Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Los Colibris

Upscale dining in a formal yet comfortable atmosphere. Los Colibris offers authentic dishes prepared by Chef Elia Herrera who has created her entire menu using family recipes from her hometown in Veracruz, Mexico. Service is warm, hospitable and efficient. We are here to cater to your every wish and always strive to provide an exceptional dining experience.

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Contemporary Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday - Closed

Cross Street:
Simcoe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-7717

Website:
http://www.loscolibris.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking located just south of us on Wellington, west of Simcoe. Parking also available on either side of Duncun on Richmond.

Public Transit:
St. Andrews Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Both the elegant atmosphere and delicious cuisine make Los Colibrís the ideal place to host an event. Whether you are looking for an intimate dinner or a corporate social event, our experienced team of professionals will ensure that your every need is attended to and that you leave delighted.

Los Colibris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (44)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Authentic (28)
Romantic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Cozy (22)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Tapas (14)
Fun (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Spicy (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Family Style (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Private Room (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
Waterfront (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
859 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food, service and location. The guacamole is a must.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Amazing cocktails especially the Verdita Margharita and real Mexican food finally! I have been looking for the authentic flavor for years. Our waiter was amazing and took care of us along our meal. I would just suggest to add more flavor kick to some of the dishes (lime and chillies). Great restaurant, I will definitely come back very soon!!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 19, 2017

one of my favourite restaurants in the city. The service and the quality of the food is consistently very good. Two caveats that keep me from giving this restaurant a five star review. No wheelchair access. The portions seem to be getting smaller.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Overall good, creative food, very nice environment, excellent service, but expensive, so value for dollar is not that good.
The wine selection is good but again expensive
Location is great right next to two large theatres

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The rajas poblanos tacos were amazing -- true Mexican comfort food. Great to see the head chef at work in the open kitchen.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing and outstanding !!! I loved everything! Ambience , service and food!
It was so delicious that I just booked another reservation!!!
The flavours were incredible. Just the right amount of spice etc. the presentation stunning:).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Private Room, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and cocktails!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We visit Los Colibris often and treated our visitors from South Africa to a lovely evening of Mexican food.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The best thing about Los Colibris is the food - this isn't as obvious as it sounds; sure, it's kind of trendy and buzzy and all that, but the fact is, the food is excellent. Thoughtful, well-prepared authentic but interpretive approach to actual Mexican food, with fabulous attention to detail - beautifully textured hand-made corn tortillas that arrive steamy hot, for scooping up cheesy queso goodness, the perfect level of citrus in the ceviche, the excellent crisp of the empanada. Sophisticated main courses - I love the pork-stuffed poblano with raw walnut sauce. I could eat at this restaurant every day - I've already been four times - it's kind of a must for me when I'm in Toronto -

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fantastic gluten free for celiac. Staff are knowledgeable and attentive to the allergy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Excellent cuisine, excellent ambiance, excellent service. I love this restaurant and go there as often as I can.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Groups, Spicy, Seasonal, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Awesome food, service & ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was phenomenal! Especiall the yellowfin tuna and the spiced potatoes (side dish). Service was great and our server (Sebastian) was very professional and knowledgeable. We had a show to catch and he and the kitchen were very accommodating. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great Ambiance, great service, food was a little under seasoned and was expecting a little more heat/spice for a Mexican restaurant but over all would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The best Mexican restaurant in Toronto. We've been only once and impressed with creativity of the Chef. While all dishes are clearly Mexican in character, each has absolutely unique flavor. Salmon ceviche was made with ingredients we've never seen in ceviche, starting with salmon, apples and grapes, tasted so fresh, perfect appetizer. Chicken in most restaurants very similar, but El Colibris Alegría chicken is absolutely distinct and incredibly delicious. We like the food and place so much, we decided to do go for El Colibris for next birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The Alegria by far is the best Entree for me and as for dessert I would go with the churros dessert. No complains for me! I would recommend this to a friend or a colleague. Its a good place to eat and get together.

One thing to add is that its always booked, so when you want to reserve a table you have to do it in advance ( like a week before not a day before)

Overall its a cool place and I will definitely come back for more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Private Room, Seasonal, Waterfront, Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food, service and ambience! Perfectly balance appetizers with excellence in variety and subtle flavours. Will be back and not just for the perfect location across from Roy Thomson Hall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Delicious upscale mexican food, amazing cocktails and great service. Really nice atmosphere, intimate yet lively. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was not as good as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Deeeeeelish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 27, 2017

You must really enjoy the flavors of Mexican cooking to get the most from the food, which is nicely prepared and presented. Ambiance is excellent and the restaurant is quiet enough for conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit at Los Calibris. We had an early dinner. By the time we left at before 7:30 pm, the other seating was full.

