Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Los Colibris

Upscale dining in a formal yet comfortable atmosphere. Los Colibris offers authentic dishes prepared by Chef Elia Herrera who has created her entire menu using family recipes from her hometown in Veracruz, Mexico. Service is warm, hospitable and efficient. We are here to cater to your every wish and always strive to provide an exceptional dining experience.

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Contemporary Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday - Closed

Cross Street:
Simcoe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-7717

Website:
http://www.loscolibris.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking located just south of us on Wellington, west of Simcoe. Parking also available on either side of Duncun on Richmond.

Public Transit:
St. Andrews Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Details

Impress your significant other this Valentine's Day with a romantic trip to Mexico. Chef Elia Herrera and the Los Colibris team invite you to experience true Mexican flavours in an upscale setting, with some extra special Valentine's Day features too.

Los Colibris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (46)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Authentic (32)
Romantic (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Cozy (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Spicy (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Business Meals (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Healthy (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Tapas (10)
Casual (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
1047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

=Fantastic, I will for sure go again and refer others as well

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Cozy, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and atmosphere was great. Service was excellent. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been to Los Colibris at least 5 times. The food was delicious. It did feel a little different as in previous visits the waiter would explain the dishes when placed in front of us. I missed that. As well, I found the appetizers had more flare in the plating previously. Overall food was still very good, but a lesser more traditional experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

We were two couples, we sat in a round booth with two chairs outside, very comfortable and leads to good eye contact all around. Food presentation was excellent, the food was great, the service was so-so with some mistakes. The coat check out was congested a bit.
Overall very good value

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Another fabulous evening with friends at Los Colibris. Our server, Pat, was attentive to our needs and explained the menu in an easy-going manner. We had the guacamole and cheese appetizers which were a great precursor to our mains. The two men had the sea bass which was quite tasty. The ladies shared the chiles en nogada which they are still raving about. We then finished the evening by sharing their famous churro sandwich which is deliciously decadent.
A wonderful dining experience that we will repeat real soon

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Nice surprise - chose the restaurant for its location, opposite Roy Thomson Hall, and found the food, service and ambiance all well above expectations! So many good menu options, we decided to order multiple starters, just to try a variety of things. Top choice, the ceviche; just average, an empanada with mushroom reduction (seemed overcooked). Other starters all very good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Overpriced. Skimpy portions. Need vegetables. Tempid cappuccino. Tasty. Great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Great restaurant, surprised my girlfriend for her birthday and she loved it.
Will go there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2018

SECOND VISIT TO THIS RESTAURANT. ALL AROUND AMAZING !!!!
The only thing I would change is tables for 2 are very close together.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Once again phenomenal service and great food. Lots of tasty tequilas and liqueurs. Love this restaurant and the staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Great food, attentive service. A bit pricey but I figure that is due to the location in the theatre district.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

We were staying near Rogers Centre and wanted a place we could walk to that was upscale but still casual. The staff was very friendly and were patient with my wife's dietary restrictions. The atmosphere was great, dimmed lights and friendly banter from the kitchen. My only negative would be the limited beer selection. All in all a great experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Quick Bite, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Spicy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 3, 2018

Not your average mexican restaurant! Great service and atmosphere. Food was amazing !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2018

First time here. Food is no doubt delicious. You can either find spicy or a little bit sweet taste here. Only reason for 4 stars is that we waited more than 20 minutes beyond our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2018

A group of four of us went here for New Year's Eve Dinner. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. We were expecting a bit more from the dishes. They we're all missing just a little bit of spice or something interesting to take them over the top. For example, the Mole was a bit too sweet and the chorizo was not spicy at all. We're all from Arizona very close to Mexican border, so maybe our expectations are a bit higher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Good is upscale Mexican inspired. If you want tacos and beer/terquila, go downstairs. If your wanting to see how Mexican isn’t just cheese and chili , head upstairs. Not super cheap though, without a bottle of wine, was about $150 for two of us.

