About Lucky

Lucky specializes in Country French and Southern American comfort food, paired with great wines, craft beers and classic cocktails.

18 Kirk Ave SW
Roanoke, VA 24011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, French American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jefferson St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 982-1249

Website:
http://www.eatatlucky.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available ($3.00) in a lot directly across the street from Lucky. Please prepay.
Additionally, there is ample free parking available on Kirk Avenue and other nearby streets.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Farmer

Private Party Facilities:
Able to accomodate up to 25 people on select days and only at certain times. Please call Lucky to make arrangements.

Private Party Contact:
Cameron McWhinney: (540) 982-1249

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Lucky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Good for a Date (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
See All
Creative Cuisine (26)
Special Occasion (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Romantic (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Fun (16)
Casual (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Healthy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Great Beer (5)
Business Meals (4)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tapas (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The Best Fried Chicken in Roanoke. I have taken many people here for the Fried Chicken, you can't go wrong! It comes with Mashed Potatoes and Greens, Yum!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Awesome environment with amazing food and drink. I was impressed and very happy with everything I tried!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We have been to Lucky several times now and are never disappointed, despite the hour-long drive to get there. The drinks are as fantastic as the food, nothing is over looked, the flavors are complex and well developed. The service is equally good. The ambience is part urban, part hipster, and part old school, which we think is perfect. If we had to nitpick, we'd like for the menu to change a bit more than it does. We always run up quite a bill here, but that's ok, we always feel it's worth it, and we look forward to the next time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was delicious! The duck and pork were both incredibly tender and flavorful. Drinks are very unique and delicious

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great mixologists! Fun to watch them concoct. House made tonic water second to none!!! Yummy appetizers... great soft shell crab :)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Stopped for dinner on a road trip. Excellent find. Wonderful food excellent service.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I had dinner at the bar and the service from the 2 bartenders was spectacular. Attentive without being overbearing. The fried chicken was excellent, flavorful but not greasy. The mashed potatoes were great also, simple and delicious. It was a bit loud, but I would recommend this place for a casual dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Lucky is in our top 3 favorite restaurants in Roanoke, and it was delicious as always. I hope they keep the soft-shelled crab and duck "wings" on the small plates menu! They were both fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Lucky is one of the best in Roanoke; a go-to place for a quick cocktail with a friend or date night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and cool vibe.waitress was nice but a tad clueless. We didn't see her much.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Fantastic Meal, was there for business dinner. Staff supper attentive. Great Menu excellent execution!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Best restaurant in Roanoke, in my opinion. Amazing food and brilliant artisan cocktails. Not cheap, but completely worth every penny you spend. Absolutely my favorite place to go for date night and get togethers with my lady friends.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Had a great time! The drinks and food are very creative and delicious to say the least. We will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Totally awesome!. Our FAVORITE place for drinks, dinner and just a good time. The CUBE is awesome. Oysters fantastic. Service is excellent. We are going back next week!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Fantastic food with great bar tenders. Portions are a little small, but overall great restaurant

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 4, 2017

This is one of my favorite places, good food, cozy, great minds making unique drinks. Can't go wrong it is has the BEST fried chicken in Roanoke if you also need some comfort food. They also have other options everything I have chosen from the menu at Lucky's was never disappointing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great mixologists and an excellent back bar. Staff is well informed, helpful and friendly. Food was excellent. Monkfish special with roasted brussel sprouts was delicious. I'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Exceptional food and service every time. Everything here is top notch and I always find a new favorite drink from their seasonal drink menu

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Best foodie meal in Roanoke!!! A must!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Lucky is a staple for us when we have friends come to town! If you are looking for a great cocktail, this is the place to go ...they take their libations very seriously! Best tonic (homemade!) I've ever had! Large wine list as well. Request a seat near the front of the restaurant if you want more light or less noise. The vibe is happy and active.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The best in customer service and in food. I can not wait untill i get too go back again!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Enjoyed the experience! It was my husband's birthday. Like the specialty drinks!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Lucky is the only restaurant in Roanoke worth going to in my mind. I'll admit I've become a bit of a food snob since my daughter moved to Charleston, SC and we make frequent visits there. The amazing restaurants in Charleston abound! Lucky is the only restaurant I've found in this area that compares. The food and service never disappoint!! Always look forward to eating there, and always come away satisfied!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at Lucky. It was just perfect!! By request we were seated at a quiet table for two. The original cocktails were exceptional, especially the whiskey on the rocks with a large infused ice cube!! The prime rib with a bottle of Malbec wine was outstanding, and more than we could eat or drink, so we enjoyed the meal all over again at home the next evening. The servers were very prompt and friendly. All in all just a perfect anniversary dinner. Thanks Lucky!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were in Roanoke for an event at the museum and an overnight. I was not familiar with the current restaurant choices and was delighted to find Lucky via online reviews. It was a great choice and wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food as always. Limited menu but everything on it is created with local purveyors. Excellent spirits selection, particularly bourbon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The oysters and desert were perfect, but the striped bass main course was underwhelming in both presentation and flavor.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was all very good, from the cheese platter, to the marrow bones, to the amazing roast pork with grits. Enjoyed it all. And they happened to have one of my favorite beers on tap, Bells Hopslam...bonus!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food at Lucky's is indeed delicious.
Unfortunately, my wife and I (older Americans) suffer from hearing issues.
This place is WAY too noisy to enjoy a delicious dinner.
I doubt this affects younger folks, but I would have a hard time recommending this to older poeople.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Chardonnay choices were slim. It would be nice to have a more diverse list for choices and also per glass

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and great service. Will go again. The bartenders are phenomenal. The drinks are really fabulous.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

If you're looking for a wonderful meal with amazingly creative cocktails in a cozy, intimate setting, look no further!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Could not believe what I had to pay for 4 scallops. My wife and I walked to Texas Tavernafterwards to eat because we BOTH. We're very hungry. Will NEVET be back. Billy's is much better. Much more food AND did not have to pay for the sides. Hey y'all. If you come, bring ya some potted ham and crackers because you will need it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Real good place for a nice dinner. Eclectic menu is very good and changes regularly.
Would definitely recommend!! Stellina (same owners) down the street is great for pre/post theater drinks.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love this restaurant! Menu is always changing, food is delicious and great atmosphere. If your in Roanoke, VA go to Lucky!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had a window seat for a weekday dinner. The baked oyster appetizer was wonderful and the green salad with blueberry vinagrette dressing was fresh and delicious. We enjoyed two entrees: the grilled scallops were done just right and the sea bass was just about perfect.

The wait staff was attentive and prompt.

Overall a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food....good service. Neat atmosphere. The dining area is on the small side and it was very noisy. I was there with a client and found it difficult to talk without raising our voices. Otherwise, it was a great experience and I will definitely be going back - just not with a client.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always, delicious food and wonderful bar drinks! Waitstaff can be a little hit or miss but it's small enough that you can get the help you need just by asking.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

At this price level you don't expect to have you wife sit on a bench in front of door. Also you don't expect other waiting restaurant goers to be allowed to set at coat rack and watch you eat.

Drinks are good

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The restaurant has great potential, but the quality of the food was not of the level expected considering the prices that were charged. In addition, their was not consistency, as two members of our party ordered the same entree, but we received two completely different portion sizes and cuts of meat.

Tags: Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.