About Lon's at The Hermosa

LON’s at the Hermosa is an authentic Arizona hacienda surrounded by spectacular scenery. Its elegant dining room melds homemade adobe and rustic ironwork with flattering lighting and carefully set tables. Enjoy award-winning Globally insipired Arizona fare on the spacious patio, or by one of the fireplaces throughout the lounge and dining areas, adorned with art pieces by Lon Megargee. The menus at LON’s offer a memorable culinary experience, which captures spirit, creativity and warmth using bold flavors and compelling combinations that reflect a contemporary take on the multitude of foods originating in the Western Hemisphere. Our chef and master gardener grow a wide selection of organic herbs, heirloom vegetables and fruit on the grounds. Harvested at the peak of their flavor and combined with other locally grown produce, the ingredients are incorporated into brilliantly creative dishes.

5532 North Palo Cristi Road
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am-10:00am


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm


Weekend Brunch: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm


Last Drop Bar Happy Hour Daily 4pm -6pm


Cross Street:
Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 955-7878

Website:
http://www.hermosainn.com/lons/

Entertainment:
Seasonal September-May

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Pacheco

Private Party Facilities:
With a 150 guest maximum capacity, LON’s at the Hermosa has varied sized private rooms and outdoor spaces, for both small and large groups. For additional information please contact us at 602-792-1914.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come celebrate local Arizona cuisine and ambiance with us! We have a Chef's tasting menu Friday, Saturday and Sunday (prices vary) with optional wine parings. In addition, we have available gluten free and vegetarian/vegan/pacsaterian options.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Lon's Underground Wine Cellar - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Lon's Dining Room - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Lon's Patio - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Pecan Grilled Colorado Lamb - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Heirloom Tomatoes w/ pulled mozzarella crostini - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Himalayan Salt Seared Ahi Tuna - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Caprese Salad - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Local Gem Lettuce Cup - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Huevos rancheros - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Pork Belly Benedict - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Kobe Beef Tartare - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Pea Soup With Dungeness Crab - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Mexican Tiramisu - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Toast to the love you share with that special someone while enjoying an indulgent multi course menu prepared by the Lon's culinary team and pairing with one of the 500+ wines in Lon's award winning wine list.

Lon's at The Hermosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
Romantic (49)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for a Date (47)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Historic (40)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Cozy (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Scenic View (30)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Fireplace (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Business Meals (17)
Authentic (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Seasonal (11)
Private Room (9)
Casual (9)
Live Music (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
3002 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We chose Lon's because it was nearby and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

We chose Lon's because it was nearby and knew it was quieter than most dining rooms. We were seated and allowed ample time to make our choices for drinks and dinner. The sommelier Brian helped up pick out two wines which were great. Our server, Bailey, was very personable and talked us through the menu. While offering items to consider, she wasn't pushy with upselling. Will definitely be back!!

Tags: Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful iconic Arizona upscale restaur ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful iconic Arizona upscale restaurant. I wish the weather was more accommodating so we could have sat out on the patio. A beautiful scenic spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lon's was amazing! Our waiter, Kevin, wa ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Lon's was amazing! Our waiter, Kevin, was absolutely spectacular! As was the Somm, Scott. They told us about a wine that we would not have tried and gave us some great information on it to make a decision with. There was no pressure, it was like having dinner with friends. The food was beyond delicious and the atmosphere was vintage Arizona and was truly special.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever we dine at Lon's, we always lea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Whenever we dine at Lon's, we always leave saying "best meal we've had in a long time ". They have a great patio, great service and great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the most wonderful dinner and fab ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had the most wonderful dinner and fabulous wines! I could enjoy a dinner and a perfect glass of wine at Lon's every night! Thank you again!

Tags: Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We has requested a table near the firepl ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We has requested a table near the fireplace, we were late by 10 mins and they gave our table away. Very disappointed. My fish was dry, and shrimp tasted awful. Our waitress was amazing though.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

Probably one of the best dinners we've h ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Probably one of the best dinners we've had at Lon's. Food was outstanding, service was great and the wine was exceptional. It's always a pleasure going to Lon's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There were 4 of us for dinner and every ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

There were 4 of us for dinner and every single item was over salted. I guess the chef must be a smoker who killed his/her taste buds. The salt ruined the meal. I will only return for brunch because the setting is so lovely and will ask that they hold the salt!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Phenomenal food, service and ambiance!!! ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Phenomenal food, service and ambiance!!! Drinks were made with fresh local ingredients! Food was clever and perfectly seasoned!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbeatable totally unique Southwestern a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Unbeatable totally unique Southwestern ambiance and authentic history, and the rest is very good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

New Years Eve dinner...135.00 prix fixe. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve dinner...135.00 prix fixe. All choices leaned toward fat :( service too quick, each course was barely cleared before another appeared. Desert was rubbery and tasteless. Ambiance old, tired southwestern style. If you have never been to Arizona, it might be an enjoyable experience:(

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Just go...wine list was great...liked ki ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Just go...wine list was great...liked kistler chardonnay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fabulous food and romantic at ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely fabulous food and romantic atmosphere . Highly recommend to anyone looking for a first class experience!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated New Year's Eve here and it ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We celebrated New Year's Eve here and it was lovely! They featured a prix fixe menu which made it easy to choose! Our server was helpful and friendly. The ambiance was energetic but not noisy. We were not rushed to finish our meal and the food was delicious. My only critical comment is that the food portions were a little on the small side. This is a great place for special occasions and the outside dining (when the weather is nice) is so beautiful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service! Great environme ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service! Great environment and very friendly staff!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing - great service and food! Sit ou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing - great service and food! Sit outside near the wood burning fireplace!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This evening was not the normal excellen ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This evening was not the normal excellent dining experience.

