About Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe

2879 Grand Avenue
Los Olivos, CA 93441
View Larger Map

At the Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe you really do get to taste the Central Coast. Much of their produce is grown less than a mile away at their own CCOF certified organic Cafe Farm. They take great care in selecting each item that makes its way on your plate, choosing ingredients that are local, wild, and organic whenever possible. You will enjoy the rustic-elegance of the Cafe paired with friendly and attentive service. Their extensive and award-winning wine list offers the best wines of the Central Coast Region. The best part is after you dine you can take home your favorite wines at competitive pricing and bring the taste of the Central Coast home with you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Vegetarian / Vegan, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:45pm; Afternoon Menu: 3:00-5:00 Dinner: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Now serving Breakfast from 8:00-10:30am on Saturdays and Sundays!

Open 7 days a week

Cross Street:
Highway 154

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-7265

Website:
http://www.losolivoscafe.com/

Catering:
From assisting you in choosing your wines and selecting your customized menu, we take pride in making your event truly a Central Coast experience. The Los Olivos Cafe has served guests since 1995. Now the Wine Merchant and our outside catering division can offer more to what we bring to you. Our beautiful wine country is the perfect place to host a memorable event. Allow us to make your catered affair truly special. We take great pride in bringing you remarkable food paired with gracious hospitality and an award-winning wine list.

Parking Details:
There is parking throughout the quaint town of Los Olivos. There are on-street spaces conveniently located directly in front of The Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Chris Joslyn

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room seats up to 40 guests and is the perfect venue for an intimate gathering. Our attentive service, exceptional food, and award-winning wine list will set the scene for an unforgettable event. Our private dining room is available to reserve for lunch and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Negrete: 8056887265x214

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.LosOlivosCafe.com to view our upcoming special events and you can always check us out on facebook at Los Olivos Cafe!

Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Food
Santa Ynez Valley
4 More
Best Service
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Ambiance
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Value
Santa Ynez Valley
Most Booked
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Santa Ynez Valley ›

Notable Wine List (29)
Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Romantic (15)
Casual (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Fireplace (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Authentic (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Organic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (3)
Historic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (2)
Cozy (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We celebrated my husband's birthday- had ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated my husband's birthday- had a great experience. Food and service were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our overall experience was wonderful - t ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 28, 2016

our overall experience was wonderful - the service was very attentive and excellent, the food was delicious, the vegies were from their own orchard, the wine and beer were great, the selection of wines was wonderful, the ambience was lively with quality clientele. the only problem was finding los olivos in the dark. there were no signs, we were late for our appointment.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had many lunches over the years ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We have had many lunches over the years and keep coming back. My favorite is the Steak Cobb salad but the focaccia bread with the dipping oil is pretty close!

Lovely afternoon sitting outside on a gorgeous fall day!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal. Excellent food, wi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Always a great meal. Excellent food, wine and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a lovely after Thanksgiving lunch ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a lovely after Thanksgiving lunch at the Los Olivos Café with family. Our waitress was outstanding. We were fortunate to get there before the crowds so the area we were seated in was still quite (back room), once the rest of the tables filled up it got a bit noisy for our older guests. There were good food options and everyone enjoyed their meal. So if you don't mind a bit of noise, I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great service and food. Especially the d ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great service and food. Especially the dessert is phonemail. Will be back for sure

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really, the only spot in town to conside ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Really, the only spot in town to consider when going "over the hill" winetasting! Friendly, fun great wines, and so many interesting stores in a one-or-two-block area to poke around in afterwards. Best menu choice? Hard to beat their wonderful hamburgers!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the butternut squash ravioli!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Loved the butternut squash ravioli!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful! The food is outstanding! Th ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Wonderful! The food is outstanding! The portions are generous. Excellent wine selection. Cannot miss with any of the pizzas but the chicken sausage was our favorite. The skirt steak with smoked potatoes was so flavorful. We were in Los Olivos for four nights and ate there twice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Have eaten here for years and always con ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Have eaten here for years and always consistent across food and service. Tend to go mostly for special occasions but also the random lunch or beer at the bar.

While I appreciate the effort of them making their own ketchup it really doesn't compete with what we all grew up with. Perhaps some people prefer the house made but it would be really great if you could offer good ol comfort Heinz!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

As local SYV residents the LO Wine Merch ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

As local SYV residents the LO Wine Merchant & Cafe is one of our regular stops, whether for dinner or for lunch. At our dinner Saturday, LOWM&C continued their performance delivering tasty foods with excellent service. The only downside, and this is common to many of the better restaurants in LO & SY, is the noise level - not as bad as Sides around the corner, but we were glad to be at the end of the dinner rush (we had a 7:45 reservation).

