Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.17mi
  2. Distance: 1.28mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 1.17mi
  2. Distance: 1.28mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.17mi
  2. Distance: 1.28mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 1.17mi
  2. Distance: 1.28mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines

Louie’s Wine Dive is obsessed with really good grapes, creative gourmet comfort food, and a funky fun atmosphere to share it in. We search all over the world to find you great wine, many of which come from our relationships with small, lesser known vineyards, at a great value to our guests. Wine is supposed to be Fun, not pretentious, so let us know when you taste that new varietal and how it changed what you thought wine was supposed to be.
Our gourmet comfort food is made fresh using eco friendly and local ingredients whenever possible. As for the fun, we instigate it but count on you and yours to see it to fruition (literally through the fruit!). It’s meant to be your place, so please enjoy...and if you enjoy it as much as we do, grab one of our unique bottles to share at home.

4040 University Ave.
Suite A
Des Moines, IA 50311
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 4pm-10pm (Dinner Only)
Tuesday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-11pm
Sunday: Brunch 9am-2pm, Dinner 2pm-8:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 777-3416

Website:
http://www.louieswinedive.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Louie's Wine Dive - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Casual (14)
See All
Notable Wine List (14)
Special Occasion (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Healthy (6)
Cozy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Tapas (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Seasonal (4)
Romantic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Live Music (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined 5 days ago

Happy this spot is in the neighborhood but service always seems to be a bit off. There either are not enough servers or they are not well trained. On a recent night, our favorite waiter rescued us when he saw that we had been sitting for over 15 minutes without water drinks or menus! This recent trip we had a pleasant young man who made a mistake with my companion's order, when we brought it to his attention he said he would bring the correct side, but never did, and then did not comp us. Not a big deal - but annoying.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Louie's is one of my favorite spots. Great wine and food. Service is usually great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We come here often and really enjoy the food and atmosphere for business or meeting with friends. Relaxed but vibrant feel. Great food. Try the cheese and charcutried plate. Salmon is always excellent. Plenty of very good gluten free options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 2, 2017

Not very attentive waitstaff (especially for a half empty restaurant at Sunday brunch). Good appetizers, main course sandwiches were all under seasoned, dry and bland. Not worth the money, honestly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Poor experience this time compared to the other times I have dined here. Went for my birthday, server knew it was my birthday and I even stated it in my reservation. Yet nothing about my dining experience was special. Food was subpar, I could have gotten the same tacos at a taco truck for less than half the price. I honestly wish I would have spent my birthday somewhere else. Warning: don't come here for a special occasion, go somewhere that's actually special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I was disappointed in the mediocre everything about Louie's. The patio was too noisy due to the busy location near an intersection. The server seemed new and wasn't personable, but adequate. The food did not stand out as something special enough to match the prices. We had tacos, patatas, diablo pasta and beignets. All items were seasoned too much or not enough and in essence was average. The beignets were too doughy. The guacamole was good.

Surprisingly, the wine selection was unique and the wines we had were just okay. We also got inconsistent pours between my girlfriend and I (she got about a 4oz pour and mine was closer to 7oz and they were in the $12/glass range).

I didn't feel I received the service or food quality for the price. We tried it and won't return.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We were warmly received. The setting is relaxed and comfortable. A wide variety of wine and mixed drinks are available. There is a broad menu though we all were up for the fish and chips this night. Very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Louie's is our go-to for friends to have great conversation, wonderful wine and good food. The staff always make excellent wine and food recommendations. We moved to accommodate a group -- we offered, the staff didn't ask -- and the manager brought us each a glass of sparkling wine in thanks. Very classy customer service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 9, 2017

NOT HAPPY WITH WAITRESS WHO SEEMED LIKE SHED RATHER BE ANY PLACE ELSE AND BROUGHT OUR ENTREE ABOUT 5 MINS AFTER APPETIZERS IN AN OBVIOUS ATTEMOT TO TURN THE TABLE. FOOD WAS EXCELLENT AND A NUMBER OF VERY GOOD OPTIONS ARE GLUTEN FREE AND DAIRY FREE WHICH MEET MY RETSRICTIONS DUE TO FOOD ALLERGIES.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Terrible service. Drink orders were slow but the problem was when it took more than an hour to get our food, even though the server knew we had tickets to a show. Manager was not apologetic. Food arrived weirdly overdone yet cold at the same time. It was like something went wrong between the server and the kitchen. All could have been better if the manager would have handled it well. I had to ask for a discount off the bill. I really want to like Louie's for a lot if reasons. They have one of the best gluten free menus in the city. But I have a hard time getting anyone to want to go there with me because of all the problems we've had in the past.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 26, 2017

