About Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge

415 West Carmel Valley Rd
Carmel Valley, CA 93924
View Larger Map

Lucia features California-Regional cuisine, created by celebrated chef Cal Stamenov, featuring local organic, seasonal produce as well as regional seafood and artisan farmed meats. Taking full advantage of the resort’s pastoral location, the new design artfully combines modern comforts with the natural elegance of Carmel Valley wine country. In addition to the signature fireplace, cozy custom chairs, linens and drapery have added texture and depth while bringing elements of the outdoors inside

The four-star restaurant has been named Zagat’s “Top Restaurant in Bay Area” and received Wine Spectator magazine’s “Grand Award” since 2001 for its wine cellar. The cellar houses 1,850 different wines and a total of more than 25,000 premium bottles, including 10,000 bottles from the Bernardus Winery & Vineyard near the resort.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast from 7:00 am to 11:00 am served in Lucia Restaurant & Terrace
Lunch from 11:30 am to 2:30 pm served on the bar Patio
Dinner 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm served in Lucia Restaurant & Terrace
Bar Menu available from 2:30 pm to 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Laureles Grade

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 658-3400

Website:
http://www.bernarduslodge.com/

Catering:
Offsite catering and a professional catering consultant are also available for private parties and dinners.

Executive Chef:
Cal Stamenov

Private Party Facilities:
Lucia offers three unique environments for Private Dining - The Magnum Room, the Wine Cellar and the Chef's Table.

The Magnum Room is a private dining room seating up to 12 guests around a large round table. Up to 8 people can dine in splendor while sitting in the Wine Spectator Grand Award of Excellence winning cellar.

Finally, up to 5 diners can sit at the same table that has hosted Julia Child, Eric Ripert and Leonardo DiCaprio. The Chef's table is a table directly in the kitchen of Lucia where Chef Cal will prepare a meal focusing on the very best ingredients he can find while using your input as inspiration.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Lucia Restaurant & Bar - Bernardus Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
Best Food
Monterey / Carmel
3 More
Best Service
Monterey / Carmel
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel Valley ›

Special Occasion (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Romantic (23)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Scenic View (10)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
93 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful anniversary dinning experience ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful anniversary dinning experience! The ambiance was mature and relaxing. The beautiful live floral displays are few and far between these days. The garden and grounds were scenic. The food was excellent. The duck dish is one the best we have every had. The portions are generous and balanced between the main entree and sides. The service was great and the staff very inviting. We felt special on our special day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply outstanding in all respects. Ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Simply outstanding in all respects. Very expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service from Kerry! Everything ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent service from Kerry! Everything was good! Seared foie gras was the best! Will definitely go back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very charming terrace. We went for lunch ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very charming terrace. We went for lunch for my birthday in August. Great fan of the wine. Lovely food choices.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent by we were disappoint ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was excellent by we were disappointed by the 5 courses Chef's menu; not a vey good value for the money.

All the Chef's menu courses are really much, much smaller size of the same carte items, nothing original or delightful as we remembered from the chef's menu when the restaurant was the Marinus.

Also no more varied amuse-bouches spread over the meal, just one at the beginning, same as the complimentary one you get with a la carte items.

Don't get us wrong, food was great, we were just expecting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Exceptional

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

What a pleasant evening! Started with t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

What a pleasant evening! Started with the Mushroom Soup...Rich and lovely. The cassoulet was astonishing and my husband declared 'the Salmon the best I ever had'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lucia Restaurant and the Lodge are just ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Lucia Restaurant and the Lodge are just beautiful. We had drinks outside in the lobby in the warm sunshine and then had dinner in the restaurant. David our waiter was very nice and knowable of the food selections. The steak I had was cooked perfectly I could cut it with my fork. The wine and ambiance was great. I will surely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat on the patio, which isn't really ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We sat on the patio, which isn't really attached to the restaurant. It was a nice setting for lunch. The food and service were good, nice wine options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

An excellent restaurant. Great service. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

An excellent restaurant. Great service. We were celebrating our anniversary in Carmel Value and decided to go to "new" restaurants. It was better than we could imagine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing. Felt more like an outdoo ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Disappointing. Felt more like an outdoor hotel lobby restaurant than the beautiful setting we anticipated. Does not feel like you are in a winery or even near a vineyard but for the entrance to the property which builds expectations and is lovely. At the restaurant there were a bunch of families/kids/babies and not much atmosphere - no views and a pool 10 yards away. Again maybe our expectations were off. The music, while quite enjoyable, began an hour later than advertised. Wait staff was slow but then worked hard to make things right. BBQ Brisket was extremely fatty, and the non-fatty part was not tender. Tuna tartar was good, as were the duck rillettes. Desserts were excellent. The peach with lavender sauce was exceptional although the granola was unnecessary. Overall mixed review but not worth the drive out there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Excellent meal.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Deliciousness and Elegant dining with a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Deliciousness and Elegant dining with a friendly and helpful waitress.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular everything! Beautiful bar, ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Spectacular everything! Beautiful bar, dining room and grounds, fantastic food and friendly, professional service. Lucia is now one of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent... food, service, view, live m ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent... food, service, view, live music! Enjoy! This chef knows what he is doing! Delicious!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A fine restaurant, and a fine dining exp ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A fine restaurant, and a fine dining experience. We ate here to celebrate my birthday and our 30th anniversary, and it was hands down perfect in every way. Ambience is pleasant and comfortable. Service is just the right level of attentiveness, and also pleasant and professional And the food? Wow. We shared a number of small dishes: all wonderfully prepared. For dinner, my wife had the sea bass: perfect. I had the braised short ribs: incredible! Good sized portions, too. Oh, and I had an Old Fashioned before dinner - one of the best I've ever had in a restaurant. ... Hands down, one of the most enjoyable dining experiences we've had in a while.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was decent. Service alternated betw ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Food was decent. Service alternated between very attentive and very inattentive depending on the server. Nice outdoor and indoor settings. Would dine here again if staying at the hotel, but would not make a trip for this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A beautiful restaurant, doors open for c ...

