About Lon's at The Hermosa

5532 North Palo Cristi Road
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

LON’s at the Hermosa is an authentic Arizona hacienda surrounded by spectacular scenery. Its elegant dining room melds homemade adobe and rustic ironwork with flattering lighting and carefully set tables. Enjoy award-winning Globally insipired Arizona fare on the spacious patio, or by one of the fireplaces throughout the lounge and dining areas, adorned with art pieces by Lon Megargee. The menus at LON’s offer a memorable culinary experience, which captures spirit, creativity and warmth using bold flavors and compelling combinations that reflect a contemporary take on the multitude of foods originating in the Western Hemisphere. Our chef and master gardener grow a wide selection of organic herbs, heirloom vegetables and fruit on the grounds. Harvested at the peak of their flavor and combined with other locally grown produce, the ingredients are incorporated into brilliantly creative dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am-10:00am


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm


Weekend Brunch: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Nightly 6pm-9pm


Last Drop Bar Happy Hour Daily 4pm -6pm


Cross Street:
Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 955-7878

Website:
http://www.hermosainn.com/lons/

Entertainment:
Seasonal September-May

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Pacheco

Private Party Facilities:
With a 150 guest maximum capacity, LON’s at the Hermosa has varied sized private rooms and outdoor spaces, for both small and large groups. For additional information please contact us at 602-792-1914.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Come celebrate local Arizona cuisine and ambiance with us! We have a Chef's tasting menu Friday, Saturday and Sunday (prices vary) with optional wine parings. In addition, we have available gluten free and vegetarian/vegan/pacsaterian options.

Restaurant Photos

Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Huevos rancheros
Pork Belly Benedict
Kobe Beef Tartare
Pea Soup With Dungeness Crab
Mexican Tiramisu

Lon's at The Hermosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

Special Occasion (92)
Great for Outdoor Dining (92)
Romantic (85)
See All
Fit for Foodies (61)
Scenic View (41)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for Groups (30)
Great for Brunch (27)
Great for Lunch (26)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2709 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cocktails so so pretty weak Dinner extr ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined a day ago

Cocktails so so pretty weak

Dinner extremely overpriced

Not a five star restaurant way too many restaurants much better

Would not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We visited Lon's twice last week. Once ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 2 days ago

We visited Lon's twice last week. Once for a Birthday dinner which was lovely & once for Brunch when our Tucson daughter & son in law were in town. Very enjoyable.. Exceptional service. Creative menu. We will return.....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We take our service dog into the restaur ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

We take our service dog into the restaurant and everyone knows his name. Service is excellent and the food is very good. The hotel and restaurant is undergoing renovation. I recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I booked a reservation at Lon's for our ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I booked a reservation at Lon's for our 42nd anniversary and it was a perfect romantic experience. The flower arrangement I ordered through OpenTable arrived right after we were seated and my wife was very impressed and pleased. The food was outstanding. We decided the evening was a 'foodgasm'. Every bite was followed by 'OMG!' And the service was also outstanding. Our server new every nuance of the menu and offered recommendations for both entrees and wine selections. We are very happy with our experience at Lon's and want to make this an annual tradition, despite the fact that we live a couple hundred miles outside the Phoenix area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent experience, knowledgeable abou ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent experience, knowledgeable about gluten free.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner and the perfect spot for a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great dinner and the perfect spot for a charming, classy, historic birthday dinner. Service, ambiance and food were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our anniversary here on th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here on the night of a huge monsoon. Fortunately no one was sitting outside in the normally lovely garden patio. But, the inside dining room is well appointed and comfortable too. The food was delicious and the service was very attentive. Strangely, even though we told them we were celebrating our anniversary, they never acknowledged it even though we ordered dessert that we all shared. How much effort would it have taken to stick a candle in it? But it was a lovely evening overall.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was wonderful and the service was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was wonderful and the service was outstnading.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to bring out-of-town guests ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great place to bring out-of-town guests for an Arizona feel and good food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lon's seems to rely on the past for both ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Lon's seems to rely on the past for both ambience and atmosphere. It has been popular for a long time, and can use major updating, both in décor and offerings.

Our dinners were fine, but the vegetable served with my steak was horrible.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Lon's was chosen because my friend had n ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Lon's was chosen because my friend had never been in over 50 years living in the valley

The staff were very cordial and attentive. Tyler who parked my car was a gentleman.

The monkey bread was superb and the Eggs Benedict some of the best I have eaten if not the best. And I really enjoyed the coffee which was of excellent quality--good choice.

I could imagine sitting outside on a cooler Sunday morning

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gentleman at the host table was so f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The gentleman at the host table was so friendly and took us to our seat and have is a card for our anniversary which was signed by the staff. Our server was great and greater is by our names which made it personal. My husband ordered the halibut and I ordered the chicken. Both were equally delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated promptly for our reservat ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were seated promptly for our reservation upon arrival. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive but not overbearing. There were several different sized parties in the restaurant, from 2 to 16 people, so the restaurant appeared appropriate for a romantic dinner or a large celebration! The short ribs and the truffle mac and cheese were so good- I cannot wait to have them again. The wine list had some great selections too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The desert, Lon's signature cowboy candy ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The desert, Lon's signature cowboy candy bar, was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Lon's is a must every year when we visit ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Lon's is a must every year when we visit PHX. Reliably great food in a beautiful setting. Love it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

HAVE ALWAYS LOVED THE HERMOSA INN AND IT ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

