Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi

About Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge

Lucia features California-Regional cuisine, created by celebrated chef Cal Stamenov, featuring local organic, seasonal produce as well as regional seafood and artisan farmed meats. Taking full advantage of the resort’s pastoral location, the new design artfully combines modern comforts with the natural elegance of Carmel Valley wine country. In addition to the signature fireplace, cozy custom chairs, linens and drapery have added texture and depth while bringing elements of the outdoors inside

The four-star restaurant has been named Zagat’s “Top Restaurant in Bay Area” and received Wine Spectator magazine’s “Grand Award” since 2001 for its wine cellar. The cellar houses 1,850 different wines and a total of more than 25,000 premium bottles, including 10,000 bottles from the Bernardus Winery & Vineyard near the resort.

415 West Carmel Valley Rd
Carmel Valley, CA 93924
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast from 7:00 am to 11:00 am served in Lucia Restaurant & Terrace
Lunch from 11:30 am to 2:30 pm served on the bar Patio
Dinner 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm served in Lucia Restaurant & Terrace
Bar Menu available from 2:30 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Laureles Grade

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 658-3400

Website:
http://www.bernarduslodge.com/

Catering:
Offsite catering and a professional catering consultant are also available for private parties and dinners.

Executive Chef:
Cal Stamenov

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (12)
Worth the Drive (9)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fun (2)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort by
S
199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Want to feel like you've left Silicon Valley for a European moment? This spot hits the mark. Both the outside and inside ambience transport you to a lush lovely romantic interlude. The wine is devine and our wait person quite personable while not becoming intrusive.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Engagement dinner, Dave was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Amazing bartender and superb service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Lucia has great atmosphere with live piano at night or guitar during the day. We stayed on site at the lodge had dinner there both nights. The food was excellent. We had the halibut special, venison, duck and the mushroom and egg tart and my favorite foie gras. Make sure you try the queen bee cocktail.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2017

We had not been back to Bernardus Lodge since their renovation. We'd enjoyed Marinus restaurant and was happy to hear that the chef was still there at Lucia. We went all out with the tasting menu with wine pairings. The amounts were just right...we were able to finish all the courses and not feel stuffed. Every dish was beautifully presented and delicious. The wine pairings were generous and each complimented their dish. We sat in a romantic booth... the room is a bit more casual than before but it still feels like fine dining. The prices felt fair for the high quality of everything we experienced.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We had brunch and it was outstanding!! My husband had the special which was amazing and I had the eggs Benedict and everything was delicious!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Cozy, Scenic View, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2017

It is OK to spoil yourself. This is a high end experience. Enjoy quality food and service with friendly, hospitable servers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Great meal - Had the Chefs tasting menu and accompanying wine pairings. Dave (our server) was great too.

Beautiful outdoor seating area beside a warm fire helped create a wonderful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Breakfast was fresh and well prepared. The service was on point.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2017

The food and service were strong. The room is very comfortable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2017

For beautiful setting this is tops. Very good food and service. Pricey but worth it. We go twice a year for lunch. Pick a good weather day.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

We thought it was good, but were not super impressed by service or the value of the food. Wanted to be Wow'd by the food based on the cost...and yet we were not. Overall good food and beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Food was wonderful and service was even better. My wife and I dined here to celebrate our anniversary and had a great evening. Were were staying at the Bernardus Lodge but would have dined here anyway even if we had stayed in Carmel instead. Definitely worth the drive if you want a special meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Fantastic start to finish. Extraordinary attention to detail and service. Chef Cal Stamenov is humble, yet one of the most recognized outstanding chef's in the world. Trained around the world, he really delivers an extraordinary experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Scallops? Excellent - cooked perfectly with a great complimentary sauce. Steak/Filet? So/so. Nothing special. Good but not great. Service? Good...not over the top. Based upon this 1 dining experience, I say it's a good restaurant - but was expecting great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2017

“Nice” but ultimately disappointing experience. We were excited to celebrate a 50th here. Seating was awful, lighting so bright that the entire party felt we were in an interrogation area. Food was mixed; appetizers were tasteful, steaks were patchy (medium rare lamb was a hit, one medium steak was spot on, another medium steak was disappointingly overcooked). Mentioned to the waiter with no reply. Surprised to have to order a dessert to have a small onsite birthday candle. Not at the standard we have enjoyed for other milestone celebrations - Grammercy Tavern, Gary Danko and the like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Have dined here for breakfast / brunch many times. This is the first instance of inattentive service, and they weren't busy at all.
Will be back, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2017

