About Low Country Kitchen

435 Lincoln Avenue
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
View Larger Map

From Southern hospitality to Southern comfort, Low evokes memories of a front porch swing and a squeaky screened door, from a warm gulf breeze to clean country air. Fine Southern cookin' created with the freshest of organic meats and produce, and the finest of seafood from the Atlantic and Gulf coasts. Prepare yourself for classic Southern dishes, thirst quenchin' beverages, and the most delicious desserts this side of the Mississippi River.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm - Close

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 761-2693

Website:
http://lowrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
There is a city bus stop in front of the restaurant entrance. During summer months the bus runs every 30 minutes and every 20 minutes in the winter.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Hoth

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Low Country Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (19)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Fun (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Family Style (5)
Authentic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Business Meals (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Romantic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our service was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Our service was outstanding and the food was truly delicious. The cornbread drizzled with honey makes an outstanding dessert!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great fried chicken, plenty of options f ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Great fried chicken, plenty of options for vegtarians, tasty cocktails and a very fun and friendly staff.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is better with the expans ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The atmosphere is better with the expansion but is still noisey. Service has not improved. The food is ok. It is southern comfort food a little overpriced but prepared well. There is no bread or rolls served with your meal. Some dishes are very good while others mediocre.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Everything we had was amazing. I shared ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Everything we had was amazing. I shared the fried chicken with my husband and we each got the butter lettuce salad. Amazing. My friend had the shrimp and grits, loved it. My friend's daughter had the steak, we were all fighting over it. Great happy hour options, a lot of nice selections to choose from. Good service. Yummy biscuits. Bonus, I got to use my $20 Open Table Gift Certificate I earned from all of our dining out adventures.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Casual, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Atmosphere, service, and food were all g ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Atmosphere, service, and food were all great. Definitely resort town prices...it's a treat for a most locals to eat there, but couldn't do it very often. The happy hour is a good deal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Could not rate the low country any highe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Could not rate the low country any higher. Great food, great service. Expensive but worth every penny. Loved it!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion, Family Style, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Low Country is a constantly good restaur ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Low Country is a constantly good restaurant. Southern style cooking in the Rocky Mts is not too common, but this is a very popular restaurant with Steamboat locals.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great, as usual. The service w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Food was great, as usual. The service was unexpectedly spotty, but OK for off-season.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The host staff and serving staff deliver ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The host staff and serving staff delivers excellent service. The menu is perfect for sharing and utilizes some locally sourced vegetables and cheeses. Delicious!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved this place so much we cancelled ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We loved this place so much we cancelled our reservation for another restaurant the next night to go return! Some of the best fried chicken and wings I have ever had. Desserts definitely left something to be desired, but hopefully they can work on that (had the pecan pie).

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always like taking my out-of-town guests ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Always like taking my out-of-town guests there for at least one meal while they're here. Those who have been back since Low first opened have made sure that we return to dine there again during their following visit.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow given that the seating ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Service was slow given that the seating was only about half full

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Buttermilk chicken sandwich was amazing

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Buttermilk chicken sandwich was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good place to grab some Low Country styl ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Good place to grab some Low Country style food. The restaurant is tight quarters when all tables are being utilized. The food for me was slightly better than average, I wouldn't say it was superior to anything else I have tried. Overall - its a good spot to grab a bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Went back with friends and Low did not d ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Went back with friends and Low did not disappoint Fun eating outside split some dishes including the excellent fried Will go back

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

I had the fried chicken, it was very goo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I had the fried chicken, it was very good. The problem I had was that it came with nothing, mashed potatoes were $5.75 additional, gravy was $5.25 extra, made no sense to me, I won't be going back due to the prices and noise.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

We are locals and eat here often. This ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We are locals and eat here often. This night was very crowded and as such meal took very long time. Waitress apologetic but not a problem...glad to see Low Country Kitchen doing well!