HAVE ALWAYS LOVED THE HERMOSA INN AND IT NEVER FAILS TO LIVE UP TO IT'S IMPECCABLE REPUTATION... LOVE THE ENVIRONMENT - SERVICE - GREAT FOOD - GREAT VALUE - AND OPTIONS ABOUND FOR DINING ROOMS AND OCCASIONS.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful menu. The food was expertly pr ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful menu. The food was expertly prepared and delicious. The service was wonderful, very friendly and attentive. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husbands 60th bday and our anniversar ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My husbands 60th bday and our anniversary. Service and food were exceptional. Pricey but worth every penny, couldn't have asked for a nicer place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely a gem ... our concierge recom ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Absolutely a gem ... our concierge recommended Lon's and we were NOT disappointed! Our server was fantastic ... she loves her job, the history of the Inn and Lon's. We got a behind-the-scenes tour of the wine cellar! Such a special evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, secluded spot. Too hot to din ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Beautiful, secluded spot. Too hot to dine on the patio, but it's lovely. Exceptional service. I was not excited about any of the menu offerings. It's pretty limited and full of ingredients unknown to me! You can find it online to study before you go. I got the halibut and my husband got the outrageously priced steak. The food was artfully presented and small portioned. Very $$$$.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was delicious and outstanding, ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was delicious and outstanding, especially the Scottish Salmon was made to perfection. The service (Rick) was the best one could wish for, excellent.

The ambiance is always great, indoors and outdoors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Lon's at The Hermosa on ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have dined at Lon's at The Hermosa on a number of occasions over the years, and they never disappoint us! We don’t live in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area, but when we travel to the area, dinner at Lon’s is always on the itinerary! The food and service are fantastic, and the ambiance is very warm and inviting. If you are in the area, make a dinner at Lon’s part of your itinerary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the old West ambiance.. our servic ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Loved the old West ambiance.. our service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This a neat place to dine. The wait staf ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This a neat place to dine. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. The food was great. We both had the short rib. The waiter recommended the shishito peppers as a good side dish. The food was cooked properly and presentation was good. We really enjoyed the stuffed squash blossoms and peach desert. All in all we had a great experience and would recommend lon's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lon's is a beautiful place to dine. The ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Lon's is a beautiful place to dine. The servers were great. We went for Father's Day brunch. What was on their special was not what we expected but we will go again in the future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My girlfriends and I dined here last wee ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My girlfriends and I dined here last weekend and we all agreed that it was the best meal we all had in quite some time. The service was outstanding and the drinks were good. For food, the ahi on the sea salt is a must try. It is SO GOOD. We also tried the goat cheese stuffed squash blossoms, which was also very tasty, but paled in comparison to the tuna. For dinner, my girlfriend and I shared the Louie salad and the short ribs. Both were delicious. My other friend had the halibut and would not share a bite so I guess it was that good! I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a wonderful place, and we reall ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was a wonderful place, and we really can't wait to be back. The back serving staff is amazing, our waters were never even half empty and they took plates away quickly. Very friendly server also. Great ambiance, good noise level so it felt lively, but not too loud or so quiet that you felt uncomfortable. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought a friend for her 91st birthday ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I brought a friend for her 91st birthday. The staff made a subtle but thoughtful fuss, including a signed birthday card and a complimentary dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey, but great food and serv ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

A little pricey, but great food and service. I will recommend this place for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a nice place to get together with f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

What a nice place to get together with friends.

The food and service are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there to entertain a client and ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We were there to entertain a client and his wife and to celebrate our anniversary. Lon's was recommended by friends. Beautiful place, great atmosphere. It took ten minutes for the waiter to even acknowledge us. My wife got the gazpacho and I got the squash blossoms; both were great. The bread was also great. Our entree was the tagliatelle with pulled pork; I have to say it was not wonderful. Our friends enjoyed their meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Romantic setting outside

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We sat outside and had an amazing dinner by the fountain. The waiter was extremely friendly as well as the other staff. The food was fabulous.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What a great place.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We have been to Phoenix many time, but never found Lon's. We will be back soon and often.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food & service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I have been to many nice restraunts the service at Lons was above excellent. All the staff was very attentive but not to the point where it was intrusive or annoying. Food was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Beautiful setting for a very good meal. We went during restaurant week - during which time specials are offered. Several of us had the salmon, which was quite good. My husband had the pork chop - which was huge but well cooked. Our waiter, Bret, was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly Paradise

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

So glad we chose Lon's for AZ Restaurant Week. Unbelievable dining experience! The excellent food was matched with the first rate and personal service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Doesn't get much better than all fresco ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Doesn't get much better than all fresco dining at Lons. Excellent wine list. Fabulous food and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took some friends to Lon's for their ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We took some friends to Lon's for their first experience. Our third visit and it never disappoints! The Som helped us with great wine picks throughout the evening and even gave us a personal tour of the underground wine cellar. Food was fabulous with great service. The outdoor dining experience is so relaxing - all loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My favorite May evening

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Our first visit to Lon's though we are all native to the valley. Perfect night. Great service. Had the Resteraunt Week menu. Superb. As pleasant of a May evening that could be imagined. My wife's birthday and her dessert was signed for the occasion. Two fine wines by the glass. Dishes southwest in nature and haute cuisine in execution. My adult children wondered why we had never been before. Come to think of it, neither do I!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our anniversary date was wonderful and b ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Our anniversary date was wonderful and both the wine steward and wait staff were most attentive. Our only change might have been to dine on the patio as we were the only people eating indoors which was almost too isolated.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.