Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Los Colibris

Upscale dining in a formal yet comfortable atmosphere. Los Colibris offers authentic dishes prepared by Chef Elia Herrera who has created her entire menu using family recipes from her hometown in Veracruz, Mexico. Service is warm, hospitable and efficient. We are here to cater to your every wish and always strive to provide an exceptional dining experience.

220 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 1K4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Contemporary Mexican, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday - Friday 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday - Closed

Cross Street:
Simcoe

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 979-7717

Website:
http://www.loscolibris.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking located just south of us on Wellington, west of Simcoe. Parking also available on either side of Duncun on Richmond.

Public Transit:
St. Andrews Subway Station

Executive Chef:
Elia Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Ring in the New Year with an extra special evening filled with friends, family and fine Mexican cuisine. Mi casa es tu casa.

Los Colibris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
See All
Authentic (33)
Romantic (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Spicy (18)
Cozy (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fun (10)
Tapas (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Casual (6)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
997 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious dinners with great service. Lovely choice for dining out.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service. The waiter indicated he was new, but he was so well trained he knew the menu very well and madeexcellent recommendations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent high-end Mexican cuisine, amazing service (we were sharing several appetizers and to facilitate, without us even asking, they split some of them into 2 plates (like
the soup) to make it easier for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Went here to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. The ambiance is nice. Food was tasty and cocktails were good - however, it was predictably rather expensive. Not amazing value but the food is good nonetheless.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

The food at Los Colibris was somewhat in between mexican inspiration and spanish formula (tapas or sharable plates). The tuna tartare was delicious and definitely our coup de coeur on the menu! The service needs however to be improved. Our waiter seemed bored and his approach was abrupt. He would interrupt us without a little "I am sorry". The kind of details that changes the overall experience and discourages us to come back.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Perfect before the theatre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Excelente comida y servicio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Service was outstanding and the food was interesting and flavourful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

A very pleasant pre-theatre dinner choice. Décor was bright and airy yet warm and comfortable at the same time. Reservations recommended as when we arrived at 5:45 the restaurant was almost empty...within 30 minutes there was not an empty table. The $45 Pre Fixe menu was very good( we did have to request this menu as it was not originally given with the regular dinner menu-we'd just seen it on line & asked if they still had it) The baby kale salad with Mango Pineapple Ginger dressing was excellent blend of flavours and texture, and the sea bass was also very tasty. Homemade ice creams and sorbets. My husband ordered a la carte & it was not an outrageous price difference for 3 courses. He tried several different menu items which were all beautifully presented and excellent food choices. Our waiter Gaen was 2 weeks new in Toronto, and we would request him as our server next time. He was knowledgeable, timely, courteous & amiable. Thank you Los Colibros for an excellent meal and start to our evening:)

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2017

While the food was good, the waiter kept forgetting (and eventually forgot) some of the things we ordered. Definitely a nice Mexican place and dishes, but wouldn’t rush back for the price and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Fantastic food and drink - highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Great atmosphere, stupendous staff, and the very best food you will ever have, period.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 7, 2017

We had an amazing pre theatre dinner with friends. I loved the variety of selections on the menu. The appetizers were so tasty we tried the pomegranate guac, the tacos and the shrimp all were delicious. We shared the flat iron stake which was also delicious. I cant wait to go back and try more of the dishes on the menu. The service was friendly and casual we didn't feel rushed but our servers managed to have us ready to leave just in time for our show.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Amazing taste of Mexico, but in a high-end fashion... Love this place. Don't miss the desserts either - the Milk Cake is the best I've ever tasted!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2017

HAVING HAD CONSIDERABLE EXPERIENCE WITH MEXICAN DISHES IN CALIFORNIA, WE WERE DISAPPOINTED WITH THE CHOICES.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Really nice Mexican with a twist- The guacamole and tacos were more than enough for dinner.
The chicken tacos are unusual as a hot dish with both corn and wheat tortillas to build your own. We went there as a pre-threatre and birthday dinner. More formal than most mexican resturants and the entres on the menu sounded good but the appetizers were a meal alone.
We were looking for something a little different in the theatre district and this filled the bill.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Service was incredibly slow despite a 9 pm reservation. Food was mostly average (the empanadas and steak were quite good) despite being overpriced. The drinks were tasty (the verdita was my favorite). We agreed that it wasn’t a great value for experience and that we would not be keen to return.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Me and my husband went there for a date. It was not overly crowded. Our server was amazing. Being vegetarians she suggested all the available options. Make sure to try their spicy sauce. It is just amazing. Overall our date was amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Spicy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on October 27, 2017

I have gone to Los Colibris and enjoyed the food every time. On this occasion, it was my birthday and the food was delicious as usual, but what stood out this time was the excellent service. The service is always good, but our server this time went out of his way to be helpful and attentive and we were really impressed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

front wait staff need to be aware how to find reservations.. we were put off when they couldn't find our reservation...however, all was wonderful after that. food excellent, our server was excellent and we made our curtain time... the food .. wonderful .. definitely will return

