Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 2.23mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.98mi

About Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge

Lucia features California-Regional cuisine, created by celebrated chef Cal Stamenov, featuring local organic, seasonal produce as well as regional seafood and artisan farmed meats. Taking full advantage of the resort’s pastoral location, the new design artfully combines modern comforts with the natural elegance of Carmel Valley wine country. In addition to the signature fireplace, cozy custom chairs, linens and drapery have added texture and depth while bringing elements of the outdoors inside

The four-star restaurant has been named Zagat’s “Top Restaurant in Bay Area” and received Wine Spectator magazine’s “Grand Award” since 2001 for its wine cellar. The cellar houses 1,850 different wines and a total of more than 25,000 premium bottles, including 10,000 bottles from the Bernardus Winery & Vineyard near the resort.

415 West Carmel Valley Rd
Carmel Valley, CA 93924
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast from 7:00 am to 11:00 am served in Lucia Restaurant & Terrace
Lunch from 11:30 am to 2:30 pm served on the bar Patio
Dinner 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm served in Lucia Restaurant & Terrace
Bar Menu available from 2:30 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Laureles Grade

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 658-3400

Website:
http://www.bernarduslodge.com/

Catering:
Offsite catering and a professional catering consultant are also available for private parties and dinners.

Executive Chef:
Cal Stamenov

Private Party Facilities:
Lucia offers three unique environments for Private Dining - The Magnum Room, the Wine Cellar and the Chef's Table.

The Magnum Room is a private dining room seating up to 12 guests around a large round table. Up to 8 people can dine in splendor while sitting in the Wine Spectator Grand Award of Excellence winning cellar.

Finally, up to 5 diners can sit at the same table that has hosted Julia Child, Eric Ripert and Leonardo DiCaprio. The Chef's table is a table directly in the kitchen of Lucia where Chef Cal will prepare a meal focusing on the very best ingredients he can find while using your input as inspiration.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Romantic (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Organic (7)
Scenic View (7)
Live Music (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (5)
Fireplace (4)
Authentic (4)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

First visit to Lucia after Bernardus Lodge redid its restaurant. Cal Stamenov is still the master chef, so the food is still outstanding - fresh, local ingredients beautifully prepared to showcase the quality of the food. We had a lovely dinner sitting outside, which provided just the right mix of high-end dining and casual atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food, great wines and exceptional service. You won't regret a meal here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Brunch was quite disappointing. It did not provide us the culinary experience we'd hoped for at Bernardus. It was lovely, albeit hot out on the patio however the food just did not add up for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Very disappointing. We dined here this past Thursday night (7/13) for my special birthday. My wife took the time to contact the restaurant well in advance to alert them to our dietary restrictions and that it was special birthday dinner celebration. She also reconfirmed a few days prior to our reservation that everything was still okay and they confirmed it wouldn't be a problem to accommodate a special vegan meal for me. We were also staying at the hotel btw. When we were sat for dinner, there seem to be no notes that transferred from the my wife's conversations with the restaurant to our server. The server, which was plenty kind, didn't know what to do about our needs and what would could be made vegan from their normal menu. He even said something like, "if we only knew in advance". We let him know we had called in advance but that didn't seem to register with him. Nothing seem to have been organize at all to accommodate us or make any attempt of a special meal. The server went back to the kitchen to discuss what could be ordered after thinking I could maybe order the only pasta listed on their menu (everything else seemed to have meat or dairy). He came back saying the pasta noodles had egg in them so the only thing they could make was rice (not risotto) with sautéed vegetables. Having no other option I went with that. We waited almost 40 minutes for our main course to come out and it was basically steamed rice (way too al dente) and a handful of vegetables and a few mushrooms. NO effort was put into that meal I can tell you. There was also no dessert options other than sorbet. My wife was made to believe they were going to do something special and nothing was done at all. We might as well have randomilly dined anywhere with zero advanced notice and come out better off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food is wonderful....the ambience, terrific. This place has become so beautiful. Don't pass up the grilled artichoke!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Live Music, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Lucia has everything you want in a restaurant: a great setting and ambience, thoughtful service, and, above all, a seriously talented chef. Every course was excellent; there was no fall-off in quality. Though I live at a distance from Lucia, I'll return again as soon as I can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 2, 2017

a little slow on the service, great ambiance, pairings didn't impress as much as it seemed it would be for the price but it was nice trying something new.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Special, but there are better values. Service outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 1, 2017

An amazing experience with exceptional food and service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Excellent anniversary meal. Did the Chef's menu/tasting combo and we were both totally impressed. The sommelier was kind enough to show us around after the fact.

The hotel was an amazing stay, too.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our experience was awesome! Every staff member was professional and friendly. Our waiter answered all of our questions about the menu, made suggestions. The food was so delicious! We will be back for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Lovely setting for anniversary dinner .. attentive service however a bit disappointed when we asked for two cookies to go,along with dessert ordered and were told that it wasn't possible unless we ordered the full order on menu! Given that this was a celebration of anniversary that they knew about a bit disappointing given the location!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

It was a windy day, so the vinyl enclosures around the patio on which we were seated flapped loudly throughout our meal. The food was good, but not special enough for these prices, particularly given the above-mentioned atmosphere. Some of the restaurants in downtown Carmel are a better value overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Beautiful outside seating with live music. Amazing brunch!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

When visiting this part of California we love this beautiful space. It checks all the boxes for a great dining experience. Love the semi closed patio, not noisy, friendly & knowledgeable staff, the food is fresh with a seasonal changing menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We discovered Bernardus many years ago and we love it as a fantastic dining experience. We do not live in the area but visit from time to time and and we try to get to Lucia whenever we can. The food, the decor, the ambience, the service all combine to make it a memorable and gratifying experience every time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The chef's taste menu was awesome, with the wine pairing. A true food experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

