About Luciano Restaurant

849 E. Commerce
Space #183
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

There are plenty of good Italian restaurants. But
very few combine great food, friendly service and
affordability all in a comfortable family atmosphere.
At Luciano’s, we put them all together, so you can
relax and feel right at home.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 223-0500

Website:
http://www.lucianorestaurants.com/

Catering:
We offer full service catering for any event! Any menu we can create to your liking. Cakes, coffee, and all the linens available as well. Contact Bianca Centofanti at 210-223-0500

Executive Chef:
Julio Garcia

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Luciano Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (8)
Scenic View (6)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Romantic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
Authentic (2)
Waterfront (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food and prompt service.

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food and prompt service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This is a yearly dinner before the rock ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a yearly dinner before the rock and roll marathon. This place takes reservations and always makes sure they have a table set for you. During the night before the marathon it is hard to find a restaurant and even harder to find one that takes reservations. This is our go to place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very good! Excellent Lasagna and veal Ma ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very good! Excellent Lasagna and veal Marsala. Waiter was very friendly and attentive. Brought my husband chocolate cake for his birthday. We always choose this place for it's consistently good and reasonably priced Italian food. Easy access off the Riverwalk and Rivercenter mall. You can sit outside or find a nice table inside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I met a friend for lunch. We had a good ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I met a friend for lunch. We had a good conversation over good food. The bread roll was especially delicious and warm. I had a salad with artichoke hearts and various types of meat with tomatoes and cheese. Very good.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Typical Riverwalk restaurant with memora ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Typical Riverwalk restaurant with memorable Italian menu - a must try.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was great. The food was prep ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Everything was great. The food was prepared to perfection!

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice food, good service and views. Water ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Nice food, good service and views. Waterfront location.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I do not give 5 stars often but this pla ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I do not give 5 stars often but this place took such good care of us! I can't wait to go back NOTHING BAD TO EAT and staff is amazing! Bravo! Amazing wine list and enough to choose from for everyone in your party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came looking for a great spot on the ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We came looking for a great spot on the Riverwalk near the convention center and were not disappointed. A lot cheaper than most of the surrounding restaurants while still being nice enough that we felt we were treating ourselves.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Pizza was made with frozen crust. Bad to ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Pizza was made with frozen crust. Bad tourist food . Great service and lovely setting .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

We went here after our conference, and h ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We went here after our conference, and had dinner. We reserved through Open Table, but were seated early, upon our request, and everything went really well! Lasagna was great, pizza was too. The appetizers were also delicious. The waiter was on top of it. Thanks, Luciano's!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a good place to eat, especially ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 30, 2016

This is a good place to eat, especially with your significant other. Also the bread is awesome.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a really nice dinner venue. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2016

This was a really nice dinner venue. The waitress helped suggest a dish.we had a chicken stuffed with mozzarella,mushrooms,and spinach .The fried zucchini was amazing and fresh baked bread was wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice place on the Riverwalk. Food was we ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Nice place on the Riverwalk. Food was well presented, prepared and timely. Good selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The restaurant was beautiful and the ser ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful and the service was great. The food was ok. The flavor was not very robust. I would have preferred more flavor. The drinks we excellent though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

It was ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 26, 2016

It was

Great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great surprise at Luciano. I am ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a great surprise at Luciano.

I am coming from an Italian family and I have to admit that the food was superb.

We ask for bread 2 times......amazing !!!

As started Pizza and then pasta.

The wine list was pretty good.

For sure will be "our" place in our future San Antonio visits.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Riverwalk dining with quick service and ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Riverwalk dining with quick service and solid food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about this restaurant and ser ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Everything about this restaurant and service was fantastic

from appetizers, entrees, desserts, and even when we received the bill; reasonable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The air conditioner was not working. W ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 12, 2016

The air conditioner was not working. We were originally outside and asked to move inside. However, it was hotter inside than out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Good food and atmosphere

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 11, 2016

My girlfriend and I wanted to have a nice meal and we had heard from some of the locals that Luciano's was a great place. We got our reservations and right when we got there we were seated. The staff was very kind and helpful with all the questions we had. I strongly recommend for anyone to atleast go at least once if you're visiting San Antonio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service!

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ate a LOT of TexMex while in San Antonio ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Ate a LOT of TexMex while in San Antonio and wanted Italian one night. Fantastic experience. Superb food, great service and panpipe music being played over the Riverwalk as we sat outside. They made it a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great. Their bread was delic ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Service was great. Their bread was delicious. I ordered their mussels. I would have preferred more garlic and butter, but the sauce was pretty tasty. My friends ordered the chicken piccata and spaghetti. Both enjoyed their meals. Food was served in a timely manner and we were given more bread with our meal. Always a plus especially since it was so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A little disappointed.

