About Luckee Restaurant

Luckee Restaurant and Bar - the much anticipated "Nouvelle Chinoise" restaurant by culinary superstar and television personality Susur Lee.



Luckee features Chinese cuisine at its most sophisticated, with comforting and recognizable recipes of classic dishes and dim sum for the culinary traditions of Guangzhou, Hunan and Szechuan regions, updated and enhanced by Chef Lee's delectable signature.



The interiors subtly blend accents of imperial red and wall-to-wall panels of dynastic architecture, with a nod to 20th century Chinoiserie.



Luckee Bar, already a favourite of locals and travellers alike, boasts themed as well as classical cocktails, an extensive wine list, and an urban vibe that is one-of-a-kind.

328 Wellington St W
Toronto, ON M5V 3T4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian, Dim Sum

Hours of Operation:

Monday: Closed

Tuesday Lunch: 12:00 - 2:00pm

Tuesday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Wednesday Lunch: 12:00 - 2:00pm

Wednesday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Thursday Lunch: 12:00 - 2:00pm

Thursday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Friday Lunch: 12:00 - 2:00pm

Friday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Saturday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Saturday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Sunday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Blue Jays Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 935-0400

Website:
http://www.luckeerestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Susur Lee

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Luckee Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Authentic (20)
Casual (19)
Tapas (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Romantic (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Spicy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Healthy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort by
S
691 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Susur Lee is a celebrity chef (at his nearby restaurant, Lee, the staff will even inform you of that, if you didn’t know it.) Still, the food is a series of excellent creations from an imaginative craftsman. Every dish was visually appealing, flavourful and, to my knowledge, unique. The beef dish is the tenderest of its kind I have ever tasted.

The menu is not cheap, but worth every penny. Go there for a special occasion or when you need to impress.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

Excellent food and service. Restaurant was a bit loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Great food. Great service. Interesting but incredibly tasty twists on classic dim sum.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Excellent meal with a terrific server, Parisa. First time there but will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Great and quick service. Excellent food. Can’t wait to return

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

As the evening wore on the restaurant became quite noisy so not an ideal location for conversation. The food was amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2017

My second time. Very high quality food, prepared with close attention.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Fabulous and creative Dim Sum experience. First class in every way. Loved the attention to detail. Amazing and beautiful food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Every bite was a delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

As someone from Hong Kong, I still prefer the Dim Sum found on the Hwy 7. However if you want to impress your date, do bring them there as the atmosphere and services are excellent! The food are OK in my opinion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2017

The staff at the restaurant was excellent. We were a group of 7, and one of us is extremely allergic to onions. Our waitress made sure there would be no issues, and spoke with the chef to make modifications to any dishes that contained onions. Everything tasted absolutely amazing, and the chef was able to modify all but one dish, and for that one dish our waitress made sure to let us know that there were onions, so we could ensure he didn't try that one. Hats off to all the restaurant staff who made sure we had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2017

We love Luckee. It is consistently high quality, creative, delicious food in a lovely environment.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 21, 2017

we had a pretty good lunch on Tuesday Nov 20th. The shrimp chung fan was as good as advertised. We also had 2 lunch bowls: the lobster wonton lo mein and the BBQ Beef short rib w rice. It was an interesting tale on some traditional Chinese dishes...we don't love the lobster lo mein but we understand why it was prepared the way it was. We also had a side of the fried rice - really good. The dessert mango pudding was amazing! Our service was really good too. (A male server from Athens, Greece). Very attentive and honest about how he feels for the dishes. Overall a very good dining experience. May come back and try for supper.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

I read reviews of Luckee, and the real experience did not disappoint. Service is excellent. All dim sum were perfectly cooked—none of the overcooked, falling apart dumplings that you sometimes encounter in dim sum restaurants.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Everything is absolutely delicious! It really is a fantastic dining experience.
Pros:
- Extensive selection from "cautious" (not boring) to exotic. Everything we ordered was delicious.
- Comfortable, vibrant setting
- Offer a great sake selection
- Service is professional but freindly

Cons:
- Not really a "con" but a tip - We ordered everything at one time and several things came all at once. I'd recommend ordering one or two items and then ordering when those arrive :)

Tip:
- Plan to park and walk (if you're driving); there is limited parking right at the restaurant and no valet (maybe the SoHo hotel has a service, but not sure). I'd recommend the parking garage on Windsor (south of Wellington) - It's right around the corner and indoor. There is also an outdoor parking lot on Windsor but it fills up in a hurry...

