About Luckee Restaurant

328 Wellington St W
Toronto, ON M5V 3T4
View Larger Map

Luckee Restaurant and Bar - the much anticipated "Nouvelle Chinoise" restaurant by culinary superstar and television personality Susur Lee.



Luckee features Chinese cuisine at its most sophisticated, with comforting and recognizable recipes of classic dishes and dim sum for the culinary traditions of Guangzhou, Hunan and Szechuan regions, updated and enhanced by Chef Lee's delectable signature.



The interiors subtly blend accents of imperial red and wall-to-wall panels of dynastic architecture, with a nod to 20th century Chinoiserie.



Luckee Bar, already a favourite of locals and travellers alike, boasts themed as well as classical cocktails, an extensive wine list, and an urban vibe that is one-of-a-kind.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian, Global, International

Hours of Operation:

Monday: Closed

Tuesday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Wednesday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Thursday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Friday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Saturday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Saturday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Sunday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Blue Jays Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 935-0400

Website:
http://www.luckeerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Luckee offers discounted parking in the underground parkade of the Soho Metropolitan hotel.

Tues. - Sun. dinner - $20 for 3 hours
Weekend brunch - $10 for 2 hours

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Susur Lee

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Luckee Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (43)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Modern Decor (23)
Casual (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Fun (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Authentic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Healthy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Family Style (11)
Romantic (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Spicy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Tapas (7)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vegan (5)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Dancing (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere and service. Dumplings ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere and service. Dumplings were amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at Luckee last night with my son ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

We ate at Luckee last night with my son and his wife. My son ordered as he was familiar with the dishes offered. We had some Sauvignon Blanc, French, which was quite good. My preference is still New Zealand. We had 8 plates which we shared. 2 Dim Sum, 2 Seafood, 2 Vegetables, a rice dish and noodles. All were excellent and we finished them all plus a dessert plate.

I go by the restaurant often and the aromas wafting from the kitchen are wonderful. We will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice, but very expensive for dim su ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice, but very expensive for dim sum. Some standouts were the fried rice and broccoli. The restaurant itself was beautiful and the service was great.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was excellent, service was great! V ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent, service was great! Very reasonable prices for the quality of the meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative, delicate and delicious Chinese ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Creative, delicate and delicious Chinese cuisine. Enough options for vegetarians in our group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time here. Love the place the foo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Second time here. Love the place the food and the service. A gourmet version of Asian food with decor to match. Another hit from the Susur empire

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were great, and very ha ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service and food were great, and very happy to have had Jenny take care of our table of 6.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The best fresh dim sum I have had. Grea ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The best fresh dim sum I have had. Great ambiance, great menu and wine selection. The staff was fun and knowledgeable and great assistance with food selection.

Dinner out with my family and it was a hit. Great downtown location with parking possibility across the street.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Fun, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love this restaurant for the quality ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We Love this restaurant for the quality of food, and the dishes are unique! We told our server what we had last time, and asked him to suggest some different dishes. He did Not disappoint us. It was Fantastic!😀

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The open part of the restaurant is quite ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The open part of the restaurant is quite basic but the food was excellent as was the service. The price is on the high side. The food was served quickly and hot. We enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Two couple attended last Saturday night. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Two couple attended last Saturday night. Welcomed enthusiastically by hostess. Bartender came out to take our drink order. Our waiter Kazi, was friendly, helpful and helped to make for a great experience. We worked through Kazi and the chef to create our own dinner plan.

The dishes were fresh and flavourful with a lot of variety.

Highly recommended

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Spicy, Healthy, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

i found the food rich/heavy handed with ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

i found the food rich/heavy handed with condiments/flavours and not as fresh and subtle as Lee's other restaurants. Music was club like which for me is not restaurant friendly for conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I've made coming to Luckee a tradition f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I've made coming to Luckee a tradition for my girlfriend's birthday and they haven't let us down since day one. The food was great, service was amazing, the tradition will continue!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food tasty and imaginative with one exce ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food tasty and imaginative with one exception:- The Fortune Chicken is a 4" x 4" wrap of sticky rice and chicken. Thats it. There is about 2oz of chicken inside. For $24 not very good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Susur Lee is a master at creating a gorg ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Susur Lee is a master at creating a gorgeous and delicious dining experience. I have always been delighted by his creations since going to Lotus in the late '80s. Luckee is no exception.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was hit and miss. Pros: The c ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food was hit and miss.

Pros: The crab ravoli was quite lovely and so was the Soba salad. The lobster in the won ton noodles was good and quite large. The sesame balls were quite yummy and fresh. The lychee sorbet was quite nice as well.

Cons: The lobster cheung fun was not worth double the price of the shrimp cheung fun. There should really be more lobster if you are charging that price. The lobster won ton has only 2 pieces but should really be 3. Too much noodles for a dish with only 2 dumplings. Noodles was also bland so thankfully for the hot and sour soup that gave it some flavour.

The Luckee duck bowl was ok. The sticker rice wasn't flavorful and too much hoi sin sauce.

Overall, okay but for the price, expected more flavour if the portions are smaller. Would come back for some of the dishes though. Just need to learn what to order and what not to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

High priced food that was tasteless and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

High priced food that was tasteless and didn't live up to its billing. A disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We were a group of 5 which was good as w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were a group of 5 which was good as we were able to try a variety of the entree dishes.

The textures and multiple flavours of the food and sauces were incredible.

