About Loulay

600 Union St
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Loulay Kitchen and Bar is a new restaurant from Thierry Rautureau. Loulay is an urban, contemporary French restaurant and will feature local, seasonal fare with the influence of his upbringing in "Saint-Hilaire de Loulay." The accessible & multi-leveled dining room will offer the guests a variety of dining experiences offered throughout the day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 8:00am-2:00pm

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm - Sunday 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 402-4588

Website:
http://www.loulay-seattle.com/

Catering:
Please contact - (206) 402-4588 - andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the Sheraton and street parking

Public Transit:
49, 11, 10, 43, 47, Sound Transit - Link Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Thierry Rautureau

Private Party Facilities:
The private mezzanine is available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and accommodates up to 30 guests for a seated event and 40 guests for a standing reception-style affair.

Evening buyouts are also available.

To book a party please email Andrea at andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Private Party Contact:
Desiree Gionet: 2064024588x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Executive Assistant/Private Party Coordinator Desiree Gionet - (206) 402-4588 - desiree@thechefinthehat.com

Restaurant Photos

Loulay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (179)
special occasion (126)
notable wine list (81)
See All
romantic (75)
great for lunch (67)
great for brunch (64)
good for groups (42)
neighborhood gem (32)
hot spot (30)
vibrant bar scene (17)
late-night find (15)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1012 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We met some out-of-town friends for Sund ...

Dined 3 days ago

We met some out-of-town friends for Sunday brunch. The food and service were excellent-- when I had to step out to quiet my crying baby, our server had the kitchen remake my dish (poached egg over asparagus) so it would be hot. Very gracious!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

I think loulay is one of the best dinnin ...

Dined 5 days ago

I think loulay is one of the best dinning experiences that I have had in a long time. The food is so so soo good, and the atmosphere is both sophisticated and laid back. Crab beignets are always great, but what I like about this place is aside from a few staple dishes like the beignets the menu is constantly changing. There's always a surprise and each dish is better than the next. We had a rhubarb dessert that was so refreshing and creative, I'm still talking about it days later. I would highly recommend this place, if you like delicious food you will like this.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was creative and delisous! The ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was creative and delisous! The staff was well trained and knowledgeable. Our server Ashley was faboulis! Bestro style but with fine dining, attention to detail service and food. Value was very good but found wine prices high due to selection. A few more moderate selections would be appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good for business l7ncg

Dined 6 days ago

Took a co-worker here to celebrate his birthday. Service was excellent, attentive in spite of how busy they were, which was great since we had to go back to work. Our crab beignets and sandwiches were very good. Will come back here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3

Another good meal

Dined 7 days ago

Another good meal

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been here twice for brunch so far. The s ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Been here twice for brunch so far. The service is fantastic and so is the food. Looking forward to trying dinner sometime.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

Great food, good wine selection and fabu ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food, good wine selection and fabulous service. I recommend trying to sit away from the kitchen and the glaring red neon sign. The ambiance does not pair well with the elegant food.

food4
ambience4
service4

A fine choice for locals and visitors al ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

A fine choice for locals and visitors alike. Very good food and service close to theaters. You can't go wrong with this restaurant.

food2
ambience3
service2

I've really enjoyed dinner and drinks he ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I've really enjoyed dinner and drinks here before but brunch was a disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent meal, attentive staff, quiet enough for pleasant conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

We requested upstairs seating for a quie ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We requested upstairs seating for a quieter lunch and not only did we get that, but the wait staff couldn't have been more pleasant. Everyone in our party loved their dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a great dinner!

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had the scallops, crab beignets, French onion soup, the burger, and a couple desserts. Everything was so delicious. I can't wait to bring my parents here. The burger was fabulous. Ordered it with everything. Definitely try it!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

So good! Love this place and location!!

Dined on May 11, 2016

So good! Love this place and location!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely Lunch!

Dined on May 10, 2016

My friend took me here for my 60fh birthday. Everything was absolutely superb. The service, food, everything. Our waitress was lovely and very attentive and accommodating. I had the special that day, the ling cod, and my friend had the scallops. We both raved about our lunches. We will definitely be back!

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3

We went for Mothers Day. They did do som ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We went for Mothers Day. They did do some nice touches like give my wife a rose which was awsome. And the ambience is really nice. My wife said she liked it. The best part was the mussels. I'd say my daughters burger and fries were good. But the crab Beignet was like eating typical fried bread with little crab. And the seafood stew broth base was a bit strong and overpowering. It wasn't bad, but definitely not French.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was incredible, the staff were ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was incredible, the staff were great and it was a fantastic place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loulay will always be on the list of go to places

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been many times and never been disappointed. Chef Thiery is a presence, his team is always on their game.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun But Pricy

Dined on May 8, 2016

I enjoyed the food and liked the service. Location is excellent and the personal touch of the manager spending a little time at table just chatting was a nice touch. Dinner and drinks with tip was about $125 each so not cheap. In general I as OK with the price-value equation but expect a little more for $100+/per person scene.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service Will definitely b ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food and service Will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

French at the xossing

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great little spot in the heart of the shopping district. I love french cuisine so make a habit to ome here. Trout, excellent, really any of the seafood dishes. Must have french wine!

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

It's no Rover's

Dined on May 3, 2016

My first time at Loulay, for a business lunch. There was just nothing special about the place at all. The hostess was nice. The waiter was brusque and not particularly attentive. The food was fine, but not special. There was nothing about the restaurant that would draw me back again. It's not bad, but there are better choices.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazong food. Incredibly connected and i ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Amazong food. Incredibly connected and informed waiter. Can't wait to come back and bring friends/clients. The best burger-froie Gras combo on the planet. Drink menu is too good to be true. Top restaurant in Seattle and maybe even West Coast!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pre-theater brunch

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed Loulay so much. The beignets were amazing. I had the eggs benedict- outstanding! My daughter had the classic french omelette-divine. Our waiter was very good. It was on the pricey side for brunch, but I would definitely go again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best French Restaurant in the Northwest

Dined on May 1, 2016

Loulay's service is impeccable and every item on the menu is fresh, unique, and scrumptious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Surrounded

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary with an early dinner before the theater. We were taken to a table on the highest level of the restaurant overlooking the Sheraton lobby entrance. Though not ideal, it was relatively quiet - at first. The food was terrific, as were the cocktails, much better than expected. Unfortunately by the end of the meal we were stranded at our table for two, surrounded by three large tables of six or more, one with multiple young children. It was very loud, and while not the worst dining experience ever, certainly no where near a good one. The server did apologize to my husband as we were leaving, but no accommodation (offer of another table) was conveyed during the dinner. A shame, as my meal was delicious - a scallop/spring pea starter, and the fish special were at Canlis level, the house salad was crisp, light, and fresh. No desire to go back after dinner for two trapped in the party room.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service went beyond expectations

Dined on May 1, 2016

Went to Loulay for date after a show and seated in upper balcony area were we could see what others were ordering. We ordered scallops, charcuterie, steak and fries and the local catch, all good choices and very classic french preperation. I most want to rave about service, we had an attentive waiter, and what also impressed me was that each wait person who visited our table asked if we needed something and followed thru for us. Excellent service team from start to finish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, lovely dining room, A+ service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Had a truly wonderful pre-theater dinner experience. The food and the ambiance were great, but what really stood out was the service. Friendly without being intrusive, willing to make recommendations without ever making us feel like we were being "sold" the high priced items, giving us plenty of time when we wanted it and providing some special touches that made us feel pampered (Even bring us the leftover broth from our mussels in a clean bowl with some bread when we raved over it). Will definitely be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A Meal Worth Repeating

Dined on April 30, 2016

Had dinner with friends prior to show at 5th Avenue. Service and food were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Chester was attentive, creative, and fac ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Chester was attentive, creative, and facilitated a great dining experience. My wife and I so enjoyed our dinner that we decided to stay and skipped our theatre production. Well done!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love dining at Loulay before a play downtown.

Dined on April 28, 2016

We can have a multi-course meal or just an appetizer or First course and a glass of wine, depending on our time, and always know it will be delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Can't really comment too much on the amb ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Can't really comment too much on the ambiance, as I was sat at the bar. Can a single lady have a table, or does she need to be tucked away? And no, I don't want my drink bought for me. The bartender was very nice and accommodating though. Recommended a great salad and made me a fantastic drink. Overall an alright place, but they certainly didn't win me over.

food3
ambience4
service2

Usually great food and service at this p ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Usually great food and service at this place. Today, must of had a new chef, because they forgot to use any salt on the burger and fries. They need to go back to school and learn how to cook a medium rare burger, because mine was well done.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not as good as last time

Dined on April 21, 2016

A year ago I had a superb lunch, so I was anticipating the same. Unfortunately, my lunch wasn't nearly as good. The salad was fine, although not great. The main course, though, scallops in a beet sauce, was not very good. The scallops weren't very tender, and the sauce was way to thin and not that flavorful, the beets undercooked, and the whole dish just wasn't successful. The dessert, beignets, however, was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

We loved our server and the food exceede ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We loved our server and the food exceeded expectations. When she discovered it was our 25th wedding anniversary she brought over two glasses of champagne. What a lovely evening.

food5
ambience4
service5

We were there for the first time on a We ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We were there for the first time on a Wed evening and had a delightful evening. We were seeing a show at the Paramount a short walk away. We were not rushed and neither were they. We ordered one main, two larger size appetizers and one appetizer. All were very tasty. We had the scallops which were done perfectly, the quail (pretty small portion, really just a couple bites) and the bouillabaisse which was delicious. We had the pate' terrine which was also excellent. We had a very nice bottle of wine and the sommelier did not try to sell us an expensive bottle. He covered all the levels at my encouragement but he started at the low end. We would definitely go there again.

food5
ambience5
service4

Loved that Chef Thierry comes out to say ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Loved that Chef Thierry comes out to say hello and thank his guests for coming in. We had the pork chop and the roast chicken, both were AWESOME!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing spot. I try to eat there every t ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Amazing spot. I try to eat there every time we are in Seattle. Highest recommendation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is no way to fault this place. Fi ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

There is no way to fault this place. Fine fine cuisine in a warm friendly atmosphere at a fair price. What more could you ask?!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Sadly slow and unremarkable meal

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Loulay is OK - indeed, a bit more than OK. It could fairly easily be a lot more than that, but it wasn't when I had a business lunch there today. It was a busy lunchtime, but I was there at 12.30, and soon after we had ordered the entree of the day, the manager came to tell us it had sold out - and this well before 1pm. The service was remarkably slow. The 2-course set lunch is a house salad and the entree. The entree did not arrive until 1.30 - luckily, my guest and I had much to talk about, but this would have been a problem for some business lunches. The food was fine, although the scallop entree was ungenerous boasting a whole two scallops, and them not quite perfectly cooked. And the fire alarm went off! Just not really quite there....

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Great Ambiance, good food, fair service

Dined on April 15, 2016

Picked Loulays for lunch as it was close to my friends work and looked like a fun newer restaurant to check out. It is a fun place, great ambiance, smaller menu but still good choices and our meals were good, but not outstanding. The service a just fair. Had to repeatedly ask for water/lemonade refills. Things were forgotten and just not totally up to par in the service department. It was not bad service, but certainly nothing to brag about and actually for their prices I expect better service. I would return and give them another chance, but the first impression was just "okay."

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.