About Luckee Restaurant

Luckee Restaurant and Bar - the much anticipated "Nouvelle Chinoise" restaurant by culinary superstar and television personality Susur Lee.



Luckee features Chinese cuisine at its most sophisticated, with comforting and recognizable recipes of classic dishes and dim sum for the culinary traditions of Guangzhou, Hunan and Szechuan regions, updated and enhanced by Chef Lee's delectable signature.



The interiors subtly blend accents of imperial red and wall-to-wall panels of dynastic architecture, with a nod to 20th century Chinoiserie.



Luckee Bar, already a favourite of locals and travellers alike, boasts themed as well as classical cocktails, an extensive wine list, and an urban vibe that is one-of-a-kind.

328 Wellington St W
Toronto, ON M5V 3T4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian, Global, International

Hours of Operation:

Monday: Closed

Tuesday Lunch: 12:00 - 2:00pm

Tuesday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Wednesday Lunch: 12:00 - 2:00pm

Wednesday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Thursday Lunch: 12:00 - 2:00pm

Thursday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Friday Lunch: 12:00 - 2:00pm

Friday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Saturday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Saturday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Sunday Dinner: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Blue Jays Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 935-0400

Website:
http://www.luckeerestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
St. Andrew Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Susur Lee

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Luckee Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (46)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Modern Decor (32)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Authentic (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Tapas (17)
Fun (17)
Casual (17)
Business Meals (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Family Style (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Spicy (10)
Romantic (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quick Bite (5)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The dim sum tastes like they have been ready for a while, not fresh and selling for much more expensive than other dim sum places. The seafood basket is not worth the price, all frozen seafood selling for over $25... the BBQ beef is the only dish I think it's good, fried vermicelly is too dry... anyways, my husband and I were expecting a lot but got very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great, but the service, not so. We were there for our kids' birthday lunch (two families). And by the time we were ready for the birthday cake, which we brought to the restaurant, we were told by one Asian-looking server that there was a $3 charge for each person present, to ensure food safety. He was not friendly and his tone was provoking. He was basically saying: $3 per person, including the two three-year-olds. That's our policy. Do you want to eat here or not? That was very disappointing to say the least. It was not about the money, it was about the attitude, the passive aggressive tone and the disrespect behind the seemingly neutral expressions.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 7 days ago

They were very accommodating to my dinner companion's allergy requirements. The sea bass was outstanding followed closely behind by the boneless ribs. The Green Beans were way too salty for my taste, but overall a very good dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Great atmosphere and fantastic food! The service was excellent- we couldn't decide on what to order so a tasting menu was recommended (we were able to decide on price per person). The food was so unique and incredible, a real treat!

Tags: Private Room, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Grateful we made a reservation - the place is packed (both dining room and lounge areas)! The 'pretty' host is strictly window dressing - he was very nice but severely lacking in polish. Our server was sharp as a razor - efficient, knowledgeable, polite and very welcoming - she knew the menu, proper food timing and wine pairings. Bar staff were tardy and ill timed - our server stepped in and corrected things. Stand outs were the Cheung Fun (lobster) and Marble Dungeness Crab Ravioli. Great eve - will be going back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Casual, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was delicious, atmosphere was fun, and service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The quality of the food here is really outstanding
The dim sum is different and delicious
I love it here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was great. I feel that the service could have been more proactive, instead of reactive. It is not a high volume restaurant, the service should never been felt routine. I felt that the waiter did not get to know us, he is an order taker, not a sales ambassador.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very interesting twist on dim sum. Fun flavours.

Goji berry should have been put on top of the shaomai after steaming for more colour, and the chicken and shrimp dumpling with truffle should have been steamed separately from the other things on the tasting menu, as the truffle flavour contaminated the other dumplings.

Everything else was perfect and it was quite a welcome difference from normal dim sum.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Tapas, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everything was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

They cook meat well. Nice environment. Attentive server. Under whelmed by overall food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Lovely ambience and fabulous food. Hard to pick a favourite dish as there was not one I would not want to eat again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Staff seemed stuck up and miserable. The short ribs were good, Cheung Fun was ok. The sea bass and Chinese greens were bland. The music was this annoying looped trance beat. The place looks nice but I expected way more from Chef Lee.

