Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Lucca Restaurant & Bar

Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.

1615 J St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
16th and J Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 669-5300

Website:
http://www.luccarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Ian Macbride

Private Party Facilities:
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Glenn Stewart: (916) 669-5300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucca Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
See All
Fit for Foodies (31)
Casual (29)
Cozy (29)
Business Meals (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Comfort Food (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Romantic (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Seasonal (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Authentic (13)
Fireplace (12)
Healthy (12)
Fun (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
People Watching (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Family Style (5)
Vegan (4)
Private Room (4)
Organic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
818 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our server was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great service and really good food! The atmosphere had a great vibe. The restaurant staff was very polite and attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Pretty disappointed... the last time we were there I ordered the sea bass and it was overcooked and subsequently dry so this time when I ordered the swordfish, I asked our server what to do to ensure it wasn't overcooked (making no reference to my former experience) so she suggested I order it medium rare. When my meal came it was beautifully presented and I couldn't wait to dig in. I tried to flake off a bite and it wouldn't budge, so I got my knife and it wouldn't cut. Then I flipped it over and the other side was completely RAW. It appeared the Chef seared one side and then either forgot to turn the fish over or was irritated at how I ordered the fish and deliberately served it that way but because of the attitude of both the manager and the server, I suspect it was the latter of the two. When I brought it to the attention of the gentleman filling our waters he said, "OMG, I'll let your server know" and he whisked it away. The manager then came to the table and said "I'm sorry you were unhappy with your meal" and the server said, "sorry about the fish but you ordered it medium rare." And because I didn't want to ruin the birthday celebration, I kept my thoughts to myself which were... "yes, you're right I did order it medium rare but not RAW". So, I asked them both if they had seen the fish and both responded "no." They removed the meal from the $300 bill and offered to bring me another dish but by then everyone was close to being done with their meals and I was a little turned off quite honestly. I was incredibly disappointed and probably will not go back even though I love the atmosphere and the short ribs are always delish.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service and food were overall lacking. We enjoyed the dessert (caramelized bananas) but thought the cioppino was way under seasoned and had no flavor. We also ordered the duck confit which was tender but not special overall. Waitress was nice but only came to our table around half a dozen times throughout the dinner service. Waitress served our appetizers before taking our entree order so we ate our appetizers with our menus still in our hands. Probably won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall, a very nice experience and atmosphere, but the wait staff was overwhelmed and service was slow. It's nice that my water kept getting refilled by the water server, but there was no personal attention and it took 30 minutes after being seated to get my first drink. I guess that bottom line is this, if you are dining and the restaurant is filled, be prepared not to have personal attention, have the opportunity to ask questions or put in requests except during the "allocated" time allowed with your wait staff. And then, sit back and enjoy. Again, overall, a very nice experience and atmosphere, but hope that the service can be improved a bit during busy periods.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I love the patio at Lucca. Great food, good drink recommendations, and perfect ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Lucca's is our go to restaurant prior to Sac. Community Theater. Love the food, especially the zucchini chips, the bar cocktails and the friendly service. The valet parking is always efficient and courteous. Always a great dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Made an early dinner reservation, 5 pm, and was seated immediately, on outdoor patio enclosure. Our waiter was cordial and had a big smile, also very attentive in spite of the fact he had a party of 12 and other tables to service. We ordered the salmon and chicken saltimbocca, both were excellent. My friend practically licked her plate clean. The only negative was the selection of appetizers. We had the zucchini fries that were tiny and delicate but very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service and dinner was outstanding. One of my favorite places for dinner! Worth the drive downtown on a Friday night. Made a reservation and was seated immediately

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Never disappoints. Always fresh and tasty. And good service.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I ordered the stuffed bell peppers, and they kept the top stem on the peppers, which is not edible. I didn't notice the stems at all because I could not see them amidst the toppings. So this meant I kept biting into inedible stems, which I had to keep spitting out. At that moment I still didn't know what I was biting into. When I told the restaurant manager, he said they would make me a new dish. Instead he took my plate to the chef, and brought it back to explain that they kept the stems on, knowing these were not edible. I finished eating the dish with the stems still on and was not given any discount and the dish was not remade. Although the peppers tasted good, this pretty much ruined my experience with the food. I rarely ever complain at restaurants, but ironically the one time I did, they pretty much did nothing. Drinks were good, I only wish the happy hour specials were not limited to the over-crowded bar area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Got dinner before a concert at Golden 1. Service from our waiter Angelo was wonderful. Food was great!
I had the Chicken Saltinbocca dish. We shared a salad. Both were delicious!

