About Lucca Restaurant & Bar

Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.

1615 J St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
16th and J Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 669-5300

Website:
http://www.luccarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Ian Macbride

Private Party Facilities:
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Glenn Stewart: (916) 669-5300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucca Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Cozy (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Local Ingredients (26)
Casual (25)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Romantic (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Happy Hour (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Authentic (17)
Fireplace (16)
Seasonal (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fun (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Healthy (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
People Watching (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Family Style (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Historic (3)
Organic (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
797 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We dined in the outdoor enclosed seating ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

We dined in the outdoor enclosed seating area which was surprisingly warm on a cold night.. very comfortable. Waitress was very attentive and knowledgeable. Food was delicious! Must try the mussel appetizers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Maitre D' was welcoming and personable a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Maitre D' was welcoming and personable and escorted me to my table right away. Then enquired my guests' name and welcomed him immediately. The wait staff were attentive but reserved, so not to interrupt a business luncheon. The food was plentiful, fresh "farm to fork" and delicious. Always consistent and always a high standard!

Tags: Seasonal, , Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, People Watching, Fireplace, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed. I made a reservation ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was disappointed. I made a reservation and then got stuck in the overflow room. The from room was quieter and relaxing with lots of couples out for the night. My husband and I got stuck in the back with families and large groups talking loudly. Living and working in midtown I've gone there many times over the years. Unfortunately, it was a bad experience that will make me rethink going there for future special events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

We absolutely love this place, great foo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We absolutely love this place, great food! Beautiful restaurant with great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for Valentine's Day...special menu. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day...special menu...food excellent and loved the dessert. We're fans of the palace anyway.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

It was Valentines Day and the restaurant ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was Valentines Day and the restaurant was obviously very busy. The service and food were both satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very nice atmosphere. Produce and meats ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice atmosphere. Produce and meats are locally produced, part of the Farm-to-Fork. Although it was Valentine's Day, it was busy but not overly crowded. Waiter was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Superb service and exquisite entrees. I ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Superb service and exquisite entrees. It was very busy, but the service was prompt and never made us feel rushed. WeI will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, good value, c ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, great service, good value, clean, friendly staff.

Tags: People Watching, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and great food. I highly r ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service and great food. I highly recommend it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and initial service. No follo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and initial service. No follow-up once meal served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was delicious as usual! Salmon was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was delicious as usual! Salmon was seared to perfection! Love the ambiance on the patio - even though it was raining, the patio was lovely. They kept it warm & dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was very good with the exception of ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Food was very good with the exception of the zucchini chips which were disappointing, but would definitely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Another great meal at Lucca. Always a f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Another great meal at Lucca. Always a fun atmosphere, wonderful service and tasty food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time celebrating my birt ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Had a wonderful time celebrating my birthday here with a few friends!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When visiting Sac we try to eat dinner h ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

When visiting Sac we try to eat dinner here. Always dependable good food, nice selection, nice atmosphere, nice people, and always very good service.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great corner booth, quiet and c ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We had a great corner booth, quiet and comfortable. Our server, Elena, was fabulous. The food was outstanding and beautifully served. We had time, three and a half hours, and we were not rushed. The drinks were good and we can't wait to go back......this was a real treat to have such a lovely evening.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a family dinner for my sons 30th bir ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Had a family dinner for my sons 30th birthday, Lucia was his choice. Everyone loved their choices and the food was top notch. Stayed late but were never hurried. Staff was beyond excellent. Definite special event location

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been in Sacramento 31 years I've ne ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I've been in Sacramento 31 years I've never eaten at Lucca it was fabulous the food was really good and they were training a new waitress and she was amazing . Even though we sat on the patio with the heaters it was very nice but I look forward to sitting on the patio in the summertime with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere, and great ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, and great service. Really hd a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, plenty of parking for th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Excellent food, plenty of parking for the location.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal and service were excellent. Staff w ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Meal and service were excellent. Staff was extremely helpful.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, ALWAYS! Well managed rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great Service, ALWAYS! Well managed restaurant have always been accommodating for a party of 2 or 12! Great specials, locally grown produce and meats-the desserts are amazing! Always on the top of my list for places to eat or n Sacramento and feel confident recommending.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday! Lovely evening all around

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Birthday! Lovely evening all around

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No complaints except noise level & chair ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

No complaints except noise level & chairs are not that comfortable plus we were smashed in against the wall - our waiter was wonderful tho & food was good but a bit pricey for me.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The warmth of the team spirit by all the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The warmth of the team spirit by all the employees is one of the great aspects of this fine restaurant. Great mixed drinks, great entrees and fabulous desserts .

