About Luce Ristorante E Enoteca

Founded in 2006, Luce is a local favorite featuring many traditional dishes. Flavors which often bring our guests back to their best memories of Italian specialties.



My goal for this restaurant to create a warm environment for all guests that is typical of a true Italian heritage.



Our menu consists of many Buonincontri family recipes and recipes brought back from travel to Italy.



Fresh fish, meats and produce expound throughout Luce's offerings and a focus on the finest ingredients are what make Luce special.



House made Gnocchi, Italian rice balls and homemade Mozzarella are just a few examples our passion for the finest Italian food.The word Enoteca means wine library. The walls of the entire restaurant are covered with wine bottles as you would expect books to cover the walls of a library. Wine is a very important part of an experience at Luce, with over 125 choices from our wine list available to you.

11255 Huebner Rd
San Antonio, TX 78230
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am- 2:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
IH10

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 561-9700

Website:
http://lucesanantonio.com/

Catering:
Luce will cater your special event. Either pick up service or full off-site service is available.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Buonincontri

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve our private "Wine Room". Available Breakfast, Lunch , Dinner or Happy Hour. Free WiFi,screen and LCD projector available. Capacity: Up to 50 for a sit down function.

Private Party Contact:
Joseph Buonincontri: (210) 561-9700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Luce Ristorante E Enoteca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Birthdays (8)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Cozy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
454 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Great restaurant hidden from the street view more than it should be. In a great location but not obvious enough if non-locals don't know to look for it. The more prominent "chain" type restaurants are located in the more, highly traveled area of these local shopping complexes - Macaroni Grill, Saltgrass, California Pizza Kitchen - but none compare to the great food and experience of Luce. We sat within touching distance of 2 large groups on the patio and the noise level was very low. Will definitely be going back again and again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food, great service. Nice patio from cigar smokers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day meal. Fantastic!! Reserved thru Open Table and upon our arrival we're seated immediately. Menu not big at all so chef and cooks are to focus on GREAT meal for the price. Kids menu was one side with great pricing. Met the owner, who seated us, and waiter, Adam, was always there when needed and attentive to our needs. The kids ate ravioli. Wish it could have been served with more ravioli but the kids ate it up. The Gamberi, Bistecca, and Agnello were delicious. We all shared a little taste with each other. Desert and coffee afterwards set a great ending of this meal. The experience was wonderful. Definitely returning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my wife on a lovely Mother's Day dinner there, service was wonderful and the food was amazing! Nice upscale Italian dining atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The wine and daily special was amazing, love the seating section outside and the service was the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great experience. Seated right away in the section of our choice. Nice wine selection. Starters, Entrees and Dessert were all excellent. Our server was very personable, and the owner also introduced himself and shared a bit of his backstory. Ambiance was very nice.

I would recommend to anyone, and would go back myself.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter lunch here. I had originally hoped to dine on the Patio but when I got to restaurant discovered they had set up the private room. It was a complete success, so Thank you for doing that. Food was enjoyed by all. The 2 course menu was a great deal. This is our 3rd Easter celebration here. Hope to return next year.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We love coming here because the food is always good and Silvia always takes excellent care of us.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The best Italian restaurant in San Antonio. Hands down. Thanks to owner Joe, he has made Luce a destination dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 2, 2017

EXECLLENT Food! Second time we went to Luce and the food, no matter what we order, is full of flavor and wonderful! They have an amazing wine selection too. My favorite Italian Restaurant/Enoteca in San Antonio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Food was just perfect! Service is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I have taken several friends to Luce for Birthday Lunch. All enjoyed the meal, the environment, the friendly service. One server, Adam, has been our server several times & he is great to work with.

The restaurant is so good for lunch time gatherings! I will be back often.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our favorite Italian restaurant! The food is incredibly delicious. I was wanting some gnocchi, and I was not disappointed. My husband's seafood dish was delicious - just the right amount of spice. The wine library decor is lovely, and our corner table was perfect for a romantic date night meal.
My daughter, who must eat gluten-free also loves Luce. I gave my best friend gift cards for Luce as a Christmas present, and it is now her favorite Italian restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Calamari fritti was excellent, lobster ravioli was
very good, penne and meatballs was a poor
choice with a overwhelming amount of food swimming in tomato sauce and sausages

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of the best Italian (Authentic) Restaurants in San Antonio. Waiting staff is very friendly with recommendations

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was excellent and service was wonderful. Steak was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I like this restaurant for business in context of a meal. The food is always good; the service is attentive; noise does not interfere with conversation. Highly recommend it.

