Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Luciano Restaurant

There are plenty of good Italian restaurants. But
very few combine great food, friendly service and
affordability all in a comfortable family atmosphere.
At Luciano’s, we put them all together, so you can
relax and feel right at home.

Voted "Best Italian Restaurant" -- San Antonio Current Best of 2017
Voted "Best Pizza" Winner -- San Antonio Current Best of 2017

849 E. Commerce
Space #183
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 223-0500

Website:
http://www.lucianorestaurants.com/

Catering:
We offer full service catering for any event! Any menu we can create to your liking. Cakes, coffee, and all the linens available as well. Contact Bianca Centofanti at 210-223-0500

Executive Chef:
Julio Garcia

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Luciano Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.6

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (8)
Waterfront (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
See All
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Romantic (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

It was a horrible experience with gnats and flies both outside and inside the restaurant where we moved to after we couldn't take the gnats any more outside. They placed us at a table in an alcove that was 200 degrees as it was next to the open kitchen with an open fire oven. Seems like the AC was not working and it was 100 degrees outside. Plus they didn't seat anyone else on that side which indicates they must have been annoyed when we asked to sit inside. The food was not very good. Gnats got into our wine and we couldn't drink them. It was an overall horrible dining experience and we don't recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had a wonderful time. The staff was very helpful with reassigning our seats. Food was excellent!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Overall it was not bad and food was about what you expect in a tourist area. However it was extremely, EXTREMLY hot in this restaurant. It made going to dinner with business clients kind of embarrassing as you sit and sweat throughout the meal.

More of an effort needs to be made to keep it air conditioned.. unless they want it open air. If they want it open air, make that known up front as we would of avoided going here.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Once we were seated we were ignored until i complained 15min later, 30 min to get water. The manager offered a appetizer on the house for the lack of attention. I ordered the mussels, they were delicious.
The food was good, i would recommend the restaurant, i dont think they normally treat the patrons this way.. overall the quality of the food saved them from a bad review.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We had a great anniversary dinner. Fried ravioli had a spicy flavor, the cheese inside was kind of like queso. Chicken lasagna was different and tasty, lemon chicken had a delicious sauce. I wish they had more variety for sides for the entrees-only had fried mashed potatoes (which were awesome) and sauté vegetables. Great service, beautiful patio, and the value is unbeatable for the riverwalk!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Mario and Rosa are top notch. The lobster was amazing!!!! Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Luciano's is nestled in the Alamo Downtown Mall area. It has outdoor seating, but it is not on the main part of the San Antonio, River Walk. We opted to go here because the menu had the usual Italian cuisine. The kids were happy with their meals, the appetizers were baked/cooked well and we enjoyed ourselves. If you're having a "date" night, more formal affair or looking for a more unique cuisine, this is not the place to go. It is a casual meal and tourist stop. All of the meals were cooked well. We were able to make substitutes (angle hair in place of fettuccine and prosciutto on pizza) without an issue. Worth the stop, unless you're looking for something with a definitive cultural flare or taste.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We love Rosa and her staff! Makes us feel so special! The food is perfect, u can not order anything without loving it! A real welcome feeling there and staff is great! The wine selection is wonderful and you must try the fresh warm bread. End the meal with home made lemon Cello shot superb! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was okay and the food was decent. Not earth shattering but, a nice place to go with family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food wasn't very good for the price. Pizza was undercooked, and the waiter was inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Chicken lasagna was amazing! It was a nice evening with my husband. Our waiter (can't remember his name, he was a young guy) but he was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 6, 2017

