Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Los Colibris

Upscale dining in a formal yet comfortable atmosphere. Los Colibris offers authentic dishes prepared by Chef Elia Herrera who has created her entire menu using family recipes from her hometown in Veracruz, Mexico. Service is warm, hospitable and efficient. We are here to cater to your every wish and always strive to provide an exceptional dining experience.

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Contemporary Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday - Closed

Cross Street:
Simcoe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-7717

Website:
http://www.loscolibris.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking located just south of us on Wellington, west of Simcoe. Parking also available on either side of Duncun on Richmond.

Public Transit:
St. Andrews Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Both the elegant atmosphere and delicious cuisine make Los Colibrís the ideal place to host an event. Whether you are looking for an intimate dinner or a corporate social event, our experienced team of professionals will ensure that your every need is attended to and that you leave delighted.

Los Colibris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (53)
Special Occasion (46)
Fit for Foodies (45)
See All
Creative Cuisine (44)
Pre/post Theatre (43)
Authentic (35)
Romantic (31)
Good for Groups (28)
Cozy (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Tapas (21)
Business Meals (21)
Spicy (19)
Fun (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Casual (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Seasonal (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
People Watching (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Family Style (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
916 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a birthday dinner for my sister and this was our first time. We had a great time. The ambiance was really nice and the good was tasty. It was a a pleasant surprise for us all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Had reservations and we were seated with minimal wait. It was my wife and I and we were placed in the back corner in a round table for 4 when plenty of two seaters were around. I did not want to make a fuss so did not request another table. Our waiter was pleasant, attentive, and informative. Service was exceptional overrall. The food came in a timely manner. Good tasting food but nothing I would rave about. We had a main fish dish and cod ceviche. Although the guacamole was fantastic. Presentation was mediocre. Food was fairly pricey. Beers were close to 10 bucks. Poor value. Likely would not eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

The Summerlicious menu has great options. The cod ceviche was a refreshing start to the evening, and the dulce de leche dessert was a perfect finish. The portion sizes were exactly right for a satisfying meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I were here for our 11 anniversary, it was a great evening, the service was excellent and the food fantastic. The Latin music was a little loud but enjoyable. I'll recommend for a date especially if you going to a night club after, the place is in the rumba area in Toronto. The e atmosphere is quiet nice and warm and the prices are not that expensive. I will be back to Los Colibris for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Los Colibris didn't disappoint. We have been there in the past for dinner but wanted to try it for Summerlicious given that our last experience was amazing. The food was as expected, spot on. They also got back to me promptly and accommodate when we needed to bump up the reservation and add a couple more people. I would recommend Los Colibris to anyone looking for great food and service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

friendly and considerate excellent customer service and food - lovely music and atmosphere - nice seating arrangements a lovely experience for anyone any age great new place to try !

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Cozy, Hot Spot, Authentic, Organic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Romantic, Tapas, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great atmosphere, however it was a tab bit too loud. The food was delicious but also pricy. The desserts are a must try!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The specialty margaritas were wonderful, the ceviche authentic and the main course was creative with deliciously interesting combination of well harmonized flavours. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 17, 2017

My wife and I went to Los Colibris for dinner after getting married and were very impressed. My wife is from Mexico and absolutely loved the authentic yet elevated Mexican cuisine and the music. We started with some guacamole to share. Blended in with the usual ingredients were what seemed to be pomegranate seeds or something similar and they added a unique sweetness. The guacamole was served both with traditional corn chips as well as taro chips. My wife had the Allegria (a chicken dish) and I had the arrachera, which was easily the best flat iron steak I've had in my life. While we didn't have dessert, we did each have a drink which we enjoyed. My wife had a classic margarita and I had a house tequila cocktail. If we are ever back in Toronto and looking for a classier dining experience, we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was presented well but the flavours were just not there. Expected better so we were a bit disappointed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Interesting and delicious Mexican food. We enjoyed our Summerlicious meals there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Delicious food and attentive service,
Ambiance is not bad .. I loved chicken tacos...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Morelos)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Comida riquísima , nos hace recordar México y el sabor de comida casera. 100% recomendable. mi familia y yo somos fan de la comida que aquí preparan. 100 de calificación a la chef.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Terrible service. Our waiter disappears after offering water. Food is seriously over priced, not even as good as Mexican fast food. DO NOT GO!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

First time trying. I wish the hostess was more pleasant when we arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Lovely experience. I enjoyed the dinner, the chef did a great job. However, for those who do not like salty and savoury foods with spice this may not be your place. Otherwise, this is a place to dine at for a change of pace.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great food! and the staff come over to explain to you what you're eating when the food comes out. Order the chicken, don't order the fish (too small portions for summerlicious!) -- very very attentive staff. Would come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The waiter was amazing and always smiling.

Food was delicious.

