About Lucca Restaurant & Bar

1615 J St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
16th and J Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 669-5300

Website:
http://www.luccarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Ian Macbride

Private Party Facilities:
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Glenn Stewart: 9166695300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucca Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Outdoor Dining
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (67)
Special Occasion (58)
Fit for Foodies (52)
See All
Good for Groups (52)
Great for Lunch (45)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Romantic (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Hot Spot (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Casual (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Authentic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
673 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was amazing! Desserts were o ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was amazing! Desserts were on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were meeting my son's college roommat ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were meeting my son's college roommate and his family from out of state. We couldn't have asked for a better evening. We had a beautiful table outside, staff was attentive, but not too much so, & wine & food was terrific! Thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lucca is my go to restaurant in downtown ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Lucca is my go to restaurant in downtown Sacramento. The food is WONDERFUL, the staff very accommodating. It can be loud in the evenings, but when you sit outside or near the open wall of windows, it is a delight.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure what went wrong, but I won't be ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Not sure what went wrong, but I won't be frequenting Luca again as I prefer my meals to not have hair in them. Poor accommodation from service staff. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A very good local place to eat, as simpl ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

A very good local place to eat, as simple as that. I'm not going to drive two hours to eat here but if you're in town having lunch or dinner with friends, this place is great. The food is very good, daily specials and the service is excellent.

If you have not tried Lucca's, you need to make the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

In Sacramento for business one night. I ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

In Sacramento for business one night. I was looking for something simple, not expensive yet good quality. Lucca did not disappoint. Great menu with ample choices. The quality of the ingredients was clearly fresh. Good overall service with knowledgeable staff. I'll definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent service, ambiance, patio and f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent service, ambiance, patio and food. The sea bass was outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the flat bread appetizer and the sa ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love the flat bread appetizer and the sausage pappardelle is my favorite pasta dish. Just wish it wasn't quite so noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We had not been to Lucca's in quite a lo ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had not been to Lucca's in quite a long time. Don't know why, just hadn't. However, our return was well worth it. The noise level was such, that conversation was easy. The food was very good. All plates, small through entrée, were well prepared and well presented. Fortunately, the waiter suggested splitting the faro and plum salad, otherwise it would have been too much food for one person. Nonetheless, it was delicious. All in all, it was a great dinner after a pleasant evening at the theatre.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was good!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have to be quite honest, the food didn ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I have to be quite honest, the food didn't meet expectations. We found the steak mediocre, and the fish overly garnished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Love the atmosphere, but waiter seemed t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Love the atmosphere, but waiter seemed to want to be someplace else. Food was just ok. Ordered a cocktail when we ordered dinner, but still hadn't received it after dishes were brought out. And even then, had to remind him.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

service was a little off on this visit. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

service was a little off on this visit. Slow with beverages.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a an excellent time at Lucca's. T ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had a an excellent time at Lucca's. This was our first time at the restaurant. The food was delicious and the service was spot on. This is an excellent restaurant to go to before a play or just on a night out on the town. We will be back

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice early dinner on way to theater. Var ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Nice early dinner on way to theater. Varied menu with good sea food choices. Ok wine list. A bit noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was very busy the evening we came. To ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

It was very busy the evening we came. Took over 20 minutes to get our 1st glass of wine. After that service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Friendly and efficient staff makes the p ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Friendly and efficient staff makes the pre/post theater dining experience a joy. They provide reasonable valet parking and even a discount when showing your theater tickets. Besides that, the food is top notch, using farm fresh ingredients and an imaginative menu. Dining a Lucca's is a win-win experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My friend and I went to Lucca before Mus ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My friend and I went to Lucca before Music Circus and it was perfect. Our attentive waiter somehow knew and came to our table immediately for any questions and placed our order in right away so we could have more time to enjoy our meal. Great service, convenient location for pre-post theater dining - and the food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Always the best experience and the best ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Always the best experience and the best quality food. The chocolate Carmel tart is the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for a pre-show dinner, was seated q ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Went for a pre-show dinner, was seated quickly. Service on this occasion was rather poor, maybe I was ignored because I was by myself. The braised short ribs were great,but the mashed potatoes were tasteless and watery.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Unfortunately it appeared that the night ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Unfortunately it appeared that the night we went to eat they were setting tables up for a large reserved party. It took a long time for us to receive two out of four of our orders and then five minutes later the other two came out ...the waitress seemed to be busy in the back chatting with other employees instead of bringing out the food. Also my salmon was overcooked and very dry. We have eaten there before and it was much better service wise and food wise so I'm not sure if the large party had them thrown off or we just didn't get the service we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The pork chop, risotto, and salmon were ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The pork chop, risotto, and salmon were all excellent and flavorful. I also enjoyed the sangria.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Terrific night on the patio with good fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Terrific night on the patio with good food, service, and friends! We had a wide variety of menu items from the Burger to the nightly special of Halibut with pear chutney, they were all very good. The staff were very friendly too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful dinner. The food was excellen ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Delightful dinner. The food was excellent and the service, Lilly was exceptional. Lucca is one of the best restaurants in Sacramento and very good value menu pricing.

