About Luce Ristorante

214 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

The setting at Luce is romantic. The Murano Lights, Venetian Plaster and Travertine floors create an exclusive dining ambiance. Luce means “Light” in Italian and the restaurant clearly “glows” Luce provides an ideal dining experience whether you stop in for a quick lunch or settling in for a full course dinner and fine selection of extensive wines from Italy. Luce offers fresh, authentic Italian cuisine rich in flavor and passion inspired by our Italian chef, Gabriele Grigolon. The attentive and knowledgeable staff always provides impeccable service allowing you to sit back and enjoy your dining experience. Conveniently located in the Hearst Tower Plaza in the business district of Charlotte’s Center City. Luce opened in 2002 and has achieved outstanding accolades. Helen Schwabb, Charlotte Observer Food Critic, gave Luce an “Excellent” rating. ZAGAT has given Luce an “Extraordinary” rating from 2004-2010.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
North Tryon & 5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 344-9222

Website:
http://www.conterestaurantgroup.com/

Catering:
Bring the flavors of Northern Italy to your home, office or special venue. Whether it’s a large hors d'oeuvres reception or an intimate multi-course dinner Luce can take care of it all. Pick-up or delivery is available, delivery fee varies upon location. For more information or to place an order call 704.344.9222 or email info@luceristorante.net

Parking Details:
Luce patrons can park in the Hearst Tower parking deck. Entrances are located on 5th and 6th streets in between College & Tryon. We offer two hours free parking validation M-F before 5pm, after 5pm; on weekends parking is free with Luce validation.

Public Transit:
You can use the LYNX Light Rail Blue Line and get off on the CTC/Arena station and walk towards 5th street. Walk west on 5th, one block, to the Hearst Tower located on the corner of 5th and College. Luce in located on the Tryon level of the Hearst Tower in the courtyard.

Executive Chef:
Gabriele Grigolon

Private Party Facilities:
Luce would like to personally customize your special and private events. We can comfortably accommodate eighty for a seated dinner and over one hundred for a cocktail and hors d’oeuvres event. We also have a seasonal patio that can seat up to forty for dinner guests and is the perfect venue for a summer evening cocktail reception. Luce is available for private parties, rehearsal dinners, receptions, showers and all of your special event needs. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions and we look forward to hosting your events.

Private Party Contact:
Manual Camprese: 7043449222

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask us about our monthly Italian wine dinners and special holiday events.

Restaurant Photos

Luce Ristorante, Charlotte, NC
Luce Ristorante, Charlotte, NC
Luce Ristorante, Charlotte, NC
Luce Ristorante, Charlotte, NC
Luce Ristorante, Charlotte, NC
Luce Ristorante, Charlotte, NC
Luce Ristorante, Charlotte, NC
Luce Ristorante, Charlotte, NC
Luce Ristorante, Charlotte, NC
Luce Ristorante, Charlotte, NC
Luce Ristorante, Charlotte, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Luce Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
9 More
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
Italian
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Food
Charlotte
Best Service
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
Italian
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Romantic (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Notable Wine List (21)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Authentic (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Business Meals (14)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1096 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a fabulous meal we had there on Sat ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

What a fabulous meal we had there on Saturday evening. The mussels in white sauce was off the chart wonderful! I had veal piccata and hubby had the veal chop....both dishes exceptionally good. This foodie was very happy!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT!! One of our favorite restaur ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

EXCELLENT!! One of our favorite restaurants downtown........we always try and book at Luce when we are going to Belk Theatre or some event downtown. It never disappoints!!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great gnocchi. Setting a quiet and war ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great gnocchi. Setting a quiet and warm. Solid service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Service and food was impeccable. Will re ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Service and food was impeccable. Will return again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurants. Best Italian restaura ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great restaurants. Best Italian restaurant in Charlotte with impeccable service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always amazing but the risot ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food is always amazing but the risotto never disappoints. I always choose risotto when the chef has it as a special -- always with a different twist. Last week it was scallops and wild mushrooms. I've also had it with lobster, shrimp and even beans. Can't explain how it is so good -- so much flavor. And service is always outstanding !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting daughter who lives in town. She ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Visiting daughter who lives in town. She took us to restaurant & we had a great time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

WOW, my wife and I were "blown away" by ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

