About Luca Italian Cuisine Cleveland

2100 Superior Viaduct
Cleveland, OH 44113
View Larger Map

Luca serves the best Italian food in the city, great wine list and romantic European atmosphere. Located overlooking the river with the most spectacular views of Cleveland.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
W25th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 862-2761

Website:
http://www.lucacleveland.com/

Entertainment:
Rick and Sharona every Thursday night from 7:30 to 11:00.

Catering:
We will create a special menu to meet your needs.

We are also available for restaurant buy-out dinners for hosts who want to treat their guests to the finest modern Italian food in Cleveland's most attractive setting.

Parking Details:
Open parking and valet Thurs-Sat.

Executive Chef:
Luca Sema

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can cater special events, such as dinner under the tent at nearby Jacobs Pavilion.

Luca Italian Cuisine Cleveland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Italian
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
2 More
Scenic View
Cleveland
Italian
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in The Flats ›

Special Occasion (88)
Scenic View (81)
Fit for Foodies (68)
See All
Romantic (64)
Notable Wine List (44)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Hot Spot (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Waterfront (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Seasonal (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
499 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service were great. The ap ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food and service were great. The appetizers were excellent as were the portions.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view of Cleveland from Luca is outst ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The view of Cleveland from Luca is outstanding and exciting. The food was great and service was good. This is our go-to place mostly for special occasions because it is expensive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our delicious dining experien ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We enjoyed our delicious dining experience on Sunday evening. Our server, Rocky, couldn't have been more pleasant and attentive. Our meal was truly amazing. The pork chop was the "best thing I ever ate". The restaurant exudes warmth and beauty from the moment you enter and by far, it is the best restaurant in Cleveland.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Luca went above and beyond our expectati ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Luca went above and beyond our expectations! I took my fiance there to celebrate his birthday and they accommodated every request I had while making the reservation. The food was AMAZING, the view was unbeatable and our server was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable! I highly recommend Luca to anyone looking for some of the best Italian food I've ever had!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and spectacular view of the c ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food and spectacular view of the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated a birthday and really enjo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We celebrated a birthday and really enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced but good food. Service ok. De ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Overpriced but good food. Service ok. Decent view.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always a reliable choice for fine Italia ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always a reliable choice for fine Italian dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good Italian food and location. Th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very good Italian food and location. The view of Cleveland and the Flats

makes the meal more enjoyable. It can be a bit noisy at times and on

a Sunday, the service is a bit slower. However, the good Italian food

makes it a frequent place for our family.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great wine selection. A great location t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great wine selection. A great location to celebrate a birthday. Free dessert for the birthday boy and a complimentary photo for each couple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I have eaten in many restaurants in the ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I have eaten in many restaurants in the Cleveland area over 30 years and we were told by several friends that we had to try Luca's. I can only say that both myself and my wife and our guests that this is the best Italian restaurant if not the best restaurant over all in the Cleveland area. It is worth the drive downtown just above the flats Try it! You will be amazed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first dinner and will not be our las ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our first dinner and will not be our last! Amazing!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First and foremost the food was great! I ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

First and foremost the food was great! I am a big fan of Luca and used to speak very highly of it. However, this past dinner with 6 other people with me was by far the worst experience I have had in quite some time. The waitress we had was beyond rude. Everyone at the table noticed it immediately and carried on the whole night. You would think with a higher end restaurant and a large party eating at your restaurant that the wait staff would be kind and courteous. It reached the point where I finally had to say something to the waitress after asked me three straight times in a rude manner if I wanted another glass of wine, mean while I am trying to ask a question but kept getting cut off by her rude question. I had to respond "I heard you" to make this person listen for what the question was that I was asking. The entire dinner was ruined by this waitress, which is a shame because I took 6 people there from my work which happens to be one of the largest companies in Cleveland. I will not be recommending this to any of my colleagues.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Best dining experience ever. Our CEO too ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Best dining experience ever. Our CEO took the senior management team to dinner. We chose the courses and were blown away by the experience. Most people said they plan to return with their families.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Historic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great View, food to match Excellent f ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great View, food to match

Excellent food plus a great view of the Cuyahoga River bridges and downtown Cleveland skyline. Outdoor covered patio. Friendly, knowledgable server. What's not to like?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We loved everything but the service. We ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We loved everything but the service. We had to wait for drinks several times through the seating. We asked for simple things like more bread and grated cheese. Server was not as attentive as we would have thought. Owner was walking around checking on food quality (which was OUTSTANDING) but missed the lack of attentiveness by the server.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The branzino was disappointing. It was f ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The branzino was disappointing. It was fried & it should have been grilled

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Dinner was very good but I think they ha ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Dinner was very good but I think they had one server for the entire outdoor patio. The service was very slow. Also I asked our waiter if he could bring out a dessert for my daughters birthday and he said yes but he never brought a dessert out. He also never even asked if we wanted dessert. I was very disappointed since it was her birthday dinner. The server was friendly, just clearly he had way too many tables so our service was not good at all and it unfortunately ruined our experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

This restaurant was recommended to us by ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local as we had never been to Cleveland before. I also read reviews that mentioned the view and the romantic setting with great food and service. We found our visit to be everything we had hoped for and more. In fact it was more romantic than anticipated when the couple next to us got engaged right at their table!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food--especially enjoyed the s ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Very good food--especially enjoyed the soup. Wish they offered small plates/half portions as most entrees are large. Menu prices are high but it is a lovely spot with a wonderful view of Cleveland.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Luca is one of my favorite restaurants a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Luca is one of my favorite restaurants and have returned many times. The ambience and service is excellent! Always go home full! The one thing I do miss is there peanut butter chocolate dessert..

