About Lon's at The Hermosa

5532 North Palo Cristi Road
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

LON’s at the Hermosa is an authentic Arizona hacienda surrounded by spectacular scenery. Its elegant dining room melds homemade adobe and rustic ironwork with flattering lighting and carefully set tables. Enjoy award-winning Globally insipired Arizona fare on the spacious patio, or by one of the fireplaces throughout the lounge and dining areas, adorned with art pieces by Lon Megargee. The menus at LON’s offer a memorable culinary experience, which captures spirit, creativity and warmth using bold flavors and compelling combinations that reflect a contemporary take on the multitude of foods originating in the Western Hemisphere. Our chef and master gardener grow a wide selection of organic herbs, heirloom vegetables and fruit on the grounds. Harvested at the peak of their flavor and combined with other locally grown produce, the ingredients are incorporated into brilliantly creative dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am-10:00am


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm


Weekend Brunch: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Nightly 6pm-9pm


Last Drop Bar Happy Hour Daily 4pm -6pm


Cross Street:
Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 955-7878

Website:
http://www.hermosainn.com/lons/

Entertainment:
Seasonal September-May

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Pacheco

Private Party Facilities:
With a 150 guest maximum capacity, LON’s at the Hermosa has varied sized private rooms and outdoor spaces, for both small and large groups. For additional information please contact us at 602-792-1914.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come celebrate local Arizona cuisine and ambiance with us! We have a Chef's tasting menu Friday, Saturday and Sunday (prices vary) with optional wine parings. In addition, we have available gluten free and vegetarian/vegan/pacsaterian options.

Restaurant Photos

Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Huevos rancheros
Pork Belly Benedict
Kobe Beef Tartare
Pea Soup With Dungeness Crab
Mexican Tiramisu

Lon's at The Hermosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
American
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Scottsdale
3 More
Outdoor Dining
Scottsdale
Romantic
Scottsdale
American
Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Central Scottsdale ›

Special Occasion (56)
Romantic (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Notable Wine List (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Scenic View (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Historic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for a Date (8)
Authentic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (6)
Seasonal (5)
Private Room (4)
Fireplace (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2723 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The whole dining experience was amazing. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

The whole dining experience was amazing. It was my first time here and I have lived in Phoenix my entire life. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the quality of the food can't be matched. I would recommend Lon's to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a wonderful dining experience. Sat o ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

Was a wonderful dining experience. Sat on the lovely patio. The food was delicious. Lon's is well worth the drive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff make you feel incredibly ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

The wait staff make you feel incredibly special and pampered. They are all top-notch.

The atmosphere is upscale, and the food is creative and unique.

Perfect place for a special occasion.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacationing in Scottsdale and decided to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Vacationing in Scottsdale and decided to go to Lon's for my 55th birthday. Hadn't been there in 10 years. Of course, it was being remodeled. No biggie. Checked in 45 minutes early and host said they were on time and to go to the lounge for a drink. Okay. Lounge is completely devoid of people; bartender brought us water and sent over the waitress. Ordered two drinks and an app. Not bad. Would have gone to a quaint outside area with only one other person there, but of course he was smoking. Skip that. Just wait to be called. An hour goes by. Then someone else enters the bar and are subsequently told their table is ready. An hour an 15 minutes have gone by and I am getting edgy. Return in the company of a staff member (guess he could sense my frustration) and he brought us to the host. The very same person who told us all was on schedule and go get a drink looked at us as if we just snuck into the restaurant and stole someone else's reservation. Looked at his screen, befuddled, and finally said to our rescuer, "Just put them at the third table on the left." Really feeling catered to now. Okay, so I am a little off and it's my birthday and I am feeling less than loved, but I am attempting to work through it. Food didn't help. Let's face it: Lon's is beautiful, but the food doesn't equal the ambience. First of all, not much choice. I went with braised short ribs. I received a braised short rib; yep, singular. A decent amount of fat on it as well. A small onion was the side dish, I guess. My wife ordered tiger shrimp (mistake) and their mac & cheese (2nd mistake). Sat near someone who brought their dog. Lastly, when you make a reservation through Open Table and state it's your birthday, if you're like me, it's not about a free dessert. I always end up with panna cotta anyway, which I despise. I just hoped for someone to say "Happy Birthday." Too much to ask for. Plan to return to AZ next year, but go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Music in patio was awesome! Setting on ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Music in patio was awesome! Setting on patio was quaint

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is one of a historic inn an ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The ambiance is one of a historic inn and the service and food have always been outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came with my wife for our 2nd anniversar ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Came with my wife for our 2nd anniversary. Was hoping for buffet but didn't know that was only for weekends.

