Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

About Lon's at The Hermosa

LON’s at the Hermosa is an authentic Arizona hacienda surrounded by spectacular scenery. Its elegant dining room melds homemade adobe and rustic ironwork with flattering lighting and carefully set tables. Enjoy award-winning Globally insipired Arizona fare on the spacious patio, or by one of the fireplaces throughout the lounge and dining areas, adorned with art pieces by Lon Megargee. The menus at LON’s offer a memorable culinary experience, which captures spirit, creativity and warmth using bold flavors and compelling combinations that reflect a contemporary take on the multitude of foods originating in the Western Hemisphere. Our chef and master gardener grow a wide selection of organic herbs, heirloom vegetables and fruit on the grounds. Harvested at the peak of their flavor and combined with other locally grown produce, the ingredients are incorporated into brilliantly creative dishes.

5532 North Palo Cristi Road
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am-10:00am
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm
Weekend Brunch: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm
Summer Dinner Hours are nightly from 6pm-9pm


Last Drop Bar Happy Hour Daily 4pm -6pm


Cross Street:
Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 955-7878

Website:
http://www.hermosainn.com/lons/

Entertainment:
Seasonal September-May

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Pacheco

Private Party Facilities:
With a 150 guest maximum capacity, LON’s at the Hermosa has varied sized private rooms and outdoor spaces, for both small and large groups. For additional information please contact us at 602-792-1914.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come celebrate local Arizona cuisine and ambiance with us! We have a Chef's tasting menu Friday, Saturday and Sunday (prices vary) with optional wine parings. In addition, we have available gluten free and vegetarian/vegan/pacsaterian options.

Lon's at The Hermosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Romantic (45)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Good for a Date (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Worth the Drive (26)
Local Ingredients (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Cozy (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Scenic View (19)
Authentic (18)
Great for Brunch (14)
Business Meals (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Healthy (10)
Seasonal (9)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Organic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
3364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful for fireside patio dining. Great food and great service! Lon’s Never disappoints.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Phenomenal food and ambience! Great date night with my wife!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

This is our favorite place for outdoor dining. It never disappoints.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

It is a lovely setting. We had such a perfect evening. Weather, company and service.
The food was delicious despite a hiccup with the chicken that was dry. Short ribs was melt-in-your-mouth. Scallops were delicious. Their signature dessert was a wow!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Love, love, love this restaurant! Always delivers great, unique and delicious food. I highly recommend the tasting menu and wine pairing - you can’t go wrong! My husband and I recently returned for our anniversary dinner and sat outside on the beautiful patio. We couldn’t have asked for a more spectacular experience, from the food to the ambiance to the service. Top notch all the way!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

You must have the mule drink with freshly grated ginger... it will ruin all other “mule” drinks from other places after that.
The outdoor dining was absolutely spectacular... so romantic! The service was perfect and the food.. amazing!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The patio is so beautiful and welcoming, we were seated next to the fountain and enjoyed the beautiful views as well as the sound of trickling water. The service was great, the food was perfect, and we couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate our anniversary. We shared a pork belly appetizer which was delicious. My wife had the duck breast which was outstanding, as were the short ribs I ordered. If you are looking to enjoy a romantic dinner I would highly recommend Lon's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Ate outside outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had a wonderful table and were able to see the sunset and by the end of dinner the beautiful harvest moon. The food was magnificent, two of us had the tasting menu, which I highly recommend. The cocktails were scrumptious and Scott assisted in picking a fabulous red wine based on wines we told him we liked! Ivan was a fabulous waiter, he seemed to be absent when we were in conversation and would just appear when we needed him. I can't give Lon's a high enough recommendation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Lon's knows how to make a special occasion really special! The dinner was great, but the touches they added for our anniversary made it really special!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

This restaurant is such a gem. I dined here a little over a year ago in the dining room and was thoroughly impressed with the menu, ambiance, and service. I was back in the area this week on business and couldn't think of another place I would rather have dinner. My travels for business take me all over the country and I have had the opportunity to have many unique dining experiences, but this was one I had to share with my colleagues. We dined outside, and it was so beautiful and peaceful. This was another unforgettable dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Beautiful outdoor setting, and cozy hacienda inside. Excellent food. Wine and cocktails. Perfect for cocktails and appetizers, date night, or event dinners. Fabulous Hermosa Inn is right there. Highly recommend both Lon'd and the Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 4, 2017

very good only issue was cologne worn by waiter was overpowering and easily noted by all in the party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 2, 2017

I had THE best ex-Erie news in many years! The ambiance was superb, the outdoor table for two was at a perfect location and we enjoyed a fabulous time! Six stars...and we will be back!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This is a great place. Want readers to know but dont like writing reviews

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We celebrated my wife’s birthday on a beautiful evening outside on the patio. Lon’s has it all and deserves every five star rating I can give it. Right now I’d say it is our very favorite restaurant in the valley bar none.
Thanks to the wonderful staff, their thoughtfulness and making it a special evening.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Superior view and ambience,very romantic.
Food was Excellent and beautiful presentation

