About Luciano Restaurant

849 E. Commerce
Space #183
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

There are plenty of good Italian restaurants. But
very few combine great food, friendly service and
affordability all in a comfortable family atmosphere.
At Luciano’s, we put them all together, so you can
relax and feel right at home.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 223-0500

Website:
http://www.lucianorestaurants.com/

Catering:
We offer full service catering for any event! Any menu we can create to your liking. Cakes, coffee, and all the linens available as well. Contact Bianca Centofanti at 210-223-0500

Executive Chef:
Julio Garcia

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Luciano Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for outdoor dining (16)
good for groups (12)
scenic view (12)
See All
romantic (11)
special occasion (8)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (4)
notable wine list (4)
kid-friendly (4)
fit for foodies (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for brunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
98 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate a LOT of TexMex while in San Antonio ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Ate a LOT of TexMex while in San Antonio and wanted Italian one night. Fantastic experience. Superb food, great service and panpipe music being played over the Riverwalk as we sat outside. They made it a great evening.

food4
ambience4
service5

Service was great. Their bread was delic ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Service was great. Their bread was delicious. I ordered their mussels. I would have preferred more garlic and butter, but the sauce was pretty tasty. My friends ordered the chicken piccata and spaghetti. Both enjoyed their meals. Food was served in a timely manner and we were given more bread with our meal. Always a plus especially since it was so good!

food5
ambience5
service2
value4

A little disappointed.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Returned to our favorite place for our Dental Convention lunch. Made reservations through the Open Table App. When we arrived, there was only one table occupied in the entire restaurant. We were treated with hostility when we explained that the last two individuals in our party would be arriving within minutes due to having different class times as the rest of us. After arguing with the manager, she begrudgingly agreed to seat us. Waiter was fine. Food was delicious. Do not go here if you wish to have a leisurely lunch! They are obviously worried about profit and table turnover, not the experience of the diner.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

MEH, wouldn't go again

Dined on April 22, 2016

Visiting our son who LOVES all things pasta. Made a reservation, place was empty. Lobster ravioli, bland. Fettuccine Alfredo? Bland. Veal? Overcooked. Red velvet cake? Dry. Ordered coffees with dessert? Luke warn, barely. Asked hot hot coffee, got clearly microwaved which was the temp of molten lava. I just didn't want room temp coffee. Not too much to ask. Server was very nice. Overall, don't bother. Really.

food2
ambience2
service4

The food here was forgettable and the se ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

The food here was forgettable and the service wasn't fantastic but the outdoor seating on the river walk helps to make up for it. If you're looking for A great Italian restaurant I would go somewhere else. If you're looking for something better than Olive Garden then this is the place for you.

food5
ambience4
service3

The food was delicious and the room was ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the room was gorgeous. This is a great place to go out for a celebration, I wouldn't recommend it however for something like a date.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

21st Birthday

Dined on April 9, 2016

Went here for my 21st birthday this past weekend. Had a blast! Everyone was so friendly! Awesome spot! Our waitress was great, so sweet and super attentive. Great place with a great staff. One of the best places on the river walk!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice Setting, Decent Food, but not Memorable.

Dined on April 5, 2016

Meals and presentation were okay. Some were only warm...not hot when served. Nothing bad...but certainly not memorable either. Service was timely in taking and bringing the orders but then spotty after that. It had the feeling that everything was already done and then just warmed up, but I have nothing to back that up.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Standard Italian

Dined on March 30, 2016

Good, but not great Italian. Price was definitely reasonable

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Large portions served steaming hot in nice setting

Dined on March 27, 2016

Ordered the cappellini al pomodoro, fettuchini alfredo and caprese salad. All dishes exceeded expectations. Cappellini al pomodoro had just the right amount of garlic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good typical italian menu-- flavorful sauces