Saul made it all better and was the best service we received in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A great environment for a Sunday brunch. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A great environment for a Sunday brunch. Drinks, food, and ambiance worth returning for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated my son's birthday on a Lab ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We celebrated my son's birthday on a Labor Day weekend. The brunch is good although they have few choices for the entree. The drink is included so that's a great deal. The best part is the ambience, very refreshing and simply elegant. We would to go back here in October so we can sit outside and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere. We love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Been to Lons several times and LOVED it, ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Been to Lons several times and LOVED it, this time the outdoor seat, outdoor fire pits were closed and it was clear they are going through a renovation... However there was no mention to this when I booked on open table.. I took 8 people for dinner and was looking to empress, but between the make-ship bar and a hostess that had a bad disposition and never at the front desk.. I am just so surprised that things could be so different then what I experienced just 45 days ago. Not sure that I will return.. You really need to get the outside area back open and put the outdoor entertainment back.. Truly disappointed, especially when spending 1k for dinner .....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value1

They were amidst a remodel so we didn't ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

They were amidst a remodel so we didn't get to see outside because it was too hot and no music. The inside of the restaurant was very cozy. The service and the food were excellent.

Tags: Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Fireplace, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Had the most delightful evening. Food, ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Had the most delightful evening. Food, ambience, service were all perfect. Celebrated wife's 75th birthday and promised to come back for her 150th. Excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cocktails so so pretty weak Dinner extr ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Cocktails so so pretty weak

Dinner extremely overpriced

Not a five star restaurant way too many restaurants much better

Would not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We visited Lon's twice last week. Once ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We visited Lon's twice last week. Once for a Birthday dinner which was lovely & once for Brunch when our Tucson daughter & son in law were in town. Very enjoyable.. Exceptional service. Creative menu. We will return.....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We take our service dog into the restaur ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We take our service dog into the restaurant and everyone knows his name. Service is excellent and the food is very good. The hotel and restaurant is undergoing renovation. I recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined for lunch and the service was a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We dined for lunch and the service was attentive and the food as reliably flavorful as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I booked a reservation at Lon's for our ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I booked a reservation at Lon's for our 42nd anniversary and it was a perfect romantic experience. The flower arrangement I ordered through OpenTable arrived right after we were seated and my wife was very impressed and pleased. The food was outstanding. We decided the evening was a 'foodgasm'. Every bite was followed by 'OMG!' And the service was also outstanding. Our server new every nuance of the menu and offered recommendations for both entrees and wine selections. We are very happy with our experience at Lon's and want to make this an annual tradition, despite the fact that we live a couple hundred miles outside the Phoenix area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent experience, knowledgeable abou ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent experience, knowledgeable about gluten free.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner and the perfect spot for a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great dinner and the perfect spot for a charming, classy, historic birthday dinner. Service, ambiance and food were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our anniversary here on th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here on the night of a huge monsoon. Fortunately no one was sitting outside in the normally lovely garden patio. But, the inside dining room is well appointed and comfortable too. The food was delicious and the service was very attentive. Strangely, even though we told them we were celebrating our anniversary, they never acknowledged it even though we ordered dessert that we all shared. How much effort would it have taken to stick a candle in it? But it was a lovely evening overall.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was wonderful and the service was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was wonderful and the service was outstnading.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to bring out-of-town guests ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great place to bring out-of-town guests for an Arizona feel and good food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lon's seems to rely on the past for both ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Lon's seems to rely on the past for both ambience and atmosphere. It has been popular for a long time, and can use major updating, both in décor and offerings.

Our dinners were fine, but the vegetable served with my steak was horrible.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Lon's was chosen because my friend had n ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Lon's was chosen because my friend had never been in over 50 years living in the valley

The staff were very cordial and attentive. Tyler who parked my car was a gentleman.

