Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.25mi
  2. Distance: 6.49mi
  3. Distance: 6.55mi
  4. Distance: 6.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.25mi
  2. Distance: 6.49mi
  3. Distance: 6.55mi
  4. Distance: 6.58mi

About Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe

At the Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe you really do get to taste the Central Coast. Much of their produce is grown less than a mile away at their own CCOF certified organic Cafe Farm. They take great care in selecting each item that makes its way on your plate, choosing ingredients that are local, wild, and organic whenever possible. You will enjoy the rustic-elegance of the Cafe paired with friendly and attentive service. Their extensive and award-winning wine list offers the best wines of the Central Coast Region. The best part is after you dine you can take home your favorite wines at competitive pricing and bring the taste of the Central Coast home with you.

2879 Grand Avenue
Los Olivos, CA 93441
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Vegetarian / Vegan, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:45pm; Afternoon Menu: 3:00-5:00 Dinner: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Now serving Breakfast from 8:00-10:30am on Saturdays and Sundays!

Open 7 days a week

Cross Street:
Highway 154

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-7265

Website:
http://www.winemerchantcafe.com/

Catering:
From assisting you in choosing your wines and selecting your customized menu, we take pride in making your event truly a Central Coast experience. The Los Olivos Cafe has served guests since 1995. Now the Wine Merchant and our outside catering division can offer more to what we bring to you. Our beautiful wine country is the perfect place to host a memorable event. Allow us to make your catered affair truly special. We take great pride in bringing you remarkable food paired with gracious hospitality and an award-winning wine list.

Parking Details:
There is parking throughout the quaint town of Los Olivos. There are on-street spaces conveniently located directly in front of The Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Chris Joslyn

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room seats up to 40 guests and is the perfect venue for an intimate gathering. Our attentive service, exceptional food, and award-winning wine list will set the scene for an unforgettable event. Our private dining room is available to reserve for lunch and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Negrete: (805) 688-7265 ext. 214

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.winemerchantcafe.com to view our upcoming special events and you can always check us out on facebook at Los Olivos Cafe!

Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (35)
Good for a Date (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Casual (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Healthy (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Fireplace (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fun (10)
Cozy (10)
Romantic (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Organic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (5)
Historic (4)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1071 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was great and the food was outstanding. Patio seating, but there was room inside if needed or wanted.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service, great food, great location- what more can you ask for?

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

What a pleasent surprise!! The food was outstanding... Fresh, perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked! Unfamiliar with the wines in the area we asked our server Carly, to pair each dish with the appropriate wine. ...One glass of wine we loved so much we purchased a bottle and visited the winery the following day. Looking forward to making this a regular spot each time we visit!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great food and wine. Even better than Brothers restaurants. Sideways Fantastic

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The menu hasn't changed, and is no longer competing with other restaurants in los Olivos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our friends, my husband and I had a great dinner on the patio at Los Olivos Wine Merchant Cafe. We started by sharing a beets and burrata salad that was delicious. Entrees were yummy. We ordered the lamb shank, trout, gnocchi and salmon. It was all great. The fried apple turnover for dessert was amazing. We'd definitely go back and recommend it to others.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Short but sweet....great food and service in our little town!

Tags: Business Meals, Vegan, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

It was a decent spot, to celebrate being in Los Olivios. The restaurant is one of (basically) two that are open past 5 in Los Olivios, so it's busy. The food was decent, not super memorable. The wine was good. Decent spot.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

My only suggestion is to have smaller portion! The food was great but soooo much!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Really good. Nothing bad to say. It was busy, but anywhere good is, and Los Olivos is a perfect spot to get lunch. They had a lot of wine for purchase, and all their food was amazing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The staff was delightful. The decor warm and elegant. The short ribs were delicious. The trout with crispy curry chick peas was so palet pleasing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Nice place but a couple of really loud groups made it impossible to have a conversation

