About Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge

415 West Carmel Valley Rd
Carmel Valley, CA 93924
View Larger Map

Lucia features California-Regional cuisine, created by celebrated chef Cal Stamenov, featuring local organic, seasonal produce as well as regional seafood and artisan farmed meats. Taking full advantage of the resort’s pastoral location, the new design artfully combines modern comforts with the natural elegance of Carmel Valley wine country. In addition to the signature fireplace, cozy custom chairs, linens and drapery have added texture and depth while bringing elements of the outdoors inside

The four-star restaurant has been named Zagat’s “Top Restaurant in Bay Area” and received Wine Spectator magazine’s “Grand Award” since 2001 for its wine cellar. The cellar houses 1,850 different wines and a total of more than 25,000 premium bottles, including 10,000 bottles from the Bernardus Winery & Vineyard near the resort.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast from 7:00 am to 11:00 am served in Lucia Restaurant & Terrace
Lunch from 11:30 am to 2:30 pm served on the bar Patio
Dinner 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm served in Lucia Restaurant & Terrace
Bar Menu available from 2:30 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Laureles Grade

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 658-3400

Website:
http://www.bernarduslodge.com/

Catering:
Offsite catering and a professional catering consultant are also available for private parties and dinners.

Executive Chef:
Cal Stamenov

Private Party Facilities:
Lucia offers three unique environments for Private Dining - The Magnum Room, the Wine Cellar and the Chef's Table.

The Magnum Room is a private dining room seating up to 12 guests around a large round table. Up to 8 people can dine in splendor while sitting in the Wine Spectator Grand Award of Excellence winning cellar.

Finally, up to 5 diners can sit at the same table that has hosted Julia Child, Eric Ripert and Leonardo DiCaprio. The Chef's table is a table directly in the kitchen of Lucia where Chef Cal will prepare a meal focusing on the very best ingredients he can find while using your input as inspiration.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge, Carmel Valley, CA
Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge, Carmel Valley, CA

Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel Valley ›

Romantic (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fireplace (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Scenic View (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (6)
Healthy (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Live Music (2)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
116 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Never disappointed by the Chef's creativ ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Never disappointed by the Chef's creativity or the wine pairing

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience. Highly recommended. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great experience. Highly recommended.

Always an enjoyable experience. Such a nice place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Every bite was delicious. Service was w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Every bite was delicious. Service was wonderful. Setting was beautiful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect restaurant to eat a lovely l ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The perfect restaurant to eat a lovely lunch outdoors with wonderful food choices and excellect service (thx Hass). The salmon salad was delicious as was the flat iron steak with fries. These fries were the best fries we've had in a restaurant - EVER! A special coating (and perhaps a double frying method) - makes them tasty and crisp even when not hot. Treat yourself to a glass of their Bernardus wines with your meal to complete an outstanding dining experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the salad/starter course and dess ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

While the salad/starter course and dessert were amazing, the main courses were just average.

Service, wine, settting and everything else was great.

It was just too bad about the entrees.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed. The restaurant environs is ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Disappointed. The restaurant environs is exceptional our server seemed to "not fit" in with the elevated environment of both the restaurant and the Lodge. Had a negative attitude generated from within him. The food was mediocre at best. The ingredients did not play well together for both our dishes. So surprised as the Chef has such high ranking...we did not see anything of the sort in the food or the service. I like to write good reviews yet in this case, with all the other options in the area...we will not be returning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Tranquil and secluded. Great place for l ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Tranquil and secluded. Great place for lunch outside on a nice day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing - delicious and bea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The food was amazing - delicious and beautiful presentation. The menu had a great selection and service was wonderful. We will definitely be back again!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We stayed at the Bernardus Lodge and Spa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We stayed at the Bernardus Lodge and Spa, having breakfast each morning at Lucia. There is indoor and outdoor (patio) dining available. A large fireplace in the indoor dining room kept us comfortable (it can be chilly in the mornings with the door open to the patio seating - bring a sweater). The staff is very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was wonderful, tasting menu, very ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Server was wonderful, tasting menu, very good and the Petrole Sole was to die for!!

Wonderful setting on a rainy night, as I am sure as well on a beautiful day & Very intimate table for 2 in the corner was perfect to celebrate our Anniversary!!

Portobella Mushroom soup was a little bland and missing something to suit our taste normally for a mushroom soup, but otherwise, superb & compliments to the chef!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a really nice restaurant however ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This is a really nice restaurant however the food was not very good especially my husband's. It was so blend. My husband is a very accomplished executive Chef and has had great experiences with the food but just not this time. The service and atmosphere was outstanding, great plate presentation. We will return, hopefully this time around it will be better, food wise.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful restaurant! Staff was knowledg ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Beautiful restaurant! Staff was knowledgeable on food allergies and was very accommodating. Food was fantastic and a great value. Highly recommended for a date night or any special occasion.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the salmon salad in which the salm ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I had the salmon salad in which the salmon was perfectly cooked among a nice variety of vegetables. My guest had the seasonal salad, adding prawns, which were also perfectly grilled. Both presentations were beautiful and delicious with the vinaigrette dressings! Would definitely have lunch/dine here again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having visited Bernardus on three separa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Having visited Bernardus on three separate occasions and having dined there, we were greatly disappointed with the whole experience. I guess the new ownership needs to learn a few pointers from the original owner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We keep coming back for special occasion ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We keep coming back for special occasions because we've always been delighted. My husband had steak with mashed potatoes and I had prawns, each in a delightfully appropriate sauce, with vegetable purées. Dessert was a chocolate torte with ice cream 😋. Service was impeccable which is another reason we make the long drive to Lucia. If you want a special experience, this is the place to come. It's not cheap but you can go to a chain for cheap.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great experience! We had been t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We had a great experience! We had been to the restaurant when it was called Marinus. We loved it then, we love it even more.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fine, but nothing was tru ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Everything was fine, but nothing was truly special. Halibut main course was probably the best, but at these prices and in this environment it should be better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Bernardus Lodge has transformed the stuf ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Bernardus Lodge has transformed the stuffy Marinus Dining Room into a modern chic dining experience. Entrees range from foie gras prepared three ways, local fresh abalone, and lamb to corn soup with Dungeness crab and a mussels and prawn dish. The Chef's Tasting Menu includes four plates but the restaurant won't serve it unless the whole table orders it. Great wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Do not purchase wine at the wine tasting ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Do not purchase wine at the wine tasting room as the same price for the wine was

