Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Lucca Restaurant & Bar

Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.

1615 J St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
16th and J Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 669-5300

Website:
http://www.luccarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Ian Macbride

Private Party Facilities:
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Glenn Stewart: (916) 669-5300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucca Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (44)
Special Occasion (41)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Local Ingredients (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Casual (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Good for Groups (27)
Business Meals (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Romantic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Happy Hour (21)
Comfort Food (18)
Cozy (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Fun (17)
Healthy (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Seasonal (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Authentic (7)
Organic (7)
People Watching (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1000 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was great and our waitperson did the best they could. We went to dinner before a concert. We had a reservation and were seated outside. Not what I was expecting with a reservation. I took over 30 minutes to get a cocktail and over an hour to get our food. We ordered our food when we ordered drinks. We had to wolf our dinners down to get to the concert on time. The restaurant was not staffed to handle a pre-concert crowd.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Our party of four arrived at the restaurant on time for a 6:15 p.m. reservation. We were seated promptly in the "mirror room," which the least impressive part of the restaurant. Although we placed our order by 6:30, the food did not arrive until 7:55 - an hour and 25 minutes later! When we arrived we told our server we were attending an 8 p.m. concert nearby. Needless to say, we missed the beginning of the concert -- and were stressed as we watched the clock waiting for our food. The food was good, but not worth the wait. To its credit, the restaurant reduced our bill. The server told us the bill was reduced by 50%, but in fact it was reduced by only $50 (much less than 50% of our bill).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was great. They were incredibly busy because of a concert so I am glad I made reservations. The only thing negative was that I called in to have a candle in the dessert for my boyfriends birthday and that didn't happen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner before a concert date. Very busy but the service was very good and the swordfish was perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely delicious meal and service! I had the spinach salad and pan roasted salmon. So yummy I went back three nights later for the same salad and the pork chop. The grilled summer squash appetizer could have been dessert - it was perfection. Thanks Lucca. I can't wait for my next business trip to Sacramento!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

The staff was very accomodating. Richard was our first waiter. We were seated outside, it was a little cool and we requested a heater but there were no more available. Before we ordered, a table became available inside and the manager relocated us. Once inside, and a bit warmer, we enjoyed the genuine conversation with Jackie. When we were done with our meal, Richard stopped by to find out how our meal had turned out, which was fabulous for our 22nd wedding anniversary. We will make the jaunt again from Rocklin to Sac for Luccas.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

The place was really busy but that provided us with the opportunity to relax and have a longer dinner than we typically would. Our server was very accommodating and made sure we had plenty of bread while we waited for our food and also took the time to make sure we were happy with our wine selection. The food was great too - we were not too impressed with the fish special but everything else was really good. My mom had a great 70th birthday here and that made me very happy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Lucca's once again proved to be a pure delight for my date & our friends. Food is fabulous. Service as excellent. Great location, great food, great service......winner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The people that ordered hamburgers all swore they were the best hamburger they ever ate. Everyone was pleased with their food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. Chop salad was marvelous, as was the linguine with prawns. Limited but adequate wine list. All in all, a restaurant I would gladly return to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We had a business dinner for 8, however we were on the patio and it was very loud! Hard to have conversations or even hear the waiter. The food was awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Seasonal, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Mussels were good- roasted with salt! Server at the table was very pleasant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

I love Lucca's. I keep ordering off the "specials" menu and have NEVER been disappointed! The Brussell Sprouts & profiteroles are also amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

I was thoroughly impressed by the wide array of food options and knowledge of the staff. For the price, I’d say it was the best food I’d ever have. 10/10 would recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

It’s was pretty loud and the tables were very close to each other. Felt we were pretty much eating with the people next to us. Food was good but nothing too amazing except the tomato soup which was wow! Price was ok. Not really the place for a romantic dinner in which we were wanting.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 5, 2017

This is one of our favorite places, but tonight, well, not so much. Everything was slow--at least 25 minutes from placing our dinner order to being served--and the steak, when it arrived, was cool--as in not even warm. Our server was apologetic about being slow; she said that someone hadn't showed up for work. These things happen.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Go to fb Shelley Mathews Fair Oaks to see a photo of us with our server, Shawna

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The only thing that was unfortunate was that we shared your dinning experience with a large group of ladies celebrating a bride to be night out! Noise level was very uninviting -

