Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 1.20mi
  3. Distance: 1.25mi
  4. Distance: 1.28mi

About Lon's at The Hermosa

LON’s at the Hermosa is an authentic Arizona hacienda surrounded by spectacular scenery. Its elegant dining room melds homemade adobe and rustic ironwork with flattering lighting and carefully set tables. Enjoy award-winning Globally insipired Arizona fare on the spacious patio, or by one of the fireplaces throughout the lounge and dining areas, adorned with art pieces by Lon Megargee. The menus at LON’s offer a memorable culinary experience, which captures spirit, creativity and warmth using bold flavors and compelling combinations that reflect a contemporary take on the multitude of foods originating in the Western Hemisphere. Our chef and master gardener grow a wide selection of organic herbs, heirloom vegetables and fruit on the grounds. Harvested at the peak of their flavor and combined with other locally grown produce, the ingredients are incorporated into brilliantly creative dishes.

5532 North Palo Cristi Road
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am-10:00am
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm
Weekend Brunch: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm
Summer Dinner Hours are nightly from 6pm-9pm


Last Drop Bar Happy Hour Daily 4pm -6pm


Cross Street:
Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 955-7878

Website:
http://www.hermosainn.com/lons/

Entertainment:
Seasonal September-May

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Pacheco

Private Party Facilities:
With a 150 guest maximum capacity, LON’s at the Hermosa has varied sized private rooms and outdoor spaces, for both small and large groups. For additional information please contact us at 602-792-1914.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come celebrate local Arizona cuisine and ambiance with us! We have a Chef's tasting menu Friday, Saturday and Sunday (prices vary) with optional wine parings. In addition, we have available gluten free and vegetarian/vegan/pacsaterian options.

Lon's at The Hermosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (52)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Good for a Date (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Local Ingredients (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Authentic (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Cozy (25)
Scenic View (25)
Business Meals (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Great for Brunch (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Seasonal (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Casual (9)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Live Music (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 19 hours ago

Delicious!! Patio dining was beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great meal and service! The place is beautiful. A must dine if you are in Paradise Valley!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

We came here for my husbands birthday. The service, from making the reservations, requesting specific seating, and the superb waiter was outstanding. He was energetic, helpful, generous, conversational, and lovely. The ambiance is some of the best we've ever had. Very peaceful. There were fountains, hummingbirds, and an amazing amount of shade. Loved it so much that even though the food didn't match the outstanding service and ambiance (and the drinks were fantastic!) we will come back and even bring in our-of-towners. We just were not wowed by the menu or the food preparation or the plating, but everything else made up for it.
Just FYI, we are vegetarians, and there were not many veg options, which sometimes happens, and is fine. We can usually tweak something. My daughter and husband ordered the huevos rancheros (sans chorizo) , and it was quite small and bland. The "black beans"was just a TINY little dab beneath the fry bread. My son got the eggs Benedict and the poached eggs were over cooked, which is a big deal for eggs Benedict. We also ordered the lox and the superfood salad and they were both pleasant. The dessert (complimentary of the restaurant) was lovely.
So, not amazing food - but not horrible, and the service and ambiance were so great, we're going to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

What a wonderful, delicious, romantic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely love this restaurant! Fantastic service followed by superior service. The grounds are extremely beautiful and romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We have had wonderful dinners and lunches here previously, however, our recent experience was the worst dining experience we have had. The water tasted as if chemicals were in it. We had mgmt. ast. mgmt and waiters come to the table to explain that they know about it, however, not at one time did anyone offer something else vs. tap water. The water was so awful that it was frightful to drink. Our waiter was in a horrible mood and it was apparent from the moment he approached our table. At night's end he handed the bills to the men at our table and started to explain that he did not include the usual 20% gratuity. We have never had a waiter talk about the tip unless asked. The food was marginal at best to top it off. We had conversation with mgmt, they were gracious but the damage was done. It isn't somewhere we will return for a great meal in the future. Very disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Such a beautiful outdoor patio. The evening dining on the outside patio was romantic with such ambiance. We will recommend this sanctuary to friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything about Lon's and Hermosa Inn was fabulous!!!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

a little bit too loud but great old Arizona charm. My steak was perfect

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Lon's is always superb! From your valet parker to the end of your meal there are few restaurants that measure up to Lon's. Wonderful wine list, creative menu, caring wait staff, and wonderful ambiance! We have never visited Scottsdale when we did not have a wonderful evening of dining at Lon's. Arrive early and enjoy a drink at their intimate bar. Ask to see their wine cellar or better yet plan an evening with friends and dine in the cellar. You will not regret an evening at Lon's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had the most amazing evening celebrating the birthdays of two dear friends. Our server, Kevin, and all of the wait staff were attentive, professional and personable. The food - salads, truffled mac and cheese, Shishito pepper, and entrees were fabulous. Best Shishitos in town. The complimentary birthday dessert was delicious. Cannot wait to return and sit on the fabulous outdoor patio when the weather cools down a bit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service was slow...food too overpriced. We will not be returning.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

This is a great location and fantastic bit of AZ history. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Expensive, but the food, staff and ambience is outstanding!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Filet was one of the best I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Overall a great experience. It's quite and romantic. Fantastic food and service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 29, 2017

I bring out of town visitors to Lon's for both business and personal meals and we are never disappointed. When Andrew greats us at the door, we know we'll be well taken care of. The food and cocktails are amazing and we will keep Lon's on our list for another meal again soon!