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal and fantastic view

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent meal and fantastic view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent service and food. I would high ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent service and food. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal in a decade - simply state ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The best meal in a decade - simply stated EVERYTHING was excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Yes, the view is wonderful, but it's the ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Yes, the view is wonderful, but it's the food that makes this an excellent restaurant. Yes, it's pricey, but it's worth every penny. I can personally vouch for the artichoke appetizer, the lobster risotto, and the tiramisu. The wine may not have been worth $100, but the huge markup on wine at this type of restaurant is to be expected.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner and service were great. Would re ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Dinner and service were great. Would recommend to others. View was nice. Portions were very generous.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been there a few times and absolute ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Have been there a few times and absolutely my fav in Cleveland! But this time , our service was so bad that we were sorely disappointed. Horrible arrogant bartender, and a waitress who rushed us through our meal.... It will take a while to go back...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Great dining spot, great service; all co ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great dining spot, great service; all coupled with a diverse menu is reason we keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten here about 4 times. Alway ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We have eaten here about 4 times. Always excellent and enjoyable. I would highly recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oustanding menu. Drinks a tad pricey bu ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Oustanding menu. Drinks a tad pricey but we loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best contemporary Italian in cleveland. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Best contemporary Italian in cleveland. A must to dine here. Spectacular views of the city. Extensive wine and cocktail list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening with out of town friends. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great evening with out of town friends. Food was excellent!!! Waitress seemed a little disinterested measured against our last visit where our server was a very personal and a superstar. We will be back again and again.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Live Music, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Our waitress was not friendly, did not m ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our waitress was not friendly, did not make us feel welcome at all. Our drinks took forever. She explained that the Bronzini which was the only fish we could order (besides the shrimp and scallops which we couldn't eat) would be deboned but couldn't guarantee that every bone would be removed.

4 of us ordered it. The first 3 were not edible without choking every bite. They admitted theat they were deboned quickly and it was not a good job. It was dangerous to eat and our throats were scratched for the entire night...The manager happened to ask us if we were pleased with the dinners and we told her we were not. Our waitress never asked and was not happy that we told the manager we did not like our dinners. She said, "I told you that they would not get all the bones!" She didn't say that ALL the bones would be left in the fish. The manager offered us new dinners and took the fish off the bill so she took ownership of the problem, the waitress did not.

It didn't ruin our evening but it did mar it. We all like the restaurant but this meal was a real problem. I would suggest not ordering the Bronzini. I was responsible for bringing 8 people to the restaurant and felt badly about the situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

Great dinner, but the air conditioning w ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great dinner, but the air conditioning was not working and it was very warm. I had the scallop special with sundried tomatoes, olives and pasta. I would definitely order it again. My husband ordered a Manhattan up, and it came in a regular highball glass. He asked for it in a martini glass and she returned with it properly chilled. He had a filet that was excellent. We shared the chocolate mousse for dessert and that was a disappointment. It was served in several chocolate shell cups and lacked richness. I recommend Luca for an enjoyable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The Sacchetti con Gorgonzola was one of ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Sacchetti con Gorgonzola was one of the best dishes I've ever tasted!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard about Luca multiple times a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had heard about Luca multiple times and were anxious to take out of town friends there for dinner on a Sunday evening. The setting is so interesting and the restaurant very pleasing inside. We had a 6 top round table in a corner which was just perfect for our group. The hostess was very pleasant and the view lovely. But then the waitress approached and immediately we felt like we were bothering her by being there and we had to initiate ordering wine and an appetizer. Two of our party were delayed but only by 15 minutes. She abruptly took our orders with the same scowl on her face and offered suggestions only when asked. The food arrived in a timely way and the pasta orders delicious but the other dishes were only OK. When it was time for us to get our bill the waitress more or less threw it on the center of the table and huffed off. Overall we found her demeanor unpleasant, abrupt, and unwelcoming. The food was not as good as we expected but I would definitely recommend the pasta over other options. Overall a disappointing meal considering our expectations and the restaurant's reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Would say one of the very best in Italia ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Would say one of the very best in Italian restaurants, we always love coming here. Food, service, staff is excellent, we will be back soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luca's has never disappointed my family ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Luca's has never disappointed my family and friends. The view is one of the best in the city. The atmosphere very romantic yet relaxed. You are surrounded by beautiful works of art. The food is wonderful, service top notch, the cocktails(I had the Paris mule) were delicious. This last visit was probably the best restaurant dining experience to date. We had family in from out of town. They said it was the best food they have EVER had! We will be back as often as possible.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our anniversary, we were sea ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We went for our anniversary, we were seated at a table in the middle of the room, but the manager quickly realized it was in a traffic pattern and told us to sit at the bar until we could get a better table. She even paid for our drinks at the bar! Food was amazing, service was impeccable and we even got a free tiramisu! Definitely going back and recommend it!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food! Great Service! We will be ba ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great Food! Great Service! We will be back again and again!!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.