Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

About Lon's at The Hermosa

LON’s at the Hermosa is an authentic Arizona hacienda surrounded by spectacular scenery. Its elegant dining room melds homemade adobe and rustic ironwork with flattering lighting and carefully set tables. Enjoy award-winning Globally insipired Arizona fare on the spacious patio, or by one of the fireplaces throughout the lounge and dining areas, adorned with art pieces by Lon Megargee. The menus at LON’s offer a memorable culinary experience, which captures spirit, creativity and warmth using bold flavors and compelling combinations that reflect a contemporary take on the multitude of foods originating in the Western Hemisphere. Our chef and master gardener grow a wide selection of organic herbs, heirloom vegetables and fruit on the grounds. Harvested at the peak of their flavor and combined with other locally grown produce, the ingredients are incorporated into brilliantly creative dishes.

5532 North Palo Cristi Road
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am-10:00am
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm
Weekend Brunch: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm
Summer Dinner Hours are nightly from 6pm-9pm


Last Drop Bar Happy Hour Daily 4pm -6pm


Cross Street:
Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 955-7878

Website:
http://www.hermosainn.com/lons/

Entertainment:
Seasonal September-May

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Pacheco

Private Party Facilities:
With a 150 guest maximum capacity, LON’s at the Hermosa has varied sized private rooms and outdoor spaces, for both small and large groups. For additional information please contact us at 602-792-1914.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come celebrate local Arizona cuisine and ambiance with us! We have a Chef's tasting menu Friday, Saturday and Sunday (prices vary) with optional wine parings. In addition, we have available gluten free and vegetarian/vegan/pacsaterian options.

Lon's at The Hermosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (79)
Great for Outdoor Dining (72)
Romantic (68)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Good for a Date (57)
Quiet Conversation (52)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Local Ingredients (43)
Notable Wine List (41)
Worth the Drive (41)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Authentic (38)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Scenic View (37)
Cozy (31)
Great for Brunch (28)
Great for Lunch (24)
Business Meals (23)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Historic (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Seasonal (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Casual (13)
Fun (12)
Live Music (12)
Fireplace (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Private Room (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tapas (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
3307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Lons is my favorite place to dine-lunch or dinner. Particulary if you can be outside among the beautiful flowers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Consistently delicious food at a reasonable price point, given the location, served in a quite pleasant environment. This visit was for Sunday breakfast. Both the eggs benedict and short rib hash were outstanding. Add a mimosa and a mule as beverages and it's quite a nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Would highly recommend this historical property both for an overnight stay in the casitas and the creative cuisine at Lon's on site.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 8, 2017

It is very quiet at lunch in August. Signage is challenging to figure out where to park. I love this restaurant for dinner but not so much for lunch. The amazing old Arizona environment is the best, the building is amazing, and the landscape is such a treat. Food was just average for lunch. Might need a new lunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Lon's is a beautiful restaurant with excellent service! Disappointed about the dinner though. Brunch is wonderful, but won't be back for dinner. For the price of the food I don't think it's worth the value. Our dinner was fine, but it should have been excellent. My halibut was overcooked and dry unfortunately. The ahi appetizer and squash blossoms were good. It's was a fine meal as mentioned, just didn't walk out feeling like we had an exceptional meal and have definitely had better. I think Lon's is really known for their brunch which is truly great. We'll be back on the patio for that.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I can't imagine a lovelier evening from start to finish. Brandon was attentive but never intrusive, and our dinners were terrific. It's expensive, but worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Girlfriend brunch to celebrate a few birthdays - have been other times and this was a real disappointment!!! In one of the entrees the bacon and potatoes were totally burnt, the waiter forgot to put in a friends order so others were eating while she was waiting and it took 10-15 for the burger to arrive, side salads were really salty, had to try a few times to get the attention of the service staff for hot sauce and bloody mary's were overpriced essentially for a tall glass of ice with a small amount of beverage. If we come back will do it in the fall to enjoy the outside patio, but doubtful.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

As always,one of our favorite restaurants did not disappoint. Gorgeous setting, attentive service and exceptional food. A perfect anniversary celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The ambience was good, and so was the service. The appetizer and main course were average (or below), but the dessert was good. Cant recommend the restaurant for the food, only for the setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Their burgers are just fabulous and the decor is so authentic.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I had heard about the Hermosa Inn for years but had never gone. Now I feel foolish for having taken so long before going to this wonderful restaurant. It is nestled into Paradise Valley and is just beautiful. Food was outstanding. Their "on tap" Margaritas are better than most "hand crafted" versions be at local restaurants. The staff could not have been nicer. Our waiter was outstanding. We will be back...often!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The venue is unique; the service is excellent; the food is very fresh, flavorful and very well prepared; this is a wonderful restaurant to enjoy for a special occasion. My only criticism is that, even though they are entitled to earn a fair profit, charging $8 for a 12 oz. draft beer is more than a bit expensive. But, overall, a wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Ordered a meal with shrimp..."Halibut and shrimp." There was no shrimp. When brought to the attention of the staff, a single shrimp on a side plate was brought to the table. No explanation. No apology. Indifference.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Really good food, competent service and a great setting. Filet mignon dinner was excellent -frankly as good as the top steak restaurants in the area. One had the Summer tasting menu - three courses for $45. Good value.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Enjoyed a great birthday lunch. Awesome food, great value, friendly service and such a beautiful location.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2017

