Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Lucca Restaurant & Bar

Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.

1615 J St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
16th and J Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 669-5300

Website:
http://www.luccarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Ian Macbride

Private Party Facilities:
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Glenn Stewart: (916) 669-5300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucca Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Casual (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for Groups (33)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Cozy (25)
Business Meals (24)
Bar Seating (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Romantic (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Authentic (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Seasonal (15)
Fireplace (14)
Healthy (14)
Fun (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
People Watching (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Private Room (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Historic (4)
Vegan (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dancing (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
866 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place, food is amazing gluten free options for mains and dessert are awesome. Staff are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful time celebrating graduation! The food was divine! Absolutely loved the appetizers and sangria!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

This was my second visit to Lucca, the first being a date with my husband. On that occasion, the food was very good, very flavorful. The ambiance was great with just enough energy. Service was great.

Our last visit on 5/17 was a little disappointing. I was graduating from SCC at the Memorial Auditorium and made reservations for 10 quite far in advance, requesting a patio table. My family got there before I did, and were seated at a huge round table inside that made it difficult to have conversations, and I was very disappointed not to be seated on the patio as I'd requested on my reservation. It was not overly busy that night (most of the inside was empty, as a matter of fact). I did not want to make a fuss, so we just remained at the inside table.

The pasta dishes were a little bland (noted by several in our party), but appetizers and other dishes were good. Service was great. I would return, but next time really would like an outdoor table. :-)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

I would recommend Lucca's for any occasion. Whether it is a business meeting or a date night, this place has it all. Their menu has a nice variety of options so you can always find something appealing. The service was fantastic and the servers provided excellent recommendations for both food and drinks. I will definitely return when I am in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was fabulous the atmosphere was very casual and wonderful and our waiter was very conscientious and attentive

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Tracy was our waitress and she was fantastic!. She always kept a watchful eye on our table and was avaiable to refill our requests at the right times. She knew the specials dinners for the night and she was cheerful and seemed happy to be there. She also made a great suggestion for dessert. That Carmelized, banana crunch was fantastic tasting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Family Style, Disabled Access, Healthy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Private Room, People Watching, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Second time here. The food does not dissapoint. Good value. Great location.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A perennial favorite. Have dined here many times for office luncheons, dinner before concerts and for birthdays and now mother's day. Have had an excellent meal everytime. The patio dining is my favorite, as it is a little quieter. My only recommendation would be to have a few more offerings for vegetarian diners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were able to get in at the last minute on Friday night. Our waiter Mike was very friendly and helpful with navigating the menu which has a nice variety of choices-truly something for everyone

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Overall a local "find" in downtown Sacramento. Great place to meet friends and break bread or just sit back and relax with good food and drink.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I found the restaurant thru a google search and it was listed as good for a romantic dinner. So my expectation was for a quiet place.
Though the place was not full, the acoustics are harsh. I had difficulty hearing our server over the reflected noise. We needed to raise our voices to communicate.
I had the pork chop entree. The meat was very good, but the vegetables were unidentifiable, except for the brussel sprouts. The veggies were burned and tough.
Pity, as the decoration is attractive. I might go there again just for a drink at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

As always, another wonderful dining experience at Lucca with family from New York that appreciated a great local dining experience accompanied by a very gracious and hospitable server, Micah who made it even more worth while. Thank you Lucca and staff, from your hostess to your bussers- everything is always a 5 star experience! Great food, fabulous people.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The cippino was delicious, service was impeccable, dined outside, the night air and ambiance were perfect for much needed conversation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Some dishes were good, some were just ok. Service was inconsistent. Noise was ridiculous as there was a full wedding reception or similar event happening next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Some of the best Sea Bass I've ever had. Instead of potatos I had more healthy vegetables. Great meal. Unfortunately, I couldn't resist the bread; oh, well. Chocolate gelato was terrific. I've eaten at Lucca through the years when in Sacramento. Without a doubt, they got it right!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Patio dining very nice and bread very good! Most of our party of eight always comments if the food is good, not a peep, including me. Maybe a revamp of the menu and spice it up. Service was good!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Good food, but it took a long time to arrive at the table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Everything was fine except that we will not use the outdoor patio again because the noise level near the street was excessive. It was not "energetic", just plain noisy.


