Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About L'Olivier

Fine Southwestern and French Cuisine. Executive Chef Xavier Grenet uses as many local products as possible with his own French technique. He creates a fine Southwestern cuisine, rich in flavors and finess.

229 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Southwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11 AM - 2 PM
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4 PM - 9 PM

Cross Street:
West Alameda & Galisteo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 989-1919

Website:
http://www.loliviersantafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Thursday and Saturday

Parking Details:
2 minutes away from public parking/garage, entrance on San Francisco Street. Exit by walking on the back side of the parking, on Water street. We are 2mn away.

Or you can park on the other side of the Santa Fe River.

Executive Chef:
Xavier Grenet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Beer Garden, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

L'Olivier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Authentic (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Romantic (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Cozy (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Casual (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Fun (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food! Pear tarte tatin was out of this world! Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

French chef is creative and disciplined. Ambience pleasant. Service attentive and unobtrusive. Primary server (not a sommelier) lacked some skill in wine service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

GREAT SERVICE! THE ATMOSPHERE WAS FRIENDLY, THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS.
SUPERB WINE SELECTION; NOT A BAD BOTTLE IN THE HOUSE.
HAD A WONDERFUL TIME.
HIGHLY RECCOMMEND FOR A ROMANTIC DINNER OR DINNER FOR ANY OCCASION.
CAN'T WAIT FOR THE WINE AND CHILE DINNER!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We all enjoyed our dinner. The Food and service were excellent.
Best Tuna tartar I have ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was not bad but just not great and not for what we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Exceptional in every way! Expert French cuisine. Superb service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My husband and I were here at Bastille Day. The dinner was a treat. I loved the food presentation. Delicious and fresh..

