Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.25mi
  2. Distance: 6.49mi
  3. Distance: 6.55mi
  4. Distance: 6.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.25mi
  2. Distance: 6.49mi
  3. Distance: 6.55mi
  4. Distance: 6.58mi

About Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe

At the Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe you really do get to taste the Central Coast. Much of their produce is grown less than a mile away at their own CCOF certified organic Cafe Farm. They take great care in selecting each item that makes its way on your plate, choosing ingredients that are local, wild, and organic whenever possible. You will enjoy the rustic-elegance of the Cafe paired with friendly and attentive service. Their extensive and award-winning wine list offers the best wines of the Central Coast Region. The best part is after you dine you can take home your favorite wines at competitive pricing and bring the taste of the Central Coast home with you.

2879 Grand Avenue
Los Olivos, CA 93441
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Vegetarian / Vegan, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:45pm; Afternoon Menu: 3:00-5:00 Dinner: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Now serving Breakfast from 8:00-10:30am on Saturdays and Sundays!

Open 7 days a week

Cross Street:
Highway 154

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-7265

Website:
http://www.winemerchantcafe.com/

Catering:
From assisting you in choosing your wines and selecting your customized menu, we take pride in making your event truly a Central Coast experience. The Los Olivos Cafe has served guests since 1995. Now the Wine Merchant and our outside catering division can offer more to what we bring to you. Our beautiful wine country is the perfect place to host a memorable event. Allow us to make your catered affair truly special. We take great pride in bringing you remarkable food paired with gracious hospitality and an award-winning wine list.

Parking Details:
There is parking throughout the quaint town of Los Olivos. There are on-street spaces conveniently located directly in front of The Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Chris Joslyn

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room seats up to 40 guests and is the perfect venue for an intimate gathering. Our attentive service, exceptional food, and award-winning wine list will set the scene for an unforgettable event. Our private dining room is available to reserve for lunch and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Negrete: (805) 688-7265 ext. 214

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.winemerchantcafe.com to view our upcoming special events and you can always check us out on facebook at Los Olivos Cafe!

Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (42)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Casual (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fun (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Cozy (12)
Organic (11)
Authentic (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Comfort Food (9)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Cute place for a bite in Los Olivos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I found Los Olivos Wine Merchant and Cafe searching on the best places for wine tasting in the region. The online good reviews were spot on, the atmosphere was exactly what we hoped for to celebrate a special occasion with another couple. We sat outside, the setting was very nice, our service from greeting until we departed was excellent. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly and the service overall was very quick. Our meals were all delicious from appetizers, to salads and main courses. Wine selection was as hoped and our husbands enjoyed the beer selection. We hope to return when we return back to the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Very nice server but food was rather average. It was better a few years back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant and we loved it. My friend had the gnocchi which were amazing, and I had the skirt steak also outstanding. Would love to go again when I'm in the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Such a wonderful dinner on such a special day! After getting married in SB we had dinner here with a handful of close friends. The food was great and the atmosphere was perfect - not too loud so even with our large group we were able to have good conversations. Some of the standouts were the gnocchi, skirt steak with chimichurri, and the lamb Shepard's pie. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

I have been going to this restaurant for many years, usually to celebrate a special occasion with friends. It's a 45-minute drive from my home but well worth it. Whether you're driving north from Santa Barbara or south from San Luis Obispo County, its a pleasant drive. Do it in daylight and enjoy a great lunch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always a pleasure and the service is stellar. It's our not to miss place when visiting the area.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Los Olivos Wine Merchant is a wonderful restaurant and wine bar in the idyllic town of Los Olivos. The food is always inventive and delicious. Great mixture of spices and flavors. We loved the turkey burger, brisket sandwich and pizza. Service, as always, was perfect!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This was just one of our many trips to Los Olivos and we always dine at The Los Olivos Cafe. We absolutely love it! The service is fabulous and the food delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

AWEFUL…waited 30 minutes for f-ing water! And I ordered wine in wine country and I never got it
Service was terrible…Santa Ynez is beautiful but this " 5 star resturant" is a pass! 👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Flavors were incredible. Wine selection was amazing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We've been coming here from the L.A. Area for over 15 years. It's always worth the drive, the food is wonderful and creative, and the wine choices are more than you can hope for. We'll be back soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

WE GOT THERE ONE HOUR EARLY AND WERE SEATED IMMEDIATELY. THE BEEF STEW AND TROUT WERE EXCELLENT. TGE TOWN OF LOS OLIVOS IS CHARMING.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

