About Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines

4040 University Ave.
Suite A
Des Moines, IA 50311
View Larger Map

Louie’s Wine Dive is obsessed with really good grapes, creative gourmet comfort food, and a funky fun atmosphere to share it in. We search all over the world to find you great wine, many of which come from our relationships with small, lesser known vineyards, at a great value to our guests. Wine is supposed to be Fun, not pretentious, so let us know when you taste that new varietal and how it changed what you thought wine was supposed to be.
Our gourmet comfort food is made fresh using eco friendly and local ingredients whenever possible. As for the fun, we instigate it but count on you and yours to see it to fruition (literally through the fruit!). It’s meant to be your place, so please enjoy...and if you enjoy it as much as we do, grab one of our unique bottles to share at home.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4pm-10pm (Dinner Only)
Tuesday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-11pm
Sunday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-8:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 777-3416

Website:
http://www.louieswinedive.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (15)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (10)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server, Kay, was delightful and made ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server, Kay, was delightful and made our dining experience all the more fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this Location! The food and staff a ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Love this Location! The food and staff are great. Unique selections and a good value.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cory at the bar was excellent. His wine ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Cory at the bar was excellent. His wine and food recommendations were spot on and the kitchen hit the target. Highly recommended for lunch or dinner before flying home. Airport 6 miles away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our go-to, never lets us down. Creative ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our go-to, never lets us down. Creative food, delicious wine and great environment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was very attentive. Had the c ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our server was very attentive. Had the crab benedict with a salad. Very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This used to be our favorite spot. Last ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This used to be our favorite spot. Last two times there the food has declined. The poutine used to be great. Now, watered down and lacking flavor. Simply not worthy of being called poutine. Didn't stay around post appetizer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was average. Service was a little s ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was average. Service was a little slow. Acceptable for meal price.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Went here on a birthday date. The food w ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Went here on a birthday date. The food was exceptional the service was very prompt and helpful. The atmosphere was ideal, bar vibe with some music but nothing too distracting, and intimate enough to feel comfortable.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mistakenly thought the bottle of wine we ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Mistakenly thought the bottle of wine we bought during happy hour was going to be half price as the single drinks are, but turned out not to be. Spent way more on a bottle of wine than per the glass. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive. Food was just right and salad dressing very tasty. We will return!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If I was still rating restaurants,this w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

If I was still rating restaurants,this would have broke the top 20,if not top 10. I'm very much for small plate,sharing plates. Was it because we where with best friends,maybe. Food was spot on. Deviled eggs where good. If by chance porkchetta is on the menu,GET IT. Fork tender with herbs. Great dish. Chatuarie plae was,pick your own,so pick your own. Save room for desert. While chocolate bread pudding was tasteful. Also got beignets. Not as good as in New Orleans,but very good. Just go and enjoy. Bring freids. Oh,great wine list.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Had good service. My Tuscan chicken was ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Had good service. My Tuscan chicken was awful. Dry and totally flavorless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Our first time here and we will be back. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our first time here and we will be back. Great ambience, friendly and knowledgable staff and very reasonable prices. A great casual neighborhood place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good gluten-free options, including fish ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Good gluten-free options, including fish and chips - ultimate comfort food. Service was very friendly and helpful. Love trying new wines here.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall it was a neat dining experience. ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Overall it was a neat dining experience. Waitress didn't have full knowledge of some dishes on the menu but appreciate her service and also manager dropped by clarified the questions we had. I would like to go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have eaten at Louie's on several occa ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have eaten at Louie's on several occasions. Good as advertised.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food wonderful service overall ter ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food wonderful service overall terrific experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A great place for Sunday brunch. Especia ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 21, 2016

A great place for Sunday brunch. Especially the biscuits and gravy.

We've been several times and will return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Server forgot to place app order We told ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Server forgot to place app order

We told server we had a Celiac guest and her food came out with croutons on it. Then it took 20 min to get new food made.

Server never refilled empty water glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Two ordered the fish and chips. Fries we ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Two ordered the fish and chips. Fries were great. Very little fish portions but good. My husband finished his salmon (good) and was still hungry so he ate my food which was a bit spicy so I was eating pretty slow and lots of water (penne). Seems like menu has fewer choices now. Place was hopping on a rainy Wednesday eve. All plates were empty when done!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great meal!!

