Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today
Special offers available. See details

L'Olivier

4.5
638 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French, Southwest, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11 AM - 2 PM
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4 PM - 9 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(505) 989-1919
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Xavier Grenet
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
West Alameda & Galisteo Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Music Thursday and Saturday
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Beer Garden, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

What 638 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

This might be the best restaurant in Santa Fe. The escargots were so very different and delicious, but the foil gras was the prize winner. It defies description! Elk is also magnificent.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

I was awfully disappointed. The food at best was really average. I expected more.

I had escargots, very bland, Short ribs that seemed to have been cooked in the crock pot , and ice cream that was full of shards of ice.

Had I pulled into a diner on a road-trip it would have been passable but at about a quarter of the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Our party of eight arrived on time and we were seated immediately. Excellent Wine List and a small but high quality list of Beers. Salad was very good and larger than expected; everything from the Salmon to Elk to Squash to Fish of the day main courses were ordered. None were disappointed to say the least. Just wonderful food with good friends which is as good as it gets.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 10, 2018

My wife and I are locals. Our evening started with the waiter finally coming to the table after 10 minutes, void of any personality.
We ordered an appetizer that.was decent. The main course was a total disappointment!!! My wife had the salmon which was served with black rice a plop of spinach and saffron sauce which did not compliment the salmon! I had the filet mignon, which had to send back twice!!! It was served au pouive, which consisted of a lot of soggy peppercorns!!!
The final insult to our pallet was the bill! $30 and under!!! Yet another insult!!!
We will never return!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The tempura squash blossoms were delectable! Loved the sword filet. Sides are excellent. Loved the entire experience. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Chef Xavier's cooking is best French in Santa Fe & wife Natalie wonderful hostess! Excellent wine list & 15% off on Thurs!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

It would have been great if the service hadn't been SO SLOW

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

The elk filet was divine. Barbara had the zucchini blossoms and the duck. I started with escargot. Finest ingredients artfully assembled. Bread basket needs an upgrade. Perfect late afternoon alfresco setting.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

A very good spot near the Plaza. Food excellent, wine list likewise and good service. Music outside on weekends. Worth a try.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Terrific French cuisine with a Northern New Mexico flair; a favorite restaurant in Santa Fe.
Service was stretched at 6:30-8:00 on a Saturday eve, but good to see that business is good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Loved the food like the foi gras appetizer and lamb. Finished the meal with a Lle flottante dessert, which was like eating a cloud. Service was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

We enjoy coming to L'Olivier. We can relax, enjoy excellent food and watch the locals/tourists walk by. A definite Continental flavor to the whole scene.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

L'Olivier stands out as a superior restaurant in all respects in a town (Santa Fe, NM) with many excellent restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Great food with creativity. Excellent service, but they also make you feel comfortable--not a stuffy place at all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Great food as always. Wait staff was stretched a little slim due to a patio party so service had small flaws at times. Overall a great time, just fell below our previous visit at Christmas time. Plan to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Stumbled upon L'Olivier by chance. We were visiting Santa Fe for a few days and never imagined that we would find such a truly French experience there. We chose the prix fixe menu with escargot, confit de canard and crème brulee; all were perfectly prepared and well served. The wine list was to my liking and we chose a St. Julien to accompany the meal.
The owner greeted us and spent some time with us helping us to scrape the rust off of our latent French skills, t he waiter took time to get to know us and shook our hands when we left. We were delighted with the experience and only wish we lived closer so that we could enjoy L'Olivier frequently.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Based on good reviews, we tried L'Olivier for my Birthday dinner this year. We were not disappointed! The food was creative and absolutely delicious, from the Stuffed Squash Blossom appetizer to the Rack of Lamb and Filet Mignon entrees and creative desserts. The ambiance is comfortable, and the noise level stayed low even as the dining room became full. Our server was knowledgeable and pleasant, and everything she recommended was as good as she said it would be. The wine list was suitable for a restaurant of this caliber. I would recommend L'Olivier, and we will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Our French friends visited NM last week, so we went to dinner at L’Olivier. We were warmly greeted by the owners and treated just as if we were in their home. Wonderful evening overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The food and service were outstanding.
Owner and chef dropped by to say hi,
adding an extra fine touch. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

