Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About L'Olivier

Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.

229 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Southwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11 AM - 2 PM
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4 PM - 9 PM

Cross Street:
West Alameda & Galisteo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1919

Website:
http://www.loliviersantafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Thursday and Saturday

Parking Details:
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.

Executive Chef:
Xavier Grenet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Beer Garden, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

L'Olivier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Notable Wine List (32)
See All
Creative Cuisine (30)
Authentic (29)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Local Ingredients (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Romantic (22)
Cozy (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

The food was seasoned to perfection. Service was superb. Excellent all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

The quality of the food has been consistently good since they opened more than 4 years ago. It is one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

This is the best place to eat in Santa Fe! Great everything. We don’t visit the city from Denver without having at least 1 meal here.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

The elk was excellent, the vegetarian dish (butternut squash) was the least enjoyed. The lamb and salmon were very good. Desserts sounded wonderful, but no one had appetite for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 11, 2018

The food was outstanding. The service and friendliness inviting. Perfect for our anniversary Date

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Fish and filet migon entrees were average. Nothing exceptional. Below overall rating cited by OpenTable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2018

The best french restaurant in Santa Fe! Always wonderful!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Wow! This is a visually very romantic, pretty restaurant. The service was exceptional, very attentive. The food is very good with some interstiting options.
Also, exceptional deserts and coffee.
We will definitely go back. We’d like to back in the summer when the outdoor patio is open.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 5, 2018

We went for a date night dinner and were delighted with our meal. The service was outstanding, and the food wonderful. I had short ribs and found the plate excellent while my wife had the filet and found it to be one of the best she has eaten. On that note, I had the almond cake with a strawberry sorbet that was I believe the best desert I have ever had the pleasure of eating. For all of that, the cost was reasonable as well. Certainly not cheap, but quite reasonable for the quality of both food and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2018

The ambiance is nice. The service was ok. The waiter took our orders. The bus boy served the food and made mistakes a few times. We had $37 set. It was like a French country style: portion was big, flavor and presentation was just so so.... I noticed that they charge $5 for splitting a plate. I think it is not reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Really French, really serious about its menu selection and preparations. More bistrot than haute cuisine temple, with items such as cassoulet, escargot, steak au poivre and tarte tatin. Don’t miss the sweetbreads, the elk tenderloin., and the île flottante dessert. Bravo Xavier et Natalie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2018

A great meal to start the New Year! Excellent sea bass and risotto. My desert was lovely while my husbands was overkill for a dark chocolate cake. Wine list was nice and decently priced. The place is tiny but has a decidedly European feel. We enjoyed ourselves and would recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Everything was incredible. My girlfriend had the sea bass, and I had the elk. Both were exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Food was very good, but over priced for what was served, meal was very rushed.. not a good experience for NYE. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2018

My family and I were in Santa Fe for New Year's Eve 2017 and had a lovely dining experience. The prix fixe menu offered three courses, including a choice of elk tenderloin, sea bass, or lamb as a main course. The lamb and tenderloin were outstanding. The prices were high but this was to be expected on a busy holiday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2017

As usual Xavier, Nathalie and crew did a wonderful job in serving wonderful cuisine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Had the elk. It was as good as it always is. The sweet potato soup was very nice and the duck
wings meaty and tasty. The service was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Excellent chef inspired and prepared meal. Local cuisine with a French flare. A great combination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2017

We had Christmas Day dinner at L'Olivier. We were given a friendly greeting and seated promptly in the small, intimate restaurant. They were only serving from a prix fixe menu because of the holiday but there were multiple good selections for each course. I had the lobster bisque and beef Wellington, both of which were delicious. Our server was friendly and accommodating and showed he wanted our dinner experience to be great. And it was.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Excellent but fixed price was over the top .
However I have been here many times and to
My thinking this is most authentic french restaurant in Santa Fe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Really enjoyed our meal there. Very pleasant, great food and excellent service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Great experience. Superior flavors in food. Waiter Jason was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 22, 2017

French at it’s delicious best without being pretentious! The best escargot we’ve ever had! Jason was an outstanding and fun server and it was his first shift at this restaurant! We intend to. E regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

