Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

About Lon's at The Hermosa

LON’s at the Hermosa is an authentic Arizona hacienda surrounded by spectacular scenery. Its elegant dining room melds homemade adobe and rustic ironwork with flattering lighting and carefully set tables. Enjoy award-winning Globally insipired Arizona fare on the spacious patio, or by one of the fireplaces throughout the lounge and dining areas, adorned with art pieces by Lon Megargee. The menus at LON’s offer a memorable culinary experience, which captures spirit, creativity and warmth using bold flavors and compelling combinations that reflect a contemporary take on the multitude of foods originating in the Western Hemisphere. Our chef and master gardener grow a wide selection of organic herbs, heirloom vegetables and fruit on the grounds. Harvested at the peak of their flavor and combined with other locally grown produce, the ingredients are incorporated into brilliantly creative dishes.

5532 North Palo Cristi Road
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am-10:00am


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm


Weekend Brunch: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm


Last Drop Bar Happy Hour Daily 4pm -6pm


Cross Street:
Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 955-7878

Website:
http://www.hermosainn.com/lons/

Entertainment:
Seasonal September-May

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Pacheco

Private Party Facilities:
With a 150 guest maximum capacity, LON’s at the Hermosa has varied sized private rooms and outdoor spaces, for both small and large groups. For additional information please contact us at 602-792-1914.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come celebrate local Arizona cuisine and ambiance with us! We have a Chef's tasting menu Friday, Saturday and Sunday (prices vary) with optional wine parings. In addition, we have available gluten free and vegetarian/vegan/pacsaterian options.

Lon's at The Hermosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (166)
Special Occasion (138)
Romantic (121)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (111)
Good for a Date (107)
Quiet Conversation (85)
Good for Birthdays (85)
Fireplace (81)
Creative Cuisine (79)
Historic (78)
Worth the Drive (78)
Notable Wine List (75)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Scenic View (69)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Cozy (62)
Authentic (62)
Local Ingredients (59)
Live Music (45)
Great for Brunch (42)
Sunday Lunch (39)
Great for Lunch (35)
Seasonal (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Fun (29)
Private Room (29)
Good for Groups (25)
Business Meals (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Casual (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Healthy (18)
Happy Hour (16)
People Watching (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Organic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Great Beer (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Tapas (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
3230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined a day ago

This year the restaurant week food was rather disappointing. The menu was good but flavors were not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

We came to Lon's during Restaurant Week-4 of us. My husband and I ordered from the restaurant week menu, our friends ordered from the regular menu. Oh, the food was delicious!! We loved the plate of breads to start the meal. They were unusual and so tasty. The halibut with prawn was so tempting we all 4 ordered it--and we were not disappointed. I had the delicious heirloom tomato salad, and my husband ordered the stuffed squash blossoms. Lon's offers very tasty food. We will definitely return here, it is worth the very long drive from our house.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Andrew is the bomb!! We love to see his smiling face when we walk through the door.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Returned t to Lon's after many years because of the Restaurant week. Valet parking required. Beautiful setting. Nice outdoor patio for dining and several couples braved the >100 degrees to be seated outside. Inside the receptionist was too busy answering phones to acknowledge us or then to seat us when she did finally look up and check our reservation. An older gentleman was apologetic and took us to our table.
Richard, our waiter was very helpful and the staff was attentive, dinner pacing was not rushed and the items on the menu, halibut and pork chop were delicious.
If you are freaked out by shrimp staring back at you as you detach their heads...watch out for the shrimp!
The bar served a spiced El Dorado rum rare here in Arizona and worth the search.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely evening outside on their beautiful patio. The food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good but not spectacular. Service was intermittent. However dining outside on the patio was a great setting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

There are many restaurants in Phoenix that get Four-Stars-
plus ratings on Open Table. Lons is FAR better than most of them. The food, ambience and service are all exceptional. I've been there several times, and each time my server was a very experienced professional. This isn't discount dining. But for a special occasion, this is as good as it gets in Phoenix.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Yum beautiful setting! Great wine list. Amazing outside space. 👍🏻

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

If I say everything I could, it would be hard to ever get a reservation! A valley staple.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

So beautiful! And quiet and peaceful! And our omelets and potatoes were delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

This place is a real find. Authentic Southwest setting, great menu and wine list and attentive service. Everything the three of us ordered was wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding and creative presentation fit for people who know good cuisine. Great service in a beautiful atmosphere. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Very nice outdoor patio. Food was very good with some choices better than others. Ask your server for recommendations. Wine selection excellent with reasonable valued wine.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food. Inside looks nice, but sitting outside on nice evening makes it better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mother's Day. 3 couples. Welcome desk excellent. Waiter very nice ; knowledgeable ; but must have forgotten us. Had to get up and find someone to get another glass of wine. Food ok. Setting is unmatched. We still love the place. Just didn't meet the sharpness we have had before. Not trying to hurt them - just nudge them to keep up the excellence .... thanks for listening

