About Loulay

600 Union St
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Loulay Kitchen and Bar is a new restaurant from Thierry Rautureau. Loulay is an urban, contemporary French restaurant and will feature local, seasonal fare with the influence of his upbringing in "Saint-Hilaire de Loulay." The accessible & multi-leveled dining room will offer the guests a variety of dining experiences offered throughout the day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 8:00am-2:00pm

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm - Sunday 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 402-4588

Website:
http://www.loulay-seattle.com/

Catering:
Please contact - (206) 402-4588 - andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the Sheraton and street parking

Public Transit:
49, 11, 10, 43, 47, Sound Transit - Link Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Thierry Rautureau

Private Party Facilities:
The private mezzanine is available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and accommodates up to 30 guests for a seated event and 40 guests for a standing reception-style affair.

Evening buyouts are also available.

To book a party please email Andrea at andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Private Party Contact:
Desiree Gionet: 2064024588x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Executive Assistant/Private Party Coordinator Desiree Gionet - (206) 402-4588 - desiree@thechefinthehat.com

Restaurant Photos

Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA
Loulay, Seattle, WA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us for a delectable 4-course tasting menu highlighting the best of the Pacific Northwest. Dungeness crab, salmon, mushrooms, apples, pears and more! Accompanying wines available with each course.
$95/person

Loulay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (71)
Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Creative Cuisine (39)
Notable Wine List (39)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Romantic (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Local Ingredients (28)
Modern Decor (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Business Meals (25)
Authentic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Cozy (15)
Fun (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
People Watching (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Seasonal (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Healthy (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Casual (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Organic (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Skip the salmon with the lobster sauce- ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

Skip the salmon with the lobster sauce- it stunk! Literally it tasted nasty and went back to the kitchen. (The table next to us had the same experience!). The flat iron steak was an outstanding replacement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

our book club had a gathering at Loulay ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

our book club had a gathering at Loulay and everyone loved their food, the service was impeccable, our server Marcos was wonderful and we had a memorable time !

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and fantastic food. Ph ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and fantastic food. Phenomenal food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff abandoned us at the end of ou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Wait staff abandoned us at the end of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Staff XMASS party that was great and the ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Staff XMASS party that was great and the foor was awsome

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my third visit to Loulay and I ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

This was my third visit to Loulay and I am never disappointed. Service is great and the food is amazing. Will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took my mother out for her birthday t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

We took my mother out for her birthday to have her favorite Eggs Benedict ever at Loulay. Were very disappointed they have changed their eggs benedict. I had the biscuits with mushroom gravy and got food poisoning after eating there- so I don't think we will be heading back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

As always, delicious meal and charming p ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As always, delicious meal and charming proprietor! Will revisit soon...

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We also liked the fact that the Chef/Own ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We also liked the fact that the Chef/Owner took the time to chat with us at our table. So down to earth and interesting for us to learn all about where he started from.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Healthy, Organic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here before attending a play. W ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We dined here before attending a play. We had a reservation and were promptly shown to our table. Our server checked in regarding any time constraints we had and we were able to complete our full meal including dessert with time to spare. We enjoyed a bottle of wine which was our servers first recommendation and it was wonderful. One of our starters was the crab beignets which were delicious. Dinner came very timely after we finished our appetizer and I loved my risotto; perfect portion and very tasty. I always take a peek at the dessert menu before I go to a restaurant or right when I get there so I know what to save room for. This time it was the Peanut Butter S'more. It was definitely worth it. We savored every bite. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great. Again. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great. Again. !

Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brought the daughter of a friend going t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Brought the daughter of a friend going to school at University of Washington here for a fun afternoon out. She had a lovely no-alcohol cocktail. We enjoyed great service and amazing food. The French Onion Soup is the best I have ever tasted. It was a wonderful treat for both of us. I am looking for reasons to return.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

outstanding trout, great service (we wer ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 2, 2016

outstanding trout, great service (we were going to ACT) so they were fast too!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

$13 for a piece of scallops as appetizer ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 1, 2016

$13 for a piece of scallops as appetizer is a bit pricey.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food and service was wonderful. Not too ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food and service was wonderful. Not too crowded and not too loud. Head chef walks around a greets tables (he's in a fedora), and the wine selection is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delicious luncheon. The food was outs ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

