About Los Colibris

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 1K4
View Larger Map

Upscale dining in a formal yet comfortable atmosphere. Los Colibris offers authentic dishes prepared by Chef Elia Herrera who has created her entire menu using family recipes from her hometown in Veracruz, Mexico. Service is warm, hospitable and efficient. We are here to cater to your every wish and always strive to provide an exceptional dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Contemporary Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday - Closed

Cross Street:
Simcoe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-7717

Website:
http://www.loscolibris.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking located just south of us on Wellington, west of Simcoe. Parking also available on either side of Duncun on Richmond.

Public Transit:
St. Andrews Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Both the elegant atmosphere and delicious cuisine make Los Colibrís the ideal place to host an event. Whether you are looking for an intimate dinner or a corporate social event, our experienced team of professionals will ensure that your every need is attended to and that you leave delighted.

Los Colibris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (60)
Pre/post Theatre (49)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Good for a Date (46)
Authentic (45)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Groups (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Business Meals (25)
Romantic (25)
Tapas (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Cozy (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Spicy (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Casual (15)
Fun (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Bar Seating (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Private Room (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Family Style (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious. We had the corn soup, cod cev ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious. We had the corn soup, cod ceviche, stuffed pablano pepper and spicy shrimp. Everything was fresh and delicious with subtle combinations of flavours that made every bite spectacular. The classic margaritas were just right - not sweet or fake, just the right blend of tequila, cointreau and lime. There were many items on the list that are made gluten free or could be adapted and quite a few vegetarian options as well. I'll definitely be back. Yum!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Los Colibris. It's our favorite ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

We love Los Colibris. It's our favorite pre-theatre restaurant. We love the food and the service and enjoy every single item on the menu, always!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not good. Appetizer was far ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was not good. Appetizer was far too salty, but the mains were under seasoned bland and boring. Our server was kind and removed one item from the bill as we didn't eat more than a few bites. Very disappointing on my 30ty birthday. Will never go back and will not recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

best time ever!! my enjoy very much I se ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

best time ever!! my enjoy very much I see you guys soon!!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure what was better, the food or th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Not sure what was better, the food or the service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant has a beautiful atmospher ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The restaurant has a beautiful atmosphere, and the staff was exceptional, very accommodating.

We started with the guava margarita, great flavour!

The tortilla soup was nice, a bit too much tomato base for me, also was limited on chicken, cilantro and texture, but the presentation was good.

We both had the chicken, layered on mole sauces. The balance of the chicken flavouring was extremely abundant with garlic. It was difficult to eat, not allowing the other flavours to come through. The restaurant was very gracious dealing with this, and I would try this restaurant again. Thank-you to the staff!

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm from the states and travel to Toront ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I'm from the states and travel to Toronto for business on occasion. I was there this past week, which happened to also be over my birthday. This was my second time to Los Colibris and again, the chef did not disappoint! I have traveled many places in Mexico and throughout Latin America and can say that without a doubt, the quality and execution of each dish is on point! From the queso fundido to the chiles en nogada - and of course tres leches for dessert, I enjoyed every bite! I have to add that the the chiles en nogada are as good, if not better, than the first time I tried this dish in Puebla, Mexico. The ambiance, staff and entire experience is memorable each time and I hope to be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in a hurry (like half the other ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were in a hurry (like half the other people on theatre row) but the server was calm and gracious and got us served & out with time to spare. The food quality was decent but portion sizes were really small for the price, for a $30+ entree I would have expected more but that's what you get in the tourist district.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The food is delicious can be ordered Tap ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food is delicious can be ordered Tapas style. The waiter Andrew did a great job explains the menu and with his suggestions. Overall great upscale restaurant with authentic flavours.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good however several more ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was very good however several more meatless options would have been appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Attentive service. Friendly and fast. F ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Attentive service. Friendly and fast. Food was tasty. A little pricey, but it's a nice place with a creative chef.

Salad with pineapple dressing: fruity and refreshing. Nice spin on a chef's salad.

Tilapia with rice, chayote, and Veracruz sauce: Quite tasty. Rice had a characteristic fishy flavour, which I decided that I liked.

El Jardin de Wookie: Good, but not filling enough for a main. Broccoli could have been roasted instead of steamed.

I'd love to see more vegetarian mains.

Churro was hollow and greasy. I'm surprised.

The tres lèches cake was amazing. I'd go again just for that. The sorbet takes away from the purity of the tres lèches flavour, but it's sitting on a pineapple chip so it can be enjoyed as a side rather than as part of the cake.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was good however pieces of fish in ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was good however pieces of fish in ceviche were huge! Need to cut them up so you can scoop

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This is our regular dining venue when we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This is our regular dining venue when we go to the theatre or symphony. I always take some new guests with me to introduce them to the best in Toronto. They are never disappointed.