WE had a great meal here! Everyone was friendly and helpful. The restaurant is beautiful. We were able to sit in the glass patio they have which was really nice. We would recommend!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had a great evening at Lucia. The ambiance is great. We were warmly greeted and the service was excellent. They were attentive without being over bearing. The food was great, tasty with good presentation. Loved everything about our dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Spark seemed missing from food. Maybe chef was gone? Mille-feuille pastry dense like crust, not flaky. Service great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My wife and I recently enjoyed an exceptional dinner at Lucia, and I would be remiss if I didn't properly review this restaurant. The vibe is casual Carmel Valley, in a partially open air dining room subtly decorated with local arrangements. We were lucky to get one of the back booths, which make for a more private and intimate dining experience. Our server was very knowledgeable about the food, the ingredient components of each dish, and even the wine list. Chef Cal's food is beautifully presented without being over the top. The quality ingredients shone through on each dish we ordered. There wasn't a bad bite in the entire meal. It's a bit out of the way, but you won't find a better meal in Carmel or Monterey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Breakfast was very good. I recommend the home made doughnuts if you can get them. Lunch was so so. We had the house salad that had too much salt in the dressing.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Gorgeous place, nice live music, the food is good , but nothing amazing. The waiter was very nice, but didn't bring the wine until we were halfway finished with our meal. The reason was that he had to get it from the cellar. That is laughable because I ordered a $15 glass of Bernardus that was oxidized and just on the wine side of vinegar. Incredible that a winery would serve an un drinkable wine and so very late into the meal! No time for a second glass that way, guys!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Do not order the duck with lentils it was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This was definitely one of the better meals I've had recently. We ordered the tasting menu and each course was delicious. The wine pairings suited the courses well too.

We ordered the abalone in addition and I would definitely recommend this. The sommelier even gave me a larger pour on one of the pairings since he felt it would pair nicely with this extra appetizer.

The foie gras option on the tasting menu is definitely worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Don't do the tasting menu - poor value for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

One of the top 10 dining experiences we have had all over the world.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our first try at the newly opened Lucia Restaurant at Bernardus in Carmel Valley. This was a special occasion and we were treated with extra care. The Happy Hour in the bar was pleasant with live guitar music. Dinner was tasty, with a surprise appetizer. My spouse had the lamb which was done just right, but my pork chop was somewhat large although cooked appropriately. The sommelier selected nice red wines that paired well with our meals. A satisfactory evening to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We went while staying at Barnadus lodge and it could not have been more fantastic! We had the venison and ravioli and both were out of this world. Could not have been more happy with the entire experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Beautiful covered outdoor setting, wonderful wine pairing dinner experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Amazing food, venue & waitstaff. Nothing negative to say. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Rather disappointed in our Easter brunch. We arrived the tables were huge enough for parties of seven or more. We were just a family of four. We were sat at such a table. The food was placed in corners as well as displayed on a long t-shaped table. The food looked fresh but I noticed that the omelette station where some breakfast buffet items were on show seemed old. The Carvery was probably the best of all stations. However near the Carvery station sides were stored in warming dishes. One which was Portabella mushrooms but they were ice cold. Overall fairly disappointed in a rather expensive event. Will seek somewhere else next year .

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Delightful meal. Enjoyed the tasting menu with the wine pairing. Fresh tastes, local items, perfect portions, attentive service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very nice place to for dining. Food was delicious. Customer service- outstanding

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 22, 2017

WE HAD THE TASTING MENU. IT WAS FABULOUS. I GAVE A LOWER SCORE FOR SERVICE.
THE PEOPLE WHO DELIVERED THE FOOD WERE COURTEOUS, REVIEWED THE INGREDIENTS AND WERE VERY PLEASANT. THE WAITER WAS UNINTERESTED. CAME TO THE TABLE ONLY ONCE DURING THE ENTIRE MEAL. WAS NOT KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT THE TASTING MENU AND EXPLAINED OUR LIMIITED QUESTIONS WITH DINER-TYPE ANSWERS. HE WAS A DETRIMENT TO THE SALE OF THE TASTING MENU.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Lucia was one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. The food was absolutely amazing. Food that I normally would not eat were still delicious and made me change my mind, for example the caviar and scallops. I took my girlfriend here for here birthday and she loves it as well. We did not stay in the hotel but we were still treated with top notch service. They have a great wine list and there is a somalier there to tell you about the wines. Not only was the food phenomenal but the service was exceptional. All the employees made us feel very welcomed and the GM was pure class. I recommend this place to anyone who appreciates great food and great service with an incredible view.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Their food is always top notch here and all of the staff is very friendly and willing to get you whatever you want.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our first trip back since the remodel and new restaurant. Will definitely return again. We were there for brunch. My husband had the special Huevos Rancheros brunch combo which came with the best Bloody Mary ever & Cervice. I had an amazing Artichoke with the Huevos Rancheros & a sparkling Rose. We had to try the house made blackberry Cabernet Gelato which was also incredible. They had live music and a beautiful outdoor garden. Very nice can't wait to return for dinner or even just for an artichoke!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Healthy, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Beautiful restaurant & excellent service.
Food presentation was great and the salmon
Was Wild caught Pacific Salmon. Our favorite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Salmon Salad was much more elegantly presented on Sunday, March 12, in a larger bowl. Perhaps there could be a better option than crowding into the Bar when the patio is not opened. Very noisy with patrons and music in the Bar.
It would be well to train the servers to serve food and drinks from the back or side of a guest, not from across the table.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.