About Lucky

Lucky specializes in Country French and Southern American comfort food, paired with great wines, craft beers and classic cocktails.

18 Kirk Ave SW
Roanoke, VA 24011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, French American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jefferson St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 982-1249

Website:
http://www.eatatlucky.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available ($3.00) in a lot directly across the street from Lucky. Please prepay.
Additionally, there is ample free parking available on Kirk Avenue and other nearby streets.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Farmer

Private Party Facilities:
Able to accomodate up to 25 people on select days and only at certain times. Please call Lucky to make arrangements.

Private Party Contact:
Cameron McWhinney: (540) 982-1249

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Lucky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Creative Cuisine (20)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Cozy (11)
Romantic (11)
Casual (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (7)
Healthy (6)
Great Beer (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Organic (4)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Dancing (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
370 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We really enjoyed ourselves, the ambiance was lovely and the food was delicious. Our server, while very attentive, made us feel a little bit rushed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Waiter was great - enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the food and wine. We shared a series of small plates and enjoyed all of them. Our favorite was "Duck Wings" which was delicious and not at all what we were expecting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The food is great, I especially love the scallops. But it is extremely loud. Extraordinarily loud. I saw no fabric panels or any fabric to absorb the sound. My husband will not return because of this. His ears have been ringing for days. It was difficult for anyone to hear our conversation or the waitress. I love the food but dang!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Each time we go to Lucky we are more and more impressed. The food, waitstaff, drinks, and atmosphere are all top-notch!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 30, 2017

One of our favorite Roanoke restaurants, Lucky is always terrific.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We enjoyed our dining experience at Lucky. The food is outstanding and the service was top notch!

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Lauren is a gem. Made dining experience wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

By far my favorite bar and restaurant in Roanoke. Locally sourced, always changing food menu. I cannot overstate how excellent the cocktails are. They're inventive and well balanced, the best I've had anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

food was excellent. Beware that menu is very limited, basically one poultry, pork, beef, etc. Portion was somewhat small as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Amazing Steak. Dinner and the Oysters wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 13, 2017

As soon as I land in Roanoke, that's my first spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Best gin and tonic on the planet. The marrow bones are decadent.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The ribeye steak was fabulous! All entrees were fantastic! Excellent hand crafted cocktails. Service could be a tad bit faster. But overall, we were very pleased with the experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Hostes great, waiteress was very helpful on appetizers along with good recommendation for main course. Bar tenders are great, Cory was very good and polite. Can't wait to go back. Best Ribey I have ever had anywhere.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Good atmosphere and authentic southern cuisine. Food was good but very slow coming out which put a damper on overall evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The Best Fried Chicken in Roanoke. I have taken many people here for the Fried Chicken, you can't go wrong! It comes with Mashed Potatoes and Greens, Yum!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Awesome environment with amazing food and drink. I was impressed and very happy with everything I tried!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We have been to Lucky several times now and are never disappointed, despite the hour-long drive to get there. The drinks are as fantastic as the food, nothing is over looked, the flavors are complex and well developed. The service is equally good. The ambience is part urban, part hipster, and part old school, which we think is perfect. If we had to nitpick, we'd like for the menu to change a bit more than it does. We always run up quite a bill here, but that's ok, we always feel it's worth it, and we look forward to the next time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food was delicious! The duck and pork were both incredibly tender and flavorful. Drinks are very unique and delicious

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great mixologists! Fun to watch them concoct. House made tonic water second to none!!! Yummy appetizers... great soft shell crab :)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Stopped for dinner on a road trip. Excellent find. Wonderful food excellent service.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I had dinner at the bar and the service from the 2 bartenders was spectacular. Attentive without being overbearing. The fried chicken was excellent, flavorful but not greasy. The mashed potatoes were great also, simple and delicious. It was a bit loud, but I would recommend this place for a casual dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Lucky is in our top 3 favorite restaurants in Roanoke, and it was delicious as always. I hope they keep the soft-shelled crab and duck "wings" on the small plates menu! They were both fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Lucky is one of the best in Roanoke; a go-to place for a quick cocktail with a friend or date night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and cool vibe.waitress was nice but a tad clueless. We didn't see her much.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Fantastic Meal, was there for business dinner. Staff supper attentive. Great Menu excellent execution!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Best restaurant in Roanoke, in my opinion. Amazing food and brilliant artisan cocktails. Not cheap, but completely worth every penny you spend. Absolutely my favorite place to go for date night and get togethers with my lady friends.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Had a great time! The drinks and food are very creative and delicious to say the least. We will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Totally awesome!. Our FAVORITE place for drinks, dinner and just a good time. The CUBE is awesome. Oysters fantastic. Service is excellent. We are going back next week!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Fantastic food with great bar tenders. Portions are a little small, but overall great restaurant

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This is one of my favorite places, good food, cozy, great minds making unique drinks. Can't go wrong it is has the BEST fried chicken in Roanoke if you also need some comfort food. They also have other options everything I have chosen from the menu at Lucky's was never disappointing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great mixologists and an excellent back bar. Staff is well informed, helpful and friendly. Food was excellent. Monkfish special with roasted brussel sprouts was delicious. I'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Exceptional food and service every time. Everything here is top notch and I always find a new favorite drink from their seasonal drink menu

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Best foodie meal in Roanoke!!! A must!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Lucky is a staple for us when we have friends come to town! If you are looking for a great cocktail, this is the place to go ...they take their libations very seriously! Best tonic (homemade!) I've ever had! Large wine list as well. Request a seat near the front of the restaurant if you want more light or less noise. The vibe is happy and active.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The best in customer service and in food. I can not wait untill i get too go back again!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Enjoyed the experience! It was my husband's birthday. Like the specialty drinks!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Lucky is the only restaurant in Roanoke worth going to in my mind. I'll admit I've become a bit of a food snob since my daughter moved to Charleston, SC and we make frequent visits there. The amazing restaurants in Charleston abound! Lucky is the only restaurant I've found in this area that compares. The food and service never disappoint!! Always look forward to eating there, and always come away satisfied!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at Lucky. It was just perfect!! By request we were seated at a quiet table for two. The original cocktails were exceptional, especially the whiskey on the rocks with a large infused ice cube!! The prime rib with a bottle of Malbec wine was outstanding, and more than we could eat or drink, so we enjoyed the meal all over again at home the next evening. The servers were very prompt and friendly. All in all just a perfect anniversary dinner. Thanks Lucky!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.