About Loulay

600 Union St
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Loulay Kitchen and Bar is a new restaurant from Thierry Rautureau. Loulay is an urban, contemporary French restaurant and will feature local, seasonal fare with the influence of his upbringing in "Saint-Hilaire de Loulay." The accessible & multi-leveled dining room will offer the guests a variety of dining experiences offered throughout the day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 8:00am-2:00pm

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm - Sunday 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 402-4588

Website:
http://www.loulay-seattle.com/

Catering:
Please contact - (206) 402-4588 - andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the Sheraton and street parking

Public Transit:
49, 11, 10, 43, 47, Sound Transit - Link Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Thierry Rautureau

Private Party Facilities:
The private mezzanine is available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and accommodates up to 30 guests for a seated event and 40 guests for a standing reception-style affair.

Evening buyouts are also available.

To book a party please email Andrea at andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Private Party Contact:
Desiree Gionet: 2064024588x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Executive Assistant/Private Party Coordinator Desiree Gionet - (206) 402-4588 - desiree@thechefinthehat.com

Restaurant Photos

Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay

Loulay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (132)
Special Occasion (102)
Notable Wine List (69)
See All
Romantic (63)
Great for Lunch (50)
Great for Brunch (43)
Good for Groups (27)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Hot Spot (26)
Good for a Date (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Business Meals (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Casual (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loulay has a variety of excellent food a ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 3 days ago

Loulay has a variety of excellent food at decent prices and is convenient to downtown theaters. We enjoy selecting from the various small and large plate options on the menu.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time for date night! Loved t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had a great time for date night! Loved the charcuterie plate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my birthday here with an outs ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated my birthday here with an outstanding meal. The trout was fantastic. Great service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

booth is very nice and quiet everything ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

booth is very nice and quiet

everything was great

good place to visit with friends over good food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another wonderful meal at Loulay. This i ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Another wonderful meal at Loulay. This is one of my favorite places in Seattle, the farmers lunch is simple, but delicious and one of my favorite lunch time meals.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is noting special about this resta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

There is noting special about this restaurant. It's located downtown and I feel as thought it caters more to tourists than locals. The only stand out dish was the foie gras. Everything else was mediocre or overlooked (pork chop). There are much better options with the same distance as Loulay. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The meal and service were fantastic! It' ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The meal and service were fantastic! It's a beautiful restaurant and wonderful place for a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a good, but not outstanding lunch. P ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Had a good, but not outstanding lunch. Previous meals there (a dinner and a lunch) were

outstanding. The lunch special was a prawn risotto and house salad - salad was better than the main.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding Brunch! Service was great an ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding Brunch! Service was great and the food was so delicious. Every single meal that was ordered was perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loulay consistently has excellent food a ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Loulay consistently has excellent food and attentive, careful service. The menu is set up (roughly) by portion size, small, medium and large. One dish from any two categories is enough for the average person. The menu is balanced nicely between meat, seafood and vegetables. Duck and scallops were excellent the night we visited; ditto desserts.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Absolutely outstanding! I've driven by ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Absolutely outstanding! I've driven by Loulay for years. Thought about going in but it was off my normal route. I've totally been missing out. My BLT was the stuff of legend. I swear. Incredible. I'm going back next week for dinner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place was a tad noisy but the food w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The place was a tad noisy but the food was really good. The French onion soup was rich and cheesy as it should be. The lobster risotto was also rich but delicious nice level of lemon to go with the lobster and the rice was cooked al dente.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Took a while to get checked in at our ta ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Took a while to get checked in at our table as there was no host at the time. But other than that, everything was absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The location is very nice They managed ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The location is very nice

They managed to bring the wrong starter (but thankfully they billed the one they brought) - which tasted ok;

2 scallops for 22$?

And after reading the rave reviews about the service, which we didn't have - we couldn't help but be disappointed...

Older (>+_50) audience

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We were seated at a lovely table by the ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We were seated at a lovely table by the windows.

Caprese salad was delicious but with limited mozzerella.

Seared Scallop second course was likewise delicious but contained two sea scallops for $22.

Grilled King Salmon was intensely fishy to taste and was served luke warm for $38.

Steak Frite was brought to our table barely warm, intensely chewy and without tenderness. The side salad had numerous pieces of old, brown lettuce.

Wine list was impressive and weighted toward the high end and moderately high end price range. To my recollection there were remarkably few choices (perhaps 3 or 4) for red wine under $40.

Atmosphere and service was good. After we registered our feedback to our server, we were given about a $30 discount on our bill.

Conclusions: uneven food preparations, overpriced and not a good value for money spent.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I was stood-up, and the staff took excel ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I was stood-up, and the staff took excellent care of me. The food was really good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Our server, Brian, was outstanding, with ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our server, Brian, was outstanding, with very detailed explanations of everything. This is our second time and it was even better then the first. For the special occasion of eating out with our family (missing one daughter) it was perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal at Loulay on a Sunday n ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Outstanding meal at Loulay on a Sunday night. Wonderful food and a beautiful room. Would have been a 5 star rating if the server had been more engaged and attentive. But food so good we will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent service and delicious brunch f ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent service and delicious brunch fare! Very nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loulay is one of the best restaurants in ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Loulay is one of the best restaurants in Seattle. We always think of it first when we have something to celebrate or an out-of-town visitor to impress. The beignets are one of the best desserts I've ever had!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The french onion soup is very good. The ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The french onion soup is very good. The restaurant was not crowded.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A friend invited 3 of us for lunch at Lo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

A friend invited 3 of us for lunch at Loulay, the resturant is very nice, new and comfortable. The menu was amazing we had a hard time deciding so we ordered 5 dishes, the Beef Burger, Crab Risotto, the Kale Salad, Farmer's Lunch and the BTL, all were excellent. There were more dishes I wanted to try so I returned two more times that week with more friends. We ordered the Duck Confit Salad, NW Seafood Stew, Crab Risotto and the Beighnets for dessert. The next day we ordered the Mushroom Salad, the Lunch Special Tuna and Salad. The service was very attentive and friendly. It is now my favorite downtown eatery and could eat there everyday.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! The staff is incredibly p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Amazing food! The staff is incredibly pleasant, friendly and accommodating!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Organic, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is very good, but they have to ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is very good, but they have to do something to eliminate the smell of fried oil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Interesting menu with very French touche ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Interesting menu with very French touches. Nice atmosphere. Convenient location to most venues downtown.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great restaurant in downtown Seattle. A ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great restaurant in downtown Seattle. Attractive contemporary environment.

