About Luckee Restaurant

Luckee Restaurant and Bar - the much anticipated "Nouvelle Chinoise" restaurant by culinary superstar and television personality Susur Lee.



Luckee features Chinese cuisine at its most sophisticated, with comforting and recognizable recipes of classic dishes and dim sum for the culinary traditions of Guangzhou, Hunan and Szechuan regions, updated and enhanced by Chef Lee's delectable signature.



The interiors subtly blend accents of imperial red and wall-to-wall panels of dynastic architecture, with a nod to 20th century Chinoiserie.



Luckee Bar, already a favourite of locals and travellers alike, boasts themed as well as classical cocktails, an extensive wine list, and an urban vibe that is one-of-a-kind.

328 Wellington St W
Toronto, ON M5V 3T4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian, Dim Sum

Hours of Operation:

Monday: Closed

Tuesday Lunch: 12:00 - 2:00pm

Tuesday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Wednesday Lunch: 12:00 - 2:00pm

Wednesday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Thursday Lunch: 12:00 - 2:00pm

Thursday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Friday Lunch: 12:00 - 2:00pm

Friday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Saturday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Saturday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Sunday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Blue Jays Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 935-0400

Website:
http://www.luckeerestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Susur Lee

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Luckee Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (118)
Fit for Foodies (108)
Good for a Date (82)
See All
Special Occasion (77)
Good for Groups (61)
Authentic (60)
Casual (56)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Modern Decor (52)
Fun (51)
Great for Lunch (46)
Business Meals (42)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Sunday Lunch (39)
Tapas (36)
Hot Spot (33)
Tasting Menu (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Great for Brunch (30)
Romantic (29)
Good Vegetarian Options (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Spicy (27)
Family Style (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Open Kitchen (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Cozy (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Quick Bite (16)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Disabled Access (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Vegan (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Late-night Find (11)
People Watching (11)
Happy Hour (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Private Room (6)
Seasonal (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (2)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This was my ninth or tenth time at Luckee and I have to say that I was disappointed. There have been some changes to the menu and not for the better. Worse still was the waiter who really didn't seem knowledgeable enough for such a great restaurant. I lamented that a dish had been removed from the menu and the waiter assured me it could still be made. Instead he provided a dish that not only wasn't the same, it was decidedly mediocre.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our waiter Glenn was just fabulous and helped us pick out dishes and give recommendations! Would go back any time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We ordered several dishes. We ordered the following: Luckee Dim Sum Basket, Luckee Cheung Fun Shrimp, Sauteed Scallops with Cashews, Luckee Duck, Char Siu Beef Ribs and Seasonal Chinese Vegetable with King Oyster Mushrooms. All the dishes were very good and we enjoyed them. My husband did not feel they were complete dishes as they did not come with rice (Additional $22) or noodles (Additional $24). A bit pricey on top off your entree.
We also had Mango Pudding, the Sponge Cake with Nutella and Fried Sesame Balls with Custard for dessert. (Our bill was almost $200 and it felt more like lunch than dinner ).
*I especially like the Luckee Duck. Wonderful combination of flavors.
Beautiful restaurant, very relaxing, wonderful and attentive staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I love Luckee for everything- the ambience, the staff and the food!!! The best FOOD
Sur Lee knows how to do it right!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was our 3rd trip to Luckee and we will go back another time or 2 b4 we head back to Florida. It's great dim sum plus the entrees are fabulous. The wine list is expensive but good and certainly compliments the menu. Sussur Lee has a wonderful place in Luckee! Also try his fine dining restaurant LEE with n King St. words can't describe it , it's so good. Go to utube and see him in action.

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The service was great, and the ambience is very themed, however a different vibe than the other Susur Lee restaurants. Dim sum and Cheung Fun was amazing, and would recommend only getting an assortment of these dishes when you go. All other dishes are very similar to other Chinese restaurants and not worth it. The cocktails were also very low quality and wouldn't recommend. I would go back, but for a lowkey lunch or dinner dim sum only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Simply amazing. Superb food and excellent service. Great ambiance.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I'm an Italian chef so not an expert in the field but the food was very flavourful and the service was extremely attentive (almost too much).

