About Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen - Greensboro

1421 Westover Terrace
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Join us for lunch and dinner 7 days a week, and for brunch on Saturday and Sunday. We serve the highest quality food and drink with friendly service. Dine in our dining room, grill room, or outside on our sun shade covered veranda. We are excited to announce that we are completely smoke free, inside and out. When dining with us you can look forward to a flavorful southern menu using many local ingredients along with an award winning wine list from the Wine Spectator. Our restaurant is celebrating its 26th anniversary this year, come celebrate with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:15am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:15am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Green Valley Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 370-0707

Website:
http://www.lucky32.com/

Entertainment:
Songs from a Southern Kitchen EVERY Tuesday at Lucky 32 featuring Laurelyn Dossett or Molly McGinn or Martha Bassett and others! Extraordinary performances by exceptional musicians in an intimate setting with incredible acoustics and impressive Southern fare and libations…with no cover charge! What’s not to like? Every Tuesday, 6:00-9:00 PM, no cover charge.

Executive Chef:
Felicia McMillan

Private Party Facilities:
We have a lovely private dining room that seats up to 10 guests comfortably.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen - Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Neighborhood Gem
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
5 More
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Value
Greensboro
Neighborhood Gem
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

special occasion (147)
fit for foodies (128)
great for lunch (119)
See All
neighborhood gem (105)
great for brunch (103)
good for groups (101)
romantic (77)
great for outdoor dining (65)
hot spot (33)
notable wine list (31)
kid-friendly (27)
late-night find (20)
vibrant bar scene (16)
scenic view (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was good and the price was right. S ...

vip
Dined 21 hours ago

Food was good and the price was right. Service was very good and staff were helpful

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful bread! Reminded me of Europe.

Dined on May 23, 2016

Wonderful bread! Reminded me of Europe.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants around! Dine ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

One of the best restaurants around! Dined there many times and will continue to do so. Always excellent service and food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exceeds expectations

Dined on May 21, 2016

Every time we've been to Lucky 32's has been a great experience. The food is always superb, consistent and moderately priced. The best asset is the staff! They're always on top of the game and have the perfect timing and attention to make the dining experience so pleasurable.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful waitress. Wonderful Deep South ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Wonderful waitress. Wonderful Deep South dishes. Great local beer and wine. Great ambiance. A lovely dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expected a great lunch

Dined on May 21, 2016

We made reservations for a late lunch and were surprised to see brunch/breakfast items on the menu. That was a nice bonus, even though none of us ordered them. We loved the fried green tomatoes and the pork rinds with cheese that we got as appetizers. The meatloaf was so-so, but the shrimp salad, shredded pork sandwich and pork belly sandwiches all got rave reviews. The asparagus soup was delicious,very fresh asparagus taste with a hint of cheese . The restaurant is very modern and chic inside, our server was attentive, the prices were reasonable and overall it was a great experience. If we lived in the area, we would definitely go back to check out the dinner menu, unfortunately, we are from out of town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

very mediocre wines very bland food just ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

very mediocre wines very bland food just nothing special here

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

So fun!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Enjoyed a gathering together. Our server was fabulous, just the right touch of fun and attention. Food was great, with Southern flavors in good harmony. We dined a bit early, and as the restaurant filled up, we could still here the soundtrack: perfect music to set the stage. Go and enjoy!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Contemporary Southern Cuisine. ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Wonderful Contemporary Southern Cuisine. I had the pork belly from the Spring menu and it was wonderful. Their seasonal menu is always the best choice. If not, the meat loaf or bean cakes are great back ups.

food5
ambience5
service1
value2

Terrible service but gem for food

Dined on May 14, 2016

The service terrible, but the food was just absolutely amazing I would not go back unless it's was a very special occasion .. amd when I have 2 hrs to eat...

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been popping in and out of Lucky 32 ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been popping in and out of Lucky 32 when I'm in Greensboro over the last 15 years. I am always a little anxious that the luster may have faded a little, that the menu may have become predictable, that service may have become a little slack. Instead, from that first warm greeting as I walk in the door, Lucky 32 remains an exceptionally delightful experience in dining out. I don't know many places that serve you food this freshly sourced and creatively prepared without making you feel like a spectator at your own supper. At Lucky 32, though, the ambiance and the staff make you feel as welcome as in your mama's kitchen, but with nicer napery (and no need to offer to dry the dishes!) The Pickled Plate was an outstanding appetizer--crisp, tart, clever. The brunch special, a corned beef and scrambled egg po'boy was divine, and Mamaw's Scuppernog Wine Jelly with Custard is something everyone needs seconds of. Thank you, Lucky 32; I feel lucky to know you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

