About L'Olivier

229 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
West Alameda & Galisteo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1919

Website:
http://www.loliviersantafe.com/

Parking Details:
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.

Executive Chef:
Xavier Grenet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

L'Olivier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
New Mexico
Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
6 More
Best Service
Santa Fe / Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

fit for foodies (43)
special occasion (37)
romantic (29)
See All
neighborhood gem (27)
notable wine list (22)
great for outdoor dining (21)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (3)
good for groups (3)
hot spot (3)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The occasion was an excellent wine dinne ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The occasion was an excellent wine dinner with Domaine Ott wines. Everything excellent - well portioned, well paced, excellent progression through a few select, well designed courses to highlight the wines. Each course was well conceived, excellently prepared.

A note: So-called "wine dinners" are -to my taste- frequently "over the top", too much food, wines overwhelming, way too expensive for too much, too fast, inexpert service. This was different, just right.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific food and great service

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Terrific food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

nearly empty - granted it was a Tuesday ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

nearly empty - granted it was a Tuesday night. Decor looks like a coat of paint was slapped on.

food was not bad but it wasn't great and it was VERY EXPENSIVE. For 30 bucks more I would have gone to Geronimo's. Would not go back and would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

A very disappointing experience all arou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A very disappointing experience all around. Unfortunately, I will probably always remember the Escargot in particular. It amounted to five snails swimming in unseasoned butter along with a handful of kitchen scraps, the highlight being the cubes of thin sliced lunch meat!

Truly tasteless in every sense of the word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

This is as close to a genuine French res ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is as close to a genuine French restaurant as my husband and I have been to in Santa Fe. We had a fish special that was excellent. We will definitely go again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

L'Olivier is one of our favorite restaur ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

L'Olivier is one of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe and for the price, it's one of the best values in town. We love French food and they do it so very well and have a nice selection of appetizers and entrees. I love that we finally found a restaurant that doesn't feel the need to throw chiles and heavy spice into every dish. The wait staff was also excellent and so attentive without being a nuisance.

If you don't try L'Olivier while in Santa Fe, you are missing out! ;)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

L'Olivier features classic French cookin ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

L'Olivier features classic French cooking, well prepared. The ingredients are fresh and the menu varies with the season.

The chef and his wife, both French, work hard to create a dining spot that will please a wide variety of palates, and the dining room is nicely decorated.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were asked several times about our re ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were asked several times about our reservation, and felt as if we were an inconvenience in their night. The patio is loud with traffic, being right next to busy stop signs. Having gone unnoticed or uncared about for some time after we were switched to a different table, we left never receiving service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

We had dinner on Bastille Day with a fri ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had dinner on Bastille Day with a friend. We enjoyed all the courses from the squash blossom appetizer, the fig salad, and the duck which was excellent with the dauphinoise as only a French chef can prepare it! My husband and I split it. We like to split main courses so that we can enjoy more than one course without having a doggie bag or waste. We also split the salad three ways. Our friend had the fish and enjoyed it. We also shared a very good tarte tatin and sorbet. The deserts were reasonably priced. We are glad to have found the chef again since he used to be at Ristra.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was only our second time at L'Olivi ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was only our second time at L'Olivier and the first time was outstanding. This visit we were sorely disappointed. We shouldn't have sat outside (noisy traffic), and that decision was on us. But our waitress was quite simply horrific. If we hadn't been with an out-of-town friend, we would have left. She got our drinks wrong, and then tried to blame it on the bartender after asking if I still wanted it or what I wanted her to do about it. This was after we waited an inexcusable amount of time for the drinks in the first place. Ordering our food she actually asked how we wanted the snapper prepared....as in rare, medium rare, etc.....and then was shocked when we questioned her about her question. I wonder, had the waitress ever eaten fish? Clearly a very inexperienced waitress, which is fine, but not at an expensive rather upscale French restaurant where the expectation of service is much higher. L'Olivier, you can do much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

We loved our evening. The same waiter he ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We loved our evening. The same waiter helped us on a previous occasion, and he's always helpful and courteous. So is the host. The food is always superb. And I discovered a fantastic Chardonnay. The only negative on this trip was the heat; it seemed the air conditioning wasn't working and it was oppressive, which took away from the enjoyment of the meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

WE thoroughly enjoyed our dinner an look ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

WE thoroughly enjoyed our dinner an look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food and a real gem. With so ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful food and a real gem. With so many good restaurants in Santa Fe, this one could get missed but it shouldn't!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food, great ambiance. It was a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food, great ambiance. It was a bit loud because it was the 3rd of July and people were already showing off their muscle cars and motor cycles. We try and eat at l'Olivier whenever we are in Santa Fe, which is twice a year. Dogs are welcome on leashes and on the terrace outside.

We had lobster salad, foie gras, ris de veau, and seabass, which were all delicious. Highly recommend l'Olivier in Santa Fe, NM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend L'Olivier. Been visiti ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Highly recommend L'Olivier. Been visiting Santa Fe for years and it is known for great food. Probably one of the best meals we've ever eaten here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

App and salad came at the same time, no ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

App and salad came at the same time, no water refill, asked about second glass of wine at the end of the meal. Short rib was a greasy mess, trout was bland, too bad we were prepared to for a great dinner but was short on many fronts, short staffed and short on training.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The husband and wife team that own this ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The husband and wife team that own this restaurant have created a delightful Santa Fe hideaway for those choosing a quieter and more romantic dining experience.

While the patio is comfortable (and a bit boisterous), we found the dining room to be French-country chic in a way that fits perfectly in this older and smallish building.