My wife and I enjoyed the Candied Walnut & Arugula salad, Mussels and the Pork Chop. Everything was excellent. The Pork Chop at first glance appeared to be too thick to be tender and good. Not the case. You could cut it with one slice of the knife with a great taste to match. It was very good. My wife asked our server, Julie, if she could find out how the pork chop was prepared. Julie came back with a detailed description of the process to my wife's delight. She was also a very good server.

Scott Smith really knows his wines as well.

In summary, it was a wonderful evening dinner!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 2 year old daughter was fussy, crying ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My 2 year old daughter was fussy, crying and a waiter spoke disparagingly of my family with a group that the waiter was serving. I informed the waiter that I overheard him and he appeared embarrassed but he did not apologize. The restaurant was not child friendly, not helpful. For example, staff standing at the door did not even offer to hold the door or help when we were struggling with the stroller and the door. My wife and I found the staff aloof, insensitive. Also, there didn't seem to be any ethnic diversity amongst the restaurant staff employees. To pose it in the vernacular "what's up with that?"

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The burgers an mussels were both very go ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The burgers an mussels were both very good!! I was pleased with most things- except the service. Our waiter forgot things (drinks, condiments, etc) multiple times and then would avoid us when we would try to make eye contact. I do recommend the food and wine though :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

A really excellent French restaurant. W ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A really excellent French restaurant. Was wonderful service -- ask for John -- and delicious food. Also, delightful romantic atmosphere. Very highly recommend for dinner and brunch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were pleasantly surprised and would g ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised and would go back again in a heartbeat. First, I asked for a quiet table in the reservation - and we were shown to a table on the upper mezzanine that was nicely quiet because of the lower ceiling and distance from the noisier, lower scene. Second, our server was terrific - very friendly but professional at the same time - though he did let us wait a bit too long to order dessert. But the food ... oo-la-la. The scallops were great - can't stop thinking about them. Several of us started with the crab beignets and were so happy with that choice. Other favorites were the mussels, steak frites, risotto, pork chop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I found the food to be mediocre and unde ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I found the food to be mediocre and under seasoned and bland. The only good selection was the appetizer scallops. My bouilliabasse was bland. Little tomato taste or seasoning. Little flavor to seafood. My friend had the halibut and said very dry with little taste . Dessert was a mix up but torte I ended up with tasted like a chocolate mousse with a lot of gelatin added . Peanut butter one had little flavor of peanut butter. For price and hassle with traffic I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

This has become the favorite place for m ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This has become the favorite place for my friends and I to meet. The food is uniformly good, as is the service. Our favorite dishes from the summer menu are the dungeness crab risotto and the seared scallops with gnocchi.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed a birthday dinner and the foie g ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Enjoyed a birthday dinner and the foie gras on the menu. Was excited to learn there was a chef's counter hoping we could watch and perhaps interact with the kitchen staff as we very often do at 13 Coins at SeaTac. This was disappointing as there was no good line of sight. The counter was elevated in front of us and piled with stacks of dishes. We had to peek around the serving ware to try to see what they were cooking. The chefs made no attempt to interact with us in any way though we tried to ask occasional questions about what they were doing. I would say skip the counter and go for a more comfortable booth

The waitstaff was very pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food in an intimate yet engaging a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food in an intimate yet engaging atmosphere - professional service. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Loulay on our wedding anniver ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went to Loulay on our wedding anniversary, mostly because we really like Chef Thierry Rautureau's restaurant Luc in Madison Valley. Loulay is a little more formal, a beautiful room. We had several dishes, topped off with a chocolate desert on which they had written in chocolate "Happy Anniversary!"

They will pour their wines by the glass either 3 oz. or 6 oz. at a time, which makes it easy to taste a few that look good. A good mix of Columbia Valley/Walla Walla, California and French labels.

The total bill was not cheap, but actually a little less than we had anticipated. Decent value. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

4th or 5th time at Loulay, and another e ...

 
 (Surrey)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

4th or 5th time at Loulay, and another excellent experience. Lovely food presentation, and portion sizes ideal (except the "second" risotto which is too small for a second or the cost. Otherwise all very good indeed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loulay has really stepped up their midwe ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Loulay has really stepped up their midweek lunch game. The menu is varied and eclectic with very reasonable prices for the portion size. Service was friendly and efficient - we didn't feel rushed or bothered at all yet we were still in and out in under an hour. The seared scallops were perfect, as was the risotto. We'll be back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The burgers were too greasy, you had to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The burgers were too greasy, you had to eat them with a fork and knife. The taste was excellent however, and the red wine on tap is recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had brunch today. The burger with foie g ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had brunch today. The burger with foie gras and duck egg, was amazing. Also ordered the quiche, which did not disappoint. Service was impeccable, Marco in the bar area was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Really took care of my Gluten, Soy and D ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Really took care of my Gluten, Soy and Dairy sensitivity concerns. Made me feel safe to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.