About Lon's at The Hermosa

5532 North Palo Cristi Road
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

LON’s at the Hermosa is an authentic Arizona hacienda surrounded by spectacular scenery. Its elegant dining room melds homemade adobe and rustic ironwork with flattering lighting and carefully set tables. Enjoy award-winning Artful American Cuisine on the spacious patio, or by one of the fireplaces throughout the lounge and dining areas, adorned with art pieces by Lon Megargee. The menus at LON’s offer a memorable culinary experience, which captures spirit, creativity and warmth using bold flavors and compelling combinations that reflect a contemporary take on the multitude of foods originating in the Western Hemisphere. Our chef and master gardener grow a wide selection of organic herbs, heirloom vegetables and fruit on the grounds. Harvested at the peak of their flavor and combined with other locally grown produce, the ingredients are incorporated into brilliantly creative dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am-10:00am


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm


Weekend Brunch: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Nightly 6pm-9pm


Last Drop Bar Happy Hour Daily 4pm -6pm


Cross Street:
Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 955-7878

Website:
http://www.hermosainn.com/lons/

Entertainment:
Seasonal September-May

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Pacheco

Private Party Facilities:
With a 150 guest maximum capacity, LON’s at the Hermosa has varied sized private rooms and outdoor spaces, for both small and large groups. For additional information please contact us at 602-792-1914.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Come celebrate local Arizona cuisine and ambiance with us! We have a Chef's tasting menu Friday, Saturday and Sunday (prices vary) with optional wine parings. In addition, we have available gluten free and vegetarian/vegan/pacsaterian options.

Restaurant Photos

Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Lon's at The Hermosa
Huevos rancheros
Pork Belly Benedict
Kobe Beef Tartare
Pea Soup With Dungeness Crab
Mexican Tiramisu

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Lon's at The Hermosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
1 More
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

great for outdoor dining (183)
romantic (147)
special occasion (146)
See All
fit for foodies (102)
scenic view (80)
notable wine list (73)
neighborhood gem (66)
good for groups (44)
great for brunch (42)
great for lunch (41)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2687 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

Loved the old West ambiance.. our servic ...

Dined 6 days ago

Loved the old West ambiance.. our service was outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This a neat place to dine. The wait staf ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

This a neat place to dine. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. The food was great. We both had the short rib. The waiter recommended the shishito peppers as a good side dish. The food was cooked properly and presentation was good. We really enjoyed the stuffed squash blossoms and peach desert. All in all we had a great experience and would recommend lon's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Lon's is a beautiful place to dine. The ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Lon's is a beautiful place to dine. The servers were great. We went for Father's Day brunch. What was on their special was not what we expected but we will go again in the future.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My girlfriends and I dined here last wee ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My girlfriends and I dined here last weekend and we all agreed that it was the best meal we all had in quite some time. The service was outstanding and the drinks were good. For food, the ahi on the sea salt is a must try. It is SO GOOD. We also tried the goat cheese stuffed squash blossoms, which was also very tasty, but paled in comparison to the tuna. For dinner, my girlfriend and I shared the Louie salad and the short ribs. Both were delicious. My other friend had the halibut and would not share a bite so I guess it was that good! I will definitely be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful place, and we reall ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was a wonderful place, and we really can't wait to be back. The back serving staff is amazing, our waters were never even half empty and they took plates away quickly. Very friendly server also. Great ambiance, good noise level so it felt lively, but not too loud or so quiet that you felt uncomfortable. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought a friend for her 91st birthday ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I brought a friend for her 91st birthday. The staff made a subtle but thoughtful fuss, including a signed birthday card and a complimentary dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little pricey, but great food and serv ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

A little pricey, but great food and service. I will recommend this place for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a nice place to get together with f ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

What a nice place to get together with friends. The food and service are great.

food3
ambience4
service3

We were there to entertain a client and ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

We were there to entertain a client and his wife and to celebrate our anniversary. Lon's was recommended by friends. Beautiful place, great atmosphere. It took ten minutes for the waiter to even acknowledge us. My wife got the gazpacho and I got the squash blossoms; both were great. The bread was also great. Our entree was the tagliatelle with pulled pork; I have to say it was not wonderful. Our friends enjoyed their meals.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Romantic setting outside

Dined on May 31, 2016

We sat outside and had an amazing dinner by the fountain. The waiter was extremely friendly as well as the other staff. The food was fabulous.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a great place.

