Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Loulay

Loulay Kitchen and Bar is a new restaurant from Thierry Rautureau. Loulay is an urban, contemporary French restaurant and will feature local, seasonal fare with the influence of his upbringing in "Saint-Hilaire de Loulay." The accessible & multi-leveled dining room will offer the guests a variety of dining experiences offered throughout the day.

600 Union St
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 8:00am-2:00pm

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm - Sunday 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 402-4588

Website:
http://www.loulay-seattle.com/

Catering:
Please contact - (206) 402-4588 - andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the Sheraton and street parking

Public Transit:
49, 11, 10, 43, 47, Sound Transit - Link Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Thierry Rautureau

Private Party Facilities:
The private mezzanine is available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and accommodates up to 30 guests for a seated event and 40 guests for a standing reception-style affair.

Evening buyouts are also available.

To book a party please email Andrea at andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Private Party Contact:
Desiree Gionet: (206) 402-4588

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Executive Assistant/Private Party Coordinator Desiree Gionet - (206) 402-4588 - desiree@thechefinthehat.com

Loulay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Creative Cuisine (50)
See All
Good for a Date (48)
Pre/post Theatre (43)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Business Meals (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Authentic (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Cozy (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Seasonal (15)
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Casual (9)
People Watching (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

We come back regularly after discovering this at the last minute to host our wedding rehearsal. Phenomenal cocktails, a lovely menu of simple foods prepared uniquely and memorably, and excellent wine selections and recommendations from our server, Julie. Thanks again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Lou Lay always pleases. Scores 100 on food, service, atmosphere, location. Perfect spot to bring out of town friends or for returning again and again with locals. Restful and relaxing spot for lunch while shopping downtown or for some French glamour before a show in the evening.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

I always love this restaurant! Beautiful and delicious modernized French cuisine

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Food
Great Service
Very comfortable
Easy access
Good for Seniors
and for kids
Very very attentive staff

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Memorable, excellent food, service and ambience for a birthday dinner. A splurge but we thought it was well worth it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I had had lunch at Loulay in the past and it was always excellent. This was my first dinner there.

It was absolutely excellent. The food was very creatively prepared - traditional but with something extra flavorwise for each item. Even the butter for the bread was special.

The service was also excellent and, all in all it was a special dining experience for my granddaughter heading off to college.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 13, 2017

It was my first time at Loulay. I was taking a business partner to lunch as a thank you. It was great. Lovely setting, flawless service and excellent food. Well done, Loulay!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had brunch on Saturday and it was quite good. Grits were a special treat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food was OK and the service was really good. However a bit expensive for what the food was. This restaurant could benefit from a wider menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Loulay is one of our favorite restaurants. Their food is always perfectly prepared. We shared a peach salad - what a wonderful dish! I followed that with the seared scallops, C had the pork chop - both were perfect!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The food was excellent, portions adequate for a French restaurant. Only complaint is the prices are high for the style of restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I was visiting Seattle and happened on Loulay by chance. I made sure I went back again, every dish and taste is like a little party in your mouth. Creative dishes popping with flavor. Amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wonderful service with helpful suggestions from waitstaff was much appreciated. Food well prepared and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 2, 2017

After meeting a friend years ago for brunch at Loulay, we've wanted to try their dinner menu. We finally had the chance recently and it was well worth the wait! The host and server were not only professional, but warm, attentive, and knowledgeable.

We both had local wines. I'm not a big wine person, so I suffered through some sulfite allergies, but I enjoyed the taste of my Oregon pinot noir. I ordered the pork chop entrée and my partner had the New York steak. Both dishes had rich, delectable sauces. I also had French Onion soup as an appetizer, probably the best I've ever had thanks to the cheese used on top. We also both had the peanut butter s'more dessert which used meringue as the marshmallow, peanut butter crumble cookies, peanut butter ice cream, and a hard chocolate shell.

Being there on a Friday night to wait out the rush hour traffic, I anticipated the restaurant would be packed, but there was only a medium-sized crowd. Still, that may have contributed to the great attention paid to our questions and needs. A great place for a special dinner!

