About Loulay

Loulay Kitchen and Bar is a new restaurant from Thierry Rautureau. Loulay is an urban, contemporary French restaurant and will feature local, seasonal fare with the influence of his upbringing in "Saint-Hilaire de Loulay." The accessible & multi-leveled dining room will offer the guests a variety of dining experiences offered throughout the day.

600 Union St
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 8:00am-2:00pm

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm - Sunday 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 402-4588

Website:
http://www.loulay-seattle.com/

Catering:
Please contact - (206) 402-4588 - andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the Sheraton and street parking

Public Transit:
49, 11, 10, 43, 47, Sound Transit - Link Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Thierry Rautureau

Private Party Facilities:
The private mezzanine is available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and accommodates up to 30 guests for a seated event and 40 guests for a standing reception-style affair.

Evening buyouts are also available.

To book a party please email Andrea at andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Private Party Contact:
Desiree Gionet: (206) 402-4588

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Executive Assistant/Private Party Coordinator Desiree Gionet - (206) 402-4588 - desiree@thechefinthehat.com

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Loulay will be offering solely a 4 course dining experience on this very special evening. Cost will be $85.00 per guest. Additional wine pairings with each course will be available as well. Please join us!

Loulay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (63)
Special Occasion (55)
Creative Cuisine (53)
See All
Good for a Date (53)
Pre/post Theatre (43)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Romantic (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Business Meals (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Authentic (24)
Great for Brunch (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Modern Decor (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Worth the Drive (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Cozy (14)
Fun (14)
Casual (13)
People Watching (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Seasonal (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Healthy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Family Style (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place to go any time if day

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place to go any time if day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love Loulay! Our request to Seat ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Always love Loulay! Our request to Seat us when we arrived 30 minutes early was cheerfully met. Food as always was creative, and very flavorful. The menu changes all the time, so we never tire of exploring. Service was great and it wasn't too noisy that night.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the perfect place for a rainy e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

This was the perfect place for a rainy evening dinner after a full day of meetings. The mussels were divine, as was the arugula salad. My colleague had the trout and he said it was the best he has had in years. Will definitely go back and leave room for dessert.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A top pick when I am in Seattle.

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

A top pick when I am in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular lunch as always, in a casual ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Spectacular lunch as always, in a casually elegant setting perfectly suited to catching up with friends. The service was as attentive as usual, and the cassoulet main dish was a delight. But special kudos for the s'mores-inspired dessert!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Loulay now several times. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I have been to Loulay now several times. Each time it has been fantastic. Yesterday a friend and I went for lunch and we both had the short rib entree. It was outstanding. When I had taken about 5 bites, I kicked myself because I would have wanted to take a picture of my meal before I took the first bite: it was such a beautiful plate! Lusciously silky mashed potatoes with the short rib on top covered with a rich brown gravy along with a few carrots, mushrooms, pearl onions and some unknown vegetable that was deep fried and served as strips on top of the whole meal -- they were delicious, possibly deep fried turnip? I would order this one again in a heartbeat. Absolutely fabulous. The service was impeccable as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff was very attentive and he ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The wait staff was very attentive and helped with food suggestions which my 10 year old granddaughter enjoyed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent! Highly recommend the duck con ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent! Highly recommend the duck confit sliders!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delightful little French resto with subl ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Delightful little French resto with sublime foie gras.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food in a warm atmosphere wher ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent food in a warm atmosphere where the service is excellent but unobtrusive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Great experience.

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great food. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, we had an excellent dinner at ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 9, 2017

As always, we had an excellent dinner at Loulay. The amuse bouchée was delightful and inventive. The sommelier made a recommendation that delighted us - and it was a wine we would never have ordered without his good description. Food was delightful and dessert just the right size. We return as often as possible.

Tags: , Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loulay is our favorite venue for pre-sym ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Loulay is our favorite venue for pre-symphony lunch or dinner

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch before matinee theater. Wait sta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Brunch before matinee theater. Wait staff was incredible. Bartender was very welcoming and friendly. Got my "grande" bloody mary. Asked a wine question and got a little taste, which was not what i was hinting at.

Overall, a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came in late, at 9:30pm on a Saturda ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We came in late, at 9:30pm on a Saturday night. The place had some occupied tables but most looked as they are done and about to leave. Food was very good, onion soup was amazing and the flat iron steak was very well cooked. Service was attentive and everyone was very nice and welcoming. By the end of our meal we were the last ones in the restaurant , which was a bit disappointment but we did arrive at a late hour. We will be back, but for earlier dinner next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Fantastic service! The trout was incredi ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic service! The trout was incredible. It was probably the best I've had with it's great preparation removing the bones, but keeping it whole and crisping the skin. Hands down, the French onion soup was the best I've ever consumed. It was not too salty, great amount of cheese, and very shareable with a date.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My girlfriends and I needed a really lig ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My girlfriends and I needed a really light quick meal before a show, and Loulay worked out fine, although the menu of small plates / appetizers is somewhat limited. They wanted to take us to an upstairs table (no elevator) but one member of our group was somewhat disabled and unable to climb the stairs. The host seemed a bit snippy when he said we should have made a specific request for a downstairs table - but with this being my first visit, I didn't know there was an upstairs (with no elevator), AND when I booked the reservation via OpenTable there was no option to request a downstairs table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was great . I had a very tasty ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was great . I had a very tasty hamburger, and the variety on the menu seemed very good, though perhaps a little light on vegetarian options. The service was attentive but unobstrusive and the restaurant seemed small enough and well staffed enough that I could always see a member of our wait staff and easily get their attention. It was quiet enough to permit easy conversation at a table for 6. And it was warm but not overly so.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, seafood and Loire wines!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great service, seafood and Loire wines!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Alan was amazing. Great sugge ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our server Alan was amazing. Great suggestions. He even made us a unique Pink Lemonade.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

