About Lucca Restaurant & Bar

1615 J St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
16th and J Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 669-5300

Website:
http://www.luccarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Ian Macbride

Private Party Facilities:
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Glenn Stewart: 9166695300

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucca Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Outdoor Dining
Sacramento
1 More
Californian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

great for outdoor dining (95)
good for groups (83)
fit for foodies (80)
See All
special occasion (73)
great for lunch (58)
neighborhood gem (56)
romantic (43)
notable wine list (34)
hot spot (30)
vibrant bar scene (25)
great for brunch (14)
late-night find (13)
kid-friendly (10)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
600 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4

The food and service was good. The chair ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food and service was good. The chairs are very uncomfortable. Two of my guests complained about them even looked around the restaurant to see if there was others we could switch them with

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our party of 3 all enjoyed our food and ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our party of 3 all enjoyed our food and the atmosphere - service was friendly and attentive; the various dishes were all tasty and nicely presented; love the outdoor patio area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Father's Day special (steak, salad and d ...

Dined 7 days ago

Father's Day special (steak, salad and dessert) was terrific.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we made the reservation months ago, ...

Dined 7 days ago

When we made the reservation months ago, we didn't realize that Sunday June 19 was Father's Day. Our party of 6 arrived a little early but was seated promptly - on the patio, per our request. The setting was so lovely. Service was excellent. The menu had something for everyone - even picky eaters and folks with food allergies/sensitivities. This is just one of many visits to Lucca. We have always had excellent service and received exceptionally courteous and considerate treatment. Highly recommend this restaurant. NOTE: The noise level rating here is due to the fact that we were on the far back patio. The noise inside the restaurant is much more energetic!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience2
service5

Our server, Sonny, was excellent and mad ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server, Sonny, was excellent and made an otherwise dismal experience acceptable. My husband had the patchwork salad,which he enjoyed. My daughter and I shared a chopped salad, which turned out to be just lettuce. All entrées were sorely lacking in flavor and taste of any kind. The salted caramel chocolate tart was amazing. Since it was my husband's birthday I agreed not to make a fuss. But it was disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister and I went to Lucca for lunch ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

My sister and I went to Lucca for lunch before attending a performance at the Wells Fargo Pavilion. We were asked if we were attending a play so they could get us served in plenty of time. We were given a 10% discount because we were attending a play. That was really nice and unexpected. We both had the steak salad. The steak was tender and delicious. The rest of the ingredients and the dressing were perfect with the steak. The bread was the kind we love. It was a totally perfect dining experience. I had been there once before with a group of friends and that made me choose it to take my sister who was visiting from out of town. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meal, service and ambience. Wouldn't hesitate to go there again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In Sacramento for a graduation and met f ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

In Sacramento for a graduation and met friends from Lincoln at Lucca for dinner. What a delightful dining experience! Asked for a quiet table and were seated in the quietest section of the restaurant, in front of the window. It was perfect. Farm to fork choices! Both husbands had pasta, delish, friend had special rib eye steak of which I had a couple of bites...outstanding and raised at owners ranch! And I had special sea bass, fabulous! Would definitely return! Thank you, Lucca!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Upon arrival we were quickly shown to ou ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Upon arrival we were quickly shown to our table, drink then dinner orders taken. Good food. Excellent service. One of my favorite places to dine before the Music Circus performance.

food5
ambience4
service4

Really try to accommodate their cuisine ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Really try to accommodate their cuisine with individual need!

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The service was absolutely the worst. W ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was absolutely the worst. We had a 7:30 Music Circus show and were seated by 5:45. Our food arrived at 7:05! We had planned on leaving at 7:10 for a leisurely walk to the tent. We were so rushed and of course there was no time for dessert.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service, great food

Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent service, great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wide range of dinner selections, all very good!

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a variety of dinner selections, each was very good! Service was very good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Expected Good to Great Food

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

We both ordered different pastas. The only thing going for the penne I ordered that it was al dente as was my friend's spaghetti. And the wine selection was good. However, the pasta tasted boxed--and not the best quality--and the sauces were much like those one can get in a jar. The meatball had no interest. Seemed just beef and a few spices. (I understand Tuscan cooking is not a mixture of meats for the meatballs. But there was no interest and it was hard.) I think that an Italian restaurant's signature should include good pasta and sauces. I would be reluctant to try this restaurant again unless they paid more attention to this part of the menu. PS I have been there for brunches but never had ordered a pasta either because it was earlier in the day and/or not on the brunch menu.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The waitress forgot to tell us about the ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

The waitress forgot to tell us about the evening specials. I had the cioppino, my friend had the pork chop . The cioppino was pretty good. The pork chop was average. The salad dressing was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

Dined on May 27, 2016

My friend and I dined at Lucca before we attended Motown -the musical. The food was fabulous, the waitress was great, making sure we were out in plenty of time to get to the theatre. Lucca has parking service for folks going to the theatre which was so convenient ! We will definitely be back to Lucca! What a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very food food and service. Very nice atmosphere.

Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I attended the musical Motown and dined here for the first time. We received a 10% discount which was a very nice surprise. Definitely would dine here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great

Dined on May 26, 2016

The best mussels we've had anywhere. Great service, great food ... what else could one ask for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner before the show

Dined on May 23, 2016

Have been to Lucca several times, always a good meal. Service is great, wine list good, food is terrific, gluten free menu. Stuffed Peppers to die for!! AND 10% off for attending a performance in Sacramento that evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I really wanted to love this restaurant....

