About Low Country Kitchen

435 Lincoln Avenue
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
View Larger Map

From Southern hospitality to Southern comfort, Low evokes memories of a front porch swing and a squeaky screened door, from a warm gulf breeze to clean country air. Fine Southern cookin' created with the freshest of organic meats and produce, and the finest of seafood from the Atlantic and Gulf coasts. Prepare yourself for classic Southern dishes, thirst quenchin' beverages, and the most delicious desserts this side of the Mississippi River.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 4:30pm - Close
Bar is open until at least 11pm nightly

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 761-2693

Website:
http://lowrestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
There is a city bus stop in front of the restaurant entrance. During summer months the bus runs every 30 minutes and every 20 minutes in the winter.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Hoth

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Low Country Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (25)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fun (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Family Style (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Romantic (2)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

fried chicken was amazing. Pecan pie ne ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

fried chicken was amazing.

Pecan pie needs a lot of work

Overall great meal

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Some of the best southern comfort food I ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Some of the best southern comfort food I have ever eaten. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come up toSB Springs from Evergreen C ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We come up toSB Springs from Evergreen Co & book to eat here at least once during our stay , our kids love the fried chicken & the shrimp & grits are superb.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Low several times and ha ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have been to Low several times and have always thought it was worth the price. We went when it first opened and to be honest that was our best meal there. It seems like it's changed a bit since it first opened. My husband was disappointed that they took the mussels of the menu. I had the catfish and we both agreed it tasted after a few bites, " a little muddy". I was hoping there would be a special or two, but the last few times I have been there, there aren't any specials offered. One last thing, I ordered a speciality drink for $14 which was the smallest drink I have ever seen. Although very tasty, very overpriced. I was a bit disappointed over all this time around. I still think I'll try it again but maybe just for happy hour. We are long time locals and have seen many restaurants go through their rough patches. Maybe that is what's going on with Low Country presently.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Low Country Kitchen is one of Steamboat ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Low Country Kitchen is one of Steamboat Springs best. My husband had the pork ribs and I had the jambalaya and both were terrific. Sophisticated creative dishes give southern cooking a good name. Service is great and atmosphere is charming, country casual.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice attempt at southern cooking' howeve ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Nice attempt at southern cooking' however, I dined with 2 men who live in the south and the food didn't quite measure up. One described the shrimp and grits as flavorless and the pot pie as just ok. The fried green tomatoes were small and bland, the gumbo thin and not nearly rich enough. For those not used to actual southern fare, it might be ok, but we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

WAY BETTER THAN GOOD! Read the reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

WAY BETTER THAN GOOD!

Read the reviews and expected to like it, though after we ate we LOVED Low Country. The fried chicken, okra and jambalaya was some of the best we ever had. Plus the peach habanero sauce was pretty special too. Amy, our server, was super friendly and very accommodating. Overall a great evening. We hope to be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and cocktails. Service was fa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food and cocktails. Service was fantastic. My only negative would be the grits weren't up to my high standards

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Love this place. Fried chicken and okra ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Love this place. Fried chicken and okra is the way to go!!!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and excellent service! Th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service! The mac-and-cheese, shrimp and grits, and BBQ lamb shoulder were insanely good, and our waitress Paige was so sweet. We couldn't have asked for a better New Year's Eve dinner. To top it off, we very much appreciate being able to buy the apple chili chutney!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The chicken was so dry, I could only eat ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The chicken was so dry, I could only eat a few pieces. Pretty dissapointing when you're paying that much money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We dined at Low Country Kitchen during o ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We dined at Low Country Kitchen during our ski trip to Steamboat. The ambiance was great! Very warm and inviting. Their happy hour menu was very good. The wings and pimiento cheese appetizer were delicious, we would go back just to eat those. My husband enjoyed the jambalaya. The shrimp and grits were good, but not the best I've had. Would definitely go again and certainly recommend to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely experience!!!! The servi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a lovely experience!!!! The service was excellent. Dinner was divine. Huge bonus is their bourbon collection. Lastly they were so accommodating! This is a new favorite for us in Steamboat, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome, friendly service in a modern, t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Awesome, friendly service in a modern, trendy space. Food was excellent. Fried chicken was wonderful, great salads, chicken biscuits, shrimp and grits, and even the homemade hot sauces. All excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always consistent and a crow ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food is always consistent and a crowd pleaser. I bring out of town family here all the time. We had made reservations a must during either season, they were busy. Our server was good but kept apologizing when things weren't fast.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The space is tight so it wouldn't be gre ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

The space is tight so it wouldn't be great for really big groups. Service was very good, and the food came out in a nice orderly fashion. Tight place. We had the biscuits (bland), okra (very good), mashed potatoes (good), and the 5 piece fried chicken (very good).

