About Luckee Restaurant

328 Wellington St W
Toronto, ON M5V 3T4
View Larger Map

Luckee Restaurant and Bar - the much anticipated "Nouvelle Chinoise" restaurant by culinary superstar and television personality Susur Lee.



Luckee features Chinese cuisine at its most sophisticated, with comforting and recognizable recipes of classic dishes and dim sum for the culinary traditions of Guangzhou, Hunan and Szechuan regions, updated and enhanced by Chef Lee's delectable signature.



The interiors subtly blend accents of imperial red and wall-to-wall panels of dynastic architecture, with a nod to 20th century Chinoiserie.



Luckee Bar, already a favourite of locals and travellers alike, boasts themed as well as classical cocktails, an extensive wine list, and an urban vibe that is one-of-a-kind.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian, Global, International

Hours of Operation:

Monday: Closed

Tuesday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Wednesday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Thursday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Friday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Saturday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Saturday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Sunday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Blue Jays Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 935-0400

Website:
http://www.luckeerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Luckee offers discounted parking in the underground parkade of the Soho Metropolitan hotel.

Tues. - Sun. dinner - $20 for 3 hours
Weekend brunch - $10 for 2 hours

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Susur Lee

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Luckee Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (97)
good for groups (58)
special occasion (54)
See All
hot spot (35)
great for brunch (21)
great for lunch (20)
neighborhood gem (18)
romantic (17)
vibrant bar scene (10)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (6)
notable wine list (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
business meals (1)
pre/post theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I really enjoyed the chicken salad. It ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined 2 days ago

I really enjoyed the chicken salad. It took a moment to adjust as the chicken was cold but the flavour was really good. I had the beef short ribs for main and they were amazing. They were boneless, soft and had absorbed all that rich sauce and the beans were a nice addition. The noodles were so different too. It was literally a broad rice noodle wrapped around a stuffing in a little packet. The stuffing was like what is in wontons in wonton soup. Dessert was simple and tasty. The sponge roll was like a steamed bun almost. The panna cotta was my favorite as it was sweet and tart at the same time and cleansed the palate. So good. They even gave fortune cookies in a little steamer container at the end. I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

everything was great except we waited a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

everything was great except we waited a long time for the check , there was a period where we were done and waited for someone to bring the bill, we had to finally look for the waiter and call him to get the check and still after then we waited more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

2nd year doing summerlicious there and i ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

2nd year doing summerlicious there and it`s always amazing, their regular menu is fab too, but summerlicious offers a nice change and they always do a great meal, you never feel slighted

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Summerlicious. The short rib ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went for Summerlicious. The short rib on riice noodle was specatular. It was cooked to perfection and melted in my mouth. The Sea bass was a bit bland for Susur Lee but cooked perfectly. Our waiter was great and we had a great enjoyable night out and a great value with Summerlicious. We also had the Dragon Roar and Sake Sangria Delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

went as part of Summerlicious and previo ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

went as part of Summerlicious and previous good experience at sister restaurant LEE, food portions small, ordered extra dishes of dim sum which were bland even with sauces

below expectations for Susur Lee rest'n

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We have been waiting to try Luckee and s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

We have been waiting to try Luckee and summerlicious was the perfect opportunity. The service was solid and very friendly and the food was outstanding! I had the filet mignon and it was probably one of the best I have ever had! It was perfectly cooked. My wife had the char siu ribs which I tried and were so delicious and tender. Loved this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Only thing I saw that could be improved ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

Only thing I saw that could be improved on is the servers menu/drink knowledge. Great people and a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Tried it for Summerlicious- very creativ ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Tried it for Summerlicious- very creative menu. Waitstaff are very attentive. Music is too loud.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The sea bass was awesome! Delicious dum ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The sea bass was awesome! Delicious dumplings. Our server was very attentive, knowledgable about the menu, and friendly. Would definitely eat there again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The xiaolong bao lacks flavour from the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The xiaolong bao lacks flavour from the crab. The soup from the bao was good. Spicy chicken salad was underwhelming and the pairing with the cantaloupe doesn't make sense. The beef ribs were too sweet. Deserts were good. Music was too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Food was nice enough but wait staff seem ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was nice enough but wait staff seemed confused and disorganized. Dinner came before drinks, soup came with no spoon and it took awhile to get one. Wrong neals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Food and Service was AMAZING! My advice ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food and Service was AMAZING! My advice is to always get the cheung fun! Was served by Kazi and he was on point from the beginning to the end. We dined in for summerlicious but decided to order from the a la carte menu as well.

If it's your first time at Luckee you HAVE to try a Shrimp or Chicken Cheung Fun or the Luckee Duck. It is one of their best dishes on the menu. They also have a hidden secret menu item called the Soba Noodle Salad. It is 21 fresh organic ingredients in their home made dashi soy sauce. It is like an explosion in your mouth with hints of spice, tangy, and sweet all in one.

Had the McManis Petite Syrah by the bottle to enjoy... Kazi told us it is the best full body red wine for its value. It paired very well with our food. We also had a Dragon's Roar cocktail which was very interesting. Has a spicy element to it for its refreshing taste.

