About Los Colibris

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 1K4
View Larger Map

Upscale dining in a formal yet comfortable atmosphere. Los Colibris offers authentic dishes prepared by Chef Elia Herrera who has created her entire menu using family recipes from her hometown in Veracruz, Mexico. Service is warm, hospitable and efficient. We are here to cater to your every wish and always strive to provide an exceptional dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday - Closed

Cross Street:
Simcoe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-7717

Website:
http://www.loscolibris.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking located just south of us on Wellington, west of Simcoe. Parking also available on either side of Duncun on Richmond.

Public Transit:
St. Andrews Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris
Los Colibris

Promotions

Cirque de Soleil & Los Colibris bring you Luzia

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Cirque de Soleil & Los Colibris bring you Luzia

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

LUZIA by Cirque de Soleil Dinner & Show. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 2, 2016 - Oct 16, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. We have partnered with Cirque de Soleil. http://cirque.loscolibris.ca/. Special valid Aug 2, 2016 - Oct 16, 2016 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Both the elegant atmosphere and delicious cuisine make Los Colibrís the ideal place to host an event. Whether you are looking for an intimate dinner or a corporate social event, our experienced team of professionals will ensure that your every need is attended to and that you leave delighted.

Los Colibris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (150)
Special Occasion (133)
Romantic (86)
See All
Good for Groups (74)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Notable Wine List (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Great for Lunch (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
630 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've been about six times and previousl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

We've been about six times and previously enjoyed it but this time, not so much. The appetizers were bla and nothing special. They changed the octopus item and it was not nearly as good as before. Ditto for the stuffed pepper entrée. We treated two other couples so it was a big night out that was disappointing in terms of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Fabulous food, attentive and professiona ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous food, attentive and professional staff provided a wonderful evening for us. Traditional ceviche a hit, but the star of the night was the whole fresh fish perfectly cooked, unique and delicious sauce and vegetable accompaniments. It looked and tasted so good my dining companion "helped me" finish my dish,

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The starters that we had were fantastic ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The starters that we had were fantastic - ceviche blanco (shrimp and coconut) and el golondrino (lamb chipotle) . We were so excited for the mains, and then when they came, we were soo disappointed. The first was the chicken allegria - and it was just so boring after the fantastic starters. So bland and uninspiring. And the second main was I believe a lamb (I think) and it was just buried in cinnamon. Like really, someone sprinkled cinnamon on it, someone else came along and sprinkled more, and then the first came back and put some more dashes. :) We really should have said something, so it's our fault. I'm sure the restaurant would have replaced the dishes if we had pointed out problems, but we didn't. Drinks were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was excellent, very unique, not ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was excellent, very unique, not the regular tacos.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Went to Los Colibris for a wedding anniv ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went to Los Colibris for a wedding anniversary. The place has a romantic ambiance about it. Service was good but certainly expected more from the food, especially considering it had been listed as a top ten restaurant last year. There was one dish that stood out, which was a lamb appetizer, delicious. Also the duck for two was pretty good.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The food portion was ridiculous for what ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food portion was ridiculous for what we paid. I understand that it might have been a little more upscale, but the portion size was laughable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

The food was really unique with twists o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was really unique with twists on traditional Mexican fare. For example, the guacamole was adorned with pomegranate seeds and served with traditional and taro chips. Everything tasted really fresh and delicious. The service was amazing - our waiter was attentive and accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was quite pricey for what it wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was quite pricey for what it was. The appetizers was tasty - a very nice guacamole and other dishes. The vegetarian main course (the only one on the menu), which promised an assortment of vegetables - was more or less potatoes and yams in a fairly bland mole sauce. A fish offering was also quite bland. The wine by the glass selection was limited, costly and not particularly tasty. While it was enjoyable hearing the musicians playing outside, the food (at least the food that we ordered) did seem to be worth the high cost.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Los Colibris has a very interesting menu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Los Colibris has a very interesting menu, however beware, when the menu says spicy they mean

they are serving VERY SPICY.