An elegant spot with creative menu. Delicious food. 4 people in our party, all of us pleased with our choices. Great wine list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Absolutely amazing!! Attentive, friendly service!! One of the most memorable meals we've ever had!! The gnocchi and mushroom ravioli were extremely flavorful! We will definitely come back to wine & dine here!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great food, fantastic service, and serious wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

As above great food and ambiance was outstanding. Nice little gift shop also. However, we waited 15 minutes and had to ask for service as "our table wasn't checked off as occupied when she came on work." Yet staff were all around us sitting there without water or menus. Waitress was very apologetic and we finished in time for the play in Solvang. Strange....

Tags: People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Four of us enjoyed every minute of our experience at the restaurant. Our waiter was fun, interesting, and knew the menu and wine list very well. You can't beat the food!! Try the short ribs. We were still talking about it the next day.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

We were ecstatic to find this absolute gem of a hotel it was delightful we found it our selves no one recommended this place for us I wish they had its well worth the drive and all kinds of exquiitse food for first timers in solving and celebrating our first anniversary year we highly recommend this place we will definitely be back !

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Late-night Find, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Quite possibly the best tiramisu I've ever had! Everything else was delicious too, from the bread to the entrees. Great spot!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have dined here many times. We sat on the patio. It was a beautiful night and the food/service did not disappoint.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very quaint location. We dined on the patio, which was perfect. Menu had a good selection, but was not overwhelming--a big plus in my book. Server was knowledgeable about wine selection and made good recommendations. If you're visiting the area, this is a great option for dinner out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Our favorite go to place for date night. Great food, great service, best baked Brie ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Big party that night which sent the noise level through the roof, literally. It can be noisy in there any way and this became just too much.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I LIVED IN LOS OLIVOS FOR 20 YRS AND THIS RESTAURANT WAS OUR FAVORITE PLACE TO GO TO ESP WITH FRIENDS AND GUESTS FROM OUT OF TOWN. A HAPPY ATMOSPHERE, FRIENDLY WAIT PEOPLE, VERY ATTENTIVE TO THEIR CLIENTS. KAREN IS A SUPER WAITRESS AND ALWAYS SEES TO YOUR EVERY NEED. THE MENUE IS FRESH AND INVENTIVE. WONDERFUL SMALL PLATES AND PASTA TO DIE FOR.[ MUSHROOM ] A VERY WELL ROUNDED WINE SELECTION INCLUDING SPARKLING VARIETIES. BEST CHOICE IN TOWN!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Organic, Fun, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 27, 2017

It was an awesome experience! We had amazing service and the food was incredible! We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Always enjoy dining here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Service was great and the food was outstanding. Patio seating, but there was room inside if needed or wanted.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great service, great food, great location- what more can you ask for?

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We make a point of stopping in Los Olivia & eating here whenever we drive up Hwy 101 from LA. We love it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 22, 2017

What a pleasent surprise!! The food was outstanding... Fresh, perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked! Unfamiliar with the wines in the area we asked our server Carly, to pair each dish with the appropriate wine. ...One glass of wine we loved so much we purchased a bottle and visited the winery the following day. Looking forward to making this a regular spot each time we visit!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and wine. Even better than Brothers restaurants. Sideways Fantastic

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The menu hasn't changed, and is no longer competing with other restaurants in los Olivos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our friends, my husband and I had a great dinner on the patio at Los Olivos Wine Merchant Cafe. We started by sharing a beets and burrata salad that was delicious. Entrees were yummy. We ordered the lamb shank, trout, gnocchi and salmon. It was all great. The fried apple turnover for dessert was amazing. We'd definitely go back and recommend it to others.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Short but sweet....great food and service in our little town!

Tags: Business Meals, Vegan, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Pizza was very yummy and authentic thin crust. Nice focaccia bread. Wine shop had excellent selection.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was a decent spot, to celebrate being in Los Olivios. The restaurant is one of (basically) two that are open past 5 in Los Olivios, so it's busy. The food was decent, not super memorable. The wine was good. Decent spot.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

My only suggestion is to have smaller portion! The food was great but soooo much!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Really good. Nothing bad to say. It was busy, but anywhere good is, and Los Olivos is a perfect spot to get lunch. They had a lot of wine for purchase, and all their food was amazing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The staff was delightful. The decor warm and elegant. The short ribs were delicious. The trout with crispy curry chick peas was so palet pleasing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.