Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Lucca Restaurant & Bar

Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.

1615 J St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
16th and J Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 669-5300

Website:
http://www.luccarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Ian Macbride

Private Party Facilities:
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Glenn Stewart: (916) 669-5300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucca Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Good for a Date (41)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Casual (34)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Authentic (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Business Meals (21)
Cozy (21)
Romantic (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Fun (16)
Seasonal (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Healthy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Fireplace (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Organic (8)
Scenic View (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Vegan (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (4)
Family Style (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was great. Numerous wait people stopping by, helping provide anything requested. The strawberry gazpacho soup was perfect on this hot day. We were not in a rush for dinner, but since so many diners WERE in a rush (due to a play at Music Circus with curtain time impending) the meal was served very quickly. The place looks small at first, however there is a large back room, and lots of outside seating. It was over 100 degrees when we were there, and we chose to eat inside with the air conditioning.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

The NICEST server! The banana dessert with salted. Aramark was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

We really enjoyed our dinner. The foods are fantastic and the gelato so yummy. I just hope and wish that you will add paella on your menu list. Thanks.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I had just picked up my husband from the airport and we headed directly to Lucca's. Sammy was our waiter and he couldn't have taken better care of us. Everything we had was delicious! We've now put it on our list of favorites and will be dining there more often.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food and wonderful service. Will be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 14, 2017

solid favorite...great food, service and atmosphere

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Post theater evening. Quiet on a Tuesday evening. Great food and great s
New York steak special. Too full fir desert!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Went for delicious lunch previously and thought Lucca's was Italian. However, dinner menu was far more extensive than simply Italian. Our party of 4 had duck, pasta dish, risotta, and stuffed (vegetarian) peppers. All excellent. Service was perfect, and loved the delicate fried zucchini for appetizer.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Perfect patio dining before a show at the Sac Community Center Theater. Very accommodating, wonderful food, fresh ingredients, good drinks, and dessert was perfect too. Service was very helpful and knowledgeable about menu, preparation and ingredients.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent food and we love the back room for groups, so our group of 5 felt comfortable and not crowded. Short ribs were perfect, falling apart and delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This restaurant is always amazing! Our server was Angelo, he was very kind, friendly and so attentive to our needs. We sat outside next to the water feature. Appetizers are delicious, food never disappoints, desserts are so awesome. I had the Sea Bass special, polenta appetizer & I got the white chocolate strawberry bread pudding. I didn't go to this restaurant for some time because sometimes it can go either way with Mediterranean food but a friend recommended it last year. This has amazing food for everyone!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Had never been here before but after our first visit, will definitely be going back. Staff were very inviting and food was amazing. I got the steak of the day (10oz New York strip) and my wife got the special of Sol. Looking forward to our next date night here!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Wonderful evening with family get together - great dinners and accommodating on gluten free needs. Enjoyed the patio!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Requested patio seating on upon reservation and was placed inside instead when there clearly were available patio tables. Noted that the occasion was to celebrate a birthday and there was nothing done to make the experience special. Food was OK but disappointing compared to my last time at Lucca in which I left very impressed. I may give Lucca another shot but it feels like a wasted birthday dinner, especially when there are so many other options on/around the grid.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Good was great and the service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Love date night with boyfriend. He enjoyed the special steak and potatoe wedges, green beans,and I enjoyed the couscous salmon. So good and great customer services.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Organic, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The food and staff were excellent. We were very pleased with the service and your staff were outstanding. We will be coming back

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The food was so amazing and our server was delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This place was very disappointing. Our reservation was at 8 and everything was going great. We got seated quickly, got our appetizers and wine and salads shortly after. Then we sat for an hour waiting for our food. To make matters worse we had to ask the hostess what was going on because our waitress never returned to our table for an update. Numerous tables who got seated after us received their food and checks before our main plates came out. Then when they finally did my gnocchi was not even cooked fully and the carrots were almost raw. The manager Jeremy came to us and asked if I wanted another plate. When I said no I'm ok he proceeded to tell me I didn't seem ok. Well of course not but I'm also not going to wait another hour for undercooked food. I understand sometimes things happen in the restaurant business and orders get lost or take to long but this place had no accountability. The most he offered to fix their mistake was to offer us dessert for free if we wanted it. We were not going to wait around another hour for dessert. One would think at that point they would have at least comped the appetizers but no they proceeded to present us with the entire check. The waitress at no time apologized for her mistake. This was a very disappointing experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Rebecca, our waitress, she was a wonderful young lady.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Lucca's is always consistent in providing high quality food. We had the Short Rib with polenta and the Pappardelle with sausage, both were outstanding! Ate on the patio, it was mid afternoon and not at all crowded, quiet and cool. While it is not cheap, it is worth the price for a very good meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Consistently good food,nice atmosphere and excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Where to begin...we called at the last minute after having crawled out of the national parks for several days. We were given a great table with a great server, Sammie who took great care of us. The sword fish was as good as it gets and the steak salad was superb. Nice ambiance and overall terrific experience. I wish we had Lucca in Atlanta.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food was great. Female waitress could care less. Slightly noisy but there was a graduation crowd. Overall a good value- but service was truly wanting

