About Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines

4040 University Ave.
Suite A
Des Moines, IA 50311
View Larger Map

Louie’s Wine Dive is obsessed with really good grapes, creative gourmet comfort food, and a funky fun atmosphere to share it in. We search all over the world to find you great wine, many of which come from our relationships with small, lesser known vineyards, at a great value to our guests. Wine is supposed to be Fun, not pretentious, so let us know when you taste that new varietal and how it changed what you thought wine was supposed to be.
Our gourmet comfort food is made fresh using eco friendly and local ingredients whenever possible. As for the fun, we instigate it but count on you and yours to see it to fruition (literally through the fruit!). It’s meant to be your place, so please enjoy...and if you enjoy it as much as we do, grab one of our unique bottles to share at home.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4pm-10pm (Dinner Only)
Tuesday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-11pm
Sunday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-8:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 777-3416

Website:
http://www.louieswinedive.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Iowa
Notable Wine List
Iowa
Best Value
Des Moines
1 More
Fit for Foodies
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Des Moines ›

neighborhood gem (41)
notable wine list (29)
fit for foodies (27)
See All
great for lunch (16)
good for groups (12)
great for brunch (11)
special occasion (11)
hot spot (9)
great for outdoor dining (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (7)
romantic (6)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Subpar

Dined on May 15, 2016

I've never had a bad or great experience here, but this was by far the most disappointing. The food was not great and the service was okay. We couldn't hear anything our server said, so most of the time, we were just guessing at what he was saying.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointing service and food

Dined on May 7, 2016

We visited Louie's Wine Dive last Friday. We have always loved this restaurant; however, the last time we were there our server was awful and the food was marginal. We thought we would give it another chance. To our dismay, we had the same server - who had no improved at all and, once again, the food was not what it used to be - it was disappointing. We are not sure what has happened to this restaurant - it was one of our favorites in Des Moines. The Louie's in Waukee is awful - simply said, it is really awful. Another disappointment was the small size of the menu for spring. Looks like it was cut in half or less from the other menu. Sad to say we won't be back - unless, of course, someone tells us things have changed.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Birthday flop

Dined on May 7, 2016

I go to this restaurant a lot, and I used to love this place. I chose to have my parents and friends come here for my birthday dinner on May 6th 2016. It was really nice out that day so I was hoping to get a seat on the patio. I made reservations online and know that they don't reserve seats on the patio, but whenever I have gone before they still always check to see if they can seat us out there anyway. The hostess was rude, I put in the notes that the reservation was for a birthday and that we would prefer patio seating. My boyfriend and I got there first and we asked again for the patio, she just replied ' we don't reserve seats on the patio, do you want a high or low table?' she didn't even try to see if we could sit outside. I made the reservation for 6, which was my mistake there were actually 9 of us, after the 6 chairs filled up the hostess came back and we said we have more people coming and she rudely replied 'well the reservation was for 6'. My friends ended up pulling another table and chairs over. They put us in the back room and we were the only party in there so it wasn't like they were busy. Then the waiter was very unenthusiastic and they forgot my friends dinner completely. Most people were done eating before she even got her meal. On top of that several people ordered the Tuscan/Herb roasted chicken meal which said it came with cauliflower and 1 side, and no one received any cauliflower with their chicken which we realized after the meal was done. My parents both said they were still hungry after they were done eating because they had cut their portion sizes so the 'half' chicken was really small, and was about a $15 dinner. I am really disappointed with this restaurant now and the changes they made to their menu. This has gone from my favorite place to a 'maybe brunch once every couple month's' place.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Kyle was a very friendly and personable ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Kyle was a very friendly and personable server. We enjoyed ourselves a lot.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Louie's Wine Dive is a Wine Do

Dined on April 23, 2016

The staff were all attentive and informed as to what was on the menu for the night, even items that weren't on the menu (which I had). Wine suggested was good, food was great. Visit to our table by owner and the chef was what made this place seem friendly and inviting. I will go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always phenomenal! Innovative menu, ama ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Always phenomenal! Innovative menu, amazing waitstaff- the whole experience is why we come!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great scene, good food.

Dined on April 2, 2016

This is the second time I've been here, the first time was excellent, this time was ok primarily because of the dish I selected. I ordered the fish & chips thinking that they would make it very special and unique. However, it turned out to be less than average tasting and a bit skimpy on the serving size...for both the fish and the french fries. The friends I was with had the same experience and weren't blown away by their choices either. Overall I love the atmosphere, it's a fun place to go to with friends. Great bar and most of the food is good. A little higher priced than it should be, but the place is packed so they can charge that much..at least for now. Once it goes out of style like so many places in Des Moines are do, then they will need to reevaluate the menu and pricing.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

New find

Dined on March 29, 2016

We were pleased by the menu, the food, the drinks. We'll be back next time we come through Des Moines

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on March 20, 2016

Was in town for NCAA. Reccomended to go there. Excellent food. Great service. Was surprised at how inexpensive. 5 stars

Tags: kid-friendly, late-night find
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

What A Gem

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

The food is always good as well as the service. I love their fish and chips and their wine selections are always good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 28, 2016

Although we truly enjoy going to Louie's, this trip was not as enjoyable. We did have a reservation so our table was ready when we arrived but the waitress appeared either too busy to get to us or wasn't that good. We waited for service, for her to check back and to get a check, all this after 8 on a Saturday when it was slowing down. This was unusual since we normally have a wonderful time with our wait staff. Since it was a birthday dinner we didn't make a fuss and we probably will go back but I do hope this experience does not repeat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food -calamari was delicious. Wil ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Great food -calamari was delicious. Will be going back soon to try other items from menu. And the vibe of the place is upscale, neighborhood restaurant.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, nice place.