 
 (Monterrey)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A beautiful restaurant, doors open for cool breeze, fire going for ambience, Joe ,the talented piano player , was amazing. The service was very friendly and attentive. Very comfortable . We had the crab cake appetizer, which was tasty, and we also had the chicken, which was delish! Would definitely go again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful. Food and service wonderful.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Delightful. Food and service wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Find

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

There's a reason it's on the list of most romantic places in Carmel. It's gorgeous and the food is fantastic. A little overpriced but great nonetheless.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service not up to usual standard. We've ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Service not up to usual standard. We've dined here many times and have always had excellent service until yesterday. The server was someone we had not seen before, so perhaps he is new, but he was very slow, seemed to disappear and we had to flag down other servers at least three times. He failed to put in my husband's appetizer request, so he wasn't served that. That said, the food was excellent. I had the chicken, which is always terrific. Husband had the seafood special and said it was delicious. The live guitar music was wonderful as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Fabulous food, great service, beautiful ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Fabulous food, great service, beautiful location...what more can you ask for? It was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First night at Bernardus Lodge so decide ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

First night at Bernardus Lodge so decided to stay close for dinner. Unfortunately forgot to make reservation so we're stuck dining in the bar as the restaurant was booked (on a Tuesday), though it sure didn't look full to us. Friendly service, food was out really quick, and was tasty. Enjoyed the meal, and the drink specials.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A picture perfect Mother's Day! The food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A picture perfect Mother's Day! The food was absolutely delicious with a picturesque backdrop. The staff was very polite, professional, and attentive. Highly recommended Lucia for any special occasion, especially Mother's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

What happened to the old ambiance of Marinus? Updating isn't always a good thing. Carpets to hardwood equals a much higher noise level, plus the opening up of the bar area means noise levels from the sports on the TV spilling over into what should be a quiet and upscale dining experience. Food nothing to shout about, either. Advertised parsnips with the salmon actually were turnips, duck "cassoulet" was slices of duck in a bowl with some sauteed vegetables. Certainly not a "Provencal" experience. I had the artichoke and basil raviolis, which were a huge disappointment. The "smoked tomato sauce" was so heavily smoked that there were no other flavors present at all. I ate half and left the rest. During college, I was a waitress in what was then an upmarket restaurant. We were told by the management not to ask about the quality of the food. Perhaps, this same management has now taken over what used to be a valley favorite?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Delicious dishes and beautiful location

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Delicious dishes and beautiful location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this Restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I'd definitely return to this place. Great escape from busy days to such a lovely, well made resort. Very nice atmosphere and those breathtaking mountains!..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch with friends outdoors at Lucia

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Beautiful day and setting. Attentive service. Plentiful food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding restaurant and wonderful mus ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Outstanding restaurant and wonderful music during our lunch. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Celebration

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We selected Lucia Restaurant to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We started at the bar... and had a delightful interaction with the bartender... and a fabulous margarita! We followed with the 5 course tasting menu (including lobster tempura, sea bass and cheese courses, among others) with wine paring. It was memorable and well worth the extra cost. The wines were excellent, although I would have appreciated a heftier pour of each. We ended with a sipping rum, and by then we deferred to the full discretion of staff and were not disappointed. To sum, we would repeat this wonderful experience in a heartbeat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a disappointing meal last night for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Had a disappointing meal last night for wife's 50th birthday. The service and ambience were very good, but two of our meals were not not up to par. My wife had the duck and the sauce was too salty, and I had the "wagyu" beef. There is NO WAY we were served wagyu beef...while cooked to the correct temp...the cut was far from tender as one would expect from a cut like wagyu. The chef should be ashamed to charge $62 for what was clearly not wagyu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

amazing romantic dinner!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed dinner here at Lucia while on our honeymoon. It was so romantic and the food was incredible! The staff were so friendly and I would love to come back in the future!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a wonderful dining experience! Each ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Such a wonderful dining experience! Each dish was a symphony of flavors enhancing each mouthwatering bite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In a word OUTSTANDING

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

We stayed at the Hotel for two nights and ate most all of our meals there. Dinner was my favorite with delicious fresh fish with Trumpet Mushrooms (haven't had those in Santa Barbara anywhere). I can't remember when I have had better food, and can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food, service and scenery were fanta ...

 
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The food, service and scenery were fantastic. Very sorry we discovered this place right before we moved from the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Somewhat Disappointing

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

We went for lunch on a quiet Tuesday, and while it was good, we found the menu lacking , especially in seafood choices. Definitely not what we expected, considering all the accolades this chef has been receiving.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tremendous experience. Excellent staff f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Tremendous experience. Excellent staff from Julie to mark (wine)... The food was outstanding and the ambiance was perfect for the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting. Food is delicious. ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Beautiful setting. Food is delicious. One of the few places around that serves Steak Tartare - my favorite and it's so good here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dinner at Lucia

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We had a fabulous meal. Perfect in every way. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The food was interesting and delicious. The Hamachi sashimi was SO delicate. The scallop and octopus ceviche unique and flavorful. The swordfish was perfect. The cassoulet wasn't too heavy. The sorbets are wonderful essence of fruit. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.