Dined on March 27, 2016

Wish we would have ordered the Calamari, but walking by on previous days, saw there were body only - no tentacles -- we eat Calamari almost every where we go-- should have indulged-- Husband had the Linguini Frutti de Mare-- he enjoyed it, but thought it was a bit spicy-- if you aren't into a typical spicy marinara, I suggest asking for it "not too spicy" . I had the Pollo al Limone and asked for past rather than the polenta and vegetables. We finished with Tira Misu-- was the typical kind you'd find at the Fresh Market and served at Olive Garden. I Iove that kind-- but if you are looking for a homemade Tira Misu, this isn't it. One disappointment-- because this is riverside dining, tables mingle with tables from the restaurant next door. We walked around several days admiring the food before choosing this place over Paesanos. I saw a dish that looked wonderful, but it was from the restaurant next door, to my dismay. Overall, the service and food was wonderful!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Adrian took great care of us

Dined on March 26, 2016

Adrian took great care of us

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gem along the Riverwalk

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Our fried zucchini appetizers was excellent. Although it was not on the menu my sister and I wanted linguine with clam sauce and they accommodated the request. It was delicious too. The ambiance was very nice. I would definetely would recommend this restaurant

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome place!

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

I have been to Luciano several times and it literally NEVER disappoints. The service and food are consistently great. (Don't miss the lobster ravioli!)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great for our Kids and Group!

Dined on March 14, 2016

We made a last minute trip and reservation for a group and were able to get a nice table with great good. Overall the experince was good. Our only downside of the evening is the restaurant not having the wine we selected. Server was able to find a wine that was similar in price and taste. Our pizza was delicious that we ordered for the kids (with the exception of not being cooked 100% as we asked), but overall was great. Everyone enjoyed their meals and we would visit again!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and service at a reasonab ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Very good food and service at a reasonable price

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Maxx

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

Very nice find. Indoor/outdoor terrace dining on the Riverwalk. Open walls so even inside it's almost like eating on the veranda overlooking the river. Expected to find the food hastily prepared and "touristy." Not so - very well prepared. Cappuccino was excellent..! Service was efficient, didn't overdo it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Wow. Where to begin.

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

Don't know if it was because it was the evening of the Superbowl, or whether it was just an incredibly bad night for the restaurant, but as there were only two tables occupied, could have been a combination of the two. Service was non-existent. It started badly with the waiter not being able to remember our drink orders (there were just four of us), and went downhill. The beef tenderloin, ordered "medium rare"was delivered as very well done. As it took a much longer time to get our entrees, we weren't going to return anything. I don't think the waiter ever once checked on us after delivering our meals. We weren't sure if the waiter was off watching the Superbowl or what, but two hours (very long hours) later, we asked for our checks and even that was mishandled. To sum up the evening in the words of one of the members of our party, "the worst dining experience ever".

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Luciano's, on the riverwalk, is good.

Dined on January 24, 2016

Luciano's is not spectacular, but it's good and a fun place to take teens on the riverwalk.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wonderful!!!!

Dined on January 14, 2016

The food was delicious. The waiters were attentive and kind. We were on vacation and the location was so convenient. Wish we had one closer to home!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2

Great Food, Service So So

Dined on December 8, 2015

The lobster raviolis were just delicious but the waitress was bare minimum.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent Italian restaurant for Tourists

Dined on December 6, 2015

If you are visiting the San Antonio Riverwalk, and like Italian food, Luciano's is a great choice. I recommend coming early, especially if there is a large-scale event in town such as playoffs or a convention. I have dined on the outside cafe walkway, and in the main dining room. Both have good service, but the dining room has better noise level. Many passersby on the outdoor cafe. The bar area is too small, and it is difficult to get a seat there on week-ends. Food is excellent overall. The wine list included Stags Leap, Estancia, and other familiar brands. Table service was OK, but at peak times there are not enough waiters.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Rock and Roll marathon

Dined on December 6, 2015

Pre marathon meal. Loved this place for its location and ability to make reservation. We eat here every year the night before the marathon. Love that on a very busy night , I am assured I have a table

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1

I booked a table of 8 after a long trade ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