Have also been there with friends for a friendly lunch. Very good for that.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Off night for this restaurant
Usually great
Just ok tonight
Got sick on my meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 17, 2017

As always, our group of three enjoyed the Birthday Lunch for one of us. Great service, good food, good ambience in restaurant overall. Our server, Adam, was attentive & relating well to us. We will be back

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good meal with the family. Everyone enjoyed the food.I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had heard both positive and negative reviews of Luce Ristorante E Enoteca from friends. Since we had a gift card to the restaurant, we'd thought we try it on a Saturday night. The venue itself is pleasant enough, tucked away in one corner of a smaller shopping center. It wasn't noisy and the ambience promised a well-prepared Italian meal. My wife ordered a ricotta pizza for one, while I tried a fettucine with eggplant, spicy sausage, and mushrooms. Both were rather ordinary and the service a bit slow given that the restaurant had open tables. The wine list is good, though fairly expensive and heavily favoring Italian wines. In the end, we found the whole experience a bit over-priced for what we got. It’s not bad, just not that good.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Another very good business meeting & meal; have had other such meetings & meetings with friends here. Always good; quality consistent. Like it & will return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I loved the outdoor dining area with the white lights.. The food was excellent and my server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The meal was good. However, this is not the first time we've been disappointed with the service. We will think twice before reserving a table in the future at Luce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had not been there in a quite a while. Still very nice with excellent service and good food. We will go back

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great service and good food. Will go back! I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We decided to have Thanksgiving dinner at Luce. Ordered a wonderful bottle of Fiano di Avellino to go with the turkey dinner with all the trimmings, Absolutely fantastic. I will return. Looking forward to enjoying some great Italian food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Luce continues to impress me! Thanksgiving Day 3 course menu was spot on. We chose the moist Turkey with geavy entree, mashed sweet potato, with stuffing, pumpkin pie, and cranberry sauce. Everything was delicious, expecially the stuffing. Excellent service staff (Adam) made us feel welcomed and satisfied. No issues with reservation or seating. Will recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had Thanksgiving dinner and really enjoyed our meal. This was our first visit and will be returning soon. Great restaurant, although a little pricey. But, for an occasional dining experience, worth the price. Service was great. Our waiters name was Diego.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Everything was fine, staff was friendly and attentive. The only thing was it took a long time to get our meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great experience again! Food and service are equally top notch. Keep up the great work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very good overall food experience. Many wonderful flavored. Has a nice and welcoming atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 28, 2016

It was awesome. I had the halibut and risotto and my wife had pasta. The waiter was terrific, very attentive and helped with wine selection. This is truly a hidden gem in the suburbs. One of the best Italian places we have been to. Will definitely be back when we visit San Antonio later this year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Luce is one of our favorite places to dine. When it is a special occasion it is the first place we think of as it is always a very special meal. Our waiter this time was Adam who was an absolute delight. He was attentive without being a pest. He saw that we had everything that we needed and helped to make the evening special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wonderful food and service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very good service. Manager is visible and attentive. Very helpful in wine selection. Great customer service and quiet.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 24, 2016

A delightful dinner in the wine room for wife's birthday, accompanied by our daughter. Food was perfectly prepared for all three diners, the wine by the glass was well matched, and Michael took very good care of us despite a large party in the main room. These factors and many more make Luce one of our favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2016

So it's taken me 2 years to convince my wife to return to Luce because of a not so good food experience. Saturday night we take an Uber to Luce. We get to the hostess stand and tell the woman that we have a reservation through Open Table. She says "thats fine but we have a wedding reception and the dining room is full/sold out, you can sit at the bar and eat". Of course we left and called Uber (same guy) and went somewhere else. So we won't be going back as Open Table should have been informed and the reservations blocked for the night. The hostess didn't really seem to care which just made it worse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Upscale interior, beautiful outdoor area, great spinach and salmon salad but terrible service. We had a very surly and rude waitress who spoiled a birthday lunch for a large group of ladies. She never cracked a smile or welcomed people--acted like she didn't want to be there that day. When one lady wasn't sure where her bread plate was, the waitress went around the entire table reaching in between people and shoving everybody's bread plates to the left using a large menu in her hand like a ruler, saying this is yours. People were astonished because they had no idea why she was reaching in like that. (These were ladies in their 40s and up - not teens!) One lady ordered coffee, got a huge pot, so she asked for extra cups to share as she couldn't possibly drink it all. The waitress told her it was $3 for every cup. Our friend said OK, to put it on her bill. When the waitress brought the cups, she made a point of telling each person loudly that it was $3. The lady who had ordered the coffee was embarrassed and complained to the floor manager lady who said/did nothing. One of the meals (pizza) never came out. The waitress claimed the pizza oven was broken but then management gave that lady a free pizza to take home (so it wasn't broken?) Besides us, there were only 6 people there for lunch so the restaurant wasn't even busy. In short, upscale atmosphere with very downmarket service. Unfortunately, no amount of pretty interior can make up for that kind of attitude.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Was there several times; each time food was great & service excellent. Well attended but not crowded. Room is spacious; tables sufficiently apart so that one can have good conversation. good environment. A small group of us go there to celebrate each other's birthdays & have never been disappointed. Great Birthday desserts!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.