Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi

About Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge

Lucia features California-Regional cuisine, created by celebrated chef Cal Stamenov, featuring local organic, seasonal produce as well as regional seafood and artisan farmed meats. Taking full advantage of the resort’s pastoral location, the new design artfully combines modern comforts with the natural elegance of Carmel Valley wine country. In addition to the signature fireplace, cozy custom chairs, linens and drapery have added texture and depth while bringing elements of the outdoors inside

The four-star restaurant has been named Zagat’s “Top Restaurant in Bay Area” and received Wine Spectator magazine’s “Grand Award” since 2001 for its wine cellar. The cellar houses 1,850 different wines and a total of more than 25,000 premium bottles, including 10,000 bottles from the Bernardus Winery & Vineyard near the resort.

415 West Carmel Valley Rd
Carmel Valley, CA 93924
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast from 7:00 am to 11:00 am served in Lucia Restaurant & Terrace
Lunch from 11:30 am to 2:30 pm served on the bar Patio
Dinner 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm served in Lucia Restaurant & Terrace
Bar Menu available from 2:30 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Laureles Grade

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 658-3400

Website:
http://www.bernarduslodge.com/

Catering:
Offsite catering and a professional catering consultant are also available for private parties and dinners.

Executive Chef:
Cal Stamenov

Private Party Facilities:
Lucia offers three unique environments for Private Dining - The Magnum Room, the Wine Cellar and the Chef's Table.

The Magnum Room is a private dining room seating up to 12 guests around a large round table. Up to 8 people can dine in splendor while sitting in the Wine Spectator Grand Award of Excellence winning cellar.

Finally, up to 5 diners can sit at the same table that has hosted Julia Child, Eric Ripert and Leonardo DiCaprio. The Chef's table is a table directly in the kitchen of Lucia where Chef Cal will prepare a meal focusing on the very best ingredients he can find while using your input as inspiration.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Fireplace (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Organic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Live Music (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

When visiting this part of California we love this beautiful space. It checks all the boxes for a great dining experience. Love the semi closed patio, not noisy, friendly & knowledgeable staff, the food is fresh with a seasonal changing menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had a great evening at Lucia. The ambiance is great. We were warmly greeted and the service was excellent. They were attentive without being over bearing. The food was great, tasty with good presentation. Loved everything about our dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Spark seemed missing from food. Maybe chef was gone? Mille-feuille pastry dense like crust, not flaky. Service great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Breakfast was very good. I recommend the home made doughnuts if you can get them. Lunch was so so. We had the house salad that had too much salt in the dressing.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Gorgeous place, nice live music, the food is good , but nothing amazing. The waiter was very nice, but didn't bring the wine until we were halfway finished with our meal. The reason was that he had to get it from the cellar. That is laughable because I ordered a $15 glass of Bernardus that was oxidized and just on the wine side of vinegar. Incredible that a winery would serve an un drinkable wine and so very late into the meal! No time for a second glass that way, guys!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Do not order the duck with lentils it was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was definitely one of the better meals I've had recently. We ordered the tasting menu and each course was delicious. The wine pairings suited the courses well too.

We ordered the abalone in addition and I would definitely recommend this. The sommelier even gave me a larger pour on one of the pairings since he felt it would pair nicely with this extra appetizer.

The foie gras option on the tasting menu is definitely worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Don't do the tasting menu - poor value for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

