About Loulay

600 Union St
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Loulay Kitchen and Bar is a new restaurant from Thierry Rautureau. Loulay is an urban, contemporary French restaurant and will feature local, seasonal fare with the influence of his upbringing in "Saint-Hilaire de Loulay." The accessible & multi-leveled dining room will offer the guests a variety of dining experiences offered throughout the day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 8:00am-2:00pm

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm - Sunday 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 402-4588

Website:
http://www.loulay-seattle.com/

Catering:
Please contact - (206) 402-4588 - andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the Sheraton and street parking

Public Transit:
49, 11, 10, 43, 47, Sound Transit - Link Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Thierry Rautureau

Private Party Facilities:
The private mezzanine is available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and accommodates up to 30 guests for a seated event and 40 guests for a standing reception-style affair.

Evening buyouts are also available.

To book a party please email Andrea at andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Private Party Contact:
Desiree Gionet: (206) 402-4588

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Executive Assistant/Private Party Coordinator Desiree Gionet - (206) 402-4588 - desiree@thechefinthehat.com

Loulay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (65)
Good for a Date (61)
Special Occasion (56)
See All
Creative Cuisine (55)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Pre/post Theatre (47)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Business Meals (36)
Romantic (32)
Authentic (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Great for Brunch (26)
Local Ingredients (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Open Kitchen (19)
Modern Decor (17)
People Watching (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Casual (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Cozy (13)
Seasonal (9)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Healthy (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Family Style (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Private Room (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pork chop and smore's dessert were fabul ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 18 hours ago

Pork chop and smore's dessert were fabulously delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great burger nice ambiance for good pri ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Great burger nice ambiance for good price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Brunch. We had the Huckleberr ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent Brunch. We had the Huckleberry Crepe that was delish! The Eggs Benedict was very different as the Chef used pork shoulder instead of Canadian bacon and a harissa hollandaise - just amazing! And of course we ended it all with an order of Beignets, sweet! Service outstanding as usual - this will be my new place to have brunch when friends come to visit Seattle - love Loulay!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great as always but a very ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was great as always but a very noisy booth next to us that got far too much attention and flattery from the Chef in the Hat took away from our experience. Thankfully our servers were sympathetic and tried to make it right.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A comfortable, enjoyable space for a fin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

A comfortable, enjoyable space for a fine meal!

The menu is an eclectic French/Northwest style with seasonal local sourcing and imaginative preparation. Loulay is perfect for a special occasion but it is neither so formal nor expensive to be only for those times. Great for a nice dinner on a week night as well as for the big date or anniversary. Never disappoints!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent business meal. The food was ex ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent business meal. The food was excellent, as was the service. This restaurant was recommended by a friend and lived up to the hype. Great job.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The bouillabaisse was disappointing. The ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

The bouillabaisse was disappointing. They took cod and clams into a tomato broth and that's all. This is not bouillabaisse. Creme brûlé was great. The donuts not

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It was great. A bit pricey but maybe we ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

It was great. A bit pricey but maybe we ate a lot. We got the cod, rissoto, 2 sodas, and french fries. About $110 final cost. Food was excellent. Loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Decent food and nice staff, wines are ve ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Decent food and nice staff, wines are very good, place is a bit crowded and noisy for a quiet conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very lovely place to go on a date

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Very lovely place to go on a date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Took my wife here for Valentine's Day di ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Took my wife here for Valentine's Day dinner. We arrived 10 minutes early and were seated right away, which was nice. However, we were seated in the middle of many other close date tables and only a couple tables from the loud, open kitchen. It was difficult to have conversation over the noise and we felt very visible to everyone around us. We requested a table which was less 'public' and they said they would see but that they were busy with reservations. Throughout the night we saw one booth behind us which was open the entire time and two more booths that free'd up for a decent amount of time over the course of the dinner.