Tags: Happy Hour, Organic, Seasonal, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Lately, we are going to a lot of restaurants where we order at the counter and pick up our food when our number is called. This was a wonderful return to attentive service, excellent food, and charming atmosphere. It's just as wonderful now as it was when we first visited there about 20 years ago. We love to bring out-of-town guests because of the great patio and the Arizona vibe. We appreciated the seasonal menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Pleasant surprise. Excellent service, good food and overall great experience

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The salmon was good but my wife's halibut was overcooked and not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Very nice dining experience. The wsiter, Scott, was friendly and did a real nice job.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Everything about our experience at Lon's was great. From the drinks and the meal, to the beautiful restaurant and top notch service, we really enjoyed ourselves. I really can't stress how great the service was. Deacon was very knowledgeable and attentive. I hadn't had service like that in some time... also the food was excellent! We can't stop talking about it. Thanks to everyone for putting together a fantastic night out for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fantastic! Lon's never disappoints; great food, great service, great stmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Lons is my favorite place to dine-lunch or dinner. Particulary if you can be outside among the beautiful flowers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Consistently delicious food at a reasonable price point, given the location, served in a quite pleasant environment. This visit was for Sunday breakfast. Both the eggs benedict and short rib hash were outstanding. Add a mimosa and a mule as beverages and it's quite a nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Would highly recommend this historical property both for an overnight stay in the casitas and the creative cuisine at Lon's on site.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 8, 2017

It is very quiet at lunch in August. Signage is challenging to figure out where to park. I love this restaurant for dinner but not so much for lunch. The amazing old Arizona environment is the best, the building is amazing, and the landscape is such a treat. Food was just average for lunch. Might need a new lunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Lon's is a beautiful restaurant with excellent service! Disappointed about the dinner though. Brunch is wonderful, but won't be back for dinner. For the price of the food I don't think it's worth the value. Our dinner was fine, but it should have been excellent. My halibut was overcooked and dry unfortunately. The ahi appetizer and squash blossoms were good. It's was a fine meal as mentioned, just didn't walk out feeling like we had an exceptional meal and have definitely had better. I think Lon's is really known for their brunch which is truly great. We'll be back on the patio for that.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I can't imagine a lovelier evening from start to finish. Brandon was attentive but never intrusive, and our dinners were terrific. It's expensive, but worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Girlfriend brunch to celebrate a few birthdays - have been other times and this was a real disappointment!!! In one of the entrees the bacon and potatoes were totally burnt, the waiter forgot to put in a friends order so others were eating while she was waiting and it took 10-15 for the burger to arrive, side salads were really salty, had to try a few times to get the attention of the service staff for hot sauce and bloody mary's were overpriced essentially for a tall glass of ice with a small amount of beverage. If we come back will do it in the fall to enjoy the outside patio, but doubtful.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

As always,one of our favorite restaurants did not disappoint. Gorgeous setting, attentive service and exceptional food. A perfect anniversary celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The ambience was good, and so was the service. The appetizer and main course were average (or below), but the dessert was good. Cant recommend the restaurant for the food, only for the setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Their burgers are just fabulous and the decor is so authentic.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I had heard about the Hermosa Inn for years but had never gone. Now I feel foolish for having taken so long before going to this wonderful restaurant. It is nestled into Paradise Valley and is just beautiful. Food was outstanding. Their "on tap" Margaritas are better than most "hand crafted" versions be at local restaurants. The staff could not have been nicer. Our waiter was outstanding. We will be back...often!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The venue is unique; the service is excellent; the food is very fresh, flavorful and very well prepared; this is a wonderful restaurant to enjoy for a special occasion. My only criticism is that, even though they are entitled to earn a fair profit, charging $8 for a 12 oz. draft beer is more than a bit expensive. But, overall, a wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Ordered a meal with shrimp..."Halibut and shrimp." There was no shrimp. When brought to the attention of the staff, a single shrimp on a side plate was brought to the table. No explanation. No apology. Indifference.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Really good food, competent service and a great setting. Filet mignon dinner was excellent -frankly as good as the top steak restaurants in the area. One had the Summer tasting menu - three courses for $45. Good value.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Enjoyed a great birthday lunch. Awesome food, great value, friendly service and such a beautiful location.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2017

What a wonderful night. Lion's totally delivers on all accounts. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 11, 2017

My family of four celebrated our son's 22nd birthday and as usual, the staff went out of their way to make it very special. Our server, Rachael was so friendly and well informed. The entire staff signed his birthday card and the chocolate "happy birthday" signed dessert plate was really appreciated. Our meals and beverages were outstanding too!
Lon's is our neighborhood fav. It's our go-to place whenever we have out of town guests as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.