There is a fast food place with the same name in the Food Court...this was confusing to our party until I noticed the full service restaurant a few doors down. We had a table outside for 9 people and the service was fantastic. This location is sooo much calmer than most Riverwalk outside tables. The food was great. The specialty drinks had a nice spin; e.g. the Italian Margarita was a cut above.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were visiting San Antonio & decide to try this restaurant & boy am I glad we did! The service was way above normal! Our server ( and I'm so sorry I didn't get his name) was absolutely wonderful! Personable, knowledgeable with great recommendations. We never had to ask for anything, he thought of what we might need before we needed it. The food was awesome! I had the Veal Parm & it melted in your mouth it was so tender. The restaurant was wonderful although, busy not st all noises so conversation was very easy. We lingered over dinner quite a while & were never rushed! Give this awesome restaurant a try, you won't be dussapointed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We celebrated my daughter's birthday. We were very satisfied with being able to change our reservation time and everything was ready when we arrived. It was a fantastic experience. Highly recommend the food. Very fresh and delicious. Luciano sangria was vellisimo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Perfect for a business lunch if you are at the convention center. Great food. Great and quick service and fantastic location. Right on the River Walk but not the busy part.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Nice location below Marriott, besides a mal, for me very conveniente for convention.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Food was great the noise level was high due to multiple groups seated close but worth the visit

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This restaurant gave away our table because we were 15 minutes late to the reservation even though I called ahead to let them know and they said it was fine. The host manager was also pretty rude and did not care to or promise we could be seated so we left and ate somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our reservation through open table was ready five minutes early, which was great. Our waiter was very attentive and our order was ready in less than 15 minutes. Everything was delicious and the bread is so good you may fill up on it. I had the Pollo Marsala and it was perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Caring wait staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It provided us with the expectations we formulated and the service was excellent. However, the chicken meal could have been cooked a little longer with more seasoning added.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Was a great local Italian restaurant, great service food fabulous. Made reservations and had to increase # at the last minute and they were very accommodating . Would highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for a traditional Italian dinner on Valentine's Day dinner and everything was perfect. The food was delicious and fresh, the service was attentive and not overwhelming. And the cost wasn't nearly what we've spent on past Valentine's dinners.
I had the Troto All'Oro and my husband had the Linguine Frutti di Mare, both were unbelievably delicious.
We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good with so much to choose from. The service from our server was below par, but others that we saw around us were great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Luciano is a fine Italian restaurant adjacent to the mall on the RiverWalk. Service is usually quick and friendly. The menu has a lot of traditional items one would expect. The pizzas are always good - and fairly fast. Salads are good and plentiful. Lunchtime can be a little hectic. If you don't have time to sit at an inside table, see if there is seating available at the bar. This is a favorite when in San Antonio!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I went on a double date and had a great experience. The food was much better than I anticipated, for the pricing, it was very high quality. Can't say anything negative about my experience and would definitely go back

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was a volleyball team dinner. I booked our reservation for 30 people. They seated us early provided exceptional service. Got our team fed quickly. Dealt with multiple checks. Amazing. I would recommend Luciano's to all thanks for taking care of us!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was terrible & the worst part of it was ordering prime rib & getting served rib eye that was cold, chewy & mostly tendons. Side dishes were also cold. We all agreed, This was the worst dinner we had ever experienced. Great plans for a great time with friends over the New Year only to be wrecked by this horrible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excelente restáurante buena comida buen servicio buen ambiente

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good but not excellent...good prices, excellent location

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Really nice scene and great food. It was busy but not noisy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

All around great place to start your date night. Good value on great food and atmosphere. Recommend going around 5pm, less busy.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Although the service was a bit slow, the food was excellent and the prices were very decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Good food and prompt service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This is a yearly dinner before the rock and roll marathon. This place takes reservations and always makes sure they have a table set for you. During the night before the marathon it is hard to find a restaurant and even harder to find one that takes reservations. This is our go to place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very good! Excellent Lasagna and veal Marsala. Waiter was very friendly and attentive. Brought my husband chocolate cake for his birthday. We always choose this place for it's consistently good and reasonably priced Italian food. Easy access off the Riverwalk and Rivercenter mall. You can sit outside or find a nice table inside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I met a friend for lunch. We had a good conversation over good food. The bread roll was especially delicious and warm. I had a salad with artichoke hearts and various types of meat with tomatoes and cheese. Very good.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Typical Riverwalk restaurant with memorable Italian menu - a must try.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Everything was great. The food was prepared to perfection!

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Nice food, good service and views. Waterfront location.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.