Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Cafe Benedicte
645 reviews
American | West Side, Houston
Reserve Now
Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Houston
512 reviews
Italian | West Side, Houston
Reserve Now
Le Mistral
696 reviews
French | West Side, Houston
Reserve Now
Havana in Houston
33 reviews
International | West Side, Houston
Reserve Now
Rattan Pan Asian Bistro and Wine Bar
186 reviews
Asian | West Side, Houston
Reserve Now
Lynn's Steakhouse
373 reviews
Steakhouse | West Side, Houston
Reserve Now
Urban Kitchen
74 reviews
Contemporary American | West Side, Houston
Reserve Now
The Devine Affair
108 reviews
Italian | West Side, Houston
Reserve Now
Brenner’s Steakhouse Katy Freeway
1300 reviews
Steakhouse | West Side, Houston
Reserve Now
Seasons 52 Houston City Centre
819 reviews
Contemporary American | West Side, Houston
Reserve Now
Straits - Houston
481 reviews
Asian | West Side, Houston
Reserve Now
Eddie V's - City Centre
2100 reviews
Seafood | West Side, Houston
Reserve Now
RA Sushi Bar Restaurant - Houston CityCentre
82 reviews
Japanese | West Side, Houston
Reserve Now
Mascalzone - West Houston
63 reviews
Italian | Westchase, Houston
Reserve Now
Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston Beltway
577 reviews
Steak | West Side, Houston
Reserve Now

About Lomonte's Italian Restaurant & Bar

14510 Grisby Rd
Houston, TX 77079
View Larger Map

Barbie Lomonte left her St. Louis home over 30 years ago bringing with her a passion for traditional Italian fare, something Houston sorely needed. Barbie opened Pasta Lomonte's in 1986 and the intimate atmosphere continues to provide one of the most romantic settings in town. Barbie's friendliness and hospitality are reminiscent of a family kitchen, where everyone is a friend. The extensive menu is modest,featuring home-cooked Italian delights accompanied by "to die for" sauces. Barbie Lomonte and her friendly staff look forward to making your dining experience truly unforgettable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Stafford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 496-0030

Website:
http://www.lomontes.com/

Entertainment:
The Bar at Lomonte's features live music Thursday - Saturday. Please check our website for music listings.

Executive Chef:
Jose Paz Cruz

Private Party Facilities:
We have a covered patio that holds up to 50 people. It is heated in the winter months. Our restaurant is available for private parties as well. We will be happy to plan your party. We also are available for Sunday parties, as we are closed to the public.

Private Party Contact:
Barbie, Ben or John: 281-496-0030

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Sort By:
Newest
308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Pistacio crusted chicken was great, serv ...

Dined on October 31, 2015

Pistacio crusted chicken was great, service was even better, good live music by the bar, good prices and exceptional happy hour specials.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience.

Dined on September 12, 2015

Wonderful experience.

food1
ambience3
service1

weak

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

Just did not enjoy anything they cooked. The eggplant parmesan was soggy. The wine list was so-so. The customer is not appreciated here; somebody started running the vacuum before all customers had left. Will not return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Just a gem

Dined on August 28, 2015

I was introduced to Lomonte's recently, The Catfish Picante specifically. It is delicious. I tried the pasta with scallops, lemon butter sauce and capers this time. I also lived up to my expectations. I had my 2.5 y/o son with me for lunch and the staff was so friendly and interactive with him. It was great. This is just a great spot so far and everything has been delicious. (I had to sample my girlfriends Chicken Fettuccini to be sure).

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the food and atmosphere!

Dined on August 23, 2015

I always get the Eggplant Parmesan which was excellent. The salad is also unique and another favorite of mine. We ate inside, but I love the porch which is comfortable for most of the year.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We love it!

Dined on August 22, 2015

Everything was great from service to food! Chicken Parmesan was amazing. So was the chocolate mousse cake! Would definitely recommend for a nice date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Only issue

Dined on August 15, 2015

The only issue was that the open table system wouldn't let me schedule my dining at 5:00pm. 5:30 was the first available time. We arrived at 5:00 and got seated immediately.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Good time

Dined on July 18, 2015

I had the chicken parmigiana. It was really good. We also had the spinach dip..... That was amazing. Our waiter was super nice and on point. Brought my sister a piece of cheesecake for her birthday. It's a little on the high price side, so not a good place for a family meal but dates and celebrating its perfect. But my kids love Italian food so I might take them anyways. 😀

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

catfish dish is a special surprise

Dined on July 2, 2015

catfish is absolutely the best I have ever had. Flavors danced in my mouth and it was just the right temp, beautiful colors, and pasta was delightful

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a date but family friendly as well.

Dined on June 12, 2015

Went here for my husbands birthday and took two kids under 4. They were very hospitable and had a kids menu. Amazing food and white tablecloth dinner while catering to our needs as a family.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

A favorite of ours. Everything about it ...

