Los Colibris

4.3
1172 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
International
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Authentic
Upscale dining in a formal yet comfortable atmosphere. Los Colibris offers authentic dishes prepared by Chef Elia Herrera who has created her entire menu using family recipes from her hometown in Veracruz, Mexico. Service is warm, hospitable and efficient. We are here to cater to your every wish and always strive to provide an exceptional dining experience.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
International, Contemporary Mexican, Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday : Closed
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 979-7717
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Elia Herrera
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Simcoe
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Public parking located just south of us on Wellington, west of Simcoe. Parking also available on either side of Duncun on Richmond.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
St. Andrews Subway Station
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 1172 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

The food was excellent. Our server very good. I was very pleasantly surprised to learn that the kitchen can substitute cashew cheese for those with a dairy allergy like me. Very noisy until the theatre crowd left.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Pretty good food and nice place for the reasonable money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Friendly, attentive (but not intrusive) staff and outstanding food and cocktails. Had the chiles en nogada - it was spectacular! The anchorita (ancho chile margarita) was refreshing, tangy, and just the right level of heat. Wish I lived in Toronto, because I'd love to explore the menu further.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Wonderful and flavorful food!! Been twice now and will continue to visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Easily one of the best meals I have had in a Toronto restaurant. Right up there with dining experiences I have had in New York, London, Paris, and Rome.
Pre-theatre dinner crowd is big (because of location) but tapers off to quiet dining after 8pm. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The staff is so nice and helpful and courteous. The menu items are so well done and they are great with food allergies and substitutions. We asked for sides of plantains and rice and they happily obliged.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We were pleasantly surprised by how flavourful our meals were. Having vegan and vegetarian options is a must and they have many choices. My vegan special of the day was a stuffed zucchini in a mole sauce that was delicious. My Pablano rice was amazing! The serving sizes were large. We will go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The new menu is even better than the old menu. Chef Elia has worked real magic. Standouts for us were the Camarones al Chintextle - the classic Oaxacan flavors perfectly recreated, the Pulpo Encebollado - incredibly tender charred octopus, and the Carne Asada - the juicy and tender marinated meat cooked to perfection, the chorizo rojo, the grilled panela cheese and the incredible frijoles. We thought we would miss the Arrachera but this dish is even better.
Go often, try everything. That’s our plan.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Second time here and the service was the same 5 out of 5. Food was amazing as well as service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Service friendly, prompt, knowledgeable. Food tasty, colourful, well plated. Drinks just fine

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Went here before a show at the Royal Alex with my staff.
We found the restaurant interesting in its decor.
Our appetizers were quite good. The meals were also tasty, everyone liked their meals. But no one felt they would come back and order their meal again.
I get the impression everyone was glad they went, but would try something else next time.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Food came too fast despite asking that it be spaced out

Salad had way to much dressing and was soggy


We ordered a whole fish to spilt between 2 and asked them to filet and remove bones. They said they didn’t do that

When we needed the bill to leave for an event we had to wait for a long time then had to eventually ask

I had brought a friend as I have been a regular but won’t go back and neither will she.

Very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

As always, Los Colibris was fantastic. They helped to accommodate our group and made our dining experience a memorable one. I do find the restaurant loud, but in the front where we were sitting they are able to turn the sound down to make it easier to talk, which was kind of them and made our evening stand out. The staff were great and helpful, and the food was amazing as always.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Overall okay. Had sent a message about celebrating our anniversary and my friends fortieth and nothing was acknowledged. Food was hit and miss. Would go somewhere else for Mexican next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Best restaurant in Toronto! The new menu is brilliant and Chef Ela and her team always do a fantastic job! A big thank you to Gial (sorry if we miss spelled his name)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The food selections were very unique and healthy. And the server was very knowledgeable and nice. Lovely alternative to the typical pubs and Italian restaurants in the Theatre District.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

I made reservations here for a pre-theatre, birthday dinner for my mom. Everything was delicious. We mmmm’d and awe’d the entire meal. The service was attentive, friendly and helpful. We’d totally recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

