Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Loteria Grill - HollywoodLoteria Grill - Hollywood
(114)
Mexican | Hollywood, Hollywood
Reserve Now
Loteria Grill - Santa MonicaLoteria Grill - Santa Monica
(59)
Mexican | Santa Monica, Westside
Reserve Now
Tuning ForkTuning Fork
(35)
Contemporary American | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Reserve Now
Maradentro - Studio CityMaradentro - Studio City
(148)
Seafood | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Reserve Now
Barrel & AshesBarrel & Ashes
(487)
Barbecue | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Reserve Now
GangadinGangadin
(106)
Indian | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Reserve Now
Teru SushiTeru Sushi
(228)
Japanese | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Reserve Now
Firefly - Studio CityFirefly - Studio City
(246)
Contemporary American | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Reserve Now
The Six - Studio CityThe Six - Studio City
(146)
American | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Reserve Now
Flavor of India - Studio CityFlavor of India - Studio City
(21)
Indian | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Reserve Now
Vitello'sVitello's
(356)
Italian | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Reserve Now
The Front YardThe Front Yard
(424)
Californian | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Reserve Now
The BellwetherThe Bellwether
(296)
Contemporary American | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Reserve Now
Hyperion Public - Studio CityHyperion Public - Studio City
(55)
Contemporary American | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Reserve Now
GirasolGirasol
(699)
Californian | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Reserve Now

About Permanently Closed - Loteria Grill - Studio City

12050 Ventura Blvd
Studio City, CA 91604
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Jimmy Shaw opened the first Lotería! Grill in the summer of 2002 at the Farmers Market in Los Angeles, and ever since has been serving our guests a menu full of regional Mexican specialties as delicious as what he grew up enjoying in Mexico City.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Laurel Canyon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(818) 508-5300

Website:
http://loteriagrill.com/

Catering:
Bienvenidos! At Loteria Grill, we have an extensive variety of options for you to choose from for your next event. From to-go platters and festive taco bars, to a wide selection of appetizers for cocktail parties and custom planned dinners, we can meet your party's needs and exceed your expectations.
Please contact us to plan your event today
Virginia Ortiz
Director of Special Events and Catering
(323)465-2500

Parking Details:
Large underground parking available.

Executive Chef:
Jimmy Shaw

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Permanently Closed - Loteria Grill - Studio City
Permanently Closed - Loteria Grill - Studio City
Permanently Closed - Loteria Grill - Studio City
Permanently Closed - Loteria Grill - Studio City
Permanently Closed - Loteria Grill - Studio City
Permanently Closed - Loteria Grill - Studio City
Permanently Closed - Loteria Grill - Studio City
Permanently Closed - Loteria Grill - Studio City
Permanently Closed - Loteria Grill - Studio City
Permanently Closed - Loteria Grill - Studio City
Permanently Closed - Loteria Grill - Studio City
Permanently Closed - Loteria Grill - Studio City
Permanently Closed - Loteria Grill - Studio City

Loteria Grill - Studio City - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.0

ambience

3.7

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Special Occasion (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food and beautiful presentatio ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Delicious food and beautiful presentation, enjoyed everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food delicious, but something missing wi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food delicious, but something missing with ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lousy service and unremarkable food. Ch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Lousy service and unremarkable food. Chose this place for a business lunch based on a recommendation from Open Table and its location. We sat on the patio and could barely get the time of day from the server - took forever to take our order, didn't refill water glasses, had to be flagged down for the check. The food was mediocre at best; I don't think anyone enjoyed their food. I was embarrassed I chose the place for my coworkers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

