About Luckee Restaurant

328 Wellington St W
Toronto, ON M5V 3T4
View Larger Map

Luckee Restaurant and Bar - the much anticipated "Nouvelle Chinoise" restaurant by culinary superstar and television personality Susur Lee.



Luckee features Chinese cuisine at its most sophisticated, with comforting and recognizable recipes of classic dishes and dim sum for the culinary traditions of Guangzhou, Hunan and Szechuan regions, updated and enhanced by Chef Lee's delectable signature.



The interiors subtly blend accents of imperial red and wall-to-wall panels of dynastic architecture, with a nod to 20th century Chinoiserie.



Luckee Bar, already a favourite of locals and travellers alike, boasts themed as well as classical cocktails, an extensive wine list, and an urban vibe that is one-of-a-kind.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian, Global, International

Hours of Operation:

Monday: Closed

Tuesday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Wednesday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Thursday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Friday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Saturday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Saturday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Sunday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Blue Jays Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 935-0400

Website:
http://www.luckeerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Luckee offers discounted parking in the underground parkade of the Soho Metropolitan hotel.

Tues. - Sun. dinner - $20 for 3 hours
Weekend brunch - $10 for 2 hours

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Susur Lee

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Luckee Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (36)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Good for a Date (26)
Modern Decor (25)
Casual (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fun (16)
Authentic (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Family Style (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Spicy (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Healthy (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Tapas (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Cozy (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Vegan (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
502 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Well worth a visit. Beautiful, intricat ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Well worth a visit. Beautiful, intricate, sophisticated food. Most importantly, everything was delicious. Excellent knowledgeable about the food, relaxed, competent waiter.

I look forward to returning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Although the food was good, it was not g ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Although the food was good, it was not good value for the money for the dishes we ordered. Four tiny dumplings for $13? Hmm. Service was quick and friendly, however.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Excelente, el arroz cantones de lo mejor ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excelente, el arroz cantones de lo mejor que he probado

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Everything was fantastic: food, service, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was fantastic: food, service, and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent though the portions a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent though the portions a little small; service great;ambiance nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have to start by saying I love this re ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have to start by saying I love this restaurant BUT The New Year's Eve menu was a rip off. For $88/person we could have ordered plenty from the regular menu. The lobster dish was awful. The rice came at the end when there was nothing else to eat with it. Who eats rice by itself? The only decent dessert was the waffle. Overall a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Dining out new year's eve can be a night ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dining out new year's eve can be a nightmare...this one was awesome. They had a set menu plus the regular a la carte. Have been here several times before and it continues to amaze. Creative, delicious Chinese food like you have never had before. Can't recommend it enough.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I'm such a huge fan of Sur Lee's restaur ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I'm such a huge fan of Sur Lee's restaurant Bent, that I needed to try his others. I found that I really love Luckee too.

Superb Food and Amazing Waiting Staff!! Great location which makes me love Toronto even more!!

I'm from London U.K. Now living in Canada.

Thank You for being the Best and doing the Best for us to enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Christmas dinner

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great variations of traditional dishes w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great variations of traditional dishes with obvious quality. Definitely worth return visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This is a great restaurant on so many le ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is a great restaurant on so many levels blending the best of modern restaurants with a creatively nuanced take on the traditional Chinese food we have enjoyed in Toronto for many years. Great for Celiacs with customized versions of many menu items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved it !!! Price was a bit high , bu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I loved it !!! Price was a bit high , but worth it. I will go back , and I live in Kitchener.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dishes were either soggy or oily (both i ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Dishes were either soggy or oily (both in flavour and in texture). Have had significantly better dim sum experiences at several other restaurants in Toronto - Ha Gow Dim Sum House being one. The atmosphere here is lovelier than most, but having made reservations, and arriving to find the restaurant largely empty, we were disappointed to be seated at the table in front of the door to the kitchen. Our server was helpful and had a great sense of humour, and the meal arrived quickly. Overall a "m'eh" experience, unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Came for dim sum with a friend. Food is ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Came for dim sum with a friend. Food is excellent, although a bit on the expensive side. The shrimp cheung fun seemed to be a bit chewy and not as crisp as other times I've been. Still worth a visit. Overall great.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great tasty food! A very Chinese menu w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great tasty food! A very Chinese menu with the typical Chinese dim sum and family style sharing dinner menu but with some interesting twists. People should note that if you do not eat pork, most of the tasty dim sum is not available to you (even the seafood ones) because they are fried in pork fat.