We had the tasting menu for $85 each and if you pick the right options you can get a good amount of food out of it but still on the pricier end. All of the food selections that I made were very good: beet/walnut salad, duck breast, braised short rib, & fruit sherbert. Good wine pours.

Biggest positive: food

Biggest negative: tables too close to each other, too loud, didn't move us when they could have

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Went on Valentine's Day with prefix menu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Went on Valentine's Day with prefix menu. Food was delicious. Waiter and chef were very nice. Food delivery was slow and there werec severs table mix upd

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We visited on Valentines day for their f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

We visited on Valentines day for their four course tasting menu and loved every minute of it from the lovely reception, great service and really enjoyed Thierry (chef in the hat) coming by and saying hi to the tables. Four a four course meal, the servings were generous both in size and in contents. I started with a crab salad, duck in cherry sauce, braised short ribs over potatoes and finished with a chocolate mouse trio. The wine was outstanding and the cabernet paired well with the short ribs. My husband had the bourbon-heavy Revolver cocktail and loved it. thumbs up all around.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, service and atmosphere, except the conversation from a nearby table carried perfectly into our booth (both her cell phone calls and conversation with dining companion), which was annoying. Possibly an acoustic reflection off the ceiling?

Except for that, everything was excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful food and service what more can ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful food and service what more can you ask for.. !!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food especially vegetarian options ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food especially vegetarian options. Good service and fast . I was there two days in a row and loved it both times

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vastly overpriced for everything. Food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Vastly overpriced for everything. Food was mediocre, portions were small, service was average and ambiance was unimpressive. I would not return and would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We took my mother-in-law here for her 87 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We took my mother-in-law here for her 87th birthday. The food was excellent, as was the waitstaff!

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was lovely! I will definitely be back ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was lovely! I will definitely be back. Check it out and experience a well thought menu with a delightfully fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The bar tender was fantastic, the chef ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The bar tender was fantastic, the chef magnanimous, he bought our drinks and dinner was fantastic

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Owner/Chef Thierry surprised us and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Owner/Chef Thierry surprised us and appeared at our table to check on our dinner... very nice experience overall... definitely make this a place you put on your "great restaurant list"... Thank You Loulay Staff!!

Tags: People Watching, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked this to go out with a few new f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I booked this to go out with a few new friends from western Europe and we had a fantastic dinner. The wine was great, good choices of entrée and serving size, and the desserts were incredible. I'll be back...

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a real find. The service was i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was a real find. The service was incredible as was the food. The sommelier took great care of us as well. I am so happy this is the restaurant we chose for a fancy dinner. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great meal and great service. I live in downtown Seattle so I'm familiar with the choices in the area. There is a clear reason this place won Seattle Met's Restaurant of the Year a couple of years ago.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small portions even for European Standar ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Small portions even for European Standards. Pretentious. Food was disappointing. Waiters were very nice and attentive. Location is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I am taking each of my new direct report ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I am taking each of my new direct reports to lunch to talk about their concerns, goals, and any issues they feel exist in our workplace. Most of them are professional cooks, and I've invited them to choose where they want to go. The lead cook chose Loulay. We were both delighted with our meals and kept catching ourselves making "Mmmmm" noises through the entire meal.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keep hoping this will be better. Meh fo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Keep hoping this will be better. Meh food, rather sloppy attention on the part of wait staff, and food overpriced for what you get. And boy do they rely on salt. Cannot understand the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Seattle. They are extremely hospitable, the service is great and the food great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fourth time at Loulay. I am batting 75%. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Fourth time at Loulay. I am batting 75%. First two visits were awesome. This last visit was as well. Server was friendly, attentive, yet not overbearing. Food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was glorious, the service spect ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was glorious, the service spectacular. We went for an office birthday\going away\welcome party and had a wonderful time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our recent visit to Loulay was so so. We ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our recent visit to Loulay was so so. We waited to be seated, waited to be greeted at our table for 10 minutes. Soup was warm, not hot, portion size of ling cod was small as was the polenta, which is an inexpensive ingredient. Wine was pricey. Yep, not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