Tags: Business Meals, Vegan, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Outstanding food and service. It is always a joy to have lunch with clients here.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The food was excellent and beautifully presented, however extremely small helpings and quite pricey. Nouvelle cuisine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Pricey for breakfast, but pretty atmosphere. I liked having the coffee pot on the table and appreciated the live lilies in the bathroom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful French menu, creative selections. Delicious food and great service. Very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Outstanding meal, wine and service. This was a wonderful atmosphere, love that we could have a conversation without yelling.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

During a week-long vacation in Seattle and the Olympic Peninsula, our dinner at Loulay was probably the stand-out among some pretty satisfactory dining experiences. I ordered the risotto with Dungeness crab. It was outstanding, although if I wanted to quibble, I thought another ounce or two of crab wouldn't have broken the bank. Located in the Sheraton on 6th and a block or two away from what is probably the main downtown restaurant scene, this is definitely worth the extra effort to find it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

excellent and friendly service. the burgers were AMAZING! (thats main reason we visited)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 21, 2017

I enjoy the food and atmosphere of the restaurant very much. I am, however, still concerned about things flying off the tables from upstairs down to the lower level tables. I find myself avoiding tables right below the upper level because I've seen people get hit in the head with utensils that were dropped from above. I saw that you intsalled "catcher"s on each table upstairs, but I would like to see you put more protection to close the gaps between the legs of the fence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Perfection ! Every course was superb. The service was wonderful, especially our server. This will likely be our go to special occasion spot going forward. That means Loulay will replace Canlis as the go to spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Alas, my 2nd visit not so enjoyable. Long wait for orders, server brought incorrect order and had to go back for the correct one. Food was ordinary, not special as I relished on my first visit. Also saw the "chef in the hat" stop and chat with diners at nearby table, but he did not stop to chat with us. Felt a little slighted about this.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Popular, trendy, and great food. Noisy and loud all-around with cooks shouting out orders, and commanding runners! Pick up your food. Other than that food is oustanding, however, we leave disappointed everytime at how poor and S L O W the service can be. For walking in at 730p and then ordering salad and steak, we were served at 9pm our entree. If you've got all evening - great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Had just a few hours with a visiting friend, and Loulay was perfect for lunch. Wonderful food, unobtrusive service, lively but not too loud to have a thoughtful conversation. The burger I had was luscious--"burger" is much too modest a name for this juicy, savory beef.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent and diverse menu. The four of us ordered different starters and entrees and all were very good. Service was prompt and friendly

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Probably the best restaurant I have been too in more than a few years.

Food was fabulous and the presentation was outstanding. I will be taking all my friends there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Very nice service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Second time to Loulay, however first time was drinks at bar with an appetizer. Lunch was delicious, great flavors and just right portions so not too full going back to office.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent wine. Awesome staff! A fun spot for dinner or late night dessert and drinks.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Spicy, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food was excellent; make that superb. Well-prepared, tasty and extremely rewarding. I would've given the restaurant a five star if the service and the hostess were more attentive. We ate the bar and the bartenders were not experienced in serving a dinner menu at the bar. We had to ask for things like bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

The ling cod was exceptional! Great service, quiet enough for conversation, great nonalcoholic cocktails for lunch on a work day, really fantastic food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Had the chicken harissa salad. Delicious, but SO SMALL! Still hungry afterwards so we had dessert. Still hungry, so went out a couple hours later and had a second lunch. Honestly, do people actually eat like that??? I eat in plenty of overpriced Seattle restaurants but I'm not usually starving afterwards.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

This restaurant is great for almost any occasion. The food is outstanding and the service is just as good. Not too pricey and I highly recommend you give it a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 30, 2017

What can I say about Loulay this time? I must have reviewed them four or five times already! On Saturday, the service was particularly impeccable. The server was fast and responsive at the right times, and let us linger when that was called for. It never gets jammed here (good for us, bad for whoever ends up in some neutral zone), so they let you sit and talk with your friends and you don't feel a lot of pressure to free the table. The food was good, as always. You can't go wrong picking from the menu. It's all reasonably priced and well made. My crêpe was a little heavy on the cream, but very good. The French breakfast was a favorite with two people at the table. The shrimp and grits looked like a huge portion, but our friend got through it because it was delicious. That dish smelled amazing. The espresso was good and flavorful, a little bit on the watery side, but at least not the coffee bean-flavored foam fleck that you get in a lot of our superlatively smug coffee shops. So there! I'm sure I'll manage next time, too, to give Loulay a fine review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Service was terrific, and the menu was delightful. We loved that we could see everything on one page -- our server was knowledgable and helpful with suggestions and information. The menu offerings were diverse and everything looked great -- we had a tough time making decisions! that means we will be back to sample more things!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Organic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Best French cuisine in Seattle. The scrambled eggs and foie gras are a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 29, 2017

All the appetizers and entrees were well prepared and at the perfect level of doneness. Wait staff were accomplished, informed and courteous. However we had indicated needing to be complete for a show and our entrees took far too long to arrive, and required a reminder to staff. The restaurant did discount the bill for the inconvenience. But the wait, the clang of the busy open kitchen near us, music playing, and conversations in the lively space did not make for a pleasant dining and conversation experience. I would rather cook at home.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.