Dined on May 30, 2016

We have been to Phoenix many time, but never found Lon's. We will be back soon and often.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food & service

Dined on May 30, 2016

I have been to many nice restraunts the service at Lons was above excellent. All the staff was very attentive but not to the point where it was intrusive or annoying. Food was excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting

Dined on May 29, 2016

Beautiful setting for a very good meal. We went during restaurant week - during which time specials are offered. Several of us had the salmon, which was quite good. My husband had the pork chop - which was huge but well cooked. Our waiter, Bret, was terrific!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly Paradise

Dined on May 28, 2016

So glad we chose Lon's for AZ Restaurant Week. Unbelievable dining experience! The excellent food was matched with the first rate and personal service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Doesn't get much better than all fresco ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Doesn't get much better than all fresco dining at Lons. Excellent wine list. Fabulous food and attentive service.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We took some friends to Lon's for their ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We took some friends to Lon's for their first experience. Our third visit and it never disappoints! The Som helped us with great wine picks throughout the evening and even gave us a personal tour of the underground wine cellar. Food was fabulous with great service. The outdoor dining experience is so relaxing - all loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My favorite May evening

Dined on May 26, 2016

Our first visit to Lon's though we are all native to the valley. Perfect night. Great service. Had the Resteraunt Week menu. Superb. As pleasant of a May evening that could be imagined. My wife's birthday and her dessert was signed for the occasion. Two fine wines by the glass. Dishes southwest in nature and haute cuisine in execution. My adult children wondered why we had never been before. Come to think of it, neither do I!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our anniversary date was wonderful and b ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Our anniversary date was wonderful and both the wine steward and wait staff were most attentive. Our only change might have been to dine on the patio as we were the only people eating indoors which was almost too isolated.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I go to three or four restaurants during ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

I go to three or four restaurants during Arizona restaurant week every time it happens. This was my first time at Lon's and it was very good. The service was excellent and the food that both my companion and I got was exceptional. The menu used a lot of local ingredients without being pretentious and everything was very flavorful and tasty. I enjoy restaurant week because it allows me to try new restaurants that I have not heard of. I will definitely be going back to Lon's

food5
ambience5
service5

Decided to try Lon's during AZ restauran ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Decided to try Lon's during AZ restaurant week. We were given the opportunity to sit inside or outside & chose the outdoor patio as it was a lovely evening. The meal from appetizer to dessert was delicious. The squash blossom & goat cheese appetizers were incredible! Our server, Erica, was so attentive & friendly. There was live music playing that was nice & not over powering. This place is a must for visitors & natives! We will be back! Thank you Lon's!

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Nothing special for the price. Service ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Nothing special for the price. Service was very good, Erica ..............................................................................................................................................

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4

Outdoor dining...... Plan on plenty of f ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Outdoor dining...... Plan on plenty of flying friends whom want to visit your meal. Service was adequate, slow and not really that enthusiastic about being there.

food4
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I arrived and we were i ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

My boyfriend and I arrived and we were immediately seated outside next to a beautiful fountain, near a guy playing his guitar and singing. The weather was perfect and the ambience spot on for a romantic date night. We were greeted by a polite and accommodating server who brought my boyfriend a drink to suit his taste that was not on the menu. We go out to eat a lot so we are pretty picky when it comes to how our food is prepared. We ordered short ribs which were cooked to perfection, and we also ordered the duck which happened to be a bit undercooked for our liking. Our server was thoughtful and offered to have the duck cooked longer and not only that, he brought us two desserts complimentary to make up for the main course. Overall we had an amazing experience and will definitely be going back for future date nights!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Outdoor dinning

Dined on May 22, 2016

I have been to Lons on several occasions . I haven't gone in. This was the first time. Had 9pm reservation. Arrived 8:50. Didn't get seated until 9:30. AFTER SEVERAL attempts of checking with the desk. Food was excellent .

