About Los Colibris

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 1K4
View Larger Map

Upscale dining in a formal yet comfortable atmosphere. Los Colibris offers authentic dishes prepared by Chef Elia Herrera who has created her entire menu using family recipes from her hometown in Veracruz, Mexico. Service is warm, hospitable and efficient. We are here to cater to your every wish and always strive to provide an exceptional dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Contemporary Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday - Closed

Cross Street:
Simcoe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-7717

Website:
http://www.loscolibris.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking located just south of us on Wellington, west of Simcoe. Parking also available on either side of Duncun on Richmond.

Public Transit:
St. Andrews Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Luzia - Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Luzia - Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Los Colibris, Toronto, ON

Private Dining

Both the elegant atmosphere and delicious cuisine make Los Colibrís the ideal place to host an event. Whether you are looking for an intimate dinner or a corporate social event, our experienced team of professionals will ensure that your every need is attended to and that you leave delighted.

Los Colibris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

International
Toronto / Ontario
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Financial District ›

Fit for Foodies (52)
Special Occasion (51)
Creative Cuisine (51)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (44)
Good for a Date (43)
Romantic (31)
Authentic (31)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Business Meals (20)
Modern Decor (17)
Casual (17)
Tapas (17)
Fun (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Spicy (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Cozy (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Healthy (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Private Room (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
714 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We planned a dinner for our sister's bac ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

We planned a dinner for our sister's bachelorette and when speaking to Los Colibris they recommended their private dining room for our party of 10-14. I'm so glad they did because the room is beautiful. It overlooks king street and it provided the perfect level of privacy for our party.

Management and the coordinator, Kristen were amazing to work with during the planning process and we're always responsive via email. They even customized our menus with a little message for my sister's event.

We did their pre-fixe menu for $55 and it was definitely a great portion size. You will NOT leave hungry! The food was also amazing and all of our guests couldn't stop raving about it, especially the churro ice cream sandwiches.

Overall we were all so very impressed with the ambiance, the private dining room is gorgeous, and the service and the food was awesome. We were too tired to head down to their sister restaurant- el cabalito for drinks but it sounded like it was a good time! Must try it next time. We will definitely be back.

Thanks so much to everyone that helped us at lots Colibris! You made our event perfect and our sister was super happy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Mexican food in Toronto

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best Mexican food in Toronto

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was difficult to choose from the vari ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

It was difficult to choose from the varied menu - everything sounded so good and it WAS!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good, wait staff was very effi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food was good, wait staff was very efficient and knowledgable

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always an interesting and delicious dini ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always an interesting and delicious dining experience from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We really enjoyed our dining experience ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We really enjoyed our dining experience at Los Colibris. The food was excellent and the ambiance was lovely. It is well-located and easily accessed by public transportation. Our choices varied and included a vegetarian meal, chicken meal and stuffed pepper - all were terrific! Our only recommendation would be to add draft beer to their drink offerings.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was initially surprised to see how boo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I was initially surprised to see how booked the restaurant was at 6 PM. Once we experienced such timely and attentive service we realized how well the restaurant caters to pre-theater diners.

This is not your typical Mexican Resto ! Cuisine that has real finesse with consistent quality, delivered by knowledgable staff in an inviting and elegant atmosphere.

Could easily become my go to destination for pre-theater or Roy Thomson Hall dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Food and excellent service. Can' ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing Food and excellent service.

Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The duck confit was fantastic -- it was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The duck confit was fantastic -- it was great fun to combine all of the ingredients however we liked.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Staff and they knew it was our Ann ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great Staff and they knew it was our Anniversary and added a few extra items to make the evening more special. Great Food and Amazing staff!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal and most amazing service w ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The best meal and most amazing service we've had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family of 5 adults was thrilled with ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our family of 5 adults was thrilled with our dining experience. Our server was friendly and competent, with a detailed knowledge of menu items which greatly helped us decide on our menu selection. Food was creative in presentation and taste. Elia the executive chef made a brief visit to our table, which was much appreciated as this was a very busy Thursday night. Definitely a lot more menu items that we need to experience in the future. Service was quick but not rushed. It is always great to be around other guests who are also enjoying their dining experience. A return by all of us very soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a wonderful experience for before ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

It was a wonderful experience for before theatre and for celebrating a friend's birthday

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My daughter and I loved the whole experi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My daughter and I loved the whole experience. We will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Appetizers were mostly good. Main course ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Appetizers were mostly good. Main course flat iron steak with squash & the pork shoulder was lacking flavour. The dessert Tres Leches was good. Love the soursop sherbet! I'll give it overall 3.5 overall good experience plus the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I visited with a group of professionals ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I visited with a group of professionals after work expecting a good meal and good ambience for group conversation, and we were NOT disappointed. We arrived a few minutes early, and were offered a table in the open seating area or, if willing to wait a few minutes, a private room for our group. The menu -- including wines, beers and cocktails -- is lavish and, regrettably, too expensive for my personal budget. The food is an interesting "fancy" take on Mexican and Tex-Mex dishes, not at all like food in Mexico or Texas. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Private Room, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our group of six was fortunate enough to ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our group of six was fortunate enough to be seated in the "hummingbird room" overlooking King Street. As usual, Los Colibris did not disappoint... excellent service, unique appetizers. delicious entrees, tasty desserts, fabulous wine list, excellent service, great atmosphere. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Private Room, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The authentic food was a sensation of ta ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The authentic food was a sensation of tastes on my palate..highly recommend this restaurant pre-theatre or as a place to linger over a delicious sharing experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our food was excellent for 2 out of the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our food was excellent for 2 out of the 3 patrons. Unfortunately, the 3rd person in our party had the fish and it just wasn't all that tasty. The service could have been better - better attention to what we were having, refilling drinks, etc. Otherwise, it was excellent and I would deifintely give them another try.