I had a reservation for a big party (20+ ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I had a reservation for a big party (20+) and they were really accommodating and helpful. Our server did great taking everyone's requests and being prompt. Great place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was meeting a Business associate for a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I was meeting a Business associate for a early 6pm drink, which turned into two drinks and dinner. The skinny margarita's were fine, but when I went to order from the "Specials" menu, I was informed there were not special available. It would have been nice if the Server had advised us of that fact when he first approached us or took our drink order. Ok.. no worries... so I ordered the Carnitas with rice and beans. The Rice and beans were fine... but the pork was absolutely dry and really not edible. I did not send it back, but had only 3 bites, but couldn't naw my way through the very dry and tough pork. Seriously the worst Carnitas I've ever had. I I left it, and the Waiter didn't bother to notice that my food went mostly uneaten. Nice enough guy, but really, your job as a Server is to take note if food is being eaten or picked at. Not my first mediocre to bad experience with food there... I've tried over the years to be a good sport, but I think from here on in, i just need to pass when friends suggest them.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We were surprised that they were out of ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were surprised that they were out of so many things on the menu....how odd....we wondered if they are closing soon....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Moderate prices and reasonable value for tastey Mexican specialties.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I wasn't very impressed with our dining ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I wasn't very impressed with our dining experience this time. The table seemed sticky, the service was slow even though it was pretty empty inside, and the food is fairly overpriced. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Not your typical Mexican food.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Unlike Cal-mex or Tex-mex, which dominates LA, Loteria has a more authentic Mexico City feel. Favs are the spicy chipotle salsa which accompanies chips and is way better than traditional salsa, pozole soup, and summer salad (ask to add the stewed chicken)

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We love Loteria. Their food is always f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We love Loteria. Their food is always fresh and wonderful, and all of their servers are friendly and attentive. We take everyone we know there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table not set up. Service was poor. Very noisy.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

The table was not set up for our party when we arrived. We had to flag down the waiter several times for the bill. Food is just OK. The music was playing so loud that we couldn't have a conversation. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great new addition to Studio City. Loter ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

Great new addition to Studio City. Loteria is the best Mexican in town with good food and nice new restaurant. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Loteria has been the BEST since they fir ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Loteria has been the BEST since they first opened their doors - best in service, in food, in originality, etc.. We bring everyone we know and love here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disaster

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We had 7:15 reservations. We were on time. We still waited over a half hour for our table. When the waitress finally took our order, she informed us that the kitchen staff was slammed and were taking a break. We did not get our meal until after 9:15pm. Taking a break? Who is waiting on who? I don't even remember what my meal tasted like, so I can't comment on the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Usually Fantastic, but not this time.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

We have been here several times and have always had great food and service.

This last time, was a huge exception. We had a party of 7 and the restaurant wasn't super busy. Our service was extremely slow, where other tables came and left before we even got our food. Took over 45 minutes to get our food, and then about 1/4 of it was wrong. We asked for Tamales without sour cream on top, and they came with sour cream on top. Ordered swordfish tacos, which were supposed to come with a side of avocados and diced tomatoes, but didn't. We asked the server about the sides and she said it doesn't come with that, so we had to show her on the special menu that it did. Our tortilla soup was supposed to have cheese on top, and it didn't. So we had to ask for some on the side to add to it.

If this was my first visit here, I would never come back. I know they are capable of so much more, so maybe they had fill-ins in the kitchen and wait staff over the holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Great high-end mexican food and friendly service!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Unique recipes and tasty offerings! Margaritas are divine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Choice for Mexican near Universal

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We had a nice time on New Year's Eve with tamales, specialty tacos and cazuela de la casa, which is a scrumptious combination of meats, cactus, etc with tortillas. The place is perfect size. Very good selection of tequila is a plus. Nice wait staff and very reasonable prices for food quality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We have loved Loteria since it first ope ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

We have loved Loteria since it first opened - and take everyone we know and love there. It never disappoints and is always stellar!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During our lunch, only a few other table ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

During our lunch, only a few other tables were occupied, so we experienced attentive service. And the food we ordered--pork tacos and a quesadilla--was quite good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We recommend - and take - everyone we kn ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

We recommend - and take - everyone we know and love to Loteria, and it never disappoints anyone! It is always consistent with regards to superb, attentive service and excellent food. And their Happy Hour is a great plus too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but pricey

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

The food was good, but for the price, should have been better. The kitchen was accommodating to some special food requirements which was nice. The service was only adequate. Not very attentive. I would give a qualified recommendation mainly because it was an interesting menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Nachos and tacos are delicious. But the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Nachos and tacos are delicious. But the guacamole is below average. There is very little ambiance or charm, and there a lot of families with loud children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

We go to Loteria Grill ALL the time - an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

We go to Loteria Grill ALL the time - and bring all of our friends here, who love it as well. Always superb service and fabulous food! We are so lucky that the Studio City branch is in our neighborhood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've gone to Loteria ever since they op ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

We've gone to Loteria ever since they opened, and they have never disappointed. Excellent wait staff, superb food, wonderful ambience. We take everyone we know there - and all love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. Service was excelle ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Food was very good. Service was excellent. Will definitely come back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Fresh, Good Quality!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Love the salsa! My favorite thing on the menu is anything with their mole sauce. My husband loves the deshebrada beef. I often dine here with a group of people and everyone leaves satisfied. Solid food and good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

No Bueno

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Location isn't everything:(

Unfortunately it's in a spot with alot of foot traffic.

It's kinda set up like a cafeteria.

Sticky tables:(

The staff was great..they should work somewhere better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

I've eaten several times at this restaur ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

I've eaten several times at this restaurant and always found the food to be excellent. The shrimp tacos, in particular, are outstanding. This is definitely one of my favorite Mexican restaurants to eat at.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Usually one of my faves in the valley. F ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

Usually one of my faves in the valley. Food and drinks were good. However, our waitress was pretty bad. We rarely experience bad service at restaurants in LA. However, our waitress took our drink order & disappeared after that. We waited so long, that we had to go to the hostess, to find her. When it was time for dessert, she asked if we wanted to see a menu, we said yes & then she disappeared again! So the busboy gave us the menu. Again food was good & thanks goodness for the other employees! I have to give one star just for our waitress, who is named Gabriela. Step it up, lady!

Also, we initially didn't get our Opentable points. I guess restaurant said we weren't there, but Opentable rectified it & we got our points. Thank you, Opentable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Great dinner

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

As always, the food was great! Best Mexican fare in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's not the Farmer's Market anymore...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 15, 2015

I loved the little stand at the Farmer's Market. Everything was deliciously fresh and the handmade tortillas were awesome. The Studio City incarnation completely lacks the verve and feels very much like chain food. The menu reads great but the three interesting sounding tacos I ordered were super soggy and the tortillas rather ho-hum. Friendly staff. Cute place. Food underwhelming...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Never disappoints.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2015

Always great food and the wait staff is knowledgeable and attentive. The freshest tortillas!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent - not enough waiters!!!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

Our waiter was doubling as the bar tender too - so we did not see him a lot (not his fault). Once we got the food it was great - but then it took a long time to get the bill. Hopefully they will get a few more waiters, otherwise don't go if you are in a rush.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Will never come back to Loteria.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

I had read the reviews on line prior to this visit and thought people who were negative had an isolated incident and that overall the Loteria chain provided good food and drink. But no, everything I read was true. The food was bland and the drinks were not impressive. The person I was with did not eat her chicken salad and called the food "cafeteria food".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Family enjoyed dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

Our family of 6 truly enjoyed the attentive service of our waiter. All of us found the food to be quite tasty and plentiful. The noise level inside the restaurant was quite tolerable. We definitely plan to return in the near future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent and the tequila bar awesome

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2015

LOVED the carnitas tacos on lettuce cups. The guacamole was delicious and the salsa excellent. I will be returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed my Fathers Day at Loteria.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Had a great meal and excellent service at Loteria for Fathers Day. I was upset to find out that the Sunday Brunch Buffet was replaced with an ala carte menu but, my Huevos Rancheros were delicious. And the Cadillace Margarita was perfecto. The staff was excellent and the tortilla maker made tiny tortillas and pancakes special for my daughter. She was so excited she gave him a kiss on the cheek. #memorabletime

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We overlooked this too long!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 7, 2015

We've lived in the neighborhood for years but didn't realize this wasn't your standard Mexican restaurant. The chipotle salsa is outrageously good, and my chicken with mole sauce and mint-infused rice was subtly delicious. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was decent along with service.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 25, 2015

Price on menu did not match what was billed. Look at your bill carefully. When asked if an up charge exist for changing an item on plate I.e. Beans regular refried to borracho beans. We ordered a 3 taco plate on menu $15 billed $23! It's not a high end place so in my opinion prices are higher than other places. Nothing gourmet about the good to justify the price. A slice of 3 leches cake was $9 usually desserts are $6-8. We all were surprised with our bill, we had a group of five. While there we observed 2 other parties questioning their bill. The only people winning Loteria are the owners!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Loteria never fails to impress - great f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

Loteria never fails to impress - great food, wonderful service, caring staff. Just the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.