Our waiter must have been over extended on the tables he was responsible for. After delivering the dinners we didn't see him until one of us went looking for him. This has never happened to us at Lon's.

We will return, but will not sit in his section.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Celebrated my birthday at Lon's. Food an ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Celebrated my birthday at Lon's. Food and service were excellent. Sat us at a cozy place by the fireplace for my birthday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was good and not what I was exp ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The meal was good and not what I was expecting. The wait staff was excellent and very attentive and our waiter was very nice. The person who checked us in was rather pretentious and ignored us and totally forget she checked us in and then asked again who we where - felt like we were bothering her and was not very nice. I ve been wanting to go Lon's for a long time however after our experience I don t feel the need to go back there.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Entrees were excellent, as usual. The l ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Entrees were excellent, as usual. The lavash on the bread dish was extremely salty. We have always had good service at Lon's but this time our waiter was very inattentive. I wanted a refill on my soft drink but by the time our waiter came by our table again for me to ask, we had finished our meals. We told him we did not want dessert and to please just bring the check; we waited at least 10 minutes before he returned.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Excellent never disappoints

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The luncheon was most pleasing ... the f ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The luncheon was most pleasing ... the food, service, ambience and even the efficient and personable young man tending to car.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service once we were seated ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food and service once we were seated was fantastic! We love sitting on the patio. Our waiter and busser were great! They were also able to accommodate a very restricted diet for one of our guests and the food was delicious!

We arrived 30 minutes early and were told we could not be seated until our reservation time. There were only 3-4 tables with people seated at them. We suggested she seat us and we could visit until the wait staff could attend to us. The hostess refused and asked us to wait in the bar/lounge area which I found very rude. If the restaurant was busy, we would have understood.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great atmosphere and food, in a great ou ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great atmosphere and food, in a great out of the way location.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated a birthday at Lon's and ha ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We celebrated a birthday at Lon's and had a wonderful evening. The service was attentive but not intrusive. The menu and wine list was great and everyone enjoyed their starters and entrees. We will return to Lon's in the future for relaxed fine dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lon's was always one of my favorite rest ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Lon's was always one of my favorite restaurants but we haven't been there for some time. So I was delighted when our daughter suggested we go there for her birthday. But things have changed. Maybe it was because we were not a guest at the hotel or "regulars" but we were given a very small table for the four of us against a wall with no light, even though we'd reserved well in advance and had arrived early in the evening. We had to use the flashlights on our phones to be able to read the menu. The menu was also a disappointment as everything on it seemed contrived to impress by excess: meat or fish with heavy sauce paired with potatoes or risotto mixed with smoky cheese and vegetables with another glazing. Too many flavors competing with each other. The desserts were the same: chocolate hazelnut mousse with caramel corn and candy corn? Too much. That being said, the service was great and the setting is beautiful. I'd just like to see a simple dish or two that wouldn't keep me up all night with indigestion!

Tags: Private Room, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Best meal out for the year. Great food a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Best meal out for the year. Great food and ambiance. Romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. Our waiter ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent service and food. Our waiter, Ryan, was outstanding. Wonderful sense of humor. Highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special occasion for us - our ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was a special occasion for us - our wedding anniversary. The staff at Lon's were especially gracious in welcoming us and making sure our evening was pleasant and it was. We've dined at Lon's on numerous occasions when we come to Phoenix and always look forward to the experience. The outdoor dining is especially nice during warmer weather but dining indoors is also quite enjoyable. We love the casual areas where you can sit (by a fire) and enjoy a cocktail. A really unique setting for a restaurant. Thanks to the staff for making it a special night and thanks for the complimentary dessert!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lon's has been one of my favorites for m ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Lon's has been one of my favorites for many years. Its ambiance cannot be beat! Our group loves being there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the setting at this restaurant is ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

While the setting at this restaurant is very beautiful, and the service was thoroughly professional and attentive, the food was nothing special. I ordered the Seabass at the waiter's recommendation and it was an overcooked tough 3" square piece of fish. The smoke beets sounded great on the menu, But had a very odd flavor and I didn't eat half of them. My friend had the salmon and that was better, but again nothing like the food you would get at Tarbell's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was slow and not attentive

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service was slow and not attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

A must to try!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 9, 2016

A must to try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful elegant ambience. Great servic ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Wonderful elegant ambience. Great service. Needs vegetarian options. Would not recommend for groups that laugh a lot and get a little loud. Other guests can be a little stuffy. Wait staff were on board tho!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I hesitate to leave a bad review when I ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I hesitate to leave a bad review when I seldom leave a review at all. Duck was undercooked and when it came back it was still undercooked. I think the waiter was new and he really didn't take care of the situation. Having said that, we have been going to Lon's for years and this is the only time we didn't think it was wonderful.

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

This was our first visit and it was love ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This was our first visit and it was lovely. Celebrated a birthday. Food was great and ambiance was wonderful. We were in a small room for eight people.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a double date here. Great atm ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We went on a double date here. Great atmosphere for the holidays. Our table overlooked a picture window with the Christmas tree. Great food, quiet and cozy place. Great for an upscale dinner with friends .

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely memorable birthday dinner wi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Absolutely memorable birthday dinner with our adult children and SO. Service Food Setting Staff delightful!

Wonderful special occasion place / holidays.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was unique in many ways & service s ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was unique in many ways & service staff was outstanding. Wine prices were exceedingly high, which was disappointing. Otherwise a great dining experience

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the more special places to dine a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 2, 2016

One of the more special places to dine at. Ambiance is romantic, service is friendly and attentive, food is delicious and entertainment isn't over-powering. I adore this restaurant.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.