About Luce Ristorante

214 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

The setting at Luce is romantic. The Murano Lights, Venetian Plaster and Travertine floors create an exclusive dining ambiance. Luce means “Light” in Italian and the restaurant clearly “glows” Luce provides an ideal dining experience whether you stop in for a quick lunch or settling in for a full course dinner and fine selection of extensive wines from Italy. Luce offers fresh, authentic Italian cuisine rich in flavor and passion inspired by our Italian chef, Gabriele Grigolon. The attentive and knowledgeable staff always provides impeccable service allowing you to sit back and enjoy your dining experience. Conveniently located in the Hearst Tower Plaza in the business district of Charlotte’s Center City. Luce opened in 2002 and has achieved outstanding accolades. Helen Schwabb, Charlotte Observer Food Critic, gave Luce an “Excellent” rating. ZAGAT has given Luce an “Extraordinary” rating from 2004-2010.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
North Tryon & 5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 344-9222

Website:
http://www.conterestaurantgroup.com/

Catering:
Bring the flavors of Northern Italy to your home, office or special venue. Whether it’s a large hors d'oeuvres reception or an intimate multi-course dinner Luce can take care of it all. Pick-up or delivery is available, delivery fee varies upon location. For more information or to place an order call 704.344.9222 or email info@luceristorante.net

Parking Details:
Luce patrons can park in the Hearst Tower parking deck. Entrances are located on 5th and 6th streets in between College & Tryon. We offer two hours free parking validation M-F before 5pm, after 5pm; on weekends parking is free with Luce validation.

Public Transit:
You can use the LYNX Light Rail Blue Line and get off on the CTC/Arena station and walk towards 5th street. Walk west on 5th, one block, to the Hearst Tower located on the corner of 5th and College. Luce in located on the Tryon level of the Hearst Tower in the courtyard.

Executive Chef:
Gabriele Grigolon

Private Party Facilities:
Luce would like to personally customize your special and private events. We can comfortably accommodate eighty for a seated dinner and over one hundred for a cocktail and hors d’oeuvres event. We also have a seasonal patio that can seat up to forty for dinner guests and is the perfect venue for a summer evening cocktail reception. Luce is available for private parties, rehearsal dinners, receptions, showers and all of your special event needs. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions and we look forward to hosting your events.

Private Party Contact:
Manual Camprese: (704) 344-9222

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask us about our monthly Italian wine dinners and special holiday events.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Luce Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (33)
Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Authentic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Business Meals (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Cozy (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Luce Ristorante was absolutely amazing! ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Luce Ristorante was absolutely amazing! We've been twice, and it is certainly one of our favorite restaurants in Charlotte. We had phenomenal assistance in navigating the wine list (suggestion we ended up with was fantastic!) and the menu options. The Gargonelli was incredible (hand rolled penne!!) and the Risotto on the specials menu was also very, very good.

Fairly expensive if you plan on drinking wine, but well worth it for the quality and the environment.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE met friends out for dinner and had a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

WE met friends out for dinner and had a great time! Our waiter was excellent and we ate every last bite of food. Favorite dish was pollipo and then the scallops. The pasta and grouper were excellent as well. My husband had the gnocchi and lived em.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal, great service and wonde ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent meal, great service and wonderful ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for dinner before the theater. A l ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Went for dinner before the theater. A lucky find for us since we are new to Charlotte. Service was very good, food was also great! I had the risotto del giorno(where do they get those mushrooms!), preceded by the pasta fagioli...perfecto! Bread and salad was super too. My wife had the branzino and really enjoyed it. Great wine and cocktail list. We will return!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time with friends. Servi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Had a wonderful time with friends. Service was particularly noteworthy and food was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took a family member here for a speci ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We took a family member here for a special birthday celebration. Our group of 4 was all very happy with our meal. Even though Luce is not a cheap restaurant, the quality is worth the price. We will continue to come here for special occasions in the future.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our party of four dined here prior to a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our party of four dined here prior to a symphony concert. As always, the service was efficient, personable but not overbearing, and the varied menu selections (special pasta and fish choices) were described as "delicious." I have never had a bad experience at Luce and look forward to dining there again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Luce provided a great dining e ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As always Luce provided a great dining experience. The suggestions provided proved to be excellent choices. Our meals were excellent The service is the absolute best in Charlotte. They make you are the only diners present.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was born in Italy and I can say this i ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was born in Italy and I can say this is one of the best Italian restaurants I've ever been to. The service is outstanding. They take really good care of you and the food does not dissapoint. Although a bit pricey and not reccomended for an everyday meal, I think this is an excellent choice for a special occasion. Very intimate space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Cesar and his staff were attentive and s ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Cesar and his staff were attentive and supper. Great food and dining experience.

Excellent wine selection and ambience.

