About Low Country Kitchen

435 Lincoln Avenue
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
View Larger Map

From Southern hospitality to Southern comfort, Low evokes memories of a front porch swing and a squeaky screened door, from a warm gulf breeze to clean country air. Fine Southern cookin' created with the freshest of organic meats and produce, and the finest of seafood from the Atlantic and Gulf coasts. Prepare yourself for classic Southern dishes, thirst quenchin' beverages, and the most delicious desserts this side of the Mississippi River.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm - Close

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 761-2693

Website:
http://lowrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
There is a city bus stop in front of the restaurant entrance. During summer months the bus runs every 30 minutes and every 20 minutes in the winter.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Hoth

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Low Country Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (26)
Special Occasion (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Romantic (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (4)
Family Style (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
226 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good place to grab some Low Country styl ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 2 days ago

Good place to grab some Low Country style food. The restaurant is tight quarters when all tables are being utilized. The food for me was slightly better than average, I wouldn't say it was superior to anything else I have tried. Overall - its a good spot to grab a bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Went back with friends and Low did not d ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Went back with friends and Low did not disappoint Fun eating outside split some dishes including the excellent fried Will go back

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

I had the fried chicken, it was very goo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I had the fried chicken, it was very good. The problem I had was that it came with nothing, mashed potatoes were $5.75 additional, gravy was $5.25 extra, made no sense to me, I won't be going back due to the prices and noise.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

We are locals and eat here often. This ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We are locals and eat here often. This night was very crowded and as such meal took very long time. Waitress apologetic but not a problem...glad to see Low Country Kitchen doing well!

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was OK. But should be called Low Co ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was OK. But should be called Low Country High Prices.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food a bit out of the ordinary. V ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food a bit out of the ordinary. Very helpful service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Low Kitchen! We are from the s ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We love Low Kitchen! We are from the south so we feel right at home when we go. Love the chicken, collard greens, sweet potatoes, fried green tomatoes and biscuits/honey! Not to mention that everything we have had there has also been stellar. It is all good, every time.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is bomb. We have walked by a ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

This place is bomb. We have walked by a ton of times and it's always packed so when we heard that they expanded we went down and it didn't disappoint. I really hope they open a restaurant in Denver because I will be first in line. The Shrimp and Grits are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went to Low Country for the first in Aug ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went to Low Country for the first in August. We had a great experience. We were 2 couples. We had a drink at the bar, then moved to our table for dinner. We had 2 salads, 2 apps, and 2 entrees and shared them all. The fried chicken was delicious. The vegetable and grits was a great vegetarian option and delicious as well. We will certainly return.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a Friday night for my husband ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went on a Friday night for my husband's birthday. The service was very poor. Before we were event seated we waited 3-5 minutes before being greeted at the door. Once seated it was another 5 minutes before the server appeared. The server seemed very overwhelmed (it was semi-busy but not on a wait) and barely spoke to us. The food was OK and the cocktails were good. Every other place we ate in Steamboat was amazing. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Fried chicken and the beet salad were ex ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Fried chicken and the beet salad were excellent. The sides were ok. Three small biscuits for $7.50 a bit ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The fried chicken was amazing. Will defi ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The fried chicken was amazing. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Family Style, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am from out of town and always manage ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I am from out of town and always manage to eat here several times when I visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there 3 or 4 times now and this tim ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Been there 3 or 4 times now and this time the service was off and the hostess seemed confused when we showed up. Overall I would always go back because the food is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was fresh, unique and delicious ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was fresh, unique and delicious. We shared the fried green tomatoes, vegetable and grits, and the fried chicken. All three of our dishes were top notched. Often dining out is a disappointment and Low Country Kitchen was a delight! We've been there in the past and will continue to go there whenever we're in Steamboat Springs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really great meal. Best in Steamboat. K ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Really great meal. Best in Steamboat. Keep it up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only complaint was trucks that like ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The only complaint was trucks that like to blow exhaust all over as they accelerate from the stop light. Same jerks kept 'impressing' us ladies trying to enjoy our delectable cocktails and chicken biscuits.....and hush puppies, beet salad, and jambalaya, mmmmm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome shrimp and grits AGAIN! Had the ...

