Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.17mi
  2. Distance: 1.28mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 1.17mi
  2. Distance: 1.28mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.17mi
  2. Distance: 1.28mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 1.17mi
  2. Distance: 1.28mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines

Louie’s Wine Dive is obsessed with really good grapes, creative gourmet comfort food, and a funky fun atmosphere to share it in. We search all over the world to find you great wine, many of which come from our relationships with small, lesser known vineyards, at a great value to our guests. Wine is supposed to be Fun, not pretentious, so let us know when you taste that new varietal and how it changed what you thought wine was supposed to be.
Our gourmet comfort food is made fresh using eco friendly and local ingredients whenever possible. As for the fun, we instigate it but count on you and yours to see it to fruition (literally through the fruit!). It’s meant to be your place, so please enjoy...and if you enjoy it as much as we do, grab one of our unique bottles to share at home.

4040 University Ave.
Suite A
Des Moines, IA 50311
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4pm-10pm (Dinner Only)
Tuesday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-11pm
Sunday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-8:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 777-3416

Website:
http://www.louieswinedive.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Casual (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Private Room (6)
Cozy (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great Beer (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Fun (3)
Tapas (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Louie's never disappoints Good food Great service

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We have a mixed review. We were in town for an evening and we enjoy seeking out quality, unique places to eat. Here is what we ate:

* Deviled Egg App: Excellent. You get 5 half eggs (not sure what happens to the 6th).
* Meatball App: Very good flavor. Mushrooms were good.
* Dinner Entree #1: STEAK DEBURGO, $22. This was so-so. Very chewy piece of meat.
* Entree #2 was worse: SHRIMP TACOs.... this was excruciatingly hot. When we ordered the server said they are a bit spicy, which we really like. But it was painful to eat them. Just not a good pairing as an entree. (It's very easy to making something crazy uncomfortable to eat....a bit more difficult to make something zesty and yet a joy to eat).

Another plus of the evening was a cocktail we had. The WALDO Cocktail with Bulleit Rye was very good.

Overall, our experience was "fine". We'd probably seek out other options next time, or just have some appetizers and drinks -- which would have been a great choice for us.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The restaurant is part of a small midwestern chain, but it's very un-chain like. It is located in a strip mall in Des Moines just west of the Drake University area. Very good selection of wines by the bottle and glass in a middle-price range, just as the name suggests. The three food items we had (BLT deviled eggs, sesame crusted tuna, and 4 pork gnocchi) were all excellent. The only drawback is the ambiance, which is more sports bar and less nice wine bistro. Most of the seating is at the bar and high-top tables, with only a handful of regular tables available. I'd recommend going on a nice day as the outdoor seating looked much more pleasant than what was available inside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The appetizers are the only decent thing. Main entrees are limited in selection. I had steak and my friend had the burger and neither left us satisfied. Service was slow and it's very crowded.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Highly recommend the steak deburgo. Waiter was knowledgeable and made a very nice recommendation for wine pairing. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Really great place, ordered poutine and Tuna salad. My wife ordered the Diablo Shrimp pasta(as spice as advertised). Wonderful dinner with a group of 6.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Louie's Wine Dive is my go-to when friends want to have great wine and nosh. The staff is knowledgeable and never rushes us. We often end up spending three hours, trying 2-3 different wines and grazing through the menu with shared dishes.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always a Greta experience at Louie's in Des Moines. Wonderful staff and atmosphere, better food with amazing gluten free options and excellent drink selections!

