About L'Olivier

229 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
West Alameda & Galisteo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1919

Website:
http://www.loliviersantafe.com/

Parking Details:
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.

Executive Chef:
Xavier Grenet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

L'Olivier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Quiet Conversation (24)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Romantic (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Authentic (19)
Cozy (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Healthy (5)
Organic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service. Authentic Fr ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. Authentic French cuisine with an in depth wine list.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb quail, elk and filet mignon. Exce ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Superb quail, elk and filet mignon. Excellent wine to pair. A great way to spend New Years Eve.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was courteous, timely and kn ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was courteous, timely and knowledgeable about the fare and wines. The food was excellent! We had fish and filet and they were both prepared to perfection. This place is a must for a date or special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent New Year's Eve dining exper ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

An excellent New Year's Eve dining experience, with very friendly staff and good food

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was exceptional. Well prepared, ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was exceptional. Well prepared, excellent ingredients. Wine selection was very good. Wait staff was helpful and very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time. The food was ex ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent and the staff was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!! I have fallen in love with L' ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Amazing!!! I have fallen in love with L'Olivier again after staying away for awhile. I had a bad experience one evening with really terrible service but last night was perfect. Service was impeccable - thoughtful but not hovering. The salmon was perfection - cooked perfectly and an 8 oz portion which is really generous in restaurants today. My friends had the pork tenderloin in a mustard sauce which was excellent as well. So so good! Already made reservations for Restaurant Week and can't wait to see what specials they come up with.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We came to Santa Fe for vacation and dec ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

We came to Santa Fe for vacation and decided to try this place because of the exceptional reviews. We ordered foie gras for appetizer, 3 course meal and the elk steak. Everything was delicious and prepared with heart! The salmon could use a little more seasoning but it didn't bother me much because the rest of the meals were so great. Service was wonderful and the manager lady was really hospitable. We highly recommend it and will come back next time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Braised venison, organic salmon, stuffed ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Braised venison, organic salmon, stuffed quail - delicious

Tags: Ingrédients locaux, Organique, Environnement paisible, Cuisine créative, Authentique, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Une occasion spéciale, Romantique, La perle du quartier, Une carte des vins remarquable
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made reservations here for Christmas ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

We made reservations here for Christmas night. They had a three-course Prix Fixe menu for the evening at a very reasonable rate. We were pleasantly surprised at how calm and welcoming the restaurant was (the night before was slightly more raucous). We are both (sadly) on a low-carb diet so we expected to have to pick around some of the food and accepted that we might also indulge a little beyond what is allowed. We had been studying the menu ahead of time so had a good idea what to expect. The menu was limited but with something for everyone (including a vegetarian option). My husband's appetizer was the goat cheese salad with frisee - and mine was a frisee salad with crab cakes. Both were generous but not overly-large portions - just right for a starter. I talked my husband into the filet for dinner, and I had the sea bass. I overheard a woman behind me complain about hers to the waiter, but I found mine delicious - perfectly cooked, moist, well-seasoned. I enjoyed the veggies and sauce and skipped the black rice. My husband's filet looked wonderful as well - he raved about the sauce. We both saved up our carbs for the dessert - it was a hard decision, but we went with the chocolate souffle and crepes souffle. I only had a bite or two of the crepe, but the vanilla souffle inside plus the delicious orange sauce were heaven. The chocolate souffle was perfect - and I admit I had more than a few bites of that. All of the dinner was accompanied with an outstanding 2012 Margeaux at a reasonable price. Our waiter forgot my coffee, but I forgive him - it's Christmas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!! Great service!! We loved ha ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food!! Great service!!

We loved having Christmas Eve dinner at L'Olivier

Highly Recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely restaurant with excellent French ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lovely restaurant with excellent French food! Ambiance and service can't be beat!

We have been there at least 4 times and always look forward to visiting when we are

in Santa Fe. Xavier and Nathalie (owners) are special people!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must for anyone who loves French cooki ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

A must for anyone who loves French cooking. Everything was a work of art. Sausces truly complimented the courses. We had filet mignon and sea bass. Preparation brought out the flavors without overwhelming the main selection. Desserts were novel and very French. We recommend L'Olivier without hesitation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The elk was exceptional as always. Musse ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

The elk was exceptional as always. Mussels, oysters and French onion soup out of this

World . This is one of best restaurants in Santa Fe!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

L'Olivier is always a pleasant evening o ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

L'Olivier is always a pleasant evening of good food and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The thing we like most is that the food ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

The thing we like most is that the food here is consistently excellent and priced lower than comparable food at other restaurants in town. The service here is consistently better than at most high-end Santa Fe restaurants, too. And we like the feel of the smaller room in the bar area. We enjoy telling friends about our good meals here because for whatever reason, L'Olivier isn't one of the places mentioned too often when people are asked, "What are your favorite restaurants?"

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We both had the 3-course prix fixe meal ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

We both had the 3-course prix fixe meal - escargot and Coq au Vin and Arugula Fig Salad and Salmon. The entrees were so good we felt like standing up and applauding. (I'm sure my husband will never ask me to make Coq au Vin again!) The desserts are very French but not to our taste, and we were no longer hungry anyway. The Piper Heidsieck champagne was very good and a nice treat for $14.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We made reservations and ate here to cel ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

We made reservations and ate here to celebrate my birthday. What a great find. The food we had was absolutely delicious and the service was impeccable. We recommended to several native Santa Feans and will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Xavier is a Santa Fe culinary gem! ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Chef Xavier is a Santa Fe culinary gem! And his wife Nathalie is the perfect manager and hostess. We had a divine meal, as always!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

L'Oluvier is a gem. Although, the menu i ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

L'Oluvier is a gem. Although, the menu is small everything is prepared very well by Chef Xavier.

