Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today
Special offers available. See details

L'Olivier

4.5
611 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Creative Cuisine
Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French, Southwest, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11 AM - 2 PM
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4 PM - 9 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(505) 989-1919
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Xavier Grenet
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
West Alameda & Galisteo Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Music Thursday and Saturday
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Beer Garden, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

What 611 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

I ordered the duck with raspberry sauce, gratin potatoes, green beans. I thought there was too much sauce over the duck, as I ordered it underneath. They use jack cheese in the potatoes (please go back to gruyere) and the beans turned out to be snow peas. All cooked well, but needs more attention.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The dining experience was excellent — really good food, excellent service, friendly atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Started out nice and quiet, we were the only table at5:30.
At 6:00 the restaurant was closed for a private mixer and dinner with strangers standing and drinking and giving us odd glances and trying to decide if we were part of the group and whether or not to engage us in conversation.
Very awkward and unexpected and unpleasant ending to a good meal.
Wish that we had not been given the reservation or warned about how the evening was planned.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The oysters rockefeller were a little too salty but otherwise flavorful . The highest priced item on the menu was Elk , which we both ordered . Mine tasted like liver which I did not eat . My husband's tasted gamey . He ate only one third of his elk . The waiter asked our opinion of the elk . We politely expressed our feelings . The waiter said he would tell the chef . Normally a concerned chef would have come our and discuss the matter with us . Didn't happen, and no reduction in our dinner bill which consisted of one salad and one order of oysters rockefeller and a small taste of ill tasting elk . We will never return

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We had tried L'Olivier shortly after it opened several years ago and decided to come back for a second go. All in all the evening was fine. The food was OK. However for the price point I would expect more than fine. We were at the restaurant mid-week which might explain the relatively empty restaurant and the quiet. That said the service was mediocre. Nobody came to check if our food was OK after we were served, nobody checked to refill our water glasses. There are so many great restaurants in Santa Fe that delivered great food, ambience, and impeccable service. We hope that L'Oliver will rise to that level but they still have work to do.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Considering the reputation of the chef, we were disappointed in the meals. Average taste and presentation. Service below average this night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Fantastic food. Best short ribs you can imagine,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Wow! Fantastic food and drinks. We tried the fig arugula salad and crab salad to start and both were delicious. I had a glass of the Columbo Cote de Rhone which was good, not great but they have a number of other choices I look forward to trying.My wife had the short ribs which were excellent and I had the elk tenderloin which was spectacular. Tasty morsels that practically melted in my mouth. For desert a wonderful creme brûlée with a nice port topped off a memorable dinner. The service was excellent. I think we have a new favorite restaurant in Santa Fe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Farm to table French with a local flair. Service was superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Superb food...and favorite desserts! Look forward to returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Wonderful experience. Highly recommend. The food was excellent and so flavorful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Great dinner as usual.
We really enjoyed our dinner and dessert at L'Olivier.
Can't wait for the next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Food, service and ambiance were superb! We were treated to champagne by the owner, an unexpected treat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

We were there for lunch. Everything was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

This was our first visit to L'Olivier and we were delighted---excellent service, expertly prepared French food (with a Southwestern twist here and there), lovely warm atmosphere. Just the sort of friendly place every neighborhood deserves; but so few have. We liked it so much we came back for lunch later in the week. And enjoyed it just as well in the sunshine! One of our new Santa Fe faves.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Everything about our dinner at L'Olivier was excellent -- food, wine, service, atmosphere! We have already made plan to return in a few weeks!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Hadn't been in ages and was pleasantly surprised. Looking for authentic French cooking in Santa Fe? Go here. The duck confit with lentils was superb. Excellent salad first -- arugula, figs, goat cheese, was delicious. My friend had the chicken with the most scrumptious potatoes. Ile Flottante for dessert -- can't find this anywhere else in town.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The food was wonderful and would definitely recommend. The ambience was nice for a special occasion setting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great meal during restaurant week! Impeccable service and quality cuisine. Best meal of the week.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great service and food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

A friend and I ate during Restaurant Week and the food was fabulous. Not to be missed are the Oysters Rockefeller and the Escargot. My friend had the Elk tenderloin for her main and it was so tender they didn't even give her a steak knife. She cut it with a dinner fork! We had a lovely bottle of William Fevre Chablis which paired well with all of our food. Scrumptious! This is one of my favorite local restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Three of us went for lunch during restaurant week. Although they were very busy , the service and our meals were top notch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Food was amazing. Really delicious. Servers were attentive. However, tables are pretty tight and the acoustics aren't great. We'll go back, and hope it won't be as crowded when we do.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Great food and value for restaurant week. Will be going back to try the rest of the menu!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

