About Louie's Wine Dive - Omaha

16920 Wright Plaza
Suite 118
Omaha, NE 68130
View Larger Map

Louie’s is obsessed with really, really good grapes, creative gourmet comfort food, and a funky, fun atmosphere to share them. We search all over the world to find you great wines. Many wines come from our relationships with smaller undiscovered vineyards, which offer a great value to our guests.
Wine is supposed to be Fun! We pour BIG and will open any bottle for our guests to try by the glass. When you taste a new varietal at Louie’s, let us know how it changed your concept of what wine is supposed to be.
Our gourmet comfort food is made fresh, using eco-friendly and local ingredients. As for the fun, we instigate it, but count on you to see it to fruition (literally through the fruit!). Louie’s is your place, so please enjoy it as much as we do, grab one of our unique bottles when you leave!

Reservations cannot be made for happy hour sections.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am- 4:00pm; Brunch Saturday and Sunday 10am - 3pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Center Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 884-8966

Website:
http://louieswinedive.com/locations/

Entertainment:
We offer a variety of genres creating a fun and upbeat environment. Feature local artists every Sunday night for Wine Dive Live from 6p-8p.

Catering:
We will do catering on a case by case basis. Please call the restaurant or email or event catering coordinator, Codie, at cjburrhus@live.com to inquire about a catering event.

Parking Details:
Louie's Wine Dive offers parking in a public lot.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop at 168th and Center Rd.

Executive Chef:
John Vong

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We will do both offsite and onsite special events on a case by case basis. Please call the restaurant at 402 884 8966 or email our event coordinator, Codie, at cjburrhus@live.com to inquire about a special event.

Louie's Wine Dive - Omaha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (14)
notable wine list (12)
great for lunch (9)
See All
great for outdoor dining (9)
great for brunch (9)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
special occasion (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
hot spot (5)
romantic (3)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
62 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Just an OK experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Limited seating options, waited a while even with reservations. Waited 45 minutes to get breakfast food. It was good but the waiter was flippant when we asked about the delay even though we ordered off an abbreviated Mother's Day menu. Had a chipped glass, waiter forgot drink refill. Wouldn't return for a special occasion.

Tags: notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service3

Unfortunately, our Mother's Day brunch w ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Unfortunately, our Mother's Day brunch was unsatisfactory. The mile - high omelet was sparsely filled with vegetables. The omelet lacked flavor and was not fluffy. The dish was served with a basic English muffin, no potatoes and no garnish. My husband's meal was equally disappointing. Honestly, I left feeling as though it would have been better to eat at home as we waited over 30 minutes to be served. The restaurant was not full. DLKG

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was so nice. Good personality ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Our server was so nice. Good personality. Good was amazing. Sad that there were no deviled eggs. Will be back for sure.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on April 20, 2016

The owner was very attentive to us. Keegan was our server and did a great job with a group of 10. We will definitely play return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

A year ago I had a wonderful experience ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

A year ago I had a wonderful experience when dining at Louie's. I was there 3 months ago and the first 3 wines I selected were not in stock. When I asked for my 4th selection which was $4 a glass more expensive and asked if they would discount it I was told "we don't do that here." The food was mediocre but I figured my waiter could have had a bad day...not true...last time over this past weekend I took guests from out of town

food1
ambience2
service3
value4

Poor Easter Sunday brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Poor dining experience for Easter Sunday brunch. Nothing special about the menu. Food was lukewarm. Dessert was ice cold in the middle. Reluctantly sent it back. After a long wait it came out hot and very good. Highlight of the whole meal. Service below average considering it wasn't terribly busy. Our drinks would run out and take some time for a refill. Have to admit we were very surprised by lack of service and below average food selection. Won't be going back that's for sure. Too many restaurant choices in Omaha to pick from to settle for below average..l

food4
ambience4
service3

Great spot for brunch, the bacon was Del ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great spot for brunch, the bacon was Delish!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful server!! Helpful and ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a wonderful server!! Helpful and polite. Food was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Night Out

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was great, the wine was great, and we had the best service I've had in recent memory.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was great! The service was w ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything was great! The service was wonderful. And the shrimp Diablo was so good. We will definitely be back

food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Disappointing

Dined on February 13, 2016

I used to love to eat here. They had a great gluten-free menu and an awesome selection. However, after this experience I will likely not be back. Other than the Brussels sprouts, everything else was fair at best. Our entree, the spaghetti carbonara, was absolutely awful. While they were accommodating to take it off of the bill, my appetite was totally ruined. I NEVER send food back, and I couldn't wait to send this dish back. The crab poutine (a change from their previous lobster version, was fair. It did not seem nearly as rich as before, and the consistently didn't seem the same. It is also disappointing that there are no gluten-free dessert choices for a pretty extensive gluten-free menu.

food4
ambience5
service5

Solid wine selection. Menu is not well s ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Solid wine selection. Menu is not well suited to a plain eater. Brussel sprouts side is AMAZING!!!

food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Still a good spot in West O!

