About Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe

2879 Grand Avenue
Los Olivos, CA 93441
View Larger Map

At the Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe you really do get to taste the Central Coast. They take great care in selecting each item that makes its way on your plate. Choosing ingredients that are local, wild, and organic whenever possible. You will enjoy the rustic-elegance of the Cafe paired with friendly and attentive service. Their extensive wine list offers the best wines of the Central Coast Region. The best part is after you dine you can take home your favorite wines at competitive pricing and bring the taste of the Central Coast home with you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:45pm; Afternoon Menu: 3:00-5:00 Dinner: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Now serving Breakfast from 8:00-10:30am on Saturdays and Sundays!

Open 7 days a week

Cross Street:
Highway 154

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-7265

Website:
http://www.losolivoscafe.com/

Catering:
From assisting you in choosing your wines and selecting your customized menu, we take pride in making your event truly a Central Coast experience. The Los Olivos Cafe has served guests since 1995. Now the Wine Merchant and our outside catering division can offer more to what we bring to you. Our beautiful wine country is the perfect place to host a memorable event. Allow us to make your catered affair truly special. We take great pride in bringing you remarkable food paired with gracious hospitality and an award-winning wine list.

Parking Details:
There is parking throughout the quaint town of Los Olivos. There are on-street spaces conveniently located directly in front of The Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Chris Joslyn

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room seats up to 40 guests and is the perfect venue for an intimate gathering. Our attentive service, exceptional food, and award-winning wine list will set the scene for an unforgettable event. Our private dining room is available to reserve for lunch and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Negrete: 8056887265x214

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.LosOlivosCafe.com to view our upcoming special events and you can always check us out on facebook at Los Olivos Cafe!

Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
California Central Coast
Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Californian
California Central Coast
8 More
Best Overall
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Food
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Service
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Ambiance
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Value
Santa Ynez Valley
Fit for Foodies
Santa Ynez Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Ynez Valley
Most Booked
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Santa Ynez Valley ›

Notable Wine List (61)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
See All
Special Occasion (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Great for Lunch (29)
Good for Groups (25)
Romantic (24)
Kid-friendly (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
888 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband had the Lamb shank which was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My husband had the Lamb shank which was to die for and the creme brûlée was out of this world. I had the mushroom ravioli which was amazing. Great food and service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Birthday dinner for my daughte ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent Birthday dinner for my daughter who just turned 21! We'll be back! Also, reasonable prices!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner, wine was even better! Ser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great dinner, wine was even better! Service was perfect too!! Really pretty inside, as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous meal. The food, wine a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a fabulous meal. The food, wine and service were great. We will go back the next time we visit the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Having made reservations for 5pm, we we ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Having made reservations for 5pm, we were surprised to find no other patrons seated yet, and they proceeded to give us the worst table in the place. Then it took an hour to get our food! Also, an extremely large party with 5 kids under the age of 5 arrived and was seated right next to us.....very poor planning. We won't be returning to eat here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Awesome salads!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Awesome salads!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Insane wine. What's not ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent food. Insane wine. What's not to love?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The patio of this restaurant was charmin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The patio of this restaurant was charming as was the interior! The food was absolutely delicous -- the foccacio with garlic oil to start was super yummy, and then we had the cheese board (awesome) and then I had the antipasto salad with chicken and thought that the ingrediants (cheese/chicken/olives/etc) were super high quality as well as delicous.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. A real gem i ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food and service. A real gem in Los Olivos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very good but service was very ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was very good but service was very slow. There were 7 of us and I think we waited for about 30 minutes or more for our food. Our waiter was very nice but did not come to check on us often to see if we needed more drinks, water or bread. We didn't order any appetizers but it would have been nice to have that offered to us since we had a wait for our food.500

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Stopped here last Friday evening after m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Stopped here last Friday evening after meeting family from the Bay Area in Morro Bay. As we were all driving south together, my husband and I recommended Los Olivos Cafe due to prior good experiences.

We were greeted warmly. They were planning to seat us inside, but a larger table outside had just opened up, so we asked to sit there. They accommodated us in short order.

Our server was very gracious throughout the meal. We shared several of their gourmet pizzas, plus two orders of orecchiette pasta. The Alba pizza with mushroom trio, ricotta, arugula, parmesan, four cheeses, and truffle oil was a standout, flavor-wise. Despite everyone being tired after a long day of activities and driving, we all enjoyed the meal.

The outdoor lights weren't working, which one of the staff was trying to fix, but unable to get them going. We had to ask for the table oil lamps to be lit as it got darker. Those were the only small items that made it less than perfect, and did affect the ambience. Everything else went very well.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ate here two nights in a row. On the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I ate here two nights in a row. On the first night, we had great service and great food. On the second night, I was very disappointed with the service. We got seated and 10-15 minutes go by without anybody coming by our table. Servers would just walk by our table on their way to other tables. I finally had to grab somebody and ask them who was serving us. He then apologized and took our order, and the service was fine after that. But we were very disappointed and upset that we just sat there (we were a table of four) without anybody coming by for 10-15 minutes after getting seated. And, none of the people working there (and there were many) even noticed and asked if we wanted anything. My wife was very upset and wanted to leave but we stayed. We did not enjoy the meal that much because of our initial experience. All of the other tables were getting served, so the bad service initially was not due to lack of staff, just lack of attentiveness by all staff and management.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

No matter when we go, no matter what we ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

No matter when we go, no matter what we order, the food and wine is always perfection. The staff is always personable, thoughtful and genuine. We drive over an hour to dine at the Wine Merchant Cafe and it's well worth the trip every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Birthday Club met at LOWM&C for an e ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our Birthday Club met at LOWM&C for an early dinner after wine tasting and bocce across the street at Coquelicot. Not super hungry, so had salad and soup. The shrimp bisque was very smooth and tasty, though would have benefited from a bit more tarragon. The summer salad was just okay. Portions were pretty small—maybe have 2 sizes? Others had pizza which was just okay. Staff was very nice and service was timely and considerate.