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 29, 2017

FABULOUS evening! Our waitress, Shawna, was just delightful -- really top notch! We just adored her, and will ask for her again. Our out-of-town family really enjoyed themselves. Thank you for an all around lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 28, 2017

I usually love Lucca's but I ordered the special, New York steak, and it wasn't medium rare...it was medium. The service was great-- Sammy was our service. Valet parking is a plus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

We love this place. It was a little noisy but that was because we ate outside and the traffic was loud. This is a great place to go if going to the theater afterwards as it is within walking distance. The food is excellent and the staff is very friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Once again outstanding experience. Food and service was excellent. I had a surprise guest join us and staff was great in helping with the surprise and seating us at a quiet table. Thanks

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Authentic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. We sat outside which was delightful and the food and wine was wonderful.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

What a cute restaurant love the local meats and veggies the offer from their own farm. The cocktails are delicious as well as the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Enjoyed the food here greatly. Waitress was OK but not great. Sat in back room which lacks ambiance. Go for the food and try to get a table outside or int he front room. Don't go if you have to sit in back room.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Everything was wonderful. We went for my Mom's 60th birthday. Our waitress was accommodating, the patio was beautiful, so was the food, and everything was tasty. Great experience, would definitely come back again and recommend to friends.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Tapas, Romantic, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were ushered into what appeared to be the "oldies" room. Perhaps it was a bit quieter. The fries with truffle mayonnaise were very good. Watermelon and tomato salad was also very good. Duck confit was not very inspiring, seemed a bit ordinary. Wines have a large markup. Service was good if a bit over-familiar. Overall prices for food were reasonable leading to a good value judgment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We love Lucca....not a huge menu; but they know what they're doing....only the best and freshest ingredients on the menu.....I either have the pasta or the hamburger! Outstanding! Good drinks along with good appetizers.....we go often!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Spicy, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Took my boyfriend out on his birthday to celebrate. The service was mediocre and there wasn't anything great about the vale of the food. Our waitress did not cater us attentively and I thought a nice restaurant like this would do something for birthdays but that also wasn't the case. If you want to go to an OK dinner this is the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great place for dinner, very creative menu, friendly wait staff. The special sea bass, grilled pork chop, corn-lentil chowder and house chopped salad were very good. The pitcher of sangria was yummy and a good value. This was my first visit and I'll definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

As usual, dinner was great... our server, Estelle (??)was a bit light voiced and difficult to hear, but the food was delicious as expected. This has always been and will continue to be one of our favorite dining spots in town!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was our first time to Lucca Restaurant. My sister who was visiting from L.A. is convinced there are no decent meals to be had in Sacramento. I tried to prove her wrong, but was unable to do so with our meals. We ate the same thing. We liked the ambiance but were a little disappointed in the food. The Ciopino was just so so. We didn't like the mayonaisey stuff on the bread. I like my bread toasted with butter and garlic so I can dip it in the broth. My sister refused to eat it once she saw the cream on the bread. However, flavor of the broth was decent and the seafood seemed fresh. The spinach salad with watermelon and goat cheese was watery! The water diluted the flavor of the dressing so could not taste the balsamic dressing the server said was so delicious. I loved the toasted almonds though. The cheesecake was just a typical cheesecake. Kind of a let down as the description sounded so good.
Service was good. There was a bad smell coming from behind our table by the fountain. Not sure what was going on there.
All and all good value but not fantastic or memorable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent food with fantastic service from Angelo. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Lucca normally consistent. This time, food took forever (and they were not that crowded); and they were out of the daily sandwich special...AT 12:10! Minor issues, but I hope things are starting to slide given the increased down/mid town competition and new restaurants that are coming in. Lucca has always been reliable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Upon our arrival, members of the staff were very friendly and welcoming to our party. Our Server, Mike was especially helpful and patient while we all made our decisions and was able to make suggestions and make adjustments to the dishes, which pleased everyone.

The food was awesome in all respects. Our compliments to the Kitchen Staff.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Lucca never fails to deliver! We have been going there since they opened and have had so many memorable family dinners there through the years!! The risotto is out of this world and the desserts are lovely and delicious! Thank you!!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great food and service. We all cleaned our plates! We'll definitely be back to Lucca again and again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Love the salmon salad in the summer heat. They will put the fillet on the patchwork salad if you ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food and great service. Reservations were made and we were seated immediately. Love the valet service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.