About Lon's at The Hermosa

5532 North Palo Cristi Road
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

LON’s at the Hermosa is an authentic Arizona hacienda surrounded by spectacular scenery. Its elegant dining room melds homemade adobe and rustic ironwork with flattering lighting and carefully set tables. Enjoy award-winning Globally insipired Arizona fare on the spacious patio, or by one of the fireplaces throughout the lounge and dining areas, adorned with art pieces by Lon Megargee. The menus at LON’s offer a memorable culinary experience, which captures spirit, creativity and warmth using bold flavors and compelling combinations that reflect a contemporary take on the multitude of foods originating in the Western Hemisphere. Our chef and master gardener grow a wide selection of organic herbs, heirloom vegetables and fruit on the grounds. Harvested at the peak of their flavor and combined with other locally grown produce, the ingredients are incorporated into brilliantly creative dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am-10:00am


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm


Weekend Brunch: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm


Last Drop Bar Happy Hour Daily 4pm -6pm


Cross Street:
Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 955-7878

Website:
http://www.hermosainn.com/lons/

Entertainment:
Seasonal September-May

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Pacheco

Private Party Facilities:
With a 150 guest maximum capacity, LON’s at the Hermosa has varied sized private rooms and outdoor spaces, for both small and large groups. For additional information please contact us at 602-792-1914.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come celebrate local Arizona cuisine and ambiance with us! We have a Chef's tasting menu Friday, Saturday and Sunday (prices vary) with optional wine parings. In addition, we have available gluten free and vegetarian/vegan/pacsaterian options.

Lon's at The Hermosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (83)
Great for Outdoor Dining (75)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
See All
Romantic (68)
Good for a Date (62)
Quiet Conversation (60)
Fireplace (55)
Historic (52)
Cozy (46)
Notable Wine List (42)
Worth the Drive (41)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Scenic View (36)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Authentic (31)
Local Ingredients (31)
Business Meals (25)
Private Room (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Seasonal (16)
Live Music (16)
Fun (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Casual (11)
Organic (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (2)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3058 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

I met friends I hadn't seen in 40+ years and we had a lovely dinner at Lon's. The setting is beautiful - we dined on the patio - and it was a fantastic dinner. Our server was attentive, but not hovering - although we took his table for hours, we were not rushed (and he was tipped well!). The food was delicious and the presentation was perfect. I highly recommend Lon's!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

wonderful evening! aftr our lovely meal delivered with very good service we started to wander along the building to look more closely when the maître de caught out interest and showed us all around personally with fascinating stories. thank you so much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

My favorite place in all of the Phoenix area. Service, staff treat you like family in a very relaxed, comfortable manner. The food is excellent and the ambience superb - whether dining inside or out. The new indoor/outdoor bar area with numerous fireplaces is a wonderful addition. The chef's creations are amazing and truly enjoyable.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

If you go to Scottsdale, Lon's needs to be on your list of dinners - period.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Healthy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We love this place and always make sure we go there whenever we are in Scottsdale

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice staff and warm welcoming environment thst has feel of tradition of AZ history. We could hear each other talk and this was a family get together. Food is always good and even on a rainy day we enjoyed it but in great weather we prefer outside dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Last minute selection for my brother's birthday brunch on a Sunday. Lovely room. Great brunch menu with plenty of variety. The Monkey Bread starter is a real sugar rush, but wonderful. The hash was a deconstructed version and very satisfying. The kitchen was flexible enough to substitute smoked salmon for the bacon on a serving of eggs Benedict. Prices were reasonable given the level of the cuisine and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous service and good food. Very enjoyable brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated Valentine's Day a few days late. The restaurant is beautiful and filled with southwest charm. Our waiter was a professional. He knew everything he was talking about and was absolutely perfect. The food was amazing and we loved every minute of it. This is what a restaurant experience is all about. A must visit if you are in the Phoenix area and looking for a foodie and fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent brunch! The food was awesome and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. We ordered the pancakes and Huevos Rancheros. Both were exceptional. I will be back soon to enjoy the patio seating.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent each of the three times we have dined here!