We asked to get our table changed and although the hostess was willing to do so, we decided against it because part of our appetizers was already at the table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I love Lucca's. I have been dining here for years. I was left to select the restaurant as I live here. Everyone loved their dinner. I had Salmon tonight with beautiful fresh veggies and mashed potatoes. It was cooked perfectly. Our waitress was fast and fun and our dessert of Strawberry shortcake was the perfect ending to our business dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was good. Ordered pasta and prawns. Dish only had 3 prawns in the whole dish. Pricy dish work only three prawns. Steak was tasty. Scale of 1 to 10 for returning is a 5.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful and the food was simple amazing! We will be back again and again. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Food and service was very good. Friendly waitress and host staff. Will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I will return. Parking was an issue. Valet parking makes sense.
Steak on salad a little tough, but flavorful. Service was good; not overbearing.
Was able to conduct a successful business meeting.
Great ambiance; was my first time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Absolutely fabulous! I had the seasonal salad topped with pan seared salmon, and my hubby had a fabulous pasta dish. All fresh ingredients and perfectly prepared. Service was impeccable !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The ambiance of this downtown restaurant was lovely and the waitstaff was friendly and helpful. I noted she was especially kind to an elderly guest who dined alone. The food was good Italian Southern Italian offerings and the portions ample. Pasta was cooked properly but I thought the sauce was a bit overwhelming and could have used a lighter touch.

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Yum! Duck Confit dish reminiscent of cassoulet, roasted carrots, stuffed peppers, and chocolate torte = memorable anniversary dinner. Definitely on the "go again" list.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Romantic, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I took my 83 year old mom before we saw The Bodyguard' at the community center. It was my mom's first visit and it was very nice and the best choice for dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Cozy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We really enjoyed Lucca. The food was great. I have Celiac, and I had no problems with options to eat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Restaurant has nice ambiance with a lovely outdoor dining area. Food was prepared perfectly and waitress was outstanding, friendly, and accommodating. Service was quick without making you feel rushed, which was important since we had a play to attend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

My friend has the gnocchi and loved it. I ordered the filet mignon as recommended. Y the server and was disappointed. Not much flavor. This will not deter me from going again, but I learned it is not a steakhouse.
Server was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had a great dinner! Service was great! We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had excellent service. The pasta dishes were very good, and portions were just right. A big plus is valet parking. Overall, an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Sacto location, venue and food. Lots of wait staff, but maybe a little too energetic when our salads were delivered before we were half way thru our appetizers and my glass of beer disappeared before it was completely finished. Other than that I would totally recommend Lucca's.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great place for celebrating. The food is good and the service was fantastic. Ask for Sammy!

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Lucca NEVER fails me! Another wonderful meal, outstanding service from the hostess, bartender, busser and our waiter, Micah was so pleasant and didn't skip a beat -he made our dining experience even that much better.

This by far is my favorite locally owned Restaurant. Every time I go, I bring new guests and they always leave as fans of Lucca!

The food, cocktails and dessert were phenomenal!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Overall very nice inside. I'm not a huge fan of bistro seating and wanted something more romantic, yet overall experience was good.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food, service and ambiance was excellent. I ordered a "white' sangria that was supposed to have peach schnapps along with white wine. I could barely taste the wine and no schnapps.


We will return but I won't order anything from the bar.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This place is consistently good. It's my go-to-place before the theatre or a show.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Appetizers were wonderful. Entrees, not so much. Would recommend coming for a good martini and the halloumi plate. Pasta was mediocre

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our server Tracy was wonderful! And so was our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.