About Luce Ristorante E Enoteca

11255 Huebner Rd
San Antonio, TX 78230
View Larger Map

Founded in 2006, Luce is a local favorite featuring many traditional dishes. Flavors which often bring our guests back to their best memories of Italian specialties.



My goal for this restaurant to create a warm environment for all guests that is typical of a true Italian heritage.



Our menu consists of many Buonincontri family recipes and recipes brought back from travel to Italy.



Fresh fish, meats and produce expound throughout Luce's offerings and a focus on the finest ingredients are what make Luce special.



House made Gnocchi, Italian rice balls and homemade Mozzarella are just a few examples our passion for the finest Italian food.The word Enoteca means wine library. The walls of the entire restaurant are covered with wine bottles as you would expect books to cover the walls of a library. Wine is a very important part of an experience at Luce, with over 125 choices from our wine list available to you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am- 2:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
IH10

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 561-9700

Website:
http://lucesanantonio.com/

Catering:
Luce will cater your special event. Either pick up service or full off-site service is available.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Buonincontri

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve our private "Wine Room". Available Breakfast, Lunch , Dinner or Happy Hour. Free WiFi,screen and LCD projector available. Capacity: Up to 50 for a sit down function.

Private Party Contact:
Joseph Buonincontri: (210) 561-9700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Luce Ristorante E Enoteca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Casual (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Authentic (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Fireplace (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Private Room (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Calamari fritti was excellent, lobster ravioli was

very good, penne and meatballs was a poor

choice with a overwhelming amount of food swimming in tomato sauce and sausages

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of the best Italian (Authentic) Restaurants in San Antonio. Waiting staff is very friendly with recommendations

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was excellent and service was wonderful. Steak was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I like this restaurant for business in context of a meal. The food is always good; the service is attentive; noise does not interfere with conversation. Highly recommend it.

Have also been there with friends for a friendly lunch. Very good for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Off night for this restaurant

Usually great

Just ok tonight

Got sick on my meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 17, 2017

As always, our group of three enjoyed the Birthday Lunch for one of us. Great service, good food, good ambience in restaurant overall. Our server, Adam, was attentive & relating well to us. We will be back

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good meal with the family. Everyone enjoyed the food.I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had heard both positive and negative reviews of Luce Ristorante E Enoteca from friends. Since we had a gift card to the restaurant, we'd thought we try it on a Saturday night. The venue itself is pleasant enough, tucked away in one corner of a smaller shopping center. It wasn't noisy and the ambience promised a well-prepared Italian meal. My wife ordered a ricotta pizza for one, while I tried a fettucine with eggplant, spicy sausage, and mushrooms. Both were rather ordinary and the service a bit slow given that the restaurant had open tables. The wine list is good, though fairly expensive and heavily favoring Italian wines. In the end, we found the whole experience a bit over-priced for what we got. It’s not bad, just not that good.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Another very good business meeting & meal; have had other such meetings & meetings with friends here. Always good; quality consistent. Like it & will return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I loved the outdoor dining area with the white lights.. The food was excellent and my server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The meal was good. However, this is not the first time we've been disappointed with the service. We will think twice before reserving a table in the future at Luce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had not been there in a quite a while. Still very nice with excellent service and good food. We will go back

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great service and good food. Will go back! I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We decided to have Thanksgiving dinner at Luce. Ordered a wonderful bottle of Fiano di Avellino to go with the turkey dinner with all the trimmings, Absolutely fantastic. I will return. Looking forward to enjoying some great Italian food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Luce continues to impress me! Thanksgiving Day 3 course menu was spot on. We chose the moist Turkey with geavy entree, mashed sweet potato, with stuffing, pumpkin pie, and cranberry sauce. Everything was delicious, expecially the stuffing. Excellent service staff (Adam) made us feel welcomed and satisfied. No issues with reservation or seating. Will recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had Thanksgiving dinner and really enjoyed our meal. This was our first visit and will be returning soon. Great restaurant, although a little pricey. But, for an occasional dining experience, worth the price. Service was great. Our waiters name was Diego.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Everything was fine, staff was friendly and attentive. The only thing was it took a long time to get our meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great experience again! Food and service are equally top notch. Keep up the great work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very good overall food experience. Many wonderful flavored. Has a nice and welcoming atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 28, 2016