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great low country food. Musts include t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great low country food. Musts include the chicken biscuits, fried green tomatoes, deviled eggs and shrimp & grits. Great bar too with creative cocktails.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Low Country was a great find in Steamboa ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Low Country was a great find in Steamboat. Authentic Southern style cooking complete with okra and biscuits! The food was excellent, but there were a few odd things: wines by the glass were served in a juice glass. But they were very nice about it when I had for a stemmed glass. Even thought the waitress had to get the manager to get a glass out of her office. Also, the other odd thing is that mashed potatoes and gravy are separate sides and about $5 each - that's $5 for mashed potatoes, and $5 for gravy. But the food was awesome and well worth a visit to this Southern style restaurant in Steamboat.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful wonderful food. Staff should c ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Wonderful wonderful food. Staff should cut the fake southern accents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We had an early reservation, and they ha ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had an early reservation, and they had lots of great happy hour specials, too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go here every time we visit steamboat ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We go here every time we visit steamboat. The food and cocktails are incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Our service was outstanding and the food was truly delicious. The cornbread drizzled with honey makes an outstanding dessert!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great fried chicken, plenty of options f ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great fried chicken, plenty of options for vegtarians, tasty cocktails and a very fun and friendly staff.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is better with the expans ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The atmosphere is better with the expansion but is still noisey. Service has not improved. The food is ok. It is southern comfort food a little overpriced but prepared well. There is no bread or rolls served with your meal. Some dishes are very good while others mediocre.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Everything we had was amazing. I shared ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Everything we had was amazing. I shared the fried chicken with my husband and we each got the butter lettuce salad. Amazing. My friend had the shrimp and grits, loved it. My friend's daughter had the steak, we were all fighting over it. Great happy hour options, a lot of nice selections to choose from. Good service. Yummy biscuits. Bonus, I got to use my $20 Open Table Gift Certificate I earned from all of our dining out adventures.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Casual, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Atmosphere, service, and food were all g ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Atmosphere, service, and food were all great. Definitely resort town prices...it's a treat for a most locals to eat there, but couldn't do it very often. The happy hour is a good deal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Could not rate the low country any highe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Could not rate the low country any higher. Great food, great service. Expensive but worth every penny. Loved it!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion, Family Style, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Low Country is a constantly good restaur ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Low Country is a constantly good restaurant. Southern style cooking in the Rocky Mts is not too common, but this is a very popular restaurant with Steamboat locals.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great, as usual. The service w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Food was great, as usual. The service was unexpectedly spotty, but OK for off-season.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

A little on the pricy side, but the food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

A little on the pricy side, but the food was very very good. Fun environment and friendly staff. Would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The host staff and serving staff deliver ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The host staff and serving staff delivers excellent service. The menu is perfect for sharing and utilizes some locally sourced vegetables and cheeses. Delicious!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved this place so much we cancelled ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We loved this place so much we cancelled our reservation for another restaurant the next night to go return! Some of the best fried chicken and wings I have ever had. Desserts definitely left something to be desired, but hopefully they can work on that (had the pecan pie).

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always like taking my out-of-town guests ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Always like taking my out-of-town guests there for at least one meal while they're here. Those who have been back since Low first opened have made sure that we return to dine there again during their following visit.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow given that the seating ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Service was slow given that the seating was only about half full

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Buttermilk chicken sandwich was amazing

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Buttermilk chicken sandwich was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good place to grab some Low Country styl ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Good place to grab some Low Country style food. The restaurant is tight quarters when all tables are being utilized. The food for me was slightly better than average, I wouldn't say it was superior to anything else I have tried. Overall - its a good spot to grab a bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Went back with friends and Low did not d ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Went back with friends and Low did not disappoint Fun eating outside split some dishes including the excellent fried Will go back

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

I had the fried chicken, it was very goo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I had the fried chicken, it was very good. The problem I had was that it came with nothing, mashed potatoes were $5.75 additional, gravy was $5.25 extra, made no sense to me, I won't be going back due to the prices and noise.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

We are locals and eat here often. This ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We are locals and eat here often. This night was very crowded and as such meal took very long time. Waitress apologetic but not a problem...glad to see Low Country Kitchen doing well!

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was OK. But should be called Low Co ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was OK. But should be called Low Country High Prices.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.