About Lucca Restaurant & Bar

1615 J St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
16th and J Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 669-5300

Website:
http://www.luccarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Ian Macbride

Private Party Facilities:
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Glenn Stewart: 9166695300

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucca Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Outdoor Dining
Sacramento
Californian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

great for outdoor dining (83)
good for groups (68)
fit for foodies (65)
See All
special occasion (58)
great for lunch (49)
neighborhood gem (47)
romantic (34)
hot spot (22)
notable wine list (21)
vibrant bar scene (20)
great for brunch (14)
kid-friendly (12)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I don't like anything about this restaur ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I don't like anything about this restaurant, the food is below average and pricy , the service was beyond terrible.. ..a random waitress came to us with a dish that was not ours to begin with (mussels) poured all that super hot butter on our table, walked away like nothing happened when told it was not ours (no apologies) did not even bother to wipe the table, walked to the next table and did the same ...dropped the plate and walked away...I am shocked!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We arrived at our scheduled reservation ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We arrived at our scheduled reservation time but no server was assigned to our table for 20 minutes. When we asked the hostess, the manager was so apologetic he sent over a free appetizer! From there everything was fantastic-- food, service, ambiance. We sat on the patio and it was lovely.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was excellent. We we ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As usual, the food was excellent. We were party of 6 with reservations and were seated way in the back. When asked if we could be moved to in front of the fireplace, we were told all those tables were reserved. There were no "reserved" signs on the tables and we indicated that we had reservations. So? After being seated at the table in front of the fireplace, a comment was made as to we had better eat fast and be done within an hour. Nothing was said at the time, but should have been. Great way to get customers to return. Sorry, have no names.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Some time ago I planned a theatre day ou ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Some time ago I planned a theatre day out with two of my granddaughters and their moms. I wanted it to be a special day so planned lunch beforehand at Lucca. it had been several years since I had been there so I looked at it with "new" eyes.

Everything--from the warm welcome to the pleasant good-by--reminded me of how good this place is! The menu was extensive and the wine list by-the-glass satisfactory. My daughter had the gnocchi, which she declared excellent; she also loved the chop salad. My d-I-l loved the Chicken Saltimbocca--tender and juicy. The 10-year olds weren't chowing down on their shortribs. Understandable, as they had tried the zucchini chips and ordered (to share) Parmesan fries as a side for their ribs (which came with mashed potatoes.) My linguini, accompanied with large prawns, was served with a pleasant and creamy tomato sauce. Was most pleased to see 10% off our bill because we were headed to Music Circus! I will be back, hopefully for dinner with my hubby.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent, outdoor dining wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was excellent, outdoor dining was comfortable, and the food (salmon salad) was great.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and drinks every time!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food and drinks every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thoroughly enjoyed the delicious food fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the delicious food from the various choice's on their menu. Their service was most attentive. The selection of desserts was amazing especially the Key Lime pie! Plus it's located nearby the theater where we frequently attend shows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was excellent, she made it a ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our server was excellent, she made it a priority to get us out in time for the Music Circus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had reservations for 6:15. We arrive ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had reservations for 6:15. We arrived at 6:00. We were immediately seated. The waitress took our order, brought us our drinks and appetizer. We had tickets to the Music Circus at 7:30. At 7:00 the waitress said our order would be up in 3 minutes. At 7:15 we still hadn't gotten our food and had to leave for the theater. While at the theater, I got a phone call from the restaurant manager saying we left without paying. I told him I would return during intermission and take care of it. I paid for the drinks and appetizer. He said that was okay. The next morning I got an email from the manager indicating that I would be arrested for defrauding an innkeeper. for not paying my bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Pre-theater lunch. Server knee it and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Pre-theater lunch. Server knee it and timed our meal so we could enjoy it but not rush to the theater. Food was superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat on the patio and it was delightfu ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We sat on the patio and it was delightful. The food and the service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hated the patio seating - bugs, plants i ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Hated the patio seating - bugs, plants in the way, and it was too hot to be out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

