About Loulay

600 Union St
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Loulay Kitchen and Bar is a new restaurant from Thierry Rautureau. Loulay is an urban, contemporary French restaurant and will feature local, seasonal fare with the influence of his upbringing in "Saint-Hilaire de Loulay." The accessible & multi-leveled dining room will offer the guests a variety of dining experiences offered throughout the day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 8:00am-2:00pm

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm - Sunday 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 402-4588

Website:
http://www.loulay-seattle.com/

Catering:
Please contact - (206) 402-4588 - andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the Sheraton and street parking

Public Transit:
49, 11, 10, 43, 47, Sound Transit - Link Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Thierry Rautureau

Private Party Facilities:
The private mezzanine is available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and accommodates up to 30 guests for a seated event and 40 guests for a standing reception-style affair.

Evening buyouts are also available.

To book a party please email Andrea at andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Private Party Contact:
Desiree Gionet: 2064024588x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Executive Assistant/Private Party Coordinator Desiree Gionet - (206) 402-4588 - desiree@thechefinthehat.com

Restaurant Photos

Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay
Loulay

Loulay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (166)
Special Occasion (125)
Great for Lunch (71)
See All
Notable Wine List (71)
Romantic (70)
Great for Brunch (57)
Good for Groups (47)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Hot Spot (34)
Late-night Find (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Kid-friendly (9)
Scenic View (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1128 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The burgers an mussels were both very go ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

The burgers an mussels were both very good!! I was pleased with most things- except the service. Our waiter forgot things (drinks, condiments, etc) multiple times and then would avoid us when we would try to make eye contact. I do recommend the food and wine though :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

A really excellent French restaurant. W ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

A really excellent French restaurant. Was wonderful service -- ask for John -- and delicious food. Also, delightful romantic atmosphere. Very highly recommend for dinner and brunch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were pleasantly surprised and would g ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were pleasantly surprised and would go back again in a heartbeat. First, I asked for a quiet table in the reservation - and we were shown to a table on the upper mezzanine that was nicely quiet because of the lower ceiling and distance from the noisier, lower scene. Second, our server was terrific - very friendly but professional at the same time - though he did let us wait a bit too long to order dessert. But the food ... oo-la-la. The scallops were great - can't stop thinking about them. Several of us started with the crab beignets and were so happy with that choice. Other favorites were the mussels, steak frites, risotto, pork chop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This has become the favorite place for m ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

This has become the favorite place for my friends and I to meet. The food is uniformly good, as is the service. Our favorite dishes from the summer menu are the dungeness crab risotto and the seared scallops with gnocchi.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed a birthday dinner and the foie g ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed a birthday dinner and the foie gras on the menu. Was excited to learn there was a chef's counter hoping we could watch and perhaps interact with the kitchen staff as we very often do at 13 Coins at SeaTac. This was disappointing as there was no good line of sight. The counter was elevated in front of us and piled with stacks of dishes. We had to peek around the serving ware to try to see what they were cooking. The chefs made no attempt to interact with us in any way though we tried to ask occasional questions about what they were doing. I would say skip the counter and go for a more comfortable booth

The waitstaff was very pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food in an intimate yet engaging a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food in an intimate yet engaging atmosphere - professional service. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Loulay on our wedding anniver ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went to Loulay on our wedding anniversary, mostly because we really like Chef Thierry Rautureau's restaurant Luc in Madison Valley. Loulay is a little more formal, a beautiful room. We had several dishes, topped off with a chocolate desert on which they had written in chocolate "Happy Anniversary!"

They will pour their wines by the glass either 3 oz. or 6 oz. at a time, which makes it easy to taste a few that look good. A good mix of Columbia Valley/Walla Walla, California and French labels.

The total bill was not cheap, but actually a little less than we had anticipated. Decent value. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

4th or 5th time at Loulay, and another e ...

