Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 18 times today

Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines

4.5
314 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Casual
  • Neighborhood Gem
Louie’s Wine Dive serves lunch, happy hour and dinner daily and brunch on weekends. Award-winning food is created from local ingredients under the eye of formally trained Chefs. Louie’s wine list and featured wineboard offer hard to find, quality focused selections. Louie’s offers a craft cocktail and local beer menu. Louie’s Wine Dive features a warm, casually elegant atmosphere. It's the place food and wine lovers to be social!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday: 4pm-10pm (Dinner Only)
Tuesday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-11pm
Sunday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-8:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(515) 777-3416
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 314 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

My new favorite restaurant. Love the cheese tray and best Moscato! To die for chicken and bread pudding.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

The front staff was good at getting us a table quickly and efficiently. Once seated we receive our menus and drink options. It was almost fifteen minutes before our server stopped at our table. It was not a heavy period and there were a number Oslo open tables. It appeared that the server was more interested in talking to regular customers than waiting on us. When the waitress did take our drink order she got it wrong, not once but twice. Another long period went by, and we had finished our drinks, before the waitress returned, even though she stood at the next table talking, not about food or drinks. When we ordered our food it was improperly prepared and the waitress acknowledged the problem, yet made no effort to correct the problem (due to food allergies). The rest of the food arrived without issue and was palatable. Again it took a long time to get water refilled. So we went through most of our meal with nothing to drink with it. Once we asked for the check, we again waited while they waitress talked about none work items with another table of regulars she knew. I finally had to walk up to her and give her my credit card and ask her if she could run it and then just bring me my check. The overall problem seems that the establishment is more interested in returning customers than any new ones that come in. We have eaten at the Iowa City location and found it to be far superior in every way.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Love Louie"s. The new small plates are great. Our attentive server suggested we order 6 between the four of us rather than 8 as suggested on the menu. We had plenty. Menu suggested 2 or 3 per person which would have been be too much for us. (We were four women).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great service - especially for mother's day. Food and wine were amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We had brunch here on Mother's Day. Restaurant was busy but we were seated and attended to right away. Food was delicious, I had the omelet and my husband had the Eggs Benedict. I assume it was the owner or manager who stopped by our table a couple times to make sure everything was to our sanctification and he also gave a rose to every mother, nice touch. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

It was our first time there after the introduction of the small plate menu. We enjoyed the pork gnocchi and fish and chips, but the brussels sprouts appetizer took the prize!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

They changed to a limited menu and did not decrease the price with the smaller shared portions. Not worth the amount paid even during happy hour. Band playing while sitting on the patio made it a great ambiance. Nothing crazy good about this place. I would rather spend the same amount at other restaurants that have a more creative menu with larger portions in downtown Des Moines.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We loved out waitress, Charlie! The entire experience was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We disliked the new menu. We skipped our plan for dinner and had a single appetizer. New menu too limiting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Love the new menu items!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We went to Louie's Wine Dive ahead of a performance of Ragtime at the Des Moines Playhouse. We had great service, making it easy to get to the show on time. The food was fantastic, especially the fish & chips and the beignets.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Great food and excellent wine! You get the best wine prices during happy hour so we will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The seared ahi tuna salad was phenomenal. I would order again. My husband ordered a chicken dish and the chicken was on the bone, which he doesn't eat. They offered another meal option, which while he refused, was nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Out of the beef feature but subbed okay. Food was ver good but service was exceptional. Lots of places serve good food but exceptional service is , well, the exception!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We stopped in after a play at the DM Playhouse. We took part in the late night happy hour, great concept. We will definitely do this again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food was excellent and arrived quickly. Calamari was delicious and was served with a lovely sweet, spicy sauce. The Spicy Diablo pasta was awesome, believe the spice! I truly enjoyed the Black Bass, prepared with easily edible veggie contributions of individual flavors. We all had great meals, lovely bottle of Foxglove paired well for all. We had a table for four, two married couples, table by the door to the patio and waitstaff post. If it had been nice weather, I would have asked for a different table but it was fine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great food, simple menu, recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Fun happy hour with friends!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Went through OpenTable late on a Friday afternoon to get an early seating. Was only moderately busy when we got there at 5:30pm; by 6:45 it was SRO. Service was prompt, unobtrusive, and super friendly (in a good way, not the "your new bestest buddy" way.) We were surprised to not see the Lobster Poutine (my wife's fave), but the Pork Gnocchi was an excellent substitute. I had the Tandoori Chilean Salmon, which was equally good. We ordered the wine from the wall, and were very happy with our choices. I've had a mixed experience at Louie's in the past, but this one was outstanding. Kudos folks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Friendly fun atmosphere with many excellent choices for drinks and food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