I'd heard great things about Lucca's and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I'd heard great things about Lucca's and was looking forward to going there. So four of us went there before a play at Music Circus. We were seated promptly. The place was crowded and very noisy. I ordered a very dry martini with one olive and got gin on the rocks with too much vermouth and two olives. Our server seemed to have a little getting our orders straight. It may have been the noisy conditions. But we finally resolved all. We ordered an appetizer of zucchini. I had asked if it was deep fried and was told that it was. Well, it was. But the zucchini came out as tiny potato chip like crisps which was very different than the table expected. The menu had little variety, but enough to eat there once or twice. Our food came in a timely fashion and was a little better than average. Not bad. Not great. The spaghetti sauce was on the bland side but the meatball was great. My wife is a risotto fiend and she rated hers as "very, very good." All in all, a pleasant experience. I'd go there again, but not for a special occasion. A very positive note is that it is a short walking distance to the Wells Fargo Pavilion and the musical we saw. Lucca's has valet parking for $5, always a good thing in midtown where finding a spot on the street can be tough. Lucca's allows you to leave your car in valet parking if you have dinner there and are going to the play after, at no extra charge. And Lucca's gives a 10% discount on your meal if you show them your play tickets.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Four of us enjoyed sitting at a patio ta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Four of us enjoyed sitting at a patio table for dinner before the theater. Beautiful setting, nice wine selection and delicious food! We especially like to use the valet parking - they drop the car off near the theater so we don't have too far to walk at night after the show is over.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner and perfect servic ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a great dinner and perfect service before going to Music Circus. We had plenty of time for a drink and dinner. Our server (one of the darling twins) was perfect. She knew her "audience" and catered to us. The food was great. The "fries".....the best!

Another wonderful Lucca experience....

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a busy evening. We were seated ou ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

It was a busy evening. We were seated outside, which was not our preference but there were no other tables available. The patio area is nice, shaded, with misters and would have been fine except for the flies. The food was good and the service okay except that it was at least 10 minutes before we saw a waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My boyfriend and had the most incredible ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My boyfriend and had the most incredible time here. The food was incredible and couldn't be better.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good and I recommend it highly. Ca ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very good and I recommend it highly. Casual and great outdoor dinning.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food and service was good. The chair ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food and service was good. The chairs are very uncomfortable. Two of my guests complained about them even looked around the restaurant to see if there was others we could switch them with

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our party of 3 all enjoyed our food and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our party of 3 all enjoyed our food and the atmosphere - service was friendly and attentive; the various dishes were all tasty and nicely presented; love the outdoor patio area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Father's Day special (steak, salad and d ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Father's Day special (steak, salad and dessert) was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

When we made the reservation months ago, ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

When we made the reservation months ago, we didn't realize that Sunday June 19 was Father's Day. Our party of 6 arrived a little early but was seated promptly - on the patio, per our request. The setting was so lovely. Service was excellent. The menu had something for everyone - even picky eaters and folks with food allergies/sensitivities. This is just one of many visits to Lucca. We have always had excellent service and received exceptionally courteous and considerate treatment. Highly recommend this restaurant. NOTE: The noise level rating here is due to the fact that we were on the far back patio. The noise inside the restaurant is much more energetic!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Sonny, was excellent and mad ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server, Sonny, was excellent and made an otherwise dismal experience acceptable. My husband had the patchwork salad,which he enjoyed. My daughter and I shared a chopped salad, which turned out to be just lettuce. All entrées were sorely lacking in flavor and taste of any kind. The salted caramel chocolate tart was amazing. Since it was my husband's birthday I agreed not to make a fuss. But it was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

My sister and I went to Lucca for lunch ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

My sister and I went to Lucca for lunch before attending a performance at the Wells Fargo Pavilion. We were asked if we were attending a play so they could get us served in plenty of time. We were given a 10% discount because we were attending a play. That was really nice and unexpected. We both had the steak salad. The steak was tender and delicious. The rest of the ingredients and the dressing were perfect with the steak. The bread was the kind we love. It was a totally perfect dining experience.

