About Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe

2879 Grand Avenue
Los Olivos, CA 93441
View Larger Map

At the Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe you really do get to taste the Central Coast. They take great care in selecting each item that makes its way on your plate. Choosing ingredients that are local, wild, and organic whenever possible. You will enjoy the rustic-elegance of the Cafe paired with friendly and attentive service. Their extensive wine list offers the best wines of the Central Coast Region. The best part is after you dine you can take home your favorite wines at competitive pricing and bring the taste of the Central Coast home with you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:45pm; Afternoon Menu: 3:00-5:00 Dinner: 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Now serving Breakfast from 8:00-10:30am on Saturdays and Sundays!

Open 7 days a week

Cross Street:
Highway 154

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-7265

Website:
http://www.losolivoscafe.com/

Catering:
From assisting you in choosing your wines and selecting your customized menu, we take pride in making your event truly a Central Coast experience. The Los Olivos Cafe has served guests since 1995. Now the Wine Merchant and our outside catering division can offer more to what we bring to you. Our beautiful wine country is the perfect place to host a memorable event. Allow us to make your catered affair truly special. We take great pride in bringing you remarkable food paired with gracious hospitality and an award-winning wine list.

Parking Details:
There is parking throughout the quaint town of Los Olivos. There are on-street spaces conveniently located directly in front of The Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe.

Executive Chef:
Chris Joslyn

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room seats up to 40 guests and is the perfect venue for an intimate gathering. Our attentive service, exceptional food, and award-winning wine list will set the scene for an unforgettable event. Our private dining room is available to reserve for lunch and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Negrete: 8056887265x214

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.LosOlivosCafe.com to view our upcoming special events and you can always check us out on facebook at Los Olivos Cafe!

Los Olivos Wine Merchant & Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Californian
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Ynez Valley
9 More
Best Food
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Service
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Ambiance
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Value
Santa Ynez Valley
Fit for Foodies
Santa Ynez Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Ynez Valley
Notable Wine List
Santa Ynez Valley
Special Occasion
Santa Ynez Valley
Most Booked
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Santa Ynez Valley ›

Notable Wine List (53)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Fit for Foodies (41)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Business Meals (2)
Historic (2)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a very good dinner at Los Olivos ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a very good dinner at Los Olivos Wine Cafe, excellent barramundi and spinach salad, very attentive service. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing servers and support staff. Love ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing servers and support staff. Love the variety of wines by the glass and bottles for sale.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We went there for dinner and loved it so ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 7 days ago

We went there for dinner and loved it so much we went back for lunch the next day!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Organic, Authentic, Seasonal, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly staff with a great happeni ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very friendly staff with a great happening vibe. Knowledgeable about gluten. Food was good; their roasted vegetable starter to share was excellent! Would definitely go back - we were comped a delicious desert because of a mix up with our order. Shame it closes so early; Los Olivos is sleepy little idyll :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent in every way. Great atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent in every way. Great atmosphere. The food is really special, huge wine selection.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was very good. Excelle ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food and service was very good. Excellent wine selection and they were very dog friendly. We've eaten here many times, you will enjoy it. Bring the dog!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The place is beautiful with indoor and o ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The place is beautiful with indoor and outdoor seating! The wine tasting at the indoor bar was excellent with Megan serving us. She gave us fun facts about the wines from Italy and France. We ordered the Mykonos Pizza, which had the freshest cucumbers and its taste was comparable to pizzas I have tried in Italy. Overall, the atmosphere of the place is beautiful and serene.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What a fantastic lunch and service. Firs ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

What a fantastic lunch and service. First stop on a birthday weekend for my wife and what a way to start. Will be back in December and back again..we loved every minute of our lunch there.

Tags: Historic, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, quiet atmosphere. The d ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent food, quiet atmosphere. The dipping oil is available for purchase too! If they are out buy it at El Rancho market!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service! A definite r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fantastic food and service! A definite return restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ribeye steak was overlooked & quality/fl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Ribeye steak was overlooked & quality/flavor not good. Service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the wine country feel of the Los Ol ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love the wine country feel of the Los Olivos Café.

The owners have kept the friendly yet professional atmosphere throughout the years.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic! Drove up from Orcu ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Absolutely fantastic! Drove up from Orcutt. Took my fiance for her time. I already knew what to expect; but my fiance also fell in love with the Wine MerchanMerchant. Great food and service...We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sideways special was a great arrange ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Sideways special was a great arrangement of choices, the Hill Pinot Noir was very good. We bought a case!!! Short Ribs were flavorful but just a little dry, the skirt steak was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful time! Food and wine was great! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful time! Food and wine was great!! Karen was amazing person, we came back because of her ☺️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband had the Lamb shank which was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My husband had the Lamb shank which was to die for and the creme brûlée was out of this world. I had the mushroom ravioli which was amazing. Great food and service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Birthday dinner for my daughte ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent Birthday dinner for my daughter who just turned 21! We'll be back! Also, reasonable prices!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner, wine was even better! Ser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great dinner, wine was even better! Service was perfect too!! Really pretty inside, as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous meal. The food, wine a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a fabulous meal. The food, wine and service were great. We will go back the next time we visit the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Having made reservations for 5pm, we we ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Having made reservations for 5pm, we were surprised to find no other patrons seated yet, and they proceeded to give us the worst table in the place. Then it took an hour to get our food! Also, an extremely large party with 5 kids under the age of 5 arrived and was seated right next to us.....very poor planning. We won't be returning to eat here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Awesome salads!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Awesome salads!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Insane wine. What's not ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent food. Insane wine. What's not to love?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OMG, where do I begin? EVERYTHING was s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

OMG, where do I begin? EVERYTHING was so WONDERFUL!! Warmest ambience, lovely decor. Arrived in time for an evening wine tasting at the bar - really fun. Dinner was delicious from soup to nuts, as they say. Service was spot on as well.