We had the escargot as appetizer. Different than anything I've ever has, terrific. My husband thought his duck could have been cooked a little more, but the elk I had was phenomenal. We were there at 530 so quiet, which we prefer. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Perhaps the best meal ever ! Treat yourself and experience this magnificent find. the service was impeccable. I actually forgot my credit card and the owner walked the card over to my hotel! I have never experienced such a magnificent gesture AND the food was A plus plus.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Excellent classic French cuisine. Quality menu and lovely surroundings with a low noise level so you can enjoy your company. The wait staff is knowledgeable, friendly, and very professional. Amazing wine selection. I would highly recommend L’Olivier.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The food was expertly prepared. Service was friendly and attentive. The atmosphere is charming and not noisy, even with the restaurant being full.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Warm welcome. Creative and unusual presentation of snails. Luscious floating island.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

L'Olivier reminded me of Fleurie Restaurant in Charlottesville, VA in its creativity, taste, presentation, service, and staff training. They are both excellent restaurants I would not hesitate to recommend to people who visit Santa Fe or Charlottesville.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Outstanding!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

I ordered the duck with raspberry sauce, gratin potatoes, green beans. I thought there was too much sauce over the duck, as I ordered it underneath. They use jack cheese in the potatoes (please go back to gruyere) and the beans turned out to be snow peas. All cooked well, but needs more attention.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The dining experience was excellent — really good food, excellent service, friendly atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Started out nice and quiet, we were the only table at5:30.
At 6:00 the restaurant was closed for a private mixer and dinner with strangers standing and drinking and giving us odd glances and trying to decide if we were part of the group and whether or not to engage us in conversation.
Very awkward and unexpected and unpleasant ending to a good meal.
Wish that we had not been given the reservation or warned about how the evening was planned.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We traveled to Santa Fe for a vacation. After having our fill of Southwestern cuisine, we wanted something different. This place is fantastic. They describe it as a French bistro, but to me it's a blend of that and New American. Regardless, it's fabulous.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The oysters rockefeller were a little too salty but otherwise flavorful . The highest priced item on the menu was Elk , which we both ordered . Mine tasted like liver which I did not eat . My husband's tasted gamey . He ate only one third of his elk . The waiter asked our opinion of the elk . We politely expressed our feelings . The waiter said he would tell the chef . Normally a concerned chef would have come our and discuss the matter with us . Didn't happen, and no reduction in our dinner bill which consisted of one salad and one order of oysters rockefeller and a small taste of ill tasting elk . We will never return

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We had tried L'Olivier shortly after it opened several years ago and decided to come back for a second go. All in all the evening was fine. The food was OK. However for the price point I would expect more than fine. We were at the restaurant mid-week which might explain the relatively empty restaurant and the quiet. That said the service was mediocre. Nobody came to check if our food was OK after we were served, nobody checked to refill our water glasses. There are so many great restaurants in Santa Fe that delivered great food, ambience, and impeccable service. We hope that L'Oliver will rise to that level but they still have work to do.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Considering the reputation of the chef, we were disappointed in the meals. Average taste and presentation. Service below average this night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Fantastic food. Best short ribs you can imagine,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Wow! Fantastic food and drinks. We tried the fig arugula salad and crab salad to start and both were delicious. I had a glass of the Columbo Cote de Rhone which was good, not great but they have a number of other choices I look forward to trying.My wife had the short ribs which were excellent and I had the elk tenderloin which was spectacular. Tasty morsels that practically melted in my mouth. For desert a wonderful creme brûlée with a nice port topped off a memorable dinner. The service was excellent. I think we have a new favorite restaurant in Santa Fe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Farm to table French with a local flair. Service was superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Superb food...and favorite desserts! Look forward to returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Wonderful experience. Highly recommend. The food was excellent and so flavorful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Great dinner as usual.
We really enjoyed our dinner and dessert at L'Olivier.
Can't wait for the next time.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16