About Lucca Restaurant & Bar

1615 J St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
16th and J Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 669-5300

Website:
http://www.luccarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Ian Macbride

Private Party Facilities:
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Glenn Stewart: 9166695300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucca Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Californian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
See All
Casual (32)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Romantic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Business Meals (16)
Authentic (15)
Fireplace (14)
Cozy (13)
Fun (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Seasonal (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
People Watching (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Healthy (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Vegan (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Family Style (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
743 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Located within walking distance of the C ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Located within walking distance of the Crest -- we went before a show. Service was good, food was good, I liked the ambiance of the enclosed outdoor seating. It was plenty warm with the heaters going. I would definitely go back next time we're in the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I met my sister here for ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I met my sister here for dinner. We had a wonderful time! The heated patio with fireplace and twinkle lights was charming. The service was great and the food was amazing! We will be back for sure! We loved it!

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make sure that the hostess gives you the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Make sure that the hostess gives you the table you reserve. We had a reservation for a table of 6 and a table for 2. We called twice to confirm. When we arrived they had our reservations. However, they said that they needed the table for 2 and we would need to squeeze 8 people on the table for 6 or else wait for 30 minutes.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This was way too noisy and the food was ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This was way too noisy and the food was not that great either but what really got me was that the service wasn't good. The selection of food was not great at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

When one lives in Sacramento it is impor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

When one lives in Sacramento it is important to find solid dining choices as very little ever gets close to San Francisco if one is a foodie. However, Lucca's, like its sister restaurant Roxy are solid and reliable choices and so put it on your list for a nice Italian place downtown.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We dined early in order to attend a play ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We dined early in order to attend a play, so we nearly had Lucca's to ourselves. The service was excellent and the food, as usual, was outstanding. Don't miss the zucchini chips! We all had take home boxes so we enjoyed our meals twice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very fun, friendly and enjoyable meal. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A very fun, friendly and enjoyable meal. This was our second time and there will be more! Great menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We celebrated our 21st anniversary. Gre ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We celebrated our 21st anniversary. Great place to eat and the vegan menu was a plus! Will be going again soon!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised at the quality and ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Pleasantly surprised at the quality and quantity of food for the price. Very reasonably priced. They have a separate vegan menu available. Our server was outstanding. Had not been here for years but plan to go back and feel it's a better value than they offer at their sister restaurant (Roxy).

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great experience! Arranged a surprise b ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great experience! Arranged a surprise birthday dinner for my wife here, and it all worked out wonderfully! Great food, great staff, great atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Private Room, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five of us met for dinner at Lucca. Two ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Five of us met for dinner at Lucca. Two of the group came late. The restaurant were gracious about this. Food was very good and the service very good as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service is always outstanding and ev ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service is always outstanding and everyone recognizes my wife and I when we arrive and they have our table waiting. The food is always first-rate and the menu varies with the evening specials. We use Lucca as a great pre-theater location and It is our favorite downtown location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Waiter Angelo was great, as he usual ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our Waiter Angelo was great, as he usually is. Like the front tables, at the window, are our favorites.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing meal!

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had an amazing meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Party of 4 for a colleague's birthday lu ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Party of 4 for a colleague's birthday lunch. We were seated outside --they had the outdoor fireplace going and it was quite pleasant. Special touch for our colleague's birthday made her day more special! We all enjoyed the dishes we ordered and we all are looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always satisfied with the food and servi ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Always satisfied with the food and service. Try the back room for a quiet dinner for 2. The service here is outstanding and attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice Restaurant. Friendly staff. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Very nice Restaurant. Friendly staff. I had dinner two evenings back to back and both meals were very enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The chicken piccata was just simply outs ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The chicken piccata was just simply outstanding. I also go to Lucca's for their outstanding risotto. Quality of the food is very high, making Lucca's was one my favorite Sacramento restaurants for lunch or supper. The al fresco dining option is also a major plus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We couldn't have been more pleased with ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We couldn't have been more pleased with our dinner at Lucca. We arrived just before happy hour ended (6pm) and shared several small plates including chopped salad, meatball with polenta, steamed mussels, and sautéed shrimp. Though the shrimp plate was small, it was by far the most flavorful and perfectly cooked!

Our server was also wonderfully attentive and considerate. Combined with the comfortable yet chic decor, Lucca made for the perfect upscale weeknight dinner date restaurant. We will definitely go again and cannot wait to try the other signature dishes and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go-to midtown restaurant. Good food ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our go-to midtown restaurant. Good food, reasonably quiet, nice atmosphere and very good, thoughtful service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had reservations for about a month an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had reservations for about a month and we're looking forward to eating at Luca, since our last experience was good, but unfortunately we were seated in the back banquet room where two large parties were going on. Children were running around, screaming and bothering other patrons. Manager apologized, but didn't control the situation. Will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Had a wonderful experience. They seated ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Had a wonderful experience. They seated us right away for our reservation . Had a very professional and friendly server. Sorry I don't remember his name!