The only problems I had was i ordered the duck and there was very little meat. maybe 2 ounces and the rest was skin(which was extremely good) Im just not sure that's how it's suppose to be served. Especially based off online photos of other peoples.

Also ordered the shrimp fried rice and it had 3 pieces of shrimp. I understand food cost but 23$ for 3 shrimp and rice. A bit of a reach

crap dumpling was very nice to try so many unique dishes I have no idea how to make

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Dim sum brunch was amazing...the waffle dessert is a must have!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Spicy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Superb in every aspect. Had a sampling of dim sum and soups before moving to the Luckee Duck and wok tossed beans. Phenomenal. I've been saying Toronto has the best Chinese food in North America for 35 years, and Luckee further confirmed this.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Amazing food we had a great time. My colleagues from US really enjoyed the food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our dim sum brunch was very uneven. Some dishes were excellent and others so-so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great lunch. my wife will talk about the lobster dish - Lobster Cheun Fung. Get it. The service was great. If there is a down side it's the tables and chairs are looking a little worn. Otherwise we were very pleased and will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I had heard great things, but food was rather mediocre. Very much enjoyed the pot stickers, but after that, food went downhill. Bland and average. Not memorable. Service was fine / will not be returning there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Went Luckee on the recommendation of a friend who was local. I had heard that there were excellent Chinese restaurants in Toronto. Well Luckee did not disappoint. Although it is inside of a hotel, I felt that the food, service, cocktails were all in point. This is a more refined dim sum/ Chinese food experience. Servers knew the menu well were able to make recommendations, and were on top of their game. I highly recommend Luckee for an elevated Chinese dining experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 25, 2017

While all the food was awesome, the green beans were the best I had ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We thought we were finished with Summerlicious for this summer until I took one last look at the restaurants and suggested Luckee to my wife. Glad I did. We gave ourselves plenty of time to get there by subway and ended up at the Queen station by 11:00 am – a bit early for our 11:30 reservation. So we walked along Queen to University, south to King, west to John, south to Wellington, and west to Luckee – “sight-seeing” along the way. We arrived exactly at 11:30 and were seated immediately at a table for two, right beside a couple enjoying dim sum. Under high ceilings and between interesting concrete blocks less than half the tables were occupied but there was a steady stream of people entering. We ordered a pot of tea (Luckee blend, $6 a pot) while we scanned the Summerlicious menu. I could have filled-up on the hot & sour soup which was very good, as were the crispy shrimp & lobster wontons - although they were more a smallish spring roll. The baked chicken was tender, moist and delicious but I really liked the sticky rice under it. Although described as the typical dim sum “lotus leaf sticky rice,” which usually comes as sticky rice with stuffing wrapped in a lotus leaf, this ditched the lotus leaf and mixed the stuffing with the rice. The cod was cooked perfectly with a tasty soya glaze. My wife found the rice a bit dry. The dessert trio was the best dessert we’ve had at Summerlicious this year. In fact, each of the other restaurants we’ve eaten at this year had a weak appetizer or dessert but Luckee had three balanced courses. Prompt service, excellent food, good value.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

This relatively new restaurant is located next to the Soho Hotel on Wellington Street, and is owned by the celebrity chef Susur Lee. We went there to try out their "Summerlicious" menu and were extremely happy with everything to do with the experience. The decor was upbeat, and the service was knowledgeable, friendly, efficient and effective - never intruding and always helpful, as every staff member could explain the ingredients and the preparation methods for each dish. The Nouveau Asian-French Fusion menu was exquisitely prepared and presented, arriving quickly and tasting wonderful. Cocktails were creative and expertly prepared. Local ingredients were used where possible. The cost was very reasonable for this level of quality, even for the regular menu. Bravo, "Luckee" -we'll be back to try your Dim Sum menu!

