About L'Olivier

229 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
West Alameda & Galisteo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1919

Website:
http://www.loliviersantafe.com/

Parking Details:
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.

Executive Chef:
Xavier Grenet

Additional:
Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

L'Olivier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
1 More
Special Occasion
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Fit for Foodies (44)
Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (31)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Great for Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always very high quality, excellent food ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 7 hours ago

Always very high quality, excellent food. Service was excellent. We go every time we are in SF. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Passion Fruit Souflee was incredible

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 hours ago

Passion Fruit Souflee was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was informed, pleasant and unobt ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was informed, pleasant and unobtrusive.

The patio looks fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall, a very ordinary somewhat disapp ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

Overall, a very ordinary somewhat disappointing evening and meal. Overpriced. Sure would not return or recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

We enjoyed deliciously prepared food (es ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We enjoyed deliciously prepared food (escargot, duck confit, melting chocolate cake) and found everything well-prepared. Our server was knowledgeable and took great care of us. The decor is simple, tasteful, and relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is your third request for a review. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is your third request for a review. I've written one review and do not want to write any more.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, fantastic food, great ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent service, fantastic food, great wine list...what else can I say?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our third visit. I've reviewed ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our third visit. I've reviewed L'Olivier before

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Wagyu Hanger steak with fava beans a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Wagyu Hanger steak with fava beans and tagliatelle pasta was beautiful on the plate but overpriced in the mouth at $28. The beef was lacking any flavor that would prompt "Mmmm!" and the texture was chewy. The grass-fed Rosemary braised beef short ribs with haricots verts and green chile and jack cheese mashed potatoes were the ultimate comfort food, tasting like a perfect crock pot item at home (pot roast), but with distinctive and wonderful potatoes. Overpriced at $29. We are repeat diners there, loving the atmosphere and the menu, but not the tab.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very traditional French menu, with an ex ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very traditional French menu, with an extensive wine list. My husband had the Foi Gras and the Rosemary Braised Beef Short Ribs, I had the fish special - pan seared sole with sautéed spinach and black rice. Both were excellent. We ate on the patio which was beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were among the first diners of the ev ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We were among the first diners of the evening after spending most of the day in Santa Fe, and enjoyed very prompt attention. L'Olivier had some wines on special, which were fun and delightful to explore and expanded our French wine experiences. The mussel appetizer, with fresh bread for dipping, was delicious, as were our duck and branzino entrees. All in all a fine French dining experience in downtown Santa Fe. We were pleased to note that the menu was marked for dairy-free and vegan dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic French Food Our second visit to ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Classic French Food

Our second visit to L'Olivier was with a group of friends and it was just as successful as the first. Delicious food; deft, friendly service; and a quiet, civilized setting. As seasonal residents of Santa Fe we'll be back many times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would not go back. 4 omnivores and one v ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Would not go back.

4 omnivores and one vegetarian

Food boring for all, abysmal for the vegetarian, steamed vegetables, could do better at home.

Waiter not knowledgable at all and did not get owner involved.

Sad, because Ristra (same chef) was previously enjoyed by the whole party in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

We were given a quiet table as requested ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were given a quiet table as requested and the service was quite polished. We intend to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A little pricey but the entrees we order ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A little pricey but the entrees we ordered were delicious and generous. Creme brûlée was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was great! We had just trave ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was great! We had just traveled across country and chose a 6:00 reservation. It was quiet and service was perfect, food excellent. By the time we left, the noise level had picked up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The occasion was an excellent wine dinne ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The occasion was an excellent wine dinner with Domaine Ott wines. Everything excellent - well portioned, well paced, excellent progression through a few select, well designed courses to highlight the wines. Each course was well conceived, excellently prepared.

A note: So-called "wine dinners" are -to my taste- frequently "over the top", too much food, wines overwhelming, way too expensive for too much, too fast, inexpert service. This was different, just right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific food and great service

vip
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Terrific food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

nearly empty - granted it was a Tuesday ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

nearly empty - granted it was a Tuesday night. Decor looks like a coat of paint was slapped on.

food was not bad but it wasn't great and it was VERY EXPENSIVE. For 30 bucks more I would have gone to Geronimo's. Would not go back and would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

A very disappointing experience all arou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A very disappointing experience all around. Unfortunately, I will probably always remember the Escargot in particular. It amounted to five snails swimming in unseasoned butter along with a handful of kitchen scraps, the highlight being the cubes of thin sliced lunch meat!

Truly tasteless in every sense of the word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

This is as close to a genuine French res ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is as close to a genuine French restaurant as my husband and I have been to in Santa Fe. We had a fish special that was excellent. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

L'Olivier is one of our favorite restaur ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

L'Olivier is one of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe and for the price, it's one of the best values in town. We love French food and they do it so very well and have a nice selection of appetizers and entrees. I love that we finally found a restaurant that doesn't feel the need to throw chiles and heavy spice into every dish. The wait staff was also excellent and so attentive without being a nuisance.

If you don't try L'Olivier while in Santa Fe, you are missing out! ;)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

L'Olivier features classic French cookin ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

L'Olivier features classic French cooking, well prepared. The ingredients are fresh and the menu varies with the season.

