About Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe

2879 Grand Avenue
Los Olivos, CA 93441
View Larger Map

At the Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe you really do get to taste the Central Coast. They take great care in selecting each item that makes its way on your plate. Choosing ingredients that are local, wild, and organic whenever possible. You will enjoy the rustic-elegance of the Cafe paired with friendly and attentive service. Their extensive wine list offers the best wines of the Central Coast Region. The best part is after you dine you can take home your favorite wines at competitive pricing and bring the taste of the Central Coast home with you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:45pm; Afternoon Menu: 3:00-5:00 Dinner: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Now serving Breakfast from 8:00-10:30am on Saturdays and Sundays!

Open 7 days a week

Cross Street:
Highway 154

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-7265

Website:
http://www.losolivoscafe.com/

Catering:
From assisting you in choosing your wines and selecting your customized menu, we take pride in making your event truly a Central Coast experience. The Los Olivos Cafe has served guests since 1995. Now the Wine Merchant and our outside catering division can offer more to what we bring to you. Our beautiful wine country is the perfect place to host a memorable event. Allow us to make your catered affair truly special. We take great pride in bringing you remarkable food paired with gracious hospitality and an award-winning wine list.

Parking Details:
There is parking throughout the quaint town of Los Olivos. There are on-street spaces conveniently located directly in front of The Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Chris Joslyn

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room seats up to 40 guests and is the perfect venue for an intimate gathering. Our attentive service, exceptional food, and award-winning wine list will set the scene for an unforgettable event. Our private dining room is available to reserve for lunch and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Negrete: 8056887265x214

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.LosOlivosCafe.com to view our upcoming special events and you can always check us out on facebook at Los Olivos Cafe!

Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
California Central Coast
Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Ynez Valley
8 More
Best Food
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Service
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Ambiance
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Value
Santa Ynez Valley
Fit for Foodies
Santa Ynez Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Ynez Valley
Special Occasion
Santa Ynez Valley
Most Booked
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Santa Ynez Valley ›

notable wine list (71)
fit for foodies (62)
neighborhood gem (47)
See All
special occasion (43)
great for lunch (41)
great for outdoor dining (36)
romantic (28)
good for groups (27)
great for brunch (15)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (12)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (4)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
857 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never a disappointment. Inventive salads and pizza

Dined 7 days ago

The pizza and crust are among our favorites. And their use of local produce ensures new and delightful salads.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ate here for dinner one ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

My husband and I ate here for dinner one night and for lunch the next day while we were staying in Los Olivos. Both of our visits were great. The menu gives various dining options including appetizers, interesting salads, burgers, pizza, and also fancy main entrées. The wine list is amazing. We loved our meals here. The service is friendly, the atmosphere is fun and charming, and the food is excellent. We will definitely return on our next trip to Los Olivos.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was outstanding. We all sampled ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Dinner was outstanding. We all sampled each other's plates. Beef sugo, gnocchi, ravioli, shepherds pie. Wonderful. Wine prices are Extremely reasonable. Ambience is second to none in the area. A must.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Brought my friend from Florida who is a ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Brought my friend from Florida who is a major foodie and expert on wines. She was very impressed by the excellent wine choices and pairings with our lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal, another great experience!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Los Olivos cafe never disappoints Just tried the barramundi and it is my new favorite...Oh, and the spring salad...Oh, and homemade ice cream..and everyone agrees it is wine heaven! I have dined here pregnant, with a newborn, with toddlers, teenagers, grandparents, in every season over many years and this place is a rare find; it feels like coming home after a long trip. Settle in with a nice glass of wine and relax into a lovely dining experience, great food and pampering wait staff.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Will go back!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent menu, comfortable atmosphere, great service!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Road trip find

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a wonderful experience all round I booked this after extensive research and reviews it was perfect!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 4 very loud children that wer ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

There were 4 very loud children that were allowed by parents to cry, scream & act up. They were so disruptive that they interfered with others evening. This is a difficult call but managment should have made some attempt to interact with parents. Maybe a management training.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner!

