About Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe

2879 Grand Avenue
Los Olivos, CA 93441
View Larger Map

At the Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe you really do get to taste the Central Coast. They take great care in selecting each item that makes its way on your plate. Choosing ingredients that are local, wild, and organic whenever possible. You will enjoy the rustic-elegance of the Cafe paired with friendly and attentive service. Their extensive wine list offers the best wines of the Central Coast Region. The best part is after you dine you can take home your favorite wines at competitive pricing and bring the taste of the Central Coast home with you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:45pm; Afternoon Menu: 3:00-5:00 Dinner: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Now serving Breakfast from 8:00-10:30am on Saturdays and Sundays!

Open 7 days a week

Cross Street:
Highway 154

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-7265

Website:
http://www.losolivoscafe.com/

Catering:
From assisting you in choosing your wines and selecting your customized menu, we take pride in making your event truly a Central Coast experience. The Los Olivos Cafe has served guests since 1995. Now the Wine Merchant and our outside catering division can offer more to what we bring to you. Our beautiful wine country is the perfect place to host a memorable event. Allow us to make your catered affair truly special. We take great pride in bringing you remarkable food paired with gracious hospitality and an award-winning wine list.

Parking Details:
There is parking throughout the quaint town of Los Olivos. There are on-street spaces conveniently located directly in front of The Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Chris Joslyn

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room seats up to 40 guests and is the perfect venue for an intimate gathering. Our attentive service, exceptional food, and award-winning wine list will set the scene for an unforgettable event. Our private dining room is available to reserve for lunch and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Negrete: 8056887265x214

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.LosOlivosCafe.com to view our upcoming special events and you can always check us out on facebook at Los Olivos Cafe!

Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Californian
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Ynez Valley
8 More
Best Food
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Service
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Ambiance
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Value
Santa Ynez Valley
Fit for Foodies
Santa Ynez Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Ynez Valley
Notable Wine List
Santa Ynez Valley
Most Booked
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Santa Ynez Valley ›

notable wine list (75)
fit for foodies (67)
neighborhood gem (54)
See All
special occasion (46)
great for outdoor dining (40)
great for lunch (40)
good for groups (31)
romantic (25)
kid-friendly (11)
great for brunch (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
hot spot (9)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
878 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Stopped here last Friday evening after m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Stopped here last Friday evening after meeting family from the Bay Area in Morro Bay. As we were all driving south together, my husband and I recommended Los Olivos Cafe due to prior good experiences.

We were greeted warmly. They were planning to seat us inside, but a larger table outside had just opened up, so we asked to sit there. They accommodated us in short order.

Our server was very gracious throughout the meal. We shared several of their gourmet pizzas, plus two orders of orecchiette pasta. The Alba pizza with mushroom trio, ricotta, arugula, parmesan, four cheeses, and truffle oil was a standout, flavor-wise. Despite everyone being tired after a long day of activities and driving, we all enjoyed the meal.

The outdoor lights weren't working, which one of the staff was trying to fix, but unable to get them going. We had to ask for the table oil lamps to be lit as it got darker. Those were the only small items that made it less than perfect, and did affect the ambience. Everything else went very well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ate here two nights in a row. On the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

I ate here two nights in a row. On the first night, we had great service and great food. On the second night, I was very disappointed with the service. We got seated and 10-15 minutes go by without anybody coming by our table. Servers would just walk by our table on their way to other tables. I finally had to grab somebody and ask them who was serving us. He then apologized and took our order, and the service was fine after that. But we were very disappointed and upset that we just sat there (we were a table of four) without anybody coming by for 10-15 minutes after getting seated. And, none of the people working there (and there were many) even noticed and asked if we wanted anything. My wife was very upset and wanted to leave but we stayed. We did not enjoy the meal that much because of our initial experience. All of the other tables were getting served, so the bad service initially was not due to lack of staff, just lack of attentiveness by all staff and management.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

No matter when we go, no matter what we ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

No matter when we go, no matter what we order, the food and wine is always perfection. The staff is always personable, thoughtful and genuine. We drive over an hour to dine at the Wine Merchant Cafe and it's well worth the trip every time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Birthday Club met at LOWM&C for an e ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our Birthday Club met at LOWM&C for an early dinner after wine tasting and bocce across the street at Coquelicot. Not super hungry, so had salad and soup. The shrimp bisque was very smooth and tasty, though would have benefited from a bit more tarragon. The summer salad was just okay. Portions were pretty small—maybe have 2 sizes? Others had pizza which was just okay. Staff was very nice and service was timely and considerate.

