Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 27 times today

Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines

4.5
299 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Notable Wine List
  • Casual
Louie’s Wine Dive serves lunch, happy hour and dinner daily and brunch on weekends. Award-winning food is created from local ingredients under the eye of formally trained Chefs. Louie’s wine list and featured wineboard offer hard to find, quality focused selections. Louie’s offers a craft cocktail and local beer menu. Louie’s Wine Dive features a warm, casually elegant atmosphere. It's the place food and wine lovers to be social!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday: 4pm-10pm (Dinner Only)
Tuesday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-11pm
Sunday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-8:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(515) 777-3416
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 299 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Out of the beef feature but subbed okay. Food was ver good but service was exceptional. Lots of places serve good food but exceptional service is , well, the exception!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We stopped in after a play at the DM Playhouse. We took part in the late night happy hour, great concept. We will definitely do this again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food was excellent and arrived quickly. Calamari was delicious and was served with a lovely sweet, spicy sauce. The Spicy Diablo pasta was awesome, believe the spice! I truly enjoyed the Black Bass, prepared with easily edible veggie contributions of individual flavors. We all had great meals, lovely bottle of Foxglove paired well for all. We had a table for four, two married couples, table by the door to the patio and waitstaff post. If it had been nice weather, I would have asked for a different table but it was fine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great food, simple menu, recommend

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Went through OpenTable late on a Friday afternoon to get an early seating. Was only moderately busy when we got there at 5:30pm; by 6:45 it was SRO. Service was prompt, unobtrusive, and super friendly (in a good way, not the "your new bestest buddy" way.) We were surprised to not see the Lobster Poutine (my wife's fave), but the Pork Gnocchi was an excellent substitute. I had the Tandoori Chilean Salmon, which was equally good. We ordered the wine from the wall, and were very happy with our choices. I've had a mixed experience at Louie's in the past, but this one was outstanding. Kudos folks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Friendly fun atmosphere with many excellent choices for drinks and food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

My husband and I went to brunch after Easter church service. We arrived on time and we were seated immediately. We enjoyed a mimosa and then ordered our food. MY husband had the traditional eggs Benedict . He was very pleased especially since he likes his eggs very soft. I had the omelet and it was the best one I have had in a long time. The greens that were served with it were excellent. We have been to Louie’s a number of times and have always been very pleased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Brunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Very dependable. Good variety and type of foods and drinks. Outside in good weather.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great place to good food, trying new wine and catching up with family. Fast and friendly with knowledgable staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Excellent, knowledgeable service, great wine selection and good food made for a fun dinner with family!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Great night out with the wife. Great atmosphere and food was outstanding. I hadn’t been in two years as food was less than stellar prior for the price. However, this time it was definitely worth it. Catherine was our server and she was outstanding with her knowledge and cantor. I would now recommend Louie’s to all my friends

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Everything tasted fantastic and service was excellent. The calamari was perfectly prepared (most restaurants over cook it.)

We are frequent guests and will be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We were hoping to enjoy a nice dinner for our first Valentine's Day together. We were given a menu with limited options (3 appetizers, 3 entrees, and 2 desserts), and we were told to choose 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, and share one dessert. When we asked about their full menu, we were told that they were "trying out something new for the holiday." The appetizers were pleasant, but the only entrée that seemed an option for us was served as a very small portion size with tiny pieces of meat with the remainder of the entrée having no taste and an awful texture. The dessert was shared and very tasty. The table for two was set up lengthwise so that we sat four feet apart from each other. With adding one glass of wine a piece, our bill totaled $100 before a tip, and we left hungry and very dissatisfied with our meal. We strongly recommend discontinuing your limited menu for the holiday.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

The only negative was that we specifically asked for a warm table (it was a freezing night) and the hostess still sat us by a wall of outside glass. There was a notable breeze. We tried it but eventually asked to move and were accommodated right away. The new table was warmer, brighter and better overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Fabulous food. Terrific gluten free options. The Brussel sprouts were amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 6, 2018

The food was not as good as usual. Not sure if it was a bad night by the kitchen staff or if they've changed things, but the 4 pork gnocchi was marginal (and burnt), and the shrimp was bland and overcooked. Even the salads were a miss.

Great wine suggestion by the waitress, though!

We'll be back and hopefully the food will be back to Louie's usual quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Great food and wine. I appreciate the GF options!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 30, 2017

This visit was a result of a Christmas present from our son who lives in Florida. We never would have stopped at this place....so glad we were given the chance to try this venue. Brunch was AWESOME and the Bloody Mary's perfect!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 29, 2017

We love date night at Louie’s!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2017

Nice lunch w great wine pairing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 10, 2017

Great service. They were out of what I wanted but the salmon was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

FANTASTIC staff that always knows a great deal about the menu. Menu rotates with the seasons and there is always something new on it. Grate selection of wines and beers as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 5, 2017

The food was just right...good flavor, reasonable portions. Greens salad with lime vinagrette and the shrimp and grits...very good. Best of all...the service. We had outstanding wait person...she was helpful with menue, she was funny and upbeat...we want to come back just for her!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2017

The food was very good. I loved the deviled eggs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 25, 2017

Great food! Fun atmosphere! Nice live music! Great wine and drink options! You should check it out!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 19, 2017

The food was basically unseasoned and overpriced for its quality. The wine was good though so the restaurant is as advertised.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 16, 2017

This is a favorite for me and friends when we want to go out, be able to talk, to enjoy good food over several courses, and enjoy good wine with our conversation. The staff is knowledgable and friendly, and I've never had a bad recommendation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 12, 2017

The wine list is pretty diverse and the cocktails were quite good. We found the service accommodating, but the food was lackluster at best. All our food was consistently overcooked and under seasoned, with the exception of the guacamole. Would not return to eat, but it would be a nice venue as a bar.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 8, 2017

Server was very attentive!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 4, 2017

We decided to sit at the bar and watch the cooks do their thing. We split a couple of their appetizers and a couple glasses of wine. Place was nice a busy. Seems like a local crowd.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

First time ever - loved it so much I’m going back tomorrow!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2017

Service: out of the ballpark!
Food: homerun!
Ambience: if empty of guests, I could write damned good poetry there!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2017

We love Kay! She was very attentive and gave great suggestions. Definitely recommending this place to my friends and family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

Great place for gluten free options, ambiance is good, but can be a little noisy. Food is impecable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 6, 2017

Great but way too loud even after asked to have the music turned down. That will affect if /when we return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 3, 2017

My husband and I love to go here, but this trip was disappointing. Our waitress did not write down our order. Firs,t she brought the wrong flavor of mimosas to us (and kind of acted like it was our fault.) Next, she brought fried potatoes with my order instead of the fresh greens. By this time I was too frustrated to even tell her. Our food was very greasy for some reason (usually it is very good.) It was just a little disappointing all the way around. We will give it another try though because we think it is a fun and different place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Louie's is a decent option that is convenient to work for hosting guests. I only wish there were more low tables, rather than high tops. It's hard to feel businesslike when you are swinging your legs. The waitstaff is friendly and helpful with recommendations that don't sound like they are just trying to push whatever is moving slowly. Amber served us on Friday, and she is great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 20, 2017

They were short staffed the Sunday I was there. Typically, the food is good, otherwise I wouldn't have returned. However, this visit will probably keep me from future visits.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 13, 2017

We love going to Louie's Wine Dive! It is fun place to eat or drink! We love the Sunday brunch and the cranberry mimosas!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8