Will totally go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

You are welcomed at the door with a coat check to make things easier. You can smell all the amazing aromas as you come in. The kitchen is an open concept with full view which is nice. The service was great with waiter being fully attentive to customer needs. The meal was really enjoyable and well executed. It was a nice place to frequent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

We got there late due to a snowstorm and our table was held. Superbly spiced food. Such interesting flavours. The flat iron steak was delicious. I want to go back and sample some of the other menu items.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

I would say this is one of the top five restaurants I've been to around the world. The service was warm, welcoming, and attentive. The atmosphere was quaint and cozy with an edge. The food was excellent - tender meats, rich flavours, and excellent presentation. The tortilla soup and the shrimp ceviche were my favourites.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Great service, excellent food, didnt get 5 stars because tables a bit close and no flan on dessert menu to each other but i would definetly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Very good ambience and service. This is not your typical fast food Mexican restaurant where you have 3 or 4 types of burritos, tortillas and enchiladas. This is an upscale Mexican restaurant where fine food is served. Dishes were very well presented and seemed well prepared. It just wasn't to our taste.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Conveniently located across from Roy Thompson Hall, this Mexican restaurant knows how to take Mexican up a notch. My cocktail, made with Mexcal, was spectacular. The service and food were top notch and they met our tight timeline with ease. A definite reco in my mind!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Enjoyed our family Xmas dinner with our daughters as we approach the holidays! Lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2017

The first time I was there 2 years ago, it was awesome. This time same dish, it was so spicy I couldn’t eat it. Won’t be back.

Tags: Spicy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 20, 2017

The food is great. The Service was excellent. It is a little dark but you get sued to it once inside.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 20, 2017

Great atmosphere & excellent service.Food also very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 19, 2017

This was my first time dining at Los Colibris and it was a terrific experience. Everything from the atmosphere, to the food, to the service was exceptional. The food is a bit on the pricier side but when you see and taste your food ... I have no doubt you will agree that it is well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 18, 2017

First visit for pre-TSO dinner. The food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Very welcoming and friendly staff, interesting combination of flavours and tastes for traditional mexican fare. Would highly recommend this restaurant and the value for the dollar is excellent overall.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Great food, good service, fine dining style. Deserts were incredible. Prices fair for fine dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful experience before going to the Royal Alexandre theatre. Would recommend this spot to anyone!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Service was fabulous! We were in a rush to catch a movie and they helped us on speeding up our food. Really appreciated it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2017

The guacamole is to die for! Absolutely delicious. We had reservations but were 10mins late and they didn't have a table set up for us for quite some time, even though it was later in the night. Glass was very dirty with someone's lipstick still left on it. Celebrating a birthday but had to ask for candles and a little treat. Server was good and so was the food. Cleanliness is not up to par as our booth seating was also dirty and when mentioned the hostess did nothing to address the issue.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Recently took my UK client there for a dinner in Toronto and thought I’d try this restaurant. The food was sub par

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Good experience. I don’t believe the food was that good for the price I payed. I have tried tortilla soup in Mexico Many times, I must say that it didn’t live to my expectations. Not enough cheese, two small avocado balls. No cream, I don’t know. They give us complimentary champagne for our anniversary which was a very good surprise and a very nice gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2017

A friend and I celebrated our birthdays with dinner at Los Colibris and had a wonderful evening. The beautiful room, candlelit ambience, attentive service and menu choices were excellent. Highly recommended for a special evening!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

The interior was beautiful and well laid out. The wine list, although, not expansive, was of very good quality. We had 4 different wines on the night and all were excellent. The service wasn't overly attentively and a bit cold. The food quality was less than expected.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Had the lobster pasta. It was delicious...secretly wanted to order another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2017

A fantastic dining experience. If you are a larger group book the private room in the front window!

Tags: Spicy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2017

We waited 25 mins before our server batted an eye at us. He seemed more interested in the gay couple beside us. Couples that came in after we're doted on and their orders were taken. I had to interrupt him to get our orders taken. Another server had to be asked to get our food. One of the empanadas orders was inedible and burnt all around. It could not be cut, rather had to be virtually chiseled at. The environment was more energetic since there was a party going on in the bar. Always a favourite but not up to par today. I wanted to pay in cash but the server refused and told me that he prefers credit. I hope our next experience here will be better. Not withstanding. Some complications are understood is a level of care was given but not the normal Los Colibris standard we have experience on many occasions before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.