About Luce - InterContinental San Francisco

888 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Awarded a Michelin star eight years consecutively (2010-2017), Luce - InterContinental San Francisco features an urban setting that is modern and sophisticated, yet stunningly warm and inviting. The main dining room features floor-to-ceiling-windows adorned with sheer metallic gold curtains. Hand-blown Italian bubble-like lamps provide a flattering glow to the dark tropical wood accents and elegantly appointed tables. The globally inspired New American menu reflects the bounties from the surrounding farms of San Francisco and changes according to freshness and seasonality. Each dish is artistically created and highlights an inventive flair for marrying diverse flavors with natural organic ingredients into a gastronomic delight. The wine program offers a superb collection that inspires daring pairings at prices that encourage exploration, and has garnered the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2010 and the Best of Award of Excellence since 2015.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Sunday - Saturday: 6:00am - 11:00am

Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Saturday and Sunday 11:00am-2:30pm (Special Brunch Menu)

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

*Tasting Menu offered Tuesday - Saturday until 9:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 616-6566

Website:
http://www.lucewinerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Happy hour at Bar 888 is here Sunday - Thursday 3:00pm - 5:30 pm.
During happy hour we are delighted to serve all our Snacks and Appetizers at a $2 reduction.

Parking Details:
$15 for the first three hours of valet parking for all Luce guests based on availability.

Public Transit:
BART and Muni Stations close by (Powell Street)

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine, Daniel Corey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Pacific Halibut - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Sweetbread Ravioli - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Luce S'more - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Poached egg with braised short rib - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Pacific Salmon  - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Foie Gras - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Niman Ranch Short Ribs Hash - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Prime Rib Spaghettini - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Huevos rancheros - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Steelhead Trout - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Babe Farm Baby Beets - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Prie Fixe Halibut - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Panna Cotta - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Mignardises - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Lamb Loin With Braized Lamb Belly - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Venison Carpaccio - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Sweatbreads - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Hamachi - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Beets - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Soup - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Opera Cake - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Velouté - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Risotto With Trumpet Mushrooms, Kale, Over A Foie Jous.  Topped With Black Truffle.  - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
White Chocolate Mousse - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Lobster - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Slowly Cooked Berkshire Pork Cheek - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Grilled Gulf Prawn... Consomme - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Cappucino - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Sweetbreads Salad - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Eggs Benedict - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Le Vache de Chalais - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Arctic char, tomato confit, arugula - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roasted Beet Salad - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Squid Ink Carbonara - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Pork Cheek And Buckwheat Porridge - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Seared And Cold Foie Gras - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Steamed Lobster With Quinoa And Carrots - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Foie Gras Sampler - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Ahi tuna - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Rhubarb And Green Tea Sorbet - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Grilled Chicken - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Ocean Trout Trudo - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Pink Pearl Apple Sorbet - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Amuse Bouche: Beets, Chevre, Pistaschios... - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Pear And Ginger Float - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Cream of Butternut Squash Soup with Chipotle - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Baby Octopus and Seaweed - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Peanut Butter Cake With White Chocolate Whipped Cream - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Heirloom Carrot Veloute - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Macarons - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Lamb! Love The Presentation! - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Beef Tenderloin Pot De Fouef - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Pacific King Salmon (Special) - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Herb Roasted Lamb Loin - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Short Rib And Ny Strip Steak - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Mascarpone Cheesecake with Roasted Blueberry Sorbet - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Banana Mousse With Chocolate Glaze And Coffee Ice Cream - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Rib Eye Of Prime Beef, Roasted With Garlic, Smoked Jerusalem Artichoke, Salsify, Spring Onion - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Hot and Cold Foie Gras - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Chocolate Souffle Tart - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Albacore Tuna - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Lamb - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Burger - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Milk Chocolate Panna Cotta & Chocolate Feuilletine - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Creme Fraiche Parfait With Summer Berries - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Roasted Fish And Baby Calamari - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Rissoto - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Squash Salad - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Kona Kampachi - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Beet & Radish Salad - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Chicken With Carrots - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
Food - Luce - InterContinental San Francisco, San Francisco, CA

Specials

Christmas Brunch at Luce

Sunday Dec 25, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Brunch at Luce

Sunday Dec 25, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

Christmas Day Brunch at Luce. Buffet and Omelette Station, Dim Sum Unlimited Bubbly $85 adults $45 kids 4 - 12 years. Excludes Tax and Tip. 11:00am - 2:30pm - The buffet will be the only menu offered. Special valid on Sunday Dec 25, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us for a beautiful 3-course dinner with choices. $95 per person / $140 per person with wine pairing + $45 Kids (4-12 yrs).

