Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About L'Olivier

Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.

229 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Southwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11 AM - 2 PM
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4 PM - 9 PM

Cross Street:
West Alameda & Galisteo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1919

Website:
http://www.loliviersantafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Thursday and Saturday

Parking Details:
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.

Executive Chef:
Xavier Grenet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Beer Garden, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

L'Olivier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (31)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Authentic (25)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Cozy (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Casual (9)
Healthy (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (7)
Seasonal (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food , sweetbreads were delicious and the Chefs specialty Elk tenderloin was excellent . Great service , knowledgeable server.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 13, 2017

A regular when we visit Santa Fe. The atmosphere is very nice. The food is outstanding. Highly recommend the filet and the pork. Excellent wine list.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Extraordinary experience (both food and service) and excellent value. Very highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The food was good. I had the 3 course pre fix meal and it was tasty and offered a good selection of choices. My wife had the salmon and it was nicely presented and cook correctly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Outstanding in every way! Zach was an excellent waiter and Anna was a terrific assistant. Thank you, Nathalie, for the gracious hospitality!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 26, 2017

The escargot was outstanding. Best I've ever had.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 26, 2017

We go there about once a week and we are never disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Really good food and nice ambience. Traditional French seating ... closely squeezed tables, but with room enough to relax.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The appetizers-canteloupe soup the escargots were perfect. The main course of sea bass with black was inventive. The owner made a point of visiting all the tables to see that customers were satisfied.
We would be happy to recommend this bistro
to others

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Everything was fantastic. The food the wine that ambiance and Anthony did a great job

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Beautifully decorated dining plus the outside court/bar make this a must stop. Innovative menu will ensure a great dining experience. Attentive and knowledgeable staff enhances the experience. When you've had enough New Mexico cuisine, this is the place to enjoy fine food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The decor the ambiance and the food were average and not to my liking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Simply outstanding. Arugala and fig and goat cheese, followed by short ribs. Heavenly. Charming ambiance inside. I won't recommend sitting outside as it is right by a busy street. Service was top notch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was wonderful but the service was disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Loved the squash blossom appetiser -,have only seen those offered in Italy

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had expected a better experience. The bread that was served was not fully-baked; it was doughy and did not have a real crust. The food was just okay...nothing special. We had expected a better meal for the price and the setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great dining experience! Atmosphere is lovely, very quaint. Food was some of the eat French cuisine I have had. My husband & I had the short ribs, excellent!!! Food is served on a hot plate keeping the food at the perfect temperature. Our son highly recommends the Crete brûlée for a nice finish to an excellent meal. Wonderful service as well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Braised beef short ribs perfectly tender and the chile mashed potatoes amazing. Friend had the Scottish salmon special and declared it wonderful. Husband had the duck breast. We gave all our meals 2 thumbs up! Wine list is well-curated with something for everyone (I own a wine store, so I should know). Love this place and visit every time we're in Santa Fe.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Elk is a specialty of many fine restaurants in Santa Fe. However the elk at L'Olivier, served with a wine reduction, was excellent and served with accompaniments that were both intriguing and delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

First time but will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had a lovely dinner with friends on a chilly weeknight. The elk tenderloin was especially delicious with it velvety sauce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Disappointed for the first time. Most entrees were red meat. Our fish selection was so-so. But, dessert selection was excellent. Amount of wine was puny.
Usually, we are most pleased.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food and service excellent during Indian Market weekend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We like this restaurant so well that we come here every time we are in Santa Fe. The cuisine is French and very delicious. Our server Zach was pleasant and efficient without being intrusive.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The $35 prix fixe here is a bargain.
Service was excellent. Just wished they would turn the lights down a bit to create a bit of ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We've been delighted to dine at this wonderful restaurant ever since it opened 2-1/2 years ago and it never disappoints. It is, in our opinion, one of the best places in Santa Fe, which is saying something. The food wonderful.... beautifully presented, by knowledgeable and pleasant servers. A nice wine list, with some excellent choices. This restaurant is a must try when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing food! Sqaush Blossom appetizer melted in your mouth. Our server recommended the Elk tenderloin. Was the best steak I have ever eaten.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fabulous Champagne! Fabulous Food! Fabulous Service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our first visit to L'Olivier, and hopefully one of many. Very warm and friendly environment.
Food was very French and tasty, with moderate prices. Has outside patio, which can be a
bit noisy, also no parking, in an area of heavy traffic and high parking demand. Wine list was
small, but of high quality. We were dinner guests, but would plan to do lunch next visit,
as there is ample outside dining space very appropriate for people watching.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Everytime we hve gone we remind ourselves that we
will be back soon.

Doris

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Very good short ribs and stuffed squash blossoms. It was a slow Wednesday evening around 6:30-7:00pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Not what I expected. The only special food was the escargo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I had my birthday lunch there and I loved it...great 3-course meal. The coffee was excellent and the service was wonderful. I love the fixed price meal and I love the overall feel of the place!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a really terrible experience at L'Olivier. The service was abysmal. After we placed our order it took a very long time for our food to arrive. People seated after us received their food before we did. Even getting the check was an ordeal. Two members of our party ordered the steak cooked the same way. One came as ordered. The other was almost inedible--poor quality meat, overcooked. The only option for the vegetarian member of our party was a very nondescript wild rice dish. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 3, 2017

This is one of our favorites. The owners work very hard and are friendly. They have a great nose for wine. The chef turns every meal out to perfection. This is a great addition to the neighborhood. Great for lunch, dinner, or just a glass of wine and an appetizer. Our last trip we took my best friend from high school (back in 1809) and and his lovely bride both greatly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

I wish the food had been presented with more "art"and at least more color. The escargots had visual appeal, but I would have preferred less ham in that dish. Visually, the salmon/black rice dish was boring. For example, a couple of cherry tomatoes would have added color. For me, it was too much salmon in ratio to the rice. Not everyone desires big portions of fish or meat. Some of us desire more veggies along the fish or meat and that's not expensive to do. I loved the taste of the ile flottante but it was kind of a stingy portion. My friend didn't really enjoy the frozen nougat but I didn't taste it so I can't say. Good food overall, though, and a very nice atmosphere. I recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our meal could have been better with a better waitperson. Our waitress got the order wrong, didn't acknowledge it, and didn't handle it well. One meal was delayed then and came out undercooked. A second one was prepared, but again, there was a wait.

The owner made up for it well by her friendliness and swift attention. She comped us for three desserts for our birthday celebration, which was very nice.

I will return, but suggest that the waitress and servers need more training (i.e. - bring all the accompaniments to the table when you serve the food, not wait until the final entree finally shows up). A little more polish and the service will be much improved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

L'Olivier missed, but just barely, on each course. Calamari fritta were two minutes under done -- just a little too doughy to be delicious. Lardon/frizze salad, the lardon needed bumping up, just like the calamari, they were underdone. The mussels were good, but the broth was way too salty. I have to give L'Olivier a B. Were the chef to exert him or herself, this would have been a terrific dining experience. Alas, someone was AWOL. Darn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The duck was good but I expected better for a French restaurant and the $30 price tag. I would prefer fresh steamed vegetable to the strange fried kale on my plate. The service was professional but why one has to ask for bread is a mystery to me. This will be my last visit to this restaurant--there are too many really great restaurants in Santa Fe to waste a night out on nothing exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Overall a excellent choice for a preconcert traditional French meal with some contemporary twists. The wine list was short but thoughtful with French and California selections. Service was attentive . Overall very good value and we will return.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.