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Returned to our favorite place for our Dental Convention lunch. Made reservations through the Open Table App. When we arrived, there was only one table occupied in the entire restaurant. We were treated with hostility when we explained that the last two individuals in our party would be arriving within minutes due to having different class times as the rest of us. After arguing with the manager, she begrudgingly agreed to seat us. Waiter was fine. Food was delicious. Do not go here if you wish to have a leisurely lunch! They are obviously worried about profit and table turnover, not the experience of the diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

MEH, wouldn't go again

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Visiting our son who LOVES all things pasta. Made a reservation, place was empty. Lobster ravioli, bland. Fettuccine Alfredo? Bland. Veal? Overcooked. Red velvet cake? Dry. Ordered coffees with dessert? Luke warn, barely. Asked hot hot coffee, got clearly microwaved which was the temp of molten lava. I just didn't want room temp coffee. Not too much to ask. Server was very nice. Overall, don't bother. Really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The food here was forgettable and the se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food here was forgettable and the service wasn't fantastic but the outdoor seating on the river walk helps to make up for it. If you're looking for A great Italian restaurant I would go somewhere else. If you're looking for something better than Olive Garden then this is the place for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

The food was delicious and the room was ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the room was gorgeous. This is a great place to go out for a celebration, I wouldn't recommend it however for something like a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

21st Birthday

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Went here for my 21st birthday this past weekend. Had a blast! Everyone was so friendly! Awesome spot! Our waitress was great, so sweet and super attentive. Great place with a great staff. One of the best places on the river walk!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Setting, Decent Food, but not Memorable.

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 5, 2016

Meals and presentation were okay. Some were only warm...not hot when served. Nothing bad...but certainly not memorable either. Service was timely in taking and bringing the orders but then spotty after that. It had the feeling that everything was already done and then just warmed up, but I have nothing to back that up.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Standard Italian

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2016

Good, but not great Italian. Price was definitely reasonable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Large portions served steaming hot in nice setting

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Ordered the cappellini al pomodoro, fettuchini alfredo and caprese salad. All dishes exceeded expectations. Cappellini al pomodoro had just the right amount of garlic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good typical italian menu-- flavorful sauces

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Wish we would have ordered the Calamari, but walking by on previous days, saw there were body only - no tentacles -- we eat Calamari almost every where we go-- should have indulged-- Husband had the Linguini Frutti de Mare-- he enjoyed it, but thought it was a bit spicy-- if you aren't into a typical spicy marinara, I suggest asking for it "not too spicy" . I had the Pollo al Limone and asked for past rather than the polenta and vegetables. We finished with Tira Misu-- was the typical kind you'd find at the Fresh Market and served at Olive Garden. I Iove that kind-- but if you are looking for a homemade Tira Misu, this isn't it.

One disappointment-- because this is riverside dining, tables mingle with tables from the restaurant next door. We walked around several days admiring the food before choosing this place over Paesanos. I saw a dish that looked wonderful, but it was from the restaurant next door, to my dismay. Overall, the service and food was wonderful!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Adrian took great care of us

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Adrian took great care of us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Gem along the Riverwalk

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Our fried zucchini appetizers was excellent. Although it was not on the menu my sister and I wanted linguine with clam sauce and they accommodated the request. It was delicious too.

The ambiance was very nice. I would definetely would recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome place!

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2016

I have been to Luciano several times and it literally NEVER disappoints. The service and food are consistently great. (Don't miss the lobster ravioli!)

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for our Kids and Group!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 14, 2016

We made a last minute trip and reservation for a group and were able to get a nice table with great good. Overall the experince was good. Our only downside of the evening is the restaurant not having the wine we selected. Server was able to find a wine that was similar in price and taste. Our pizza was delicious that we ordered for the kids (with the exception of not being cooked 100% as we asked), but overall was great. Everyone enjoyed their meals and we would visit again!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good food and service at a reasonab ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2016

Very good food and service at a reasonable price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Maxx

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 17, 2016

Very nice find. Indoor/outdoor terrace dining on the Riverwalk. Open walls so even inside it's almost like eating on the veranda overlooking the river. Expected to find the food hastily prepared and "touristy." Not so - very well prepared. Cappuccino was excellent..! Service was efficient, didn't overdo it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wow. Where to begin.

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 8, 2016

Don't know if it was because it was the evening of the Superbowl, or whether it was just an incredibly bad night for the restaurant, but as there were only two tables occupied, could have been a combination of the two. Service was non-existent. It started badly with the waiter not being able to remember our drink orders (there were just four of us), and went downhill. The beef tenderloin, ordered "medium rare"was delivered as very well done. As it took a much longer time to get our entrees, we weren't going to return anything. I don't think the waiter ever once checked on us after delivering our meals. We weren't sure if the waiter was off watching the Superbowl or what, but two hours (very long hours) later, we asked for our checks and even that was mishandled. To sum up the evening in the words of one of the members of our party, "the worst dining experience ever".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.