About Lon's at The Hermosa

5532 North Palo Cristi Road
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

LON’s at the Hermosa is an authentic Arizona hacienda surrounded by spectacular scenery. Its elegant dining room melds homemade adobe and rustic ironwork with flattering lighting and carefully set tables. Enjoy award-winning Artful American Cuisine on the spacious patio, or by one of the fireplaces throughout the lounge and dining areas, adorned with art pieces by Lon Megargee. The menus at LON’s offer a memorable culinary experience, which captures spirit, creativity and warmth using bold flavors and compelling combinations that reflect a contemporary take on the multitude of foods originating in the Western Hemisphere. Our chef and master gardener grow a wide selection of organic herbs, heirloom vegetables and fruit on the grounds. Harvested at the peak of their flavor and combined with other locally grown produce, the ingredients are incorporated into brilliantly creative dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am-10:00am


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm


Weekend Brunch: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm


Last Drop Bar Happy Hour Daily 4pm -6pm


Cross Street:
Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 955-7878

Website:
http://www.hermosainn.com/lons/

Entertainment:
Seasonal September-May

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Pacheco

Private Party Facilities:
With a 150 guest maximum capacity, LON’s at the Hermosa has varied sized private rooms and outdoor spaces, for both small and large groups. For additional information please contact us at 602-792-1914.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Come celebrate local Arizona cuisine and ambiance with us! We have a Chef's tasting menu Friday, Saturday and Sunday (prices vary) with optional wine parings. In addition, we have available gluten free and vegetarian/vegan/pacsaterian options.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Happy Hour at Last Drop Bar

Special valid Apr 30, 2016 - May 31, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Happy Hour at Last Drop Bar

Special valid Apr 30, 2016 - May 31, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
Everyday there is something different from the kitchen. Draft, Mixed Drinks and Select Wine Specials. Excludes Tax and Tip. Live music nightly on the patio. (weather permitting). Special valid Apr 30, 2016 - May 31, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Lon's at The Hermosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
2 More
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Romantic
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

great for outdoor dining (232)
romantic (184)
special occasion (184)
See All
fit for foodies (127)
scenic view (97)
notable wine list (94)
neighborhood gem (77)
great for lunch (53)
good for groups (51)
great for brunch (51)
hot spot (14)
late-night find (10)
kid-friendly (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
Sort By:
Newest
2668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

I go to three or four restaurants during ...

Dined 4 days ago

I go to three or four restaurants during Arizona restaurant week every time it happens. This was my first time at Lon's and it was very good. The service was excellent and the food that both my companion and I got was exceptional. The menu used a lot of local ingredients without being pretentious and everything was very flavorful and tasty. I enjoy restaurant week because it allows me to try new restaurants that I have not heard of. I will definitely be going back to Lon's

food5
ambience5
service5

Decided to try Lon's during AZ restauran ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Decided to try Lon's during AZ restaurant week. We were given the opportunity to sit inside or outside & chose the outdoor patio as it was a lovely evening. The meal from appetizer to dessert was delicious. The squash blossom & goat cheese appetizers were incredible! Our server, Erica, was so attentive & friendly. There was live music playing that was nice & not over powering. This place is a must for visitors & natives! We will be back! Thank you Lon's!

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Nothing special for the price. Service ...

Dined 4 days ago

Nothing special for the price. Service was very good, Erica ..............................................................................................................................................

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4

Outdoor dining...... Plan on plenty of f ...

Dined 5 days ago

Outdoor dining...... Plan on plenty of flying friends whom want to visit your meal. Service was adequate, slow and not really that enthusiastic about being there.

food4
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I arrived and we were i ...

Dined 5 days ago

My boyfriend and I arrived and we were immediately seated outside next to a beautiful fountain, near a guy playing his guitar and singing. The weather was perfect and the ambience spot on for a romantic date night. We were greeted by a polite and accommodating server who brought my boyfriend a drink to suit his taste that was not on the menu. We go out to eat a lot so we are pretty picky when it comes to how our food is prepared. We ordered short ribs which were cooked to perfection, and we also ordered the duck which happened to be a bit undercooked for our liking. Our server was thoughtful and offered to have the duck cooked longer and not only that, he brought us two desserts complimentary to make up for the main course. Overall we had an amazing experience and will definitely be going back for future date nights!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Outdoor dinning

Dined 5 days ago

I have been to Lons on several occasions . I haven't gone in. This was the first time. Had 9pm reservation. Arrived 8:50. Didn't get seated until 9:30. AFTER SEVERAL attempts of checking with the desk. Food was excellent .

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

dinner/6

Dined 5 days ago

The food was fantastic, but our server was very busy and we had to ask others to ask her to come to our table. Needed more help that evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

One person has multiple allergies and th ...