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was very good, I'm assuming that's why it was so packed...although it cleared out a bit around 7:15, and for a Friday night that was surprising. There is a lot of people packed in that little place which can make it a little noisy, but once nice weather comes around it might be better because they will head out to the patio. Pricing was good, for what you got. Not a great value, but not a bad one either. I'd go again and recommend it to you. Looks like a fun place to have a drink at the bar too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time, just as great!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Took friends from the Twin Cities out. They found it tasty and enjoyable. Even though it was right before Valentine's Day, our table was ready quickly. (Thank God for Open Table reservations!) Good wine, good food, friendly and efficient service. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Seems the food portions are getting a bit smaller.

Dined on February 13, 2016

I have been eating at Louie's for quite some time.... I love the ambience and neighborhood feel! The menu is changing all of the time, yet keeps the staples....... I do feel; however, that the portions are getting smaller and the cost is staying the same or going up.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Over priced

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I recently ate at Louie's Wine Dive and I left disappointed. The wine that we ordered was completely over priced at $37 when you can buy it at the store for $13.99. Although my husband enjoyed his food. I ordered the Tuscan herb chicken, which sounded delicious. All I got was 3 chicken wings for $15 and a side of corn. The chicken was bland and had no flavor Needless to say I was disappointed that we paid $100 for a meal that was not that impressive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fun brunch

Dined on February 7, 2016

We've been to Louie's for brunch several times. It's always a fun experience. The breakfast pizza flatbread is nice and crispy on the bottom, lots of eggs and sausage. And I love the addition of the cilantro! The quiche is always delicious as well. Generous portions--big enough for a light dinner later that day. Especially since I can't eat another bite until then anyway! And what a deal--a carafe of mimosas for $9!! The servers are always very attentive and friendly. Gary is a hoot! Thanks for a fun morning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good. Service was a bit slow th ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Food was good. Service was a bit slow this night. Seated in an awkward corner and server had no idea how to serve drinks or food to the table. Server was handing full glasses and hot plates over people and dangerously close to spilling on guests. Probably more of a function of poor table placement than poorly trained server but was noticeable.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Good food and service!

Dined on February 4, 2016

Steak was cooked perfectly, and our waitress was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

We had brunch and the food was very good ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

We had brunch and the food was very good. I had the quiche and that Sunday's selection was tasty. Noise wasn't too bad, you can easily hold a conversation that was private but not having to be quiet about it.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Outstanding meal

Dined on January 14, 2016

This is a wonderful place to take a group of friends. The food was outstanding and the atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service2

We made our reservation ahead of time. ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We made our reservation ahead of time. Our table was right inside the door. It was cold every time someone opened the door and then people were right on top of our table while waiting. My steak was overdone. The waitress never asked about our food and never refilled the water. :(

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointing

Dined on January 1, 2016

We were there on New Year's Eve. The service was terrible and the menu was very limited. Portions were small and over-all, we felt like we had been ripped off. With all the other restaurant choices in Des Moines, we will not be back to this one.

food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Tasty food, poor service

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great food, but if you're looking for large portions for a reasonable price this isn't the place for you. It was a busy night, but service was poor regardless.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A new spot for us.

Dined on January 1, 2016

A quick stop on New Year's Eve before heading to the Civic Center for the Symphony. Others were here for the same purpose. So grateful they take reservations via Open Table; it guarantees that we can get a table and get on our way. Wine was great, food was tasty but not too high-brow. Well-done!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Friends anniversary

Dined on January 1, 2016

Brought a couple here for their thirty year anniversary. Finding a venue that one doesn't have to worry about the purity of the gluten free menu is a chore when entertaining friends with health issues. Louie's knocks it out of the park. Plus the food is always well prepared and excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Pretty good....

Dined on December 10, 2015

Seated right away-good selection of entree items, and food came out timely and was good. One of us had the salmon; it had a good sauce and was served with hot quinoa. Our other entree was bone-in chicken with a side of brussel sprouts. The chicken was tasty, but the brussel sprouts were just OK. For a 'wine dive' they could have more wines by the glass. The two happy hour specials were a Pinot Grigio and a Pinot Noir. While there were a few other wines by the glass the selections were limited to 1 or 2 per type of wine. Service was pretty good. Overall I'd go back.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Eclectic wine list with knowledgable sta ...

vip
Dined on December 4, 2015

Eclectic wine list with knowledgable staff. Impressive prix fixe menu available. Everyone in our party were impressed with the food. We will go back again.

food4
ambience5
service4

Pretty spot

Dined on November 24, 2015

Pretty spot in DSM for a romantic dinner, or a glass of wine with friends. Great wine variety, and moderate pricing. Wait staff was helpful and prompt.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, Louie's was the perfect spot .