The wait staff was just ok. Very pleasant and somewhat helpful in ordering but not very attentive. Having said that, I would still go back or recommend Luckee to others.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Best Dim Sum I have ever had.......every ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Best Dim Sum I have ever had.......everything we tried was great. Good location, polite and well trained staff. Be back for sure!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All I can say the food didn't wow me nor ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

All I can say the food didn't wow me nor did it disappoint me. Maybe it was the high expectation I had of going to Susur Lee's restaurant. The Cheung fun, Xiao Long Bao, Cod and the duck was good. A bit disappointed on the other dishes, The Malay beef description was better written than what was presented on the plate and also the server was not flexible in changing meat instead of seafood in a fried rice. So if you have fussy kids who don’t eat seafood. I have had better experiences at Kwan’s or Lai Wah Heen or eating at any high end Chinese restaurant in HK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

After doing some research to find a nice ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

After doing some research to find a nice place for dim-sum, I came across Luckee. My best friend and I went to the Museum first and then took an $11 cab to the restaurant. The atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for... and the food was AMAZInNG!!!! We ordered most of the dim-sum variety....and we both agreed they were all delicious!! We were in- toxicated with flavor and continue to rave about this spot. We will definetly be going back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious. A few good veg options too. T ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Delicious. A few good veg options too. This post needs to be at least 50 characters.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for our Wedding Anniversary. The f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Went for our Wedding Anniversary. The food was truly very good

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food: elegant, delicate, origina ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Amazing food: elegant, delicate, original and absolutely tasty.

The interior is slick and design with a Chinese style. Ambiance is loungy.

The downside part: the place was pretty empty that night (Wednesday evening at 8.00pm) and hence lack of ambiance. The service was not optimal: the various plates of food were brought too quick and the drinks refill took too long, which is hard to understand since the place was not busy at all. It leads me to think that the staff is not well trained in comparison to what a client would expect from a restaurant of Suri Lee.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It more fits non-Chinese taste, a little ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2016

It more fits non-Chinese taste, a little bit pricy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Usually I have an excellent experience f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Usually I have an excellent experience for dinner. However the Sunday Dim Sum was very slow, had poor selection, and did not have the Dim Sum cart prepared until an hour into our meal.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very pleased, excellent food and service ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very pleased, excellent food and service. A place where you can go with a date or friends or even solo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Susur Lee has done a few great restauran ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Susur Lee has done a few great restaurants. So worth trying the food.

The servers were not trained very well. As they were all over us in the beginning to order when we just sat down.

Then when the restaurant was busier, I had to call servers over twice to fill water. We poured our own wine besides the initial pour from the server and our empty upside down bottle sat at the table for our whole dinner.

As quick as they were, I'm lucky they save me from ordering a desert drink.

To top it off, Parking was $27.70 and when i was asked by the service staff if i had a ticket for parking, I gave it to them. I was charged $17 on the bill THEN when i went downstairs, I had to pay an additional $10 with my credit card. So how does that help?

You minus well just take the full parking on the bill so i don't have to pay twice. or pay for your patrons' parking. Our bill was $300 so not cheap.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

It was my 3rd time at the Luckee restaur ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was my 3rd time at the Luckee restaurant and we were not dissapointed.

Great place! Delicious food as always. We loved everything about this place. Very good services. We will definitely will come again

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I was so happy to find out Chef Lee had ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I was so happy to find out Chef Lee had a restaurant in the hotel I booked for our weekend getaway. Luckee did not disappoint. Everything from the dim sum, to the duck, and finally the ginger creme brûlée was beautifully presented and and a delight to the pallet. The open kitchen was also a treat for this Top Chef Masters fan. My only frustration is that I must get back to Toronto soon to try Chef's other restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Healthy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is ok but selection is ridiculous l ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Food is ok but selection is ridiculous limited. When we were there, three items were not available so essentially we have just a few items to choose from. that was not good experience

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great food and service.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the third time I have been to Lu ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is the third time I have been to Luckee - and it has been very good each time. The Dim sum - pretty every type on the menu - is excellent, and the larger dishes are perfect for sharing. Overall we had a great experience and can recommend Luckee to anyone looking for a higher end and somewhat unique dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the food was amazing, the server very kn ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

the food was amazing, the server very knowledgeable, and willing to explain the menu. The atmosphere very nice, overall a great night out. We will go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, was good but not worth the pri ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food, was good but not worth the price. They were out of almost half the dim sum options when we arrived and it was only 8 pm! The duck was the best dish we had , but the dim sum was just ok and paying $6 for one xialong bao is crazy!! It didn't taste any better than the ones you can get at Asian Legend. Service was also just ok, we got our food way before our drinks came and we often had to flag down our waiter to get service. Overall I wouldn't recommend this restaurant. The food was not so special that it was worth the paying double what you would pay at a normal dim sum restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

From the very start the experience was p ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 7, 2016

From the very start the experience was poor, as most of the dim sum menu was unavailable due to the chef being on long term leave. Very poor service - two of four dishes ordered came out wrong and one didn't come out at all - without so much as an acknowledgement of apology from the completely clueless waitress. I am surprised by this poor quality all around given Susur's reputation. I will not be back to Luckee and will make sure my friends and family don't go either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Nice traditional Chinese decor. Deliciou ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Nice traditional Chinese decor. Delicious Chinese fusion dishes. Small portion but taste really good. I would recommend the Luckee duck and the ribs. The dim-sums are great but it's a bit pricy for the portion.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was amazing! Im still thinking abou ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was amazing! Im still thinking about it and my mouths watering.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Enjoyed my dinner very much Service was ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Enjoyed my dinner very much

Service was pleasant, food was delicious

Loved my wine as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Unfortunately we went for dinner and sev ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Unfortunately we went for dinner and several dim sum options were not available because they had ran out of stock during lunch time. Service was amazing and food was pretty good although a bit oily/rich. Overall I would recommend for a business meal but it is on the pricey end.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.