For the first time ever the crab cake wa ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

For the first time ever the crab cake was not up to par. Needed a little more crisptness.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Mother's Day dinner very disappointing!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I sat out on the patio with a reservation for me and my daughter for 7:00 this past Mother's Day. I was embarrassed and disappointed about the appetizer and the service. We ordered the fried artichoke hearts as an appetizer, they came with so much deep fat fried batter, we couldnt even taste the artichoke hearts in them plus they were presented very sloppy on the plate. We then had to wait AN HOUR for our entrees to come, didn't serve that to us until around 8:15. The servers NEVER gave us any bread and I finally had to ask for bread after our entree came. We must have had four different people bring things to our table, late with the bread, entrees, as stated before. My daughter ordered the strawberry salad as well as the Potato cakes . When the potato cakes came, they were also very fried, and were too greasy for her to eat. She took them home, and the next day, scraped off some of the grease, and baked them for a while in the oven so they wouldn't be so oily. All in all, very disappointing!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was great, the seating was quick. My biggest complaint was the noise. We were a table of 7, and I could not hear someone speak at the other end. The background music was too loud for a crowded restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great choice. Even on Mother's Day!! Whi ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great choice. Even on Mother's Day!! Which was busy but all good. We had a big group and everyone loved it.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch with Mom

Dined on May 8, 2016

We took Mom here for Mother's Day Brunch and all of us enjoyed our meal and visit. Mom's omelette was just what she wanted, my wife's breakfast potatoes were the best ever and my poached eggs were cooked to perfection. We were seated promptly and the service was good, without hovering.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother's Day celebration

Dined on May 7, 2016

Took both my mother and my wife's mother on Saturday before Mother's Day. Wonderful experience, great service and of course the food was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on May 7, 2016

My family enjoyed a quite quaint dinner after my daughter's graduation. The service was AMAZING! Our server took very good care of us. She was knowledgeable of the menu items, made great suggestions, and was a pleasure to talk with. My husband's favorite item was the sweet tea. Living in NC our whole lives, we know how tea should be, and Lucky 32 has found perfection! The food was all delicious and we will be going again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New take on traditional southern fare

Dined on May 6, 2016

Looking at the menu, you'd think you were going to have traditional southern food, but Lucky 32 offers a cut above - far above. We shared fried green tomatoes which were by far the best I've ever tasted, lightly breaded, well-seasoned and with tomatoes that were still a little crunchy. My root beer marinated beef brisket was out of this world. Sides (mashed sweet potatoes and asparagus) were well-prepared and tasty. Even the fresh, warm bread was delightful. We've never been disappointed with the food or the service at Lucky 32. My only wish is that it would have been a bit quieter. It was too chilly to eat on the patio, but that does tend to be a quieter place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice for celebration

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Food, service, ambiance were all lovely. We were there to celebrate and our server was very competent. Each guest was pleased with their choice (shrimp and grits, salmon, brisket). We all shared a taste of the Hummingbird bars for a sweet close to our meal. *I'm hopeful the restaurant will attend to a service issue we brought to their attention.*

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

I have never had a bad meal here. The bl ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

I have never had a bad meal here. The black bean cakes are delish! I wish chicken and dumplings was on the menu year round.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good southern cooking

Dined on May 5, 2016

Wonderful shrimp and grits was the highlight of a great meal at Lucky 32. A fantastic sauce enhanced the flavor of the succulent shrimp. The scallops were equally great, seared beautifully without over cooking and served with asparagus that was grilled tender crisp. Both my husband and I were very pleased with our meals. Would definitely return when back in Greensboro.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lucky 32 is our go-to place for special occasions!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food is always great, and the desserts outstanding!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful experience!

Dined on May 5, 2016

My family celebrated my niece's graduation at Lucky 32. Everything went smoothly and the food/service was fantastic. This was the perfect place to celebrate!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not worth the $

Dined on May 4, 2016

We selected this based on tripadvisor reviews and not too pricey. Was very disappointed. I've had the tomato soup at the Raleigh location (now closed) and remember it was one of the best ever. However, this version was disappointing--sharp/acidic and not smooth and chicken was SO tough that I could barely chew it. The chicken mushroom pasta was bland and pasta was rubbery. I did not complain b/c I was in a group of 4 and it was a special evening so I just kept quiet and paid the bill. They said their beef tips were good so I was glad they enjoyed their meal--here from NJ to pick up daughter from UNC G. The waiter was very attentive and good.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Quite good food!