Wonderful food, creative many, romantic, quiet atmosphere, superb service

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Late lunch with friends. Charming atmosphere. Friendly and accommodating staff. Well the meal blew our socks off. Cassoulet was the best I ever had even over what I’ve had in France. The Arugula Salad with goat cheese stuffed figs and cranberries was amazing. Chicken Schnitzel was tender moist and delicious. Excellent Creme Brulee. Love Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 21, 2017

Our visit was the second time we came to L'Olivier for dinner, specifically for its prix fixe menu which is a very good deal. However, this time, the food was less than stellar. The arugula/fig/goat cheese salad had no discernible figs in it; in fact it just appeared to be a big mound of arugula with no effort made for appearance. The cassoulet was good, not great and the crème brulée had an odd texture, delicious but odd.
In all fairness, the first time we went we were blown away and all was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Truly fine dining with authentic French cuisine adapted to NM (elk is a feature). Dining with friends we were among the last to leave but were not hurried . The chef bid us au revoir and we will be bakck, The experience wass enhanced by an excellent server, Zach. We have visited on several occasions and never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 17, 2017

One of the outstanding restaurants in Santa Fe. The food is top notch, and the wait staff does an excellent job. The chef is perfect in presentation of the food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 16, 2017

L'Olivier is a genuinely good, unpretentious restaurant with a menu well designed and executed by its owners who grew up in France. The room, which includes a small bar, is warm and welcoming and every dish we have tried has been delicious, among them being an unusual preparation of escargots and a generous and satisfying isle flottante. There is also an outdoor terrace and bar area which is delightful in the warmer months.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 15, 2017

I had the fish, a bit salty.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. We had a lovely lunch. The Duck Confit with Arugula Salad will keep me coming back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Wonderful food by a notable chef
and service that is every bit its match. We
had a late sitting and area parking was a little challenging, but worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Excellent service and superb food from chef Xavier[ who we met] also his wife who circulated checking on diners. Overall a classy operation and we will be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 2, 2017

L'Olivier is a great place to take visiting friends for a meal. The food was excellent--a couple of us had the elk tenderloin and we agreed that it was the best we had ever had. Also our waiter, Zack was absolutely superb.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Uncomfortable seating, uninspired food ( no poivre in steak au poivre!)
Sat us right by service window and whole restaurant only had 3 tables occupied! Will never return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We had a lovely dinner with our waiter Zac. He did a wonderful job of helping us share some things and pick a great wine. We will be looking for it in wine shops! Our lamb was perfect, the short ribs were wonderful, all four of us had a memorable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2017

For a Saturday evening, the place was very quiet, yet with our reservation, we we were placed at a table against a back wall and next to a wine cooler, while there were clearly more comfortable options available. Appetizers were great. Main course pork chop was tender and delicious. Rack of lamb, ordered medium rare, was more rare and a little tough. Accompanying fall vegetables were disappointing. Pear tarte tartin was beautifully presented and delicious. We were disappointed that they could not serve a pre-dinner cocktail - only wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We absolutely loved this restaurant. The food, the service, the wine were all perfection. I hesitate to give 5 stars for 'value' as it is an expensive restaurant but the food was delicious. Take note, they only serve wine so if you want a mixed drink this is not the place for you. We had the cheese platter to start which was heavy on the blue and light on the brie. I would've loved to see that flip flop. The escargot my husband said was delicious. I had the short ribs and they were tender and amazing. my son ate every bite of his steak as well as the fava beans and potatoes which typically he would never eat. The creme brulee was creamy and vanilla-y and the perfect end to a perfect meal. I had a glass of sparkling rose with my meal and it was a perfect choice.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

Our Thanksgiving dinner was excellent. In addition the staff was friendly and very helpful. We would return to L'Olivier next time we're in Santa Fe.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Our Thanksgiving dinner at Olivier had several "Highs and a few "Lows". We all were pleased with taste and quality of the food, however, the presentation of the entries were below the restaurants standards. Also, the filet mignon were not medium, as ordered, but rather rare. The Table of eight diners next to us had been responsible for the low noise level rating.
We will be back next time for an "Every Day" dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.