most excellent, service, food, people an ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

most excellent, service, food, people and the cooks

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the NW Salmon and it was delicious! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had the NW Salmon and it was delicious! The owner/chef in the hat was very nice to greet us at our table and thank us for coming. My date and I had theater tickets so we could not stay as long as we wanted to but the atmosphere is so cozy and charming that it is hard to leave. Love the design of the restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Never disappointed in coming to Loulay f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Never disappointed in coming to Loulay for lunch. The French Onion Soup is the best in the city and my daughter and I love coming here! Keep it up!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good tastes fantastic. You can tell ther ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good tastes fantastic. You can tell there is talent in the kitchen.

The service was impeccable, professional with a smile. What a great place. Try it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great restaurant. Amazing service. Love ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great restaurant. Amazing service. Loved all the food especially the French onion soup, risotto, ... I could list everything we ate! If you can't go to Paris, go to Loulay!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced , mediocre well located resta ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Overpriced , mediocre well located restaurant. The bright light of this meal fiasco was the wait person was excellent.This place is only sucessful for location and that is what you are payiong for in our estimation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Simply the best location for a special w ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Simply the best location for a special working lunch. In and out in an hour, delicious food (we had the soup, chicken & polenta) and terrific service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were impeccable. T ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food and service were impeccable. The dessert was masterful. The trout stole the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an annual treat for us at Christ ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is an annual treat for us at Christmas. Its downtown and festive. On this occassion we dined with friends who had never eaten at Loulay. We came with a sensational selection of wines not usually found on a restaurants list. Food was good to outstanding. The cote de bœuf was exceptional, a real standout. Service was attentive and sommelier gracious with our wines. It was a celebtation of many things made better by our treatment at the restsurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went before the theater and had a fan ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went before the theater and had a fantastic meal, the service was excellent, and we just made reservations again to bring several friends. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to any of my foodie friends!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely place for annual holiday lunch s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Lovely place for annual holiday lunch sat us at special table 70 which is private yet overlooks the beautiful decor - mirror balls and the grand mirror. Excellent friendly service and waiter took our picture. Love this place

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food, great service, a real tre ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Terrific food, great service, a real treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent flavors--mostly. We shared a f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent flavors--mostly. We shared a few small plates instead of one main, and enjoyed the experience. Highlights were the Muscovy duck and the seared foie gras, both of which are best enjoyed when combining all the elements on the plate into a single bite. The crab beignets were disappointing and a bit bland. The smoked faro salad was a delightful beginning: the smokiness of the grain combined very well with the peppery arugula and radishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

It was lovely and a nice change from the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was lovely and a nice change from the typical "Steak House" business thank you meal. everyone had a great first experience with a few new items on the menu as well. Smells and details are well thought out. No need to speak French but it does make a difference if you can get clarity from the staff on the menu specifics. Will come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A birthday treat. Lunch at Loulays for m ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 20, 2016

A birthday treat. Lunch at Loulays for my birthday with a friend. Balcony table allowed for comfortable conversation while we enjoyed delicious beef burguignon and crab risotto. Our server had wonderful suggestions and overheard it was my birthday so the dessert arrived with a candle and a chocolate drizzled "Happy Birthday." A perfect way to turn 68!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, , Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find! The staff went out o ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

What a great find! The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and enjoy a casual dinner after attending the 5th Avenue. We couldn't decide between so many yummy dishes that the three of us ended up ordering several items and sharing them between us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the burger which was pretty good, ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had the burger which was pretty good, though bun did bit seem.fresh. Service was inattentive at best. Asked for cup of coffee when we sat down, itvwaa filled part way, then not asked about refill until plates cleared almost an hot later. Wasn't very good either. Our waiter was working hard, but never stopped by after our order until the bill. Probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Loulay always has great service, food an ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Loulay always has great service, food and ambiance. I have recommended the restaurant to many friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our waiter was the disappointment. overb ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

our waiter was the disappointment. overbearing, speaks before listening - which resulted in our drink order being wrong. Surprised as service is usually so impeccable here. we will consider this an anomaly for this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The food is amazing and the service impe ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food is amazing and the service impeccable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.