I had been there once before with a group of friends and that made me choose it to take my sister who was visiting from out of town. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meal, service and ambience. Wouldn't hesitate to go there again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In Sacramento for a graduation and met f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

In Sacramento for a graduation and met friends from Lincoln at Lucca for dinner. What a delightful dining experience! Asked for a quiet table and were seated in the quietest section of the restaurant, in front of the window. It was perfect. Farm to fork choices! Both husbands had pasta, delish, friend had special rib eye steak of which I had a couple of bites...outstanding and raised at owners ranch! And I had special sea bass, fabulous! Would definitely return! Thank you, Lucca!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon arrival we were quickly shown to ou ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Upon arrival we were quickly shown to our table, drink then dinner orders taken. Good food. Excellent service. One of my favorite places to dine before the Music Circus performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We went for a Music Circus date night. I ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We went for a Music Circus date night. I highly recommend having an early reservation and have a leisurely dinner. Walk to theater is only a few blocks. This will become our go-to restaurant for Music Circus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really try to accommodate their cuisine ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Really try to accommodate their cuisine with individual need!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The service was absolutely the worst. W ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was absolutely the worst. We had a 7:30 Music Circus show and were seated by 5:45. Our food arrived at 7:05! We had planned on leaving at 7:10 for a leisurely walk to the tent. We were so rushed and of course there was no time for dessert.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Love Lucca, we always have a great time ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Love Lucca, we always have a great time when we visit. The food is excellent and the drinks too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent service, great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wide range of dinner selections, all very good!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a variety of dinner selections, each was very good! Service was very good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expected Good to Great Food

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We both ordered different pastas. The only thing going for the penne I ordered that it was al dente as was my friend's spaghetti. And the wine selection was good. However, the pasta tasted boxed--and not the best quality--and the sauces were much like those one can get in a jar. The meatball had no interest. Seemed just beef and a few spices. (I understand Tuscan cooking is not a mixture of meats for the meatballs. But there was no interest and it was hard.) I think that an Italian restaurant's signature should include good pasta and sauces. I would be reluctant to try this restaurant again unless they paid more attention to this part of the menu. PS I have been there for brunches but never had ordered a pasta either because it was earlier in the day and/or not on the brunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The waitress forgot to tell us about the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The waitress forgot to tell us about the evening specials. I had the cioppino, my friend had the pork chop . The cioppino was pretty good. The pork chop was average. The salad dressing was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great experience!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My friend and I dined at Lucca before we attended Motown -the musical. The food was fabulous, the waitress was great, making sure we were out in plenty of time to get to the theatre. Lucca has parking service for folks going to the theatre which was so convenient ! We will definitely be back to Lucca! What a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very food food and service. Very nice atmosphere.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I attended the musical Motown and dined here for the first time. We received a 10% discount which was a very nice surprise. Definitely would dine here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The best mussels we've had anywhere. Great service, great food ... what else could one ask for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner before the show

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Have been to Lucca several times, always a good meal. Service is great, wine list good, food is terrific, gluten free menu. Stuffed Peppers to die for!! AND 10% off for attending a performance in Sacramento that evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really wanted to love this restaurant....

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

...however, the food was just mediocre. The chicken breast was very tough and over cooked. My friend ordered the rib eye medium rare. It was served to her medium. The waitress graciously placed another order and it did arrive the second time perfectly cooked to her request.

The service was gvery attentive.

I do not mind paying a bit extra at a "nice" restaurant such as this one, but the food was just not that outstanding.

I love the layout of the place but it gets very noisy.

I live in midtown and feel there are so many choices for great dining that Lucca is just not worth another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Chicken Picatta is always a sure thi ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The Chicken Picatta is always a sure thing. Delicious!! For dessert? The Carmelized Bananas with Salted Caramel and ice cream. To die for!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.