Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Lucca Restaurant & Bar

Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.

1615 J St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
16th and J Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 669-5300

Website:
http://www.luccarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Ian Macbride

Private Party Facilities:
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Glenn Stewart: (916) 669-5300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucca Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
See All
Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Good for Groups (34)
Casual (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Great for Lunch (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Romantic (24)
Authentic (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Business Meals (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fun (20)
Happy Hour (18)
Cozy (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Seasonal (13)
Organic (11)
People Watching (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Vegan (6)
Scenic View (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fireplace (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Historic (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
950 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and fast service! The menu has a lot of good choices and a good variety. The presentation is great too! The servers were really freindly and always checked up on us. Definitely would recommend for a special night out with your SO, dinner with buisiness partners, or any other occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Lunch with family was excellent: cocktails for the younger ones, good food for the elderly. Our server was fantastic.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved the pork chop! And arugula salad! Alexis was welcoming, cheerful, knowledgeable and courteous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We made reservations the day of the play, and we were accommodated. We had great seats in the garden, and our server made some great recommendations. Great downtown spot and lots of parking.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I've eaten at Lucca's most nights before Music Circus. The food is always good and the parking arrangements for MC is great. However, on this occasion we were seated on the patio even though I had requested inside. The service was terrible. Took almost 20 minutes to get a glass of wine. I've recommended Lucca's to many people. I'll give it one more shot. Perhaps they were having staffing problems but the were not apologetic for poor service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Went for pre-show, wine, food and service were both excellent, reasonably priced for the location.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Good food. Friendly service. Would recommend for a fun evening dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 11, 2017

7 people after Damn Yankees. Separate checks women. Waitress great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Calamari was sub par. Told it was breaded turned out to be rings, over cooked
Other entries were fine

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Have been there quite a few times and never had a bad experience. It is convenient to the Music and the Conventiom center. The food is usually good and the service has always been great. Nice patio and valet parking available.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great place before the Wells Fargo Theatre. Great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We have not been to Lucca for dinner for over 10 years. It is great to see that Lucca has survived all the mid-town competition. The food was good, and the service was great. Glad we selected Lucca for our Sunday dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Very disappointing compared to previous visits. Cold food, specials really not good. Disappointing.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

The service was excellent! The food was great! Had the Chicken Risotto which had a rainbow of fresh cherry tomatoes and was extremely flavorful.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Always enjoy dining at Lucca's. Great personal service, great food especially the chef specials.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Authentic, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We were seated outdoors in 100 degree heat with an 87 yr old and an 8 months pregnant member for our mothers 65th birthday dinner. Two of our four chairs were broken so you could not put pressure on the seatback. I took photos. There was no option given during reservation for indoors and no accomodation by Lucca even with vacant tables indoors as we walked through. The drip system "was not working" so drips of water fell from it onto my pants and arm and in a specific location on the table the entire 2 hrs we were there. There was only 1 other occupied table in our outdoor section when we arrived, but it took 55 minutes from order to receipt of food and twice they attempted to give someone else's order to our table. Then they tried to give our food to a different table when it finally arrived. The delay in the food was supposedly due to a routinely scheduled broadway that they apparently failed to staff correctly for when we asked why things were so delayed. Dinner, without tip, was $120 for 4 to sit in the heat waiting on food for 55 minutes, in broken chairs under a faulty drip system with no valid excuse or compensation for the inadequate experience. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We were a group of six with reservations being two weeks before the dinner. We were ushered outside in 102 degree heat and when I said that we had a reservation, the "manager" advised that we had not specifically requested an indoor table so had to sit outside. It was either that or goodbye. Knowing that we couldn't find another place to eat in midtown before a play, and being six people, we had no choice. I advised the manager that most of us were over 70 and did have medical conditions. He did not care and was extremely rude. The food was just okay, and the treatment was awful. I not only would most definitely not recommend Lucca. One of our group got a nosebleed and one almost fainted from the heat. We asked for a fan and did get one, but then someone came and tried to take it saying that they wanted to give it to someone else. I've been to hundreds or restaurant in my lifetime and never have I had to request an "inside" table. This is so bogus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We couldn't ask for a better dining experience. The food was yummy, the restaurant is lovely and the service was the best. Our server, Shauna, was charming, very attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Great for dates, anniversary, friends getting together. Food is excellent and very friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food, decent ambiance but really slow service. We walked in with 90 minutes to get to our show and they took too long to deliver our food (pasta). Had to eat in a rush. Ruined the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The salad special and also the halibut special were both terrific. And Blare(sp) our waitress was friendly and helpful. Also the lady and gentleman were ever vigilant pouring the water, and bringing extra butter for the always yummy french bread. And we love the chocolate gelato for dessert.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Delicious and unforgettable! Can't wait for the meatball and polenta again!

