Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

About Lon's at The Hermosa

LON’s at the Hermosa is an authentic Arizona hacienda surrounded by spectacular scenery. Its elegant dining room melds homemade adobe and rustic ironwork with flattering lighting and carefully set tables. Enjoy award-winning Globally insipired Arizona fare on the spacious patio, or by one of the fireplaces throughout the lounge and dining areas, adorned with art pieces by Lon Megargee. The menus at LON’s offer a memorable culinary experience, which captures spirit, creativity and warmth using bold flavors and compelling combinations that reflect a contemporary take on the multitude of foods originating in the Western Hemisphere. Our chef and master gardener grow a wide selection of organic herbs, heirloom vegetables and fruit on the grounds. Harvested at the peak of their flavor and combined with other locally grown produce, the ingredients are incorporated into brilliantly creative dishes.

5532 North Palo Cristi Road
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am-10:00am


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm


Weekend Brunch: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm


Last Drop Bar Happy Hour Daily 4pm -6pm


Cross Street:
Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 955-7878

Website:
http://www.hermosainn.com/lons/

Entertainment:
Seasonal September-May

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Pacheco

Private Party Facilities:
With a 150 guest maximum capacity, LON’s at the Hermosa has varied sized private rooms and outdoor spaces, for both small and large groups. For additional information please contact us at 602-792-1914.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come celebrate local Arizona cuisine and ambiance with us! We have a Chef's tasting menu Friday, Saturday and Sunday (prices vary) with optional wine parings. In addition, we have available gluten free and vegetarian/vegan/pacsaterian options.

Lon's at The Hermosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (154)
Romantic (120)
Special Occasion (120)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (100)
Good for a Date (96)
Creative Cuisine (82)
Quiet Conversation (80)
Good for Birthdays (75)
Notable Wine List (70)
Worth the Drive (70)
Scenic View (69)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Neighborhood Gem (68)
Historic (61)
Authentic (59)
Local Ingredients (58)
Cozy (54)
Fireplace (53)
Great for Brunch (42)
Live Music (40)
Great for Lunch (39)
Seasonal (33)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Business Meals (27)
Fun (25)
Healthy (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Casual (20)
Private Room (19)
Hot Spot (17)
People Watching (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Comfort Food (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Organic (5)
Tapas (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
3271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

This was a fabulous experience with great food, wonderful staff, and beautiful surroundings. Will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding in every way! Server was world class!! We asked for a quiet corner, and staff was most obliging! We had a wonderful evening!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

We were sad that it was too hot to have dinner on the patio. The setting is wonderful, but the inside dining room is still lovely. The restaurant started out as an artist's home and his artwork was on display in this authentic setting. We started with the calamari which was cooked perfectly and had a very tasty dipping sauce with it. Our 4 entrees were the salmon, halibut and shrimp, short ribs and sweeet corn agnolotti. Each was wonderful and the plates were left clean. The wine was reasonably priced and our server, Richard, was helpful and attentive. We were not rushed at all. We got a chance to see their wine cellar which also seats 12 for a special occasion. It would be a great setting for a party. We will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

In general, I regard Lon's as one of Phoenix's best and most reliable restaurants, and it was very good during this visit. The appetizers, particularly the stuffed zucchini blossoms, and one of entrees, the seared salmon, were excellent. My dish, duck three ways, was beautifully presented, but the duck confit seemed awol and the foie gras was shriveled and lacked the lushness of texture and flavor one might reasonably expect. The breast was nice sized and excellently prepared. Were I to know the dish would come out this way, I would not order it again.

Nonetheless, a beautiful setting, solid service, an excellent wine list, not to mention a well-made martini saved the evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The best Crab/Shrimp Louis I have every had! It was my girlfriends Birthday, and they were so accommodating!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Romantic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Father's Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

There is a reason no one was there for lunch on a Saturday - my burger was overcooked and the French fries were stale and limp, service was spotty (especially since there was only 5 people in the place - we won't be back... PS - we had to use valet which added more costs to a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Love the hidden spot with great food and Arizona history. !

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I have a very restrictive diet - Paleo in many ways- but even more restrictive. I spoke with the restaurant in advance and they made me an AMAZING meal . . . appetizer, main course, and desert!! Special KUDOS to Anthony, the Sous Chef, for leading the charge on this effort. Super kind, super creative, and excellent chef! I will be back!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This place is beautiful and peaceful, but the food is just terrible...over cooked/burned, over seasoned (salted), etc. I've tried it twice, once for breakfast and once for lunch. Each time the food was beyond disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We went to Lon's for our anniversary and were treated royally. They had flowers on the table, as well as a card signed by all of the staff. It was a very nice touch. The food was excellent. They were having a summer special which was excellent. My husband and I each tried different appetizers, entrees and desserts. Everything was excellent with local ingredients. We would definitely go back and recommend it to anyone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Love a place with history, delicious and creative cuisine and the friendliest staff around! Always makes a good impression for your guests.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Beautiful example of early Arizona architecture that provided a great setting for my anniversary meal. Very cool western example of life in pleasant valley in the 30s. Must try!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I have been to Lon's for Christmas Eve dinner and Easter dinner. Both times the food was fantastic. Tonight did not impress. My shrimp dish could have been fantastic but the shrimp were too small and mealy. My lobster tail entree was over cooked and not at all special. My table mates seemed to enjoy there meals a bit better. I think in the future I will stick to Lon's on the special holidays.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Beautiful place beautiful food and beautiful location! 11/10 will come back

