About Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm

4803 Rio Grande Blvd NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM 87107
View Larger Map

Located on an organic farm in the Rio Grande River Valley, La Merienda is a causal fine-dining experience, featuring the most pure field-to-fork menu in the Southwest. Our Rio Grande River Valley Cuisine is rooted in seasonal organic ingredients from our own farm, as well as from longstanding relationships with local farmers and herdsman.

Dinner is served from 5pm -9pm, Wednesday - Sunday. The menu is a la carte, and changes seasonally. Consider arriving 15-20 minutes before your reservation time to enjoy an artisan cocktail in the Sala Grande living room. Our hand-crafted artisanal cocktails use some of the best Spanish sherries, Italian vermouths, and classic aperitifs.

Breakfast is served daily from 8am - 10am, and the charge is $20 per person. The gourmet menu changes seasonally and offers the option of two choices daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southwest, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 8:00am - 10:00pm




Dinner: Wednesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Griegos. *PLEASE NOTE* Montano and Rio Grande do not connect!

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 338-1615

Website:
http://www.lospoblanos.com/food-and-dining/

Entertainment:
N/A

Catering:
We do not offer outside catering.

Parking Details:
Free parking on site.

Public Transit:
Bus stop on Griegos and Rio Grande

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Perno

Private Party Facilities:
Our Ventana Room and Private Dining Room are the ideal setting for your small dining event. Room rental fees for booking a private event start at $350, plus a food and beverage minimum, tax and gratuity are additional.

Our Chef, Jonathan Perno, has created the perfect menu for you to select from. Reception hors d’oeuvres prior to dinner vary depending on actual menu selections, and we require that entrees be pre-selected prior to your event. Our Wine Director is available for consultation to help you pre-select your beverages. With advance notice we are happy to accommodate a birthday cake or special dessert for the event.

Please note; outside catering is not permitted at Los Poblanos.

Private Party Contact:
Dylan Storment: 505-938-2186x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re visiting from across the ocean or around the corner, we offer an array of unique culinary, agricultural and cultural programming.

Stimulate your senses with an aromatherapy class. Find a roadrunner on a guided bird walk. Freewheel along the Rio Grande River trail on an Electra Cruiser bike. Discover your inner chef at a hands-on cooking class. Explore our events calendar section to find the perfect experience during your visit.

www.lospoblanos.com/events-calendar

Los Poblanos Historic Inn & Organic Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New Mexico
Fit for Foodies
New Mexico
Scenic View
New Mexico
8 More
Special Occasion
New Mexico
American
New Mexico
Best Overall
Albuquerque
Best Service
Albuquerque
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Fit for Foodies
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Most Booked
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

special occasion (70)
fit for foodies (62)
romantic (56)
See All
scenic view (48)
great for outdoor dining (33)
neighborhood gem (30)
notable wine list (24)
great for brunch (14)
good for groups (11)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
late-night find (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each meal created from farm fresh ingred ...

Dined 4 days ago

Each meal created from farm fresh ingredients on the property. It was delightful!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. The wife and I went there ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great place. The wife and I went there for our anniversary dinner. Get there early to walk the grounds! Ate outside on the patio, super quiet unless you count the peacock crying(which is part of the ambiance 😁) food was great, not huge portions which is fine, and great quality. Small but good selection of beers, Marble, La Cumbre, and Rogue are notable. Server was attentive and friendly. Overall great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very scenic, great servers, atmosphere. ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Very scenic, great servers, atmosphere. Food was very good, a bit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Door prize overnight gift

Dined on May 14, 2016

I received a gift certificate for an overnight, dinner and breakfast. This was truly an outstanding experience and in such a relaxing atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Dinner and breakfast were outstanding. Couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, ambiance and service was excel ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food, ambiance and service was excellent. Can't wait to return

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mushroom Dish is OUT OF THIS WORLD

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was my third time dining here and it just keeps getting better. Everything is fresh and flavorful, with layers of flavor...will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect evening.

Dined on April 29, 2016

I owed my wife a birthday dinner, and really had to do something "special" to make up for missing her actual birthday. Man o' man, did I ever hit a home run! We have been to just about everyplace in Albuquerque & Santa Fe over the last 25 years, and "Los Poblanos" is now in the top 3. What a perfect evening, my wife said it was the best birthday ever!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Albino peacocks!!!!!

Dined on April 25, 2016

I rarely get to see my father in Albuquerque as I live on the East Coast. So a night in which my son was there from the West Coast with my Dad and me, was a blessed event. We could have chose no better venue. From the lovely gardens, to the wonderful golfcart style shuttle (for dad's hip) and the peacocks screaming from the trees, the environment was unique, historic and bellisima. The food was unique, healthy, visually beautiful and absolutely yummy. Everyone was delighted with the creations that appeared in front of them. A special thank you for the cheese plate we all shared as it was really special. My mushroom dish had every texture and taste covered. My dad loved the duck confitte, which was rich and fillling. My son revelled in the crab. The butterscotch pudding (a rather caramel thick creme to be spread on chocolate shortbread) was a decadent surprise at the end.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Rustic Ritzy

Dined on April 24, 2016

Lovely farm setting with beautiful grounds complete with strutting peacocks. They serve the freshest food, creatively displayed and rich in flavor. It's expensive so save this one for a special occasion or to impress others on business.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A true New Mexico gem

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our first time to Los Pablanos and everything was absolutely perfect. You cannot beat the view - you feel that you are far away in nature. The old world charm of the buildings, the elegant presentation, freshness and excellent preparation of the food, along with the service all make this restaurant truly a memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Beautiful surroundings, small dining area

Dined on April 23, 2016

The grounds are beautiful and the albino peacock was wonderful. Unfortunately the dining area is so small that my wife and I felt cramped. Service was up and down. It was slow, but the kitchen made special accommodations by preparing something custom for my wife's dietary restrictions. It was a nice experience, and I felt like the surroundings helped to justify the price for the food. I would recommend other visit this restaurant, if nothing else to experience the farm (get there a little early and enjoy walking around and spending time sitting and enjoying nature).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely setting, excellent food!

Dined on April 11, 2016

We love La Merienda at Los Poblanos. The food is fresh and tasty, just "foodie" enough without being too gimmicky.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

it was okay

Dined on April 11, 2016

We ordered appetizers, a side, and entrees. Everything was over salted except the carrots. The beet/yam appetizers had undercooked hard beets. The crab in the salad was a bit old, but the main issue was the over salting. We were there to celebrate a birthday. We had a good time, but were underwhelmed with the food. The setting was beautiful. We will stay at the Inn again. It may have been the off night for the cafe. I didn't have breakfast, but my partner did and he was pleasantly surprised after the night before.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superbly simple

Dined on April 10, 2016

Simple, elegant, fresh--our current favorite foodie place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was Deanna and she was excell ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Our server was Deanna and she was excellent. The menu is a bit limited but does offer a good variety.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant

Dined on April 4, 2016

Seasonal menu is always sensational, local sourced food prepared to perfection, service personal, great experience every time. I've now become a regular customer coming from Santa Fe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treat

Dined on April 2, 2016

Our dinner with friends was excellent from start to finish. We shared what we ordered so that we could sample as much as possible. The food was excellent. The sauce with the charred artichokes was a bit salty and the dulce plate that my friends had for dessert was a bit cheesy, but all in all everything was well done. May I suggest a bit more stable chair for the diners when the budget allows?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place

Dined on April 1, 2016

We love going to Los Poblanos for dinners. The menu is pricey, but we don't go out often so it's a great treat. The atmosphere, both indoors and outside, is lovely. The food is always something new from their farm. Always a new adventure. I am concerned to hear that Los Poblanos is planning on adding to the site and moving the restaurant to a "new" (though style to look like the older structures) building. There really isn't a lot of space for the restaurant, so it's cozy and intimate--part of what makes the dining experience there unique and so nice. However, I do understand that it would be great for them to have more space (including a much larger kitchen) to share this wonderful dining experience with more guests. We'll wait and see what happens.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite

Dined on March 26, 2016

Everyone at Los Poblanos was attentive to us from the moment we arrived until we departed. We had a leisurely dinner, and each staff member was very upbeat and positive -- they all seemed to enjoy their places there. The food was superb, especially the duck appetizer. Highly recommend an evening at this fine establishment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful ambiance and excellent service ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Wonderful ambiance and excellent service in Albuquerque's far North Valley. We'd heard a lot about the fresh ingredients, etc., served at this restaurant which is probably why the menu is not very extensive though innovative and not the ordinary run-of-the-mill items. The food itself was generally good, but not exceptional except for the side of carrots, which were really good though could have been a bit larger serving.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining

Dined on March 24, 2016

Casual elegant dining blending historic and contemporary urban atmosphere in a beautiful garden setting. Local products are featured on the diverse menu with several specials offered. Great venue for special events and celebrations. The food is complemented by an outstanding line of beer and wine. It's obvious that the management has a passion for perfection in everything that they serve their patrons.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner was such a treat during a stay at the inn.

Dined on March 23, 2016

The food and ambiance were both wonderful. Don't miss the lavender margarita.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

ABQ's Los Poblanos March 2016

Dined on March 19, 2016

My advise is that if you haven't been there go check it out. The service was impeccable, the wine list decent but the menu very limited.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Consistently good

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

We've been to Los Poblanos several times and have never been disappointed. One of the better restaurants in Albuquerque. They have a seasonal menu, an excellent dinning room, a solid wine list, and good service. What else do you need?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply fabulous!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great food is what interests us and that's what we got. It's pretty clear (based on 1 visit) that the chef(s) enjoy creating interesting and novel dishes that are relatively simple but still have a wow factor in regards to the taste. There were interesting combinations of spices/ingredients and they all worked. In addition, most of the ingredients (all?) were wither from their farm or nearby farms that tout organic. We can't wait to go back...its great to have a place like this in Albuquerque.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Family Night out

Dined on March 7, 2016

Daughter ordered a salad for main course and it definitely was not meant for main course. Very small. The waitress was aware that she wanted it for main course and probably should have told her that it is extremely small. I had to share my dinner with my daughter so she was not hungry. The food was good. Expensive for such small portions. Loved the farm atmosphere.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Pricey, but worth it for special occasions

Dined on February 29, 2016

Los Poblanos is definitely not an everyday restaurant. The food, while unique, is very expensive and not exactly plentiful. It's a nice place for a special occasion or if you really, really want to impress someone. Expect to wait awhile for your food to arrive, though, as everything is cooked fresh using local ingredients. Reservations are highly recommended as the restaurant has a very small dining space.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

ok but I'd rather go elsewhere

Dined on February 28, 2016

Signage is non existent-terrible. Hostess very nice. Our server was not as professional as I'd expect at a place with these prices. She was ok, too efficient-rushed service, not as knowledgeable as I'd like Limited food choices. All a bit odd. Much similarity among them too. Not really a place that is accessible. Parking DARK as is pathway to and from.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful place.

Dined on February 28, 2016

I have lived in NM most of my life and did not know about this very beautiful place. It is filled with lots of history and ambiance. The staff was kind and answered all our questions. The food was incredible, and Anna (our waitress) was delightful. I plan on going back again hopefully in the spring when everything is in bloom.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

still is premier place

Dined on February 12, 2016

Having been here twice, it remains one of the best restaurants and environments in town. The dining area is relatively small, so if it is full, particularly if there are tables with several people, the conversational noise can be a bit loud, but it is a great atmosphere and the table talk doesn't distract. The food has always been outstanding -- the standard entrees are great, but the specials are usually the personal choice. It has a respectable wine list and decent wines that do not require enormous cash outlays can be found in both the white and red selections. Having a drink or glass of wine in the Salon before dinner is a nice experience. The most recent visit one of the two fireplaces was going and it was nice to sit there for a short while before going to the dining area. For visitors to the area, it would be a special treat to spend the night at the Inn and dine in the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience from arriv ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

We had a wonderful experience from arrival through departure. The entire staff was attentive but not intrusive. We had an expertly crafted cocktail while waiting for our table. Dinner was farm fresh amazing. The pork tenderloin was moist and quite delicious as well as the ravioli. This is a definitely a restaurant I want to visit again.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Appreciate this local Gem.