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the zucchini chips and my wif ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We enjoyed the zucchini chips and my wife's risotto was fantastic but my ribeye steak was less than desirable. It was a bit gritty for med rare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Lucca continues to impress. The menu is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Lucca continues to impress. The menu is creative and focused on farm-to-fork specialties that highlighted the chef's style and taste. It was even better than I recalled from many past visits. Wait staff was attentive and helpful with suggestions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lucca restaurant is a very good place to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Lucca restaurant is a very good place to go for large groups as well as intimate dining. The quality of the food is equal to the high level of service provided by the wait staff. I would dine here again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We are so happy to have chosen your rest ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We are so happy to have chosen your restaurant! A bit pricey but worth it all!!

Great staff and the outdoor ambience is fantastic!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this restaurant. Have never gotten ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Love this restaurant. Have never gotten a bad meal and the mussels are FANTASTIC!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lucca has a beautiful ambience indoors, ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Lucca has a beautiful ambience indoors, but I felt the outdoor patio area and the service were not on par with the price we paid for our meal. The servers were not attentive and needed to be reminded to refill our beverages multiple times. We were also seated in a corner of the outdoor seating that was almost crammed into the space - corner upfront. In the winter months, the outdoor patio is covered with a loose tent which allows some cold air in. It really would have been fine, as the cool air is balanced with the heating lamps, but our table was placed so closely to the other tables around us, we were not able to get in and out comfortably. Those in the tables around us also had some trouble getting in and out because of the way the tables were laid out. For the amount you are paying for the meal, seemingly little things like table layout make a world of difference. Customers should not have such trouble getting in and out of their seats. Losing one table would give the appropriate room for comfort. I understand the need to keep the restaurant filled, but really, a place as elegant as Lucca is seeming to be should be more concerned with aesthetic and comfort. The food was ok, though a bit salty. It was a disappointing experience as I'd heard such great things about Lucca. In my mind, this experience has left a soured impression of Lucca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

All of the food was delicious. I had the ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 6, 2017

All of the food was delicious. I had the arugula salad. So yummy. I don't serve arugula at home because my DH doesn't care for it. So I will eat it whenever possible when we dine out. Everything was very fresh. I had the crispy duck confit. A nice heat from the chorizo. Large portion of duck. The two others had the spaghetti and meatballs and the short ribs. All were very good. We shared the banana dessert which was different and delicious. We will return to Lucca hopefully very soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We love to eat at Lucca's anytime we are ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We love to eat at Lucca's anytime we are in the downtown area. The menu and friendly, conscientious staff makes it a wonderful place to eat. We prefer the quiet, cozy atmosphere over the other restaurants located in the same area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Engagement celebration

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Engagement celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We and our friends had a delicious meal ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We and our friends had a delicious meal and great service at this restaurant on New Year's Eve. We all loved it. :-)

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the seating to the service to the f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

From the seating to the service to the food, everything was perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and friendly service

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I was very impressed with this restauran ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I was very impressed with this restaurant. Our waiter was very patient and well-informed of the menu items and recommendations. The ambiance was very nice; elegant but not too posh. The bar is nicely set apart but also not too far. The food was delicious. We had 4 in our party with different dietary needs. I got to taste most of the food and it was all excellent. The only recommendation I would give to the restaurant is that the windows need to be cleaned. It looks like they haven't been cleaned for a long time. However, the ambiance and the food far outweigh this tiny pointer.

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food, service and ambience on ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful food, service and ambience on Christmas Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.