My husband and I went to brunch after Easter church service. We arrived on time and we were seated immediately. We enjoyed a mimosa and then ordered our food. MY husband had the traditional eggs Benedict . He was very pleased especially since he likes his eggs very soft. I had the omelet and it was the best one I have had in a long time. The greens that were served with it were excellent. We have been to Louie’s a number of times and have always been very pleased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Brunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Very dependable. Good variety and type of foods and drinks. Outside in good weather.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great place to good food, trying new wine and catching up with family. Fast and friendly with knowledgable staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Excellent, knowledgeable service, great wine selection and good food made for a fun dinner with family!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Great night out with the wife. Great atmosphere and food was outstanding. I hadn’t been in two years as food was less than stellar prior for the price. However, this time it was definitely worth it. Catherine was our server and she was outstanding with her knowledge and cantor. I would now recommend Louie’s to all my friends

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Everything tasted fantastic and service was excellent. The calamari was perfectly prepared (most restaurants over cook it.)

We are frequent guests and will be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We were hoping to enjoy a nice dinner for our first Valentine's Day together. We were given a menu with limited options (3 appetizers, 3 entrees, and 2 desserts), and we were told to choose 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, and share one dessert. When we asked about their full menu, we were told that they were "trying out something new for the holiday." The appetizers were pleasant, but the only entrée that seemed an option for us was served as a very small portion size with tiny pieces of meat with the remainder of the entrée having no taste and an awful texture. The dessert was shared and very tasty. The table for two was set up lengthwise so that we sat four feet apart from each other. With adding one glass of wine a piece, our bill totaled $100 before a tip, and we left hungry and very dissatisfied with our meal. We strongly recommend discontinuing your limited menu for the holiday.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

The only negative was that we specifically asked for a warm table (it was a freezing night) and the hostess still sat us by a wall of outside glass. There was a notable breeze. We tried it but eventually asked to move and were accommodated right away. The new table was warmer, brighter and better overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Fabulous food. Terrific gluten free options. The Brussel sprouts were amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 6, 2018

The food was not as good as usual. Not sure if it was a bad night by the kitchen staff or if they've changed things, but the 4 pork gnocchi was marginal (and burnt), and the shrimp was bland and overcooked. Even the salads were a miss.

Great wine suggestion by the waitress, though!

We'll be back and hopefully the food will be back to Louie's usual quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Great food and wine. I appreciate the GF options!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 30, 2017

This visit was a result of a Christmas present from our son who lives in Florida. We never would have stopped at this place....so glad we were given the chance to try this venue. Brunch was AWESOME and the Bloody Mary's perfect!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 29, 2017

We love date night at Louie’s!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2017

Nice lunch w great wine pairing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 10, 2017

Great service. They were out of what I wanted but the salmon was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

FANTASTIC staff that always knows a great deal about the menu. Menu rotates with the seasons and there is always something new on it. Grate selection of wines and beers as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 5, 2017

The food was just right...good flavor, reasonable portions. Greens salad with lime vinagrette and the shrimp and grits...very good. Best of all...the service. We had outstanding wait person...she was helpful with menue, she was funny and upbeat...we want to come back just for her!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2017

The food was very good. I loved the deviled eggs.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8