Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.25mi
  2. Distance: 6.49mi
  3. Distance: 6.55mi
  4. Distance: 6.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.25mi
  2. Distance: 6.49mi
  3. Distance: 6.55mi
  4. Distance: 6.58mi

About Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe

At the Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe you really do get to taste the Central Coast. Much of their produce is grown less than a mile away at their own CCOF certified organic Cafe Farm. They take great care in selecting each item that makes its way on your plate, choosing ingredients that are local, wild, and organic whenever possible. You will enjoy the rustic-elegance of the Cafe paired with friendly and attentive service. Their extensive and award-winning wine list offers the best wines of the Central Coast Region. The best part is after you dine you can take home your favorite wines at competitive pricing and bring the taste of the Central Coast home with you.

2879 Grand Avenue
Los Olivos, CA 93441
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Vegetarian / Vegan, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:45pm; Afternoon Menu: 3:00-5:00 Dinner: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Now serving Breakfast from 8:00-10:30am on Saturdays and Sundays!

Open 7 days a week

Cross Street:
Highway 154

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-7265

Website:
http://www.winemerchantcafe.com/

Catering:
From assisting you in choosing your wines and selecting your customized menu, we take pride in making your event truly a Central Coast experience. The Los Olivos Cafe has served guests since 1995. Now the Wine Merchant and our outside catering division can offer more to what we bring to you. Our beautiful wine country is the perfect place to host a memorable event. Allow us to make your catered affair truly special. We take great pride in bringing you remarkable food paired with gracious hospitality and an award-winning wine list.

Parking Details:
There is parking throughout the quaint town of Los Olivos. There are on-street spaces conveniently located directly in front of The Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Chris Joslyn

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room seats up to 40 guests and is the perfect venue for an intimate gathering. Our attentive service, exceptional food, and award-winning wine list will set the scene for an unforgettable event. Our private dining room is available to reserve for lunch and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Negrete: (805) 688-7265 ext. 214

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.winemerchantcafe.com to view our upcoming special events and you can always check us out on facebook at Los Olivos Cafe!

Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (29)
Good for a Date (21)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Local Ingredients (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Casual (15)
Fireplace (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Fun (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Healthy (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Authentic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Historic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Cozy (4)
Organic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1026 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I were touched by the amount of care and listening the server and hostess tended towards us. We were looking for a specific bottle of wine we had had elsewhere the night before. They were able to track it down and serve it to us with our dinner. Our entres were delicious. The ambiance was perfect for a relaxing weekend of wine conversation and delicious food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive, Historic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Had the best & Barbara salad and potato cheddar soup to start. Both were very good. Had the burger, which is always great and my wife had the corned beef and cabbage. The chef corned the beef and did an excellent job. Also had a Grenache Blanc from Paso Robles, Shadow Moon. Loved it. They always do a good job and we look forward to the next time we are coming through town and have time for dinner here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

We dine at Los Olivos Cafe twice a year with friends and it is always our "go to" restaurant in the Solvang area. The food is always good, the wine list is impeccable and the atmosphere is casual - yet somewhat elegant, so it feels special, but not pretentious. We very much appreciated their wine specialist. She recommended a wine for the table to suit all of our dinner choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Awesome service from Lonnie!!!! The BEST!!!!! She clearly picked up that we are locals and celebrating a birthday! Amazing gal!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We ate here for our anniversary. Service started out a bit slow, but she improved. My husband had the salmon as recommended by the waitress. I was unimpressed. It sat on a scoop of bland lentils and the salmon itself didn't have much flavor. My mushroom ravioli however, was delicious. I was disappointed that we had decided to share both meals, as I wanted to eat all of mine. The beet & burrata appetizer was delicious, the kind of thing I like (my husband ate it, but its not his thing). We had a glass of the recommended Sauvignon Blanc which paired well with our meal. Overall it was a nice experience and they acknowledged our anniversary with a small dessert which was a nice touch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I dined here a year ago, and had been looking forward to going again this past Saturday. Unfortunately it was to be one of the most frustrating and disappointing dining experiences I've had in recent memory. The food was quite good; however, the service was unbelievably poor. My waiter seemed to go out of his way to provide bad service -- which was odd, because the restaurant appeared to be only about 60% full and as far as I could tell, he was only responsible for about 3 tables and all of the other waiters seemed to be very busy. Perhaps it was an off-night given the rave reviews other people have given for service. But for me, it completely ruined what otherwise would have been an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The waiter selected 2 of the best red wines I've tried! Our group marveled over the food the wine and service. There were about 20 of us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Healthy, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everything was outstanding, will be visiting soon again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A fabulous fine dining experience. Our server was outstanding and attentive to our group of nine, and the food was superb!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I love this place and always will. The food is always superb and the service outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Fun, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 3, 2017

My wife liked it very much. I had beer that was very Good. My wife had wine, they have an incredible selection of wine. We'll will go back soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great restaurant - for every taste- the salads are amazing!

