Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.17mi
  2. Distance: 1.28mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 1.17mi
  2. Distance: 1.28mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.17mi
  2. Distance: 1.28mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 1.17mi
  2. Distance: 1.28mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines

Louie’s Wine Dive is obsessed with really good grapes, creative gourmet comfort food, and a funky fun atmosphere to share it in. We search all over the world to find you great wine, many of which come from our relationships with small, lesser known vineyards, at a great value to our guests. Wine is supposed to be Fun, not pretentious, so let us know when you taste that new varietal and how it changed what you thought wine was supposed to be.
Our gourmet comfort food is made fresh using eco friendly and local ingredients whenever possible. As for the fun, we instigate it but count on you and yours to see it to fruition (literally through the fruit!). It’s meant to be your place, so please enjoy...and if you enjoy it as much as we do, grab one of our unique bottles to share at home.

4040 University Ave.
Suite A
Des Moines, IA 50311
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4pm-10pm (Dinner Only)
Tuesday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-11pm
Sunday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-8:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 777-3416

Website:
http://www.louieswinedive.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Casual (17)
Special Occasion (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Private Room (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Fun (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great Beer (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tapas (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was very good. The service was poor. It took over an hour to get our brunch served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch. We sat inside near entrance door which was busy. They do have a patio but it was full. Waiter was friendly & prompt but cooks were overwhelmed. It was disappointing for our family brunch. We will go again & see if situation improves!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Casual, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We came to Louie's for Easter and it was perfect. Great food and service and the BACON BLOODY MARY (TDF).

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It's always good! Brunch, dinner & special drinks are amazing. It's our 'go to' restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was fantastic. My server did a great job but there was a problem getting our food delivered in a timely matter. The manager acknowledged the problem and took care of it. I would go back again.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Liked the ambience and the food
Service was friendly but a couple of mistakes with ordered items and delivered to wrong customer

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food menu was very unique. We shared the brussel sprouts, squeaky cheese and salmon wedge salad, all were very good. The wine list was not quite as extensive as I would have expected and the markup appeared to be rather high. Our waitress was not well versed in the wines and could not recommend or offer up much advise. We chose to go with the low-end Pinot Noir from Gallo which I assumed came from the Modesto/Lodi region. All-in-all it was a good place for dinner prior to going to The Playhouse.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Service was spot on - great with our 2 year old daughter - friendly. Newer items on the menu were great additions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was delicious, and the wines we tried were very good. The wine menu makes it easy to select a wine that pairs well with whatever food you're ordering. The service was great, and the atmosphere was pretty nice. It was mostly quiet enough for a conversation, but it did get a bit loud when more people in larger groups were seated next to us. My only complaint is that the prices are just a smidgen higher than what I expected based on the quality of the food and the décor (which was still very good), but really only minimally higher, like a few dollars here and there. I will definitely come back here in the future.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We are frequent diners at LWD and always have a good experience. Food, service, ambience is top quality. Will keep returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 25, 2017

LOVE THE FOOD!! I have never been disappointed. The white sangria is very good as well as great beer and wine selections. I am looking forward to being able to sit out on the patio in nice weather.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Late-night Find, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A group of three of us dined here for brunch on a Saturday as a little birthday celebration. It was perfect. They had carafes of mimosas of varying flavors; they even gave the birthday girl a special bottle of wine as a treat. The service was up to expectations, and they didn't rush us out the door—rather we were able to linger and enjoy our girl time together. For brunch, I recommend the breakfast flatbread - it could even be a great appetizer (filling and large).

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Meal was slow coming out, but waitress kept us updated. Food excellent as always.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Louie's never disappoints Good food Great service

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We have a mixed review. We were in town for an evening and we enjoy seeking out quality, unique places to eat. Here is what we ate:

* Deviled Egg App: Excellent. You get 5 half eggs (not sure what happens to the 6th).
* Meatball App: Very good flavor. Mushrooms were good.
* Dinner Entree #1: STEAK DEBURGO, $22. This was so-so. Very chewy piece of meat.
* Entree #2 was worse: SHRIMP TACOs.... this was excruciatingly hot. When we ordered the server said they are a bit spicy, which we really like. But it was painful to eat them. Just not a good pairing as an entree. (It's very easy to making something crazy uncomfortable to eat....a bit more difficult to make something zesty and yet a joy to eat).

