About Luce Ristorante E Enoteca

11255 Huebner Rd
San Antonio, TX 78230
View Larger Map

Founded in 2006, Luce is a local favorite featuring many traditional dishes. Flavors which often bring our guests back to their best memories of Italian specialties.



My goal for this restaurant to create a warm environment for all guests that is typical of a true Italian heritage.



Our menu consists of many Buonincontri family recipes and recipes brought back from travel to Italy.



Fresh fish, meats and produce expound throughout Luce's offerings and a focus on the finest ingredients are what make Luce special.



House made Gnocchi, Italian rice balls and homemade Mozzarella are just a few examples our passion for the finest Italian food.The word Enoteca means wine library. The walls of the entire restaurant are covered with wine bottles as you would expect books to cover the walls of a library. Wine is a very important part of an experience at Luce, with over 125 choices from our wine list available to you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am- 2:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
IH10

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 561-9700

Website:
http://lucesanantonio.com/

Catering:
Luce will cater your special event. Either pick up service or full off-site service is available.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Buonincontri

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve our private "Wine Room". Available Breakfast, Lunch , Dinner or Happy Hour. Free WiFi,screen and LCD projector available. Capacity: Up to 50 for a sit down function.

Private Party Contact:
Joseph Buonincontri: 2105619700x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Luce Ristorante E Enoteca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
6 More
Italian
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Outdoor Dining
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Italian
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Medical Center ›

special occasion (28)
neighborhood gem (27)
romantic (27)
See All
notable wine list (27)
great for outdoor dining (25)
good for groups (17)
fit for foodies (14)
great for lunch (12)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience4
service2
value4

Disappointed

Dined on May 11, 2016

I've been to Luce many times, mostly for happy hour with friends. I hadn't been in a few months, but I'd usually had a good experience. I think their happy hour offerings are some of the best in the city in terms of variety and price. However, on this occasion, the food was bland and unappetizing and the service was slow. It took 30 minutes to receive pizza we ordered even though other dishes we ordered later came out before the pizza. I don't think I can recommend Luce until they improve what has gone wrong with them. It's too bad. It's a good location, good menu, and nice outdoor seating.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed Luce and would plan on going b ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I enjoyed Luce and would plan on going back. The food and service was excellent. The only knock that I had from my visit was the fact that they seated everyone right next to each other. There were only 5 parties in the whole restaurant yet we were all next to each other so it was hard to have your own conversation without overhearing everyone else.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a delightful experience!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Always a delightful experience!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice Surprise

Dined on April 15, 2016

Came to Luce's on a whim just to check it out. Had seen it in the strip center for a while and finally decide one evening to stop in. Wonderful surprise! Reservations were for 7pm. Very few people inside the restaurant so service was excellent. Food was very nice. Crispy calamari for starters. My partner ordered the scallops...excellent choice. He's picky and he loved them! I ordered the lightly breaded shrimp and they too were excellent. Loved the wine list! While they were out of the wine I preferred, the waiter was able to provide a wonderful alternative. Highly recommend Luce's.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Special Place for a Special Occasion

Dined on March 12, 2016

We were thanking a friend who went above and beyond for a deceased friend and made her last days peaceful. The food was terrific. The wines were excellent. The service was superb. A special occasion became a memorable one.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great for happy hour, otherwise, not so much

Dined on March 11, 2016

A variety of very tasty appetizers at extremely reasonable prices available during happy hours. Also, several decent wines offerred for $25 during happy hour. My entert (pasta & spicy sausage) was underwhelming & overpriced. I will return for happy hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic . They have the ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Everything was fantastic . They have the best happy hour in the city.

food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great service!

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

Good food, great service!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

AW

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food is splendid and we had a great service from our server. I strongly recommend this place to anyone who appreciates fine dining.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The wall of wine is nice, low lighting s ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The wall of wine is nice, low lighting soft tunes and great service! The food is pretty good but not superb, a little on the pricey side.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentines Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I went to Luce for Valentine's day dinner. Although we had been there before it had been awhile. The food was wonderful and our server was outstanding. She was very knowledgeable about the food and wine. We will go back soon and we will ask to be seated in our server's section.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service! I will definit ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Amazing food and service! I will definitely come back.

