About Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines

4040 University Ave.
Suite A
Des Moines, IA 50311
View Larger Map

Louie’s Wine Dive is obsessed with really good grapes, creative gourmet comfort food, and a funky fun atmosphere to share it in. We search all over the world to find you great wine, many of which come from our relationships with small, lesser known vineyards, at a great value to our guests. Wine is supposed to be Fun, not pretentious, so let us know when you taste that new varietal and how it changed what you thought wine was supposed to be.
Our gourmet comfort food is made fresh using eco friendly and local ingredients whenever possible. As for the fun, we instigate it but count on you and yours to see it to fruition (literally through the fruit!). It’s meant to be your place, so please enjoy...and if you enjoy it as much as we do, grab one of our unique bottles to share at home.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4pm-10pm (Dinner Only)
Tuesday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-11pm
Sunday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-8:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 777-3416

Website:
http://www.louieswinedive.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Romantic (4)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Server forgot to place app order We told ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Server forgot to place app order

We told server we had a Celiac guest and her food came out with croutons on it. Then it took 20 min to get new food made.

Server never refilled empty water glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Two ordered the fish and chips. Fries we ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Two ordered the fish and chips. Fries were great. Very little fish portions but good. My husband finished his salmon (good) and was still hungry so he ate my food which was a bit spicy so I was eating pretty slow and lots of water (penne). Seems like menu has fewer choices now. Place was hopping on a rainy Wednesday eve. All plates were empty when done!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great meal!!

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an outstanding place to meet wit ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This is an outstanding place to meet with friends and enjoy wonderful wine and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal service-food-value!!! I high ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Phenomenal service-food-value!!! I highly suggest if you haven't been there to go! Celebrated my mother's 73rd birthday.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Too bad. Food and venue were great but s ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Too bad. Food and venue were great but service was seriously lacking and not due to business volumes. Had to constant ask for additional beverages (missed sales opportunities) had to as for basics like; after moving dirty plates to the edge of the table and server ignoring them on two occasion asking for them to be removed. Too bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Tacos were a smidge dry, put the poutine ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Tacos were a smidge dry, put the poutine was AMAZING.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

It is a good place that is away from the ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It is a good place that is away from the city. Relaxed atmosphere, good selection of wine. I feel that the menu is limited in food selections.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was delicious. We sat at the Bar a ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was delicious. We sat at the Bar and Cory was wonderful. He assisted us in selecting wine and gave recommendations for food. We absolutely loved our dining experience at louis!!! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to both locations of Louie' ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been to both locations of Louie's many times and always had good meals. We waited and waited for someone to ask us about beverages....finally had to grab someone to get attention, then a long wait to have our order taken. Another long wait (approx. 45 minutes) for the food to arrive. Coffee was luke warm at best. Eggs benedict eggs were hard boiled. I am guessing some servers were no shows on a Sunday morning shift......previous meals have been great - but this was far below the standards we had come to take for granted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Food was really good & reasonably priced ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was really good & reasonably priced. It would be nice to have more choices on menu. Wine list was extensive but overpriced. Lots of choices for beer but also overpriced. Service was slow in which it took 12 min before we saw a waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Our waiter was prompt and professional. ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our waiter was prompt and professional. The crab poutine wasn't exactly what I was expecting but was acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Server was great, desert was amazing, an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Server was great, desert was amazing, and they gave us a free bottle of wine for my husband's birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Subpar

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I've never had a bad or great experience here, but this was by far the most disappointing. The food was not great and the service was okay. We couldn't hear anything our server said, so most of the time, we were just guessing at what he was saying.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing service and food

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We visited Louie's Wine Dive last Friday. We have always loved this restaurant; however, the last time we were there our server was awful and the food was marginal. We thought we would give it another chance. To our dismay, we had the same server - who had no improved at all and, once again, the food was not what it used to be - it was disappointing. We are not sure what has happened to this restaurant - it was one of our favorites in Des Moines. The Louie's in Waukee is awful - simply said, it is really awful.

