Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Wed, 5/23
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 18 times today

Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe

4.7
1200 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Good for a Date
  • Local Ingredients
At the Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe you really do get to taste the Central Coast. Much of their produce is grown less than a mile away at their own CCOF certified organic Cafe Farm. They take great care in selecting each item that makes its way on your plate, choosing ingredients that are local, wild, and organic whenever possible. You will enjoy the rustic-elegance of the Cafe paired with friendly and attentive service. Their extensive and award-winning wine list offers the best wines of the Central Coast Region. The best part is after you dine you can take home your favorite wines at competitive pricing and bring the taste of the Central Coast home with you.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, Vegetarian / Vegan, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:45pm; Afternoon Menu: 3:00-5:00 Dinner: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Open 7 days a week for Lunch, Dinner, Wine Merchant, & Wine Tasting
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 688-7265
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chris Joslyn
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
From assisting you in choosing your wines and selecting your customized menu, we take pride in making your event truly a Central Coast experience. The Los Olivos Cafe has served guests since 1995. Now the Wine Merchant and our outside catering division can offer more to what we bring to you. Our beautiful wine country is the perfect place to host a memorable event. Allow us to make your catered affair truly special. We take great pride in bringing you remarkable food paired with gracious hospitality and an award-winning wine list.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Highway 154
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is parking throughout the quaint town of Los Olivos. There are on-street spaces conveniently located directly in front of The Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Visit our website www.winemerchantcafe.com to view our upcoming special events and you can always check us out on facebook at Los Olivos Cafe!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

The food was very well prepared. Fresh and very delicious! Good portions and upscale. We all loved it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

The mushroom and ricotta ravioli was fabulous. Would go back just for that. My dinner companion had the short ribs which was dry. We did request more au jus on the side, but overall, it was a wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Focaccia amazing. Pizza very good. Beet salad ok. Portobello burger not great. Service good. Kids pasta marinara good. My son loooves it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was our third visit to the Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe, and I have to say it was better than I remembered. The food was terrific, our waitress great, and it was comfortable and warm. I was especially thrilled by my halibut (on risotto with scallops) but I also tasted the mushroom ravioli, which was divine. And the others at our table (husband and son) gave rave reviews to the short ribs and the papardelle bolognese. We'll be back the next time we're anywhere near Los Olivos.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Dinner at Los Olivos Wine Merchant and Cafe was the perfect finale to a great day of exploring the wine country above Santa Barbara. It was everything I had hoped. The town of Los Olivos itself is a gem.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We were staying in Los Olivos, and I have had previous good meals at the Wine Merchant, but this visit was a big disappointment. Service was OK, but the salad was too oily, and the pizza, was just OK - no real flavor. With other, better dining choices in the area, we will probably venture elsewhere next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Great dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

This is the fifth time we have been to the Wine Merchant Cafe and it never disappoints. It is the place in town with great food, drinks at very good prices, a huge wine list and professional service. Our waiter two nights running was Taylor. A professional if ever I met one. We were all very happy on both nights.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We were in town for the weekend. We decided to dine here based on reviews we had seen.
We purchased the Sideways menu and felt it was a good choice based on quality of food and price. Service was also very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Stellar food from start to finish, especially loved dessert—Nutella creme brûlée

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2018

I have dined there three times before and decided to bring a group
8 of us came for dinner.
The service was very slow. We Sked for bread three times and got a snippy remark from Brad. He said it was coming warm from the oven and that took time.
The bread came cold.
It was a Wednesday night , so not a busy weekend .
Told my husband he had a patience of a waterfall. Not appropriate for we were not unreasonable. We sat for 30 minutes before we got any bread
They only had one bottle of the moderately priced wine
Bill for 8 was 700 and three of us shAred a meal !
We had 4 bottles of wine.
Only two desserts
The creme brûlée was not hot on top, and tasted like it was very old. (My husband is a gourmet cook and makes e cellent creme brûlée. We did complained but no apology offered.
No one in our party was happy and did not like Brads attitude.
They will not come here again.
I doubt we will either.
We had come because we heard the chef from Roberts had moved here.
Sandy

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

There food is always good and they have a great wine list. Unfortunately, it is so noisy that you can't hear the other couple talking. Otherwise the ambience would be fine; but just to dang loud and everyone gets louder because they can't hear either. On a warmer night you could sit outside and then you would avoid the noise.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We were celebrating our 39th wedding anniversary and tried the locally made wine Habit that I recommend to anyone who would like something different. Dinner and Dessert were flavorful and very enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