From what I had:

  • Lobster & Asparagus dumpling - really good!

  • Dungeness crab ravioli - just ok

  • Rice rolls (I had the veggie one) - REALLY GOOD! Especially since I am not a fan of rice rolls

  • Turnip cake - pretty good but (I hope this is not blasphemous) i do like the congie queen one better

  • Steamed bass - pretty good but my husband's is better

  • Kung pao shrimp - I don't normally like these types of dishes but this was SOOOO GOOD too! Maybe the best thing I had here.

  • Both soups - just ok but wouldn't order either again.

I didn't get to try most of the stuff I wanted to because my friends don't eat pork and I couldn't eat so much dim sum by myself but I definitely want to go back with my husband and try the rest!

Overall pretty good... I guess I had really high expectations for a Susur restaurant so my ratings reflect that my expectations were not really met at that high a level. May have loved it if I did not have those expectations...

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great atmosphere and great food. Prefec ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great atmosphere and great food. Prefect for business dinners.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals always are great. I would be g ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our meals always are great. I would be good to have more choice of dim sum on the dinner menu. The service is efficient and friendly. But the bills climb quickly.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I've already left a review on Trip Advis ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I've already left a review on Trip Advisor, but to suffice it to say, Luckee does not disappoint in terms of quality, authenticity and flavour. Creative spin on traditional foods. Worth every penny.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Spicy, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's not that Luckee is without its meri ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It's not that Luckee is without its merits, but as an avid eater of Chinese cuisine, growing up with weekly Har-gow marathons every Sunday with the fam, the dim sum portion of my meal was disappointing, especially with the sticker price attached. The Har gow was over steamed, skin falling off and sticking to the plate, chicken potstickers were not crispy, for ($8) per serving, that's a lot of screw up on when I can gorge like an emperor at any other dumpling house. The shrimp cheung fun was tasty, with a meaty portion of shrimp along with the perfect crunch of crispy, with only 4 pieces ($8), I was told that the plate had downsized from the past. That, was definitely not worth the value. As for the other items, we had the fried Lotus Root, which was delicious, especially as leftovers ($18). The Luckee duck, Susar Lee's take on the Peking Duck, with juicy duck breast with skin, and traditional sauce sides along with a super savory foie gras parfait, with apple and green onion condiments, that indeed was my favorite ($33?). Other notables were the scallops, and seasonal veggies. The Cantonese fried rice was alright, with dried scallops, bacon edamame, to be honest I'm doing this from memory. The ingredients were fresh, and food was tasty, perhaps some was not well executed, for the price and for Chinese food, it's a little inflated for what you get. Not sad like mall Chinese food (hey, I'd still eat that), just a disappointment like if you're a Chinese dad and your son drops out of med school to be pursue music.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The dim sum was some of the best, most o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The dim sum was some of the best, most of the mains were great although I was very disappointed in the sticky rice for 24$. The service was very slow however. Would go back but would just stick with the dim sum next time

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

One of the best Chinese food experiences ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

One of the best Chinese food experiences I've had in the GTA.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Ate here last minute while visiting Toro ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Ate here last minute while visiting Toronto. WOW. The best and most creative chinese cuisine that I have had in years! The Luckee Duck was absolutely delicious. And the combination appetizer was perfect. Great wine list too. I have recommended it to lots of my friends and will definitely come back here next time I am in Toronto!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and service. Dumplings ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great atmosphere and service. Dumplings were amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at Luckee last night with my son ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We ate at Luckee last night with my son and his wife. My son ordered as he was familiar with the dishes offered. We had some Sauvignon Blanc, French, which was quite good. My preference is still New Zealand. We had 8 plates which we shared. 2 Dim Sum, 2 Seafood, 2 Vegetables, a rice dish and noodles. All were excellent and we finished them all plus a dessert plate.