And the food! Our waitperson guided us gently through the many choices of appetizers, daily specials, entrees and desserts...all to be paired with an appropriate wine. The vegetarian will find many choices, with the squash blossom stuffed with Boursin cheese highly recommended. For those preferring a bit more protein, the elk tenderloin was a delicate, melt-in-your-mouth delectable. The sorbets are a recommended way to end off the beautiful meal. Consider an aperitif of Sauternes as a beautiful match for the Pear Sorbet before you then head off into the cool summer night of Santa Fe!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, tantalizing menu. Finally, ha ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Wonderful, tantalizing menu. Finally, half bottles of wine from a complete wine menu! The wait staff is friendly, engaging and attentive. One of the best restaurants in Santa Fe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meal at L’Olivier’s was splendid! Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our meal at L’Olivier’s was splendid! The food was delicious, as were the wines. We developed a good rapport with the manager (wife of chef) and the waiters and decided that this is an ideal place for birthday and anniversary dinners. Being Wednesday night, it wasn’t crowded, and we had a good choice of seats when we arrived at 6:30.  All in all, it was a successful, enjoyable, meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply among the best dining experiences ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Simply among the best dining experiences we have in 20 years of Santa Fe vacations! Superb food and service, the staff was attentive, yet not ever present. A hidden gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was excellent, the se ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

As usual, the food was excellent, the service attentive and unobtrusive. This is a great quiet place to be with friends and have a nice conversation.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

delightful restaurant, excellent, inspi ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

delightful restaurant, excellent, inspired French cuisine,

friendly excellent service, extensive wine list.

We liked option for lighter, casual menu

for future visit to their terrace or terrace bar.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Like a Friends House

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

That's the way they make you feel as soon as you come in. Flavor and quality always the same, perfect. Don't miss the fix price menu on Tue & Wed. Good excuse for a weekday date!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A touch of France

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

A French Bistro style with a true ambiance and with exquisite small bites of delicacies. This is only for those who miss the true sophistication of a meal of vibrant tastes and selections. This is not for the American who is looking for the hearty belly filling carbohydrate meal.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

L'Olivier is a favorite restaurant when ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

L'Olivier is a favorite restaurant when in Santa Fe. The food (squash blossoms, short ribs, branzino) was outstanding; the wine selection excellent; and the service impeccable. Our thanks for another great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite dining spot in Santa Fe. The ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My favorite dining spot in Santa Fe. The food and service are always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My entree of kale with ratatouille and b ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My entree of kale with ratatouille and black rice was excellent, very tasty, and a perfect vegetarian meal. My wine was also excellent, and the service was exeptional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

5- Star Excellence

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our meals were expertly prepared to perfection. Each item ordered was delicious and satisfying. The staff was friendly and attentive without hovering. A true pleasure to dine at L'Olivier.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Country French

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Xavier is a terrific chef. We had a dover sole as well as a Bronzino, both with sautéed spinach, black rice and a wonderful sauce. The squash blossoms and the lobster salad were incredible as as was the Apple Tatin. It is also unpretentious. The service was calm and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always innovative and excellent food and ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Always innovative and excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visit Santa Fe often. This French res ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

We visit Santa Fe often. This French restaurant was a fantastic find and we will be back again and again. Food was superb, the waiter was charming, the outdoor area looked great(bad weather prevented the patio being open). Family run, chef has impeccable credentials. It was like being back in Paris. Husband and I had a wonderful meal in a charming setting. Wine list great ! Centrally located in the Santa Fe plaza. Try it! See you soon L'Olivier.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Unfortunately I had eaten at Geronimo the night before so the bar may have been set a little high, but I didn't expect L'Olivier to disappoint. I started with Foie Gras which was an ample portion, and interestingly served with pineapple. For the main course I ordered the duck. I love duck and have had it prepared all over the world. While this entree was cooked perfectly the meat was tasteless, without the sodium rich gravy that is was served with. If it weren't for the au gratin potatoes I would have returned it and ordered another Foie Gras.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Delightfully tasteful

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

What a wonderful find in Santa Fe! We got a last minute reservation on a Friday night and it exceeded our expectations. They were gracious about accommodating my food allergies and even though we were the last customers of the night the food was fresh, beautiful and the service impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved our meal! Our server was knowle ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We loved our meal! Our server was knowledgeable and attentive. Great food. Some of the best we've eaten in Santa Fe. We will go again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thankfully a Downtown Bistro without gobs of chili

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent service. The two $$ sign was very misleading. It was pricey.

We wished for a better table, both location wise and size wise. Being

tall Americans, all the tables were very small. Food divine.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful French food and wine!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful French food and wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dining

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We went to L'Olivier with two very close friends. The four of us enjoy good food in pleasant surroundings, and with good service. We were very satisfied on all accounts.

We had a very nice position by a window at the front of the restaurant. It was quite a quiet corner which was perfect for us since two of our party have some hearing challenges.

Squash Blossoms were just in season and two of our party had those and were very impressed. Two of us split the oysters which were very good also. The Elk Tenderloins and Duck entrees were very well cooked and prepared. The wine we had was good and quite reasonably priced. One of our party, recovering from surgery was pleasantly surprised to find that they served a non-alcoholic beer! We skipped desert on this occasion. Price was a $100 per couple with generous tip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always superb as is the service!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

This is our "go to" place for special occasions. The food choices are always appealing and delicious. Service is exceptional. We are looking forward to warm weather and dinning outside in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enchante

 
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Charming restaurant run by a husband (in the kitchen) and wife (front of the house) duo. They are wonderful. Carefully selected wine list coupled with weeknight Prix Fixe menu and wonderful service equalled a night of luxurious fun that didn't crimp on our budget.

We are fortunate to have this wonderful French Restaurant here in Santa Fe. We are looking forward to the warm weather and outdoor wine bar!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always excellent--consistent ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food is always excellent--consistent. Among the best restaurants in Santa Fe. Creative chef--always enjoy the dinners there.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.