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lon's is a really nice high end restaurant. We went for Mother's Day, they never put a Mother's Day menu on their website so I was shocked to get there and see that it was $75/person but that is partly my fault for not actually calling and asking. For $75 you got a four course meal, which was very good but in no way worth the cost to me. Also, throughout our brunch there was a mecca of flies in the building that they couldn't get rid of, so that made the price even more annoying.
While it's a nice place, I would suggest spending your money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day
Service staff were sharp but table count was so variable that the food did not get to the right tables (initially). Or the right food right table, but the table needed to play a game of "pass the plate" to get the right food to the right person.
Dishes were good in general, but chicken was dry.
Those were all the minor issues.
Appetitizers were all awesome. Crepes were perfect. The salmon on pretzel was the best sandwich. Pork chop was so good that I wanted to take the bone home to gnaw on. Eggs Benedict was appreciated by all 3 moms at our table, as best in Phoenix.
The staff are all very kind people. We had 85 year old grandma and grandpa with us. If you staff had not been so understanding, we can't go out, and we stay home. Lon's is a place that we can go with grandma and grandpa and they will feel they are welcome. God bless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lovely place and great food here! Coffee was wonderful, we came for Mother's Day brunch and enjoyed the spring weather seated outside. Very scenic, very beautiful place. I wouldn't say the service matches the resort, slightly subpar for this place. I have been here previously for a dinner event, and will say service then was top notch. Perhaps it was a down day.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a very special place for Mother's Day brunch. The service was excellent the food prepared perfectly and we never felt rushed. Overall a wonderful experience.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was so-so and the check-in process for Mother's Day was very disorganized. The best dish was the kids pot roast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in the Phoenix area. Food is amazing and the service is wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall food and service was excellent. If you are looking to entertain out of town guests with local regional character - this is the place. We will return soon.

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The evening was a pleasure in every respect, the dinning room was quiet, the service pleasant and respectful along with excellent dinners.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mothersday weekend

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fun, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Simply outstanding. Beautiful restaurant, amazing food and great wine list.
Staff was extremely attentive.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We not only had a great waiter everything about the evening was wonderful. The staff is very attentive and all of our menu choices were wonderful. Short rib, duck, fois gras, salmon, Little gem wedge, heirloom tomato salad.....brussels sprouts side was okay, not as good as it sounded but not bad. Great patio atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Not quite on par with previous visits and getting a little too pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lon's is beautifully decorated, amazing food and service! Our server Rodrigo took great care of us! We were having dinner for my mom's 60th, and Lon's had a birthday card for her hand signed by the staff and special touches on dessert. It was a five star experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Went here with my mother and daughter for a mother's day get together. It was perfect. Beautiful gardens, fountains, and the service was excellent. My daughter had the crab salad and it was delicious. Will make this an annual event.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 3, 2017

As nice a western Arizona style as you can get. Dining on the patio is magnificent. Servcie is excellent and the satff is professional and knowlegable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Always a great meal! The service is above the rest, and the food is exquisite. Simply the best patio dining in the area with perfect ambiance for a social gathering or a romantic night out! We will be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Fabulous experience! I wish I lived closer so I could frequent. Food, music, and general ambience was delightful!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We had a lovely evening out on the patio enjoying the beautiful weather. The service was great as was food. I would return to have dinner at Lon's again

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The serice was impacable!
Gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch. Sitting out on the patio is very relaxing. Food good but took a bit long to get our order. Hermosa Inn is great

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was great but time of order to delivery was almost an hour... if the setting was so peaceful... would have left... we were there for brunch, a good value... but so were the flys that appeared from know where!
Yes I woul go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Exceptional food, service, and ambiance. A definite winning choice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Lon's at the Hermosa is a Paradise Valley/Scottsdale/Phoenix area gem. The atmosphere and environment are warm and inviting. On the weekends, there is smooth jazz live music which sets the tone for the atmosphere. I was recently dining here and had the opportunity to sit by the fountain and enjoy the sincerity and peace of the water. The waiter, Deacon, could not have done more for us. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and did not rush our dining experience. I highly recommend this restaurant for a family dinner, date, or group outing. The environment and atmosphere are my most favorite, but the food is exceptional as well. You also have to try the cowboy candy bar! It is phenomenal :) (I keep going back for it!)

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Great Beer, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 28, 2017

NIce outdoor patio. Quiet setting- easy for conversation at table. Great view of Camelback!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 27, 2017

My mother took me for an early birthday celebration-we enjoyed it do much we are going back for Mothers Day. It was nice to go to a restaurant where the noise level wasn't so bad.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.