About Lucca Restaurant & Bar

1615 J St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
16th and J Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 669-5300

Website:
http://www.luccarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Ian Macbride

Private Party Facilities:
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Glenn Stewart: 9166695300

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucca Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Outdoor Dining
Sacramento
2 More
Californian
Sacramento
Most Booked
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (79)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Good for Groups (62)
See All
Special Occasion (62)
Great for Lunch (48)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Romantic (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Hot Spot (18)
Great for Brunch (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Kid-friendly (12)
Late-night Find (9)
Scenic View (4)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
653 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unfortunately it appeared that the night ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

Unfortunately it appeared that the night we went to eat they were setting tables up for a large reserved party. It took a long time for us to receive two out of four of our orders and then five minutes later the other two came out ...the waitress seemed to be busy in the back chatting with other employees instead of bringing out the food. Also my salmon was overcooked and very dry. We have eaten there before and it was much better service wise and food wise so I'm not sure if the large party had them thrown off or we just didn't get the service we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The pork chop, risotto, and salmon were ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

The pork chop, risotto, and salmon were all excellent and flavorful. I also enjoyed the sangria.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Terrific night on the patio with good fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Terrific night on the patio with good food, service, and friends! We had a wide variety of menu items from the Burger to the nightly special of Halibut with pear chutney, they were all very good. The staff were very friendly too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful dinner. The food was excellen ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Delightful dinner. The food was excellent and the service, Lilly was exceptional. Lucca is one of the best restaurants in Sacramento and very good value menu pricing.

We'll be back soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience and food i ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always a wonderful experience and food is excellent. Loved my swordfish and ciopino was excellent also.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I always enjoy coming to this restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I always enjoy coming to this restaurant. I will continue to come with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lucca's always provides a consistently d ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lucca's always provides a consistently decent dining experience, with good service and a nice outdoor patio (assuming it isn't too hot).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have dined at Lucca prior to Music Ci ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have dined at Lucca prior to Music Circus many times over the years. The servers are always aware that we need to be out by a particular time and make sure that happens although without fuss or hurrying us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love the waitress, excellent service. go ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

love the waitress, excellent service. good wine, good food. friendly staff

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

On line menu does not match actual menu ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

On line menu does not match actual menu on some items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food! We each ordered differen ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent food! We each ordered different entrees and they were all delicious . Pork chop and Spatzle - Filet Mignon - and Sea Bass. Each were served in an elegant presentation and so tasty and fresh!! The waiter was very attentive and helpful, but did not hover. Coming back for sure!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

jillian was a wonderful server! We enjo ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

jillian was a wonderful server! We enjoyed her friendliness and suggestions on the meal. Thank you for the discount for the meal because we were attending the Woodland Opera House performance of "Footloose." great musical show.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a pre-show dinner, lots of comp ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Went for a pre-show dinner, lots of company there for the same reason. Waiter did his best to make sure we weren't late for he sow despite the crowd. Good wine selection (not huge but decent), best fried calamari appetizer I've ever had (frito misto), excellent salmon and sea bass dinners, scrumptious apricot bread pudding desert.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I've always liked Lucca's, food great. B ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I've always liked Lucca's, food great. But this visit was a downer. The Choppino was not hot, and I asked for no mussels, so got 3 clams & less seafood.

The waitress did gladly remove & tried to fix, taking my silverware. I now had a side of broccoli with no fork. I took from next table after waiting a while....

Then the choppino came back hotter & little more clams, but bits of seafood AND now no spoon.

As I travel on business & eat out all the time, I felt this was a total waste of time, dinner & cost.

Probably will not return.

Waitress disappeared as I waited & waited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

My wife commented that 'the Salmon was t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My wife commented that 'the Salmon was the best she ever had.' We look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a wonderful family dinner! We l ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was a wonderful family dinner! We love Lucca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I Love Lucca's the people there are so n ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I Love Lucca's the people there are so nice. I love the food and the atmosphere. Glenn is one of the best Managers at Lucca.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Sunday, and the theater show ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We went on Sunday, and the theater show

down street also just getting out, so to be fair, that probably impacted our experience. With that being said, we were disappointed. We must have been sat in the over flow patio section, that did not have a server assigned to the area, as 4 different wait staff were trying take care of us. The server didn't know their well brand of alcohol, but tried up sell us on the cocktail. He didn't share specials, or offer any suggestions or information. Bottom line, they were too busy for us, although we had reservations. We've been there before, but probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent customer service! Beautiful am ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent customer service! Beautiful ambiance and great menu!!! Managed beautifully. I would recommend to anyone who loves great food and outstanding service. My personal favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was great! Food came quick and i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Waiter was great! Food came quick and it seems everything has picked up a notch since last summer..... Glad we came back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food and service. We were seated ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food and service. We were seated quickly and served expertly, even had dessert and made it to Music Circus in plenty of time. The meal was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice lunch visit to Lucca on the ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A very nice lunch visit to Lucca on the weekend before a show. Staff was very efficient so we had ample time, yet our service wasn't rushed. Food was good. Overall, my last couple dining experiences at Lucca have been very positive after some service hiccups over a year back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lucca's is my go to spot for pre-theater ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Lucca's is my go to spot for pre-theater dining in downtown Sacramento. The restaurant is a short walk to theaters, they have their own, convenient parking, give a pre-theater discount, and make sure that you get to the theater before curtain time. In addition the meals are great. That is a combination that can't be beat. Go Lucca's!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very good restaurant. Very good overall ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very good restaurant. Very good overall experience. We will be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our experience is usually very good. Ho ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our experience is usually very good. However, we were relegated to the back room this time. I don't know why there are tablecloths in the front room but when you go to the back we feel like step-children and eat off the wooden table which is not as appealing. Much different atmosphere.