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an outstanding place to meet wit ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 18, 2016

This is an outstanding place to meet with friends and enjoy wonderful wine and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal service-food-value!!! I high ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Phenomenal service-food-value!!! I highly suggest if you haven't been there to go! Celebrated my mother's 73rd birthday.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Too bad. Food and venue were great but s ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Too bad. Food and venue were great but service was seriously lacking and not due to business volumes. Had to constant ask for additional beverages (missed sales opportunities) had to as for basics like; after moving dirty plates to the edge of the table and server ignoring them on two occasion asking for them to be removed. Too bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Tacos were a smidge dry, put the poutine ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Tacos were a smidge dry, put the poutine was AMAZING.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

It is a good place that is away from the ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 9, 2016

It is a good place that is away from the city. Relaxed atmosphere, good selection of wine. I feel that the menu is limited in food selections.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was delicious. We sat at the Bar a ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was delicious. We sat at the Bar and Cory was wonderful. He assisted us in selecting wine and gave recommendations for food. We absolutely loved our dining experience at louis!!! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to both locations of Louie' ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been to both locations of Louie's many times and always had good meals. We waited and waited for someone to ask us about beverages....finally had to grab someone to get attention, then a long wait to have our order taken. Another long wait (approx. 45 minutes) for the food to arrive. Coffee was luke warm at best. Eggs benedict eggs were hard boiled. I am guessing some servers were no shows on a Sunday morning shift......previous meals have been great - but this was far below the standards we had come to take for granted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Food was really good & reasonably priced ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was really good & reasonably priced. It would be nice to have more choices on menu. Wine list was extensive but overpriced. Lots of choices for beer but also overpriced. Service was slow in which it took 12 min before we saw a waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Our waiter was prompt and professional. ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our waiter was prompt and professional. The crab poutine wasn't exactly what I was expecting but was acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Server was great, desert was amazing, an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Server was great, desert was amazing, and they gave us a free bottle of wine for my husband's birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Subpar

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2016

I've never had a bad or great experience here, but this was by far the most disappointing. The food was not great and the service was okay. We couldn't hear anything our server said, so most of the time, we were just guessing at what he was saying.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing service and food

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We visited Louie's Wine Dive last Friday. We have always loved this restaurant; however, the last time we were there our server was awful and the food was marginal. We thought we would give it another chance. To our dismay, we had the same server - who had no improved at all and, once again, the food was not what it used to be - it was disappointing. We are not sure what has happened to this restaurant - it was one of our favorites in Des Moines. The Louie's in Waukee is awful - simply said, it is really awful.

Another disappointment was the small size of the menu for spring. Looks like it was cut in half or less from the other menu.

Sad to say we won't be back - unless, of course, someone tells us things have changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Birthday flop

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 7, 2016

I go to this restaurant a lot, and I used to love this place. I chose to have my parents and friends come here for my birthday dinner on May 6th 2016. It was really nice out that day so I was hoping to get a seat on the patio. I made reservations online and know that they don't reserve seats on the patio, but whenever I have gone before they still always check to see if they can seat us out there anyway.

The hostess was rude, I put in the notes that the reservation was for a birthday and that we would prefer patio seating. My boyfriend and I got there first and we asked again for the patio, she just replied ' we don't reserve seats on the patio, do you want a high or low table?' she didn't even try to see if we could sit outside.

I made the reservation for 6, which was my mistake there were actually 9 of us, after the 6 chairs filled up the hostess came back and we said we have more people coming and she rudely replied 'well the reservation was for 6'. My friends ended up pulling another table and chairs over. They put us in the back room and we were the only party in there so it wasn't like they were busy. Then the waiter was very unenthusiastic and they forgot my friends dinner completely. Most people were done eating before she even got her meal.

On top of that several people ordered the Tuscan/Herb roasted chicken meal which said it came with cauliflower and 1 side, and no one received any cauliflower with their chicken which we realized after the meal was done. My parents both said they were still hungry after they were done eating because they had cut their portion sizes so the 'half' chicken was really small, and was about a $15 dinner.

I am really disappointed with this restaurant now and the changes they made to their menu. This has gone from my favorite place to a 'maybe brunch once every couple month's' place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Kyle was a very friendly and personable ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Kyle was a very friendly and personable server. We enjoyed ourselves a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Louie's Wine Dive is a Wine Do

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 23, 2016

The staff were all attentive and informed as to what was on the menu for the night, even items that weren't on the menu (which I had). Wine suggested was good, food was great. Visit to our table by owner and the chef was what made this place seem friendly and inviting. I will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always phenomenal! Innovative menu, ama ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Always phenomenal! Innovative menu, amazing waitstaff- the whole experience is why we come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great scene, good food.

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 2, 2016

This is the second time I've been here, the first time was excellent, this time was ok primarily because of the dish I selected. I ordered the fish & chips thinking that they would make it very special and unique. However, it turned out to be less than average tasting and a bit skimpy on the serving size...for both the fish and the french fries. The friends I was with had the same experience and weren't blown away by their choices either.

Overall I love the atmosphere, it's a fun place to go to with friends. Great bar and most of the food is good. A little higher priced than it should be, but the place is packed so they can charge that much..at least for now. Once it goes out of style like so many places in Des Moines are do, then they will need to reevaluate the menu and pricing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

New find

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2016

We were pleased by the menu, the food, the drinks. We'll be back next time we come through Des Moines

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great place

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Was in town for NCAA. Reccomended to go there. Excellent food. Great service. Was surprised at how inexpensive. 5 stars

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What A Gem

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 5, 2016

The food is always good as well as the service. I love their fish and chips and their wine selections are always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.