A delicious luncheon. The food was outstanding. The décor was pleasant and the service was exemplary. I would return. It was great to see Chef Thierry working the dining room.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised by the chicken and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by the chicken and polenta. Very tasty and contrasting textures. Very attentive service too.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was outstanding and food was exc ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Service was outstanding and food was excellent. I had the trout with butternut squash purée and roasted brussels sprouts. My husband had risotto with Dungeoness crab. Both were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were seated immediately in the balcon ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were seated immediately in the balcony. A little noisy. Restaurant was very busy. Server took our order quickly though it did take quite a while for her to deliver a cappuccino which my wife ordered right after we were seated. We had the Burger with foie gras and a duck egg. A little pricy but OMG one of the best burgers we've had. It's the 4th time we've had the burger and we'll be back again in the future.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I went for Sunday Brunch with an out of ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I went for Sunday Brunch with an out of town friend. Best omelette ever!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Service and food was exceptional! Great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service and food was exceptional! Great spot that I will go make sure to go back when I visit Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good as last time, but still a fu ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Not as good as last time, but still a fun place to eat. Creative drink and food menu. Service was only ok. Our appetizers came before our cocktails. After than it was ok.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The waitress was very attentive as was t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The waitress was very attentive as was the Maitre D. Unfortunately, our order was mixed up and came late. The waitress did give us a delicious dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

After being greeted by a delightful, wel ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

After being greeted by a delightful, welcoming hostess we had a wonderful brunch. The menu allowed each of us to choose very different brunch choices. Do not overlook the interesting juices and the Elderossa is perfect - not too sweet. We mentioned the beauty of the flowers around the restaurant and learned the chef's wife is responsible for these beautiful choices. The experience was absolutely worth the walk in the Seattle rain.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time at Loulay & I loved ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was my first time at Loulay & I loved it! The restaurant has a stylish decor & really good brunch menu. My friend & I both loved our food & the ambiance. I can't wait to go back. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, Loulay did not disappoint. It ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

As usual, Loulay did not disappoint. It was pleasant that the receptionist asked if we were pressed for time because of a pre-planned performance, etc. And the service followed, mindful of our time constraint, without being rushed, however.

The ambiance and the food were equally, and reliably, good. We esp. enjoyed the dessert (Valrhona Guanaja Torte) -- presentation, taste and texture were all surprisingly delightful. And although we two shared one, the quantity was quite satisfying thanks to all the aforementioned elements.

Loulay contributes greatly to the continual effort to revive and animate Seattle downtown in the evenings and on weekends.

Merci! Et vive la France!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Private Room, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a cocktail in the bar before dinn ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a cocktail in the bar before dinner. Small space with friendly staff. We had dinner in the lower dining area. The menu was small and creative. Our food was delicious. One note, my pet peeve, please don't ask "Are you still working on that?" when you come to take our plates away. Ask if we enjoyed our meal and are ready to have our plates cleared.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the food is excellent, the menu on ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

While the food is excellent, the menu on Saturday and Sunday is frustratingly too limited.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The burger was tasty but was served at r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The burger was tasty but was served at room temperature (at best) and the fries were absolutely cold. My friend's croque madame was perfect. Try the beet cocktail! It's delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A sparkling, festive room, not too forma ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A sparkling, festive room, not too formal, but a wonderful place to celebrate. Impeccable, professional yet warm service. The cocktails are delicious and varied. The food is amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is such a great place. We have gone m ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It is such a great place. We have gone many times and are always very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent, food was terrific ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Service was excellent, food was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. Unique and delicious ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent service. Unique and delicious food. Beautiful dining room.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was wonderful, The food was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The service was wonderful, The food was excellent creative presentation.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great way to relax and spoil yourself wi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great way to relax and spoil yourself with a little taste of modern France.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The trout was quite salty. The salad was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The trout was quite salty. The salad was xcellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Carrie was outstanding. Friendly, attent ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Carrie was outstanding. Friendly, attentive, courteous and not hovering or overbearing. The service came timely and the atmosphere was very enjoyable. Seemed to be a more casual setting than I remember it used to be. Overall, a great experience to remember -- we'll definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Loulay! The food is excellent an ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I love Loulay! The food is excellent and the booths are deluxe. The menu has a few items that are less expensive. Thank you, Chef in the Hat.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delightful Spot for weekend brunch

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Delightful Spot for weekend brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Probably the best trout almondine we've ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Probably the best trout almondine we've ever had. Loved the mussels as well. Appreciated the servers wine knowledge. A wonderful consistent French bistro in Seattle. Merci!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.