Tags: Spicy, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, People Watching, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Very disappointing. After several attempts to get reservations we finally got a reservation and it was clear why. They don't bother to tell customers (on the phone or on the website) that during summerlicious there is a VERY limited menu. The food we did get was ok, not up to our expectations for sure. For $50/person Chinese food I expected better than ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Went for summerlicious. The appetizer and dessert were both memorable, the mains not so much. I'd go back for dim sum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The food was beautiful and very tasty. The service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The service was excellent. There are so many staff supporting each other that diners never feel neglected. Glen was our primary server and was very knowledgeable about the menu and Chef Lee. The food was delicious with very interesting and unique preparations.
My only complaint is that information on the website was not accurate or up to date. There was no mention that the restaurant was participating in Summerlicious and because of this the menu was significantly altered and most items were not available. This was very disappointing for two reasons. Firstly, I had picked out a few things I wanted to try and none of them were being served. Secondly, had we known about Summerlicious we would have checked out the menu ahead of time on the official site and wouldn't have been disappointed upon arrival.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 18, 2017

I have been a big fan of Chef Susur Lee for a long time and was thrilled to finally get to eat at Luckee! When you expect great things you can sometime be let down--that did not happen. I have had duck all over the world and the Luckee duck was the best one ever! We also had the Luckee basket and the chicken pot stickers. Every bite amazing. The depth of flavors very impressive. So it it great when an experience lives up to your expectations! Also the service was very good. There are many choices in Toronto you should not miss Luckee.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Very unprofessional service manual. It seemed asian oriented service mind. Whatever you ask something for courtesy, they will come back with "just no", even no other option, taking an easy route, because the the asian kitchen wouldn't like to accept extra work. I could see that, as I am working in this industry too. I couldn't have much salt because of my medical condition. It is not demanding at all asking steamed rice and stir fried vegetables at a chinese restsurant. It was even at 5pm, tables didn't even fill up. Don't even understand why they trying to keep the kitchen open eventhough it is messy and disorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

As always with Susur Lee the food is fantastic. Best Hot and Sour Soup I have ever had and the whole meal from beginning to end was excellent. Staff were pleasant and attentive. Only real quibble is that the food came on very quickly and things felt a bit rushed. The Mellow Manhattan was a tasty, smooth take on the Manhattan.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was a wonderful dinner! I love Susur Lee and haven't had a chance to go to this restaurant yet. We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I had the pre-fixe which consisted of a crispy cod wrap (cod inside a spring roll), "melt in your mouth" beef short rib and a trio of desserts (mango sorbet, seasame donut and chocolate roll with raspberry coulis). Very delicious, just enough food, very good presentation. Did I mention very delicious? Just in case I didn't, it was very delicious.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was very tasty but service was lacking....and the bill was plopped down without asking how the meal was and whether we wanted coffee or tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 12, 2017

My friends and I went for Summerlicous. The food was amazing, so tasty. The short ribs fell apart with chopsticks, and the dessert trio was a great combination. I had wanted to go to this restaurant for a long time, and now I am so happy I was able to experience it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Went to Luckee restaurant for a Summerlicious Lunch. Being a foodie and watching Susur Lee on television was the motivation to dine at one of his elite restaurants in the beautiful Toronto Soho Hotel. Summerlicious would give me the opportunity to enjoy a meal at a more reasonable rate. The service, ambience and overall presentation of the food was top notch. Even though I enjoyed the lunch of crispy shrimp wantons, baked chicken and a lovely dessert trio, somehow I left underwhelmed. Lunch for two with one beverage each was $90.00.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We came in for the summerlicious menu but we left with disappointment. The portions were really small and we were quite underwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Did not realize it was summerlicious, menu was short and underwhelming.
Wish we had been given the chance to order from the regular line up.
Oh well! Can't have it perfect all the time.
We won't be going out again till this so called food event is over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food and drinks. Love the dim sum and its preparation. Service was great too and not too overselling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We told our server that we needed our service before I certain time and it wasn't met. The server comped a portion of our meal which was very generous!! The food was amazing and the service was amazing ! Very happy for our first visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Good atmosphere, host was very nice, and the lobster was incredible. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Always a treat!!! I really missed the duck crepes with the fois gras though. But still beat dim sum in the city.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The food is exquisite and beyond my expectation, it was such a joyful experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great food, amazing drinks, fast service highly recommended

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Luckee was creative and full of interesting flavors. Unique Dim Sum. We highly recommend trying this restaurant. We also suggest diners try menu items they haven't in the past. You will be rewarded for stepping out of the box.

t

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Healthy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Yummy food, great ambiance! Would go there again another time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.