WOW, my wife and I were "blown away" by the great food and drinks. A very authentic Italian menu that my NJ wife really loved. Service was TOP notch! We only visit Charlotte once or twice a year but we will definitely be going back here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

V disappointing. They kept us waiting 22 ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

V disappointing. They kept us waiting 22 minutes and gave us a draughty seat by the door. Clearly they had over-sold for a pre-theater crowd. Food was good but not great. Owner gave us a glass of Prosecco at the bar while waiting but it was overcrowded with nowhere to sit/stand without being in the way. The Brunello reserve was excellent but over-priced. We hoped to showcase for a UK visitor but this was a swing and a miss. Don't think we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Upscale Italian spot in Uptown Charlotte ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Upscale Italian spot in Uptown Charlotte. Beautiful décor and the staff all spoke Italian to each other, I felt like I was in Italy!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food, wonderful service. We w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful food, wonderful service. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My friend and I like to eat here before ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 8, 2016

My friend and I like to eat here before we attend a show. He always gets the filet and I opt for a special, but always excellent food and service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic and the food was d ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Service was fantastic and the food was delicious! Had been wanting to try this place for some time and so glad we finally did- will definitely be returning! The veal pasta was so good I may order it again on our next visit. The servers and all the staff was so attentive and genuine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful food and service. The best Ita ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful food and service. The best Italian Restaurant in Charlotte. Always consistent and the staff treats you like family.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Charlotte. Manuela w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Best restaurant in Charlotte.

Manuela was the waiter. I think he is the owner but not sure. I had pasta that was spiced up (I like spicy food), salad, and chocolate mousse. Usually, I have Italian red wine but I could not pass up a pinot noir especially from Oregon.

Service was outstanding. Everything was great. It was calm and relaxing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose Luce for its proximity to the s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We chose Luce for its proximity to the symphony theatre and we were delighted. The food was outstanding and the service was friendly and attentive. We ordered several dishes to share and the staff was very obliging. the pasta del giorno was a little pricey but well worth it....colorful arugula pasta with tender morsels of beef in a delicious sauce. I'm looking forward to another occasion to dine at Luce again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We make it a point to eat at Luce when w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We make it a point to eat at Luce when we visit Charlotte from Charleston. We are never disappointed. We also appreciate the fact that we do not have to raise our voices across the table to be heard. Our waiter was attentive and helpful in explaining the Italian words in the menu..He had a nice sense of humor as well!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's birthday celebration dinner wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My wife's birthday celebration dinner was excellent - the ONLY exception - and we are talking MINOR, is that I ordered the seafood stew selection, with my tastebuds waiting for a "stew" type dinner, and my fish portions were piled on top of each other with a small amount of sauce for flavor underneath. But fish was very tasty and fresh!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a return visit to Luce for my s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was a return visit to Luce for my son's birthday. We were seated immediately for our reservation and staff was very welcoming. We started with cocktails, a margarita and a manhattan which were very well prepared. The menu features a good variety of fish and meat options. I started with an arugula salad which was delicious and my son enjoyed a terrific lobster bisque special. We both opted for veal picatta which was tender and flavorful. We shared a fabulous chocolate cake for dessert. Luce's wine list is impressive, but I opted for a glass of Kunde chardonnay.

               Luce is a lovely, softly lit setting and the noise level is never excessive. Service is very professional and gracious. If I return to Charlotte I would return to Luce for another excellent dining experience. I would recommend it highly.
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for Italian. Heard about it ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great place for Italian. Heard about it from locals and finally tried it with a few of my colleagues. It was as expected. Decent wine collection.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Finally made it to Luce's. I have been w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Finally made it to Luce's. I have been waiting for the right to to try this place out and it finally happened and it was fantastic. The night we went they had an event so work was done to flip tables in short order but strong team made it happen quick and efficient. I cant say enough about the wait staff knowledge and flexibility was exceptional. Now for the food. We tried a lot of things and everything was great. Being from NY I have high expectations of Italian food and I am overly excited at how good the food was here. I started with the octopus with olives and pine nuts over Yukon gold mash and it was delicious. we also had a cheese/salami plate as well as some mozzarella stuffed eggplant. My main was branzino with asparagus and potatoes. We had Brussel sprout, arugula sides and finished with a few deserts. Overall the restaurant was smaller then I expected but very comfortable. with as much as we drank and ate I was very pleased with the bill as well. Cant wait to go back. New favorite place in Charlotte!!! Thanks again to the magnificent staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding cuisine & very attentive ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Outstanding cuisine & very attentive service.