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was our second visit to the Los Olivos Wine Merchant. The food and wine selection is great, and we liked everything that we tried. We plan to visit again on our next time up and will try to bring some friends so that we can sample a wider selection of the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everything was fabulous. Couldn't be happier with the service and quality of the food. Will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We enjoyed our experience in the Sideways gig ! lol Food was wonderful, wine good and service excellent. What more can you want. Excellent and well worth the drive from Santa Barbara.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Los Olivos Wine Merchant and Cafe has been a favorite for our family. The service is friendly and efficient. Seasonal ingredients are creatively combined with popular options. Gluten-free meals are readily available and staff knows ingredients found in each dish.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Everything was good, except they seated five of us at a table for four, so we were very, very cramped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was our first time here and we had a fantastic experience. It was prom night and the restaurant was packed but service was still perfect. Great menu, great food. Love the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great farm to table dining. Hearty salads and delicious fish & meat dishes. Braised short ribs melt in your mouth and salmon was fresh with great sauce.

Tags: Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great service and attention by wait staff. Creative variations of familiar dishes. Fantastic selection of wines since it is also a retail wine shop. Corkage fee of $20 results in great value for the wine with dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Consistently good; rarely great. I will go again when I have many people because it offers a large range of food options, but I wish they could raise the flavors up just a notch or two.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was our second time there. I wanted to bring my party there for my 40th birthday celebration. We had a bigger party so sat in the back room which wasn't very nice. The waiter seemed burnt out or something. He was not friendly or up for questions and recommendations. The food was great as I remembered it. Everyone loved their meals.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great place to have a delicious snack and some great local wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Delightful atmosphere and delicious offerings on their menu. We shared a few plates amongst the four of us. All were excellent and one of the best Caesar salads any of us 4 have had...

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Farm to Table Concept makes for the very best and freshest salads. Party of four enjoyed entrees of delicious short ribs, house made pasta and beautifully prepared mushroom ravioli, and Niçoise salad with ahi. Food and preparation were excellent and our servers were knowledgeable and water glasses filled timely. We had a great evening and loved every bite. Nice location in Los Olivos and close enough to Solvang to make it doable if staying there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We started with the cheese plate which was great after an afternoon of wine tasting. We then had 2 very different dishes. My wife had the skirt steak and I had the mushroom ravioli. Both excellent though so different. The skirt steak had a very definite Mexican taste to it. Great spices. Served on hot potato salad which was okay, though not necessarily a great partner, but it didn't detract. The ravioli was delicious. A table just across from us had the same 2 dishes. The woman commented that the ravioli was the best she ever had. Not sure if it was the best, but it came close. Plenty of wine choices to go with your meal. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great place to dine after a day of fun. Great ambiance and wonderful service made this place a very welcome treat after a busy day in town. The service was lovely and the food was very good. I highly recommend this place and will definitely be back next time I am in the region.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. The ingredients were very fresh and could tell that they were grown locally. Nice outdoor patio. Inside was nicely decorated. We enjoyed our table for two near the fireplace. Great wine selection. Our server was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Organic, Fireplace, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food! Excellent wine selection. Will return again and again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 21, 2017

A great time in our anniversary.....delicious salads for lunch on our way in to town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent as always. One of out favorite places to eat on earth :)

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was our second time to this restaurant and it was not as enjoyable for us. To be honest our waiter was a bit odd. I felt a little patronized like we annoyed him. This was from the start so it wasn't anything we did. The food was OK. I think it might be better for lunch. Won't be back for dinner.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Surprisingly delicious meal! My beet and burratta salad was unique and yummy and the salmon was perfectly cooked. Only downside was the entrees were a bit on the small side.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Had two lunches and one dinner while in Santa ynez valley. Perfect spot while wine tasting👌🌈

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Overall, it is a nice restaurant. Our only complaint is that it was very noisy (probably because they are doing such a good business). We were glad we made reservations.

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great table waiting for us, delicious meal and excellent service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our family enjoyed our wine tasting & meal. Special attention was paid to our six year old grand daughter which was special to her in a " fancy" restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We have been here several times and always pleased with the food, service and value.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was a birthday lunch with a group of friends. A tradition! Karen, our overall fantastic server made it extra special. She helped us with a reasonably priced wine choice, steered us well on our luncheon choices and the restaurant added a nice dessert for the birthday gal.

But this is a restaurant that is known from its friendly atmosphere, great food, amazing wine choices and some of the best servers in the SYV.

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Historic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great, high quality food. Great, casual yet professional service. Great, informal ambience. Just great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.