About Lucca Restaurant & Bar

1615 J St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
16th and J Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 669-5300

Website:
http://www.luccarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Ian Macbride

Private Party Facilities:
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Glenn Stewart: 9166695300

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucca Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Californian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Outdoor Dining
Sacramento
1 More
Californian
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

great for outdoor dining (93)
good for groups (92)
special occasion (89)
See All
fit for foodies (85)
neighborhood gem (67)
great for lunch (60)
romantic (55)
notable wine list (40)
vibrant bar scene (37)
hot spot (35)
great for brunch (18)
late-night find (15)
kid-friendly (11)
scenic view (5)
 (3)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

Dined 3 days ago

My friend and I dined at Lucca before we attended Motown -the musical. The food was fabulous, the waitress was great, making sure we were out in plenty of time to get to the theatre. Lucca has parking service for folks going to the theatre which was so convenient ! We will definitely be back to Lucca! What a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great

Dined 3 days ago

The best mussels we've had anywhere. Great service, great food ... what else could one ask for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner before the show

Dined on May 23, 2016

Have been to Lucca several times, always a good meal. Service is great, wine list good, food is terrific, gluten free menu. Stuffed Peppers to die for!! AND 10% off for attending a performance in Sacramento that evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I really wanted to love this restaurant....

Dined on May 23, 2016

...however, the food was just mediocre. The chicken breast was very tough and over cooked. My friend ordered the rib eye medium rare. It was served to her medium. The waitress graciously placed another order and it did arrive the second time perfectly cooked to her request. The service was gvery attentive. I do not mind paying a bit extra at a "nice" restaurant such as this one, but the food was just not that outstanding. I love the layout of the place but it gets very noisy. I live in midtown and feel there are so many choices for great dining that Lucca is just not worth another visit.

food4
ambience4
service4

The Chicken Picatta is always a sure thi ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The Chicken Picatta is always a sure thing. Delicious!! For dessert? The Carmelized Bananas with Salted Caramel and ice cream. To die for!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finding excellent service combined with ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Finding excellent service combined with fantastic food--including specially prepared meals to fit food allergies, is a rarity. Our server was incredibly kind and attentive, he offered his advice and made sure our meals aligned our dietary needs, even ordering off the "gluten free" menu at his suggestion so we were sure to have exactly what we wanted. My thanks to the chef as well for a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love Lucca!

Dined on May 15, 2016

One of my faves; been going here for over 8 years and highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I used to really love this restaurant, b ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

I used to really love this restaurant, but was disappointed with this visit. Both of our meals had to be sent back, and then when they arrived the quality was nothing to rave about. Perhaps a bit overpriced. Was surprised that even though someone came to apologize for the service we weren't offered a discount or dessert or anything... Probably won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wish that you were closer.. Lucky find o ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Wish that you were closer.. Lucky find online. From Marin so needed a place to celebrate Sac State year end for an exchange student. It was perfect. Awesome food - recommend the zuccini chips for starter. Everything was great. Service was exceptional. Go early to avoid the crowds.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

A Really Good Place for Downtown Visitors

Dined on May 9, 2016

I love the ambience here. It feels both old world and modern simultaneously. There is an upbeat feeling as soon as you walk in and both the indoor and outdoor seating are equally compelling. The food is good to very good. Great flavoring, but dangerously close to over-sauced. We had the Spicy Penne with shrimp and the Roasted Chicken Risotto. Both were delicious, but very heavy. The penne could have been better with half the sauce. We found ourselves scraping it off. The risotto was outstanding. I highly recommend it, but think about sharing it. The wine selection is not over-the-top. There is a nice selection to compliment just about any dish, taste and budget.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite Restaurant in Sacramento

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Sac. The service, food and ambiance is top class.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

MOTHERS DAY BRUNCH

Dined on May 8, 2016

The salmom salad was great, the turkey burger was grilled perfectly. The table,wasnt great that they put us at, kinda crowded. The service was interminably slow. Check in wasnt great..kinda stupid people running the checkin. However it was a happening place

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Novel breakfast offerings

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for a Mother's Day breakfast which was overall pleasant (minus young kids that make too much noise and parents only contribute to their bad behavior). We sat in corner booth in the back room, which I wouldn't recommend because it was like a back cave without windows. We ordered breakfast pizza, which was interesting, not quite a real crust, but had eggs in the middle which were good for dunking; and the smoked trout hash, executed well with fresh flavors. The decor was somewhat mediterranean, clean and up kept.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, atmosphere and staff!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was great ! Our waiter, Sammy was very attentive, friendly and professional. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent. Zucchini. Chip ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was excellent. Zucchini. Chips Snap Peas Rib Eye Chicken Saltimboca All delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were great.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food and service were great.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Well Drinks

Dined on May 1, 2016

All Ice. Not a good value. Drink the wine. The waitress recommended a great Cabernet.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Spanish Chorizo Pizzette was PHENOMINAL! ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Spanish Chorizo Pizzette was PHENOMINAL! Keep up the good work!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food and service

Dined on April 28, 2016

My friend and I dine at Lucca a few times a year. As always the service and the food are very good. When I'm not dinning with my friend I stop in at Lucca for happy hour from time to time. I love the happy hour menu and prices. Lucca is my favorite happy hour restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

As usual, great fresh food and good service. One of my favorite lunch spots.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Good service

Dined on April 24, 2016

The hostess was very accommodating as we were early for our reservation. She directed us to the bar where we were able to order our food and enjoy a nice visit together.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Read the Menu for ingredients

Dined on April 18, 2016

I would have given "food" 5 stars but I ordered chicken picante which was delicious, however it seems that all chef's think that spicing up their dishes is the "new normal". Many of us prefer the old favorites. Chile flakes in my pasta just took away from the dish in my opinion. Just a bit spicy for my pallet. I drank a lot of water! Next time I’ll make sure to read the menu thoroughly and request that anything hot or spicy be removed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside on a beautiful night.