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

We stopped in for dinner before heading out to a movie. In and out in about an hour with decent service and good food. Drink selections were plentiful and prices were reasonable. Louie's remains a good option in West Omaha.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

They has reservations last minute

Dined on December 19, 2015

We weren't prepared for the Friday night wait that other restaurants had, popped up this one on open table, made a reservation for 10 minutes later, got there and was seated immediately. Good food, good wine. Very happy overall!

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3

Ambiance was nice ... service was good . ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

Ambiance was nice ... service was good .... had the fish and chips - never seen a smaller piece of fish and it was tasteless. They tried to make it up but too little too late.

food1
ambience3
service2

Disappointing

Dined on December 5, 2015

Have dined at Louie's a number of times in the past and the food/service was great. This time under new management the food and service was lacking to say the least. The seriver did not have a drink menu and knew none of the beers/wines available. The food was bland, cold and very small in serving size. I will likely not return unless others convince me that they are back to serving good food!

food5
ambience4
service4

Good but overwhelmed during our visit

Dined on November 8, 2015

A little short handed during our visit, but our waitress went the extra mile to make up for any delays we experienced. Food was very good and would go back again

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Louie's Wine Dive

Dined on November 7, 2015

We recently went to Louie's to celebrate my birthday with a group of friends. This was the first time eating/drinking there for all 10 of us. We had a wonderful time. My husband and I arrived 15 minutes before our reservation, to ensure everything was ready. They had our table ready when we got there and were seated immediately. The food was wonderful and so was the selection of wine. We look forward to returning soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First time for brunch... fantastic menu ...

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

First time for brunch... fantastic menu choices. Food was unique and delicious.

food4
ambience4
service5

Good place to go that is close by

Dined on October 25, 2015

I had been wanting to try Louie's Wine dive.. it is close by and the menu (online-different from what was at the restaurant) looked good. I easily & quickly set up a reservation thru Open Table. Our table was ready when we arrived. The food was good-although the Wagyu Beef Poutine wasn't at all like many poutine I have eaten in Montreal (broth vs. gravy, barely any cheese curds)-but still flavorful. Our server was enthusiastic & attentive. It was a pleasant experience overall and I would definitely go back-especially since they sent a $10 coupon via email.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent. Staff was attentive ...

Dined on September 27, 2015

Food was excellent. Staff was attentive. We will go again. Love the lobster & crab Mac n cheese and the shrimp diablo.

food2
ambience2
service2

Food

vip
Dined on September 15, 2015

My turkey burger was very dry. I've been here before and had good food but this was disappointing. Also our server would disappear and not come back for long periods of time.

food3
ambience3
service5

9/11/15

Dined on September 12, 2015

The waitress was fantastic. Friendly, helpful but not invasive The food was good and presentation was nice. I was glad my friends and I could check it out for Restaurant week

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service1

Overall...not a place I would come back ...

Dined on August 8, 2015

Overall...not a place I would come back to. Service was not good. Was seated promptly, but waitress took 10-15 minutes before coming to our table. Very noisy atmosphere. She took drink order and app order which was served promptly but huge gap in taking our entree order. Took long time to get drink refills and check. Food quality was nothing spectacular. Had shrimp pasta dish which was ok, but I know I could cook better. Will not return. This restaurant is probably better suited for a younger crowd who aren't necessarily looking for out of the ordinary food.

food4
ambience4
service4

Nice Sunday Brunch

Dined on July 26, 2015

Our family of five had Sunday brunch. We all enjoyed our meals. Their menu was more interesting than your typical eggs and french toast brunch menu. We'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience4
service4

Not a great second time

Dined on July 21, 2015

The first time I went I have the four pork gnocchi and it was phenomenal. I loved it and was excited to go back. The second time I took clients and my steak was kind of tough in parts, one person'so mussels were "off" and the crab cakes were just ok. One person had some truffle mac that she very much enjoyed. The salads were all great. I'll definitely go back and try again, because the first meal was spectacular.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Louies is back on the Pastport card and ...

vip
Dined on July 17, 2015

Louies is back on the Pastport card and a great place to dine. Also their wine list is exceptioal.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best brunch around! Toy was an amazing s ...

vip
Dined on July 12, 2015

Best brunch around! Toy was an amazing server and the large group I hosted was no match for her. She was totally on top of everything! Way to go Louie's!