Wished I lived in southern Cali so that I could return soon. Santa Ynez wine country is FAB!!

Also, my husband left his favorite cap there. It was there for him the following day in their lost & found.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The patio of this restaurant was charmin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The patio of this restaurant was charming as was the interior! The food was absolutely delicous -- the foccacio with garlic oil to start was super yummy, and then we had the cheese board (awesome) and then I had the antipasto salad with chicken and thought that the ingrediants (cheese/chicken/olives/etc) were super high quality as well as delicous.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. A real gem i ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food and service. A real gem in Los Olivos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very good but service was very ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was very good but service was very slow. There were 7 of us and I think we waited for about 30 minutes or more for our food. Our waiter was very nice but did not come to check on us often to see if we needed more drinks, water or bread. We didn't order any appetizers but it would have been nice to have that offered to us since we had a wait for our food.500

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Stopped here last Friday evening after m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Stopped here last Friday evening after meeting family from the Bay Area in Morro Bay. As we were all driving south together, my husband and I recommended Los Olivos Cafe due to prior good experiences.

We were greeted warmly. They were planning to seat us inside, but a larger table outside had just opened up, so we asked to sit there. They accommodated us in short order.

Our server was very gracious throughout the meal. We shared several of their gourmet pizzas, plus two orders of orecchiette pasta. The Alba pizza with mushroom trio, ricotta, arugula, parmesan, four cheeses, and truffle oil was a standout, flavor-wise. Despite everyone being tired after a long day of activities and driving, we all enjoyed the meal.

The outdoor lights weren't working, which one of the staff was trying to fix, but unable to get them going. We had to ask for the table oil lamps to be lit as it got darker. Those were the only small items that made it less than perfect, and did affect the ambience. Everything else went very well.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ate here two nights in a row. On the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I ate here two nights in a row. On the first night, we had great service and great food. On the second night, I was very disappointed with the service. We got seated and 10-15 minutes go by without anybody coming by our table. Servers would just walk by our table on their way to other tables. I finally had to grab somebody and ask them who was serving us. He then apologized and took our order, and the service was fine after that. But we were very disappointed and upset that we just sat there (we were a table of four) without anybody coming by for 10-15 minutes after getting seated. And, none of the people working there (and there were many) even noticed and asked if we wanted anything. My wife was very upset and wanted to leave but we stayed. We did not enjoy the meal that much because of our initial experience. All of the other tables were getting served, so the bad service initially was not due to lack of staff, just lack of attentiveness by all staff and management.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

No matter when we go, no matter what we ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

No matter when we go, no matter what we order, the food and wine is always perfection. The staff is always personable, thoughtful and genuine. We drive over an hour to dine at the Wine Merchant Cafe and it's well worth the trip every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Birthday Club met at LOWM&C for an e ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our Birthday Club met at LOWM&C for an early dinner after wine tasting and bocce across the street at Coquelicot. Not super hungry, so had salad and soup. The shrimp bisque was very smooth and tasty, though would have benefited from a bit more tarragon. The summer salad was just okay. Portions were pretty small—maybe have 2 sizes? Others had pizza which was just okay. Staff was very nice and service was timely and considerate.

The Birthday Girl got a little dessert of cake and scoop of ice cream with a candle—and a song, so that was a nice touch.

Have always loved this spot, but seems it's more of a wine bar now, rather than emphasizing the food part.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We were outside on the patio, as request ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were outside on the patio, as requesting after the reservations and were accommodated ! So it was nice and quiet from the other part, so I can not comment on the noise level or ambiance everywhere else. Our Server, Robin was fantastic! My meal was delicious but with a little too much oil, and two others had a cream dish that they said was fabulous, but too heavy..other than that, we would all come back back for round 2!... Oh yeah, the pizza was great too!

Again, thank you for giving us the table we requested long after the reservations were made!

Yay!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I were in neighboring Slo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I were in neighboring Slovange for the day and found this on Open Table, we were able to sit on the porch (had a celebrity sighting -- Pink and her family) really enjoyed the sideways menu, wine, starter, dinner and desert - $44 We had so much food, we had to take our deserts to go. What a lovely evening in a beautiful setting with wonderful wine and food

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I have dined here several times, always ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I have dined here several times, always excellent !

It's now a must anytime I'm in the Santa Ynez area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Met my wine maker son along with our two ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Met my wine maker son along with our two dogs for lunch. His new tasting room is 4 doors from this fine restaurant. Food, service, along with ambiance, outstanding. We have eaten here a dozen times never to be sorry. A must if you are visiting this wonderful wine area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Los Olivos to eat.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Best place in Los Olivos to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

This place is one of my favorites and I ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This place is one of my favorites and I always enjoy a great meal and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love this place! The food is amazing! ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I love this place! The food is amazing! My sister had the lamb shank and while I would typically not order it, I tasted it and it was out of this world. I had the gnocchi (I always get this when here) and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always very good!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a special dinner here this week. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a special dinner here this week. We brought our own bottle of wine ($20 fee) and Karen was our server. She was knowledgeable, friendly and respectful of our time/space.

We started with the Baked Brie, which was just right.

I had Beef Sugo - AMAZING!! Tender beef in a tasty tomato sauce with carrots, celery and homemade pasta. My husband ordered the Barramundi, equally as delicious.

Would highly recommend!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is innovative and the servings ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food is innovative and the servings are very large. Our only complaint is that the food was too salty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.