About L'Olivier

229 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
West Alameda & Galisteo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1919

Website:
http://www.loliviersantafe.com/

Parking Details:
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.

Executive Chef:
Xavier Grenet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

L'Olivier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Mexico
Best Service
New Mexico
Best Value
New Mexico
4 More
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Service
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

fit for foodies (50)
special occasion (41)
romantic (37)
See All
neighborhood gem (30)
notable wine list (29)
great for outdoor dining (12)
great for lunch (5)
late-night find (4)
good for groups (4)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
 (2)
 (2)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

L'Olivier is a favorite restaurant when ...

Dined 3 days ago

L'Olivier is a favorite restaurant when in Santa Fe. The food (squash blossoms, short ribs, branzino) was outstanding; the wine selection excellent; and the service impeccable. Our thanks for another great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite dining spot in Santa Fe. The ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

My favorite dining spot in Santa Fe. The food and service are always outstanding.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My entree of kale with ratatouille and b ...

Dined 4 days ago

My entree of kale with ratatouille and black rice was excellent, very tasty, and a perfect vegetarian meal. My wine was also excellent, and the service was exeptional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5- Star Excellence

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our meals were expertly prepared to perfection. Each item ordered was delicious and satisfying. The staff was friendly and attentive without hovering. A true pleasure to dine at L'Olivier.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Country French

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Xavier is a terrific chef. We had a dover sole as well as a Bronzino, both with sautéed spinach, black rice and a wonderful sauce. The squash blossoms and the lobster salad were incredible as as was the Apple Tatin. It is also unpretentious. The service was calm and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always innovative and excellent food and ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Always innovative and excellent food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Santa Fe often. This French res ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

We visit Santa Fe often. This French restaurant was a fantastic find and we will be back again and again. Food was superb, the waiter was charming, the outdoor area looked great(bad weather prevented the patio being open). Family run, chef has impeccable credentials. It was like being back in Paris. Husband and I had a wonderful meal in a charming setting. Wine list great ! Centrally located in the Santa Fe plaza. Try it! See you soon L'Olivier.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

Unfortunately I had eaten at Geronimo the night before so the bar may have been set a little high, but I didn't expect L'Olivier to disappoint. I started with Foie Gras which was an ample portion, and interestingly served with pineapple. For the main course I ordered the duck. I love duck and have had it prepared all over the world. While this entree was cooked perfectly the meat was tasteless, without the sodium rich gravy that is was served with. If it weren't for the au gratin potatoes I would have returned it and ordered another Foie Gras.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightfully tasteful

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

What a wonderful find in Santa Fe! We got a last minute reservation on a Friday night and it exceeded our expectations. They were gracious about accommodating my food allergies and even though we were the last customers of the night the food was fresh, beautiful and the service impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Thankfully a Downtown Bistro without gobs of chili

Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent service. The two $$ sign was very misleading. It was pricey. We wished for a better table, both location wise and size wise. Being tall Americans, all the tables were very small. Food divine.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful French food and wine!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful French food and wine!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dining

Dined on April 16, 2016

We went to L'Olivier with two very close friends. The four of us enjoy good food in pleasant surroundings, and with good service. We were very satisfied on all accounts. We had a very nice position by a window at the front of the restaurant. It was quite a quiet corner which was perfect for us since two of our party have some hearing challenges. Squash Blossoms were just in season and two of our party had those and were very impressed. Two of us split the oysters which were very good also. The Elk Tenderloins and Duck entrees were very well cooked and prepared. The wine we had was good and quite reasonably priced. One of our party, recovering from surgery was pleasantly surprised to find that they served a non-alcoholic beer! We skipped desert on this occasion. Price was a $100 per couple with generous tip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always superb as is the service!