Dined on May 23, 2016

...however, the food was just mediocre. The chicken breast was very tough and over cooked. My friend ordered the rib eye medium rare. It was served to her medium. The waitress graciously placed another order and it did arrive the second time perfectly cooked to her request. The service was gvery attentive. I do not mind paying a bit extra at a "nice" restaurant such as this one, but the food was just not that outstanding. I love the layout of the place but it gets very noisy. I live in midtown and feel there are so many choices for great dining that Lucca is just not worth another visit.

food4
ambience4
service4

The Chicken Picatta is always a sure thi ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The Chicken Picatta is always a sure thing. Delicious!! For dessert? The Carmelized Bananas with Salted Caramel and ice cream. To die for!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finding excellent service combined with ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Finding excellent service combined with fantastic food--including specially prepared meals to fit food allergies, is a rarity. Our server was incredibly kind and attentive, he offered his advice and made sure our meals aligned our dietary needs, even ordering off the "gluten free" menu at his suggestion so we were sure to have exactly what we wanted. My thanks to the chef as well for a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love Lucca!

Dined on May 15, 2016

One of my faves; been going here for over 8 years and highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I used to really love this restaurant, b ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

I used to really love this restaurant, but was disappointed with this visit. Both of our meals had to be sent back, and then when they arrived the quality was nothing to rave about. Perhaps a bit overpriced. Was surprised that even though someone came to apologize for the service we weren't offered a discount or dessert or anything... Probably won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wish that you were closer.. Lucky find o ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Wish that you were closer.. Lucky find online. From Marin so needed a place to celebrate Sac State year end for an exchange student. It was perfect. Awesome food - recommend the zuccini chips for starter. Everything was great. Service was exceptional. Go early to avoid the crowds.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

A Really Good Place for Downtown Visitors

Dined on May 9, 2016

I love the ambience here. It feels both old world and modern simultaneously. There is an upbeat feeling as soon as you walk in and both the indoor and outdoor seating are equally compelling. The food is good to very good. Great flavoring, but dangerously close to over-sauced. We had the Spicy Penne with shrimp and the Roasted Chicken Risotto. Both were delicious, but very heavy. The penne could have been better with half the sauce. We found ourselves scraping it off. The risotto was outstanding. I highly recommend it, but think about sharing it. The wine selection is not over-the-top. There is a nice selection to compliment just about any dish, taste and budget.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite Restaurant in Sacramento

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Sac. The service, food and ambiance is top class.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

MOTHERS DAY BRUNCH

Dined on May 8, 2016

The salmom salad was great, the turkey burger was grilled perfectly. The table,wasnt great that they put us at, kinda crowded. The service was interminably slow. Check in wasnt great..kinda stupid people running the checkin. However it was a happening place

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Novel breakfast offerings

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for a Mother's Day breakfast which was overall pleasant (minus young kids that make too much noise and parents only contribute to their bad behavior). We sat in corner booth in the back room, which I wouldn't recommend because it was like a back cave without windows. We ordered breakfast pizza, which was interesting, not quite a real crust, but had eggs in the middle which were good for dunking; and the smoked trout hash, executed well with fresh flavors. The decor was somewhat mediterranean, clean and up kept.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, atmosphere and staff!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was great ! Our waiter, Sammy was very attentive, friendly and professional. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent. Zucchini. Chip ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was excellent. Zucchini. Chips Snap Peas Rib Eye Chicken Saltimboca All delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were great.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food and service were great.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Well Drinks

Dined on May 1, 2016

All Ice. Not a good value. Drink the wine. The waitress recommended a great Cabernet.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Spanish Chorizo Pizzette was PHENOMINAL! ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Spanish Chorizo Pizzette was PHENOMINAL! Keep up the good work!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food and service

Dined on April 28, 2016

My friend and I dine at Lucca a few times a year. As always the service and the food are very good. When I'm not dinning with my friend I stop in at Lucca for happy hour from time to time. I love the happy hour menu and prices. Lucca is my favorite happy hour restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

As usual, great fresh food and good service. One of my favorite lunch spots.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Good service

Dined on April 24, 2016

The hostess was very accommodating as we were early for our reservation. She directed us to the bar where we were able to order our food and enjoy a nice visit together.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Read the Menu for ingredients

Dined on April 18, 2016

I would have given "food" 5 stars but I ordered chicken picante which was delicious, however it seems that all chef's think that spicing up their dishes is the "new normal". Many of us prefer the old favorites. Chile flakes in my pasta just took away from the dish in my opinion. Just a bit spicy for my pallet. I drank a lot of water! Next time I’ll make sure to read the menu thoroughly and request that anything hot or spicy be removed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside on a beautiful night.

Dined on April 17, 2016

We sat outside on a beautiful night and enjoyed the outside setting and looking at the beautiful old brick building. I was set to order a pasta dish when the waiter told us about the pork chop. It truly was the best pork chop I've had.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food - fantastic service

Dined on April 16, 2016

I was so impressed when the first greeting was, "what time do you need to be at the show?". We let them know we had to be at the Crest at 7:30 and they organized all around it. The waitress knew our schedule before we could even bring it up! We enjoyed some wonderful (non-alcoholic for us) cocktails, a delicious appetizer and two excellent entrées. The front room is very noisy, so we asked for something quieter. Got a nice table in the back room -- was very quiet at first but did get noisier as more people were seated there. We are interested in trying the patio next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and great service.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Perfect place for a dinner before the theater. Service was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.