Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Los Colibris

Upscale dining in a formal yet comfortable atmosphere. Los Colibris offers authentic dishes prepared by Chef Elia Herrera who has created her entire menu using family recipes from her hometown in Veracruz, Mexico. Service is warm, hospitable and efficient. We are here to cater to your every wish and always strive to provide an exceptional dining experience.

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Contemporary Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday - Closed

Cross Street:
Simcoe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-7717

Website:
http://www.loscolibris.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking located just south of us on Wellington, west of Simcoe. Parking also available on either side of Duncun on Richmond.

Public Transit:
St. Andrews Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Both the elegant atmosphere and delicious cuisine make Los Colibrís the ideal place to host an event. Whether you are looking for an intimate dinner or a corporate social event, our experienced team of professionals will ensure that your every need is attended to and that you leave delighted.

Los Colibris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (50)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for a Date (44)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (43)
Authentic (39)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Romantic (27)
Good for Groups (25)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Cozy (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Tapas (21)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fun (14)
Spicy (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Casual (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Private Room (7)
Family Style (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
822 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Best fine dining Mexican I have every had and I am Mexican! I ate much more than my capacity and it was totally worth it. Prices and serving sizes were reasonable. Wish there were a few more vegetarian options to bring my vegetarian Dad and brother one day.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Was not impressed. I was there a few years ago and it was good. The food was mediocre. $11 for a teeny tiny dessert was disappointing. Won't be rushing back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Rajas poblanos was alright, guarache de pulpo was the best part of my meal, the lamb shank was good and tres leche cake was the perfect end to our delicious meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great restaurant! Great service! Excellent guava margarita! Queso fundido is to die for! Great chicken empanadas and tortilla soup!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Absolutely incredible!! Service was great and the food was divine! So happy to have found this place. Such authentic Mexican food and those tortillas!? Wow.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A little overpriced. Also service can be improved!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everything was excellent - the staff were so thoughtful and friendly - Sebastian our server was great! The food was fabulous - especially the guacamole! The atmosphere was very nice inside. They really helped to make our special occasion dinner truly special!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Reception girl was not welcoming. Did not even respond to "good evening" until we said it second time and without even eye contact keeping her eye on screen while she was doing something.

The hot appetizers were not good at all while the Ceviches were good

Waiter was very good and hospitable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent service, very knowledgeable. Lots of flavour. My favourite was the salmon ceviche!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Prompt and friendly service. Dim lighting music in the background not too loud. And of. Purse delicious food

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Delicious. We had the corn soup, cod ceviche, stuffed pablano pepper and spicy shrimp. Everything was fresh and delicious with subtle combinations of flavours that made every bite spectacular. The classic margaritas were just right - not sweet or fake, just the right blend of tequila, cointreau and lime. There were many items on the list that are made gluten free or could be adapted and quite a few vegetarian options as well. I'll definitely be back. Yum!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We love Los Colibris. It's our favorite pre-theatre restaurant. We love the food and the service and enjoy every single item on the menu, always!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was not good. Appetizer was far too salty, but the mains were under seasoned bland and boring. Our server was kind and removed one item from the bill as we didn't eat more than a few bites. Very disappointing on my 30ty birthday. Will never go back and will not recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Highly recommend this place. Great location and Great Food.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

best time ever!! my enjoy very much I see you guys soon!!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Not sure what was better, the food or the service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The restaurant has a beautiful atmosphere, and the staff was exceptional, very accommodating.
We started with the guava margarita, great flavour!
The tortilla soup was nice, a bit too much tomato base for me, also was limited on chicken, cilantro and texture, but the presentation was good.
We both had the chicken, layered on mole sauces. The balance of the chicken flavouring was extremely abundant with garlic. It was difficult to eat, not allowing the other flavours to come through. The restaurant was very gracious dealing with this, and I would try this restaurant again. Thank-you to the staff!

