Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.25mi
  2. Distance: 6.49mi
  3. Distance: 6.55mi
  4. Distance: 6.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.25mi
  2. Distance: 6.49mi
  3. Distance: 6.55mi
  4. Distance: 6.58mi

About Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe

At the Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe you really do get to taste the Central Coast. Much of their produce is grown less than a mile away at their own CCOF certified organic Cafe Farm. They take great care in selecting each item that makes its way on your plate, choosing ingredients that are local, wild, and organic whenever possible. You will enjoy the rustic-elegance of the Cafe paired with friendly and attentive service. Their extensive and award-winning wine list offers the best wines of the Central Coast Region. The best part is after you dine you can take home your favorite wines at competitive pricing and bring the taste of the Central Coast home with you.

2879 Grand Avenue
Los Olivos, CA 93441
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Vegetarian / Vegan, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:45pm; Afternoon Menu: 3:00-5:00 Dinner: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Now serving Breakfast from 8:00-10:30am on Saturdays and Sundays!

Open 7 days a week

Cross Street:
Highway 154

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-7265

Website:
http://www.winemerchantcafe.com/

Catering:
From assisting you in choosing your wines and selecting your customized menu, we take pride in making your event truly a Central Coast experience. The Los Olivos Cafe has served guests since 1995. Now the Wine Merchant and our outside catering division can offer more to what we bring to you. Our beautiful wine country is the perfect place to host a memorable event. Allow us to make your catered affair truly special. We take great pride in bringing you remarkable food paired with gracious hospitality and an award-winning wine list.

Parking Details:
There is parking throughout the quaint town of Los Olivos. There are on-street spaces conveniently located directly in front of The Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Chris Joslyn

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.winemerchantcafe.com to view our upcoming special events and you can always check us out on facebook at Los Olivos Cafe!

Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (39)
Casual (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
See All
Worth the Drive (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Special Occasion (16)
Fun (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Cozy (14)
Healthy (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Romantic (12)
Organic (11)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
People Watching (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
1130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Wait staff is very friendly and attentive. As a VERY long term resident/local, it is one of our ''go to places'' where quality is consistent and local wines are available. Some ''side by side'' seating in a somewhat European style, but also individual tables and nice bar seating. Prices are reasonable and competitive.....if not moderate ......considering our small town has been adopting LA prices at a rapid rate.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great environment. Delicious food. Excellent wine. An overall great place for a nice lunch with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Multiple visits here. The food is always delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2017

It was my birthday so it was perfect that they satisfy at the table right in front of the fireplace. What a wonderful quaint town and a lovely restaurant. Beautiful wines, or just food, nice service. My birthday dessert was off the hook. Would have been nice, though if they would have written the words happy birthday on the plate like other places do. We definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (東京)·Dined on October 9, 2017

I enjoyed the atmosphere of the movie.
The recommended wine was reasonable and tasty.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great restaurant! There was a big group of women dining so it was very loud inside but other than that I highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Casual, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Indifferent, choppy service marred what would have otherwise been a very pleasant anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 5, 2017

I am vegatsrian and the corn arugala salad was delicious! Food was great, service was a long wait for food but not the fault of our waitress, Karen. She was exceptional but I think someone else was to blame for the long wait. Will always go there when visiting Los Olivos🍷

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Vegan, Organic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Every time we visit Los Olivos, we go here. We have never been disappointed. By far, this is the best restaurant in Los Olivos.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We always the the Cafe! Went with friends who had never been before and they loved it, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2017

It's fun to go to Los Olivos Cafe. Food is always good, nice atmosphere and great people watching! It was my friend's birthday. Told the restaurant in advance when I booked on Open Table AND they did a yummy dessert for her birthday. A memorable day/evening in Los Olivos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Service was great - friendly, prompt and informative. Food was so delicious - fresh and tasty. Will most definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2017

I ordered gnocchi and was disappointed that the gnocchi was fluffy, but the sauce appeared to be reheated like leftovers. You could tell be because the butter and milk had that funky separation and texture.
If you are in town doing tastings I would just hop in to one of the other local sandwich spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Service was friendly and fast. The wine by the glass menu was more than most restaurant. We shared a pizza that was plenty for 2, and very good. Would go back again if we were in the area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Lovely dinner and great service! We went to Los Olivos for a girl's wine tasting trip for my sister-in-law's birthday and stayed in town. This location is the best for dinner in the area. I have been there before and knew the food, as well as the importance of reservations, as it is relatively small. Their menu has enough variety to accommodate all. Our server was great and was able to help us find a great bottle of wine to enjoy with our dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

