About L'Olivier

229 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
West Alameda & Galisteo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1919

Website:
http://www.loliviersantafe.com/

Parking Details:
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.

Executive Chef:
Xavier Grenet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Special Christmas menu for Christmas eve and Christmas Day. 3-Course Menu Prix Fixe of $80

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

We are open for Christmas Eve AND Christmas Day, with a Special menu 3-Courses prix fixe of $80 per person

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

L'Olivier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Mexico
Fit for Foodies
New Mexico
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
4 More
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Service
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Fit for Foodies (28)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Romantic (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If one values exceptional food expertly ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 1, 2016

If one values exceptional food expertly prepared, don't miss L'Olivier in Santa Fe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this restaurant! It is our favorite ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Love this restaurant! It is our favorite in Santa Fe. The Thanksgiving dinner menu was delicious - wonderful!! It is very relaxing. Natalie and Xavier are tremendous as is the staff.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The owners and staff of L”Olivier knocke ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The owners and staff of L”Olivier knocked it out of the ballpark for their Thanksgiving presentation this year. We were presented with a thoughtfully and creatively designed menu of excellent choices for the holiday including a beautifully prepared traditional turkey option as well as other restaurant favorites. The service was good, especially considering that they were extremely busy, the noise level was not out of control for the place being so packed and every dish was prepared to perfection. We had a great Thanksgiving with you. Thank you!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was very nice and exceeded ou ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Everything was very nice and exceeded our expectations for Thanksgiving dinner at a French restaurant. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant, with excellent foo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very nice restaurant, with excellent food and very polite and attentive staff. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lighting was very difficult. Flickering. ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Lighting was very difficult. Flickering. Good flavors. Elk and mussels excellent. Sweet potatoes fair. Presentation to entrees disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Beaujolais Nouveau night, a good choice ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Beaujolais Nouveau night, a good choice of wines (including an unusual white Beaujolais), and the boeuf bourginon was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will be back. The Elk Tenderloin was ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We will be back. The Elk Tenderloin was out this world as were the escargot. Great wine l ist. Our waiter was quite busy but was able to be attentive.

A nice addition to the Santa Fe dining scene.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The lamb tangine was superb.

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The lamb tangine was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We hadn't been to L'Olivier in a while a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We hadn't been to L'Olivier in a while and were delighted with our dinner there last Saturday night with friends. The foie gras of the day was prepared perfectly with pineapple. Branzino was the main event for two of us, while one of us had a delicious, rich and fit for fall, lamb tagine. I had the tender, juicy short ribs in a rich gravy, served with creamy mashed potatoes and crisp green beans.

The dining area is cozy, very quiet when we got there at 6:30, louder when the place was full by the time we left. We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We were staying a block or so away, went ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were staying a block or so away, went past here several times. Then looked at Open Table and Trip Adviser reviews and decided to try it. Excellent food, well presented. Very knowledgeable wait staff ( I should have gone with his first suggestion for wine pairing). A great place for couples to enjoy fine dining in a relaxed setting.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is consistently great. Tuesdays and ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food is consistently great. Tuesdays and Wednesday fix price menu, great idea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb French bistro food with a slight ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Superb French bistro food with a slight Southwestern accent. Excellent wine list. I've never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad to discover this gem in the heart o ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Glad to discover this gem in the heart of downtown Santa Fe. Small, cozy and quiet. Service was superb - our waiter was most knowledgeable and helpful regarding both the cuisine and the wines . A delightful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sant fe has many choices and L'Olivier h ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sant fe has many choices and L'Olivier has to be in the top five

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love L'Olivier. It's our favorite Fre ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We love L'Olivier. It's our favorite French restaurant in Santa Fe. The mid-week prix fixe dinners are a real value. The food is always delicious and it has a lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Met friends for dinner and all 7 had a w ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Met friends for dinner and all 7 had a wonderful meal. This is my 4th time and will definitely put L'Oliver on my list. Food was great, service could be improved.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Delightful food in a rather unremarkable ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Delightful food in a rather unremarkable setting. Service was a bit slow and the vegetarian entree was a clear afterthought. Otherwise a very good option for fine dining in Santa Fe. They seem to have prix fixe menus and special themed dinners regularly.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Lolivier has never let us down Excellent ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Lolivier has never let us down

Excellent food, great wine choices

Attentive service. Go!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first visit won't be our last visit. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Our first visit won't be our last visit. Great food and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always.. a wonderful, memorable time. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 6, 2016

As always.. a wonderful, memorable time... amazing good and impeccable service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Natalie and Xavier could not have been m ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Natalie and Xavier could not have been more welcoming. Dinner was about the very best we have had in Santa Fe all summer. It has become our fave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was lovely, great service, ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The ambiance was lovely, great service, food and wine! When I am back in Santa Fe I will definitely eat here again! 5 stars!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant never disappoints. We go ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. We go there every time we're in Santa Fe. Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was quite good. Small problem w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food was quite good. Small problem w my entree and server fixed it quickly and without making a production. As it should be done.

