Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Los Colibris

Upscale dining in a formal yet comfortable atmosphere. Los Colibris offers authentic dishes prepared by Chef Elia Herrera who has created her entire menu using family recipes from her hometown in Veracruz, Mexico. Service is warm, hospitable and efficient. We are here to cater to your every wish and always strive to provide an exceptional dining experience.

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Contemporary Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday - Closed

Cross Street:
Simcoe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-7717

Website:
http://www.loscolibris.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking located just south of us on Wellington, west of Simcoe. Parking also available on either side of Duncun on Richmond.

Public Transit:
St. Andrews Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Both the elegant atmosphere and delicious cuisine make Los Colibrís the ideal place to host an event. Whether you are looking for an intimate dinner or a corporate social event, our experienced team of professionals will ensure that your every need is attended to and that you leave delighted.

Los Colibris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (44)
Special Occasion (42)
Creative Cuisine (40)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Authentic (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Romantic (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Tapas (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (20)
Business Meals (18)
Modern Decor (14)
Fun (14)
Spicy (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Family Style (11)
Casual (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Private Room (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
836 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

We had planned to eat at the place downstairs but it was too noisy so we went upstairs. The food was amazing and the service was very pleasant. Wine was overpriced but the food was well priced. I will go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I've been to the restaurant 3 times . I only like the dessert .

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great margaritas. And the food - delicious. 4 of us shared 5 smaller dishes plus tortilla soup and wonderful ceviche. Special mention has to be made of the Torta de Elota and the spicy shrimp. The churro dessert was the perfect end to the meal.

Tags: ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great upscale Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

kelsey provided great service
we were going to theatre and she managed all well
hanna handled the wine expertly
enjoyed so much we came back to bar after for drinks!
JB

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We were a group if 10 people, service was great, margaritas were some of the best in the city. My judgement on the quality of the mexican food starts with guacamole and they have mastered it. Then after that all the food was great. Really good ceviche.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This was our 4th time this restaurant. We had another fantastic meal. The Mexican Cuisine is amazing. Would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting a phenomenal experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Service was excellent. Friendly, attentive staff.
Location is fine, ambiance was okay. If you are looking for livelier, head downstairs.
Food was disappointing though; didn't particularly enjoy any of the dishes that I had and found them to be a little overpriced given the quality (guacamole/chips was so-so, empanadas were not very good, flat iron steak was alright).
There aren't a lot of Mexican/Spanish options downtown, so had high hopes for this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Made a reservation last minute for 8 pm but change of schedule,got there 90 minutes early .
Waited at the bar till they can arrange a table for us, in the meantime ,started with appetizers and drinks.
The guacamole with pomegranate chips and the avocado shrimp were excellent and tried a couple of their yummy drinks.
After a 45 minute wait ( it was packed) we were ushered to our table, the waiter suggested that,1 more appetizer and 1 main course would be sufficient ,he was right,couple more drinks put and end to a fantastic night out.
Everything from the staff , food, service and ambiance was great.
If in mood for Mexican with a twist,do not hesitate.
Will be back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Awesome food! Great service! Thanks Andrew, our waitres that has suggested so many delicious dishes!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The place was great overall. We had margaritas at the bar before being seated and they had few different flavors that were all very good (each of us had a different one). The menu had a lot of variety and something I've never seen before Carnitas de Pato. Unfortunately, it was a plate for 2 people and I couldn't convince anyone in our group to share it with me. I had the steak and it was delicious. All four of us loved our entrees. I wish the menu had a few more options for entrees though (that's the reason for 4 stars instead of 5). If you are in downtown Toronto and looking for Mexican food, you need to try Los Colibris.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 29, 2017

My first visit and now a new favourite! Excellent food and service. I went in expecting high end tacos, but instead I found high end cuisine. The Churro Sandwich for dessert was just amazing!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 28, 2017

One of the better meals I have had in Toronto and I go to a lot of critically acclaimed restaurants in Toronto

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We went for a pre-theatre dinner. The greet staff asked if we were going to the theatre & what time we wanted to leave by. The server was friendly & helpful. The food was excellent

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Best fine dining Mexican I have every had and I am Mexican! I ate much more than my capacity and it was totally worth it. Prices and serving sizes were reasonable. Wish there were a few more vegetarian options to bring my vegetarian Dad and brother one day.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Was not impressed. I was there a few years ago and it was good. The food was mediocre. $11 for a teeny tiny dessert was disappointing. Won't be rushing back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Rajas poblanos was alright, guarache de pulpo was the best part of my meal, the lamb shank was good and tres leche cake was the perfect end to our delicious meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great restaurant! Great service! Excellent guava margarita! Queso fundido is to die for! Great chicken empanadas and tortilla soup!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Absolutely incredible!! Service was great and the food was divine! So happy to have found this place. Such authentic Mexican food and those tortillas!? Wow.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A little overpriced. Also service can be improved!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everything was excellent - the staff were so thoughtful and friendly - Sebastian our server was great! The food was fabulous - especially the guacamole! The atmosphere was very nice inside. They really helped to make our special occasion dinner truly special!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Reception girl was not welcoming. Did not even respond to "good evening" until we said it second time and without even eye contact keeping her eye on screen while she was doing something.