We went for Santa Fe's Restaurant Week at lunch. We are still newbies to Santa Fe and have wanted to try this corner eye-catcher. Well! How delighted were we!?! The trout with a saffron sauce, the duck with lentils, a gorgeous salad and the Ile Flotante - and the Muscadet...reminded us of our prized time in the south of France. This is an unpretentious, comforting and comfortable space, that feels very intimate and also open and welcoming. There were infant-guests and a child that belonged in the space and elderly bar-sitters and Latina millennials mingling on a late winter's day, sun streaming through flurries. This is certainly a spot we will return to - and soon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Several days in advance, I had made early lunch reservations for a business appointment. Upon arriving, there was one other table of diners. The maitre D (young man, pudgy, round glasses, sandy hair) sat us directly in front of the door and my guest asked if we might move to a table toward the back of the restaurant, away from the door that ushered in the February wind each time it opened. This was met with an incredulous sneer, and the maitre D snootily informed us "we're very busy and those tables are reserved". I looked around the (mostly) empty restaurant and asked if "that" particular 2-top toward the back were reserved. He glared and gruffly and begrudgingly obliged and took us to the back table. No reason for that kind of treatment and will never return to L'Oliver.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

We went here for the first time during Santa Fe restaurant week. We loved it! We thought this would be a good chance to try it with special pricing. We will definitely go back. It is rather pricey, so will save it for special occasions, but it is no more expensive than a lot of other upscale Santa Fe restaurants. The do not offer a cocktail menu - only wines, which is fine, but sometimes I do like a cocktail before dinner. It was friendly and cozy, but doesn't have a fireplace. The patio would be wonderful in the summer. Good food. Good service and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

My husband and I went for Santa Fe Restaurant Week. Our meals and service were excellent. This is a new favorite restaurant for us and we look forward to dining here in the future. Creative, healthy and well prepared cuisine. Excellent wine list. Knowledgeable and attentive waiters; able to suggest excellent wine pairings and make meal adjustments to accommodate dietary restrictions without compromising the exquisite quality of the meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

What a truly fantastic meal! In the sea of very good eateries in Santa Fe, L'Olivier is well worth a try. The escargot was delicious without being overbearing, the rack of lamb was exquisite in flavor and tenderness, and the opera cake was a nice finish. The wine list has many affordable and high end options to compliment every aspect of your meal. David our waiter was attentive, polite, and knowledgeable. Even got to Meet the chef/owner at the end of our meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 20, 2018

We went for restaurant week and my friends loved the Elk. I had the vegetarian option that was ok. Great restaurant overall but I prefer dining off their regular menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

We had an excellent prix fix meal during restaurant week. Oysters Rockefeller, elk tenderloin, lamb--all of excellent quality and very well prepared, wonderfully sauces and accompanied with tasty vegetables. The owner is gracious, and the overall influence is French, with locally sourced meats. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We have eaten at L'Oliver numerous times and each occasion has been one to remember. The food is always good and the service is everything you would expect from a tip tier restaurant. Good selection of meals either for lunch or dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Wonderful food. The sweetbreads and escargot were outstanding and the elk tenderloin, rack of lamb and short ribs were superb. Having had the elk at other restaurants in Santa Fe, I would rate this the best. A very pleasant, comfortable restaurant with good attentive, unobtrusive service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

I love L'Olivier. The owner/chef Xavier is so talented and NICE, as is his staff - they are warm and friendly and still manage to make it all feel so special. Our waiter Zach provided excellent service without being pretentious - he treated us like we were well-loved regulars. AND the food is wonderful!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Hated hearing a bell ring when someone’s dish was ready! Wait service seemed very rushed and not many guests. Food was mediocre. Had seared tuna which had no sauce or seasoning. Could have had lemon and butter. Tuna sat on kale with orzo underneath,, no seasonings. Expected more from a French restaurant. Was not asked for crushed pepper on salad or meal. Sorry just disappointed after having such good food at other restaurants!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

My wife and I came here for an anniversary! Service fantastic! Great experience. Our server and staff stayed after closing and gave us a complimentary champagne toast with dessert!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Good Food -- not outstanding -- Ambiance, Joust another old Santa Fe building, that has had many restaurants there in the past. With the name, I expected a little more French flare.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 6, 2018

The room is attractive with lively colors. Savory food here was not bad, it just wasn't very interesting, and changes to classic dishes (such as escargot, with bits of thin-sliced ham drowning in too much melted butter) seemed more about making them different than making them better. Our two desserts, however, were excellent - a pot de creme that was smooth, rich, and deeply flavored, and the raspberry torte: 7 or 8 thin layers of flavorful chocolate cake filled with raspberry mousse, with a lovely intense raspberry coulis and a scoop of interesting merlot sorbet. The half-bottle of Sancerre we ordered from the menu was, alas, not in stock at the moment, and the recommended Pouilly-Fuisse substitute didn't quite fill the Sancerre's shoes. The restaurant was nearly empty during the entirety of our long, leisurely weekday lunch. We did not know that they close at 2 pm to prepare for the dinner service, and we lingered nearly an hour longer without any strong pressure other than being asked to pay the bill so they could close out the lunch receipts. These 2 pm closings are a bee in my bonnet about quite a few Santa Fe restaurants - if one wants a long leisurely lunch to celebrate an occasion and enjoy extended conversation, one must arrive by noon or earlier, too early for lunch for some of us. Delaying that closing time by an hour, til 3 pm, would make a welcome difference.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

L'Olivier has become one of our favorite restaurants for either lunch or dinner. It is a little gem
just a couple of blocks off the historic square in downtown Santa Fe.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16