I booked a table of 8 after a long trade show week at the convention center. The food was good, although they don't offer meatballs, which we all thought was very strange. The service, however was substandard. We had a young server who just didn't understand the need to be urgent, and multitask. The drinks came out late, and we're slow to reorder, and some of the meals came out either late or wrong. I had to constantly look for, and asked for my waiter, to come handle us , and also the table never got fully cleaned after each course I come to San Antonio about 2 to 3 times a year for business and always enjoy the Riverwalk and the local restaurants, I will probably not done

food2
ambience4
service1

poor

Dined on November 15, 2015

Service was poor ordered a salad it never came but sat on the food counter food warm so so flavor we finally cancelled the salad apetizer calamari had no taste

food5
ambience5
service5

great

Dined on November 14, 2015

great place, reasonable. Rosa the manager, Jeremy bar tender were both great .. highly rec.

Tags: romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect for lunch meeting

Dined on November 13, 2015

I booked lunch here I order to have a meeting with a customer and collegues. It was perfect. The food was great and the restaurant was quiet which was perfect for us to conduct our business.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Find

vip
Dined on November 4, 2015

Great food resonable prices great service and atmosphere

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place for a last-minute group dinner

vip
Dined on November 2, 2015

I was in San Antonio for a conference and a group of us decided kind of last minute to have dinner together. Luciano was able to accommodate our group of 8, no problem. The restaurant is located in the Rivercenter Mall, very convenient. Service and food were good, prices reasonable, the decor was nice and the atmosphere casual and jovial. I had a salad and margherita pizza; salad was fresh, pizza crust was perfectly crunchy. I would go there again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service3

fine dining overall

Dined on November 1, 2015

My wife and I came here for reasonably priced meal to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary by ourselves.Great wine, calamari, bread, and pizza were what we had for "light fare." Service and ambiance were nice and appropriate. Will come back again with the wife and kids

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4

The food was ok but the ambiance was ver ...

vip
Dined on October 19, 2015

The food was ok but the ambiance was very nice . Being from the north we have had much Italian food . It was reasonable for the area and a good change from Mexican .

food4
ambience4
service4

Anniversary dinner at Luciano's

Dined on September 13, 2015

Atmosphere and food were great. Our server Daniel was friendly and helpful. Will definitely come back when we're in San Antonio.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service4

Overall disappointing

Dined on August 30, 2015

Visiting the river walk and my daughter had dined there about 5 years ago. Was excellent then. Very disappointed with poor quality of food and wine list. Veal was too tough to eat. Restaurant was not busy and now we know why.

food5
ambience4
service5

What a great find in San Antonio Servic ...

Dined on August 19, 2015

What a great find in San Antonio Service was exceptional

food1
ambience2
service1

Service was slow but ok, food was not go ...

Dined on August 16, 2015

Service was slow but ok, food was not good at all. Had the worst linguini del mar I have ever had. Also had a caprese salad that had unripe tomatoes, and had to send it back. Manager blamed it on new staff. I would not recommend this place at all. There are other places on the river walk that are much better.

food5
ambience4
service4

very nice

Dined on August 9, 2015

The food was very good but the lobster stuffed ravioli were small and should have had a side but other than this it was wonderful !!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our "have to's" in downtown San Antonio

Dined on July 22, 2015

Luciano's is always one of "have to's" when in downtown San Antonio! We love the rolls, and neither of us has ever had anything we wouldn't order again. My favorite is the Chicken Limone. It is a wonderful place to enjoy good food and fellowship after long days at a convention or touring the city. Their desserts are also luscious, but we are usually too full to order one!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Great!

vip
Dined on July 21, 2015

The food was excellent! It had a great view of the Riverwalk. It was a great find!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3

nice riverside eatery

Dined on June 24, 2015

Went for a quick dinner with my parents whilst staying in the San Antonio area. The food was all lovely and very reasonably priced, especially given the location.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

Good atmosphere, right on the Riverwalk. ...

Dined on June 1, 2015

Good atmosphere, right on the Riverwalk. I had the seafood linguini, it was good but not extraordinary.

Tags: great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.