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

Excellent wine. Great service. Tasty food and, now, the addition of some of the best Jazz talent in this city. Completely enjoyable!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another Excellent Louie's Adventure

Dined on October 10, 2015

We split sesame pasta and steak deburgo (sp?), with flights of red wine, then bread pudding to round out the night. Service was excellent + 1. A local favorite of ours continues to bring us back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Part of my "impress my guests" toolkit

Dined on October 4, 2015

When friends and family come to town, I can count on Louie's to impress. I recently took my mother for brunch and she had to take away a menu so she could tell all her friends. That's the kind of small town, neighborhood place Louie's is. Nick, our server, was perfect and the rest of the staff wished my Mom happy birthday which made her giggle. She really felt pampered. Thanks Louie's! This isn't the first time I have had a great experience either. The very first time was for lunch and it felt like a get a way from the mundane. Since then, birthday, holidays and date nights are all spent with Louis and the gang. The chef's special is always fantastic and creative. I never get board eating here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Louie's Oct 3

Dined on October 4, 2015

My wife had the Emily's Apple Harvest salad, which was good, although the chicken could have used a little more flavor. I had the 4 Pork Gnocchi, which was outstanding. Always one of our favorite dishes. For wine, we went with the Carmenere, as not a lot of places carry that style, and it also was excellent. My only issue with my visit was with our waiter. We've had him before and he's usually good, but on this visit he seemed like the last place he wanted to be was at work.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable experience, consistent with ea ...

Dined on October 2, 2015

Enjoyable experience, consistent with each of my many prior visits.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5

Out of numerous items. Service was unfo ...

vip
Dined on September 17, 2015

Out of numerous items. Service was unfocused. 2 pasta dishes we had very mundane

food5
ambience4
service5

I will make a special trip to come back here!

Dined on September 13, 2015

I had heard good things about this place and also found it well regarded on FindMeGlutenFree. I have doctor diagnosed celiac and was so pleased by the number of gluten free and modifiable gluten free items on the menu. The waiter was very well informed on the menu and provided guidance on what choices we would like best. All food we had was absolutely fantastic. We started with the lobster poutine, which had plenty of large chunks of lobster and yummy melty cheese and a light but flavorful seafood gravy. I have heard of poutine but never had it before, so I hope this was not an anomoly! For entree I asked the waiter whether he would recommend the gnocchi or the lobster mac and he said he would surprise me - didn't really ask if a surprise would be ok - but I was very pleased with the lobster mac when it arrived. Again, plenty of nice chunks of lobster and a very rich cheese sauce. I think the penne noodles were corn based as they seemed familiar to what I buy at Trader Joes. They were out of the mushroom ravioli which is one of my all time favorite dinners so I will need to come back to try that next time. Two disappointments for me were the lack of wine flights and lack of gluten free desserts. They only had two wine flights - one malbec and one dessert wine flight - and given the emphasis on wines I was hoping for more options for "tasting". There were several delicious dessert options on the menu but none were listed as gluten free or gluten free modifiable. At least they should have an ice cream sundae!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Just what you expect

Dined on September 10, 2015

Louie's has just what you would expect on a night-out dinner. It all starts with the welcome. You know instantly that you've come to a place that is going to take care of you. Experienced staff. Our waiter, John, was a hoot. Menu has great selections, but not too broad. Drinks are fun and wine selections are wide. Patio was full on this night. And dining room has a great groove. Enjoy it yourself!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

A surprising gem!

vip
Dined on September 2, 2015

I was initially reluctant to dine at Louie's, but I have been hooked on it since my first visit probably a year ago. I have probably eaten there at least 8 or 9 times since and have never been disappointed. They recently expanded their patio and have added about six weeks of live JAZZ ON THE PATIO twice a week. This is the extra ingredient they needed to take the restaurant offerings to another level. I am a foodie who eats at good restaurants 3 or 4 times a week and Louie's is in my rotation. LOVE the Four Pork Gnochi with a good glass of wine. Get there early and bottles are 20% off before 6:00pm. Cheers!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

Louie's Wine Dive unique menu

vip
Dined on August 5, 2015

My wife and I have visited Louie's Wine Dive several times in the past and have always enjoyed the food. The Four Pork Gnocchi is one of my favorite things anywhere - especially with a good glass of red wine. The sauce which appears to be a mix of alfredo and marinara with a bit of melted cheese is delicious! My wife had the Fish and Chips and the fish was white and flaky. She loves her fried cod and she said this was some of the best she has had. Louie's recently expanded their patio bar and it was still nearly full on a Wednesday night at 6:00. They must have the right formula for success as they seem to be full on any night of the week. Rumor has it that they are going to start having live music (jazz) on the patio on Wednesday and Sunday evenings. It makes a really good place even better!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

The food selection and final product was ...

Dined on July 25, 2015

The food selection and final product was quite good. Definitely not run of the mill resturant food prepared in mass. Superb drink menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.