Dined on April 17, 2016

We sat outside on a beautiful night and enjoyed the outside setting and looking at the beautiful old brick building. I was set to order a pasta dish when the waiter told us about the pork chop. It truly was the best pork chop I've had.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food - fantastic service

Dined on April 16, 2016

I was so impressed when the first greeting was, "what time do you need to be at the show?". We let them know we had to be at the Crest at 7:30 and they organized all around it. The waitress knew our schedule before we could even bring it up! We enjoyed some wonderful (non-alcoholic for us) cocktails, a delicious appetizer and two excellent entrées. The front room is very noisy, so we asked for something quieter. Got a nice table in the back room -- was very quiet at first but did get noisier as more people were seated there. We are interested in trying the patio next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and great service.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Perfect place for a dinner before the theater. Service was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always

Dined on April 13, 2016

I have eaten at Lucca many times and it never disappoints. Fresh ingredients, expertly prepared and served. We arrived promptly at our reservation time and the hostess seated us immediately. Our server was gracious and helpful; he asked immediately if we were attending theater that evening so he could help us pace our ordering and eating. The restaurant management must attract these sorts as I've always had outstanding service at this restaurant. I enjoyed the penne pasta with homemade sausage and my friend had the halibut. We each chose a wine by the glass and the options were diverse and excellent. We were both extremely pleased with the food and the wine. We then had ample time to walk the several blocks to the Community Center. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and the desserts was amazing.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Everything was perfect. Nice food and drinks. And the desserts was amazing.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Notch Amazing Food- Best of the Best

Dined on April 10, 2016

Our first time at this establishment and it won't be the last. The food is truly out of this world. Kudos to the chefs. My husband and I have not stopped talking about it From the appetizers to dessert. I highly recommend the flatbread for starters the patchwork salad , rib eye with blue cheese and the pistachio crust cheesecake. I'm a lover of cheesecake and this was by far the best I have experienced. Looking forward to our next date night which I know where it will be. See you soon PS I don't normally write reviews but had to make an exception in this case. Best advertising is by word of mouth from a very satisfied customer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had reservations for 7:30 on Friday, ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

We had reservations for 7:30 on Friday, April 8th but did not get seated until 7:55. While appreciate the comp appetizers, this was the second time this has happened to me. I don't think we'll be going back for a while.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great night out with friends.

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Looking for a fun, energetic and delectable restaurant. Luccas offers a great menu with something for everyone. I had the chicken piccata which was cooked to perfection. It was the right balance of herbs, garlic and spices. Our friends ordered spaghetti and meatballs. They devoured it. Great place before the theatre too. The wait staff are so friendly and make you feel important.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful staff

Dined on April 5, 2016

Very nice experience all around. Had the zucchini chips for appetizer and really enjoyed them. Yelp reviews said they tended to be too salty but that wasn't the case at all. Raves for the pork chop from my friend. I had the special rib steak and it was delicious, if a little tough. Some very nice wines on the wine list too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Go to Luccas and fill your food basket

Dined on March 27, 2016

Good service although it took a while for us to get a class of water. When the meal arrived, I quickly determined that the French fries were too salty (have high blood pressure). The waiter quickly took back the salty bunch and replaced with the no-salt variety. It was very good service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Fresh, delicious food with an emphasis o ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Fresh, delicious food with an emphasis on local ingredients.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on March 27, 2016

One of our favorite places! Great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All around good value

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

I was looking for some place to take my family for my 60th birthday, and wanted something with some good pasta etc. I had remembered Lucca from my Dad's 90th birthday party and we all had a good time and loved our food. Service was great, food was hot and good....thanks Lucca we shall be back! And...we come all the way from Auburn!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3

The Chicken Piccata was bland. The chick ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

The Chicken Piccata was bland. The chicken tasted like it was boiled instead of browned on both sides. The dish was heavy in olive oil with the faintest hint of lemon and caper. Poor balance of flavors. The decor was pleasant but the chairs were very uncomfortable and did not feel stable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great place to hook up with friends! It was a very friendly atmosphere, the service was excellent and the food was really good! Love the ambiance of this restaurant!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved our time at Lucca with its deli ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

We loved our time at Lucca with its delicious food and excellent service, but it wa s noisy.

food5
ambience3
service4

The pasta was very, very good. As was th ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

The pasta was very, very good. As was the roasted asparagus, but dessert was outstanding! Our waiter, Matt was great. Always helpful and fast but not hovering.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Happy Customers

Dined on March 17, 2016

Lucca staff went above and beyond to make our evening special and to accommodate our timing needs. Traffic getting downtown was horrendous. We called to let Lucca know, and they agreed to hold our table. Once there, the wait staff was instantly helpful. We had a very short window before we needed to leave for the theater. Lucca's staff made sure we were out the door in plenty of time. Unfortunately, that meant we weren't able to enjoy one of their fabulous desserts. So, we plan to allow 75 minutes to commute from Folsom next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.