Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 24 times today

Lucca Restaurant & Bar

4.5
1181 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Pre/post Theatre
Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(916) 669-5300
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ian Macbride
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Glenn Stewart: (916) 669-5300
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
16th and J Street
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1181 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Reuniting with my niece and her family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

My dish was bland (chicken with Marsala gravy that didn't taste like Marala at all) but everyone else in our party had tasty dishes. Dessert was fabulous! We ordered the banana dish, chocolate brownie, lemon with olive oil, cheesecake - all great! Very attentive service, nice table on the patio.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Always an enjoyable experience! Love Lucca! Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Our group enjoyed our visit to Lucca. We made sure to schedule our reservation with enough time to leisurely enjoy our evening before attending a local play. Our server (Micah) was excellent and never made us feel rushed and was quick to attend to any need we had. Every dish ordered at our table was excellent (gnocchi, risotto, and short ribs). I definitely recommend the zucchini chips as an appetizer. A must try is the Pear Flower cocktail and the Jalapeño Martini. Both were fantastic. We definitely plan to return the next time we are in the area for a show/special occasion. The only thing we would do differently is make a later reservation so we had time to go into the bar for happy hour first. :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Came to celebrate our engagement with friends

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

I’ve been to Lucca for numerous occasions and have never had a bad experience or anything but an outstanding meal. Our last server made us feel welcome and cared for. What a great experience. We will be back again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Food and Service were excellent! Enjoyed outdoor seating. Unfortunately, Lucca’s can not control fire trucks and ambulances’ sirens!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

I frequent Lucca for business lunches and occasional group meals in their back room or in their patio area. Food is very good, service is reliably professional. Happy hour is pretty good too, though often crowded.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Wonderful place and dinner. We will certainly be back during our next visit to Sacramento. We highly recommend. The Ricotta pasta was a wonderful dish, as were the Brussel sprouts.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food and service. Tables inside are very close together and gets noisy, but it's to be expected on a weekend evening. I prefer the covered patio seating. More intimate setting for date night and conversation. I loved using Open table app to make my reservation. Wonderful place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Lucca is always good, staff is always fabulous. Banana desert was to die.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

food was pretty good. Portions were adequate. We had an off the menu special sea bass. It was prepared perfectly and tasty. Their wine list was very pour so I had a martini instead. We also had a cioppino which was very good too. Although their menu was small, the items were good.
A bit noisy too, but overall a great find in Mid-town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Food an service was good. Food here is always excellent, although today I did not care for my salad which was a seasonal special an included raw peas an asparagus. Glad I asked for the dressing on the side because I really didn’t like the green dressing.
Service was excellent as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

I love the patio, no matter the season. They have heaters and a fireplace for cooler evenings. The spicy penne pasta is a favorite I've ordered more times than I can remember. It is always delicious. On our most recent visit my husband had the ribeye special and the texture of the steak had a boiled rather than grilled feel. We ordered the brussel sprouts appetizer. The dipping sauce was excellent (had a nice spicy kick to it), but the sprouts were a bit too firm/raw for our preference. The caramelized banana dessert is our "go to", we absolutely love it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

The staff was very friendly, attentive and accommodating. Food was delicious - we especially enjoyed the zucchini chips appetizers. Ice cold Peach tea was a perfect drink for the warm weather. Thank you, we had a wonderful business lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Birthday! They brought a delicious ice cream sundae with a lit candle. They accommodated a five year old and an eight month old with blinking. Food was delicious. Service was great!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Asked for a private booth and got sat with a family of 4 and a table of 2. my fiancée got recommendations from the server for the chicken wrapped in pancetta . probably the most bland food and sauce i’ve tasted. it wasn’t a normal sized chicken breast so that was disappointing , i ordered the steak of the day which was a 10 oz ribeye cooked MR . it came with collard greens and a snow pea and brussels sprout mix ???? confused.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We were at Lucca a few weeks ago and had a fabulous dinner. I didn’t think it could happen again so soon! Our server was wonderful, charming and friendly. We ordered our drinks, which came quickly. Then we ordered dinner. We ordered the special fish, swordfish, which is not my favorite; but our server suggested it as saying it was fabulous! So, we ordered the swordfish! It was fabulous. Everything on the plate was appealing, delicious and delicious!
Can’t wait to go back......soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The restaurant and food was fine. It was a cold and windy day. We had outside seating so the covers they had to protect from the wind were not entirely adequate. Once the wind died down it was fine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Our evening birthday dinner for two friends was outstanding. Our server went above and beyond to provide an excellent experience for five of us. The food was really delicious, from vegan to paleo to just every day home cooking. I highly recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 22, 2018

I had hear of Luccas for years, and when I heard my sister wanted to go there for her birthday lunch I was excited and looking forward to it. I made online reservations and put in that it was a birthday celebration. Not one word or wish was expressed. Also, I ordered very specifically what I needed and my order was completely wrong and the salad was loaded with dressing. When I asked the waitress if there was dressing on the salad she said yes and didn’t remember my special order at all, or attempt to replace it until I told her I couldn’t eat it. We were at the smallest table for four ladies with purses and present and squeezed between other tables and yet a whole other side of the restaurant was less crowded. I was, to say the least very disappointed.
And finally as we are leaving, my sister loaded down with gifts, the hostess says a quick flip happy birthday. Well a little to late for me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Excellent sea bass special. Mussels are GREAT. Service top notch. Couldn’t have been more pleased

