Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Loulay

Loulay Kitchen and Bar is a new restaurant from Thierry Rautureau. Loulay is an urban, contemporary French restaurant and will feature local, seasonal fare with the influence of his upbringing in "Saint-Hilaire de Loulay." The accessible & multi-leveled dining room will offer the guests a variety of dining experiences offered throughout the day.

600 Union St
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 8:00am-2:00pm

Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm - Sunday 4:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
6th Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 402-4588

Website:
http://www.loulay-seattle.com/

Catering:
Please contact - (206) 402-4588 - andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking at the Sheraton and street parking

Public Transit:
49, 11, 10, 43, 47, Sound Transit - Link Light Rail

Executive Chef:
Thierry Rautureau

Private Party Facilities:
The private mezzanine is available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and accommodates up to 30 guests for a seated event and 40 guests for a standing reception-style affair.

Evening buyouts are also available.

To book a party please email Andrea at andrea@thechefinthehat.com

Private Party Contact:
Desiree Gionet: (206) 402-4588

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Executive Assistant/Private Party Coordinator Desiree Gionet - (206) 402-4588 - desiree@thechefinthehat.com

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Happy Father's Day! We look forward to celebrating with you!

Loulay Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (89)
Good for a Date (83)
Special Occasion (71)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Pre/post Theatre (67)
Creative Cuisine (67)
Business Meals (52)
Romantic (49)
Notable Wine List (44)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Authentic (38)
Great for Lunch (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Local Ingredients (28)
Great for Brunch (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Fun (26)
Modern Decor (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Casual (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
People Watching (17)
Cozy (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Seasonal (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (4)
Tapas (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Spicy (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Creative dishes that taste great. Great attention to service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Our server was amazing. Awesome service and checked up on us just enough. She was very friendly and so were the other staff. I had the steak and it was cooked perfect! Would definitely come back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Loulay will always be one of my go-to recommendations for anyone coming in to town. Always a favorite brunch spot for myself, as it's near where I live, and also a great drink spot pre or post theater. Creative, authentic, flavorful cuisine- there is sure to be something for everyone on their menu.

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food excellent. Service good but seemed odd that one person's meal arrived much earlier than the others. Also one person was charged for a dessert that wasn't what she actually ordered or ate. We didn't complain as we needed to leave to get to theater.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Pretty pricey, but they did comp. us with a lovely chocolate/peanut butter dessert to share for out joint birthdays!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great experience. Good food and service. Loud background noise, but able to have quiet conversation inside the booth. Recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We were six formerly( 6PM) dinner on Mother's Day and we were served a very nice meal by attentive and professional staff. Good food and good value for money.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great food and service. Would have liked a few more entree items to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was dining alone, but I do that a lot. They sat me at a table for one, which was nice, but there was a guest book ON the table, and it turns out, this is a dedicated table for one. It DID have a view of the kitchen and one could hear the expeditor, which was entertaining. And in the guest book, folks seemed very excited about this table for one. That's why I mention it, because it isn't something I've seen before, and folks seemed to like it. Personally, I thought it was kind of weird--I mean, the guest book and it being a big deal. I eat 98% of my meals alone, anywhere from five-star steakhouses to cheap diners. Mostly towards the high-end, though. And...I've never felt it was weird or unusual. I've always been comfortable. But the folks in the guest book seemed to think it was unique. Having the guest book was unique, but the experience (at least for me) was not. I'd have preferred to sit at the bar in back or the bar by the kitchen. Service was a bit slow--coffee was often low--and when they did bring coffee, it was awkward to pour because of where the table is placed. That wasn't so bad, but it was easy to feel off the beaten path.

Anyway, about the food. The salmon benedict (a special for the day) was VERY fresh. It was a good benedict. I also got a half order of biscuits and mushroom gravy. I've had that before but not here. I wanted to compare. The gravy was very good. The biscuits weren't that great, BUT the only place I've ever had them was known for its biscuits, and that definitely makes the difference. I wouldn't order again, but the gravy was a good one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brought the family (kids 13 and 10) to Loulay for breakfast on Mother's Day. The food, service and ambiance were great. Love the restaurant and plan to go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Beautiful place with fabulous French cuisine for Mother's Day breakfast. Service is attentive and professional and the ambience is elegant but not stuffy- a really lovely menu and everything we ordered was delicious. Highly recommend the Wild Mushroom Scramble or the Eggs Benedict du Jour-