Dined on February 7, 2016

Anyone wanting an authentic New Mexico dining experience should patronize the Inn. The atmosphere is pure New Mexico casual elegance. The food is delicious and presentation is good. However the service lacks the professionalism of a five star dining experience. The staff get the job done but lack the professional flair you experience in some five star Inns around the southwest. The food, and atmosphere are worth the price.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awsome

Dined on February 6, 2016

Great ambiance. Great venue. For special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Helen

Dined on February 6, 2016

I took my son for his birthday, grandmother and his cousin to dinner. This cost was $240 for four people, which included a bottle of wine. This was really expensive for Albuquerque. Some of the food was delicious but the main course was okay. We ordered the fish. I asked the waitress if the serving was enough for me to split it with my mom. She said yes but it wasn't. The fish was a very small portion for $35. The side with the fish was very disappointing. It was made with vinegar and that was all we could taste. I should of returned it but didn't. I can get a better meal at other restaurants in Albuquerque. I was disappointed for the amount of money I paid. Everything should of been outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Patronizing Hostess Food Less Than Perfect

Dined on January 18, 2016

I have often invited clients and friends to Los Poblanos over the years. The grounds and facilities are gorgeous. It always felt very special and I gave it good reviews. The last two occasions were disappointing. When a hostess refers to me as her dear, I find it offensive (unless she knows me personally). Then she proceeded to treat two athletic well-dressed middle aged women as little old ladies. It ruined the evening. I doubt little old ladies would like it either. Add that to the draft by the window, cold food for my guest and dry pork loin and no bread but a bill for $135 (with tip for two) and I no longer feel it's worth it. The ice cream in the ice cream sandwich was good, but the accompanying pastry was hard and too sweet. The chocolate cake was dry and uninteresting. Luckily they were complimentary (we had a card for free dessert). In the past, it was top notch and worth it. If the management trains their hostess and wait staff to be respectful of their guests and the kitchen again is able to achieve their previous high standards (and I hear about it), I'll be back.

food3
ambience5
service4

This was our choice for my birthday dinn ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

This was our choice for my birthday dinner. It was completely worth it and the food was excellence. We cannot wait to return in the spring/ summer to see the trees and the other landscape at its peak. I would definitely recommend Los Poblanos to anyone who wants a causal romantic night out.

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Great for meat lovers.

Dined on January 17, 2016

Not good for vegans despite advance notice given. Otherwise good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I thought the place was a bit pretentious

Dined on January 10, 2016

I didn't like the idea that, even though our table was ready, they insist on temporarily seating you in the area where they have the bar to make you feel almost obligated to buy a drink. The tables are small and get crowed when the food order arrives. If you've never been there before, finding your way at night to the restaurant and the parking lot can be a little confusing. Signage is small.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Return Visit

Dined on January 4, 2016

We had another memorable meal at Los Poblanos. The lobster ravioli was marvelous!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Dinner

Dined on December 26, 2015

We were staying 2 nights at the Inn for Christmas and we had dinner there on Christmas night. It was delicious. I had a dish called White Pasta (pappardelle with cauliflower, parsnips. potatoes in a light cream sauce with fried lentils). I could have licked the plate! My husband's Coho salmon was perfectly cooked and also delicious. I also had a cauliflower appetizer that was very tasty. Hubby had onion soup which was outstanding. We went light on the dessert, gelato - peaches and lavender (what the Inn is known for) and the evening was over. Service was fine, just what you'd expect; I always love it when a restaurant puts a bottle of water on the table, rather than having to wait for someone to notice you need more water. The dining experience was just what we were hoping for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.