Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Los Colibris

Upscale dining in a formal yet comfortable atmosphere. Los Colibris offers authentic dishes prepared by Chef Elia Herrera who has created her entire menu using family recipes from her hometown in Veracruz, Mexico. Service is warm, hospitable and efficient. We are here to cater to your every wish and always strive to provide an exceptional dining experience.

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Contemporary Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday - Closed

Cross Street:
Simcoe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-7717

Website:
http://www.loscolibris.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking located just south of us on Wellington, west of Simcoe. Parking also available on either side of Duncun on Richmond.

Public Transit:
St. Andrews Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Los Colibris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Special Occasion (46)
Authentic (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Romantic (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Cozy (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Business Meals (20)
Spicy (20)
Tapas (19)
Tasting Menu (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Fun (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Casual (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Seasonal (8)
People Watching (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
948 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful restaurant food and venue, chef Herrera made my and my family evening celebration on my 40th bday!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

It was a great atmosphere and seemed real authentic for a good South American dishes.
Great for special occasions or even just a well needed date night!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

There was a special menu to raise funds for hurricane and earthquake relief which was lovely but poorly thought out. One felt impelled and the server had trouble communicating exactly what was involved. The we're very slow so it meant that dessert was arriving as we tried to leave to make a show. Instead of dessert they brought a soup which was confusing. We tried to eat it. It was not good.
The biggest issue I think was the server who seemed over his head.
Not inclined to try this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

All four of us enjoyed the food, atmosphere and also the drinks were very good. Our server was most helpful as always. My only regret was that I forgot to ask him to take our pictures. The main reason we went last Saturday was to support the hurricane and earthquake relief efforts in the city of Oaxaca. We hope to return again soon before a show.

Regards

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is good but honestly not real Mexican food is between Canadian and Mexican, my husband order the Arrachera and he was disappointed because he was expecting a real Arrachera and the restaurant serve a sirlon steak in general the food is good but......, not real Mexican.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Although the food was good the waiter more or less ruined the experience simply because he lacked personality. We tried to engage him but to no avail, no eye contact and barely a word said. There are too many places in Toronto to go where you can have a better experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Los Colibris was on our must try restaurant list for awhile and we were not disappointed! Lovely atmosphere and delicious food, we will return and recommend to friends.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Wonderful romantic ambiance. Wonderful margarita. Fabulous stuff giant sweet pepper with pomegranate bits dusting the delicious walnut sauce overtop. Gourmet Mexican, not cheap but excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Our experience was horrible.

I wouldn't suggest this place to my worst enemy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Dinner before the show - We only had one hour and this restaurant did not disappoint with service, food, or ambiance. The margarita with cilantro and hot pepper was refreshing and delicious. We started with the ceviche which was just okay in my humble opinion, however our mains were outstanding. The fish was cooked to perfection and the pork stuffed pepper was absolutely stunning. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Food was great but we felt rushed the whole time we were there. They seated us in a busy spot and it was too loud to enjoy our dinner.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

They were great because they held our reservation when we were over an hour late. But overall it was really noisy, sitting too close to people, the service was not that good. The food was tasty but nothing out of the ordinary.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Amazing.. couldn't have had a better dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

i thought that this would be a good choice because of the location and recommended by Now magazine as one of its favorites
You would think the restaurant would really up its game especially being Tiff week.
Totally disappointing food experience, seafood not fresh and everything bland for Mexican!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We were disappointed in the food for the most part. The drinks were very good and the restaurant is very nice looking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Wanted a good Mexican place to dine, this was it. Axel the bartender was extremely helpful with selecting my choice of beer and dinner. Had the flat iron steak, was fantastic. Thank you Axel! See you again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Amazing surprise. We went for our anniversary and loved every minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Took a trip to T.O for my birthday. Looked ok google and saw an awesome review for this place and we decided to try it. My boyfriend and I loved it. The food was amazing, the service was just phenomenal. Didn't have to wait long for food. I'm so happy we made this choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The food was amazing, and never disappoints. The staff as always was exceptionally friendly and service was great. One of the best restaurants in Toronto, I highly recommend Los Colibris.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Ok. No craft beer draft options available. Margaritas very good though. Dance music below us was rather annoying. Service was solid. Food was good. A bit pricy for what you get. The area is easy to access. I would suggest more healthier options and increase the breadth of the wine menu....................