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I'm from the states and travel to Toronto for business on occasion. I was there this past week, which happened to also be over my birthday. This was my second time to Los Colibris and again, the chef did not disappoint! I have traveled many places in Mexico and throughout Latin America and can say that without a doubt, the quality and execution of each dish is on point! From the queso fundido to the chiles en nogada - and of course tres leches for dessert, I enjoyed every bite! I have to add that the the chiles en nogada are as good, if not better, than the first time I tried this dish in Puebla, Mexico. The ambiance, staff and entire experience is memorable each time and I hope to be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were in a hurry (like half the other people on theatre row) but the server was calm and gracious and got us served & out with time to spare. The food quality was decent but portion sizes were really small for the price, for a $30+ entree I would have expected more but that's what you get in the tourist district.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food is delicious can be ordered Tapas style. The waiter Andrew did a great job explains the menu and with his suggestions. Overall great upscale restaurant with authentic flavours.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was very good however several more meatless options would have been appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Attentive service. Friendly and fast. Food was tasty. A little pricey, but it's a nice place with a creative chef.

Salad with pineapple dressing: fruity and refreshing. Nice spin on a chef's salad.

Tilapia with rice, chayote, and Veracruz sauce: Quite tasty. Rice had a characteristic fishy flavour, which I decided that I liked.

El Jardin de Wookie: Good, but not filling enough for a main. Broccoli could have been roasted instead of steamed.

I'd love to see more vegetarian mains.

Churro was hollow and greasy. I'm surprised.

The tres lèches cake was amazing. I'd go again just for that. The sorbet takes away from the purity of the tres lèches flavour, but it's sitting on a pineapple chip so it can be enjoyed as a side rather than as part of the cake.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was good however pieces of fish in ceviche were huge! Need to cut them up so you can scoop

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This is our regular dining venue when we go to the theatre or symphony. I always take some new guests with me to introduce them to the best in Toronto. They are never disappointed.
The service is outstanding but not over bearing and the food selection is full of new experiences Our server recommended some great new dishes including the salmon ceviche, outstanding enough that I was asked to share with my guests. Can`t wait to treat more friends and family soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always the best in Toronto in Fine Mexican food!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wonderful to have a new take on what Mexican cuisine can be. Interesting flavours and textures with a lot of style yet still obviously Mexican. We had all the items on the Winterlicious menu without a weak item. The service was superb, suited to a fine dining experience.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was very good and served appropriately. The server was knowledgeable and explained everything with great patience. We would go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food, exceptional service. It's a gem in the city that I didn't know about and will go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Though a wee bit noisy, our table was excellent and the service was fast, informed and professional.

The food, however, was out of this world. Appetizers though desert, they did not miss a beat, everything was simply exceptional. Try the chicken breast! Boy, was that good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food is good just overpriced for the quality and a quantity of the food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent food and service. Already planning a return visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

very nice desert … the pumpkin one. Main course is delicious. Apertizeer was alright but very unique. Try the soup. Overall very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent as always. Waiter was particularly great! Thinking of repeating for winterlicious lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was my second visit in 2 weeks. I was just as impressed. Very tasty food, good wine selection and helpful, attentive staff. Nice sophisticated decor, great for a business meal or special occasion. On a busy weekend your server may not always be immediately available, but that wasn't a big problem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was a great place to hangout with my friends. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great dinner - lamb shank was excellent as was choice of appetizers. Wonderful evening was had by all

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The service was very good, the waiter brought the food in a timely manner, the ambiance was nice, but I have to say that even though we are in winterlicious time, I think they should still offer the normal menu. I decided to go to the place because I wanted to try a specific plate I saw online and I couldn't. Winterlicious meny was good.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food and service were exceptional. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent food. Good recommendations from the server. Greatly enjoyed the experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The servers were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The food came quickly and was delicious. One friend did not come with us as he does not like spicy food but we found that the food was not spicy so we will be going back and taking him with us!! Everything was delicious although a bit more expensive than expected. It is perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.