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 24, 2017

It was a last minute reservation and a short walk from the hotel. Delicious food, interesting flavours, outstanding service. Crema de Cafe for a dessert was so creatively done and absolutely delicious. Would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Excellent food. Attentive service. Reliably positive experience in the heart of the entertainment district.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 21, 2017

This was our 5th visit to Los Colibris and we were not disappointed. One thing I would have liked to have been able to order was the specially prepared appetizer that was offered on our special meal September 16th whereby the proceeds went to the Mexico relief fund. I did not remember the name of the dish and do not know if it is always available.
Our food was very good, however it did take quite a while to arrive. We were still able to get to the theatre on time, so it was all good.
We enjoy the unique dishes and flavours Los Colibris has to offer.
Unfortunately I forgot to ask our server to take pictures of the 5 of us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Outstanding service: we were late due to heavy traffic; they reconfirmed our reservation and held it for us. We had theatre tickets, so our time was short; they served us promptly without making us feel rushed. The wine list was a little expensive, but looked to be well selected. The food was excellent, managing to be both authentic and comfort food at the same time. We'll be back to devote more time to exploring this restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 17, 2017

The food was very tasty except the vegetarian choice was bland. The Arrecharra needed the Habaneron sauce I requested.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

Excellent in every way! I would highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2017

We ate our starters and waited over 45 minutes before we got our entrees. When the entrees did arrive some orders were incomplete and others were cold. We asked the server but the missing items we never brought. Additionally one member requested that their meal not have pomegranates due to allergies. However this was not accommodated and members could not share the starters. That being said we were always checked on for water and cutlery. She was very apologetic and ensured she could make some accommodations. Wish the service and overall quality could of been better. 2 hours for a 2 course meal not up to par is just unacceptable. This does not live up to my expectations from past visits or a momentous occasion as a milestone birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Overall had an amazing experience. Food was delicious and service was great!! We asked for recommendations from the staffs and we were more than satisfied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

This was our second visit for our wedding anniversary and we experienced the same same high standards as the first time!
The majority of the food is authentic in taste, especially the guacamole and the our favourite flat iron steak. The tres letche desert is heavenly. They could use one more chocolate desert option (ganacphe perhaps).
Although there was some miscommunication in the kitchen as regards to a specific request, the waiter compensated us without hesitation or question. Service was well-timed, super friendly, and professional.
We will come back again with friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Food was very bland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

This is fast becoming one of our favourite restaurants. The food is terrific.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Los Colibris food is exquisite, beautiful presentation and very interesting flavour combinations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Nice space, attentive servers, excellent food. Thumbs up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Another great evening at Los Colibris. We continue to dine at this wonderful venue because of the great service, delicious food and ambiance. You cant go wrong selecting this venue for your next restaurant experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Tapas, Romantic, Great Beer, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Mediocre experience. Had the guacamole (good), poblanos tacos (too creamy), and the vegetarian feature (cheese w/oregano and corn fritters). Margarita was good. Service was good but there's zero atmosphere with an older crowd. Glad to have gone and tried but will visit downstairs at the cantina next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We were there celebrating our anniversary, so chose it as a romantic restaurant. But very loud in there. Tables are uncomfortably close, about a foot apart. We heard the neighbour's entire dinner conversation, not an ideal romantic dinner date. When we were approaching the table to be seated, next to a couple and the loud bar, I asked if there was another more private table and the hostess said no. Literally 10 minutes later, about 6 tables freed up. It felt the hostess did not even try to accommodate my request. Very poor etiquettes and service. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Love their ceviche. I had the duck confit for my main, and it was delicious. Will have to try the Fish entree next time 😊
Lovely ambiance, friendly and attentive servers.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Went for dinner before the symphony, and was quite impressed with both the quality and uniqueness of the menu. Appetizers and mains both were excellent, and the bartender had quite an extensive list of tequila-based cocktails as well as the regular offerings.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 5, 2017

It’s the little things that matter.

The person seating us didn’t ask to take our coats for coat check, we had to ask. There was no ticket or person there when we finished dining to get our coats. We had to walk into the coat check to get our jackets.

The table wasn’t completely set when we sat down even though the restaurant was fairly empty. There was a big business group next door and I think the attention was there.

The food was good but not outstanding.

All in all, not a great first experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Had gone by this restaurant many times without interest in trying it out. On the Tuesday we wen t in to have a meal before theatre. It turned out not to be a pleasant experience. The lights were extremely dim in the restaurant, the music uncomfortably too loud. Service seemed to be excruciating slow. The hostess looked totally confused with her role ( a line up of people with reservations including us waiting at the her desk near the door area for quite a while) and in seeing the dilemma, it was the bartender who finally seated us. There were, initially, two servers who took turns taking our order which was confusing enough, then halfway through our dinner we were asked by one of the servers if we had reservations made and why didn't we tell the hostess on arrival. Perplexing. Ordering from the menu was trying if not challenging as we had to shout over the music, had to have the menu translated and then couldn't hear the servers very well.
We can now say that we came, we tried it, it wasn't for us and we wont either be back or recommend it. Sad! There are many other authentic Mexican restaurants in Toronto that have both better menus, ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.