We had a very friendly greeting and were seated immediately. Chris our server was very attentive and had excellent recommendations.

Servings were a lot. We ended up ordering and splitting between the two of us, cold appetizer: cerviche, hot appetizer; spicy shrimp, and the flank steak. I am simplifying what we ordered but the food was excellent. Very fresh tasting, a quite unique combination of tastes. Great wine pairings and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We had planned to eat at the place downstairs but it was too noisy so we went upstairs. The food was amazing and the service was very pleasant. Wine was overpriced but the food was well priced. I will go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I've been to the restaurant 3 times . I only like the dessert .

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great margaritas. And the food - delicious. 4 of us shared 5 smaller dishes plus tortilla soup and wonderful ceviche. Special mention has to be made of the Torta de Elota and the spicy shrimp. The churro dessert was the perfect end to the meal.

Tags: ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great upscale Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

kelsey provided great service
we were going to theatre and she managed all well
hanna handled the wine expertly
enjoyed so much we came back to bar after for drinks!
JB

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We were a group if 10 people, service was great, margaritas were some of the best in the city. My judgement on the quality of the mexican food starts with guacamole and they have mastered it. Then after that all the food was great. Really good ceviche.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This was our 4th time this restaurant. We had another fantastic meal. The Mexican Cuisine is amazing. Would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting a phenomenal experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Service was excellent. Friendly, attentive staff.
Location is fine, ambiance was okay. If you are looking for livelier, head downstairs.
Food was disappointing though; didn't particularly enjoy any of the dishes that I had and found them to be a little overpriced given the quality (guacamole/chips was so-so, empanadas were not very good, flat iron steak was alright).
There aren't a lot of Mexican/Spanish options downtown, so had high hopes for this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Made a reservation last minute for 8 pm but change of schedule,got there 90 minutes early .
Waited at the bar till they can arrange a table for us, in the meantime ,started with appetizers and drinks.
The guacamole with pomegranate chips and the avocado shrimp were excellent and tried a couple of their yummy drinks.
After a 45 minute wait ( it was packed) we were ushered to our table, the waiter suggested that,1 more appetizer and 1 main course would be sufficient ,he was right,couple more drinks put and end to a fantastic night out.
Everything from the staff , food, service and ambiance was great.
If in mood for Mexican with a twist,do not hesitate.
Will be back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Awesome food! Great service! Thanks Andrew, our waitres that has suggested so many delicious dishes!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The place was great overall. We had margaritas at the bar before being seated and they had few different flavors that were all very good (each of us had a different one). The menu had a lot of variety and something I've never seen before Carnitas de Pato. Unfortunately, it was a plate for 2 people and I couldn't convince anyone in our group to share it with me. I had the steak and it was delicious. All four of us loved our entrees. I wish the menu had a few more options for entrees though (that's the reason for 4 stars instead of 5). If you are in downtown Toronto and looking for Mexican food, you need to try Los Colibris.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 29, 2017

My first visit and now a new favourite! Excellent food and service. I went in expecting high end tacos, but instead I found high end cuisine. The Churro Sandwich for dessert was just amazing!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 28, 2017

One of the better meals I have had in Toronto and I go to a lot of critically acclaimed restaurants in Toronto

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We went for a pre-theatre dinner. The greet staff asked if we were going to the theatre & what time we wanted to leave by. The server was friendly & helpful. The food was excellent

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Best fine dining Mexican I have every had and I am Mexican! I ate much more than my capacity and it was totally worth it. Prices and serving sizes were reasonable. Wish there were a few more vegetarian options to bring my vegetarian Dad and brother one day.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Was not impressed. I was there a few years ago and it was good. The food was mediocre. $11 for a teeny tiny dessert was disappointing. Won't be rushing back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Rajas poblanos was alright, guarache de pulpo was the best part of my meal, the lamb shank was good and tres leche cake was the perfect end to our delicious meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great restaurant! Great service! Excellent guava margarita! Queso fundido is to die for! Great chicken empanadas and tortilla soup!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.