Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
7:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 48 times today

Loulay

4.7
1889 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French / American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Pre/post Theatre
Loulay Kitchen and Bar is a new restaurant from Thierry Rautureau. Loulay is an urban, contemporary French restaurant and will feature local, seasonal fare with the influence of his upbringing in "Saint-Hilaire de Loulay." The accessible & multi-leveled dining room will offer the guests a variety of dining experiences offered throughout the day.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary French / American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 8:00am-2:00pm

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm - Sunday 4:30pm-9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(206) 402-4588
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Thierry Rautureau
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact - (206) 402-4588 - andrea@thechefinthehat.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
6th Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking at the Sheraton and street parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
49, 11, 10, 43, 47, Sound Transit - Link Light Rail
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please contact Executive Assistant/Private Party Coordinator Desiree Gionet - (206) 402-4588 - desiree@thechefinthehat.com
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Named for Chef Thierry Rautureau’s hometown of Saint Hilaire de Loulay in France, Loulay Kitchen & Bar marries the French influence of his upbringing with modern twist and sensibility to provide an accessible dining experience for everyone.

View Private Dining Details
What 1889 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Great food, our waitress was awesome! Everything she recommended was what we were already thinking and was spot on as being a great choice. I highly recommend eating here and using the app, made making reservations easy!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 6 days ago

Very bad service. We were seated upstairs and the restaurant wasn’t that busy. Waitress out in space. After serving breakfast to two other tables who arrived after us, we askeda gentleman where our order was. It had been a half hour. The waitress finally came back and said “they are platting it up. It took a wile for the poached eggs.” Poached eggs take 3 minutes. We believe she never put our order in.
Hostess at front desk, drinking her Starbucks, told us to just stand there and wait as her other server had come in yet. We asked if we could sit dow and she said it will be about 10 minutes, and left us there, even though she had plenty of tables empty downstairs where she could have sat us and poured us a cup of coffee! Then she finally takes us upstairs even though she could see one of us has difficulty walking. Totally unprofessional and a ding bat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

We had a business meeting with guests from out of town and everyone really enjoyed their meal. The service was great and we were able to eat in a timely manner. I would go back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Thierry and his staff always do an outstanding job.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

My only complaint is they did not have their crab bignets.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Excellent food and attentive service. Convenient for the theater.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Delicious! Easy lunch options and relatively fast service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Perfect afternoon brunch with family. Relaxed French dining, food was amazing, staff excellent and genuine. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Menu options reflect knowledge, skill and a happy creative presence. Service occasionally falls below stunning to merely excellent. Respect for children and older adults is obvious. Validated parking was icing on the cake. A VERY good value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

WE arrived for Mother's Day Brunch. It immediately presents itself as a elegant restaurant. Quiet with background music. Waters dressed appropriately. Ambiance was great. Service fantastic. Food was very good. Chef Thierry came by the table and asked us about the food. It was excellent of course. He was very gracious and said, Eggs Benedict (one meal) is not inventing anything new, it is presenting the meal using great technique, fresh ingredients and good execution for the customer. SUCCESS

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very good overall experience. The service was great. I went for a pre mother's day dinner with my mom and she had nothing but great things to say about it. The food was spectacular and the entire team was focused on great guest service. I highly recommend dining at this location!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Loulays, after a theater show. We were not familiar with French Cuisine and this was our first time having Foire Gras. Despite apprehension around Foire Gras being liver, it was wonderful. My wife, who is uncomfortable with any new food, can't stop raving about how good it was.

The specialty drinks were really good too. The 'Lost at Sea' was a keeper, and the Jaguar Paw' was festive and grew on me.

I thought the Wagu eye of rib should have been placed on top of the sauce for better presentation, and the risotto was a bit salty, but the Trout was fabulous, and the crab benit's were great.

We spent a bit more than I expected.

An unexpected and very nice touch was when the owner 'chef in the hat' Thierry Rautureau stopped by our table (and apparently he
makes it to every table) to chat and make sure everything was perfect.

