About Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen - Greensboro

1421 Westover Terrace
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Join us for lunch and dinner 7 days a week, and for brunch on Saturday and Sunday. We serve the highest quality food and drink with friendly service. Dine in our dining room, grill room, or outside on our sun shade covered veranda. We are excited to announce that we are completely smoke free, inside and out. When dining with us you can look forward to a flavorful southern menu using many local ingredients along with an award winning wine list from the Wine Spectator. Our restaurant is celebrating its 26th anniversary this year, come celebrate with us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday: 11:15am - 3:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:15am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 4:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Green Valley Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 370-0707

Website:
http://www.lucky32.com/

Entertainment:
Songs from a Southern Kitchen EVERY Tuesday at Lucky 32 featuring Laurelyn Dossett or Molly McGinn or Martha Bassett and others! Extraordinary performances by exceptional musicians in an intimate setting with incredible acoustics and impressive Southern fare and libations…with no cover charge! What’s not to like? Every Tuesday, 6:00-9:00 PM, no cover charge.

Executive Chef:
Felicia McMillan

Private Party Facilities:
We have a lovely private dining room that seats up to 10 guests comfortably.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pecan French Toast
Challah And Squeal
Grilled Prawns over Avocado Salad
Fried Green Tomatoes
Scrambled Eggs with Local Sausage, Tomatoes and Artisanal Cheese
Sausage And Cheddar Balls
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Eggs benedict with bacon and hollandaise
Jambalaya with Dirty Rice
Sweet Potato Hushpuppies
Sweet Potato Cheesecake
Brusselsprouts
Carolina Chicken Bread
Grilled Summer Vegetables
Fried Catfish
Cinnamon Rice Pudding
Deviled Eggs
Parmesan-Crusted Pork Cutlet
Pulled Pork Hash
Eggs Benedict
Poached Egg And Cured Ham On An English Muffin
Voodoo Pig Bread
Sweet potato chips
Vegitarian Omelet With Chicken Sausage
Eggs Benedict With Hash Browns
Corn Bread
Twice Fried Grits With Pork White Gravy
Blueberry Crepes
Texas Pete Glazed Salmon With Sauted Kale And Beans
Chicken Sausage
Whistle Bite Sliders
Marinated Kentucky Ribeye
Eggs Benedict With A Tomato And Cucumber Salad
Veggie Omelet With Chicken Sausage
Strawberry Waffle
Bacon Wrapped Meatloaf Sandwich
Roasted Peaches With Goat Cheese And Prosciutto
Stuff On A Biscuit
Corn Meal Dusted Catfish
Shrimp and Grits
Southern Crescent Chicken Sandwich with Bacon, Pimento and Goat Cheese and Texas Pete Fried Onions
Pickled Veggies With Gazpacho Jelly
Lamb Sausage Sliders
Fried Shrimp Remoulade Salad
Turkey Sausage Sliders
Cherry Cider Roasted Duck Legs
Creamy Grits & Green Beans
Mac and Cheese
Manhattan
Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast With Spiced Pears
Wild Caught Carolina Shrimp smothered with country ham cream sauce and leeks over Old Mill Of Guilford Creamy Grits
gimlet
Shrimp-Stuffed Tomato
New Jersey Cocktail
Throwback Sliders
Persimmon Bread Pudding With Southern Comfort Hard Sauce
Trillium Baked Salmon
Cornmeal Crusted Catfish
French Toast & Sausage
Chicken Tomato Basil Soup
Roasted Chicken and Apple Salad
Vegetarian Omelet With Grits
Banana Pudding
Side Salad
Tilefish With Duckfat Potatoes
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie
Grillades and Grits

Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen - Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Outdoor Dining
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
4 More
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Great for Lunch
Greensboro
Neighborhood Gem
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

Special Occasion (107)
Great for Lunch (79)
Fit for Foodies (77)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (76)
Great for Outdoor Dining (74)
Good for Groups (65)
Great for Brunch (64)
Romantic (46)
Notable Wine List (24)
Kid-friendly (20)
Comfort Food (17)
Hot Spot (13)
Healthy (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Seasonal (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Casual (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Business Meals (6)
Scenic View (6)
Organic (5)
Fun (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Cozy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1587 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a perfect place for some friends ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was a perfect place for some friends to get together. The selection on the menu was wonderful . The seating offered privacy and the serving staff were available when needed.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Appreciated the phone call to confirm my ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Appreciated the phone call to confirm my reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This kitchen has suffered a sharp declin ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This kitchen has suffered a sharp decline. I have been a customer for some 16 years, and the last two visits the only disappointing meals in that period. May need to lokk for a new spot.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Wonderful patio seating. Service and foo ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful patio seating. Service and food are simply outstanding. Will continue to dine there.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Authentic, Healthy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Organic, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a reservation for 4 and instead of ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I had a reservation for 4 and instead of seating us in the dining room we were taken to the bar.

