About Louie's Wine Dive - Kansas City

7100 Wornall Road
Kansas City, MO 64114
View Larger Map

Louie’s is obsessed with really, really good grapes, creative gourmet comfort food, and a funky, fun atmosphere to share them. We search all over the world to find you great wines. Many wines come from our relationships with smaller undiscovered vineyards, which offer a great value to our guests.


Wine is supposed to be Fun! We pour BIG and will open any bottle for our guests to try by the glass. When you taste a new varietal at Louie’s, let us know how it changed your concept of what wine is supposed to be.


Our gourmet comfort food is made fresh, using eco-friendly and local ingredients. As for the fun, we instigate it, but count on you to see it to fruition (literally through the fruit!). Louie’s is your place, so please enjoy it as much as we do, grab one of our unique bottles when you leave – we have a great selection of wine available to take home and share with family and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4pm-10pm (Dinner Only)
Tuesday-Thursday: Lunch 11am-4pm, Dinner 4pm-10pm
Friday: Brunch 11 am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-11pm
Saturday: Brunch 10am- 2pm, Dinner 2pm-11pm
Sunday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-9pm




Cross Street:
Gregory Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 569-5097

Website:
http://www.louieswinedive.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to our street parking, we have parking lots available for your convenience.

Public Transit:
We are fortunate to be directly on the KCATA buss route. They have provided you with a stop right outside our door.

Private Party Facilities:
We welcome you to try our "Bubble Down Room" for any get together up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Aaron Shields: 8165695097x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Blt Deviled Eggs
Crabcake Eggs Benedict
Croque Madame
Egg Porn
Country Fried Steak With Bacon And Eggs
Egg Porn On Breakfast Flatbread
Fig And Prosciutto Flatbread
Wedge Salad
4 Pork Gnocchi
Gooey Louie Burger
Quinoa
Crabcakes Benedict Eggporn
Eggporn
Rise And Shine Burger Close Up
Breakfast Flatbread
Ruben Sandwich
Breakfast Pizza Flatbread
Breakfast Burger
Bruschetta
Cheese Quesadilla
Roasted Vegetable Flatbread
Rise And Shine Burger
Bottomless Mimosa
Mimosa
Moscow Mule
pineapple upside-down cake
catch of the day: mahi mahi.
Corned Pork Hash
Four Pork Gnocchi
Mile High Omelette
Horse Feather
S’mores
Lobster Poutine
Burger Of The Day
Lobster & Gulf Shrimp Mac & Cheese
S'mores!!!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Louie's Wine Dive - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

Neighborhood Gem (17)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Romantic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A little noisy a little funky but great. ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A little noisy a little funky but great. Chef creative

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We've been for brunch, and don't get us ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We've been for brunch, and don't get us wrong, that was great, but dinner was not as good. There are a lot better places in KC to have dinner. We had the crab poutine, shrimp flatbread and pork gnocchi. We like to consider ourselves "foodies" and didn't care for any of it. It wasn't bad, but just wasn't great. We would go back for brunch, just not dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Went to Louie's for the first time last ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Went to Louie's for the first time last week for my wife's birthday. We had the cheese flight, blue fin crab poutine and a few of their signature cocktails. Every bit of it was incredibly delicious! Our server was very friendly and attentive and when a different server delivered the cheese flight, he took the time to explain everything that we were getting rather than just dropping it off and leaving. I was very impressed by our first visit and will definitely be returning.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress was exceptional!! Very know ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our waitress was exceptional!! Very knowledable about both wine and food. Excellent food and wine experience! Will definetly be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service and greater wi ...

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great food, great service and greater wine list! The wine flights give you an opportunity to try wines you normally wouldn't have the opportunity to try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The fish and chips were greasy and in ex ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The fish and chips were greasy and in excess of breading . Deviled eggs and pork tacos great.

