About Lon's at The Hermosa

5532 North Palo Cristi Road
Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

LON’s at the Hermosa is an authentic Arizona hacienda surrounded by spectacular scenery. Its elegant dining room melds homemade adobe and rustic ironwork with flattering lighting and carefully set tables. Enjoy award-winning Globally insipired Arizona fare on the spacious patio, or by one of the fireplaces throughout the lounge and dining areas, adorned with art pieces by Lon Megargee. The menus at LON’s offer a memorable culinary experience, which captures spirit, creativity and warmth using bold flavors and compelling combinations that reflect a contemporary take on the multitude of foods originating in the Western Hemisphere. Our chef and master gardener grow a wide selection of organic herbs, heirloom vegetables and fruit on the grounds. Harvested at the peak of their flavor and combined with other locally grown produce, the ingredients are incorporated into brilliantly creative dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Dining Bar, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am-10:00am


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:00pm


Weekend Brunch: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00am-2:00pm

Dinner: Nightly 5:30pm-10:00pm


Last Drop Bar Happy Hour Daily 4pm -6pm


Cross Street:
Stanford Dr. & North Palo Cristi Rd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 955-7878

Website:
http://www.hermosainn.com/lons/

Entertainment:
Seasonal September-May

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Pacheco

Private Party Facilities:
With a 150 guest maximum capacity, LON’s at the Hermosa has varied sized private rooms and outdoor spaces, for both small and large groups. For additional information please contact us at 602-792-1914.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come celebrate local Arizona cuisine and ambiance with us! We have a Chef's tasting menu Friday, Saturday and Sunday (prices vary) with optional wine parings. In addition, we have available gluten free and vegetarian/vegan/pacsaterian options.

Restaurant Photos

Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Lon's Underground Wine Cellar - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Lon's Dining Room - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Lon's Patio - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Pecan Grilled Colorado Lamb - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Heirloom Tomatoes w/ pulled mozzarella crostini - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Himalayan Salt Seared Ahi Tuna - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Caprese Salad - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Local Gem Lettuce Cup - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Huevos rancheros - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Pork Belly Benedict - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Kobe Beef Tartare - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Pea Soup With Dungeness Crab - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ
Mexican Tiramisu - Lon's at The Hermosa, Paradise Valley, AZ

Lon's at The Hermosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Scottsdale

Special Occasion (51)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Romantic (39)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Good for a Date (35)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Historic (34)
Worth the Drive (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Scenic View (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Cozy (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fireplace (17)
Authentic (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Business Meals (11)
Seasonal (10)
Casual (10)
Private Room (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Live Music (6)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2792 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our first visit and it was love ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first visit and it was lovely. Celebrated a birthday. Food was great and ambiance was wonderful. We were in a small room for eight people.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a double date here. Great atm ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We went on a double date here. Great atmosphere for the holidays. Our table overlooked a picture window with the Christmas tree. Great food, quiet and cozy place. Great for an upscale dinner with friends .

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely memorable birthday dinner wi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely memorable birthday dinner with our adult children and SO. Service Food Setting Staff delightful!

Wonderful special occasion place / holidays.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was unique in many ways & service s ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was unique in many ways & service staff was outstanding. Wine prices were exceedingly high, which was disappointing. Otherwise a great dining experience

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the more special places to dine a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

One of the more special places to dine at. Ambiance is romantic, service is friendly and attentive, food is delicious and entertainment isn't over-powering. I adore this restaurant.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visit which was everything my ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 1, 2016

First time visit which was everything my foodie friends said it would be.

Even met the the Executive Chef.

A special birthday meal for my wife and I

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were a bit disappointed. If the weat ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We were a bit disappointed. If the weather had been nice and we could have sat outside and enjoyed happy hour we might have had a better review. Really did not feel that it was as good as all the hype. Love the setting.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been to Lon's on several occasio ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We have been to Lon's on several occasions; however, this time we were very disappointed. We met out of town friends there for lunch (which turned out to be brunch). I do not recall seeing a brunch menu on the website or the fact that they only serve brunch of the weekend. The brunch menu was very limited. I chose the chicken strawberry salad and it was terrible. The chicken was tough tiny shreds of dark meat and the rest of the salad was shredded. No one at our table found their meal to be memorable. Service was spotty at best even though the patio was almost empty. Our water glasses were left empty. You can only put so much emphasis on the beautiful flowers and ignore the food & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The waiter and wine steward were friendl ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The waiter and wine steward were friendly and attentive without being intrusive. The menu choices were not unusually large, but the standard items were creative and the specials even more so. When the food arrived, it was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Thanksgiving Dinner. Great envirom ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great Thanksgiving Dinner. Great enviroment and awesome service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Renovations are complete--the space is b ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Renovations are complete--the space is beautiful, the service impeccable, the wine list and the food special

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Thanksgiving meal. Great food ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Wonderful Thanksgiving meal. Great food and service.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had just a wonderful experience on Th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had just a wonderful experience on Thanksgiving . Highly recommend to our friends to enjoy food done right. One of the best wine selections in the valley..

