About Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines

4040 University Ave.
Suite A
Des Moines, IA 50311
View Larger Map

Louie’s Wine Dive is obsessed with really good grapes, creative gourmet comfort food, and a funky fun atmosphere to share it in. We search all over the world to find you great wine, many of which come from our relationships with small, lesser known vineyards, at a great value to our guests. Wine is supposed to be Fun, not pretentious, so let us know when you taste that new varietal and how it changed what you thought wine was supposed to be.
Our gourmet comfort food is made fresh using eco friendly and local ingredients whenever possible. As for the fun, we instigate it but count on you and yours to see it to fruition (literally through the fruit!). It’s meant to be your place, so please enjoy...and if you enjoy it as much as we do, grab one of our unique bottles to share at home.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4pm-10pm (Dinner Only)
Tuesday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-11pm
Sunday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-8:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 777-3416

Website:
http://www.louieswinedive.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Casual (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Business Meals (5)
Private Room (5)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (2)
Tapas (2)
Healthy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Highly recommend the steak deburgo. Waiter was knowledgeable and made a very nice recommendation for wine pairing. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

Really great place, ordered poutine and Tuna salad. My wife ordered the Diablo Shrimp pasta(as spice as advertised). Wonderful dinner with a group of 6.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

Louie's Wine Dive is my go-to when friends want to have great wine and nosh. The staff is knowledgeable and never rushes us. We often end up spending three hours, trying 2-3 different wines and grazing through the menu with shared dishes.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always a Greta experience at Louie's in Des Moines. Wonderful staff and atmosphere, better food with amazing gluten free options and excellent drink selections!

Tags: Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Healthy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went on Valentine's Day and the food and service was very good. Excellent! The food and service is usually good when we eat at this restaurant. Will return many times.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

The ambiance threw me since it felt romantic and a little rustic but also casual with all the TV's everywhere. Awesome service and management. Very much caters to foodies and not as much for the plain janes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Disappointed with the Valentines Day menu. Took away some of our usual favorites and added two specials that were above and beyond everyday prices. Still love this place for selections, wine, cocktails and the best choices for gluten free.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was my first time at Louie's and I have to say that I was very pleased with the experience. The food was out of this world! I am very picky with how I cook seafood and the Salmon there was just fantastic. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. Will definitely be returning soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Have always had a nice meal. The special drinks are fun as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

First time visit and I love this place. Food was delightful and the perfect amount. Great environment and amazing service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very unique dish choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great Neighborhood Dining Place. Good ambience, well-trained and friendly staff. One of our favorites for casual relaxed dining with great food. Always a winner.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Brunch. Always a good choice for food a cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our brunch experience was good. The food, although not "to die for" as described by a foodie and cooking/baking enthusiast, was overall good and the foodies and picky eaters in our group all were able to find something they liked. We all recommend the bloody mary's and bread pudding. Our only note of caution would be the noise level for sensitive ears, the music and conversations from other tables lead to a higher than desired noise level for some in our group.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have yet to have a bad or even misstep experience at Louie's...Good food, service fantastic and my coffee cup was never empty...Oh and the pork breakfast tacos were excellent...

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waiter was very slow and took forever to bring drinks. Food was cold. I never send back donor a option. I think his name was William ???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great little spot for NYE! They were even down and chef but kept the service moving and atmosphere upbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Love this place - offers some surprising gluten-free options. The fish and chips is one of my favorite comfort foods. Great place to experiment with new wines, too.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Flavorful and creative menu that's great for weeknight dining. If in a group there will be something for everyone's tastes. We enjoyed the happy hour discounted pricing on bottles of wine and appetizers.

Tags: Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

The best Brussels sprouts ever!! All 4 meals were exceptional.

