About Louie's Wine Dive - Kansas City

7100 Wornall Road
Kansas City, MO 64114
View Larger Map

Louie’s is obsessed with really, really good grapes, creative gourmet comfort food, and a funky, fun atmosphere to share them. We search all over the world to find you great wines. Many wines come from our relationships with smaller undiscovered vineyards, which offer a great value to our guests.


Wine is supposed to be Fun! We pour BIG and will open any bottle for our guests to try by the glass. When you taste a new varietal at Louie’s, let us know how it changed your concept of what wine is supposed to be.


Our gourmet comfort food is made fresh, using eco-friendly and local ingredients. As for the fun, we instigate it, but count on you to see it to fruition (literally through the fruit!). Louie’s is your place, so please enjoy it as much as we do, grab one of our unique bottles when you leave – we have a great selection of wine available to take home and share with family and friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4pm-10pm (Dinner Only)
Tuesday-Thursday: Lunch 11am-4pm, Dinner 4pm-10pm
Friday: Brunch 11 am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-11pm
Saturday: Brunch 10am- 2pm, Dinner 2pm-11pm
Sunday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-9pm




Cross Street:
Gregory Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 569-5097

Website:
http://www.louieswinedive.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to our street parking, we have parking lots available for your convenience.

Public Transit:
We are fortunate to be directly on the KCATA buss route. They have provided you with a stop right outside our door.

Private Party Facilities:
We welcome you to try our "Bubble Down Room" for any get together up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Aaron Shields: 8165695097x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Louie's Wine Dive - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Kansas City
Notable Wine List
Kansas City
Neighborhood Gem
Kansas City, MO
1 More
Notable Wine List
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Plaza / Brookside ›

neighborhood gem (24)
notable wine list (22)
fit for foodies (16)
See All
hot spot (13)
good for groups (12)
special occasion (9)
great for brunch (9)
romantic (8)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for outdoor dining (4)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (3)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Louie's is the best!

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Love to stop by and sit at the bar and drink wine!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Loud and energetic

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was above average. Loud atmosphere. A lot of wine

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best bar sitting in town!

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

All of the servers are the best at Louie's!! They are friendly, care about you and do the best they can to make it a fantastic experience!! The food is awesome, too, but we love the bar experience!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly Recommend

Dined on April 2, 2016

My husband and I met another couple at Louie's and it was all of our 1st time. We chose a Syrah wine and it was an amazing pairing with our dinner. We split the wedge salad, 4 pork Gnocchi and honey butter cinnamon chicken sandwich. I think the gnocchi was one of the best meals we've had in awhile. I should've asked for extra of the cinnamon butter as it melted in your mouth. Because it's more expensive than other places we go, we can't go too often but want to come back the next special occasion. I'd love to try everything on the menu - definitely a great find!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

It was very loud the night we dined and ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

It was very loud the night we dined and actually led to our waiter mis-hearing what I ordered. We love this place though and the service is great. Food is to die for and the downstairs is so much fun.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great place for brunch. It a fun place with bottomless mimosas! Food was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First Date

Dined on March 7, 2016

Had a first date here. Really cool band playing in the background. They were loud but never too loud for our conversation. Good wine list, and also help from the waiter pick a wine. Good was awesome too. Don't pass on the honey butter chicken

Tags: romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food and drink!

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Louie's is one of the best local finds in the area! We love sitting at the bar, especially for happy hour, and talking with all of the employees. They make it an unforgettable experience to go along with the outstanding food and drink!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful waitress and the food ...

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

We had a wonderful waitress and the food was amazing for our first time dining there. We took a great friend out for her birthday and everything was fantastic! I'll return many times in the future with new customers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there. We will definitely ret ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

First time there. We will definitely return. Great service, great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first time. Loved the romance ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

It was our first time. Loved the romance, the food and the wine!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Dive Right In

Dined on January 24, 2016

The food, service, wine and wine selection were all very good. The hard surfaces of the restaurant's interior made it a bit too loud for me. It was hard to have a long conversation. Overall, we had a good time and enjoyed our meals.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service

Dined on January 24, 2016

Went for restaurant week but ending up ordering from the regular menu. Waitress was very friendly and helpful and we will definitely come back, most likely for the great happy hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

not so good

Dined on January 21, 2016

Poor lighting so menu unreadable. Music so loud couldn't hear myself & the server couldn't hear me. food very salty. Risotto flat.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun birthday celebration