Don't miss it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Always a hit with our out of town company. It is a beautiful place to dine and drink!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Four of us dined for lunch after a tour of the Wrigley Mansion. It is a delightful place to dine with friends. We ordered the hamburger, pastrami sandwich and two salads. The food was delicious and the service was great. We dined outside and the landscaping and ground flowers were beautiful. We will dine at the restaurant again.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent as always! Return year after year when we are in Phoenix.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We choose Lon's for our Valentines night and it was a great experience.

Food is incredible, ambiance and services are outstanding.

We will definitely return for more great experiences

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines for the 2nd time. We love this place. One of my favorite in all of Phoenix.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Staff is first rate. It makes the whole night. Just a first class act.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Let me first say that I love Lon's!!! We thought a reservation at 1:45 on Valentine's Day would be quite nice...after a busy lunch, but well ahead of the crazy Valentine's dinner. We were seated, ordered a fabulous bottle of Paul Hobbs cab, placed our order...and waited. Wine was delivered by the sommelier, poured, wonderful. Watched as the kitchen sent orders to the wrong tables...our waiter was no where to be seen. Long story short, we have never had bad service, we certainly did this time. We will return, and I'm hoping We have a professional waitstaff!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Historic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's lunch here was exceptional! Have stayed at the at the Hermosa Inn and dined here before, inside and out, and always satisfied.

Our server, Manny was excellent. Attentive throughout our meal, knowledgeable and took a picture at the end of the meal to memorialize our 30th Valentine's together.

We shared an order of the blue crab cakes and next time will each have our own order. It was the star of our lunch! I had the Fish and Chips and my hubby had the pasta. Both were excellent! The fish and chips were nothing like what one usually finds at your local Irish pub. Smaller portions of true cod, perfectly prepared and accompanied with really good tartar sauce and requested vinegar.

We finished with the decadent cowboy candy bar and coffee.

It was a lovely place to spend Valentine's and we highly recommend for any ocassion, just make one up, the setting is beautiful!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It's definitely rates as one of the most romantic restaurants for lunch or dinner. Beautiful outdoor setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Incredible evening as always when spending it at Lon's!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We ate at Lon's on the last night of our girl's trip. The host directed us to a high top table in the outdoor bar area. It was fabulous! The service was impeccable, and the food was amazing. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We first gathered for cocktails and snacks in the bar which was comfortable and quiet enough for conversation. We were seated timely in a comfortable room. The decor is "South West", which is our residence so fine as well. The wine was the proper temperature and the selection extensive. Service was attentive. The meals for four were served timely and at the proper temperature. It's a little pricey but we all thought the cost was consistent with the quality of the food and venue.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Early Valentines day --- but as always Lon's is sedate class and the menu variety is always interesting. Flowers were delivered and perfect and the patio bar and singer were noticed, appreciated but NOT intrusive..... Always Amazing

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We love the place. Brian our server was outstanding and as usual, the wine was outstanding...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We were visiting my in laws and wanted to go someplace they had never been to. It was recommended by some locals and was everything we had hoped for. Dinner outside in February ( we are from MN), beautiful lightening and a warm fireplace. The food was awesome and our server was outstanding recommending many great items and wine pairings.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

As usual, incredible patio dining in a tranquil setting. Wine list is extensive and includes a good selection of mid-priced wines (as well as well known, higher price point staples). Service was prompt but unobtrusive. Food, as always, was well prepared and flavorful. This is a Scottsdale/Paradise Valley classic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

LOVE LON'S -GREAT INDOOR OR OUTDOOR DINING. SUPER SUNDAY BRUNCH SELECTION

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We love this place. The outside dining is wonderful and the food is terrific. You can't go wrong.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fabulous food. Great service by Richard - helpful but not obtrusive. The patio is so beautiful. This is such a lovely place to bring guests from out of town who want to experience the best in Arizona outdoor dining.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great evening out on the patio at Lon's. Wife and I had a date night and Lon's was the perfect spot. The ambience, service, food and even the music played by the guitarist were all top notch. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Had a great time. Service was good. It was expensive, but you get what you pay for. Live music was nice.

Tags: Organic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Another home run for Lon's. As always, the service, atmosphere, and food were fabulous. We told them it was our Anniversary when we booked through Open Table, and when they seated us the staff had covered the table with fresh hibiscus blooms and signed a card for us. My wife had the braised short ribs over couscous and she reported that it was awesome (she didn't give me any!) and I had a pecan wood grilled filet that was true to Lon's standards.

