Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

About Lon's at The Hermosa

LON’s at the Hermosa is an authentic Arizona hacienda surrounded by spectacular scenery. Its elegant dining room melds homemade adobe and rustic ironwork with flattering lighting and carefully set tables. Enjoy award-winning Globally insipired Arizona fare on the spacious patio, or by one of the fireplaces throughout the lounge and dining areas, adorned with art pieces by Lon Megargee. The menus at LON’s offer a memorable culinary experience, which captures spirit, creativity and warmth using bold flavors and compelling combinations that reflect a contemporary take on the multitude of foods originating in the Western Hemisphere. Our chef and master gardener grow a wide selection of organic herbs, heirloom vegetables and fruit on the grounds. Harvested at the peak of their flavor and combined with other locally grown produce, the ingredients are incorporated into brilliantly creative dishes.

5532 North Palo Cristi Road
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am-10:00am


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm


Weekend Brunch: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm


Last Drop Bar Happy Hour Daily 4pm -6pm


Cross Street:
Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 955-7878

Website:
http://www.hermosainn.com/lons/

Entertainment:
Seasonal September-May

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Pacheco

Private Party Facilities:
With a 150 guest maximum capacity, LON’s at the Hermosa has varied sized private rooms and outdoor spaces, for both small and large groups. For additional information please contact us at 602-792-1914.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come celebrate local Arizona cuisine and ambiance with us! We have a Chef's tasting menu Friday, Saturday and Sunday (prices vary) with optional wine parings. In addition, we have available gluten free and vegetarian/vegan/pacsaterian options.

Lon's at The Hermosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (146)
Special Occasion (122)
Good for Anniversaries (112)
See All
Romantic (112)
Good for a Date (98)
Quiet Conversation (82)
Historic (81)
Fireplace (81)
Good for Birthdays (75)
Creative Cuisine (68)
Worth the Drive (67)
Notable Wine List (66)
Cozy (64)
Scenic View (59)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Authentic (56)
Local Ingredients (50)
Live Music (39)
Great for Brunch (36)
Seasonal (34)
Sunday Lunch (34)
Private Room (32)
Fun (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Business Meals (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Bar Seating (21)
Casual (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Healthy (12)
Comfort Food (11)
People Watching (11)
Organic (10)
Disabled Access (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
3182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service on a beautiful patio. Great way to celebrate my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Very disappointing brunch with friends. Terrible service. Mediocre food. Will not be returning and I cannot recommend. Too bad because the setting is lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a magical place that defines Phoenix. Wonderful all around experience. Eating on the patio in April is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely fabulous and would recommend to anyone wanting a fantastic experience, quiet, elegant, romantic meal. Beautiful gardens, live music was peaceful and allowed for intimate conversation. The entire eventing was relaxing and the setting was stupendous. What a gem this is. I have eaten at many Phoenix/Scottsdale restaurants and this one stands out above the rest.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely evening on the BACK patio. Alone. Because we booked on open table we were not given an option. Disappointed. Will call next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

GORGEOUS grounds! Hands down one of the most beautiful and relaxing patios in Paradise Valley. Unfortunately, we sat inside and were surrounded by five flies the entire meal. The pretzel appetizer was a study in SALT, my salad was overdressed and had more olives than even I (an olive lover) would like. My husband's burger and fries was outstanding, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Still our favorite outdoor dining experience after 15 years!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Yesterday I took a friend to lunch and was disappointed and embarrassed! The gardens are lovely and it was pleasant to sit outside however the food was atrocious. Frozen fish sticks and fries cooked in the microwave would have been far better. The shrimp and crab Louis was tasteless and mounded on the plate with no attention to presentation. The wines by the glass ,limited to three are most uninteresting. I live in the neighborhood but certainly won't be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful place! Sit at a table outside. It was lovely! Food was great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent customer service and a wonderful menu you will not find anywhere else in the valley.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Birthday celebration, wonderful setting, wonderful service. One of our favorite places in Phoenix/ Scottsdale area

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Lon's is our favorite place for enjoying the outdoor patio which stays cool even on hot days. The food is very good.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Hello

I'm from OC ..Anaheim ,CA .Visited AZ to celebrate Easter Sunday with the Family
Lon's was our first visit and I'm truly in Love with the place from A-Z
Looking forward to get back
Thank you Patrick at the Bar
Ivan and his crew
Also was a very smiling young Hostess (didn't recall her name
Food yum yum
See you soon

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Normally a big fan of Lon's and this was the 3rd or 4th time we celebrated Easter there. Had reservations, they were 15 minutes late seating us and then another 15 minutes passed before our waiter called on us. Normally the service is spectacular but today it was slow, not very attentive (sent back a few items not prepared properly and played musical chairs to insure the steaks matched what was requested) and the table was never cleared of used plates until the very end (after we asked for it to be done). The food itself was delicious but some of the first course servings were skimpy at best. We laughed, thinking they must be running low and trying to make what they had last.

