Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

About Lon's at The Hermosa

LON’s at the Hermosa is an authentic Arizona hacienda surrounded by spectacular scenery. Its elegant dining room melds homemade adobe and rustic ironwork with flattering lighting and carefully set tables. Enjoy award-winning Globally insipired Arizona fare on the spacious patio, or by one of the fireplaces throughout the lounge and dining areas, adorned with art pieces by Lon Megargee. The menus at LON’s offer a memorable culinary experience, which captures spirit, creativity and warmth using bold flavors and compelling combinations that reflect a contemporary take on the multitude of foods originating in the Western Hemisphere. Our chef and master gardener grow a wide selection of organic herbs, heirloom vegetables and fruit on the grounds. Harvested at the peak of their flavor and combined with other locally grown produce, the ingredients are incorporated into brilliantly creative dishes.

5532 North Palo Cristi Road
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am-10:00am


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm


Weekend Brunch: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm


Last Drop Bar Happy Hour Daily 4pm -6pm


Cross Street:
Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 955-7878

Website:
http://www.hermosainn.com/lons/

Entertainment:
Seasonal September-May

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Pacheco

Private Party Facilities:
With a 150 guest maximum capacity, LON’s at the Hermosa has varied sized private rooms and outdoor spaces, for both small and large groups. For additional information please contact us at 602-792-1914.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come celebrate local Arizona cuisine and ambiance with us! We have a Chef's tasting menu Friday, Saturday and Sunday (prices vary) with optional wine parings. In addition, we have available gluten free and vegetarian/vegan/pacsaterian options.

Lon's at The Hermosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (109)
Special Occasion (105)
Good for Anniversaries (87)
See All
Romantic (86)
Good for a Date (77)
Fireplace (69)
Quiet Conversation (68)
Historic (67)
Cozy (56)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Worth the Drive (51)
Notable Wine List (49)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Scenic View (44)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Local Ingredients (42)
Authentic (37)
Live Music (31)
Private Room (28)
Great for Brunch (27)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Business Meals (24)
Seasonal (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Fun (22)
Great for Lunch (18)
Bar Seating (13)
Casual (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Wood Oven (6)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Organic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
3120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined a day ago

Horrible service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Wonderful food. Beautifully presented. Everything tasted terrific from appetizers thru coffee and dessert. One had halibut and one had salmon and they were both outstanding. The chocolate mousse with hazelnuts was ambrosia on a plate. Hot fresh coffee to finish an amazing meal. Outstanding service. We can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Have dined at Lon's on many occasions. Always a home run. First class experience. Thanks for making my birthday celebration a little extra special.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Fun, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

The location is extremely pleasant with the most colorful flowerbeds.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Dining at Lon's outdoor patio is such a charming experience! Tinkling fountain, lights and lanterns hanging from the trees, beautiful flowers!! Service is outstanding and our meals have been consistently delicious! Always make a point of dining at Lon's when in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful dinner with great wine selection. Only issue was our waiter had too many tables and was not very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We had an outstanding dinner at Lon's. The service, setting and food were all top-notch. Lovely outdoor patio. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

We did not have a good experience. My wife's food included a side order she did not order. They then removed the order to correct. After all all four in the party had food. Why not leave the plate there and bring another side dish. One other person asked the fish be well done and wanted all the brown to be removed. That was not done. It was not very eel done but ok.

The other two in the party myself and a friend liked our fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

My new favorite restaurant. Food outstanding, cozy ambience, friendly staff, beautiful hotel grounds. I'll be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

One of the finest experience I've had dining in my 55 years. The patio is out of this world. Food is fantastic. Was introduced to Baileyana 'Pinot Noir'. It's a must! You can spend $$$'S more and not come close to this wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Took my husband there for his birthday. The ambiance and facilities are outstanding but unfortunately we would not recommend anyone for dining. The food was mediocre. I ordered a filet mignon but it was served so fast as if it was already cooked and was warmed up before serving. I ordered medium rare but was medium and the meat was tasteless. I must say that my husband ordered the Short Ribs and he thought it was delicious. We ordered brussel sprouts for a side which were hiding under a coleslaw type vegetables and were burned.

As far as the service, the lady receiving us at the door was very nice and professional. The bartender probably did not like his job...says it all. The waiter was ok.