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Lettuce was wilted in the salad. Food it ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Lettuce was wilted in the salad. Food itself was not what I expected. Servers were nice.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great experience overall-food was slow

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

During Valentine weekend service is always tough and a I am a fan of Luce. Four of us were dining and they had the table ready, it took a while for service but again, understandable on a busy weekend. What was disconcerting was watching everyone else's food come out except ours. And not a peep about it from our waitress. I finally had to make noise and got the owners attention. When food finally came mine was cold (everyone else's was ok) so it had obviously been sitting in the window forever. That said, the food was excellent, and I still highly recommend Luce.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a marvelous dinner with excellent ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a marvelous dinner with excellent food. All of us order a different entre and appetizer which were all outstanding. The waitstaff was very attentive. Wonderful dinner experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Glad we finally ate here

Dined on February 14, 2016

I had been wanting to try Luce for a long time, and the opportunity came on Valentine's Day weekend. We always do a nice dinner then because it's also the anniversary of the day we met. Scanning the Valentine's specials in the paper, I spotted Luce's and it sounded so good I made a reservation right away. It did not disappoint -- luscious bread different from what you'll find elsewhere, gorgeous scallops and chocolate lava cake to die for. Those who like huge portions so they can take half home in a doggie bag will be disappointed, but the servings were ample. My only issue was that we were somewhat crowded into a long banquette arranged into seatings for two, which was noisy and lacked the intimacy expected in a special dinner. I imagine that was due to the packed house, which seemed a bit unexpected to our waiter, who said it's typically very laid back. Most tables have a good bit of space around them. I look forward to returning for some pasta dishes, which are not the usual spaghetti and meatballs.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great food...but some misses this time

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food is always very very good to exceptional!! My pasta dish and my wife's scallops were great. We weren't told of the special...which my wife would have gotten. Another couple ordered just as our meal arrived and we heard of the special from that wait person...very disappointed. The other thing was the bread. I've had the bread here before....I love bread...good bread.....this bread was uneventful...I asked about it...looks great...butters are also very good...did the bread change? or is it just me?

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place for a quiet dinner. Good amb ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Great place for a quiet dinner. Good ambience and great service! Don't forget to get some calamari! Delicious

food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Server did not know his stuff!

Dined on January 26, 2016

Our waiter obviously did not know the information he should have, and did not return with information when we asked him questions. For instance, we were there during "happy hour" and we asked what items were included. He said he'd bring us a list, but then did not. We asked what wine was included in the deal. He told us that it was a Malbec. When we asked him where it came from (who's name was on the label), he didn't know. At the end of the night, we were charged full price for several items that we had during "special" time during happy hour, and we had to get the bill corrected. Maybe the employee was new? But then someone with experience should have been accompanying him. Anyway, this is not a cheap restaurant, and the service did not live up to what it should have been.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Place For A Special Meal

Dined on January 10, 2016

Luce Ristorante E Enoteca is among our favorites in San Antonio for excellent Italian food and great atmosphere. We've been several times for lunch yet this time was our first for an evening meal. The menu has a wide variety of choices and it's all good. Best of all it's not noisy and crowded so you can truly enjoy the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic find!

Dined on January 1, 2016

It's so hard to find genuinely good authentic Italian food but this place has exactly that! Great quality, good presentation, amazing taste and all within an appropriate price range. You get what you pay for and this is absolutely worth the price. It's also a gorgeous little restaurant! Perfect for date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

NYE at Luce

Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed lunch and dinner here on a number of occasions so we decided to try it for our NYE dinner. I am always skeptical about NYE dinners which tend to be overpriced with poorly prepared food, pressure to move things along and an overburdened wait staff. I am happy to say Luce delivered on all counts with great service, excellent food, a relaxed atmosphere and all an appropriate price. While they had a NYE special, you could also order anything from the menu. One other item of note- drinks before dinner were very generous pours which is uncommon in general and particularly on NYE.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Friendly service