Totally a place for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

the service was outstanding and the food was so tasty- we ordered the vegatarian empanadas to share and the queso and the guacamole-all delicous as were all our mains-the churros were off the hook delicious and i usually dont like churros-as was the tres leches cake with the mango ice cream-all four of us loved the food and would go back-margaritas were delicous too

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We have been dining here for many years and we were very disappointed in this last visit. The restaurant has stopped serving a complete plate with the main including veggies and starch. Our dinners were served plain with just the main (fish or meat) thrown on (literally) and nothing else on the plate to balance it out. They want you to order sides to bring up the price! The plate looked bad and it made us furious! It will be our last visit. BTW, we spent over $500 for four people and went home dissatisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

SPEACHLESS! One of the best restaurants my husband and I have ever been to. Every dish was so flavourful and creative. Already trying to find a reason to head back! Recommendations: the stuffed pablano pepper entre and the strip steak entre was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The online menu doesn't completely match the in-restaurant menu, so don't have your mind set on anything before hand. Also, there's a lot more appetizer options on the in-restaurant menu. The atmosphere is intimate with its dark lighting, but is great for families, groups of friends, and dates.

The food was delicious and our waitress was the best! We had the grilled shrimp and chicken empanadas for appetizers. The shrimp was cooked perfectly, and the seasoning was delicious and had a little bit of a spicy kick. The pastry on the empanadas was nice and flaky like you'd want it to be, and the chicken was seasoned well. Around the table, we had the Arrachera (flat iron steak), Mixiote de Cordero (lamb shank), and El Jardin de Wookie (vegetarian dish) - there were two veggie dish options, and veggie sides, so there was enough variety for vegetarians. The steaks were cooked to a perfect medium as requested, and the dish was a symphony of flavours - definitely the best of the three. The lamb shank was good, but I have never had an amazing lamb shank - it's always an okay dish. The veggie dish consisted of root vegetables with sweet potato croquettes, which were definitely my favourite thing from all the entrees. The croquettes were nice and crispy on the outside and soft and gooey with a little bit of cheese on the inside. I would go back and just get a bunch of those as an appetizer. For dessert we shared two dishes, but I don't remember the names. One was a churro ice cream sandwich, which was fine. The other dessert had chocolate caramel in it's description, but it was a bit misleading. I was expecting chocolate or chocolate cake, but it was just some sort of chocolate crumble. With it, you get to choose from 6 different sorbets, so we had coconut, rice (which was actually really nice and creamy), and soursop, all of which were great. So although it wasn't what I was expecting, I was still very happy with it. It was nice sweet but light ending to dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Spicy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was very good. Service was slow and disorganized. Host recognized the problem and took some items off the bill even though I didn't request that which was much appreciated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food had no flare, lacked seasoning. The experience in the food was disappointing. The service and ambiance was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had a great time.. food and drinks was awesome 😋

Tags: Cozy, Spicy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our server was amazing and the food was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Wow. Just wow. I will be back here every single time I visit Toronto, period.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Another fabulous meal at Los Colibris. The staff are very welcoming, the service is outstanding and the food is a taste sensation. A must-try restaurant.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The waiter was great but the fiid was disappointing and not really authentic

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A great experience overall. Enjoyed the soup, chicken and cinnamon donut with ice cream from a prix fixe theatre menu. Portion of the main course was a bit too small, but the taste and quality did not disappoint us. Would recommend this retaurant for its pleasant food and service.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

second time here and just as great as the first time! Love the atmosphere, servers are great, chef is uber talented with amazing flavour palate!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Modern Mexican restaurant with dishes full of creativity and flair. We (2 people) shared a bunch of appetisers (5) and a dessert rather than have mains. The special cerviche was particularly good, but generally we were impressed by the variety in the dishes. The hostess gave us some good wine recommendations and the pre-dinner margaritas were also excellent. The food has good heat and lots of rich, savoury notes. The churros 'sandwich' is evil, in a good way. We would definitely return next time we're in town.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

A fun enjoyable enivorment! Staff was very friendly! We had nut allergies to vegan individuals and they were very accommodating and helpful on the menu! I would go back in a heart beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I need to commend this restaurant for the impeccable service we have received in each of our two visits. It is rare for the waiting process to run so seamlessly, a lost art in most restaurant that shines so well at Los Colibris. The food vs. price is very well balanced and all menu items offer their own unique flavour to the dining experience. The cocktails are absolutely outstanding, I was absolutely blown away by them which is another rarety in today's restaurants.

My only criticism would be that the wine list could use some improvement, but this pales in comparison to the overall dining experience provided.

You can tell this is a very well run restaurant making it a very dependable pre-theatre dinner option. Bravo!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Thanks for a memorable meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I went to Los Calibris with my wife and a common friend. We had reserved our table in advance. I was impressed with the food and the selections on the menu however the service was quite disappointing. I felt that the wait staff were not engaged in making this visit an experience that the price of the food promises. The primary wait staff was rude. Not sure i will personally go back even though the food was good. Service is also quite slow.. the place wasnt very busy so this was surprising and unexpected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We were a larger group celebrating a birthday! The private room was amazing. We loved it !!!! The service impeccable ( Branton). I believe was amazing. Handling the vegan questions. And timing of everything was incredible. .. . and the food was outstanding. Rave reviews from everyone in the group. Still talking about our dinner days later. We will all be back very soon:) thank you so much for an amazing experience. Elia we love Los Colibris. !!!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2017

They forgot to add the 18% tip. We gave 15% paid the bill and the manger came back as we were leaving for the 3% 😟 The food was just ok but the missteps with the tip left a bad taste in our mouths.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Best gourmet mexican food outside of Mexico City!

Definitely not a typical taco and nachos American interpretation of Mexican cuisine, but a true foodie exposure to the best the country has to offer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 6, 2017

A wonderful restaurant with creative Spanish/Mexican good quality food and near to the theatre.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.