We'll be back soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience and food i ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always a wonderful experience and food is excellent. Loved my swordfish and ciopino was excellent also.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I always enjoy coming to this restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I always enjoy coming to this restaurant. I will continue to come with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lucca's always provides a consistently d ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lucca's always provides a consistently decent dining experience, with good service and a nice outdoor patio (assuming it isn't too hot).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have dined at Lucca prior to Music Ci ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have dined at Lucca prior to Music Circus many times over the years. The servers are always aware that we need to be out by a particular time and make sure that happens although without fuss or hurrying us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love the waitress, excellent service. go ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

love the waitress, excellent service. good wine, good food. friendly staff

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

On line menu does not match actual menu ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

On line menu does not match actual menu on some items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food! We each ordered differen ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent food! We each ordered different entrees and they were all delicious . Pork chop and Spatzle - Filet Mignon - and Sea Bass. Each were served in an elegant presentation and so tasty and fresh!! The waiter was very attentive and helpful, but did not hover. Coming back for sure!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

jillian was a wonderful server! We enjo ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

jillian was a wonderful server! We enjoyed her friendliness and suggestions on the meal. Thank you for the discount for the meal because we were attending the Woodland Opera House performance of "Footloose." great musical show.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a pre-show dinner, lots of comp ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Went for a pre-show dinner, lots of company there for the same reason. Waiter did his best to make sure we weren't late for he sow despite the crowd. Good wine selection (not huge but decent), best fried calamari appetizer I've ever had (frito misto), excellent salmon and sea bass dinners, scrumptious apricot bread pudding desert.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I've always liked Lucca's, food great. B ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I've always liked Lucca's, food great. But this visit was a downer. The Choppino was not hot, and I asked for no mussels, so got 3 clams & less seafood.

The waitress did gladly remove & tried to fix, taking my silverware. I now had a side of broccoli with no fork. I took from next table after waiting a while....

Then the choppino came back hotter & little more clams, but bits of seafood AND now no spoon.

As I travel on business & eat out all the time, I felt this was a total waste of time, dinner & cost.

Probably will not return.

Waitress disappeared as I waited & waited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

My wife commented that 'the Salmon was t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My wife commented that 'the Salmon was the best she ever had.' We look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a wonderful family dinner! We l ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was a wonderful family dinner! We love Lucca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I Love Lucca's the people there are so n ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I Love Lucca's the people there are so nice. I love the food and the atmosphere. Glenn is one of the best Managers at Lucca.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Sunday, and the theater show ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We went on Sunday, and the theater show

down street also just getting out, so to be fair, that probably impacted our experience. With that being said, we were disappointed. We must have been sat in the over flow patio section, that did not have a server assigned to the area, as 4 different wait staff were trying take care of us. The server didn't know their well brand of alcohol, but tried up sell us on the cocktail. He didn't share specials, or offer any suggestions or information. Bottom line, they were too busy for us, although we had reservations. We've been there before, but probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent customer service! Beautiful am ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent customer service! Beautiful ambiance and great menu!!! Managed beautifully. I would recommend to anyone who loves great food and outstanding service. My personal favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was great! Food came quick and i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Waiter was great! Food came quick and it seems everything has picked up a notch since last summer..... Glad we came back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.