About Lucca Restaurant & Bar

1615 J St
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Nestled between Midtown and Downtown Sacramento, Lucca Restaurant offers a California Mediterranean influenced menu that is reasonably priced, with a vast selection of fresh and delicious menu choices. We seek to highlight the abundance of locally grown meats and produce while graciously serving you in a classy, comfortable and inviting setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
16th and J Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 669-5300

Website:
http://www.luccarestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Ian Macbride

Private Party Facilities:
We have several private dining options for you to enjoy. Our Mirror Room is available for any occasion and comfortably seats 80+ guests. Long mirrors flank every wall with grace and elegance. For a lovely outdoor setting, our covered patio with waterfalls and a fireplace is also a dining option to consider for large parties or private parties up to 70 people. Our Starlight Patio is a lush private patio for smaller groups up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Glenn Stewart: (916) 669-5300

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lucca Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (37)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Casual (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Cozy (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Romantic (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Business Meals (22)
Authentic (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Seasonal (13)
Fun (13)
Fireplace (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
People Watching (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Family Style (7)
Vegan (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Organic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Historic (4)
Private Room (3)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
776 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great atmosphere, and great ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great atmosphere, and great service. Really hd a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, plenty of parking for th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, plenty of parking for the location.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal and service were excellent. Staff w ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Meal and service were excellent. Staff was extremely helpful.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, ALWAYS! Well managed rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great Service, ALWAYS! Well managed restaurant have always been accommodating for a party of 2 or 12! Great specials, locally grown produce and meats-the desserts are amazing! Always on the top of my list for places to eat or n Sacramento and feel confident recommending.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday! Lovely evening all around

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Birthday! Lovely evening all around

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No complaints except noise level & chair ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

No complaints except noise level & chairs are not that comfortable plus we were smashed in against the wall - our waiter was wonderful tho & food was good but a bit pricey for me.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We enjoyed the zucchini chips and my wif ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We enjoyed the zucchini chips and my wife's risotto was fantastic but my ribeye steak was less than desirable. It was a bit gritty for med rare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Lucca continues to impress. The menu is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Lucca continues to impress. The menu is creative and focused on farm-to-fork specialties that highlighted the chef's style and taste. It was even better than I recalled from many past visits. Wait staff was attentive and helpful with suggestions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lucca restaurant is a very good place to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Lucca restaurant is a very good place to go for large groups as well as intimate dining. The quality of the food is equal to the high level of service provided by the wait staff. I would dine here again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We are so happy to have chosen your rest ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We are so happy to have chosen your restaurant! A bit pricey but worth it all!!

Great staff and the outdoor ambience is fantastic!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this restaurant. Have never gotten ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Love this restaurant. Have never gotten a bad meal and the mussels are FANTASTIC!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lucca has a beautiful ambience indoors, ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Lucca has a beautiful ambience indoors, but I felt the outdoor patio area and the service were not on par with the price we paid for our meal. The servers were not attentive and needed to be reminded to refill our beverages multiple times. We were also seated in a corner of the outdoor seating that was almost crammed into the space - corner upfront. In the winter months, the outdoor patio is covered with a loose tent which allows some cold air in. It really would have been fine, as the cool air is balanced with the heating lamps, but our table was placed so closely to the other tables around us, we were not able to get in and out comfortably. Those in the tables around us also had some trouble getting in and out because of the way the tables were laid out. For the amount you are paying for the meal, seemingly little things like table layout make a world of difference. Customers should not have such trouble getting in and out of their seats. Losing one table would give the appropriate room for comfort. I understand the need to keep the restaurant filled, but really, a place as elegant as Lucca is seeming to be should be more concerned with aesthetic and comfort. The food was ok, though a bit salty. It was a disappointing experience as I'd heard such great things about Lucca. In my mind, this experience has left a soured impression of Lucca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

All of the food was delicious. I had the ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 6, 2017

All of the food was delicious. I had the arugula salad. So yummy. I don't serve arugula at home because my DH doesn't care for it. So I will eat it whenever possible when we dine out. Everything was very fresh. I had the crispy duck confit. A nice heat from the chorizo. Large portion of duck. The two others had the spaghetti and meatballs and the short ribs. All were very good. We shared the banana dessert which was different and delicious. We will return to Lucca hopefully very soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We love to eat at Lucca's anytime we are ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We love to eat at Lucca's anytime we are in the downtown area. The menu and friendly, conscientious staff makes it a wonderful place to eat. We prefer the quiet, cozy atmosphere over the other restaurants located in the same area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Engagement celebration

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Engagement celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We and our friends had a delicious meal ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We and our friends had a delicious meal and great service at this restaurant on New Year's Eve. We all loved it. :-)

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the seating to the service to the f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

From the seating to the service to the food, everything was perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and friendly service

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I was very impressed with this restauran ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I was very impressed with this restaurant. Our waiter was very patient and well-informed of the menu items and recommendations. The ambiance was very nice; elegant but not too posh. The bar is nicely set apart but also not too far. The food was delicious. We had 4 in our party with different dietary needs. I got to taste most of the food and it was all excellent. The only recommendation I would give to the restaurant is that the windows need to be cleaned. It looks like they haven't been cleaned for a long time. However, the ambiance and the food far outweigh this tiny pointer.