We killed 2 ants crawling on the table and there were other bugs flying around. Use to be my

favorite restaurant, but not anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

During a visit to NC, three of us had di ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

During a visit to NC, three of us had dinner at Lucky 32 in Greensboro. I found out the reservation was made for the Sunday instead of Saturday after I received the email confirmation I called the restaurant and changed the reservation without a problem. Two of us arrived early and were seated right away. Our waiter was helpful with menu questions about gluten free since that was one of the attractions for me. There were a few options. I ordered the fried okra which was good. The catfish was good too. It came with 3 sides. I had collards (which are served whole not chopped), beans & voodoo deviled eggs. The eggs were good but the collards and beans arrived cold. I mentioned it to our waiter. He offered to bring hot ones but unfortunately, they arrived luke warm at best. Otherwise, ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place for nice quite dinner. Servi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great place for nice quite dinner. Service was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We especially enjoy dining on the patio, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We especially enjoy dining on the patio, and the food and service are very good. We often take our older son here when he visits and especially recommend the catfish. Lucky 32 is good at accomodating my gluten-free needs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The service all around was awesome! From ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service all around was awesome! From the greeters to the bar staff to the wait staff. Very impressed. Wonderful 1st experience for my birthday. Thank you all!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting from Switzerland, wanted to sha ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Visiting from Switzerland, wanted to share a "Southern" breakfast with some friends. Lucky 32 was perfect--good Southern food and good for friends to chat.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was great as normal just a long wai ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was great as normal just a long wait time to get drinks to the table and getting more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We always enjoy dining at Lucky 32. The ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We always enjoy dining at Lucky 32. The food is of good quality, attractively presented by knowledgeable wait staff. Outdoor dining is great during summer months. Food quality and price are appropriately aligned. Don't overlook the Mac and cheese--yum!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Took a friend for her first visit and sh ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Took a friend for her first visit and she loved it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious brunch!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Delicious brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Unfortunately, they removed the classic ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Unfortunately, they removed the classic Eggs Benedict from the menu and the replacement item was subpar. Darn it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Everything was wonderful!

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Everything was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took six out of town business associat ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I took six out of town business associates for dinner. Each of them at one time or another thanked me for the recommendation. They (and I) all loved their meals. I had eaten at the now closed north Raleigh Lucky 32 once or twice and recalled how good it was. I was not disappointed.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I travel all over the world on business ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I travel all over the world on business and have the opportunity to eat at many fabulous restaurants (and plenty of bad ones too). All I can say is what an overwhelming disappointment! I was in town on business and saw all these great reviews on OT for Lucky 32. They offered a chilled cucumber-avocado soup which I love so it was game on. Got to get to Lucky 32!

The soup was mediocre at best. Metro Wine Bar and Bistro in Oklahoma City has a chilled Cucumber-Avocado that is to die for, please take notes from the chef at Metro, Lucky 32. Metro's chef was actually was kind enough to give me his recipe but I'm not sharing. I ordered a ribeye medium and was horrified when it was served at my table having clearly been cooked in a cast iron skillet or on a flat top. Steak is meant to be grilled or broiled at ultra high temps not done in a pan! The steak had been marinated in something or topped with something sweet during the cooking process which completely overpowered the flavor of the meat. Steak is supposed to taste like steak not a bourbon reduction or whatever the heck that lame attempt at creativity was. (Interestingly enough, there was no marinade indicated on the menu). I didn't even stick around for dessert. I chalked it up to a lesson learned and will certainly not be rushing back next time I'm in Greensboro. Oh well...... Ambiance was that of a dressed up diner which also left me unimpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

Love their food and their choice of Sout ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Love their food and their choice of Southern foods...have standbys but the seasonals are always interesting and usually get me interested in trying. Just had their Okra Popcorn as an appetizer--haven't had "fried okra" that good since my grandmother passed on.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

WE HAVE WATCHED THE DECLINE OF LUCKY 32 ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

WE HAVE WATCHED THE DECLINE OF LUCKY 32 OVER THE LAST TWO YEARS. ON OUR MOST RECENT VISIT, THE SERVICE WAS TERRIBLE AND THE FOOD MUCH THE SAME. ONE DISH ARRIVED COLD AND INEDIBLE WHILE A SECOND WAS TASTELESS. WE DIDN'T SEE OUR WAITER FOR 20 MINUTES AND WE HAD TO ASK OTHER WAITERS FOR SERVICE. CHAOS NOW SEEMS TO REIGN AT WHAT WAS ONCE A DECENT RESTAURANT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