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was OK. But should be called Low Co ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was OK. But should be called Low Country High Prices.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food a bit out of the ordinary. V ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food a bit out of the ordinary. Very helpful service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Low Kitchen! We are from the s ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We love Low Kitchen! We are from the south so we feel right at home when we go. Love the chicken, collard greens, sweet potatoes, fried green tomatoes and biscuits/honey! Not to mention that everything we have had there has also been stellar. It is all good, every time.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is bomb. We have walked by a ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 29, 2016

This place is bomb. We have walked by a ton of times and it's always packed so when we heard that they expanded we went down and it didn't disappoint. I really hope they open a restaurant in Denver because I will be first in line. The Shrimp and Grits are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went to Low Country for the first in Aug ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went to Low Country for the first in August. We had a great experience. We were 2 couples. We had a drink at the bar, then moved to our table for dinner. We had 2 salads, 2 apps, and 2 entrees and shared them all. The fried chicken was delicious. The vegetable and grits was a great vegetarian option and delicious as well. We will certainly return.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a Friday night for my husband ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went on a Friday night for my husband's birthday. The service was very poor. Before we were event seated we waited 3-5 minutes before being greeted at the door. Once seated it was another 5 minutes before the server appeared. The server seemed very overwhelmed (it was semi-busy but not on a wait) and barely spoke to us. The food was OK and the cocktails were good. Every other place we ate in Steamboat was amazing. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Fried chicken and the beet salad were ex ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Fried chicken and the beet salad were excellent. The sides were ok. Three small biscuits for $7.50 a bit ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The fried chicken was amazing. Will defi ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The fried chicken was amazing. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Family Style, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am from out of town and always manage ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 17, 2016

I am from out of town and always manage to eat here several times when I visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best barbecue I have had in Colorado

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best barbecue I have had in Colorado

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been there 3 or 4 times now and this tim ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Been there 3 or 4 times now and this time the service was off and the hostess seemed confused when we showed up. Overall I would always go back because the food is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was fresh, unique and delicious ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was fresh, unique and delicious. We shared the fried green tomatoes, vegetable and grits, and the fried chicken. All three of our dishes were top notched. Often dining out is a disappointment and Low Country Kitchen was a delight! We've been there in the past and will continue to go there whenever we're in Steamboat Springs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really great meal. Best in Steamboat. K ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Really great meal. Best in Steamboat. Keep it up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only complaint was trucks that like ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The only complaint was trucks that like to blow exhaust all over as they accelerate from the stop light. Same jerks kept 'impressing' us ladies trying to enjoy our delectable cocktails and chicken biscuits.....and hush puppies, beet salad, and jambalaya, mmmmm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome shrimp and grits AGAIN! Had the ...

 
 (Springfield)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Awesome shrimp and grits AGAIN! Had the mussel appetizer this time and it was amazing. We were tempted to use our spoons to get every last drop of broth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This was a great dining experience, and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 1, 2016

This was a great dining experience, and I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone. In fact, I'm going there again next week!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Southern food at altitude. Everyth ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great Southern food at altitude. Everything was cooked perfectly. Nice place but not stuffy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice dinner. A bit noisy sitting ou ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very nice dinner. A bit noisy sitting outside by the road. Shrimp & grits were excellent. Chicken biscuit was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The fried chicken and grits were amazing ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The fried chicken and grits were amazing! I would go back and get the same thing in a heartbeat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Low Country cuisine with a twist! Delic ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Low Country cuisine with a twist! Delicious and fresh. Unique and tasty drink menu. We had wonderful service. The staff even played along with a joke one of our group played in the rest of us! Well worth the 205 mile drive! We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only negative is that the salads don ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The only negative is that the salads don't compare to the rest of the excellent food served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved this little gem in Steamboat! Ever ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Loved this little gem in Steamboat! Every bite and sip was delicious on our table of 4. It's a fresh and pretty restaurant and the service was wonderful. Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It seemed that the kitchen was slow and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 4, 2016

It seemed that the kitchen was slow and that backed everything else up. We had the mussels with andouille sausage, fried frog legs and 24 hour buttermilk fried chicken. The sausage really overpowered the mussels although the broth was delicious. The chicken, once we got it, was dry and overdone.

It's a beautiful restaurant but I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.