We had a great time! Loved the food, loved the service! Gael, our server, was wonderful! He was helpful, knowledgable, courteous & friendly. The app's and entrees were amazing and we loved the variety (& creativity) of desserts. We'll definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Very welcoming, professional service with amazingly delicious food, great vine list and a dessert are just fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

I went with a friend before a concert at Roy Thomson Hall.
Very nice lounge and bar area.
Delicious and inventive food.
Excellent margaritas. Excellent service. I will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

From the moment that we were greeted until we left, we were treated very special. The food was amazing and our server was extremely knowledgeable about the menu. When we were leaving, I saw the executive chef, Elia, and thanked her for an excellent meal. She has a great vision control in the kitchen

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

As a Mexican-Canadian I can say that is hard to find a restaurant like Colibris. Exquisite AUTENTIC Mexican. A must go restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Server was excellent. Food was overpriced for portion size. Have had better Mexican food. Margaritas were delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

To us Los Colibris is a hidden gem in the city. I have never seen it empty so it is well known, but I don't think it yet has the status of some restaurants in Toronto where you know it when you hear the name. Too many people I tell about the restaurant have never heard of it. This is a pity because it stands against some of the best restaurants in Toronto in our humble opinion. The dishes appear "simple" and "uncomplicated" but the flavours are anything but simple and uncomplicated. The depth of flavour that is in each dish is outstanding. We have now eaten at Los Colibirs about 5 times and it has never disappointed. Now, regarding the service - they do a great job at raising the level of service you receive. Your service is attentive but not invasive if you know what I mean. There are eyes on your table all the time and they know just when to approach. Great restaurant, great food, great experience - always. Well done Los Colibirs TEAM!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Two of the four of us are chefs. Although the menu sounded interesting, we thought it was totally over rated.
None of the food was hot.
Tamales were dry and overcooked
Ceviche was just raw shrimp not even slightly "cooked" by the citrus. Sauce had NO citrus flavour.
Tortilla soup was even disappointing!
Altogether I'm amazed at it's rating.
On top of that the person we phoned to say we would be 15 or so minutes late did not even pass it on to the reservation desk.
The restaurant itself is quite beautiful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The place needs a little TLC. Menus were grungy, seating had lots of spots on it and bathroom very smelly.
Food was good - but the above did take away from the experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We have enjoyed dinning at the restaurant in the past. But the service was disappointing this time. First the server brought the order for the next table. Then we waited for an hour for the food to be ready. Since this was a pre-concert dinner,we had to rush out of there.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The food was bland and room temperature. We informed the server about allergens, and still encountered those allergens in our meal, leading to a spoiled evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

There were 4 of us in our group and we were going to the theatre after the meal. Service was excellent and the Marg's were imaginative and tasty. The shrimp ceviche was delicious. Definitely a return visit is in order.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Thank you for making it special for Christie's celebration. much appreciated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Tasty, fresh food and lovely knowledgeable service. The decor is fabulous and the noise level is moderate. A great choice for a pre-show dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Absolutely delicious food. Service was very friendly and attentive. Would love to go back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great food and delicious vegetarian options. It was great to see Chef Elia in action! We will definitely be back soon and want to try the new menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The food was unexpectedly delicious. I had my doubts about dining in the theatre district but I had seen the chef de cuisine on top Chef Canada and she did such interesting cooking but I wanted to try the restaurant. The food exceeded expectations very delicious. A great modern take on traditional Mexican food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We had a wonderful experience and the food we ordered was exquisite. The beef brisket and the tres leches cake were amazing and pair so well with the classic margarita. Will plan a trip back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The restaurant ambiance is lovely and the staff are very friendly and attentive. The food was amazing! It was difficult to decide what to have as all the choices sounded delicious and everything we ordered was!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

The food was delicious. It was our first meal there, and the waiter's suggestions were helpful and right on. We were not crowded in the room where we were seated, so conversation was easy. So many restaurants are too noisy. Nice decor--I liked the deep-red walls.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

I was truly impressed with the service and food. Everyone from the chef, the waitress to the bartender were extremely committed to making our evening wonderful and to satisfy our specific tastes and requirements.

Would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Our first visit and it was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

First time there. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
30

Tweets by Los Colibris