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Join us for Christmas Day brunch $85 per person, unlimited bubbly, dim sum, $45 for kids (4-12 yrs). Only menu offered

Join us for a beautiful 3-course dinner with choices. $95 per person / $140 per person with wine pairing + $45 Kids (4-12 yrs). Only menu offered

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us for a special New Years Eve at Luce featuring a five course menu $159 per person / $234 per person wine pairing. Party favors and entertainment!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:30PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Fri 11:15AM - 11:45AM 1:30PM - 2:30PM 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 1:30PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:30PM 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For intimate gatherings between friends and family or a luncheon meeting with clients, our private dining room at Luce is the perfect place for any occasion.

Luce - InterContinental San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in SOMA ›

Special Occasion (26)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thank you for the efficient and professi ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Thank you for the efficient and professional service. In a short scheduled lunch we were able to enjoy our hour. The food was fresh, unique and beauty. We couldn't have hoped for better. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the best time at Luce and thoroug ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We had the best time at Luce and thoroughly enjoyed our tasting menu dinner. The wine pairings were wonderful. The staff were over the top friendly and accommodating. The three of us absolutely loved our dining experience. Thank you Luce.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As usual, the food was outstanding and t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As usual, the food was outstanding and the service was especially outstanding. Keith took wonderful care of us - a special occasion with 3 generations of our family - and he generously helped the elderly members of our group, going way out of his way for that, while delivering wonderfully professional food and wine service. A terrific night to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Sub-par food and service. Disappointing ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Sub-par food and service. Disappointing experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

I attended Luce's Thanksgiving lunch. I ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I attended Luce's Thanksgiving lunch. I requested to be sat at a round table rather than two tables pushed together at a booth. I was informed that they were all reserved and throughout my entire meal, I stared at a round table in front of me, vacant the entire time. Our meal took 45 minutes to come out but our fixings came out 15 minutes prior to our meal so I had to have it sent back. The food was absolutely delicious but the winner that day was the dessert. We were told they were going to comp one meal and the fixings, which was great. If you dine here and ask for water, expect to pay for it without being given a choice. We paid $16 for a round of water. I feel this restaurant is trying too hard to be something that it isn't. Hospitality goes a long way . There is much potential due having an excellent chef who made our wait well worth it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant is beautiful, the food is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful, the food is delicious and the service is simply outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Is this real Michelin star restaurant? I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Is this real Michelin star restaurant? I was underwhelmed.

They have a bar at the entrance, and I was surprised how loud they are. When you get inside the restaurant, it's not so loud and you probably don't care too much, but it didn't give me a good impression.

Food was good but nothing significant. The only reason why I went there was because they have a good selection of wines. That turned out to be just okay, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The tasting menu was an outstanding valu ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The tasting menu was an outstanding value! We added the wine-pairing which made it only $150 per person. Each course was very thought out and delicious. The pace of presentation was just perfect as well, neither rushed nor slow. Will definitely return!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a wonderful experience with my fam ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I had a wonderful experience with my family at Luce, celebrating my mother's birthday. The service was exceptional and the food was delicious, especially the foie gras. At the end of dinner, we were fortunate enough to take a look at the kitchen and meet the head chef.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entrees were fantastic, was not fond of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Entrees were fantastic, was not fond of the amberjack appetizer.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food! We had the tasting menu a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing food! We had the tasting menu and I highly recommend. The chef is awesome, you got to go to Luce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Michelin star experience for less than ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A Michelin star experience for less than $100/person, which is hard to find in San Francisco. It's inside a nice hotel and pretty easy to find. It's close to public transit and the shopping center. The tasting menu was a great experience and they made sure to make the special occasion feel extra special.

