About Luce Ristorante

214 North Tryon Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

The setting at Luce is romantic. The Murano Lights, Venetian Plaster and Travertine floors create an exclusive dining ambiance. Luce means “Light” in Italian and the restaurant clearly “glows” Luce provides an ideal dining experience whether you stop in for a quick lunch or settling in for a full course dinner and fine selection of extensive wines from Italy. Luce offers fresh, authentic Italian cuisine rich in flavor and passion inspired by our Italian chef, Gabriele Grigolon. The attentive and knowledgeable staff always provides impeccable service allowing you to sit back and enjoy your dining experience. Conveniently located in the Hearst Tower Plaza in the business district of Charlotte’s Center City. Luce opened in 2002 and has achieved outstanding accolades. Helen Schwabb, Charlotte Observer Food Critic, gave Luce an “Excellent” rating. ZAGAT has given Luce an “Extraordinary” rating from 2004-2010.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
North Tryon & 5th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 344-9222

Website:
http://www.conterestaurantgroup.com/

Catering:
Bring the flavors of Northern Italy to your home, office or special venue. Whether it’s a large hors d'oeuvres reception or an intimate multi-course dinner Luce can take care of it all. Pick-up or delivery is available, delivery fee varies upon location. For more information or to place an order call 704.344.9222 or email info@luceristorante.net

Parking Details:
Luce patrons can park in the Hearst Tower parking deck. Entrances are located on 5th and 6th streets in between College & Tryon. We offer two hours free parking validation M-F before 5pm, after 5pm; on weekends parking is free with Luce validation.

Public Transit:
You can use the LYNX Light Rail Blue Line and get off on the CTC/Arena station and walk towards 5th street. Walk west on 5th, one block, to the Hearst Tower located on the corner of 5th and College. Luce in located on the Tryon level of the Hearst Tower in the courtyard.

Executive Chef:
Gabriele Grigolon

Private Party Facilities:
Luce would like to personally customize your special and private events. We can comfortably accommodate eighty for a seated dinner and over one hundred for a cocktail and hors d’oeuvres event. We also have a seasonal patio that can seat up to forty for dinner guests and is the perfect venue for a summer evening cocktail reception. Luce is available for private parties, rehearsal dinners, receptions, showers and all of your special event needs. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions and we look forward to hosting your events.

Private Party Contact:
Manual Camprese: 7043449222

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask us about our monthly Italian wine dinners and special holiday events.

Restaurant Photos

Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante
Luce Ristorante

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Luce Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Best Value
Charlotte
5 More
Italian
Charlotte
Best Overall
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Best Value
Charlotte
Italian
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (43)
Fit for Foodies (40)
See All
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1056 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was an underwhelming, disappointing ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was an underwhelming, disappointing experience especially as the restaurant came so highly recommended in print and anecdotally from staff at the hotel and other restaurants where we ate. We also were also excited about the location inside our favorite building in Charlotte. The waiter was accommodating and pleasant so no complaints there. We ordered a cocktail that looked as if it would be sweet and fruity and refreshing but instead was bitter and not very flavorful. The menu was not very exciting-- the choices were limiting to our palates at least. Two of us ordered the risotto special and one the gnocchi. The risotto featured lobster meat and I expected chunks but they were cut small, the same size as the zucchini and other vegetables in the dish and the flavor just didn't come through. We ordered au gratin cauliflower as a side and we could barely taste the cheese. It seemed the chef had sprinkled some Parmesan on the florets and broiled them. I make many au gratin dishes and the pleasure is the sauce in between the vegetables -- this had no sauce and was completely dry. The standout was the white bean salad at the start served with the bread. Sadly we will not be returning to this restaurant unlike many others that we have come to love in Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Fantastic service! We were greeted with ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fantastic service! We were greeted with Presceo to celebrate our first year of marriage. The servers were attentive and it was a beautiful spot to spend a date night!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot. Food is terrific and atmosph ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great spot. Food is terrific and atmosphere good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Awesome place. Awesome service Awesome f ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awesome place.

Awesome service

Awesome food

Fantastic wine list and excellent recommendations

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luce is a stylish but comfortable restau ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Luce is a stylish but comfortable restaurant with excellent food and an impressive wine list. I enjoyed a wonderful beet salad and moist roasted salmon. My son enjoyed his veal picatta. We did not have dessert. Service was welcoming and very professional. The decor resembles that of an understated, cool New York City style restaurant. I would recommend Luce highly as a fine dining option in Charlotte.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, good atmosphere for a busines ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Good food, good atmosphere for a business lunch. Quite, elegant and comfortable.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst service ever

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Worst service ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

This was during Queen's Feast. Excellent ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was during Queen's Feast. Excellent food, service, atmosphere, the works! Would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was restaurant week in Charlotte. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was restaurant week in Charlotte. We expected better entrees on the special menu, but they were not available. Service was poor. One of our group got the special fish (Swordfish), and it tasted bad and had to be sent back. I got lobster ravioli. The pasta was poor, no eggs in the recipe, the pasta was overcooked, the lobster had almost no lobster taste as if it had sat around for a number of hour. The chocolate torte was excellent. However it came with two hazelnuts. One of them was rancid.