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Had a wonderful evening and service was amazing and the food was outstanding

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

My boyfriend and I went here for a date. We were seated at a very small table squeezed next to a wall and 2 parties. The wall had windows facing the seating outside which was crowded too. We could bailey fit everything on our small table. It was quite noisy with it being so crowded and packed so tightly together. Other than that our waitress was very nice, understanding, and attentive. There was a miscommunication with my order (my fault) so the waitress gave us a free dessert which was really good(blueberry cheesecake). Since we checked in online we also got a free appetizer which was quite tasty( zucchini chips). Besides the noise and the tight space I do recommend going. Maybe for a party or celebration instead of a date. The food is great and presented well and the service is amazing. I will be coming here again!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great spot for a bite before a show. Unfortunately my first filet was over cooked. I sent back and got a tough piece of correctly cooked filet, bummer as I was really looking forward to a nice steak. Don’t think I’d rush back anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner at Lucca Saturday night..... we had eaten there a couple of times previously, but it had been several years since our last visit. The food was terrific - particularly notable were the pork chops, which were beyond delicious, possibly the best chops I've ever had. Service was good - aside from a slightly longer-than-anticipated gap between the starter and main courses, everything was as we'd expect. We sat outside on a night that was probably about 60 degrees, but with the heaters and a nearby fireplace, the temperature was very comfortable. We will definitely be back, much sooner than several years from now!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The food was delicious and the menu has variety. Server was knowledgable about the menu and the wines. first time there and we were impressed. have been telling our friends about it. It's really convenient if you're going to a show at the theater at the convention center.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Meal was fine and cooked / prepared well.. Service was good, they seated us quickly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

We had the pork chop and the duck confit. The pork chop was ordered medium but came more well-done. We had dined here before a show so that was something we could overlook. The pork chop was done really well and was very flavorful. I was really disappointed with the duck confit. The duck itself was succulent and moist and was done perfectly. It came with lentils and boiled cabbage and carrots. It didn't go well together at all. It had a lot of potential but didn't meet expectations. I would not order it again. Knowing there was a show, the staff handled everything really well. They were quick to take our order, warn us about the potential wait, and gave us our check right away.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

We had a pleasant business lunch and were seated at a booth where we could converse without raising our voices. The entrees here are delicious and crafted from fresh, local, high-quality ingredients.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Noise level is usually super noisy. However, if you sit on the patio, as we did, it is quite reasonable. Glass doors between the restaurant bar and front portion separate it from the patio. On a rainy chilly night the patio fireplace is a nice edition. Food here is always really good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

I found Luccas very enjoyable. Our appetizers of zucchini chips and blistered snap peas started off our dinner, both were amazing and would go back just for a good wine and these appetizers. It was hard to make a dinner selection as we all wanted to try everything. What we did select was prepared perfectly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Really enjoyed the dinner and wine here before heading to Book of Mormon. Fairly crowded, but our server handled everything flawlessly. Entrees were very tasty, wine was very nice, and we got just the right amount of attention. I had the Sea Bass special, probably the best I've had this year, wife had and enjoyed her Cioppino tremendously. Definitely will return and enjoy Lucca again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

We went to Lucca's prior to going to the theatre. As always we had a wonderful meal!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Service was horrid. Waited 20 minutes for our drinks which was delivered by the hostess. Server didn’t come back to take out food order for another 15 minutes. Brought out the wrong appetizer after 20 more minutes and had to wait 15 minutes for the correct appetizer. Then the waiting game for our actual dinner occurred. Very disappointed in the service. Felt like we were left in the corner and forgotten about.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Went here for our anniversary dinner and it was fabulous! The pork chop was juicy and had a wonderful flavor the prawns and linguine were equally as good! We also had dessert the lemon olive oil cake was moist with a lemon sauce and strawberries. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Nice and comfortable. Friendly waiters. Food very good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Very loud inside and wicker chairs total take away from the feel inside the restaurant. Wobbly table and poor lighting options don’t help either. Appetizers were ok, but my $34 new york steak was like chewing on a piece of tire, way over cooked. Wife also was very dissatisfied with her salmon. paid $150 for a meal that was worth about $80, never going back. Also a very weak beerand wine menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

The food and service was very good. Everyone enjoyed their meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Shared the skillet mussels, snap peas and calamari for appetizers, had swordfish (daily special), filet (daily meat), spaghetti and meatballs: all wonderful. Finished with 3 desserts (bananas with crisp phyllo was amazing). Began with cocktails, paired dinner with wine and ended with Sambuca. Service was friendly and attentive. One of my guests kept asking her for suggestions and I felt like she was being very careful not to offend and sounded disingenuous about her feedback. Otherwise she was awesome. Nice atmosphere...a little bright for such a nice dinner.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
30