Tags: Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent dim sum. Best radish cake and cheung fun. Next time will come back to have dim sum cart service in addition to menu items. Not boring run of the mill dim sum .....distinct fresh flavours abound. We usually drown our dim sum in sriraccha sauce but to do this to Luckee's dim sum would be a heinous crime. Not as cheap as other dim sums but very good value considering the complicated excellent flavours. We will definitely return. Also great funky atmosphere, family friendly as well as couple friendly. Excellent service with first questions regarding potential food allergies, dislikes. We are still talking about it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food. Decent prices. Great for dim sum Sunday's

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing dim sum in a great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was excellent, although with hungry teens and young men, some portions are small.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Had a great time, food was excellent. Server was very helpful with selecting menu items as it was first time at a dim sum restaurant. Will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Every morsel of food (and wine) was a delight. Service was fantastic as well. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was incredible, but more importantly the food was amazing, tons of flavour and very unique.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food. Decent price. Duck was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here. Food was great and recommendations provided by our server were spot on. I have a shellfish food allergy and they had plenty of yummy options for me. It would had been nice to know which ordered dish was being delivered to our table when ready. We found that the price for alcohol (Wine) to be on the pricey side.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Way overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The quality of the food is good but the portions were small.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My two girlfriends and I had dinner at Luckee and had the worst experience. The food was gross with absolutely no flavor and cold. This was during winterlicious neither of us liked any of the dishes we ordered. The service is terrible too. We ended up going to another place for dinner and enjoyed it very much. Save your money and time and avoid going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Such a wonderful restaurant to spend time at with friends. Will definitely go back. We loved every dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was quite blend. Portions were rather cheap on the proteins. Not once did the wait staff ask us how the food was, as if they knew it wasn't very good. EXTREMELY overpriced. There are a lot of dissapointing restaurants in Toronto, this one ranks top amongst them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Small portions and rushed service during winterlicious. Why don't restaurants get this is about an investment in marketing and not trying to short the customer just because of the winterlicious promotion. I won't be back unfortunately. Lee is much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The service was up to the level we've come to expect of a Susur Lee eatery: friendly, not familiar, attentive, knowledgeable. Magnificent room! Winterlicious menu was uninspired: the hot-sour soup was strictly Chinese diner standard-issue, the Luckee Soba Salad insipid, the General Tso beef sugary. Will return for Dim Sum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our first visit and the food was excellent and we defineley will return.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Came for winterlicious, food was average at best. Chicken was dry as dust, dishes placed too much emphasis on soy sauce. Bean crumb was excellent however. Nothing else was spectacular or much of an interesting take on basic dim sum.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Came for winterlicious - love it !! Waiter offered to split something 3-way (for a app we shared). If the winterlicious food portion is bigger, will be better. A little confusion with kitchen / server - food came to wrong person and another plate came twice. Otherwise, unique take on dim sum and Cantonese food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I went to luckee to take advantage of the winterlicious menu. While the offerings seemed great in paper, the reality was lacking. The hot and sour soup tasted great but there was very little of it. The crispy shrimp was good but underwhelming as only four pieces and served on plain rice with steamed broccoli. The next star of the meal was the dessert which was where my date and I finally felt we got value as it tasted delicious, was presented well and the portion size made sense. Overall, parts of the meal were great but I would rather have spent the money on another restaurant that made use of Winterlicious to connect with other clientele

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I've been to Luckee last year and it was memorable....but not this time. Chicken dishes were average. Best feature are appetizers, dim sum and cocktails. Stay in bar area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food was very good. The service was great. The best part was the triple dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Winterlicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was impeccably prepared and presented. Dim sum suggestions from our waiter were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was good, slightly overpriced, not sure if I'd go back, good to try once.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had the Winterlicious menu and cocktails. Some dishes were pretty good (the ribs), but most were a bit bland (the chicken salad was for sure not "mouthwatering," it was watery and tasted like the chicken was boiled and underseasoned), and the asian coq au vin had barely any chicken at all, but the sticky rice was interesting. I don't think I'd go back, I'm sorry to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Have always been a fan of Sisur Lee's creations, Luckee was something we had on our hit list for checking out and it didn't disappoint. Its like the baby brother of Lee's and Bent. Impressive.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.