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our server Brent was excellent and expla ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our server Brent was excellent and explained the menu very well as we were not that familiar with Mexican food, which was delicious . The ambience was very pleasant and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience began as soon as we enter ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our experience began as soon as we entered the restaurant. We were offered coat check which was lovely since we were both wearing winter coats.

Once seated at our table, with one side on the comfy coach that extended the wall and the other side in a chair, our server arrived to offer water. We then were greeted by our food server who gave us the lowdown on the specials and took our order.

For starters I had the corn bread high was divinely spicy. My partner had handmade empanadas, which were a great delight too!

The main course consisted of lamb shank for me where the lamb literally fell away from the bone and melted in my mouth. My partner had the 100z ribeye steak that was cooked to perfection.

For dessert, we had the bread pudding with pumpkin ice cream. At first my partner was reluctant but soon realized that it was a delicious choice.

It was one of the best meals that we have had and I would highly recommend that you give it a try. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time there and can't wait to ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our second time there and can't wait to go again! Food is amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I love Los Colibris. Great Mexican food ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I love Los Colibris. Great Mexican food in downtown Toronto with unique dishes that you cannot get everywhere. I will continue to visit Los Colibris over and over again.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, awesome food. The staff ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing service, awesome food. The staff even gave us their private dining room (we had group of 7) - do try to get it if you are in a 7-8 people group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Toronto for a weekend ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We were visiting Toronto for a weekend getaway. The service was exceptional, the food was authentic it had layers of taste! The dining area was dimmly lit, perfect for a romantic dinner. The margaritas were delicious. We would definitely return when visiting Toronto.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding flavourful high end Mexican ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Outstanding flavourful high end Mexican cooked and spiced perfectly. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Some aspects of the menu were disappoint ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Some aspects of the menu were disappointing for example the Jardin de Wookie mole sauces were much too heavy on the chocolate component. (The moles we tried down South were much more refined and complex flavoured sauces.) Nonetheless the same items as when it first opened more than 2 years ago are still strong, like the ceviches, empanadas and queso fundido. Tortillas are excellent and the best in Toronto, hands down. We are however getting a bit tired of the same menu having been there a handful of times with groups of people and are looking for some more new additions. Service as usual is stellar, no complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

group dinner. dinner great food, had a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

group dinner. dinner great food, had a great time!!!! thanks!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always enjoy dining at Los Colibris. ...

vip
 (Berlin)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We always enjoy dining at Los Colibris. Our dishes were wonderful once again. We took advantage of free corkage for one bottle of wine that is offered on Mondays.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a great time. I will definitely g ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a great time. I will definitely go back there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and great service!

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

WE ORDERED AN APPETIZER, THE FLANK STEAK ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2016

WE ORDERED AN APPETIZER, THE FLANK STEAK AND THE DUCK. THE APPETIZER WAS ON THE SALTY SIDE AND THE DUCK WAS TOO DONE. IN GENERAL THE FOOD IS ON THE SALTY SIDE. THEY CAN CUT DOWN ON SALT A BIT.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service, wonderful food and a beau ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great service, wonderful food and a beautiful room, music and noise level were perfect. Will be back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was my boyfriend's birthday and I wan ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

It was my boyfriend's birthday and I wanted to surprise him with authentic Mexican restaurant. Boy oh boy did I make a great choice!! I can't even tell you how wonderful this restaurant is beginning with the waiter who was very attentive and great atmosphere to outstanding food and service in general. We had corn bread as out entree, chicken as main and impossible cake for dessert. I recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a romantic place, with amazing food and service. Definitely going back soon! Love this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bar service and cocktails were great ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The bar service and cocktails were great. Service excellent and friendly. The starters (Tortilla soup) and desert (Impossible cake) were excellent. We shared the duck for two. It was tasty but small and not worth the $55.

We will try the restaurant again sometime.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was out standing and Sebastian our ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was out standing and Sebastian our waiter was a true professional. We left the menu in his hands and he gave us the perfect selection of the chef's signature dishes. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok, not great, not worth the pr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was ok, not great, not worth the price. Restaurant was hot when we entered, but the staff turned on the AC. The washroom soap dispenser did not work, and so how was the staff washing their hands? they did add a manual dispenser to the washroom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I would NOT recommend this place, unfort ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I would NOT recommend this place, unfortunately. I love Mexican food as does my boyfriend so I thought this would be a great choice for his birthday. I made reservations but when we arrived they just stuck us right beside the kitchen and a VERY loud couple of girls who we could not hear over top of. By the way not one person in the kitchen was Mexican. We ordered drinks which were sour and overpriced. Then the food.... salt, salt and more salt. I had the tortilla soup to start and could not finish it because it was too salty. Then for the main I had ordered some chicken and corn flour tortilla dish and It was also WAY too salty and full of cream which I couldn't tell it would have based on the menu description. Then, on top of being disappointed in the food (especially since it's not cheap), our server was extremely pushy and rushing us as soon as he saw we put down our forks. Yet somehow, the noisy girls beside us were there before us and STILL there when we left. So so disappointed, spend your money elsewhere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

A great experience, as always - the food ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 23, 2016

A great experience, as always - the food is out-of-this-world!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another great meal at Los Colibris. We e ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Another great meal at Los Colibris. We enjoyed sharing some of the lovely appetizers and each had a delicious bowl of Sopa de tortilla. Great place in the theatre district.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.