What a wonderful night. Lion's totally delivers on all accounts. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 11, 2017

My family of four celebrated our son's 22nd birthday and as usual, the staff went out of their way to make it very special. Our server, Rachael was so friendly and well informed. The entire staff signed his birthday card and the chocolate "happy birthday" signed dessert plate was really appreciated. Our meals and beverages were outstanding too!
Lon's is our neighborhood fav. It's our go-to place whenever we have out of town guests as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Wonderful from the hostess to our server through the excellent brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our meal with the wine pairings was amazing. The wine cellar was romantic and comfortable. Our server was knowledgeable and timed each plate perfectly. We have been here many times before, but they made this an outstanding night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wonderful from beginning to end

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Wonderful place, with great food and personal service. Went there for a birthday and had a very nice time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 4, 2017

There were two of us who enjoyed the ambience in service in the newly remodeled facility. It was beautiful. The service staff was friendly and efficient The food requests were handled nicely. It's a great place to spend several days whether you are local or from out of town.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Food and service were wonderful! Unfortunately it was too hot (still over 100F) to sit outside but the patio looked gorgeous and romantic. Want to come back to sit outside some day. The restaurant is so quaint - really enjoyed everything about it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Such a wonderful place for out of town guests - they always love Lon's. We live in the neighborhood and sometimes overlook this gem but love it every time we go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We have been going to Lons for over 10 years. Always great food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is a beautiful atmosphere with a great history. Foodies will love this place and so will local historians. Service was amazing.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We have eaten at Lon's in the past and it has never disappointed. This time was not an exception. As I get older I have come to appreciate good service just as much as good food. I can honestly say we received both great service and great food. On a hot summer day the seasonal prix fixe was well thought out and filling. Lon's will continue to be a place to bring guests as well as a never fail dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 29, 2017

My friend and I meet at Lon's for lunch a few times per month to relax and catch up on each other's news. We love the relaxed and refined ambiance and that we are never rushed by our server. We both wish the lunch menu offered a bit more selection. We look forward to our ladies' lunches at Lon's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The ambiance of this Arizona gem matches the delicious, unique cuisine. Perfectly prepared dishes, attentive service.

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Service and food at Lon's is always impeccable. We love ordering new items each visit knowing that everything served here is fantastic!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great place with great food. Started with the artisan board which had three strong cheeses and three good quality meats served with nuts, pickle and slices of French bread. To follow I had a pulled pork sandwich in a brioche roll with fries while my partner had the strawberry chicken salad. Presentation and flavour of both dishes was good only marred by the speed of service. The mains were brought before we had a chance to finish and savour the starter and so the whole experience felt rushed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This was a fabulous experience with great food, wonderful staff, and beautiful surroundings. Will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Outstanding in every way! Server was world class!! We asked for a quiet corner, and staff was most obliging! We had a wonderful evening!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Lon's was wonderful as always. Impeccable service, outstanding food, superb wine, happy and low-key vibe. The taste of summer menu is a fantastic value, and everything on it is sheer perfection. I'm torn between not wanting crowds to discover our hidden neighborhood gem and wanting Lon's to enjoy all the success it deserves. Generosity won out. So tell your friends about Lon's, but please only your most treasured friends.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We were sad that it was too hot to have dinner on the patio. The setting is wonderful, but the inside dining room is still lovely. The restaurant started out as an artist's home and his artwork was on display in this authentic setting. We started with the calamari which was cooked perfectly and had a very tasty dipping sauce with it. Our 4 entrees were the salmon, halibut and shrimp, short ribs and sweeet corn agnolotti. Each was wonderful and the plates were left clean. The wine was reasonably priced and our server, Richard, was helpful and attentive. We were not rushed at all. We got a chance to see their wine cellar which also seats 12 for a special occasion. It would be a great setting for a party. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 19, 2017

In general, I regard Lon's as one of Phoenix's best and most reliable restaurants, and it was very good during this visit. The appetizers, particularly the stuffed zucchini blossoms, and one of entrees, the seared salmon, were excellent. My dish, duck three ways, was beautifully presented, but the duck confit seemed awol and the foie gras was shriveled and lacked the lushness of texture and flavor one might reasonably expect. The breast was nice sized and excellently prepared. Were I to know the dish would come out this way, I would not order it again.

Nonetheless, a beautiful setting, solid service, an excellent wine list, not to mention a well-made martini saved the evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The best Crab/Shrimp Louis I have every had! It was my girlfriends Birthday, and they were so accommodating!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Romantic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 17, 2017

There is a reason no one was there for lunch on a Saturday - my burger was overcooked and the French fries were stale and limp, service was spotty (especially since there was only 5 people in the place - we won't be back... PS - we had to use valet which added more costs to a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Love the hidden spot with great food and Arizona history. !

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.