I will come back and bring friends next time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This is a wonderful restaurant for some French styled food. I absolutely love the Croque Madame. This past visit, however, was slightly disappointing as some favorite menu items were no longer on the menu (it was a slimmed down menu) and the server was MIA most of the time. It took about 8 minutes for her to even come and greet us, and after our food was served, never came back for refills or to check on us. Had to hunt her down to get the bill as well. Service all other times has been excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great food, fantastic service. Very attentive and non invasive. Great date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Food was fantastic and staff was very attentive. We’re already planning a return trip with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Loulay's is so special. The service is outstanding. We love their cocktails. Definitely a place for anniversaries, birthdays or just a romantic evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Loulay was convenient for dining before an ACT performance. I was pleased with the choice of wines by the glass but disappointed with the mushroom risotto, which I ordered with the additional Dungeness crab. The crab was so thinly shredded that it didn't add much flavor to, and the risotto itself could have used more sauce. My partner enjoyed the bouillabaisse but not to the point of recommending it to others. Be aware that the bouillabaisse came with very little broth.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Service was very good, food was wonderful. Overpriced, but everything in downtown Seattle is.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Loulay has great ambiance. The service was very good. We started with the butter lettuce salad with tarragon dressing which was good. My husband ordered the "flavor curve" which is the fatty lip of a ribeye. I had a bite of it and the accompanying potato croquette and both were quite delicious. I ordered the mushroom risotto with the option of adding crab. While there was nothing wrong with the risotto, it tasted nothing like mushrooms or crab. It had an overly strong taste of thyme and not much else. The risotto was $17 and it cost $14 to add crab. This led me to believe that the amount of crab would be substantive - not the case. But since it was tasteless I didn't end up missing much. I would not recommend that dish, definitely the crab is not worth it. We ended with sharing the creme brulee - what you would expect, good, but not exceptional. We will most likely go back to try other dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Our second time to Loulay and it did not disappoint. The food has remained consistently excellent. i would not hesistate to bring out of towners, business associates, or family. Ambience is relaxed yet sophisticated. Noise level not bad at all - a change from most new places around Seattle.
They recently updated the dinner and cocktail menus. All dishes were very well executed with the freshest ingredients and appealingly presented. Sauces and other accompaniments complemented and enhanced the flavor profile. The tarragon dressing (a new item) was the only small misstep. A little too strong for the delicate bib lettuce. Also tried the crab beignet, beet salad, pork chop, seared scallops, waygu beef, and nightly special of nettle gnocchi. We are very finicky about our gnocchi and most commercial settings can't replicate nona's but these were darn close. Firm without being hard or heavy, wonderfully flavorful sauce, and perfectly cooked. Service was professional and friendly. She did a very fine job in all respects.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We went to Loulay for brunch, before a Mariners game on a Sunday. The omelets were delicious, as were the cheeseburgers. The burger comes with an optional gluten-free bun, which gave one of our party a g-f option. The “Loulay Mary” was spicy (but good)! We went back after the game for the cheese plate and a glass of white Burgundy. Our favorite is Chef’s specialty, the scrambled egg appetizer with caviar. We highly recommend Loulay for brunch, lunch, and dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Food was quite good as usual. we had the duck breast and the risotto with crab. Service was attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Lovely chat with Theirry. Such a wonderful experience, where the owner truly cares about his diners experience.
The menu was innovated and service impeccable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This was our second visit to Loulay and we'll be back! Our reservations to meet some friends was at 6:15 and we were coming from Bainbridge. There was an incident at the ferry dock which delayed us almost 90"! I called Daniel at the reservation desk and he kindly pushed back our reservation without a hitch. Our friends had a delicious butter leaf salad which was the most beautifully prepared salad ever and I will order next time. My husband and I both each had a risotto dish (one was special, the other was on the regular menu) which was outstanding. I'm usually cautious about risotto as even in the best restaurants it can be 'gummy'. But their risotto was perfect. Service was equally excellent. Wine prices for house wine are quite reasonable. Love this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We picked this restaurant as it was close to the theater we were attending in Seattle. Parking was right across the street from restaurant and theater. Loulay's was amazing. Wish I would've gone there much sooner. Wonderful food pairing and wine list. Guests were dressed casual and some dressed a little more. Either was fine. The staff was attentive and the food was amazing. My friends and I all shared and it was wonderful. Make a reservation. Loulay's is on Opentable and Yelp Reservations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Good food, atmosphere and attentive wait staff. The entire menu looked good and great wines by the glass. The chef even made an inventive substitute for my lactose intolerant wife on the mussels which was terrific. Give it a try!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 3, 2018

The night started out well. We had reservations and were seated promptly (next to the only other occupied table on the main floor, which seemed a bit odd, but ok). The service, to start, was attentive and friendly. We ordered a bottle of wine and an appetizer to split. The sommelier was knowledgeable and friendly. The crab beignets were delicious. Then, we each ordered dinner - risotto and cheeseburger (which we heard was delicious). We were both happy with our meals. After ordering our entrees, though, the waiter virtually disappeared. Others served our food and cleared our plates, and we were left to pour our own wine. Unfortunately, we were quite disappointed in the waiter's service by the end of our visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Lovely food and service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2018

We found the taste lacking in some of the courses. The dressing on the salad was quite bland and the steak lacked any real flavor. Afterwards we had desert (pineapple cake and ice cream) and this was actually much better. Wouldnt go back there...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

The hostess and the server were great. I recognized the server from her work at another restaurant she used to work at. You're lucky to have her, she's very personable and great at what she does.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

All the food was fabulous, particularly the onion soup. The staff was extremely helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

As always the food was spot on and the foi burger fantastic.
Chef Tierry was in the house during food prep and of course spent time talking with all the guests
This is one of Seattle best and consistent restaurants

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Loved our dining experience here from the service to the food and atmosphere. Highly recommend the steelhead trout crostini, waygu beef curve and seared sea scallops.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

We have eaten at Loulay a number of times in the past 4 years and always have enjoyed the food, service and convenient location. It is a go-to place when we have out of town guests. I noticed that their prices seem to have increased since the last time we had dinner there. However, considering the costs of food and labor these days I think it is still a good value. We will certainly continue to go there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The food is amazing. Amazing. Did I say amazing? This is a bit pricy but worth it. Noise level is medium since the space is relatively small, but very well decorated. Did I mention the food? When we got in it seems like they were short staffed because of a large dinner party but suddenly all waiters were available and turned it around. You plate is empty: any waiter that walked by your table will pick it up. Your silverware was used for an entré that would affect the next entré?: they would change the silverware without asking. Maybe not your everyday dinner and not sure if good for a large business dinner. Ideal group size 2-4, but they have tables for 6. And, did I mention the food? Cheers!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Excellent food & service. One of Seattle's we enjoy both the bar & restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Amazing food, amazing service! Not inexpensive but a lovely experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Big cavernous space and very light, particularly upstairs where you sit on the terrace level with the chandelier. Dated decor. Mixed food, some was delicious but some dishes were very mediocre.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

The restaurant has a very good vibe with a very varied menu. Good selection of food at reasonable prices. Food was very good and service attentive.
Would definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Great spot for lunch! Wonderful ambiance and equally delicious food.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
48