Dined on June 5, 2015

A favorite of ours. Everything about it is top notch. We also enjoy the live music on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights in the bar area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Lomonte's is our favorite resturant. And ...

Dined on June 5, 2015

Lomonte's is our favorite resturant. And everyone we take there loves it as much as we do. Service ,food and atmosphere are all excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

We who live nearby Lomontes are indeed f ...

Dined on June 4, 2015

We who live nearby Lomontes are indeed fortunate to have a restaurant of this caliber. The food and service have always been top-notch. The only place where we would mark them down is on house salads, which tend to be less-crisp and soggy. Not a new problem. But on this pass the preparation of our rainbow trout and soft shelled crab entrees was spot on. A little ice cream was all that was required to finish off the meal. During the week things are a bit quieter, so it's great for that leisurely meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary

Dined on May 31, 2015

The food as usual was fantastic the ambiance was wonderful and the staff was incredible. This restaurant goes out of their way to make it a rememberable evening. I would highly recommend this restaurant to any of my friends or anybody who wants a recommendation for a great Italian restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Italian Restaurant

Dined on May 30, 2015

I wish this restaurant was closer to where I lived. If so, I would eat here all the time. We had a fantastic experience at Lomonte's.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Molto Bene

vip
Dined on May 23, 2015

Large portions of very good food. Friendly staff take great care of guests. Live music on weekends. Wonderful lasagna.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always meets expectations

Dined on May 21, 2015

Lomonte's is one of my top five favorite Italian restaurants in the Houston/Katy area. I know the food is fresh, they always meet my expectations. The waitstaff are friendly, always smiling, and helpful to answer any questions we may have on any of the dishes. Reservations aren't necessary mid-week but I make them anyway. Reservations are recommended on weekends.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4

Very average food

vip
Dined on May 14, 2015

Service was outstanding! Food was average. It got the job done. As it turns out you go to a restaurant to eat so the food needs to be better than what you can make at home. My lasagna lacked robust flavors that I have come to expect with rich Italian dishes. My dining companions experienced similar meal disappointment. Over cooked chicken parm and a pistachio crusted chicken that surprising lacked pistachios.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

Always dependable.

Dined on May 11, 2015

Good food. Good location. Moderately quiet for a week night. Easy parking for a week night. Good variety of food and wine selections.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 26, 2015

My husband and I were here many years ago for an anniversary and I decided that's where I wanted to celebrate my birthday, this year. It was just the 2 of us, and it was a very nice evening. We made a reservation and our table was set and waiting for us upon arrival, even though we were a bit late, due to the parking challenges in the area. Will, our waiter, was just attentive enough without being at the table too much. The food was great! Veal Parmagiana was great and my husband said the salmon was very good. The portions are large and the prices are good. I would go again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

Great Italian Resturant

Dined on April 26, 2015

My wife and I went here for our anniversary. I saw good reviews so I thought it sounded good. Loved the place. I probably would not go back for our anniversary but would definitely would go back for other special occasions. It's a little noisy on a Saturday night.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice neighborhood Italian restaurant.

Dined on April 19, 2015

We were treated by our son and his wife to a date night while staying with the kids while they vacationed in Sicily. We chose Lamonte's for easy access and near Katy. It turned out to be a real treat. The encrusted Red Snapper was wonderful. The portion was ample. Janice's chicken piccata was tasteful and very well prepared. We visited with the owner for a few minutes.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Patron since 1986

vip
Dined on April 11, 2015

My wife and I have loved Pasta LaMonte's or AKA "LaMonte's" since it opened. We moved from Houston in 2006, but returning to look for a home in 2015 during my wife's birthday. She wanted Lamonte's and LaMonte's what she had. Hard to find a place whose service and quality has not changed in almost 30 years. Terrificically Romantic Bar Scene for the younger crowd.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice inside and out!

vip
Dined on March 18, 2015

Nice quaint restaurant with good ambiance inside and a nice outside deck. Service was excellent, food was good, my wife was very happy and thought we had found a new favorite spot.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Never Disappointed

Dined on March 7, 2015

Only place in Houston that serves fried ravioli. Great atmosphere and service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2015

We had a late reservation and we were seated immediately. The service was wonderful and the menu selection was perfect. The only thing that I missed from our night was the live music, we have been before and I requested the bar seating thinking they would have it. However, we did have an 8:45 reservation. Other than that, I would recommend Lamonte's for a special occasion or just a romantic setting for you and your significant other...😊

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere - Lomonte's è magnifico!

