Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi

About Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge

Lucia features California-Regional cuisine, created by celebrated chef Cal Stamenov, featuring local organic, seasonal produce as well as regional seafood and artisan farmed meats. Taking full advantage of the resort’s pastoral location, the new design artfully combines modern comforts with the natural elegance of Carmel Valley wine country. In addition to the signature fireplace, cozy custom chairs, linens and drapery have added texture and depth while bringing elements of the outdoors inside

The four-star restaurant has been named Zagat’s “Top Restaurant in Bay Area” and received Wine Spectator magazine’s “Grand Award” since 2001 for its wine cellar. The cellar houses 1,850 different wines and a total of more than 25,000 premium bottles, including 10,000 bottles from the Bernardus Winery & Vineyard near the resort.

415 West Carmel Valley Rd
Carmel Valley, CA 93924
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast from 7:00 am to 11:00 am served in Lucia Restaurant & Terrace
Lunch from 11:30 am to 2:30 pm served on the bar Patio
Dinner 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm served in Lucia Restaurant & Terrace
Bar Menu available from 2:30 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Laureles Grade

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 658-3400

Website:
http://www.bernarduslodge.com/

Catering:
Offsite catering and a professional catering consultant are also available for private parties and dinners.

Executive Chef:
Cal Stamenov

Private Party Facilities:
Lucia offers three unique environments for Private Dining - The Magnum Room, the Wine Cellar and the Chef's Table.

The Magnum Room is a private dining room seating up to 12 guests around a large round table. Up to 8 people can dine in splendor while sitting in the Wine Spectator Grand Award of Excellence winning cellar.

Finally, up to 5 diners can sit at the same table that has hosted Julia Child, Eric Ripert and Leonardo DiCaprio. The Chef's table is a table directly in the kitchen of Lucia where Chef Cal will prepare a meal focusing on the very best ingredients he can find while using your input as inspiration.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Fireplace (10)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Romantic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Cozy (4)
Organic (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Live Music (3)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food, venue & waitstaff. Nothing negative to say. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Rather disappointed in our Easter brunch. We arrived the tables were huge enough for parties of seven or more. We were just a family of four. We were sat at such a table. The food was placed in corners as well as displayed on a long t-shaped table. The food looked fresh but I noticed that the omelette station where some breakfast buffet items were on show seemed old. The Carvery was probably the best of all stations. However near the Carvery station sides were stored in warming dishes. One which was Portabella mushrooms but they were ice cold. Overall fairly disappointed in a rather expensive event. Will seek somewhere else next year .

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Delightful meal. Enjoyed the tasting menu with the wine pairing. Fresh tastes, local items, perfect portions, attentive service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very nice place to for dining. Food was delicious. Customer service- outstanding

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 23, 2017

WE HAD THE TASTING MENU. IT WAS FABULOUS. I GAVE A LOWER SCORE FOR SERVICE.
THE PEOPLE WHO DELIVERED THE FOOD WERE COURTEOUS, REVIEWED THE INGREDIENTS AND WERE VERY PLEASANT. THE WAITER WAS UNINTERESTED. CAME TO THE TABLE ONLY ONCE DURING THE ENTIRE MEAL. WAS NOT KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT THE TASTING MENU AND EXPLAINED OUR LIMIITED QUESTIONS WITH DINER-TYPE ANSWERS. HE WAS A DETRIMENT TO THE SALE OF THE TASTING MENU.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Lucia was one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. The food was absolutely amazing. Food that I normally would not eat were still delicious and made me change my mind, for example the caviar and scallops. I took my girlfriend here for here birthday and she loves it as well. We did not stay in the hotel but we were still treated with top notch service. They have a great wine list and there is a somalier there to tell you about the wines. Not only was the food phenomenal but the service was exceptional. All the employees made us feel very welcomed and the GM was pure class. I recommend this place to anyone who appreciates great food and great service with an incredible view.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Their food is always top notch here and all of the staff is very friendly and willing to get you whatever you want.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our first trip back since the remodel and new restaurant. Will definitely return again. We were there for brunch. My husband had the special Huevos Rancheros brunch combo which came with the best Bloody Mary ever & Cervice. I had an amazing Artichoke with the Huevos Rancheros & a sparkling Rose. We had to try the house made blackberry Cabernet Gelato which was also incredible. They had live music and a beautiful outdoor garden. Very nice can't wait to return for dinner or even just for an artichoke!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fireplace, Healthy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Beautiful restaurant & excellent service.
Food presentation was great and the salmon
Was Wild caught Pacific Salmon. Our favorite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Salmon Salad was much more elegantly presented on Sunday, March 12, in a larger bowl. Perhaps there could be a better option than crowding into the Bar when the patio is not opened. Very noisy with patrons and music in the Bar.
It would be well to train the servers to serve food and drinks from the back or side of a guest, not from across the table.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Absolutely gorgeous, if it's a nice day sitting on the patio is a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary with a lovely evening at Lucia. Great service, excellent food and beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food, service and ambience. Live less than a mile away so it is perfect place for a special occasion dinner. Were there this Monday to celebrate my hubbys birthday🎂