they closed one other store in the metro,. I suspect this place will close very soon !! terrible , walked out one hour after out reservation time , did not get our order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Have been eating there for a long time... on this occasion i ordered the shrimp and grits...te portion was small, three shrimp and some sauce served in a tiny frying pan and the thing was... it was warm, not hot. The shrimp were cooked perfectly but the grits were warm almost cool. I figured it was an off day but i doubt I'll have the shrimp and grits again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant seemed unprepared for the Mother's Day Brunch crowd. We waited almost an hour after ordering to get our meal (45 minutes for the appetizer). This was disappointing as in the past we have always had a good experience here. It is time to look for someplace new to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our waiter was very attentive, they had very nice background music, and the wine and food was outstanding and a great value for the price. It appeared that they had remodeled it from the last time we had visited this location, as we had gone to the now closed Waukee location most recently. Would definitely consider going back here again and appreciate the convenience of using Open Table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We went for dinner with a group of 6 of us. Our service was perfect, just the right amount of attention. Our server also was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine selection. My husband has celiac and loves the GF fish and chips. I had pasta that I believe was made in house and was tossed with a pesto cream sauce. Delicious! I highly recommend Louie's.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Awesome experience as usual and our waitress AILEEN was FABULOUS and had a great time with us!
PLEASE bring back Stella Rosa pretty please!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had lunch here around 1pm a couple weeks ago on a Saturday. The patio was nice and the waitstaff was friendly and attentive. The restaurant menu was small and primarily built around brunch. It would have been nice if there were more actual lunch options other than a chicken sandwich or a salad. With that being said, I'd definitely go back if I were wanting actual brunch instead of lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Good food and atmosphere, fantastic service for our 25th anniversary. The pizza and wine 2-for-$25 was fine, but they could expand the selection of good dry red wines. We will definitely be back, though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Cozy, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food & ambiance. Their Sunday Mimosa bar is awesome!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Dinner was good and the drinks were great. As always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Quaint treasure of great food and wine. You can order your orb charcuterie plate, sweet!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 29, 2017

One of my favorite spots in Des Moines. Cozy decor, great food, and an exceptional wine selection. Wait staff is very friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Authentic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Amber was great at taking care of us and great recommendations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always a great time at Louise wine dive. They have the best wine selection of any place I've been to in Des Moines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We went here for my birthday. Great food, great server, who had the entertainer (pianist and stand up bass player) sing me happy birthday. The gnocchi is out of this world good. Their patio is great in the summer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Louie's was fabulous and exceeded my expectations. Our server, Kay was friendly, funny and fast. I will definitely be going back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was very good. The service was poor. It took over an hour to get our brunch served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch. We sat inside near entrance door which was busy. They do have a patio but it was full. Waiter was friendly & prompt but cooks were overwhelmed. It was disappointing for our family brunch. We will go again & see if situation improves!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Casual, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We came to Louie's for Easter and it was perfect. Great food and service and the BACON BLOODY MARY (TDF).

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It's always good! Brunch, dinner & special drinks are amazing. It's our 'go to' restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was fantastic. My server did a great job but there was a problem getting our food delivered in a timely matter. The manager acknowledged the problem and took care of it. I would go back again.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Liked the ambience and the food
Service was friendly but a couple of mistakes with ordered items and delivered to wrong customer

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food menu was very unique. We shared the brussel sprouts, squeaky cheese and salmon wedge salad, all were very good. The wine list was not quite as extensive as I would have expected and the markup appeared to be rather high. Our waitress was not well versed in the wines and could not recommend or offer up much advise. We chose to go with the low-end Pinot Noir from Gallo which I assumed came from the Modesto/Lodi region. All-in-all it was a good place for dinner prior to going to The Playhouse.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Service was spot on - great with our 2 year old daughter - friendly. Newer items on the menu were great additions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was delicious, and the wines we tried were very good. The wine menu makes it easy to select a wine that pairs well with whatever food you're ordering. The service was great, and the atmosphere was pretty nice. It was mostly quiet enough for a conversation, but it did get a bit loud when more people in larger groups were seated next to us. My only complaint is that the prices are just a smidgen higher than what I expected based on the quality of the food and the décor (which was still very good), but really only minimally higher, like a few dollars here and there. I will definitely come back here in the future.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We are frequent diners at LWD and always have a good experience. Food, service, ambience is top quality. Will keep returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 25, 2017

LOVE THE FOOD!! I have never been disappointed. The white sangria is very good as well as great beer and wine selections. I am looking forward to being able to sit out on the patio in nice weather.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Late-night Find, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A group of three of us dined here for brunch on a Saturday as a little birthday celebration. It was perfect. They had carafes of mimosas of varying flavors; they even gave the birthday girl a special bottle of wine as a treat. The service was up to expectations, and they didn't rush us out the door—rather we were able to linger and enjoy our girl time together. For brunch, I recommend the breakfast flatbread - it could even be a great appetizer (filling and large).

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Meal was slow coming out, but waitress kept us updated. Food excellent as always.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.