Dined on May 2, 2016

The food at Lucky 32 is really quite good, and the varied seasonal menu makes it always interesting. I had the catfish twice and love it. The breading was crisp, the fish fresh and delicious. This time, I also had the mashed potatoes which are exceptional. Others in our party enjoyed their meals as well--the brisket, the jamalaya were both good as was the sausage and bean soup. Portion sizes are generous as well. Our only negative note is that the temperature in the restaurant is really too cold for enjoyment. Other diners were wearing their coats, rubbing their arms, etc. I don't understand why they keep it so cold. We all wore warm clothes, knowing about the ambient temperature, but management should do something about this problem.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a good experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

We've been patrons for years and it's our favorite Sunday brunch location. I love the seasonal menu changes and the standards that are always there. The service is great, too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My Birthday Choice Every Year!

Dined on April 30, 2016

I love the seasonal menu that Lucky 32 puts out.. and it never disappoints! My birthday is always around the time their spring menu comes out and it is always so delicious. While the restaurant is set up to accommodate large groups, there are also many little booths that you can slip in to and have a quiet and intimate dinner as well. We always mention in our reservation that we are there to celebrate a birthday and a great table is always reserved for us and they are generous enough to include a dessert for the celebration. Great food, great staff, GREAT PLACE!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent food, fantastic service, and wonderful ambiance! Loved the southern theme, seasonal menu. We had a huge group (30+) and the service was impeccable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful menu and excellent service. ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

A wonderful menu and excellent service. This time was lunch with my mother on the outside patio. Beautiful environment and exceptional food. We live in charlotte but this is a must stop when we drive through.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Lucky To Have Lucky 32

Dined on April 24, 2016

We each had catfish with a side salad, grits and greens. Service was very good. Meals were prepared as they should have been. Catfish portion was very good as were the portions for the salad and greens…would have liked some more grits :) Restaurant is busy, a wee bit noisy and that's as it should be in a local, southern style restaurant. It is a popular option for us and we will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Brunch Changes

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been to Lucky 32 many times in the past and have always been pleased. I have always enjoyed their brunch. This past visit was a true disappointment, they had one of the best original eggs Benedicts in town. They have taken it off their menu, the replacement of fried green tomato eggs Benedict just was not a good replacement. I will not go back for brunch unless I check the menu first.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Those that ordered salads got their food ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Those that ordered salads got their food much faster than anyone else but other than that everything was good.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a early reseravation so the resta ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

We had a early reseravation so the restaurant was empty, great. We were able to talk and catch up with an old friend. So what does the host do in 20 minutes? Place a party of 3, including a child adjacent to us in a nearly empty restaurant. Absurd.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shea was fantastic!

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

We had a wonderful meal! Shea was our server and she was very good. She did not hover but was there when we needed her. She really made our dining experience a pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, fun for business dinner

Dined on April 17, 2016

The pimento cheese dip starter served with crispy pork rinds is delicious. I tried the Fried Chicken special and it was enough to feed a small family. I normally have the salmon with the Texas Pete sauce which is excellent. Our service was delightful and the atmosphere was pleasant.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

That have a great brunch menu. Everything we ordered was delicious. Very fun cocktail menu as well!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was not up to par.

Dined on April 17, 2016

My date was from out of town and I was looking for a place that would truly show him what Greensboro had to offer. I overall had a mediocre experience at Lucky 32. The service was fantastic, and the menu items seemed wonderful. I was expecting a 20 dollar meal, that is not what I got. I wished I went to a 1816 Downton or Table 16 instead. My macaroni side was cold and my date ordered a well done burger and it was rare. So I am guessing the chef that day was just terrible, and not the restaurant itself. I am going to go back and give them a second chance on my own time when I am NOT with a date. For the reputation this place has, I expected better. If you are looking for a good restaurant to go to that is a little more upscale, don't waste your time here while there is other restaurants like Marshall Free House , 1618, and Table 16

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We always enjoy Lucky 32!

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food is always great. Make sure you check their bar menu which is full of fun, fresh and delicious locally-inspired concoctions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

I love coming to Lucky 32 for date night ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

I love coming to Lucky 32 for date night. Or when I have family members in town. It is quality southern cooking taken up a notch or two. And I love that it is consistent, I have never had a bad meal here and I love their service. Always friendly and alway professional.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.