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Accomplished friendly service. Lovely atmosphere. Close to theatre. Creative entrees and a good wine list.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Good restaurant. Nice outdoor ambience and friendly staff. The restaurant was extremely busy on the afternoon before a Music Concert play. Several large groups were being served so the service was a little slow but the food is excellent. I would definitely recommend for lunch or dinner before or after a concert. Fun atmosphere but the noise level was a bit high outside and inside the restaurant. I will return.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wait staff very knowledgeable about ingredients in dishes, kitchen about to accommodate special dietary restrictions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I've been coming to Lucca for years - and with good reason. The vibe, food, and service are always exceptional. As Music Circus subscribers, we've made Lucca our restaurant of choice. Our server, Alexis takes incredible care of us, makes sure we get the bill on time, and ensures we have the best experience.

Kudos to the entire team for always making us feel welcome. Great drinks, wonderful menu, and the ambiance and energy are second to none in the downtown/midtown area.

I will always be a fan of Lucca!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, People Watching, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

I came with a friend before the theatre. Service was great. Our waitress watched the clock and got us out on time. Food was very good and it was quiet enough to have conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Good food, great service. Had the pappardelle pasta which was so good I will certainly have it again when I return

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

We both got the sea bass special, which they said would be cooked medium. The sea bass was burnt to a crisp but the cous cous and veggies were good. Also had cheesecake for dessert which was very good. For a meal over $100.00 for two, I would have liked to have the sea bass cooked better. It was mostly unrecognizable crispy brown flakes. The restaurant was nice but we received an extremely small table only inches from a very loud group of four. The other half of the restaurant was empty so I wish we could have been further away from other people loudly giving their political views and us being unable to even back our chairs up an inch for space. The service was very good (except for seating us poorly) and they were gracious about replacing a dirty water glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was ok. Service was unfriendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Excellent service and yummy dinner. We'll be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had to ask for our drinks because they were taking too long, but once service finally got started, we really enjoyed the meal and the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great restaurant prior to going to a concert at Golden 1... good food at a reasonably price....

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Me and my husband ordered two pasta dishes, and honestly thought we would have had something better if we just made a microwaveable meal.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

we were at a conference and this location was walking distance of our hotel/convention center. Friendly and helpful staff and food good too!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Ate hear before Bruno Mars concert, loved the zucchini chips, My husband got the Pork chop, amazing & I don't like pork chops, I go the special, pan seared halibut excellent! Look forward to coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Lucca's is one of my favorite places to eat as it is typically quieter than the restaurant and has a nice atmosphere. They seated the 3 of us on the patio which is my favorite place to sit. Yesterday, while the server was very nice; the service was unusually slow. We were having a longer lunch than most, but even given that, we thought service could have been better. It appeared to be more of a staffing situation (too many tables) than the actual server's capabilities. We had Cioppino, raviolis, and the stuffed peppers as entrees. The Cioppino and ravioli was great; the stuffing in the peppers had very little flavor and we couldn't figure out why they piled arrugala on the top of them. We had seasonal peppers for an appetizer and they were great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

What a wonderful find. Went to Music Circus and it was nice to just walk to dinner, and they give a 10% discount with your day of theater ticket. Too hot to sit outside but the inside was wonderful. Food was fantastic and service was very good! Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The server recommended the special of the evening, & it was spectacular!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is the perfect place to go for lunch or dinner before attending the Music Circus!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.