About L'Olivier

229 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
West Alameda & Galisteo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1919

Website:
http://www.loliviersantafe.com/

Parking Details:
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.

Executive Chef:
Xavier Grenet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

L'Olivier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Mexico
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Fit for Foodies (44)
Special Occasion (31)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
See All
Romantic (24)
Notable Wine List (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Good for a Date (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our fifth or sixth visit with a ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was our fifth or sixth visit with an equal number of rating queries from Open Table. Don't you folks keep records?

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic service and food. Enjoyed it ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fantastic service and food. Enjoyed it so much since many other Santa Fe restaurants are piling on the chile. All our courses were outstanding..... The server was delightful.

Hope to get back to Santa Fe and will be sure to visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really had a great time at L'olivier! ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We really had a great time at L'olivier! The food is a step above most restaurants in Sant Fe. The squash blossoms were melt-in-your-mouth savory. Our Lava Cakes were superb.

If I had one suggestion, I'd ask for an additional vegetarian option as an entree.

Keep up the great work, chef and crew!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was an average dinner. Not worh $15 ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was an average dinner. Not worh $150! We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

L'Olivier served up a superlative dinin ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

L'Olivier served up a superlative dining experience. The food was non pareil and the service exceptional. I say this about the service particularly because the waiter was the only one on a busy night and yet he was warm, attentive and went the extra mile. After a mediocre meal and worse service at Santa Cafe last month, I can easily say that L'Olivier is now my favorite dining experience. And oh the Squash Blossoms. Not to be missed!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappointed. Excellent food and ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Never disappointed. Excellent food and service. Great alternative to New Mexican cuisine.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the owners were greeting us as we ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Loved the owners were greeting us as we arrived and checked in throughout the meal. Fantastic service, only negative was the street noise... But apprently it's a Santa Fe thing to have a noisy muffler.

Can't wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An enjoyable meal. The foie gras was ver ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

An enjoyable meal. The foie gras was very good as were the mussels but the duck was a bit tough. The wine we had was excellent. The service good and the chef's wife seemed to make sure she touched base with all of the guests.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed everything about l'Olivier. ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We enjoyed everything about l'Olivier. Prices at this upscale restaurant were surprisingly gentle on the wallet, all the more surprising for its delivery of a fine dining experience. Food was of high quality, prepared well and simply with blessedly unpretentious but artful presentations. l'Olivier's was busy, but our server was professional, attentive without hovering, and informed about the menu and wines. Ambiance is attractive, simple and friendly. The four of us had different appetizers, entrees and two shared deserts. We all agreed that each dish hit its promised mark. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Had a lovely dinner at L'Olivier. Intere ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had a lovely dinner at L'Olivier. Interesting menu, many temptations. Also had a wine tasting coordinated dinner available, but we opted to choose dishes that appealed to us. All were very good, well seasoned, fresh and clearly cooked to order. Good wine list. Service attentive without being obtrusive. Just right!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always very high quality, excellent food ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Always very high quality, excellent food. Service was excellent. We go every time we are in SF. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Passion Fruit Souflee was incredible

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Passion Fruit Souflee was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely birthday evening spent on the pat ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Lovely birthday evening spent on the patio with terrific food (short ribs, yum--and the fig / goat cheese salad was a scrumptious starter). Excellent service from Anthony, who was spot-on with his wine recommendations. Loved the hummingbirds buzzing us -- no extra charge. :-)

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The weeknight prix fixe dinner is an ama ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The weeknight prix fixe dinner is an amazing value - and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was informed, pleasant and unobt ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was informed, pleasant and unobtrusive.

The patio looks fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall, a very ordinary somewhat disapp ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Overall, a very ordinary somewhat disappointing evening and meal. Overpriced. Sure would not return or recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

We enjoyed deliciously prepared food (es ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We enjoyed deliciously prepared food (escargot, duck confit, melting chocolate cake) and found everything well-prepared. Our server was knowledgeable and took great care of us. The decor is simple, tasteful, and relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is your third request for a review. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is your third request for a review. I've written one review and do not want to write any more.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, fantastic food, great ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent service, fantastic food, great wine list...what else can I say?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our third visit. I've reviewed ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our third visit. I've reviewed L'Olivier before

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Wagyu Hanger steak with fava beans a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Wagyu Hanger steak with fava beans and tagliatelle pasta was beautiful on the plate but overpriced in the mouth at $28. The beef was lacking any flavor that would prompt "Mmmm!" and the texture was chewy. The grass-fed Rosemary braised beef short ribs with haricots verts and green chile and jack cheese mashed potatoes were the ultimate comfort food, tasting like a perfect crock pot item at home (pot roast), but with distinctive and wonderful potatoes. Overpriced at $29. We are repeat diners there, loving the atmosphere and the menu, but not the tab.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very traditional French menu, with an ex ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very traditional French menu, with an extensive wine list. My husband had the Foi Gras and the Rosemary Braised Beef Short Ribs, I had the fish special - pan seared sole with sautéed spinach and black rice. Both were excellent. We ate on the patio which was beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were among the first diners of the ev ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We were among the first diners of the evening after spending most of the day in Santa Fe, and enjoyed very prompt attention. L'Olivier had some wines on special, which were fun and delightful to explore and expanded our French wine experiences. The mussel appetizer, with fresh bread for dipping, was delicious, as were our duck and branzino entrees. All in all a fine French dining experience in downtown Santa Fe. We were pleased to note that the menu was marked for dairy-free and vegan dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic French Food Our second visit to ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Classic French Food

Our second visit to L'Olivier was with a group of friends and it was just as successful as the first. Delicious food; deft, friendly service; and a quiet, civilized setting. As seasonal residents of Santa Fe we'll be back many times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would not go back. 4 omnivores and one v ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Would not go back.

