About Loulay

600 Union St
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Loulay Kitchen and Bar is a new restaurant from Thierry Rautureau. Loulay is an urban, contemporary French restaurant and will feature local, seasonal fare with the influence of his upbringing in "Saint-Hilaire de Loulay." The accessible & multi-leveled dining room will offer the guests a variety of dining experiences offered throughout the day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 8:00am-2:00pm

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm - Sunday 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 402-4588

Website:
http://www.loulay-seattle.com/

Catering:
Please contact - (206) 402-4588 - andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the Sheraton and street parking

Public Transit:
49, 11, 10, 43, 47, Sound Transit - Link Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Thierry Rautureau

Private Party Facilities:
The private mezzanine is available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and accommodates up to 30 guests for a seated event and 40 guests for a standing reception-style affair.

Evening buyouts are also available.

To book a party please email Andrea at andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Private Party Contact:
Desiree Gionet: 2064024588x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Executive Assistant/Private Party Coordinator Desiree Gionet - (206) 402-4588 - desiree@thechefinthehat.com

Restaurant Photos

Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay

Loulay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (172)
special occasion (121)
romantic (68)
See All
great for lunch (67)
notable wine list (66)
great for brunch (60)
good for groups (50)
neighborhood gem (33)
hot spot (32)
late-night find (17)
vibrant bar scene (16)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (2)
business meals (1)
pre/post theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1085 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was coached to ask for a booth in the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

I was coached to ask for a booth in the back, and it was a good thing because otherwise we'd never have been able to have a conversation over the noise. The food and wine were wonderful and the "large" wine pour was adequate, but alas, the prices are beyond my limit for anything but a SUPER special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Rovers was our favorite restaurant in Se ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

Rovers was our favorite restaurant in Seattle, and we were sad when it closed. We have eaten at Loulay a number of times, hoping to glimpse some of the old magic. Until yesterday, the magic eluded us. Yes, the food was good, but not exceptional. Yesterdays lunch was exceptional. I had seared scallops, one friend had the Dungeness Crab Risotto, another had the Salad Nicoise. All were wonderful.

Service at Loulay is always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

So, I've been here many times before for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

So, I've been here many times before for dinner and absolutely loved it, so when a co-worker came in town, who is an absolute foodie, I thought! OH let's go to lunch there! I was severely disappointed. The lunch selections are very mediocre, at best.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I enjoyed the innovative french drinks a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

I enjoyed the innovative french drinks and a a delicious meal of duck breast, cook to perfection.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Thee food was delicious and the service ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Thee food was delicious and the service staff great. We will be back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and is true to Fr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was delicious and is true to French cuisine. There was even a French speaking family seated next to us. Our server was thorough in explaining the beverages and specials and provided the correct silverware for the dishes we selected. However, I found Loulay to be overpriced. I incorrectly assumed that the price rating of 2 dollar signs out of 4 would be affordable. Turns out an appetizer dish consisting of half a quail (a tiny bird), one fig, and a smear of puréed potatoes costs $20. My fiend had a $13 glass of wine (apparently that was the cheap wine). Unfortunately, Loulay is simply out of my price range.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

I have dined at loulay in the past and i ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have dined at loulay in the past and it was wonderful. this second time was not as good. the quail was delicious. the rhubarb dessert was not good. the wait staff at times was not attentive but did apologize and gave took dessert off the bill.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Delicious food! I savored every bite! ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delicious food! I savored every bite! And they served the best Manhattan I've had!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2 orders of the same thing trout, but on ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