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We went to Lon's many years ago and have harbored wonderful memories from that evening out on the patio. While we were pleased with this return trip the experience was not as great as or memories. Patio area more crowded with tables and umbrellas than in the past. Didn't have the open and airy evening feeling of days gone by. Servers were either overwhelmed or off as the service was way too slow. Food was good but not great. We'll give another try next time in Scottsdale hoping that the next time will be more reminiscent of the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 27, 2017

One of my favorite lunch spots in Phoenix, especially on the patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 27, 2017

It was an absolute joy. The food was terrific and the service was very good also. Highly recommend, will come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2017

It was a lovely warm evening by the fountain for Restaurant Week. The Switch Blossom was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2017

We went to experience this restaurant as part of Az Restaurant Week. Not disappointed at all. The food was excellent and so was the service. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2017

We loved the quaint and private location. Tables not crammed in next to each other so very nice. The location is beautiful with a great courtyard are for when weather is nice. Food was pricey and seemed to lack seasoning. Quantity of serving felt a bit on the skimpy side. Service was fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

As always , it was a wonderful evening. The food was delicious and the wine was wonderful.
It is our favorite restaurant and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys beautiful scenery , delicious food and superior service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Perfect outdoor setting for a beautiful evening under the stars

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2017

My friends and I love Lon's patio, and now we love it even more, since it's larger! We went for Restaurant Week and loved every delightful moment! Great food and great ambiance!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Live Music, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a nice night out with great weather; outside seating is a must :)
Made reservations to this restaurant during September's restaurant week. Still had to wait about 20 min but headed to the bar for a drink in the meantime.
The food, ambiance, and service were fantastic. Dress attire is more towards the dressy side. I would definitely recommend this to friends and family as well as pay another visit soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great atmosphere. But if you eat here, it must be on the patio. It is worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Dining during Restaurant Week can often be an iffy proposition. There should be no worries if you selected Lon's at The Hermosillo.
The service was welcoming, knowledgeable and efficient.
The crab stuffed squash blossoms were amazing! The halibut and shrimp entree was perfectly done. The Apple Tart was an ideal ending!
An wonderful evening with friends!!
Thanks so much.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We went for restaurant week and enjoyed every option we chose. My husband and I each chose a different dish so we were able to double our fun. For appetizers i had the salted beets and he chose heirloom tomatoes. Each was beautifully presented and delicious. For dinner , I had the halibut and my husband the porky chop. Again tasty and lovely . Desserts didn't disappoint either. Oh and the sommelier steered us toward a lovely Pinot Noir. We plan to return for a staycation in the future!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Great little hidden place. Great outdoor ambience for a special occasion or a nice evening out for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 20, 2017

The patio was beautiful and the food was exceptional. Affordable wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Excellent food and service. Magical setting in the courtyard.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Delicious!! Patio dining was beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always a great meal and service! The place is beautiful. A must dine if you are in Paradise Valley!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We came here for my husbands birthday. The service, from making the reservations, requesting specific seating, and the superb waiter was outstanding. He was energetic, helpful, generous, conversational, and lovely. The ambiance is some of the best we've ever had. Very peaceful. There were fountains, hummingbirds, and an amazing amount of shade. Loved it so much that even though the food didn't match the outstanding service and ambiance (and the drinks were fantastic!) we will come back and even bring in our-of-towners. We just were not wowed by the menu or the food preparation or the plating, but everything else made up for it.
Just FYI, we are vegetarians, and there were not many veg options, which sometimes happens, and is fine. We can usually tweak something. My daughter and husband ordered the huevos rancheros (sans chorizo) , and it was quite small and bland. The "black beans"was just a TINY little dab beneath the fry bread. My son got the eggs Benedict and the poached eggs were over cooked, which is a big deal for eggs Benedict. We also ordered the lox and the superfood salad and they were both pleasant. The dessert (complimentary of the restaurant) was lovely.
So, not amazing food - but not horrible, and the service and ambiance were so great, we're going to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

What a wonderful, delicious, romantic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Absolutely love this restaurant! Fantastic service followed by superior service. The grounds are extremely beautiful and romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We have had wonderful dinners and lunches here previously, however, our recent experience was the worst dining experience we have had. The water tasted as if chemicals were in it. We had mgmt. ast. mgmt and waiters come to the table to explain that they know about it, however, not at one time did anyone offer something else vs. tap water. The water was so awful that it was frightful to drink. Our waiter was in a horrible mood and it was apparent from the moment he approached our table. At night's end he handed the bills to the men at our table and started to explain that he did not include the usual 20% gratuity. We have never had a waiter talk about the tip unless asked. The food was marginal at best to top it off. We had conversation with mgmt, they were gracious but the damage was done. It isn't somewhere we will return for a great meal in the future. Very disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Such a beautiful outdoor patio. The evening dining on the outside patio was romantic with such ambiance. We will recommend this sanctuary to friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.