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 26, 2017

As always a great experience. Wonderful food and service was great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Went for pre-show dinner. Servers made a special effort to get us out on time. Valet parking a plus on a busy street, although the public lot across the street is the same price,$5. The appetizer could have been the main course it was so big. Decent wines at decent prices.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Stopped here a couple of weeks ago to have dinner with a family member in Sac for business; enjoyed it so much we took our teenage granddaughters here for dinner before seeing Phantom of the Opera. Ate outside in the patio.
Enjoyed the food and the ambivalence both times. Excellent place to eat if you are in downtown Sac

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vegan, Special Occasion, Casual, Organic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great place, food is amazing gluten free options for mains and dessert are awesome. Staff are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had a wonderful time celebrating graduation! The food was divine! Absolutely loved the appetizers and sangria!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was my second visit to Lucca, the first being a date with my husband. On that occasion, the food was very good, very flavorful. The ambiance was great with just enough energy. Service was great.

Our last visit on 5/17 was a little disappointing. I was graduating from SCC at the Memorial Auditorium and made reservations for 10 quite far in advance, requesting a patio table. My family got there before I did, and were seated at a huge round table inside that made it difficult to have conversations, and I was very disappointed not to be seated on the patio as I'd requested on my reservation. It was not overly busy that night (most of the inside was empty, as a matter of fact). I did not want to make a fuss, so we just remained at the inside table.

The pasta dishes were a little bland (noted by several in our party), but appetizers and other dishes were good. Service was great. I would return, but next time really would like an outdoor table. :-)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I would recommend Lucca's for any occasion. Whether it is a business meeting or a date night, this place has it all. Their menu has a nice variety of options so you can always find something appealing. The service was fantastic and the servers provided excellent recommendations for both food and drinks. I will definitely return when I am in the area.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was fabulous the atmosphere was very casual and wonderful and our waiter was very conscientious and attentive

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Tracy was our waitress and she was fantastic!. She always kept a watchful eye on our table and was avaiable to refill our requests at the right times. She knew the specials dinners for the night and she was cheerful and seemed happy to be there. She also made a great suggestion for dessert. That Carmelized, banana crunch was fantastic tasting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Family Style, Disabled Access, Healthy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Private Room, People Watching, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Second time here. The food does not dissapoint. Good value. Great location.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Healthy, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A perennial favorite. Have dined here many times for office luncheons, dinner before concerts and for birthdays and now mother's day. Have had an excellent meal everytime. The patio dining is my favorite, as it is a little quieter. My only recommendation would be to have a few more offerings for vegetarian diners.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were able to get in at the last minute on Friday night. Our waiter Mike was very friendly and helpful with navigating the menu which has a nice variety of choices-truly something for everyone

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 11, 2017

There're even grimy rr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Overall a local "find" in downtown Sacramento. Great place to meet friends and break bread or just sit back and relax with good food and drink.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I found the restaurant thru a google search and it was listed as good for a romantic dinner. So my expectation was for a quiet place.
Though the place was not full, the acoustics are harsh. I had difficulty hearing our server over the reflected noise. We needed to raise our voices to communicate.
I had the pork chop entree. The meat was very good, but the vegetables were unidentifiable, except for the brussel sprouts. The veggies were burned and tough.
Pity, as the decoration is attractive. I might go there again just for a drink at the bar.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

As always, another wonderful dining experience at Lucca with family from New York that appreciated a great local dining experience accompanied by a very gracious and hospitable server, Micah who made it even more worth while. Thank you Lucca and staff, from your hostess to your bussers- everything is always a 5 star experience! Great food, fabulous people.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.