantic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 18 hours ago

Last night we both had the fried chicken, potatoes with gravy and greens. Comfort food at its best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

An eclectic, quality experience. Fits in nicely with the downtown Roanoke food scene. The entrees are predictably different. N & J Yorktown Va

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very good staff with owners that take pride in their restaurant and reputation. Wait staff and bartenders are very knowledgeable and friendly, food is very authentic and great tasting, and cocktails are hand crafted and amazing. Overall a very good restaurant to impress the out of town guest, a date, or to celebrate a good day or special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Very solid restaurant. Excellent cocktails. Creative dishes with interesting flavor profiles. Well informed servers. I'll be a regular.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Lucky was spectacular again. We had not been at Lucky for several weeks and we had a very nice evening. The staff provided excellent service, the food was delicious. Thanks.

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Good overall experience. Bartenders very knowledgeable, friendly, and creative. Noise level a little high for an intimate evening. Food was very good and served without a long wait. Appetizer, bread plate, was very good. I recommend this restaurant and will go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Service was just OK. Menu hasn't changed much in the past couple of years

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Lucky was a little gym. I never expected a hip restaurant in Roanoke but sure enough there was. Scallops were tremendous. My colleague absolutely loved the bacon and blueberry salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We decided to try Lucky for a nice dinner to celebrate our anniversary. They seated us right next to the front door, and the rest of the meal felt a little awkward after that. It was not exactly a nice, quiet, romantic dinner. The food was good. It can be best described as a mix between "spectacular" and "OK". The desserts and coffee were definitely the highlight of the evening. Overall, we did not think the meal was commensurate with the cost. The service was good, but not quite "stellar." I could see it being a great place to go grab a cocktail, but we will likely not be back for dinner anytime soon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was our first visit to Lucky. We are not locals. We were very pleasantly surprised! Cuisine was original and excellent. The bar was world-class; fabulous selection of liquors - NY/South FL good! Rye whisky menu was as good as I have seen anywhere... of course, with the exception of NY, LA, blah, blah, blah. Please do not spoil the ambiance by bringing children; this is an adult venue. Clientele were well dressed. In Roanoke, VA, who would have guessed...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Delicious food and drinks. A great evening and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food and wonderful service. Will definitely be back. Really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We came to Lucky for our anniversary dinner. The food and service were amazing. Loved the peppers and roasted oysters for appetizers. Only disappointment was they ran out of the scallops and mussels. That said, the beet and goat cheese salad was fantastic, and the braised pork was mouthwatering. Overall, we had a wonderful and enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Wonderful dining, all around. I stop here every time I drive between New England and Miami and the food and service get better every time I drop by. Everyone who works here shares a passion for high cuisine and a love of serving the public. It's a joy...

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Always perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent restaurant! Menu was varied with plenty of good options. My son had the duck breast which was well cooked and flavorful. Scallops were perfectly cooked not over done. Gnocchi also tasty. The pork over grits had good flavor but Presentation wasn't the best - all beige. Great cocktails and nice wine selection we're return if we were in Roanoke again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food is always outstanding, as is the service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I love this place! The dinner special was a North Carolina flounder over a fresh succotash topped with micro greens. It was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great drinks.
Solid food.
A bit expensive
I go there often.
They're very friendly and nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Waitress ruined the evening and my opinion of Lucky's. Brought my wife the wrong drink the first time and then didn't bring her. The second drink order. Took my drink away before I was finished with it. If I go back, I won't have her for a server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food and service were outstanding. Reid, our server, was knowledgeable and knew how fine dining was supposed to work. Especially noteworthy was the fact he remembered the wine we liked from a previous visit. Kent, one of the bartenders we knew when he was at another restaurant, came out to say hello and made a drink recommendation which we tried. Excellent. Restaurant was a little loud, most likely from the large crowd enjoying themselves. Definitely recommend this restaurant for a pleasant night out. Another plus was the fact there is available parking right across the street.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Delicious, friendly, reasonably priced, down to earth doing experience! Had a great time!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food, wonderful service, but a large group were next to us, and it didn't seem to bother them how loud they were. Need something in that front room to help with noise reduction.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Lucky was a perfect spot for our anniversary dinner. They had some fantastic signature cocktails and the food was excellent across the board. The servers were attentive, friendly, and always willing to answer questions. We had a great dinner and will be back for sure!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food & service were great! Cold air from AC unit was quite strong & cold in the back of my neck but my friend loved the cooler temperature!!
The collard greens side was ok, maybe somewhat bland...however, i want to return to try other interesting things on the menu!!😀

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We really enjoyed ourselves, the ambiance was lovely and the food was delicious. Our server, while very attentive, made us feel a little bit rushed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Waiter was great - enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the food and wine. We shared a series of small plates and enjoyed all of them. Our favorite was "Duck Wings" which was delicious and not at all what we were expecting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The food is great, I especially love the scallops. But it is extremely loud. Extraordinarily loud. I saw no fabric panels or any fabric to absorb the sound. My husband will not return because of this. His ears have been ringing for days. It was difficult for anyone to hear our conversation or the waitress. I love the food but dang!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Each time we go to Lucky we are more and more impressed. The food, waitstaff, drinks, and atmosphere are all top-notch!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 30, 2017

One of our favorite Roanoke restaurants, Lucky is always terrific.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We enjoyed our dining experience at Lucky. The food is outstanding and the service was top notch!

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Lauren is a gem. Made dining experience wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

By far my favorite bar and restaurant in Roanoke. Locally sourced, always changing food menu. I cannot overstate how excellent the cocktails are. They're inventive and well balanced, the best I've had anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

food was excellent. Beware that menu is very limited, basically one poultry, pork, beef, etc. Portion was somewhat small as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Amazing Steak. Dinner and the Oysters wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 13, 2017

As soon as I land in Roanoke, that's my first spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Best gin and tonic on the planet. The marrow bones are decadent.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The ribeye steak was fabulous! All entrees were fantastic! Excellent hand crafted cocktails. Service could be a tad bit faster. But overall, we were very pleased with the experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Hostes great, waiteress was very helpful on appetizers along with good recommendation for main course. Bar tenders are great, Cory was very good and polite. Can't wait to go back. Best Ribey I have ever had anywhere.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.