Another plus of the evening was a cocktail we had. The WALDO Cocktail with Bulleit Rye was very good.

Overall, our experience was "fine". We'd probably seek out other options next time, or just have some appetizers and drinks -- which would have been a great choice for us.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The restaurant is part of a small midwestern chain, but it's very un-chain like. It is located in a strip mall in Des Moines just west of the Drake University area. Very good selection of wines by the bottle and glass in a middle-price range, just as the name suggests. The three food items we had (BLT deviled eggs, sesame crusted tuna, and 4 pork gnocchi) were all excellent. The only drawback is the ambiance, which is more sports bar and less nice wine bistro. Most of the seating is at the bar and high-top tables, with only a handful of regular tables available. I'd recommend going on a nice day as the outdoor seating looked much more pleasant than what was available inside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The appetizers are the only decent thing. Main entrees are limited in selection. I had steak and my friend had the burger and neither left us satisfied. Service was slow and it's very crowded.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Highly recommend the steak deburgo. Waiter was knowledgeable and made a very nice recommendation for wine pairing. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Really great place, ordered poutine and Tuna salad. My wife ordered the Diablo Shrimp pasta(as spice as advertised). Wonderful dinner with a group of 6.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Louie's Wine Dive is my go-to when friends want to have great wine and nosh. The staff is knowledgeable and never rushes us. We often end up spending three hours, trying 2-3 different wines and grazing through the menu with shared dishes.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always a Greta experience at Louie's in Des Moines. Wonderful staff and atmosphere, better food with amazing gluten free options and excellent drink selections!

Tags: Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Healthy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went on Valentine's Day and the food and service was very good. Excellent! The food and service is usually good when we eat at this restaurant. Will return many times.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The ambiance threw me since it felt romantic and a little rustic but also casual with all the TV's everywhere. Awesome service and management. Very much caters to foodies and not as much for the plain janes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Disappointed with the Valentines Day menu. Took away some of our usual favorites and added two specials that were above and beyond everyday prices. Still love this place for selections, wine, cocktails and the best choices for gluten free.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Unique dishes, casual ambiance and good service. Two of our three dishes weren't made correctly and the staff fixed the situation quickly and to our satisfaction. Mistakes happen and they handled it well. We'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was my first time at Louie's and I have to say that I was very pleased with the experience. The food was out of this world! I am very picky with how I cook seafood and the Salmon there was just fantastic. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. Will definitely be returning soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Have always had a nice meal. The special drinks are fun as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 15, 2017

First time visit and I love this place. Food was delightful and the perfect amount. Great environment and amazing service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very unique dish choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great Neighborhood Dining Place. Good ambience, well-trained and friendly staff. One of our favorites for casual relaxed dining with great food. Always a winner.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Brunch. Always a good choice for food a cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our brunch experience was good. The food, although not "to die for" as described by a foodie and cooking/baking enthusiast, was overall good and the foodies and picky eaters in our group all were able to find something they liked. We all recommend the bloody mary's and bread pudding. Our only note of caution would be the noise level for sensitive ears, the music and conversations from other tables lead to a higher than desired noise level for some in our group.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have yet to have a bad or even misstep experience at Louie's...Good food, service fantastic and my coffee cup was never empty...Oh and the pork breakfast tacos were excellent...

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waiter was very slow and took forever to bring drinks. Food was cold. I never send back donor a option. I think his name was William ???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great little spot for NYE! They were even down and chef but kept the service moving and atmosphere upbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Love this place - offers some surprising gluten-free options. The fish and chips is one of my favorite comfort foods. Great place to experiment with new wines, too.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Flavorful and creative menu that's great for weeknight dining. If in a group there will be something for everyone's tastes. We enjoyed the happy hour discounted pricing on bottles of wine and appetizers.

Tags: Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The best Brussels sprouts ever!! All 4 meals were exceptional.
Will return again for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Good food and value. We had good, efficient service the night we were there.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.