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Great dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The orecchiette was one if the best pastas I've ever had! I had it with fresh tomatoes. The spring salad was also incredible. Our server, Karen, was attentive and made our experience memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

special night

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went for a 4 person bachelorette dinner. 2 of us have food allergies. 2 are wine enthusiasts. 1 foodie (me). It satisfied all 4 of us. The waiter, Taylor, could NOT have been any nicer or more helpful. We had a wonderful dinner and would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

I had lunch here with my parents and fia ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

I had lunch here with my parents and fiancée before a day of wine tasting. The food was fantastic- I ordered the pesto gnocchi. We had the beets and burrata and also the olives for appetizers. The wine selection is amazing. Great service - we'll definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Lunch Time

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our table for 6 was ready and waiting for us, and nicely away from the crowd, which reduced the noise level, making it suitable for chatting with our friends. The wine list was really good, although pretty steep. 5 of the 6 decided against a glass, which was a shame. The meal was enjoyed by everyone. The service was inpeccable and friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once a year we go to the SYV. This is a ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Once a year we go to the SYV. This is a must eat at place for us. We always come away satisfied.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef had a bad night

Dined on April 21, 2016

I love this restaurant, but last nights dinner was not the best. I think the chef had a bad night, but given how many times I've had a great meal here - I will not hold it against them. I had lamb and it did not have a flavorful crust and lack taste generally My friends had salmon and it was over cooked. So it was not a great night - but as always the service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

For the first time in memory, I was not ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

For the first time in memory, I was not happy with the food selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in beautiful wine country

Dined on April 16, 2016

We love this restaurant and actually came 2 x in one weekend. We ate dinner Friday night, which was delicious; we enjoyed the mushroom ravioli which is so amazing as well as the short rib; also delicious. We like to share so was able to try a little of both. We started with a yummy cheese plate, which paired well with our wine selection. Saturday, we were hungry and had not eaten since breakfast, so stopped by and had a pizza in the bar with a little sparkling water as a nice reprieve from the heat and a little break from wine tasting. Really delicious pizza! We will always include this restaurant in our plans when we are in the Los Olivos area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A favorite place.

Dined on April 15, 2016

When visiting Los Olivos, we always have lunch at the Wine Merchant. It is a real gem. This time we had a wait for our friends coming from a long distance. Our server, Karen, did a wonderful and patient job of taking care of us and our guests, when they arrived. She was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinning Experiance !

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great Food, Great Service, and Location ! Very Satisfied ! Will be back !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service5

Great Food!!!

Dined on April 11, 2016

Great Food!!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time to this eatery brought f ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Our second time to this eatery brought friends we enjoyed the Beets and Burrata MORE burrata please! The wood fired pizza was delicous as was the Salad nicoise ! The orccehtti pasta with sausage was tasty but a little dry. We had there rose by the glass cant remember the name, but it was light a little dry and just the right amount of fruit notes we bought two bottles to go. Very pleasant lunch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent

Dined on April 2, 2016

We changed our trip to be able to dine at the Los Olivos Wine Merchant and Cafe. We weren't disappointed. Great food, lovely wines, and a nice atmosphere. Go!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointing

Dined on April 1, 2016

We ate here twice...once for dinner and once for lunch. Neither meal lived up to expectations, and the service for dinner was average. The service the next day for lunch (late, admittedly) was poor. At lunch it was clear that most of the ingredients were below par, over the hill, and poorly prepared. We ordered simple things to share...a roasted vegetable appetizer and the antipasto salad. The salad was underwhelming in terms of ingredients, and the lettuce base was sub-par in quality. The roasted vegetables were undercooked, too old to serve, and tired looking in general.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hits the Spot in Los Olivios

Dined on March 31, 2016

Dinner at Los Olivios Merchant and Wine Café was very nice. Very friendly service and nice menus choices. The gnocchi was excellent. Quiet atmosphere the night we were there but when the bar jumps, the place would be very lively.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Great little gem in Los Olivos... Only c ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Great little gem in Los Olivos... Only complaint was the roasted vegetable pizza I ordered ( without cheese because I am vegan ) came out as a pizza with "steamed" veggies on it. No sauce ( don't know why ) and the veggies were moist and not roasted at all- each piece you picked up the veggies rolled off. Need to probably go back to the drawing board in this one!

food3
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. The food and wine wer ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Excellent service. The food and wine were delicious. Great pairing suggestions!