Dined on April 13, 2016

This is our "go to" place for special occasions. The food choices are always appealing and delicious. Service is exceptional. We are looking forward to warm weather and dinning outside in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enchante

Dined on April 7, 2016

Charming restaurant run by a husband (in the kitchen) and wife (front of the house) duo. They are wonderful. Carefully selected wine list coupled with weeknight Prix Fixe menu and wonderful service equalled a night of luxurious fun that didn't crimp on our budget. We are fortunate to have this wonderful French Restaurant here in Santa Fe. We are looking forward to the warm weather and outdoor wine bar!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always excellent--consistent ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

The food is always excellent--consistent. Among the best restaurants in Santa Fe. Creative chef--always enjoy the dinners there.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food: Perfection

Dined on March 25, 2016

Our first time to try this place. Lots was right, but most memorable for me was that every bite was prepared perfectly, combinations were interesting without resorting to 'weird,' and wait staff attentiveness was 'just right.' At the higher end of our budget, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent French food.

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Excellent French food, closer to bistrot than haute cuisine. Portions are a little large. Very nice wine list.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Loved the experience....will be back. T ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Loved the experience....will be back. This is my 2nd time , the first during restaurant week. Enjoyed both experiences.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Small place. Service was a bit slow but ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Small place. Service was a bit slow but welcoming and attentive. We all had the prix fix dinners. My salmon over black rice was delicious. Nice wine selection.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great new find for foodie's

Dined on March 12, 2016

We went to L'Oliver on the of the wait staff at Inn of the Governors next door. We had walked past this place for several years on our annual trek to Santa Fe. It will now be on our list of favorites. The food was beautifully served and was delicious. Wife had French onion soup followed by scallops done in puff pastry with a delicious cream sauce. The soup was a very large portion and had lots of stringy cheese. Great taste, but a little messy. I had a very tasty goose liver with pears in a sweet sauce followed by a classic Santa Fe style Elk medallions cooked perfectly. We shared a bottle of the Kermit Lynch french red. If you have Clayton as your server, he will take great care of you. We were lucky enough to have had Clayton at his other gig earlier in the week. He is sets the standard for service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

L'Olivier is one of the gems of Santa Fe

Dined on March 11, 2016

Each course was perfectly prepared at L'Olivier and graciously served. Although the menu is limited, what is available is stellar. This lovely little gem a couple of blocks off of the Plaza in Santa Fe is one of our "go to" spots. As locals, we try most new offerings in Santa Fe, but we return again and again to L'Olivier.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

French gem

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Natalie and her chef husband, Xavier, have a wonderful small restaurant on the "rue d'Galiesteo" in Santa Fe. Nicely decored in white table cloths and appointed service the menu changes with delightful specials offered on Mondays and Tuesdays. In the off season the venue is quiet and not so crowded; but the food remains superior. After March and through the summer and fall opera season reservations are a must. Xavier is a highly trained and accomplished chef and displays his talent on every plate that is presented to his guests. The offered wines are a delight to review and match up with any food offering to a tee.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The salmon tartare was excellent the mai ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

The salmon tartare was excellent the main course was very good. It was a birthday celebration the wait staff handled the party of six really well. We will definitely go back

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yum

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food was excellent. We had the chipotle coconut mussels;they were superb. The service was just right-efficient but not rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner at L'Oliver

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food was delicious and the staff was friendly. It seemed like we had several staff memebers working on our table.

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious pre-fixe menu for restaurant w ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Delicious pre-fixe menu for restaurant week. Salmon tartar, lobster bisque, beouf and creamy polenta, canard and olives, raspberry mousse, and a classic floating island. Along with some fantastic wine, this was a wonderful meal and a lovely evening overall.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine, as usual

Dined on February 27, 2016

Compared to the other two places where we dined during Restaurant Week, this was the best. We've been to L'Olivier a lot, and the quality of the food and total experience is always up to snuff. I could be wrong, but I thought the wine list had expanded since we were there last.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I recently ate at L'Olivier for restaura ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

I recently ate at L'Olivier for restaurant week. The atmosphere was comfortable and inviting, and the menu was amazing, considering it was a very reasonably priced prefixe. Most of all, our server, Anthony, was amazing. He recommended a delicious bottle of Cote du Rhone to enjoy with our meals. He kept us laughing with his witticisms, and we wanted for nothing all evening. I highly recommend giving this restaurant a try, ask for Anthony.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love L'Olivier!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Have eaten at L'Olivier several times and have always had tremendous meals. It is one of our favorites in Santa Fe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Fashioned good service and excellent food

