About Luce Ristorante

214 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

The setting at Luce is romantic. The Murano Lights, Venetian Plaster and Travertine floors create an exclusive dining ambiance. Luce means “Light” in Italian and the restaurant clearly “glows” Luce provides an ideal dining experience whether you stop in for a quick lunch or settling in for a full course dinner and fine selection of extensive wines from Italy. Luce offers fresh, authentic Italian cuisine rich in flavor and passion inspired by our Italian chef, Gabriele Grigolon. The attentive and knowledgeable staff always provides impeccable service allowing you to sit back and enjoy your dining experience. Conveniently located in the Hearst Tower Plaza in the business district of Charlotte’s Center City. Luce opened in 2002 and has achieved outstanding accolades. Helen Schwabb, Charlotte Observer Food Critic, gave Luce an “Excellent” rating. ZAGAT has given Luce an “Extraordinary” rating from 2004-2010.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
North Tryon & 5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 344-9222

Website:
http://www.conterestaurantgroup.com/

Catering:
Bring the flavors of Northern Italy to your home, office or special venue. Whether it’s a large hors d'oeuvres reception or an intimate multi-course dinner Luce can take care of it all. Pick-up or delivery is available, delivery fee varies upon location. For more information or to place an order call 704.344.9222 or email info@luceristorante.net

Parking Details:
Luce patrons can park in the Hearst Tower parking deck. Entrances are located on 5th and 6th streets in between College & Tryon. We offer two hours free parking validation M-F before 5pm, after 5pm; on weekends parking is free with Luce validation.

Public Transit:
You can use the LYNX Light Rail Blue Line and get off on the CTC/Arena station and walk towards 5th street. Walk west on 5th, one block, to the Hearst Tower located on the corner of 5th and College. Luce in located on the Tryon level of the Hearst Tower in the courtyard.

Executive Chef:
Gabriele Grigolon

Private Party Facilities:
Luce would like to personally customize your special and private events. We can comfortably accommodate eighty for a seated dinner and over one hundred for a cocktail and hors d’oeuvres event. We also have a seasonal patio that can seat up to forty for dinner guests and is the perfect venue for a summer evening cocktail reception. Luce is available for private parties, rehearsal dinners, receptions, showers and all of your special event needs. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions and we look forward to hosting your events.

Private Party Contact:
Manual Camprese: 7043449222

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask us about our monthly Italian wine dinners and special holiday events.

Restaurant Photos

Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Luce Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Best Value
Charlotte
5 More
Italian
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Best Value
Charlotte
Italian
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (42)
romantic (38)
fit for foodies (33)
See All
notable wine list (19)
great for outdoor dining (15)
neighborhood gem (12)
great for lunch (12)
good for groups (10)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (4)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1038 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best dining in downtown charlotte

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Best dining in downtown charlotte

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We're from Augusta, GA and was in Charlo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We're from Augusta, GA and was in Charlotte for business. We had several employee's at the Omni Hotel recommend y'all. The service and food was awesome! We will definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants. Food ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. Food is consistently delicious. Manuel and the rest of the staff treat us like family, the service matches the quality of the food. We always feel special at Luce. Love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful experience all around ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Always a wonderful experience all around. The food, atmosphere and service are always the best in Charlotte. This is a great place to entertain clients, friends and family.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We selected Luce for a pre-concert meal ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We selected Luce for a pre-concert meal on my husband's birthday. The food was delicious, the service outstanding. Perfect everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful from the cockta ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything was wonderful from the cocktails at the bar while waiting for all of our guests to arrive, to the round table seating as requested, the fine dining food and wine and the lovely dessert platter to help celebrate our son's 30th birthday!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always... Great food and serv ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Amazing as always... Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service and food were all top notch. Can ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service and food were all top notch. Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a birthday and could not have ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Celebrated a birthday and could not have been happier with the service, food was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very good option for an excellent dinn ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

A very good option for an excellent dinner in uptown Charlotte.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered the mare plate and it was del ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We ordered the mare plate and it was delicious.

Will definitely repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luce' is one of my favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Luce' is one of my favorite restaurants in Charlotte. The decor is warm and inviting, the food is always excellent and the service is wonderful. Whether it is a special occasion, a visit from someone from out of town you want to please, it is always a great choice. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian food, octopus, homemade pa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great Italian food, octopus, homemade pasta, stuffed veal chop to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome in every way. Wonderful service ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Awesome in every way. Wonderful service, fabulous food, great ambiance. The northern Italian cuisine was exceptional. The server was very knowledgable and charming. You could have been in New York or Italy. Really loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely dinner!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Luce continues to do a great job on authentic Italian food in a lovely atmosphere. We met a friend we hadn't seen in some time so wanted to be able to converse, and the setting was perfect. Service was spot on. The branzino was delicious, simply but well prepared. Beet salad was divine. We'll go again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 ladies for dinner. We all got somethin ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

3 ladies for dinner. We all got something different and all the food was great. As for service, Manuel is in a class by himself. Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. Superb food. Clean restaraunt.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