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was rather slow

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was rather slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Sat outside. The woman serving us was f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Sat outside. The woman serving us was fantastic. She was always close-by without being over bearing and led us through the menu well with recommendations.

Tags: Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything's great. Great food and menu, ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything's great. Great food and menu, service also great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The wine is the draw. Ground Truth 2014 ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The wine is the draw. Ground Truth 2014 Viognier was excellent. Skirt steak also good food.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We have been to the Café many times, and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We have been to the Café many times, and it is always a good idea. The environment is comfortable, and the food is great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious chicken curry salad for lunch. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Delicious chicken curry salad for lunch. Husband had wonderful butternut squash salad also. Delicious wine to go with them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good quality food, nice atmosphere, and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Good quality food, nice atmosphere, and friendly service! Our go to place for special occasions in the Santa Ynez Valley

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great hospitality, awesome w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food, great hospitality, awesome wine corkage deal too!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and service

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for a casual dinner while stayin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We went for a casual dinner while staying across the street at Fess Parker Inn. Waitress was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable while we were trying to accommodate my wife's FODMAP sensitivity. We tasted a couple of different Pinots and went finally for gluten-free pizza and mushroom ravioli. Overall one of the two places to have dinner in Los Olivos.

Tags: Organic, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every time I am in town, this is my go t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Every time I am in town, this is my go to restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Thank you for making this experience so ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Thank you for making this experience so much fun! We celebrated 2 birthdays by eating our way through some really good food and drinking some of our favorite wine. Everyone was thrilled with everything we ordered and they all want to make this a regular place to eat!

Our service was amazing!!! She was attentive and made it feel so personal. I was a little worried being a large group - this experience surpassed all expectations and now you raised the standards others will have to live up too! Best dining experience we'd had in a long time! (Just so you know this is genuine I can count the reviews I've written on one hand...) thank you to all of the staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal at the Wine Merchant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Another great meal at the Wine Merchant & Cafe! My husband and I eat here whenever we are in town and the food is always delicious. This time we had the Caesar Salad, Pepperoni Pizza, and the Mushroom and Ricotta Ravioli. All were excellent. They have a great wine shop, too!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Incredible food and wonderful experience ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Incredible food and wonderful experience. We were very amazed at the overall experience. Wonderful experience and value !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We make a point of coming here every yea ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We make a point of coming here every year while on vacation from UK however while the food was as good as ever, our server was not the best & the whole evening was spoiled by a very loud party of four females. Nothing was said to this group to reduce the noise which was annoying ourselves & other diners. Spoiled our night & where normally we would have stayed longer, we left and went elsewhere.

Won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

There's nothing other than praise approp ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 29, 2016

There's nothing other than praise appropriate for this establishment. Portobello sandwich is out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best gem in town. Friendly staff, wonde ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Best gem in town. Friendly staff, wonderful food and great afternoon music.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very good dinner at Los Olivos ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We had a very good dinner at Los Olivos Wine Cafe, excellent barramundi and spinach salad, very attentive service. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing servers and support staff. Love ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Amazing servers and support staff. Love the variety of wines by the glass and bottles for sale.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We went there for dinner and loved it so ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We went there for dinner and loved it so much we went back for lunch the next day!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Organic, Authentic, Seasonal, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly staff with a great happeni ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very friendly staff with a great happening vibe. Knowledgeable about gluten. Food was good; their roasted vegetable starter to share was excellent! Would definitely go back - we were comped a delicious desert because of a mix up with our order. Shame it closes so early; Los Olivos is sleepy little idyll :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent in every way. Great atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent in every way. Great atmosphere. The food is really special, huge wine selection.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was very good. Excelle ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food and service was very good. Excellent wine selection and they were very dog friendly. We've eaten here many times, you will enjoy it. Bring the dog!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The place is beautiful with indoor and o ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The place is beautiful with indoor and outdoor seating! The wine tasting at the indoor bar was excellent with Megan serving us. She gave us fun facts about the wines from Italy and France. We ordered the Mykonos Pizza, which had the freshest cucumbers and its taste was comparable to pizzas I have tried in Italy. Overall, the atmosphere of the place is beautiful and serene.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What a fantastic lunch and service. Firs ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2016

What a fantastic lunch and service. First stop on a birthday weekend for my wife and what a way to start. Will be back in December and back again..we loved every minute of our lunch there.

Tags: Historic, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, quiet atmosphere. The d ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent food, quiet atmosphere. The dipping oil is available for purchase too! If they are out buy it at El Rancho market!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service! A definite r ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fantastic food and service! A definite return restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ribeye steak was overlooked & quality/fl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Ribeye steak was overlooked & quality/flavor not good. Service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the wine country feel of the Los Ol ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love the wine country feel of the Los Olivos Café.

The owners have kept the friendly yet professional atmosphere throughout the years.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.