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Amazing food. Ordered many items off the menu including appetizers and main courses and every single dish we tried was amazing. We had the classic margarita and the Guava margarita and they were both delicious. First time going to Los Colibris, definitely will be back.

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Tapas, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fun, Authentic, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Service was decent. Food was average...overpriced. Unlikely to return. Would recommend to try it yourself

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Food was great, server was excellent, margaritas were very very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We visited this restaurant during the middle of the week and had a very good meal. The Torta de Elote was an exceptional appetizer and the Branzino entre was extremely good as well. The Churro ice cream sandwich dessert was amazing. Very good service in an ice atmosphere with good food and good drinks.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food excellent service. The waiter was knowledgeable. Cocktails were amazing. Desert churro was amazing

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Unfortunately we had a bad experience
The second time eating here the arrachera was was burnt (I asked for medium rare )
The duck was just dumped on the plate .
We were offered water for the first time at the very end of our meal and never got a refill . The over all feeling was they were very busy and not handdeling it well at all.
This is understandable in a mom and pop restaurant but not acceptable in a restaurant of this price and supposed caliber.

Sadly disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I've been wanting to come to this place for a while now. The hostess couldn't locate my reservation it took over five minutes to figure everything out.
The drinks were good.
The service was slow and the food was horrible.
I had an extremely underwhelming experience.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great service. Delicious food. Lots of options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food and service were great . I would have liked more lighting though but I would there again for sure

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Tasty dinner, upscale and good service too. I'd definitely revisit this place next time I'm in Toronto. Everything was delicious and the service was impeccable, as were the margaritas.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambiance. A great theatre district dining spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We were seated shortly after arriving . I love being able to reserve on line. It was dinner before theater. Unfortunately , we got the theaters mixed up and we had to rush. The servers, we had multiple looking after us, were fairly attentive and while the time between appetizers and entree was a little long, once we told them we had a time commitment for the theater, they followed up and we received our entree and the bill right away. We had the guacamole and chips, my wife had the daily vegetarian plate and I had the steak. All were excellent. Ambiance was very nice with latin music playing in the background. Would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had a birthday dinner for my sister and this was our first time. We had a great time. The ambiance was really nice and the good was tasty. It was a a pleasant surprise for us all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Had reservations and we were seated with minimal wait. It was my wife and I and we were placed in the back corner in a round table for 4 when plenty of two seaters were around. I did not want to make a fuss so did not request another table. Our waiter was pleasant, attentive, and informative. Service was exceptional overrall. The food came in a timely manner. Good tasting food but nothing I would rave about. We had a main fish dish and cod ceviche. Although the guacamole was fantastic. Presentation was mediocre. Food was fairly pricey. Beers were close to 10 bucks. Poor value. Likely would not eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The Summerlicious menu has great options. The cod ceviche was a refreshing start to the evening, and the dulce de leche dessert was a perfect finish. The portion sizes were exactly right for a satisfying meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife and I were here for our 11 anniversary, it was a great evening, the service was excellent and the food fantastic. The Latin music was a little loud but enjoyable. I'll recommend for a date especially if you going to a night club after, the place is in the rumba area in Toronto. The e atmosphere is quiet nice and warm and the prices are not that expensive. I will be back to Los Colibris for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Los Colibris didn't disappoint. We have been there in the past for dinner but wanted to try it for Summerlicious given that our last experience was amazing. The food was as expected, spot on. They also got back to me promptly and accommodate when we needed to bump up the reservation and add a couple more people. I would recommend Los Colibris to anyone looking for great food and service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

friendly and considerate excellent customer service and food - lovely music and atmosphere - nice seating arrangements a lovely experience for anyone any age great new place to try !

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Cozy, Hot Spot, Authentic, Organic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Romantic, Tapas, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great atmosphere, however it was a tab bit too loud. The food was delicious but also pricy. The desserts are a must try!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The specialty margaritas were wonderful, the ceviche authentic and the main course was creative with deliciously interesting combination of well harmonized flavours. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.