Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About L'Olivier

Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.

229 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Southwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11 AM - 2 PM
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4 PM - 9 PM

Cross Street:
West Alameda & Galisteo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1919

Website:
http://www.loliviersantafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Thursday and Saturday

Parking Details:
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.

Executive Chef:
Xavier Grenet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Beer Garden, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

L'Olivier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (29)
Authentic (28)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for a Date (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Cozy (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Romantic (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Business Meals (10)
Casual (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Groups (6)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Organic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service excellent during Indian Market weekend

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We like this restaurant so well that we come here every time we are in Santa Fe. The cuisine is French and very delicious. Our server Zach was pleasant and efficient without being intrusive.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

The $35 prix fixe here is a bargain.
Service was excellent. Just wished they would turn the lights down a bit to create a bit of ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We've been delighted to dine at this wonderful restaurant ever since it opened 2-1/2 years ago and it never disappoints. It is, in our opinion, one of the best places in Santa Fe, which is saying something. The food wonderful.... beautifully presented, by knowledgeable and pleasant servers. A nice wine list, with some excellent choices. This restaurant is a must try when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing food! Sqaush Blossom appetizer melted in your mouth. Our server recommended the Elk tenderloin. Was the best steak I have ever eaten.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fabulous Champagne! Fabulous Food! Fabulous Service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our first visit to L'Olivier, and hopefully one of many. Very warm and friendly environment.
Food was very French and tasty, with moderate prices. Has outside patio, which can be a
bit noisy, also no parking, in an area of heavy traffic and high parking demand. Wine list was
small, but of high quality. We were dinner guests, but would plan to do lunch next visit,
as there is ample outside dining space very appropriate for people watching.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Everytime we hve gone we remind ourselves that we
will be back soon.

Doris

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Very good short ribs and stuffed squash blossoms. It was a slow Wednesday evening around 6:30-7:00pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Not what I expected. The only special food was the escargo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I had my birthday lunch there and I loved it...great 3-course meal. The coffee was excellent and the service was wonderful. I love the fixed price meal and I love the overall feel of the place!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a really terrible experience at L'Olivier. The service was abysmal. After we placed our order it took a very long time for our food to arrive. People seated after us received their food before we did. Even getting the check was an ordeal. Two members of our party ordered the steak cooked the same way. One came as ordered. The other was almost inedible--poor quality meat, overcooked. The only option for the vegetarian member of our party was a very nondescript wild rice dish. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

I wish the food had been presented with more "art"and at least more color. The escargots had visual appeal, but I would have preferred less ham in that dish. Visually, the salmon/black rice dish was boring. For example, a couple of cherry tomatoes would have added color. For me, it was too much salmon in ratio to the rice. Not everyone desires big portions of fish or meat. Some of us desire more veggies along the fish or meat and that's not expensive to do. I loved the taste of the ile flottante but it was kind of a stingy portion. My friend didn't really enjoy the frozen nougat but I didn't taste it so I can't say. Good food overall, though, and a very nice atmosphere. I recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our meal could have been better with a better waitperson. Our waitress got the order wrong, didn't acknowledge it, and didn't handle it well. One meal was delayed then and came out undercooked. A second one was prepared, but again, there was a wait.

The owner made up for it well by her friendliness and swift attention. She comped us for three desserts for our birthday celebration, which was very nice.

I will return, but suggest that the waitress and servers need more training (i.e. - bring all the accompaniments to the table when you serve the food, not wait until the final entree finally shows up). A little more polish and the service will be much improved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

L'Olivier missed, but just barely, on each course. Calamari fritta were two minutes under done -- just a little too doughy to be delicious. Lardon/frizze salad, the lardon needed bumping up, just like the calamari, they were underdone. The mussels were good, but the broth was way too salty. I have to give L'Olivier a B. Were the chef to exert him or herself, this would have been a terrific dining experience. Alas, someone was AWOL. Darn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The duck was good but I expected better for a French restaurant and the $30 price tag. I would prefer fresh steamed vegetable to the strange fried kale on my plate. The service was professional but why one has to ask for bread is a mystery to me. This will be my last visit to this restaurant--there are too many really great restaurants in Santa Fe to waste a night out on nothing exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Overall a excellent choice for a preconcert traditional French meal with some contemporary twists. The wine list was short but thoughtful with French and California selections. Service was attentive . Overall very good value and we will return.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Have dined at L'Olivier a number of times. Love this restaurant. It is our favorite for French cuisine. Also has a wonderful wine selection.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2017