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

dinner/6

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was fantastic, but our server was very busy and we had to ask others to ask her to come to our table. Needed more help that evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

One person has multiple allergies and th ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

One person has multiple allergies and they Prepared a fabulous dinner for her. She was so happy. We all loved our food. We also thought we had the best server Kevin. There is a reason this restaurant has been around for so long.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The only thing I would change is the wai ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The only thing I would change is the wait time for the outdoor dining. The restaurant does not honor your reservation time with the outdoor tables. So, you need to arrive and check in early. This is fine since the setting is pleasant and there is bar service while you wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, beautiful spot. We als ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great atmosphere, beautiful spot. We also had great service and a wonderful meal. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at this restaurant is impecc ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The service at this restaurant is impeccable. The food is fabulous. The entertainment was great - you could enjoy the music and still carry on a conversation. I will definitely put this restaurant at the top of my list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening at Lon's!

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our first, but definitely not our last trip to Lon's! We tried it for Restaurant week, and loved the choices they had on the menu. Their Oysters were among the best I've tried in the valley! Drinks were great, and so was the service. The manager visited our table which was classy, and we had an awesome guitarist/singer to add to the ambiance. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant Week choice for us

Dined on May 21, 2016

We have a group who visits several resaurants during Restaurant Week. Lon's provided the most a memorable culinary experience with the chef's special menu choices. Thanks, Chef, for something special. I had to take pictures of everone's plate to send to my Snowbird friends to show them what they are missing by leaving Phoenix during month of May. Presentation and taste was the best. We choose patio settings and this was the best of the week with music in background. Servers were attentive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The salad was extremely small for the pr ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The salad was extremely small for the price and the taste so-so. Duck was OK but not great. I have had much better food here in the past.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A hidden gem in the heart of Paradise Va ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

A hidden gem in the heart of Paradise Valley. Where the locals go. I love the place and the people who run it! The people, the food, the atmosphere, all hard to beat! Ryan

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Lon's Pork Chop downer

Dined on May 17, 2016

Outdoor dining at Lon's is unbeatable for the space the skilled service. Unfortunately, on this occasion, while much of the food was very good, the evening's special, a pork chop, was a poor choice. Tough and undercooked. QC in the kitchen was perhaps overtaxed as it was very busy for a Monday night. Won't stop me from going back but disappointing given the high standard I usually ascribe to them.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food!!

Dined on May 16, 2016

Excellent food!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ole Reliable

Dined on May 15, 2016

We've been coming to Lon's for many years. Outstanding as always! Such a treat.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lon's is Great.

Dined on May 15, 2016

We've been to Lon's several times before. This time was for our anniversary. Service was excellent, food excellent. Dining outside on the patio in the evening was quiet and romantic. We were presented with a card signed by the entire staff. Nice touch, along with the complimentary dessert. We discovered that Lon's bar has a happy hour from 4 to 6 daily. We intend to check that out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect dining experience. The service i ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Perfect dining experience. The service is always stellar, and the food is amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lon's is always a great choice for a cel ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Lon's is always a great choice for a celebration.... my friend and I met for Brunch ( belated birthday) and it was wonderful. The Service was excellent - all the suggestions our waiter made were great - the food was delicious. We decided to eat indoors though umbrellas sheltered the outdoor area from the sun. We had the Sausage and Biscuits - very filling and not something I would make at home. Lon's never disappoints!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

I hate to tell people about it ...you'll ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I hate to tell people about it ...you'll never be able to get a table again . It was amazing ,food,service,ambiance ,entertainment ...please don't go...only kidding ,don't miss it !

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.