All in all, best experience so far in a chinese restaurant. Would definitely come back for more cheung fun!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was tasty and inventive. However, c ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was tasty and inventive. However, cocktails are on the pricey side. Worth a visit for the food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Scallops were incredible

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Scallops were incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My mom and I came to Luckee for a late l ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My mom and I came to Luckee for a late lunch. We had some dim sum and it was amazing! Our favourite dishes were the shrimp dumplings and the mushroom and golden sand dish. Our waiter was extremely friendly and helpful in recommending which dishes to get. I was extremely impressed with this restaurant and will sure be returning again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second time going to luckee. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was my second time going to luckee. The first time was for dinner and I had a great experience. Staff was energetic, food was great. We had a great time. I decided to take my daughter to Luckee for brunch. We made choices based on an explaination that a cart would be coming around with additional choices. After 45 minutes we asked again about the cart. The server said he'd look into it, but didn't really return. We Flagged him down after we got tired of waiting and ordered a few more items off the menu. The cart finally appeared as we were paying the bill. We had been dinning at this point for 1 hour and 20 minutes.

The restaurant was not busy. No one had energy, service was slow. It was like a morgue in there. My daughter was thinking about ordering a cappuccino but at this point I just needed to get out of there. It was depressing.

It will be a while if I return. I would never go back for brunch. From my experience the place comes alive at night.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was excellent! Very knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was excellent! Very knowledgeable about the food, and the recommendations were spot on. Thank you for a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a drink in the bar first. Very hard ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Had a drink in the bar first. Very hard to talk and hear because of music.

Restaurant was the same. They did finally turn music down.

Other than that the food and service were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was absolutely divine. I am goi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was absolutely divine. I am going to become a regular.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

All the dim sum was delicious. The whole ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

All the dim sum was delicious. The whole meal in general was so so good. A bit pricey, but Susur Lee definitely impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was outstanding . Order any of ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was outstanding . Order any of the dim sum items and you won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Feels like a chain. Nothing unique or sp ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Feels like a chain. Nothing unique or special. Waiter encouraged us to over order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

One of my favorite spots. Great restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

One of my favorite spots. Great restaurant/lounge and good friendly service. Everytime I've been there the food has been, simply, delicious. I recommend it highly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for a family meal. We wer ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Perfect spot for a family meal. We were very well waited on by Umer. Food allergies of a member very well accommodated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are regulars at Luckee but this was o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We are regulars at Luckee but this was our first time where we had such poor service.

As always the food was great but our waitress was rude and just horrible. This really put a damper on our Father's Day brunch.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Service was strange as I had to wave som ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was strange as I had to wave someone down every time like I'm (the customer) being a nuisance. The teapots are always empty and we were repeatedly asked what teas we were having (the leaves are in the pot where they just add water and were not adding more leaves). Proper training of the staff was questionable as one of our servers handled piping hot steamers without equipment and burned their own hand from the steam and sauce from the dishes.

The food was absolutely delicious so the kitchen service was great. Now if the front end service can match up to the food they're serving, then they'd instantly upgrade to 5 stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Was disappointed that the 'chefs basket' ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Was disappointed that the 'chefs basket' of dumplings did not include the specialities. Was very overpriced given that it's pretty much a Chinese restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Fourth visit... amazing . Foodies and a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Fourth visit... amazing . Foodies and all alike would enjoy Luckee. We look forward to our next reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As good as the food is, the highlight of ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

As good as the food is, the highlight of the night was the fantastic service. We had a complex set of food preferences, two vegetarians and one person with some food sensitivities and we managed everything. Each dish was better than the one before, yet the 21 ingredient soba may have been the highlight!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food excellent service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent food excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good not great food. Average service. Too loud

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Food is good but not great. Service is average, music is way too loud for a restaurant. Drinks are pricey, food prices are not bad. Overall unsatisfactory experience and we tried enough dishes to know that this place is good for a special occasion or to impress clients who want Chinese food but there is better Chinese food for half the price around town. So not worth a repeat visit!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service + Food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Our service was unbelievable. He was so much fun and made our night just that much better. On top of that the wine and food was incredible. A great night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Took my wife and kids on our latest visit to Toronto. We had the chef send out dim sum for the table until all of us were stuffed. That was really the first time my kids have had dim-sum, they're picky eaters and they absolutely loved it. Our waiter was very helpful and attentive. Would definitely recommend and visit again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Impressed by LUCKEE

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I've only been to Lee and Fring's of SuSur Lee's restaurants, and had to cross Luckee off my list.

Definitely a good idea!

The service was amazing, and our server was very thorough with explaining what all the utensils were and when to use them (communal red chopsticks used to transfer the food to your plate). He recommended some really tasty dim-sum dishes and overall, everything was delicious!

I would definitely come back here to eat again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, staff...simply ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent food, service, staff...simply amazing. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Out of luck

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had reservations for over a week and were placed at this nowhere table in between the kitchen, bar and doorways which robbed us of our dining intimacy. The food was good, but not worth the price. Service was fast, so efficient the waiter asked us if we had asked for the bill 5 minutes after we received our meal. Overall bleh experience, would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Delicious Asian Dining

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Parking was easy, right under the Met Hotel. You pay $20 on the bill for parking. The food was all delicious. The server was mediocre at best. We did not find her attentive. We went to Second City after dinner, right around the corner. Overall we would return for the food

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing food and service!

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

As always had an amazing meal at Luckee! The servers are so nice and knowledgeable. My favourite thing to do here is just let the servers bring you whatever they want...as long as it includes the Shrimp Cheung Fun! It is soooo good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great venue for 4 friends dinner!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Our Irish server was the best! He knew the menu inside & out and didn't disappoint with his chef's choice suggestions!!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was okay, expensive. Easily could h ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was okay, expensive. Easily could have gotten better dim sum in Chinatown. Completely regret buying into the hype and going here. The Luckee Duck was pathetic for the price - a single duck breast that was undercooked and under seasoned for $33 was the peak of the disappointment. The dim sum flavours were not complex or unique. We left hungry and disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.