I am sure we will return, but not sure if the "first timer" couple who joined us will. We love the food, atmosphere and normally the service. They just had an off day today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family of 4 enjoyed a beautiful Easter Brunch at Lon's for Easter. The environment was very relaxed and the grounds and flowers on the grounds were, as usual, lovely!
Our waiter was excellent and very pleasant. My food, the lamb shank, was outstandingly delicious! Everyone enjoyed their meal-----just delicious!
There was only one flaw in the dining experience. Our water glasses were never re-filled.
There were busboys who could have helped the waiter but did not. I based my evaluation
on this one flaw. The day was very sunny and very warm so water glasses should have been
re-filled without the customer asking for them to be so.
This restaurant is still one of my favorites after 38 years of living here and dining all over the Valley.
Therese M Shoumaker

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Not really sure why I followed the email invite to reserve for Easter Brunch almost a month ago; Reservations didn't matter as to how we were treated. I received another email to call and confirm- which I did and the girl ARGUED with me on the phone( long story). Anyway...Arrived 15 minutes early- checked in-not busy - hostess stated" come back closer to 10:30" . We did to go back to desk at 10:30 to remind them - at 10:37 hostess tried to put us INSIDE( asked for patio) - then she threw us major attitude with " you're so lucky, someone just cancelled and you get this table here on the patio" . Uh, thanks, but that's why I made reservations. Server Kevin was totally awesome. Monkey bread, great. Salads, great. R's medium tenderloin came out "blue". Way too to long to get someone's attention to get it fixed then it came back "Well done". JC( must be a manager came over an apologized, said he'd comp R's brunch- nice touch) . Decided to take carrot cake desserts home- had enough of this experience. And frankly, this loyal Lon's diner will not be coming back. I can forgive food prep being off on a busy holiday...but I can't forgive rudeness on the phone ,nasty hostess seating us, or lack of attentiveness. The place was not full!! What a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A perfect GF meal. I enjoyed Ahi Tuna on hot stone and Scottish salmon. Mango sherbet was excellent Birthday treat.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Casual, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I was very pleased with the beef ribs. Maybe the best I have eaten.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Thank you for providing such a lovely spot for friends to dine and catch up and celebrate a couple of birthdays. Our young waiter, Adan, was well versed on the menu, provided us with some good selection ideas and served us with confident and professionalism.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Loved the delicious food...salmon, haddock, calamari. Evening outside dining was delightful. Service was just right, not overly solicitous but always available.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Spectacular as usual! Thank you for providing us with a restaurant, ambiance and food worthy of customers. A

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 12, 2017

High expectations but poor service. Salad and appetizers good but very disappointed with the halibut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 12, 2017

1st timers. Everything went really well until end of our meal.
We were sitting by the fireplace when we got the whiff of food scraps from plates being bussed behind the the fireplace area.
Waitress very nicely reseated us for coffee and desert (which was compt). Mgr checked the smell area also but said it wasn't food scraps but could be from construction ditch in area off the patio.
It deserves a second chance! Service, food quality and atmosphere excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Pleasant setting and atmosphere. Ordered wagyu New York strip. Most expensive thing on the menu. Steak was warm at best. Very small portion. Plate was overfilled with potatoes. With wine this meal for 2 was over $200. Would not recommend going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fabulous! Food is very good, the patio dining is spectacular. Don't miss it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Lon’s is our family’s first choice when getting together - the patio is beautiful, the food always delicious, service top-notch. A perfect setting to relax and catch up while being catered to.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We love Lon's as a go-to place to take guests from out of town and the setting and service were spectacular as usual; unfortunately the food this time not so much. The pecan grilled filet was rather dry with only a very small portion of the red wine demi that was to accompany the steak, and none of the special seasonal first courses that we ordered were presented as they appeared in photographs on the website. We decided to go elsewhere for dessert. Andrew, the maitre'd, was of course as charming as ever. We will return again but hope the kitchen was just having an off night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Classic AZ atmospher with excellent food and service. Definitely going back.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Outstanding from start to finish!!
Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We went to Lon's for an anniversary dinner, and it was a magical experience. The staff was welcoming and warm; a congratulatory card had already been placed at our reserved table, signed by the servers. The drinks were unique and tasty, the service attentive without smothering, and the food was delicious! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

What a wonderful place. The patio is beautiful. The people there are all very helpful and great people. The dinner was wonderful The waiter suggested the lobster and my wife was happy that she chose to follow his advise. I had the bone on rib steak and again it was wonderful. The starters the mushroom soup and the wedge salad were also very good. We highly recommend the place for any special occasion. Three couples were celebrating their anniversaries that day.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful meal in a beautiful setting on the patio. Lon's is our go-to restaurant every time we're in town and wish to have a special dinner. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent ambiance, interesting history, entertaining music, and an extraordinary meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always a great meal. Outside patio was perfect this evening. No bugs, wind or rain.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This is a great restaurant both for an evening out or a special occasion. The food, service and setting are all first rate. The outdoor dining area is especially nice.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Had a marvelous meal on a Tuesday night, beautiful outdoor patio, but we opted to sit inside. it was quiet, waiter was attentive, but not obnoxious. Food was excellent, seasonal, creative with great presentation. Ahi appetizer was served on a hot stone and and sizzled to your desired doneness (or not)-- a beautiful and delicious dish.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Authentic, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great outdoor ambience with trees,fireplaces (+ adequate number of gas
heaters for colder nights). Exceptional menu. Pricey - but terrific
for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We visited Lon's to celebrate our anniversary. We have dined at Lon's on numerous occasions and have always enjoyed the ambiance, food, service and the overall setting. We have not been disappointed with any of our visits and the recent additions to the outdoor and indoor dining spaces make the Lon's experience even better. Lon's gets 5 stars from us.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Wood Oven, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2017

One of our favorite places in Phoenix! Beautiful and great food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This restaurant is fabulous with a wide variety of selections and an unbelievable wine selection. The Someliere is very knowledgeable and he suggested a beautiful red wine that complimented our meat, fish and foul meals! A gorgeous setting also makes the restaurant a keeper!

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.