About Los Colibris

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 1K4
View Larger Map

Upscale dining in a formal yet comfortable atmosphere. Los Colibris offers authentic dishes prepared by Chef Elia Herrera who has created her entire menu using family recipes from her hometown in Veracruz, Mexico. Service is warm, hospitable and efficient. We are here to cater to your every wish and always strive to provide an exceptional dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Contemporary Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday - Closed

Cross Street:
Simcoe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-7717

Website:
http://www.loscolibris.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking located just south of us on Wellington, west of Simcoe. Parking also available on either side of Duncun on Richmond.

Public Transit:
St. Andrews Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Luzia - Los Colibris, Toronto, ON
Luzia - Los Colibris, Toronto, ON

Private Dining

Both the elegant atmosphere and delicious cuisine make Los Colibrís the ideal place to host an event. Whether you are looking for an intimate dinner or a corporate social event, our experienced team of professionals will ensure that your every need is attended to and that you leave delighted.

Los Colibris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (56)
Pre/post Theatre (52)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Good for a Date (41)
Authentic (39)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for Groups (27)
Romantic (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Business Meals (22)
Tapas (20)
Casual (19)
Spicy (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Fun (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Healthy (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Private Room (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
759 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Deliciosa la comida, el ambiente con un ...

 
 (México)·Dined 4 days ago

Deliciosa la comida, el ambiente con un estilo unico Mexicano, la musica muy ecuanime y bebidas ricas.

Tags: Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Los Colibris ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my second visit to Los Colibris. Was there for lunch over the holidays - they are not usually open for lunch. The menu was limited and I was underwhelmed with the options. This experience was FABULOUS. Staff was warm, welcoming and informative. They easily accommodate our vegan friend. We shared the daily empanada, kale salad, salmon ceviche (outstanding!!!) and the steak. Would absolutely go back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to celebrate our anniversary- th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went to celebrate our anniversary- they've done an awesome and amazing job hiring the right people. The service was the best I've seen in a long time. Five stars to Sasha who had served us.

The food - oh my God - the food is just amazing. LOVED it.

This place has it all... you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting food - consistently good - a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Interesting food - consistently good - as is the service. I'm not a tequila fan but if you are, then you will enjoy their offerings!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I would say "too noisy" but energetic wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I would say "too noisy" but energetic was the option. Food was great. Service was so so. Our server recommended guacamole and chips with our drinks but it wasn't brought. Was sometimes difficult to get the server's attention, hence, we didn't get a chance to remind about the guacamole/chips before the entrees arrived. Overall would recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food and service but forgot my son ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great food and service but forgot my son's after dinner drink. It was quickly removed from our bill. I was pleasantly pleased.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. Will definitely ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service. Will definitely come back

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and outstanding service, the ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food and outstanding service, the whole menu was explained to our group and the recommendations were spot on.

PS save room for dessert mmmm.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As close to a perfect meal as it comes. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

As close to a perfect meal as it comes. Top food, service and cocktails.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. The food was outstanding from a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing. The food was outstanding from appetizer to dessert.

Tags: , Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The service was great and prompt. The di ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The service was great and prompt. The dishes were all excellent! Will definitely come back and have already recommended it to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The meal was absolutely delicious would ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The meal was absolutely delicious would highly recommend! Service can be a bit slow but they were really busy that day.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Family Style, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good and interesting food. Lovely dining ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good and interesting food. Lovely dining room. Friendly and helpful staff.

Wonderful proximity to Roy Thomson Hall, Royal Alexandra and Princess of Wales theatres.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

High quality authentic Mexican food with ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

High quality authentic Mexican food with terrific service

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing short of excellence. The food wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nothing short of excellence. The food was from heaven.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Family Style, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time coming here. Had a wonderful ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Second time coming here. Had a wonderful dinner with the lamb shanks ! My wife had the steak. Simply superb and authentic regional cuisine ! Highly recommended !

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Got us out in time for the t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Good food. Got us out in time for the theater. Good service. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, our waiter was e ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was delicious, our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and very kind. Excellent dining experience! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was decent. However, one of my ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was decent. However, one of my companions ordered a kale and avocado salad. When it arrived, it had no avocado at all. She was told, after she complained, that there had been no avocados in the restaurant that day. She had to change her meal. In addition, for a party of five, we had to wait over 10 minutes for two people to be served after the rest of us. It was not a comfortable business lunch. This is the third time I have been to Los Colibris. Unfortunately, it will be the last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

I've dined all over Mexico and loved eve ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I've dined all over Mexico and loved every meal, this place was just awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

The service was exemplary and the food v ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The service was exemplary and the food very good maybe a touch to much in the plate

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and delicious food. W ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great atmosphere and delicious food. We had the Carnitas de Pato and it was amazing.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good place for a holiday get together. M ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Good place for a holiday get together. Made reservations for 8 of us and we got a private room which was nice. Great service, fun evening out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very poor service. Waitress left in the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very poor service. Waitress left in the middle of serving and forgot one of our dishes. Took over 3 hours to receive all our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Food at Los Colibris was very good, no c ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food at Los Colibris was very good, no complaints. The room was a bit noisy but well within expectations for the holidays.