Tags: Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Healthy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went on Valentine's Day and the food and service was very good. Excellent! The food and service is usually good when we eat at this restaurant. Will return many times.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The ambiance threw me since it felt romantic and a little rustic but also casual with all the TV's everywhere. Awesome service and management. Very much caters to foodies and not as much for the plain janes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Disappointed with the Valentines Day menu. Took away some of our usual favorites and added two specials that were above and beyond everyday prices. Still love this place for selections, wine, cocktails and the best choices for gluten free.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Unique dishes, casual ambiance and good service. Two of our three dishes weren't made correctly and the staff fixed the situation quickly and to our satisfaction. Mistakes happen and they handled it well. We'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This was my first time at Louie's and I have to say that I was very pleased with the experience. The food was out of this world! I am very picky with how I cook seafood and the Salmon there was just fantastic. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. Will definitely be returning soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Have always had a nice meal. The special drinks are fun as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 15, 2017

First time visit and I love this place. Food was delightful and the perfect amount. Great environment and amazing service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very unique dish choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great Neighborhood Dining Place. Good ambience, well-trained and friendly staff. One of our favorites for casual relaxed dining with great food. Always a winner.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Brunch. Always a good choice for food a cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our brunch experience was good. The food, although not "to die for" as described by a foodie and cooking/baking enthusiast, was overall good and the foodies and picky eaters in our group all were able to find something they liked. We all recommend the bloody mary's and bread pudding. Our only note of caution would be the noise level for sensitive ears, the music and conversations from other tables lead to a higher than desired noise level for some in our group.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have yet to have a bad or even misstep experience at Louie's...Good food, service fantastic and my coffee cup was never empty...Oh and the pork breakfast tacos were excellent...

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waiter was very slow and took forever to bring drinks. Food was cold. I never send back donor a option. I think his name was William ???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great little spot for NYE! They were even down and chef but kept the service moving and atmosphere upbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Love this place - offers some surprising gluten-free options. The fish and chips is one of my favorite comfort foods. Great place to experiment with new wines, too.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Flavorful and creative menu that's great for weeknight dining. If in a group there will be something for everyone's tastes. We enjoyed the happy hour discounted pricing on bottles of wine and appetizers.

Tags: Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The best Brussels sprouts ever!! All 4 meals were exceptional.
Will return again for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Good food and value. We had good, efficient service the night we were there.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our server, Kay, was delightful and made our dining experience all the more fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Love this Location! The food and staff are great. Unique selections and a good value.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Cory at the bar was excellent. His wine and food recommendations were spot on and the kitchen hit the target. Highly recommended for lunch or dinner before flying home. Airport 6 miles away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our go-to, never lets us down. Creative food, delicious wine and great environment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our server was very attentive. Had the crab benedict with a salad. Very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This used to be our favorite spot. Last two times there the food has declined. The poutine used to be great. Now, watered down and lacking flavor. Simply not worthy of being called poutine. Didn't stay around post appetizer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was average. Service was a little slow. Acceptable for meal price.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Went here on a birthday date. The food was exceptional the service was very prompt and helpful. The atmosphere was ideal, bar vibe with some music but nothing too distracting, and intimate enough to feel comfortable.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Mistakenly thought the bottle of wine we bought during happy hour was going to be half price as the single drinks are, but turned out not to be. Spent way more on a bottle of wine than per the glass. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive. Food was just right and salad dressing very tasty. We will return!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

If I was still rating restaurants,this would have broke the top 20,if not top 10. I'm very much for small plate,sharing plates. Was it because we where with best friends,maybe. Food was spot on. Deviled eggs where good. If by chance porkchetta is on the menu,GET IT. Fork tender with herbs. Great dish. Chatuarie plae was,pick your own,so pick your own. Save room for desert. While chocolate bread pudding was tasteful. Also got beignets. Not as good as in New Orleans,but very good. Just go and enjoy. Bring freids. Oh,great wine list.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Had good service. My Tuscan chicken was awful. Dry and totally flavorless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our first time here and we will be back. Great ambience, friendly and knowledgable staff and very reasonable prices. A great casual neighborhood place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Good gluten-free options, including fish and chips - ultimate comfort food. Service was very friendly and helpful. Love trying new wines here.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Overall it was a neat dining experience. Waitress didn't have full knowledge of some dishes on the menu but appreciate her service and also manager dropped by clarified the questions we had. I would like to go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.