The hot appetizers were not good at all while the Ceviches were good

Waiter was very good and hospitable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent service, very knowledgeable. Lots of flavour. My favourite was the salmon ceviche!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Prompt and friendly service. Dim lighting music in the background not too loud. And of. Purse delicious food

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Delicious. We had the corn soup, cod ceviche, stuffed pablano pepper and spicy shrimp. Everything was fresh and delicious with subtle combinations of flavours that made every bite spectacular. The classic margaritas were just right - not sweet or fake, just the right blend of tequila, cointreau and lime. There were many items on the list that are made gluten free or could be adapted and quite a few vegetarian options as well. I'll definitely be back. Yum!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We love Los Colibris. It's our favorite pre-theatre restaurant. We love the food and the service and enjoy every single item on the menu, always!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was not good. Appetizer was far too salty, but the mains were under seasoned bland and boring. Our server was kind and removed one item from the bill as we didn't eat more than a few bites. Very disappointing on my 30ty birthday. Will never go back and will not recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Highly recommend this place. Great location and Great Food.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

best time ever!! my enjoy very much I see you guys soon!!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Not sure what was better, the food or the service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The restaurant has a beautiful atmosphere, and the staff was exceptional, very accommodating.
We started with the guava margarita, great flavour!
The tortilla soup was nice, a bit too much tomato base for me, also was limited on chicken, cilantro and texture, but the presentation was good.
We both had the chicken, layered on mole sauces. The balance of the chicken flavouring was extremely abundant with garlic. It was difficult to eat, not allowing the other flavours to come through. The restaurant was very gracious dealing with this, and I would try this restaurant again. Thank-you to the staff!

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I'm from the states and travel to Toronto for business on occasion. I was there this past week, which happened to also be over my birthday. This was my second time to Los Colibris and again, the chef did not disappoint! I have traveled many places in Mexico and throughout Latin America and can say that without a doubt, the quality and execution of each dish is on point! From the queso fundido to the chiles en nogada - and of course tres leches for dessert, I enjoyed every bite! I have to add that the the chiles en nogada are as good, if not better, than the first time I tried this dish in Puebla, Mexico. The ambiance, staff and entire experience is memorable each time and I hope to be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were in a hurry (like half the other people on theatre row) but the server was calm and gracious and got us served & out with time to spare. The food quality was decent but portion sizes were really small for the price, for a $30+ entree I would have expected more but that's what you get in the tourist district.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food is delicious can be ordered Tapas style. The waiter Andrew did a great job explains the menu and with his suggestions. Overall great upscale restaurant with authentic flavours.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was very good however several more meatless options would have been appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Attentive service. Friendly and fast. Food was tasty. A little pricey, but it's a nice place with a creative chef.

Salad with pineapple dressing: fruity and refreshing. Nice spin on a chef's salad.

Tilapia with rice, chayote, and Veracruz sauce: Quite tasty. Rice had a characteristic fishy flavour, which I decided that I liked.

El Jardin de Wookie: Good, but not filling enough for a main. Broccoli could have been roasted instead of steamed.

I'd love to see more vegetarian mains.

Churro was hollow and greasy. I'm surprised.

The tres lèches cake was amazing. I'd go again just for that. The sorbet takes away from the purity of the tres lèches flavour, but it's sitting on a pineapple chip so it can be enjoyed as a side rather than as part of the cake.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was good however pieces of fish in ceviche were huge! Need to cut them up so you can scoop

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This is our regular dining venue when we go to the theatre or symphony. I always take some new guests with me to introduce them to the best in Toronto. They are never disappointed.
The service is outstanding but not over bearing and the food selection is full of new experiences Our server recommended some great new dishes including the salmon ceviche, outstanding enough that I was asked to share with my guests. Can`t wait to treat more friends and family soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always the best in Toronto in Fine Mexican food!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wonderful to have a new take on what Mexican cuisine can be. Interesting flavours and textures with a lot of style yet still obviously Mexican. We had all the items on the Winterlicious menu without a weak item. The service was superb, suited to a fine dining experience.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.