Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Lucca Restaurant & Bar

Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.

1615 J St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
16th and J Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 669-5300

Website:
http://www.luccarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Ian Macbride

Private Party Facilities:
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Glenn Stewart: (916) 669-5300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucca Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (37)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Casual (30)
Good for Groups (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Cozy (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Business Meals (28)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Local Ingredients (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Happy Hour (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Romantic (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Authentic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Seasonal (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Fun (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Healthy (12)
Fireplace (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
People Watching (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Private Room (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Organic (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

We really enjoyed Lucca. The food was great. I have Celiac, and I had no problems with options to eat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Restaurant has nice ambiance with a lovely outdoor dining area. Food was prepared perfectly and waitress was outstanding, friendly, and accommodating. Service was quick without making you feel rushed, which was important since we had a play to attend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

My friend has the gnocchi and loved it. I ordered the filet mignon as recommended. Y the server and was disappointed. Not much flavor. This will not deter me from going again, but I learned it is not a steakhouse.
Server was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great dinner! Service was great! We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had excellent service. The pasta dishes were very good, and portions were just right. A big plus is valet parking. Overall, an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Sacto location, venue and food. Lots of wait staff, but maybe a little too energetic when our salads were delivered before we were half way thru our appetizers and my glass of beer disappeared before it was completely finished. Other than that I would totally recommend Lucca's.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great place for celebrating. The food is good and the service was fantastic. Ask for Sammy!

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Lucca NEVER fails me! Another wonderful meal, outstanding service from the hostess, bartender, busser and our waiter, Micah was so pleasant and didn't skip a beat -he made our dining experience even that much better.

This by far is my favorite locally owned Restaurant. Every time I go, I bring new guests and they always leave as fans of Lucca!

The food, cocktails and dessert were phenomenal!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Overall very nice inside. I'm not a huge fan of bistro seating and wanted something more romantic, yet overall experience was good.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food, service and ambiance was excellent. I ordered a "white' sangria that was supposed to have peach schnapps along with white wine. I could barely taste the wine and no schnapps.


We will return but I won't order anything from the bar.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This place is consistently good. It's my go-to-place before the theatre or a show.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Appetizers were wonderful. Entrees, not so much. Would recommend coming for a good martini and the halloumi plate. Pasta was mediocre

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our server Tracy was wonderful! And so was our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I enjoy both of your Sacramento restaurants because the ambiance is comfortable, the service is always good, and the recipes are interesting and variable. I was at Roxy's on Thursday and loved the kale and hummus salad (!!) and then I found another equally interesting faro salad on Friday at Lucca's. Inside, during prime time, it can get a bit noisy for my taste, so I try to pick the right time and season.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Lucca was an exceptional dining experience. Our wait person was amazing. It was as if the kitchen and our wonderful wait person were in sync. The food delivery was perfectly timed, the food hot, plentiful and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Good experience, excellent service, delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Lucca is our family favorite. I love the chopped salmon salad. The wine is fabulous and the dessert was yummy. All of the pasta dishes were exceptional. We have dined her for big parties and romantic dinners for two. Love Lucca!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Always a great experience. My favorite place in Sacramento