on the menu and there is a $35 corkage charge.

They graciously removed the corkage.

The hotel and restaurant are owned by private investors and the winery by the Bernardus family.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fantastic experience from beginning to e ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fantastic experience from beginning to end. We had breakfast there twice and they were excellent both times. Our anniversary dinner was great..I am a chef and was impressed by everything we ate. The service (Mata-Breakfast server was top notch) and (Terry-Dinner server was knowledgeable, friendly and a true professional).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous dinner last weekend in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner last weekend in the private room with 8 adults and 2 little kids. The service and food were wonderful. The 2 and 4 year old could run around and have fun while the adults enjoyed the fine champagne, wine, appetizers, dinner and desserts. This is becoming a tradition for our West Hollywood and Santa Cruz families and we love it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Would not recommend , we were disappoint ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Would not recommend , we were disappointed in the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Great time!

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful anniversary dinning experience ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful anniversary dinning experience! The ambiance was mature and relaxing. The beautiful live floral displays are few and far between these days. The garden and grounds were scenic. The food was excellent. The duck dish is one the best we have every had. The portions are generous and balanced between the main entree and sides. The service was great and the staff very inviting. We felt special on our special day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply outstanding in all respects. Ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Simply outstanding in all respects. Very expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service from Kerry! Everything ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent service from Kerry! Everything was good! Seared foie gras was the best! Will definitely go back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very charming terrace. We went for lunch ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very charming terrace. We went for lunch for my birthday in August. Great fan of the wine. Lovely food choices.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent by we were disappoint ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was excellent by we were disappointed by the 5 courses Chef's menu; not a vey good value for the money.

All the Chef's menu courses are really much, much smaller size of the same carte items, nothing original or delightful as we remembered from the chef's menu when the restaurant was the Marinus.

Also no more varied amuse-bouches spread over the meal, just one at the beginning, same as the complimentary one you get with a la carte items.

Don't get us wrong, food was great, we were just expecting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Exceptional

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

What a pleasant evening! Started with t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2016

What a pleasant evening! Started with the Mushroom Soup...Rich and lovely. The cassoulet was astonishing and my husband declared 'the Salmon the best I ever had'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lucia Restaurant and the Lodge are just ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Lucia Restaurant and the Lodge are just beautiful. We had drinks outside in the lobby in the warm sunshine and then had dinner in the restaurant. David our waiter was very nice and knowable of the food selections. The steak I had was cooked perfectly I could cut it with my fork. The wine and ambiance was great. I will surely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat on the patio, which isn't really ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2016

We sat on the patio, which isn't really attached to the restaurant. It was a nice setting for lunch. The food and service were good, nice wine options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

An excellent restaurant. Great service. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2016

An excellent restaurant. Great service. We were celebrating our anniversary in Carmel Value and decided to go to "new" restaurants. It was better than we could imagine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing. Felt more like an outdoo ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Disappointing. Felt more like an outdoor hotel lobby restaurant than the beautiful setting we anticipated. Does not feel like you are in a winery or even near a vineyard but for the entrance to the property which builds expectations and is lovely. At the restaurant there were a bunch of families/kids/babies and not much atmosphere - no views and a pool 10 yards away. Again maybe our expectations were off. The music, while quite enjoyable, began an hour later than advertised. Wait staff was slow but then worked hard to make things right. BBQ Brisket was extremely fatty, and the non-fatty part was not tender. Tuna tartar was good, as were the duck rillettes. Desserts were excellent. The peach with lavender sauce was exceptional although the granola was unnecessary. Overall mixed review but not worth the drive out there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Excellent meal.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Deliciousness and Elegant dining with a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Deliciousness and Elegant dining with a friendly and helpful waitress.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular everything! Beautiful bar, ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Spectacular everything! Beautiful bar, dining room and grounds, fantastic food and friendly, professional service. Lucia is now one of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent... food, service, view, live m ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent... food, service, view, live music! Enjoy! This chef knows what he is doing! Delicious!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A fine restaurant, and a fine dining exp ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2016

A fine restaurant, and a fine dining experience. We ate here to celebrate my birthday and our 30th anniversary, and it was hands down perfect in every way. Ambience is pleasant and comfortable. Service is just the right level of attentiveness, and also pleasant and professional And the food? Wow. We shared a number of small dishes: all wonderfully prepared. For dinner, my wife had the sea bass: perfect. I had the braised short ribs: incredible! Good sized portions, too. Oh, and I had an Old Fashioned before dinner - one of the best I've ever had in a restaurant. ... Hands down, one of the most enjoyable dining experiences we've had in a while.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.