One of the top 10 dining experiences we have had all over the world.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our first try at the newly opened Lucia Restaurant at Bernardus in Carmel Valley. This was a special occasion and we were treated with extra care. The Happy Hour in the bar was pleasant with live guitar music. Dinner was tasty, with a surprise appetizer. My spouse had the lamb which was done just right, but my pork chop was somewhat large although cooked appropriately. The sommelier selected nice red wines that paired well with our meals. A satisfactory evening to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We went while staying at Barnadus lodge and it could not have been more fantastic! We had the venison and ravioli and both were out of this world. Could not have been more happy with the entire experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Beautiful covered outdoor setting, wonderful wine pairing dinner experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Amazing food, venue & waitstaff. Nothing negative to say. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Rather disappointed in our Easter brunch. We arrived the tables were huge enough for parties of seven or more. We were just a family of four. We were sat at such a table. The food was placed in corners as well as displayed on a long t-shaped table. The food looked fresh but I noticed that the omelette station where some breakfast buffet items were on show seemed old. The Carvery was probably the best of all stations. However near the Carvery station sides were stored in warming dishes. One which was Portabella mushrooms but they were ice cold. Overall fairly disappointed in a rather expensive event. Will seek somewhere else next year .

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Delightful meal. Enjoyed the tasting menu with the wine pairing. Fresh tastes, local items, perfect portions, attentive service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very nice place to for dining. Food was delicious. Customer service- outstanding

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 23, 2017

WE HAD THE TASTING MENU. IT WAS FABULOUS. I GAVE A LOWER SCORE FOR SERVICE.
THE PEOPLE WHO DELIVERED THE FOOD WERE COURTEOUS, REVIEWED THE INGREDIENTS AND WERE VERY PLEASANT. THE WAITER WAS UNINTERESTED. CAME TO THE TABLE ONLY ONCE DURING THE ENTIRE MEAL. WAS NOT KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT THE TASTING MENU AND EXPLAINED OUR LIMIITED QUESTIONS WITH DINER-TYPE ANSWERS. HE WAS A DETRIMENT TO THE SALE OF THE TASTING MENU.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Lucia was one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. The food was absolutely amazing. Food that I normally would not eat were still delicious and made me change my mind, for example the caviar and scallops. I took my girlfriend here for here birthday and she loves it as well. We did not stay in the hotel but we were still treated with top notch service. They have a great wine list and there is a somalier there to tell you about the wines. Not only was the food phenomenal but the service was exceptional. All the employees made us feel very welcomed and the GM was pure class. I recommend this place to anyone who appreciates great food and great service with an incredible view.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Their food is always top notch here and all of the staff is very friendly and willing to get you whatever you want.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our first trip back since the remodel and new restaurant. Will definitely return again. We were there for brunch. My husband had the special Huevos Rancheros brunch combo which came with the best Bloody Mary ever & Cervice. I had an amazing Artichoke with the Huevos Rancheros & a sparkling Rose. We had to try the house made blackberry Cabernet Gelato which was also incredible. They had live music and a beautiful outdoor garden. Very nice can't wait to return for dinner or even just for an artichoke!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fireplace, Healthy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Beautiful restaurant & excellent service.
Food presentation was great and the salmon
Was Wild caught Pacific Salmon. Our favorite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Salmon Salad was much more elegantly presented on Sunday, March 12, in a larger bowl. Perhaps there could be a better option than crowding into the Bar when the patio is not opened. Very noisy with patrons and music in the Bar.
It would be well to train the servers to serve food and drinks from the back or side of a guest, not from across the table.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Absolutely gorgeous, if it's a nice day sitting on the patio is a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary with a lovely evening at Lucia. Great service, excellent food and beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food, service and ambience. Live less than a mile away so it is perfect place for a special occasion dinner. Were there this Monday to celebrate my hubbys birthday🎂