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Friendly and fast service. The food was great. Our cocktails were strong and super tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great fun and good food! All of the people enjoyed their meals. Service was good. Love the valet parking!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our server was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great service and really good food! The atmosphere had a great vibe. The restaurant staff was very polite and attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Pretty disappointed... the last time we were there I ordered the sea bass and it was overcooked and subsequently dry so this time when I ordered the swordfish, I asked our server what to do to ensure it wasn't overcooked (making no reference to my former experience) so she suggested I order it medium rare. When my meal came it was beautifully presented and I couldn't wait to dig in. I tried to flake off a bite and it wouldn't budge, so I got my knife and it wouldn't cut. Then I flipped it over and the other side was completely RAW. It appeared the Chef seared one side and then either forgot to turn the fish over or was irritated at how I ordered the fish and deliberately served it that way but because of the attitude of both the manager and the server, I suspect it was the latter of the two. When I brought it to the attention of the gentleman filling our waters he said, "OMG, I'll let your server know" and he whisked it away. The manager then came to the table and said "I'm sorry you were unhappy with your meal" and the server said, "sorry about the fish but you ordered it medium rare." And because I didn't want to ruin the birthday celebration, I kept my thoughts to myself which were... "yes, you're right I did order it medium rare but not RAW". So, I asked them both if they had seen the fish and both responded "no." They removed the meal from the $300 bill and offered to bring me another dish but by then everyone was close to being done with their meals and I was a little turned off quite honestly. I was incredibly disappointed and probably will not go back even though I love the atmosphere and the short ribs are always delish.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service and food were overall lacking. We enjoyed the dessert (caramelized bananas) but thought the cioppino was way under seasoned and had no flavor. We also ordered the duck confit which was tender but not special overall. Waitress was nice but only came to our table around half a dozen times throughout the dinner service. Waitress served our appetizers before taking our entree order so we ate our appetizers with our menus still in our hands. Probably won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall, a very nice experience and atmosphere, but the wait staff was overwhelmed and service was slow. It's nice that my water kept getting refilled by the water server, but there was no personal attention and it took 30 minutes after being seated to get my first drink. I guess that bottom line is this, if you are dining and the restaurant is filled, be prepared not to have personal attention, have the opportunity to ask questions or put in requests except during the "allocated" time allowed with your wait staff. And then, sit back and enjoy. Again, overall, a very nice experience and atmosphere, but hope that the service can be improved a bit during busy periods.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I love the patio at Lucca. Great food, good drink recommendations, and perfect ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Lucca's is our go to restaurant prior to Sac. Community Theater. Love the food, especially the zucchini chips, the bar cocktails and the friendly service. The valet parking is always efficient and courteous. Always a great dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Made an early dinner reservation, 5 pm, and was seated immediately, on outdoor patio enclosure. Our waiter was cordial and had a big smile, also very attentive in spite of the fact he had a party of 12 and other tables to service. We ordered the salmon and chicken saltimbocca, both were excellent. My friend practically licked her plate clean. The only negative was the selection of appetizers. We had the zucchini fries that were tiny and delicate but very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service and dinner was outstanding. One of my favorite places for dinner! Worth the drive downtown on a Friday night. Made a reservation and was seated immediately

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Never disappoints. Always fresh and tasty. And good service.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I ordered the stuffed bell peppers, and they kept the top stem on the peppers, which is not edible. I didn't notice the stems at all because I could not see them amidst the toppings. So this meant I kept biting into inedible stems, which I had to keep spitting out. At that moment I still didn't know what I was biting into. When I told the restaurant manager, he said they would make me a new dish. Instead he took my plate to the chef, and brought it back to explain that they kept the stems on, knowing these were not edible. I finished eating the dish with the stems still on and was not given any discount and the dish was not remade. Although the peppers tasted good, this pretty much ruined my experience with the food. I rarely ever complain at restaurants, but ironically the one time I did, they pretty much did nothing. Drinks were good, I only wish the happy hour specials were not limited to the over-crowded bar area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Got dinner before a concert at Golden 1. Service from our waiter Angelo was wonderful. Food was great!
I had the Chicken Saltinbocca dish. We shared a salad. Both were delicious!

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 28, 2017

It was a very busy night for a Monday, and it appeared the restaurant was short staffed when first arrived. I think there were several events all happening in midtown at the same time (kings Game, Speakers Series, Ect). Once the crowd cleared out service improved dramatically. The food was good, but not what I would expect for the price point. The "crispy duck confit" for example was decidedly not crispy. The short ribs were good, but not spectacular. I've been to Lucca many times, and Monday was not their best showing. Even great places have off nights, but even with an off night it was very good.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I have eaten here numerous times over the last several years. It has never disappointed! I would recommend this for any occasion if you want a wholesome meal, with excellent flavor and great value. Everything from the marinated olives appetizer to your main course is exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

missing some of my companion's favorite choices--caprice salad more variety of pasta and fish dishes
great table 10 again
great server

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

What a gem of a restaurant! We were celebrating a birthday. One of my guests is gluten intolerant. Lucca accommodates such diets with a separate gluten free menu. Wow! We were impressed and I was thrilled that all of us could enjoy our meal. The food and wine was superb. The service was exemplary. Special acknowledgement to the hostesses for their patience by holding our table well past the reservation time so that my late guest and the rest of us could enjoy drinks at the bar. Love the Happy Hour as well. While there are many dining options I will plan to return here often. Thank you to everyone for making us feel special.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food good, ability to hear conversation NOT good
Would eat there again, by myself

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 24, 2017

As always, the dinners were wonderful and the casual atmosphere so relaxing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Super, 3rd time, still enjoy it! Will return anytime while in Sacramento area.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Experience overall was good. The Chicken Picatta was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.