Dined 5 days ago

One person has multiple allergies and they Prepared a fabulous dinner for her. She was so happy. We all loved our food. We also thought we had the best server Kevin. There is a reason this restaurant has been around for so long.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The only thing I would change is the wai ...

Dined 5 days ago

The only thing I would change is the wait time for the outdoor dining. The restaurant does not honor your reservation time with the outdoor tables. So, you need to arrive and check in early. This is fine since the setting is pleasant and there is bar service while you wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, beautiful spot. We als ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere, beautiful spot. We also had great service and a wonderful meal. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at this restaurant is impecc ...

Dined 5 days ago

The service at this restaurant is impeccable. The food is fabulous. The entertainment was great - you could enjoy the music and still carry on a conversation. I will definitely put this restaurant at the top of my list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening at Lon's!

Dined 6 days ago

This was our first, but definitely not our last trip to Lon's! We tried it for Restaurant week, and loved the choices they had on the menu. Their Oysters were among the best I've tried in the valley! Drinks were great, and so was the service. The manager visited our table which was classy, and we had an awesome guitarist/singer to add to the ambiance. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The salad was extremely small for the pr ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The salad was extremely small for the price and the taste so-so. Duck was OK but not great. I have had much better food here in the past.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A hidden gem in the heart of Paradise Va ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

A hidden gem in the heart of Paradise Valley. Where the locals go. I love the place and the people who run it! The people, the food, the atmosphere, all hard to beat! Ryan

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Lon's Pork Chop downer

Dined on May 17, 2016

Outdoor dining at Lon's is unbeatable for the space the skilled service. Unfortunately, on this occasion, while much of the food was very good, the evening's special, a pork chop, was a poor choice. Tough and undercooked. QC in the kitchen was perhaps overtaxed as it was very busy for a Monday night. Won't stop me from going back but disappointing given the high standard I usually ascribe to them.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food!!

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Excellent food!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ole Reliable

Dined on May 15, 2016

We've been coming to Lon's for many years. Outstanding as always! Such a treat.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lon's is Great.

Dined on May 15, 2016

We've been to Lon's several times before. This time was for our anniversary. Service was excellent, food excellent. Dining outside on the patio in the evening was quiet and romantic. We were presented with a card signed by the entire staff. Nice touch, along with the complimentary dessert. We discovered that Lon's bar has a happy hour from 4 to 6 daily. We intend to check that out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect dining experience. The service i ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Perfect dining experience. The service is always stellar, and the food is amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lon's is always a great choice for a cel ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Lon's is always a great choice for a celebration.... my friend and I met for Brunch ( belated birthday) and it was wonderful. The Service was excellent - all the suggestions our waiter made were great - the food was delicious. We decided to eat indoors though umbrellas sheltered the outdoor area from the sun. We had the Sausage and Biscuits - very filling and not something I would make at home. Lon's never disappoints!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

I hate to tell people about it ...you'll ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I hate to tell people about it ...you'll never be able to get a table again . It was amazing ,food,service,ambiance ,entertainment ...please don't go...only kidding ,don't miss it !

food5
ambience5
service4

Lovely dinner on the patio, food was ve ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Lovely dinner on the patio, food was very good. Serving sizes are just right. Only problem was first course arrived before the wine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Family Celebration

Dined on May 9, 2016

We finally made it to the Hermosa Inn to dine at Lon's. We arrived and were seated in a dining room. the first thing I noticed was the tables were spread out so you didn't feel crowded. My wife and I had the Sunday night bbq special. My daughter had the new york steak and my son the ribs. Everything was great in particular the tortilla soup and the prok belly we had for a first course. We really enjoyed our meal and would recommend Lon's. Next time we plan to stay at the Hermosa Inn so we can enjoy the patio and the hotel grounds.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two Women on Mother's Day

Dined on May 9, 2016

A friend and I came to celebrate Mother's Day. Dinner and service were wonderful. We had lobster and it was outstanding. We've been there before and we'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

great ambiance, average food

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

wonderful courtyard ambiance especially on a good weather day in Arizona. Hotel and courtyard are wonderful and it makes it special. We ate there three times, twice for dinner and once for brunch. Food was less than average and really overpriced. I guess we kept coming back for the ambiance.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best. Dinner. Ever.

