Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About L'Olivier

Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.

229 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Southwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11 AM - 2 PM
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4 PM - 9 PM

Cross Street:
West Alameda & Galisteo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1919

Website:
http://www.loliviersantafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Thursday and Saturday

Parking Details:
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.

Executive Chef:
Xavier Grenet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Beer Garden, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

L'Olivier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Authentic (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Cozy (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Romantic (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Good for a Date (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (7)
Fun (7)
Business Meals (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Simply outstanding. Arugala and fig and goat cheese, followed by short ribs. Heavenly. Charming ambiance inside. I won't recommend sitting outside as it is right by a busy street. Service was top notch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was wonderful but the service was disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Loved the squash blossom appetiser -,have only seen those offered in Italy

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had expected a better experience. The bread that was served was not fully-baked; it was doughy and did not have a real crust. The food was just okay...nothing special. We had expected a better meal for the price and the setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great dining experience! Atmosphere is lovely, very quaint. Food was some of the eat French cuisine I have had. My husband & I had the short ribs, excellent!!! Food is served on a hot plate keeping the food at the perfect temperature. Our son highly recommends the Crete brûlée for a nice finish to an excellent meal. Wonderful service as well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Braised beef short ribs perfectly tender and the chile mashed potatoes amazing. Friend had the Scottish salmon special and declared it wonderful. Husband had the duck breast. We gave all our meals 2 thumbs up! Wine list is well-curated with something for everyone (I own a wine store, so I should know). Love this place and visit every time we're in Santa Fe.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Elk is a specialty of many fine restaurants in Santa Fe. However the elk at L'Olivier, served with a wine reduction, was excellent and served with accompaniments that were both intriguing and delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

First time but will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had a lovely dinner with friends on a chilly weeknight. The elk tenderloin was especially delicious with it velvety sauce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Disappointed for the first time. Most entrees were red meat. Our fish selection was so-so. But, dessert selection was excellent. Amount of wine was puny.
Usually, we are most pleased.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food and service excellent during Indian Market weekend

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We like this restaurant so well that we come here every time we are in Santa Fe. The cuisine is French and very delicious. Our server Zach was pleasant and efficient without being intrusive.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The $35 prix fixe here is a bargain.
Service was excellent. Just wished they would turn the lights down a bit to create a bit of ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We've been delighted to dine at this wonderful restaurant ever since it opened 2-1/2 years ago and it never disappoints. It is, in our opinion, one of the best places in Santa Fe, which is saying something. The food wonderful.... beautifully presented, by knowledgeable and pleasant servers. A nice wine list, with some excellent choices. This restaurant is a must try when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing food! Sqaush Blossom appetizer melted in your mouth. Our server recommended the Elk tenderloin. Was the best steak I have ever eaten.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fabulous Champagne! Fabulous Food! Fabulous Service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our first visit to L'Olivier, and hopefully one of many. Very warm and friendly environment.
Food was very French and tasty, with moderate prices. Has outside patio, which can be a
bit noisy, also no parking, in an area of heavy traffic and high parking demand. Wine list was
small, but of high quality. We were dinner guests, but would plan to do lunch next visit,
as there is ample outside dining space very appropriate for people watching.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Everytime we hve gone we remind ourselves that we
will be back soon.

Doris

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Very good short ribs and stuffed squash blossoms. It was a slow Wednesday evening around 6:30-7:00pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Not what I expected. The only special food was the escargo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I had my birthday lunch there and I loved it...great 3-course meal. The coffee was excellent and the service was wonderful. I love the fixed price meal and I love the overall feel of the place!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a really terrible experience at L'Olivier. The service was abysmal. After we placed our order it took a very long time for our food to arrive. People seated after us received their food before we did. Even getting the check was an ordeal. Two members of our party ordered the steak cooked the same way. One came as ordered. The other was almost inedible--poor quality meat, overcooked. The only option for the vegetarian member of our party was a very nondescript wild rice dish. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 3, 2017

This is one of our favorites. The owners work very hard and are friendly. They have a great nose for wine. The chef turns every meal out to perfection. This is a great addition to the neighborhood. Great for lunch, dinner, or just a glass of wine and an appetizer. Our last trip we took my best friend from high school (back in 1809) and and his lovely bride both greatly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

I wish the food had been presented with more "art"and at least more color. The escargots had visual appeal, but I would have preferred less ham in that dish. Visually, the salmon/black rice dish was boring. For example, a couple of cherry tomatoes would have added color. For me, it was too much salmon in ratio to the rice. Not everyone desires big portions of fish or meat. Some of us desire more veggies along the fish or meat and that's not expensive to do. I loved the taste of the ile flottante but it was kind of a stingy portion. My friend didn't really enjoy the frozen nougat but I didn't taste it so I can't say. Good food overall, though, and a very nice atmosphere. I recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our meal could have been better with a better waitperson. Our waitress got the order wrong, didn't acknowledge it, and didn't handle it well. One meal was delayed then and came out undercooked. A second one was prepared, but again, there was a wait.