4 omnivores and one vegetarian

Food boring for all, abysmal for the vegetarian, steamed vegetables, could do better at home.

Waiter not knowledgable at all and did not get owner involved.

Sad, because Ristra (same chef) was previously enjoyed by the whole party in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

We were given a quiet table as requested ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were given a quiet table as requested and the service was quite polished. We intend to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A little pricey but the entrees we order ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A little pricey but the entrees we ordered were delicious and generous. Creme brûlée was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was great! We had just trave ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was great! We had just traveled across country and chose a 6:00 reservation. It was quiet and service was perfect, food excellent. By the time we left, the noise level had picked up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The occasion was an excellent wine dinne ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The occasion was an excellent wine dinner with Domaine Ott wines. Everything excellent - well portioned, well paced, excellent progression through a few select, well designed courses to highlight the wines. Each course was well conceived, excellently prepared.

A note: So-called "wine dinners" are -to my taste- frequently "over the top", too much food, wines overwhelming, way too expensive for too much, too fast, inexpert service. This was different, just right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific food and great service

vip
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Terrific food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

nearly empty - granted it was a Tuesday ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

nearly empty - granted it was a Tuesday night. Decor looks like a coat of paint was slapped on.

food was not bad but it wasn't great and it was VERY EXPENSIVE. For 30 bucks more I would have gone to Geronimo's. Would not go back and would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

A very disappointing experience all arou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A very disappointing experience all around. Unfortunately, I will probably always remember the Escargot in particular. It amounted to five snails swimming in unseasoned butter along with a handful of kitchen scraps, the highlight being the cubes of thin sliced lunch meat!

Truly tasteless in every sense of the word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

This is as close to a genuine French res ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is as close to a genuine French restaurant as my husband and I have been to in Santa Fe. We had a fish special that was excellent. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

L'Olivier is one of our favorite restaur ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

L'Olivier is one of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe and for the price, it's one of the best values in town. We love French food and they do it so very well and have a nice selection of appetizers and entrees. I love that we finally found a restaurant that doesn't feel the need to throw chiles and heavy spice into every dish. The wait staff was also excellent and so attentive without being a nuisance.

If you don't try L'Olivier while in Santa Fe, you are missing out! ;)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

L'Olivier features classic French cookin ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

L'Olivier features classic French cooking, well prepared. The ingredients are fresh and the menu varies with the season.

The chef and his wife, both French, work hard to create a dining spot that will please a wide variety of palates, and the dining room is nicely decorated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were asked several times about our re ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were asked several times about our reservation, and felt as if we were an inconvenience in their night. The patio is loud with traffic, being right next to busy stop signs. Having gone unnoticed or uncared about for some time after we were switched to a different table, we left never receiving service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

We had dinner on Bastille Day with a fri ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had dinner on Bastille Day with a friend. We enjoyed all the courses from the squash blossom appetizer, the fig salad, and the duck which was excellent with the dauphinoise as only a French chef can prepare it! My husband and I split it. We like to split main courses so that we can enjoy more than one course without having a doggie bag or waste. We also split the salad three ways. Our friend had the fish and enjoyed it. We also shared a very good tarte tatin and sorbet. The deserts were reasonably priced. We are glad to have found the chef again since he used to be at Ristra.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was only our second time at L'Olivi ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was only our second time at L'Olivier and the first time was outstanding. This visit we were sorely disappointed. We shouldn't have sat outside (noisy traffic), and that decision was on us. But our waitress was quite simply horrific. If we hadn't been with an out-of-town friend, we would have left. She got our drinks wrong, and then tried to blame it on the bartender after asking if I still wanted it or what I wanted her to do about it. This was after we waited an inexcusable amount of time for the drinks in the first place. Ordering our food she actually asked how we wanted the snapper prepared....as in rare, medium rare, etc.....and then was shocked when we questioned her about her question. I wonder, had the waitress ever eaten fish? Clearly a very inexperienced waitress, which is fine, but not at an expensive rather upscale French restaurant where the expectation of service is much higher. L'Olivier, you can do much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

We loved our evening. The same waiter he ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We loved our evening. The same waiter helped us on a previous occasion, and he's always helpful and courteous. So is the host. The food is always superb. And I discovered a fantastic Chardonnay. The only negative on this trip was the heat; it seemed the air conditioning wasn't working and it was oppressive, which took away from the enjoyment of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

WE thoroughly enjoyed our dinner an look ...

vip
·Dined on July 7, 2016

WE thoroughly enjoyed our dinner an look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.