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

I met a group of 10 friends to celebrate my birthday. The wait staff was very attentive and the food was excellent. This was a great place to celebrate with friends.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Music

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

We had a lot of fun on our first trip to Louie's. My Dad was on piano with a great sounding band. The happy hour food and drinks were well priced and delicious. Ian was a knowledgeable waiter who treated us and our daughters well. Make reservations because the place was full on a Sunday night.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Great local gem with wines worth driven'

vip
Dined on January 6, 2016

Have had ALL meals(brunch, lunch, dinner) here. This was happy hour with friends, great inexpensive choices for a couple hours, then still well worth full price for other menu items. Wait staff friendly, and aware when we needed more wine!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Disappointed with ability to listen to music

Dined on December 27, 2015

I found Louie's Wine Dive from the calendar of a musician I wanted to hear. I made a reservation at the time he was going to be playing and showed up and was seated. I had no idea there was a downstairs or that the music would be downstairs, not sure how the restaurant benefits from actively hiding the music from anyone knowing. We never heard music and inquired where it was going to happen. Our waiter actively discouraged us from seeking it out and told us it wasn't possible to be downstairs. After going down and finding an empty table we moved, but the waiter wanted us to order upstairs since the bar downstairs was so busy, but it wasn't. Boo.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun ambience, great service and great food!

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

this was our first time to Louie's- I had clients that were interested in trying this- We absolutely loved the waiter, food was great and fun vibe- we will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding thank you

Dined on December 13, 2015

I will give them a perfect 10 for our evening out with good friends, wood be outstanding for all ages, food was excellent, wine chalkboard were very informative, service was outstanding!!!! Looking forward to coming back often.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

Service was great! Jessi was on top of everything in a good way! I love that you can order glasses of wine off the chalk board of bottles that have been opened! Great way to try new wines!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

This place is great. It has a hole-in-the-wall atmosphere but the food and wine are top notch.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Fun atmosphere with lots of energy. Many locals.

Dined on November 21, 2015

The serverwere great friendly and very knowledgable. Gave us good options for wine and food. The food was delicious especailly liked the shrimp pasta.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fun atmosphere and great food. ...

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

Always a fun atmosphere and great food. The cheese plate is excellent and I've never been disappointed by an entree!!

food2
ambience4
service2

Underwhelmed

Dined on November 8, 2015

We were not impressed when we went for our first visit to Louie's on a Saturday night, 11/7/15. The entry level was very loud, so we were glad to be led downstairs where a mellow jazz trio was playing, and the noise level was very comfortable. There seemed to be some confusion on our part and the servers'/bartenders' parts about who was serving us. We ordered one of the inexpensive red wines, and when he brought the bottle out we didn't compare it to the menu to make sure he had brought the right one. When we go the bill later we realized he had served us one that cost $12 more than what we ordered. Oh well, our fault, we should have caught that. We ordered the crab poutine appetizer, which was good, but not out-of-this-world good like I was hoping for. It was fine and tasty. I ordered the chef's prix fixe menu, and was not impressed by any of it. It's like they tried to be fancy, upscale and creative, but it fell flat. The first course and entree were just okay. Not worth the price I was paying in comparison to the rest of the menu which is surprisingly low priced. The entree included bits of shredded duck confit which were dry and extremely salty. My husband ordered a wedge salad and shrimp diablo, which were both very very good. The two best tastes of the evening. The arrabbiata sauce on the shrimp was outstanding. I wished I had ordered that. When it came time to request the dessert (from my 3-course prix fixe), we waited and waited... and waited. The server/bartender came by twice and told it it was almost ready. We waited 30 minutes. It finally came, a warm apple tart/pie thing, whatever they called it. It was just okay. And it was overly salted. Not worth the wait. We were there 2-1/4 hours for dinner that was mostly just okay. We might try Louie's for brunch or a weekend lunch, but most likely will not go back for dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

Can't recommend this place enough! Went ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

Can't recommend this place enough! Went for brunch and not only was the food amazing, it was affordable and the servers were awesome and very friendly. This was my first experience and I'm definitely adding it to my "go to" list.

food4
ambience4
service5

The cheese plate, the pasta and dessert ...

