About Luckee Restaurant

328 Wellington St W
Toronto, ON M5V 3T4
View Larger Map

Luckee Restaurant and Bar - the much anticipated "Nouvelle Chinoise" restaurant by culinary superstar and television personality Susur Lee.



Luckee features Chinese cuisine at its most sophisticated, with comforting and recognizable recipes of classic dishes and dim sum for the culinary traditions of Guangzhou, Hunan and Szechuan regions, updated and enhanced by Chef Lee's delectable signature.



The interiors subtly blend accents of imperial red and wall-to-wall panels of dynastic architecture, with a nod to 20th century Chinoiserie.



Luckee Bar, already a favourite of locals and travellers alike, boasts themed as well as classical cocktails, an extensive wine list, and an urban vibe that is one-of-a-kind.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian, Global, International

Hours of Operation:

Monday: Closed

Tuesday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Wednesday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Thursday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Friday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Saturday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Saturday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Sunday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Blue Jays Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 935-0400

Website:
http://www.luckeerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Luckee offers discounted parking in the underground parkade of the Soho Metropolitan hotel.

Tues. - Sun. dinner - $20 for 3 hours
Weekend brunch - $10 for 2 hours

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Susur Lee

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Luckee Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (115)
good for groups (71)
special occasion (59)
See All
hot spot (53)
great for brunch (34)
great for lunch (34)
neighborhood gem (22)
romantic (21)
vibrant bar scene (21)
late-night find (16)
kid-friendly (12)
notable wine list (5)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service!

vip
Dined 6 days ago

As always had an amazing meal at Luckee! The servers are so nice and knowledgeable. My favourite thing to do here is just let the servers bring you whatever they want...as long as it includes the Shrimp Cheung Fun! It is soooo good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great venue for 4 friends dinner!

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our Irish server was the best! He knew the menu inside & out and didn't disappoint with his chef's choice suggestions!!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Food was okay, expensive. Easily could h ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was okay, expensive. Easily could have gotten better dim sum in Chinatown. Completely regret buying into the hype and going here. The Luckee Duck was pathetic for the price - a single duck breast that was undercooked and under seasoned for $33 was the peak of the disappointment. The dim sum flavours were not complex or unique. We left hungry and disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

warren was great server. the food was de ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

warren was great server. the food was delectable. much better and more interesting than fring's. loved the decor, perfect for the type of food/restuarant. sursur did good. my 2nd favorite of his 4 in the 6.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luckee

Dined on May 8, 2016

The ambience and noise level was about right for a mid-day brunch on Mother's day with a couple little kids along for the ride.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great but expensive

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was a great experience - but it was also VERY expensive. The food was excellent as was the server. Because of the cost - it is not a place I will find my wife and I going to on a regular basis.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Today was my luckee day !

Dined on May 7, 2016

I made reservations for May 7 and was surprised to find out that they were having a Mothers Day fixed price menu (at a higher price than I expected). However when I looked at the 6 course selections, I would have chosen this even if it was optional. The waiter (very friendly and sociable) brought out crispy rice wafers with dips for starters, then some Har Gow and Siu Mai which were excellent. Then a combined Shrimp/Chicken Cheung Fun which was great because I was tossed between which one to get and this was the perfect compromise! This was followed by Drunken Lobster and then a Beef Tenderloin w/Asparagus - both of which were rich in flavours. The dessert was the 6th course, and three items were presented, my favourite being the raspberry sorbet. Considering all the food, the higher price was more than reasonable. I recommend this place wholeheartedly!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Good food - terrible service

Dined on May 7, 2016

When we arrived we discovered they were serving a set menu to test it out the day before Mother's Day. As real customers (not test customers) we were expected to pay full price for a set menu. The service was terrible - slow, disorganized, not sure what they were really serving. It took 20 minutes to get tea and a coke. Music blaring at 11:00am. Food was delicious but the over all experience was very disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Good, but not up to expectations

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had high expectations of Luckee, but overall it was good - but not as great as we thought this Susur Lee establishment was capable of. The noise level was very high, our table for two was tiny, with one of us sitting on a wooden bench. Although the food was very good and we enjoyed each and every dish, the timing was off. With the "family" style dining experience it may have been more enjoyable with a bigger table that had enough space to put new dishes down as they arrived - but we were so jammed that we had to send dishes back that arrived too soon and there was no place to set them on our table. The Luckee Duck dish was tasty but very messy and hard to each when the pancake wrapper falls apart. We will go back with a bigger crowd, to give this restaurant another chance in a different scenario. I would not go again as a couple.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK

Dined on May 6, 2016

This is our fourth time to Luckee. Service is always excellent. We had dim sum dinner and almost everyone around us are having the same. We love the dim sum because the dishes arrive one after the other, with small breaks . Everything is fresh and perfectly cooked. We had approx. 9 dim sum dishes and one main entre (crispy seafood) among the 3 of us. We were so stuffed and happy.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Susur Lee Strikes Again

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our second time at Luckee's outstanding meal. Creative use of food and seasonings, well presented. Would definitely go again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

love Susur Lee but...