We had very good food at Lucia. My mother had the scallops and I had the lamb. Both were excellent. I appreciated the excellent service with the proper etiquette and timing. Most restaurants do not even know that one is supposed to serve from the left and take away from the right.
They also have a nice selection of wine by the glass which includes European wines.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Excellent food and wine. Unusual dishes with excellent flavor, allowing you to take a small step outside of your comfort zone and enjoy it at the same time. Beautiful location, excellent service, delicious food. Be aware that the portions are small, but extremely satisfying. I would 100% recommend dining here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Have been at Lucia 3 times over the past few years when we visit the Monterrey Carmel area from The Woodlands, Texas. Love Lucia!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Classy restaurant with fantastic service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful food and terrific service. Love this restaurant. Best staff and incredible cuisine!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We always enjoy returning to Lucia. The food is inventive and delish, staff are first class, the room is beautiful and mostly we are always treated so very personally.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We are locals and this was our second experience since the new management took over last year. This is also my second one star review of a truly bad dining experience. After many years enjoying the original Bernadus we find the new incarnation a truly bad experience. We had a simple lunch of Hamburger, Chicken breast, and crab cake and all were over cooked, dry and tasteless. The servers were rude and supercilious and ill informed about the luncheon times. We asked for a wine list and received a menu which was thrown on our table as the waiter walked away. The attempts by the staff to appear interested and professional were so transparent as to be embarrassing. We felt like our presence was an imposition while they prepared for the dinner hour. I guess the poor quality of the food was matched by the attitude of the staff.
I don't write reviews of my dining experiences as a rule but this second lousy experience warrants me taking the time to express my opinion on the dismal experience we have had both times.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great food, great décor, great wine list -- a perfect meal.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

My wife and I both had a salad which was excellent, with fresh local greens. She had a bottle of wine, recommended by the sommelier, which she loved. My wife had the lamb, which she said was one of the best dishes she had had in a long time. The lamb was cooked perfectly with a very flavorable gravy over a bed of fresh vegetables. My halibut, on the other hand was just average. It was dry, lacked flavor and generally uninspiring It did not even seem fresh.
The sercice and ambiance were both outstanding

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Resturant Lucia is a perfect place for a long relaxed lunch for a group of friends or for just two. Pretty and pleasant patio area with plenty of sun or shade.
Very nice service. Food and wine both outstanding. This is a must stop for anyone visiting the Carmel Valley.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

First visit to Lucia after Bernardus Lodge redid its restaurant. Cal Stamenov is still the master chef, so the food is still outstanding - fresh, local ingredients beautifully prepared to showcase the quality of the food. We had a lovely dinner sitting outside, which provided just the right mix of high-end dining and casual atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Wonderful food, great wines and exceptional service. You won't regret a meal here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Brunch was quite disappointing. It did not provide us the culinary experience we'd hoped for at Bernardus. It was lovely, albeit hot out on the patio however the food just did not add up for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Very disappointing. We dined here this past Thursday night (7/13) for my special birthday. My wife took the time to contact the restaurant well in advance to alert them to our dietary restrictions and that it was special birthday dinner celebration. She also reconfirmed a few days prior to our reservation that everything was still okay and they confirmed it wouldn't be a problem to accommodate a special vegan meal for me. We were also staying at the hotel btw. When we were sat for dinner, there seem to be no notes that transferred from the my wife's conversations with the restaurant to our server. The server, which was plenty kind, didn't know what to do about our needs and what would could be made vegan from their normal menu. He even said something like, "if we only knew in advance". We let him know we had called in advance but that didn't seem to register with him. Nothing seem to have been organize at all to accommodate us or make any attempt of a special meal. The server went back to the kitchen to discuss what could be ordered after thinking I could maybe order the only pasta listed on their menu (everything else seemed to have meat or dairy). He came back saying the pasta noodles had egg in them so the only thing they could make was rice (not risotto) with sautéed vegetables. Having no other option I went with that. We waited almost 40 minutes for our main course to come out and it was basically steamed rice (way too al dente) and a handful of vegetables and a few mushrooms. NO effort was put into that meal I can tell you. There was also no dessert options other than sorbet. My wife was made to believe they were going to do something special and nothing was done at all. We might as well have randomilly dined anywhere with zero advanced notice and come out better off.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food is wonderful....the ambience, terrific. This place has become so beautiful. Don't pass up the grilled artichoke!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Live Music, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Lucia has everything you want in a restaurant: a great setting and ambience, thoughtful service, and, above all, a seriously talented chef. Every course was excellent; there was no fall-off in quality. Though I live at a distance from Lucia, I'll return again as soon as I can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 2, 2017

a little slow on the service, great ambiance, pairings didn't impress as much as it seemed it would be for the price but it was nice trying something new.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Special, but there are better values. Service outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 1, 2017

An amazing experience with exceptional food and service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were staying at the Lodge and had one dinner and one breakfast at Lucia. For dinner on a Friday evening we had the tasting menu which was outstanding. Our server was most helpful and made our evening a wonderful experience and he made sure my plates were Gluten Free. Each course such as the Crab salad, the Scallop plate, the Veal cheeks and wagyu steak entrée and Strawberry panna cotta were not only delicious but they were beautiful. We enjoyed the wine pairing but we thought the sommelier was not as engaging and personable as we have enjoyed at other restaurants. We had Sunday brunch on the patio which was nice.
We had also dined at Lucia a few months before while staying with family in the valley. We had a wonderful experience then also.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Excellent anniversary meal. Did the Chef's menu/tasting combo and we were both totally impressed. The sommelier was kind enough to show us around after the fact.

The hotel was an amazing stay, too.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our experience was awesome! Every staff member was professional and friendly. Our waiter answered all of our questions about the menu, made suggestions. The food was so delicious! We will be back for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.