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Just stopped in for lunch, cute place, but after reading all the reviews I was expecting something amazing. Was good, but doubtful I'd return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A very pleasant surprise. I have walked by a number of times and never stopped. I am so glad we did. A special treat. Food was delicious!! Service was good. Quiet enough to have a conversation. We will be back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Straightforward classic French cuisine done to perfection. The elk tenderloin was beautifully presented and every bite was a revelation. A Santa Fe gem.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We were there to celebrate my wife's (Sheila) 80th birthday which happened to coincide with a scheduled wine dinner, perfect! We lucked out by getting Zach for our server who, among his other of his talents, turned out to be a fellow bee keeper as well as a well informed wine steward. The wines were well paired with our halibut and pheasant courses finishing off with a Moscato paired with clafoutis. We even shared Sheila's birthday with the 2 year old granddaughter of Xavier and Nathalie, what a fun night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We went to L'Olivier's for a date night recently. The special that night was the mussels, which are a must have! The date and goat cheese salad was large enough to split, and we were really glad with ordered it. The wine list was thoughtful and not overpriced, unless you were buying California Cabs, or Parker-rated wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We think that L'Olivier is the most consistent fine dining venue in Santa Fe. Other of our favorites are sometimes great, but sometimes a bit "off." This gem is never off! Each course is impeccable. And, because we are locals, we can take advantage of the week nights with a Prix Fixe menu. Such an incredible bargain. We wish they had a full bar, but that's the only tiny pebble on the smooth sandy beach of gastronomic exquisiteness!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Second time to visit the restaurant.... Our first visit was much better experience than this one. Lovely menu with nice offerings...Checked in and the hostess says... Oh you JUST made the reservations-yes and was it ok???? We did not think it was ok! NICE QUIET TABLE-the young man who gave us water was amazing and delightful-as for our server-it was like he could care less... asked for plain horseradish for my oysters-comment: NO we are FRENCH, walked away-do you not serve bloody mary on weekends? I decided to pass on apt. Husband had the Arugula Fig Salad- delicious, but I guess since they are French Fresh crushed pepper is not available! Feel when you order a bottle of wine, whether $50 or $200 server should top you off-NOPE not this server. We got our meals and the server came over to check on our wine, never came back until we asked for the check. Our dinners Suckling Pig was perfectly done and delightful, my husbands Elk Tenderloin was equally tasty and enjoyable. Unfortunately, it was not good. We decided to tip the first young man and not giving the server our standard tip...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Consistently Creative
What great dishes, great service (Zack) and great evening! The arugula and fig salad is soooooo good. And we seriously considered asking the kitchen to give us all the potatoes (a cross between creamed and mashed) they had left.... . My husband feasted on the snails as an app and loved them.
Just a great night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food and service were outstanding. Had the short ribs - terrific! Only negative about the restaurant was the inside temperature. It was a hot day (upper 90's) and the restaurant needed to be cooler than it was.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Exceptional combination restaurant combining French and New Mexico cuisine. Given the unique combination of the two, it is a place no "foodie" should miss when visiting Santa Fe. Add in wonderful service by Nestor, no more needs to be said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Wonderful. Waiter was knowledgeable and the fish fried to perfection.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We love this restaurant for its quiet authenticity, fantastic food and excellent ambiance. Would not hesitate to go again, and to take guests.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent food: Mediterranean Sea bass and glazed suckling pig both expertly prepared and waiter suggestions on wine parings were spot on. Chef prepared dessert, an almond cake was well above expectation also. If you are looking for great entrees served in white table cloth decor ambience, this will meet your goal.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My wife and I visited L'Olivier on Saturday night May 27. We had a mixed experience which is unfortunate since they have a lot of potential. My main course was a delicious elk tenderloin with pears in wine sauce. We both thought it was outstanding. On the downside, my wife did not like her Branzino, which was pretty tasteless. I felt like we were rushed through the meal and over charged for two bottles of sparkling water at $3.50 each.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Consistently excellent service and cuisine. When in Santa Fe, this is one place we don't miss.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wow! We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our server was very nice, but the service was a little slow. Today's special was delicious, but the arugula salad has about three times more dressing than is probably necessary. The desert we had was pretty good, but definitely not worth 9$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Dinner was good. The service was less than satisfactory. We were seated at a corner table and they seated 4 people of size too close to us at the next table and it became claustrophobic. Not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was our second trip to L'Olivier and once again it was a delight. The food was imanginative and delicious. As with a good French restaurant, the sauces were so flavorful we were glad there was excellent bread to ensure we got every drop! The service was excellent and the ambiance was calming. There are so many good restaurants in Santa Fe, but L'Olivier is one we will continue to return to for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Santa Fe is full of good restaurants but this is our favorite. The food is always good, the service impeccable, and the atmosphere comfortable and cozy. It is family owned and run with the husband the chef, the wife the hostess, and the daughter the desert chef.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Food was a bargain we went on 3 course night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We feel L'olivier is step up for the Santa Fe dining experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food and service. Small menu but wide enough to meet most people's tastes. I would definitely return when I am in Santa Fe again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The does to the outside were open Friday evening & the street noise & sirens were extremely annoying. Not the fault of the restaurant however even where e were seated, inside, it was oppressive. Too bad as the food was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This was my first time at L'Olivier. Lovely atmosphere, delicious food (I'm a vegetarian, and there was only one vegetarian entree available, but it was delicious and did not disappoint), yummy desserts, and attentive and friendly service. I will definitely come again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Lovely bistro atmosphere and delicious food; excellent service -- not fond of owner's granddaugher running around the restaurant and making noise

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food was good, but not exceptional. We enjoyed the escargot. The coq au vin had a different sauce. I prefer the classic red wine preparation. Our servers were very attentive. The wine list was good with many French wines. The 3 course set menu that is available midweek is a good deal for $35. We were disappointed that chef did not greet all the diners, but just stayed at one table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food is well prepared and thought out, seasoned nicely. There are no big surprises here, but diners can expect quality.
The service is attentive without being cloying or too friiendly. A good wine list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A true French bistro in Santa Fe, New Mexico.
Chef Xavier Grenet makes magic in his kitchen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Very good and tasty menu...would go back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 26, 2017

L'Olivier is one of our favorite local restaurants. Talented chef/owner Xavier Grenet and his charming wife/dining room manager Natalie are first-rate, so food and service are always reliably good. Tues. and Wed. 3-course prix-fixe options are true bargains, and may include entrees like duck confit, cassoulet, boeuf bourgignon, or salmon. The wine list is primarily French and well priced. In sum, l'Olivier is a dining pleasure in every way.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We went to L'Olivier on a recent Saturday evening -- great ambience, quiet, excellent service -- the beef short ribs were outstanding, as was the suckling pig and the bronzino. I highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. The staff was very efficient, did not rush us, and did not hover over us, it was great! The duck breast was amazing! Crime brûlée was terrific also. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Wonderful food, wine and service. One of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.