Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About L'Olivier

Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.

229 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
West Alameda & Galisteo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1919

Website:
http://www.loliviersantafe.com/

Parking Details:
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.

Executive Chef:
Xavier Grenet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

L'Olivier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Romantic (27)
Authentic (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Notable Wine List (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Cozy (16)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed the dinner..... it is my 3rd time and each time I have eaten a meal that is excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Took my wife for our 17th anniversary. We have been to many 5 star restaurants in Santa Fe, and this is by far the best. We rated every aspect of L'Olivier as outstanding. We will definitely come back again and will recommend this restaurant who is looking for an outstanding dinner experience in Santa Fe! Bravo L'Olivier!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food. Great service. Nice place to create memories.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, terrific service, friendly atmosphere, never disappoints, always satisfies! This is a gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was good service was very good. A little over priced however. Price Fix on Tuesday & Wednesday is a good deal

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Not a lot of entrees on the menu but everything we had was excellent. Wine is expensive but good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 9, 2017

For a celebration meal for a team that had just put on a successful even, L'Olivier was just perfect. I was to only one of the group that had been there, but everyone was happy with their meal. A perfect setting, great food and wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Parking is very difficult. Had to park 3 blocks away. Was advertised as. 1000 point table but I was only credited 100. Very good food.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The occasion was Restaurant Week. I had elk tenderloin which was superb.

Congratulations to the chef.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Every bite was delicious and the food presentation was beautiful - so glad we chose this restaurant to eat at for Santa Fe's Restaurant Week!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The flavors of the food were outstanding. The bibb lettuce salad had pears, ricotta cheese, bacon with a light citrus vinaigrette. The elk tenderloin was done to perfection with a well rounded assortment of colorful, tasty vegetables. Excellent meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Wonderful frog legs, Elk tenderloin and pork tenderloin! Great service and nice wine selection especially half bottles! A great French Restaurant with fabulous service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went for restaurant week and it was as a prix fixe meal. It was yummy and a good value. C'est bon!

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had the elk tenderloin and it was tender and flavorful - excellent. The entire meal was very good. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe. I would eat anything on the menu. My wife loves the salmon. We both had Shrimp Flautas with Basil Dipping Sauce which are a great little appetizer served with a small salad. I had elk tenderloins. They prepare everything perfectly. YUM!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We came during Santa Fe Restaurant Week. They were swamped, but even with a reservation screw-up (on my part, not theirs) they accommodated our party of 7 nicely. The food was great (not always the case at many restaurants during this week) and the service was excellent, even under the stress of a packed restaurant. We were on the late side for Santa Fe with a reservation at 7:30 and things calmed down as dinner went on. They were also very smart in offering a $15 off coupon per couple for the next time we go. They know they are attracting mostly locals during this week, and that's good marke I got. We have eaten there before this and enjoyed it, and we will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Superb food and dining experience! The frog leg appetizer was sumptuous and made more delightful by the elk entre. Dessert of "Floating Island" except in French, was just like my mom fixed. Great evening! Will definitely return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Authentic and wonderful French food in the heart of Santa Fe. The lovely owner and owner-chef do everything they can to assure you have a thoroughly enjoyable visit. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It is always such a treat to dine here. Nathalie is an excellent host and Xavier deserves a Michelin star!!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Your experience eating at L'Olivier was all we could want. The food, in particular, was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2017

First time at restaurant; came for Restaurant Week. Food was pretty good, but service was very slow. They were clearly understaffed. Why would you allow this for Restaurant Week???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2017

It was restaurant week , a Wednesday night, and we felt rushed. First time we'd eaten there. We felt the wine was overpriced, especially the white wine. Very small pour for $14.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This was our first time at L'Olivier and it was during Restaurant Week. From the appetizers to the desserts, the food was excellent. The portions were generous, service was attentive, and it was an overall excellent experience. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This restaurant provides an intimate setting in which one can enjoy extraordinary delicious food. The service was extremely good and you were made to feel that your business was
very much appreciated. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Very nice experience. Great local restaurant, with an excellent menu.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 22, 2017