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was my wife's birthday and they did great job. The food and the drinks were great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First time we ate at Loulay's and we enjoyed it a lot. The food was well prepared and the plating was beautiful. Definitely french influenced. Has a range of prices and food options. Close to ACT theatre.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I have dined at Loulay multiple times.
The food is always excellent and very creative.
The service has always been outstanding.
The owner is a well known chef who has been in Seattle for many years and has an outstanding reputation.
The location is downtown and close to several of Seattle's theatres.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our experience at Loulay was excellent. The wait staff was attentive and the food was outstanding. We will definitely be back to this fine restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

They misplaced our order and after an hour we had not received our meal. We had tix to the theater and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and service as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Loulay never disappoints. The service is graciously attentive and not hawkishly hovering, and
the waitstaff has a snappy sense of humour. I have never eaten anything at Loualy that didn't make me say, "This is exquisite". Hats off to chef in the hat, again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was well crafted, seasoned and very tasty. The wine list is modest, but well rounded. Overall a wonderful experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Centrally located and has a nice menu with good selections. Generally the items are expensive, but look good when they arrive. We sat in a booth, which was private and comfortable. Service was good, and the food came quickly.

My dish was a disappointment. I ordered the dungeness crab with risotto. It was bland and uninspiring. It had the texture of baby food, and taste to match. Frankly I was expecting a bit more flair from this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I was disappointed in the restaurant. It could be much better in all respects.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Dined at Loulay before a show at the Paramount. Food was delicious (I had the halibut, and my husband had the steak), service was friendly and attentive, atmosphere was lovely. We'll be back! :)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Very convenient to ACT, which is why we went. Spirited ambiance. The food ws just OK. Good amuse Bouche. Great wine. So-so risotto ( needed a few more minutes and more flavor), onion soup - lots of cheese but not too exciting. Crab croquettes: a bit bland.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Loulay is my new favorite restaurant in Seattle. The food was soooo delicious and the service excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Amazing menu ... everything is absolutely delicious and perfectly prepared. Very, very knowledgeable staff (they know every ingredient and every detail about preparation) and accommodating. Excellent pacing.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Enjoyed dinner prior to attending the theater. Lovely French meal with a variety of menu options. We especially enjoyed the scallops and the risotto. Friendly and efficient service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We selected this restaurant based on proximity to the theater, and were pleasantly surprised by the incredible food and the intuitive, kind, and knowledgeable wait-staff. They made fantastic suggestions for wine and dinner. I will go back for my birthday and have the best desert of my life. A lovely, lovely night.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food quality was outstanding, as was the service. Protein portion sizes were generous, but the vegetable garnishes could easily have been doubled to balance the plate. First and second courses were quite small, which we expected based on our waitress's description. The French onion soup and trout amandine will definitely bring me back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food and service were outstanding! It was a nice surprise to find vegetarian options at this French inspired restaurant.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Another lovely meal at Loulay. Went to dinner with 3 others, we shared the beet and smoked yogurt salad and the seared polenta - both delicious. We all ordered different entrees, but I to say that my roast chicken was the best of the lot! Yes, it's possible to have bad roast chicken. The version at Loulay has a crisp, salty skin, moist meat and served with roasted fingerings and a small salad. DELICIOUS!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Exquisite! We had a pre-theater meal and the range of choices -- from small bites to full entrees -- hit our palates just right!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Lots of interesting options on the menu. Would definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We went to celebrate my wife's birthday and they made the whole experience very special. We were lucky enough to sit upstairs at a quiet and comfortable table.

Make sure to get the charcuterie board to sample some of the amazing skills that this chef has. There was a wide variety of incredible options.

Overall, this is an ideal place for a special occasion that requires a romantic and laid back ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Modern Decor, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent quality in a nice space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great meal, the burger was fantastic. The service was awesome and they were great about getting us out in time for our show!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I had the cassoulette for lunch. Fantastic dish. Duck was good, sausage was smoky and great and the beans were a total surprise. They sit in duck fat/sauce and they melt in your mouth. Wow, really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This brunch is great! It should be featured more across Seattle Brunch reporting. We enjoyed the French Toast, Croque Madame, and Biscuits and Gravy. All were generous portions and well executed. Everyone from the host to our server was highly professional and knowledgeable of the restaurant and menu. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was a family trip to Seattle with our adult son. This restaurant was recommended to my son by a friend and it did not disappoint! We are all foodies and our server, Brooke helped make some great choices. The Bone in steak was incredible. The menu said it served 2 but we were able to feed 3. We also had the mushroom dish in course 1 along with the mussels. We were impressed by the food, the service and the ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I had hoped for real "frites"--French style fries--but Loulay's were not as hot and crispy as they should be.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.