 
 (Surrey)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

4th or 5th time at Loulay, and another excellent experience. Lovely food presentation, and portion sizes ideal (except the "second" risotto which is too small for a second or the cost. Otherwise all very good indeed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Brunch, Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loulay has really stepped up their midwe ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Loulay has really stepped up their midweek lunch game. The menu is varied and eclectic with very reasonable prices for the portion size. Service was friendly and efficient - we didn't feel rushed or bothered at all yet we were still in and out in under an hour. The seared scallops were perfect, as was the risotto. We'll be back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The burgers were too greasy, you had to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The burgers were too greasy, you had to eat them with a fork and knife. The taste was excellent however, and the red wine on tap is recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had brunch today. The burger with foie g ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had brunch today. The burger with foie gras and duck egg, was amazing. Also ordered the quiche, which did not disappoint. Service was impeccable, Marco in the bar area was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Really took care of my Gluten, Soy and D ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Really took care of my Gluten, Soy and Dairy sensitivity concerns. Made me feel safe to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food to die for. We shared all our dish ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food to die for. We shared all our dishes which included the Crab Beignets, the Dungeness Crab Salad, Muscovy Duck and Grilled King Salmon. For dessert, we shared the Spiced Sugar Beignets with vanilla diplomat creme and valrhona chocolate sauce. Everything was delicious. That it was in our hotel made it even more enjoyable after a day of touring Seattle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our 2nd visit to Loulay's and i ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our 2nd visit to Loulay's and it was amazing! We had some friends from out of town and they were extremely pleased with the food and the restaurant ambiance. Our waitress was very polite, kind and very knowledgeable of the menu. We'll definitely choose Loulay for special occasions in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not my first time, not my last. A depen ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Not my first time, not my last. A dependable, delicious choice. This time I had the steak frites and it was just what I wanted. Perfectly cooked, of course, and balanced plate with the small and very tasty salad. Great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice and cosy, excellent cuisine and ser ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Nice and cosy, excellent cuisine and service!👍👍👍

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had been wanting to try Loulay since i ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I had been wanting to try Loulay since it opened, but was leery of negative reviews about their service. I am sorry I waited so long - the service was perfect. The menu has a nice variety and some interesting plates. The crab beignets were delicious. Looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We chose to go to Loulay for our anniver ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We chose to go to Loulay for our anniversary. We were fans of Rovers and wanted to see

what Terry did with this place.... and we love french food. We made reservations but our table when we arrived was "not quite ready; they have their bill"- so they comped us a drink in the bar while we waited- ( we requested a booth- its quiter than the main floor area)

Because it was our anniversary ( ?) or was it the wait(?) they wisked over 2 glasses of champagne to our table when we sat down. The menu was lovely ( check online) and the waiter posed 2 specials they had that were amazing. With our shared dessert, they wrote out "happy anniversary " in Chocolate... that went well with the ice-cream! On of the nicest dining experiences we have had in a long time!! We will be back again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner at Loulay is always a treat...but ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Dinner at Loulay is always a treat...but this time was magical!! We started with a house made buratta with peaches and basil, probably the best appetizer I've ever ordered. The combination was so unexpected and yet so perfect together that I had to wonder why it hadn't been done before, the peaches were that perfect ripened sweet, soft...I could go on and on! Then the chef came out to our table and it was to fun to talk with the famous "chef in the hat". Scallops were cooked perfectly, and I am very picky about them and don't order them often, but the waiter suggested when I asked and I am so glad he did!! Service was fun, as we were celebrating, but was unobtrusive with our neighbors who seem to be having a more romantic evening. I can highly recommend this wonderful restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent service from Alan who was very ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

excellent service from Alan who was very gracious and helpful....we loved every bite and will go again....the chef in the hat is charming and authentic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. Met friends for brunch. ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was great. Met friends for brunch.

The restaurant was beautiful.