The owner made up for it well by her friendliness and swift attention. She comped us for three desserts for our birthday celebration, which was very nice.

I will return, but suggest that the waitress and servers need more training (i.e. - bring all the accompaniments to the table when you serve the food, not wait until the final entree finally shows up). A little more polish and the service will be much improved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

L'Olivier missed, but just barely, on each course. Calamari fritta were two minutes under done -- just a little too doughy to be delicious. Lardon/frizze salad, the lardon needed bumping up, just like the calamari, they were underdone. The mussels were good, but the broth was way too salty. I have to give L'Olivier a B. Were the chef to exert him or herself, this would have been a terrific dining experience. Alas, someone was AWOL. Darn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The duck was good but I expected better for a French restaurant and the $30 price tag. I would prefer fresh steamed vegetable to the strange fried kale on my plate. The service was professional but why one has to ask for bread is a mystery to me. This will be my last visit to this restaurant--there are too many really great restaurants in Santa Fe to waste a night out on nothing exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Overall a excellent choice for a preconcert traditional French meal with some contemporary twists. The wine list was short but thoughtful with French and California selections. Service was attentive . Overall very good value and we will return.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Have dined at L'Olivier a number of times. Love this restaurant. It is our favorite for French cuisine. Also has a wonderful wine selection.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2017

gazpacho was oily, oysters tiny and flavorless. altogether a disappointment. I won't be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Relaxing and quiet spot for dinner. We dined on the patio and that was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We were seated outside on a lovely evening. Unfortunately the traffic and motorcycle noise was so deafening that it really spoiled the experience for us. We were served water immediately and then waited almost 30 minutes for a server to come. When we finally asked to be served, the waitress was OK although we had to ask her for bread twice (it never arrived) and on the third request another waiter brought some to us. The meal itself was delicious, but I the bill for 5 people was over $500 with tip even with 4 people ordering the prix fixe. For that quality of service, it seemed a high price tag. I would definitely give it another try and eat insde because the food was authentic and good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Dinner was nice to sit outside, but it is street-side, not back far enough, and the motorcycles going up Galisteo Street are very distracting and irritating. I think the restaurant needs to build some kind of wall. The food for 2 of the 3 of us was excellent (I had the braised short ribs of beef-very succulent, one of the guests had coq au vin, and she loved it), the 3rd ordered the steak frites and felt it was a tough cut of meat. She didn't eat it and the waiter didn't ask why. I enjoyed it, but there was some lack of attentiveness with the waiter/bus staff. Would go back because my food was good, but I wouldn't think of it in the top 5, among all the excellent alternatives in Santa Fe. They appear to have a beautiful, set-back, outdoor bar, and I wonder why it isn't in use? We would have sat there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Authentic. Be ready to be transported to France by the atmosphere and host. No place in Santa Fe like it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Cozy, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Just OK. Nothing was very special. The sea bass (branzino) is much better at Osteria d'Assisi here in Santa Fe . We might give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent small congenial restaurant. Food is superb and staff is friendly. One of my very favorite restaurants in Santa Fe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We sat on the patio and enjoyed the live music as well as delicious food.
Great service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent food! Pear tarte tatin was out of this world! Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 18, 2017

French chef is creative and disciplined. Ambience pleasant. Service attentive and unobtrusive. Primary server (not a sommelier) lacked some skill in wine service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

GREAT SERVICE! THE ATMOSPHERE WAS FRIENDLY, THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS.
SUPERB WINE SELECTION; NOT A BAD BOTTLE IN THE HOUSE.
HAD A WONDERFUL TIME.
HIGHLY RECCOMMEND FOR A ROMANTIC DINNER OR DINNER FOR ANY OCCASION.
CAN'T WAIT FOR THE WINE AND CHILE DINNER!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.