Still our favorite place for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 2, 2017

What a wonderful, relaxing experience! We were celebrating 25 years with our company. The staff at Lon's individually signed a congratulatory card and our table was outside, right in front of the large fire - the best seat in the house. What a special treat for all of us!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 2, 2017

What a wonderful setting, all Arizona elegance. Chef presents a meal that is one that you will brag about to your friends. This desert oasis is especially good when I'm entertaining out of town guests. I can't wait tell my next visit. What a treat.

Tags: Business Meals, Fireplace, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 2, 2017

A year ago we spent New Year's Eve at Lon's and HAD TO return. This is an exquisite location with the setting, service, food and wine to match. We recommend Lon's to all of our friends who ask about THE ONE PLACE at which they have to dine while in Phoenix.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Private Room, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We have enjoyed Lon's several times over the years and this was one of our best visits.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Historic, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 1, 2017

A perfect evening at Lon's. The service was great from the greeting at the door, to the table, to retrieving my car at the end of the evening. Excellent salad split in the kitchen. Perfectly prepared fish entrees. Delicious semolina cake for dessert. Bravo Lon's

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was outstanding !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Had both dinner and breakfast and both were excellent. The food, the atmosphere and our waiters were outstanding!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Fabulous upscale in the desert setting. A must for fine dining in Phoenix.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Terrible after hearing great recommendations! The waiter did misinterpreted an order for duck as chicken, when the dishes did arrive two of the dishes were cold ! The portion sizes were far too big ( e.g. Two large chicken and duck breasts ) and no serious attempt to provide a discount ! The first Restuarant in 3 years where I avoided giving a tip . Avoid it !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The restaurant seems more spacious than before. The service and the food are excellent. Beautiful place, but the road in is pretty dark with no street lighting, being in the middle of Paradise Valley. We'll come back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food at Lon's is excellent but expensive. If you are trying to get to a show or other event don't go there. We ordered an appetizer, split a salad and then an entree. It took 25 minutes from the salad course to receive our entree. The place was not busy and they knew from the beginning when I made the reservation that we had a concert to go to. The manager comped us a glass of wine, but the evening was ruined because we had to rush through the entree and leave. We barely made the performance on time. It's incomprehensible how an established restaurant with such a good reputation could make this mistake.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We love Lon's! We live in Texas but come to Phoenix once a year and eat at Lon's at least once while we stay here.

Love the atmosphere and the food is outstanding every time!

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It has been 18 years between visits, but Lon's is just as memorable! This is a top 10 or top 5 dining experience, lifetime

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Lon's at the Hermosa Inn never fails to "Wow" us.

Gorgeous setting, tomorrow, delightful service! We had the Ahi Sashimi tuna starter heated on a sea hit salt block. Delicious.

Great wines, also tried the filet minion & the duck.., to die for!!!:)

Save room for a yummy homemade dessert . Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Lon's has been a favorite since it opened many years ago. They continue to serve fabulous and innovative food in a gorgeous setting. The service is always topnotch. It's also a go to when we have out-of-town guests as it is such a quintessentially southwestern property - so much charm. Everyone loves Lon's and we often have to go back when those guests return to town.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I hadn't been to Lon's in a while. It's still an interesting, pleasant venue, however the food was not up to their former standard. Uninteresting salads served without any accompaniment (rolls, bread, muffins, etc.). I had raved about the food to my out-of-town guest....I'm sure he wondered what I was talking about. Please bring back the "old Lon's" where they served amazing food!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Lon's and especially the staff, is just plain wonderful. When we made reservations I was asked if it was for a special occasion. I said yes, our 50th wedding anniversary. We were returning to Phoenix to celebrate and had not been to the restaurant for over five years. All I can say is WOW. The Host, who has been there for many many years greeted us with congratulations as did all the staff (and they did it with a lot of sincerity). Even our dessert was personalized for the occasion. It was super fun. My meal, duck breast, was wonderful. Unfortunately my husband's chicken was dry (the first time we have ever had less than an outstanding plate). Lon's made this milestone in our lives, so very special. With thanks.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.