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Place

Dined on June 19, 2015

Love the relax feel & GREAT signature cocktails. The burger was GREAT & my mother loved the fish & chips. We will absolutely come back to try more dishes and drinks. Staff was also very friendly and attentive

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

Two hour brunch = too long

Dined on June 14, 2015

Our server was great. Food was decent. But the kitchen was really slow to get it out. There were seven of us in the group, and it took us over two hours to diner for brunch. I'd recommend to others but only if you have a lot of time on your hands.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5

Another great experience at Louis

Dined on June 12, 2015

Met friends again at Loius, and had a great time. Good food, good wine and great service. Conrad is the best. We'll be back soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 10, 2015

Sunday Brunch has become so busy, we now make reservations. It's incredibly noisy. Service is usually quick, but was pretty slow on Mother's Day. Food is always delicious but disappointed that we cannot order from the regular lunch menu on Sundays. The brunch menu is pretty limited. Bloody Mary's and other craft cocktails are terrific! Their location in Legacy is pretty visible although the traffic pattern and parking mid-day Sundays is lousy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the food and the experience, we ...

Dined on May 10, 2015

We loved the food and the experience, we love it every time!

food2
ambience2
service2

Disappointed

Dined on April 28, 2015

We were disappointed in Louie's Wine Dive. We arrived during Happy Hour but were told the 4 of us would be required to sit at the bar, a high table in the lounge (they all only sat 3 since they were up against the window) or outside on the patio. Through default, we chose the patio. It was a very windy day. I had a full wine glass get blown over. When paying the bill we discovered I was charged for my replacement. The food was just so-so and too expensive for the quality. I had the special which was a soft-shelled crab po' boy for $18.99. There was so much bread and toppings that I could not even taste the crab.

food1
ambience3
service4

Noisy with sub par food

vip
Dined on April 27, 2015

I have dined here twice, the first time we sat outside and the service was mediocre. The server had no knowledge of wine. The food was ok at best. The second time (April 27, 2015) the server was great, but we sat inside and it was really noisy. We had vegetarians at our table and it was nearly impossible for them to eat anything, normally there are at least a number of appetizers to choose from. The "Flight of Cheeses" ($14.99) consisted of cheap smoked gouda and pepper jack cheese. We were expecting something a bit higher quality.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Disappointed in happy hour

Dined on April 24, 2015

Happy hour is only available at bar or limited high top tables--we made reservations for specifically for happy hour specials. I don't remeber it specifying any limitations. Otherwise our waiter was great, food was good. I thought the wine was pricey

food4
ambience3
service5

Very good overall

vip
Dined on April 21, 2015

Short version: Casual neighborhood place in West Omaha with very good food and excellent service. Longer version: We are from out-of-town and some of our local business contacts suggested Louie's for a simple bite with wine or beer. It was a Tuesday night so it was not crowded except for the remaining happy hour folks near the bar. Lindsay - our server - was excellent. Great combination of friendliness and attentiveness. We tried several different glasses of wine between us, but one Bordeaux was terrible - I think it had been sitting out for a long, long time. The restaurant took care of the glitch which was good move on their part. Food - I had the field salad with Salmon, my companion the pork chop. Very, very good - nothing left on the plate. This is a casual neighborhood place which is a nice change. Bottom line: would we go back? Yes.

food5
ambience4
service4

Made a reservation for 7:30. I showed up ...

Dined on March 27, 2015

Made a reservation for 7:30. I showed up around 7:35 because it took a good 10 minutes to find a parking spot. When I checked in at the hostess stand she let me know the table wasn't ready, so I was able to wait at the bar. At the bar I waited 5-10 minutes to be helped. We were finally sat at our table around 7:45-7:50. The service was a little slow, but it was also a full house. Since, we were not on time condtraints we did not mind. The food was great! I had the pho waygu and my friend had the pan roasted chicken. Great portions, great flavors, and great wine! I've been here a few times, but never for dinner. Overall, it was very enjoyable, but wish we would have been sat at our table closer to the reserved time

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on March 25, 2015

We usually have good service and really good food and drinks. This time, we waited too long for someone to take our food and drink order and the hostess brought us a glass that had a huge crack in it which I would think is something that should have been noticed by the person washing it previously. The food was good and even though this is a personal taste, my martini would have been better without pieces of dill in it. We will come back because we usually love the food and the atmosphere!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Great customer service

Dined on March 22, 2015

We had a problem with one of the brunch entries and they kitchen remade it-We were not charged-Great customer service

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.