It was awesome. I had the halibut and risotto and my wife had pasta. The waiter was terrific, very attentive and helped with wine selection. This is truly a hidden gem in the suburbs. One of the best Italian places we have been to. Will definitely be back when we visit San Antonio later this year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Luce is one of our favorite places to dine. When it is a special occasion it is the first place we think of as it is always a very special meal. Our waiter this time was Adam who was an absolute delight. He was attentive without being a pest. He saw that we had everything that we needed and helped to make the evening special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wonderful food and service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very good service. Manager is visible and attentive. Very helpful in wine selection. Great customer service and quiet.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 24, 2016

A delightful dinner in the wine room for wife's birthday, accompanied by our daughter. Food was perfectly prepared for all three diners, the wine by the glass was well matched, and Michael took very good care of us despite a large party in the main room. These factors and many more make Luce one of our favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2016

So it's taken me 2 years to convince my wife to return to Luce because of a not so good food experience. Saturday night we take an Uber to Luce. We get to the hostess stand and tell the woman that we have a reservation through Open Table. She says "thats fine but we have a wedding reception and the dining room is full/sold out, you can sit at the bar and eat". Of course we left and called Uber (same guy) and went somewhere else. So we won't be going back as Open Table should have been informed and the reservations blocked for the night. The hostess didn't really seem to care which just made it worse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Upscale interior, beautiful outdoor area, great spinach and salmon salad but terrible service. We had a very surly and rude waitress who spoiled a birthday lunch for a large group of ladies. She never cracked a smile or welcomed people--acted like she didn't want to be there that day. When one lady wasn't sure where her bread plate was, the waitress went around the entire table reaching in between people and shoving everybody's bread plates to the left using a large menu in her hand like a ruler, saying this is yours. People were astonished because they had no idea why she was reaching in like that. (These were ladies in their 40s and up - not teens!) One lady ordered coffee, got a huge pot, so she asked for extra cups to share as she couldn't possibly drink it all. The waitress told her it was $3 for every cup. Our friend said OK, to put it on her bill. When the waitress brought the cups, she made a point of telling each person loudly that it was $3. The lady who had ordered the coffee was embarrassed and complained to the floor manager lady who said/did nothing. One of the meals (pizza) never came out. The waitress claimed the pizza oven was broken but then management gave that lady a free pizza to take home (so it wasn't broken?) Besides us, there were only 6 people there for lunch so the restaurant wasn't even busy. In short, upscale atmosphere with very downmarket service. Unfortunately, no amount of pretty interior can make up for that kind of attitude.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Was there several times; each time food was great & service excellent. Well attended but not crowded. Room is spacious; tables sufficiently apart so that one can have good conversation. good environment. A small group of us go there to celebrate each other's birthdays & have never been disappointed. Great Birthday desserts!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Congrats on your 10th anniversary! It is so nice to have found a great neighborhood restaurant and see it succeed; and better yet that Joe has maintained the quality of the food throughout these 10 years! We have enjoyed appetizers, entrees and desserts too many to review individually here and we have truly enjoyed each one, along with martinis and wine.

The service compliments the food and is warm and friendly. We moved from San Antonio a few years ago so visits to Luce are a real treat and we plan accordingly. We highly recommend this lovely restaurant to all for an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was good, but not great and certainly not a good value. Our server was not knowledgeable about wine, but at least he asked another waiter for recommendations. We had to flag him down a couple of times to get more water. Overall I was very disappointed in the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 29, 2016

It was our first time to eat at Luce and we were very please with everything from drinks, appetizers and our main course. We will be back without a doubt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 11, 2016

I've been to Luce many times, mostly for happy hour with friends. I hadn't been in a few months, but I'd usually had a good experience. I think their happy hour offerings are some of the best in the city in terms of variety and price. However, on this occasion, the food was bland and unappetizing and the service was slow. It took 30 minutes to receive pizza we ordered even though other dishes we ordered later came out before the pizza. I don't think I can recommend Luce until they improve what has gone wrong with them. It's too bad. It's a good location, good menu, and nice outdoor seating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 10, 2016

I enjoyed Luce and would plan on going back. The food and service was excellent. The only knock that I had from my visit was the fact that they seated everyone right next to each other. There were only 5 parties in the whole restaurant yet we were all next to each other so it was hard to have your own conversation without overhearing everyone else.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Always a delightful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Came to Luce's on a whim just to check it out. Had seen it in the strip center for a while and finally decide one evening to stop in. Wonderful surprise! Reservations were for 7pm. Very few people inside the restaurant so service was excellent. Food was very nice. Crispy calamari for starters. My partner ordered the scallops...excellent choice. He's picky and he loved them! I ordered the lightly breaded shrimp and they too were excellent. Loved the wine list! While they were out of the wine I preferred, the waiter was able to provide a wonderful alternative. Highly recommend Luce's.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2016

We were thanking a friend who went above and beyond for a deceased friend and made her last days peaceful.