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great atmosphere and food to match. Celebrating our 30th anniversary. Would highly recommend going there. Our server Brook, was efficient and friendly.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We eat at Lucia once or twice a year, getting together with a dear friend to share wine and good food and catch up. This visit was a disappointment. The ambience was nice and we were given a very nice table, but the service was not up to their usual standard. Our server seemed inexperienced with fine dining; his nervousness in pouring wine resulted in awkward spillage and uneven portions; after the initial pours, we were on our own with respect to refills. He checked on us a number of times to see that we were happy, but he just seemed uncomfortable most of the time. The vast majority of wines on the wine list were well above $100, which is particularly absurd in California wine country. however, not all the wines were ridiculously priced--there were enough exceptions among the varietals to reward diligent searching with a relative bargain. They were out of the first wine we ordered, a Sancerre priced at $50. The sommelier suggested an alternative at $80; seeing that this didn't excite me, he offered to bring his "full list" to see if we could find something else. I picked another Sancerre from the "full list" and though their computer showed it in inventory, they were out of that one too. Embarrassed, the sommelier brought us a bottle of Vouvray, which we liked, and did not charge us for it. They had the second bottle of wine we ordered, a Syrah, so that went fine. The chef provided an amuse-bouche, which we liked. Next, my wife's appetizer, abalone, was unrecognizable as abalone, drowned in a thick mushroom sauce; my salad was excellent. Next, all three of us had Foie Gras torchon--it was wonderful but the accompaniments (duck rilletes & lettuce) seemed unnecessary. Next, our friend had salmon, which she said was delicious, and we had venison, which, cooked rare as ordered, still seemed a bit dry, not adequately seasoned, and was served with too little sauce and flabby mushrooms. All in all, it was a pleasant dinner, but we've come to expect better from Lucia.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent elegant pub food, nice wine list, well cooked and conceived. Enjoyable atmosphere, great service (Luis). Definitely worth the trip from wherever you may be. Charming, very much "of wine country."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food preparation and selection. We always enjoy dining here. The food is consistent.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We stayed at the lodge so it made sense to eat at Lucia. We had a nice dinner there, but were underwhelmed by the food for the prices. We both ordered a soup and the server was very kind and said it was so rich we may want to do a salad and a soup (which is what we preferred, just didn't want to ask them to split a plate). Anyway we were happy until the soup and salad came out; not split for us. We had to pass a spoonful across the table to each other, which was fine, but not exactly what we expected (especially when a cup of soup is 16 dollars lol).
Anyway, not a big deal, but overall felt the prices were too high for what you get.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Mushroom soup was exceptional. As were the scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food ok. Nothing out of this world. Waiter was very nice and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was good but the restaurant needs to improve their service all around. Cocktails ordered in bar 20min before our reservation & had to be brought to our table as they were not ready by the time we were seated. Had to ask waiter and then bus boy for our water that we had requested when we sat down, wrong salad arrived, but correct one was brought fairly quickly and we were overcharged for our wine(that incidently the wine steward said was not available in the yr we requested & then the yr we requested was actually brought to our table) We were not dissatisfied but expected better service for the amount of money spent and we had a early reservation so the restaurant wasn't even crowded yet.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Jeff was very helpful in pairing wines by the glass and a small bottle with our dinner choices.
Our dessert wine Muscat de Beaumes de Venice was an outstanding value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