I recommend the Mare to Seafood/Pasta lovers. The team at Luce made my daughter and me feel like we were their only customers. The treated us like royalty and made my daughter's 25th Birthday very special.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great first experience at Luce. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a great first experience at Luce. The food and wine were excellent as was the service. I will definitely be back next time I am in Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The fish dish I had was cooked perfectly ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The fish dish I had was cooked perfectly and my wife's hand made pasta with mushrooms was great. We were 30 minutes late for our reservation due to the thunderstorm and the hostess did not make an issue and seated us in the last 2 seats left in the restaurant. Server was great. Overall just a really good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Overall the experience was great. The food was excellent. The service wasn't too spectacular as our server wasn't as attentive as we would have liked but the food made up for her lack of service. She wasn't that bad but when we would've liked another cocktail, she wasn't to be found. Seemed as though she was rushing to tables in the bar area. We had to ask other servers for cocktail and water refills.

Again, the food made up for it. Will come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Fantastic Dinner

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great service and Great food - can't beat it. Nice Ambiance and a really nice Italian wine selection

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, very romantic and exce ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great restaurant, very romantic and excellent service. Fresh real Italian food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We very much enjoyed Luce. We ate Osso b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We very much enjoyed Luce. We ate Osso bucco, pasta with short ribs and ravioli. All were delicious. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Luce continues to provide great service, ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Luce continues to provide great service, fresh well prepared dishes at good value.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and drinks. Wonderful am ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent food and drinks. Wonderful ambiance. Beautiful outside dining space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch Italian in Uptown Charlotte

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Fresh made pasta and all the accompanying dishes from cheese plate through tiramisu.

Attentive wait staff and a nice outdoor dining area also.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another fabulous meal at Luce. Manuel a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Another fabulous meal at Luce. Manuel and Rose did a fabulous job and created an amazing experience for us once again. Kudos to Augusto and the entire team at Luce.

Jon Brady

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent dining experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

the waitress was on point, very attentative. the food was great, especially the potatos. just amazing. and the host made my date feel so special after i told him to get the check and she thought we were leaving and he comes to the table with champagne and cheesecake for her for her birthday. it was perfect

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rushed, off-hand service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I arrived at 6 pm for reservation, anticipating leisurely dining experience prior to performance at Bleumenthal. Ordered Belini cocktail Didn't order appetizer, not hungry enough. My entree was served at 6:20 pm. before I'd finished cocktail. Actually, it was plunked in front of me , like in a diner. I wonder if that was because I'm a female senior dining alone. Waiter did not check on my satisfaction. Food was mediocre and unimaginative. Presentation like a diner. I kept my entree warm by putting it in the sun while finishing cocktail. I had researched this restaurant before arriving in Charolette. It was a gigantic disappointment. I've advised my local friends of this and they won't touch it. And, will tell their friends. I will also post on Trip Advisor.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great local restrauant find.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great local restrauant we have been there 3 times and have always had great food and service. There wine list is outstanding. Nightly specials are very nice. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit of Italy in Charlotte

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

What a wonderful find. My husband found himself slipping into the bit if Italian he knows. The food was creative, fresh and delicious. The white bean spread was so good that we asked for, and received, the recipe. The gnocchi was superb and the risotto that came with my fish was other worldly. My only minor complaint is that my fish was just a tiny bit overlooked. The semi fredo we had for dessert was just the right ending to a wonderful meal. Oh, and the service was perfect. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about our experience was fant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Everything about our experience was fantastic, but especially the FOOD! It was hot, flavorful, and well described so there were no surprises other than just how good it was. We were in town for a wedding for 4 days, and this was the best meal we had during the visit. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Luce Delivers a Fabulous Dinner

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We alway book a table at Luce when we are in Charlotte, NC for several reasons not limited to delicious perfectly cooked house made pastas, professional service, comfortable outdoor dining and the warm welcome when you walk in the door. If you enjoy authentic regional Italian cooking - Luce is a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A great ending to a great night

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I were in town for the Jazz festival and were able to get

reservations for after the performance. We came in around 9:30PM were welcomed by the lovely interior, the quiet and perfectly lit ambiance and the aroma of wonderful food.

Our waitress was terrific and our food was perfect.

This was our second visit to Luce but it will not be our last.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian Fare-Great Date Night-Any Time!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Luce provides excellent authentic Italian dishes, great highly specials and a place

for easy conversation and great food. The service is attentive, and very professional!

They understand if you have play tickets that night. Lots of repeat customers and

those new to Charlotte enjoying great food and wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Date Night

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The entire experience was fantastic. The homemade pasta was excellent; probably the best bolognese I have ever had. The mussels were seasoned perfectly. Very romantic restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the food and the wonderful, grac ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We love the food and the wonderful, gracious people at Toscana and Luce. Highly recommend. Try the Mare.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ecperience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Had dinner for wife's Birthday. Service, environment, and food was excellent. Service was especially good. Food variety was good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just ok.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My entre was extremely salty and paultry. My date's entre was tasty but again underwhelming. The waitress filling our glasses was very attentive, but the waiter was somewhat cold and detached. The food was mediocre at best. We decided that we wouldn't try the restaurant again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great experience. Great staff. Food was ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Great experience. Great staff. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.