Dinner was truly delicious and extra kudos to the bartender for putting on the Ravens- Browns game on for us Easterners

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff are accommodating but they really ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Staff are accommodating but they really spoiled my business meeting with a thousand interruptions. When people are doing business, streamline service. Music was also too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Always a great go to; wonderful service ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always a great go to; wonderful service and even better food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my wife's birthday with famil ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday with family & friends recently. Cocktails, appetizers, and entrees were tasty & delicious. We enjoyed sitting outside, with the space heaters it was very comfortable. Valet service is available but we found parking close by. Overall, a great time! We'll be back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good, however the service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food was very good, however the service was incredibly slow. It took 1 hour and 45 for us to have dinner. My risotto was very good, but had was cold by the time it was served.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

After several delicious meals, I highly ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

After several delicious meals, I highly recommend Lucca for any dinner. The specials have been diverse and excellent!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Luccas! This was the only time I ha ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love Luccas! This was the only time I have been disappointed with service. Took a long time to get our cocktails. We received the wrong order - twice. Asked for fresh ground pepper several times - never received it. When we arrived it was not crowded (5:15) but it became very busy. However I have been here on busy nights and never had a problem. Hoping this was a one time thing . Food was great. We'll be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Enjoyed the Rissotto and chicken piccata ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Enjoyed the Rissotto and chicken piccata. It was busy , so it was a little loud, but sitting outside is the way to go!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service and food! Our server was ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great service and food! Our server was wonderful and very accommodating.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overnight in downtown Sacramento and dec ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Overnight in downtown Sacramento and decided to try this. Nice decor, good location, but incredibly noisy room outside and a little cramped. Good service, food good, but not probably worth another trip. Seemed family friendly and a mix of business/casual on the night we were there, so would be good for mixed ages.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This place is so delicious. We had some ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This place is so delicious. We had some appetizers which were delicious. Our waitress was so fun. I had brought friends visiting from out if town here and it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good but we were sat in a c ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was good but we were sat in a corner outside and when it began to rain outside, the pipe above us began getting us wet. OUR waitress did move us after we got her attention but other than a quick apology nothing was done to make our experience better. my sweater which had been on the back of the chair got pretty wet and my pant leg, as well as my friend's purse. Also they didn't mention the discount since we were attending the show at the community center but did honor it when we asked about it. I think they must know about the leak but chose to seat people there anyway. Unfortunate as it really had potential when we walked in. It was decent food but the experience could have been better for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Had dinner prior to seeing show at the c ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had dinner prior to seeing show at the community center. We have frequented Lucca's several times and keep coming back. Never disappointed in their cuisine. Always very flavorful, and their staff is excellent. Each time we come, we ask for seating on the patio.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Helpful, professional and fun wait staff ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Helpful, professional and fun wait staff, amazing food, comfortable and casual atmosphere. Great place to go with friends or family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu, great food. We ate here bec ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great menu, great food. We ate here because of its Farm-to-Fork reputation. We had 5:30 reservations. It quickly became quite busy and noisy. Tables are close together. Service was quick and attentive, but we didn't feel this was the time or place to leisurely linger over the dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took our business group of 13 here for d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Took our business group of 13 here for dinner while attending a nearby conference. We were seated immediately. Very polite and attentive staff team. Service was great and our food prepared exactly as ordered. Great experience. We'll be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My parents loved it! Thank you for makin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My parents loved it! Thank you for making their anniversary night special. They said the food and service was EXCELLENT.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at dinner last Thursday was del ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food at dinner last Thursday was deliciously prepared and the portions were just right. Service was friendly and efficient. It was nice to sit on the patio (enclosed due to the cool/wet weather) with a view of the fireplace. Unfortunately there were a number of large tables and the noise level made it difficult to hold a normal conversation with my two table-mates.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our first visit to Lucca. The ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This was our first visit to Lucca. The menu features rich, authentic Italian dishes made with fresh local ingredients. We could not recommend the food highly enough -- it arrived quick and piping hot from the kitchen. I thought the linguine and prawns would have more than 5 prawns, but they were medium prawns so I guess that's OK. We were there for a birthday date, and while Lucca was the right choice for this special occasion, the noise level was higher than anticipated. It was not constantly loud, but we did ask the server to repeat a few of the evening specials, and a few times we had to speak up in order to conduct our private conversation. We just did not think it would be so busy on a Monday evening! This appears to be a very popular restaurant, and we can see why. The ambiance is definitely nice but not too formal. Prices are very reasonable. And the service was excellent overall, although when we were ready to leave, we did wait awhile for the check to be processed. We will be back. 4/5 stars.

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.