Dined on May 5, 2016

ambiance and service where great. Dim sum items were good except for the spring rolls which were tasteless. Fried rice was ok. Sweet and sour chicken was the tastiest dish but it was a little dry and overcooked. The drinks were good. Overall a disappointment because I love Lee (the restaurant) . This place tries to elevate Chinese food and fails. I expected a better tasting menu, there's nothing i tried that i would come back for.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Gourmet dim sum

Dined on May 5, 2016

Cool yet casual kitschy decor lends a relaxed vibe to a great meal. Seated mid-week at 5:30 by the pleasant hostess, with the place to ourselves...come 6pm, the place is FULL and bit too boisterous (ask for a corner table). Polished staff know the menu and made great suggestions for our Dim Sum Dinner (Rice Donut was a standout). Food is top notch - think gourmet Dim Sum - bright and robust flavours & textures. Altho a shade pricey per dish - you can taste the superior quality. Definitely will return for a casual eve. Note, as this venue caters to larger families and young children, I do not feel it would be the best choice for anything business related.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We got Luckee!!

Dined on May 4, 2016

What a great experience. Food and service was 1st. class, we will become regulars at Luckee that's for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Not for me

Dined on May 4, 2016

I loved Lee restaurant very much and total enjoyed Chinese fusion. So this time I took my friends to the sister restaurant Luckee, hoping it would "wao" us. Honestly, a bit disappointed. It was very noisy inside. We were literally yelling at each other and can barely hear. The restaurant not like Lee was serving authentic Chinese dishes. However the taste is not that authentic tho. I mean if you like American Chinese dishes such as lemon chicken, maybe you should go and check out yourself. The fact that I am Chinese, I am not going back.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Lower expectations

Dined on May 1, 2016

I had been told of the amazing meal my partner had at Bent a week earlier, and because we could not get a reservation there we took a chance on this sister restaurant. Based on the menu and reputation, I was ready to be impressed. This was my mistake. We treat ourselves to Michelin Star restaurants and enjoy and cook food for ourselves as a hobby, so I was expecting something "special" or "unique". This restaurant is located in a hotel and the quality of food was a nod to this fact. Service was a bit rocky throughout, although it was clear they were hustling so maybe they were understaffed. When the service was attentive, it was great. But the cuisine was disappointing throughout. The dipping sauces were far more interesting than the small plates they were intended for. My partner literally burnt their tongue on the Crispy Taro & Turnip Cake because the temperature was so uneven between the 4 pieces, although it was very tasty unlike most plates. I expect a lot more from a fine dining establishment. Most every plate was too safe in it's flavors and did very little to elevate Chinese cuisine. The dessert was disappointing because it was very difficult to "crack open" and enjoy without destroying the individual pieces. I think my disappointment was in having such high expectations. Come here to have a fun casual Western spin on Chinese food, and you'll do fine. Expect some service and quality quirks and you'll not be annoyed by it.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good dumplings

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is very good, especially the dumplings. Service is very good.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very friendly. He had ext ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Our server was very friendly. He had extensive knowledge on the food and tea we were served and talked about there origins when we asked. I didn't have to ask for refills on my drink. The whole restaurant has a Chinoise vibe. We went on a Tuesday evening so it wasn't too busy. I'd recommend this restaurant to anybody.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Chinese food elevated! Excellent service ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Chinese food elevated! Excellent service!

food1
ambience3
service4

We love Lee and Bent, but this was incre ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

We love Lee and Bent, but this was incredibly disappointing. Tasteless food. Hunan noodle dish actually had a faint burnt taste. The "crispy" mushrooms were just deep fried. The sea bass was beautifully cooked and while the sauce was nice, together it was still uninspiring. Thank God we got a good wine: at least something made the 300$ not a complete waste.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Luckee worth it