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great atmosphere and food to match. Celebrating our 30th anniversary. Would highly recommend going there. Our server Brook, was efficient and friendly.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We eat at Lucia once or twice a year, getting together with a dear friend to share wine and good food and catch up. This visit was a disappointment. The ambience was nice and we were given a very nice table, but the service was not up to their usual standard. Our server seemed inexperienced with fine dining; his nervousness in pouring wine resulted in awkward spillage and uneven portions; after the initial pours, we were on our own with respect to refills. He checked on us a number of times to see that we were happy, but he just seemed uncomfortable most of the time. The vast majority of wines on the wine list were well above $100, which is particularly absurd in California wine country. however, not all the wines were ridiculously priced--there were enough exceptions among the varietals to reward diligent searching with a relative bargain. They were out of the first wine we ordered, a Sancerre priced at $50. The sommelier suggested an alternative at $80; seeing that this didn't excite me, he offered to bring his "full list" to see if we could find something else. I picked another Sancerre from the "full list" and though their computer showed it in inventory, they were out of that one too. Embarrassed, the sommelier brought us a bottle of Vouvray, which we liked, and did not charge us for it. They had the second bottle of wine we ordered, a Syrah, so that went fine. The chef provided an amuse-bouche, which we liked. Next, my wife's appetizer, abalone, was unrecognizable as abalone, drowned in a thick mushroom sauce; my salad was excellent. Next, all three of us had Foie Gras torchon--it was wonderful but the accompaniments (duck rilletes & lettuce) seemed unnecessary. Next, our friend had salmon, which she said was delicious, and we had venison, which, cooked rare as ordered, still seemed a bit dry, not adequately seasoned, and was served with too little sauce and flabby mushrooms. All in all, it was a pleasant dinner, but we've come to expect better from Lucia.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent elegant pub food, nice wine list, well cooked and conceived. Enjoyable atmosphere, great service (Luis). Definitely worth the trip from wherever you may be. Charming, very much "of wine country."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food preparation and selection. We always enjoy dining here. The food is consistent.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We stayed at the lodge so it made sense to eat at Lucia. We had a nice dinner there, but were underwhelmed by the food for the prices. We both ordered a soup and the server was very kind and said it was so rich we may want to do a salad and a soup (which is what we preferred, just didn't want to ask them to split a plate). Anyway we were happy until the soup and salad came out; not split for us. We had to pass a spoonful across the table to each other, which was fine, but not exactly what we expected (especially when a cup of soup is 16 dollars lol).
Anyway, not a big deal, but overall felt the prices were too high for what you get.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Mushroom soup was exceptional. As were the scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food ok. Nothing out of this world. Waiter was very nice and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was good but the restaurant needs to improve their service all around. Cocktails ordered in bar 20min before our reservation & had to be brought to our table as they were not ready by the time we were seated. Had to ask waiter and then bus boy for our water that we had requested when we sat down, wrong salad arrived, but correct one was brought fairly quickly and we were overcharged for our wine(that incidently the wine steward said was not available in the yr we requested & then the yr we requested was actually brought to our table) We were not dissatisfied but expected better service for the amount of money spent and we had a early reservation so the restaurant wasn't even crowded yet.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Jeff was very helpful in pairing wines by the glass and a small bottle with our dinner choices.
Our dessert wine Muscat de Beaumes de Venice was an outstanding value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

High expectations that were met, but not quite exceeded. Ambiance was warm. Service was attentive and responsive. Felt rushed at start and told them - and experienced the rest of the meal in unhurried comfort. 4 course prix fixe w/ wine pairing. All were interesting, tasty, and creatively presented (except maybe the Wagyu beef/chanterelles which seemed somewhat out of place along with 3 delicious fish courses). A real highlight was the wines - all were unusual and perfectly paired. And alas, the check. I was prepared for a big tab - and Lucia not disappoint.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Never disappointed by the Chef's creativity or the wine pairing

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great experience. Highly recommended.
Always an enjoyable experience. Such a nice place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Every bite was delicious. Service was wonderful. Setting was beautiful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The perfect restaurant to eat a lovely lunch outdoors with wonderful food choices and excellect service (thx Hass). The salmon salad was delicious as was the flat iron steak with fries. These fries were the best fries we've had in a restaurant - EVER! A special coating (and perhaps a double frying method) - makes them tasty and crisp even when not hot. Treat yourself to a glass of their Bernardus wines with your meal to complete an outstanding dining experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

While the salad/starter course and dessert were amazing, the main courses were just average.
Service, wine, settting and everything else was great.
It was just too bad about the entrees.

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.