Another disappointment was the small size of the menu for spring. Looks like it was cut in half or less from the other menu.

Sad to say we won't be back - unless, of course, someone tells us things have changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Birthday flop

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I go to this restaurant a lot, and I used to love this place. I chose to have my parents and friends come here for my birthday dinner on May 6th 2016. It was really nice out that day so I was hoping to get a seat on the patio. I made reservations online and know that they don't reserve seats on the patio, but whenever I have gone before they still always check to see if they can seat us out there anyway.

The hostess was rude, I put in the notes that the reservation was for a birthday and that we would prefer patio seating. My boyfriend and I got there first and we asked again for the patio, she just replied ' we don't reserve seats on the patio, do you want a high or low table?' she didn't even try to see if we could sit outside.

I made the reservation for 6, which was my mistake there were actually 9 of us, after the 6 chairs filled up the hostess came back and we said we have more people coming and she rudely replied 'well the reservation was for 6'. My friends ended up pulling another table and chairs over. They put us in the back room and we were the only party in there so it wasn't like they were busy. Then the waiter was very unenthusiastic and they forgot my friends dinner completely. Most people were done eating before she even got her meal.

On top of that several people ordered the Tuscan/Herb roasted chicken meal which said it came with cauliflower and 1 side, and no one received any cauliflower with their chicken which we realized after the meal was done. My parents both said they were still hungry after they were done eating because they had cut their portion sizes so the 'half' chicken was really small, and was about a $15 dinner.

I am really disappointed with this restaurant now and the changes they made to their menu. This has gone from my favorite place to a 'maybe brunch once every couple month's' place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Kyle was a very friendly and personable ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Kyle was a very friendly and personable server. We enjoyed ourselves a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Louie's Wine Dive is a Wine Do

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The staff were all attentive and informed as to what was on the menu for the night, even items that weren't on the menu (which I had). Wine suggested was good, food was great. Visit to our table by owner and the chef was what made this place seem friendly and inviting. I will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always phenomenal! Innovative menu, ama ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Always phenomenal! Innovative menu, amazing waitstaff- the whole experience is why we come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great scene, good food.

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

This is the second time I've been here, the first time was excellent, this time was ok primarily because of the dish I selected. I ordered the fish & chips thinking that they would make it very special and unique. However, it turned out to be less than average tasting and a bit skimpy on the serving size...for both the fish and the french fries. The friends I was with had the same experience and weren't blown away by their choices either.

Overall I love the atmosphere, it's a fun place to go to with friends. Great bar and most of the food is good. A little higher priced than it should be, but the place is packed so they can charge that much..at least for now. Once it goes out of style like so many places in Des Moines are do, then they will need to reevaluate the menu and pricing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

New find

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

We were pleased by the menu, the food, the drinks. We'll be back next time we come through Des Moines

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great place

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Was in town for NCAA. Reccomended to go there. Excellent food. Great service. Was surprised at how inexpensive. 5 stars

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What A Gem

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The food is always good as well as the service. I love their fish and chips and their wine selections are always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Although we truly enjoy going to Louie's, this trip was not as enjoyable. We did have a reservation so our table was ready when we arrived but the waitress appeared either too busy to get to us or wasn't that good. We waited for service, for her to check back and to get a check, all this after 8 on a Saturday when it was slowing down. This was unusual since we normally have a wonderful time with our wait staff. Since it was a birthday dinner we didn't make a fuss and we probably will go back but I do hope this experience does not repeat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food -calamari was delicious. Wil ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Great food -calamari was delicious. Will be going back soon to try other items from menu. And the vibe of the place is upscale, neighborhood restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, nice place.

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was very good, I'm assuming that's why it was so packed...although it cleared out a bit around 7:15, and for a Friday night that was surprising. There is a lot of people packed in that little place which can make it a little noisy, but once nice weather comes around it might be better because they will head out to the patio.