Tags: Vegan, Casual, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

When we arrived they told us they didn't have a reservation for us . They seated us but not at the table we referenced in our Open Table reservation. We dine there often so it was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday and had a wonderful dinner. The service was great thanks to Karen our server. The food and wine were excellent. Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Perfect stop when wine touring in Santa Ynez Valley. Food is good, not great, but satisfying nonetheless. Wine list is voluminous, though with limited selections by the glass. Service was excellent and the room was relaxed. Thoroughly enjoyed!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love this place. Never had a bad meal here. It's our go to in the SYV

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fantastic Food

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Refreshingly unpretentious concept with excellent wine list and great food to match. Good for lunch or dinner. Great layout with wine merchant on one side and restaurant and bar on the other. We must have overstayed our welcome. We enjoyed it so much, we apparently went past closing time. We got a little bit of the evil eye from staff for that and no "thank you" but rather some stares to our backs as we left, but otherwise no complaints.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Menu has changed a lot. Was kind of disappointed. Food was basic. Nothing special.
Great wine choice & location. Probably will not go back. Sad as it was one I looked forward too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We loved our dinner here. Came here after wine tasting. Everything on the menu was delicious! Service was excellent. We'll definitely be coming back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our waitress was great! We had an urgent need top finish within 45 minutes and she made it happen.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Just the most lovely. Casual and fancy at the same time. Relaxed and elegant at the same time! Wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fireplace, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Excellent experience. Can't wait to go back. Great food and outstanding wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

After a long hiatus, we returned to the Los Olivos Cafe for a dinner on Super Bowl Sunday. We were traveling home from San Francisco, no interest in the game. An outstanding evening all around. Our server Jeana was at the top of her game. Personable, perfect timing, and top notch attention to our vegetarian palates, to include making special note to have the kitchen swap out some meat based garnishes we didn't even realize were part of our appetizers and salads. Service at that level, to accompany simply killer food, is worth its weight in gold. One of the best dinners all in we have had in a long time. Well done team.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We took another quick wine trip to the Santa Ynez Valley. After a day of scenic drives and stellar wine tasting, we rolled into Los Olivos for dinner. Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe is ALWAYS our first choice when in the area. Once again, they didn't disappoint. Jeana was very attentive and the food was spectacular...as usual. The wines were very good and their prices are reasonable. You get bang for your buck! I have recommended them for years now and I will continue. Cheers!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 3, 2017

VERY GOOD FOOD, GOOD SERVICE, AND VERY NEAT AND CLEAN.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The restaurant had good food at a reasonable value and nice ambiance. The front hostess and our waiter were very accommodating. Will definitely come again soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a family gathering; part of the family is local; the other part came up from So Cal. We were a group of 7 and were told we would be in the back room. I was pleased, because we would be able to hear each other. Unfortunately, there was a group of "whine tasting@ women, a bachelorette party and a very young child who needed a nap! We couldn't have a normal conversation, which made it less comfortable. The sound level was too high.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Los Olivos Wine Merchant Café is one of our favorite restaurants. Consistently excellent food and service.

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Our favourite vacation restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 9, 2017

LO Wine Merchant & Cafe is one of my favorite places to dine! The food and service are excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful place, cozu, excellent service and awsome food. Very good winw list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We ate lunch and dinner at the Wine Merchant during a mini vacation in the Solvang /Los Olivos area. The food and service was outstanding. Pizza is wood fired and brisket sandwich was really tasty and nicely portioned tender BBQ brisket and slaw. For dinner we enjoyed the Barramundi with perfectly crisped skin and a fennel / potato sauce accompaniment that was light and so good. The ricotta and mushroom ravioli was perfectly sauced. Love Farm to table concept and the freshness of the salads and vegetables and House made pasta. Wonderful wine selection and servers are knowledgeable and offer tasting to help with selection. Very short ride from Solvang (10 minutes) so it was convenient for dinner although we stayed in Solvang. Service really was good and water glasses remained filled. The focaccia with an excellent dipping oil was served immediately on both occasions. Lots of inside seating as well as patio seating, nice bar and wine tasting. We saw several tables celebrating special occasions and the desserts are lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Consistently good food in a casual, relaxed setting.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great experience as always. The service and food were excellent. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I have been here a handful of times after a long day of wine tasting, the food and service is always great!... My last visit was for Christmas Eve. One of the best dinners I've enjoyed with my family. The seasonal Risotto is my favorite, and enjoying a wine tasting at the bar is fun to do also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Overall, a very nice experience. Nothing fancy but very comfortable and informal atmosphere. Service is much better than average. Wine selection is amazing. Menu has good coverage and quality was very good. Good place for any kind of informal gathering.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Probably the best spot to eat in Los Olivos. Wonderful setting, providing a modern contrast to the rustic ambiance of Los Olivos itself. The short ribs were to die for but everything our table of 6 ordered was fabulous and of course a fanatic wine list.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I eat here often with my husband or friends. The menu is varied enough to fit everybody's tastes. Our friends had a gluten free pizza and claimed it to be the best! The menu changes up with daily specials and the wine list is focused on local wines and is huge. There is bar seating plus indoor and outdoor seating. It's a great place - locals love it and tourists love it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.