Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About L'Olivier

Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.

229 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
West Alameda & Galisteo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1919

Website:
http://www.loliviersantafe.com/

Parking Details:
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.

Executive Chef:
Xavier Grenet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

L'Olivier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (39)
Fit for Foodies (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Romantic (33)
Authentic (28)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Cozy (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Bar Seating (7)
Healthy (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Historic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food, wine and service. One of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a lovely meal here. The food was really good, we were well taken care of by our waiter. They had some unusual things on the menu like suckling pig and elk, which were well prepared, beautifully presented, and delicious. Will go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

It is all about the sauces and L'Olivier got it right. Wonderful duck breast and elk tenderloin. Wine pairing was excellent. We were returning after a great meal 3 years ago and knew that the second time is often a letdown, but in this case it was even better. I hate kale and even that was prepared well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We love L'Oliver. Great atmosphere, service and delicious food.

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had a great time at this lovely restaurant
The wait staff was superb and the food as good as Geronimo's and you pay less
I will make this my special restaurant in Santa Fe from now on.
They have a special on Thursdays and Wednesdays $ 35 for a 3 course meal , super deal !
try it and enjoy

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The escargot were amazing as were the braised short ribs. The elk was tough however. Excellent service sns ambiance. Amazing wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We did not go on an evening where special pricing was being offered. My daughter and I each had a salad, both selected the fish option (halibut), each had a glass of wine and shared sorbet for dessert. Everything was good, but not worth $135 in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always wonderful. We had the halibut and the branzino prepared the same. Great sauce and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 31, 2017

As usual, the elk dish was truly outstanding, however the prime rib special was mediocre. The creme brule was once again the very best possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The fixed menu is an amazing bargain. Available on Tuesdays and Wednesdays it is a delicious and amble 3 course meal. Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Came here because of recommendations and close to hotel. Young man who greeted us rather aloof. Server also a sommelier but unaware of the Fume Blanc on menu I ordered. Creative but limited menu. Not fully French but innovative drawing on other world cuisines. My husband and I both chose the prix fixe. Cream of Mushroom Soup superb, Red Snapper entree good but not outstanding, and desserts of Chocolate Fondant and Frozen Nougat delicious. Bill with wine and tip $122. Not sure if we'll return as entire dining experience wasn't excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Went for birthday with my wife and 6 kids (ages 5-18). Was actually traveling through town on the way to Colorado. Staff was friendly - not all restaurants are thrilled to have families with young kids. Food was delicious. Appetizers tasty - lobster salad was excellent - portion a little small - only complaint. Asparagus soup was delicious - creamy and full of flavor - a hit with whole family. All our entrees was great - not a bad one in the bunch - braised beef, lamb tagine, snapper all cooked very well and flavorful. Steak was good - pink peppercorn was not my favorite but that is probably a personal taste - cooked well. Zach our server was great -prompt and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Wonderful, authentic French food in Santa Fe! Nice wine list and excellent value. My lamb was cooked perfectly and our girls short ribs were amazing. Thank you for a memorable night out and a delicious meal. We have visited France and this met our high expectations. Wonderful, friendly service. A great night out.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

As an out-of-townet, I was really excited to go to this place. Our meal was very tasty overall. Shared starter of foie gras with rhubarb sauce, which was amazing! My main was pork tenderloin with Brussels sprouts and potato gnocchi, and my companion had the lamb tagine. Both were flavorful, but the pork and sprouts could have been a little more tender. And, although she didn't say it at the time, my companion would have liked a starch (such as couscous) with the tagine. Floating Island for dessert was ok, but not memorable--I would not order it again. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable. I'd try it at least one or two more times before committing to a 4th star. Hope this restaurant succeeds!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 24, 2017

As always, fantastic menu. Waitstaff are warm, friendly and knowledgeable. We live about 2 hours away but it doesn't stop us traveling to Santa Fe and a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I love this spot. It's casual but elegant and the wait staff is knowledgeable and attentive. Nathalie is a super hostess and always remembers me. Lovely wine list and the chef's food is always delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Enjoyed the dinner..... it is my 3rd time and each time I have eaten a meal that is excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Took my wife for our 17th anniversary. We have been to many 5 star restaurants in Santa Fe, and this is by far the best. We rated every aspect of L'Olivier as outstanding. We will definitely come back again and will recommend this restaurant who is looking for an outstanding dinner experience in Santa Fe! Bravo L'Olivier!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food. Great service. Nice place to create memories.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, terrific service, friendly atmosphere, never disappoints, always satisfies! This is a gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was good service was very good. A little over priced however. Price Fix on Tuesday & Wednesday is a good deal

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Not a lot of entrees on the menu but everything we had was excellent. Wine is expensive but good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 9, 2017

For a celebration meal for a team that had just put on a successful even, L'Olivier was just perfect. I was to only one of the group that had been there, but everyone was happy with their meal. A perfect setting, great food and wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Parking is very difficult. Had to park 3 blocks away. Was advertised as. 1000 point table but I was only credited 100. Very good food.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The occasion was Restaurant Week. I had elk tenderloin which was superb.

Congratulations to the chef.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Every bite was delicious and the food presentation was beautiful - so glad we chose this restaurant to eat at for Santa Fe's Restaurant Week!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The flavors of the food were outstanding. The bibb lettuce salad had pears, ricotta cheese, bacon with a light citrus vinaigrette. The elk tenderloin was done to perfection with a well rounded assortment of colorful, tasty vegetables. Excellent meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Wonderful frog legs, Elk tenderloin and pork tenderloin! Great service and nice wine selection especially half bottles! A great French Restaurant with fabulous service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went for restaurant week and it was as a prix fixe meal. It was yummy and a good value. C'est bon!

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had the elk tenderloin and it was tender and flavorful - excellent. The entire meal was very good. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe. I would eat anything on the menu. My wife loves the salmon. We both had Shrimp Flautas with Basil Dipping Sauce which are a great little appetizer served with a small salad. I had elk tenderloins. They prepare everything perfectly. YUM!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We came during Santa Fe Restaurant Week. They were swamped, but even with a reservation screw-up (on my part, not theirs) they accommodated our party of 7 nicely. The food was great (not always the case at many restaurants during this week) and the service was excellent, even under the stress of a packed restaurant. We were on the late side for Santa Fe with a reservation at 7:30 and things calmed down as dinner went on. They were also very smart in offering a $15 off coupon per couple for the next time we go. They know they are attracting mostly locals during this week, and that's good marke I got. We have eaten there before this and enjoyed it, and we will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Superb food and dining experience! The frog leg appetizer was sumptuous and made more delightful by the elk entre. Dessert of "Floating Island" except in French, was just like my mom fixed. Great evening! Will definitely return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Authentic and wonderful French food in the heart of Santa Fe. The lovely owner and owner-chef do everything they can to assure you have a thoroughly enjoyable visit. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It is always such a treat to dine here. Nathalie is an excellent host and Xavier deserves a Michelin star!!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Your experience eating at L'Olivier was all we could want. The food, in particular, was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2017

First time at restaurant; came for Restaurant Week. Food was pretty good, but service was very slow. They were clearly understaffed. Why would you allow this for Restaurant Week???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2017

It was restaurant week , a Wednesday night, and we felt rushed. First time we'd eaten there. We felt the wine was overpriced, especially the white wine. Very small pour for $14.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This was our first time at L'Olivier and it was during Restaurant Week. From the appetizers to the desserts, the food was excellent. The portions were generous, service was attentive, and it was an overall excellent experience. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.