Our waitress was not very good. We had to ask her for everything multiple times and were ignored when we tried to flag her down as she went by. We also did not get the 10% discount the is advertised in the Music Circus playbill despite the waitress asking us if we were going to the show.

This was our worst experience at Lucca's thus far but we'll be back as we usually have a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Very use to the theatre crowds... made o ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very use to the theatre crowds... made our timeline work... even though it was extremely busy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were excellent. I w ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food and service were excellent. I would not think of this as a steak place but New York was awesome, tender, tasty and perfect. The pepper appetizer was amazing. I reluctantly let my friend take the leftover peppers home. Wine list is week . I did talk to them about improving it and the manager seemed interested in doing this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was superb. Wait staff went out ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Service was superb. Wait staff went out of their way to insure we were happy. Special of the evening fish dish was great. Homemade sausage was outstanding. I'm still dreaming about the bread pudding. Price is reasonable .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We frequent Lucca's often because it is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We frequent Lucca's often because it is a consistently excellent experience. The food is top notch, creatively prepared and reasonably priced. The wait staff is superior as well.

We were a party of 4 and all of us were happy with our choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the second time this summer, I dined ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

For the second time this summer, I dined before Music Circus at Luccas. Food is excellent and able to valet car for $5.00 plus tip for entire night. Perfect pre theater dining experience. Love Lucca's restaurant !!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a window table and it was lovely as ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Had a window table and it was lovely as always, consistently good food. Salads were fresh, light, and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We brought a co-worker for his Birthday. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We brought a co-worker for his Birthday. They are always great with groups. Everyone enjoyed their lunches. Glen always does a wonderful job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took family to dinner for my daughter's ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Took family to dinner for my daughter's birthday. She turned 12 and invited a few friends to go (7 of us total). Appetizer's were good (shishito peppers were excellent) and entrees were big enough that a few girls shared and still couldn't eat everything. Service was very good and they comped my daughter's dessert. Cool place with fun decor and good food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't like anything about this restaur ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I don't like anything about this restaurant, the food is below average and pricy , the service was beyond terrible.. ..a random waitress came to us with a dish that was not ours to begin with (mussels) poured all that super hot butter on our table, walked away like nothing happened when told it was not ours (no apologies) did not even bother to wipe the table, walked to the next table and did the same ...dropped the plate and walked away...I am shocked!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We arrived at our scheduled reservation ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We arrived at our scheduled reservation time but no server was assigned to our table for 20 minutes. When we asked the hostess, the manager was so apologetic he sent over a free appetizer! From there everything was fantastic-- food, service, ambiance. We sat on the patio and it was lovely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was excellent. We we ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As usual, the food was excellent. We were party of 6 with reservations and were seated way in the back. When asked if we could be moved to in front of the fireplace, we were told all those tables were reserved. There were no "reserved" signs on the tables and we indicated that we had reservations. So? After being seated at the table in front of the fireplace, a comment was made as to we had better eat fast and be done within an hour. Nothing was said at the time, but should have been. Great way to get customers to return. Sorry, have no names.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Some time ago I planned a theatre day ou ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Some time ago I planned a theatre day out with two of my granddaughters and their moms. I wanted it to be a special day so planned lunch beforehand at Lucca. it had been several years since I had been there so I looked at it with "new" eyes.

Everything--from the warm welcome to the pleasant good-by--reminded me of how good this place is! The menu was extensive and the wine list by-the-glass satisfactory. My daughter had the gnocchi, which she declared excellent; she also loved the chop salad. My d-I-l loved the Chicken Saltimbocca--tender and juicy. The 10-year olds weren't chowing down on their shortribs. Understandable, as they had tried the zucchini chips and ordered (to share) Parmesan fries as a side for their ribs (which came with mashed potatoes.) My linguini, accompanied with large prawns, was served with a pleasant and creamy tomato sauce. Was most pleased to see 10% off our bill because we were headed to Music Circus! I will be back, hopefully for dinner with my hubby.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent, outdoor dining wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was excellent, outdoor dining was comfortable, and the food (salmon salad) was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and drinks every time!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food and drinks every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thoroughly enjoyed the delicious food fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the delicious food from the various choice's on their menu. Their service was most attentive. The selection of desserts was amazing especially the Key Lime pie! Plus it's located nearby the theater where we frequently attend shows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.