Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.25mi
  2. Distance: 6.49mi
  3. Distance: 6.55mi
  4. Distance: 6.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.25mi
  2. Distance: 6.49mi
  3. Distance: 6.55mi
  4. Distance: 6.58mi

About Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe

At the Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe you really do get to taste the Central Coast. Much of their produce is grown less than a mile away at their own CCOF certified organic Cafe Farm. They take great care in selecting each item that makes its way on your plate, choosing ingredients that are local, wild, and organic whenever possible. You will enjoy the rustic-elegance of the Cafe paired with friendly and attentive service. Their extensive and award-winning wine list offers the best wines of the Central Coast Region. The best part is after you dine you can take home your favorite wines at competitive pricing and bring the taste of the Central Coast home with you.

2879 Grand Avenue
Los Olivos, CA 93441
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Vegetarian / Vegan, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:45pm; Afternoon Menu: 3:00-5:00 Dinner: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Now serving Breakfast from 8:00-10:30am on Saturdays and Sundays!

Open 7 days a week

Cross Street:
Highway 154

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-7265

Website:
http://www.winemerchantcafe.com/

Catering:
From assisting you in choosing your wines and selecting your customized menu, we take pride in making your event truly a Central Coast experience. The Los Olivos Cafe has served guests since 1995. Now the Wine Merchant and our outside catering division can offer more to what we bring to you. Our beautiful wine country is the perfect place to host a memorable event. Allow us to make your catered affair truly special. We take great pride in bringing you remarkable food paired with gracious hospitality and an award-winning wine list.

Parking Details:
There is parking throughout the quaint town of Los Olivos. There are on-street spaces conveniently located directly in front of The Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Chris Joslyn

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room seats up to 40 guests and is the perfect venue for an intimate gathering. Our attentive service, exceptional food, and award-winning wine list will set the scene for an unforgettable event. Our private dining room is available to reserve for lunch and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Negrete: (805) 688-7265 ext. 214

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.winemerchantcafe.com to view our upcoming special events and you can always check us out on facebook at Los Olivos Cafe!

Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (32)
Good for a Date (22)
Fireplace (20)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Casual (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Fun (13)
Romantic (13)
Healthy (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Organic (7)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Historic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1046 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place to have a delicious snack and some great local wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Farm to Table Concept makes for the very best and freshest salads. Party of four enjoyed entrees of delicious short ribs, house made pasta and beautifully prepared mushroom ravioli, and Niçoise salad with ahi. Food and preparation were excellent and our servers were knowledgeable and water glasses filled timely. We had a great evening and loved every bite. Nice location in Los Olivos and close enough to Solvang to make it doable if staying there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We started with the cheese plate which was great after an afternoon of wine tasting. We then had 2 very different dishes. My wife had the skirt steak and I had the mushroom ravioli. Both excellent though so different. The skirt steak had a very definite Mexican taste to it. Great spices. Served on hot potato salad which was okay, though not necessarily a great partner, but it didn't detract. The ravioli was delicious. A table just across from us had the same 2 dishes. The woman commented that the ravioli was the best she ever had. Not sure if it was the best, but it came close. Plenty of wine choices to go with your meal. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great place to dine after a day of fun. Great ambiance and wonderful service made this place a very welcome treat after a busy day in town. The service was lovely and the food was very good. I highly recommend this place and will definitely be back next time I am in the region.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. The ingredients were very fresh and could tell that they were grown locally. Nice outdoor patio. Inside was nicely decorated. We enjoyed our table for two near the fireplace. Great wine selection. Our server was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Organic, Fireplace, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food! Excellent wine selection. Will return again and again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 21, 2017

A great time in our anniversary.....delicious salads for lunch on our way in to town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent as always. One of out favorite places to eat on earth :)

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was our second time to this restaurant and it was not as enjoyable for us. To be honest our waiter was a bit odd. I felt a little patronized like we annoyed him. This was from the start so it wasn't anything we did. The food was OK. I think it might be better for lunch. Won't be back for dinner.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Surprisingly delicious meal! My beet and burratta salad was unique and yummy and the salmon was perfectly cooked. Only downside was the entrees were a bit on the small side.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Had two lunches and one dinner while in Santa ynez valley. Perfect spot while wine tasting👌🌈

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Overall, it is a nice restaurant. Our only complaint is that it was very noisy (probably because they are doing such a good business). We were glad we made reservations.

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great table waiting for us, delicious meal and excellent service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our family enjoyed our wine tasting & meal. Special attention was paid to our six year old grand daughter which was special to her in a " fancy" restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We have been here several times and always pleased with the food, service and value.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was a birthday lunch with a group of friends. A tradition! Karen, our overall fantastic server made it extra special. She helped us with a reasonably priced wine choice, steered us well on our luncheon choices and the restaurant added a nice dessert for the birthday gal.

But this is a restaurant that is known from its friendly atmosphere, great food, amazing wine choices and some of the best servers in the SYV.