Natalie is the consumate hostess. We love coming here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I only ordered an appetizer which was a ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

I only ordered an appetizer which was a quail on a salad. Quail was overcooked and hardly edible and salad was terribly overdressed. I was surprised that the waiter did not inquire as to why I left most of it uneaten. My father and I also did not order entrees or dessert. Those multiple things should have pointed to us not enjoying our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Delicious. It's been a very long time si ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Delicious. It's been a very long time since I have had such a meal. Short ribs cooked to perfection with a purée and green beans; beautiful wine sauce. Kir royal to drink and a beautiful Tarte tatin to finish off. Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Organic, Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

You know you have eaten an extraordinary ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

You know you have eaten an extraordinary meal when you can remember that the snow peas and haricots verts were perfectly prepared. I never knew that peas and beans could be anything other than vegetables to complement the main entrées. This was one of my 10 finest meals. Butternut Squash with Lentils as the soup of the day. Escargots en Cassoulet prepared with Garlic Butter, Black Forest Ham, Cherry Tomatoes, Sautéed Spinach and Slivered Almonds. Grilled Elk Tenderloin with Snow Peas, Red Wine Anise Spiced Poached Pear, Sauce Grand Veneur and Sweet Potato Purée so fluffy and delicious that it could be served as a dessert. But that means you would miss the Ile Flottante -- Soft Meringue Floating on Creme Anglaise -- for dessert. It must be seen and tasted to be fully appreciated. Chef Xavier Grenet has set the bar extremely high for any restaurant to match this. And, it was nice to hear French being spoken in the kitchen of a French restaurant. Merci, Mesdames et Messieurs. C'est magnifique.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was smooth and friendly and ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

The service was smooth and friendly and the food was excellent. L'Olivier provides a quite and restful atmosphere in which to enjoy the overall dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If one values exceptional food expertly ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

If one values exceptional food expertly prepared, don't miss L'Olivier in Santa Fe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this restaurant! It is our favorite ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Love this restaurant! It is our favorite in Santa Fe. The Thanksgiving dinner menu was delicious - wonderful!! It is very relaxing. Natalie and Xavier are tremendous as is the staff.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The owners and staff of L”Olivier knocke ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

The owners and staff of L”Olivier knocked it out of the ballpark for their Thanksgiving presentation this year. We were presented with a thoughtfully and creatively designed menu of excellent choices for the holiday including a beautifully prepared traditional turkey option as well as other restaurant favorites. The service was good, especially considering that they were extremely busy, the noise level was not out of control for the place being so packed and every dish was prepared to perfection. We had a great Thanksgiving with you. Thank you!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was very nice and exceeded ou ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Everything was very nice and exceeded our expectations for Thanksgiving dinner at a French restaurant. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant, with excellent foo ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very nice restaurant, with excellent food and very polite and attentive staff. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lighting was very difficult. Flickering. ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Lighting was very difficult. Flickering. Good flavors. Elk and mussels excellent. Sweet potatoes fair. Presentation to entrees disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Beaujolais Nouveau night, a good choice ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Beaujolais Nouveau night, a good choice of wines (including an unusual white Beaujolais), and the boeuf bourginon was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will be back. The Elk Tenderloin was ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

We will be back. The Elk Tenderloin was out this world as were the escargot. Great wine l ist. Our waiter was quite busy but was able to be attentive.

A nice addition to the Santa Fe dining scene.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The lamb tangine was superb.

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

The lamb tangine was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We hadn't been to L'Olivier in a while a ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

We hadn't been to L'Olivier in a while and were delighted with our dinner there last Saturday night with friends. The foie gras of the day was prepared perfectly with pineapple. Branzino was the main event for two of us, while one of us had a delicious, rich and fit for fall, lamb tagine. I had the tender, juicy short ribs in a rich gravy, served with creamy mashed potatoes and crisp green beans.

The dining area is cozy, very quiet when we got there at 6:30, louder when the place was full by the time we left. We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We were staying a block or so away, went ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were staying a block or so away, went past here several times. Then looked at Open Table and Trip Adviser reviews and decided to try it. Excellent food, well presented. Very knowledgeable wait staff ( I should have gone with his first suggestion for wine pairing). A great place for couples to enjoy fine dining in a relaxed setting.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is consistently great. Tuesdays and ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food is consistently great. Tuesdays and Wednesday fix price menu, great idea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb French bistro food with a slight ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Superb French bistro food with a slight Southwestern accent. Excellent wine list. I've never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad to discover this gem in the heart o ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Glad to discover this gem in the heart of downtown Santa Fe. Small, cozy and quiet. Service was superb - our waiter was most knowledgeable and helpful regarding both the cuisine and the wines . A delightful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sant fe has many choices and L'Olivier h ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sant fe has many choices and L'Olivier has to be in the top five

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love L'Olivier. It's our favorite Fre ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

We love L'Olivier. It's our favorite French restaurant in Santa Fe. The mid-week prix fixe dinners are a real value. The food is always delicious and it has a lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.