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I had an amazing and romantic dinner at Lon's. We experienced a tasting menu with excellent wines. Chef Jeremy Pacheco's signature salt seared ahi tuna was light, fresh, salt-smoky and it melted in our mouths. From the piping hot squash blossom stuffed with cheese, to the pork belly, we devoured course after course. Our favorites were the fish ( killer, and so tender), beef short ribs with goat cheese polenta, and the pappardelle with boar. Crazy good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back Again

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Reliable attractive dining, again & again. Can be your default location.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as good as visits

Dined on May 7, 2016

I have had brunch at Lon's many times. My wife and I love the atmosphere on the patio and we always bring visitors to Lon's. In the past the food has been excellent. My wife and I dined at Lon's on Saturday and I'm sad to say the food quality was mediocre. We are disappointed that the quality seems to have diminished

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

May be the best in Phoenix

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary with a wonderful evening at Lon's. Beautiful outdoor courtyard with fountain and fireplace. Great live music on a Friday evening made the wonderful meal and excellent service even better. Live music adds so much ambiance it's a shame more fine dining establishments don't offer it at least on the weekends. Lon's never fails to provide what may be the best combination of food, service and ambiance that turns a meal into a memory. In our view, the best overall restaurant in Phoenix.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, decor and staff!! We sele ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Fabulous food, decor and staff!! We selected Lon's for a trip from FL to Arizona and the dinner at Lon's was one of the highlights of our trip. The wine list was terrific and the humor provided by our servers made the evening that much more memorable.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice yet again

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Lovely as always. I had a pan fried halibut dish that was fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Heavenly location

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

While my food at Lon's was not as fabulous as it was in past meals I've had there, my husband and I had a GREAT time enjoying the lovely outdoor patio, gentle live music, and friendly neighboring diners. Wine options are excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Way to Spend a Sunday Morning

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Beautiful setting, enjoyable music playing softly in the background, fantastic service (Hanna), delicious food. What more could you ask for?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FAMILY TIMES ARE MADE PERFECT

Dined on May 1, 2016

A LOT OF TIME AND EFFORT IS PUT INTO PLEASING GUESTS. LON'S HAS ACCOMPLISHED THAT IN EVERY WAY. OUR MEALS WERE DELICIOUS AND SERVED ATTENTIVELY BY DANNY. THE SETTING ON THE PATIO WITH BEAUTIFUL FLOWERS AND SOFT MUSIC SO THAT WE COULD ENJOY OUR CONVERSATIONS WERE ACCEPTIONAL. THE HAPPIEST RESTAURANT IS ONE THAT MAKE MAKES FRIENDS THAT RETURN AGAIN AND AGAIN.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic spot

Dined on May 1, 2016

An amazing, classic restaurant for a special evening. The food is creative with an amazing mix of flavors. The house salad with chocolate vinaigrette is refreshing. I had the duck and my wife had the halibut. It sounds normal, but was extraordinary.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Okay. Lovely grounds.

Dined on May 1, 2016

I've had many meals at Lon's over the years. Frankly, the meals we had though good were not great. There have been updates to the menu which we liked however the variety of the menu is limited. The location is perfect and the grounds and marvelous ambiance outdoors--seating and flowers, are excellent. The small Inn is great--we are local but have stayed there before. About 5 months ago the entrance changed and I imagine there are still a few kinks to be worked out. We'd go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointed. Expected More.

Dined on May 1, 2016

For years, I'd heard how wonderful Lon's was. We had an opportunity to go there to celebrate two special birthdays and looked forward to the experience. The property is beautiful and the patio, famed for its ambience, was lovely. We ate inside, however, due to gusty weather conditions. Our server was apparently overwhelmed with a large party to deal with, as he explained when he apologized for the long delay before taking our order. When I asked about the tortilla soup, he said that it had "a bit of a kick at the finish" and asked if I was okay with some spicy seasoning. I thought that sounded fine, as I am a longtime resident of the southwest and have become accustomed to spicy foods. Unfortunately, his assessment of the 'heat' was way understated because I found the soup to be uncomfortably spicy, start to finish, and could not even eat half of it. Not enjoyable in the least. The braised short rib was excellent but the accompanying mushrooms were woody and chewy. After our entrée plates were cleared from the table, we waited a good twenty minutes for our server to come check on us so we could request the bill. I have to say that the poor service took a toll on our estimation of the Lon's experience and I'm in no hurry to go back. The food was good but, with the vast selection of excellent restaurants to choose from in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area, not good enough to tolerate mediocre or poor service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely setting with excellent food and Service

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We had lunch on the patio; It was divine, the food, service and entire experience was perfect. Favorites included, the pretzel appetizer, the shrimp, crab salad and fish and chips. Relaxing, delicious, all four of us can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ALWAYS THE BEST

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

NEVER FAILS TO PERFORM AS A GREAT RESTAURANT. WONDERFUL AMBIANCE AND SERVICE

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lon's is a quintessential Phoenix experience.

Dined on April 26, 2016

Lon's is such a beautiful, pleasant environment to have an amazing dinner you will never forget

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.