gazpacho was oily, oysters tiny and flavorless. altogether a disappointment. I won't be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Relaxing and quiet spot for dinner. We dined on the patio and that was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We were seated outside on a lovely evening. Unfortunately the traffic and motorcycle noise was so deafening that it really spoiled the experience for us. We were served water immediately and then waited almost 30 minutes for a server to come. When we finally asked to be served, the waitress was OK although we had to ask her for bread twice (it never arrived) and on the third request another waiter brought some to us. The meal itself was delicious, but I the bill for 5 people was over $500 with tip even with 4 people ordering the prix fixe. For that quality of service, it seemed a high price tag. I would definitely give it another try and eat insde because the food was authentic and good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Dinner was nice to sit outside, but it is street-side, not back far enough, and the motorcycles going up Galisteo Street are very distracting and irritating. I think the restaurant needs to build some kind of wall. The food for 2 of the 3 of us was excellent (I had the braised short ribs of beef-very succulent, one of the guests had coq au vin, and she loved it), the 3rd ordered the steak frites and felt it was a tough cut of meat. She didn't eat it and the waiter didn't ask why. I enjoyed it, but there was some lack of attentiveness with the waiter/bus staff. Would go back because my food was good, but I wouldn't think of it in the top 5, among all the excellent alternatives in Santa Fe. They appear to have a beautiful, set-back, outdoor bar, and I wonder why it isn't in use? We would have sat there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Authentic. Be ready to be transported to France by the atmosphere and host. No place in Santa Fe like it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Cozy, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Just OK. Nothing was very special. The sea bass (branzino) is much better at Osteria d'Assisi here in Santa Fe . We might give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent small congenial restaurant. Food is superb and staff is friendly. One of my very favorite restaurants in Santa Fe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We sat on the patio and enjoyed the live music as well as delicious food.
Great service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent food! Pear tarte tatin was out of this world! Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 18, 2017

French chef is creative and disciplined. Ambience pleasant. Service attentive and unobtrusive. Primary server (not a sommelier) lacked some skill in wine service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

GREAT SERVICE! THE ATMOSPHERE WAS FRIENDLY, THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS.
SUPERB WINE SELECTION; NOT A BAD BOTTLE IN THE HOUSE.
HAD A WONDERFUL TIME.
HIGHLY RECCOMMEND FOR A ROMANTIC DINNER OR DINNER FOR ANY OCCASION.
CAN'T WAIT FOR THE WINE AND CHILE DINNER!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We all enjoyed our dinner. The Food and service were excellent.
Best Tuna tartar I have ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was not bad but just not great and not for what we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My husband and I were here at Bastille Day. The dinner was a treat. I loved the food presentation. Delicious and fresh..

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Exceptional in every way! Expert French cuisine. Superb service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Just stopped in for lunch, cute place, but after reading all the reviews I was expecting something amazing. Was good, but doubtful I'd return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A very pleasant surprise. I have walked by a number of times and never stopped. I am so glad we did. A special treat. Food was delicious!! Service was good. Quiet enough to have a conversation. We will be back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Straightforward classic French cuisine done to perfection. The elk tenderloin was beautifully presented and every bite was a revelation. A Santa Fe gem.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We were there to celebrate my wife's (Sheila) 80th birthday which happened to coincide with a scheduled wine dinner, perfect! We lucked out by getting Zach for our server who, among his other of his talents, turned out to be a fellow bee keeper as well as a well informed wine steward. The wines were well paired with our halibut and pheasant courses finishing off with a Moscato paired with clafoutis. We even shared Sheila's birthday with the 2 year old granddaughter of Xavier and Nathalie, what a fun night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We went to L'Olivier's for a date night recently. The special that night was the mussels, which are a must have! The date and goat cheese salad was large enough to split, and we were really glad with ordered it. The wine list was thoughtful and not overpriced, unless you were buying California Cabs, or Parker-rated wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We think that L'Olivier is the most consistent fine dining venue in Santa Fe. Other of our favorites are sometimes great, but sometimes a bit "off." This gem is never off! Each course is impeccable. And, because we are locals, we can take advantage of the week nights with a Prix Fixe menu. Such an incredible bargain. We wish they had a full bar, but that's the only tiny pebble on the smooth sandy beach of gastronomic exquisiteness!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Second time to visit the restaurant.... Our first visit was much better experience than this one. Lovely menu with nice offerings...Checked in and the hostess says... Oh you JUST made the reservations-yes and was it ok???? We did not think it was ok! NICE QUIET TABLE-the young man who gave us water was amazing and delightful-as for our server-it was like he could care less... asked for plain horseradish for my oysters-comment: NO we are FRENCH, walked away-do you not serve bloody mary on weekends? I decided to pass on apt. Husband had the Arugula Fig Salad- delicious, but I guess since they are French Fresh crushed pepper is not available! Feel when you order a bottle of wine, whether $50 or $200 server should top you off-NOPE not this server. We got our meals and the server came over to check on our wine, never came back until we asked for the check. Our dinners Suckling Pig was perfectly done and delightful, my husbands Elk Tenderloin was equally tasty and enjoyable. Unfortunately, it was not good. We decided to tip the first young man and not giving the server our standard tip...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.