To start your experience, definitely order the Guacamole and chips, lovely starter with a drink and table talk. We ordered Tijuana Caesar and the Ensalada de Col Rizadar (kale) salads both were great. The Caesar is a little heavy but delicious and served warm. The featured appetizer was a stuffed pepper, it was delicious but smaller than expected.

The ladies ordered appetizers as their main, Guarache de Pulpo en su Tinta (octopus) and Camarones a la Diabla (grilled spicy shrimp) Both were overwhelmingly spicy and pricey for value.

The gentlemen ordered the Tesmole Rojo de Cerdo(slow cooked pork shoulder which was substituted for pork belly that evening), very tasty. The featured special, a 10 once rib-eye steak was at best disappointing, certainly nothing to write home about.We skipped desert and coffee.

I have dined at Los Colibris many time and the over all experience is a nice place to dine with great attentive service. I think that the chef should get a handle on spicy , it was over the top. I recommend this restaurant but let your server know your tolerance for spicy so that your evening is everything you expect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a lovely (yet a tad pricey) meal ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a lovely (yet a tad pricey) meal after seeing Cirque! Our server was informative, gentlemanly and offered delicious suggestions. The blonde hostess/manager was amazing. She knows how to stand behind a business and truly sell it. She happily took our photo when we asked her to and she offered to escort us outside to the patio to extend our evening after dinner....give this woman a raise!! We enjoyed our dinner and will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Mexican restaurant in Toronto by a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Best Mexican restaurant in Toronto by a country mile - and that if from a Texan. Don't waste your time anyplace else. After dinner - go downstairs for an awesome Tequila bar!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was amazing. It was a da ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This restaurant was amazing. It was a date night for me and my boyfriend and we both enjoyed it. The food was incredible that I ordered two meals. I would definitely come back when I visit Toronto again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was very slow. Our waiter seemed ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Service was very slow. Our waiter seemed confused. We asked for dishes that were NOT spicy. He said that only two on the menu were spicy. I realize spice levels are subjective. We did not order those, but all 4 of our entrees were spicy, one very much so. We were told that the restaurant was run by all women, but the night we were there we only saw two. The chef was not there either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Great restaurant, consistently good. I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great restaurant, consistently good. I have been there a few times with a group of friends and everyone loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took at least 5-10 minutes for a wait ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It took at least 5-10 minutes for a waitress to come by even to introduce herself, let alone bring us water. The quick delivery of the food made up for it, but thought it should still be noted.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We tried the restaurant for summerliciou ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We tried the restaurant for summerlicious as we think this is a good way to try out a new restaurant to see if we would go there again. However, the food, especially the mains, were a bit disappointing. Also, we did not feel that the service was consistent. We had to wait a while to be seated - about 20 minutes from our reservation time. Once seated, it took a while to receive our drinks and get our order taken. I think they forgot about us at various points throughout the night but we saw others around us being attended to much better. So, we didn't get a good impression, unfortunately. Not sure if it was because we were doing the summerlicious menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food at this restaurant was exceptio ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food at this restaurant was exceptional. It was creative, great presentation and very original. But what really made the experience unforgettable was our server. He was knowledgeable, friendly, had a wonderful personality and a great sense of humour. I would recommend this restaurant without hesitation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I went to Los Colibros wi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My husband and I went to Los Colibros with two friends visiting from out of town. I was hoping to impress them (though I'd never been to Los Colibros before). We all loved it. The food was fantastic! Every single thing we ate we raved about.

The service was exceptional. Friendly, knowledgeable, and showing up at just the right times.