Dined on February 13, 2015

I love the relaxed feel of this place; upscale without being stuffy. I look forward to returning to try more dishes. The Lobster Ravioli was amazing and the Chicken Piccata was the best we've had in Houston. The Eggplant Parmesan has thick cut slices, and tasted delicious. Everyone loved the complimentary cheesecake we received for celebrating a birthday, and one slice was large enough for everyone in our party of six to enjoy a healthy portion. Service was outstanding, and wines were affordable. Parking can be a bit of a challenge.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find in the Energy Corridor

Dined on February 10, 2015

We came to Lamonte's for a business dinner and I really enjoyed my meal and service. I had the Zolo Cabernet which I enjoyed. The shrimp scampi was delicious and the table bread was incredible. As a side dish, I ordered the meatballs, one of my favorite foods. Lamonte's did not disappoint - great meatball, great sauce. I will definitely return to this place as I enjoyed everything they had to offer.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Always an excellent dining choice

Dined on February 9, 2015

I've been dining at Lomonte's for 25 yrs. The food and service was great then, and it still is great today. Although we choice to eat indoors during this visit, the patio was full. I always enjoy my visits to this establishment. Beef Marsala is the best ever!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service5

Still a nice place!

Dined on February 8, 2015

Place was nice, service was great, I have been to this place in the past and it WAS great. Well several years later just was very different, my lady ordered chicken picatta and was awful, I ordered the beef tenderloin Marsala, awful, the Marsala was thick gravy with tough mushrooms. Did my best to not complain so ordered desert, not good either. Terrible food would not recommend for foodies. Sorry WAS great in the PAST! Only.

food4
ambience4
service4

Dependably pleasant and tasty

Dined on February 1, 2015

We've been to Lomonte's a number of times, with consistent results. The food is very tasty, the service is very pleasant and prompt, the owner remains enthusiastic and fun to talk with. This really is a "neighborhood gem," one to be aware of and enjoyed when near the I-10/Highway 6 intersection in west Houston. We unfortunately no longer live in the neighborhood, but had the opportunity to visit again last week and reconfirmed our prior experience. Lomonte's was one of our favorite places when we lived there and remains a good, comfortable, pleasant spot to dine. Definitely recommended.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1

Changes at Lomonte's: Service going downhill fast

Dined on December 12, 2014

I frequently eat at this restaurant and have found the food outstanding and the prices reasonable. The service was good and I felt like I was in a neighborhood establishment that was comfortable. They completely erased all of these except for food quality last visit. Service was atrocious Waiter and management could care a less, and pricing had hidden costs the waiter did not explain such as an up charge for dinner salad that was included with meals on last menu, The cocktails were nasty and everyone was quite pretentious and I no longer felt I was in the same restaurant or atmosphere. I don't mind menu changes and often enjoy them but, this particular experience was so bad, I will not be going back. When I received a 80.00 bill for two dinners, cocktail, and a shared desert in an italian restaurant, that is way above what I consider a neighborhood scene restaurant. The waiter was rude when I asked about charging for a salad when he asked if we would care for a salad as if it was a choice between soup, salad, or neither. He stated after I received the check that I should read the menu before ordering with a haughtiness that was offending. When I complained about the one cocktail that was ordered, he claimed they had an expert bartender yet, we were seeing several tables around us sending drinks back. The only consolation that we received were two free drink coupons that I could care a less about considering everything else about this experience. I am disappointed in this experience as this was a nice neighborhood gem that has risen above itself where ego and self - aggrandisement has supplanted good food, good service, and a neighborhood bar that made good drinks at reasonable prices. It seems the menu was not the olnly change at Lomonte's.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service & food

Dined on December 10, 2014

Always want to have a dinner with my wife when in town here. Had an event scheduled at the Toyota Center and only left an hour for dinner. relayed this to the manager/owner and when arrived he did know about it, they actually read the comments / notes from the reservations form and had our table ready and we were seated right away. He had informed our server about our time restrictions and was prompt with service. They food and wine were excellent as always and service was outstanding, We were on our way to the concert within in the hour. We can always recommend the lunch or dinner here. One of the best places to ENJOY an evening in Houston.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was impeccable.

Dined on December 6, 2014

Food was delicious. I would highly recommend Lomonte's.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service4

First time, last time

Dined on October 26, 2014

after seeing a few good reviews we decided to try Lomonte's out. First and foremost, the service was excellent. They were attentive and friendly. The food wasn't on par with what we expected. Too heavy on tomato sauce that drowned everything else.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible

Dined on October 21, 2014

We chose Lamonte's because of the suave environment and excellent food. Great service, by the way :)

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Find

Dined on October 17, 2014

Just moved from the Heights to the Energy Corridor and was looking for a great "local" spot. Lomonte's was as good as anything the Heights has to offer. I will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely outstanding

Dined on October 12, 2014

Food is delicious ....consistently good. Wish it was closer..we come from inside the loop.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Only 1 complaint

Dined on October 11, 2014

My order of Shrimp Fra Diavolo had too much sauce. Otherwise, everything was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian Food

Dined on October 4, 2014

All of their dishes are of great taste and quality. Every trip I try a new dish and it never fails!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.