Definitely gonna go back and try dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We needed a place for dinner after shopp ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We needed a place for dinner after shopping and I was a bit hesitant because around 7:30pm on Fri they had an opening for 8PM. This is rare. But I chose it based on the ratings and it was a perfect choice. Located right in the center of downtown in walking distance from the major shopping and art venues. We had a great service, our server was super helpful, food was excellent and the place is very nicely designed. All three of us were very happy so now I am recommending it to all my friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed the food, service, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

If I lived closer, I'd be there at least ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

If I lived closer, I'd be there at least once/month, or more!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loulay is a perennial favorite. It's cl ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Loulay is a perennial favorite. It's close to the office, generally easy to get a lunch table, and accommodating staff make it the first choice most of the time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The place was very good. The only reason ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The place was very good. The only reason we didn't give 5 stars on everything is the first busboy was a bit surly and the foi grais was a bit underdone

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was our first time here. Both the f ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This was our first time here. Both the food and service was exceptional. The shared Ribeye, was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was small and very busy. Maître d' sk ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was small and very busy. Maître d' skipped over us as we were waiting for a table, even though we had reservations. Waitress "didn't see us", so we waited longer than necessary for service. We ordered a $7 non-alcoholic cocktail, which was much smaller than I anticipated. However, once the food arrived, it was fantastic and the final bill was tolerable. The place is decorated nicely and had a good "bustling" vibe to it, although it's a little loud for my own personal taste.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food and service! Lucas was f ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food and service! Lucas was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The beignets were great, portion size we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The beignets were great, portion size were such that the three of us were able to share. We were there for brunch, our table ordered the omelette, eggs Benedict and the crab salad. All the di ashes were delish, the eggs Benedict was the standout. According to my husband "it could easily be the best egg Benedict" he's had. My crab salad was a little "short" on the greens, but otherwise good. Definitely will be back the next time were in Seattle!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. A little loud ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food. Great service. A little loud / tables close together though. If there's a fire alarm in the Sheraton Hotel, it will go off non stop in the restaurant also. Was quite annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

WE did not like being placed on the 3d f ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

WE did not like being placed on the 3d floor, esp. since one of our guests was elderly and it was a difficult walk for her. Also we felt like we were at the children's table - i.e., out of the main action. Would have preferred a table on the main floor.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Another satisfying visit for lunch as I ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Another satisfying visit for lunch as I work my way through both the salads (this time the nicoise) and red wine by the glass. Will be back soon to try the duck confit. The Nicoise presentation is the best I've experienced yet. That 7-minute soft-boiled egg it brilliant. The waitstaff is always gracious and welcoming, at least to me. I truly enjoy my time at Loulay.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breakfast at Loulay was great. Expensiv ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Breakfast at Loulay was great. Expensive but food very good. Chef was friendly and recommended the French omelette which was superb.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good French food. Meticulously prep ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very good French food. Meticulously prepared and served. Good selection of entrees. Knowledgeable serving staff. I enjoyed the fresh fish of the day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a pre-theatre dinner at Loulay on ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a pre-theatre dinner at Loulay on a Friday evening. Our party arrived two hours before curtain. High quality food--French bistro with plenty of flair. Sea Scallops were divine. Service languished on this occasion. The server, knowing we had theatre tickets, squandered time on the front end with too much time for drinks and wine at the start. Then sold us dessert with too little time left for the kitchen to get it out to us. Probably should not have sold it to us. We did make our curtain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing experience. They took great and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Amazing experience. They took great and special care of us for our anniversary. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A couple I met in Seattle recommended I ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

A couple I met in Seattle recommended I try Loulay, I'm very glad I took their advice. I unknowingly ordered three new items on the menu, the foie gras, the duck and the bouillabaisse. All were exceptional, as was the rhubarb panna cotta. The suggested wine pairings were spot on, wish I lived 2000 miles closer. From one chef to another, and his brigade, well done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible food, small portions, pathetic ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Terrible food, small portions, pathetic menu selection, no flexibility with dietary needs! Yikes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Really great atmosphere and excellent se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Really great atmosphere and excellent service. My boyfriend and I enjoyed our meal there!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.