Service however was dismal. Slow when we got there and it was less busy - inattentive during the meal - and then completely absent after lunch, as we were 1 of 3 tables left by the end of our protracted meal - you would have thought we might have been able to get our bill. Apparently our waitress was more involved with her own lunch than getting us our bill.

Sad it could have been better.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

A return visit and the pleasant staff to ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A return visit and the pleasant staff too good care of us. Superb grilled Octopus app - perfect texture and very generous portion. Ceviches were all great - wonderful variety. We lucked out with exceptional tequila as suggested by our server. The lamb main - rich, flavourful & robust. Slow cooked pork shoulder - wonderful depth of flavour...the bread component was delish but a bit difficult to eat without splashing myself in sauce. No room for dessert. Wine list has great variety. Menu - you get more than your money's worth AND you get wonderful ambiance. This in now my go-to place for QUALITY Mexican food that's on the next level. Thank you for raising the bar on Mexican cuisine!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Mexican fine dining at its best where fo ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Mexican fine dining at its best where food, service and ambience perfectly blend with each other. My wife and I extremely fond of Mexican cuisine and there was no better place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our server was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and made us more than comfortable. We ordered flat iron steak with chorizo and tacos and pork piccadillo. Being our anniversary we were offered complimentary dessert which unfortunately we had to resist as we were stuffed to the brim. Our server did the most wonderful gesture by offering us a plate of galletas with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate on our plate. In addition he offered me Tromba tequila that really hit the spot. I'd definitely go back to try other entrees that looked fascinating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Authentic Mexican food at its best. Crea ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Authentic Mexican food at its best. Creative menu with perfect execution. Our server (Cailey?) was excellent! She knew the menu inside and out and took a geniune interest in making sure we had an ejoable evening. Her recommendations for wine and our meal was spot on. Sebastian, also assisted our table and was equally spectacular! It is clear that mangement value these servers and their approach to providing a premier dining experience. We will most certainly be back!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Spicy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went before a show at the theatre nex ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We went before a show at the theatre next door. the staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The food (especailly the ceviche and the walnut enhanced chile with pork) was excellent. I recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening before go ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening before going to the theatre. We had a new server so service was a little slow, but good wine and conversation works wonders. Lovely young lady just learning the business...we have all been there

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

From walking through the door to paying ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 12, 2016

From walking through the door to paying for our meal, service was excellent and staff are very attentive. I am not a big eater and am very picky, so the salmon ceviche and kale salad with red Spanish wine was heaven for me. Wine is quite expensive but the food prices are very reasonable

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was honestly horrible. For the ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was honestly horrible. For the amount of money you pay, you would expect flavour. No authentic flavours. The staff was great. Would never recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

very delicious and good ambiance. Noise ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

very delicious and good ambiance. Noise level good for carrying on conversations at ease. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still one of our favourite restaurants! ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Still one of our favourite restaurants! We will keep coming back as the food continues to be amazing!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tapas, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food, exceptional service, gre ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Delicious food, exceptional service, great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive service. Lovely dining room wi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Attentive service. Lovely dining room with an updated but old world charm. A few semi circular booths but mostly small tables that are so tightly packed together that you hear conversations on either side of you. This was a bit awkward as it was not terribly private or comfortable. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. If I were to return it would only be if I had a booth so I could linger longer and enjoy the experience more fully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A superb dinner of spicy shrimps then th ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 8, 2016

A superb dinner of spicy shrimps then the duck confit finishing with sorbet.

As usual the staff were fantastic and food was to die for.

The wine from Spain was an excellent fit with the meal.

Thanks again

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent service and food. nice wine li ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 6, 2016

excellent service and food. nice wine list, limited by the glass. they can adjust the spice level.

Tags: Wood Oven, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came to celebrate our wedding anniver ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We came to celebrate our wedding anniversary on Monday eve. The food was excellent and super authentic. It was probably the best mexican cousin that I ever tasted. The atmosphere was very quiet (to much for us), probably since it was Monday. We would certainly dine there again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Mexican food with an upscale twist. Guac ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Mexican food with an upscale twist. Guacamole with home made root chips, ceviche are a must. Excellent service. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.