The chicken was not cooked through and r ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The chicken was not cooked through and raw in a spot. The waitress gave us free deserts but the dinner was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

This was the first time my wife and I vi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was the first time my wife and I visited the restaurant, we didn't really know what to expect. Travel advisor said it was a great place. The food selection for us was okay, but our meal was wonderful. We had a very cozy booth and our waitress was great. We enjoyed our first time there and will likely to visit again.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This visit was disappointing. We had en ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This visit was disappointing. We had enjoyed our three previous brunch visits, but this one missed the mark. My first clue, the parking lot was not full, this was not the case on previous visits. Did something changed? Second everyone said their food was luke warm. One order was wrong but quickly rectified. I got chipped beef over biscuit. This was nothing close to what I had in Army Mess Halls, very disappointing . Others felt their meals lacked seasoning and flavor. Finally, a manager normal comes around, but not this time. We brought four new people to expirience this brunch, all four said they would not return again. I will probably give it another chance, but four will not return. Now I know why the parking lot was not full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Hanna was patient with us and very atten ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Hanna was patient with us and very attentive to detail! Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our 4 person group arrived at 6:00 and l ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our 4 person group arrived at 6:00 and left at 9:00. We know that is too long for a customer turnover but we just could not leave. It was a talking dinner and everyone had to give at least 6 discussion so it took 3 hours.

Good experience for all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always wonderful "twist" on Southern Foo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Always wonderful "twist" on Southern Food. Staff is wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very pretty and quiet patio. Wonderful b ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very pretty and quiet patio. Wonderful brunch selections and fantastic wait staff. Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Outstanding Value, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service! My dining companio ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Outstanding service! My dining companions and I were attended to multiple times during our meal, not just by waiter to check on our satisfaction, but by busboys to keep water glasses filled and management to thank us for coming. The shrimp cakes with voodoo sauce are a must-try. The collard greens had chunks of sweet potato and pork fat. (So worth the cholesterol.) My dining companions raved about the corn accompaniment to the black bean cakes. Major yum all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Full of old folks. Not a good vibe at al ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Full of old folks. Not a good vibe at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We have enjoyed Lucky 32 since it opened ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We have enjoyed Lucky 32 since it opened 20+ years ago. The food is always good and the atmosphere is relaxed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always can count on Lucky 32 delivering ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always can count on Lucky 32 delivering a great meal and night out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pan fried chicken was wonderful! Our ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The pan fried chicken was wonderful! Our waitress was efficient and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Establishing the reservation was a breez ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Establishing the reservation was a breeze - I really like the online Open Table reservation system. Adding one additional diner about an hour before was quick and well handled by the staff. The food is great; the brunch menu provides a choice of many dishes. Everyone liked the variation in the brunch menu. The service was very good and our waiter was friendly and personable. Note on above query for amount of table's bill: I don't know the total bill for the table, as we had separate checks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. Service and food consistent ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always good. Service and food consistently good. Regular customer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for a great dining experience. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Thank you for a great dining experience. It was my mother's birthday. Not only did they provide delicious cuisine options but they brought out her cake and made her feel special. They were patient with our little one who is 4 going on 25. Just overall exceptional service. A truly memorable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and Service were excellent. All th ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food and Service were excellent. All the staff was polite and friendly and the food was delicious. Thoroughly enjoyed our evening here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. I love the chilled so ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was good. I love the chilled soups during hot weather and always enjoy the black bean cakes. However, I had the black eye peas, the daily vegetable, and didn't finish them so was planning on taking it home with one of the black bean cakes. When I got home and opened my take home container, I only had the black bean cake, no beans, I was so disappointed! Why didn't they give those leftovers to me??

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was ok although portions were very ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was ok although portions were very small. Service was good but the waitress was a little too concerned about clearing dishes to the point of being annoying. I had to stop eating to hand her a tiny bowl that was out of her reach and she couldn't wait until we were finished eating to ask for it. She also tried too remove the bread prematurely and we had to ask her to give it back to us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was fantastic and fresh. the br ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was fantastic and fresh. the bread was good, service was tmely. the seafood pastas were very fresh, tasty and somewhat healthy. Will be back again very soon as it is at the top of my list for business lunches.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant experience. I always love the ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Pleasant experience. I always love the music that is played. Wait staff is good and knowledgable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.