Was our second time. We were generally disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Interesting experience. Great wine sele ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Interesting experience. Great wine selection. Server knowledgeable and had good recommendations. Steak not done how we ordered. We were told, "Oh, well, you can always cook it more". When came back, had fresh greenery on top complete with gnats. We got our check. Had a gift card for part of the payment. The entire gift card was not taken off of our bill. Was corrected when we pointed that out. Not a bad experience, but not necessarily a good one, either.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Out to dinner with friends and not our f ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Out to dinner with friends and not our first time at Louie's Wine Dive in Missouri. Dinner was good as usual but the service was extra special. Wine selection was great as usual. We got to try some wine that we hadn't had before. Louie's Wine Dive is one of our go-to restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing!!! Staff was great, it' ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was amazing!!! Staff was great, it's just a little loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything on the menu is out of this wo ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything on the menu is out of this world. I try to eat something different every time I go there. It's so easy to do that because everything is fantastic. This latest experience was no exception, my expectations were totally surpassed. Great service, fantastic wine, great food; can't wait to dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We order the cheese board (which was the ...

 
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We order the cheese board (which was the best of the appetizer selections for our group), as we also order the calamari which was heavily breaded with only a fried flavor and no distinct suggestion of calamari hidden in the breaking. The shrimp flat bread was awful (very little shrimp, the flat bread tasted stale and it was over powered by the cheese). Not to mention we selected a wine on the reduced list which would have been less expensive by the glass as opposed to by the bottle.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Louie's is the best!

 
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Love to stop by and sit at the bar and drink wine!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loud and energetic

 
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was above average. Loud atmosphere. A lot of wine

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Best bar sitting in town!

 
·Dined on April 15, 2016

All of the servers are the best at Louie's!! They are friendly, care about you and do the best they can to make it a fantastic experience!! The food is awesome, too, but we love the bar experience!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly Recommend

 
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My husband and I met another couple at Louie's and it was all of our 1st time. We chose a Syrah wine and it was an amazing pairing with our dinner. We split the wedge salad, 4 pork Gnocchi and honey butter cinnamon chicken sandwich. I think the gnocchi was one of the best meals we've had in awhile. I should've asked for extra of the cinnamon butter as it melted in your mouth.

Because it's more expensive than other places we go, we can't go too often but want to come back the next special occasion. I'd love to try everything on the menu - definitely a great find!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was very loud the night we dined and ...

 
·Dined on April 2, 2016

It was very loud the night we dined and actually led to our waiter mis-hearing what I ordered. We love this place though and the service is great. Food is to die for and the downstairs is so much fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Brunch

 
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great place for brunch. It a fun place with bottomless mimosas! Food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Date

 
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Had a first date here. Really cool band playing in the background. They were loud but never too loud for our conversation. Good wine list, and also help from the waiter pick a wine. Good was awesome too. Don't pass on the honey butter chicken

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome food and drink!

 
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Louie's is one of the best local finds in the area! We love sitting at the bar, especially for happy hour, and talking with all of the employees. They make it an unforgettable experience to go along with the outstanding food and drink!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful waitress and the food ...

 
·Dined on March 2, 2016

We had a wonderful waitress and the food was amazing for our first time dining there. We took a great friend out for her birthday and everything was fantastic! I'll return many times in the future with new customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time there. We will definitely ret ...

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

First time there. We will definitely return. Great service, great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time. Loved the romance ...

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

It was our first time. Loved the romance, the food and the wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dive Right In

 
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food, service, wine and wine selection were all very good. The hard surfaces of the restaurant's interior made it a bit too loud for me. It was hard to have a long conversation. Overall, we had a good time and enjoyed our meals.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great service

 
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Went for restaurant week but ending up ordering from the regular menu. Waitress was very friendly and helpful and we will definitely come back, most likely for the great happy hour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

not so good

 
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Poor lighting so menu unreadable.

Music so loud couldn't hear myself & the server couldn't hear me.

food very salty. Risotto flat.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Fun birthday celebration

 
·Dined on January 16, 2016

I met a group of 10 friends to celebrate my birthday. The wait staff was very attentive and the food was excellent. This was a great place to celebrate with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Music

 
·Dined on January 10, 2016

We had a lot of fun on our first trip to Louie's. My Dad was on piano with a great sounding band. The happy hour food and drinks were well priced and delicious. Ian was a knowledgeable waiter who treated us and our daughters well. Make reservations because the place was full on a Sunday night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local gem with wines worth driven'

 
·Dined on January 6, 2016

Have had ALL meals(brunch, lunch, dinner) here. This was happy hour with friends, great inexpensive choices for a couple hours, then still well worth full price for other menu items. Wait staff friendly, and aware when we needed more wine!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Disappointed with ability to listen to music