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Historic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great, high quality food. Great, casual yet professional service. Great, informal ambience. Just great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We were told by locals that this was one of the finest eateries in the area. The atmosphere is pleasant and the service was very nice. The food, however, did not impress us. The Ceasar salad dressing was like a garlicky mayonnaise, but the large crouton that came with it was delicious. My pasta was covered in a somewhat flavorful but sticky sauce, and there were slices of sausage in it that were like a nice supermarket breakfast sausage. One friend had a portobello sandwich that she said was fine, but nothing special. Another friend ordered a pot pie that he said was just okay. The prices were quite high and the portions were generous, but given that the food was just average, I would say this restaurant is not the best value. Los Olivos is fun and we noticed that there were a couple of other attractive looking, casual restaurants that were filled with people, so next time I'll give one of those a try.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 26, 2017

First time here. Probably will be back, but not overly impressed. Busy Saturday night. Positives: Very vibrant atmosphere- definitely not quiet. Server was pleasant and knowledgeable. Very good wine selection and they even have several re-selected tasting flights. Prices are extremely reasonable- great value; Negatives: We thought the food was just OK. Neither of us thought our entrees were that good (orechiette with chicken sausage, and gnocchi). Wouldn't order either of those again. Caesar salad was just OK as well. Foodwise, the highlight was definitely the desserts. The lemon ricotta creme brulee was fantastic and the French Toast Bread Pudding was good as well. Overall, I would probably go back but not for a true dinner. If we go again it will probably be for small plates- appetizers and desserts- and drinks.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Very nice. Don't be turned off by their name, this is a nice place to get very good food that is a bit different than the typical place (but not crazy different)!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My husband and I were touched by the amount of care and listening the server and hostess tended towards us. We were looking for a specific bottle of wine we had had elsewhere the night before. They were able to track it down and serve it to us with our dinner. Our entres were delicious. The ambiance was perfect for a relaxing weekend of wine conversation and delicious food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive, Historic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had the best & Barbara salad and potato cheddar soup to start. Both were very good. Had the burger, which is always great and my wife had the corned beef and cabbage. The chef corned the beef and did an excellent job. Also had a Grenache Blanc from Paso Robles, Shadow Moon. Loved it. They always do a good job and we look forward to the next time we are coming through town and have time for dinner here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We dine at Los Olivos Cafe twice a year with friends and it is always our "go to" restaurant in the Solvang area. The food is always good, the wine list is impeccable and the atmosphere is casual - yet somewhat elegant, so it feels special, but not pretentious. We very much appreciated their wine specialist. She recommended a wine for the table to suit all of our dinner choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Awesome service from Lonnie!!!! The BEST!!!!! She clearly picked up that we are locals and celebrating a birthday! Amazing gal!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We ate here for our anniversary. Service started out a bit slow, but she improved. My husband had the salmon as recommended by the waitress. I was unimpressed. It sat on a scoop of bland lentils and the salmon itself didn't have much flavor. My mushroom ravioli however, was delicious. I was disappointed that we had decided to share both meals, as I wanted to eat all of mine. The beet & burrata appetizer was delicious, the kind of thing I like (my husband ate it, but its not his thing). We had a glass of the recommended Sauvignon Blanc which paired well with our meal. Overall it was a nice experience and they acknowledged our anniversary with a small dessert which was a nice touch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I dined here a year ago, and had been looking forward to going again this past Saturday. Unfortunately it was to be one of the most frustrating and disappointing dining experiences I've had in recent memory. The food was quite good; however, the service was unbelievably poor. My waiter seemed to go out of his way to provide bad service -- which was odd, because the restaurant appeared to be only about 60% full and as far as I could tell, he was only responsible for about 3 tables and all of the other waiters seemed to be very busy. Perhaps it was an off-night given the rave reviews other people have given for service. But for me, it completely ruined what otherwise would have been an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The waiter selected 2 of the best red wines I've tried! Our group marveled over the food the wine and service. There were about 20 of us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Healthy, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everything was outstanding, will be visiting soon again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A fabulous fine dining experience. Our server was outstanding and attentive to our group of nine, and the food was superb!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I love this place and always will. The food is always superb and the service outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Fun, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 3, 2017

My wife liked it very much. I had beer that was very Good. My wife had wine, they have an incredible selection of wine. We'll will go back soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great restaurant - for every taste- the salads are amazing!

Tags: Vegan, Casual, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

When we arrived they told us they didn't have a reservation for us . They seated us but not at the table we referenced in our Open Table reservation. We dine there often so it was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday and had a wonderful dinner. The service was great thanks to Karen our server. The food and wine were excellent. Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Perfect stop when wine touring in Santa Ynez Valley. Food is good, not great, but satisfying nonetheless. Wine list is voluminous, though with limited selections by the glass. Service was excellent and the room was relaxed. Thoroughly enjoyed!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love this place. Never had a bad meal here. It's our go to in the SYV

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fantastic Food

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Refreshingly unpretentious concept with excellent wine list and great food to match. Good for lunch or dinner. Great layout with wine merchant on one side and restaurant and bar on the other. We must have overstayed our welcome. We enjoyed it so much, we apparently went past closing time. We got a little bit of the evil eye from staff for that and no "thank you" but rather some stares to our backs as we left, but otherwise no complaints.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Menu has changed a lot. Was kind of disappointed. Food was basic. Nothing special.
Great wine choice & location. Probably will not go back. Sad as it was one I looked forward too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We loved our dinner here. Came here after wine tasting. Everything on the menu was delicious! Service was excellent. We'll definitely be coming back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.