The Birthday Girl got a little dessert of cake and scoop of ice cream with a candle—and a song, so that was a nice touch.

Have always loved this spot, but seems it's more of a wine bar now, rather than emphasizing the food part.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We were outside on the patio, as request ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were outside on the patio, as requesting after the reservations and were accommodated ! So it was nice and quiet from the other part, so I can not comment on the noise level or ambiance everywhere else. Our Server, Robin was fantastic! My meal was delicious but with a little too much oil, and two others had a cream dish that they said was fabulous, but too heavy..other than that, we would all come back back for round 2!... Oh yeah, the pizza was great too!

Again, thank you for giving us the table we requested long after the reservations were made!

Yay!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I were in neighboring Slo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I were in neighboring Slovange for the day and found this on Open Table, we were able to sit on the porch (had a celebrity sighting -- Pink and her family) really enjoyed the sideways menu, wine, starter, dinner and desert - $44 We had so much food, we had to take our deserts to go. What a lovely evening in a beautiful setting with wonderful wine and food

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I have dined here several times, always ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I have dined here several times, always excellent !

It's now a must anytime I'm in the Santa Ynez area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Met my wine maker son along with our two ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Met my wine maker son along with our two dogs for lunch. His new tasting room is 4 doors from this fine restaurant. Food, service, along with ambiance, outstanding. We have eaten here a dozen times never to be sorry. A must if you are visiting this wonderful wine area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Los Olivos to eat.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Best place in Los Olivos to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

This place is one of my favorites and I ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This place is one of my favorites and I always enjoy a great meal and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love this place! The food is amazing! ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I love this place! The food is amazing! My sister had the lamb shank and while I would typically not order it, I tasted it and it was out of this world. I had the gnocchi (I always get this when here) and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always very good!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a special dinner here this week. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a special dinner here this week. We brought our own bottle of wine ($20 fee) and Karen was our server. She was knowledgeable, friendly and respectful of our time/space.

We started with the Baked Brie, which was just right.

I had Beef Sugo - AMAZING!! Tender beef in a tasty tomato sauce with carrots, celery and homemade pasta. My husband ordered the Barramundi, equally as delicious.

Would highly recommend!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is innovative and the servings ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food is innovative and the servings are very large. Our only complaint is that the food was too salty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Crowded and noisy but wonderful food. Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Crowded and noisy but wonderful food. They were also very accommodating to an 8 year old and 3 month old! Lovely experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place . Food was absolutely d ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved this place . Food was absolutely delicious . Service was

Excellent . Would highly recommend .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gnocchi were like light fluffy pillo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The gnocchi were like light fluffy pillows and the gluten free pizza special was on point. I always love this place when I am in town! I've always had amazing food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In Los Olivos for a weekday June get-a-a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

In Los Olivos for a weekday June get-a-away, we ate here both Monday and Tuesday nights. This has been our tradition for a few years. We always rave about the meals and service. Karen, our Monday server, was delightful, very attentive and personable. Tuesday, I think our server's name was Amanda - also delightful. We loved the shortribs!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Recommended by a friend and glad we went ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Recommended by a friend and glad we went. If we were in the area longer we would have gone again. We both had the chicken; moist and delicious! Being the only wine drinker there were several red wines available by the glass. The only negative is that we felt the server rushed us through the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never a disappointment. Inventive salads and pizza

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The pizza and crust are among our favorites. And their use of local produce ensures new and delightful salads.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I ate here for dinner one ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

My husband and I ate here for dinner one night and for lunch the next day while we were staying in Los Olivos. Both of our visits were great. The menu gives various dining options including appetizers, interesting salads, burgers, pizza, and also fancy main entrées. The wine list is amazing. We loved our meals here. The service is friendly, the atmosphere is fun and charming, and the food is excellent. We will definitely return on our next trip to Los Olivos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was outstanding. We all sampled ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Dinner was outstanding. We all sampled each other's plates. Beef sugo, gnocchi, ravioli, shepherds pie. Wonderful. Wine prices are Extremely reasonable. Ambience is second to none in the area. A must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought my friend from Florida who is a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Brought my friend from Florida who is a major foodie and expert on wines. She was very impressed by the excellent wine choices and pairings with our lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great meal, another great experience!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Los Olivos cafe never disappoints Just tried the barramundi and it is my new favorite...Oh, and the spring salad...Oh, and homemade ice cream..and everyone agrees it is wine heaven! I have dined here pregnant, with a newborn, with toddlers, teenagers, grandparents, in every season over many years and this place is a rare find; it feels like coming home after a long trip. Settle in with a nice glass of wine and relax into a lovely dining experience, great food and pampering wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will go back!!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent menu, comfortable atmosphere, great service!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Road trip find

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a wonderful experience all round I booked this after extensive research and reviews it was perfect!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 4 very loud children that wer ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

There were 4 very loud children that were allowed by parents to cry, scream & act up.

They were so disruptive that they interfered with others evening. This is a difficult call but managment should have made some attempt to interact with parents. Maybe a management training.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The orecchiette was one if the best pastas I've ever had! I had it with fresh tomatoes. The spring salad was also incredible. Our server, Karen, was attentive and made our experience memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.