Cheers to Lon's

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice....Very nice. Great holiday m ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very nice....Very nice. Great holiday meal with boys. Would recommend to all.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced - Worst thanksgiving dinner ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Over priced - Worst thanksgiving dinner I ever had. meal came out cold, dry, small portion I cannot believe I paid $ 75.00 for this meal. This was not up to Lon's standards. Will not be celebrating Christmas at Lons this years

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Lons is simply great. Anyone who would g ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Lons is simply great. Anyone who would give this place a less than outstanding review is looking for something free. Highly recommed Lons. Across the board great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was very nice. The facility w ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our dinner was very nice. The facility was lovely. However my chicken entree was dry. It was overcooked. Otherwise my dinner was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I recently took my mother here for her b ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I recently took my mother here for her birthday. Sitting outside under the tree was relaxing and lovely. The food is very good. We just loved the fish and chips, but the quantity was very small. For dessert we had the buttermilk panna cotta. It was wonderful!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The super moon and outdoor dining was a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The super moon and outdoor dining was a little bit underwhelming and instead we would have wishes for more overwhelming food instead of the other. Lobster was very good beet salad was very good but less than you would expect.as a local save this for out of romantics.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

I will be honest, I was a bit concerned ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I will be honest, I was a bit concerned when I saw the menu pricing's online but visiting Lon's on this birthday celebration ended up being a wonderful treat. Happy Hour drinks and appetizers were great and dinner was well worth it! Service was amazing and all the staff was friendly. Accommodations for the cake we brought was the cherry on the cake! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an absolutely perfect evening! Th ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was an absolutely perfect evening! The food, wine, ambiance was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate indoors for dinner while staying ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We ate indoors for dinner while staying at The Hermosa. The service was slow and the waiters were inattentive and ignored four requests for water. They didn't ask if we wanted another cocktail. They brought the wrong entree for me. The calamari was cheap, like something you would get at a roadside stand. The Seabass was comparable to cafeteria food. It was completely flavorless. The tortellini was not very flavorful either and, oddly, had a fried egg thrown into the dish. (The service for breakfast during our stay was similarly poor and slow. ). It was a disappointing experience, and we are baffled by any good reviews for this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Everything was perfect, the patio is bea ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was perfect, the patio is beautiful, the weather amazing and the food was outstanding. Definitely will visit again!

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a wedding anniversary here. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Celebrated a wedding anniversary here. Nice that it is located out of the way... and away from the main drag....Card signed by the staff waiting for us. Had a wonderful table on the patio -last year we were unable to sit on the patio so we were happy that we were able to do so this year. It was a wonderfully clear evening - great atmosphere. Service and food were wonderful. Calamari was great! Chicken tortilla soup was very tasty with just enough spice. Salmon was very good...and bone-in filet was very tasty. The bread service had a great mix of bread, cracker/crisp bread and corn bread..... corn bread was the favorite! We ordered the house specialty dessert - cowboy candy bar - was delicious... and they wrote Happy Anniversary in chocolate on the platter...nice touch!

Worth the time the go...

Special note: booking on open table and requesting the patio does not ensure a seat on the patio. You must call the restaurant directly to request.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lon's is one of the most unique setting ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Lon's is one of the most unique settings in Arizona where the food and service absolutely match the beauty.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat to go to Lon's. BUT, is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always a treat to go to Lon's. BUT, is very pricey and food should be outstanding. Two of four people had the chicken -dried out and not much flavor.

I had disappointing beet salad. Outstanding wine list. It sounds as if they may be ruining the wonderful old classic bar as they remodel and "modernize it".

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

A total delight ..... as always

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

A total delight ..... as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was not only poor but the waiter ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Service was not only poor but the waiter was unjustifiably rude. There was an extremely loud table near ours that made it almost impossible to have a conversation. I will not recommend Lon's to friends or business associates.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Lon's has been one of our favorites. Gre ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Lon's has been one of our favorites. Great food and great presentation of unique southwestern flavors. Staff is friendly and attentive. Ambiance is second to none.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an amazing meal at Lon's. Everyt ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We had an amazing meal at Lon's. Everything was perfect and Baily our waitress was outstanding!

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere and food are delightful a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The atmosphere and food are delightful although I was bothered by the flies during our entire meal. Will eat indoors next time. The service was excruciatingly slow. Waiter never came around to refill hot coffee. Refilled the ice coffee though without even asking! I've eaten here several times and I will go back, but it was for a special occasion so I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Fabulous dinner! We love Lon's and highl ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fabulous dinner! We love Lon's and highly recommend it for any special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolutely amazing restaurant. Great ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

An absolutely amazing restaurant. Great outside dining. Manager Andrew and his team were wonderful and accommodating.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lon's is consistently a wonderful place ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Lon's is consistently a wonderful place to dine- patio is especially favorite

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lon's hit it out of the park again. I w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Lon's hit it out of the park again. I was back in Phoenix for a conference and may sure to stop by. The setting is unequaled. The service is impeccable. The food (seared tuna, steak, dessert) and wine are outstanding. You can't go wrong. Its quiet enough for a romantic dinner, but no so quiet that you can't talk business with coworkers. This is an exceptional restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely evening ruined by loud, nonstop t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Lovely evening ruined by loud, nonstop talking by a table of four. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love will go back again we chose to sit ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Love will go back again we chose to sit inside va outdoor garden. The room had a very authentic stlyle. Food outstanding creative. Will go back for sure. Also ask for Erica she is fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our visit again to Lon's. Food, s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Loved our visit again to Lon's.

Food, service and atmosphere were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I both require a gluten- ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My daughter and I both require a gluten-free meal. We were very happily and graciously accommodated. Appreciated the friendly, knowledgable service, also.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lons was a perfect spot for a business d ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Lons was a perfect spot for a business dinner to have a private conversation over great food, stellar service, and a great view.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.