2 orders of the same thing trout, but only one was served they did not put the other order in. Had to wait 20 min before mine came and my other group member was done with his meal. Mine was much better and fresh his seemed do have sat for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious dinner before concert at Benar ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Delicious dinner before concert at Benaroya.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant staff, our order was wrong but ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Pleasant staff, our order was wrong but quickly rectified. Not the menu I was expecting, anticipated more authentic French cuisine vs an Americanized French cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Never disappoints! The food is always de ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Never disappoints! The food is always delicious and creative and presentation is lovely! Whether you are entertaining guest, having a romantic meal or hosting a business meeting the staff caters to the scenario by serving at just the right tempo. The restaurant is lovely too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place, good seating and attent ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very nice place, good seating and attentive staff who explained the menu well and were able to help with recommendations. We went for a broader range opting to order selections for the table from the 3 different courses versus everyone ordering individually.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loulays has always a top of the line exp ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Loulays has always a top of the line experience for us. It is sophisticated, but casual. We enjoyed the Chef's previous restaurant, Rovers, but this suits our lifestyle and commute requirements better. The Chef in the Hat is a talented and congenial host. The wine choices are outstanding, and the food is interesting and well-prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. The scallops, c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food and service. The scallops, crab beignets and dessert beignets were special. Lamb chop with a perfect moistness and the salmon perfectly seasoned and cooked. Great wine list and bar. Special night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful first special occasion restaur ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful first special occasion restaurant experience for my niece and nephew (11 and 8). The food was delicious, the wait staff attentive and helpful, the decor impeccable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyfood item we ate was fantastic. Po ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everyfood item we ate was fantastic. Portions were small but amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food,great service! Thanks Sean fo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great food,great service! Thanks Sean for a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, beautiful restaurant, our wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great food, beautiful restaurant, our waiter was very efficient but pretentious, giving us way too much unsolicited advice about the food we should have with our wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Loulay is by far my favorite Downtown Se ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Loulay is by far my favorite Downtown Seattle spot on OpenTable. The service is excellent and the food options are interesting and varied. I'm often not big into french cuisine but when done properly I really love it: Loulay does a fantastic job at offering amazing food at fair prices in a chic environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed breakfast on our first mornin ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We enjoyed breakfast on our first morning in Seattle and dinner a couple of days later. Both were great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Convenient locaction downtown with tasty ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Convenient locaction downtown with tasty French food. Good for lunch or dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our third visit to Loulay, and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was our third visit to Loulay, and we very much admire Chef Thierry R, but in this particular case, I ordered a hamburger. The wait person asked how I would like it cooked, so I said with "some pink" but when I received it, it was instead completely cooked all the way through. This is trivial, but my fries were also extremely over salted.

We will return. Earlier visits were completely positive. In this case I would have to say the kitchen was less than spot on.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall the food was quite good but fair ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Overall the food was quite good but fairly standard NW cuisine and no real surprises. Wine list is fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved the menu! My table of three guests ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Loved the menu! My table of three guests shares several plates. Beautiful presentation. Will come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced for the quality of food. My ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Overpriced for the quality of food. My ahi tuna salad had tuna that was overcooked and looked like scraps of tuna rather than good quality cuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Brunch at Loulay is picture perfect. Sta ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Brunch at Loulay is picture perfect. Start with the beignets and a couple bloody marys and go from there!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every item we ordered was outstanding, f ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Every item we ordered was outstanding, from salad to desert! Every bite was a delight.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch at Loulay was ok - we ordered ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The brunch at Loulay was ok - we ordered croque madame and eggs benedict. My friend and I agreed that we've had better eggs benedict elsewhere, and my croque madame ended up being a very heavy, cheesy/creamy, bready dish. It was a very large serving, but there wasn't any excitement or flavor to the dish. We did order the beignets for the table and enjoyed those. Perhaps we shouldn't have started with dessert first :)

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great spot, good food and service. Very ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great spot, good food and service. Very pleasant evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We returned to Loulay for a birthday din ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We returned to Loulay for a birthday dinner for two and it was perfect. We were seated upstairs on the balcony in very comfortable chairs. I just love the chef's Loire influence in every aspect of the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I took my daughter to dinner and she tho ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I took my daughter to dinner and she thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: special occasions, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The service was excellent but all of our ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent but all of our food came out cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

This restaurant has great potential but ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This restaurant has great potential but needs to take a few steps to make it great. Select entrees esp. the small plates were outstanding ...the polenta with mushroom demi-glaze reductions was amazing. We were disappointed in the pomme frites especially from a French restaurant...Ivar's does a better job.

They need to step up the décor ...dark veneer plastic tables was a bit distracting from the elegance of the room.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The burger was everything! One of the be ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The burger was everything! One of the best I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply divine, had dinner one night and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Simply divine, had dinner one night and brunch the next on a business trip, food was delicious and server very knowledgeable

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and decent food, but sa ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great atmosphere and decent food, but sadly not good enough to justify the relatively high cost and pretention. The kitchen also has consistency issues across dishes, namely in the portion sizes of identical dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We had 7 people for a special occasion d ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had 7 people for a special occasion dinner. The food and the service were were fabulous. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had The hamburger with duck egg and as ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I had The hamburger with duck egg and asparagus it was fantastic the best hamburger ever had. The drinks were fantastic the service was very very good. I'm ready to go Back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every course was expertly prepared with ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Every course was expertly prepared with sensational wine pairings selected by Scot Smoth, beverage manager. The short ribs were "melt in your mouth" amazing - it was one of our best dining experiences of the year !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.