Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today

Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge

4.6
245 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
Lucia features California-Regional cuisine, created by celebrated chef Cal Stamenov, featuring local organic, seasonal produce as well as regional seafood and artisan farmed meats. Taking full advantage of the resort’s pastoral location, the new design artfully combines modern comforts with the natural elegance of Carmel Valley wine country. In addition to the signature fireplace, cozy custom chairs, linens and drapery have added texture and depth while bringing elements of the outdoors inside

The four-star restaurant has been named Zagat’s “Top Restaurant in Bay Area” and received Wine Spectator magazine’s “Grand Award” since 2001 for its wine cellar. The cellar houses 1,850 different wines and a total of more than 25,000 premium bottles, including 10,000 bottles from the Bernardus Winery & Vineyard near the resort.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast from 7:00 am to 11:00 am served in Lucia Restaurant & Terrace
Lunch from 11:30 am to 2:30 pm served on the bar Patio
Dinner 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm served in Lucia Restaurant & Terrace
Bar Menu available from 2:30 pm to 9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(831) 658-3400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Resort Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Cal Stamenov
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Offsite catering and a professional catering consultant are also available for private parties and dinners.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Laureles Grade
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 245 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Lucia's setting is excellent, as they offer both indoor and outdoor dining options, with the outdoor area loosely enclosed by vinyl wind-breaks, and populated with heaters should temperatures drop. The food and the service were excellent, making this an ideal location to go for a quiet, excellent meal, where you can hear your conversation partner without yelling at one another.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The burger was terrific.

The diver scallops cooked to perfection though everything chosen to accompany them was ... not ideal.

Serving outstanding spicy hummus with tortilla chips... no. No no no.

But overall very good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

From the hostess down to our server, entree, wine was perfect!! My wife was surprised that the hostess and server knew it was my birthday!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Easily the best restaurant in the Carmel area. Not only was the food spectacular, but the service was extremely professional, yet friendly. We enjoyed the tasting menu. We were not thrilled with the high upcharge on the wines. Since we looked at the wine list in advance and noticed the high upcharge, we were able to bring our own wine for a $35 corkage fee. Well worth doing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Great spot. It seems to be a good locals place and fun bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Bernardus is an excetionally beautiful location, that is always impecably maintained. It is a great place to stay, but also a special place for we locals to go for dinner, especially for special occasions. Reliably beautifully-presented and excellent food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Spectacular evening for a party of four celebrating a birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Brunch for our anniversary—we were married there 13 years ago. Outstanding service and fantastic food! Relaxed, peaceful, just perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Came back to Carmel Valley to celebrate our first anniversary near where we got married and had a very romantic dinner at Lucia last Saturday. I highly recommend sitting in the patio which they cover when it's cold (it's still charming). My Manhattan was among the best I've ever had and the corkage fee (we brought our own wine) was reasonable.

The food was delicious, fresh, and memorable! Oh and our waiter attentive.

We got there after dark so couldn't enjoy the valley views.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Great setting and service was done in reams so all needs were all ways taken care of

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

It was very memorable dinner with perfect taste and service. Piano player added our pleasure of yesterday years. Thank you so much.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Nice ambience. if you have a lot of money to blow on fitting into the spa scene, it might be ok. The $26.00 nibble of tough abelone starter was disappointing as was the $22.00 lobster Soup. The Black cod & finell entre $40.00 was real good, but could of used a starch to pop it. The desert - I think it was chocolate mousse but it might have been cheese cake ( the single bite didn't linger on my memory)accompanied by a dollop of good chocolate ice cream was very good. This restaurant is more than 10 miles from "Carmel by the sea". If your looking for for a delicious satisfyingly meal in a romantic setting there are better options at a better value in and near Carmel.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

My husband and I were enjoying a couple of days in Carmel Valley. We had eaten at the lodge before, many years ago, when it was a different restaurant, so we didn’t know what to expect. We shared a simple salad and we each had an entre. I had the halibut special and My husband had the duck breast. Both were excellent. For dessert we shared bourbon vanilla ice cream...also very good. Portions are plenty large, but not overwhelming. Our waiter was fabulous, friendly and gracious. The wine and cocktails were also excellent, probably the best dry manhattan I have ever had outside of my home.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Truly incredible food. Local, super fresh, incredibly sophisticated. The best filet I have ever eaten in my life.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

We ate here for our wedding anniversary, splurging on the $125/person tasting menu. The menu had clearly been chosen to appeal to the popular tastes of the high end crowd: wagyu beef, lobster, pork belly (plus for one of us, a Foie Gras substitution), kampachu sashimi, valrhona chocolate dessert. We also added a tagliatelle with spring truffles from France.

Some nice touches with fresh from their garden ingredients, not heavy and well spaced so we left full but not overstuffed. Just a notch below the Michelin star places in San Francisco on execution...for example, the truffle tagliatelle (pricey at $31) was a little salty and the truffles themselves much blander than the classic black truffles, the NY wagyu beef was not as fatty as true wagyu and was slightly too seared and crispy on the outside (compare to tokyo where wagyu is served lukewarm), and the sashimi was room temperature and not sparkling fresh. But for a hotel restaurant away from the big city, the meal was quite good albeit with close to big city prices (eg similar to Michael Mina in SF but not quite as flawlessly executed.). Service was outstanding and the room nicely spaced so quiet despite being full on a Sunday evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Lucia's patio is a wonderful place for lunch, when it's warm enough to sit outside. Not a dramatic view--it's just the lawn area and opposite loggia--but the weather is warmer and sunnier in Carmel Valley so it's a delightfully relaxing experience. Salads are good and the flatbread is five-star, made with top quality flour for that perfect crust. Nothing worse than cheap flour that makes a lousy crust, LOL. We don't normally go for pizza/flatbreads when travel, but Lucia's version is absolutely destination-worthy. Service is always excellent here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Outstanding in every way!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Food was good! I have a gluten allergy & they were very knowledgeable & helpful. Service was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