The fresh bread they have there is fantastic - I would highly recommend eating as much of it as possible

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great! Service was great to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was great! Service was great too, although they took my plate couple times before I finish. I should have said so, but I also felt there wasn't choice to say so cause it seemed that they wanted to bring the next dish. So a little slower pace would be more enjoyable for a beautiful food like this place. Although, I am very satisfied with the whole experience and definitely want to go back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I've been blessed to have many tasting m ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I've been blessed to have many tasting menus in my lifetime thus far, and Luce ranked up in the top 25%. It was very special, unique, and with a gorgeous mixture of textures and flavors. Highlights were the amazing fois gras torchon, and absolutely divine duck breast dish. Chef Daniel does an outstanding job of highlighting fresh, unique, and delicious ingredients. Our server (Sam I believe) was awesome too - we were taken care of immaculately. Huge props to the sommelier as well, who replaced my too-sweet dessert wine with a perfect dry pairing. Great staff here - great meal too.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

It was so loud in there it brought tears ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

It was so loud in there it brought tears to my eyes. Will never sit through that horrible volume again. Too bad because the food was good.

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

I must say, having dined at other Michel ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I must say, having dined at other Michelin star restaurants, I expected better service. Even though the place was half empty upon the arrival of our party of 2, we were put in a rather distant corner. The sommelier was rather dismissive. There was quite a bit of spilling going on (of wine and water). That being said, the waiter was quite friendly and jovial, and the tempo of our tasting menu dish service was just right. The atmosphere was otherwise comfortable (though this could just be a reflection of our rather remote location). In short, still a way to go to make guests feel truly welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Very good overall. Will come back. Staff ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Very good overall. Will come back. Staff is very attentive and knowledgeable. Nice presentation for the birthday.

Tags: Private Room, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Great service. Very happy ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Amazing food. Great service. Very happy to have spent our wedding night eating dinner here. We will be back, I'm sure.

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Decided to try Luce based on Michelin ra ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Decided to try Luce based on Michelin rating and menu that provided some interesting preparations. Welcoming environment and exceptional service without going over the top. Food presentation and flavors were excellent. In particular the red beet appetizer, and main courses of poached halibut and seared snapper were all wonderful. Wine list has good depth with a nice range of options. No missteps the entire evening. Decor is modern and elegant but the views from the main dining area only look out on the local retail and other establishments which don't do anything for the ambience. With that said, the food and service are what shined through and made for an enjoyable evening. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent meals! The duck was sublime. F ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent meals! The duck was sublime. Four of us each chose a different dish, and shared tastes with the others. All of them were awesome. Trust the wine and food suggestions and the knowledge of the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was limited and I didn't find t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The menu was limited and I didn't find the food worth the price. More organic foods would be nice.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was absolutely phenomenal! Truly w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food was absolutely phenomenal! Truly worthy of the Michelin Star! Best meal I've ever eaten! And the service was terrific!

Already recommended to friends when they visit SF.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch!! The tasting menu was fantas ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Top notch!! The tasting menu was fantastic and the service was excellent .

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One word describes the chef's tasting me ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One word describes the chef's tasting menu with paired wines - fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would absolutely return for their tast ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I would absolutely return for their tasting menu. Service was great. I thought the waiter was wonderful, not at all stiff/uncomfortably formal as one might expect at nicer/pricier restaurants. I can't wait to go back to try a different season's tasting menu but I would return for the current tasting menu in a heartbeat!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful presentation and of course, ev ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Beautiful presentation and of course, everything was delicious! The tasting menu is an amazing bargain for a Michelin star restaurant. Service was impeccable. Beautiful décor. I would definitely return !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I chose to eat here before ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My friend and I chose to eat here before seeing a show nearby. We were the first to arrive when they opened for dinner and the staff were very welcoming. We usually can't afford to eat at nice places, but our server Keith was incredible at making us feel like we weren't out of place. We ordered the tasting menu for the night and were not disappointed. Each course was prepared beautifully and the servers explained each dish with enthusiasm. The salmon belly confit is a must try. If you're fortunate enough to afford it, try the tasting menu; you won't be disappointed. If you're lucky enough to have Keith serving you, you'll have a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my best friends took me here to c ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