Dined on April 14, 2016

Great food. Noisy and extremely expensive. If you have the funds I say go. If not save it for a special treat.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Amazing food. Wish there was a better ex ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Amazing food. Wish there was a better explanation about what it means that the plates are meant for sharing. Did not realize that the plates come one at a time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fun dinner, excellent food

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our group of four enjoyed our supper at Luckee very much. We had about 10 different dishes. Most of the dishes were very good, a couple were excellent and a couple were disappointing (especially the wonton soup). As we were all from out of town, we're not sure about the value. It felt that prices were too high, but maybe Toronto restaurant prices are higher than we expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Don't do the tasting menu

Dined on April 8, 2016

The staff will try to push the tasting menu on you- it seems like a good idea but the food was sub-par and the waiter didn't even know what he was serving us. My friend doesn't eat beef and I do not like mushrooms- we told him these restrictions and he said this was not an issue and they would cater the tasting menu to our preferences. The first course had a beef dumpling with a slice of beef on top, a shrimp dumpling with oyster mushrooms and a mushroom dumpling. At some point the waiter came and advised us that we liked seafood and then brought us a fairly tasteless dish of lobster, scallops and shrimp. At no point had we advised that we liked seafood (we do but clearly it was just him pushing the tasting menu).

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A vibrant and colorful restaurant.

Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent food with a really friendly waiter that was kind enough to explain what region of China the food prepared was coming from. Great filling in the dumpling. Loved the sauces.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed every dish. Sharing is a must to ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Enjoyed every dish. Sharing is a must to try a variety of things.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique + Tasty

Dined on March 31, 2016

Really interesting blends of foods/flavours - very unique vegetarian options. Exceptional service - and atmosphere. Will definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Not impressed

Dined on March 27, 2016

The restuarant design is attractive and the service attentive, but the food itself was disappointing. At a Susur Lee restaurant, one expects highly creative dishes full of dynamic flavours and original combinations. We've had great meals at Lee and Bent, not to mention Lee's original Lotus. At Luckee, however, the dishes we ordered turned out to be pretty standard Chinese fare; indeed, we've had more delicious dishes at Chinese restaurants in Markham, as well as around the corner on Spadina--for half the price! The food at Luckee is very good--not spectacular or even special--and overpriced.

food3
ambience3
service3

Okay food - any decent Chinese restauran ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Okay food - any decent Chinese restaurant can make better dishes. The only thing stood out was it was quieter than other Chinese restaurants. The background music was a bit too loud. Wouldn't go back there again for Chinese food for sure.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food! Best Dim Sum I have ever had!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Very different dishes yet familiar flavours! It met and surpassed all my expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Pricey....

Dined on March 13, 2016

For Chinese food, this is very pricey. Presentation is nice and all, but the actual portions are small. Not worth it in my opinion.

food4
ambience4
service4

Very good fusion restaurant. Have been t ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Very good fusion restaurant. Have been there a couple of times. Always have a good time.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spectacular

Dined on March 11, 2016

The service at this restaurant is impeccable. We thoroughly enjoyed our waiters recommendations for our entire meal. We cannot wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious Dim Sum

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Overall the food was very good, some dishes like the dim sum way better than let's say the tofu. We had an excellent server although it took a while to be served. We sat for 10 minutes (at 6:15 so they weren't very busy) before I flagged someone down to get a glass of water. I would definitely return however not on a Friday as I am hoping they play better music during the week. I would have stayed longer and had dessert but the music was so terrible and very loud that we had to leave.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice Upscale New Asian

Dined on March 6, 2016

The cocktails were quite good and the gow were excellent. The "golden sand" on a couple of the dishes leaned a little heavily on salt, but the duck was really nice.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 5, 2016

2nd time we have been here. Amir our waiter was excellent. Very friendly and professional. When booking I said it was my fiance's birthday and Amir made it special. Food was excellent, we both enjoyed everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Third time's NOT a charm - Luckee

Dined on March 4, 2016

Seems like the quality of food slips with every visit. Dim Sum was average and bland. Service and Staff are always great. Not sure I would return given all the choices and options for this type of cuisine.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was great. Good value for wh ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Our waiter was great. Good value for what you get. Not cheap for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best Dim Sum Ever!!

Dined on February 21, 2016

I've had Dim Sum from San Fran to NY, Halifax to Vancouver and even as far away as Hong Kong and yet Chef Susar does it again by putting his fresh spin on some old classics in a way that will tantalize your tastebuds.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on February 20, 2016

Fantastic!!! The food was amazing and the waiter so helpfu! We will definitely be returning to try dinner there. It was perfect for dim sum.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.