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I loved Lon's. Service was excellent and thoughtful. Not overly attentive but not absent either - just right. Food was delicious and wine list was phenomenal. Will definitely return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great location. Very friendly staff who make sure all is well. Great food and beverage.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

what a treat and some special touches for out 37th anniversary!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Service from Richard was excellent, he was attentive but not a pest. Really enjoyed dining on the patio near the fountain. Food was prepared as requested and was delicious. Overall good experience fir a romantic night with my girlfriend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It is always such a pleasure to eat at Lon's. Service is impeccable. The cuisine is creative and prepared to perfection. The garden atmosphere lends itself it a quiet, relaxed and enjoyable experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My husband and I visited Lon's for our anniversary. We had been there for brunch several times and wanted to experience dinner. We couldn't have been more pleased. From the chef's thoughtful menu, to the attentive service, to the lovely environment, the whole experience is worth the price of admission. It's one of our favorites and we wouldn't hesitate to refer others to this hidden gem!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This unique, rustic ~ elegant restaurant has become a weekly favorite lunch venue with friends. It's relaxing ambiance is valued. However, with the limited lunch menu, we may soon be seeking other venues for variety.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Dessert in the prix fix meal was forgotten until we requested it. Price too high for the quality of food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Food selections and service were outstanding. Staff did a wonderful job helping us celebrate our wedding anniversary. This was our first time at Lon's but we'll definitely be back!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great restaurant and service was outstanding. Great place to have a romantic night with that special person.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 28, 2017

WONDERFUL! The food, the awesome atmosphere and the art. We will return often.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food was great. Loved their house margarita which was very fresh tasting. Great presentation on their food. Great ambience if you can sit outside, only issue were the flies were a bit annoying. But I understand that comes with sitting outside.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Starter and mains were lacking in complex flavors.
Desserts were fabulous.
Service was confused. Lots of staff but my entre came out and I did not have a knife....had to wait and also ask for my glass of wine that I had ordered earlier.....waiter brought a red when I had ordered a white....

House flies invaded our table during the main meal while sitting outside.

Would only come back for a drink and dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Spectacular cuisine, amazing service, beautiful scenery.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great service and great, very creative menu. A wonderful experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Beautiful setting for special occasions. Service was excellent, patio dining was very pleasant, food was delicious!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Amazing food, great service, wine and views.
Would love to go again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The perfect night out! After reviewing restaurant week menus I chose Lon's, and it was the right choice. Perfect in every way: setting ambiance , food, service , value. We can't wait to return. There are many new foodie spots for Phoenicians, but Lon's is tried and true. I can only rave.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

In comparison to KAI as my best dining experience, and Cafe Monarch being our "go to" place for special celebrations.
Pro: The "last drop" cocktail, the crab stuffed squash blossom, and the ambiance.
Cons: the Alaskan halibut itself was lacking in flavor. It seemed to taste like what you would get from a diner. The shrimp was a little overcooked. The foie gras was just 'ok'. Along with the chicken and the deserts.
Overall this place was just average to slightly above average for The class of dining. Maybe I was just going in with higher expectations...

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Comfortable quality and very expensive house wines

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 25, 2017

A wonderful anniversary experience. Excellent food, service, and attention to detail.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 25, 2017

outstanding effort by the service staff and the kitchen!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This year the restaurant week food was rather disappointing. The menu was good but flavors were not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Meal overall was decent but there were a few things that could have changed to make it fantastic.

The oil from the fried squash blossoms seemed old and stale.

We both got the halibut and shrimp entree. The halibut was fantastic. It was perfectly prepared. The shrimp also tasted very fresh. However, the rice and sauce was so incredibly heavy that it drowned out any and all of the fresh halibut flavor. It would have been a great sauce and rice side for a ribeye or pork dish. It did not match the halibut at all.

The panna cotta dessert was perfectly done. And, we have a great bottle of wine that was reasonably priced.

Changing two those things would have made this an outstanding dinner. Otherwise, it was just mediocre.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Excellent celebration lunch-great service and the food, as always, was delicious. It always feels special being at Lon's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.