The monkey bread was superb and the Eggs Benedict some of the best I have eaten if not the best. And I really enjoyed the coffee which was of excellent quality--good choice.

I could imagine sitting outside on a cooler Sunday morning

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dinner! We celebrated our anniv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fabulous dinner! We celebrated our anniversary and the staff was very kind. They offered a complementary dessert with a sweet message mentioning the anniversary.

We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The gentleman at the host table was so f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The gentleman at the host table was so friendly and took us to our seat and have is a card for our anniversary which was signed by the staff. Our server was great and greater is by our names which made it personal. My husband ordered the halibut and I ordered the chicken. Both were equally delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated promptly for our reservat ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were seated promptly for our reservation upon arrival. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive but not overbearing. There were several different sized parties in the restaurant, from 2 to 16 people, so the restaurant appeared appropriate for a romantic dinner or a large celebration! The short ribs and the truffle mac and cheese were so good- I cannot wait to have them again. The wine list had some great selections too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The desert, Lon's signature cowboy candy ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The desert, Lon's signature cowboy candy bar, was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Lon's is a must every year when we visit ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Lon's is a must every year when we visit PHX. Reliably great food in a beautiful setting. Love it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

HAVE ALWAYS LOVED THE HERMOSA INN AND IT ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

HAVE ALWAYS LOVED THE HERMOSA INN AND IT NEVER FAILS TO LIVE UP TO IT'S IMPECCABLE REPUTATION... LOVE THE ENVIRONMENT - SERVICE - GREAT FOOD - GREAT VALUE - AND OPTIONS ABOUND FOR DINING ROOMS AND OCCASIONS.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful menu. The food was expertly pr ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful menu. The food was expertly prepared and delicious. The service was wonderful, very friendly and attentive. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husbands 60th bday and our anniversar ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My husbands 60th bday and our anniversary. Service and food were exceptional. Pricey but worth every penny, couldn't have asked for a nicer place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely a gem ... our concierge recom ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Absolutely a gem ... our concierge recommended Lon's and we were NOT disappointed! Our server was fantastic ... she loves her job, the history of the Inn and Lon's. We got a behind-the-scenes tour of the wine cellar! Such a special evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, secluded spot. Too hot to din ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Beautiful, secluded spot. Too hot to dine on the patio, but it's lovely. Exceptional service. I was not excited about any of the menu offerings. It's pretty limited and full of ingredients unknown to me! You can find it online to study before you go. I got the halibut and my husband got the outrageously priced steak. The food was artfully presented and small portioned. Very $$$$.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was delicious and outstanding, ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was delicious and outstanding, especially the Scottish Salmon was made to perfection. The service (Rick) was the best one could wish for, excellent.

The ambiance is always great, indoors and outdoors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Lon's at The Hermosa on ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have dined at Lon's at The Hermosa on a number of occasions over the years, and they never disappoint us! We don’t live in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area, but when we travel to the area, dinner at Lon’s is always on the itinerary! The food and service are fantastic, and the ambiance is very warm and inviting. If you are in the area, make a dinner at Lon’s part of your itinerary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the old West ambiance.. our servic ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Loved the old West ambiance.. our service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This a neat place to dine. The wait staf ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This a neat place to dine. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. The food was great. We both had the short rib. The waiter recommended the shishito peppers as a good side dish. The food was cooked properly and presentation was good. We really enjoyed the stuffed squash blossoms and peach desert. All in all we had a great experience and would recommend lon's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lon's is a beautiful place to dine. The ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Lon's is a beautiful place to dine. The servers were great. We went for Father's Day brunch. What was on their special was not what we expected but we will go again in the future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My girlfriends and I dined here last wee ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My girlfriends and I dined here last weekend and we all agreed that it was the best meal we all had in quite some time. The service was outstanding and the drinks were good. For food, the ahi on the sea salt is a must try. It is SO GOOD. We also tried the goat cheese stuffed squash blossoms, which was also very tasty, but paled in comparison to the tuna. For dinner, my girlfriend and I shared the Louie salad and the short ribs. Both were delicious. My other friend had the halibut and would not share a bite so I guess it was that good! I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.