We were looking for a spot pre-musical a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were looking for a spot pre-musical at the Paramount. This as a great location and not too far to walk. We always enjoyed Rovers in the past and wanted to see what Loulay's was like. WE were not disappointed. I had heard it was crowded and noisy. We were on the 3rd balcony and found it to be perfect. The ambiance was intimate, yet fun. The food was delicious. Service was excellent and we had a great wine pairing. We would come back here.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love French food. I have eaten upstair ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I love French food. I have eaten upstairs and met the big man himself and have had a fantastic experience. But for a Thursday night dinner this past week, I feel like it lost some attention to detail. The toilettes used to have candles and lovely French-smelling soaps and it felt like you were having an experience. There are staff there that are keeping the dream alive - I wish I had gotten his name, but he had longer hair and was dressed smartly and was so attentive - but when we got our server he kind of disappeared and we had to ask for him which - I get it, sometimes stuff happens and you're short a few folks or folks are being trained or someone's having a personal crisis - but I feel like there has been a loss of something that it used to have which was a sexy vibe. I think it's hard to be next to a Sheraton and be set apart. Somehow something happened and it felt like the service has taken a hit. On top of it my biz associate who I had referred Loulay to had met someone in the bar who said that the service was terrible. I think people are very judgy and I don't like to be judgy BUT when you're paying the prices you're paying at Loulay - you kinda gotta expect some magic. The magic was a bit missing.. unfortunately. What I will say, is that I WILL go back for day drinking at brunch and then shopping because the location is PERFECT for making bad decisions after drinking their amazing cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Our first visit while going to nearby AC ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our first visit while going to nearby ACT Theater. Good location for the theater. Very good service and nice to see a Patricia Green Pinot Noir. Interesting menu but very mediocre execution. Crab beignets were overwhelmed by too long in the deep fryer and greasy tasting. No crab flavor. Seared polenta was very firm and the wild mushrooms were greasy as well. Candied walnut and arugula salad was okay; French onion soup mediocre as well. After the award in 2014, perhaps things have slipped downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We have been here many times and have fo ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have been here many times and have found the food and service to be excellent. I was disappointed during this visit that my food was served lukewarm. I let them know and it was replaced immediately. I will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first anniversary dinner, a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our first anniversary dinner, and they met us at the table with an on-the-house glass of bubbles. They gave us a wonderful experience, through and through. We will come back again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met very good friends here for dinner ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We met very good friends here for dinner. From the start the evening was just perfect! The food was terrific and the wine selection from the US and Europe is very good. This restaurant just has a great feel about it. A visit to your table by the "Chef in the Hat" is a delight when it happens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely meal. Chef greeted us at our tabl ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Lovely meal. Chef greeted us at our table and is charming.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loulay is reliably good. The food is ex ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Loulay is reliably good. The food is excellent. Two of us opted for the Dungeness Crab risotto which was delicious. I love being able to count on excellent food and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It's a perfect place to eat before theat ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It's a perfect place to eat before theater at the ACT, Paramount and 5th Avenue. Service was excellent and my onion soup was outstanding. The bouillabaisse was good but chintzy not to serve bread with it and charge extra for two small slices for a $30 entrée.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to Loulay for a pretheater dinne ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We went to Loulay for a pretheater dinner. The restaurant is lovely and the noise level is great for having conversation. Nice selection of wine and by the glass. Food was good/not outstanding. Menu appears seasonal....I had the trout based on waiter's recommendation. Trout was lovely, but the brussel sprouts and almonds had a bit too much butter. I usually love anything in brown butter, but this was overwhelming. It was served over puréed butternut squash which was lovely, but sparse. We ordered the beignets for dessert....they tasted "stale" almost...also a bit on the greasy side. Overall the service was awesome and they were very attentive and focused on getting us in and out to make the show without feeling rushed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.