The Birthday Girl got a little dessert of cake and scoop of ice cream with a candle—and a song, so that was a nice touch.

Have always loved this spot, but seems it's more of a wine bar now, rather than emphasizing the food part.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We were outside on the patio, as request ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were outside on the patio, as requesting after the reservations and were accommodated ! So it was nice and quiet from the other part, so I can not comment on the noise level or ambiance everywhere else. Our Server, Robin was fantastic! My meal was delicious but with a little too much oil, and two others had a cream dish that they said was fabulous, but too heavy..other than that, we would all come back back for round 2!... Oh yeah, the pizza was great too!

Again, thank you for giving us the table we requested long after the reservations were made!

Yay!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I were in neighboring Slo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I were in neighboring Slovange for the day and found this on Open Table, we were able to sit on the porch (had a celebrity sighting -- Pink and her family) really enjoyed the sideways menu, wine, starter, dinner and desert - $44 We had so much food, we had to take our deserts to go. What a lovely evening in a beautiful setting with wonderful wine and food

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I have dined here several times, always ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I have dined here several times, always excellent !

It's now a must anytime I'm in the Santa Ynez area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Met my wine maker son along with our two ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Met my wine maker son along with our two dogs for lunch. His new tasting room is 4 doors from this fine restaurant. Food, service, along with ambiance, outstanding. We have eaten here a dozen times never to be sorry. A must if you are visiting this wonderful wine area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Los Olivos to eat.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Best place in Los Olivos to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

This place is one of my favorites and I ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This place is one of my favorites and I always enjoy a great meal and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love this place! The food is amazing! ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I love this place! The food is amazing! My sister had the lamb shank and while I would typically not order it, I tasted it and it was out of this world. I had the gnocchi (I always get this when here) and it did not disappoint.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always very good!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a special dinner here this week. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a special dinner here this week. We brought our own bottle of wine ($20 fee) and Karen was our server. She was knowledgeable, friendly and respectful of our time/space.

We started with the Baked Brie, which was just right.

I had Beef Sugo - AMAZING!! Tender beef in a tasty tomato sauce with carrots, celery and homemade pasta. My husband ordered the Barramundi, equally as delicious.

Would highly recommend!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is innovative and the servings ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food is innovative and the servings are very large. Our only complaint is that the food was too salty.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Crowded and noisy but wonderful food. Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Crowded and noisy but wonderful food. They were also very accommodating to an 8 year old and 3 month old! Lovely experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place . Food was absolutely d ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved this place . Food was absolutely delicious . Service was

Excellent . Would highly recommend .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gnocchi were like light fluffy pillo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The gnocchi were like light fluffy pillows and the gluten free pizza special was on point. I always love this place when I am in town! I've always had amazing food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In Los Olivos for a weekday June get-a-a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

In Los Olivos for a weekday June get-a-away, we ate here both Monday and Tuesday nights. This has been our tradition for a few years. We always rave about the meals and service. Karen, our Monday server, was delightful, very attentive and personable. Tuesday, I think our server's name was Amanda - also delightful. We loved the shortribs!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Recommended by a friend and glad we went ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Recommended by a friend and glad we went. If we were in the area longer we would have gone again. We both had the chicken; moist and delicious! Being the only wine drinker there were several red wines available by the glass. The only negative is that we felt the server rushed us through the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never a disappointment. Inventive salads and pizza

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The pizza and crust are among our favorites. And their use of local produce ensures new and delightful salads.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I ate here for dinner one ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