 
 (Springfield)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Awesome shrimp and grits AGAIN! Had the mussel appetizer this time and it was amazing. We were tempted to use our spoons to get every last drop of broth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This was a great dining experience, and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This was a great dining experience, and I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone. In fact, I'm going there again next week!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Southern food at altitude. Everyth ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great Southern food at altitude. Everything was cooked perfectly. Nice place but not stuffy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice dinner. A bit noisy sitting ou ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very nice dinner. A bit noisy sitting outside by the road. Shrimp & grits were excellent. Chicken biscuit was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The fried chicken and grits were amazing ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The fried chicken and grits were amazing! I would go back and get the same thing in a heartbeat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Low Country cuisine with a twist! Delic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Low Country cuisine with a twist! Delicious and fresh. Unique and tasty drink menu. We had wonderful service. The staff even played along with a joke one of our group played in the rest of us! Well worth the 205 mile drive! We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only negative is that the salads don ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The only negative is that the salads don't compare to the rest of the excellent food served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It seemed that the kitchen was slow and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

It seemed that the kitchen was slow and that backed everything else up. We had the mussels with andouille sausage, fried frog legs and 24 hour buttermilk fried chicken. The sausage really overpowered the mussels although the broth was delicious. The chicken, once we got it, was dry and overdone.

It's a beautiful restaurant but I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

I had a Raspberry Smash made with bourbo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I had a Raspberry Smash made with bourbon ~ refreshing & delicious! Fried green tomato appetizers were scrumptious, salads were crisp & innovative (sundried tomato, avocado & fried porkbelly) and the shrimp & grits were yummy! We shared beignets for dessert served with chocolate, lemon & vanilla (?) dipping sauces ~ they should sell these by the dozen! Clean, farm style table settings, fresh flowers & friendly staff. One of our favorite Steamboat restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

$25.00 for 5 pieces of fried chicken ala ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

$25.00 for 5 pieces of fried chicken ala cart is simply overpriced in a normal restaurant. $150 for 3 people is downright silly for southern cooking. Oh well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Great atmosphere, great food, great serv ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great atmosphere, great food, great service and LOVE the margaritas!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fathers day dinner for my husband ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great fathers day dinner for my husband and my father! Lovely place, nice servers, yummy food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Yummy!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Our server was terrific, with great recommendations for wine to pair with our meal. Fresh ingredience and wonderful pickled veggies!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy dining at Low Country when I am ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I enjoy dining at Low Country when I am visiting Steamboat, the food is delicious! Love the biscuits!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here at 6 on a Friday night. The ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went here at 6 on a Friday night. The food was really tasty- we were all pleased with our entrees with a few minor exceptions. The service started out really good- server was very nice and attentive and then when things got busy, the attention became less and less. I also think it was poor room setup as our server had tables on the other side of the restaurant and she probably couldn't keep a good eye on everything and they seemed to be training some people. The jambalaya was really good and so was the fried chicken. The breading was nice and crunchy. The shrimp and grits were delicious. The grits so creamy and that bacon gravy was divine. Would've recommended grilling the shrimp though. Desserts sounded delicious and we chose the beignets. They were a bit of a let down- except for the chocolate and lemon curd. The dough was really bland. Had better beignets elsewhere. Will definitely go back here though and try some other things that sounded really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Loved it!

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great southern food. Try the deviled eggs and the shrimp and grits. Both delicious!! My husband really enjoyed Low's citrus infused Manhattan cocktail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brian needs to take a closer look

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Nice place, very good food, a bit pricey, forgettable wine selection, newbie server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Best in Steamboat

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Finally Steamboat Springs get a restaurant that lives up to its price point. Service, quality and atmosphere worth the $$$. Love this place. Great Happy Hour, fantastic cocktails, and tasty low country food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Been to Low twice great food and amazing ambiance. Love the shrimp and grits and the ribs are to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Always consistent

Great food and great service

Owner works

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Low Country, Great Dinner

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

If it's southern comfort food you want, this is the place to go! The Shrimp & Grits, Grilled Veges & Grits, Chicken Biscuit Sliders & Fried Chicken with Mashed Potatoes are awesome. The ambiance is average, and it can be a little noisy, but the food makes up for those minor nice-to-haves. Definitely worth planning ahead and making reservations for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fried Chicken, biscuits, and sausage gra ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Fried Chicken, biscuits, and sausage gravy. I don't need to say anything more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was fantastic from the gumbo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Everything was fantastic from the gumbo to the grits and the ribs to the fried chicken. Don't pass up the chicken biscuit starter either. Our waitress Megan Howard was great too. Perfect spot for family and friends after a day on the slopes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.