We were in the Santa Ynez Valley for our anniversary and a friend had recommended the Los Olivos Wine Merchant and Cafe for dinner. We had previously eaten there from breakfast and had a good experience. We arrived about 15 minutes early for our dinner reservation, but they were able to seat us right away. Service was very friendly and the recommendations of the server were spot on. We shared the grilled vegetables with tapenade and mozzarella for a starter, and had pasta for a main course. I thought the mushroom and ricotta raviolis were better than the orecchiette with house made chicken sausage, but both were very good. We each had a glass of the house syrah with our dinners and liked it so much that we bought a bottle to take home. All in all, it was a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was excellent and the service very good. Noise level indoors was a little bothersome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Varied menu with many good vegetarian options. The roasted veggie appetizer was especially good, as was the Gem salad. I had a bit of a friend's lamb shank and it was tender and delicious, but very rich...definitely more than enough of everything we ordered to share with a friend. Would definitely returnwhen in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We visited Los Olivos on a weeknight so the town was not very crowded. We did make a reservation but there were several open tables. This was one of the best meals we ate during a 10 day vacation in CA. The food was very well prepared and the service was excellent. We dined outside on their porch which had lots of flowers and was very comfortable with a good street view if you wanted to people watch. There is also a huge wine market inside where we browsed after dinner. I would definitely return. Everything was terrific!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Have been here several times before, and it is always a very pleasant experience. The food is always great and the service top notch!! And the noise level is not so loud that you can't talk. We had a great time celebrating my son's birthday. Will certainly be back!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The Cafe is one of my favorite restaurants. The menu changes regularlyand offers fresh new options. The atmosphere is fun, intimate and quite. You can hear each other talk. The food was great, service good and evening a success.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Love this place. Outside sitting is quieter than inside
Food is great and innovative

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Top notch food in a comfortable casual atmosphere. Superb quality ingredients, many grown right there, superbly constructed dishes. I had the best gnocchi I have ever had. Will always return when in the area

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Seasonal, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Wonderful dining experience with friends. Salads are so fresh, crisp and tasty, really delicious. My albacore Niçoise salad was cooked perfectly and the albacore had a nice smoky flavor. The gnocchi and tortellini were also wonderful. Our service was attentive but not intrusive. We had a marvelous time and will return when we visit area. Highly recommend as one of the very best restaurants in this area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service was slow !!!! Should be better for a higher end restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Daughters 21st Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Overall experience was okay but don't order the trout. It was a paper thin piece definitely not worth the price charged. Raviolis and tomato soup were good. Ambience nice, with white tablecloths but noticed most people were not dressed that nicely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2017

One loud party threw off the usual OK noise level. The skirt steak with Chimichuri was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

We have been to Los Olivos Wine Merchant many times through the years while on vacation--both as a couple and with a group of friends. Never had a bad experience and always great food and wine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Cute place for a bite in Los Olivos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I found Los Olivos Wine Merchant and Cafe searching on the best places for wine tasting in the region. The online good reviews were spot on, the atmosphere was exactly what we hoped for to celebrate a special occasion with another couple. We sat outside, the setting was very nice, our service from greeting until we departed was excellent. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly and the service overall was very quick. Our meals were all delicious from appetizers, to salads and main courses. Wine selection was as hoped and our husbands enjoyed the beer selection. We hope to return when we return back to the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Very nice server but food was rather average. It was better a few years back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant and we loved it. My friend had the gnocchi which were amazing, and I had the skirt steak also outstanding. Would love to go again when I'm in the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Such a wonderful dinner on such a special day! After getting married in SB we had dinner here with a handful of close friends. The food was great and the atmosphere was perfect - not too loud so even with our large group we were able to have good conversations. Some of the standouts were the gnocchi, skirt steak with chimichurri, and the lamb Shepard's pie. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

I have been going to this restaurant for many years, usually to celebrate a special occasion with friends. It's a 45-minute drive from my home but well worth it. Whether you're driving north from Santa Barbara or south from San Luis Obispo County, its a pleasant drive. Do it in daylight and enjoy a great lunch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always a pleasure and the service is stellar. It's our not to miss place when visiting the area.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Los Olivos Wine Merchant is a wonderful restaurant and wine bar in the idyllic town of Los Olivos. The food is always inventive and delicious. Great mixture of spices and flavors. We loved the turkey burger, brisket sandwich and pizza. Service, as always, was perfect!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This was just one of our many trips to Los Olivos and we always dine at The Los Olivos Cafe. We absolutely love it! The service is fabulous and the food delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

AWEFUL…waited 30 minutes for f-ing water! And I ordered wine in wine country and I never got it
Service was terrible…Santa Ynez is beautiful but this " 5 star resturant" is a pass! 👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.