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Used to be so much better.

Dined on March 29, 2016

Even the bread is served cold now. The food is mediocre at best. Such a shame - used to be one of our faves!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice meal

Dined on March 20, 2016

We were seated on time. Meal was good. Staff was friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place had a great time and a wonde ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Great place had a great time and a wonderful lunch! The whole town is fabulous!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our third or fourth time. Always fabulous

Dined on March 17, 2016

Little else to say but the BEST! Waiter gave us individual attention for wine and the menu. Food was outstanding. The salads are among the best--chicken curry and steak cobb salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Original food

Dined on March 3, 2016

We really enjoyed the original and different food. The butternut squash appetizer and the short rib pasta dish were delicious. We also liked the wine close-out page, which allowed us to try a new and interesting wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simple, elegant, intimate setting

Dined on March 3, 2016

The first visit was in Nov 2015. Perfect evening. We treated our Santa Barbara son and girlfriend to the Merchant Mar 2016. Another perfect night all around. The WM Cafe delivers laid-back impeccable service and food selections. Will be back on our next swing through Los Olivos.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed an amazing dinner with the girls

Dined on February 29, 2016

Food and Service were on point! Everyone enjoyed what they ordered.. even the grilled vegetables on the appetizer menu were a home run.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gluten free pasta, please!!!

Dined on February 28, 2016

We are frequent diners and continue to ask for gluten free pasta. Is anyone listening??? I would love to savor the pastas that my husband orders. Still anxiously waiting!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on February 27, 2016

I booked a table for myself and 9 other girlfriends for dinner. We were celebrating my bachelorette and the staff at Los Olivos Wine Merchant were outstanding. A few of the girls were stuck in LA traffic, so we were 10 minutes late our 8pm reservation and they still accommodated us despite closing at 8:30. We were sat at a large table in a back room and it felt like we had the whole restaurant to ourselves. The servers were patient and helpful (thanks for dealing with a bunch of really excited girls!!) and the food was FANTASTIC. Everyone absolutely loved their dish. The wine was so great that we ended up buying 11 bottles before leaving!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Service, good food in a great location

Dined on February 26, 2016

We arrived early and the hostess, Jennifer, seated us immediately. Armando, our outstanding service staff was there to answer questions, guide us through the menu and make recommendations when asked. We chose the 2010 Dragonette Cellars Pinot to accompany the lamb dish and Salmon. The food was outstanding and the entire experience wonderful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had been hear many years ago for lunch and I always remembered loving the salad I had. So go back for Valentine's Day was a no brainer. Dinner was fantastic as was the service. I had the spinach salad to start which was wonderful and lightly dressed. Then I had the special sword fish. It was nicely grilled and the lobster risotto with it was delicious. My husband enjoyed the hearts of romaine ceasar salad and the lamb shanks. Lamb shanks are always surprising as it looks like it is all bone but there was lots of meat on that bone. He was very pleased with it. Dessert for me was the fried apple tart with ice cream. Yummmmmy! My husband played it safe with vanilla ice cream. All in all, very good. Will go back next time we're in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my fav's!

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was my 3rd time eating at this amazing place and my husbands 1st. Needless to say he can't wait to go back. Excellent food, great service, lovely ambience. A must for anyone visiting the Solvang area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food. Tasted fresh and made with g ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food. Tasted fresh and made with great skill.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pizza

Dined on February 7, 2016

Best gluten free pizza crust ever! Now add gluten free pasta so we can enjoy the wonderful sauces!!

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.