A little bit of Tuscany in Uptown Charlotte !

Attractive decor & conducive to actual conversations.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent! Everything was great from the ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent! Everything was great from the appetizers to the dessert! Little pricey.Great for a small group. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Like every time "luce was great" excell ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Like every time "luce was great" excellent service by Caesar and the staff! We definitely recommend Luce! Ciao.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found my new favorite restaurant. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I found my new favorite restaurant. The food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything that we had was delicious, bu ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Everything that we had was delicious, but the standout was my Veal Chop. It blew me and my date away. He got the gnocchi, which he did enjoy. Our server was perfect, he was attentive but we still had a very private meal. It is a fine dining establishment, so you will spend some money, but the service and the food were worth it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ate at Luce before attending a show at B ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Ate at Luce before attending a show at Belk Theatre. Food was great. Several more items on the menu I'd like to try. Will definitely go back. Service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Friendly servers ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food and service. Friendly servers. Place was clean and well decorated.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luce is a gem of a restaurant. The serv ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Luce is a gem of a restaurant. The service is excellent and friendly. The food was memorable. If you want fine dining at a reasonable price, Luce should be on your list.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for a special birthday dinner an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We went for a special birthday dinner and was given a glass of champagne for our celebration, which was a very nice touch to start our evening. We sat outside which was beautiful among the Charlotte skyscrapers. Food and service was excellent. We never felt rushed and had a great evening. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us were in town for a business ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Three of us were in town for a business meeting. We chose Luce and were very satisfied how excellent everything was. Parking in the Hearst lot was easy and our ticket was validated. Three different entrees, two of which were the evening specials were outstanding. I chose a standard ravioli and red sauce - probably the best version I have had anywhere.

We ate on the outside patio - great view, excellent service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was stunned that each dish brought to ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I was stunned that each dish brought to our table -- starting with the foot-loons crispy bread sticks and ending with the cannoli -- was stunningly wonderful. With the first bite of each course, my tastebuds smiled. And our waitress took care of us as those we were her only, or most important, guests of the evening.

An added big, big plus: The sounds levels were nice and low, unlike the majority of Charlotte’s restaurants. Not no-energy low, but comfortably we-still-can-talk-over-dinner low. Thank you, Luce!

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience all the way around. Ver ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great experience all the way around. Very authentic. Fresh homemade pasta can't be beat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening.... and thanks for letting ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great evening.... and thanks for letting me used an expired gift certificate!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice selection of dishes. We had frittat ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Nice selection of dishes. We had frittata, soup and salad and food was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dinner on the patio. Service and ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Lovely dinner on the patio. Service and food are always outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was an underwhelming, disappointing ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was an underwhelming, disappointing experience especially as the restaurant came so highly recommended in print and anecdotally from staff at the hotel and other restaurants where we ate. We also were also excited about the location inside our favorite building in Charlotte. The waiter was accommodating and pleasant so no complaints there. We ordered a cocktail that looked as if it would be sweet and fruity and refreshing but instead was bitter and not very flavorful. The menu was not very exciting-- the choices were limiting to our palates at least. Two of us ordered the risotto special and one the gnocchi. The risotto featured lobster meat and I expected chunks but they were cut small, the same size as the zucchini and other vegetables in the dish and the flavor just didn't come through. We ordered au gratin cauliflower as a side and we could barely taste the cheese. It seemed the chef had sprinkled some Parmesan on the florets and broiled them. I make many au gratin dishes and the pleasure is the sauce in between the vegetables -- this had no sauce and was completely dry. The standout was the white bean salad at the start served with the bread. Sadly we will not be returning to this restaurant unlike many others that we have come to love in Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Fantastic service! We were greeted with ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fantastic service! We were greeted with Presceo to celebrate our first year of marriage. The servers were attentive and it was a beautiful spot to spend a date night!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot. Food is terrific and atmosph ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great spot. Food is terrific and atmosphere good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Awesome place. Awesome service Awesome f ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awesome place.

Awesome service

Awesome food

Fantastic wine list and excellent recommendations

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.