 
·Dined on December 27, 2015

I found Louie's Wine Dive from the calendar of a musician I wanted to hear. I made a reservation at the time he was going to be playing and showed up and was seated. I had no idea there was a downstairs or that the music would be downstairs, not sure how the restaurant benefits from actively hiding the music from anyone knowing. We never heard music and inquired where it was going to happen. Our waiter actively discouraged us from seeking it out and told us it wasn't possible to be downstairs. After going down and finding an empty table we moved, but the waiter wanted us to order upstairs since the bar downstairs was so busy, but it wasn't. Boo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Fun ambience, great service and great food!

 
·Dined on December 23, 2015

this was our first time to Louie's- I had clients that were interested in trying this- We absolutely loved the waiter, food was great and fun vibe- we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding thank you

 
·Dined on December 13, 2015

I will give them a perfect 10 for our evening out with good friends, wood be outstanding for all ages, food was excellent, wine chalkboard were very informative, service was outstanding!!!! Looking forward to coming back often.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

 
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Service was great! Jessi was on top of everything in a good way!

I love that you can order glasses of wine off the chalk board of bottles that have been opened! Great way to try new wines!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great spot

 
·Dined on November 28, 2015

This place is great. It has a hole-in-the-wall atmosphere but the food and wine are top notch.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun atmosphere with lots of energy. Many locals.

 
·Dined on November 21, 2015

The serverwere great friendly and very knowledgable. Gave us good options for wine and food. The food was delicious especailly liked the shrimp pasta.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a fun atmosphere and great food. ...

 
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Always a fun atmosphere and great food. The cheese plate is excellent and I've never been disappointed by an entree!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Underwhelmed

 
·Dined on November 8, 2015

We were not impressed when we went for our first visit to Louie's on a Saturday night, 11/7/15. The entry level was very loud, so we were glad to be led downstairs where a mellow jazz trio was playing, and the noise level was very comfortable.

There seemed to be some confusion on our part and the servers'/bartenders' parts about who was serving us. We ordered one of the inexpensive red wines, and when he brought the bottle out we didn't compare it to the menu to make sure he had brought the right one. When we go the bill later we realized he had served us one that cost $12 more than what we ordered. Oh well, our fault, we should have caught that.

We ordered the crab poutine appetizer, which was good, but not out-of-this-world good like I was hoping for. It was fine and tasty.

I ordered the chef's prix fixe menu, and was not impressed by any of it. It's like they tried to be fancy, upscale and creative, but it fell flat. The first course and entree were just okay. Not worth the price I was paying in comparison to the rest of the menu which is surprisingly low priced. The entree included bits of shredded duck confit which were dry and extremely salty.

My husband ordered a wedge salad and shrimp diablo, which were both very very good. The two best tastes of the evening. The arrabbiata sauce on the shrimp was outstanding. I wished I had ordered that.

When it came time to request the dessert (from my 3-course prix fixe), we waited and waited... and waited. The server/bartender came by twice and told it it was almost ready. We waited 30 minutes. It finally came, a warm apple tart/pie thing, whatever they called it. It was just okay. And it was overly salted. Not worth the wait. We were there 2-1/4 hours for dinner that was mostly just okay.

We might try Louie's for brunch or a weekend lunch, but most likely will not go back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Can't recommend this place enough! Went ...

 
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Can't recommend this place enough! Went for brunch and not only was the food amazing, it was affordable and the servers were awesome and very friendly. This was my first experience and I'm definitely adding it to my "go to" list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cheese plate, the pasta and dessert ...

 
·Dined on October 31, 2015

The cheese plate, the pasta and dessert were quite delicious. We really enjoyed our server dressed in a Star Wars costume. He also did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pleasant Surprise

 
·Dined on October 31, 2015

We just wanted a place to watch the World Series that wouldn't be packed out the door. Louie's gave us that and so much more. We got a table right in front of a TV, like we wanted, with a jazz band playing behind us all night. The wait staff was funny and pleasant, exceedingly friendly. The food far exceeded our expectations. We will be repeat customers for a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Heard this was a great place for Sunday ...

 
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Heard this was a great place for Sunday brunch and we were extremely disappointed in the food. Actually had to ask for a steak knife to cut through the "crab benedict".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.