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Delicious as always!
We liked everything except the lobster hot and sour soup noodle bowl was so-so. Love the hot and sour on it's own, and liked the lobster wontons but all together it want my favourite. Would have preferred a bowl of the soup.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Tapas, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Really great service, excellent food, great time with friends.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Excellent service mais nourriture ordinaire et trop chère. Choix de musique inadéquat par rapport à l'ambiance du restaurant. Beau décor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Excellent food. Knowledgeable staff and lovely environment. Great variety of dishes. The duck is fabulous. I do think the waitstaff could be slight less quick to bus a drink or a plate. There is a bit too much emphasis on getting you to order the next thing.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Very creative menu options, but the portion sizes do no satiate.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Cool decor / atmosphere but the food was disappointing. We had variety of dim sum plates. None were very good. We also had mooshu duck. It had very little meat (mostly skin) and the plum sauce was very heavy -I'm betting it came from a jar. My friend ate very little. The restaurant was nearly empty when we walked in (Saturday at 6pm) we shouldn't have stayed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The meal started off poorly as our server, Anwar, came off as very pushy. When I was placing my order and told him one of us would like the express lunch, he abruptly interrupted me and didn't let me finish my order, he said "I wouldn't spend $32 on that lunch if it were me", I didn't know how to respond so I asked him what should I be getting then? He insisted that the express lunch set for one was not worth it and that I should consider just ordering off the menu, which to me seemed as though he wanted me to spend more money. I insisted that one of us wanted the express lunch anyways. On the side I had the abalone dumpling, xiao long bao, shrimp cheung funand taro fries. The taro fries with the truffle aioli was fantastic. The xiao long bao was a real let down. As soon as I picked up the dumpling, it fell apart, which is a sign of the wrapper not being done correctly. I couldn't taste the abalone in the abalone dumpling and that was a let down. The ship cheung fun was outstanding and now Luckee is the only place I would ever touch a cheung fun. The luckee basket that came with the express lunch had four different dumplings inside. All of them tasted like they would at any run of the mill dim sum place. The other two items we got were off the cart, a fried lobster dumpling and a chive black pepper bun, both which were very good. The sesame ball dessert that came with the express lunch was nothing special. When it was time to pay, Anwar stood right behind my dining partner, as if he was watching how much we were going to tip. Usually servers stand off to the side or just walk away, but Anwar made sure to stand right where he could see the interact terminal. It's disappointing that Anwar left such a bad taste in our mouth because the rest of the service staff were outstanding and made us feel very welcomed. In summary, some of the items on the menu need to be looked at or a review on the way they are executed needs to be evaluated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Delicious food and attentive service. We love coming here!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Overpriced meal, nice setting; overall better off at another dim sum joint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Delicious food and friendly service. Good value. Ambience is better in the next door bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Great food and wonderful service . Dim sum was great .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Really tremendous experience - the food was perfectly creative and seasoned and our waitress (Steph) was incredibe

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Really great place with great food! Our waitress was also very knowledgeable and a huge help.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2017

The food and drinks were OK to good, although for $200 the portions we received were very small indeed......Could be the most expensive restaurant in Toronto compared to others where the portions are much larger and the prices much lower....

There was a loud, obnoxious lout who was yelling at his table behind us for the whole evening such that he totally ruined the evening for us, but the restaurant employees refused to speak with him and I didn't want to make a scene by asking him to be quiet.....

If you are going to a fine dining restaurant you have to know how to behave....if you want to yell and scream over dinner, go to a sports bar for heavens sake!

We had to move to another table, but the gentlemen's screaming was so loud the rest of the meal was ruined.....

Disappointing to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

We booked our reservation to celebrate our Anniversary. We has no exceptions going in and the food was AMAZING!!! Service was great and our waiter took the time to explain the menu to us. As I am a pescatarian he also took the time to ensure all items would be fine for me.

I do have to say the cod was the best we've ever had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Our food was excellent and Cici was a great server. She was Well informed of the menu and was able to recomend options we enjoyed. Look forward to another dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

We had a very great service! We chose to go with the chief's suggestion and it was delicious! We definitly recommand that restaurant!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The service, food and ambience was amazing! I'd definitely recommend this restaurant to family and friends

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

A very good restaurant, but very pricy for what you're getting.
The food tasted good, but I like to go to places where you get value and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Enjoyed a dinner at Luckee the other night. Was greeted by a lovely hostess and was sitting in a corner booth for more privacy. My waiter Glen had a professional demeanor and helpful with suggesting dishes as their menu had changed slightly. Glad that some of my preferred items were still on the menu. The manager Eric came by and chatted with me a bit making me feel welcome. A nice touch if the manager is around to welcome their patrons even if it's just to say hello, how are you enjoying your meal. The restaurant wasn't too busy at first, but as I left, the place was packed. Would go back for my preferred items (crab ravoli, cheung fun) and hope Glen is still there to serve me as he was genuinely attentive to my needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Best Chinese food in the city! The chef is AMAZING!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2017

This was our first time here and we were just wowed!!!! There were 4 of us and our waiter recommended the chefs tasting menu. Each dish that came out was better than the next. I don’t think you could go wrong with ordering anything from this menu. We can’t wait to go back!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very nice evening

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great place for elegant dim sum. The lobster cheung fun is a "must have". Delicious! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.