Pricing was good, for what you got. Not a great value, but not a bad one either.

I'd go again and recommend it to you. Looks like a fun place to have a drink at the bar too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Second time, just as great!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Took friends from the Twin Cities out. They found it tasty and enjoyable. Even though it was right before Valentine's Day, our table was ready quickly. (Thank God for Open Table reservations!) Good wine, good food, friendly and efficient service. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seems the food portions are getting a bit smaller.

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I have been eating at Louie's for quite some time.... I love the ambience and neighborhood feel! The menu is changing all of the time, yet keeps the staples....... I do feel; however, that the portions are getting smaller and the cost is staying the same or going up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Over priced

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I recently ate at Louie's Wine Dive and I left disappointed. The wine that we ordered was completely over priced at $37 when you can buy it at the store for $13.99. Although my husband enjoyed his food. I ordered the Tuscan herb chicken, which sounded delicious. All I got was 3 chicken wings for $15 and a side of corn. The chicken was bland and had no flavor Needless to say I was disappointed that we paid $100 for a meal that was not that impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

fun brunch

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We've been to Louie's for brunch several times. It's always a fun experience. The breakfast pizza flatbread is nice and crispy on the bottom, lots of eggs and sausage. And I love the addition of the cilantro! The quiche is always delicious as well. Generous portions--big enough for a light dinner later that day. Especially since I can't eat another bite until then anyway! And what a deal--a carafe of mimosas for $9!! The servers are always very attentive and friendly. Gary is a hoot! Thanks for a fun morning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Service was a bit slow th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Food was good. Service was a bit slow this night. Seated in an awkward corner and server had no idea how to serve drinks or food to the table. Server was handing full glasses and hot plates over people and dangerously close to spilling on guests. Probably more of a function of poor table placement than poorly trained server but was noticeable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food and service!

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Steak was cooked perfectly, and our waitress was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

We had brunch and the food was very good ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We had brunch and the food was very good. I had the quiche and that Sunday's selection was tasty. Noise wasn't too bad, you can easily hold a conversation that was private but not having to be quiet about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding meal

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

This is a wonderful place to take a group of friends. The food was outstanding and the atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We made our reservation ahead of time. ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We made our reservation ahead of time. Our table was right inside the door. It was cold every time someone opened the door and then people were right on top of our table while waiting. My steak was overdone. The waitress never asked about our food and never refilled the water. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Disappointing

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We were there on New Year's Eve. The service was terrible and the menu was very limited. Portions were small and over-all, we felt like we had been ripped off. With all the other restaurant choices in Des Moines, we will not be back to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Tasty food, poor service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Great food, but if you're looking for large portions for a reasonable price this isn't the place for you. It was a busy night, but service was poor regardless.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

A new spot for us.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

A quick stop on New Year's Eve before heading to the Civic Center for the Symphony. Others were here for the same purpose. So grateful they take reservations via Open Table; it guarantees that we can get a table and get on our way. Wine was great, food was tasty but not too high-brow. Well-done!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Friends anniversary

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Brought a couple here for their thirty year anniversary. Finding a venue that one doesn't have to worry about the purity of the gluten free menu is a chore when entertaining friends with health issues. Louie's knocks it out of the park. Plus the food is always well prepared and excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pretty good....

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on December 10, 2015

Seated right away-good selection of entree items, and food came out timely and was good. One of us had the salmon; it had a good sauce and was served with hot quinoa. Our other entree was bone-in chicken with a side of brussel sprouts. The chicken was tasty, but the brussel sprouts were just OK.

For a 'wine dive' they could have more wines by the glass. The two happy hour specials were a Pinot Grigio and a Pinot Noir. While there were a few other wines by the glass the selections were limited to 1 or 2 per type of wine.

Service was pretty good. Overall I'd go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.