Dined on February 24, 2016

Someone knew how to train the wait staff. They even waited to we were finished with our courses to ask if they could remove the plate. Astonishing in this day and age!! The food was wonderful and the wines were excellent. We had a really lovely experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top of the mark

Dined on February 23, 2016

Two of us went for Santa Fe Restaurant Week. The Lobster Bisque and Salmon Tartar starters perfect. Duck Breast with Sauce Bigarade mouth watering. Dessert was tops as well. Our waitress had just returned from France the day before and still did an outstanding job, including providing wine tastes to help with final choices. I will definitely return. Ambiance was comfortable, classy and homey all at the same time. The noise level was fine for conversation even while nearly full.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Back again for more

Dined on February 15, 2016

After finding this restaurant by chance on our visit to Santa Fe last summer, we said we must return on our next visit. The food was so outrageously good we even had the chef come out to sit with us so we could tell him how much we loved his meal. This time our conference was held in February and we were able to spend a most enjoyable Valentine's Day dinner there. We had the same meal of elk steaks and they were just as tender and tasty as we remembered. The veggies were done just right and the potatoes very light. Soup was superb. The wine was also super. Not only was the meal delicious and the dessert wonderfully decadent!, but we made friends with the couple seated next to us, who happen to be regulars of L'Olivier. Food and camaraderie made for a delightful evening with very hospitable hosts.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

One of our best meals in Santa Fe!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

One of our best meals in Santa Fe!

food5
ambience5
service5

What a great find! The food was wonderfu ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

What a great find! The food was wonderful. I loved our wait staff.; they were helpful with suggesting entrees and appetizers. "Charming French Restaurant" is the best way to describe this Santa Fe, NM treasure. P.S. The coffee was fab!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and nice atmosphere.

Dined on February 14, 2016

This is becoming one of our favorite restaurants. It has a great menu selection and the food is well prepared. I had the osso buco and my wife had the salmon which she loved. It is hard to get well prepared fish in Santa Fe as salmon should be medium rare, not over done. All of their soups are sooo good. The service is attentive as well. All this for a reasonable price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

A fantastic pre-Valentine's dinner. Our ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

A fantastic pre-Valentine's dinner. Our fresh kale salad and risotto was delicious. Charming interior, but we can't wait for warmer weather to dine on the patio. Our server, Clayton, is a great professional; knowledgeable, prompt, and attentive without being intrusive. We will back for more!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience here

Dined on February 11, 2016

My wife and I picked L' Olivier for an early Valentine's dinner and it was perfect. The warm colors of the restaurant and its decor make you feel like you are in a lovely South of France bistro. Our food was excellent and the wine was reasonably priced and perfect with the food. But the one thing that has always stood out here is the outstanding quality of the waiters and waitresses. Too often in Santa Fe, an otherwise excellent meal in a nice restaurant has been spoiled by poorly trained (untrained?) waitstaff. Our waitress was a happy and charming French native who made us feel so welcome. She was there when we expected her to be and we were alone when we wanted to be. She knew where service items should be placed on the table and we were never asked, "How's everything tasting?" As we left, she made us feel that it would be wonderful if we would come back soon, and we will. I'll bet that we will aways remember this happy evening at L' Olivier.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding Elk dinner

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

I had the best masked potatoes I've eaten my life, not that you would want to go there for potatoes, but just had to mention it. The elk was truly outstanding. I ordered it rare. The side dished that came with it blended perfectly. If your're in the mood for elk be sure to make a reservation here. I recommend the elk dish highly, although I can't comment on the food as a whole, not having eaten there for a couple of years. The service was excellent, a waiter we've met at other Santa Fe restaurants. The restaurant is fortunate to have him on board.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Food was good to excellent

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Food was good to excellent

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful experience!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Recommend for a lovely, quiet, elegant dinner! Perfect spot to dine, linger and talk. Food is exceptionally good, service attentive but not intrusive. Will look forward to next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.