Cesar makes a point of rembering repeat clientele.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luce was our choice for New Year's Eve d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Luce was our choice for New Year's Eve dinner with family and friends. We were very pleased with this repeat visit. The service was welcoming and attentive from greeting throughout our stay. As we remembered, the food was wonderful. We started with calamari for the table. It was crisp and tender with a great flavor. Our entree choices came from both the specials and regular menu. The specials included a risotto with butternut squash topped by prosciutto wrapped lobster. The flavors blended very well and the lobster wasn't overwhelmed by the meat. It was also well cooked and not rubbery. The lasagne was excellent as always. We think it's the best of Charlotte. The osso buco was falling off the bone tender with a reasonable portion of risotto to accompany. There wasn't a speck left on the plate. We couldn't skip dessert on such a special night. The cannoli offering was three mini pastries; yummy bites that didn't overwhelm. The ricotta cheesecake was silky smooth and so good my husband didn't want to share. Loved our evening and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautifully-prepared wonderful cuisine, ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Beautifully-prepared wonderful cuisine, nice wine selection - served by true professionals. This is consistently one of the very best restaurants in Charlotte!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Authentic. Delicious. Nothing to improve ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Authentic. Delicious. Nothing to improve on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, great service, and amazi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful food, great service, and amazing ambiance.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love. Food and service always ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Love love love. Food and service always fabulous. Augusto Conte and his wonderful staff never disappoint.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luce's was great! The bartender made wo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Luce's was great! The bartender made wonderful drinks and bar was well stocked! The food was superb and true Italian fare! Waitstaff was well trained and attentive to our large party. Would recommend to all!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here on a date. I had a wonderful t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went here on a date. I had a wonderful time and service was great. Only complaint is that we were seated right next to the front door on a really cold night but other than that it was really good. Loved the Carbonara pasta dish!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Luce continues to satisfy. We dine at ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Luce continues to satisfy. We dine at Luce as well as other favorite Conte restaurants (Toscana, Mezzanote) and we are never disappointed. Our favorite "uptown" place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food, great service & a gre ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always great food, great service & a great time! One of the best in Charlotte!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

i have eaten Osso Bucco in dozens of res ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 15, 2016

i have eaten Osso Bucco in dozens of restaurants all over the world....Luce's was exquisite and by far the BEST I have ever had

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, attentive wait staff, owner w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Good food, attentive wait staff, owner who is eager to please. I enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love this place! Everyone is Italian ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I love this place! Everyone is Italian and it shows.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellence - food, service, wine selecti ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellence - food, service, wine selection, employees. A great restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, , Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful from the seating to exit. Staf ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful from the seating to exit. Staff was professional, courteous and knowledgeable and service impeccable. Complimentary Breadsticks, table bread & Appetizers (Brushetta, Cheese Plate) were excellent and well plated, Drinks (Lemon Drop & Wine) were well poured by an experienced bartender. Entrees were not over-farcified but were done with attention to detail where it counts making each outstanding (there were 4 of us). I had the Pollo Parm which was pounded flat, breaded and fried without being too oily, topped with a good marinara and fresh mozz cheese. Served with hand made fresh pasta and marinara. No room for dessert but no doubt it would have been on par with the rest of the dinner. Coat Service & Validating parking in Hearst Tower make this an all over impressive experience. My new Favorite Italian restaurant in Charlotte and right up there with my Northeast (Philly, NY, NJ & DC) Favorites!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fabulous meal we had there on Sat ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 27, 2016

What a fabulous meal we had there on Saturday evening. The mussels in white sauce was off the chart wonderful! I had veal piccata and hubby had the veal chop....both dishes exceptionally good. This foodie was very happy!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT!! One of our favorite restaur ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

EXCELLENT!! One of our favorite restaurants downtown........we always try and book at Luce when we are going to Belk Theatre or some event downtown. It never disappoints!!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great gnocchi. Setting a quiet and war ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great gnocchi. Setting a quiet and warm. Solid service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Service and food was impeccable. Will re ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Service and food was impeccable. Will return again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurants. Best Italian restaura ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great restaurants. Best Italian restaurant in Charlotte with impeccable service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always amazing but the risot ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food is always amazing but the risotto never disappoints. I always choose risotto when the chef has it as a special -- always with a different twist. Last week it was scallops and wild mushrooms. I've also had it with lobster, shrimp and even beans. Can't explain how it is so good -- so much flavor. And service is always outstanding !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting daughter who lives in town. She ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Visiting daughter who lives in town. She took us to restaurant & we had a great time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

WOW, my wife and I were "blown away" by ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

WOW, my wife and I were "blown away" by the great food and drinks. A very authentic Italian menu that my NJ wife really loved. Service was TOP notch! We only visit Charlotte once or twice a year but we will definitely be going back here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

V disappointing. They kept us waiting 22 ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

V disappointing. They kept us waiting 22 minutes and gave us a draughty seat by the door. Clearly they had over-sold for a pre-theater crowd. Food was good but not great. Owner gave us a glass of Prosecco at the bar while waiting but it was overcrowded with nowhere to sit/stand without being in the way. The Brunello reserve was excellent but over-priced. We hoped to showcase for a UK visitor but this was a swing and a miss. Don't think we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Upscale Italian spot in Uptown Charlotte ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Upscale Italian spot in Uptown Charlotte. Beautiful décor and the staff all spoke Italian to each other, I felt like I was in Italy!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food, wonderful service. We w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful food, wonderful service. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My friend and I like to eat here before ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 8, 2016

My friend and I like to eat here before we attend a show. He always gets the filet and I opt for a special, but always excellent food and service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic and the food was d ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Service was fantastic and the food was delicious! Had been wanting to try this place for some time and so glad we finally did- will definitely be returning! The veal pasta was so good I may order it again on our next visit. The servers and all the staff was so attentive and genuine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful food and service. The best Ita ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful food and service. The best Italian Restaurant in Charlotte. Always consistent and the staff treats you like family.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Charlotte. Manuela w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Best restaurant in Charlotte.

Manuela was the waiter. I think he is the owner but not sure. I had pasta that was spiced up (I like spicy food), salad, and chocolate mousse. Usually, I have Italian red wine but I could not pass up a pinot noir especially from Oregon.

Service was outstanding. Everything was great. It was calm and relaxing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose Luce for its proximity to the s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We chose Luce for its proximity to the symphony theatre and we were delighted. The food was outstanding and the service was friendly and attentive. We ordered several dishes to share and the staff was very obliging. the pasta del giorno was a little pricey but well worth it....colorful arugula pasta with tender morsels of beef in a delicious sauce. I'm looking forward to another occasion to dine at Luce again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.