The service is outstanding but not over bearing and the food selection is full of new experiences Our server recommended some great new dishes including the salmon ceviche, outstanding enough that I was asked to share with my guests. Can`t wait to treat more friends and family soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best in Toronto in Fine Mexic ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always the best in Toronto in Fine Mexican food!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful to have a new take on what Mex ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wonderful to have a new take on what Mexican cuisine can be. Interesting flavours and textures with a lot of style yet still obviously Mexican. We had all the items on the Winterlicious menu without a weak item. The service was superb, suited to a fine dining experience.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very good and served appropriat ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was very good and served appropriately. The server was knowledgeable and explained everything with great patience. We would go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, exceptional service. It's a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food, exceptional service. It's a gem in the city that I didn't know about and will go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Though a wee bit noisy, our table was ex ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Though a wee bit noisy, our table was excellent and the service was fast, informed and professional.

The food, however, was out of this world. Appetizers though desert, they did not miss a beat, everything was simply exceptional. Try the chicken breast! Boy, was that good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is good just overpriced for the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food is good just overpriced for the quality and a quantity of the food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent food and service. Already plan ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent food and service. Already planning a return visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

very nice desert … the pumpkin one. Main ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

very nice desert … the pumpkin one. Main course is delicious. Apertizeer was alright but very unique. Try the soup. Overall very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent as always. Waiter was particul ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent as always. Waiter was particularly great! Thinking of repeating for winterlicious lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit in 2 weeks. I w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was my second visit in 2 weeks. I was just as impressed. Very tasty food, good wine selection and helpful, attentive staff. Nice sophisticated decor, great for a business meal or special occasion. On a busy weekend your server may not always be immediately available, but that wasn't a big problem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a great place to hangout with my ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was a great place to hangout with my friends. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great dinner - lamb shank was excellent ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great dinner - lamb shank was excellent as was choice of appetizers. Wonderful evening was had by all

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was very good, the waiter br ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The service was very good, the waiter brought the food in a timely manner, the ambiance was nice, but I have to say that even though we are in winterlicious time, I think they should still offer the normal menu. I decided to go to the place because I wanted to try a specific plate I saw online and I couldn't. Winterlicious meny was good.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were exceptional. C ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food and service were exceptional. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. Good recommendations fro ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent food. Good recommendations from the server. Greatly enjoyed the experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers were friendly and helpful wi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The servers were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The food came quickly and was delicious. One friend did not come with us as he does not like spicy food but we found that the food was not spicy so we will be going back and taking him with us!! Everything was delicious although a bit more expensive than expected. It is perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

We went to celebrate my friend's birthda ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We went to celebrate my friend's birthday and the Los Colibris was a great place to do so. The Winterlicious menu was really good - and good value. Our only complaint was that the first course (both dishes) were not heated through sufficiently.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor is very beautiful. The meal wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The decor is very beautiful. The meal was okay, I would choose other items on the menu. Their sister restaurant is a lot more lively if you're looking for someplace to go with music and vibrant atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Not trying to be mean, but the experienc ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Not trying to be mean, but the experience was average. Service was bland, unhelpful, uninterested. Server would vanish for what felt like hours at a time. Greeting and drink order took an eternity. Completely unhelpful with the menu. Going to Hamilton to try out their cool restos and find something that isn't so boring.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

This wasn't what we were expecting, and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This wasn't what we were expecting, and we were slightly disappointed with the selection and quality of food that was offered as part of the winterlicious event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Great food and fairly fast. Waited 10- ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food and fairly fast.

Waited 10-15min past our reservation to be seated. Server mysteriously replaced after taking the drink order. Recieved someone elses dish but was allowed to keep it for free. By the end of the night, we could hear and feel the bass from the pseudo club/bar/taco place downstairs.

New server was good and food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and location if going to ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food and location if going to theatre. Well worth a visit. OUTSTANDING

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of 5 shared 5-6 dishes includi ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our group of 5 shared 5-6 dishes including appetizers and a couple of mains. All of the food was extremely tasty. We also shared a few desserts which were outstanding. We'll be back again as we're never disappointed with the service or the food.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was f**king great. Waiter stopp ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was f**king great. Waiter stopped me from over-ordering and was very helpful. Fantastic experience. Cocktails were strong! Yum yum yum. 5 stars

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, , Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and the food were excellent. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The service and the food were excellent. We also needed vegetarian options and they didn't disappoint.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed having Mexican food that wasn't ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Enjoyed having Mexican food that wasn't typical Canadianized Mexican food. Delicious. And the server's recommendations were much appreciated.

Tags: Tapas, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed everything we ordered and had ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We enjoyed everything we ordered and had excellent service!! Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.