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 28, 2017

It was a very busy night for a Monday, and it appeared the restaurant was short staffed when first arrived. I think there were several events all happening in midtown at the same time (kings Game, Speakers Series, Ect). Once the crowd cleared out service improved dramatically. The food was good, but not what I would expect for the price point. The "crispy duck confit" for example was decidedly not crispy. The short ribs were good, but not spectacular. I've been to Lucca many times, and Monday was not their best showing. Even great places have off nights, but even with an off night it was very good.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I have eaten here numerous times over the last several years. It has never disappointed! I would recommend this for any occasion if you want a wholesome meal, with excellent flavor and great value. Everything from the marinated olives appetizer to your main course is exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

missing some of my companion's favorite choices--caprice salad more variety of pasta and fish dishes
great table 10 again
great server

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

What a gem of a restaurant! We were celebrating a birthday. One of my guests is gluten intolerant. Lucca accommodates such diets with a separate gluten free menu. Wow! We were impressed and I was thrilled that all of us could enjoy our meal. The food and wine was superb. The service was exemplary. Special acknowledgement to the hostesses for their patience by holding our table well past the reservation time so that my late guest and the rest of us could enjoy drinks at the bar. Love the Happy Hour as well. While there are many dining options I will plan to return here often. Thank you to everyone for making us feel special.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food good, ability to hear conversation NOT good
Would eat there again, by myself

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 24, 2017

As always, the dinners were wonderful and the casual atmosphere so relaxing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Super, 3rd time, still enjoy it! Will return anytime while in Sacramento area.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Experience overall was good. The Chicken Picatta was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Our server, Alexis, was incredible. Knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. Duck confit was perfect and extremely satisfying. We will definitely come back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We dined in the outdoor enclosed seating area which was surprisingly warm on a cold night.. very comfortable. Waitress was very attentive and knowledgeable. Food was delicious! Must try the mussel appetizers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Maitre D' was welcoming and personable and escorted me to my table right away. Then enquired my guests' name and welcomed him immediately. The wait staff were attentive but reserved, so not to interrupt a business luncheon. The food was plentiful, fresh "farm to fork" and delicious. Always consistent and always a high standard!

Tags: Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, People Watching, Fireplace, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was disappointed. I made a reservation and then got stuck in the overflow room. The from room was quieter and relaxing with lots of couples out for the night. My husband and I got stuck in the back with families and large groups talking loudly. Living and working in midtown I've gone there many times over the years. Unfortunately, it was a bad experience that will make me rethink going there for future special events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We absolutely love this place, great food! Beautiful restaurant with great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day...special menu...food excellent and loved the dessert. We're fans of the palace anyway.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was Valentines Day and the restaurant was obviously very busy. The service and food were both satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice atmosphere. Produce and meats are locally produced, part of the Farm-to-Fork. Although it was Valentine's Day, it was busy but not overly crowded. Waiter was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Superb service and exquisite entrees. It was very busy, but the service was prompt and never made us feel rushed. WeI will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, great service, good value, clean, friendly staff.

Tags: People Watching, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service and great food. I highly recommend it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and initial service. No follow-up once meal served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was delicious as usual! Salmon was seared to perfection! Love the ambiance on the patio - even though it was raining, the patio was lovely. They kept it warm & dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Food was very good with the exception of the zucchini chips which were disappointing, but would definitely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Another great meal at Lucca. Always a fun atmosphere, wonderful service and tasty food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Had a wonderful time celebrating my birthday here with a few friends!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

When visiting Sac we try to eat dinner here. Always dependable good food, nice selection, nice atmosphere, nice people, and always very good service.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We had a great corner booth, quiet and comfortable. Our server, Elena, was fabulous. The food was outstanding and beautifully served. We had time, three and a half hours, and we were not rushed. The drinks were good and we can't wait to go back......this was a real treat to have such a lovely evening.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Had a family dinner for my sons 30th birthday, Lucia was his choice. Everyone loved their choices and the food was top notch. Stayed late but were never hurried. Staff was beyond excellent. Definite special event location

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I've been in Sacramento 31 years I've never eaten at Lucca it was fabulous the food was really good and they were training a new waitress and she was amazing . Even though we sat on the patio with the heaters it was very nice but I look forward to sitting on the patio in the summertime with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.