High expectations that were met, but not quite exceeded. Ambiance was warm. Service was attentive and responsive. Felt rushed at start and told them - and experienced the rest of the meal in unhurried comfort. 4 course prix fixe w/ wine pairing. All were interesting, tasty, and creatively presented (except maybe the Wagyu beef/chanterelles which seemed somewhat out of place along with 3 delicious fish courses). A real highlight was the wines - all were unusual and perfectly paired. And alas, the check. I was prepared for a big tab - and Lucia not disappoint.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Never disappointed by the Chef's creativity or the wine pairing

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great experience. Highly recommended.
Always an enjoyable experience. Such a nice place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Every bite was delicious. Service was wonderful. Setting was beautiful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The perfect restaurant to eat a lovely lunch outdoors with wonderful food choices and excellect service (thx Hass). The salmon salad was delicious as was the flat iron steak with fries. These fries were the best fries we've had in a restaurant - EVER! A special coating (and perhaps a double frying method) - makes them tasty and crisp even when not hot. Treat yourself to a glass of their Bernardus wines with your meal to complete an outstanding dining experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

While the salad/starter course and dessert were amazing, the main courses were just average.
Service, wine, settting and everything else was great.
It was just too bad about the entrees.

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Disappointed. The restaurant environs is exceptional our server seemed to "not fit" in with the elevated environment of both the restaurant and the Lodge. Had a negative attitude generated from within him. The food was mediocre at best. The ingredients did not play well together for both our dishes. So surprised as the Chef has such high ranking...we did not see anything of the sort in the food or the service. I like to write good reviews yet in this case, with all the other options in the area...we will not be returning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Tranquil and secluded. Great place for lunch outside on a nice day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The food was amazing - delicious and beautiful presentation. The menu had a great selection and service was wonderful. We will definitely be back again!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We stayed at the Bernardus Lodge and Spa, having breakfast each morning at Lucia. There is indoor and outdoor (patio) dining available. A large fireplace in the indoor dining room kept us comfortable (it can be chilly in the mornings with the door open to the patio seating - bring a sweater). The staff is very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Server was wonderful, tasting menu, very good and the Petrole Sole was to die for!!
Wonderful setting on a rainy night, as I am sure as well on a beautiful day & Very intimate table for 2 in the corner was perfect to celebrate our Anniversary!!

Portobella Mushroom soup was a little bland and missing something to suit our taste normally for a mushroom soup, but otherwise, superb & compliments to the chef!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This is a really nice restaurant however the food was not very good especially my husband's. It was so blend. My husband is a very accomplished executive Chef and has had great experiences with the food but just not this time. The service and atmosphere was outstanding, great plate presentation. We will return, hopefully this time around it will be better, food wise.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Beautiful restaurant! Staff was knowledgeable on food allergies and was very accommodating. Food was fantastic and a great value. Highly recommended for a date night or any special occasion.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I had the salmon salad in which the salmon was perfectly cooked among a nice variety of vegetables. My guest had the seasonal salad, adding prawns, which were also perfectly grilled. Both presentations were beautiful and delicious with the vinaigrette dressings! Would definitely have lunch/dine here again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Having visited Bernardus on three separate occasions and having dined there, we were greatly disappointed with the whole experience. I guess the new ownership needs to learn a few pointers from the original owner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We keep coming back for special occasions because we've always been delighted. My husband had steak with mashed potatoes and I had prawns, each in a delightfully appropriate sauce, with vegetable purées. Dessert was a chocolate torte with ice cream 😋. Service was impeccable which is another reason we make the long drive to Lucia. If you want a special experience, this is the place to come. It's not cheap but you can go to a chain for cheap.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We had a great experience! We had been to the restaurant when it was called Marinus. We loved it then, we love it even more.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Everything was fine, but nothing was truly special. Halibut main course was probably the best, but at these prices and in this environment it should be better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.