Will return again for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Good food and value. We had good, efficient service the night we were there.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our server, Kay, was delightful and made our dining experience all the more fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

Love this Location! The food and staff are great. Unique selections and a good value.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

Cory at the bar was excellent. His wine and food recommendations were spot on and the kitchen hit the target. Highly recommended for lunch or dinner before flying home. Airport 6 miles away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our go-to, never lets us down. Creative food, delicious wine and great environment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our server was very attentive. Had the crab benedict with a salad. Very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

This used to be our favorite spot. Last two times there the food has declined. The poutine used to be great. Now, watered down and lacking flavor. Simply not worthy of being called poutine. Didn't stay around post appetizer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was average. Service was a little slow. Acceptable for meal price.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 26, 2016

Went here on a birthday date. The food was exceptional the service was very prompt and helpful. The atmosphere was ideal, bar vibe with some music but nothing too distracting, and intimate enough to feel comfortable.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

Mistakenly thought the bottle of wine we bought during happy hour was going to be half price as the single drinks are, but turned out not to be. Spent way more on a bottle of wine than per the glass. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive. Food was just right and salad dressing very tasty. We will return!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

If I was still rating restaurants,this would have broke the top 20,if not top 10. I'm very much for small plate,sharing plates. Was it because we where with best friends,maybe. Food was spot on. Deviled eggs where good. If by chance porkchetta is on the menu,GET IT. Fork tender with herbs. Great dish. Chatuarie plae was,pick your own,so pick your own. Save room for desert. While chocolate bread pudding was tasteful. Also got beignets. Not as good as in New Orleans,but very good. Just go and enjoy. Bring freids. Oh,great wine list.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Had good service. My Tuscan chicken was awful. Dry and totally flavorless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our first time here and we will be back. Great ambience, friendly and knowledgable staff and very reasonable prices. A great casual neighborhood place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Good gluten-free options, including fish and chips - ultimate comfort food. Service was very friendly and helpful. Love trying new wines here.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Overall it was a neat dining experience. Waitress didn't have full knowledge of some dishes on the menu but appreciate her service and also manager dropped by clarified the questions we had. I would like to go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have eaten at Louie's on several occasions. Good as advertised.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food wonderful service overall terrific experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A great place for Sunday brunch. Especially the biscuits and gravy.

We've been several times and will return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Server forgot to place app order

We told server we had a Celiac guest and her food came out with croutons on it. Then it took 20 min to get new food made.

Server never refilled empty water glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Two ordered the fish and chips. Fries were great. Very little fish portions but good. My husband finished his salmon (good) and was still hungry so he ate my food which was a bit spicy so I was eating pretty slow and lots of water (penne). Seems like menu has fewer choices now. Place was hopping on a rainy Wednesday eve. All plates were empty when done!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This is an outstanding place to meet with friends and enjoy wonderful wine and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Phenomenal service-food-value!!! I highly suggest if you haven't been there to go! Celebrated my mother's 73rd birthday.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Too bad. Food and venue were great but service was seriously lacking and not due to business volumes. Had to constant ask for additional beverages (missed sales opportunities) had to as for basics like; after moving dirty plates to the edge of the table and server ignoring them on two occasion asking for them to be removed. Too bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Tacos were a smidge dry, put the poutine was AMAZING.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It is a good place that is away from the city. Relaxed atmosphere, good selection of wine. I feel that the menu is limited in food selections.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was delicious. We sat at the Bar and Cory was wonderful. He assisted us in selecting wine and gave recommendations for food. We absolutely loved our dining experience at louis!!! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been to both locations of Louie's many times and always had good meals. We waited and waited for someone to ask us about beverages....finally had to grab someone to get attention, then a long wait to have our order taken. Another long wait (approx. 45 minutes) for the food to arrive. Coffee was luke warm at best. Eggs benedict eggs were hard boiled. I am guessing some servers were no shows on a Sunday morning shift......previous meals have been great - but this was far below the standards we had come to take for granted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was really good & reasonably priced. It would be nice to have more choices on menu. Wine list was extensive but overpriced. Lots of choices for beer but also overpriced. Service was slow in which it took 12 min before we saw a waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our waiter was prompt and professional. The crab poutine wasn't exactly what I was expecting but was acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.