It was Restaurant week. Feel food during the week is usually not up to par in any of the listed restaurants.
Kitchens are More careless.
Selections very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing food! Big game + French cuisine = happiness. The elk tenderloin in a red wine sauce was nothing short of spectacular. I would have given them 5 stars but felt rushed - I had just received my aperitif when first course showed up and it accelerated from there. However, owner came over and resolved. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very quaint and romantic. Small personal setting. Great service and wonderful atmosphere. The portions were not overly large and the food was cooked to perfection. Something different as a change from southwest cuisine

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The attention to the diner was outstanding. The food is outstanding but the sense of being appreciated as a customer is what draws me back. I will travel the 300 miles for a special dining experience as often as I can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always superb. Always friendly. Always delicious. Always the best of French cuisine

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We've been to l'Olivier on several occasions and are never disappointed. But four of us tried their weekday prix-fixe for the first time. It certainly won't be our last. While not extensive, there's enough variety on the menu for every palate to be pleased. Escargots were perfectly prepared and authentically French. The arugula and fig salad with goat cheese was subtly dressed and filled the plate nearly to overflowing. The fish of the day was salmon and it was pronounced a great success (though I must admit I can't recall the preparation). Three of us ordered the cassoulet, admitting we feared it would be dry as is so often the case with cassoulet. Not here. It was excellent, the beans done to a turn, the duck crisp and meaty, the pork tender, and the sausage appropriately spicy. Creme brulee and frozen nougat were our desserts of choice, both worthy of all that had come before. This could become a weekly destination. Very highly recommended, including non-prix-fixe evenings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I took my girlfriend to dinner here on her birthday. We were seated right away beside the fireplace, which was great since it was a chilly 19° that night and added to the overall mood and ambiance. For an appetizer we shared the Tuna Tartare which was perfect for two as we decided which wine we'll be having. The wine list was quite extensive and offered everything from a glass to bottles and even half bottle options.Our host Anthony was extremely helpful in describing each dish on the menu as we were deciding what to have as well. After much thought we decided on the Duck Breast drizzled and roasted in an orange marmalade or sauce with Parmesan Riotta, and Fried Kale. The duck came out perfectly cooked as it was succulent and not overcooked with just the amount of orange sauce that didn't over power the taste of the duck. I'd highly recommend the duck. The parmesan risotto was creamy and tender, not mushy. Desert was amazing. We had lle Flottante for desetert which literally means floating island since its meringue floating on crème anglaise. The meringue was so light and fluffy it felt like I was eating clouds. Overall the experience and cuisine was amazing and kind of surprised us to find a great French place in Santa Fe. I would definitely return the next time we're in Santa Fe.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It had been over a year since having dinner at O'Livier and that was too long. This quaint little Bistro is definitely a local gem. The menu is limited but all the key bases are covered when it comes to main courses. The food was excellent with super service. It was great to see the owner/chef doing the cooking!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The restaurant was having an off night. It was Saturday evening and not very busy and they had one server. My dish was very salty and the waiter didn't come back for at least 13 minutes and I also wanted some pepper perhaps to compensate for the salty meat. By the time he came back we were well into our meal. He did apologize and gave me a port Tawney on the house which was very kind of him.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. Authentic French cuisine with an in depth wine list.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Superb quail, elk and filet mignon. Excellent wine to pair. A great way to spend New Years Eve.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was courteous, timely and knowledgeable about the fare and wines. The food was excellent! We had fish and filet and they were both prepared to perfection. This place is a must for a date or special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

An excellent New Year's Eve dining experience, with very friendly staff and good food

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was exceptional. Well prepared, excellent ingredients. Wine selection was very good. Wait staff was helpful and very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.