About Loulay

600 Union St
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Loulay Kitchen and Bar is a new restaurant from Thierry Rautureau. Loulay is an urban, contemporary French restaurant and will feature local, seasonal fare with the influence of his upbringing in "Saint-Hilaire de Loulay." The accessible & multi-leveled dining room will offer the guests a variety of dining experiences offered throughout the day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 8:00am-2:00pm

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm - Sunday 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 402-4588

Website:
http://www.loulay-seattle.com/

Catering:
Please contact - (206) 402-4588 - andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the Sheraton and street parking

Public Transit:
49, 11, 10, 43, 47, Sound Transit - Link Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Thierry Rautureau

Private Party Facilities:
The private mezzanine is available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and accommodates up to 30 guests for a seated event and 40 guests for a standing reception-style affair.

Evening buyouts are also available.

To book a party please email Andrea at andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Private Party Contact:
Desiree Gionet: 2064024588x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Executive Assistant/Private Party Coordinator Desiree Gionet - (206) 402-4588 - desiree@thechefinthehat.com

Restaurant Photos

Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay

Loulay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (183)
special occasion (128)
romantic (73)
See All
notable wine list (71)
great for lunch (70)
great for brunch (66)
good for groups (52)
neighborhood gem (34)
hot spot (31)
vibrant bar scene (21)
late-night find (14)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (3)
business meals (1)
pre/post theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1050 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The service was excellent but all of our ...

Dined 6 days ago

The service was excellent but all of our food came out cold

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

This restaurant has great potential but ...

Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant has great potential but needs to take a few steps to make it great. Select entrees esp. the small plates were outstanding ...the polenta with mushroom demi-glaze reductions was amazing. We were disappointed in the pomme frites especially from a French restaurant...Ivar's does a better job. They need to step up the décor ...dark veneer plastic tables was a bit distracting from the elegance of the room.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The burger was everything! One of the be ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

The burger was everything! One of the best I've ever had

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply divine, had dinner one night and ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Simply divine, had dinner one night and brunch the next on a business trip, food was delicious and server very knowledgeable

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2

Great atmosphere and decent food, but sa ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Great atmosphere and decent food, but sadly not good enough to justify the relatively high cost and pretention. The kitchen also has consistency issues across dishes, namely in the portion sizes of identical dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 7 people for a special occasion d ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had 7 people for a special occasion dinner. The food and the service were were fabulous. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I had The hamburger with duck egg and as ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I had The hamburger with duck egg and asparagus it was fantastic the best hamburger ever had. The drinks were fantastic the service was very very good. I'm ready to go Back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every course was expertly prepared with ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Every course was expertly prepared with sensational wine pairings selected by Scot Smoth, beverage manager. The short ribs were "melt in your mouth" amazing - it was one of our best dining experiences of the year !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Five of us met for a later lunch (1:45) ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Five of us met for a later lunch (1:45) and had the place almost to ourselves. The food was outstanding, service great, and we had a wonderful time. I had forgotten what a great job they do with food. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Impressive wine ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food and service. Impressive wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food, very well prepared. Was ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Delicious food, very well prepared. Was there for a business meeting (as were plenty of others) and you don't have to strain to hear your conversation.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent steak frites and French onion ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent steak frites and French onion soup. The beignets were divine.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Loulay is a must for us every time we vi ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Loulay is a must for us every time we visit Seattle from Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat on the second level and it was a won ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Sat on the second level and it was a wonderful place to watch. We wish we were hungrier so we could have sampled more.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best experience I have ever ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This was the best experience I have ever had at a restaurant. I would not have changed anything about it. The food was out of this world delicious, and the service was incredible. We will definitely be back next time we are in Seattle.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Brilliantly done bistro style meets Nort ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Brilliantly done bistro style meets Northwest ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The meat was a bit undercooked but taste ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The meat was a bit undercooked but tasted pretty good

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great even pre-movie for a quick bite to eat!

Dined on June 11, 2016

We stopped in for a quick bite before a movie and the server made sure that our food came out on time and brought us the bill immediately before we even had to ask. Great service, delicious food, great location to shopping and theaters.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was tasty - I had the polenta a ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was tasty - I had the polenta and the scallop salad; my dining partner had the steak frites. The service was a little slow..,

food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food were excellent. Ou ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

The service and food were excellent. Our server guided me to the fish of the day, a type of cod that I don't exactly recall which was delicious. My husband had the salmon. The sommelier guided us to the perfect Pinot Noir. I highly recommend this restaurant. My only regret is that we did not have another meal there. We were in Seattle for six days and just didn't have time.

food3
ambience3
service3
value4

French Bistro

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Everything was a little too tricked up for our tastes, but it is clean, friendly and tasty. We prefer the traditional French Bouilliabasse, for example. Hard to improve on the real thing by substituting Siracha for Rouille, for example, but this is really a nice restaurant, so give it a chance to get great.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good upscale restaurant but nothing memorable