Dined on January 1, 2016

Overall good experience. The deserts however, did not equal the good tasting main course.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group had a cross-section of the men ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Our group had a cross-section of the menu. Kudos for risotto, lamb, scallops and gnocchi! Fantastic wine list. Great service. Enjoyed by all.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience on Christmas E ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

We had a great experience on Christmas Eve. After Christmas Eve we arrived at the restaurant about 20 minutes early and they sat our party of 8 immediately in the private room. We have small children and asked for their meals to come out first and were accommodated with smiles and great service. The food was excellent as was the wine pairing. We will definitely be back!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very pleasant on christmas eve. Very goo ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Very pleasant on christmas eve. Very good service and dependable food quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and Service

vip
Dined on December 14, 2015

We had a great evening with friends to celebrate the holidays!! Our server, Benjamin, was fantastic!!! He knew so much about the food and wine menu and was there to fill the wine/water glass without us noticing. The food was out of this world good!!! We will be going back more often!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy!

Dined on December 6, 2015

Chilean sea bass was perfectly complemented by the preparation: tiny shrimp, risotto, baby veggies. Started with a giant Caesar salad, finished with coffee from a French press--doesn't get much better than this!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Butcher paper tablecloths detract from ambiance!

Dined on November 18, 2015

The cuisine was very good and our server, Benjamin, was really excellent. However, the rough ugly paper table coverings are definitely a distraction. We will not dine there again until they are removed.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a good spot and great food. It wa ...

Dined on October 22, 2015

Always a good spot and great food. It was a little noisy for a week night and couldn't hear much conversation but overall everything else was fantastic.

food4
ambience4
service4

Luce

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Good food. Always consistent. Relaxed atmosphere. Good service. It's a keeper.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Luce has one of the best Happy Hours in ...

vip
Dined on October 14, 2015

Luce has one of the best Happy Hours in town. There are a lot of items to choose from and great drink specials too. We went with a large group and just ordered up a bunch of Happy Hour items. All the portions were generous and delicious. It was very reasonable and we had bottles of wine and other drinks and for a party of 8 the bill was under $80. Everyone in the group said they would return. I've also had dinner and lunch and the food is very good and well presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Gluten free options, great service staff

Dined on October 10, 2015

Gluten free options, great service staff, one of the best Italian restaurants in San Antonio with an extensive wine list

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Confusion at check out

Dined on September 19, 2015

It took 25 minutes to pay our check. We used a gift card, and neither our server nor the manager had any idea how to ring it up or figure out the amount of the card. It was a very disappointing way to end an otherwise very enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Asked for a big change on a ...

Dined on September 11, 2015

Great food. Asked for a big change on a dish and the chef gave me what I wanted!

food3
ambience3
service2

Disappointed this time

vip
Dined on September 11, 2015

We have been to Enoteca a few times and had enjoyed it. This time things were different. First of all our service was slow very slow. Cocktails arrived 20minutes after ordering them (ouch). Our food was OK and that is the reason for the disappointment, it was just OK, not bad but not really good. My duck was tough, my wife's Halibut was just OK but no sparkle, and it was a special. We may go back again someday but if things do not change it will be our last time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely great Italian food & wine

Dined on August 8, 2015

Excellent food, great service and superb wine selection. The carpaccio appetizer, the grilled Akasushi steak and grilled lamb chops, paired with a full-bodied Montepulciano d'Abruzzo wine, and a Tiramisu desert made for a truly outstanding dining experience in San Antonio. Definitely a hidden gem!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful!

Dined on August 3, 2015

Dinner was amazing, from start to finish. Our server was incredible and everything was just lovely. Everything is put together with intent and the proof is in the details. Our server was knowledgeable and engaging, by far the best service we've experienced anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Happy Hour

Dined on July 3, 2015

17 of us went to happy hour at Luce and had a wonderful time. The food was great, especially the shrimp in lemon cream sauce, eggplant Parmesan, and pizza. The Peach Belini and Margaritas were delicious. Everyone enjoyed themselves and I heard only praises for the event.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5

Very friendly

Dined on July 1, 2015

A welcoming and friendly restaurant. Service is excellent, friendly, never intrusive. We celebrated a friend's birthday and our wait person was especially attentive to her on her special day.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.