vip
Dined on October 31, 2015

The cheese plate, the pasta and dessert were quite delicious. We really enjoyed our server dressed in a Star Wars costume. He also did a great job.

food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant Surprise

Dined on October 31, 2015

We just wanted a place to watch the World Series that wouldn't be packed out the door. Louie's gave us that and so much more. We got a table right in front of a TV, like we wanted, with a jazz band playing behind us all night. The wait staff was funny and pleasant, exceedingly friendly. The food far exceeded our expectations. We will be repeat customers for a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2

Heard this was a great place for Sunday ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

Heard this was a great place for Sunday brunch and we were extremely disappointed in the food. Actually had to ask for a steak knife to cut through the "crab benedict".

food5
ambience5
service5

Weekday dinner

Dined on October 19, 2015

Took a coworker out for her birthday dinner at Louie's. Lots of wine choices, classy atmosphere with a slight hipster vibe. Loved it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

Disappointed return to a favorite place

Dined on October 18, 2015

We've loved Louie's since it opened - menu has been great and love being able to get nicer, high end wines by the glass. Hadn't been all summer and recent visit in October was disappointing. Steak Deburgo says tenderloins, but was a cheaper, tough cut of meat - more fibrous and tough than any tenderloins I've experienced. We had always thought the flatbreads were some of the best in the city - this time only one option and was not good - tasted like cardboard with and lacked any sauce or flavor. Wine board had fewer selections and the top end $15-25/glass wines were ok, but not "blow me away" good as had been my experience in the past. One $14 glass was tart, bad and sent back - bottle open too long?

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

They did not have our reservation...

Dined on October 14, 2015

They did not have our reservation...

food3
ambience3
service3

Great wine list at a neat little dive

Dined on October 10, 2015

So, this was the first time I had eaten an actual meal at Louie's. I've been there a few times, but always just had wine. The vibe is great and the outdoor patio is very charming. We sat downstairs, which was pretty neat as well, but for 6pm the background music was a little loud. Prior to ordering our dinner, we asked our server about the portions. I don't believe we are "big" eaters, but we were hungry and wanted a full meal - especially at $20 + per plate. Our server, who was really good, assured us that Louie's is a "Comfort fare" food spot and that the portions are more than filling. Honestly, the food was good. There really just wasn't enough of it. We were disappointed that this was considered large portions, we didn't think they were even filling portions. I am a small woman (125lbs) and my husband is a fairly small man (175lbs). All in all it was a great environment, we would just suggest you eat a snack before coming or get one of the fabulous appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Very disappointed. We were seated so cl ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

Very disappointed. We were seated so close to the next table that we could hear their conversation and vice versa. Food was nothing to rave about and way over priced for the quality.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch

Dined on October 3, 2015

The brunch menu was varied, but not overwhelming. Both the omelette I ordered and the sandwich my friend ordered were delicious, and we loved that a carafe of mimosas was only $9 with an entree purchase. The inside was a little noisy so we sat outside, which was very nice, but not super spacious.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Havent had anything that wasnt super del ...

Dined on September 23, 2015

Havent had anything that wasnt super delicious. Love that i can bring my pup to the patio! Super nice staff

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for dinner and a celebration

Dined on September 23, 2015

The service was excellent. The waitress was energetic and knowledgeable. The staff was efficient and ready to help but not annoying. They allowed us to talk and not interupt us. I had the roasted chicken and corn carbonara and it was excellent. Another at our table had the mussels and he stated he would highly recommend them. For dessert the white chocolate bread pudding was decadent. Overall the experience at Louie's was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal! Noticed that some of the ...

Dined on September 19, 2015

Excellent meal! Noticed that some of the menu items have changed. Preferred the chorizo biscuits and gravy over the new ones.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great spot!

Dined on September 13, 2015

Second time we've visited for breakfast. Good sized crowd both times. Smaller menu which is a plus for me. Good variety with flair. Great tasting dishes and appropriate portions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic evening!

Dined on September 12, 2015

Enjoyed the unique way they offer wine with a huge selection of small vineyard bottles. Very interesting and fab food with creative sauces and sides. Three-hour dinner with friends which was relaxing and memorable. Ian was very helpful and knowledgeable which only added to the experience! Cannot wait to go for brunch!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.