The food was terrific. The wines were excellent. The service was superb. A special occasion became a memorable one.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 11, 2016

A variety of very tasty appetizers at extremely reasonable prices available during happy hours. Also, several decent wines offerred for $25 during happy hour.

My entert (pasta & spicy sausage) was underwhelming & overpriced.

I will return for happy hour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Everything was fantastic . They have the best happy hour in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 17, 2016

Good food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food is splendid and we had a great service from our server. I strongly recommend this place to anyone who appreciates fine dining.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2016

The wall of wine is nice, low lighting soft tunes and great service! The food is pretty good but not superb, a little on the pricey side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I went to Luce for Valentine's day dinner. Although we had been there before it had been awhile. The food was wonderful and our server was outstanding. She was very knowledgeable about the food and wine. We will go back soon and we will ask to be seated in our server's section.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Amazing food and service! I will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Lettuce was wilted in the salad. Food itself was not what I expected. Servers were nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2016

During Valentine weekend service is always tough and a I am a fan of Luce. Four of us were dining and they had the table ready, it took a while for service but again, understandable on a busy weekend. What was disconcerting was watching everyone else's food come out except ours. And not a peep about it from our waitress. I finally had to make noise and got the owners attention. When food finally came mine was cold (everyone else's was ok) so it had obviously been sitting in the window forever. That said, the food was excellent, and I still highly recommend Luce.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I had been wanting to try Luce for a long time, and the opportunity came on Valentine's Day weekend. We always do a nice dinner then because it's also the anniversary of the day we met. Scanning the Valentine's specials in the paper, I spotted Luce's and it sounded so good I made a reservation right away. It did not disappoint -- luscious bread different from what you'll find elsewhere, gorgeous scallops and chocolate lava cake to die for. Those who like huge portions so they can take half home in a doggie bag will be disappointed, but the servings were ample. My only issue was that we were somewhat crowded into a long banquette arranged into seatings for two, which was noisy and lacked the intimacy expected in a special dinner. I imagine that was due to the packed house, which seemed a bit unexpected to our waiter, who said it's typically very laid back. Most tables have a good bit of space around them. I look forward to returning for some pasta dishes, which are not the usual spaghetti and meatballs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a marvelous dinner with excellent food. All of us order a different entre and appetizer which were all outstanding. The waitstaff was very attentive. Wonderful dinner experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 31, 2016

The food is always very very good to exceptional!! My pasta dish and my wife's scallops were great. We weren't told of the special...which my wife would have gotten. Another couple ordered just as our meal arrived and we heard of the special from that wait person...very disappointed. The other thing was the bread. I've had the bread here before....I love bread...good bread.....this bread was uneventful...I asked about it...looks great...butters are also very good...did the bread change? or is it just me?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Great place for a quiet dinner. Good ambience and great service! Don't forget to get some calamari! Delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2016

Our waiter obviously did not know the information he should have, and did not return with information when we asked him questions.

For instance, we were there during "happy hour" and we asked what items were included. He said he'd bring us a list, but then did not.

We asked what wine was included in the deal. He told us that it was a Malbec. When we asked him where it came from (who's name was on the label), he didn't know.

At the end of the night, we were charged full price for several items that we had during "special" time during happy hour, and we had to get the bill corrected.

Maybe the employee was new? But then someone with experience should have been accompanying him. Anyway, this is not a cheap restaurant, and the service did not live up to what it should have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on January 10, 2016

Luce Ristorante E Enoteca is among our favorites in San Antonio for excellent Italian food and great atmosphere. We've been several times for lunch yet this time was our first for an evening meal. The menu has a wide variety of choices and it's all good. Best of all it's not noisy and crowded so you can truly enjoy the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.