We were really disappointed as we expected better food and service from a high end place like this. It wasn't worth the price.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

AWESOME--- only way to describe Lon's!!
the entrance, the walkways, the flowers magnificent!!
the service, the food, the variety, and the patio second to none
in the Phoenix, Scottsdale area!!
My pork was like the best anywhere in the world.
Wonderful evening!!
We would highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely spot in Paradise Valley. We stayed at the hotel while looking for our home and fell in love with this place. Wonderful service, beautiful patio, great food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Private Room, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

It was an enjoyable dining experience. The harmony of the location, the flowers, the service and the food was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Lon's is a piece of history - the Hermosa Inn is a lovingly well kept up building, and one of the most beautiful settings for a restaurant in all of Arizona. The service, atmosphere, cuisine all add up to a fabulous experience. We weren't lucky enough to grab an outside table, but ate inside in a beautiful room and were able to enjoy the beautiful architecture and decor. We enjoyed the tortilla soup, rich and flavorful. I had the salmon, a new preparation which was perfectly grilled and sauced with olives and artichokes. Dessert was a candy bar (house made) with ice cream, a chocolately, caramel indulgence. Tour the building, and if you can get down to the basement boardroom - it's cool in more ways than one.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is top notch, wine menu is great including a lot of local options, and the after dinner whiskey menu was superb. All around my wife and I had an amazing experience and will gladly return soon. Sit on the patio if you can!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Lon's. Our server,Bailey was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

After a week of meetings and office interruptions, I was frazzled and in need of comfort. How wonderful then to walk into Lon's and be treated so graciously. The outdoor dining with lighting, soft music and a gorgeous fountain and fire place was so relaxing. The service and kindness of all staff was delightful and the food was excellent. What a wonderful "find" in Phoenix. I will never go to Phoenix without a visit and I do hope to state at the hotel on my next visit.

Tags: Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The ambience is really spectacular...the grounds are so beautifully cared for and full of lovely flowers and trees! The food and service...meh! Completely unremarkable food which is such a shame considering the spectacular setting! Would recommend for a light lover much but not worth more than that...what a shame 😏

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent food on a lovely outdoor patio with flowers and a fountain. Very attentive and pleasant service. expensive but worth it for a spwcial occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent as always this is a gem!!!! I ❤this establishment

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Just a great overall restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Lon's landscaping is beautiful. The food was very good and service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Beautiful patio and Southwestern charm, Lobster tail risotto was delicious and the bread too!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Lon's was the absolute best conclusion to our honeymoon! Our server Ivan truly made the experience phenomenal. The ambiance is super romantic, the food is good but the service was without a doubt top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Outstanding ambiance in the garden area. Food is creative, special and the cocktails are fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was our second visit In two weeks - once for dinner and once for brunch. The brunch menu was good, but I felt it was a little limited. Soft mucus would have been ice - the the evening we were there. That was perfect. The staff is very friendly and made us felt very much at home. We enjoyed both visits, but especially the evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We got there too early for brunch 9AM even though I had looked everywhere for a brunch start time on the website it was nowhere to be found. This is a major flaw! The food was delicious and the patio was charming, the waitress was very grumpy and the valet was so very polite.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We dined at Lon's to celebrate a wedding anniversary. We sat outside on the back patio which I was not familiar with, and it was nice but not as nice as the front patio. I had a filet mignon which was quite tough and a bit overcooked. My husband had the special strip steak which good, but also a little tough. He requested asparagus in lieu of duck fat potatoes, but it came with the potatoes. When the server returned he asked for the asparagus with was brought, but the asparagus were hardly cooked.
All in all, for the price, we expected much better quality food and even service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

What a wonderful gem. Enjoyed with friends for my husband's birthday. Was the perfect spot.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always wonderful!! Food, service and live music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very nice place to go. Service and food were excellent.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great place for a romantic patio dinner, if it's not too hot. We were the in March. Great short rids. Pecan crusted filet even better. Nice cocktail list. Great bread and chili flavored crackers. Pricey but worth it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Beautiful outside dining! The patio is the best in the valley. Service was wonderful. Portions were a bit small. A must for anyone with out of state visitors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Food well well prepared and creatively presented. Service was excellent. Menu offered good selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 7, 2017

As usual the ambience and food was fantastic. Every time my friends come to town they ask to meet at Lon's. They plan to dine with other friends at Lon's this Thursday evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Lon's at the Hermosa is a special place, beautiful and charming. The menu prices are high end, but the food is beautifully presented and delicious. The service in the bar was a bit confused, as we started with one waitress and then a second delivered our drinks, but forgot one. The restaurant service was attentive. I highly recommend Lon's for a special occasion evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Ahi tuna is exceptional. Additionally, my husband and I both order seafood dishes which were fresh and cooked perfectly. The local vegetables were also delicious. Great ambiance and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Authentic, Live Music, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was in Phoenix for Spring Training. We had friends recommend this location as very special. First, it is a stunning setting, both inside and out. They had a guitar player the night we were there (that was on the voice). He was set up outside but we had a speaker next to our table inside. It was exceptional.
By coincidence, we ate at Zinc the night before in Kierland and the menu's were almost identical. The food at Lon's was good, not great. There was no comparison to the food the night before at Zinc. I would go back to Lon's for sure, especially for outside big group or some romantic evening date night thing. It is really special, just don't go for the food as it is good but not great.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Business Meals, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Superb in every way - amazingly tasty entrees especially the filet mignon, very beautiful and atmospheric setting with beautiful patios and fireplaces. Excellent service and wines. One of the best Phoenix dining experiences. We live in Boston but always go to Lon's when we visit Phoenix and it never disappoints. It is very worth the price; highly recommended.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.