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food, service and ambience on ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful food, service and ambience on Christmas Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If I owned Lucca, I'd tell the chef to r ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 23, 2016

If I owned Lucca, I'd tell the chef to remove at least one ingredient per dish. But if you can look past the trendy (and hopefully short-lived) tricking-up of the recipes, you'll see otherwise skillfull cooking, super-fresh ingredients, and fabulous service. Highly skilled bartenders add to the overall experience. It can be a bit noisy, but at Lucca, it's always a happy sound.

Tracy, our server, remembered me from a visit several weeks ago! If a server's first job is to make you feel welcome and comfortable, then she succeeded! Other staff remembered my guests from visits more than a year ago. Wow!

Lucca is my new go-to place!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place! The service was so gr ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I love this place! The service was so great, I had been there 2 other times and service has always been quite good. This time I had such a wonderful experience. Our waiter Angelo was perfect from coming and introducing himself to going over to bar to let my friend know I was sitting already. Will definitely be going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and excellent recommendations ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food and excellent recommendations from our server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We go to Lucca frequently after theater. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We go to Lucca frequently after theater. On this occasion, icy cold night, we were placed out on patio with heaters that were fairly effective until they took down tables next to us for one group, opened the plastic shield to the outdoors and spent 10 minutes removing tables, setting up other tables. Half way through our meal, we were freezing and the activity and cleaning going on around us and immediately adjacent to our table was very unprofessional and inappropriate.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Happy hour only applied it you sat in th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Happy hour only applied it you sat in the bar, 15 feet further towards. That seemed lame! Table cloth or a place mat may have made it dressier. Ambiance definitely lacking.

Tags: , Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We went for my friends Birthday before ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We went for my friends Birthday before s consert downtown. Had a little problem finding my Open Table Reservation, but I had my phone & showed the reservation & then hit seated right away. Thank goodness I had my phone. The food was GREAT!😃

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

ALWAYS great food & service! Love the am ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 13, 2016

ALWAYS great food & service! Love the ambiance. and hospitality.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, People Watching, Organic, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After seeing Lucca on J street and drivi ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 11, 2016

After seeing Lucca on J street and driving past it many times I decided it might be a good place to check out for my wife's birthday. After reading an exhausting amount of reviews on Yelp and various other review sites I booked a reservation. I used Open Table and making a reservation was quick and easy. We arrived prior to our reservation time and had to wait a short time before being seated as they were quite busy and along with their regular diners they had a company Christmas party going on so the delay was understandable. Once we were seated the wait staff was very attentive and took care of us very well as far as I was concerned. We first ordered as an appetizer the Pizzetta, which came out quickly and it was great. I ordered the Gnoochi Borgolese and the wife ordered the chicken risotto. We were served in a reasonable amount of time and while I thought mine was great the wife said her rice was under cooked and a little crunchy. Overall I was happy with our experience and would go back again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was outstanding. Waiters knowled ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was outstanding. Waiters knowledge was excellent. Most of the food was very good. I had the chicken saltombocca. Potatoes where a little salty.wife had the gnocchi bolognese. She said it was very good. We had polenta and flat iron mussels that was fantastic.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, service was great. We lov ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was good, service was great. We loved the brussel sprouts, short ribs and the piccata the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Located within walking distance of the C ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Located within walking distance of the Crest -- we went before a show. Service was good, food was good, I liked the ambiance of the enclosed outdoor seating. It was plenty warm with the heaters going. I would definitely go back next time we're in the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I met my sister here for ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 5, 2016

My husband and I met my sister here for dinner. We had a wonderful time! The heated patio with fireplace and twinkle lights was charming. The service was great and the food was amazing! We will be back for sure! We loved it!

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Make sure that the hostess gives you the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Make sure that the hostess gives you the table you reserve. We had a reservation for a table of 6 and a table for 2. We called twice to confirm. When we arrived they had our reservations. However, they said that they needed the table for 2 and we would need to squeeze 8 people on the table for 6 or else wait for 30 minutes.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This was way too noisy and the food was ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This was way too noisy and the food was not that great either but what really got me was that the service wasn't good. The selection of food was not great at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

When one lives in Sacramento it is impor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

When one lives in Sacramento it is important to find solid dining choices as very little ever gets close to San Francisco if one is a foodie. However, Lucca's, like its sister restaurant Roxy are solid and reliable choices and so put it on your list for a nice Italian place downtown.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We dined early in order to attend a play ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We dined early in order to attend a play, so we nearly had Lucca's to ourselves. The service was excellent and the food, as usual, was outstanding. Don't miss the zucchini chips! We all had take home boxes so we enjoyed our meals twice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very fun, friendly and enjoyable meal. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A very fun, friendly and enjoyable meal. This was our second time and there will be more! Great menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We celebrated our 21st anniversary. Gre ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We celebrated our 21st anniversary. Great place to eat and the vegan menu was a plus! Will be going again soon!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Organic, Quiet Conversation, , Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised at the quality and ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Pleasantly surprised at the quality and quantity of food for the price. Very reasonably priced. They have a separate vegan menu available. Our server was outstanding. Had not been here for years but plan to go back and feel it's a better value than they offer at their sister restaurant (Roxy).

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great experience! Arranged a surprise b ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great experience! Arranged a surprise birthday dinner for my wife here, and it all worked out wonderfully! Great food, great staff, great atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Private Room, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.