Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Loulay

Loulay Kitchen and Bar is a new restaurant from Thierry Rautureau. Loulay is an urban, contemporary French restaurant and will feature local, seasonal fare with the influence of his upbringing in "Saint-Hilaire de Loulay." The accessible & multi-leveled dining room will offer the guests a variety of dining experiences offered throughout the day.

600 Union St
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 8:00am-2:00pm

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm - Sunday 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 402-4588

Website:
http://www.loulay-seattle.com/

Catering:
Please contact - (206) 402-4588 - andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the Sheraton and street parking

Public Transit:
49, 11, 10, 43, 47, Sound Transit - Link Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Thierry Rautureau

Private Party Facilities:
The private mezzanine is available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and accommodates up to 30 guests for a seated event and 40 guests for a standing reception-style affair.

Evening buyouts are also available.

To book a party please email Andrea at andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Private Party Contact:
Desiree Gionet: (206) 402-4588

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Executive Assistant/Private Party Coordinator Desiree Gionet - (206) 402-4588 - desiree@thechefinthehat.com

Loulay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (78)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Good for a Date (66)
See All
Special Occasion (64)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Pre/post Theatre (54)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Business Meals (41)
Romantic (39)
Notable Wine List (32)
Great for Lunch (32)
Authentic (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Good for Groups (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Open Kitchen (20)
Modern Decor (20)
People Watching (19)
Casual (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Fun (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Cozy (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Seasonal (9)
Healthy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Tapas (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Family Style (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Private Room (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1382 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

The chef came highly recommended by a friend. At his previous restaurant "Rover" he helped my friend's husband propose to her- they raved. I enjoyed the creative, yet simple ingredients blended together.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was spectacular especially the trout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent high quality ingredients and presentation. Halibut in season not overcooked . Reasonable price for fine dinning. On return list. Great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Had a fabulous time. Food and service was exceptional. The staff made us feel welcomed. The food was delicious and we will definitely be back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

We felt like queens sitting in a booth all to ourselves. The service was prompt and informational. The mushroom medley was a hit, and the handmade pasta second course delicious. Our main dishes: The pork chop and poached halibut - cooked perfectly with appropriate sides to complement the dishes. Great dining experience, and the value worthy of the price!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

The only blemish on an otherwise superior dining experience was the inordinately long period of time it took for our entrees to arrive. The complimentary glass of wine to acknowledge the wait, however, was an appreciated gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

I think this restaurant was pleasant. The waitress was great. I had the bouillabaisse. The broth was good but you could tell the fish had been added too soon. Dessert was creme brûlée. It was a bit too sweet. Those things said, I think I will try it again and order other things

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice atmosphere, but a bit pricey. The menu was pretty limited, and the service was incredibly slow.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious, and the staff....terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The BEST French Onion soup ever... period!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on March 17, 2017

Again we had a fabulous meal with top notch service. Each dish was delicious and memorable. My hat is off to the Chef in the Hat

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our second time at Loulays - again, just loved it. The service was wonderful, the food delicious. We we love the ambience. And it is so close to the theater!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The Northwest Boulliabaise was so good I wanted to out my face in it!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Nice comfortable atmosphere, quiet (background noise is an issue for me), food was excellent, service was wonderful. Non-foodie, and all the staff was very helpful. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Best French onion soup I've ever had! My friend had the eggs benedict and that looked really delicious, as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent! Everything was perfect. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fantastic food and service!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was lack luster, the menu was great but the product wasn't anything to write home about. feels a little generic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was unusually good (the duck and the s'more for dessert were superb). Service was also unusually good. We'll be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have had dinner at Loulay and have never been disappointed. The food is always imaginative and wonderful and the service is excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 7, 2017

AS USUAL, THE FOOD, SERVICE, AMBIENCE WAS FABULOUS.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Overall we had a very pleasant meal and the service was good but very slow. They have an excellent wine list with bottles at all price points. The desert was especially good as was out appetizer. One of us had steak that was perfectly cooked and was very tasty. The other had the bouillabaisse, which was good but not exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

2nd time there before theatre, 2nd time kitchen backed up and food not out in time despite our allowing more than ample time. Food has been good but doesn't offset poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Side salad was terrible; tasted old and dressing did not taste fresh. Very unimaginative. French onion soup was delicious; apple tart was delicious. Table was upstairs across from kitchen service door with staff bringing out huge containers of ingredients. It felt awkward and disruptive.

Tags: Tapas
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great location for theatre goers, great food, great service. We easily made a reservation through Open Table. Celebrating our birthdays, we were treated royally!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food really was great the atmosphere was good too. The dining service was irritated at us for not being quick enough at ordering and told us if we didn't order we wouldn't have our food for 2 1/2 hours. He was sweaty and not well equipped to give us a great rundown of menu items. Just was there to take out order and be done.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Spectacular service and amazing food! Cocktails were delicious and dinner recommendations from the server were spot on!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great lunch with French-ish food. Had the bouillabaisse and my friend had a burger. Both were excellent. Passion fruit creme brûlée was great as well, although the caramelized top was a tiny bit burned and therefore a bit bitter. Very nice experience overall.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The atmosphere was very lovely - evocative of the 'old' Paris with its high ceilings and Art Deco mirror. Service was outstanding. Food was good but not as much as expected, especially for the price. But overall a pleasant experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great food, although the music is loud and when it fills up the overall noise level is high.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Delicious Trout Almondine! Great for before theater.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our waitress, Hilda was excellent! She was extremely knowledgeable with the menu and helpful with selecting the best dishes for our palette.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our breakfast was fantastic! Our server was so friendly, upbeat, and helpful. We asked him for more info on the menu items and he was patient and knew all about the menu items. He was attentive without hovering and made our meal most enjoyable. The foot was very tasty and was just the right amount. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I would like more choices on the breakfast menu. It was pretty limited. The service was great as usual and the food presentation was very nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Four of went there before seeing Rent at the Paramount and everything was great. The waitress asked if we had plans and recommended several things, as well as steering us away from things that would take too long. The service was very professional and the food was VERY GOOD. I look forward to going back again to try their brunch.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everything was quite good except my wife's entree was tepid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Really great fresh lunch, ling cod and veggies was absolutely delicious! Perfectly cooked and French nice wines by the glass.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 23, 2017

My experience with Loulay - Serious attention to quality seasonal ingredients for both delicious and beautiful presentation. Highly recommend for business lunches (as long as you're not in a hurry). Service is attentive without being disruptive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Service was over the top excellent. Crab Beignets delicious. Passion fruit Creme Brûlée was perfect. Bouillabaisse lacked seafood variety & was full of empty clam & muscle shells. Found one clam & 0 muscles. Could be the luck of the draw since had fairly late dinner.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Delicious food, great wine recommendations and great service, I love Loulay!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.