Thank you for a lovely evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going to L'Olivier since it o ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We've been going to L'Olivier since it opened, but the food just wasn't as good as it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

This was our group of five's first trial ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This was our group of five's first trial of a pre-organized meal at one of the Santa Fe Festival retaurants, and may not be the best indication of what a regular visit would provide.

We arrived promply at the advertised time of 6:30 PM, which turned out to be somewhat earlier than the were ready for, or many of the other participants chose for their arrivals.

The service began very well, but as restaurant filled, we saw very little of our waiter.

The food was good, but showed signs of being prepared in bulk. The cuisine was reliably French, without the extra care and taste available in France.

The quality and selection of the wine flight was disappointing, chosen from cheaper wines, not necessarily French, which I expected. The late-harvest wine chosen for the fois gras was overly sweet, with no body, as Sauternes would have given. The fish course was well cooked, and the best of the menu, but the wine was thin, and inexpensive, as I later found out.

It was a good, meal, and not greatly expensive, but not of the level I expect for a good evening dinner. I plan to try it again, outside the busy Festival time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was our fifth or sixth visit with a ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 22, 2016

This was our fifth or sixth visit with an equal number of rating queries from Open Table. Don't you folks keep records?

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic service and food. Enjoyed it ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fantastic service and food. Enjoyed it so much since many other Santa Fe restaurants are piling on the chile. All our courses were outstanding..... The server was delightful.

Hope to get back to Santa Fe and will be sure to visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really had a great time at L'olivier! ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We really had a great time at L'olivier! The food is a step above most restaurants in Sant Fe. The squash blossoms were melt-in-your-mouth savory. Our Lava Cakes were superb.

If I had one suggestion, I'd ask for an additional vegetarian option as an entree.

Keep up the great work, chef and crew!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was an average dinner. Not worh $15 ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was an average dinner. Not worh $150! We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

L'Olivier served up a superlative dinin ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 16, 2016

L'Olivier served up a superlative dining experience. The food was non pareil and the service exceptional. I say this about the service particularly because the waiter was the only one on a busy night and yet he was warm, attentive and went the extra mile. After a mediocre meal and worse service at Santa Cafe last month, I can easily say that L'Olivier is now my favorite dining experience. And oh the Squash Blossoms. Not to be missed!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappointed. Excellent food and ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Never disappointed. Excellent food and service. Great alternative to New Mexican cuisine.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the owners were greeting us as we ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Loved the owners were greeting us as we arrived and checked in throughout the meal. Fantastic service, only negative was the street noise... But apprently it's a Santa Fe thing to have a noisy muffler.

Can't wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An enjoyable meal. The foie gras was ver ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 2, 2016

An enjoyable meal. The foie gras was very good as were the mussels but the duck was a bit tough. The wine we had was excellent. The service good and the chef's wife seemed to make sure she touched base with all of the guests.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed everything about l'Olivier. ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We enjoyed everything about l'Olivier. Prices at this upscale restaurant were surprisingly gentle on the wallet, all the more surprising for its delivery of a fine dining experience. Food was of high quality, prepared well and simply with blessedly unpretentious but artful presentations. l'Olivier's was busy, but our server was professional, attentive without hovering, and informed about the menu and wines. Ambiance is attractive, simple and friendly. The four of us had different appetizers, entrees and two shared deserts. We all agreed that each dish hit its promised mark. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Had a lovely dinner at L'Olivier. Intere ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had a lovely dinner at L'Olivier. Interesting menu, many temptations. Also had a wine tasting coordinated dinner available, but we opted to choose dishes that appealed to us. All were very good, well seasoned, fresh and clearly cooked to order. Good wine list. Service attentive without being obtrusive. Just right!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always very high quality, excellent food ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Always very high quality, excellent food. Service was excellent. We go every time we are in SF. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Passion Fruit Souflee was incredible

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Passion Fruit Souflee was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely birthday evening spent on the pat ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Lovely birthday evening spent on the patio with terrific food (short ribs, yum--and the fig / goat cheese salad was a scrumptious starter). Excellent service from Anthony, who was spot-on with his wine recommendations. Loved the hummingbirds buzzing us -- no extra charge. :-)

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.