It is a very pleasant spot with well-prepared food and very competent service. The high points for me were the red abalone, which was superb, and the wine list, which included a few good values. We had a lovely cru Beaujolais, which was a nice contrast to the Carmel valley wines we'd been tasting earlier in the afternoon. The menu, on the other hand, really isn't a good value. At this price point, I can think of three or four restaurants in the Carmel/Monterey area that I would prefer. Further, I booked the table to celebrate a good friend's birthday. The restaurant did nothing special for her other than stick a birthday candle into the dessert that she ordered. Given that we had ordered more than $250 in food and wine, I would have expected a bit more effort.

I can't say that I would never go back to Lucia, but I definitely am not in any rush to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Have been there several times and will keep going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We went for Easter brunch. Beautiful dining room that flows from inside to outside onto the deck and back patio. . The decor includes a wood burning fireplace and artistic chandeliers. The brunch is better than any I have had on the Monterey Penninsula, complete with raw bar, salads, cheese and salume, omelette station, carving station and desserts. I particularly enjoyed the fresh dungeness crab cocktail. Our server had to be flagged down, but it was a busy holiday meal, so I can understand that. Definitely recommend and will go back myself. Delightful!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 31, 2018

This experience was awful. We went for our anniversary hoping for a special quiet romantic dinner and ended up sitting in a room with a family who came in with 3 obnoxiously loud kids who were constantly screaming. They disrupted the entire restaurant and most people at nearby tables moved, but the kids continued to scream and the staff did nothing (they easily could have switched to the restaurant across the hall that was way more kid-friendly). So much for a special dinner; we paid the astronomic prices for this “special” night that was ruined and left us sad, poor, and angry.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Exquisite! Beyond amazing service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I never order duck.. but i did and it was outrageously fantastic... we will be back soon

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

One of our favorites in the area. Excellent food and service. Highly recommends this place!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Enjoyed a lovely belated Valentine's Day dinner with my hubby. We sat out on the veranda and, with the heat lamps, it was very comfortable and romantic. We had the tasting menu and found the food to be delicious and creative - and a great value for the price. Loved Lucia and we will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We stayed the hotel and were excited to try this restaurant, but unfortunately it did not live up to expectations. The decor is lovely and the service was excellent. The food just left us disappointed. The lobster bisque had too much wine and overwhelmed the flavor and the generous portion of lobster in it was unfortunately rubbery. The crab cake appetizer was delicious however. The kubota pork was average and a little overdone -- the sides were uninspiring. The scallops were perfectly cooked and flavorful, but the accoutrements did not go with the scallops and there was one piece of what I think was black radish was was VERY tough, stringy and unchewable. Skipped dessert...

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 15, 2018

What a horrible dinner! We have been to Lucia over 20 times but our dinner on February 15th was unacceptable!

First, the service was excellent. However, a server cannot make a bad meal good.

I ordered the foie gras dumplings. Disgusting! The broth was like Campbell’s beef broth with some soy and hoisin sauce thrown it. The dumplings were crudely made and had very little if any foie gras flavor. They were much more like Trader Joe’s frozen pork dumplings.

I ordered the New York strip steak. The meat was flavorless and the dark gooey sauce on the plate was unpleasant. The mushrooms and vegetables on the plate looked terrible and had that same gooey sauce on them. The carrots were good once one picked them out of the other stuff on the plate.

I could only eat half the steak - not because I wasn’t hungry but because I couldn’t tolerate the unpleasant flavors. Note to the chef: How can one screw up an expensive steak?

My dinner companion had a pork chop. The pork was tough, tasteless and dry. The brussels sprout slaw on the plate was way too heavily salted. He needed a saw - not a knife - to cut this geriatric pig.

We didn’t have dessert. We didn’t need any more disappointment and I wanted to get home to fix a snack.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentines Day. Beautiful food, flawless service. Attentive, not rushed, not too slow. Perfection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

We very much enjoyed our romantic dinner. The food was phenomenal!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

This is our second time at Lucia’s. The service is always great and the ambiance is lovely. The menu is creative. Perhaps the only criticism is that some dishes seem overly fussy and the ingredients do not stamd up to rich sauces at times. Found it best to stick with simpler dishes with fresh ingredients. Would certainly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Had breakfast here mid week. We are staying at the Bernardus Lodge and this is the restaurant at the lodge. The service was great, and our meal was good except for the homefries. They seemed dry and not so fresh. Which did not really detract from the experience considering how beautiful the place is.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 24, 2018

For such a classy restaurant, we were appalled by the service. When asked to differentiate between a special and a regular menu item, we were told one had “different stuff”....... REALLY?!?! When our guest ordered a bourbon drink, a gin and 7-up was delivered.....we are locals, Lucia won’t be on our “guest “ list anymore.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Delicious food and friendly staff. Gorgeous setting!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Henry, our server, was terrific.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Had an off night for our menu choices, and the service people politely listened to our feedback and made amends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2018

Enjoyed every minute of the meal & afternoon. Want to return soon--maybe a personal retreat, getaway--perfect for that! Looking forward to being pampered!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2018

We celebrated our anniversary here and had a beautifully curated dinner with the best local wine. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Would love to see more vegan friendly options. Although the salad was very nice and our waiter was excellent I didn't get enough to eat. We love dining in the bar area and had the other grain vegan option you offered the evening prior to our reservation. That was also very good.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7

Tweets by Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge