Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Loulay

Loulay Kitchen and Bar is a new restaurant from Thierry Rautureau. Loulay is an urban, contemporary French restaurant and will feature local, seasonal fare with the influence of his upbringing in "Saint-Hilaire de Loulay." The accessible & multi-leveled dining room will offer the guests a variety of dining experiences offered throughout the day.

600 Union St
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 8:00am-2:00pm

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm - Sunday 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 402-4588

Website:
http://www.loulay-seattle.com/

Catering:
Please contact - (206) 402-4588 - andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the Sheraton and street parking

Public Transit:
49, 11, 10, 43, 47, Sound Transit - Link Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Thierry Rautureau

Private Party Facilities:
The private mezzanine is available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and accommodates up to 30 guests for a seated event and 40 guests for a standing reception-style affair.

Evening buyouts are also available.

To book a party please email Andrea at andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Private Party Contact:
Desiree Gionet: (206) 402-4588

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Executive Assistant/Private Party Coordinator Desiree Gionet - (206) 402-4588 - desiree@thechefinthehat.com

Loulay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (77)
Special Occasion (77)
Good for a Date (72)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (65)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Notable Wine List (51)
Romantic (44)
Business Meals (40)
Authentic (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Local Ingredients (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Great for Lunch (25)
Great for Brunch (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Fun (20)
Seasonal (18)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Casual (15)
Cozy (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Modern Decor (14)
People Watching (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Healthy (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1517 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

We visited Loulay with visiting friends (at their request). It was a perfect pre-theater choice. Our service was skilled and delightful, and every aspect of the meal (quality of the food, timeliness of courses, variety, desserts) was superb. Thanks for a perfect evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent and the service was exceptional. The recommendations were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Very disappointed in the quality of food and 'balcony' seating. Food is not worth the money. It's overpriced and the mussels I had were not cleaned at all. They still had the beards attached and tasted gritty and dirty. Don't order the fries. You're better off going to Carlyle or picking a casual dining spot up the hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Loulay, such a treat to be able to have a conversation in a Seattle restaurant without having to yell across the table to be heard. I love the high-back, cushy, half-moon booths.

Menu has excellent selection, at varying prices and serving portions. While our server pointed out that the "second" was nice for a light meal, what she didn't say is that it is a really good value for the quality and amount of food. I ordered the seasonal risotto with crab and it was certainly more than a "light meal", it served as my main course. It was delicious.

My friend ordered one of their house-made, alcohol-free, cocktails and loved it. The wine list is terrific.

Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 10, 2017

They made my parents 25th wedding anniversary spectacular! The moment my parents came in they created a warm and inviting environment for them to celebrate 25 years. They were also able to put "25" on their dessert!!
10/10 service!
Thank you Loulay!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was delicious and presentation was beautiful. A very nice experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very Good, but not great. The atmosphere and ambience were the best part. The French Onion soup was good, but I've had better in my hometown of Tulsa. Overall, I would recommend this restaurant, but I'm sure there are better in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The food was, as expected from a Thierry Rautureau restaurant, wonderful. However the "middle" sized plates varied considerably in quantity - my mussels were a substantial plate, whereas my partner's and friend's scallops consisted of three, well made but lonely molluscs, and more in line with my "small" crab beignets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Delicious chicken. Chef came to our table to chat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Everything was amazing and we didn't have what the staff continually called their favorite (the trout and salmon). Totally recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2017

As usual (it was not my first time there) it was an excellent meal with great service. My only "not as positive" comment: I was surprised that there was no tablecloth on the table. If my memory is correct, there used to be.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great service and wonderful food. I had the chicken and it was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Four friends and I went here for a dinner before the theater yesterday. We told our server about our theater plans before we ordered, we got our drinks at 6:20pm and ordered when the drinks were delivered. We didn't get the food until 7:35pm!! Our show was at 8:00pm. Thankfully the theater is only 1.5 blocks away.

The server acknowledged the delay and gave us each a free glass of wine to apologize. To further compound the obviousness of the delay, we asked for the checks ahead of time, specifically that they get delivered immediately after the food got served. The checks came BEFORE the meals. This turned out to actually be helpful since they processed our payment while we were scarfing down our food.

Finally, about the food: one friend and I each ordered their $27.00 seared scallops from the "Lighter Faire" menu. There were TWO scallops on the plate, accompanied by the tiniest piece of foie gras and some shaving of vegetables. While it is true that the flavors were good - I was shocked at the poor value of the price-to-meal comparison. I don't think I will ever go back. There are too many other nice restaurants with excellent tasting food with a better sense of timing their meals!

Very dissappointed!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I check loud for noise but I have found the perfect spot - the deuce in the round booth at the end of the bar. Perfect.
Make that lunch instead of brunch

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Lunch took an hour and a half. Had to flag down the server for any service whatsoever. I have heard this is a nice dinner spot, but they are not ready to serve lunch. The food was great, but no excuse for 45 minutes between courses. No acknowledgment of the wait, so it must be par for the course.
At $80 for salad and stew for two, no drinks, the service should be top notch. I was embarrassed to have hosted my business lunch here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Extraordinary food and impeccable, friendly service. Fresh locally sourced ingredients. The menu includes divine starters that can be shared, a burger, French classics such as charcuterie, house made pate and French onion soup, and many creative dishes. This time, we loved the crab salad, the kale-stuffed roasted trout, and the most tender, flavorful pork chop I've ever tasted. The chocolate sorbet dessert was incredible. Our server nailed the wine selection. Every time we go, we find everything we order is prepared to perfection.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Very good! I highly recommend. Plan on spending a bit of time there to enjoy your meal. The food is delicious and you want to be able to enjoy it without feeling rushed. We are planning on returning for the Brunch.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Loved our meal, great food from an amazing chef. We'll be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The four in our party all enjoyed the experience. This us our regular pre-show brunch stop and have never been disappointed. The shrimp & grits were particularly tasty! I don't know what I'll do if they are ever off the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Upon arrival we notified our server that we had a show to attend and that our time was limited and she said that it shouldn't be an issue and said that she would get our orders in quickly. We ordered our drinks and when the drinks arrived we ordered 2 of Chefs eggs and our entrees. The eggs arrived within 10 minutes but the entrees took over an hour. We had to wolf them down so we wouldn't be late for the show. The manager on site realized that they had an issue getting the meals out to the tables in time and issues at other tables getting the wrong food. He delivered our entrees and said that we would not be receiving a bill when we were done. They apologized and more than took care of us by not charging us. I felt bad that I only had about $20 cash to tip the server after she worked hard to take care of us but we had to go and its all that I had for cash. Loulay is still one of our favorite places in Seattle and will remain that way. Not every place can be perfect all of the time and Loulay is always fantastic and this time they had some issues but more than took care of us by eating the bill. Thank you

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our first experience at Loulay was a mixed bag. The atmosphere is very nice, with comfortable seating upstairs with a view of the kitchen. The waitstaff were courteous and helpful, but the kitchen was quite slow, taking 45 minutes just to get our salads. We had allowed two hours before a show, arriving at 5:45 for an 8:00 o'clock show, but ended up rushing to eat our entrees with no time for dessert or after-dinner drinks. The food was a mixed bag: salads were good but the lettuce had some brown spots; the mussels and oysters were excellent; the steak was very good; and the trout amandine was a bit dry, with the turnip, chard and mustard greens stuffed in the fish instead of on the side, their stronger flavor overpowering the delicate fish a bit. While dinner was OK, based on the price and reputation we had had higher expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 23, 2017

As always, our dinner at Loulay was wonderful! The food is well prepared and the service is exceptional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 22, 2017

With a reservation I would have preferred the main floor. There were tables for 2 and 4 when we arrived on time and were seated on the mezzanine.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Thierry is a Seattle classic chef and Loulay does not disappoint. Very high standard of food and service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, People Watching, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I never pass up a French onion soup on a menu. This may be the best one I have ever had. The trout was also perfect.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Loulay never disappoints. I had requested a quiet table for a business lunch when I made the reservation on-line. They were ready for me, gave me a private booth and served us discretely for 90 minutes. Lunch menu was delicious - including fresh seafood, creative salads, and other great choices. I highly recommend for lunch or dinner!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went to Loulay for Father's Day dinner, with my husband and son. We all ordered a drink to start, they have an excellent cocktail list. We started with the duck confit sliders, absolutely delicious. We shared an order of mushroom polenta and a charcuterie plate. The chicken mousse with a rhubarb gelée was incredible. For the mains, My husband had the bouillabaisse, my son tagliatelle, and I had a vegetable risotto, and added Dungeness crab. Everything was beautifully prepared and absolutely delicious. Sadly, we had no room for dessert. Our meal was a bit pricey, but we had a fairly expensive bottle of wine. You can also order an excellent burger for a more casual meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great cocktail, fantastic pastery.
Nice ambient and courteous servers .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The omelet is still the best in town, but it seemed to have a bit too much butter in it, so the plate was covered with melted butter, and I didn't digest it very well.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Amazing meal--highly recommend the Eldarossa mimosa :-) my husband had the queen Mary and really liked it!
For brunch we had the shrimp and grits--always to die for and the Moroccan beef...incredible! We brought our 18mo and the wait staff has always been so kind and fabulous towards little kids, you wouldn't think family friendly but they totally are!!
Love and try for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Have dined at this restaurant with one other person as well as with 11 others. Consistently great service and food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Delightful! We were visiting Seattle and had found Loulay. Owner came by and we chatted - excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food and service as well, I've been to many restaurants in Seattle and I have been to say that this one is one now one of my favorites. Also great ambiance.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food quantity not as expected. The place is a bit too loud. But environment is great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I wouldn't have thought $18 for a burger was a good deal but at Loulay's, it was worth every penny. This was the BEST BURGER I've ever had! I kept saying, "This is SO GOOD!" with each of about the first 8 bites - my husband had to ask me to stop so we could talk about something else. So then I talked about how GLAD I was that our daughter recommended the burger!! Our waiter was terrific too - perfectly attentive and very nice. You can skip the ketchup, the house aioli served with the already delicious fries is a perfect complement. The only thing I would do differently is order the burger medium well next time, instead of medium, since it was VERY pink and more like medium rare - not that it prevented me from scraping the plate clean, or did I lick it?

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Delicious food, beautifully presented. We love Loulay!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great lunch. Very professional service. Will definitely be going back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We enjoyed the food immensely and our server, Gilda, was very helpful and enjoyable.
this was the ideal spot for the pre-theatre meal.
the ambiance is really beautiful and they always surprise you with a little treat of some sort.
sometimes the noise in the restaurant is a bit much but overall it is a lovely experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My boyfriend and I go to brunch every Sunday and we're trying to find somewhere that much every picky thing we like about places. This place was amazing! Not only want the food delicious but the service wowed me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.