We plan to go back next time we are in Toronto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always - excellent wine lis ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent as always - excellent wine list, service was superb

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent service. Sasha, our waiter, w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

excellent service. Sasha, our waiter, was very friendly. Mr. de Dios was very nice and came to our table to check on us, food and service.

we enjoyed our dinner very much and I would definitely recommend this restaurant to all my friends and "no friends" to pay it a visit. it is so worth!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful waiter who made great ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a wonderful waiter who made great suggestions. Food was great. Dessert was amazing. Delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Mexican dishes and flavours. T ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Authentic Mexican dishes and flavours. The salmon ceviche tostada was fresh and light. The enchilada plate was flavorful and the sauce was rich and not too spicy. The strawberry tamal was an elegant take on an all-time favourite. Good and fast service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing. Definitely a hidden ge ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was amazing. Definitely a hidden gem. I would recommend this place to a friend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

I expected more - this was standard Mexi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I expected more - this was standard Mexican fare. Good but nothing to write home about!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Went to Los Colobris when they were open ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Went to Los Colobris when they were opened for Summerlicious lunch (normally only opened for dinner). Absolutely lovely food. The main I had (enchiladas) had real depth of flavour and the churros.....!!!.....Oh my goodness they were awesome - served warm. Very well done. Would be great if they were opened for lunch all the time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Worst customer service. Average food. I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Worst customer service. Average food. I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Loved it. Wish you were open for lunch! ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Loved it. Wish you were open for lunch! Your wait staff were fabulous. Good was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I absolutely love this place. The servic ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I absolutely love this place. The service is good and the food is great. What more can you ask for?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had lunch here for Summerlicious an I wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Had lunch here for Summerlicious an I was blown away. The restaurant is beautiful, the service was amazing, the waiter was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The food was amazing! I had the Enchiladas, Kale salad with candied ginger and pecans with mango dressing and for dessert the strawberry tamale with berry compote. My friend had the salmon ceviche and the beef and chorizo quesadilla and she also had the tamale for dessert. We all but licked our plates. We did not leave any food on our plates. Absolutely amazing! I will definitely go back!o

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the fish and the flat steak were ve ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Both the fish and the flat steak were very good. Ceviche was fresh and just like the ones I have had in Mexico. Would recommend this location if you want authentic Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The lunchtime Summerlicious experience h ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The lunchtime Summerlicious experience here was so good that I'll definitely come back again to try out their regular menu. The chicken in the enchiladas was extremely tender and moist, and the churros are very addictive. The excellent decor went hand in hand with the very gracious and prompt service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First visit but not my last. Was met by ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

First visit but not my last. Was met by the manager who was both efficient and charming. Excellent service by a well informed staff. I'm a bona fide foodie and enjoyed every bite. The chef has been praised with good reason. Next visit will be very soon. Come and enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and great food. Food optio ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great service and great food. Food options proved difficult to choose - I wanted to try everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went for summerlicious was very disap ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Went for summerlicious was very disappointed appetizer was cold pork on a flat type taco with a little bit of cheese Entree was luke warm. Expected so much more based on what I heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Hello, The food was excellent. Great Sum ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Hello,

The food was excellent. Great Summerlicious.

Overpriced cocktails. I had 2 mojitos / small glass 15 oz half of it with the nice traditional mint leaves, fresh slices of lime .Each drink for $ 16 total of $32. A bit overpriced !!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

What a great find. On vacation in Toront ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

What a great find. On vacation in Toronto and missing good Mexican food (we're from Texas). This was beyond our expectations. The empanadas were outstanding. Our server was fantastic and had great recommendations without being pushy. Wish we were in Toronto longer so we could have gone back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Mexican we have ever had. Highly re ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Best Mexican we have ever had. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

thoroughly enjoyed the food.A little mor ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

thoroughly enjoyed the food.A little more lighting and we really enjoyed the upscale Mexican food. Congrats to all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was excellent and our server wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was excellent and our server was very knowledgeable and accommodating. We were there for a bachelorette party of 7 women and we all were able to share plates, try various plates on the menu and we were all very pleasantly surprised with the meals. I would definitely come back with my boyfriend for an upscale Mexican dinner with authentic flavours and feel. Thank you for a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrible!!!! I read the great reviews t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Terrible!!!! I read the great reviews that was the reason that I went. The food quality does not much the presentation nor the flavour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.