One of my best friends took me here to celebrate my birthday and the experience was outstanding all around. Service was attentive and really felt that our servers, James et. al., went above and beyond ensuring our dining experience was exceptional. Food was fantastic - I ordered the duck and it was cooked to perfection - tender yet skin had that nice crispy texture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great food and pleasa ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent service, great food and pleasant ambiance.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luce is reminiscent of European dining i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Luce is reminiscent of European dining in a relaxed, upscale restaurant, where you are not rushed to finish your meal so they can turn the tables over. Far from it as we had a lounged over coffee and after-dinner drinks. The service was impeccable and in concert with our meal. We never felt rushed and our many questions were answered with pleasure.

The food was excellent from the amuse bouche (nice little surprise of a savory madeleine) to the desserts, catering to dietary restrictions. I started with the Foie Gras, with both a hot seared foie gras and a cold foie gras, which was beautifully designed on the plate with strawberry, rhubarb and hibiscus jam, and glazed walnuts. My husband had the ravioli which were to die for. For entrees we had the Halibut without the potato mousse, which was very refreshing though I think the dish lacked substance without the potato mousse, and we also had the Chicken with the Boudin Blanc. The chicken was cooked absolutely perfectly and the fresh corn grits finger licking tasty. For dessert we had the deconstructed s'mores (or maybe I should say I had), which the chef adjusted due to dietary restrictions. This was just a little piece of heaven. Each plate was artfully arranged and visually appetizing. My one regret is that we didn't feel sufficiently hungry to have the tasting menu.

It is no wonder that Luce has received a Michelin star for the past few years. Luce is not a place to be seen or to see. It is for enjoying and savoring fresh local produce at a relaxed pace with flawless execution where the cost won't break the bank.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Luce is a good restaurant, with a lovely ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Luce is a good restaurant, with a lovely menu. However it is very big, and can feel impersonal i.e. too hotel-ish. Décor could be improved to make the spaces more distinct and cozier. Our service was very good, and the food was enjoyable, so we had a very nice evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

It was a wonderful experience dining at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was a wonderful experience dining at Luce! Great food, service and environment. We got the summer tasting manual and it was awesome. Seasonal and local ingredients with creative California favors. We will be back for Fall, Winter and Spring tasting manuals for sure.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good experience for the first time the ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2016

A good experience for the first time there. Service was attentive although we felt a little rushed at times. This was a reunion dinner and we apologize for prolonging our time there. We all ordered the signature first and main dishes - the ravioli and the duck. Both were good., although the duck needed a starch of some sort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food, great evening. I tried sweet ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food, great evening. I tried sweet bread and actually enjoyed it. You may need to Google what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Luce is located in the InterContinen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The Luce is located in the InterContinental Hotel on 5th & Howard. The wait staff couldn't be more perfect! Found it to be more noisy than I'd prefer. Catching up with friends made it a bit difficult to carry on a conversation without straining to hear.

Food was good but not what I hoped from a Michelin Star award restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was fantastic. We did the chefs tas ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Food was fantastic. We did the chefs tasting menu and it was great. The halibut was my favorite, unique and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

not a great choice for lunch.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2016

not a great choice for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was impeccable as was the food. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Service was impeccable as was the food. Best meal we've had in a while.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Daniel Corey's and his team did an amazi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Daniel Corey's and his team did an amazing job with out menu. We let Daniel choose the all the dishes for us. Everything was amazing and sooooo tasty. I love eating here because it's quiet and I can talk to my friends. The staff was very attentive and friendly. I can't wait to come back here again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked a table at Luce because of the hi ...

 
 (Wales)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Booked a table at Luce because of the high calibre food quality, a must for what was our wedding day lunch. We arrived (and left) to almost constant well wishers from all corners of the hotel staff, we weren't guests but that didn't seem to matter, we both felt very special. The service was impeccable, I believe we had a waiter each at one point. Our soup starter set the tone for what was a truly memorable dining experience.. We've never had soup that good before, nor will we again I expect, sooo good.

You hope you get what you pay for in this world and at Luce that's certainly the case.

Incredible experience from start to finish.

Thanks to everyone who made us feel so special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.