They charge $15 for a Manhattan, which is the highest I have paid in Charlotte.

Not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

This was the first visit to the Luce Ris ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was the first visit to the Luce Ristorante. The food as well as the ambiance were excellent.

We will be back. Thank you

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is our favorite restaurant in Charlot ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It is our favorite restaurant in Charlotte

Excellent Northern Italian food, great wines and excellent service

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. I was concerned about my w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Amazing food. I was concerned about my waiters lack of interest in confirming what food contained my food allergy. Super romantic spot which was also great for a group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Good food and service. Great wine list ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Good food and service. Great wine list but too big, but staff are knowledgeable and have good suggestions. Portions are small so be prepared to order appetizers and desserts.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent experience! Food is fantastic ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent experience! Food is fantastic and service is attentive but annoying - was able to have a productive business dinner and still enjoy the meal. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had wonderful dinner. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My husband and I had wonderful dinner. Food and wine were great. Service was professional and prompt. Ambience was lovely. They validated our parking ticket. All good!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice restaurant and good food and servic ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Nice restaurant and good food and service. Nothing particularly noteworthy but good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great find in Charlotte, went for a pre- ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great find in Charlotte, went for a pre-concert dinner. Food and service were top notch. Ambiance just right for a special occasion dinner, date night, or night out with friends. Researched a nice place for dinner (live out of state), and reviews were spot on. Would definitely recommend to others, and will be back next trip to Charlotte.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Old school Italian in the best sense.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Old school Italian in the best sense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best dining in downtown charlotte

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Best dining in downtown charlotte

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We're from Augusta, GA and was in Charlo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We're from Augusta, GA and was in Charlotte for business. We had several employee's at the Omni Hotel recommend y'all. The service and food was awesome! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants. Food ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. Food is consistently delicious. Manuel and the rest of the staff treat us like family, the service matches the quality of the food. We always feel special at Luce. Love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful experience all around ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Always a wonderful experience all around. The food, atmosphere and service are always the best in Charlotte. This is a great place to entertain clients, friends and family.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We selected Luce for a pre-concert meal ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We selected Luce for a pre-concert meal on my husband's birthday. The food was delicious, the service outstanding. Perfect everything!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful from the cockta ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything was wonderful from the cocktails at the bar while waiting for all of our guests to arrive, to the round table seating as requested, the fine dining food and wine and the lovely dessert platter to help celebrate our son's 30th birthday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always... Great food and serv ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Amazing as always... Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service and food were all top notch. Can ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service and food were all top notch. Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a birthday and could not have ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Celebrated a birthday and could not have been happier with the service, food was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very good option for an excellent dinn ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

A very good option for an excellent dinner in uptown Charlotte.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered the mare plate and it was del ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We ordered the mare plate and it was delicious.

Will definitely repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luce' is one of my favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Luce' is one of my favorite restaurants in Charlotte. The decor is warm and inviting, the food is always excellent and the service is wonderful. Whether it is a special occasion, a visit from someone from out of town you want to please, it is always a great choice. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian food, octopus, homemade pa ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great Italian food, octopus, homemade pasta, stuffed veal chop to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome in every way. Wonderful service ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Awesome in every way. Wonderful service, fabulous food, great ambiance. The northern Italian cuisine was exceptional. The server was very knowledgable and charming. You could have been in New York or Italy. Really loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely dinner!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Luce continues to do a great job on authentic Italian food in a lovely atmosphere. We met a friend we hadn't seen in some time so wanted to be able to converse, and the setting was perfect. Service was spot on. The branzino was delicious, simply but well prepared. Beet salad was divine. We'll go again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3 ladies for dinner. We all got somethin ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

3 ladies for dinner. We all got something different and all the food was great. As for service, Manuel is in a class by himself. Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. Superb food. Clean restaraunt.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

I recommend the Mare to Seafood/Pasta lovers. The team at Luce made my daughter and me feel like we were their only customers. The treated us like royalty and made my daughter's 25th Birthday very special.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great first experience at Luce. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a great first experience at Luce. The food and wine were excellent as was the service. I will definitely be back next time I am in Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The fish dish I had was cooked perfectly ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The fish dish I had was cooked perfectly and my wife's hand made pasta with mushrooms was great. We were 30 minutes late for our reservation due to the thunderstorm and the hostess did not make an issue and seated us in the last 2 seats left in the restaurant. Server was great. Overall just a really good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Overall the experience was great. The food was excellent. The service wasn't too spectacular as our server wasn't as attentive as we would have liked but the food made up for her lack of service. She wasn't that bad but when we would've liked another cocktail, she wasn't to be found. Seemed as though she was rushing to tables in the bar area. We had to ask other servers for cocktail and water refills.

Again, the food made up for it. Will come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Fantastic Dinner

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great service and Great food - can't beat it. Nice Ambiance and a really nice Italian wine selection

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, very romantic and exce ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great restaurant, very romantic and excellent service. Fresh real Italian food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.