I go by the restaurant often and the aromas wafting from the kitchen are wonderful. We will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice, but very expensive for dim su ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very nice, but very expensive for dim sum. Some standouts were the fried rice and broccoli. The restaurant itself was beautiful and the service was great.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was excellent, service was great! V ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was excellent, service was great! Very reasonable prices for the quality of the meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative, delicate and delicious Chinese ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Creative, delicate and delicious Chinese cuisine. Enough options for vegetarians in our group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time here. Love the place the foo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Second time here. Love the place the food and the service. A gourmet version of Asian food with decor to match. Another hit from the Susur empire

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were great, and very ha ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service and food were great, and very happy to have had Jenny take care of our table of 6.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The best fresh dim sum I have had. Grea ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The best fresh dim sum I have had. Great ambiance, great menu and wine selection. The staff was fun and knowledgeable and great assistance with food selection.

Dinner out with my family and it was a hit. Great downtown location with parking possibility across the street.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Fun, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love this restaurant for the quality ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We Love this restaurant for the quality of food, and the dishes are unique! We told our server what we had last time, and asked him to suggest some different dishes. He did Not disappoint us. It was Fantastic!😀

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food that's great for sharing ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Delicious food that's great for sharing and trying a bit of everything.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Spicy, Family Style, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The open part of the restaurant is quite ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The open part of the restaurant is quite basic but the food was excellent as was the service. The price is on the high side. The food was served quickly and hot. We enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Two couple attended last Saturday night. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Two couple attended last Saturday night. Welcomed enthusiastically by hostess. Bartender came out to take our drink order. Our waiter Kazi, was friendly, helpful and helped to make for a great experience. We worked through Kazi and the chef to create our own dinner plan.

The dishes were fresh and flavourful with a lot of variety.

Highly recommended

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Spicy, Healthy, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

i found the food rich/heavy handed with ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

i found the food rich/heavy handed with condiments/flavours and not as fresh and subtle as Lee's other restaurants. Music was club like which for me is not restaurant friendly for conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I've made coming to Luckee a tradition f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I've made coming to Luckee a tradition for my girlfriend's birthday and they haven't let us down since day one. The food was great, service was amazing, the tradition will continue!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food tasty and imaginative with one exce ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food tasty and imaginative with one exception:- The Fortune Chicken is a 4" x 4" wrap of sticky rice and chicken. Thats it. There is about 2oz of chicken inside. For $24 not very good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Susur Lee is a master at creating a gorg ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Susur Lee is a master at creating a gorgeous and delicious dining experience. I have always been delighted by his creations since going to Lotus in the late '80s. Luckee is no exception.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was hit and miss. Pros: The c ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food was hit and miss.

Pros: The crab ravoli was quite lovely and so was the Soba salad. The lobster in the won ton noodles was good and quite large. The sesame balls were quite yummy and fresh. The lychee sorbet was quite nice as well.

Cons: The lobster cheung fun was not worth double the price of the shrimp cheung fun. There should really be more lobster if you are charging that price. The lobster won ton has only 2 pieces but should really be 3. Too much noodles for a dish with only 2 dumplings. Noodles was also bland so thankfully for the hot and sour soup that gave it some flavour.

The Luckee duck bowl was ok. The sticker rice wasn't flavorful and too much hoi sin sauce.

Overall, okay but for the price, expected more flavour if the portions are smaller. Would come back for some of the dishes though. Just need to learn what to order and what not to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

High priced food that was tasteless and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

High priced food that was tasteless and didn't live up to its billing. A disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.