Dined on June 5, 2016

We arrived early (4PM) after a Sunday matinee performance at the Paramount Theater. The restaurant did not open until 5PM so we sat in the bar and ordered a beer (Pike Brewing Kilt Lifter $7) and a carafe (24 oz) of white house wine for $28. Most of the wines on the menu were much more expensive. The house wine was light and refreshing but not memorable. We both had French onion soup, a house specialty and it was excellent. I make my own onion soup and this broth was rich and flavorful topped with lots of cheese but I would have added a shot of brandy to finish. At $11, the soup was not a bargain. My wife had bouillabaisse ($27) and I had the fresh catch, Ling cod ($34). Prices were comparable to other seafood restaurants in Seattle. Desert was Spiced beignets ($10) which we shared. Service was attentive and professional and the atmosphere relaxing and calm. 2 weeks prior, we completed a 20 day cruise on a Holland America ship and we found the LouLay food comparable to the Rotterdam Dining room (not the buffet) but at a much higher price. While we thoroughly enjoyed the dinner, nothing made us say, "Wow, that place is really worth coming back to." We have several well known seafood restaurants in Federal Way and DeMoines on the south sound that serve up a comparable meal for at least 20% less and you have a waterfront view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service and food. Fois gras pr ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Wonderful service and food. Fois gras prepared perfectly. Always a treat to talk to the chef. A great place for a special occasion.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter Chester was very good, hospi ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our waiter Chester was very good, hospitable and knowledgeable.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great dining experience. I will ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

It was a great dining experience. I will certainly be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mid week Dinner

Dined on June 1, 2016

Everything was great, food and service, our second time here, same great experience as the first !

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Terrible Service

Dined on May 31, 2016

The food was good, but the waiter had no knowledge of the menu, was awkward and unhelpful throughout the meal, and overall ruined a birthday dinner. Will not return and do not recommend given all the wonderful dining establishments in Seattle.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice place to dine in! The stake is ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Very nice place to dine in! The stake is awesome!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 30, 2016

I looked this restaurant up on Open Table to be within walking distance from our hotel, we got a bit lost and so were 20 minutes late for our reservation which had been classed as no show. We were shown to a table for 2 in front of the kitchen which I declined and then sat at a tall bartable. Our waiter was cheerful and outstanding, not so much the hostess. Food was good, wine list good wouldn't go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best French

Dined on May 30, 2016

This is my favorite French restaurant and go-to place to enjoy a fine meal with friends whenever I am in Seattle. MMMM mmmmm!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and very professional ser ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent food and very professional service. I would recommend this restaurant especially those who are picky about their food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband eats at Loulay a lot for work ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband eats at Loulay a lot for work, but I rarely join him. He was familiar with the menu so was able to give us good advice on ordering. I found the dinner portions to be very appropriately sized. Big enough to satisfy, but no so big as to be too stuffed for drinks, deserts, appetizers. I really enjoyed the Neah Bay lingcod. My husband had the steak. Very professional wait staff was completely service oriented!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Squash sandwich was very good. My friend ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Squash sandwich was very good. My friend enjoyed her kale salad. Service was pleasant.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely lunch

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Risotto was great and crab fritters and onion soup a hit too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on May 24, 2016

The selection and food were amazing! This restaurant was recommended to us and we are so glad we took that recommendation! The pork cheek was incredible as was the service and ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had dinner here before a lecture seri ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

We had dinner here before a lecture series and it was wonderful. Everyone was very friendly, helpful and professional. The food was incredibly good and unusual. We will definitely return. (this was our second visit as we were here last year when we were in town).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We met some out-of-town friends for Sund ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We met some out-of-town friends for Sunday brunch. The food and service were excellent-- when I had to step out to quiet my crying baby, our server had the kitchen remake my dish (poached egg over asparagus) so it would be hot. Very gracious!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

I think loulay is one of the best dinnin ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I think loulay is one of the best dinning experiences that I have had in a long time. The food is so so soo good, and the atmosphere is both sophisticated and laid back. Crab beignets are always great, but what I like about this place is aside from a few staple dishes like the beignets the menu is constantly changing. There's always a surprise and each dish is better than the next. We had a rhubarb dessert that was so refreshing and creative, I'm still talking about it days later. I would highly recommend this place, if you like delicious food you will like this.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was creative and delisous! The ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was creative and delisous! The staff was well trained and knowledgeable. Our server Ashley was faboulis! Bestro style but with fine dining, attention to detail service and food. Value was very good but found wine prices high due to selection. A few more moderate selections would be appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I couldn't find an open reservation and ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I couldn't find an open reservation and had to settle for the restaurant next to the Seattle Sheraton. And, I am SO GLAD I did! Loulay is a great restaurant! The food is excellent, the wait staff goes above and beyond. We liked this place so much that we went back for brunch and enjoyed that as well. Great find! Don't be afraid! It was wonderful!!!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.