My husband and I ate here for dinner one night and for lunch the next day while we were staying in Los Olivos. Both of our visits were great. The menu gives various dining options including appetizers, interesting salads, burgers, pizza, and also fancy main entrées. The wine list is amazing. We loved our meals here. The service is friendly, the atmosphere is fun and charming, and the food is excellent. We will definitely return on our next trip to Los Olivos.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was outstanding. We all sampled ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Dinner was outstanding. We all sampled each other's plates. Beef sugo, gnocchi, ravioli, shepherds pie. Wonderful. Wine prices are Extremely reasonable. Ambience is second to none in the area. A must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought my friend from Florida who is a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Brought my friend from Florida who is a major foodie and expert on wines. She was very impressed by the excellent wine choices and pairings with our lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great meal, another great experience!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Los Olivos cafe never disappoints Just tried the barramundi and it is my new favorite...Oh, and the spring salad...Oh, and homemade ice cream..and everyone agrees it is wine heaven! I have dined here pregnant, with a newborn, with toddlers, teenagers, grandparents, in every season over many years and this place is a rare find; it feels like coming home after a long trip. Settle in with a nice glass of wine and relax into a lovely dining experience, great food and pampering wait staff.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will go back!!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent menu, comfortable atmosphere, great service!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Road trip find

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a wonderful experience all round I booked this after extensive research and reviews it was perfect!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 4 very loud children that wer ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

There were 4 very loud children that were allowed by parents to cry, scream & act up.

They were so disruptive that they interfered with others evening. This is a difficult call but managment should have made some attempt to interact with parents. Maybe a management training.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The orecchiette was one if the best pastas I've ever had! I had it with fresh tomatoes. The spring salad was also incredible. Our server, Karen, was attentive and made our experience memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

special night

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went for a 4 person bachelorette dinner. 2 of us have food allergies. 2 are wine enthusiasts. 1 foodie (me). It satisfied all 4 of us. The waiter, Taylor, could NOT have been any nicer or more helpful. We had a wonderful dinner and would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had lunch here with my parents and fia ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I had lunch here with my parents and fiancée before a day of wine tasting. The food was fantastic- I ordered the pesto gnocchi. We had the beets and burrata and also the olives for appetizers. The wine selection is amazing. Great service - we'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Happy Lunch Time

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our table for 6 was ready and waiting for us, and nicely away from the crowd, which reduced the noise level, making it suitable for chatting with our friends. The wine list was really good, although pretty steep. 5 of the 6 decided against a glass, which was a shame. The meal was enjoyed by everyone. The service was inpeccable and friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once a year we go to the SYV. This is a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Once a year we go to the SYV. This is a must eat at place for us. We always come away satisfied.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef had a bad night

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

I love this restaurant, but last nights dinner was not the best. I think the chef had a bad night, but given how many times I've had a great meal here - I will not hold it against them.

I had lamb and it did not have a flavorful crust and lack taste generally My friends had salmon and it was over cooked.

So it was not a great night - but as always the service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

For the first time in memory, I was not ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

For the first time in memory, I was not happy with the food selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food in beautiful wine country

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We love this restaurant and actually came 2 x in one weekend. We ate dinner Friday night, which was delicious; we enjoyed the mushroom ravioli which is so amazing as well as the short rib; also delicious. We like to share so was able to try a little of both. We started with a yummy cheese plate, which paired well with our wine selection. Saturday, we were hungry and had not eaten since breakfast, so stopped by and had a pizza in the bar with a little sparkling water as a nice reprieve from the heat and a little break from wine tasting. Really delicious pizza! We will always include this restaurant in our plans when we are in the Los Olivos area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite place.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

When visiting Los Olivos, we always have lunch at the Wine Merchant. It is a real gem.

This time we had a wait for our friends coming from a long distance. Our server, Karen, did a wonderful and patient job of taking care of us and our guests, when they arrived. She was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dinning Experiance !

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great Food, Great Service, and Location ! Very Satisfied ! Will be back !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food!!!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Great Food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.