The chef and his wife, both French, work hard to create a dining spot that will please a wide variety of palates, and the dining room is nicely decorated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were asked several times about our re ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were asked several times about our reservation, and felt as if we were an inconvenience in their night. The patio is loud with traffic, being right next to busy stop signs. Having gone unnoticed or uncared about for some time after we were switched to a different table, we left never receiving service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

We had dinner on Bastille Day with a fri ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had dinner on Bastille Day with a friend. We enjoyed all the courses from the squash blossom appetizer, the fig salad, and the duck which was excellent with the dauphinoise as only a French chef can prepare it! My husband and I split it. We like to split main courses so that we can enjoy more than one course without having a doggie bag or waste. We also split the salad three ways. Our friend had the fish and enjoyed it. We also shared a very good tarte tatin and sorbet. The deserts were reasonably priced. We are glad to have found the chef again since he used to be at Ristra.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was only our second time at L'Olivi ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was only our second time at L'Olivier and the first time was outstanding. This visit we were sorely disappointed. We shouldn't have sat outside (noisy traffic), and that decision was on us. But our waitress was quite simply horrific. If we hadn't been with an out-of-town friend, we would have left. She got our drinks wrong, and then tried to blame it on the bartender after asking if I still wanted it or what I wanted her to do about it. This was after we waited an inexcusable amount of time for the drinks in the first place. Ordering our food she actually asked how we wanted the snapper prepared....as in rare, medium rare, etc.....and then was shocked when we questioned her about her question. I wonder, had the waitress ever eaten fish? Clearly a very inexperienced waitress, which is fine, but not at an expensive rather upscale French restaurant where the expectation of service is much higher. L'Olivier, you can do much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

We loved our evening. The same waiter he ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We loved our evening. The same waiter helped us on a previous occasion, and he's always helpful and courteous. So is the host. The food is always superb. And I discovered a fantastic Chardonnay. The only negative on this trip was the heat; it seemed the air conditioning wasn't working and it was oppressive, which took away from the enjoyment of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

WE thoroughly enjoyed our dinner an look ...

vip
·Dined on July 7, 2016

WE thoroughly enjoyed our dinner an look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food and a real gem. With so ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful food and a real gem. With so many good restaurants in Santa Fe, this one could get missed but it shouldn't!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food, great ambiance. It was a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food, great ambiance. It was a bit loud because it was the 3rd of July and people were already showing off their muscle cars and motor cycles. We try and eat at l'Olivier whenever we are in Santa Fe, which is twice a year. Dogs are welcome on leashes and on the terrace outside.

We had lobster salad, foie gras, ris de veau, and seabass, which were all delicious. Highly recommend l'Olivier in Santa Fe, NM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend L'Olivier. Been visiti ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Highly recommend L'Olivier. Been visiting Santa Fe for years and it is known for great food. Probably one of the best meals we've ever eaten here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

App and salad came at the same time, no ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

App and salad came at the same time, no water refill, asked about second glass of wine at the end of the meal. Short rib was a greasy mess, trout was bland, too bad we were prepared to for a great dinner but was short on many fronts, short staffed and short on training.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The husband and wife team that own this ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The husband and wife team that own this restaurant have created a delightful Santa Fe hideaway for those choosing a quieter and more romantic dining experience.

While the patio is comfortable (and a bit boisterous), we found the dining room to be French-country chic in a way that fits perfectly in this older and smallish building.

And the food! Our waitperson guided us gently through the many choices of appetizers, daily specials, entrees and desserts...all to be paired with an appropriate wine. The vegetarian will find many choices, with the squash blossom stuffed with Boursin cheese highly recommended. For those preferring a bit more protein, the elk tenderloin was a delicate, melt-in-your-mouth delectable. The sorbets are a recommended way to end off the beautiful meal. Consider an aperitif of Sauternes as a beautiful match for the Pear Sorbet before you then head off into the cool summer night of Santa Fe!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, tantalizing menu. Finally, ha ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Wonderful, tantalizing menu. Finally, half bottles of wine from a complete wine menu! The wait staff is friendly, engaging and attentive. One of the best restaurants in Santa Fe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meal at L’Olivier’s was splendid! Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our meal at L’Olivier’s was splendid! The food was delicious, as were the wines. We developed a good rapport with the manager (wife of chef) and the waiters and decided that this is an ideal place for birthday and anniversary dinners. Being Wednesday night, it wasn’t crowded, and we had a good choice of seats when we arrived at 6:30.  All in all, it was a successful, enjoyable, meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply among the best dining experiences ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Simply among the best dining experiences we have in 20 years of Santa Fe vacations! Superb food and service, the staff was attentive, yet not ever present. A hidden gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was excellent, the se ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

As usual, the food was excellent, the service attentive and unobtrusive. This is a great quiet place to be with friends and have a nice conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

delightful restaurant, excellent, inspi ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

delightful restaurant, excellent, inspired French cuisine,

friendly excellent service, extensive wine list.

We liked option for lighter, casual menu

for future visit to their terrace or terrace bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Like a Friends House

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

That's the way they make you feel as soon as you come in. Flavor and quality always the same, perfect. Don't miss the fix price menu on Tue & Wed. Good excuse for a weekday date!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A touch of France

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

A French Bistro style with a true ambiance and with exquisite small bites of delicacies. This is only for those who miss the true sophistication of a meal of vibrant tastes and selections. This is not for the American who is looking for the hearty belly filling carbohydrate meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.