I’m a local and also a professional cookbook author & chef...I’m particular about food & service! Had not visited this restaurant in a few years, had friends visiting and checked it out. We all loved absolutely everything. Will be going back soon. Left our phones at home so no photos this time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great place, super menu options, and all the wine varieties of the region available to take home. Ambient noise may be too much for quiet conversations. Will definitely dine here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Attentive wait staff. Food came out quickly and was delicious. Wonderful wine list.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We've been here many times; the wine selection is impressive, and the food is delicious. We ordered the mushroom ravioli and the ribeye and enjoyed both meals. This visit, though, the waiter rushed us to order, ignored us during the meal, and then rushed us again bringing the bill.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

I have always loved this restaurant. However this time I found the Salmon to be over cooked. Everything else was great though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

This place is amazing. Service is top notch and food is super duper good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Really enjoyed lunch here, service was great, food excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Robin was a wonderful server & made the evening a special experience!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 9, 2018

We have been to LO Cafe several times and always look forward to great food when we are in Los Olivos. The food and service were as expected, great! Unfortunately we were seated next to the only other occupied table in the restaurant and they were obviously drinking way too much, loud and obnoxious with comments not fit to restate. It was unfortunate but not necessarily the responsibility of the restaurant to govern unsavory, racial commentary they may not have even heard. We asked to be moved and were.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

I love dining in this location with my fiancé when we visit Los Olivos. Great variety of wines to choose from and the food is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

First time enjoying this quaint restaurant. We were seated by the fireplace which made our visit special. Our waiter was very attentive and our food (spareribs) was excellent. They have a substantial wine list so no worries if wine is your thing. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Nice ambiance. Good food. excellent wine selection. Prefer sitting outdoors, but it was too cold when we went

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Gluten free pizza was absolutely delicious - best I’ve had since being diagnosed with celiac. Server was amazingly helpful- they cook gf pizza in separate oven- no cross Contamination. Highly recommended! Server even got me the name of the gf pizza dough they use. My husband had the reg pizza and said it was delicious as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Just love the whole experience at this place. The wine list is incredible (as always, I long for more choices by the glass, but what they have is still quite good.) Food is very solid, great service, and for some reason the atmosphere there by the fire is one of my absolute favorite places. We've been four times, and we will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

the food was out of this world. Pizza was delicious and the skirt steak was like butter. great dinner really met our expectations

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Went on a Sunday night, busy but not crazy. Good vibe. Had the chicken, it was really good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Great restaurant in great wine selection a nice quaint small town. Food is very good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Always a pleasant experience dining here. Chicken Curry salad is a luncheon favorite. Hamburgers are also excellent. Wide selection of wines.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Met my nieces and their moms for last minute Sunday lunch & were given wonderful table (for 5) out front and the food was delicious as expected. They loved it & we will definitely be returning 😊

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

My wife and I created a stop off here on the way from San Francisco to LA to come to this restaurant. It has always been one of our favorites and never disappoints. To me it seems like the perfect restaurant: consistently good food, somewhat ambitious but totally unpretentious; wonderfully efficient and friendly but unobtrusive service, fantastic and very reasonably priced wine list; very pleasant decor and style, pretty good value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

We sat outside to have a slightly more quiet, intimate evening and it was all we'd hoped for. The staff teamed up to bring us whatever we needed quickly and efficiently. We always come here for the unique and creative pizza selections. The crust is light and airy, consistently delicious. The Central Coast wine selection is off the charts and you can browse to your heart's content. They may be tired of any Sideways references but for us it reminds us a favorite film we can still enjoy over a bottle of Andrew Murray (any Andrew Murray!)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2018

Wonderful wine, delicious food and amazing service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

First we were running late for our reservation. We called he restaurant and the hostess was very accommodating and called us back to let us know it was not a problem.
My wife and I shared the beets and burrata salad. We also shared the pork chop from the specials and everything was delicious. The wine list is extensive and I highly recommend the bread.
Good service and friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

This was our first time at this restaurant and we will definitely be back. I had the ravioli which, upon request, they were able to lighten up for me. The pizza that we shared was also very good - it was the special of the day which was an Italian beef pizza with spicy sweet peppers. Wine list is very good and service was prompt and attentive without feeling rushed. There were a lot of families there the night we were there so it is also a kid friendly restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Service was terrible. Been there many times but our waiter Benjamin was just not on top of things.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Fantastic place to eat. Highly recommend if you're in Los Olivos.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Always terrific -- great food, service, and wonderful location in the middle of cute Los Olivos.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
30

Tweets by Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe