Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 31 times today

Los Colibris

4.3
1131 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
International
Perfect For:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
Upscale dining in a formal yet comfortable atmosphere. Los Colibris offers authentic dishes prepared by Chef Elia Herrera who has created her entire menu using family recipes from her hometown in Veracruz, Mexico. Service is warm, hospitable and efficient. We are here to cater to your every wish and always strive to provide an exceptional dining experience.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
International, Contemporary Mexican, Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday : Closed
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 979-7717
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Elia Herrera
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Simcoe
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Public parking located just south of us on Wellington, west of Simcoe. Parking also available on either side of Duncun on Richmond.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
St. Andrews Subway Station
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 1131 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 4 days ago

Great cocktails, delicious guacamole and lovely service but the rest of the food was just not good. Too much cream and cheese smothered on everything. Not for us!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant is tastefully decorated. We had a reservation and were seated right away. The venue was full but the tables are far enough apart that you could carry on a conversation. The main course was fine but not as tasty as I thought it would be. The churros and ice cream was a nice finish to the meal. The menu was a bit more limited than I anticipated but I should have done more research before making the reservation. The service was great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

The location is great for several near by theatres and music venues. Great guacamole and other dishes. We found sharing several appetizers and a salad left room for dessert - the carrot cake was delectable! Our server was attentive, without being intrusive and made sure we were out well in time for the theatre. Ambiance was very nice, not overly loud, good for conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Very timely service. Food as tasty as my previous visits.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The Pulpo ceviche special for the day was spectacular! We will definitely go back just for this. Thank you Chef Elia Herrera and staff for your creative cuisine and excellent service. We had a lovely evening. See you again soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We saw Elia on Top Chef Canada last week and decided to try out her restaurant. It was AMAZING! The stuffed poblano pepper with walnut sauce (a family recipe apparently) was unexpectedly sweet and was hands-down the most delicious thing I've eaten in ages. We also had the daily ceviche (shrimp), the mushroom empanada, and the duck enmoladas - all so good. At the end of the meal, Chef Elia came out to say hi to her nerdy Top Chef fans. It was a terrific experience, and I definitely recommend Los Colibris.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

great atmosphere with great service the plates are quite creative if you like modern Spanish, the bar lounge is also very nice for a drink.
a bit on the expensive side and the music is a bit loud especially at the lounge

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Glad we had reservations because the place was packed by 6pm. Food was delicious and fresh. Service was attentive and well informed. Less than a block from the princess of Wales and around the corner from Marvish theatre. Nice wine list and open, modern fine dining atmosphere. Sister Mexican pub/restaurant downstairs had a great atmosphere. Dark and moody with some unique margaritas, it was worth going down early for a quick drink before dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

My wife and our friends were extremely satisfied with every aspect of this restaurant. We chose it as it was lose to the theatre and absolutely every person on staff was outstanding from the greeter to all service staff! e really did feel comfortable and at home and then on top of that the food really was outstanding. Every dish suggested by our server was exactly as described...an unusual truth! We will certainly be back as the atmosphere and people were truly fantastic...and no I am not related to anyone there; I am from Niagara.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We went for the ceviche and were disappointed. It's one of those restaurants where they squeeze you in and sit you right next to your neighbours. High prices were not justified by the food, ambiance or service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Food was different and enjoyable..very busy for a wed. New steercar rules did not seem to impact on customers..service could have been a bit better..might need more staff to serve..had to wait for bill

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

We were going to Thompson Hall across the road, and the meal was served with plenty of time to get to the show. A thoroughly pleasant atmosphere with very tasty food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The margarita was superb. The food was not great. We had a lot of fun anyways...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We ordered five appetizers and two entrees for four adults. All excellent and shared. Ordered a pitcher of sangria also very tasty. Location is beautiful but noise level high.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 6, 2018

I was really, dearly hoping that this "upscale" Mexican restaurant would deliver food to justify its high prices, alas not the case. I've had streetside tacos with more flavour than the food on offer here. Nice plating for sure but flavour is sorely lacking and if you can't serve flavourful Mexican food you really are losing. Also the bartender here makes rhe worst margaritas. Disappointed that Los Colibris is just another tourist trap restaurant on King West.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Was recommended by my son who cooks in a 5 star establishment. He said we would not be disappointed and it was an all around jewel of an evening.

Don’t hesitate just go..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great place close to the Royal Alexandra theatre. Wonderful food and wonderful service. The menu has its own flair so a very enjoyable experience. Would definitely go again and highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

We decided to try this restaurant before seeing a show. It was wonderful. The service was friendly, efficient and they had us out on time for the theatre. The food was outstanding. We will go back and recommend it to others.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Great cocktails,ambiance and food. On the pricey side... but good quality

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Los Colibris. Our servers were friendly, helpful, and efficient. The food itself was creative, interesting, and absolutely delicious. For us, it was a perfect dinner before attending "Come From Away" at the Royal Alex, which was a 30 second
walk away.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 26, 2018

The soup was amazing, but unfortunately it set a standard that the Ash Iron Flat Steak or the confit chicken could not meet. The chicken was surprising bland and the steak far to chewy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Great service. Food is quite . This is someone who has lived in the Mecca of Mexican dining (Ciudad de Mexico).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great tacos service and atmosphere! Love this place! Arrived late still got seated! Will come again

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 24, 2018

It is too expensive for the amount of food and the quality of food you get

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Pre-theatre dinner with family was great! Quick service. Helpful menu tips and explanations by our server. A positive experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

The food was wonderful, the service friendly and efficient. All-around highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

CFA, Chicago for ComicCon. The guacamole with house chips was so good! I had the Arrachera and it was awesome! I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Excellent, personable service to go with equally excellent food. Highly recommend the shrimp and conch ceviche.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

I am never disappointed here. Came for birthday celebration pre Come From Away show at the adjacent theatre. As before, great drink options, reasonable wine list and interesting , varied , authentic Mexican food. Excellent guacamole and taro chips make nice change . All us were happy with main plates and multiple more tapas sized, appetizers.

Servers well familiar with menu and good at anticipating flow .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Celebrating wife’s birthday. Meal and service were excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Amazing customer service! The service was impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Very enjoyable evening . . . Great Service...Great Food...all in all - EXCEPTIONAL ! ! !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Great, interesting food. Good service and very close to theatre.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Good service, good food. All around pleasant experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

A great place to go before the show.. for a special occasion and to try something that is different. We will be back for sure

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Excellent “upscale” dining. Great ambience. Moderate pricing. Good value. Would come again and tell others.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The food was fantastic! Excellent experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We had the dinner/theatre package so this limited our menu choices as the menu was pre-designed for this type of arrangement. My husband had the bisque and I had the salad as an appetizer. I did enjoy the salad (especially the citrus salad dressing that really livened up the salad); however, the soup was too salty. My husband had the Cod and I had the duck confit. The cod was light and flaky and my duck confit was truly tasteless except for the fact that again, both of these dishes were too salty for our liking. We ordered Papas Bravas as a side dish and would describe this as tasteless again (aside from the salt). Overall, the food was uninspiring.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Very enjoyable meal, 5th or 6th time to restaurant. Ingredients fresh and menu well put together and harmonious. Only negative was the noise level when my party was seated but as the theater crowd cleared out the ambiance became much more enjoyable. Overall great meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

We had never been to this restaurant before but it was close to the theatre, had good reviews, so we tried it. We arrived a little before they opened at 5:00 PM but they allow us to come in and sit in the reception lounge until our table was ready. The food had a Mexican theme but was away above the normal Mexican fare. We enjoyed drinks, appetizers, entrees, and dessert. We'd certainly eat there again if we're in Toronto again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
29

Tweets by Los Colibris